Off-topic
Posted on
January 02, 1968 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
For off-topic chat. Duh.
Hi Chipmonkey.
If you know a prospective candidate is against smashing the pointed end of an egg, and your party’s against battering the pointed end of an egg, surely it is a leading question to ask the prospective candidate if they would vote with the party, if the party changed its mind and decided smashing the blunt end of the egg was the way forward?
It all seems a tad weird to me. But then, I’m not trained or educated in the art of understanding the internal machinations of a party I pay a subscription to.
I just find myself feeling uneasy about the way this has been done, IN MY NAME.
Bdtt …What if the candidate’s 350 word statement read like he intended to disrupt breakfast any time the egg was put in the cup in a way that favoured cutting and also made statements alienating those being asked to join them for breakfast by calling them all to be either evil or stupid (or words to that effect). Would you still be sure he was sent to another table just over tbe egg smashing?
Or on my behalf, to be slightly more correct.
Chipmonkey,
Whether it was likely to happen or not isn’t the point.
It is people giving the ‘right’ answer rather their honest opinion that has created the mire of UK politics. Party before integrity is never good.
Grrr. Phone typos. It jams up and I can’t correct.
One went missing altogether.@Cearc I actually think it is the point. Innocents get slaughtered in politics ( like I will be soon on this probably) but it is so clear and extreme that it must be asking for the wider question to be taken into account…holistic thinking,not a reactionary answer. (Plus we don’t know it was tbe stumbling block.) I have no insight or i side knowledge so just rambling anyway.
Can I just recommend a viewing of Craigs’ interview tonight with independence live? It answers some questions (while raising others).
I should have just stayed in bed today and never got up.
All of us are individuals, sometimes we can come together because we have a common goal. When we do it is not necessary IMO to agree on every subject, just the main ones.
I’ve ranted and said enough today, I hope I haven’t upset too many that I think of as friends. Ach well, tomorrow is another day.
Alex
You haven’t upset me! 🙂 Btw, tomorrow is Monday now.
Nope, not upset either. Our strength is our differences – or as a great philosopher once said, we canny all be irn bru bottles.
People want a strong SNP, why? To govern well at Holyrood, partly, but mainly to lead the campaign for Independence.
We do not want a strong SNP just to replace a strong Scottish Labour party, and become a law unto itself. I don’t think this will happen, because there are too many people, including the 75K new SNP members, who will be keeping the party on their toes.
For next year’s Westminster election, it appears that the SNP plan is to have a unified block of MPs, and Craig Murray is too much his own man to be able to follow the party line 24/7. That is a pity, but there are other good candidates who will step up and be counted.
One such is Dr. Philippa Whitford, who can speak with authority about the threats to the Scottish NHS. Another is Ivan McKee of Business For Scotland, no prizes for guessing his specialist subject.
I would’ve liked to see Craig Murray getting stuck into the likes of Jack Straw at Westminster, using his insider knowledge about the foreign office, but hey-ho, I will settle for a 45-strong united, determined, focussed, block of SNP Energizer Bunnies. No stop till Indy!
As for the 3-min musical selections , how about 35 seconds of Glasgow 2014 Opening Ceremony – Team Scotland Entrance:
Or the Mamas & the Papas, ‘California Dreamin’: link to youtube.com
Jimi Hendrix, ‘Crosstown Traffic’: link to youtube.com
Merr mini-musics:
The Byrds – “Mr. Tambourine Man”: link to youtube.com
The Kinks – You Really Got Me: link to youtube.com
The Jam – The Eton Rifles: link to youtube.com
The Specials – Too Much Too Young: link to youtube.com
3-minute heroes:
Madness – Baggy Trousers: link to youtube.com
Motorhead – “Ace Of Spades”: link to youtube.com
And for Christmas: Steeleye Span – Gaudete: link to youtube.com
And the jeely piece de resistance: Jimmy Shand & 50 Cent “Bluebell Polka In Da Club” link to youtube.com
Regarding our haggis potential.. have you ever tried substituting beef for haggis whenst making a lasagne? Yum.
I guess you could call it Laggis or Haggagne.
ps, my bestest ever haggis dish was in a restaurant overlooking the bay in Oban. I think it was their mushroom gravy that made it for me, mwah!
I believe that the project to create the lowland Haggis was quietly dropped, because of the concerns perceptive readers up above have raised.
There’s one other species of Haggis which is often overlooked, due to its scarcity; the Maritime Haggis (Haggus Maritimus).
The staple diet of this shy creature is wulks, with a special fondness for buckies. It is roughly the same size as the Highland Haggis but differs in a number of features.
It’s fur is waterproof (obviously). It lays its eggs in a rock pool, where they float around, being kept warm by just enough sunlight in the growing season. The eggs look like rough pebbles, to protect them from predators.
When the young hatch (usually a flock of four), they instinctively ‘haggi-paddle’ to the edge of the pool, where their parents lift them out of the water.
This species has webbed feet and each front foot has one elongated claw, rather like a curved stiletto. This has evolved to allow the Maritime Haggis to extract the goodies from the wulks.
As they swim, the legs on each side change length, so instead of swimming in a circle, they swim in a figure-of-8, the size of which can be altered to allow them to reach the shore.
There are no known pics of this creature available and actual sightings tend to be hushed up, to keep their habitats free from sightseers.
When cooked properly, they taste of wulks.
@BDtt:
Do you haggis look like a Koozbanian phoob?
Hi AuldA.
Not really; it tends to spend its life horizontally aligned, rather than vertically.
I like haggis and wulks. Feart to say that though as the majority don’t and I might be laughed at.
LOL and an hahaha Michael. Just what I needed.
Fecking hell! a split personality!
Sorry for alternating between Thepnr and Alex Clark. It’s the computer I’m using which has Thepnr as default and I do forget to change this sometimes in my “eagerness” to post.
Hi Alex.
I’ve never liked wulks. Mind you, older 3Jaysers opined that the best wulks – nay, buckies – grew on the sewer pipe down at the Stannergate.
Must have been all the nutrients flowing out…
And, interestingly enough, it is said by those who are experts, that the earliest signs of hunter-gatherers in Scotland were found down at the Stannergate.
Presumably wulk gatherers, going by the shell midden that was discovered.
@Brian Doonthetoon
I got all my wulks from the Stannergate, so what if I ate shite! It was tasty shite.
If I’m being forced though to ate shite against my will. Ain’t gonna happen.
I’ve finally got round to uploading to YouTube, some of the videos I recorded at the YES City St Andrew’s Day Gathering in Dundee.
I’ve got 4 up tonight; I’ll get the other ones uploaded tomorrow evening.
Strange thing is…
When I was looking down over the dance floor, I could see Jock Scot (Yew Choob) muckin’ about on the dance floor, along with Paula Rose, who was strutting her stuff, with a tartan high heel firmly clamped in each oxter.
But, while recording, when I looked at the screen on the back of the camera, Paula Rose couldn’t be seen!
Go figure…
Onnyhoo, here are the links for the first two – I’ll stick the links for the following two in the next post.
Thepnr – language honey xxk
Here are the other two:
Bdtt
So that’s what you all got up to after I left! I knew things would go to pot without my restraining influence . . . 🙂 (No comments about drugs, Paula Rose).
Dick Gaughan, ‘Both Sides The Tweed’ (live, with Bain/Cunningham, 1989)
@ Ian Brotherhood, 10:54pm
Enjoyed that – Lovely song, great rendition. Thanks for posting.
@Bdtt, 10:26pm
Ha ha Brian, you obviously looked at the screen as Paula boogied out of shot! Paula R was giving it laldie. 🙂
Some cool moves there PR – put me in mind of a Christmas party in the Caribbean, no stilettos there though, mostly bare feet. I could hear the steel band all over again!
BTW: Anyone know the title of that reggae song?
Betty Boop honey – it was ecstasy dancing with all those lovely winged boys, I’m sure Bdtt filmed me and Ronnie Anderson doing the fandango – perhaps he accidentally deleted it, he does tend to get a bit dopey when he is in close proximity to sweet little moi!
Oh btw mes petites – j’ai un pet haggis that shares a basket with my pussy!
He puts his longer legs over her in such a fetching way –
If I knew how to post pics I’d show you.
@ Ian Brotherhood –
re today’s natty own it all
Delighted, exhausted and content xx
@Paula Rose –
Delighted to have been of service.
Aye, Paula Rose, in yir dreams!
I delete NOTHING (unless it’s a blurred version of something I have anyway) and my videos are NEVER blurred!
So there!
PARP!
I was there and remember it well – you and Jock made a heavenly couple…
Only not captured be my camera…
“by my camera”.
(No post submission edit facility.)
@Paula Rose:
“mes petits” would be seemlier. “mes petites” is feminine, therefore one infers you’re addressing a public made up of women only. Since I suppose you meant both men and women, the masculine is required.
BTW, is your haggis shaggy, Paula?
The Outlaws – Best Part Of The Day Is The Night
Nope -just intended for the ladies, sexist French lingo wot sits.
My haggis is very shaggy as my Minxie can testify.
Bdtt – you want me to be your camera? Weird honey.
@Stoker 7:57 Loved the Quo Cheers http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-h2hox–bR8&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die
The Pretenders, ‘Back On The Chain Gang’ –
Michael,
Cheers for the top.
Very similar, almost identical, intro to this:
Spirit In The Sky – Norman Greenbaum
Chic, Paula Rose – help! I’m stuck on 12dn, 20dn, 27dn, 28dn (wtf is that one about?) and 26ac. It’s doing my head in.
Natasha my wee darling
What’s the problem honey?
The Benn Sisters – The Earrings Song
David Bowie, getting perilously close to ‘daddy-dancing’, in ‘You’ve Been Around’ –
I need some hints. Ian keeps sticking in Scottish words and I didn’t have the right upbringing.
Ian Brotherhood says:
“getting perilously close to ‘daddy-dancing’”
To late, am already giving it big licks.
Started ma build up to the bells at lunch today.
@Natasha –
For 28dn you really need a magnifying glass: what appears to be a solid – (dash) is, in fact, three separate -‘s. That should help…?!
(P.S. 26 ac – I had to go back to the notepad and check for meself – couldn’t remember!)
@Stoker –
re Billy Ocean.
Great shout. What a wonderful singer. Don’t think he’s ever appeared here in O/T before.
Branded – Living Life In The Fast Lane
Some seasonal naughtiness, with The Krankies nicking Paula Rose’s patter –
@Paula Rose –
As you know, I’ve been fretting about what to wear at the next WOS gathering.
Just watched the following, and am quite taken with JB’s outfit. I’m thinking about a sequined ‘WOS’ where he has ‘GFOS’, and a simple ‘IB’ where he has ‘JB’ on the neckband.
What think ye?
Ian Brotherhood 11.01
Thank you!
You’re not being of any help whatsoever, Paula Rose. Pay attention! 🙂
Lighthouse Family – Lifted
goodnight folks.
@Natasha –
Hint for 12dn, if you haven’t got it yet – if you look closely? you won’t even have to click on it:
link to books.google.co.uk
Ian – thanks – I’d already worked out it had to end in ‘ic’ but was struggling with ideas about pedestrians! Loved 13dn by the way.
Just got 25 ac – why the cold bit? That really threw me off the scent. And I got 21 down but I don’t understand why.
Let me know tomorrow (oops, later today) when the solution is out and you won’t be spoiling it for anyone else.
Ian,
I think you’ll look wonderful in it. Now you just need to persuade Paula Rose to tone down her usual stuff and dress like his dancers!
@ Ian Brotherhood, 11:39pm
Fret no more. Dunno what Paula thinks of it, but that outfit would be terrifying in red! The colour might suit you, mind. Can you do the splits?
Apologies, Paula Rose. Just watched Ian Brotherhood’s link to James Brown’s outfit and I realise you must still be in shock. You could always lend him your heels to finish it off.
Hi, Paula
Mentioned the honorable art of pole-dancing in my latest blog. Hope I get a gold star! Till next time …
(‘The Curious Case of Craig Murray’)
Here’s Jim Murphy’s first pick if he’s called up for karaoke (Unfortunately, he’s been unable to smoke a fag whilst doing it ever since the Scottish Parliament passed legislation which prevented such posturing.)
Telly Savalas, ‘If’ –
@Ian Brotherhood
Betty Boop.
Sos to bust your bubble its not fitting atire for the counting house,but round the corner you would go down a storm Ian in any colour,I,ll arrange for the ambulance to stand by when you do those splits.lol
@Betty Boop –
In that outfit, it would be remiss of one not to attempt ‘the splits’. I suspect that, if I did manage it? it would be the first and last time, and I’d wake up in Crosshouse Hospital surrounded by pissed-off relatives.
Sorry Natasha, just back from the mandatory family tour, plus managed to get a bad cold which developed into a raw throat and then chesty. Think the worst is over, as long as it doesn’t fill my ears. That can take months to clear up.
Natasha, just saw your “Wow” to which, I suppose, a very retrospective ‘thanks’ is merited. 🙂 Sadly, since those days, tempus has most certainly fugit (probably spelled with a ‘k’ would be more appropriate).
The Godfather of Rock & Soul link to youtube.com
A one hit wonder from the year Scotland were going to win the world cup. link to youtube.com
@ Ian Brotherhood, 12:46am, 30/12/14
The attempt would be worth watching and I live close enough to Crosshouse to visit! I’d bring grapes.
One of my Occasional Hobbies. link to youtube.com Aye till I die
@ Ronnie Anderson, 12:41am, 30/12/14
Aww, Ronnie, folk would pay good money for a floorshow like that. Mind you, if he had WOS in sequins on his outfit, folk might wander to this site under a misapprehension… then again… 🙂
Woolworths was never like this in my day. link to youtube.com
I have been reading the posts on the other threads. and I am falling asleep. and that’s a long way to fall. So I will leave you with this. link to youtube.com Sweet dreams all you Wingers. I am away to my kip.
Anybody got any idea for the title of that reggae tune in the first link in my post of 10.26pm on the 28th?
It would be fine to add it to the YouTube page.
link to wingsoverscotland.com
From Ken500 over on Main Street
“Rev Stu is genius, what would Scotland do without him. A font of information.”
Agree.
It will soon be nomination closing time for the annual Scottish Press awards, where they publicly pat themselves on the back for a job well done. Wouldn’t it be great if the Rev won something? That is of course, a joke.
The awards are a couple of weeks before the election.
How about this for an idea?
The Scottish Non Press Awards
Categories
Best scoop of the year undiscovered by the MSM
Best story the MSM refused to cover
Best exposure of a lie promoted by the MSM
(might need several categories for this)
Scottish whistleblower of the year.
Best photograph not shown by the MSM
Best video not shown by the MSM
Best speech/debate unreported by the MSM
Best cartoon
Best Reporter
Best Journalist
Best Live coverage
Best on line news outlet
I’m sure you can all think of numerous nominations for each.
Doesn’t need to be lavish. Compere? Frankie Boyle?
Chic Mcgregor,
That would be a damn good basis for another Wings Night out.
Sorry I was scarce for the past few weeks, folks, I was offline and away from the mess of politics. Anyway, my final post of 2014 looks forward to the year ahead:
link to wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com
@Taranaich
I’m glad you have continued the blog and followed up the “controversial” post with another good article.
Cheers.
All you lovers of language here will enjoy this:
Ileene Macdonald, ane o the Indy Quines @sair_fecht has started a blog in Scots
link to thesairfecht.com
Wishing you all the very best for 2015.
Couldn’t have coped with this roller-coaster of a year without you all.
The next Wings social could be quite a night. Looking forward to it.
Scottish press awards – gosh who’s the best? Um…
My wee tune for the new “leader” and deputy “leader” of the Labour party. Jim, you’ll like this.
@Bob
It was a serious suggestion but would include Bella, National Collective, Bateman/Newsnet, Munguin’s REpublic, Business For Scotland, RIC/Common Weal, and many other on line sanity savers.
Thought that one deserved a wider audience LOL.
Paula: Scottish press awards – gosh who’s the best? Um…
I vote WoS for its inexhausible skill in rooting out lies, misinformation, disinformation, and humbug, but does criteria for a short-list stop at the border?
@Grouse Beater –
Your mentioning ‘humbug’ reminded me of this Orwell essay, which I never tire of reading – one wonders what he would make of what’s happening right now, eh?
He uses ‘humbug’ as the penultimate word, followed by ‘generally’ – have any other notable writers ended polemical pieces with an adverb?
link to theorwellprize.co.uk
George Orwell, what a man.
There is irony there I do not know the man but has respect for his writings and his stance. Might remind you of someone?
I wish I could write, maybe 20 years ago but too but too busy earning a living. I will speak my mind now though even if it is on blogs like this or newspaper reports.
Wish I could write, but at least I believe I have a voice.
@Alex Clark –
Ha! What the fuck’re you on about? You can’t write?!
So, who’s the ‘Alex Clark/PNR’ we all know and love?
This, right here, right now, is the most important ‘writing’ that’s happening – for our weans, and the ones thereafter,
Is it ‘literary’. ????
Nah.
But each and every comment we make is another thread in the rope.
(Ye can dae a lot wi’ a bit ay rope, eh?)
Hoots mon!
Alex: I wish I could write
Phooey!
You’re doing pretty well. And a hellova lot better than Ernie Wise!
Ian: one wonders what [Orwell] would make of what’s happening right now, eh?
I know what you are hinting at; Orwell would be justified in stating everything fired at Scotland during the Referendum confirms his worst fears … and then he’d refer us to his novel, ‘1984.’
(I think ‘Animal Farm’ his masterpiece.)
I have all his essays, and take quiet pride in the fact that, although he was a well-heeled Etonian, he chose the Isle of Jura to write his last novel and end his days.
Then again, who says all Etonian’s are ignorant bounders? What, ho, Jeeves!
As you may have guessed guys, I’m a bit under the weather.
Wife’s in England I’m done there tomorrow, couldn’t be assed going earlier.
Talking of writing, I’ve never wrote anything. You guys have and I admire that but at the same time wish I’d at least tried. You know what I mean.
Alex: I’ve never wrote anything. You guys have …
Me? Well, since you ask: Five books, two for the Royal Academy of Arts in London, seven screenplays, 14 short radio dramas, three short films, two television documentaries, six children’s tv shows, six youth news programmes, seven commercials, (one for the late, great, Paul Newman) three innovative PPBs for the SNP, edited one political thriller for tv, founded and edited educational magazine, paid doctor to a number of poorly written scripts by other authors, many hundreds of lectures in English and drama, countless magazine articles, franchised column in three US magazines, (and I still have a mental spelling block over certain words!) some children’s nonsense verse, speeches, composed a ton of formal documents, contracts, plus two signs saying ‘Private Parking – Don’t Even Think About It!!!’ thousands of letters, e-mails, and oodles of expressions of love and affection for wife and family- phew! – and still had time to go to the lavatory. Impressed, or what?
Best publically reviewed work always when politically motivated, and not just by party politics.
You’re missing your wife.
We can’t get them out the door fast enough:
‘Lovely, dear. You deserve a week away on your own. Relax. Enjoy yourself. Don’t forget your hiking boots.’
Soon as they’ve gone, and we’re down to the last tin of beans and a stale roll, we miss them. Nobody to exchange comment with over bad television programmes, no one to accompany you to the supermarket or walk the dog, no one to bring the ltest gossip about that pig-headed neighbour at Number 13, no one to say, ‘Yes, you did the right thing, darling’ no one to tell you where you left your tie, sock, underpants, no one to iron those bloody shirts ramrod flat, or share you bed when it matters in the wee sma’ hours when we all feel vulnerable…
… and talking of wee sma’ hours, have you seen the time!
Yours, signing off.
Grouse
And yet you still fail to beat me in an argument!!!
Don’t too get wound up about that. 🙂
@Grouse Beater
Have to say I like this place and YOU.
@Ian
You too.
@Grouse Beater
I’m only now getting an inkling of you. Know what I mean?
Alex: I’m only now getting an inkling of you.
And modesty had me omit mention of 75 original essays on my blog – 75 yesterday!
(Aye, Grousey, china, just as well. They’re all crap.)
I’ve a pronounced sense of humour and try my best to offer it up here, but sometimes the topic doesn’t justify it, or the poster I’m engaging will interpret it as sarcasm. Or the poster catches me when I’m cranky.
Right I’m off, long drive ahead,
Won’t have a computer as I’ve promised to be sociable 🙂
All the best for the coming year. Be back in 2015 there’s a job to be done, or so I hear!
@Grousebeater
But I have also seen it claimed he eschewed his surname ‘Blair’ because it was too Scottish.
OTOH he seemed to be a convert to the idea of indy before he popped his clogs.
@Alex
Good luck with the missionary expedition. Our’s was one night in Bathgate and three in Glasgow, for New Year our family comes here.
Got the ham boiling for tommorow’s lunch as I write. Indeed it needs to go off right now.
Byesee bye.
To all the Wingers who have been part of my life for the last year, thanks for being there, you helped change a complacent cynic into someone who will not give up until we get to our goal.
It’s been an honour more significant than anything the British state could ever bestow to meet you, chat with you, campaign with you, sometimes laugh, sometimes cry, but always feel like a part of something big, something important.
To all of you I wish you a happy 2015 and a bright future. 2014 was one of the most amazing years of my life and it’s down to you.
Chic: But I have also seen it claimed he eschewed his surname ‘Blair’ because it was too Scottish.
Aye, a few do that – hide their Scottish anticedents, such as Winnie the Pooh</i author, Alan Alexander Milne dropping the obvious to become, A.A. Milne. He walked around his English estate dressed in tweeds and plus fours.
Orwell's look at the way the poor and those on the bottom run subsist, 'Down and Out In Paris and London,' carries the contradiction that Orwell, unlike the poor, the lowly paid, and the disenfranchised he lived among for a time, could escape his predicament by simply walking into the nearest bank and withdrawing money from his account.
The restaurant dish washers and the street cleaners he studied didn't have the same escape route. For them life was bleak, without much hope of improvement.
I admire his ability to stay away from self-publicity, the cameras and the interviews that come along with success, and just get on with the job of writing, and tilting at injustice. I look at him as a journalist and polemicist first, a novelist second – some of his novels while always intelligent, are written in a pedestrian and clunky style. But I've read them all.
Anyone know the PriceWaterhouseCoopers report this piece came from?
link to msn.com
On the last day of the year it’s usually time to reflect on what has passed, but for me – a republican (for those who haven’t worked that out) – it’s the new years honours list and a chance for my annual rant.
To those honoured in the 30% bracket that are charity, social care and efforts outside your usual job – you have my utmost admiration and thanks. I only wish that someone other than the biggest benefit claimant in the UK could be seen to reward you.
To the rest, the overpaid sportspeople, the journeyman politicians, the “entertainers” and the career diplomats, you have my total contempt.
This year I’d like to focus on two totally unworthy Scottish recipients of the gongs.
Gordon Mathieson CBE, the leader of Glasgow City council, and sadly my local councillor, for services to shouting his welcome message during the Commonwealth Games ceremony, being a useless a**e and doing nothing to further the lives of those he was elected to serve.
And Archie Graham OBE – who? – The deputy leader of Glasgow City Council and husband of Johann Lamont – remember her? For services to – it can only be, being Johann Lamont’s husband? Well at least he did a service to mankind by taking her off the “available” list.
To all my friends at home and around the world, I’d like to wish you all, a happy, healthy and prosperous 2015.
Katie Hopkins = pond scum.
The Pogues, ‘Bottle Of Smoke’ –
Dick Gaughan ‘No Gods(And Precious Few Heroes)’ Live, 2013
Ian honey, you are my hero xxx
@Paula Rose –
Special wee clue for you in next Monday’s National, based on an original idea by Saffron aka Crazycat.
The Anonymous ‘Time To Unite’ 2014 video – well worth a swatch if you’ve not seen it. Presumably there will be a 2015 message along in due course.
Very very slow-loading tonight in here. Am writing this at 9.18. Last comment showing is mine at 8.01 but I’ve definitely submitted two or three since then.
Bummer…
Happy New Year all and looking forward to what is going to be a very interesting year.
Peace.
Don’t know when this was recorded, but Prince doesn’t appear to have aged much in the past 25 years. I saw him in concert in Tokyo, ’91 or ’92, but he was so far away he was just a wee purple dot.
Prince & 3RDEYEGIRL, ‘She’s Always In My Hair’ (live) –
Ian B – Hi, welcome to my world re posting times. Also saw Juteman and The Man in the Jar (I think) saying the same.
Ironically, the Rev tweeted yesterday that we had another server update and were we noticing that the site was running quicker. Honestly can’t say I’ve noticed that. I intend to post a Happy New Year To All comment at 11.40, in the hope it’ll post @ midnight. 😉
In your words, Ian, Hoots!
(@21.46)
Don’t know if this happened across all threads, but a big wheen seems to have gone amiss between 8 and 9.20-ish, here on O/T at any rate. Site under attack again?
Hmm, maybe site is running a bit quicker, as my comment posted at 21.46(and time stamped as such), appeared at 22.03, which is 4 mins faster than usual. 🙂
Have posted this link many times, and do so again now, for the last time in 2014. If it gets to even one person who hasn’t seen it before? job done.
A long lifetime involving humour, political activism and brutal honesty, distilled into three blistering minutes.
George Carlin, ‘The American Dream’ –
@TJenny –
Lovely, lovely TJenny – the only thing which took the edge off the Sep 19th heartache was the consolation of having met yourself and all the other Wingers.
I hope you have a great ‘bells’ and a corker 2015.
Mwwwaaaah! X
There’s me 8.35 ‘Anonymous’ post just appeared, and it’s not my avatar with it.
Ian,sweetie, great big hugs and xxxs back at you. Can’t wait for the next WOS night out, you were missed at the last one, on Hydro day. 🙁
WOS virtual hugs and xxxs are great – but Wingers real hugs and xxxs are the very, very best. 😉
Eeek – my Wingers’ apostrophe went amiss too. (wee blushing faced thingy).
Hello darlings – kisses and hugs and strokes and loveliness and blessings xxx
Hi everybody
I haven’t posted in a long long time. Just wanted to wish all you wingers a happy new year.
All the very best for 2015.
Had a total crush on this lass, and hated the baldy guitarist who was – if I remember correctly – her boyfriend.
Lene Lovich, ‘Lucky Number’ –
@Paula Rose –
Hope you caught Wilko on the Jools Hootenanny – great stuff.
The Waterboys, ‘Old England Is Dying’ –
Aye, but her people – our friends, relatives and neighbours – will help Scotland put the knackered auld cow out of her misery once and for all.
Hope this posts just at midnight!
HAPPY NEW YEAR TO OOR REV STU + HIS FAMILY AND ALL WINGERS. 🙂 🙂 🙂
Onwards and upwards to GE 2015 and a Red Tory WIPEOUT. Mwahahahah.
@Ian B – no idea why but, your links above reminded me of the first live gig I went to in London waaaay back in 1973.
Wishbone Ash supported by Stackridge. The song that sticks in my head (a bit of an ear worm for me) is this one:
The video is just a wee bit later 😉
Weird – my post appeared right away – but only, I think, ’cause I opened a new O/T page – still not showing on version of O/T that I posted comment. Hmmm. perplexed. (strokes chin ponderously).
And the only way to get rid of an ear worm is another, well, ear worm.
I give you Lindisfarne and Lady Eleanor
@TJenny – ’tis the magic that is “nearly New year” 😛
Ol’ Jools has another excellent line-up this year. Actually has people that can hold a note …
Happy 2015 fellow wingers.Work even harder this year. Enjoy the hootenanay Jim. xxxx
Happy New Year to all Off-Topicers 😛
WHOA – just tried to post a comment and got this message:
‘Go back and try again.
Error: answer is wrong. [2014]
Comment was blocked because it is spam.’
How very dare Akismet!
Ok -trying to get past the spam filter – so apologies if there are multiple posts!
I wish a happy and peaceful (except in May when I expect to hear whoops and hollers!) New Year to all Wingers.
Love to all,xx
Folks, it has been a pleasure to share all your hopes, doubts and good banter during 2014.
Take a bow one and all – and especially Stu
@Jim Thomson –
You nailed it!!!
Many happy NY felicitations to you and the bold Elizabeth. Next time we meet at a count as official WOS reps, we’ll be heading off to a party afterwards.
Kin right!
Raising one right now – to you and all the bods who’ve made this journey so enjoyable despite the grief – love ye’s all.
XXX
Couldn’t help myself!
I must wish all our fellow Wingers a Happy New Year. Especially as I believe we will have one in 2015.
So many people I met during last year were committed and decent ordinary people that truly wanted only the best for their country. As I do.
In particular I have many thanks and love even for those that I’ve personally met and are too many to mention by name. I was buoyed by your support.
Cheers Guys and Gals. 2015 is a year to look forward to, there will be more to come from us before May. That is for sure. You never give in!
Until the job is done.
Alex
Aw man – William Bell + Jos Stone singing Private Number on Jools – so many memories from the days of the original, especially of those from then, unfortunately no longer with us – still. I’m singing along…..and remembering. 😉
(Hope Akismet doesn’t think this comment is spam. :-()
Now boogying to ‘Blame it on the Boogie’ – and thinking that the next WOS night has to have space for boogying – The Black Bull would do nicely. 😉
(Looking at you Tam Jardine. 😉 )
@TJenny –
If I ever get the chance to dance with you, I’d like it to be to this. (In drunken, hopeful anticipation, I have started practising…)
KC & The Sunshine Band, ‘Shake Your Booty’ –
@Alex Clark –
Fond HNY manhugs to yerself and yer lad – a real pleasure to have met you both ‘for real’ and I hope, when we do so again, it’ll be at an overdue celebration, perhaps with Dick Gaughan and/or Jock ‘YouChoob’ Scott playing in the background?!
More power to ye and everyone around ye!
@TJenny –
Or maybe this?
Chic, ‘Everybody Dance’ –
Tried to post this up on main thread but it went into moderation so long the thread had moved on.
Anyway, a quick look back over the year:
Yes in the Park (May)
Pacific Quay 2 (29th June)
Pacific Quay 3 (27th July)
Arbroath Seafest (9th August)
Yes Convoy (17th August)
Airdrie Town Centre (23th August)
Cumbernauld (24th August)
One of the first public outing for Wings from September 2013:
Edinburgh Yes Rally
Ian – I was thinking more like this. 😉 (Especially loved the Saltires on the front of the panel’s desk).
(OK – maybe not quite like that – don’t want you to be scared. 😉 )
Happy 2015 to all.
Will Ian being wearing the James Brown outfit for this dance?
Hello, Scaredycat, nice to see you pop up again. Iwas wondering what had happened to you, hiding from us wee mice again?
@TJenny –
Okay. Fair do’s.
Wait till they see us!
(Bags me the guy’s bit – can’t be doing with all that tumbling your wilkies.)
Ian – OK, Ian, my man – tumble this?
Luvya! 😉 😉
@TJenny
My most favorite song from Off Topic in 2014 courtesy of our Ian.
I’m off to beddy byes – sleep well unto the renewed year.
LOVE TO ALL WINGERS. 🙂
Someone has clyped 2014 was over.
Onwards, onwards, to unknown shores and new adventures. There’s a land to conquer!
Let’s make a grand 2015 together!
Happy New Year a’body.
Happy New Year to all the Wingers I met in 2014, and to all those I’ve still to meet in 2015.
I should have stuck this in last night but, with one thing and another, I ran out of time.
When I had a Hogmanay DJ gig, I used to play this around 8 minutes to midnight, followed by ‘Auld Lang Syne’, then the bells, then Jimmy Shand’s version of ‘A Guid New Year’ (which is the TRADITIONAL order of events).
Onyhoo, better late the never…
(There is a ‘live’ version on YouTube but the intro’s cut off.)
Or, “better late THAN never…”
8=(
Jim, thanks for the photo recap. It was a tremendous year and a privilege to get to know so many people committed to an independent Scotland. All the best for 2015.
@ Pete the Camera. Peter my Daughter was asking about ah starter motor from that spare you were telling her about, could you please get in contact with her at 25 Bayview .
This one is dedicated to all those no voting ‘I’m alright Jacks’ who suck up all the crap they are fed by the reprehensible Britnat mainstream mediocrity. Like believing food bank users are scroungers.
youtu.be/sBPTuAl2Qyk
Happy New Year to all Scots who retain their dignity.
Happy New Year to all wingers, may 2015 be a good year for Scotland.
To all those who are interested and who are missing wiziwig footie, closed due to the new law in Spain which took effect today try this link, and then use the side bar. Good luck,enjoy, it might not last too long.
link to crichd.tv
Just a wee post to see if ‘off-topic’ is accepting posts, after having a post disappear, along with the following two, which were truncated edits of the previous offerings, just before 8pm.
So, I tried again, with no success.
I’m gonna paste it again, with ß in the url so, to get the url, delete the ß. There are six of them.
—————————————–
Hi call me dave.
I found out about wiziwig when I went to see if the Dundee derby was being streamed.
So I went a-Googling and found four, which all seem to work. I watched the derby via this one.
wßwßw.drakulßastream.eu/footßball-live-streaßming-vißdeo.html
HA! SUCCESS!
Nothing succeeds like a budgie wie nae teeth.
@BDtT did you mean to post
link to wßwßw.drakulßastream.eu
??
There you go, fixed it for ya 😛
Nighty night folks. Far to long after my normal beddy-byes
Hi Jim.
I believe you had a ‘senior moment’ there!
I did type,
Just a wee post to see if ‘off-topic’ is accepting posts, after having a post disappear, along with the following two, which were truncated edits of the previous offerings, just before 8pm.
and
So, I tried again, with no success.
I’m gonna paste it again, with ß in the url so, to get the url, delete the ß. There are six of them.
That URL you posted won’t work in a month of referendums – unless you take out the six ß like I previously typed.
I know, it’s an age thing.
8=)
Main thread tonight to do with football.
So honey bunches –
I have an I pad thingy from Santa
What’s the best drawing app?
@Brian DtT
Speed reading’s a b**** 🙁
Sorry about that young man 🙂
I thought you had stumbled across a bizarre way of representing a URL that was, errmm, dodgy 😉
Awake now though and about to start painting a couple of walls so, not likely to be replying to any other comments until much later.
Here’s another of the links I found for watching footie:-
link to fancystreems.com
And here are the other two.
link to freesoccerstreams.com
link to freefootball.ws
That last one sometimes has miscaptioned descriptions, eg a Baseball game as ‘English Premier League’.
Hi Paula Rose.
Seeing it has roughly the same size and appearance, maybe you should have asked for an Etch-A-Sketch?
8=)
@Paula:
Pixelmator. I think there’s an iPad version. It’s well worth the price. Highly commended.
@Smithy
Chin up Grasshopper, the Reel Wisdom is accepting death and change are part of life. Even James Bond agrees. 🙂
@Smithy
In a similar vein, perhaps?
Seamus Heaney – The Tollund Man
Some day I will go to Aarhus
To see his peat-brown head,
The mild pods of his eye-lids,
His pointed skin cap.
In the flat country near by
Where they dug him out,
His last gruel of winter seeds
Caked in his stomach,
Naked except for
The cap, noose and girdle,
I will stand a long time.
Bridegroom to the goddess,
She tightened her torc on him
And opened her fen,
Those dark juices working
Him to a saint’s kept body,
Trove of the turfcutters’
Honeycombed workings.
Now his stained face
Reposes at Aarhus.
—
I could risk blasphemy,
Consecrate the cauldron bog
Our holy ground and pray
Him to make germinate
The scattered, ambushed
Flesh of labourers,
Stockinged corpses
Laid out in the farmyards,
Tell-tale skin and teeth
Flecking the sleepers
Of four young brothers, trailed
For miles along the lines.
—
Something of his sad freedom
As he rode the tumbril
Should come to me, driving,
Saying the names
Tollund, Grauballe, Nebelgard,
Watching the pointing hands
Of country people,
Not knowing their tongue.
Out here in Jutland
In the old man-killing parishes
I will feel lost,
Unhappy and at home.
This popped into me heid today.
Dana, ‘All Kinds Of Everything’
Ha! I’ll see your Dana and raise you a Kenneth McKellar
Stands back and munches popcorn.
The table stands at a Dana raised by a Kenneth McKellar. Was the opening an underplay or was the McKellar too strong a show?
Bdtt darling – ah yes the “drawing machine” with little knobs that needed a good shake…
AuldA honey xx
Why didn’t these ladies ever represent Scotland at Eurovision?
The Prince Sisters, aka ‘Fran & Anna’ –
OK, keeping to the musical vein, here’s Wolfstone with the theme tune to the battle that we’re gonna have between now and the 7th May.
Wolfstone – “The Battle”.
Happy New Year, everyone; just come back from England (thank God) and didn’t take my laptop, so have been out of the loop. Here’s to hope for a successful 2015.
Natatasha: just come back from England …”
A winter’s break in a foreign country? Lucky you.
Happy New Year 🙂
@ Ian Brotherhood.
Aye, Coatbridge’s finest. I always used to give them a wave when I seen them out and about the town.
New thingy – called an I pad, don’t know how to do all the naughty stuff, don’t even know what thread I’m on…
Like you Natasha I spent the New Year in England and didn’t take my laptop.
Just used my sisters instead as I couldn’t keep away. Some say an addiction is a terrible thing. If it doesn’t harm you and is in a good cause, then maybe not so bad.
@Paula Rose
You succumbed then to consumerism? An I pad indeed, pah!
Just kidding, will be in touch.
Hi Grousebeater
Natatasha, eh? I quite like it, sounds like machine gun fire. I couldn’t wait to get back across the Border. Hate leaving Scotland just now. 🙂
The slightest strokes xx
Natasha Hate leaving Scotland just now.
Being half-Sicilian means most winters I’m off to warmer climes to study and write, (south of France or Spain) back early March, but major project here, hence dark dreary nights endured with only the reruns of Inspector Montelbano for light and optimism, and knock-out femme fatales.
Oops! “Natatasha”? – name for a Russian doll. (Must have sneezed!)
Meaningless cliche phrases to kill in 2014:
“A close knit community.”
“All we ask for is closure.”
“It ticks all the boxes.”
“The insurgents of Scotland.”
“Believe in better.”
And,
“pooling and sharing”,
“the settled will of the Scottish people”
“for a lifetime/generation/year/weekend”
And, at # 1…
“Better Together”!
Tum tiddely tum tum tum ta-ra!
@ Grouse Beater –
We are a wonderful bunch here on Wings – could you please do me a great favour and no longer cause me grief over your attacks on my lovely dance partner
Morag
It is very out of order to attack our head girl –
Please honey, when we twirl around a pole together I will stare lovingly…
But our lovely Morag is more special than perhaps you realise.
I’m gonna stick this link in again, in cas anyone missed it over Saturnalia.
Looks like being the (first) major event of 2015.
link to allianceforscotland.tumblr.com
JEEZ!
“In case anyone missed it”
Mea Culpa.
Brian Doonthetoony thingy I did suggest we had a stall there – I’ve got a brand new pair of roller skates – you know I’m always up for things, thought you had this sorted – I could do autographs.
The standard to beat for the weirdest post in 2015:
Paula: … our lovely Morag …
Hi Paula Rose.
I’ve replied to you on one of the other active topics tonight but you haven’t replied to me therein.
I am bereft of existence, feeling slighted…
8=(
I thought we were all Jock Tamson’s bairns?
So what if we disagree at times, discourse is good. I admire someone who will stand their corner defending their beliefs and opinions.
That includes you Grouse Beater though we often disagreed, same goes for Morag.
Well said, Alex, when push comes to shove we are all on the same side. Let’s make a New Year’s resolution to cut each other some slack.
Bdtt you know Paula Rose loves you. Get a grip, man. 🙂
The growing talk of a New Labour / Conservative coalition has me thinking we’ve wandered into some weird alternate universe:
link to wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com
Happy New Year to all those in this strange new reality we’ve found ourselves in!
Nah nah Alex.
You’re completely wrong there. I do believe you’re just here for a five minute argument…
Please don’t do it people…just, please, don’t, eh?
Och Ian, you were really asking for this, weren’t you, yi wee scamp? Gonnae no’ dae that?
Elkie Brooks, ‘Warm And Tender Love’ –
Ian just watched the James Kelman video.
I’m not sure where he is coming from, I can tell you this though. I read his first book “The Chancer” about 1985 just after getting married. I thought I was that guy in the book!
Never read another for a great many years it was “How Late It Was, How Late”. My Da gave me it.
If you haven’t read this then I recommend it.
Guys, can you lay off?
You need to read character acutely.
I removed myself from the assassination debacle on Wings many days ago – stated as much – because it’s toxic, returning here momentarily to the ‘non-politics’ thread to say hello to Natasha out of courtesy and respect, and then leave, only to get T-boned by some nonsense or other.
Now, before somebody adds something else obtuse or simple-minded that has me running to the ‘Handbook of Obscure Internet Banter’ for intepretation, please don’t throw yourselves at every post that irks you. Keep it adult.
Many thanks.
Over and out.
@Grouse Beater
Here’s a wee video of when I lived in Easterhouse, I remember this though was only about 9 years old at the time.
It really didn’t do much good though!
As always there are two sides to a story.
Apropos of nothing in particular –
‘It will drag you to the verge of brain-burning insanity!’
Alex: Here’s a wee video of when I lived in Easterhouse
I was told about that many years later, when still young, how the ‘great Frankie Vaughn’ had visited Easterhouse and, living in Edinburgh, my guardian wondered when he’d visit Niddrie or Pilton. But I think it was less for his ability to be a role model and inspire than because she was his Number One fan!
Got to go, Alex, only dropped by for a minute.
I’m wading through, and getting drowned by, oodles of accounts that must be in order before resuming work on Monday. I’m way behind…
‘Cheers,’ as they say for cheerio, as if raising a glass.
(On the telly beside me there’s some talented Scottish natural history cameramen in a steamy jungle somewhere, crowing about bugs and birds under their lens, another kind of reality.)
We are all different but I believe with the same goal. Scotland can show the way. We can pave the path.
@Ian Brotherhood
The BUG.
A cross between Ian Duncan Smith and George Osborne if ever I saw one. Humankind should be terrified.
What will they do about it? Fuck all probably.
Has this been played before on Off Topic?
It is after all what this battle between good and evil is all about!
@Brian Doonthetoon
You got it mate. Hahaha, we could all learn from this.
5 in a row. I expect a knock on the door soon.
Alex, I Don’t know if you got the same wolves howling in the woods ad but as an intro, perfect
Do you guys ever go to bed? Even I gave up at 3am.
Especially for the Night Shift, IB especially.
link to hat4uk.wordpress.com
This is an astonishing piece of clear general analysis and opinion, devoid of tin foil hats stuff, about how the UK Gov has entered into a post Goebbelesque world of state information manipulation and near total control, paid by us.
John Ward the author write well about things he knows intimately. He also writes a lot apocalyptic stuff about economic implosions and whilst his general analysis is good his dystopian views colour his conclusions. He make mistakes about predicting the end of the World, economically speaking.
Just think about Murphy getting his hands on these big levers of State. I think Murphy could become mad and a dictator, given these powers.
@Bugger The Panda –
Interesting stuff. Cheers.
The advertising industry is something which I don’t believe many punters have any real appreciation of. It IS politics. It’s inflating the price of the stuff we already pay for, and doing so by making the advertising more ‘entertaining’ than the programming it ostensibly interrupts.
I don’t watch the box, but happened to see an advert t’other day which appeared to show liquidised shite making its way through pipework. It was utterly repulsive, but there was no volume so I don’t know what was being said. Turns out it was a advert for a brand of dishwashing-machine tablet. Not exactly subtle – if you don’t buy this specific brand then you are, in effect, trying to clean your eating utensils, glasses etc with sewage.
If they can sell us that? (and are permitted to do so) they can sell us Murphy, nae probs. If we buy it? we deserve all we get – one way or another, we’ll be paying for it. The only option is to fight:
‘I’m here to chew gum and kick ass. And I’m all outta gum.’
@BTP –
As the canonisation of Murphy continues apace, will this sort of thing still be tolerated?
Murphy’s ‘100 Towns’ Tour, in Carnoustie:
Ian Brotherhood & BtP
Richard Murphy (Tax Research UK) gives an interesting analysis of advertising in his book “The Courageous State”, basically saying that it is simply a means to persuade ordinary people to spend more and more money on unnecessary items to the detriment of their spiritual, emotional and economic wellbeing.
Sounds a bit puritan on the surface, but when you read his book it makes perfect sense. The rich get richer through making profits from poor people spending money they can’t afford on things they don’t need.
A bit like the National Lottery – stop people from thinking about why they are poor by offering them the apparent chance of becoming stinking rich overnight – even if that so-called chance is less likely than being hit by an asteroid.
Looking forward to tomorrow’s crossword!
@Ian Brotherhood, to use an old cliche about advertising. Only 50% of advertising is effective, they just don’t know which 50% it is. In the media we see lots of different images each trying to persuade us they are telling the truth about their product and in effect cancelling each other out. However, in politics now we aren’t seeing this plurality of viewpoints and the same narrative is being pushed by all the main parties. So, we get wall-to-wall austerity, neo-liberal concensus with no dissent.
Weird things happen in Glasgow. Since the National does not have a scientific/technical column, here it is.
“Scientists have harnessed the strange power of quantum mechanics to create a digital image using fewer than one photon per pixel.
In a paper published today (Monday 5 January) in the journal Nature Communications, researchers from the University of Glasgow describe how they created an image of a wasp wing using just 50,000 particles of light, none of which ever directly interacted with the wing itself.
While tens of thousands of photons might seem like a lot, it is actually an extremely small amount of light. Conventional digital cameras sample around 100,000 photons per pixel to make an image with their megapixel sensors.
The process works using quantum ghost imaging, which harnesses what Einstein called the ‘spooky action at a distance’ property of quantum entanglement, where photons are paired so that any measurement of one instantaneously gives knowledge of the state of the other, no matter the space between them.
The work was carried out by the Optics Group in the University of Glasgow’s School of Physics and Astronomy in collaboration with researchers in Ottawa Canada. The project is the latest in a series of quantum imaging breakthroughs at the University of Glasgow, which was recently announced by the UK Government as the lead in a £29m Quantum Imaging Hub.
Reuben Aspden, who helped build the system, said: ‘Our system works by sending ultraviolet light from a laser to a non-linear crystal similar to a piece of quartz. The crystal splits every incident ultraviolet photon into two infrared photons, which exit the crystal on separate trajectories in a state of quantum entanglement.’
Peter Morris, a graduate student working on the project, added: ‘One photon illuminates the wasp wing while the other photon goes to the camera sensor. Because the photons are entangled and share information between them on a quantum level, the image is formed on the camera’s sensor by photons which have never actually “seen” the object for themselves.’
The experiment is calibrated so that information is only collected when a photon strikes a detector after passing through the wasp wing. This detector is also the source for the actual count of 50,000 photons.
50,000 photons work out to be less than one per pixel, so unavoidably the picture looks very noisy. The group then use statistical techniques – similar to those employed in JPEG compression of photos – to create an enhanced image.
Professor Miles Padgett, head of the Optics Group, , said: “Imaging in extremely low light like this can be useful in areas where more intense light can damage or fade very fragile materials. It also has applications in biological imaging and defence.
“Our Quantum Imaging Hub will work to bring research breakthroughs such as this into the commercial sphere in the coming years.”’
@AuldA
Thanks for that. That will make headlines in the Physics fraternity.
@C.M.G:
You’re most welcome! It’s an interesting application of quantum entanglement that for once does not revolve around cryptography or security. I’m not sure it will have any commercial applications soon, though.
I’ve no idea as to why I’m on the press list of the Glasgow university, but it’s fine with me.
Glasgow were the first to demonstrate quantum ‘ghost imaging’. The thing I am picking up on here(and it may be no more than a dumbing down for the leity, in which case I will be annoyed) is the ” The crystal splits every incident ultraviolet photon into two infrared photons, which exit the crystal on separate trajectories in a state of quantum entanglement.” If that is literally true then it eliminates the shared paths and possible persistence of interference effects splitters bring to the table and which still leave small question marks re the entanglement of information.
I would like to see a repeat with a slits image.
@CMG:
I suppose this is a kind of Raman effect, maybe on a birefringent crystal? It is, in any case, highly non-linear, so I suppose their laser is of a high-energy or high-concentration type. That’s one of the reasons I don’t see any low-cost commercial applications soon.
Interesting. Could you elaborate? Of course, being French, I’m well aware of Alain Aspect’s experiments, but I’ve never heard of the phenomena you mention.
The Slits album “Cut” would be a good place to start (giggle).
@Paula Rose:
“Absolute zero” from Hologram, a Parisian group:
http://hologramusic.bandcamp.com
One of the reasons I keep coming to Wings is that the comments are well how to say it? So diverse.
Hi guys
Would you believe it, someone just called me aggressive, rude and arrogant on another thread! Petit moi? Honestly, what is the world coming to? 🙂
Coming to Wings Natasha as well as the diversity you also learn to stand your corner.
I think you were just standing your corner 🙂
Alex, I was brought up to come out of my corner fighting at every opportunity! 🙂 (Usually biting my opponent’s ankles).
Natasha my wee honey – I thought knee-caps were your speciality!!!
I’ve never worn a knee-cap. I wouldn’t know which knee to wear it on. My education was bereft of information regarding caps, hats and sundry bunnets.
I do, however, possess a blue glittery cowboy hat, with a selection of badges round the band. I tend to wear this, intermittently, on my head, rather than my knee.
Paula Rose
Only since I grew up. When I was little(r) it was definitely ankles (unless I had access to a stool – the wooden kind, before you start sniggering). 🙂
Natasha doll –
Next time I’ve got a naughty winger on their knees come round for a bite fest!
Now we get onto furniture and stools. I blame you Paula for not eating your greens at school dinners.
Instead of eating them you joined them. You should’ve ate them 🙂
Reminds me of an old joke…
You’ve heard about the F-Plan diet, eh?
Have you heard about the G-Plan diet? The first two courses are ok, but it gets a bit filling when you get to the suite.
However, you do get interestingly shaped stools.
How come reproduction furniture has migrated to this thread dears?
@Brian Doonthetoon
Haha very good.
@Paula
Here is the best place to discuss reproduction furniture 🙂
Wee tune my old man used to like, not played here yet as far as I know.
Does the Daily record open up any article for comments now? The last few times I’ve looked, no article, whether news or sport, has been open for comments.
They can control the stories they print, but are they afraid that they cannot control what people will write as comments?! Is this a deliberate policy to shut down debate & stop people ripping their biased stories to shreds?
Just reviewing some of my youtubes and not at all sure, but could I have caught Nick Robinson in this BBC demo c 40 seconds in.
Don’t think it is him, but certainly a look alike.
Apologies for my singing.
AuldA
I’m talking about set ups where both the image interacting beam and the non interacting beam subsequently co-travel and or use the same beam splitter. That leaves room for some as yet unascertained information transfer mechanism. consequently there is still debate on whether such set ups demonstrate true entanglement.
@CMG:
I see. Thanks for the explanation.
I have always wondered if the underlying description of a flat space-time in the case of quantum entanglement was correct. In other words, would it be possible to find out a metric in which the particules entangled would be at a null distance until their quantum state is measured, therefore projected? But that’s on the fringe of SciFi.
Was the wing still attached to the wasp?
@Paula:
As much as the ring is attached to the rasp.
Or the fling to the flasp.
Or the cling to the clasp.
Oh blast…
I’ve just realised that in my earlier post I should have said ‘petite moi’. Oops.
@AuldA –
That’s a commendable effort there. I wouldn’t even be able to offer anything en francais anywhere near as, well, poetic?
But here’s a wee conundrum which does involve relativity and suchlike, and therefore transcends borders – if a wee mouse living in the outskirts of Edinburgh believes that his farts are louder than the One o’clock Gun (and generates pleasure among his kith and kin every day by proving so at that precise time) who would want to prove him wrong?
@Ian Brotherhood
Only King Rat, who believes his farts are louder and sweeter.
Typical – I come here for some erudition and the boys are being smutty.
@Alex Clark –
Aye, there’s always one.
Ever seen a ‘rat-king’?
I haven’t, but they’re fascinating all the same. Here’s a picture of one (NB anyone who doesn’t like mice, rats etc – don’t click!):
link to upload.wikimedia.org
Ian Brotherhood
Wtf was that? I feel quite sick. And I know you said don’t click, but I don’t mind mice or rats. Yuk.
Have I ever stroked Dave McEwan Hill, if not I want to – lovely stuff on the Union of snakes thread!
Rats in the main are gentle creatures that will shun humans.
Some humans are rats that will drink human blood with relish.
Rats only have a bad name because of these human rats.
AuldA
One of my personal explanations of wave-particle duality, since undergraduate days, is that that there could be instantanaeity of energy transference possible in a direction orthogonal to that of travel.
So if you imagine the energy of a photon actually is distributed over the entirety, or perhaps just a large area, of an expanding sphere centered on its point of origin, but that once that photon interacts, all that energy instantly collapses to the point of interaction.
For the two slits experiment that energy collapses to both slits generating two new ‘half photons’ with half the energy, which because of their new source geometry recombine at one point of interaction with the detector but at points determined by that interference geometry.
The vying theory in my head is that the mass used to create the slits could retain ‘perturbations’ manifested by the refractive interaction with a photon which have sufficient persistence and ‘spread’ to influence the diffraction of a subsequent second photon through the other slit.
I have thought of an experiment to distinguish between those two which I am hoping to perform this year.
…Human rats hide themselves in the community by becoming politicians.
Why does a rat’s fart bring Jim Murphy to mind. Is it quantum?
Enjoying the physics lesson, there’s some truly amazing stuff coming down the line. Quite mind boggling.
…Rats though fear Humans, we have the power to destroy them.
Harrumph – rats are well loved on this site, you will all desist immediately from your smutty, vile attacks – or there will be repercussions!
Chic/Auld A
How is it possible for a photon to have energy but no mass. So they say, just curious.
@X_Sticks
What you really meant to say was “Who gives a rats fart about Jim Murphy” sorted it for you.
Thepnr honey – put your hand under a sunbeam, does it go down?
(Jokes about cars will not be appreciated)
@Natasha –
Stories starring such creatures emerged in Glasgow during the bin-workers strike back the 70s – it was straightforward hysteria, fanned by the success of James Herbert’s imaginatively-entitled novel (i.e. ‘Rats’) at around the same time.
I do remember staying at a cousin’s house that year, during the same week which spanned the clearance of the accumulated garbage – we were confined to the house (ground-foor, council house, Possilpark) but allowed to watch the troops clearing the mountains of rubbish from the back courts by day. By night, we watched the empty orange street being overrun by rats of all sizes, with sparse traffic – and no pedestrians! – to interrupt their meanderings. It was as thrilling as it was horrifying.
The neighbours across the landing from my Aunt’s house lost their terrier when they pulled back the covered hearth to let him get at the rats whose noise was driving them all crazy – the dog was overcome and killed. The area continued to be infested for many years following the ‘bin-strike’ despite massive regeneration efforts. Just like the properties closest to the Clyde, rats are never far away, and have probably been resident longer than humans.
(NB The last outbreak of The Black Death in Britain was in the Gorbals, just 100 years ago! – link to historicalwhatsits.tumblr.com)
Probably best not to click on this either (as it features the same image) but it does provide an explanation.
link to en.wikipedia.org
@Ian Brotherhood
Can we please stick to the subject of farts?
I was on a train once from Dundee to Bristol, two of us, young guys. We changed at Edinburgh and walked up the hill to this wee student pub as we had an hour to kill.
Ordered 2 pints at the bar and despite the place being busy we managed to grab a seat, within a few minutes we had loads of space around us.
Honest it wisnae me!
What is it with you boys?
There are ladies present, please, show some decorum.
Not sure if a wee bit ‘high culture’ mixed with the baser elements of entertainment will get things back on track, elsewise spark arguments about imperial theft etc etc…
In any event, it’s a richt guid tune, and they’re obviously very nice lads.
Dey-up, dey-up, dey, dey-up, dey-up, dey, dey-up, dey-up dey…
(Aye, that one!)
Bastille, ‘Pompeii at the British Museum’ –
I kid you not, there are going to be some very sore botties at the next Wingie thingie unless you all behave.
@Ian Brotherhood
No bad, a few good thigh slappers there, Reminded me of the spoon players that you got at family gatherings on Hogmany.
This ones pretty good, watch for at least 1.05 than it takes off 🙂
@Paula Rose –
So, what do we get if we DO behave? 🙂
@Alex Clark –
Superb stuff. Glad I watched that before hitting the sack…nicht-nicht!
@Ian:
First, thanks! 🙂
I’ve nothing against rats or mice or other rodents chugging along every day, as long as they do not produce too much methane, which could add to the greenhouse effect.
@CMG:
It’s an interesting theory and experiment. Personally, I rather think that we have somehow struck a fundamental limitation of human knowledge, in terms of comprehension. Quantum mechanics rises unfathomable riddles, and not only entanglement and its paradoxical instantaneous transmission of information; e.g.: how ‘Nature’ chooses between the various quantum states during a measurement (i.e. the mechanism behind degenerescence).
Mathematics, as we know them, are not a universalism. They are the product of our brains, nervous systems, and therefore are subject to the same limitations. Our brains are wonderful tools that are designed to handle correctly physical situations we deal with every day, i.e. macroscopic sets. As such, what happens to the microcosm is simply dazzling, because we are not equipped with the required logic (or senses) to comprend the underlying mechanisms fully. I’d say that, had we evolved as beings a few nanometers high, quantum mechanisms would probably be as crystal clear as classical physics is to us, whereas we would probably be fazed by the laws describing macroscopic systems.
@Alex:
Massless photons. Mass seems to be created by an interaction between a ‘particle’ (whatever that means) and an infinity of other ‘particles’, cramming all space, and called ‘Higgs bosons’. A mass particle must somehow jostle against those bosons when it moves, but they resist, and that creates inertial mass (think about moving in a pool full of balls). Photons are somehow capable of moving between the Higgs bosons without disturbing them, and therefore are massless. But they still possess ‘energy’.
There are three types of masses. The one I just spoke about, the inertial mass, represents the difficulty to lug something (or to stop it once it moves). The other mass is the passive gravitational mass, which is tied to how quickly an object falls in a gravitational field, e.g. near the Earth. And the third one tells us how intense is the gravitational field generated by a body (e.g. the Earth). For some unknown reason (fundamental assumption of General relativity), all these masses are equal. But there is no reason why they should. It’s another big mystery of physics.
@Alex
AuldA gives a good ‘real world’ analogy for current consensus theory. Basically, what we call ‘particles’ [sustainably (perhaps not for long) localised, organisations of what we call ‘energy’ (really a conceptual construct to quantify the potential changes in momentum of whatever other ‘particles’ we might be able to use to detect/measure it)] have a different propensity to interact with each other. That propensity between ‘particles’ down at the individual particle level is quantised (basically it either can or cannot happen).
When no such interaction between particles occurs there is no change in momentum in either for us to detect or quantify.
A photon (with, albeit, a vaguer understanding re ‘locality’) fits the definition of a ‘particle’.
Whatever kind of ‘particles’ might constitute the ‘fabric of space’, it appears that photons do not interact with them at all.
This is where the pushing through balls analogy falls down, because in that scenario a photon would slow down, however gradually, but we see no evidence to suggest that happens in free space.
A closer analogy might be the motion of electrons in a conducting loop. Normally when a driving potential is removed, the electronic current will stop very quickly due to them interacting with the conducting material’s particles but in certain conditions of conductor material and temperature (superconductor) interaction between the electrons and the conducting material are eliminated (or very greatly reduced) so in that case the driving potential may be removed but the electrons continue to move round the superconducting loop indefinitely. An imaginary sentient being inhabiting this superconducting loop might invent a word to describe this property of the electron which was more analogous to the term ‘massless’.
However, if we put a particle which can interact with a photon, e.g. an electron, in its path then there is an energy exchange we can detect in the electron and a transfer of momentum which the photon must have ‘had’.
Mass, in some ways, is the more special case. A particular piece of ‘mass’ can have its velocity changed, but only if there is an energy/momentum exchange with something else with the additional proviso that there is no net change overall in total energy or momentum. That means, that if a third party ‘space fabric particle’ is involved the mechanism is a null net one for these properties.
But the fact that velocity of a ‘mass’ may be changed and that energy/momentum reconfiguration is required to do so and the fact that mass can itself warp (change) the properties of space locally suggests an interaction with some kind of particle.
AuldA
I am more than willing to accept spooky action at a distance and the Copenhagen interpretation on determinism. That is actually my emotional/spiritual preference. However I am not convinced all ‘understandable’ alternative explanations have yet been exhausted.
Agree on the limitations of mathematics. Indeed even at the most basic level I find it can obscure understanding rather than aid it. And worse, can do so in a way where even very intelligent people do not even see that they fail to really understand something as simple as the square relationship for kinetic energy because the formulas used bred simple acceptance rather than thinking it through for themselves.
Conservative and Labour insurgents spotted at local Spar purchasing Telegraph..
Photon torpedoes with anti – matter warheads at the ready..
@CMG:
I won’t comment on the first part, partly because I hardly want to transform O/T into a metaphysical thread – but it’s a good example that the more we discover, the more questions we raise, and thus the more we learn that we DON’T know – and partly because I have some problems to focus after what happened to my ‘colleagues’ a few hundreds meters from home.
W/r to mathematics, I’d say that most genius had intuitive grasps/grips of their future theories, that only later got formalized. Mathematics is a tool useful to describe how the world works, as much as English is a tool to express other ideas.
Nothing (with mass) can travel at the speed of light.
Photons without mass are light so this rule does not apply.
@Auld A
It’s a complicated world, violence against each other though no matter the “cause” is unacceptable.
AuldA
I don’t want to discuss matters which are imponderable either. ‘Spiritual’ was used in the loosest sense as I am not religious at all. It is just,I choose to hope that things are not deterministic so that therefore there is such a thing as free will and meaningful sentience. Merely mentioned that lest you thought my personal motivation was to disprove the spookiness. Quite the opposite.
What happened to your ‘colleagues’? Apologies if it is something I should know.
@Chic
I take it Auld A means the terrorist attack today on Charlie magazine.
Alex
Thanks, haven’t caught the news today.
Just checked the news. Terrible events. My thoughts are with you and your fellow citizens AuldA.
@CMG:
Thanks so much. Since there is now a dedicated thread, I won’t discuss it anymore here.
I’ll return to our more physical conversation tonight.
Got the vin, got the canapés
When does the physical stuff start?
@Paula:
Paula, are you a sensualist? 🙂
This episode of Roobarb & Custard contains some profound metaphorical/allegorical lessons relating to Murphy/SLab, but I haven’t figured out what they are…yet.
Rubber bones, anyone?
I love those particles rubbing themselves up against my quantumness.
I’m sure you exert a sort of magnetic force on every electron that revolves around you, especially when your spin is not zero.
I was told that a lot of modern physicists work on the G-string theory, hoping to solve the fundamental problem of why there is no such thing as a naked singularity.
What would be the point of a naked singularity if there was no-one there to observe it? Obvious I would have thought.
@Paula:
You’re right. And astronomers have big telescopes, especially when singularities are naked. 😉
A superb edition of The Clangers, with all sorts of pagan stuff going on when the Soup Dragon goes on a broody downer, thus threatening the food supply.
The Clangers, ‘The Egg’ –
get your Quantum peeper around this from 15:30 in
link to bbc.co.uk
sorry Auld A if it does not work for you
Copying this from the BTL comments on a CH4 Paul Mason article which Rev linked to earlier his evening via Twitter. It seems genuine, and important, but I’m not sure where else it can go…
Paddy Briggs 03-Jan-14
I was the Commercial Manager for Shell in Scotland from 1983-1986. In this job I had the overall responsibility for serving the needs of our customers in (inter alia) the Road Transport sector. As the miners’ strike intensified concern was expressed about the future of the huge Ravenscraig steelworks. The furnaces at Ravenscraig required coal to keep them functioning and if the fire in a furnace was extinguished then that furnace was lost – at huge cost. To keep the furnaces operating, even at a low level, required huge quantities of coal. This was normally supplied directly from Scottish mines – mostly by rail. Because of the Miners’ strike this supply source was stopped so British Steel sourced their Coal from overseas and imported it through a Terminal at Hunterston in Ayrshire. The coal then had to be road-bridged by truck from the Terminal to the Steel Plant – a distance of about 50 miles. The Haulage contractor appointed by British Steel for this task was a company called “Yuill and Dodds” of Hamilton run by the well-known Mr James Yuill (known to all as Jimmy). Yuill and Dodds was a Shell customer for the diesel and the lubricants their trucks needed. One day I was asked by one of my staff to visit Jimmy Yuill who was concerned that the supplies of diesel he needed might be interrupted because the Transport and General Workers Union (T&GWU) would order their members working for Shell not to make fuel deliveries to him. Inter-union cooperation was a key part of the Miners’ strike and the Railway Unions were Full Square behind Arthur Scargill and his National Union of Mineworkers (NUM). The position of the T&GWU was more ambivalent and I think quite local in its application. I realised that if Mr Yuill was to be kept in business and more importantly if Ravenscraig was to be kept open then Shell would need the cooperation of the local T&GWU. I arranged a meeting with the Senior T&G shop steward at our depot at Grangemouth alongside the BP refinery. This gentleman was not only the senior Shell Union official but one of the Union’s top men at a National level. He sat on the various negotiating panels that negotiated terms and conditions with the Oil industry. I had met him before and we got on well. He was a shrewd and very fair man – strong in his views but not a militant. Together we reviewed the situation. We agreed that the primary motivation must be to keep Ravenscraig open – it employed huge numbers on site and many more in service industries in the area and across Scotland. On behalf of his members I was given an assurance that there would be no disruption of fuel supplies to Yuill and Dodds. This story is a complex one in the febrile conditions of the time. My Shop Steward colleague was naturally supportive of the Miners in their strike – as indeed was I (though, given my position, not openly!). On the other hand I had a Shell customer to protect both in the Company’s interests and in that of the wider business community around Ravenscraig and, of course, the huge plant itself (it was a large customer for Shell lubricants). I was largely on my own in seeking this accommodation with the Union via the Shop Steward. I reported the details to my boss in London. He rang me early one morning and asked me point blank (he was like that!) whether I could assure him that I believed what I was doing was the right thing to do (I did) and that no flack would hit Shell as a result of the deal (more difficult!). He backed me 100% and locally we got on with the task. Yuill and Dodds got their fuel. Ravenscraig stayed open and there were few if any reports in the media about Shell’s involvement. (There were plenty of reports about Yuill and Dodds though as secondary pickets tried, unsuccessfully, to stop the coal trucks getting into Ravenscraig!). I have not told this story before but have been prompted to do so by the report that Margaret Thatcher was prepared to use the Armed Forces to help defeat the miners. Some are saying that this would have been to help the movement of essential supplies. I do not, of course, know the truth of this claim. All I can report is my own experience which was that locally essential supplies were kept going and with the cooperation of a major Union. My guess is that this was replicated across the Country and that there was little need for Mrs Thatcher to use the Army to provide transport. So if the Forces were on standby it was for other reasons.
link to blogs.channel4.com
link to facebook.com
Hi Ronnie!
🙂 xx
@Ian Brotherhood
Those were interesting times. I was just about finishing my apprenticeship in 1979 when it was decided that out shipyard was to be closed.
So another 1000 to be put on the dole and what about the apprentices. We demanded a seat at the table so as the apprentices could get some kind of guarantee. We didn’t trust our own union to do it for us!
I was elected for the boilermakers and allowed to attend the most important meeting when Graham Day turned up.
We’ed just sat down and before the meeting started I was told by my shop steward “keep yer mouth shut unless we tell you to speak”
Fuck that! I said my piece despite the glares, it was our jobs too. Didn’t do much good though and in hindsight we could have done a lot better.
I’ve never posted a link to a song, so here’s my choice, a wee troupe that I know. They always cheer me up, dispel the blues. Might even ask that it’s played when … I’m gone. Hope ya-all get as much enjoyment as I do, dudes.
YouTube: Cups Tap Dance – Anne Kendrick
Hey Grouse Beater
Link is not clickable? Do I just search for it? Suggest you post a clickable link, make it easier for others.
@ Alex Clark And a lot of apprentices didnt know they were covered by laws.I was told by a shop steward we were going on strike Iron Steel Trades Federation,like you Alex I told them to fuck off, the Molders that were they’re 40 odd years didnt even know that apprentices could,nt be forced to go on strike as we were learning a Trade.
@ Natasha xx hope you enjoyed the vidio.
@ronnie
I was not yet 20 years old then, we sold out. My experience a year or so later with George Galloway could have put me off politics for life.
If I didn’t believe in the Independence campaign that is.
Is this it?
@Paula
Your charm has my quarks coming over all strangeness 😉
@Grouse Beater
That’s a foot tapper and one to make you smile. Cheers.
@Grouse Beater –
Aye, that worked, and very good it was too…click-clickety-click-click, click-click!
@ GrouseBeater certainly better than playing Taps at this time of nite,am in ma barracks.
tick-tickety-tock-tock-tock-tock
Thanks, guys.
I’ve got my eyes on the red head in the blue top.
She’s got all sinuous the moves, shoulders, arms, hips, and legs back up to her shoulders. Very graceful.
Okay, I’ll take her.
Don’t bother to wrap her.
This will either lift your soul or give you a headache.
Good Friday morning cool people..
I love Scotland.
@Cactus: It was a bit early.
@Paula: Have you added quantums leaps to your list of skills? 🙂
Headline on page 20 of today’s National:
‘POLICE TASER MAN WITH KNIFE’
How does that work then?
Hi all,
been keeping up with this all morning:
siege in Dammartin-en-Goele, north-east of Paris.
So far no fatalities ( was reported that there had been shots) but has been confirmed the two suspects are holding hostages..
The second siege in Porte de Vincennes is only a few hundred meters from home.
In fact, it’s a miracle I could pick up my son at school. All the pupils are more or less confined in the schools right now. The avenue right before my building looks like a military camp: police, fire brigade, emergency medical vehicles… Charming!
If you got a headache from the video that I put up late last night, here’s one with no pictures.
Better than an aspirin.
Something we don’t hear that often on Off Topic. A wee bit of heavy.
Radar Love
Howdy Alex Clark, top band, good year, groovy tune. Isn’t it funny strange how the audience were so static back then? Let’s DISCO! 🙂
Here’s another of my favourites from their ‘The Naked Truth’ tour:
Twilight Zone ~ Golden Earring (Dutch ROCK)
OK, seeing as we’re in the region of ‘heavy’ from the early 70s…
John Peel reckoned that this was the rock single/track of 1974. It was actually the B Side of ‘The Six Teens’ but would have made a cracker of a Double-A Side.
Howdy to you too Cactus (tips hat. Have a feeling we will catch up again soon.
@Brian Doonthetoon
I was watching the video saying to myself “that lead singer looks just like Brian Connely from the Sweet”.
Stupid me! I didn’t realise it was the Sweet 🙂
I preferred this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g3–_S86-sc
Ah, deep joy from the Sweetich progressy periodical. Beardymost, for the ‘artisty integrigrail’ and a fundemold of harmonia on the vocal twitterage.
Quiz time.
Who spotted the halo above Brian Connely’s head?
What was that he was wearing on his left pocket? Clue it was not a yes sticker 🙂
That was an “Eh’ll be Eh” patch Alex.
I’m charm.
@Brian Doonthetoon –
Ha!
‘Deep Joy’ would’ve been a splendid name for a heavy-metal outfit, with Unwin on drums.
OK A wee bit different. I respected this man for his music.
This is the song he was recording. Has a special place in my heart, will tell you about it later.
@AuldA 3:40pm. I hope you and yours are all OK after today.
@Patrician:
It’s okay, thanks a lot. Now we must somehow cope with the “fallout”, especially explaining to the children what happened.
I somehow hoped Nicola Sturgeon would take part in tomorrow’s demonstration, but it seems she’s not been invited.
Hi peeps.
ALLIANCE CONVENTION DUNDEE
Saturday, 17th January.
The Wings stall is confirmed. There is no charge for having the stall but all stall helpers must have tickets for the event.
How to get tickets is detailed on the Convention’s web site:-
link to allianceforscotland.tumblr.com
£5.50 and a limited number of ‘unwaged’ tickets are available.
I did a more extensive post about this convention on Christmas Eve, with details of guest speakers and so on. You can find it here:-
link to wingsoverscotland.com
So, how many Wingers, apart from the Troon and Aberdeenshire contingents, are gonna be volunteering to hang around our stall in Dundee next Saturday?
Yippee Wingie stallie!
But… Having problems booking a ticket on my etch-a-sketch, if someone could get me one, I will of course reimburse (with a wee extra).
And a wee sherry afterwards perchance?
@Paula:
You support the ‘oui’? 🙂
@Paula:
I could even say ‘Oui chérie’?
Can someone help? How can I find the voting records from the SG on a particular subject – either by party or by individuals. There’s a Red Tory fantasist being silly and I’m sure I read somewhere that Labour originally voted against the introduction of RET. Story at link to archive.today. I’d love to respond but need to have facts.
Robert Burns supper in Moscow ( not the one in Ayrshire).
Should the Scottish leadership send a delegation to Russia to reinforce links with Putin’s government?
We are entering an interesting phase in international relations and Mother Russia is becoming increasingly upset.
It might be in the interests of Scots to remember all our old allies from WWII, not just the Americans.
The fallout of American empire building has not been fully discussed.
Time for some Saturday Night Magic with Daniel Chesterfield!
C’mon now, don’t be shy. Who’s coming to Dundee for the convention next Saturday?
We could always have an ad hoc get-together in the Counting House after the event.
@BTD
Brian I will try and make it along, can bring some material too.
@Paula Rose
I’ll take care of the tickets, you can buy me a beer.
Good to read Alex!
Glad you sorted out the damsel in distress also. We’ll be at the Dalhousie Building from just after 9. Still got stuff in the back of the van from St Andrew’s Day. Pete’s gonna have a plethora of badges to entice the natives and explorers.
If anyone else can bring materials for the Wings stall, it won’t be wasted.
Let’s do it!
James Brown, ‘Sex Machine’ (Live, Rome, 1971) –
Hi Ronnie Anderson.
Gill the RIC Panda is wondering if she’s going to see you at next week’s Alliance For Scotland Convention.
BTW: anyone who wants to help put the stall together next week should get to the Dalhousie Building just after 9am.
The Convention starts at 10.
@BDTT
I’ll make it for 09:00, see you outside.
Can you phone me, my old phone has packed in and I lost all my contacts.
Will do. You giving Paula Rose a hurl in your limo?
Nope, it’ll be The purring new roller!
Paula’s peddling, I’m in the rickshaw. It’s an age before beauty thing.
Anybody else have a problem with the site taking forever to update the posts? Started happening with me yesterday and has continued all day despite my best efforts at getting around it.
@Alex:
Welcome to reality.
I’ve never seen it work differently.
@Alex –
Yep. It’s been happening on-and-off for weeks. Some comments I’ve posted have vanished forever. So it goes…
…and then that last one goes up instantly. Murphy’s Law, eh? (9.42)
Hi everyone
I’ll be there on the 17th; bought two tickets and then read that Paula Rose already had a chevalier to the rescue, so I’ll try and persuade husband to come along.
Looking forward to seeing you all. 🙂
Alex Clark
What is it that Paula Rose is peddling, exactly? Nothing dodgy I hope. 😉
What’s happened to the bold Oneironaut of late? Haven’t seen him posting, but know he’s alive and well as I spotted him today, out and about, taking in the bracing Ayrshire air.
Come in Oneironaut…come in Oneironaut…
@Natasha
Just the rickshaw, we don’t do dodgy peddling in Angus. Apart from the odd bad tattie or two!
@Natasha –
So far as I’ve ever been aware, Paula Rose deals only in dreams and deep joy.
Hi peeps.
I’d like to make a suggestion…
All Wingers who are coming to Dundee next weekend – if you have a name badge from Wings Over Invergowrie (September) and/or Wings Over Glasgow (November), wear it/them!
I will now retreat to consume my roast pork supper…
I’d like to remind you Brian. Or Wings Over Arbroath.
Yes, the one with the dodgy spelling 🙂
Ah but, eh but, they weren’t ‘name’ badges, like Invergowrie and Glasgow.
BTW: the spelling of the Seafest badge was fixed so we can send a ‘correct’ one to Rev Stu. I hope to get the jiffy bag of badges sent off to him on Tuesday.
BTW: in case anyone’s interested…
It was 10 seconds between me hitting ‘Submit Comment’ and the previous post appearing on the page.
Sorry, cannot come. I have a house full of people at the moment and won’t have time to recover and go away so soon.
Have fun everyone and don’t let that Paula Rose do anything I wouldn’t do. Pedaloes or peccadilloes.
@ Briandoonthetoon Ma Grandson is at colledge in Renfrew & has to leave the hotel on Fridays to come & stay with me for W/end I,m going to look at a couple of Cars this week so need to wait & see.
Ronnie Anderson 12.08am
Great video Ronnie, thanks for the link; loved the Dim Jim one too.
xx
The most disgusting display of state propaganda is going on with morning call on radio Scotland.
We’ve now to spy on our neighbours.
Where are we?
Stalinist Russia?
1930s Germany?
or
McArthy era America?
I can’t get 8 down.
@Paula Rose:
Try a glass of Seven up 🙂
@Paula Rose –
Keep looking…you may see a pattern?
What Westminster have always thought of Scotland.
Spitting Image link to youtube.com
Alex Clark 10.45pm
Brilliant link; nothing’s changed really, has it?
@Alex Clark –
Great find there mister!
Amazed we haven’t seen that one before on here. (We haven’t, have we?)
No we’ve never seen it before was only put on YewChoob 1 week before the vote an Sept 11. Shame 🙁
Post not showing up. Will keep trying until they do.
The Union. Why does it feel like a forced Marriage. Try Marriage Counselling Someone Said. Tried That. link to youtube.com Roll on the Divorce. Aye till I die.
My earlier posts that never showed up was because I forgot to strip away the bit before the ww thingy. Sorry if I have clogged anything up. and apologies to whoever deals with it if I have. All the best for 2015 to all Wingers.
@Michael McCabe
Yer back 🙂 and all the best for 2015 to you. Your link obviously led me to this. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry.
I see this video in a different light now, it is heartbreaking.
He is a good Artist And best of all a Yes Man. Hope you enjoyed your Holiday Alex. And are back refreshed for the Battle ahead of us. This time Though. link to youtube.com And We will Win.
Another song that means much to me. One day all will be revealed?
this deserves more watcher on youtube
pete the camera
Similar feel to this one penned by an ex pat for the indy ref.
@AudA –
A few weeks ago you were asking for short words meaning ‘to study intensively, cram’ etc.
Just stumbled across ‘con by rote’, and it’s described as an archaic term, but does seem close to what you were looking for.
@Briandoonthetoon
I haven’t been around Wings much recently (too busy with GE stuff) and started trawling through the comments and found the answer to my question re the stall at the Dundee conference this weekend.
Ok on the stall pour moi and JimT. Hope to hear some of the conf as well. I haven’t been producing much that’s of use since the ref. so don’t know what to concentrate on at the mo’. Head is spinning with number of groups trying to get started just now. So, question:
Do we have any leaflets, merch or anything for the stall?
Hi Betty Boop.
I have all the stuff that remained on the stall at the end of the St Andrews Day Gathering – Aye Right leaflets, WBB leaflets and so on, plus we have a stock of iScot magazines to distribute, courtesy of kendomacaroonbar.
And, of course, Pete will be manning the badge bar. We have quite a few new ones.
And I’ll be offering a variety of strokes at very reasonable prices!
@ Paula Rose, 7:02pm
And I’ll be offering a variety of strokes at very reasonable prices!
Oooooh, Paula, still all a tremble since the last one!
@ Bdtt, Sounds good. Looking forward to seeing you all at the w/end.
Hi peeps.
Pete and I were at a ‘Team YES Bus’ meeting tonight so, on Saturday, we’ll have a wee supply of ‘Team YES Bus’ t-shirts to sell, at a fiver each. Proceeds from the t-shirts will of course, go back to TYB.
But it’s something else for the Wings stall, iye?
All for a good cause is OK with me. Do you have any small 🙂
Bdtt: a wee supply of ‘Team YES Bus’ t-shirts
Alex Clark: Do you have any small
Mine’s a large.(Too many mince pies and cream). Can’t be bothered with a New Year diet; will soon be as wide as I am tall (completely spherical midget).
🙁
I don’t know about sizes but I’ll tell Pete (who’s picking them up) to try for a small for you Alex.
I think you’ll be ok for a large Natasha – but, are you havin’ a joke?
8=)
Oops! Nearly forgot. The reason I came back in here was to post a music link.
Gordy Duncan Jnr is the son of the late, legendary piper, Gordon Duncan. There’s info about Junior’s musical career at the link to the song.
link to gordyduncanjr.bandcamp.com
His dad was the guy who ‘rediscovered’ the art of note bending on the pipes, latterly used to great effect by the Red Hot Chilli Pipers. This link takes you to his original version of AC/DC’s ‘Thunderstruck’, since covered by many.
And, if you’re intae the pipes, you’ll have already watched “DUELING PIPERS”.
youtube.com/watch?v=amNF_F6oeRU
Or, indeed,
(Clipped off a tad too much.)
That was great Brian, here’s the original Banjo dueling.
Did someone mention Iain Duncan Smith. link to youtube.com
@Ian: —
‘Con by rote’. A wise choice. I wasn’t aware of the archaic sense of ‘to con’, akin to German ‘kennen’, be known. Thanks for digging this out. However, it’s still not the word I was frantically trying to find riffling through my dictionary. If I remember correctly, it was a four letter verb with only one meaning synonymous to ‘din into’. I hope my memory is not tricking me, though.
Thanks so much Ian!
@ Briandoonthetoon
The questions just keep coming – re Dundee conference, will the stalls be indoors. Thinking ahead, Brrr…., for a trip to the east coast 🙂
Just looked at Met Office website forecast for saturday in sunny Dundee …
link to metoffice.gov.uk
Brrrr indeed.
Just a wee push for one of our Central Ayrshire constituency candidates, Philippa Whitford. She now has a shiny new website at
http://whitford.scot.
Worth a look and a read.
Does anyone have the link (or can tell me where to get it) that appeared on WINGS regards MPs expenses. On the link you typed in the MP and it gave you an easy to see breakdown of their expenses for certain years.
In today’s National, pages 24/25, photo of a ballet dancer. Please someone confirm to me that’s a badly photoshopped picture. The leg on the right looks OK but, surely, the one on the left is anatomically bizarre (for want of a better word).
@James Caithness
would it be this website: link to parliamentary-standards.org.uk ?
Thankx Jim
@Ian:
By the way, there is ‘to mug up’ too. ‘I have to mug that subject up before my lecture.’
I’ve done a wee piece on Rab Bruce’s Spider to answer an earlier criticism of the Yes voter as acting out of self-interest. It references Scott Minto’s Trident article on Wings, as well as others.
link to rbs.postach.io
@AuldA –
What about ‘bone up’? Did we already try that one?
@Ian –
Yep. I clearly remember having said that I was more used to writing ‘bone up’ because I was more American- than ‘British’ oriented. AFAIK, ‘bone up’ is more American than British English, but of course, the limits are thin. Now I write things like ‘clype’, ‘stooshie’ or ‘fankle’, so things have really evolved on my side! 😉
So, it was a verb without an additional particle. Plain form. The quest never ends! 🙂
@ Briandoonthetoon
and everyone else interested.
Just got an email to say that the Alliance for Scotland Convention in Dundee this weekend has been postponed until 19th September – weather and double booking of some speakers apparently.
Email content below:
“A Message from Alliance for Scotland: Unforeseen severe weather & a few double booked panellists require us to postpone our Convention, but we’ll be back in September one year on from referendum, no snow then hopefully! We can only apologise & we’re very disappointed to have to postpone the event, but we’re looking positively to September & we have several smaller events throughout the rest of the year giving plenty of opportunities for debate & political engagement. Full refunds are available, you can do this via EventBrite. Or alternatively you can keep hold of you ticket which will still be valid in September. The event date has now been changed to the 19th September. Alliance for Scotland – Dundee first political convention is a huge opportunity for the public to engage in politics in a way never seen before. You only have to have an interest in politics to come along, or just want to chat face to face with politicians or even just want to hear from one particular party or group. Alliance For Scotland Convention 10:00 -17:00 19th September 2015 Dalhousie Building Old Hawkhill Dundee University. Tickets £5.50 via http://www.yesconnect.scot & http://www.eventbrite.co.uk. Unwaged tickets available & tickets will be available on the door. Email for details: info@allianceforscotland.org.uk We shall still have four main debates throughout the course of the day & workshops on various topics & 20 + different stalls from political parties, campaigns, local action groups, charities, national bodies, arranged in the foyer & upper level. All debates will still be chaired by broadcaster & journalist David Torrance Please invite as many friends as possible to the event & share this on your page or your group page. Tickets can be purchased via EventBrite or if you Join http://www.yesconnect.scot you can buy tickets on the event page. Please remember refunds are available for tickets purchased already, see eventbrite site for details. Once again apologies for such short notice, we hope to have your interest & support continue for September. Regards The Alliance Team
ALLIANCE FOR SCOTLAND CONVENTION
Hosted by Alliance for Scotland
Saturday, 19 September 2015 from 10:00 to 17:00 (BST)
Dalhousie Building, Old Hawkhill, Dundee, Scotland DD1 5EN”
@Briandoonthetoon
Shame about this weekend. We’ll just have to think of something else, eh? If the weather isn’t too bad, and the Met Office don’t seem to think it is going to be too awful this weekend, might there be an alternative for Wingers who were all geared up for meeting up this weekend?
Who was going anyway?
@ Briandoonthetoon
RE: my last posting in consideration of the postponement of the Dundee convention when I asked if there might be an alternative Wingers meet. Well, within the short space of time between then and now, I have received an invitation which will preclude a trip to the bonnie toon o’ Dundee on Saturday.
Hope to catch up with everyone soon; was there any further interest or arrangement in the offing for a Wings do in Embra? or anywhere? Nice to get one going before the GE really kicks off.
Hi Betty Boop.
I would have thought an email to intending stallholders wouldn’t have gone amiss. Who did you get your email from?
There’s a Team YES Bus foodbank collection from 11am to 2pm at City Square.
@Briandoonthetoon
Hi Brian,
Got an the email from AllianceforScotland via Eventbrite.com
It is also on the http://www.eventbrite.com list of Dundee events.
Mmmmm…
I got our tickets through yesconnect.scot. They’re still dating the event as this Saturday, running until November!
Time: Jan 17 2015 at 10:00 – Nov 17 2015 at 17:00
No communication from that site.
Bummer the Alliaince thing is postponed. I was looking forward to that.
Ah, well, we’ll just have to look forward to the next get-together.
Is Edinburgh 13th Feb still on the cards?
@Brian and Betty
I got the same email from Eventbrite, definitely cancelled until September. Shame.
@ James Caithness.
Available here for your MP is you scroll down after accessing your MP’s details.
link to theyworkforyou.com
At least with a gap until September there’s a chance that the organisers will manage to SINGLE book the participants.
How on earth did they manage to double book some of them? were the participants given a better deal elsewhere? And I’ve seen the Met Office forecast for Saturday … it’s fine 😛
I’m not suggesting anything; ‘only the facts ma’am, only the facts’.
According to the yesconnect.scot web site, out of a total of 1,496 tickets for the event, 1,297 were still available at teatime today.
I’d heard the weather is to be fine on Saturday also.
This page is about to turn over, so here’s a song to say cheerio to this one…
Mott the Hoople, ‘Roll Away The Stone’ –
Mott the Hoople – they were all the rage when I was an apprentice – jings – trying to recall the hit they had nearly got bits of the tune in the head but not enough to make any sense of it
ahhh… all the young dudes -was that it?
There was a bloke on Morning Call this morning suggesting that the old Dr Findlay’s Casebook theme should be our new national anthem.
Remember this? link to youtube.com
All the Way to Memphis, Saturday Gigs, The Golden Age of Rock and Roll…
Loving the Mott The Hoople. link to youtube.com
All the Way FROM Memphis!
All the Young Dudes written by David Bowie. Good song though and of its time.
Now, for all you people “of a certain age” out there, I stumbled across a pile of YT stuff on a very early (possibly first) series by the Andersons, called Four Feather Falls.
It set me thinking back to around 1960 to 1963-ish when there was a sci-fi series (sure it was set in space, possibly on the moon or another planet) on TV and I have a vague recollection of (mis)calling it something like “Salt and Pepper”.
Can any of you think of such a series (probably BBC) that might have had a name that could be mis-titled by a youngster?
And Alex, listen to this tune from 1969 (with Greg Lake on vocals), and see if you can hear the similarity re ‘Dudes’.
youtube.com/watch?v=i1bllAOPQck
there – fixed it for you 🙂
OCH! Forgot to copy Wee Willie Winkie again!
And, typing about Mr Bowie’s penchant for finding inspiration in previously released records, have a listen to this one by American band “The Shadows Of Knight”, from 1966.
Is that Keith Emerson on the Hammond?
Hadn’t heard of Shy Limbs before now – were they the pre-cursor to ELP?
Favourite ELP album is (still, oddly enough) Brain Salad Surgery
link to youtube.com 2min 21sec in- now THAT’s a synth 😉
BSS was also the first album on which I’d heard drums triggering a synth. Carl Palmer used it to great effect.
@Brian
That Shy Limbs one was similar but not the same. Anyway I though Bowie only wrote the words but am probably wrong.
Keith Emerson wasn’t in the Shy Limbs as far as I know, Jim.
That single was played every day on ‘Radio 1 Club’, in May/June 1969, for around 6 weeks, but never hit the charts.
The band also performed it live on one of those Grampian TV produced music programmes, along with a band called ‘Cat’s Eyes’, doing ‘Where Is She Now’. I remember the programme, because I still have the recordings of it I did on my first reel-to-reel tape deck.
I had left school a month early to start work in the Clydesdale Bank in Downfield (Dundee) and, because it was only 5 minutes walk from Kirkton High, I went down to the 5th Year common room to have my lunch, until the end of the school year. As I typed, the Shy Limbs single was always on the tranny at lunch time.
What about the Shadows of Knight and a wee touch of plagiarism, Alex?
Bowie and the Shadows of Knight. the Genie is out the bottle there.
Hey Brian I went to Kirkton High also and I believe that Wee Jonny that posts on Wings did too.
A hotbed of Radicalism and Nationalism LOL
You must remember “Slasher McCloud” the maths teacher?
I liked him 🙂
I gave up on maths at the end of second year, Alex – or rather, maths gave up on me. Granny Gourlay was the reason.
God only knows why she took it into her head that she could teach maths to kids.
I also had lessons from Granny Gourlay she reminds me of Thatcher LOL,
This is well O/T, even here, but our car was nicked earlier this evening (from Shore Road, Stevenston) between 7.45 and 10.20-ish, and we’d be very grateful if anyone who frequents FB and/or Twitter could help us get word out to maybe track it down.
Grey Nissan Juke, reggie is KS63 YHG.
Police already have all the details, so a quick call to them by anyone spotting it would be hugely appreciated.
Stick this in the main board Ian, Wingers have many eyes. I hope you get your car back.
@Briandoonthetoon, 9:21pm, 14/01/15
I’d thought of keeping the tickets for September, then I thought of the reasons given for postponing and reckoned either they were inept or the intention might always have been to postpone until after the G/election.
Also, I can’t quite figure out who are Alliance for Scotland so I will be asking for a refund rather than leave them with my money – this convention may never go ahead.
Always sceptical with a touch of cynicism, that’s me 🙂
@Alex et al –
False alarm. My fault. Forgot I’d parked the car in an unusual place. Fingers crossed I don’t get done for wasting Police time.
Numpty…
@ Ian Brotherhood glad it was a false alarm. this ones for you. link to youtube.com
@Betty
Call me a cynic too but I reckon the likes of David Torrance, Prof Curtice and David Clegg suddenly discovered other engagements when they found our WE were going.
They are scared. Big Fearties.
Here’s my tuppence worth in response to the Adam Curtis blog linked too by manandboy.
Strange Parcels – Disconnection
@Michael McCabe
It makes you wonder what the inside of a drummer’s brain looks like …
Special breed of musician, especially if they can deliver lyrics WHILE playing. Kudos.
@ Ian Brotherhood, 1:52am
LOL
Dear Ian,
Ah’ve had ma een peeled a’ nicht and ah’m colour blind an’ a’.
Glad you have now located your car, but, methinks you are surely too young to be having such senior moments as moi! 🙂
I’ll bet the polis hadn’t even got around to looking for it by the time your memory got into gear – nae worries.
@Ian –
Darn it, someone has nicked my today’s crosswords!
Oops, sorry, my bad: it was just on the wrong page…
If anyone has contact details for Natasha, could you let her know about the convention cancellation, in case she hasn’t seen Betty Boop’s mention on the previous page?
Ta.
Just had a Scotpulse survey on the subject of how I “use” media.
Suffice to say it gave me an opportunity to lambaste the four major channels (Ch4, Sky, STV & BBC). I also suggested that STV should be more like the Sunday Herald and The National.
Not holding my breath.
@ Jim Thompson
Could it be “All the young dudes”? Written for them by David Bowie.
North Lanarkshire Council recently slapped a ban on postingelection material on council owned “street furniture” citing the fact that removal of post referendum material led to considerable expense to council tax payers.
My FOI was replied to this morning basically saying that NLC did not hold any information on costs, neither did they attempt to invoice offending organisations. full FOI here.
link to whatdotheyknow.com
I smell a rat ( sorry Stu, just an expression) 🙂
I will of course be following it up in a number of ways.
Which of the three versions of this song, “behind the mask” is the original?
You will be surprised and by a decade or so.
This one by Eric Clapton?
or this by Michael Jackson?
or this one from the Yellow Magic Orchestra
Anyway I was in London this week-end saw a show by Siro-A
This is stunning. Be careful if you have an epilepsy or petit mal problem. Strobe and flashing lights inside
Have fun whilst I sleep of my cold.
Auld A – that elusive wee 4 letter word you’ve been looking for, could it be ‘dunt’?
It means a blow or thump, but I remember hearing it being used by older members of my family as ‘they’ll dunt that into you at school’. Not so much voluntarily learning by rote, more enforced learning (on pain of the belt, lines, detention or worse – eeek!):
Q. What’s the difference between an idiot and a computer?
A. Nothing. Both need information punched (dunted) into them on a daily basis.’
With apologies to all idiots. 😉
@BTP –
Hey! Nice to see you here, it’s a long time no see! Hope you’re doing well!
@TJenny –
A good guess but unfortunately no, wasn’t that one.
Thanks for the apologies, though. Sometimes I really think I’m an eejit. How else could I have forgotten such a precious word? Numpty bloke.
@TJenny
I’ve no idea if that is the answer AuldA seeks but it is a bloody good one. Take a pat on the back from me 🙂
@Alex –
In fact I chanced upon that word totally randomly. Sometimes, when I await the result of some operation, or a phone call, or whatever, I revel in meandering through the digital edition of the Oxford dictionary bundled with MacOS. I clearly remember typing words in a kind of desultory way, and I made a typing mistake and stumbled upon that particular word, saying to myself ‘Oh! That one is nice, I must remember it!’
And of course, two days later, it was utterly gone from my hippocampus!
AuldA
Been in London for a few days.
BtP
Bdtt, 1.28pm
It’s okay, I got the email announcing the cancellation, but thanks for thinking of me. I was only joking about the t-shirt size, by the way, although I definitely wouldn’t fit into a small; they should do ‘short fat’, ‘medium fat’ and ‘tall fat’ sizes!
@BtP –
Taken your annual shot of English patter and bustle? 🙂
AuldA:
cram, stuff, drill, ram, jam, drive, drum, drub?
No, no – the wee unionists can’t have pulled out of Saturday’s event just because of us can they?
Natasha honey – I’m sure you’re the same size as me…
Perfectly formed.
Hahaha Natasha
Very funny. I was going to say funny as fuck but wasn’t sure if that’s allowed 🙂
I had to find a song for you though, so here it is.
@TJenny, @Auld A, regarding ‘enforced learning’ and ‘dunting’, my father was a teacher in the mid/late 60s in Neilston. In those days schoolteachers were still held in high regard, and parents would side with the teacher against their own child if there was any conflict of interest.
He told me that one parent wanted to make sure that their child was paying proper attention in class, getting the benefit of an education. So my dad was given the go-ahead to “just fist it intae him” i.e. dad had carte blanche to use the belt, and to punch the poor lad about the head if he thought it necessary to advance the boy’s education!
I doubt dad ever went that far, he just found the parent’s attitude interesting – education was seen as the best way to rise up out of difficult surroundings, and was to be achieved at any price.
@Alex Clark 7.23pm
Thanks for that (I think!)
@Natasha –
Well tried, but it was a four-letter verb (can’t guarantee it though, my memory may betray me) and it has only that single meaning of ‘drilling into one’s mind, repeat over and over until it’s learned by rote’.
Besides, small is beautiful.
Especially small and red-haired and freckled, I might add.
So much for my fantasies.
…
@ AultA
Visiting my grandson, who gave me a cold.
AuldA
Sorry, no red hair or freckles.
I was really hopeful about drub! Never mind, I’ll keep racking my brains.
@Natasha
No need to think hard. The song is titled Respect!. Nuf said.
@David —
These were different times.
Do you suggest that now teachers are deemed squishes?
In fact, I’m writing a text about fanatism and education. The correlation is evident.
@BtP —
I’m always uneasy when you disappear, because I clearly remember you saying me that BtP was a mortal beast that would soon slough. Therefore, I always worry for the health of the animal.
@Natasha —
For me, ‘to drub’ has always meant ‘to flog’ or ‘to thrash’.
Was I wrong?
AuldA we’ll all have to swot up on our vocabulary until you get the word you want.
BDTT I bought our tickets for Saturday as soon as you mentioned,but I’ve been quiet because it didn’t look like we were going to be there after all. Oh well – nothing to miss now except all you folks. I must admit I think I was only coming to meet the gang. Next time.
AuldA
recite, hone, rehearse, chant, habituate, prep, coach, catechise, instil, inculcate.
I’m getting desperate now.
So – do I put the nurse outfit back in the wardrobe for nine months?
AuldA
No, you’re quite right, if you give someone a drubbing you beat them up. But apparently it can also mean to drub something into somebody.
Paula Rose, the thought of you in a nurse’s outfit defies all description. 🙂
Hey…too much stress and tense vibes going around – people pulling their hair out searching for words…others contorting their beautiful minds over whether or not to bring back the death penalty…
Time to kick back.
Yeah. That’s right. Dig it.
Don your favourite big white towelling robe, the slippers you got for Christmas, pour yourself a large glass of White Lightning (other powerful 100% apple-free ciders are available) and perhaps even light a small cigar…then lie on the sofa and enjoy this mellow sound:
Herb Alpert, ‘Margarita’ –
@Paula Rose –
Why nine months?
Do you have something to tell us?
Alex Clark – you’re a true gentleman. xx
Ian Brotherhood
I remember my parents had an Ackerbilk record when I was little; I used to love it. Along with Simon & Garfunkel, the New Seekers and the Red Army Choir. My oldest brother also had a record of the Archies, singing ‘Sugar’ which I still remember fondly!
Paula Rose,
Put the nurses uniform away!
How cruel can you be when BtP has just announced his grave illness?
You are all so lovely – already we enthuse about our younger Scots and I’m sure they know to comment here.
Btw – we are a very lovely bunch here at wings.
Earlier today, somebody mentioned a possible get-together in Edinburgh on 13th February. Tam Jardine WAS handed the baton/hairy string in The Counting House in Glasgow on 22nd November.
If nothing’s being arranged for Edinburgh, I have been told by my contact at the Invergowrie Inn that we would be welcome back there.
So, Edinburgh (pop half a million), or Invergowrie (pop <1000)?
Thepnr honey – we could visit the Tartan Tory, I can pedal.
Eek alors my dear Cearc, my dear friend xx -taken me so long to write a message, is it ok if I just caress you my darling?
13th Feb sounds good to me.
Paula Rose,
Absolutely,best offer I’ve had all year. You brazen hussy, you.
Friday the 13th sounds good to me. Let’s say yeah even if there are only half a dozen committed to turning up at this time.
I’ll publicise it on the main board along with you Brian over the next couple of weeks. Last time was good, this time will be just as good or better.
Hi Alex.
I think we should allow time for Tam to get his thoughts together. If we hear nothing by Sunday night, I’ll check with the Invergowrie Inn re availability for the 13th.
Howzat?
You and openings are a subject I need not explore.
I still qualify as ‘a married man’.
Cearc my dear Devine loveliness, you know full well that you are top of the tree for me honey, let’s have a special assignation – don’t tell the other wingers.
Ok 13th Feb Invergowrie so far we have:
Thepnr
Briand Donthetoon
cearc
Natasha
Paula Rose
Any more for any more?
Jim & Betty
Graham & Fiona
ronnie anderson
X-sticks
Cactus
John & Irene
Come on toss your hats in the ring!
Inverwotsit yes from me Alex. Graeme is doing a good impression of having flu,but is managing to sleep so I won’t wake him to confirm just yet:-) I might not be too popular.
More, more, more, me, more, Yes!
Inverwotsit skinny-dips with cearc?
@ Alex, 11:22pm
Fairly certain the Troon contingent, moi and JimT will be available for a soiree in Invergowrie.
JimT in the land of Nod at present, but, I will inform him tomorrow 🙂
@ Briandoonthetoon
We must have behaved ourselves last time if the Invergowrie Inn is pleased to have us back!! We obviously didn’t try hard enough 🙂
@Betty Boop
This time we are going to fill it and there will be “entertainment” I just need to speak to Brian about that LOL
Looking forward to it 🙂
Alex,
You must be a mind reader!
@ Natasha, 8:39pm
AuldA was probably thinking of Princess Merida! 🙂
@ Paula Rose,10:09pm
Of course we are because Wingers are just fabulous, are we not?
See y’all soon xx
Great news.
I’ll beat on the drums and they will come, can you hear me?
@ Alex Clark,
Loud and clear on the west coast!
So, entertainment too – take care with that, I have a sensitive nature (oops, that was my tongue hitting my cheek).
NW gale on the NW coast so no chance of hearing them from your southerly realms tonight.
Oh, the drums, is that the entertainment?