40.9K Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Ian Brotherhood

Radiohead, ‘Bodysnatchers’ (live) –

Nana Smith

@Ian Brotherhood

Re your query on main thread, I did not watch the programme but here is a few comments from twitter

Shameful and embarrassing watching Ruth Davidson laugh on BBC about her hypocrisy on tax credits. Game show disgrace.

RuthDavidsonMSP doing a grand 2nd class girly job of laughing at all the boys crap jokes – she knows her place

she is laughing like Ted Heath. R. Davidson having a great laugh on BBC while Scot’s face TaxCredCuts

Ruth Davidson there, stealing jokes from @AngrySalmond on HIGNFY

HIGNFY Is this Ruth trying to get her job back with the BBC after she loses in 2016 Scottish elections

Thepnr

It doesn’t get any easier eh!

How about BTO?

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Good one. When we form the BTO WOS Tribute band, I bags to be the dude with the orange suit and fur-trim. Cool.

We seem to be getting a bit of a theme here – BTO singing about a devil-woman, right after Bodysnatchers.

So here’s Bonnie Tyler in a scary video, to get us in the Halloween mood. Quite apt, what with all this EVEL patter going on…

Bonnie Tyler, ‘I Need A Hero’ (or a Woodbine, whichever becomes available first…)-

Ian Brotherhood

@Nana Smith –

Can’t remember the last time I saw HIGNFY ‘live’ so-to-speak. Someone mentioned earlier it’s now 25 years they’ve been at it?!

No wonder it’s dog-tired.

Nana Smith

@Ian

25yrs, crikey I feel old! and bloody tired. Night night

Ian Brotherhood

This is toe-curling pish, but, by the sounds of it (after hearing reports from my many spies) a sight better than tonight’s HIGNFY.

Bobby Pickett, ‘Monster Mash’ –

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

HIGNFY well dead, even then Yong Ones had to go at some time and they had the likes of this with Madness.

cearc

Hiya, alls. see yous tomorrow.

Ian Brotherhood

@Cearc –

That was very this:

Soft Cell, ‘Say Hello, Wave Goodbye’ –

Paula Rose

Thank you Chipmonkey for your generous offer – Quentin is so delicate and lovely with his caring approach to pedicurism – lie back and swoon.

cearc

Thepnr,

While you’re lurking in the lounge, I’m wrecking your kitchen.

Lanarkist

Looking forward to Invergowrie tonight, see some of you there!

Ian Brotherhood

Severe lack of Inverwotsit-related reports in here.

Very disappointing.

Until we get some form of update, I will post Andrew Lloyd Webber songs and/or toe-curling pop-songs featuring child choirs.

I’m serious.

Here’s a ‘gentle’ introduction to the thumb-screws:

Michael Ball, ‘Love Changes Everything’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Don’t say you weren’t warned:

Clive Dunn, ‘Grandad’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Now 23.41, and still no updates…

ABBA, ‘I Have A Dream’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Brian & Michael, ‘Matchstalk Men And Matchstalk Cats And Dogs’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Here’s Lloyd Webber’s missus, giving it laldy before he tamed her a la Citizen Kane and made her an opera ‘star’ –

Sarah Brightman & Hot Gossip, ‘I Lost My Heart To A Starship Trooper’ –

David

Next DJ please!!

Sensational Alex Harvey Band – ‘Next’

David

Indeep – ‘Last night a DJ saved my life’

Ian Brotherhood

Okay.

It’s now 1.12.

Time for the big guns.

Elaine Paige, Susan Boyle, & Several Hundred Candles, ‘I Know Him So Well’ –

David

Indeep – ‘Last night a DJ saved my life’

cearc

Sorry Ian, it was getting so wild the high spot of course being when Jim took Quentin Quale outside.

Fight club had nothing on it.

Thepnr’s looking for a song for you right now.

Thepnr

It’s late I know. I liked this song but not sure if it’s due a turn on off topic? It is.

Ian Brotherhood

@cearc, Thepnr, David –

Thanks be to all known gods, the cavalry has arrived…

Now I can sleep, knowing this place is back in safe hands.

Sarah Brightman & Andrea Bocelli, ‘Time To Say Goodbye’ –

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

What can I say other than than that was absolutely brilliant?

So cheers, I loved it.

One day, ALL music will be like this :0)

Smiley Face

~_^

😀

😀

Testing

Brian Doonthetoon

Some pics and a short video showing those who were there, taken last night at the Invergowrie night out.

link to sites.google.com

Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Great to see so many old faces together!

Aye, CyberNats in the flesh are properly terrifying, eh?

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Saw your comment about foodbanks on main thread.

Justice served would to have IDS, Danny Alexander, and all the other BTUKOK bawbaggers locked in a cell with Susan Boyle belting out the entire Rice/Webber back catalogue full-pelt on an endless loop until they succumb, one by one. And I don’t mean recordings – I mean her, in there with them, so close that her eyebrows graze their cheeks.

Ian Brotherhood

‘This ain’t no foolin’ around!’

Talking Heads, ‘Stop Making Sense’ (live) –

Ian Brotherhood

Tonight’s ‘compare & contrast’ exercise:

Toyah Wilcox in 1977:

Toyah Wilcox in 2006:

Aye, it’s a fucking ‘mystery’ right enough…

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Hey come on now Ian Toyah in 77 was of course very different in 06. She was fat in 76 and skinny in 06? Who really cares though I did enjoy the cafe scene, reminded me of this.

Can I tell you something else for free? This is one fight we will win.

Easy, we have right on our side.

Ian Brotherhood

Old Favourite –

Dexy’s Midnight Runners performing ‘Jackie Wilson Said’ on TOTP, with big giant screen showing oor very ain Jocky Wilson in the background…

Postmodernist cross-cultural fertilisation, with a dash of kismet thrown in for good measure, and ye can even dance tae it? – result!

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

your mentions of ‘Toyah’.

You may enjoy this episode of ‘Shoestring’, which features the said lady. I liked ‘Shoestring’ and found this episode ‘aw right’.

It’s just under 50 minutes so get a drinkie or three, and popcorn, or your favourite snack.

BTW: I posted this originally at around 5 past 10 but it seems to have been chah’d up by the system. I’m not sure if this is exactly the same as the first attempt (which returned a “duplicate message detected” message when I clicked on ‘submit’ again, after around 10 minutes) so two versions of this post may eventually appear.

I haven’t known, in the past, for it to take over 25 minutes for a post to appear.

A-A-ARGH! I’ve just realised what’s wrong. I forgot to strip out the h-t-t-p-s-:-/-/ before I submitted.

Mea culpa…

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Great video.

If we ever do meet up, please remind me to tell you a story about that song. (It’s a belter but not for public consumption.)

Thepnr

Ian you do know that the band is from Arbroath? I have a story or two mesell 🙂

Thepnr

Now this is a dancer 🙂

Michael McCabe

For all those who cant keep there feet on the Ground. and look out for the Bagpipes. link to youtube.com

Proud Cybernat

I suppose this should go here. BBC and Corporate Media crap debunked:

link to tinyurl.com

Enjoy.

Oh – and spread it far ‘n’ wide. Let’s take these truth-benders, these liars, down.

Iain Hamilton

Just copied this from Baroness Moan of Playboy’s Wiki page.

“In January 2012, she gave an interview to The Sunday Times stating her intention to move to England were Scotland to become independent following the 2014 Referendum.[14] Such was the hostility by Scottish National Party (SNP) for her expressing a pro-Union viewpoint, Mone concluded relocating to England was favourable to facing further recrimination; this was despite the 2014 Scottish Independence Referendum vote being decided in favour maintaining the Union.”

UNbefeckinglievable!

Michael McCabe

A Song for Rev Stu on his Birthday. link to youtube.com From the off topic Posse.

Proud Cybernat

‘Kez – The Blunder Years’

link to tinyurl.com

Spread it far ‘n’ wide.

Michael McCabe

@Proud Cybernat Cheers for your links. That’s 2 of them I have seen now. Keep them Coming.

Paula Rose

Time for some all time brilliance…

Paula Rose

More genius – from the Tay Bridge bar courtesy of Michael Marra…

Quentin Quale

Paula, it was great to catch up at Inverwotsit. Another great night. Thinking about your dance moves had me playing Zappa’s Sheik Yerbouti(geddit?)which led to me dusting off my copy of Hot Rats. Hearing Willie the Pimp made me rush to my cd of St Andrew’s Word on the Pavey to play Wullie thon Mink – well, well. Find and listen. Michael Marra’s a genius richt enough.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Quentin Quayle.

“Peaches En Regalia” has always been one of my fave tracks.

But my fave Mothers track is “Do You Like My New Car?/Happy Together”, from the “Live At The Fillmore East” (1971) album. Brilliant the way they lead up to Happy together – ‘The big hit record – with the bullet!’ Here’s an updated version of it, featuring Dweezil Zappa.
“Roger Daltry never laid a hand on me.”

Quentin Quale

Hi Brian, the spirit of Frank lives on in Dweezil. My top Zappa track would be The Torture Never Stops but for novelty value how about his Variations on the Carlos Santana Secret Chord Progression?
Still miffed with Zappa for driving past me and my mate hitching to Knebworth. Those were the days. Probably.

frogesque

Testing:

😛 :p

frogesque

^ note to self, use upper case P

Paula Rose

😛 ?

Paula Rose

It wouldn’t be an Off-topic page without…

yesindyref2

Something mellow for the time out of night.

john king

Hands up everyone who hates cover songs?
think again,
some are better than the orginals

john king

Or fit aboot this
beautiful

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi John King.

You typed,
“some are better than the orginals”

True – but I still prefer The Mindbenders’ original of “Groovy Kind Of Love”. I found the Phil Collins version insipid. I have a memory of singing, in unison, with mah best girl bah mah side, “Groovy Kind Of Love” at a party at Bob Costello Snr’s house, around 1970.

Ah, memories. Aren’t they the stuff of dreams?

Onnyhoo, to continue with your premise, I offer you these covers:-

john king

Right Im going to test peoples patience now with a “test peice” which by its very name is a “test” of a brass bands capabilities and not always were they very entertaining (for the audience), this one I have a special fondness for, since my band played severalyears ago in the Scottish championships, its called Year of The Dragon -the peice between 6.40 and 9.0 minutes still has the ability to raise every hair on my body.

john king

I couldnt have described this better than the conductor
absolutely fantastic.

cearc

Liked the dragon.

Ian Brotherhood

Saturday Night SLab Tributes, please!

Status Quo, ‘Down Down’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Two-For-The-Price-Of-One, aka SLab BOGOF Special:

Talking Heads, ‘Burning Down The House’ (from ‘Stop Making Sense’) live, 1984 –

Ian Brotherhood

‘But if you close your eyes…’

Bastille, ‘Pompeii’ –

Ian Brotherhood

The Doors, ‘The End’ –

Ian Brotherhood

‘Monstrous and empty luck, your wheel turns…everybody, cry with me!’

Carl Orff, ‘O Fortuna’ –

Bob Mack

Think this one is apt
“Ooh I like to dance a little side step”

From the best little whore house in Texas.

Ian Brotherhood

‘If I was richa I’d still be wit ya, now ain’t that some shit?’

Cee Lo Green, Daryl Hall, ‘Fuck You’ –

Ian Brotherhood

‘Goodbye father, I’m going to die,
It sucks to die in the Springtime, ye know?
But I’m leaving Peace’s flower in my soul.’

Jacques Brel, ‘Le Moribond’ (Seasons In The Sun)

Paula Rose

*dancing spookily in Brechin*

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

You mentioned “The Best Little Whorehouse In Texas” but didn’t paste a link.

From the same fillum, I still think this beats Ms Houston’s cover version hands down.

Brian Doonthetoon

Sorry, Ian B. It was Bob Mack who mentioned it.

ronnie anderson

And the winning entries in the songs competition goes to BDTT,
it wiz the Cocker what swayed ma vote.

clochoderic

A couple of Del Amitri numbers:

Driving with the brakes on

Kiss this thing goodbye

Nothing ever happens

Paula Rose

New game – Duncan for apples.

Brian Doonthetoon

And keeping to the theme of cover versions…

Around 1967/68, every band in Dundee who had an organist, featured this in their repertoire. I remember seeing a band from Alloa, The Oryx, doing this at a Girl Guide dance in the hall of the middle one of the City Churches.

How to make a cover version into something entirely different. Still one of my favourite singles/album tracks, in the world, ever… (And the other covers on the album are just as epic.)

clochoderic

This one is for Kezia :-

George Thorogood – Get a haircut and get a real job

CameronB Brodie

As it’s Hallowe’en, here’s one for Macart (long overdue).

The Frantics – Werewolf

Ian Brotherhood

Sam & Dave, ‘I Can’t Stand Up For Falling Down’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for wur ain Paula which also addresses the subject in-hand:

The Damned, ‘New Rose’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Ah, Kezia…

‘I’m sure in her you’ll find the sanctuary…’

The Cult, ‘She Sells Sanctuary’ –

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

No more happy clappy for Labour. But how some about happy talk?

Captain Sensible

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

I’ve just read tonight’s latest page and that, along with your mention of Kezia, a couple of posts ago (She Sells Sanctuary), caused me to remember this.

“You’re trapped in the web of her lies…”

Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Never heard that song before. Liked it, great video and made me smile. Loved the dancers 🙂

Thepnr

This is NOT ME.

Chic McGregor

@Wuffing Dug

Here are two recent pdf’s on the pressure vessel problem for the European Pressure Reactor.

It is basically a material flaw stemming from the manufacturing process of the pressure vessel. Casting/pouring methodology has resulted in a segregation of carbon and as you know high concentrations of carbon increase the brittleness/fracturability of the steel.

The first is the status report and proposed testing regime proposed by AREVA and submitted to the safety committee, the second is their opinion on that proposal.

Aside from making some additional test recommendations, the committee, not surprisingly, has said we need to wait and see the results.

Still squeaky bum time for AREVA, EDF and Hinkley Point.

file:///C:/Users/Me/Downloads/Report+to+the+Advisory+Committee+of+Experts+for+Nuclear+Pressure+Equipment.pdf

file:///C:/Users/Me/Downloads/Opinion+of+the+Advisory+Committee+for+nuclear+pressure+equipment.pdf

Chic McGregor

Sorry WD, copied my own archive url’s by mistake.

Here are the on line versions.

link to french-nuclear-safety.fr

Wuffing Dug

@Chic McG 10.36 & 10.39

Thanks for the links, have copied your posts and e mailed them to myself so I can read at work tomorrow (at lunch time!) 😉

My broadband is still down, using my phone – it’s a nice big phone but still finding I’m straining my eyes sometimes while reading and typing on it.

Material composition & processing problems, oh dear oh dear. Bloody hell, wonder who approved the material concession – the test results must have been way out.

Ian Brotherhood

‘You should put me in a home or you should put me down…’

Radiohead, ‘Myxomatosis’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Van Morrison, ‘So Quiet In Here’ –

Paula Rose

How dare you – I’ve spent hours cleaning up the over-used brass and now have you making a noise – pipe down.

Ian Brotherhood

Like the heroic John McTernan, I shall never be silenced, nor put my pipe down – he who puffs last puffs longest!

And who, pray tell, is this ‘brass’ you refer to? Does s/he have any say in the matter?

Paula Rose

Oh I despair – away with you play your repetitive beat music in the corner.

yesindyref2

A couple of the best guitarists in their world, in their way

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l2cBT8–7tA

Chic McGregor

@yesindyref2

Bert Jansch taught me his version of Angie, or at least the first half of it at a party way back then.

Finlay

[Copy+Pasted from a post I made today on Facebook. Thought I’d be as well posting it here.]

I’m going to give the other side of this story as the BBC and TV licensers are massive fannies in my book.

link to bbc.co.uk

Firstly, I find it amusing how this has been branded as Scotland based news by the BBC when most of the assaults weren’t even in Scotland. Most of the incidents, organisations or quotes taken are from non-Scottish sources or didn’t happen in Scotland! It seems ‘criticism of the BBC’ is now a Scottish matter. Anyway, that isn’t my main point.

Here is another article I recall reading last year based around roughly the same period of time reported in the BBC article.

link to telegraph.co.uk

This tells another side of the story!

Looking at the stats, we have the BBC claiming that between 2011 and 2014 there were 455 “verbal assaults” and 124 “physical assaults” on TV licensing staff – a total of 579 incidents.

According to the Telegraph article, the BBC paid out compensation to around 2500 victims of aggressive TV licensing agents from about the same time. Almost FIVE TIMES more people being assaulted by TV licensers than the other way around!

There are two interesting questions I will leave for you to think about:

1. Why didn’t the BBC mention this in their article today?

2. How many reported incidents of assault on TV licensing agents involve the same victims who were paid compensation?

Perhaps today’s BBC article is extremely misleading and the TV licensing agents may be the aggressors in many of the cases reported by the BBC.

I had some personal experience with some TV licensing agents in late 2014 who demanded entry to my house to inspect my property regarding TV licensing and my lack thereof. I intentionally hadn’t informed them that I didn’t require a TV license because I had heard reports of their aggression and wanted to see what they are like first-hand.

At the time I had, next to my front door, a printed copy of the law regarding TV licensing agents requiring a police warrant to enter my house. (And some select quotes from the likes of Sir Malcolm Bruce – but that is a different story entirely!)

I handed it over and explained to them what it was; to which I was told untruthfully: “We do not require a warrant.” I argued for maybe 5 to 10 minutes and eventually they left without the need for physical violence, though when I said “I know your job better than you do” it didn’t go down particularly well, and if you count sheer idiocy as a ‘verbal assault’ then maybe I’m a victim…

I’ll conclude much as I began; the BBC and their TV licensing goons are fannies!

yesindyref2

@Chic
I did try the guitar but, being a piano player (classical) I didn’t want to strum but pick, but my fingers weren’t hard enough and I didn’t have the patience to “toughen up”. Nor a good enough guitar!

Considering the Trident thread, this seems somehow appropriate:

Brian Doonthetoon

As I see it, we already have two Wingers, who can be referred to as “CG”.

There’s Ian B – Cybernat Godfather, and Ronnie A – Cybernat Grandfather.

Now we have Rev Stu as Cybernat General. Maybe we should all adopt a ‘CG’ moniker. For example, Paula Rose could be Cybernat Guddler.

Huvvnae thought o’ ane for mehsel’ yit…

Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Must dig out me cotton-wool balls and bow-tie…

Ian Brotherhood

Was hoping to meet Thepnr sometime this year to have a blether about an idea I’ve had stewing in my ginormous heid for a few years, but it’s not going to happen. Before we know it it’ll be 2016 and the countdown to the May election will start.

We’ve just had a very brief exchange of e-mails and the man suggested I put it out there for general thoughts, so here goes…

I’ll probably break this into a series of messages as they seem to get lost if you spend too long on one before sending it.

Essentially, the idea is to harness the talent here in WOS to work together on a real project. Many of us first met one another via the WBB adventure, and there’s no doubting what a success that was, right?

But what about us doing something else, while we’re waiting for the next referendum? Something solid and useful and non-‘political’?

I can’t, off the top of my head, think of any specific field of expertise which isn’t represented by someone who posts here regularly, and, as Rev has pointed out many times, it’s only a wee toty percentage of readers who ever comment.

So, that’s why I want to float this idea – it’s all well and good having a seminar, but we need something to do when we’re there. Yeah, we can talk about all sorts of stuff, have debates, invite guests, ask KG to Livestream it, and have a proper good swally into the bargain. That’s a given. But we could also use it to produce something very special.

Ian Brotherhood

So, my dear missus got a new job, about eight years ago – it involves support work for people with special needs, many of whom are confined to wheelchairs or have other mobility problems. I won’t name who she works for, or any of the people she works with, or where any of this happened, so there’s no privacy issues…

She called me one day, asked me to help her. She’d been out with a service-user, a wheelchair-bound guy, and decided to take him to a local park where there’s a nice (fairly big – maybe two football-pitches worth) pond and a path going all the way around it. She had wheeled him there all the way from his home and was due to get him back to his parents for such-and-such a time. She thought she’d allowed plenty of time to get around the pond, but right at the end of the circuit which would take her back to the path she’d used to get into the park, there was a sudden rise and she couldn’t get the chair up. The guy was, I’m guessing, eleven or twelve stones, and the gradient didn’t look steep at all – it was barely visible from where she’d started. But she just couldn’t get the chair up, and going back all the way around the pond would’ve made her late.

So I got there, and even with both of us pushing it wasn’t easy to get him up the slope, perhaps seven or eight metres.

It wasn’t until she mentioned it to colleagues, long after the actual event, that she realised why so many service users and their relatives/carers didn’t use the place. If it wasn’t the gradient at that part of the path, it was the potholes in other parts, or ‘sunken’ patches which were under a semi-permanent layer of mud.

So this is a local park – a really beautiful, quiet place, with deer, buzzards, foxes etc – and many local people simply cannot get the chance to enjoy it.

Can you see yet where I’m going with this? 🙂

Paula Rose

Yes Ian dear – have you checked your email box?

Ian Brotherhood

It’s not exactly rocket-science, and doesn’t need spelled-out, so…

Hands-up who owned something like this:

link to ebay.co.uk

Paula Rose

You expect me to remember that?

cearc

Bdtt,

Tut, tut! Ronnie is Cybernat GREAT-Grandfather!

Thepnr

Hello Ian

I loved the Hot Wheels cars, never owned any. I got lego. My cousin did though, he loved his hot wheels which was a whole lot hotter than lego.

Mind you I was saddened when he got 10 years as the driver of the getaway car and I got a degree as an engineer and helped build all kinds of shit all over the world. He would have liked that too, my cousin. Hot Wheels though was his passion.

Stay away from Hot Wheels is the message. Be a good boy and stick to lego.

Brian Doonthetoon

“HOT WHEELS”?

Toys for kids! What you want is the real slot car deal:-

Can we have a Wings Over Scotland Slot Car Racing Section please? I have a couple of cars – a Scalextric Ford GT40 and a Revell ’63 Corvette that I haven’t raced in anger… yet…

Ian Brotherhood

Imagine being stuck in a wheelchair, and whenever you do get the chance to get outside you’re taken, by someone else, to the café in Asda (again), or the Shopping Mall (again) because they’re the safest places in town.

Imagine being able to freewheel, at your own speed, away from roads and pavements and snarky shoppers?

This isn’t about us actually constructing such routes – it’s about creating a rock-solid case for their construction. One that the usual talking-heads would eagerly approve, ‘knowing’ that planning permissions and/or quality-standard controls would put the mockers on it further down the line. But we cover all those details too – because we have expertise spanning all of these areas.

And who pays for it? The charities who would make use of it, and the Councils who treat such charities as de facto suppliers of services they’ve jettisoned and don’t want back any time soon.

If we do a lot of the donkey-work right here, we could have a get-the-gither, over say two, three days (early next year?) and thrash this into a viable plan – designed, costed, the works.

I would happily get up on my trotters and sell this to anyone, anywhere, and I know there are other Wingers who are more than capable of covering the sales/PR side of it. It doesn’t really need much selling – who wouldn’t want it to work?

But what about the other aspects? There must be many I haven’t even considered. Is anyone else, at least in principle, up for a discussion about it all?

Paula Rose

Ian yes, I know how to do it – hot wheels, my sister and I made a thirty foot track complete with a cable car from odds and sods – had to cover the gaps in the track we had, she’s now an engineer!

Chic McGregor

@Yesindyref2

Aye, to play the guitar tolerably well (which I do not) you need to develop callouses on the finger tips and strength in the wrist and first finger (for barres) of the left hand. Requires regular practice.

Back then being in a short-lived folk group ‘The Colonials’ I was keen, but an all-consuming career in semiconductors put paid to that (and the group).

However I have returned very irregularly to it and have even composed a few tunes, the last, which started out as an attempt to encapsulate the clearances but ended up as a personal record of the referendum result.

My wife is the pianist, grade 7 before she too succumbed to the lure of physics.

cearc

Ian,

This sort of thing is pretty good

link to culagwoods.org.uk

Paula Rose

You know we have such geniuses amongst us – Chic honey – a recording?

Paula Rose

Sorry Chic – not you the genius but moi, to have the foresight to build and furnish this space for loveliness, now please settle and play.

cearc

Many, many years ago, I worked for a year or two doing recreational therapy (jaunts and parties) with severely physically and mentally disabled adults. The man who ran it insisted that all his staff spent a whole day each year in a push-only wheelchair. It was most enlightening.

Chic McGregor

@Paula
I suppose I could use the computer mic to record a tune but I doubt if my amateur efforts would be of any great interest to those here. My compositions were purely for my own personal satisfaction although sometimes inflicted on members of my immediate family.

Genius they are not I fear.

Paula Rose

Chic – you are a hero in the echelons – please be amongst friends (and fiends) and allow us the chance to sit quietly.

Paula Rose

Chic

Paula Rose

Chic – no more the cringe – if I had what I see in you the English would have a chance (irony) – in tiny letters – please play us your tune.

Proud Cybernat

The new Glasgow super hospital is doing just fine, despite the BBC rubbish. See here:

Another Proud Cybernat Production:

BBC Lies versus Spanish Ayes

link to tinyurl.com

And for those who missed the earlier vid:

‘The Vow’ A Promise Broken

link to tinyurl.com

As ever folks, spread far ‘n’ wide.

yesindyref2

@Chic
I guess I was somewhere between a grade 5 and 8, not great at the sight reading though. Having packed up on the idea of the guitar I got back to piano and wanted to be able to get to the end of the 3rd movements of some Beethoven sonatas without tiring and getting inaccurate.

So I slung together this kind of scale and arpeggio thing, going through the keys, sounded not bad. And I did them until my wrists burned and my fingers hurt – and kept going, thought I was doing good. It’s probably why I got RSI, that and being far too long on UseNet 🙂

RSI’s under control for years now I can detect the signs and desist, still a fast typer though not as accurate as I used to be. But haven’t bothered with the piano since.

Paula Rose

The ole jo’anna is in the lounge just down the hall on the left – help yourselves.

yesindyref2

Musing away before doing a bit of work. A lot of musicians owed their origins to classical music, from Lady Gaga, Adele, KT Tunstall back to Moody Blues, Rick Wakeman, ELO naturally and Sandy Denny, amongst hundred of others. They made the crossover, perhaps it’s not too late for me when I can afford the time …

Chic McGregor

@yesindyref2

My main gripe (unexpressed of course) is that my wife only plays be sight reading although I love hearing her play. But innovation or playing by ear is not her bag, I understand that.

@Paula
Not quite sure if you are calling me a wimp or genius. Pretty certain I am neither.

But as explained above, other-than-strumming guitar playing requires pretty much a prolonged period of daily practice.
Having not picked up a guitar in anger since indyref1 the finger tips of my left hand are currently as soft as a baby’s bottom and due to my working through a backlog of long postponed tasks (due to indy commitments) that is a situation unlikely to change for some months at least.

Bottom line is I couldn’t do any tunes, even my own, justice at this moment in time.

Paula Rose

polishes keyboard

Cactus

How do we do regulars? Liking your ideas Ian Brotherhood, especially the getting the peoples togethers again, would be good to have a series of all-day events.

In the meantime, whose next up for the seasonal session.. Glasgow, Edinburgh, Bath, Aberdeen, Helensburgh, your place?

p.s. Thought the fireworks display at Glasgow Green pretty darn good last night, noticed a few new braw bangers too! Point of interest.. noticed lots and lots of red rocket ka-booms and few blue ones by comparison.

Merry Guy Fawkes day.

Cactus

“For Fawkes ache” 🙂

Cactus

Hi aye Chic McGregor & yesindyref2, fair play to yee’s, playing the musical instruments for pleasure is a groovy. Maybe next time at The Clyde Bar..

I wonder what Scottish songs are gonna be written for Scotland’s next series of big votes?

If I owned a bar, I’d have at the very least a house guitar.

Dave McEwan Hill

On a previous little conversation on O/T a few day ago I tried to put one of the better and most interesting covers I have heard – Joe Cocker’s version of Marley’s “Could You Be Loved” but I couldn’t post up somehow. To which I would add Peter Tosh’s “Johnny Be Goode”, currently my favourite piece.

I maybe an ancient old fecker now. But I still find myself doing what I did when I was 20. Playing the same number over and over till I get every little nuance. I remember in a cafe at Burnbank Cross playing “Good Vibrations” six times on the juke box (and I was a teacher at a local high school at the time).
Tell me I’m not mad.
Just wondering if Little Richard wrote “She’s Got It ” with Nicola in mind

Ian Brotherhood

@Dave McEwan Hill –

You’re not mad.

Saw your letter in National yesterday. Do you just e-mail them, or hand-write? Just wondering. My granddad used to write a letter to the (Glasgow) Herald every day, and did it for decades. When he died they published a nice wee obituary for him.

David

Labour thingmy Blair McDougall Tweeted two hours ago, writing:

“proud to announce my new column for the Herald on a Thursday.”

Dear oh dear. Giving him another corporate media platform to spout his lies, mis-statements, and near-truths about Proud Labour.

David

Just found this one for the ‘Where Are They Now’ Dept.:
Rob Shorthouse, ex Director of Communications for Better Together, has been a Client and Communications Director at ScotRail since May. I hope it pays his mortgage.

Bing-bong! Stand clear of the edge, please!

john king

Cardinal sin now
Im going to play a “wind band” (spit) version of “Aetearoa” (The Land of the Long White Cloud) by Philip Sparke because the only brass Band effort I could find was quite frankly shit
this is about the discovery of New Zealand.

I played this many years ago (second trombone) in the eighties and loved playing it.

Paula Rose

Yippee – more brass!

john king

Harumph!

john king

well how about this one then?
they actually play the spoons on IDS’s head

I was only thirteen years old when I first played this
sniff.

Brian Doonthetoon

Going from brass to wind…

I bought this single when it was released, decades ago.

Then, the same melody turned up last year, with a new title…

Thepnr

FFS John brass is OK but thirteen minutes? A bit too much for me. Anyway you might recognise this, a REAL spoon player.

john king

Okay
youve made me bring out the big guns
this guys frigging amazing

Brian Doonthetoon

OK, keeping on the “spoons” vibe.
What about the track that had Billy Butlin on spoons and Eric Clapton on ukekele?

Thepnr

Haha John

Tuba player was amazing but where the fuck were the spoons 🙂

john king

those are “test peices” and in their own right are mini symphonies Alex, 13 minutes is average for the duration of these copositions, and some can be 18 (or more) minutes, a real test of a brass band (and in some cases the audience) but consider they are generally broken into three movements to allow for the listener (and the band) to take enjoyment from the piece.

john king

BDtT
Ok big boy, lets dance

Paula Rose

Well that’s us well and truly put in our place *turns away unconcerned*

john king

why dont we just “take five”

Brian Doonthetoon

John King – Well caught!

john king

Well aint it a good thing your not obliged to click on the link,
eh Paul?

Thepnr

No sweat John, I know you love your brass. Give mine to Irene xx

Dave McEwan Hill

Peter Brotherwood at 12.57

I email letters all over the place. Oddly that letter in the National was also printed verbatim in the Sun

Got it this time I hope

Dave McEwan Hill

And I meant to post this one as well

yesindyref2

Now here’s a find, no George sadly, but reminds me of Sunday lunchtimes in the Charleston in Largs.

Mmm, I’m in the mood for muzak, frustrating day yesterday. FMQ watching was the high point!

cearc

Well if we’re talking about playing stuff on different instruments, I take it that you all know these guys.

/www.youtube.com/watch?v=PH68Z6ysqZs

Chic,

You cannot be a WIMP, you interact too strongly.

john king

Ok you lot win,
I’ll play some of your “modern” music”
cant stand the stuff meself,
well this ones ok I suppose.

Paula Rose

Don’t you dare – I love your choices – real music.

john king

I particulary dislike this one,
all noise if you ask me
and they need a haircut
A spell in the army would do them good if you ask me.

john king

Bloody hippies

Paula Rose

All that repetitive beat music…

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex Thepnr.

Just watched the “Empire strikes back” video you gave the link for last night. (I know, it’s becoming increasingly difficult to keep up to speed with all the comments on the current pages.)

It was good to watch it again. Scottish humour – ARF ARF!!

john king

Dont even get me started on what this sounds like,
well now that you ask,
Its like coming out of the novocaine at the dentists
(and not in a good way)

john king

I shouldnt eat cheese before bedtime
It’ll keep me up all night now.

john king

A wee bit o fusion

Whit wid Mrs Pachelbel say?

Ian Brotherhood

Aye, guitars eh?

‘The Return of the Angriest Guitar Player in The World’

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi john king.

Re: Pachelbel. Did you ever listen to “Funtwo” doing the Canon?

Here’s an updated version:-

Type Funtwo into YouTube’s search box to see what happened to him after the first YouTube video, in 2008, like this:-

BTW: here’s the original video, Uploaded on 17 Nov 2008, and now with a total of 4,163,743 views.

yesindyref2

Just watching the Imperial Masters one. How that didn’t win for YES I don’t know.

Glasgow have banned rickshaws now.

JLT

Bonjour folks!

How’s it going? Hope everybody is well.

Now don’t all punch me at once (I’ve been very busy this last week and half, and have been nowhere near Wings), but is there any new gathering approaching fast …especially with Christmas and all its festivities only a month away?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

If nothing else, campaigning for YES was fun, wiz it no’?

The optimism and hope was there. I can’t guess what was going through the minds of BT…

Paula Rose

Yes – Brechin, just me and you JLT *flutters*

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi JLT.

The last get-together was Invergowrie so it’s up to another toon to pick up the baton.

We haven’t had a “Wings Over Aberdeen” yet…

link to sites.google.com

Brian Doonthetoon

Or a “Wings Over Inverness”…

Paula Rose

Wings over anywhere – to have another badge hand-crafted by Pete the Camera is a price beyond compare,

JLT

Paula …LOL (shake my head with a wee chuckle)

Brian …how you doing?

Inverness or Aberdeen would be good …but that might have to be a weekender …as in …all weekend!!!! With the distance …we would have to make the most of it!

Paula Rose

*puts on flouncey skirt*

Ian Brotherhood

@JLT –

Dare I presume you’ve been ‘busy’ with essay deadlines?

If so, SNAP!

And if you’ve got them over-with? ‘BIG REASSURING MAN-CUDDLE’

One hurdle at a time big-yin…we’re getting there, one way or another.

JLT

Ian mate …hello!!!

And yes. Just submitted my first for the year this week. Two part question; one part on royal government ship in the 15th century (War of the Roses in other words) and symbolism and meaning in the Catholic Church pre-Reformation. Both …500 words. Brutal. I could have written pages but the OU just wanted a summary within 500 words. Must have re-written both parts about half a dozen times each over a week and a bit LOL

How’s you anyway matey?

Paula Rose

awe-struck

Ian Brotherhood

@JLT –

Hingin’ in there buddy, by the proverbials.

Don’t much like the sounds of your preoccupations au moment. Mine are revolving around 18th-C coffee houses, New Zealand novelists and the likes of yer Joyce and Eliot. A fearsome cocktail to be sure, to be sure…

More power to ye – it’ll be worth it in the end-up. (For the Student Loans Company at any rate!)

JLT

Paula …LOL

I hope you are also keeping well, Paula. Need to have a good old blather again LOL

Michael McCabe

Beanfields. Check out the Birds.

Michael McCabe

Sorry forgot the Link. Beanfields Check out the Birds.

Michael McCabe

Third Time Lucky. link to youtube.com

JLT

Hi Ian (or rather …morning! LOL)

Yep, up and back at the studying again. To be honest, your field of study does look rather interesting. Put it this way, you are definitely getting to read the classics, and even getting into the mindset of some of the greatest writers in the Western World.

Yeah …the last assignment was brutal. Two small essays where you are trying to define the key elements of those periods with not only quotes from the OU material, but also backing those quotes up from historical evidence from other works. Seriously (and as said) …I must have started both essays half a dozen times over the week …growled …and begun again. Honestly, some TMA questions ask a simple question …and they just end up having you cursing and swearing within a very short period of time LOL. However, my knowledge on both has gone stratosphere and I would be happy to answer both if they appeared as questions in the Exam next June.

However …new week …new topic. This next month or so is actually on the Civil War of the 1700’s. Episcopalian England v’s Presbyterian Scotland v’s Catholic Ireland v’s Charles I v’s Cromwell. Seriously …what is there not to like when learning this? LOL. Certainly one of the highlights of this years course.

Anyway, keep the faith Ian. As you say …one step at a time. We’ll get there, mate ..we’ll get there.

Wuffing Dug

Bdtt @11.19

Wings over aberdeen, now there’s an idea I like.

BTW how do you get a wings badge, is it like a blue Peter badge but for bad cyber nats?

Ronnie

Wings over Aberdeen?

Definitely on for that!

Perhaps get to meet the ‘Blue Angel’?

(See my post on ‘Big Girls Shoes’ – probably more appropriate here.)

Ronnie

@Wuffing Dog.

Rarer than rocking horses’.

Got mine from Rev Stu ootside The Albanach during the 2013 March & Rally.

There were only 100 of those.

Wear it daily – with pride, tho’ folk think it has military connections.

But there may be more to come during crowdfunders.

kendomacaroobar

@Ronnie. Faither, I have found 3 blue on white ceramic badge if that helps?

Ronnie

@ kendo.

Thanks, Ken. I automatically tend to think of the original.

Your design is, of course a work of art.

I also have a spare of these ‘ceramic beauties’.

So if Wuffing Dog wants to contact me, I’ll gladly part with it.

If there’s a demand for more locally, I’ll get back to you?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Wuffing Dug.

We started doing the Wings ‘get-together’ badges for the first ‘Wings Over Invergowrie’, in September, 2014. We continued to do them for subsequent get-togethers, changing the background colours, for a bit of variety.

You can see an example here:-

comment image

X_Sticks

@Ronnie

Wings over Aberdeen?

Definitely on for that!

Sounds like a volunteer there Ronnie. 😀

Paula Rose

Hint to Ronnie and Wuffing Dug – find a reasonably priced cocktail bar, fix a date and then tell us.

Wuffing Dug

Ronnie @ 4.18

That’s a very kind offer, I was kind of thinking I would have to ‘earn’ one though :).

As for the badges ‘military connections’ you could have a laugh with that if you weren’t dealing with shrill unionists.

@Paula R
I’m sure I’ve been to a cocktail bar in Aberdeen. … Think it was ‘Orchid’.

As for the reasonably priced bit, we are talking aberdeen here, everything’s a mickey take.

Will do some digging.

Paula Rose

Now – which heels for Aberdeen?

Ronnie

@ X-Sticks, Wuffing Dog & Paula,

I was thinking along the lines of an afternoon Tea Dance at the ‘Beach’?

I have no experience of anything seedy, you see…

Ronnie

…other than tomatoes, sweet pees, etc.

Paula Rose

Ronnie how sweet!

Ronnie

and I need to be home before dark….

Paula Rose

*whistles whilst making torches*

Ian Brotherhood

Happy P.S. to my 9.24 post last night. If in any doubt about how hard-won this little victory was, go back and check out what the guy put himself through trying to learn it. Awesome.

The Angriest Guitar Player in the world finally gets ‘Magic Man’ right –

Ian Brotherhood

Brilliant compilation of old Public Information Films.

Wee Saturday Night Teaser for those of a certain vintage –

Can you remember the film containing the line ‘My Dad! In our new car!’

When you see these, they come back instantly, even if it’s forty years or more since you last saw them. Brilliant stuff.

P.S. Answer to teaser can be found approx. 7.30.

Stoker

These b@st@rds feast as the peasants go hungry and cold.
link to archive.is

Wuffing Dug

@Paula, Ronnie & X-Sticks

Tea and dancing during the day, beer and cocktails at night. Nice. BTW I can’t dance will leave that to yous.

Alas, it is winter, daylight I barely knew thee….

I’m still a ‘relatively’ ahem ‘partyer’ or so I like to think – so 2am limit for me, ‘medium’ and no shots or jagermeisters.

I too have no experience of anything seedy.

Aye right.

@Paula

Heels – Fur lined (if such a creation exists), baltic here got soaked and frozen while out biking today and it’s only going to get worse.

Ronnie

Apropos Aiberdeen Tea Dance, and not having been able to attend previous Wings ‘occasions’, can I take it that there will be no singing of sinful ditties?

Or other distasteful practices?

Paula?

Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie –

Tread carefully friend…

Cliff Richard, ‘Devil Woman’ –

cearc

‘ can I take it that there will be no singing of sinful ditties?

Or other distasteful practices?’

It wouldn’t be a Wings knees-up without them!

Paula Rose

Snake and I are having a close encounter.

Ian Brotherhood

La Fontaines, ‘Canny Get Ma Granny Aff The Drugs’ –

Ronnie

‘Knees-Up’ ?

Sounds a trifle vulgar.

Paula Rose

*cuddles up with snake, smiles sweetly*

Ronnie

@Ian B.

Mrs R is a ‘Cliffy’ fan.

You’ve no idea what I’ve had to succumb to all these years…

cearc

Trifle is vulgar.

Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

‘Trifle is vulgar’.

Hey, that’s profound! :O

Ronnie

‘Sir, you have custard coming out of your ear’.

‘Could you speak up, please, I’m a trifle deaf’.

Stoker

I wonder if this is a part of our “development” as a country!
link to archive.is

Chic McGregor

@Stoker

The wags commenting on that are clearly oblivious to Clyde Space’s record in the cubesat satellite field.

Around 40% of those satellites deployed has used Clyde Space hardware and there are courrently about 60 projects in development worldwide.

see:

http://www.clyde-space.com

Wuffing Dug

Chic @4.10

Hi Chic,

Broadband is back up and running so looking at those reactor vessel reports.

Am actually dealing with something similar at the minute but thankfully material testing has verified that an error in heat treatment has not adversely affected material strength or toughness.

Thanks for the links, it’s good to be able to see this sort of stuff and gain some knowledge / perspectives from other industries.

Paula Rose

Very occasionally in here there are topics of which I have very little knowledge – always impressed by our skill base and expertise.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

I refer you to Faraday’s Law:-

“When the flux linking a circuit changes, an emf is induced. The magnitude of the induced emf is directly proportional to the rate of change of flux linkage.”

The ‘flux linkage’ that changed was the relationship between us plebs and the corpmedia. The emf that was induced was our increasing distrust of the veracity of what we were being fed, more and more, AS FACT. The more that corpmedia cranked up the propaganda, the greater was the breakdown in what had been trust.

The end result is defined by Lenz’s Law:-

“The induced emf acts in such a manner to oppose the cause to which is was due.”

That distrust (the ’emf’) in the corpmedia’s output has now evolved into a situation where we are actively opposing the corpmedia, with every tool at our disposal; Wings, Facebook, Twitter, Commonspace, Wee Ginger Dug, Bella Caledonia and so on.

Physics is useful…

8=)

Paula Rose

I know all sorts of things about physiques – some of the applications are though are new to me.

Paula Rose

damn auto-correct

Thepnr

Looking for some light relief? Me too, this is alright but there is better. Your turn.

Ian Brotherhood

How’s this for a send-off?

‘Thousand of students perform haka for beloved teacher’ –

Wuffing Dug

Test – tried to put up some links earlier but post hasn’t appeared.

Thepnr

@Wuffing Dug

Hi Mr Dug, if any were Yewchoob links try taking off everything before www.

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Not your fault but that was too much for me. I both love you and hate you for inviting me to watch that.

Still, I’m glad I did.

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Sorry man. Didn’t intend to upset anyone.

Brian Doonthetoon

Did anyone else notice today, on the BBC Remembrance Day coverage, that a number of the royals had ‘Scottish’ poppies?

Wuffing Dug

@Thepnr 9.35

Cheers, wasn’t yewchoob links but Aberdeen bars for consideration r.e. proposed Wings night in the Granite City.

Ian Brotherhood

This is a bit cheerier – stretcher-bearer chaos:

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Hey, not to worry, each of us has their own wee foibles and there is no way that you could know them all. It was a GREAT video and now that I’ve stopped greeting (for personal reasons) I loved it, everyone on Wings should watch it!

Cheers Ian.

@Wuffing Dug

I’d be up for that, you do the leg work and I’m sure a few will make it along. I’m really happy to see this sort of thing continue. Ian Brotherhood started it by the way lol.

I would to see a few from the Aberdeen area there, they know who they are. The balls in your court now, just give us the time and place.

Ian Brotherhood

More stretcher-bearer shenanigans…

Wuffing Dug

@Paula, Ronnie, X-Sticks & Thepnr

Here are a few options for Aberdeen, I’ve been to these places – there’s a lot more on offer but don’t go out much any more :(.

As for time, we can sort that out once we know it’s a goer.
I’m good for pretty much any Fri or Sat night, having recently become a ‘lone wolf’ again :).

My fave – a bit wee though

link to oldblackfriars-aberdeen.co.uk

Kind of same

link to illicit-still.co.uk

More nobby

link to amicusapple.com

Beer lovers

link to cascbar.co.uk

Cocktails

link to orchidaberdeen.com

Still can’t get links to work….

Paula Rose

*crosses names off Christmas card list*

Wuffing Dug

@Paula, Ronnie, X-Sticks & Thepnr

Site is no liking my links so you will have to google I’m afraid.

Here are a few options for Aberdeen, I’ve been to these places – there’s a lot more on offer but don’t go out much any more :(.

As for time, we can sort that out once we know it’s a goer.

I’m good for pretty much any Fri or Sat night, having recently become a ‘lone wolf’ again :).

My fave – a bit wee though
oldblackfriars-aberdeen.co.uk

Kind of same
illicit-still.co.uk

More nobby
http://www.amicusapple.com

Beer lovers
cascbar.co.uk

Cocktails
orchidaberdeen.com

Thepnr

@Wuffing Dug

Hmmm. Your favorite, Blackfriars I know that pub very well, on the corner of Union St. and King St.

It is a VERY good choice for a Wings night out, however I would suggest that if you want it for a Fri or Sat might be an idea just to book it for a night of your choosing.

In saying that. we don’t need to and eventually we get the seats, pretty small venue though and might be worth asking about reserving the back room for a Fri or Sat.

Get in there anyway Mr Dug, this is a goer and a first for Aberdeen 🙂

Thepnr

So I ask myself, just why is it New Zealand are the rugby World Champions? They are too wee, even too poor and stupid?

Yet, New Zealand is strongest on Personal Rights in the world, became nuclear free decades ago and told the West where to stick their Nukes.

Can you see the pride of those paying tribute to their teacher in the video above? Yes, it’s a sad occasion but their respect and pride is immeasurable.

That is both for their teacher and wee country. I feel like that.

Michael McCabe

Millionaires. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

I was hoping to go to court to see Carmichael the liar in the Flesh on Monday. Just found out at Midnight that I cant make it. So I have the Midnight Blues. Hope you don’t mind if I Share. link to youtube.com Will be at the Court on Tuesday Though.

Chic McGregor

@#!!!$&## weird #@*$# weather here in Kirrie. Rained for the past 5 days and I need to get my garden wall mortar coated for plastering. The weird bit is the past 4 nights walking the dog it has been clear with all the stars showing and I’m thinking good I’ll get out there tomorrow but no chance. Sun popped out today but by the time I had m ladders and cement mixer ready it had started raining again. Grrrr!

cearc

Ronnie A.

Sorry to hear that you didn’t make it to Edinburgh today. I hope you are well?

Ronnie

@ Wuffing Dug, Thepnr.

re- Aiberdeen Wings Nicht.

I only know Blackfriars (sad, or what?).

But, yeah, good central location, good range of beer.

I’m ok for any night – aul age has some advantages!

Any more interested parties?

Wuffing Dug

@All up for W.O. Aberdeen

I’ll get in contact with Blackfriars just in case and report back.

@Ronnia

Best pub in Aberdeen I reckon, a lot of the others are all a bit soulless.

@Chic

Weather forecasters also made a royal erse of it on Saturday, headed out on the mountain bike to meet up with a few like minded individuals.

Decided to ride the bike to the meet instead of being lazy and putting it on the car, ended up getting soaked, battered by the wind and covered in gritty, sandy mud. Canned it after a hour and headed home.

It was right cold too, hands got frozen and I could hardly put the brakes on.

Apparently Sat morning was meant to be dry up here….

Good luck with yer wa’

BTW knew that bloody post would appear twice.

Paula Rose

Aberdeen? – need to wear my fur-lined boots so no high-heels, will definitely come as long as I’m not the only one.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi cearc.

Ronnie had…

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

You typed,

“…as long as I’m not the only one.”

No, you’re not the only one. Peter Perrett was, with a wee bit of help from Pauline Murray.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Wuffing Dug.

All you can do is the same as for every other Wings get-together.

Define the date (Saturdays are better, from a work point of view) and the time (usually 7pm onwards), spread the word on social media, be there to receive guests, and enjoy the night.

Hope that helps…

8=)

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Wuffing Dug.

And, of course, the venue.

8=)

Paula Rose

Not the only band I met that realised they were not up for the big time.

Paula Rose

(being very carful about spelling tonight)

CameronB Brodie

This one going out to BBC Labour in Scotland and associated commentariat. Beware of monsters from the Id.

The Centuries – 4th Dimension

Wuffing Dug

@All for W.O. Aberdeen

Richt,

Just off the phone to Blackfriars it’s looking good – can even get us tables if anybody peckish on the night, they are even clear of bookings next couple of weeks (ATM).

Saturday nights do get busy in there though.

How does Sat 21st sound? 7pm?
Once it’s sounded out on here will get back to them.

@BDTT
Does that mean ah huv tae go on Facebook?
Have been resisting up till now but local SNP group are twisting my arm as that’s their main means of information sharing.

My dugs have their own Twitter account though….
Their owner is known to make an appearance on it here and there :).

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Wuffing Dug.

There are others on Facebook who can spread the word, if you don’t want to dip your toe into the Facebook water.

However, the 21st (November?) is a tad short notice. Me and Pete already have a potential ‘nicht oot’ that night. In the past, the minimum notice has usually been around 6 weeks, to allow peeps to plan.

Maybe sometime December would work? Give people time to plan AND create a ‘Wings Over Christmas’ party?

Wuffing Dug

@BDtt

Already had a discussion with Blackfriars about December, it’s going to get tight then with other peoples Christmas bookings.

Bit of ‘mission creep’ here – it’s gone from a meet up to a Christmas party already!

The dugs and me have joined facebook noo so we can talk to our local SNP branch.

Ronnie

@ Wuffing Dug

As before, I’d be up for 21st.

Only went on Facebook during Yes campaign for dates, places and times of meetings and stalls.

Now deactivated.

If there’s a push for a later date, we could have a ‘dry’ run?

Badjee lookin’ fur a good home…

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Wuffing Dug.

Have you thought about Wetherspoon? Glasgow has had a number (4?) of get-togethers in The Counting house; Dundee has had one, in Jolly’s in Broughty Ferry, as has Edinburgh, in the Alexander Graham Bell, in September.

All we do is gradually take over a corner of the pub…

I see, from Google, that Aberdeen has a couple of centrally located Wetherspoons…

link to jdwetherspoon.com

Ronnie

@ BDTT

The Archibald Simpson is just across the road from the Blackfriars.

We could dae baith!

Michael McCabe

A wee Duet. link to youtube.com

Paula Rose

Another party to clear up after – girls we need to gather.

cearc

– or ruffle?

Finlay

Anyone heard from Nana Smith recently? Her input is missed!

Wuffing Dug

@Bdtt & Ronnie

I’m up for that, would save hassle, been in the Justice Mill but not in Archibald’s. Justice Mill is big enough, think Archie’s would be too.

Either would be fine I think – I’ve got a couple of work nights out in December so will check dates.

@Ronnie
Aye, baith sounds good to me!
Am still up for a ‘pilot’ run – nice one.

That badge will have a good home here if you are willing to part with it, very much appreciated BTW.

X_Sticks

@Finlay

Nana’s been posting loads of links on the main threads.

@Ronnie

So it’s gone fae I dinna get oot much to LETS GO FOR A PUB CRAWL in aboot 3 posts 😉

If I can make it I will *of course* be up for some beers in Aberdeen 😀

Paula Rose

Definitely not wearing heels to Aberdeen.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie.

‘The Archibald Simpson’ sounds like the germ of a plan. Peeps could go out for a fag and then nip into the other pub to see what the crack is.

Aberdeen could, possibly, host the first two venue Wings get-together…

How decadent!

Paula Rose

I like the sound of Aberdecadent.

Ronnie

Sorry, Paula, but I’m here now.

Ronnie

@ X-Sticks

Ah, you know me too well.

(Hides light under a bushel, etc.)

But ‘crawl’ – wi my knees?

Na, l’ll need a taxi – baith wyes.

But I’ve always fancied participating in a ‘duet’.

john king

Ive got to say the story about being detained at an airport due to non payment of the tv licence has put the wind up me, since we’re off on holiday for my birthday to get away from the fact the same day should have been Scotlands independence day, 🙁

Anyone know if there’s any truth in that story?

Chic McGregor

The crossword page for digital readers is clueless again.

Same solution as before, download a pdf of the page, ctrl + to zoom in, use Snip to capture and fill in as per usual.

Thepnr

@john king

Sounds like shite John. Unless there is a warrant out for non payment after a failure to turn up in court. Did you ignore a summons? If not forget it, you have not broken any law.

So wouldn’t worry, make sure though that you have informed the license people that you have cancelled yours, not just stopped paying else you could get visitors or a (slight) possibility of a summons.

After cancelling directly with them I got an email saying they would not be in touch again for two years.

Enjoy your holiday, you’ll be fine.

Chic McGregor

At least it has stopped raining during the day in Kirrie – it’s snowing now.

Last night walking the dog, yet again clear star filled skys, that has happened every night for 8 days with cloud and rain during daylight ours.

Beyond weird now.

Ronnie

Question:

Is Abigail really a storm – or just ‘a big gale’?

CameronB Brodie

This one going out to Dishface, who also appears to be a fan of extra-judicial murder. Even the Nazis got a trial you psychotic fucker.

Nanine – Souie baby souie

Wuffing Dug

@Ronnie et al

Still up for Sat 21st?

* bump *

Ronnie

@ Wuffing Dog.

Yup!

Blackfriars, circa 7 pm?

Wuffing Dug

@Ronnie,

Nice One 🙂

CameronB Brodie

About time the north got involved. 😉

Jimmy Dee & his Universals – IF IT WASN’T FOR PRIDE

Paula Rose

My opening track of the night – listen Labour stalwarts…

Kelpie

This week too much sci-fi watching and not enough sleep…

What I heard the crowd at Wembley chanting today was ‘Maud’Dib, Maud’Dib, Maud’Dib’!

Ian Brotherhood

The ‘Godzilla’ Song…

Automatic, ‘What’s That Coming Over The Hill?’ –

CameronB Brodie

Hope you don’t mind Paula, here’s one from Allen’s ‘backing band’.

The Meters – Ain’t No Use

Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Continuing your theme of down, here are Status Quo with their only number one from 1975.

The video though is 38 years later, still the same as 75 lol.

Thepnr

Here’s another “downer” though it lifts me.

Johnny Cash – I Won’t Back Down

Paula Rose

Can’t get lower than this Babes – the Labour Street blues

Paula Rose

Thepnr Honey – that is always on my mind now whenever I think of you.

Thepnr

Just watch this, you won’t regret it. Promise.

Paula Rose

*looks at Thepnr. flutters eyelids, swoons*

Ian Brotherhood

*Sees Paula Rose swooning at Thepnr. finishes can of Special Brew. passes out.*

CameronB Brodie

Here’s one for you Thepnr.

Mac Rebennack – Mac’s Boogie

CameronB Brodie

And here’s one for all the Mod hipsters.

Mac Rebennack – The Point

Paula Rose

Oh no! Ian Honey! *rushes to rescue*

Thepnr

@CameronB Brodie

Thanks for that my friend. That was extraordinary, I’m a naff. not interested in classical music or jazz. Bur hey!

I think you may just have changed my mind, never heard piano playing like that ever. I listened all the way through and think right now I’ll go and listen again.

Cheers CBB

Ian Brotherhood

*hears Paula Rose’s heels clattering louder. bolts into garden. hides behind hydrangea. finds forgotten plank of Lambrini.*

Paula Rose

CBB it is mwoah!

Thepnr

Haha Ian I can just picture that, mind boggling!

OK I’ve calmed down, here’s a wee song from the Quo I played once before, Much, much better than that last one.

Do you remember this? If so you must be and cnut lol,

CameronB Brodie

Aw shucks.

Ian Brotherhood

@CameronB Brodie –

I never ever got used to not-calling you CamB.

What about this CBB then?

You okay with that?

PR seems quite enamoured of it, and you know what she’s like…

<': (Is that a 'confused' smiley?…I'll hit 'submit' and see how it works out…)

Paula Rose

*nonchalantly puts on a disc – ignores tussle – returns to dishes*

cearc

Whoah, quite a party in here tonight.

Patrician

@Ian try this:

😕

Thepnr

@CameronB Brodie

Well I did go and listen again. Amazing. Ta.

Paula Rose

Cearc honey how lovely to see you – big hug – I heard your voice from out there!

CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
Whatever is easy, I’m not fussed. I just added the B to Cameron, so I didn’t think folk were slagging me when they were slagging Dave. Paranoid perhaps but then you asked for folk to disclose their identity. So whatever, so long as you don’t start calling me Ron. 🙂

Michael McCabe
Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Hey! Are you at the wind up 🙂

Thepnr

@CameronB Brodie

This is just for you buddy.

CameronB Brodie

Ha ha. Suppose I asked for that. 😉

Ian Brotherhood

@Patrician (11.53) –

Yes.

Thank you.

That’s precisely what I’m after.

And how, pray tell, am I supposed to do that?

:::(

Patrician

😯

😆

💡 follow the link at the bottom of the page but not this one ➡

Ian Brotherhood

@Patrician –

No-one likes a smart-arse, but that was good!

Patrician

Trying, I can never get youtube links to work.

Thepnr

@Patrician

I know I’m a dolt, Ian worked it out but he compiles crosswords and stuff.

I’m lost so please help me out.

Thepnr

@Patrician

Nice choice for a song.

Patrician

@Thepnr

Go to Quarantine and scroll up the page. All will be revealed.

john king

Thepnr @8.57 12/11

I had a feeling it was nonsense but the prospect of being hauled out of the queue to board,
like some war movie filled me with the heebie jeebies
Kinda like this.
link to youtube.com, 🙁

Cadogan Enright

@Ian Brotherhood 13 November, 2015 11:25pm

Hoping to catch your eye when you’re hereabouts.

Would you be interested in attending a ‘Friends of WOS’ seminar somewhere in central Scotland, if one is organised, say Easter-ish next year?

my Facebook is Councillor Cadogan Enright and my email is cadogan@enright.ie

If I was to go then I would need to plan well ahead to clear space in diary and minimise costs.

Swami Backverandah

Not sure if the link will work, but on a sad and difficult day, this brought a smile.

Whose kid is this?

link to imgur.com

AuldA

If some still remember me, I just wanted to check in and say I’m fine.
Maybe I should show up more often, and not just on such occasions.

Paula Rose

Darling! kisses and strokes!

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AuldA.

I’m sure I was asking about you at least a month ago; if not on an actual Wings page, then in my mind.

Get back in here!

I don’t speak French so all I will offer for the moments is this from Monsieur Google…

Écosse/Francais – Vive l’alliance la plus ancienne!

Brian Doonthetoon

moments = moment.

8=)

AilB

for Glesga Keelie

Good ideas for a list of Scottish Products.
But – Thorn needles for 78’s where find?

AuldA

@Paula: how could I ever turn down your cuddles? 🙂 Paula you’re definitely the sweetest Scottish lass I ever “met”.

@Brian: thanks for your kind words. I feel like having my tail between my legs for going away without any real motive. I failed you (I mean, the WOS people) and I’m really sorry for that because you’re all nice. On the brighter side, I took the opportunity of these months off to polish my English. I hope you’ll notice the difference!

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AuldA.

Aye, like yir English wiz bowfin’ afore, iye? We’ll just have to work on your various Scottish dialects now.

Y’ken?

8=)

AuldA

@Brian: aye sir! Just learnt the word ‘divot’ which, if I reckon correctly, means ‘turf’.
Something that grows over your braes and in the swards round your crofts. 😉

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AuldA.

A’divot’ is that which has to be placed back in situ, after swinging your #9 iron a tad too deeply, or after you have created a depression for your rugby ball, prior to kicking it.

It does, indeed, consist of turf, but has been detached from the greater whole. Etiquette requires that the divot be put back, from whence it came.

AuldA

@Brian. Yeah I got it was a golf term, and had to do with the mangling of the fairway/green. However, my dictionary misled me into thinking the word derived from a Scottish ancestor meaning ‘wet turf’. Soggy & sodden sod, so to say.

cearc

I’ve also heard of peat pieces (for burning) referred to as divots.

Ian Brotherhood

Welcome back AuldA…kick yer shoes off, have a wee seat and pour yourself a generous dram – you’ve plenty of catching-up to do by the sounds of it. (And we want to know where you’ve been and what you’ve been up to…)

Ian Brotherhood

Jimi Hendrix, ‘The Star Spangled Banner’ (Woodstock, 1969) –

Thepnr

Hey AuldA you have been missed. Glad to have you back and glad to see you announcing your return here on Off Topic.

I hope you will stick around for a while, voices such as yours are needed more than ever. Anyway, nice to hear from you again.

Thepnr

@cearc

There was peat in the fields behind Easterhouse, My Uncles Alex and Billy used to dig it up and sell it around the scheme.

They were called divots.

kendomacaroobar

@ AiIB re 78 needles. check out these guys link to windupgram.co.uk

cearc

I wasn’t sure how widespread that use of divot was as one also hears just peats or turfs but I tend to say divots.

Not so many people bother with such a hard task for their fuel these days so it is rarely mentioned at all!

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AuldA.

Before I leave the web, to prepare my self/Lidl Jalfrezi…

The difference between ‘aye’ and ‘iye’.

‘Aye’, is usually taken as an affirmative grunt. As in this interchange.

“It’s fell windy the day, iye?”

“Aye.”

Now, the “aye” can be taken as meaning “Yes”, or “I agree”.

However, when you look at “iye” (which seems to be a uniquely Dundee utterance, although I stand to be corrected), it is pronounced differently and has a different meaning. “Aye” rhymes with the “i” sound in “eye” (the optical apparatus), or “high”; however, “iye” rhymes with the “i” sound in “tight”, or “right”, or “$hite” and has a different meaning.

It is usually uttered as meaning “don’t you agree?”, or “Isn’t that so?” In Dundee, it (‘iye’) can be replaced by “ken?”

Isn’t language wonderful?

8=)

Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

iye! LOL

Paula Rose

Is that iye as in “quite”?

Michael McCabe

Is that iye as in this

Brian Doonthetoon

Aye, Paula Rose.

“$hite” rhymes with “quite”, iye?

8=)

Paula Rose

Just like old times *settles back*

Brian Doonthetoon

Now, Mr McCabe, you are comin’ the çün†, uryi no’?

Come to the front of the class and hud yir wheesht!

8=)

Brian Doonthetoon

My self/Lidl Jalfrezi now needs its second bout in the microwave, with rhe added creamed coconut and coriander leaves and I have to fry my nan in butter. The samosas, bhajis and pakoras, in the oven, should be ready, so, I think that’s me for tonight.

Catch yiz all anon.

8=)

Ronnie

@ BDTT, et al, (faivver he is)

I’ve iye taen ‘iye’ tae mean always, and ‘aye’ tae mean ‘yes’.

Subtle difference.

Ony agreement?

Onywye, is there ony mair cummin tae The Aul Blackfriars, Aiberdeen, on 21 November?

Ronnie

As an aid to my pronunciation, I say ‘iye’ as in ‘ile’ (North Sea, caster or enjin).

And ‘aye’ as in…

‘I’.

Paula Rose

AuldA – there is a certain amount of naughtiness going on here.

AuldA

@All: thanks for your warm welcome!

@Paula: I said aye and lo! They’re all n‘aye’t-picking!

CameronB Brodie

Here’s some music to dig too, for the BBC in Scotland. You’re doing a braw job. 😉

The Shotgun Express – Curtains

Quinie frae Angus

Hi all

I would have loved a Wings night out in the Granite City but unfortunately I am already double-booked that night.

Hope I can make the next one.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Aberdeen peeps.

I think you’ve sprung this on us at too short notice, as I think I suggested a week or so ago.

Pete and I already have a function in place next Saturday in Dundee.

Why not have a wee Aberdeen Wings conflab, next week, to organise a BIG ‘Wings Over Aberdeen’ for the end of January / start of February?

As I typed before, the Wings get-togethers are usually set up around 6 weeks before the event, to allow peeps to clear their diaries.

Give us enough notice and we’ll be there!

8=)

cearc

i doubt that i will make it to Aberdeen.

As I no longer have handy family there it would be an hotel job and I had already rather set my heart on an hydraulic log splitter this month.

Need a bit more notice really.

X_Sticks

I’d suggest we postpone an Aberdeen get-together until after Xmas as it looks like there would be just three of us able to make it.

Much as I really like you guys I’d rather wait until more of the mob can make it. It is an expensive night for me as I have to taxi in and out of town if I’m drinking.

As Brian suggests maybe around the end of Jan or beginning of Feb. It’s usually a quiet time so would give us something to look forward to.

Proud Cybernat

Here’s a much shorter version of the 2015 B4FTA (Before & After) Awards.

The video is also much snappier and punchier with no annoying commentary from me. I think this version is a lot better so please share.

link to tinyurl.com

The batte for Indy Ref2 has already begun. There are loads of wavering NO voters, devo-max voters who need educated about how London Gvernments operate. This wee video is all part of that on-going education. We have probably 5 or 6 years so let’s use that time constructively. It won’t happen overnight, of course, but if these videos can win over some voters then it all helps.

Please help spread the new link (above) far ‘n’ wide.

Proud Cybernat

Helps if I actually post the correct video link:

link to tinyurl.com

Please share.

Wuffing Dug

@X Sticks & BDTT

Was thinking the same thing….

Would help to chase away the January blues :).
Will def be there on Sat night though.

Aff tae sort oot mah avatar, need tae ditch the ‘minecraft’ look.

Thepnr

@Wuffing Dug

Good luck with the change of avatar. A wee song for you and all those that have yet to learn that Scotland is a nation.

Wuffing Dug

@Thepnr

Cheers

See Gravatar is meant to align your image across multiple sites, don’t want that.

Might huv tae stick wi’ the blocks.

Paula Rose

Calling all Wingers Wuffing Dog needs nerd advice – don’t worry Dear they’ll be along in a minute, here have a cup of tea.

Michael McCabe

Hope this link works. Somebody put this up on twitter. Labours big day out. link to youtube.com

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

That’s aah we need, mere litter on the streets.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie & Wuffing Dog.

As I typed, there are two routes – we do the well travelled ‘take over a corner of Wetherspoon’s’ or, the other route, like the Clyde Bar (Helensburgh) or Invergowrie Inn (Dundee), where we find a YES friendly bar with a function suite, where we can have the pro-indy videos and facilities for ‘turns’ (like Yew Choob and Cactus/Dixie at Helensburgh).

It’s up to the local organiser(s). But remember – you should NOT have to pay for a function room if you’re putting bums on seats in a pub.

Give Wingers enough notice and you could be looking at 40-60 bums on seats for ‘Wings Over Aberdeen’. People need to organise their leisure time… timely…

Paula Rose

BDTT Dear – he wants to know about gravie things, please read the message.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Since when were you the ‘off-topic’ police?

Wie them heels? I think not…

8=)

Paula Rose

*polishes truncheon, sips tea, awaits moment… *

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Truncheon? At least you’re not threatening me with the crotchless balaclava.

I couldn’t go through that again…

Paula Rose

*sighs*

AuldA

@Paula:
It’s “poliCes truncheon”
Prepares her escutcheon
Slouches against a stanchion
Looking at the puncheon.

Michael McCabe

HELP Has anyone got a link for the first series of Outlander ? Cheers in Anticipation. Here is a old Song for Peter. link to youtube.com

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Here’s a link, can’t possibly imagine what you need it for.

link to watch-tvseries.net

Ronnie

@ Wuffing Dug

You’ll need to be carrying a copy of The National, and say ‘You’re Ronnie (the good-lookin’ one) and I claim my Wings badge’.

X_Sticks

@Paula

Is that the ‘electronic’ truncheon?

Paula Rose

No dear – don’t be naughty you know that is for special duties.

Have you seen this…

link to tinyurl.com

cynicalHighlander

@Michael McCabe

If the Thepnr link doesn’t work try

link to couchtuner.la

AuldA

@Paula:
An electronic truncheon.
That’s a tazzercheon?

Thepnr

@cynicalHighlander

Mine works fine, try it. Then try the link you left, believe me I know you were helping out so not having a dig.

For me at least the link you provided gives an advert that lasts minutes and it is so bad I wouldn’t want to listen to then end.

Go try it 🙂

Thepnr

That last song I put on was great in representing the 80’s it was poor in representing reality. Here’e the lead singer talking 25 Years later. My point though is just the same.

Everybody must learn sometime.

cynicalHighlander

@Thepnr

That’s interesting as different sites seem to work differently to different people as I don’t get any adverts with Couchtuner yet your link wanted me to register with them before viewing. I wasn’t trying to be awkward just giving another link to the Outlander series for those with similar issues..

Brian Doonthetoon

Well, at least, Ronnie will get acquainted with Wuffing Dug next week. I wonder if Tartan Tory will take a wee ride up?

Two/three heads are greater than one. Looking forward to your organisation of ‘Wings Over Aberdeen’ early next year.

Brian Doonthetoon

‘watchoutlander.com’, the site I downloaded all the first series from, seems to have been obliterated.

So thanks for the other links, in advance of series 2.

Wuffing Dug

@Ronnie

Tell you what, I’ll have an Iscot magazine on me – October’s has been read cover to cover and is ready for ‘distribution’.
Or you could nab it if your not a subscriber.

If I don’t spot you I’ll just ask one of the patrons, ‘have you seen that rakish Ronnie’ – he’s got a badge fur me 😉

I’ll be the wan rockin the Bruce Willis look.

Thepnr

@cynicalHighlander

Hey I know that, all our computers are different. I use Adblock Plus so mine will react differently from yours dependent on what site we vist.

I’m sure now though that between the two of us we have found Michael what he needs.

All the best CH.

Ronnie

@ Wuffing Dug.

I’ll be the wan wi the Zimmer.

I reckon the lovely Carol trumps your Bruce.

Ronnie

Oh… and the hair, btw.

Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr and cynicalhighlander The link was for my pal Lynn who is a W O S Lurker to shy to Comment. She is Chuffed with the links and told me to post this song for you Both. link to youtube.com

Paula Rose

*waves at Lynn and blows a kiss*

Thepnr

Here’s one for Lynn, you Michael and cynicalHighlander. xxx

Thepnr

Right! That’s enough of that.

Here’s what I really meant to play for you Michael and Lynn.
Lots of love and kisses 🙂 You’ll like this,

Michael McCabe

Cheers For that Thepnr. that song takes me back to my youth. Here is a song for you. This will be. link to youtube.com

Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s the ONE pic I took at Wings Over Edinburgh. A blatant lurker!

link to imgur.com

Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

I hope Lynn forgives you and I hope anyone appearing in the following pics from WOS Edinburgh forgives me too.

link to s804.photobucket.com

Wuffing Dug

@Ronnie

Just looked up Carol Willis on Google.

Take it we are talking Playboy model here – have similar tastes when it comes to the ladies – bravo! 🙂

She was only 21 when she died, Jesus.

Ronnie

@ Wuffing Dug,

Cover of Nov iScot.

Wuffing Dug

Wee bit less racy…. 🙂

Thepnr

As if we need to be reminded, but I’ll remind you anyway 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

This was on the radio earlier.

Some eighties cool catchy stuff!

Roachford, ‘Cuddly Toy’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Good.

As planned, Roachford has cleared the room.

Now I can put on this cheerful ditty, which, nowadays, I imagine to be about IDS and his gangsters…

Radiohead, ‘We Suck Young Blood’ (Live)

Michael McCabe

This ones for my Brother. link to youtube.com

Wuffing Dug

2nd attempt;

Used to get my old BMW fixed roon the corner from where he was born.

Just recently started listening to his stuff.
Latent memories from years past….

Night hawks.

//www.youtube.com/watch?v=4vTnff0pkgs

cearc

Excellent, Ian!

Ian Brotherhood

Just discovered this wee gem.

Arabesque, ‘Friday Night’ –

CameronB Brodie

FUCK the warmongers!

Asian Dub Foundation – Take Back The Power

CameronB Brodie

This one going out to DT. 🙂

Asian Dub Foundation – Burning Fence

CameronB Brodie

How are the markets responding to all this slavering war rhetoric?

Jackie Mittoo – Wall Street

CameronB Brodie

De-Phazz – Nightmare

And I’m not describing PTSD.

The 97-page report by the Nobel Peace Prize-winning doctors’ group is the first to tally up the total number of civilian casualties from US-led counter-terrorism interventions in Iraq, Afghanistan and Pakistan.

The PSR report is authored by an interdisciplinary team of leading public health experts, including Dr. Robert Gould, director of health professional outreach and education at the University of California San Francisco Medical Center, and Professor Tim Takaro of the Faculty of Health Sciences at Simon Fraser University.

Yet it has been almost completely blacked out by the English-language media, despite being the first effort by a world-leading public health organisation to produce a scientifically robust calculation of the number of people killed by the US-UK-led “war on terror”.

link to middleeasteye.net

Wuffing Dug

@Ronnie

You still up for braving the cauld the night?

Anybody else?

* bump * * bump *

Stoker

Chris Curtis – Aggravation

OR

The Searchers – Aggravation

Stoker

RIP Jonah Lomu – A giant and a gentleman – Thanks for the memories.

Jonah Lomu – The Legend – Tribute

Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

Great link. Cheers. 🙁 and 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

I’d forgotten Tina Charles was such a powerful wee chanter.

Tina Charles/5000 Volts, ‘I’m On Fire’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Pure memory-lane stuff.

Great wee video – they look as if they’re really enjoying themselves.

Chris Norman & Suzi Quatro, ‘Stumblin’ In’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Never realised how much Tommy Cooper ‘borrowed’ from Chic Murray, but it’s very obvious in this collection of jokes. Still great right enough, but the ‘landlady’ gag at 16 mins is definitely Chic M material.

Tommy Cooper Jokes –

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

You stimulated my investigative gland with your “I’m On Fire” link.

I remember seeing 5000 Volts doing that on Top Of The Pops – with a blonde singer! I never knew that it was Tina Charles doing the vocals. The miming vocalist on TOTP was Luan Peters.

Luan Peters had been a singer since the 60s but was known more as an actress:

“Peters is known for her appearances in Hammer horror films of the 1970s such as Lust for a Vampire and Twins of Evil. Other film credits include Man of Violence, Freelance, Not Tonight Darling, The Flesh and Blood Show, Vampira, Land of the Minotaur, The Wildcats of St Trinian’s and Pacific Banana.”

“She was also active on television in series such as: Z-Cars, Public Eye, Doctor Who (in the serials Frontier in Space and The Macra Terror), Target, The Professionals and the Fawlty Towers episode The Psychiatrist playing Raylene Miles, an Australian tourist.
Her last known television role was in an episode in The Bill in 1990. In 2005 she was interviewed for the documentary Fawlty Towers Revisited.”

The emboldened info is from:-

link to en.wikipedia.org

Interesting thing is, although, in the UK, Tina Charles’ contribution was kept undercover, she seems to have performed with 5000 Volts on the continent, hence your video.

“5000 Volts is the name of a British disco recording act that achieved success throughout Europe during the 1970s. The group consisted of vocalists Tina Charles and Martin Jay, with a changing group of session musicians.”

(The above info from the 5000 volts Wikipedia page.)

Tina Charles left the band and launched her solo career in 1976 with “I Love To Love”.

Brian Doonthetoon

Onnyhoo, Ian B.

You’re to blame for the fact that looking into the mid 70s reminded me of the piece of cinematic nonsense that was “Never Too Young To Rock”.

The title song was released as a single by Scott Fitzgerald, who had a hit with Yvonne Keeley with “Words”, a few years later. “Words” used the melody from Saint-Saen’s Symphony No.3 in C minor (Symphony with organ), as used, most famously, in the film “Babe”.

Onnyhoo, to get back to “Never Too Young To Rock”. This film featured most of the big ‘glam’ bands from the early/mid 70s, wrapped up in a ridiculous plot. Bands featured included Mud, The Rubettes, Glitter Band (no Gary), Bob Kerr’s Whoopee Band and our own Slik, performing “The Boogiest Band In Town”. (Dig the cool Midge Ure, in the double-breasted suit.)

Here’s the finale from the film, featuring the assembled company performing “Never Too Young To Rock”. Spot the different bands making up what is probably the biggest ‘rock’ band ever seen, including what looks like five drum kits!

Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Soo-perb.

As it happens, I did recognise the tune, but I’ve never ever seen any of the movie – tbh, I didn’t even know it existed.

The canned screaming is fantastic. I wonder why Gazza Glitter didn’t appear? Too big an ego for the others to handle perhaps? Anyway, it’s a great bit of footage. Not sure if I’d sit through the whole thing right enough.

But who’s grumbling? It’s all good.

Hoots mon!

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

The Glitter Band, in addition to being GG’s backing band, had their own string of hits. (I’ll give you a couple of links at the bottom.)

They were a decent band – a brass section and TWO drummers. I liked ’em.

They’re still on the go. Here they are Oldham, earlier this year, showcasing the drummist.

Brian Doonthetoon

Further on Scott Fitzgerald…

He never really had a first division solo career but popped up now and again.

Here he is fronting “The Congregation” in 1971; “Softly Whispering I Love You”.

CameronB Brodie

I told you these guys were like André Rieu, sort of. 🙂

Asian Dub Foundation – Truth Hides

CameronB Brodie

Here’s one to celebrate the recent management tie-up between BAE and the BBC.

Circle Jerks – Making the Bombs

Iraq’s Minister of Human Rights, Wijdan Mikhail Salim, reportedly told the Assabah newspaper that the lawsuit will be based on reports from the Iraqi
ministries of science and the environment. These reports allege that the U.S. and the U.K. used nearly 2,000 tons of depleted uranium bombs during the early years of the the Iraq war.

link to gulfwarvets.com

CameronB Brodie

Sorry for leaving things on a downer.

I find it helps if you’re a weirdo. 😉

The Weirdos – Break On Through

AuldA

Did you ever see Scottish dancers performing in an Austrian decor on a French music?
(Warning: short & classical)

CameronB Brodie

Ronnie, all that jaw, jaw exercise is called the Bla, Bla, Bla, Cha Cha Cha. 😉

Titus Turner – Bla, Bla, Bla, Cha Cha Cha (part 1)

CameronB Brodie

Sorry AuldA, I didn’t mean to talk over you. I posted before refreshing and wasn’t aware you were there.

CameronB Brodie

Morning. The situation in the middle-east must highlight how golden the opportunity spurned. Not simply to shape a post-colonial future for ourselves, but to have the opportunity to do so without bloodshed.

Change isn’t always voluntary.

Una Mae Carlisle – There’ll Be Some Changes Made

AuldA

@CameronB Brodie: No offense taken. With the current temperatures, I understand you hesitate to refresh your browser. Keep it warm and snug.

Thepnr

Had enough of politics for one day, I’ll leave this before hitting the sack.

If you do watch that, then watch the reply to an attempted smear.

Heard it all before LOL.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

If you have a liking for 50s rock & roll / doo-wop / ballads, you’ll probably appreciate this:-

Ian Brotherhood

Earlier tonight, going out the door en route to the local Morrison’s for some cans and a rummage in the bargain bin, this song popped into me heid. Haven’t heard it for god only knows how long but I could recall the chorus.

Halfway round the Morrison’s, wandering aimlessly, it came on the in-store piped sounds.

What’s that all about?

Clout, ‘Substitute’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Having applied some lateral thinking to the question I posed above, have come to the conclusion that the tune was probably already in my heid after subconsciously registering it the last time I was in Morrison’s for some cans.

Which was last evening. 🙂

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

The lead singer in Clout had a great voice.
Not a lot of people know this but Clout released the first single version of this song (after Russ Ballard’s original), a year before Rainbow.

Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s the original…

Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

john king

Jings,
Whit did Rikki ken?

Patrician

link to theregister.co.uk for a laugh and to see who the real cyber terrorists are. Worth reading the comments too.

Warning: may contain nuts (and squirrels)

Ian Brotherhood

Where’s Paula Rose?

That’s a full week with nothing to say or play on O/T?

Patrician

@IanB

PR is on active on twitter, no doubt ahe will be back soon enough.

cearc

Maybe she’s got a zit and doesn’t want us to see?

CameronB Brodie

A zit? Gawd. Just let me get my devices. 😉

Chromatics – Looking for Love

AuldA

A zit?
A zit file?
Paula.zit

Paula Rose

Darlings you missed me!

Zuch
Interesting
Times!

Thought I’d go back in time to the very first Off-topic page (took me ages to work out how to do that quickly) anyway – I was hooked, read the lot, listened and watched everything and took copious notes.

I now think I know you better than I know myself – which means that you’re probably all through with me.

P.Rose xx

Thepnr

@AuldA

I’m sure you have found it by now but just in case, a “zit” is an American term for a “plook”.

Paula Rose

Perplexing
Look
Over
Other
Konundrums

Yes – I’ve also been on twitter – trying to update, anyone know Angra Mainju’s @? Realised I’m missing hers.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

It turns out that the spelling is actually “plouk”. I know; I had a virtual raised eyebrow also.

link to dsl.ac.uk

But when you look at the definitions, you’ll find ‘plookiness’, plooky’, ‘plook’ and ‘plooks’ cited. I wonder why they make the main heading ‘plouk’, as opposed to ‘plook’, when the ‘oo’ spelling seems to have been more prevalent?

AuldA may get a hang on things if we mention “pustule”.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Turning back time…

I did the same with ‘Quarantine’ last year, when I finally got round to exploring it.

Fascinatin’ stuff!

Paula Rose

Excuse me Dears – strikes another name off the Christmas card list, btw how do you spell doonthetoon?

Paula Rose

* sigh – BDTT back on the list, sexy beau*

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

You have a Christmas card list?

How bourgeois! And you bidin’ in Brechin an’ a’…

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

I feel we are posting one post behind each other. We’ll have to watch that; nothing worse than a post in the rear…

Paula Rose

*sharpens stake – sings favourite song – pities *

Patrician

@BTTD, you and Paula Rose are a bit like this tonight:

Paula Rose

Patrician honey – I only mention BDTT in the hope that we may get an appearance by Pete the Camera cos he is my hero!

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

I TALKED to Pete The Camera tonight, via the telephonic apparatus. Bet that’s got you leaking…

8=)

Paula Rose

I am not talking to BDTT any more – for your information.

David

Nobody does it better than Wingers.
Carly Simon singing the theme tune for the James Bond film “The Spy Who Loved Me”, ‘Nobody does it better’.

Beautiful song, great film, and the opening parachute stunt is so good, I can overlook them using a Union Jack parachute!

Paula Rose

Nobody does…

AuldA

@ThePNR — Zit was part of the big mouthful of words I learnt while I was away, so yes, that one wasn’t a pickle to me (I prefer pickle to Paula’s konundrum that sounds too… Muppetshowical? “—I like the pigs’ steel drums! —What? —THE PIGS’ STEEL DRUMS! —Incredible! They take anything that is not nailed down!”

john king

Does anyone know what’s happened to yesguy, I can’t remember his real name, I haven’t seen a post for him for quite a while,
I’m a wee bit worried about him.

AuldA

@David:
James Bond with Rossignol skis? Yeah! The best!

X_Sticks

@Paula

“anyone know Angra Mainju’s @?”

@Fate_Avenger

john king

Here he is
link to twitter.com

Paula Rose

Thanks John – must be the right account, over six and a half thousand followers – good to see that fellow wingers have such influence.

Brian Doonthetoon

I have the BBC4 ‘Easy Listening’ programme on just now and Barry Manilow came on.

I remarked to son that Mr Manilow always reminded me of Toppo Gigio, so I had to explain who Toppo Gigio was, then go exploring on YouTube.

When I showed him the Toppo Gigio video, while Manilow was still on, he saw what I meant. You too can make up your own minds.

Toppo Gigio:-

Barry Manilow:-

Thepnr

@Paula Rose

2015 at end of Mr Mainyu name, d’ye think that’s when he signed up?. Anyway, impressive six and a half thousand followers as an “ordinary member of the public”? Maybe that is something to brag about, I’ve got sixty seven LOL.

My take on this.

Ian Brotherhood

Saw a documentary many years ago about a Barry Manilow fan club somewhere in England, middle-aged ladies, all very nice. They’d have get-togethers in each others houses, play Bazza’s records all night, get pished on sherry and take turns dancing with a life-sized Manilow which they’d KNITTED.

It was cool.

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Now that was funny, can’t express in words how funny, still laughing. So hoping not to upset the politically correct among us will just say.

Funny haha 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

William Shatner, ‘Common People’ –

Thepnr

Brilliant ya bastirt LOL.

Now I’ll need to spend an hour on youtube to usurp your effort LOL.

Patrician

@thepnr, what is your twitter name, let’s see if I can get it to 68, I’ll leave it to Paula Rose to do 69 😈

Thepnr

@Patrician

Simple @Thepnr

I’ll ignore the 69 reference 🙂

Thepnr

Just checked, I’ve got 68. You, Patrician will be 69 LOL.

Ian Brotherhood

@Patrician & Thepnr –

Blimey!

Nelly, ‘Hot In Here’ –

Patrician

@thepnr, ah well hoist by my own petard or something. 69 it is 😥

I haven’t been on here much lately, but when did the flag for the Sealand Gazette turn brown?

Thepnr

On a much more serious note this has really pissed me off, read it this morning then went looking again as a response to Ian’s post at 11:10.

It’s about the child abuse inquiry:

“That could take 10 years. No one really believes the official estimate, that it could take five.”

Let’s wait until all those we could prosecute are dead then we an ignore it. The public are IGNORANT why hang our washing out!!

Swear words do not come close to what I think of these people.

link to bbc.co.uk

David

Regarding the ongoing child abuse inquiry, I believe it now has its best ever chance of uncovering the truth. Why – because the inquiry chairwoman IS NOT BRITISH.

She, judge Lowell Goddard, is from New Zealand. She is unlikely to have any links to ‘high-profile’ people here, so she will be immune to any pressure that people in the UK might want to exert on her to cover up some unpleasant facts.

I really hope she succeeds.

Thepnr

@David

I’m glad that the judge is not from the UK. Only concern is it was she that said it could take 10 years?

No way, no fucking way could any investigation take this long. It’s already been going on for years. It’s a cover up disguised as a long term investigation so as “they” get to the bottom of it.

The very “they” that were the perpetrators. Think about Chilcott why hasn’t that been published? It’s all bullshit and these liars are no longer pulling the wool over my eyes.

I don’t seek revenge. Just the shaming and punishment of the guilty.

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr/David –

I’m not going into any detail, but my own family has been affected by institutional sexual abuse of children. (I wasn’t one of them.)

So, if ‘averages’ mean anything at all, it’s a massive issue and we’re nowhere near realising how widespread it is.

Last week, on BBC Radio Scotland, Kaye Adams had Edwina Currie as a guest.

The week before, she had Esther Rantzen as a guest.

You may not feel the need to watch these clips, but I’m putting them in here anyway:

Edwina Currie, being interviewed on RTE re Saville:

Esther Rantzen, on ‘This Morning’, re Saville, three years ago:

Janet Street Porter, on Question Time, three years ago:

X_Sticks

Damn, thought I was following the right Angra Mainyu!

Sorted now. Thanks John.

@ThePNR – I’d have given you a follow but I found I already was 😀

Thepnr

Conspiracy theories, well questioning the establishments reporting of events is alright with me.

Regarding 9/11 though, surely there can be no doubt that two Boeing 767’s first hit the North Tower of the World Trade Center and the second hit the South Tower just under 20 minutes later.

I watched the events, of course that was real. I was in New York later, in December of that year with my family, a long planned holiday. I was very reluctant to visit that site but did nonetheless.

Nothing to see only boarding around the entire site. There is no doubt though that both buildings collapsed and were destroyed, they just weren’t there anymore.

Here’s my point, I’m a structural engineer, I understand steel in particular and there is no doubt in my mind at all that the number of columns removed or damaged by the initial impact seriously weakened the strength of the structure. It MAY have managed to stay up if that was the only destruction.

However, the eventual collapse was due to the raging fire caused by the explosion of the 767’s fuel tanks. Heat reduces the yield strength of steel. Once a single floors columns failed the impact of the weight of that above that floor crashing on those below was enough for total failure.

More than enough in fact.

How does a Blacksmith make a horseshoe? He heats the steel until it is easy to shape. Bend it cold? Nah. Make it hot, easy.

CameronB Brodie

Hello newbies. Might as well start you off in the deeeep end. 🙂

The Legendary Stardust Cowboy – “Relaxation” & “I Ride a Tractor”

liz g

Thepnr @5.46
Hi Thepnr glad you brought the subject over here,as it seems to annoy people and is off topic.
Can I ask what you think happened to building 7.
I have always wondered about it as I said but not enough to argue over or sit through hours of conspiracy films.

CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
Sorry, I’ll need to remember to refresh.

Did you know the twin towers were ‘over-engineered’ to withstand impact from aircraft? The architect who designed the buildings claimed each building could possibly tolerate airstrike by two aircraft.

There was no forensic examination of the crime scene. In fact, the crime scene was unceremoniously cleared of all evidence, with undue haste. I think that might be a Federal Offense but hay ho, extenuating circumstances and all that.

Wouldn’t this topic be better in Qt? It’s just inviting tit-for-tat conspiracy-theory advocacy. One of them just happens to have official backing and was the instigation for the “War On Terror”.

Ian Brotherhood

@liz g –

If you haven’t yet seen it, this may be of interest. Pretty concise.

Since this video was made some very high quality footage of WTC 7 collapsing has emerged.

The very fact that the official Kean/Hamilton report doesn’t even MENTION WTC 7 speaks volumes – almost as much as Shyam Sunder’s embarrassing inarticulacy when confronted with a simple physics question:

liz g

Ian Brotherhood @ 6.42 PM
Thanks you’re timing is spot on,just poured a Wee hauf and needed something to watch.
Will go watch it and stop annoying the others.

Ian Brotherhood

@liz g –

Slainte!

I think I’ll do likewise…

Here’s a much more recent video by Chandler. Some repetition, but excellent footage of the collapses and some proper analysis which will be of interest to engineers familiar with the terms he’s using.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B & Thepnr.

“William Shatner, ‘Common People’”

I’m guessing, from this, that you have a penchant for unusual musical fusions?
How about some easy listening/metal?
Pat Boone – ‘Smoke On The Water’.

Or there’s his version of ‘It’s a long way to the top (if you want to rock n roll)’.

Here’s the original, complete with bagpipes.

Thepnr

@liz g

I have no idea why building 7 collapsed but am just about to watch the videos posted by Ian B.

CameronB Brodie

Cheers Brian.

L.E.J – Hip-Hop Mashup

Thepnr

@CameronB Brodie

I’m being a wee bit pedantic here but architects do not “design” any buildings, they draw them. Engineers are the designers who work with the architects plan.

“the twin towers were ‘over-engineered’ to withstand impact from aircraft?”

Well that really is a surprise to me, before a design job begins the engineering company will be given a design brief. The brief simply states the parameters that the design is expected to meet most of which is based on published standards.

For example, an oil rig in the North Sea must be capable of withstanding the “100 year wave”. So you design it to suit.

If an architect handed an engineering firm a design brief in the 1960’s that included a clause “must tolerate airstrike by two aircraft”. I’d be saying Hmm, do we want this job?

Seriously Cameron, why not a strike by a meteorite instead of two airplanes? You need to ask yourself that question.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Just watched “David Chandler’s – WTC7 NIST Finally Admits Freefall”.

Ve-e-e-e-r-r-ree eenteresting…

Will watch your second later.

Ta.

Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

That AC/DC video is fantastic – thought the singer was going to do himself a damage with that chanter right enough, but what a great tune. Soo-perb.

CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
OK, so my language was not technically robust. Pedant. 😉

It can’t be helped. I watched a clip of the architect describing the “design spec.” and the reasoning. BETTER. 🙂

liz g

Ian Brotherhood …..or anyone still around, when the Americans are talking about Kerosene do they mean Parriffan?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Background on Bon Scott, deceased vocalist and piper…

link to visitangus.com

link to dd8music.com

Ian Brotherhood

@liz g –

Paraffin, aye.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi liz g.

Kerosene is, indeed, paraffin.

Not to be confused with ‘firewater’, a Scottish produce which native Americans found to be to their taste.

Thepnr

Oh well, seriously but half an hour of my life wasted, seriously does that clown not know that steel is 99% iron at a minimum?

So steel has to melt before it weakens? Horseshit, for every degree rise in temperature there is a reduction in yield strength.

Education, education, education.

liz g

Thepnr probably about to waste another few minutes of your life but if you wouldn’t mind…..
Is the “nest” of my coal fireplace made of iron or steel and would the frame’s of the 9/11 buildings be similar?
Also….if you don’t mind……How accurate /or ridiculous is the statement… “A plane full of fule is like a coke can full of paraffin on a much smaller scale”?

liz g

Briandoonthetoon @ 8.28
Hi as you can tell I am confused about many things but my whisky isn’t one of them.

cynicalHighlander

Following on from Building 7.

link to wtc7.net

One of the most interesting tenants was then-Mayor Giuliani’s Office of Emergency Management, and its emergency command center on the 23rd floor. This floor received 15 million dollars worth of renovations, including independent and secure air and water supplies, and bullet and bomb resistant windows designed to withstand 200 MPH winds.

livestream.com/IndependenceLive/TonyRooke

In February 2013 documentary maker Tony Rooke took the licence fee to court under Article 3, Section 15 of the Terrorism Act 2000 on the basis that the BBC were complicit in the 9/11 cover-up and had deliberately misled the public in their broadcasting. Tony was given the opportunity to demonstrate to the judge that the BBC had quite deliberately lied to the British public about the events of that day, in particular their ‘Conspiracy Files’ programme. The fact that the BBC had foreknowledge and had reported on the collapse of WTC7 20 minutes before it happened formed the basis for his case that the licence was not appropriate. Tony was not fined and was allowed to walk away on a conditional discharge. killingauntiefilms.co.uk

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

No way am I falling out with you or anyone else over this stuff.

It’s out there, and it has been since 2008. The ‘official’ 9/11 report has been out even longer, and virtually no-one has bothered their arse to read either. If Bush had got his way, there would’ve been NO investigation, and when he was eventually forced to commission one he wanted it to be headed-up by Henry fucking Kissinger.

Belief in the ‘official’ version (which is also a ‘conspiracy theory’ involving a guy orchestrating things from a cave) defies rationality and the laws of science. It’s that simple. People can argue all they like over this or that solitary point, and that suits those who don’t want us seeing the bigger picture – some regular and respected commenters on WOS have made fools of themselves in recent days with lazy parroting of clichés and cod-science presented as ‘expertise’.

‘High-rise steel framed buildings are designed to collapse if they are ‘punctured”?! I won’t name who wrote that in a recent thread. One of the most astonishingly stupid comments I’ve seen on this or any other blog, 9/11-related or not.

This issue enrages people, and for good reason, but there’s no fucking way I’m going to say I see an apple when someone holds up a banana. I got into a wild BBC-related thread about this stuff, years ago, 2010/11, and it went on for a full year. I’ve lost friends over it. I’m not an architect, an engineer, a philosopher, a theologian. I’m not an ‘expert’ on anything, but I know that Newton wasn’t having a laugh – the laws he ‘discovered’ are sound. The Scottish enlightenment was based on ‘reason’, and if we abandon faith in the most basic truths of science then we deserve all we get.

I’m no crusader. I want friends, same as anyone else. I want to believe that Western Democracy is fundamentally ‘good’, that our representatives are, by and large, decent, well-motivated citizens who have a vocation to assist their fellows. Yes, I do want to believe that.

But I will not be told who to hate, and allow myself to be force-fed ‘reasons’ for hating them. I refuse to live in constant fear of bogey-men created by clever people who’ve been seduced into prostituting their talents for a fast buck.

And I refuse to lose any more friends over it. Period.

Thepnr

@Liz g

OK, absolutely my last post on this subject, I’ll answer you questions and give a bit more.

1. “Is the “nest” of my coal fireplace made of iron or steel and would the frame’s of the 9/11 buildings be similar?”

Yes, they are most likely identical. Mild steel, nothing special.

2. “A plane full of fule is like a coke can full of paraffin on a much smaller scale”

No idea as to the reality of that statement, personally I find the comparison ridiculous.

Here’s the extra bitty, buildings or oil rigs made from steel frames are designed to resist fire. Of course they are, but it is only anticipating a “normal” fire. The steel is always fireproofed, at least these days it is because it’s in the design standards, the codes that the engineers have to work to.

Doesn’t mean that unanticipated events such as 9/11 or the Piper Alpha disaster will result in that design failing. The design hasn’t really failed, the circumstances were exceptional and not included in the design brief.

See how a structure may collapse without reference to 9/11. Do you suspect a conspiracy for Piper Alpha?

I post this reluctantly, I knew someone who died that night. It doesn’t tell the whole story but you will get the gist. North Sea platforms could probably survive a 767 flying directly into them. No steel structure though will survive the heat if intense enough.

Oil platforms are designed to be much stronger than buildings on land. They have to be. By the next day two thirds of Alpha had disappeared beneath the waves? Think about it.

Thepnr

Ian

Never saw your post before I sent my other. A view is just that. You can have yours and me mine, it is certainly not a personal issue.

It is an opinion, and thank fuck we do have differing opinions or what would be the point?

I doubt I will let myself either be told who to hate, nor do I live in fear. In fact, the opposite, I want to strike back. But against who?

All I can do from my comfy couch is strike back verbally, with a few choice words now and then. All I have left is words.

liz g

Thepnr @ 9.49pm
Thank you for answering my questions,and I will not ask anymore, I do not think the Piper Alfa tragedy or 9/11 attacks were a conspiracy.
My questions were only pertaining to an analogy I had heard of, that reduced the explanation to the familiar, ie, “a coke can full of paraffin couldn’t melt the metal bar’s of the nest of a coal fire all at the same time.
That seemed to make sense.
I really was only wondering.
Although I do admit to being more than a little curious about building 7 but that’s more to do with the BBC’S role than anything else.
Anyway thank you for you’re time.
Also thanks to the other’s who took the time to humour me and respond.

Quinie frae Angus

Good evening Wingers

I came on here for some good cheer after a hellishly depressing evening reading my Facebook posts.

Apart from the harrowing awfulness of children being killed and maimed from bombing by hawks and other assorted bast***s, an old Uni friend and her husband are having one of their regular “Smash the SNP” rants, spewing out hatred and venom about the “hatred and venom” that Alex S and Nicola S have created in “our once peaceful, tolerant country”. How Scotland has been ruined for ever by the SNP; how WWII grandfathers would turn in their graves, etc etc. How they have “lost countless friends” because of the SNP. I was desperate to get on there and say that it is actually their own unhinged fury and bitterness that is probably losing them their friends…….and what a nasty shithole of a regime they have landed us all in with their fecking No vote, but, heck, life is too short and I cannot be arsed getting into such a pointless barney on there this evening.

Sigh.

So I come on here and find my nearest and dearest Wingers argy-bargy-ing about 9/11 “conspiracy” theories!!

Oh well, may as well add my tuppence worth:

I utterly appreciate ThPNR’s tangible engineering expertise, and Cameron B’s links do intrigue me. Two of my other old pals from Uni (sensible, reasonable, non-hate-fuelled Yes ones) are also scientist/engineery types.

And they are both completely convinced that it was all planned in the USA/Israel.

I guess my own feelings chime most with Ian Brotherhood’s on this.

Anyway, where is Paula Rose for some sweetness on this dreary night?

And as I haven’t been on Off-T for a while I am behind on the Wings’ social calendar. Are we having a Christmas night out?

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Indeed. Agreed.

Unfortunately, our views/opinions count for nothing.

The self-declared masters of the universe have taken it upon themselves to decide what we should think/believe/’understand’, and have powerful means of ensuring that critical thinkers are identified and effectively ‘removed’ (e.g. dissident voices in academia).

What’s more, they see it as a ‘duty’ – same idea as ‘white man’s burden’, but enlarged to encompass the whole globe. Why is our NHS under such threat? Why has New Labour’s enthusiastic acceptance of PPP/PFI all-but fucked any chance of real sustainable infrastructure development in this country? Who made them enthusiastic about it in the first place? Why is it that people here STILL can’t see that the Labour Party is about as ‘socialist’ as Jacob Rees-Mogg?

The shite John McTernan’s been coming out with this week sums it all up – no ‘credible’ UK PM can be a ‘pacifist’. We have to be relied upon to provide leaders who will do the US’s bidding. Tories? Nae probs. Labour was also reliable, until Corbyn got the gig. Make no mistake about it – that wretched man will be hounded out by the McTernans, one way or another.

That’s why we pesky Nats are such a pain up the hole for them – we present an existential threat to the ‘UK’. As such, we will not be permitted to exercise any power which threatens the status quo. That status quo centres on the ‘Clash of Civilisations’ myth which, in turn, falls apart without the 9/11 narrative. If 9/11 is a provable false-flag then the whole ‘Project for a New American Century’ hubris is exposed and cannot be maintained. The stakes are too high for any such exposure, hence the complicity of the MSM and the importance of self-censorship in supposedly ‘alternative’ voices.

Some on the main threads have angrily shouted-down new commenters who (perhaps naively) posted links to 9/11 material in good faith, not understanding that there is a permanent groundswell of reaction against any mention of the subject lest it taint WOS and all involved as ‘conspiracy nutters’. But that reaction has to be examined closely. It has to be treated as dispassionately as any scientist or engineer or thinker would approach a specific problem, picking it apart and dealing with the constituent parts.

Right now we’re still a long way from being able to assess ourselves with anywhere-near the required levels of rigour and honesty to be able to undertake such analysis – what does it mean that even you and I, friends, can, apparently, hold such contrary opinions about an event which has been subjected to intense scrutiny? Who performs the scrutiny? Where is the truth? Who has an interest in making us believe this, that or t’other? Are there no identifiable, scientifically irrefutable facts?

I said on a main thread, day before yesterday (in reply to Robert Peffers) that this subject is taboo. I meant that, and mean it still. It is virtually impossible to discuss it without people getting angry at whoever brought it up. That, to me, qualifies as ‘taboo’. Thirty, forty years ago, it could’ve been ‘cancer’ (The Big C) or child abuse (Eh? What?).

We just don’t know how to approach it, how to get into a real discussion about what happened that day. It may take a long time to find a way of doing so, and in the meantime, as we bicker? The evil bastards who rely on that one event to secure our ‘permission’ for yet more war and mayhem are merrily maximising their profits and power.

Quinie frae Angus

@Ian Brotherhood, 10.45

Absolutely agree with everything you’ve said there.

cynicalHighlander

911 was designated a crime and just basic crime investigations don’t involve removal of the evidence before it is removed under any circumstances. Was this basic rule of any investigation followed? No.

Ian Brotherhood

@Quinie frae Angus –

Sorry.

You came in here for some light relief, and ended-up reading heaviness.

You up for a dance?

Specifically, a Line Dance a la Soul Train?

(Seems like ages since we last met, but you’ll recognise me – I’m in the red shirt, approx. 1.20)

Ian Brotherhood

I’ve only got two cans left, so I am now, officially, concentrating on dancing:

Daft Punk, ‘Get Lucky’ –

1 27 28 29 30 31 81

Stats: 6,668 Posts, 1,202,011 Comments

• Alf Baird on The People You Most Suspected: “Dinna forget the local government franchise an aw, perhaps ok for local government, less so for national government elections or…Nov 13, 12:02
    • Lorna Campbell on The People You Most Suspected: “Jay, I would agree with both you and Alf, except that this kind of colonialism is male on female, in…Nov 13, 11:50
    • Lorna Campbell on The People You Most Suspected: “There is, however, Kevin, a great deal of difference between gay cross-dressing men who cater for men, and the heterosexual…Nov 13, 11:42
    • Jay on The Show Goes On: “Dan, a gem of an allegory! Beyond me to apply it correctly, though.Nov 13, 11:37
    • Liz on The People You Most Suspected: “Alba, ISP, various independents, maybe under the IFI banner and the Tories. Our choiceNov 13, 11:21
    • Sven on The People You Most Suspected: “Mate of “Honest” John’s ? No problem.Nov 13, 11:09
    • James on The People You Most Suspected: “Tories are usually wrong, Sam.Nov 13, 10:54
    • James on The People You Most Suspected: “Look in a mirror.Nov 13, 10:53
    • James on The People You Most Suspected: “Uh-oh. That war talk’s got his wee mushroom excited again.Nov 13, 10:52
    • agent X on The People You Most Suspected: “Chest binders and puberty blockers are unequivocally harmful treatments. Yeah but how many Scottish soldiers died in wars? Christ!Nov 13, 10:48
    • Sven on The People You Most Suspected: “No disagreement here with that summation, however I’d look back beyond even Ms Sturgeon to the true authors of this…Nov 13, 10:44
    • Oneliner on The People You Most Suspected: “Hands up who gives a shit about the racist WolfeNov 13, 10:41
    • Robert Matthews on The People You Most Suspected: “Alf Baird (Fanny)Nov 13, 10:40
    • Republicofscotland on The People You Most Suspected: “Utterly disgraceful – concerned parents should remove their children from this school immediately. Meanwhile another treacherous troughing SNP b*stard wants…Nov 13, 10:23
    • Tinto Chiel on The People You Most Suspected: “Yes, an apposite quotation, that. Furthermore, Scotland’s War Losses by Duncan Duff (1947) gives a fuller picture of how Scottish…Nov 13, 10:19
    • sam on The People You Most Suspected: “Idiot. “Wolfe fought at Culloden in 1746 and saw further service in Scotland and Ireland during the 1750s. His tactical theories and…Nov 13, 10:00
    • TURABDIN on The People You Most Suspected: “WHO REMEMBERS THE ARMENIANS? https://archive.ph/Yu959 The great thing about notions of political principle is that they may be easily sacrificed…Nov 13, 09:33
    • Dan on The People You Most Suspected: “School “biology” lessons will be fucking great for the modern day “progressive” policymaker. There will be no more animal welfare…Nov 13, 09:30
    • Geoff Anderson on The People You Most Suspected: “We are now in Hell. The remaining SNP voters will keep supporting the TransCult SNP. The SNP will pick up…Nov 13, 09:12
    • Dan on The People You Most Suspected: “Three letters in my name is a close to god as I get. We* could stop it by working to…Nov 13, 08:47
    • Alf Baird on The People You Most Suspected: “The oppressor always seeks to sow division, which makes it easier to manipulate the people (Freire). Religion, language and identity…Nov 13, 08:36
    • Chas on The People You Most Suspected: “Where did I say that ordinary people can’t organise again and we are all in thrall to the media? Things…Nov 13, 08:28
    • Tinto Chiel on The People You Most Suspected: “And we shouldn’t forget the most revealing words which followed that statement, if I remember correctly: “How better can you…Nov 13, 08:24
    • Alf Baird on The People You Most Suspected: ““England has legitimate security concerns” “we’ll deserve to be destroyed as a nation” Scotland also has rather obvious security concerns,…Nov 13, 08:19
    • Oneliner on The People You Most Suspected: “We need a Tartan Brigade to match the Green Brigade. In Scottish football we have teams espousing Ireland (tricolour) and…Nov 13, 07:38
    • Hatey McHateface on The People You Most Suspected: ““Scotland gave greatly of its sons” Indeed willie, but dinna fash, we’ve few sons to give this time around. Or…Nov 13, 07:27
    • Hatey McHateface on The People You Most Suspected: “Why do we need the Western media to report the casualties, or anything else, when we have you? How can…Nov 13, 07:12
    • Robert Hughes on The People You Most Suspected: “This , ie the subject of this WOS post , is how the Unionists will take control of Holyrood .…Nov 13, 06:54
    • Hatey McHateface on The People You Most Suspected: “Aye, Bob, not enough casualties in U, and not enough casualties in Amsterdam either. Not for you, anyway. And as…Nov 13, 06:50
    • Jay on The Show Goes On: “’greed and will to power’ must be at the core of it, that brought to mind the alleged Cecil Rhodes…Nov 13, 06:13

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()