Off-topic
Posted on
January 02, 1968 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
For off-topic chat. Duh.
For Nana
Chick,
Sssh,I’ll let you into a secret. Capella looks a tad older than her avatar photie but it doesn’t worry her.
For Nana
I see the trolls on the M/T are now talking to each other. Either that or it’s the one wee guy in his Winceyette dressing gown with a multiple-personality disorder.
It’s a funny old game, Saint.
*Attains Zen-like state by staring at a silver birch*
Macart,
Nana sends her regards, my friend, she is in quite a bit of pain with her hands and mentally pained by the amount of trolling on the M/T. She is taking some time off for a bit of RnR.
@Smallaxe
Thought that might be the case. Give Nana my best if you’re in touch.
As for MT? Yes there is a fair amount these days and in a twisted way it’s quite a good thing. It lets people know two things.
1. Just what a threat the opposition consider the site to be
2. That they’re just as aware of what’s likely to happen in the very near future as we are and need this site either spoiled or taken out altogether
The latter is unlikely and the former would take a great deal more than a handful spoilers. Best advice to follow is the REVs. Don’t react to them directly. Don’t even refer to them via a secondary post. Send him an email if you’re at all concerned and I’d personally add walk on by.
Spoilers thrive on contact and notice. They don’t care about debate. Refutation of their thread busters won’t phase them in the slightest. They are kept current throughout a thread by constant reference to their posting. You can’t get rid of them easily either, but you can limit their visibility by no giving them any. Readers choose the kind of experience they can have. Probably the most pissed off person at this point will be the Rev himself.
Anyroads, have a good one Smallaxe. 🙂
Macart,
We’re on the same page with that, my friend. I will tell Nana that you send her your best next time I speak to her.
Keep on keepin’ on.
Internet Trolls: The Musical;
Handsome bastards, int they!
Smallaxe @ 1.21
Can you also pass on my best wishes to Nana as well please Smallaxe?
Good to see you posting too,hope you are keeping well.
Tell Mrs Smallaxe I’m askin for her.X
Liz g,
Will do, Liz, I hope you and yours are well my friend.
Hiya, just popping in to say that I’m coming up to Glenrothes on Saturday – can’t wait to see you all 🙂
Excellent, shaping up good for Glenrothes.
Cheers for the model song TC.
Be visible this weekend.
On the roads.
Yes.
“Cheers for the model song TC.”
Mon plaisir, Cactus, mon vieux.
WARNING: NEIL OLIVER ALERT (GLASGOW AREA).
I was out at a West End “small plates” hip ‘n’ hipster joint for lunch today (I will ignore any pert, smart-arse remarks like, “Wrong joint, Methuselah” and “Shurely shome mishtake!”)
Anyhow, a red Glasgow City tour bus pulled up at the stop near the front door, full of tourists enjoying the cool spring sunshine. So far, so normal.
It was then I noticed the poster on the top deck: there was Silvrikin Boy in all his smirking glory, wearing a preppy wee tweed jacket and a groovy knotted scarf his mammy probs gave him for his Christmas, and the fateful words “With Neil Oliver historical commentary.”
By the time I had got to the old affogato, five of these bloody buses had stopped, causing mixed feelings of rage and queasiness. Fortunately, I had a carafe of the old vino tinto to calm my confused feelings.
People of Glasgow: be warned.
Oh! In that case, can I do this again?
How’s about some anti-Semitic vibes to shake your beetroot to. Nice.
Stan Getz (with Charlie Byrd) – Samba de Uma Nota Só
Hi CameronB.
My Dad left in 2001. I know what you’re going through.
Onnyhoo, your “anti-Semitic vibes” mention.
I always thought it somewhat ironic that the “anti-Semitic vibes” crowd embraced this song, which was put together by a couple of Jewish guys.
“Kander’s and Ebb’s greatest acclaim came from the musical Cabaret (1966) and the 1972 film version. The musical, directed by frequent collaborator Harold Prince, was a major success, with a Broadway run of over 1,100 performances. It won a Tony Award as the season’s best musical, and its original cast recording won a Grammy Award. The film, directed by Bob Fosse, won eight Academy Awards.”
Paula is insisting on turning up on Saturday I think she’s staying at the Holiday express somewhere – can you please look after her, she’s mad.
Brian Doonthetoon
Cheers mate.
British nationalism and Zionism have many similarities, so it will come as no great surprise that British Christian Zionists who conflate criticism of Israel with antisemitism, really twist my bits.
@ BLiS____d
You support an Israeli state so why not a Scottish state? That not a bit prejudiced of you against Scots?
link to polis.leeds.ac.uk
link to in.bgu.ac.il
link to papers.ssrn.com
Hello Ronnie Anderson,
re contacting Lindsay Bruce, what would be the best way of doing that?
For your info, I’ve gone ahead and placed an order for the items discussed, should have delivery (all going well) about 3 weeks time.
Its nothing sinister folks, or illegal, in case folk are wondering.
link to jacobinmag.com
Eugene Chadbourne & Camper Van Beethoven – Evil Filthy Preacher
Re. Eugene Chadbourne. Once referred to as a direct threat to the American way of life, by Whitehouse spokesman for President Ronald Reagan. 🙂
@ Daisy Walker Lindsey’s number AyeMail 01578740242 business hours Mon Frid . Are U going to Wings nite out
In an age of fake news and media bias (see the new Lourdes of Salisbury, for example), it’s important to remember that making political decisions based on lazy thinking, generally leads to right-wing authoritarian governments. I’d wager the Tories depend on this ‘feature’ of human psychology, for a healthy proportion of their votes. Also, ‘common sense’, right-wing populism (i.e. reactionary conservatism), can appear attractive even to the moderate individual, if they are primed correctly.
link to psy.ohio-state.edu
See over on 24 little hours on main thread for latest on WINGS NIGHT OUT tomorrow in Glenrothes.
Posted there in error
See you tomorrow.
Ms. Daines,
I think so. I don’t seem to have Paula’s phone no. on my new phone. Perhaps you could text it to me.
@ Ronnie Anderson – thanks for that, I’ll phone Lindsay on Monday.
Wish I could come to the night out, but other commitments, sorry.
Have a great time all.
Cheerie the noo.
Hmm, very quiet in here this morning. Plumps cushions, exits stage left (no bears).
Is it logical to hope the Conservative party will govern in the interests of the majority, given the nature of the party’s ideological core – the “philosophy of inequality”?
link to spicker.uk
link to blogs.nottingham.ac.uk
link to philosophicaldisquisitions.blogspot.co.uk
An “organic social structure” sounds like a good thing, right?
link to sociologydiscussion.com
link to courses.lumenlearning.com
link to traditioninaction.org
Hope everyone has a great night at The Otter Inn tonight and celebrates the huge success of the crowdfunder.
Maybe this will get you in the mood: exclusive footage of my last day at work…..
Hi Wingers, is anyone driving up from Glasgow to Glenrothes leaving at about 5.45/6pm?
Sorry I cant make it tonight guys,
I haven’t been feeling too well for the last couple of day, nothing serious, just a very sore throat and a sore head, been cooped up indoors too long I think.
enjoy your night.
@Sick of socialism
“Because tories are smarter than communists”
Erm, do you really equate socialists with communists and do believe Tories actually value reason? Are you a bit of a snob, perhaps? I take it you are aware that the British identity and British nationalism, are expressions of Tory tradition and ethos?
@BBC in Scotland
Take note!
link to historytothepublic.org
link to hsdl.org
link to psychologytoday.com
I’m afraid I’m the same as jdman. I’ll catch folk at the next one though. 😉
This old favourite is for Boris and Strong ‘n’ Stable:
Thanks again, Cameron B, who posted it originally.
Superb Tinto!
@Tinto Chiel
I’m smiling because I’m sitting outdoors on a balcony of an apartment at 12:30 in Italy and playing this LOL wonder what the neighbours think 🙂
This is what happens when I’m stuck at home with nothing particular to do. 😉
link to blogs.lse.ac.uk
link to hrcak.srce.hr (opens as pdf)
link to tandfonline.com
The referendum lead up itself ‘fits’ with that ‘organic social change’ model imv. We in Scotland are disadvantaged and oppressed politically, have been for centuries, by the simple fact of our neighbours dominating our educational and cultural institutions and imposing ‘their’ belief system upon us. We cannot ever get the government we vote for under any circumstances because of the population difference between our two countries, and that has defined our sense of powerlessness…as a nation/polity.
We wish to harness our own potential and make Scotland the place that reflects the outlook of those living and working here, we cannot continue to be dominated and denigrated by another country’s ‘cultural supremacy’ because of ‘numbers’.
We did drive our own process of transformation in the lead up to the vote and the subsequent dismissal of a level of governance in 2015 that we hitherto had ‘automatically’ previously voted in. That nvolved a mass cooperative effort for us to achieve that phenomenal result in one fell swoop.
Yeah, sure they fought back in 2017…but what did that accomplish really? Nothing…as we see by the teaming up of the old guard in all structures of our governance from council through MSP to MP to thwart our continuing transformation from ‘put upon’ to ‘not putting up with’. We’re still in the middle of our ‘organic social change’ and there is nothing that is going to stop this momentum.
They should be studying Scotland’s recent political landscape as a first class example of that very concept.
Thepnr: not quite sure what the Italian is for “stooge of the Kremlin.”
🙄
TC,
Oi, you weren’t in Glenrothes last night, no velvet loon pants to be seen!
cearc: hope you had a good time with the other vile seps. Sorry I couldn’t be there but I’m dry-cleaning my gorgeous troosers for 5/5. Tbf, I was in Glenrothes in Feb, when I had my Yew Tree Experience. I’ve always been a trail-blazer, me.
While you’re here, I was flicking casually through Carmichael’s Carmina Gadelica, vol. 6, page 22 (as you do) and noticed, under “broc” that he says badgers like carrots. I’ve got a wee one who comes into the garden at night on his nocturnal circuit and so I put a couple of nice ones out for him. Unfortunately, he was unimpressed and left them after a careful sniff.
Has Cactus been bailed yet?
😀
Fts, Fred: *wipes away a silent tear*, eh?
Tonto Chief,
“Hi Ho Silver”
Hi Tinto.
I wanted to reply on Scot Goes Pop (but technical issues won’t allow) re the latest comment about Pete Wishart. I am deeply concerned about Pete’s current stance.
I know many people here read his blog…. so
Pete Wishywashy. If the purpose of his current view, is ‘party before country, business as usual, a gradualists approach and keep his job down in London’. He’s on a very sticky wicket. I live in his constituency, I’ve always voted SNP, I will NOT vote for him again if he continues in this vein.
And here’s why I think he’s wrong, Indyref1 was a ‘no change or a big change’ choice. Brexit changes everything. The UK is truly ”cked with Brexit, and if we remain with it, we’ll be ”ucked x 2 as they screw us over even more to keep afloat.
If the SNP want to move position from full EU membership to EEA/EFTA I’m OK with that, remaining in the single market is the biggie for the economy, at least in the first instance. But what they have not done, what they continue to fail to do, is keep educating their constituents. We don’t have the BBC, so we have to be educating every day, at local level.
There is no point at all in producing SNP Car Bumper Stickers saying ‘stronger for Scotland’ – this tells no-one anything.
What they should be producing is posters like the ones IndyPosterBoy does and making them car window size (billboards cost too much and take too long).
They should have a theme, for several months at a time. By the end of the year, no-one in Scotland should be in ignorance of the facts of Scotland’s natural wealth and how it is stolen. The next theme is the sell off of our NHS, the next the devastation in jobs e Brexit, etc, etc.
And Brexit is project fear (real and big time) we need to make people aware of this, in the private sector, in education, in our emergency services (shift workers will get royally screwed re removal of working time directive), for our NHS, and farms and fishing industry.
In this way, what was previously Brexit/Immigration argument – becomes much, much more.
Indy for Scotland is now the life raft.
Our backs are to the wall now, its not about could we/should we, its about NOW WE MUST. Heaven help us if we don’t start to fight for it.
And that’s no up tae Pete or Nicla or Alex…. that’s on us. YES WE CAN – NOW WE MUST.
Daisy Walker,
Well said, Daisy.
“Yes We Can”
Morning, kemosabe.
One just for you.
Morning Tinto,
We don’t want to finish up like this!
And we Won’t!
@ Prof. Tom Gallagher
Are you aware that three quarters of Scots born Scottish residents, identify as Scottish only. Can you suggest how the full English Brexit might respect this demographic, along with Scotland’s vote to remain in the EU? Do you support the principle of universal human rights, or are you a Tory?
Political Process Theory and Collective Action for Social Change by John Burdick
Hi CameronB,
Sorry to read about your loss, my friend. My thoughts are with you.
Daisy, I totally agree about Pete Wishart, it seems many of us see it as a slap in the face.
Regarding Scot goes pop, I’ve attempted to post comments on his site for years unsuccessfully and I’ve no idea what I’m doing wrong.
Smallaxe
Thanks mate.
@ Daisy, Westminster changes some people, it’s an exclusive & well-paid gentleman’s club with leather seating, cheap grub & booze on tap. From heraldic beasts to durty beasts it’s ambience has sucked in & changed greater men than Wishart.
@ Tinto, are U no confusing Brock with Buggs Bunny?
Fred: no but I think this badger wasn’t a Gaelic speaker and didn’t know he was supposed to like them. He also knocked back a sweet potato I had cut up for him. Just back from “haunts of coot and tern” and heard my first willow warbler of the season: thought you should know.
Smallaxe: never heard that track before. I think I was in P7 or mebbe S1 when some of my class sneaked in to see “Soldier Blue”. They were mighty subdued when the came back to school. Previously they had thought the 7th cavalry were all dashing heroes…..
Tinto,
I went to see Soldier Blue one afternoon at the Odeon in Glasgow and nearly got PTSD.
“SOLDIER BLUE” BUFFY SAINTE MARIE TO ALL TRIBES LOST
🙁
Smallaxe: and the same kind of psychos tried to do the same to half of us after 1746. I see SB was released in 1970 so I was well into secondary by then. I’ve only seem bits but they were pretty horrible.
I noticed auld highlander provided a link on the M/T this morning to Forbes’ Jacobite Memoirs. Pp.164 and on are generally gruesome.
All for our own good, of course.
Great living in The Last Colony, intit?
Hey chasanderson200, cheers for organising last night, good to be with you all and good times all round. I think an open mic in the top level of the Yes bar in Glasgow (if they don’t already do) would be a really good thing, btw ah was only finger-picking me guitar on me finger-pads, apols to the sleepy guests, also gotta high five from one of the maids in the morning, ah’ll be back hehe 🙂
Passion X.
How did we get here, Tinto?
This?
That^
Cactus,
“Rockout Whatever You Feel Like”
Excellent rockin’ music Smallaxe 🙂
All new to me, checked some of their other ones.
I am going to buy the album now, one way… or another.
All the best bro.
Passion X.
@Daisy Walker
I agree. I feel guilty about criticising Pete Wishart because I like what he says at Westminster. I watch English Parliament TV! However his attitude is stressing me out.
A politician makes a statement on Twitter about the timing of a new IndyRef. Said politician then receives a lot of feed back mostly folk not agreeing. Politician gets annoyed and blocks other Yessers and creates a stuchie. Why did he do it? He is either naive or out of the loop of Scottish Politics.
I thought that maybe he wanted people to start talking about it but obviously not. You don’t block people if you want them to discuss.
I’m really annoyed. It’s got Yessers arguing amongst themselves. What kind of Politician does that?
Some SNP folk have said what a great guy Pete is. So what!
This whole thing stinks! I’ve always got behind every decision of SNP politicians but this! Argh!
Keep on keepin’ on, Cactus.
We’re all: “ROCK N ROLL CHILDREN”
K1
I’m glad to see someone picking up what I’m laying down. Thanks for your interpretation. 😉
Home Sweet Home! Thanks Chas, great evening.
@ Flower of Scotland. (sorry for not replying sooner, I’ve been out).
I’m very loyal to the SNP believe it or not, in spite of my last post. I even have a lot of time for Pete (although maybe’s no just at the minute).
But it is deeply, deeply, concerning that anyone within the SNP does not realise the danger we are in from Brexit.
I say again, last time was a simple choice – change or no change. This time the economic destruction (long term according to forecasts) will devastate the UK as a whole and Scotland twice over as they double down on the asset stripping and destroy devolution / Holyrood.
There will be no majority SNP Party after Brexit, (anyone in the SNP who thinks that, is deluded – they will have even less credibility than Scottish Labour) and no new mandate for a new ref either.
The ‘Can we / should we? attitude is a luxury position we’ve gone beyond. Now we must.
Once this is realised, the concept of losing is simply not an option.
Once this is understood by the public, they will be onside, provided there is a clear and consistent path ahead – which is where the SNP and all within it have got to start providing the clear message.
It is not enough now to simply say ‘when the time is right or when we can win it’ (Shades of Brexit means Brexit). That is a missed open goal to bang home the consequences of Brexit if we do not.
I completely understand there will be posters here that think the above constructive criticism should be only for the meetings, not on a public forum. You have a point, but clear voices and clear criticism can clear the path and right just now Pete Wishart is the one doing the muddying.
Peace and love… and a wee bit chocolate if yir good.
Cearc, Cactus, and all at Woodside, eh
I’m really sorry for being a space-hog.
link to routledge.com
link to undp.org
link to www3.weforum.org
Hey Chas, thanks for organising such an excellent do for us all!
Great to see everyone, and for those who couldn’t make it last night, I hope to see you in Glasgow next month 🙂
Special thanks to Cactus and Ronnie for the transportation and to Quine, Cearc, Liz and Craig Murray for a good gab x
@ Prof. Tom Gallagher
Seriously, do you honestly support the principle of universal human rights?
Defending Democracy Through Social Movements
@ chasanderson200
Great night Chas. Hope all is well with your daughter.
Great to see the gang, old and new, for a relaxing, enjoyable evening. Thanks also to the Otter’s Head and staff who were superb. Buffet really good.
Sure I’ll see most, if not all, of you next month! 🙂
@ Daisy, keep on keepin on hen!
Intit?
@ Tinto, Aberdeen on a flag day? 🙂
It should come as no great surprise that British nationalism and Zionism exhibit many of the same hegemonic traits and a similar pathology of outlook, as both are ideological belief-systems that are of the same ‘bloodline’.
link to jstor.org
link to tandfonline.com
link to bbktheses.da.ulcc.ac.uk
Sorry, I don’t won’t folk to think me an antisemitism, as well as a vile sep.
It should come as no great surprise that British nationalism and political Zionism exhibit many of the same hegemonic traits and a similar pathology of outlook, as both are ideological belief-systems that are of the same ‘bloodline’.
You knew what I meant (cleans new specks before putting them on). 😉
“@ Tinto, Aberdeen on a flag day? ?”
Ahead of a certain Glasgow cultural event on Saturday involving my wee diddy team, Fred, I couldn’t possibly comment: not too keen on the Rev’s hammers.
CameronB: one of the most offensive ideas peddled by the MSM und so weiter is that criticism of Israel’s actions is automatically anti-Semitic. I usually counter remarks by Zionist Exceptionalists by saying that my views merely coincide with those of many left-wing members of the Knesset, so how can they be anti-Semitic?
Your contributions are always interesting but I struggle to understand them, I’m afraid.
Tinto Chiel
I’m glad to hear you don’t tolerate Zionist exceptionalism, as I hadn’t taken you to be a racist. Sorry if the material I’m posting is tricky, there’s just no simple way of examining the ideological morphology of nationalisms, without making use of different ‘ologies’. Is there anything is particular that has you stumped?
@British Labour
Your support of the Israel state betrays the intellectual bankruptcy of your opposition to Scottish self-determination. In doing so, it also highlights the neo-colonial nature of your politics. Get it sorted!
“Is there anything is particular that has you stumped?”
Nothing but my level of intellect, I’m afraid. I sometimes think some sociological/psychological/political terms obscure rather than clarify an idea/argument.
Hat off to you, or chapeau bas, as we say in the steppe country of Upper Darkest Lanarkshire.
🙄
Tinto Chiel
I’m no Brain of Britain mate, I simply have the advantage of having had a formal introduction to this stuff. I’m simply trying to pass on some of that insight, in the hope that some folk might get a better understanding of their circumstances. After all, British nationalism is a ‘false consciousness’ that is sustained through ignorance and tradition.
Understanding Ideological Change in Britain
Corbyn, BREXIT, and the BES Expert Surveys
link to nottingham.ac.uk
@ Tinto, as a former Diddy I take your point! Anent “Cloacal” pearls before swine kid!
Cameron B: keep on trucking, mate. Pebbles/ripples in a pool: you never know their effect. I agree with your direction of travel, though I miss some of the steps.
Fred: it’s my Joycean training. Glad a Left Bank intellectual like yourself spotted it.
I love that Peter Finch clip: it’s how I start most mornings!
Anyone take any photos in Glenrothes on Saturday?
Tinto Chiel
Sorry mate, that last post might have come across as my being a bit defensive. It wasn’t meant to be.
I’ve got bigger fish to fry. ;(
Faust – J’ai Mal Aux Dents
Not at all, Cameron.
Mair pooer tae yir elbuck (and your dentist).
Dormez bien, j’espere.
Hey mornin’ Ruglonian, yeah ah remembered to take a few, I’ll send you, just crowd shots mind, no close ups (well ah did take one selfie backshot, but that one is just for me, hehe.)
See y’all 05/05/2018.
Yes Glasgow.
You have (1) new e-mail Ruglonian ~
Disc 1 of TRUEBLOOD The Complete Fifth Season is in the drive.
The Complete Fourth Season kicked ass, many fae.
Going back to Sookie! 😉 😉
Some suggested reading for those with the time.
Ideology and the History of Science
link to philosophy.uchicago.edu
Ideologies and Political Theory: A Conceptual Approach
link to oxfordscholarship.com
Ideological Quietism? Ideology and Party Politics in Britain
link to journals.sagepub.com
@ Tinto, is there a Rive Gauche oot Motherwell wey?
This is an interesting wee tale of the entire staff of the Lerwick Post Office being jailed at the start of the Great War, hope this works, the hazards of being a Postie!
link to scotiana.com
@BLiS____d
Do you support the principle of universal human rights or do you give preference to modern day colonialism and apartheid? Want to bomb the shit out of Syria? Comfortable in your nationalism?
Israel: Trauma, Oppression, and the Politics of a Fascist State
link to stopimperialism.org
There’s a lot of gauche things oot that airt, Fred. I believe The Electric Bar near Airbles station has a lounge where philosophers, linguists and all manner of artists (!) can meet to discuss ontological and metaphysical matters, but I have never crossed its threshold.
Good Shetland story: nice to see the Scots word “arles” being used.
Hope Strong ‘n’ Stable Preying Mayntis doesn’t get any ideas and builds us all a gulag.
The Heathery Bar, noo how gauche is that?
Re. the haunted look on Blair. I reckoned he’s been mentally ill all his life. I don’t think he was programmed to make political decisions, frankly.
link to pdfs.semanticscholar.org
The Neurobiology of Decision-Making and Responsibility: Reconciling Mechanism and Mindedness
link to ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
THE PSYCHOLOGY OF CLOSED AND OPEN MINDEDNESS, RATIONALITY, AND DEMOCRACY
link to tandfonline.com
I have not entered its precincts, Fred. I’m a clean-living kinda guy *Tony Blair rictus*
A charming rural establishment, if you’re ever droit of Glesca, is The Wee Thackit in Carluke, famous for its thatched roof and introspection. It is owned by a cup-winning former player from MFC.
Ian B and Lenny Hartley have got me worried about nuclear annihilation so I’m having a vino tinto to get some perspective.
I don’t think these need an introduction. 🙂
link to southampton.ac.uk
Understanding Narcissism
link to illimitablemen.com
Fear and decision-making in narcissistic personality disorder—a link between psychoanalysis and neuroscience
link to ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
@ Tinto, I was once in a wee Carnwath pub which was thackit?
I’ve only been in Carnwath to research St Mary’s Aisle (q.v.), so haven’t been in licensed premises there.
St Bride’s in Douglas (where the Douglases and some Homes are interred) is very spooky and I unfortunately chose Dec 31, 1999 to go in there. I eventually came out again, which was nice 🙄 .
If I see you @5/5, I’ll tell you all about it.
Someone should perhaps let Dunc know that three quarters of Scots born Scottish residents identify as Scots only. He might reflect on that when considering Scotland’s future, particularly in relation to Brexit. He probably won’t though.
link to academyofideas.org.uk
link to digitalcommons.unl.edu
link to cedar.wwu.edu
Tinto, been at St Bride’s years ago but locked and key holder unavailable, were the Douglas tombs not trashed by an English excursion?
Fred,
Could this be your Motherwell Rive Gauche?
link to phillipscollection.org
You’re way ahead of the curve as usual Smallaxe! 🙂
Most things were, Fred but not sure about the tombs themselves: they looked pretty whole. The carving on Lady Lucy’s alabaster tomb is mighty fine. I think the crypt is still used to inter members of the Douglas-Home family via the steel doors on the floor.
I think at the time the key-holder was in Clyde Road but you can phone to arrange. Info on HS website.
Mofftaepitlochry to hug a Pictish stone.
Tinto,
You’re,
“Stone Mad”
Guilty as charged, Smallaxe.
Big Brends, eh? Wottawummin.
@ Tinto, have you seen the other Douglas tombs at Durisdeer? phenomenal Italian marble confection of the Duke of Queensberry & his missus. This is the guy who sold Scotland in 1707. His heir Lord Drumlanrig was an imbecile who escaped his close-confinement & killed & roasted the kitchen boy while his parents were off celebrating the Union. Enjoy Pitlochry, a good chippy on the hill up to the Coop kid.
The BBC is a culturally endorsed information provider, so its not unreasonable for the public to accept it as truthful and honest. This places a huge onus on the BBC to ensure its business practice is ethical. Unfortunately, given the BBC is Charter bound to promote the cohesion of Britain, the probability of the BBC adopting such an approach is vanishingly small. About the same as for Israeli Defense Force finding a moral identity, IMHO.
De-Phazz – Saw it on the radio
Yes, Fred, all those riches amassed by the labour of his poor tenants, no doubt, and his 1707 Judas Geld. The term Scots Nobility is the ultimate oxymoron.
Apparently yon piscine establishment is “the plaice to be”!
Dunfallandy Stone tomorrow: phwoarrrrrrrrrrrrr!
Tinto Chiel
Trick? Next to impenetrable the way I’ve been going at it at times. This is (post-modern) critical social theory though, so I have absolutely no illusions that folk will be grasping all, or any, of it. I’ll feel I’ve achieved something positive though, even if folk only manage to get essence of meaning, or appreciate that there is a bigger picture than the BBC suggests. A better one, as well.
Of course, just as with second arousal, a second reading brings a deeper fulfillment to completion. 😉
Critical Theory of Communication: New Readings of Lukács,
Adorno, Marcuse, Honneth and Habermas in the Age of the Internet
link to uwestminsterpress.co.uk
The Impressions – “People Get Ready”
@chazanderson200 and fellow wingers.
Thanks for the warm welcome at my first Wings night oot
Thoroughly enjoyed the company of like minded people.
I hope tae see youse all next month in Glasgow.
Glenrothes… It was a pleasure.
@Bevrijdingsdag
Welcome, cracking handle 🙂
tbh, I’d forgotten the significance of narcissism.
link to southampton.ac.uk
‘Who put the “Me” in feminism?’
The sexual politics of narcissism
The role of narcissistic entitlement, right-wing authoritarianism, social dominance orientation, conformity to masculine gender norms, and religious orientation in the prediction of prejudice toward lesbians and gay men
link to repositories.lib.utexas.edu
I hate politics, or rather, politics as it has been transformed by the unholy congress between mass media conglomerates and our political elites, the banks and the military-industrial complex. Indeed, it is now difficult to separate politician from media, bank and the necessity to arms, in the war machine that represents contemporary western civilisation.
My reading of the crises in Syria is that forces outside of Syria, hijacked popular opposition to Syria’s secular and democratically elected government.
link to brookings.edu
@Smallaxe –
Thanks for the supporting comment on the MT. Appreciated.
Methinks a lot of folk are finding Rev’s latest post somewhat ‘conflicting’. There’s a lot of denial about – simple fact is, conflict is inevitable and the major question is – or at any rate, should be – what form we want to see that conflict take?
No easy answers, but a lot of self-reflection is required before the questions can be addressed honestly. I’m afraid too many of our fellow travellers aren’t up to that task. There may be all sorts of reasons for such wariness, and many will be perfectly understandable, but millions of people have lost their freedom, friends, families and anything else they valued in an effort to get away from WM rule. That so few of us seem prepared to offer anything more than allegiance to a political party is shameful.
Ian,
No problem, brother, you know what I think about our ‘situation’.
I agree with you that it’s a shameful pittance of effort just to support a political party, some situations need more than a vote to change them, a vote that will be ignored or outvoted by the rUK.
Peaceful protest will eventually be resisted by force if the ‘powers that be’ think it necessary, I have often found this to be the case personally, as you know. However, I don’t think that this should be a deterrent to any person who would want to see our Nation regaining Her independence. I am sure that it is more than obvious that W/Minster will do everything in its power, up to and including violence to subdue any peaceful direct action if that action is seen to be getting results.
You know what they say about making omelettes.
Nothing would please me more than Scotland taking back control of Her own affairs peacefully and I still hope that this will be the case but sadly I fear that this may be wishful thinking on my part.
@Smallaxe –
Hoots brother, as aye.
Watched a great documentary on Netflix last night called ’66 Days’. It’s a fresh treatment of the Bobby Sands story, and is very well done.
Made me maudlin, and a wee bit ashamed.
Ian,
There has been a multitude of things that the UK government have perpetrated on people that shame all right-thinking human beings.
Try listening to this man, I think you’ll like him;
Re. MASKIROVKA. Essentially an embrace of reflexive creativity. Not that I’m a Kremlin stooge like.
link to dtic.mil
The Soviet theory of reflexive control in historical and psychocultural perspective: preliminary study
link to calhoun.nps.edu
“The Hidden Path to Creativity” | Stephan Schwartz | TEDxOrcasIsland
If folk are serious about wanting world peace, I think the first step is some serious self-reflection. The second is to recognise Westminster for the carbuncle that it is. Third, press for change, don’t simply bump your gums.
What is the relationship between critical thinking, creative thinking, and reflective thinking?
link to researchgate.net
Creative thinking and critical thinking
link to dcu.ie
Critical Reflection and Reflective Practice
link to drjodietaylor.com
We can press for change Cameron and we can play for change.
Peace and Love*
“One Love” Playing For Change… Song Around The World;
Smallaxe & Iain Brotherhood
There are those who will indeed offer more,please don’t doubt that!
But only at the end of this road.
We are on it and we must in all honour travel it till we can go no farther.. Now hopefully that’s because we are finally out of this accursed Union,but even if we are not,I don’t know anyone who will ever accept Westminster rule anymore.
By hook or by crook the Union is over..
They’ve, nae choice really anyway, we have Nana….They don’t want to get Her dander up…
Well played Smallaxe.
Ripple | Playing For Change | Song Around The World
I think the contextual setting presented by the broadcast will determine its impact and may shed light on the motivation for broadcasting it, if unstated.
link to eprints.whiterose.ac.uk
Cameron B Brodie..
Hey Cameron..
How are you doing?
Do ye think that ye will make it along to the march on May 5th?
Either way … All my best to you and yours, time is a great healer..Been thinkin of ye my friend. x
I’m well Liz, thanks for asking. I’ll certainly do my best to make it along on May 5th.
How do you make a ripple without a stone? How are new forms of racism established in the public consciousness, and how can we address them?
Anthropological perspectives on the new racism in Europe
link to tandfonline.com;
Ideology, identity and interaction within discourse and society dialectics
link to lancaster.ac.uk
Pointless Diversity Training: Unconscious Bias, New Racism and Agency
link to sfu.ca
More than Prejudice: Restatement, Reflections, and New Directions in Critical Race Theory
link to citeseerx.ist.psu.edu
Racism as Abjection: A Psychoanalytic Conceptualisation for a Post-Apartheid South Africa
Will the “Rivers of Blood” broadcast promote a new appreciation of national sovereignty or will it simply stoke the prevailing current of xenophobic, right-wing populism?
If the BBC are selling Enoch Powell’s brand of conservatism, then perhaps it’s a sign they are becoming amenable to Scottish self-determination? Perhaps we need to be kinder to (t)Ruthless? 🙂
Enoch Powell and the Cold War
link to blogs.lse.ac.uk
Theories of Nationalism: A Brief Comparison of Realist and Constructivist Ideas of the Nation
link to inquiriesjournal.com
Nationalism and International Relations Theory
link to onlinelibrary.wiley.com
Fred: the M/T is really getting on my nazzums big-style, so this is just to let you know the Dunfallandy Stone is worth a visit if you’re in the Pitlochry area.
The carving on the stone is still pretty good, and its profile is slender: about 4″ at the base, tapering to about 2″ at the top, really elegant. You can’t hug it to experience the focused Earth-energy (I had half a Snickers and a swig of Tizer instead) because it is now behind glass/Perspex like Sueno’s Stone in Forres, making good photos almost impossible.
1200 years old and still here, though Orange Man-Child and The Preying Mayntis might change all that, and not a cheep of the truth from our compliant, mendacious MSM.
Haven’t been as uneasy and queasy as this since I watched “Threads”.
The fundamental weakness of British nationalism: identity is fluid, ideology isn’t.
Nouvelle Vague – Dance With Me
On the
racistBritish nationalistcultural content of Brexit.link to networks.h-net.org
English Nationalism and Brexit: Past, Present, and Future
The Social Consequences of Brexit for the UK and Europe
Abstract
This article examines the 2016 Referendum on the United Kingdom’s membership of the European Union and draws on initial research into the reasons that the UK voted to leave and demographics of the leave vote. This initial analysis suggests that the Brexit (British Exit) vote reveals wider and deeper societal tensions along the lines of age, class, income, and education (Goodwin and Heath 2016). By providing an account of the background and events of the referendum, this article asserts that the vote was a case study in populist right-wing Eurosceptic discourse (Leconte 2010; Taggart 2004), but it also reveals strong elements of English nationalism (including British exceptionalism and social conservatism) in parts of British society (Henderson et al. 2016; Wellings 2010). Given this, the article begins to make sense of Brexit from a social quality perspective and outlines a possible social quality approach to the UK and Europe post-Brexit.
link to hira.hope.ac.uk
Eh’ve been thinking.
Could we no tie blockchain democracy into the SCoTcoin (SCT) as a replacement currency to sort oot the currency question and genuine democracy at the same time?
As an aside, eh wiz thinkin that the UK gov was responsible fir manufacturing the chem attack in Syria in the same wey as the Salisbury poisoning.
Now that Vlad has come right oot and said it eh cannae help but question what is what. Do you think we should write to him and ask him to keep Scotland oot o this shite 😉 Tell him Faslane is there against wir will. 🙂
Hiv yiz seen that squirrel ower there?
Scotland is about to have it’s world turned upside down, as a consequence of the British state’s failure to ensure a mechanism for a pluralist sharing of power between the nations. Subsequently, we’re all English now, in a British sort of way. And measures are being taken to make this arrangement permanent.
Hora for Powellism, your time looks to have finally arrived.
link to cipd.co.uk
PERSPECTIVES ON BREXIT
The impact on business, law and everything in between
link to annualreview2017.allenovery.com
UK Youth Perspectives and Priorities for Brexit Negotiations
link to lse.ac.uk
Brexit Negotiations Series: ‘Brexit and Corporate Governance – An Economics Perspective’
link to law.ox.ac.uk
Walking into the Footprint of EU Law: Unpacking the Gendered Consequences of Brexit
link to cambridge.org
Listen to the Music | Playing For Change | Song Around The World
@ Cam
CameronB Brodie says:
14 April, 2018 at 3:47 am
Scotland is about to have it’s world turned upside down, as a consequence of the British state’s failure to ensure a mechanism for a pluralist sharing of power between the nations. Subsequently, we’re all English now, in a British sort of way. And measures are being taken to make this arrangement permanent.
PISH 😉
That’s the shit kicked off folks.
I don’t mind being English William, so long as I can be a English woman. How they getting on with prosthetic wombs, btw?
Bags being the queen. 😉
P.S. Though my nature is not to be a queen, my intention must be taken seriously. Shirley? 😉
Philosophy of Action and Agency
Overview
What does it mean to act? Do animals act? What is the difference between bodily movement and action? Is all action intentional action? What motivates our actions? What is the nature of the causal process of acting, and are intentions independent components in the explanation of action? What role does reason take on, what the passions? At the very heart of our self-understanding as persons is the idea that we are self-determining agents with distinctive rational and volitional capacities. We experience ourselves as causal agents that deliberately bring about changes in the world. In this course we will engage in the study of human agency and examine the nature of actions and intentions, the role of desire and belief in reason explanations, voluntariness and human freedom, the process of decision-making, and the nature of deliberation for action. The philosophy of action – although a distinct area of enquiry – will have us tap into such diverse fields as practical reason, metaphysics, ethics, the behavioural sciences and the philosophies of language and mind.
link to conted.ox.ac.uk
Agency of belief and intention
link to philpapers.org
The Nature of Legislative Intent
Good morning, Shirley.
Cameron/Shirley
Jist so long as ye know….
I’m Happy for you to be the next English Queen if ye like!
But I’ve tae be the next queen of Scotland.
I am qualified because
A…I asked first
B….Apparently Scotland has needed an Elizabeth the II for quite some time.
C…. The names already on lot’s of stuff so the transition will clearly be nae bother!
Liz g
Thrifty. 😉
Too late, Liz, I was promised the throne in 1971;
Bow down, serfs.
Ah but the BBC have been telling Scotland how great Elizabeth the II is since the 50s
How strong and stable will ah be…
Smallaxe. 😉
Chaka Khan – I’m Every Woman [The Reflex Revision]
Cameron,
Finally,
Put on a bet in the National, my once a year bet, on a horse called “Bless the Wings” it is 40/1 Come on the Wings 🙂
I’m on a Horse!
Only me. So how should we judge if British nationalism is worth the harm that Brexit will cause to Scotland’s civil society?
link to globalsocialtheory.org
link to postcolonialnetworks.com
@Church of Scotland
Over to you.
Barry White – I’m Gonna Love You Just a Little More Baby [The Reflex Revision]
@ruglonian
There’s a couple of photies in this dropbox:
link to dropbox.com
I’ll leave them there for a week or two then delete the link contents.
#302 – the heidmaister working on the exam results
#303 – the heidy wi’ the exam champs
#304 – the faimly
#305 – some bloke in blue misbehavin’ (we know who ye are!)
#306 – closer proof of the miscreant’s behaviour
’nuff said.
Awfy guid night. (nearly went the wrong way round a glenrothes roundabout but stopped when the screams of “we’re all going to die!” got too loud.)
Re. the rush to condemn President Bashar al-Assad a murderous tyrant. On what basis is this assertion made? Are folk not perhaps thinking of his dad?
As far as I’m able to establish, the ‘civil war’ kicked off on March 15, 2011, at an anti-austerity demonstration in the city of Daraa. Live rounds were fire at the demonstrators, allegedly by Syrian security forces. Has it been established that it was indeed the security forces? Might it not have been some other player who fired into the protesters? Syria’s secular society has been under attack from western backed Islamist terrorists, for a very long time now.
link to dw.com
Muslim Brotherhood
link to oxfordbibliographies.com
The Muslim Brotherhood
A Failure in Political Evolution
link to belfercenter.org
Re. Bashar al-Assad’s methods. The first duty of any leader is to defend the nation’s sovereignty, at all costs.
link to plato.stanford.edu
Cam “Queen” Bee 😉
I’m no al-Assad fanboy btw.
William. 😉
Charles Bradley – The World (Is Going Up In Flames)
Ever wondered why we internalise the dominant social structures of power?
link to eprints.lse.ac.uk
link to scielo.br
Chumbawamba – Amnesia
Looking for Freedom?
Here it is;
Itchy Fingers?
Bagpipe Blues?
Why Worry?
Live your life that the fear of death can never enter your heart.
Trouble no one about his religion.
Respect others in their views and demand that they respect yours.
Love your life, perfect your life, beautify all things in your life.
Seek to make your life long and of service to your people.
Prepare a noble death song for the day when you go over the great divide.
Always give a word or sign of salute when meeting or passing a friend, or even a stranger, if in a lonely place.
Show respect to all people, but grovel to none.
When you rise in the morning, give thanks for the light, for your life, for your strength.
Give thanks for your food and for the joy of living.
If you see no reason to give thanks, the fault lies in yourself.
Touch not the poisonous firewater that makes wise ones turn to fools and robs their spirit of its vision.
When your time comes to die, be not like those whose hearts are filled with fear of death, so that when their time comes they weep and pray for a little more time to live their lives over again in a different way.
Sing your death song, and die like a hero going home.
TECUMSEH
– Tecumseh, Shawnee
On the morality of ideologies. This is also why some of my intros fail. I’m wary of allowing my own prejudices to bias reader’s interpretations, while also looking to provide a snappy, informative frame at the same time.
Rusty and biased, Edinburgh
link to ias.edu
How Ideology Colors Morality
Ideology, the state and welfare in Britain
link to catalogue.pearsoned.co.uk
Spooky Tooth;
“Don’t you think the joker laughs at you (Ho ho ho, hee hee hee, hah hah hah)
See how they smile like pigs in a sty
See how they snide”
The Hooters:”500 miles”
Hey, Smallaxe, you’re on a philosophical roll today, I see.
Better a Tecumseh than a Tonto.
I’m on a (bacon and SBP) roll myself.
Tinto,
Enjoy your roll;
Went down a treat, thanks, old mole.
Great day at the fitba yesterday. Met these charming young ladies afterwards but then it all got a bit hazy. I remember the tree, I remember the jetty but I fear these racy lassies led me astray. Woke up in Gowkthrapple this morning with a chanter in my pocket.
Tinto,
Yer lucky ye’ve still goat a chanter, my uncle goat his shot aff during the war. 😉
“Scotland Will Rise” Gaberlunzie;
Honi soit qui mal y pense, Smallaxe, mon vieux.
Think it’s French for “Ooh, matron!”
I don’t know if folk remember me suggesting that constructedness with scope allows for flexibility of approach?
The fundamental weakness of British nationalism: identity is fluid, ideology isn’t.The fundamental weakness of British nationalism: identity is fluid, ideology, not so much.
link to faculty.georgetown.edu
The Ideology of Creativity and Challenges of Participation
link to ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
link to nature.com
It is unfortunate that the British state has failed to provide the political infrastructure needed to allow all the ‘home nations’ to create ideological and moral frameworks that reflect their cultural identities.
Events have taken a despotic turn in Westminster, and now Scotland appears to be the powerless agent within an increasingly homogenised, neo-liberal, neo-fascist, neo-racist, English/British identity. One that is being actively promoted through contemporary public discourse.
N.B. Culture becomes the mind that generates future culture.
Tinto,
Ah think this is French fur a wumman singin’ a wee song;
Edith Piaf: “Non, Je ne regrette rien”
Regret come from self-doubt and inaction.
Hindi Zahra – Stand Up
Garbo: “I want to be alone!”;
“I’ve never been in style, so I can’t go out of style.”
Lillian Gish Moment;
Marlene Dietrich Blue Angel screentest 1930
Settled. 😉
James:”Sit Down”
Hi Cameron.
The Chocolate Watch Band – Sitting There Standing
Hi Smallaxe. 😉
@Smallaxe –
Ah!
Excellent argument-settling clips there, for which many thanks.
What did the depressed bit of cartilage say?
‘I want to be a bone…’
Ian,
Your most welcome, my friend.
Joke: Ah Lassie phoned her Da tae come and pick her up fae the dancin’ cause it wis bucketin’ doon wae rain, her Da says “wher’ ur ye ringing fae?” The Lassie says “fae ma heid right doon tae ma knickers Da!
Mair nonsense:
How to become a poet: stand in front the fire until your rabbie burns.
How to become an actress: stand in front of the fire until your googie withers.
Eh thenk yaw…
@David Leask
I am rather partisan supporter of Scotland’s self-determination, so I hope you don’t see this as a distraction. I wonder if you would care to respond in print to this essay? That might prove hard for you, as the British world view is predicated on the practice of Orientalism.
link to sam.gov.tr
“I went to the butchers to buy a leg of lamb. ‘Is it Scotch?’, I asked. ‘Why?’ the butcher said in reply. Are you going to talk to it or eat it?’. ‘In that case, have you got any wild duck?’. ‘No’, he responded, ‘but I’ve got one I could aggravate for you’”
Chic Murray
@Smallaxe –
🙂 🙂 🙂
Chic Murray, FFS, we could be here for days.
Outside the B&B in Largs when he missed the last ferry, can’t get an answer, chucks a wee stane at the upstairs windae.
Big missus opens the windae:
‘Whit you wantin?’
‘I want tae stay here!’
‘Aye, okay. Stay there then!’
*Shuts windae*
Ah saw a hitchhiker wance wi’ a’ great big backpack sitting oan a guys back gon doon the road past me. The hitchhiker wis sayin’ tae the punter “Ah wis really hopin’ tae get a lift aff sumdy wae a motor.
Only me. How’s about some more brainwashing with nationalist bollocks.
@Der Oberst #BREXIT
The first indyref may have appeared to follow democratic process to those living outside Scotland, or to those without an ounce of critical reasoning power. In practice, the British state hardly supported the principle of liberal democracy, did it?
link to tandfonline.com;
link to pygyrg.co.uk
The Heavy – Same Ol’
Look, Scotland running its own affairs and behaving as any normal nation does, won’t be the end of the world. To the contrary, from the perspective of post-colonial theology, it would certainly help improve the chances for world peace and global sustainability. Decolonising the UK’s democratic geography does not mean that present generations of British Scots will have to stop identifying as being British. They can hold on to their world view and moral identity for as long as they want to. That’s what an open society is all about.
Zahra Hindi – oursul
Ye kno’ this place kin git lonely at times, sometimes ah’m typin’ tae masel sometimes ah’m cuttin’ aboot fur oors an’ naebdy appears.
A’ve even startit talkin’ tae masel which is bad enough but noo a’hm gettin’ a reply an’ ah don’t kno’ whit tae make ae it, wan minute a’hm happy, next minute a’hm depressed.
Sumtimes ah feel as if a’ve goat aff the bus at the wrang stoap, it’s like bein’ in a play and naebdy’s gied me a script.
Ah think ah might hiv a split personality but a’hm in two minds aboot it.
Aye, that must be it, ther’s nae two wies aboot it!
“the bi-polar national anthem”
Smallaxe
I met Bobby the last time I was in Edinburgh. Nice guy, very open minded. He’s doing a degree in French, so I suggested he check out the concept of negritude. I’m sure I’ll bump into him again. 😉
P.S. 🙂
smallaxe,
cheer up, winter’s over.
contemplate the daffodils.
Cameron,
I’m pleased to hear that Bobby’s as nice a guy as he seems on his videos if you do bump into him again please give him my regards.
“I salute you in silence!
In your image, hear me!
Now dies the Africa of empires—the dying of a pitiable princess
They call us men of cotton, coffee, oil.
They call us men of death.’
We are men of dance, whose feet take on new strength from stamping the hard ground”.
Léopold Senghor
“Our Day Will Come” Bobby Nicholson;
cearc,
Contemplating daffodils now, it seems to be helping, thanks.
The Cranberries:”Daffodil Lament”
Only me. I think I’ll just leave these here.
link to tandfonline.com
link to ardfilmjournal.wordpress.com
link to link.springer.com
Cameron,
Your posts on Negritude belong to the few that I can overstand, I’m usually baffled by most, ’cause I can be…
“Thick as a Brick”
And that’s really thick!
Smallaxe
Perhaps I should have been more forthcoming in my proselytising of post-colonial theology? Can you see the light? 😉
@ Smallaxe, playing catch-up, James brilliant, “Oh Sit Down!” my manky mate!
Decision time! is it to be a Lillian Gish or a Gladys Knight?
See the light, Cameron? I’m…
“Blinded by the Light”
Smallaxe
You’re not thick, I’ve just been out of practice for thirty years.
Sister Rosetta Tharpe – Up Above My Head
Smallaxe
You’re not thick, I’ve just been out of practice for thirty years.
Sister Rosetta Tharpe – Up Above My Head
Fred,
It’s got to be Gladys;
Izat ok?
Thanks, Cameron,
“No More the Fool”
Every now and then I like to improve things by putting this absolutely spectacular piece of work up.
Hi Dave,
Myriam Makeba:”The Click Song”
Ladysmith Black Mambazo:”United We Stand” ft Salif Keita
Dave & Smallaxe, some good stuff guys, certainly beats bombing the shit out of people!
“Decision time! is it to be a Lillian Gish or a Gladys Knight?”
Fred: you’re being cloacal again and a very naughty boy.
Good job Smallaxe and I are here to monitor moral standards…..
@ David Torrance
I find it best not to offer an oppinion when I have limited comprehension of the topic at hand, you might want to follow the same practice. You might also want to clue yourself up on ethical norms of practice. Oops, I forgot you’re a Tory fanboy, so I doubt you comprehend the properties and value of ethics, nor respect the biological rights of individuals.
link to politics.ox.ac.uk
@ David Torrance
I challenge you to prove your not simply a shallow and self-centered shill.
link to socialsciences.exeter.ac.uk
link to e-ir.info
link to ucl.ac.uk
Tinto,
Worry not! I knew what our #Manky Mate Fred was trying to introduce into the stream, I felt it in my water. Lillian Gish, single fish, nice try, Fred.
I also feel it in my fingers.”Love is All Around”
link to academic.oup.com
link to e-ir.info
Charles Bradley – Ain’t It A Sin
“It’s an Illusion”: Julia Zahra
It really is!
Thought I’d slipped that wan past Smallaxe there! Sorry to drag the thread to a new low guys. Suitably contrite! Double-entenrde’s are unavoidable at times!
Fred,
When I was a publican a woman came into the bar and asked for a double entendre so I gave her one.
“The Marrow Song” Kenneth Williams;
Fred: “Sorry to drag the thread to a new low”?
Impossible!
It’s why we’re all here!
I think Smallaxe is one of the Illuminati, masel. And he’s been seen hingin aboot in Roslyn too…..
It’s a fair cop, Tinto, here’s my confession;
This one is for Thepnr who’s suffering from a cold atm.
“The Point of No Return”
I hope you’re feeling better my friend.
The reason I have an extremely strong antipathy towards shills such as Davy. These ignorant wanks are creaming in extremely good incomes disseminating bigotry and undermining the biological security of the vulnerable. At least their not partisan though.
On what grounds do conservatives defend authority?
link to mytutor.co.uk
Does Biology Justify Ideology? The Politics of Genetic Attribution
link to ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
@David Torrance
Can you honestly claim to support liberal democracy and the principle of universal human rights? Which is more valuable to you, tradition or experiential reality? Comfortable in your nationalism?
link to ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Conservatism: History, Ideology, and Influence
link to study.com
link to tandfonline.com
Sorry to be a space hog again folks, but I’ve still not sorted out my internet. I’m heading back to Edinburgh tomorrow, so you’ll not be hearing much from me for a while. I’ll try and get things sorted soon as, sorry RN. 😉
Gabrielle Aplin – Home
Only me. I just thought of a topic that might interest some while I’m away.
link to neighbourhoodchange.ca
How to understand power – Eric Liu
Link
link to oxfordhandbooks.com
@David Torrance
Just admit to yourself the may harbor fascist sympathies, that way you’ll be more able to deal with your apparent psychological deficiencies.
link to un.org
..that you may harbor…. Bugger.
Only me. I don’t know way but I’m thinking of graphs for some reason. Funny that.
link to tandfonline.com
Done and probably not much chance of a second arousal, I wouldn’t think. 😉
Only me. Must have been the oysters. 🙂
link to tandfonline.com
“Thanks” for your 1001, Smallaxe.
I couldn’t sign in to watch it ‘cos I’ve forgotten my password so I may have dodged a bullet there.
Oh, well another day of quilt-making and raising conscientiousness in the revolutionary collective.
TC,
Got a big, big carpet to clean, have you?
Don’t see thepnr struggling with a cold ATM. He’s good at moving stuff. Now, the ‘hot’ ATM that he had hidden in the garage, that was another matter!
Myself, I’m struggling with the furious plague from Fife which I brought home with me. I actually had to withdraw (with my last tiny thread of dignity) from my Garden Gala Snail Race when I noticed that one of the snails was about to lap me for the second time.
The wood anemones are coming out (fortunately not the wooden enemies though).
cearc: sorry you have the Lurgi. Can I recommend a strict regime of organic porridge, spring water and bending exercises?
Lots of few-flowered leek out near Pitlochry last week.
Moschatel/Wee Toon Knock anyone?
That Roslyn, ye widnae be up tae her!
SPRING water! S P R I N G water!!
What’s the point of being poorly if all you get is spring water? (Actully I’ve borehole water now – all mod-cons).
Uisge beatha on my porridge and a bit less of the exercises bending or otherwise.
I like that uisge beatha-porridge combo but Mrs TC would not allow it.
Borehole would be a great name for a M/T troll.
Whit a day,
Tinto’s dodging bullets while he’s making a revolutionary quilt after having a leek in Pitlochry.
cearc has caught the black death in fife and now she’s got wood anemones and water coming out of her borehole.
Fred is still being a naughty boy with Roslyn.
It’s not often that I come across as the sensible one but it’s easy to feel like that today amongst this…
“Chain of Fools”
Windrush:
link to archive.is
“Where is the Love?”
To love an be loved
To ave peace an nuh war
mi wish dis fi all people
Nothing less nothing more
Smallaxe
Smallaxe: pwoud, vewwy pwoud to be a link in the chain.
Don’t know why I wrote conscientiousness instead of consciousness, though, unless taking off my tin-foil fedora made my brain function susceptible to alpha-waves.
It’s a stammy-gaster richt eneugh, as my great, great, great, great grandfather said before Culloden.
At least my sanity hasn’t been affected…
I’m glad that you still have your sanity, Tinto, as you know;
“You Are My Sunshine”
LINK;
link to newsthump.com
Only me. PTSD can make it difficult to turn intention into reality sometimes. Still, it gives me the chance to examine the mechanism of Torrance’s moral positioning, in a bit more detail.
@James Bartholomew
Bit of a fanny, perhaps?
link to spectator.co.uk
link to opendemocracy.net
“You Are My Sunshine”.
Shucks, Smallaxe, shucks. That was pure plangent.
*wells up, blows nose*
Meanwhile, in other news: while making Mrs TC her Tuesday seven-course gourmet tasting menu, I made the mistake of switching on Pravdasound4 to hear that the Home Office had quite recently and controversially destroyed landing cards from the Windrush era, cards which could have proved the date an individual arrived in Good Old Blighty.
I’m beginning to think Icke might have been onto something with his Lizard People stuff…..
Does Maggie Mayhem eat live young?
Tinto,
T.May doesn’t eat live children, she either starves them to death or blows them to bits first.
I agree with Shaggy on these matters;
Only me. Ever wondered what sort of effects our mental shortcuts have on the social consciousness?
link to researchcommons.waikato.ac.nz
Wise words, mate.
😛
Only me. Anyone up for
secondthird arousal? 😉link to otheringandbelonging.org
link to tandfonline.com
#hardcore #post-colonial #theology
Link
More wise words, Tinto.
“You must be shapeless, formless, like water. When you pour water in a cup, it becomes the cup. When you pour water in a bottle, it becomes the bottle. When you pour water into a teapot, it becomes the teapot. Water can drip and it can crash. Become like water my friend.”
‘Bruce Lee’
“You must be shapeless, formless, like water. That’s the way I get when I drink Lanliq or Eldorado.
Tinto Chiel
Racism is ingrained in Anglo-American culture, I’m just doing what I can to change things. 😉
Racism on the Street
Re. Jacob Rees-Mogg. His father may not have approved of provactive racialist language, but is that sufficient evidence of him not holding racist views? Party discipline and public image appeared to be his concerns over Powell’s sacking.
N.B. Right-wing Tories like JRM, tend to view society and social order through prejudiced, social Darwinist, eyes.
Let him come forth who disagrees!
“Strength of A Woman”;
Well, where are you?
Some reading for those with the time and interest.
Basic Human Values: Theory, Methods, and Applications
link to segr-did2.fmag.unict.it
Politics, Trust and Networks: Social Capital in Critical Perspective
link to lsbu.ac.uk
Good Governance, Neoliberalism, Inequality within International Organizations
Discourse: a Critical Approach Lidia Lo Schiavo and Pierre Vercauteren
link to jsspi.com
“Let him come forth who disagrees!”
“Well, where are you?”
I was going to say something on this matter, Smallaxe but SWIMBO wouldn’t let me 😛 .
Cameron: I was in the USA for a fortnight last May and noticed much more tension than in 2014, both between black and white and pro- and anti-Trump. I met some tough African-American guys from Compton who were really nice to me once they discovered I was not an American and we talked about music for a wee while. I also met quite a few homeless in LA and SF who were without any safety net and looked really destitute. The “haves” show them very little sympathy. Macarthur Park (of song fame) is often full of homeless, even in daytime, desperate for a few dollars.
Worst story I heard was when I got back home. A friend of a Glasgow friend is returning to the city from Brooklyn because of the nasty racism directed at his A-A wife in NYC. Yes, not Alabama, NYC. On the subway after Trump got in a creep said to her she would be able to go back home soon, and he meant Africa.
Farage and Rudd would be proud.
Just good music;
Diana Ross:”Theme From Mahogany”
Joan Osborne:”What If God Was One Of Us”
Tracy Chapman:”Give Me One Reason”
@David Torrance
I’ve done your homework for you.
link to booksandjournals.brillonline.com
link to tandfonline.com
Thought provoking stuff the night so it is! The guy with the wings brings to mind the foreign proto-aviator who made himself a pair of just such wings & jumped from the battlements of Stirling Castle, he crashed & burned of course but survived to tell the king that the problem was using hens feathers instead of swans! Just thought I’d mention it!
I jumped off Barlanark primary school roof with a cotton supply parachute that had hairy ropes instead of para-cord and it hit the ground just before I did. True!
Patsy Cline:”I Fall to Pieces”;
The bit after the = end of that link is mocking me!
I never jumped just fell and bounced off the pavemnet 🙂
Jist made me stronger LOL
It made me…wait a minute…it’ll come to me…
“Dizzy”
It still hasn’t worn off!
@Smallaxe
A real modern version and from the Cavern too. Daughter tells me that is a good place to go on an afternoon, I’ve never been yet but will do sometime.
I’m over the cold but not the cough, the good news is though that I haven’t had a fag, can’t even take a draw so that’s four days now.
OK I’m using patches cause I need the nicotene but if I can break the habit I might just be off them. To be honest anybody that smokes is a mug, you too and me,
We’ll see how it goes wish me luck LOL
Yep, you’re doing a grand job on the MT.
Glad you’re on the mend.
Only me. So are we serious about wanting Scotland to become a better place to live in? Is Scotland likely to achieve inclusive, sustainable development, bound within a post-Brexit Britain, without political sovereignty?
link to na-businesspress.com
Overcoming Behavioral and Institutional Inertia
link to siteresources.worldbank.org
Emotional inertia and psychological maladjustment
link to ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
#hardcore #postcolonial #theology
Only me. Having the ability to pump out sprogs isn’t the defining characteristics of womanhood but it’s certainly one of them.
link to 131.111.165.101
Feminism and critical realism – demonstration of a lack of dialogue
Critical Realism, Gender and Feminism: Exchanges, Challenges, Synergies
link to tandfonline.com;
Only me. Marginalising voices damages the global social fabric. Scotland is a marginalised nation lacking political voice and agency. Westminster plans on strengthening this position against Scotland’s best interests.
BAM Joint Event: Think-Space for Gender Theory: Considering a Critical Realist (Rather Than Social Constructionist) Approach To Gender Research
Description
Social constructionism undoubtedly advanced thinking about gender. Recently, however, researchers have asked if social constructionism gives a full account of gendering. Critical questions include:
• If gender has nothing to do with the body, how do we honour and account for physiological capacities exclusive to people with female reproductive organs like pregnancy, breastfeeding and menopause?
• If the body is taboo due to an ontology that centres discourse, how do we talk about bodily implications of gender oppression like pain and violence and material inequalities?
• If ‘women’ is a discursive category devised to oppress, how can we speak of women’s interests and solidarity?
• How do we conceptualise and account for the experiences of transgender, agender, nonbinary people and cis women (assigned female at birth) without acknowledging the body as well as social processes?
• If we are all produced by society’s discourses, how do we theorise women’s agency and a process of emancipation?
link to bam.ac.uk
Reflexivity and women’s agency: a critical realist morphogenetic exploration of the life experience of Sri Lankan women
link to tandfonline.com
Module Intro: Sociology Of Health and Illness
Thepnr,
Well done with the fags but take an air freshener with you next time your farting to C.A. on the M/T.
As for me stopping;
A song for Heed:
Haste ye back, just ignore the bacon rolls.
@ Tinto, bout time!
@ Thepnr, honey n whisky till it goes kid!
WOS is without a doubt the best pro Indy website.
However the constant never ending bickering between certain individuals detracts from the Rev’s postings and also the responses from regulars on this site.
As someone who knows how well informed posters are on this site I can only imagine someone new to the site could be put off which is a shame because this is one of the most important sites for independence supporters.
I rarely comment on here now but still read the main posts from the Rev.
When I start to read the comments I spend a lot of time scrolling past the tit for tat posters but then get bored and move onto another site.
It does anger me because a lot of effort has went into the Rev’s post and it ends up lost through certain individuals deflecting attention away from the post and onto their own petty disputes.
Sorry needed to get that off my chest….hopefully may meet some of you in Glasgow on May 5th.
Have a good day everyone.
Ach, it wis a hell o’ a day the night the lum fell in.
Arlo Guthrie & Pete Seeger:”If I Had A Hammer”
Clapper57: hope to see you hanging about Big Ronnie’s Wings banner with the rest of the motley crew on 5/5. Does anyone know if the terminus is Glasgow Green rather than FS?
You’re right: my scroller has been getting rid het recently and some sensible, regular posters have taken a powder.
Tinto,
Matters pertaining to your ‘scroller’ have given me cause to worry, please make sure that you take it out into the fresh air to decrease the temperature forthwith.
I’ll see you okay for bail money if they catch you.
Smallaxe, your entendres have never been so doubles.
Ya thaaink?
Before I get on with my ironing, I leave you with His Supreme Perpetual Bon-ness:
Hope Chic(k) enjoys this.
Have pressing matters to attend to.
Also, it’s a long way to the bottom.
Right, that’s my strides pressed.
“Also, it’s a long way to the bottom.”
Where fae?
@ Tinto Chiel
Yep. My excessive scrolling has now removed my fingerprint on my index finger….LOL.
However you really really do have to….
Scroll past a Troll.
Ignore a bore.
Blank a W**k………
Then by the time you get to decent posters you have lost the f**king will to live !!
Have a good day .
Only me. Marginalising voices damages the global social fabric. Scotland is a marginalised nation lacking political voice and agency. Westminster plans on strengthening this position against Scotland’s best interests, and those of the wider global comunity.
Anglo-American neo-liberalism and Anglo-American exceptionalism poses two of the greatest threat to world peace and global sustainability. The decolonisation of Britain’s democratic geography will make a significant contribution to ending the continued colinlity of global power and benefit humanity as a whole.
Orientalism is bad, mk.
link to edisciplinas.usp.br (2000) Colinality of power.pdf
Race, Nation, Class
Ambiguous Identities
link to edisciplinas.usp.br
What is COLONIALITY OF POWER? What does COLONIALITY OF POWER mean? COLONIALITY OF POWER meaning
@Clapper57: hee, hee!
You too.
Tinto Chiel @ 1.18
The march on the 5th – IS- going to Glasgow Green.
The plan was originally to go to Freedom/,George’s Square,but apparently its gotten too big so the Police and the Organisers,have agreed it should now go to Glasgow Green!
Thanks, Liz. Good news it’s moved because of pledges to come, and lots of folk like me and my “supervisor” don’t do Twitter/FB so will be extra.
I saw on on-line RT (stooge of Putin, me) that 700000+ Catalans were at the demo last weekend, with some saltires and Yes flags on show.
Really looking forward to 5/5…..
Liz g at 5.36
Doesn’t work well at Glasgow Green. Rethink please.
Aye, “Better on the Square” as they say in Masonic circles.
And on the level, Fred.
Level 42:”Mr Pink”
Only me. Not a lot of Scots know this but the viability of England’s water security is questionable. Read what you might want into that. Personally, I don’t see Brexit improving the prospects for a democratically and socially inclusive resolution to the potential crisis looming.
Sorry for the length of this post.
link to parliament.uk
link to assets.publishing.service.gov.uk
link to theccc.org.uk
Only me. Some selected reading for those with the inclination.
Challenges for Water Use in UK Industry
link to imeche.org
Towards Water 2020 – meeting the challenges for water and wastewater services in England and Wales
link to ofwat.gov.uk
A Critical Financial Analysis of the Performance of Privatised Insustries: The Case of the Water Industry in England and Wales
link to sciencedirect.com
I think I’ve battered that one enough. 😉
Only me. Sorry folks, I’m on a roll/bap. 🙂 Has anyone hear from Prof. Gerry Hassan lately?
link to rowmaninternational.com
link to warwick.ac.uk
Only me. On the character of the Prime Minister’s character. She’s a product of a particularly pernicious strand of Anglo-American culture, innit.
P.S. One of my mates is black.
link to tandfonline.com
Entangled Others – Other Entanglements: Critical Perspectives on the Relationship of Racism and Antisemitism
link to hsozkult.de
Through the Crucible of Pain and Suffering: African-American philosophy as a gift and the countering of the western philosophical metanarrative
link to tandfonline.com
I feel better for that. Morning Smallaxe. 😉
Lee Scratch Perry – Megaton Bomb
Good morning, Cameron,
Alt-J: Taro
Anything by Joan Boaz Smallaxe? 🙂
Only me. I’m not sufficiently skilled to pull this apart much further.
@ Rev.
I did suggest you employ some critical practitioners. Proper ones.
link to tandfonline.com
link to sociology.yale.edu
Fred,
I can tie one of them as well as you can.
Boaz:”The Fire In Your Eyes”
Fred,
Do you know this one?
Abif? Smallaxe, clever stuff kid!
Fred,
It takes two balls to play this, for the ‘forger of all instruments of bronze and iron’.
“When Labour played the racist card”
British nationalism is unadulterated blood-and-soil ideology. It may have cultural finery attached to it, but the ideological kernel is pure racism born, out of the fear of cultural degeneration.
Evening, sophisticates and intellectuals.
I got so fed up listening to the metrovincial whines of Pravdasound4 this morning that I flicked over to Radio 3 to hear some music. Donizetti was the composer of the week so I was stymied by the verbal biographical content.
Predictably, I began to froth when it was announced that his Maria Stuarda, based on Schiller’s play “Maria Stuart”, was “one of the few operas to deal with the Tudor period”.
It’s what we’re up against daily, campers.
I wish I weren’t so artistic and sensitive.
Ya bass.
Btw, re Level 42: Mark King can really spank his plank, can’t he?
Tinto,
Listening to Pravdasound my erse, as you will see below, I found out on Facebook just what you’d been up to. Pant’s on Fire!
Tinto Chiel keeping his t-shirt on in the sun;
A chiselled God of a man is maintaining an annoying level of public decency while lesser men walk around shirtless.
Tinto works out hard and eats a carefully balanced, protein-rich diet, while his dark hair and well-groomed beard bring to mind a younger Jason King.
The sudden heat wave has inspired many men of questionable aesthetic appeal to take their shirts off while waddling down the local High Street
“But of course Tinto’s kept his kit on, so we just get to look at all of the Brian Taylor lookalikes wandering around with their bellies out,” grumbled Tinto’s colleague, Ruth Davidson.
“It’s not fair. I came to work at the smoothie bar today specifically hoping to catch a glimpse of him laying on the grass at lunch, but he’s going to sit indoors and read Sylvia Plath’s ‘The Bell Jar’ instead because of course he’s intellectually enlightened too; the well-mannered, gorgeous hunk.”
Tinto replied, “Oh, this is all very flattering, thank you.”
“I just don’t really want to take my shirt off today. I don’t really tend to do that unless I’m at the beach or if I’m swimming or if I’m about to make passionate yet considerate love to a sober woman for several hours.
“Fair play to all these other lads who want to get their tops off at the merest glimpse of the sun, though. They should be embracing their bodies whatever their shape. In a way, they inspire me.”
“Too Sexy”
Hi all, nice to see Smallaxe back in action, hope your doin okay.Regards to Nana if your in touch with her, I hope she’s feeling a bit better too.
I see on the MT that the Rev has been oot wi the hammers. Well he did warn folk twice to stop engaging wi’ the trolls, but some folk widnae be telt. Well, they ken better noo.
I’m just doing a bit of catching up here, Tinto, thank you, thank you for his Supreme Perpetual Bon-ness. I was having a bad day yesterday, ( we all get those ) and I clicked on that track. Well, that wiz me off, jivin aboot like a young thing, fair lifted the spirits,yes.
Hi Marie,
I’m doing fine, thanks, I hope you and yours are well.
I spoke to Nana today and apart from anything else she’s been overdoing all the many things that she does for our cause without a real break and really needs to take it easy for a while, However, she is in good spirits and enjoying a well-deserved rest…until we untie her.
I’ll play one of Nana’s favourite singers and I’ll give her your best wishes Marie;
“Forever Young” Joan Baez;
link to youtube.com.
“A chiselled God of a man…his dark hair and well-groomed beard bring to mind a younger Jason King…he’s intellectually enlightened too; the well-mannered, gorgeous hunk.”
Shucks! So true, so true, my dearest Smallaxe and I am pure overcome by your encomium (peotry). It’s not easy being this gorgeous, believe me, although it’s always worth it to please The Laydees.
*twirls deep auburn moustaches with highlights of marron (yer actual French) roguishly*
Marie, I’ve been having a bad day on here for weeks. Too many bacon rolls are bad for the constitution. Can’t wait for 5/5 and the start of Indyref2 to blow away the cobwebs. I remember that tune from School of Rock but didn’t know ACDC had written it and I’d never seen that footage before. Seeing His Perpetual Bon-ness with the pipes really cheered me up too.
Great to see you back to top form, Smallaxe.
Only me. Did folk really imagine colonialism is what happened over there? Not at home? Imperialist, colonialist, racist, attitudes permeate the English/British psyche.
‘Race’, Racism and Psychology: Towards a Reflexive History
link to simbi.kemenag.go.id
Race, Racism and Education: inequality, resilience and reform in policy & practice
link to soc-for-ed-studies.org.uk
Minority Report
Race and Class in post-Brexit Britain
link to runnymedetrust.org
Smallaxe, Nana, and all – Peace and Love, and a wee song (well the words anyway) to cheer ye.
HENRY THE EIGHTH
CHORUS
HENRY HENRY HENRY HENRY HENRY THE EIGHT
A PSYCHO BAMPOT, WITH A PROBLEM WITH HIS WEIGHT
AND LETS NOT FORGET ABOUT HIS POOR WEE WIVES
AN AWFUL LOT WEE’ER SINCE THEY MET HIS KNIVES
THOUGHT THAT WAR, WOULD MAKE HIM GREAT
BUT HE WAS A BIT SHITE, AT WAGING WAR
INSTEAD HE GOT THE BAILIFFS KNOCKING AT HIS DOOR
CHORUS
BUILT THE BIGGEST WAR SHIP THE SEA COULD EVER TAKE
BUT IT WAS TOO HEAVY TO EVERY FLOAT
BRICKS HAVE SUNK SLOWER THAN THAT AWFUL BOAT
CHORUS
TRIED TO GET TO HEAVEN BUT DIDN’T LIKE THE WAIT
NOW HE SITS IN PURGATORY
WELL HE SHOULDN’T HAVE BURNT DOWN ALL THE MONASTRY’S
CHORUS
THOSE POWERS YOU’VE LEFT DON’T SEEM SO GREAT
DEMOCRACY THAT’LL DO ME
BUGGER OFF HENRY, SCOTLAND WILL BE FREE
CHORUS
Don’t get too worked up, Tinto, I plagiarised most of that out of an old Woman’s Weekly magazine and then I tried to steal the old Woman’s Weekly pension, turned out she was a WASPI woman!
A bloody disgrace, intit? Worked all her life and her pension had already been stolen by the DWP.
Tracy Chapman:”Talkin’ bout a Revolution”
Hi Daisy,
Peace, Love and Harmony to you and to those to whom you give your Love.
Thank you, for the song, is there a tune?
Here’s one for you and there’s nothing funny about it;
So, to summarise, Smallaxe: you crossed a WASPI woman?
Be afraid, be afraid. Half of them are in Sheboom!
Got terrorised by them at the Iraq war demo in Glasgow and can’t look a snare in the eye now.
This good weather has brought out a lot of big effen bees;
Feeling stung?
I am afraid, Tinto.I married one! Here’s some home video of us both. Guess whit wan’s me.
🙁
Did you guess right?
Finksae: you’re looking very distinguished, btw.
Is yon lassie no A*sula Undress? Jeezo!
This is the most depraved filth I’ve ever seen. be warned!
Mofftaemapit in disgust.
Only me. Honestly folks, scratch beneath the surface of British nationalism’s BBC varnish, and it really is shite all the way down. Don’t mind me though, I’m a vile sep distraction.
link to psychology.org.au
link to eprints.lse.ac.uk
N.B. Biologically deterministic, social Darwinist beliefs are a common characteristic of right-wing outlooks.
Pure dead sad this;
Brekyerhert soitwid.
Smallaxe, glad you liked it. Yes there is a tune, very catchy, but difficult to type.
Night night all.
I’ll just make up my own tune, Daisy.
Good night.
OLD CELTIC & NORDIC LULLABIES;
@ Sma 9:22pm
They wirnae big effin Cam “Queen” B’s beh any chance wir they? 🙂 😉
They could have been Wull, good to see you posting, my friend.
“Strong Will Continue”
Only me. The study of the human brain is begging to suggest the capacity to make compasionate political decisions, boils down to genes and innate brain structure. IMHO, socially conservative right-wingers are possibly biologically incapable of genuine empathy. Scary.
Conservatives’ Politics of Fear a Biological Response
link to psmag.com.
The Politics of Biological Determinism
link to libcom.org
Biological Determinism and LGBT Tolerance: A Quantitative Exploration of Biopolitical Beliefs
link to questia.com
William Wallace
Just doing my thing William. Time to put the beetroot down, I suppose, and chill out to some cool vibes. Nice 🙂
Astrud Gilberto – One note samba
Only me. Tory ideology really is the epitome of the anti-social. Anglo-American neo-liberalism both demands and produces social inequality. Anglo-American neo-liberalism is a form of fascism, as it seeks to change the meaning and nature of human liberty through the power of economic force.
The barriers of stigma for service users: A critical realist viewpoint
link to magonlinelibrary.com
“Promoting Social Inclusion and Combating Stigma for better Mental Health and Well-being”
link to ec.europa.eu
@(t)Ruthless Harrison
I’ll say it again, you’re a fascist!
@(t)Ruthless Harrison
Your nationalism is of the blood-and-soil verity and your politics those of an opportunist. Anglo-American neo-liberalism creates biological discrimination and destroys lives. Have you no shame?
link to tandfonline.com
Scotland, where is you self-respect?
Nattali Rize:”One People”
Iration = Creation, seen?
Seen.
She’s a Tory’s nightmare, isn’t she?
The Tories are the nightmare, Tinto, Nattali has the same dream as we have.
“Generations Will Rize”
Only me. Anglo-American neo-liberalism was introduced to Britain by Margret Thatcher’s government, much to the delight of Enoch Powell. That should tell you all you need to know about the ideology’s illiberal nature. Anglo-American neo-liberalism is essentially a re-working of the 18th century economics of slavery.
link to tandfonline.com
link to social-policy.org.uk
link to papyrus.bib.umontreal.ca
I’ll get out the door one of these days. 🙂
Heard this in my local coffee-house and eventually outraged the local matrons with my rhythmic interpretations.
Ever seen a rickle o banes dance? You have now.
Taught him all he knew about M&G…
Tinto,
Did you forget that your dance instruction videos are still up on youtube?
Anybody in Edinburgh looking to see a gem of a musician tonight Fri 20/4/18.
James Kirby is playing at the Cannons Gait.
Please check out his website for details.
Saw him in Glasgow last night, fantastic.
Only me. Conservative voters in Scottish need to appreciate that neo-liberalism is far from being an organic solution to the challenges facing society. Indeed, neo-liberalsm is a revolutionary ideology which threatens individual free-will and the cohesion of our social fabric. Neo-liberals are not moderate individuals, they are far-right extremists. Neo-liberalism pays scant attention to human rights. In fact, you could get away with suggesting neo-liberalism is social Darwinism in economic form.
link to earlhamsociologypages.co.uk
link to revisesociology.com
Only me. Conservative voters in Scotland need to appreciate that neo-liberalism is far from being an organic solution to the challenges facing society. Indeed, neo-liberalsm is a revolutionary ideology which threatens individual free-will and the cohesion of our social fabric. Neo-liberals are not moderate individuals, they are far-right extremists. Neo-liberalism pays scant attention to human rights. In fact, you could get away with suggesting neo-liberalism is social Darwinism in economic form.
link to earlhamsociologypages.co.uk
# beamer 🙂
@Smallaxe 1.36: gosh, yes, that’s a bit awkward.
I need to borrow Cameron’s beamer…..
Only me. British Scots need to consider whether they value tradition over human rights and civil liberties. These are not necessarily compatible and certainly not under the prevailing paradigm of Anglo-American neo-liberalism (see Brexit). Reliance on the free-market to produce socially ethical solutions to social problems, is a strategy that is doomed to failure.
link to plato.stanford.edu
link to echr.coe.int
link to lse.ac.uk
Since CameronB has made this the thread for finer minds, a kind of Caledonian Brains Trust if you will, I offer this as a humble contribution. I came upon it serendipitously and just knew you would all love it:
link to en.wikipedia.org
If you don’t, it may aid restful sleep.
Right, that’s me away out the door. 🙂
Lee Scratch Perry – Scary Politicians
CameronB 😉
Enjoy your evening in the great outdoors.
Did anyone ever listen to Richard Park on Radio Clyde, the early days? He was very good, and very very smutty. One of his favourites lines was to announce that whoever got the question right would win the latest single by ??? and he would personally be going around to their house to put that 12-incher through their letterbox.
McFadden & Whitehead, ‘Ain’t No Stoppin Un Now’ (12-incher!) –
Bit early to get soppy, but just stumbled across this. Have posted it here before, but it’s always worth another look. What a voice the guy has, just makes it look totally effortless.
Billy Ocean, ‘Suddenly’ –
Hi Lynn Happy Birthday. Hope you have and are having a great day. link to youtube.com
Quiet in here for a Friday.
Doesn’t Aly Bain pop up in the strangest places.
The song is a metaphor for Wings, being choked to death by trolls.
@ Sma 11:19pm Likewise 🙂
@ Cam “Queen” Bee 12:21am
Glad that you are Cam. 🙂 Some of what you post is really interesting to read and is really informative too. I try to read as much of it as I can but, sometimes it get’s a wee bit taxing on my rather simplistic heid. You certainly raise some interesting philosophical points though. Credit where it’s due.
hackalumpoff great song choice. here is one right back at you. link to youtube.com
@William Wallace –
You going to Glasgow on the 5th?
DeMent…DeMent…
Demented are go: “Be Bop A Lulu”
I missed the bus. Spanner. 🙂
Europe Programme Paper 2011/01
Perspectives on the UK’s Place in the World
link to chathamhouse.org
DIRECTIONS FOR BRITAIN OUTSIDE THE EU
link to iea.org.uk
Black Brexit: What Opportunities And Challenges Does Brexit Offer For Britain’s Black Community?
link to blackhistorymonth.org.uk
Brexit, Labour Rights And Migration: What’s Really At Stake
link to socialeurope.eu
Young people are highly critical of Brexit and fear the insularity it could bring
link to blogs.lse.ac.uk
Mornin’ Wingers.
05/05/2018.
Be there.
X.
Did I mention that the narcissistic entitlement inherent in English/British exceptionalism, really is the pits.
link to pewglobal.org
The Government of Migration through Workfare in the UK
Towards a shrinking Space of Mobility and Social Rights?
http://movements-journal.org/issues/04.bewegungen/08.alberti–government-migration-workfare-uk-mobility-social-rights.html
An ‘undeliberate determinacy’? The changing migration strategies of Polish migrants in the UK in times of Brexit
link to tandfonline.com
@BBC in Scotland
How about a special on the likely impact of the full English Brexit on Scotland’s civil society? Prove you’re capable of broadcasting more than British state propaganda. I’ll not hold my breath.
Women’s sex based rights need protecting from the colonising nature of power, as do the human rights of Scots.
link to link.springer.com
Third Committee Debate on Women’s Rights Critical to Achieving Gender Equality, Goal That Should Receive Wide Global Support, Says General Assembly President
link to un.org
CONNECTING PERSPECTIVES ON WOMEN’S EMPOWERMENT
link to opendocs.ids.ac.uk
I-Wayne:”Living In Love”
Give I’n’I strength to survive another Day in Babylon.
Gil Scott Heron:”We Almost Lost Detroit”
“Just thirty miles from Detroit
stands a giant power station.
It ticks each night as the city sleeps
seconds from annihilation.”
Curtis Mayfield:”Move On Up”
I’ll raise your Curtis Mayfield with this from the Scottish band who famously installed groupies and a chocolate fountain in their hotel suite:
I’ll Squeeze your Primal Scream up a bit,
@ Hack n Mick, Iris Dement, superb, unique voice!
@ IanB
I was all set for coming but, I have just sold my camper and the car and replaced it with a newer car and caravan last week. My original intention was to come up (I am still down saarf) and bide in the camper overnight so I could have a night oot afterwards.
The last one I came to in September, I traveled up on the coach. Although the overnight journey coming up was not too bad (was able to get stretched oot across the seats to get a wee kip) the return journey was on a fully packed bus with sitting room only. This was after a few bevvies throughout the day and evening in the Counting house and Clutha respectively. It’s not a journey I’d be happy to do again (it was hell tbh).
I thought about driving up with the caravan in tow to sort out the accommodation issue so I could stay for a proper night oot but, I’m not entirely sure if there are any campsites close enough to central Glasgow that would not involve a £50 taxi ride to get there when the evening’s shenanigans are done. The additional cost of towing the caravan on top of that means it’s not really worth bringing the caravan as it would be cheaper to book a room somewhere.
This leaves driving up in the car. The problem there obviously is finding some long stay parking if I am staying for the night oot, as well as accommodation. I wouldn’t really want to chance driving until late Sunday in case I was even remotely over the limit from the previous day/nights shenanigans. Also, with the early start time I would probably have to travel up on the Friday which means booking 2 nights accommodation (although this would help deal with the long stay parking).
Having said all that, I don’t really want to miss it either. I’m pretty sure I’ll be coming but, it’s just a matter of logistics at present as my camper-van plan is obviously redundant now. I’ll see what I can come up with and will in an all honesty more than likely be there.
@ William, how about enquiring at the Red Deer Caravan Site in Stepps, handy for the train @ Stepps Station into Queen Street or the bus on Cumbernauld Road. Gated site,
link to reddeervillage.co.uk
Spring! Pod of Orca’s reported in the Clyde off Wemyss Bay today!
I hope to see you there, Wull.
“What a Day for an Icecream” (Daydream)
Eddie Cochran:”Summertime Blues”
Suns oot
Orca music video;
Re. the potential to reform Westminster. Why would a racist organisation give up it’s outlook and identity, if that means undermining it’s power-base? Power does not like to be diluted.
Right, I’m finally off now.
L’Indécis – Homebound
Live long and prosper, Cameron.
“Red Shirt Boogie Blues”
A piece from the most phenomenal music talent to come out of Nigeria Fela Kuti
It’s a scathing attack on the Nigerian ladies who used cream to lighten their skin colour. Musically superbe
@ Smallaxe, good to see U back in form kid! Regards to Nana nananananana! etc’.
Fred: do you mean this?
Sung around football grounds throughout the 70s in various versions, he said diplomatically.
The very same Tinto, along with “You all live on the shite side of Fife! nana nana nana nana!”
On the last chapter of “A Thorn in their Side!” by Robert Green, nephew of the brutally murdered anti-nuclear campaigner Hilda Murrell. This is the book the British state doesn’t want you to read & its author, a naval commander, suffered 27 years of intimidation & surveillance to publish, & only completed it by moving to New Zealand where he had some government protection.
Hilda Murrell, an 80 year old, was abducted & tortured using an Ulster style MI5 snatch-squad. Harrowing stuff! A must-read if you haven’t already done so kid!
Proud to be British? NOT!
Rata Books 2012, cheap on Amazon.
Thankfully, Fred, Nana is too much of a lady to have heard such ditties. I think she is taking a rest from the troll madness on the M/T and has a young adept at the mo who does all the beefy links 😉
I’ve read a lot about Hilda but not that specific title: an appalling story. Who’ll do the Willie MacRae equivalent?
We really just live in a police state, once you strip away the Agatha Christie chintz-covered Festival of Britain crap they try to fool those ablaw the dyke with.
What a state we’re in, pun intended.
@ Tinto, there’s an Abraham Sasa mentioned in the book who was murdered in Bath, sometimes I worry about our interlocutor who might be safer back hame!
MankyMates,
Hilda Murrell;
“The Rose Grower”
(The banned song about the murder of anti-nuclear campaigner Hilda Murrell)
@Lynne –
If you see this, hope you had a good birthday – enjoy this belated chunk of funky disco!
Patrick Hernandez, ‘Born To Be Alive’ –
@ Smallaxe, strewth a sleuth! well done that man!
Eek-a-Mouse:”Wa-Do-Dem”
@William Wllace –
So sorry, I didn’t even see your message until now. Had an early crash last night and have been mostly Twittering today.
Anyway, I’m just about to crash again, but just to say you’re very welcome to crash here if you don’t mind kipping on a sofa. It would mean a train journey (30-40mins) from Glasgow to Stevenston, but you’d be very welcome. Please keep it in mind.
Hoots mon!
@#Mankymates: thanks for those vile sep/lefty conspiracy-theory grievance-mongering references. Will chase those up, like a young deer in a burning forest.
Tinto Chiel says:
“Will chase those up, like a young deer in a burning forest.”
Tinto, the proper name for a young deer, is dinner!
Fantasy Three: “The Buck Stops Here”
“Is it true or did you hear it on the BBC?” No. 27.
While making Mrs TC another wonderful Sunday breakfast, I had the radio on (or wireless as we still say roon here). It was Pravdasound4 and the Broadcasting House prog, where metrovincial Oxbridge twallies get to expatiate/vent ad boakiam.
Lots of fuss being made about a blackbird singing in some BBC dude’s garden with a recording thereof.
Any fule new rite away it was a song thrush singing, or mavis, ya bass, and not a blackbird.
I new, I was that fule.
“After such knowledge, what forgiveness?”
Think now, Tinto,
History has many cunning passages, there for all to see but there are none so bloody cunning as the lying BBC.
“Fules Rush In”
THE WIND OOT MA SAILS
To all who are concerned, and to Pete Wishart MP (who should be).
Like a good many others, in Scotland, and around the globe, I woke up on 19/9/14, as one bereaved.
And tragically, even a lot of those people who voted No, were also gutted. On some level they must have known the YES group were the goodies. But they had not been convinced. They admitted it, Project Fear worked on them.
But here was the thing, before the dust settled on the day, before the next sunset, the whole country, the whole country, had a plan, a solid, clear road map to Indy, and the wind was in our sails.
First SNP Membership rose from 15,000 – 100,000 in months. The 3rd biggest party in the UK. Wow.
Then the GE. Lend us your vote, said Nicola, and Yes, No’s and Mibbaes Aye did, overwhelmingly – 56 out of 59. And not only that but real human beings got elected. Mharie Black, Tommy Shepherd, Pippa Whitford. Fresh voices, fresh ideas. Right in the face of WM and boy did they know it. And then adjusted… Westminster is the oldest hand at taming its subjects, practice makes perfect.
And in spite of their best efforts, how little did their presence achieve.
And then Brexit, no clear literature, mixed messages from HQ, poor leadership on many a level, and the Yessers divided.
On a UK l’vote leave’ level a campaign overwhelmingly Racist, dumbed down to the most simplistic base instincts, with a big lie on a bus as a salve for their conscience – How much for the NHS a week? … aye right.
And no-one, not even the most hopeful, devoted Yesser, could have believed the outcome. Every part of Scotland voted to stay, a 62% majority. The democratic contrast between Scotland and England could not be more clear cut.
And Brexit, a mystery, wrapped in a soundbite, Brexit means…. blah blah.
(Its April 2018 now, and the only clear thing about Brexit, is what a total ClusterF*ck its going to be. For the economy, for the prices of everything, for Farming and Fishing and Manufacturing, and Human Rights, the environment, employment. Nothing, nothing good is coming from Brexit.
It’s Brexshit and Bad all the way, except for the already rich, who will carve up the NHS, and keep their Tax Havens.)
And still we had a plan, the leadership say ‘hold, hold’ and we get that, ‘patience, there is a plan’.
And a snap GE, snap for us, well planned in advance by the Unionist Parties. And not just one, but 2 terrorist incidents in the middle.
And still we had a plan, a mandate, a get out of jail free card, a cast iron ‘we’ve damned well had enough’ mandate, ‘we reserve the right to call another referendum in the event of extraordinary circumstances, such as Scotland being pulled out of the EU against her will’.
Doesn’t get much clearer than that, does it. Didn’t put it in small print, thinking no-one would read it did they. I was conscious of voting for it, with that in mind.
3 times, 3 times they tried to scupper it, and 3 times, the people of Scotland voted for this mandate. (2 x GE,s and 1 x SE).
And still, in the face of all that WM and its complicit whoor – the Medial, could throw at it, we won, still the biggest party in Scotland. Still the wind in our sails and the road rising up to meet us. Never losing faith, never loosing courage, never losing site of the plan, and never stopping the campaign.
And for those of us, worried that there seemed to be a lack of urgency at SNP party level, a complacency, a quietening on the urgency for another Referendum. Well we put our concerns to one side, with their brilliant governance (and I do on the whole think it has been brilliant), and the promise of a Peoples’ Energy Company – wow, a Peoples’ Bank superb – (set up by someone from Tesco’s no less – sure to be radical yeh right, fingers crossed) We took comfort from the quiet insistence, ‘hold, hold, patience’. There is a plan, once Brexit is known.
And we put to one side, concerns that there appears to be no plan to countenance the non stop Propaganda from the BBC – it exists, that at least is acknowledged, but nothing to hit back at it, nothing. No leaflet drops, no public meetings, no poster competitions to get the message out, no car posters for every member – with info on them, not some mindless slogan, not a bloody thing. An open goal totally ignored.
So we take stock and re-assure ourselves with certain facts, that a party in Governance has responsibilities and has to behave in a certain manner, and we go off and use the grass roots movement to try and plug the gap.
And still the road ahead is clear, there is a plan.
And then one day, one week, one month, 3 things happen, and all is changed. April 2018:
War – war is waged, on the thinnest and most dodgie of evidence. And the clear siren voice of decency, of common sense and common reason, that voice that rung out in protest over Iraq, that voted in unison against the vote to bomb Syria the first time, that voice, this time became the muted, muffled, so, so, politicians double speak of a bland bank manager.
And next up, Pete Wishart goes to press, ‘Now is not the time’ Maybeas later if yir all good boys and girls, after another GE, if you stop being naughty and vote for us again. And the song being sung, has backing singers, Jim Sillars and Robin McAlpine, even the Tory party like it.
And the third blow, Wings Over Scotland publish the article ‘Elephant in the Courtroom’ – that even if we want to use our mandate, WM could stop us, unless we win the right in court, or at any rate exhaust that avenue.
And devastatingly, on this issue, the SNP are deathly silent. Is there a plan, have they considered this, are they even aware of it and just have their heads in the sand. Questions, questions, and of answers there are none. The silence is deafening.
And this is truly devastating – the grass roots can’t fill this gap. Only the SNP, in government can implement this. On this issue we fall.
3 things, 3 things together, have brought me to my knees in a way the IndyRef1 vote never did. The wind is out of my sails, I’m bailing out water, and days ago I was sailing on at a good steady pace, plotting a course and making good progress. The shore has never seemed so close, and at the same time so far away.
On 21/4/18 Pete Wishart reiterated his argument, and I welcome the fact he did so in a more reasoned tone. And I am more certain now than ever, this is Policy, policy being finessed and sold to us, whether we like it or not.
And so the purpose of this essay, is to address his arguments, in a polite manner. There are some who say any disagreement should be done at branch level, behind closed doors. Pete’s article was public, therefore the arguments against should be public also.
PW ‘debate seems to centre round whether we should proceed with a referendum simply because we currently posses a mandate or whether we hold one when there is good evidence it can be won.’
There was nothing simple about obtaining that Mandate, that 3 times won Mandate. If we lose it by waiting for another GE, we lose it forever.
PW’ ‘I want to see evidence it can be won, and I want to see it held at the time of our choosing, when optimum conditions are in place for success’.
Well, I want to win the lottery, I want the full boona, and I’d like it to happen pretty much now, or at a time when it would suit me best.
Dear Pete, you will NEVER see evidence it can be won, WM Establishment will burn any such evidence, destroy any person who can present such evidence, and take the country to War to distract from any hint of evidence of this kind.
‘At a time of our choosing’ – what fantasy planet do you live on? When ‘Optimum Conditions are in place for success’ – there’s no such bloody thing, optimum conditions my arse, what a fair wind, sunny weather, Scotland winning the football?
PW, ‘go over what these ‘optimal conditions’ are not’
‘Less than a year from having lost one third of our indy supporting MP’s’
Dear Pete – remember Nicola’s phrase, ‘lend us your vote’. Well they did, and they were disappointed. To go from 6 MP’s to 56 in one vote and then think that’s your new normal is incredibly foolish and presumptuous.
‘we cannot ignore the fact the SNP lost half a million votes’
No you can’t, but where’s your analysis, your evidence, your polls and your research to identify the whys of the loss. Hmmm, pretty big on insisting others show you evidence, you show yours, and do so as a matter of urgency. You have people campaigning on the doors, this evidence, would be bread and butter to assist them.
‘Optimal Conditions are not when a significant gap exists between support for indy and support for an early indy ref’.
Really, you whit!!!! Imagine for a second, that for the second time in Scotland’s history, we get a second chance to vote for Independence for Scotland, and on voting day, do you really think someone is going to go,
‘that’s it, I’m voting No – told them to hold it a week on Tuesday, but would they listen, no, well this’ll teach them’.
And that Tory voter you met, who previously voted for Indy, bet they voted for Brexit, Hmm, bet they did. And like a lot of them at the time, never gave it much thought beyond the simplistic message about immigration!
Speak to Brexiteers now and a significant number of them, now know its a damned site more complicated than that, with zero good news coming through. Immigration has been knocked off the poster board as an issued when it comes to Brexit.
Immigration, for those who have that fear, is going to get an awful lot bigger under a Tory Government desperate to strike any kind of deal with India, for which ‘free movement of people’ will be an absolute condition. Fancy that do you, with workers rights Binned under Brexit.
If you want to win back the Yes/Leave voters I ‘d strongly suggest the above hard fact might be one to start shouting from the rooftops.
Pete, you say that support for Independence is holding strong at 45%, and then in the next sentence talk about it being opposed by a ‘significant margin’ – that margin is 5%.
You identify this 5% as the hardest group to convert. You say we ‘need a new case’ and we ‘have to get on their territory’, every day issues such as ‘pensions, currency, perceived deficits’ are to be addressed and to win, ‘we are going to have to be creative’.
On this I agree, and am pulling my hair out at your almost complete lack of ambition. You are aiming for 5%, 5%! Aim for 30%, aim for 40%. Damn well aim to win.
And where, where, where is your new case for pensions, your new case for currency, for perceived deficits. Anyone following the issues will know, Prof Richard Murphy has done more work on ‘perceived deficits’ than you – did you print it off, did you do a leaflet drop – did you hell.
Currency – look to the the Common Green, they’ve done all the heavy lifting there. Did you print it off, did you get billboards commissioned with the info. Did you hell.
Last time round the SNP produced a 500 page white paper, grass roots Wings Over Scotland produced The Wee Blue Book, thank god they did.
You ‘get creative’ if you want to, the rest of us would be better off putting a big simple message on the side of a bus.
You talk about returning to a ‘One Scotland’ approach to independence. I do hope you didn’t pay anyone money for that slogan. Money down the drain if you did.
You talk of Brexit, of not leaving those who voted Leave – Semi Detached from the Yes Movement, proceeding to another indyref with this unresolved will be like having one hand tied behind our backs.
Well Pete, lets hear you ‘get creative’ about sorting this one out eh. Suggestions, ideas, policies. Where are they. It’s been over a year since the Brexit vote, where are they? what are they? EFTA, EEA, what about it, argue the case.
You say,
’ Brexit will be an Unmitigated Disaster for our fellow Scots and when it properly hits our fellow Scots will want to review their constitutional options. It (optimum conditions) is hitting the sweet spot when Brexit Impacts and people actively want out of an isolated, desolated UK.
It means support for the SNP returning to the levels we achieved around the last referendum in electoral contests.’
So your going to let an unmitigated disaster befall us, a Brexit impact that will isolate and desolate us, and if we’re good boys and girls and vote SNP in enough numbers you might, mibees just honour the mandate we voted for the first time. Stronger for Scotland my arse.
Please, please listen, when I say this. If we do not hold another Indy Ref before the next General Election and before we lose our mandate. No-one, No-one, No-one is Ever, Ever, Ever going to Vote for you Again.
The mandate will be squandered, our single market membership to the EU will be lost, our economy, our businesses, universities, environment, NHS Scotland, our Parliament, ruined, and gone, gone, gone.
These are Desperate times, not chosen times, not optimum times, Desperate times.
Last time we had a choice, a choice for change or no change.
This time out we have a Fight for Survival and only a short window of opportunity to achieve it.
Your current stance has done, what the BBC, the Tories, the Labour Party and the No Voters could never do. You’ve taken the wind from my sails.
That’s me for now.
Now, where did I leave that pair of oars.
Yours in kindness and in commitment.
Daisy Walker
I hope that much of the wind now missing from your sails will return, also maybe to PW’s, once a date is set in stone.
Problem is, if we interfere with the Brexit process as they’ll claim, Westminster can delay and extend and delay any decisions on actual ‘permission’.
Another pragmatists ‘excuse’ is, we’ll be against the same corrupt media and institutions (as last time) unless we strive to create a level playing field first.
My sails can blow hard, or not at all, I choose to stay the course, to trust those whose record, not theory, holds more water.
@ Daisy Walker, my, my, my Daisy, gon yersel lass. That’s a stormer of a letter to Pete Wishart. I agree with every word you have said.
I couldn’t quite believe my ears when PW came out with that guff. I don’t know what planet he is on, but if the SNP don’t use the mandate before the next election, they’ll find themselves oot on their erse. Folk, including me, will not vote for them. What then Rooth the Mooth as FM, that’s if we still have our parliament. They’re doing their damnedest to shut it down just now.
If that’s what happens, I don’t think the SNP will ever be forgiven.
Very interesting post, Daisy. You might be feeling a wee bit deflated at the moment but I’m sure you’ll never give up on independence, even if you might give up on Pete!
I too was disappointed in his attitude. I don’t know how many in the SNP leadership agree with him. FWIW I’ll be voting for Chris McEleny in the depute election if only to send a message to the leadership that the Scottish government must use the mandates it has won for indyref2. McEleny has said it must be in the next 18 months.
The Brexit bourach is frustrating – for everyone – but I’m confident it will provide the opportunity for the Scottish government to call indyref2 well before the next Holyrood elections.
The SNP has done incredibly well over the years in its pragmatic, evolutionary approach. However, I strongly believe now is the time for revolutionary tactics.
Daisy Walker @ 16:44,
Pretty much says it for me too, Daisy.
There seems to be a section of the SNP, MPs and ex-MPs especially, with PW at their fore, that just can’t get past looking backwards.
Instead of using the crisis of Brexit as a lever, they desperately want Brexit to be over, done and dusted. Partly because they hope that the after-effects will convince the necessary 5%+ and because of the yes-leavers, whom they naively assume will all come back onside.
Well, both assumptions are deeply flawed, IMO.
The first because most ordinary people will just shrug their shoulders post-Brexit and accept a fait-accompli, no matter how bad it becomes. In fact, the worse it becomes, the more likely most folk will retreat into disengagement, not rally behind their sovereignity abused. Just like in the “good old” bad old days under NorthBritLab. That lot will probably slither back into power again as well, and goodbye any chance of indyref2.
Secondly because there are essentially two types of yes-leaver. The first (and I believe majority) rightly want independence, and can accept that an independent Scotland likely won’t agree with their EU reluctance (assuming that the real facts as being revealed haven’t already changed their own minds). They will continue to vote for indy regardless, knowing that sovereignity is the cricial issue and everything else comes second.
The other lot are the people for whom immigration and isolation are the crucial issues, with independence coming a distant second. The UKGov has outbid the SSG on that, not least because these Leavers can see that in an independent Scotland they would be in a minority.
Furthermore, virtually everything that Nicola has pronounced on the subject over the last while is complete anathema to that lot, so thinking they can be won over by some kind of EEA/EFTA appeasement (in flagrant contradiction to the majority wish) is frankly complete wishful thinking. These people have largely been lost to indy and are not coming back. Those in the SNP like PW had better get used to it, and instead of looking backwards, start looking forwards instead to all those who are rightly affronted by Brexit and are winnable, as that excellent series of videos by Phantom Power so well reveals.
It requires good timing, granted, but it also requires gumption, getting off the knees and actively making a case for indy. It will never happen just by folding arms and waiting for people to wake up all on their own.
@Daisy Walker,
Great post. If you haven’t already, I’d suggest reading Mark McNaught’s article..
link to indyref2.scot
Daisy , well said, if there is not any Indy 2.Ref before next Scottish Elections, im outa dodge, will go and live my life out in a country that is not subversiant like Ireland or go and live in Catalonia.
One thing gor sure it wont be Scotland.
Well done Daisy! stick it on the main thread also!
@Daisy W –
Your article on PW would make an excellent companion piece to Peter Bell’s latest:
link to peterabell.blog
Peter Bell’s always worth the money. Westminster has been corrupting Scots politicians since 1707.
Thanks folks for the kind comments. I took quite a few hours to write it, and I did not do so lightly.
Pete’s position defies all logic, that it keeps getting repeated, smacks of Policy, not opinion.
I fear, Craig Murray’s criticism of the SNP may be correct.
I will be proved wrong, when very shortly we here from the SNP Leadership about a clear plan for ‘the elephant in the courtroom’ This one is entirely their remit, not a grass roots thing in any way.
And if they do nothing. Well we’re a bit stuck to be honest, as far as I can see.
I hope I am very very wrong.
But here’s a challenge, some people here still have absolute faith in the SNP, humour me for once. If I am right, what will be our plan B? We may never need it, but we do no harm in ensuring one exists now do we.
Kindest regards to all.
Right, all you people can go back to the M/T unless you want to listen to some decent music…But;
“Keep Talking/Talkin Hawkin” Stephen Hawking y Pink Floyd;
Fabulous, Daisy
Randy Newman: “You Can Leave Your Hat On”
Do you know what Love is?
For Daisy,
“Aint She Sweet”
Don’t be fooled, Daisy takes no prisoners.
Make sure and order more…
“Popcorn” (Goes Metal)
Gladys Knight And The Pips:”Midnight Train To Georgia”
Goodnight, folks.
The Beatles:”I’m Only Sleeping”
Daisy Walker @ 10.17
Great post Daisy, really made me think….
Yes what would our plan B be if the SNP let us down ?
I must admit I didn’t take Pete Wisharts comments all that seriously at the time.
Not because of any faith in the SNP, but because I still think that we are on the path to a referendum.
But despite everything I think we have gone too far now
Even if self preservation was all the SNP were really about, we are as much their only hope as they are ours.
And plan B is no an option for them
Us on the other hand???
Smallaxe @ 12.28
Goodnight my dear friend,I hope you are taking good care of yourself.
Looking forward to seeing you on the 5th.
Much love to you and dear Mrs Smallaxe XX
@ Daisy.
That is one of the best posts I have ever read on WoS and I share your sentiment in it’s entirety. Thank you for taking the time to write it and also to share it.
@ Ian
Thank you so much for the kind offer and it may well be one that I might wish to take up. Are you really prepared for that? 😉
Could I just ask if anyone else is South of Glasgow and needing a lift up? I could make the effort to grab some bodies on the way. Would you have room at your place for meeting up in the morning or the night before the march Ian for any waifs and strays from here that I have picked up en route so that we could all travel into Glasgow by train together?
As an aside, what do you all think about booking places in the future for wings do’s and Indy marches accommodation wise (lodges and such) as a group?
I bet we could rent out some right swanky places for some weekend shenanigans that would cost a damn sight less than everyone making separate plans whenever there is a gathering. Just a thought like.
Did I forget to mention, I luv yiz ah. 😉 🙂
William Wallace – Scottish Rebel 😉
The Bangles:”Manic Monday”
Bob Marley:”Stiff Necked Fools”
“Destruction of the poor is in their poverty, destruction of the soul is vanity”
@WW –
Sorry, but there really isn’t room. Haven’t even told the missus I’ve offered space for you!
@ Ian
🙂 I thought it was a bit cheeky at the time of posting 😉 but, I thought there was no harm in asking.
I might end up taking the car to my mums in Dundee on the Friday and then getting the train/bus through to Glasgow on the morning of the march and the last train or bus back to Dundee to spend the night there. I’m going to have a wee look at various travel plans to see what works best.
@WW –
Too right, nothing ventured an aw that. I’d gladly host a fitba team ay Wingers anytime if I had an empty.
Offer still stands if you’re stuck, and in any event I’m looking forward to finally meeting you.
Hoots! 😉
There are some important things that should be done for this march. Reliable people or organisations should be appointed to count the numbers marching and informative pictures should be taken to show the actual turnout.
Dean Martin:”Not Enough Indians”
Message for Ronnie Anderson.
Hey Ronnie, remember meeting at Edinburgh HOOP – and I told you my design for bespoke barrier tape.
Well its here. 2 designs. A start. Can I get a sample through to Dundee for you to show folks.
Let me know.
Kind regards
FWIW
I don’t think Pete Wishart has been ‘corrupted’ by Westminster. I think his logic is probabaly that a clear 60% pro YES in the polls would make the referendum basically fraud proof. A loss after such a lead would be extremely suspicious.
Like most here, however, I don’t think we will ever get the 60%, since the polls themselves are easily manipulated.
If Pete Wishart wasjust an ordinary 5/8 with an income to match his views might be somewhat different!
“Sun is Shining” Bob Marley;
So it is*
“Yesterday`s Papers” The Rolling Stones;
Just revisited this one after a long time – amazed it hasn’t had more views
The Waterboys, ‘Old England’ –
It’s because of this Ian.
The Kinks:”Living on a Thin Line”
Click on ‘Show More’ below the video for lyrics.
@Ian Brotherhood
Yes I remember that one well from pre-referendum. So true and the reality of the lyrics missed by most. Especially British Nationalists.
An Independent Scotland will reawaken the English public to the fact there are alternatives to the Tory way, at least I hope it does.
Poor BBC watching, Daily Mail reading deluded voters.
Thought Mike Russell was outstanding today and Welsh Labour, like all incarnations of Labour, were pathetic but predictable.
Other thoughts: does Salisbury have no video surveillance of its town-centre? If so, surely very unusual in Snoopy UK? Why would this be?
Are the Tories happy to destroy the town’s businesses just to perpetuate the laughable fiction that there is still dangerous nerve gas/poisonous liquid on “knobs”, benches, fings, whatever?
Sleep well. Don’t have nightmares. Check under the bed for Reds.
Peter A Bell interviewed on online Argyll Independent Radio from about 8.30 tomorrow evening after a meeting at the Forward Shop in Dunoon
4 Non Blondes:”What’s Up”
“Who Killed Cock Robin” (and others)
“The Murder of Willie Macrae”
Imagine Dragons:”Whatever it Takes”
Rag’n’Bone Man:”Human”
For Nana;
“Will You Go Lassie Go” – Joan Baez (Edinburgh 1965)
@ Smallaxe requests! Howabout some Maura O’Connell kid, “Maggie or Shades of Gloria!” kid!
“Maggie”
Maura O’Connell “Shades of Gloria”
That okay, Fred?
Don’t forget interview with Peter Bell by Dave McEwan Hill which has just started at 20:30.
link to internetradiouk.com
Fred a wee tune for you. link to youtube.com
@ Smallaxe & Michael, that was absolutely superb, what chanters eh!
Ah copy Urls oot with two fingers hence the requests!
Falling out of love. link to youtube.com
I’m celebrating tonight’s colossal Yoon catastrofeck by playing a strangely prescient track which is about 40 years old, and yet bang up to date.
Don’t have nightmares, now.
I haven’t posted a song for quite a while now. I seem to have ran out of tunes and really don’t want to be repeating myself.
I’m sure you know what I mean, still after the debacle exposed by the Rev with the Electoral Commission em! mistake.
This came into my head and I’m sure you will enjoy.
Strawbs:”Part of the union”
Ya thaaink?
@Smallaxe
Yeh I believed in that so much. I’m older and wiser now.
“Who Are You” The Who;
Thepnr,
Aren’t we all?
Jethro Tull:”Too Old To Rock’n’Roll Too Young To Die”
@Smallaxe
That was excellent the video had me smiling. You will have to make your own mind up about this one. I’d give him the benefit of the doubt.
Thepnr,
Ian Anderson and Jethro Tull are one of my favourite bands, I’ve been to see them a few times, magic!
“She Said She Was A Dancer
Open your mind link to youtube.com
@Michael McCabe
That was brill, your still the man 🙂
Jist gets better!
Velvet Underground:”Pale Blue Eyes”
Gets out of bed, have a vague memory and check my phone. Yep shit, it really happened and wasn’t a dream. Sorry Smallaxe 🙁
Thepnr,
Not a problem, my friend, I’m always pleased to hear from you.
@Smallaxe
Well that wee tune cheered me up. Tried to think of a good phone related tune, ELO or Dr Hook?
Thought why not stick with Blondie she’s pretty good.
Thepnr,
A change is as good as a rest.
E. L. O.:”telephone line”
Dr Hook: “Rings”
The Dr Hook one I was thinking of was Sylvia’s Mother. OK its not punk but not everybody is into punk 🙂
Can some kind reader stick up a link, I’m using my phone and its proving difficult.
FROM A KIND PERSON!
Dr hook and the medicine show:”Sylvias Mother”
@Smallaxe
Cheers! That was even better than I remembered, here’s a tune for you and all Wingers.
Just been announced polar bear cub born in Highland wildlife Park name is HAMISH.A pal for our own Cairnstoon Hamish lion.
@Elizabeth Sutherland
Thanks for the info and welcome to wee Hamish 🙂
A song by Snow Patrol from the album “Songs for Polar Bears”
This is called JUST SAY YES I know that Snow Patrol are mainly Irish but they were born in Dundee and you can tell 🙂
Elizabeth Sutherland at 3.15
Is that the BRITISH bear we keep hearing about?
Amber Rudd’s pants are on fire: again.
Racist, fascist, lying, corrupt, cowardly, amoral, hypocritical Tories.
Feel free to add any adjectives I’ve missed, sophisticates.
This “rapist’s consent” thing is the biggest boot in the Scottish gonads since the last time, and all air-brushed out by our fearless Scottish press who are currently occupied on much more important matters, e.g. Davidson’s Sprog.
Don Ricardo:”She’s Having My Baby”
It wisnae me!
Frankie Miller & Rory Gallagher: “Sense of Freedom”
A long way to fall. link to youtube.com
Smoking Time Jazz Club: ‘Charleston” & Dancers
Cheers for that Smallaxe. Henri’s Boogie link to youtube.com
Hi Michael,
Les Paul & Chet Atkins: “Don’t Mean a Thing”
Hi Smallaxe I am away for some food but I will leave you with this. I will look back in later. link to youtube.com
@Michael McCabe
Warning, stay away from the mushrooms!
“Gather in the mushrooms” Benny hill 1961 LOL It’s sheer class.
Phuct forgot the link lol.
Be careful with that cutlery, Michael;
Thepnr,
“Don’t Look Back in Anger”
@Smallaxe
Cracker! A real foot tapper, head shaker and everything else I’m still dancing sitting here on meh settee 🙂
Our full house meeting with Peter A Bell in the Forward Shop in Dunoon went very well on Wednesday night as did the interview on the online ArgyllIndependentRadio after it. I’ll have this repeated shortly. I’ll mention the visit on my Roundabout Show tonight (from 7pm).
We intend to do a lot of live interviews on this little station as things hot up.
Dave McEwan Hill,
A link to your show, Dave;
link to internetradiouk.com
Dave’s on next, folks!
@Dave
Must say I like your radio “persona”, you’re better than Terry Wogan I think lol. Will tune in tonight, I don’t often but when I do I have always found it worthwhile.
BOTH – Better Ones Than Hits – don’t get me wrong Streets of London is fine, but he did do better:
Better title for that maybe – BOTHY – Better Ones Than Hits, Yes? Sounds kind of cosy.
Or even link to youtube.com
Probably one for Smallaxe 🙂
Funny the things you find on the RHS you forgot all about
@ Ian (few days ago)
Thanks again for the kind offer. I am probably going to stop at my friends just outside Liverpool for the night on the Friday and I will drive up Saturday morning.
I have a couple of choices from there. Up to Dundee on the 23:40 to bide at my mums hoose or travel back on the Sunday morning at 11-00 am to Liverpool for some dinner and a trip back south.
As much as I’d love to come and bide at your place, I think it would be preferable to at least meet you first in Glasgow so you can decide if I am a suitable tenant or not 😉
I also don’t know what time you are heading back home to bed and whether or not that contravenes my night oot policy (I am prepared to cover the taxi hame to your gaff btw). I am however, like yourself – looking forward to meeting you.
Additionally, I am so pissed off with the state of play I might start a riot and get myself arrested in Glasgow to demonstrate the point and get myself some free B&B 😉 🙂
I am slightly pished, despite the hour (top night oot) so please take my comments with the serious they do not deserve 🙂
Hoots Mon 😉
Lou Reed:”I’m Waiting For My Man”
Still waitin’
@ Sma
Nae invite tae the borders iy 😉
In the mood 😉
Hi Wull,
You’re welcome here anytime, I’ve got an hotel booked from the 4th-6th so that I can be at the march. I hope to see you there, but don’t ever pass my door without calling in.
On the subject of Louis
I’m “in the mood” for love 🙂
I’m in the mood for Luuuurve 🙂
@ Sma
I widnae dream o it 😉
Can you no fit me in yir suitcase? 🙂
Here you go, Wull;
@ Sma
Hahahaha 🙂
I’m just a “man in a suitcase” 😉
My name is Bill and I’m a headcase;
I think that makes two of us Wull.
@ Sma 😉
And there was me thinking “I’m a Man” 🙂
“We All Grow Up”
Unfortunately!
So true Sma.
Wouldn’t it be great to be “Forever Young?”
Alas, I suppose
“Everybody’s Got to learn sometime”
Then again
“Who wants to live forever?”
No matter how long you live, this is ALL you need;
True!
There is no Perfection but there is Aspiration.
His Imperial Majesty Haile Selassie I, Conquering Lion of the Tribe of Judah, King of Kings.( Born Tafari Makonnen Woldemikael)
Address to the UN General Assembly (4 October 1963)
Twenty-seven years ago, as Emperor of Ethiopia, I mounted the rostrum in Geneva, Switzerland, to address the League of Nations and to appeal for relief from the destruction which had been unleashed against my defenceless nation, by the Fascist invader.
I spoke then both to and for the conscience of the world. My words went unheeded, but history testifies to the accuracy of the warning that I gave in 1936. Today, I stand before the world organization which has succeeded to the mantle discarded by its discredited predecessor. In this body is enshrined the principle of collective security which I unsuccessfully invoked at Geneva. Here, in this Assembly, reposes the best — perhaps the last — hope for the peaceful survival of mankind.
(In 1926, Italy and Britain attempted a joint commercial penetration of Ethiopia. By bringing pressure jointly upon Ras* (Duke*) Tafari, the Italians planned to exploit a railway and the British hoped to construct a mighty waterworks for irrigating the Anglo-Egyptian Sudan. While Tafari yielded momentarily, he subsequently made a protest to the League of Nations so potent that British public opinion turned against the waterworks scheme and it was cancelled. This left the Italians in the lurch.
In March 1936, Hitler marched troops into the Rhineland, which had been prohibited by the Treaty of Versailles. The French were now desperate to get Italian support against German aggression directly on their border, so would not take any further action with sanctions.)
Address to the UN General Assembly (4 October 1963)
The Charter of the United Nations expresses the noblest aspirations of man: abjugation of force in the settlement of disputes between states; the assurance of human rights and fundamental freedoms for all without distinction as to race, sex, language or religion; the safeguarding of international peace and security.
But these, too, as were the phrases of the Covenant, are only words; their value depends wholly on our will to observe and honour them and give them content and meaning. The preservation of peace and the guaranteeing of man’s basic freedoms and rights require courage and eternal vigilance: courage to speak and act — and if necessary, to suffer and die — for truth and justice; eternal vigilance, that the least transgression of international morality shall not go undetected and unremedied.
These lessons must be learned anew by each succeeding generation, and that generation is fortunate indeed which learns from other than its own bitter experience. This Organization and each of its members bear a crushing and awesome responsibility: to absorb the wisdom of history and to apply it to the problems of the present, in order that future generations may be born, and live, and die, in peace.
We Are Power:
Namaste*, my friends;
“The Spirit within me, bows to The Spirit within you”*
It’s A Beautiful Day:”Time Is”
It is time.
Smallaxe, you’re gon yer dinger wi a’ the links on the MT. Thank you very much for all of them, sometimes nearly into a fourth cuppa to read all of them. I only hope that you’re not overdoing things, take care. We need you, hope Nana comes back soon, we miss her too.
With all that’s going on just now politically by the very underhand Tories supported by the msm, I don’t think that if they get their way, that we’re going to be in a very good place.
Hi Marie,
Thanks, I think that will be the last of the links for this week as I have a few things to do before heading up to Glasgow for the march next weekend so I’ll definitely have to take things easy up to then as I would hate to miss it.
What road did you say?
Cher, Chrissie Hynde, Neneh Cherry & Eric Clapton:
“Love can build a bridge”
Evening Wingers, where’s the hat-stand…
All yours main thread.
Julian Lennon:”Ruby Tuesday”
I put the following on OT about 1 week ago, and I asked then, what if the SNP let us down, do we have a plan B?
I’m now more convinced than ever, although I do not know the reasons, that Pete Wishart’s expressed concerns and determination to delay Indy Ref 2 until after another GE is now Policy.
We need a plan B. And we need it now.
This is what I posted a week ago…
THE WIND OOT MA SAILS
To all who are concerned, and to Pete Wishart MP (who should be).
Like a good many others, in Scotland, and around the globe, I woke up on 19/9/14, as one bereaved.
And tragically, even a lot of those people who voted No, were also gutted. On some level they must have known the YES group were the goodies. But they had not been convinced. They admitted it, Project Fear worked on them.
But here was the thing, before the dust settled on the day, before the next sunset, the whole country, the whole country, had a plan, a solid, clear road map to Indy, and the wind was in our sails.
First SNP Membership rose from 15,000 – 100,000 in months. The 3rd biggest party in the UK. Wow.
Then the GE. Lend us your vote, said Nicola, and Yes, No’s and Mibbaes Aye did, overwhelmingly – 56 out of 59. And not only that but real human beings got elected. Mharie Black, Tommy Shepherd, Pippa Whitford. Fresh voices, fresh ideas. Right in the face of WM and boy did they know it. And then adjusted… Westminster is the oldest hand at taming its subjects, practice makes perfect.
And in spite of their best efforts, how little did their presence achieve.
And then Brexit, no clear literature, mixed messages from HQ, poor leadership on many a level, and the Yessers divided.
On a UK l’vote leave’ level a campaign overwhelmingly Racist, dumbed down to the most simplistic base instincts, with a big lie on a bus as a salve for their conscience – How much for the NHS a week? … aye right.
And no-one, not even the most hopeful, devoted Yesser, could have believed the outcome. Every part of Scotland voted to stay, a 62% majority. The democratic contrast between Scotland and England could not be more clear cut.
And Brexit, a mystery, wrapped in a soundbite, Brexit means…. blah blah.
(Its April 2018 now, and the only clear thing about Brexit, is what a total ClusterF*ck its going to be. For the economy, for the prices of everything, for Farming and Fishing and Manufacturing, and Human Rights, the environment, employment. Nothing, nothing good is coming from Brexit.
It’s Brexshit and Bad all the way, except for the already rich, who will carve up the NHS, and keep their Tax Havens.)
And still we had a plan, the leadership say ‘hold, hold’ and we get that, ‘patience, there is a plan’.
And a snap GE, snap for us, well planned in advance by the Unionist Parties. And not just one, but 2 terrorist incidents in the middle.
And still we had a plan, a mandate, a get out of jail free card, a cast iron ‘we’ve damned well had enough’ mandate, ‘we reserve the right to call another referendum in the event of extraordinary circumstances, such as Scotland being pulled out of the EU against her will’.
Doesn’t get much clearer than that, does it. Didn’t put it in small print, thinking no-one would read it did they. I was conscious of voting for it, with that in mind.
3 times, 3 times they tried to scupper it, and 3 times, the people of Scotland voted for this mandate. (2 x GE,s and 1 x SE).
And still, in the face of all that WM and its complicit whoor – the Medial, could throw at it, we won, still the biggest party in Scotland. Still the wind in our sails and the road rising up to meet us. Never losing faith, never loosing courage, never losing site of the plan, and never stopping the campaign.
And for those of us, worried that there seemed to be a lack of urgency at SNP party level, a complacency, a quietening on the urgency for another Referendum. Well we put our concerns to one side, with their brilliant governance (and I do on the whole think it has been brilliant), and the promise of a Peoples’ Energy Company – wow, a Peoples’ Bank superb – (set up by someone from Tesco’s no less – sure to be radical yeh right, fingers crossed) We took comfort from the quiet insistence, ‘hold, hold, patience’. There is a plan, once Brexit is known.
And we put to one side, concerns that there appears to be no plan to countenance the non stop Propaganda from the BBC – it exists, that at least is acknowledged, but nothing to hit back at it, nothing. No leaflet drops, no public meetings, no poster competitions to get the message out, no car posters for every member – with info on them, not some mindless slogan, not a bloody thing. An open goal totally ignored.
So we take stock and re-assure ourselves with certain facts, that a party in Governance has responsibilities and has to behave in a certain manner, and we go off and use the grass roots movement to try and plug the gap.
And still the road ahead is clear, there is a plan.
And then one day, one week, one month, 3 things happen, and all is changed. April 2018:
War – war is waged, on the thinnest and most dodgie of evidence. And the clear siren voice of decency, of common sense and common reason, that voice that rung out in protest over Iraq, that voted in unison against the vote to bomb Syria the first time, that voice, this time became the muted, muffled, so, so, politicians double speak of a bland bank manager.
And next up, Pete Wishart goes to press, ‘Now is not the time’ Maybeas later if yir all good boys and girls, after another GE, if you stop being naughty and vote for us again. And the song being sung, has backing singers, Jim Sillars and Robin McAlpine, even the Tory party like it.
And the third blow, Wings Over Scotland publish the article ‘Elephant in the Courtroom’ – that even if we want to use our mandate, WM could stop us, unless we win the right in court, or at any rate exhaust that avenue.
And devastatingly, on this issue, the SNP are deathly silent. Is there a plan, have they considered this, are they even aware of it and just have their heads in the sand. Questions, questions, and of answers there are none. The silence is deafening.
And this is truly devastating – the grass roots can’t fill this gap. Only the SNP, in government can implement this. On this issue we fall.
3 things, 3 things together, have brought me to my knees in a way the IndyRef1 vote never did. The wind is out of my sails, I’m bailing out water, and days ago I was sailing on at a good steady pace, plotting a course and making good progress. The shore has never seemed so close, and at the same time so far away.
On 21/4/18 Pete Wishart reiterated his argument, and I welcome the fact he did so in a more reasoned tone. And I am more certain now than ever, this is Policy, policy being finessed and sold to us, whether we like it or not.
And so the purpose of this essay, is to address his arguments, in a polite manner. There are some who say any disagreement should be done at branch level, behind closed doors. Pete’s article was public, therefore the arguments against should be public also.
PW ‘debate seems to centre round whether we should proceed with a referendum simply because we currently posses a mandate or whether we hold one when there is good evidence it can be won.’
There was nothing simple about obtaining that Mandate, that 3 times won Mandate. If we lose it by waiting for another GE, we lose it forever.
PW’ ‘I want to see evidence it can be won, and I want to see it held at the time of our choosing, when optimum conditions are in place for success’.
Well, I want to win the lottery, I want the full boona, and I’d like it to happen pretty much now, or at a time when it would suit me best.
Dear Pete, you will NEVER see evidence it can be won, WM Establishment will burn any such evidence, destroy any person who can present such evidence, and take the country to War to distract from any hint of evidence of this kind.
‘At a time of our choosing’ – what fantasy planet do you live on? When ‘Optimum Conditions are in place for success’ – there’s no such bloody thing, optimum conditions my arse, what a fair wind, sunny weather, Scotland winning the football?
PW, ‘go over what these ‘optimal conditions’ are not’
‘Less than a year from having lost one third of our indy supporting MP’s’
Dear Pete – remember Nicola’s phrase, ‘lend us your vote’. Well they did, and they were disappointed. To go from 6 MP’s to 56 in one vote and then think that’s your new normal is incredibly foolish and presumptuous.
‘we cannot ignore the fact the SNP lost half a million votes’
No you can’t, but where’s your analysis, your evidence, your polls and your research to identify the whys of the loss. Hmmm, pretty big on insisting others show you evidence, you show yours, and do so as a matter of urgency. You have people campaigning on the doors, this evidence, would be bread and butter to assist them.
‘Optimal Conditions are not when a significant gap exists between support for indy and support for an early indy ref’.
Really, you whit!!!! Imagine for a second, that for the second time in Scotland’s history, we get a second chance to vote for Independence for Scotland, and on voting day, do you really think someone is going to go,
‘that’s it, I’m voting No – told them to hold it a week on Tuesday, but would they listen, no, well this’ll teach them’.
And that Tory voter you met, who previously voted for Indy, bet they voted for Brexit, Hmm, bet they did. And like a lot of them at the time, never gave it much thought beyond the simplistic message about immigration!
Speak to Brexiteers now and a significant number of them, now know its a damned site more complicated than that, with zero good news coming through. Immigration has been knocked off the poster board as an issued when it comes to Brexit.
Immigration, for those who have that fear, is going to get an awful lot bigger under a Tory Government desperate to strike any kind of deal with India, for which ‘free movement of people’ will be an absolute condition. Fancy that do you, with workers rights Binned under Brexit.
If you want to win back the Yes/Leave voters I ‘d strongly suggest the above hard fact might be one to start shouting from the rooftops.
Pete, you say that support for Independence is holding strong at 45%, and then in the next sentence talk about it being opposed by a ‘significant margin’ – that margin is 5%.
You identify this 5% as the hardest group to convert. You say we ‘need a new case’ and we ‘have to get on their territory’, every day issues such as ‘pensions, currency, perceived deficits’ are to be addressed and to win, ‘we are going to have to be creative’.
On this I agree, and am pulling my hair out at your almost complete lack of ambition. You are aiming for 5%, 5%! Aim for 30%, aim for 40%. Damn well aim to win.
And where, where, where is your new case for pensions, your new case for currency, for perceived deficits. Anyone following the issues will know, Prof Richard Murphy has done more work on ‘perceived deficits’ than you – did you print it off, did you do a leaflet drop – did you hell.
Currency – look to the the Common Green, they’ve done all the heavy lifting there. Did you print it off, did you get billboards commissioned with the info. Did you hell.
Last time round the SNP produced a 500 page white paper, grass roots Wings Over Scotland produced The Wee Blue Book, thank god they did.
You ‘get creative’ if you want to, the rest of us would be better off putting a big simple message on the side of a bus.
You talk about returning to a ‘One Scotland’ approach to independence. I do hope you didn’t pay anyone money for that slogan. Money down the drain if you did.
You talk of Brexit, of not leaving those who voted Leave – Semi Detached from the Yes Movement, proceeding to another indyref with this unresolved will be like having one hand tied behind our backs.
Well Pete, lets hear you ‘get creative’ about sorting this one out eh. Suggestions, ideas, policies. Where are they. It’s been over a year since the Brexit vote, where are they? what are they? EFTA, EEA, what about it, argue the case.
You say,
’ Brexit will be an Unmitigated Disaster for our fellow Scots and when it properly hits our fellow Scots will want to review their constitutional options. It (optimum conditions) is hitting the sweet spot when Brexit Impacts and people actively want out of an isolated, desolated UK.
It means support for the SNP returning to the levels we achieved around the last referendum in electoral contests.’
So your going to let an unmitigated disaster befall us, a Brexit impact that will isolate and desolate us, and if we’re good boys and girls and vote SNP in enough numbers you might, mibees just honour the mandate we voted for the first time. Stronger for Scotland my arse.
Please, please listen, when I say this. If we do not hold another Indy Ref before the next General Election and before we lose our mandate. No-one, No-one, No-one is Ever, Ever, Ever going to Vote for you Again.
The mandate will be squandered, our single market membership to the EU will be lost, our economy, our businesses, universities, environment, NHS Scotland, our Parliament, ruined, and gone, gone, gone.
These are Desperate times, not chosen times, not optimum times, Desperate times.
Last time we had a choice, a choice for change or no change.
This time out we have a Fight for Survival and only a short window of opportunity to achieve it.
Your current stance has done, what the BBC, the Tories, the Labour Party and the No Voters could never do. You’ve taken the wind from my sails.
That’s me for now.
Now, where did I leave that pair of oars.
Yours in kindness and in commitment.
Daisy Walker
Daisy – my thoughts and feelings too. NOW is the time for a referendum to be called and for campaigning by the Scottish Government for Scotland’s position as our own country, to govern ourselves, to be restored.
The English establishment [Westminster, the wealthy, the media] will never allow Scotland to dissolve the Union. They will stop at very little so we mustn’t make it easy for them.
The Scottish Government must speak out every day about the lies and manipulation AND must speak for our right as a country to exist and to decide for ourselves. They have no mandate for anything other than that.
I have written to my MP, Ian Blackford, about this but as he is not an MSP, and I’m not an SNP member [yet], it seems to have fallen on deaf ears.
My local group, and others in the Highlands, are in accord with Yes DIY. Fingers crossed that SNP central are taking note.
Daisy
I agree with what you have said here…..except Pete Wishart has not “taken the wind from my sails” He is my MP and I was annoyed (putting it mildly) with his contribution to the debate about when ScotRef should/shouldn’t be held but I really don’t think he is reflecting a party view. Here is what I wrote in reply to him at the time…. The Scottish government must use the mandate we have given them and call a referendum before we are taken out of the EU. 62% of voters voted to stay in the EU and that was without EU nationals living here and 16/17 year olds being allowed to vote. Although I understand why Nicola felt she had to try to reach a compromise for the sake of those who voted for Brexit I feel it has been a compromise too far. Time to stand up for democracy in Scotland. If necessary a case can be made during the referendum campaign for the EU question to be revisited after independence but the “will of the Scottish people” was clearly expressed and as more and more are becoming aware of what a disaster Brexit will be for Scotland the desire to avoid it must surely grow.
You say that the SNP “lost” half a million voters in the snap GE. Many of those were Indy supporting people who have been SNP voters in order to show support for Independence. They were scunnered that the SNP campaign made it clear the GE was NOT about Independence and avoided mentioning it….like the plague…..even when all the BritNats parties (and the MSM) were talking about nothing else! They did not give their vote elsewhere …..they just didn’t bother!
There is so much happening NOW in the UK that the Independence campaign could get its teeth into……Brexit, the power grab/Supreme Court case, the illegal bombing in Syria, immigration issues, Trident, shipbuilding going abroad, Cambridge Analytica, pensions etc etc ……never mind the fact that NONE of the promises made in The Vow 2014 have been kept and the introduction of EVEL announced on the 19th September 2014!
We need to make sure there are safeguards in place for the count and the adherence to the rules of purdah……both of which left much to be desired previously.
There are many moving from NO to YES……why do you think the BritNats are so worried?
All opinion polls are deceptive…..they are designed to sway opinion NOT reflect it.
Independence supporters will never give up the cause and another defeat would be heartbreaking but to lose because we didn’t even try would be worse. 2015 showed a massive increase in support for the SNP in order to buoy the independence movement and keep the dream alive…..if they do not use our mandate there will be consequences!
#IStandWithNicola and trust she has Plans A,B,C and however many more are needed for whatever the BritNats throw at us! I expect we will find out soon now.
Daisy Walker @ 11.13
Just as impressive a read 2nd time around!
Daisy why don’t you submit this to the Rev as a Soap Box article.
He did invite submissions,and I think this might be just what he is looking for.
It should certainly provoke quite a discussion.
Please think about it.
I’d back that call – a great Soapbox article, and a great way of showing that the grassroots ain’t too happy.
Mind you, I still think it’s going according to plan, and the next few weeks are carefully gamed out.
Well said Daisy. What lessons have the SNP learned from 2014 ? Playing the Westminster game is a waste of time. Let’s get on the front foot and work to inspire the people of Scotland to take control of our own destiny.
Excellent demolition of PW’s stance. I’m not convinced that he’s articulating SNP policy and I’m pretty sure that the main function of the SG’s step by step constitutional challenge is to expose the sham of the ‘union of equals’ for all to see. I hope I’m right but either way there’s a lot to play for yet and time has not yet run out. To quote Monty Python ‘ Our chief weapons are fear and surprise,
We’ve certainly got them feart.
Take heart Daisy. All is not lost by a long way.
Very sad that I probably won’t be able to get to the Saturday party.
Too many commitments this weekend and it would be an 8 hour round trip so not doable.
Will look ot for live streaming. Have a great day everyone.
ps Smallaxe – loved the Julian Lennon track. Still listening for traces of papa John though.
@yesindyref2
Yes. Yes I believe it is going to a plan. The plan though, (and near as I can tell) is pretty drastic and it’s not without its dangers, but I’d say it’s the only one with a chance of success.
Capella,
Try these;
Julian Lennon:”I Don’t Wanna Know”
Julian Lennon:”Too Late for Goodbyes”
If this is TLDR please skip to the final paragraph, where i offer a couple of Glasgow Locals the chance to come on my SunnyG radio show and talk about/report back from the March and talk some Indy (strat).
@daisy
I’m in agreement with other – A very well written post, and i’d like to see it as s soapbox topic thread starter as well.
@highland Wifie
I disagree that our two main weapons are fear and surprise. That said I think surprise is a byproduct of othe essential strategy elements.
It’s all about information folks, it always has been it always will be.
If anyone has the time please read (at least the first two chapters) Propaganda by Edward Bernays. Here’s a good link to the text – a freebie an aw.
link to historyisaweapon.com
We win a referendum when enough voters think Yes is the best option for Scotland moving forwards. It’s not a matter of the heart. It’s all about information. Ours versus theirs. Our access and reach, versus theirs. Our ability to get enough information to enough people, versus their ability to dsitract the voter from our information, or by attempting to, attack debunk and discredit our information.
If an indepdendent fruit seller says, my fruit is the best, and cheap too – then ten paid shills say, his fruit is mouldy, his apples have worms, the bananas are mush…buy the fruit in the big warehouse…what do we do? Most folk go to the big warehouse.
We have boots on the ground. We have bodies. They have the MSM, Labour/LibDems/Torys. We have online media, social media…so do they. The job of an illusionist is to make to look the other way, whilst they use slieght of hand to produce the rabbit from the hat.
Years ago, i walked into my brand new flat in London. Six months old it was. Shiny and gleaming. I loved it. Fresh everything. Then my architect friend came to stay. And he shook his head. He said this place won’t be here in 50 years. How so? It’s been made with the lowest specs, the materials, fixtures and fittings, the structure, the cladding…all shite.
Oh…I didn’t see any of that. But he was right. And true to form i went to the cupboard to get something and the door handle fell off. We’re the architect in the story.
We have the information. If he had viewed the property prior to me signing the contract, i would not have signed, i would have taken his advice. Knowledge is power. Good information allows us to make a ‘best response’. The method of delivery is key as well.
Wee Blue Book – versus a weighty white paper. No contest.
The strategy is, was and always will be to inform the elecorate. To elighten them, to endow them with knowledge, in order to make a best response. It doesn’t matter what our obstacles are, we just have to deal with it, and do it yesterday. Doesn’t matter that they have the MSM machine and the establishment. We adapt our strategy accordingly.
Young folk are great at marketing.
I’m fine with marches, but think about this. If i give 50,000 people 100 leaflets, with good sound info, with good sound links. How long before i can get one of those leaflets into every household in the coutry. What’s the EV of that? Versus the EV (expected value) of a March. Just askin likes.
I will be doing my usual radio show on SunnyGovan 6pm-8pm on friday. If one or two of you wants to come on the show, talk about the March talk about Indy…let me know. I’ll get you on the show.
Cheers, Martin.
@ Smallaxe – 🙂 even the naff retro cheeky chappie mishief was spot on. But not the same!
Daisy, good post again, stick it on the main thread! Will Mr Wishart be addressing the peeps on Glesga Green one wonders? Naw he’ll be nowhere near it, such is the pernicious effect of green leather & green-backs upon some Scottish MP’s.
Smallaxe, steady as she goes kid, hope to see U Saturday!
See you on Saturday, Fred.
“Woman” John Lennon;
@Macart
Yes, a lot of danger.
What I do these days is react as I’m supposed to, to whatever is printed or said, even to headlines. It’s fun 🙂
@yesindyref2
Pretty much all we can do till the autumn. In the meantime it’s all about the summer and how the Brexit negotiations and the continuity bill case pans out.
Bum’ll be making buttons right enough. 😀
@ Smallaxe = star quality there. Of course Ruby Tuesday was written by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards. So here is the vinyl version of Little Red Rooster as it looked on my little dansette all those years ago:
@Macart
I also think it’s wheels within wheels if that makes sense. I hope so anyway!
OK I’m just trying to tie all the most recent posts together into a single bundle THAT MAKES SENSE 🙂
John Lennon: Watching the Wheels
The lyrics version because they’re worth reading. All OT Wings supporters are a bit different. Just a wee bit mind and that’s to be celebrated. Because without our differences nothing would ever change.
The only question now is, who’s vision of change is going to win?
Hey, Smallaxe, if you’re out there: I’m sewing eau de Nile sequins on my fuchsia bolero jacket for the march on Saturday.
Hope we won’t clash sartorially.
PS, could you bring back my Sorley MacLean LP? Will be declaiming Hallaig outside The Scotia later on Sat. and need to brush up.
And oblige,
TC