Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Brotyboy

Here it is from about 44.30 in

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b04wtpyq/morecambe-wise-in-pieces-5-the-sketches

Not the whole gag, just the final bit, but I couldn’t have asked for anything more.

2. Paula Rose

On the first day of Christmas my Sotland gave to me –

Jim Murphy up a gum tree…

3. Paula Rose

Mine

4. Paula Rose

All mine.

5. Paula Rose

Christmas!!!

6. chipmonkey

@Brotyboy That’s your cover blown then:-) Good piece… much more than just a mention. Glad I was watching.Congratulations.

7. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Sotland? We’re not that bad, shurely…hic…

(‘Jim Murphy up a gum tree’ looks like it might be a good anagram, but it could do with a ‘b’…)

8. chipmonkey

@Briandoonthetoon tickets organised for me and qq for the 17th. I’ll watch this space. X-sticks and Paula Rose see you there (if not before).

9. Brotyboy

@chipmonkey

Thanks. A very emotional time for me.

10. Alex Clark

@Brotyboy

Nothing like a look back in time. Must be pleasing for you to get some credit, even this late. Nice one.

11. Paula Rose

Um – am I the only person who loved the Rev’s Christmas playlist?

Just asking like.

12. Alex Clark

Nah. I haven’t listened yet. John King though did going by his post early this morning, “Silent Night by Simon and GarFunkel”

So NO your not the only one.

13. Ian Brotherhood

‘Fall to your knees!!’

Perry Como, ‘Oh Holy Night’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9yyfMaa2R20

14. Ian Brotherhood

This site’s page, Christmas Day, two years ago.

Quite moving, to look back, and see what sort of stuff we were talking about. And the difference in numbers is astonishing – have a quick swatch at the posts in the vicinity.

Just 24 months ago!

http://wingsoverscotland.com/press-pause-on-the-remote/#comments

15. Paula Rose

Ian honey, I don’t remember you being off your knees since you first met me.

16. Alex Clark

@an Brotherhood

So 2 years ago, 17 posts. Many are still here and a few missing. Well done to those that stuck around.

I arrived later but look up to you guys that paved the way.

17. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m wondering how many of the ‘end of the year’ reviews produced by the TV companies will show this wee clip of Scotland’s Commonwealth Games team, in the tunnel, immediately before they entered the arena in the opening ceremony?

I’m guessing none of them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8BiGV1QuBvc

18. Natasha

Happy Christmas everyone.

@Ian Brotherhood 10.51
    Erm, it’s pronounced ‘Mannering’ . . . hence my confusion! Before you have a go at me for being a pedant, I would like to point out that Milngavie and Kirkcudbright make no sense whatsoever. πŸ™‚

@Chic 11.59
    Wow! I take it all the girls were after you? I knew I should have gone with my first guess.

Paula Rose – you’ve had us all on our knees since before we met you. πŸ™‚

19. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Remember we’re on a new page now so, if you type your comment then click on ‘Submit Comment’, you will be taken back to the previous page.

When you are, just click on your ‘back’ button, then refresh the page, and you should see your new comment in situ, on the new page.

Then just delete all your bumf in the text box, to tidy your window.

20. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Natasha.

So, yi’ll ken whaur ‘Ainster’ is, ya hoormin? Nihin’ else even cams close…

8=)

21. Brian Doonthetoon

I am now off to cook Christmas supper for me and the product of my loins.

Tonight, we will mostly be having a starter of lentil and bacon soup, followed by Kangaroo steaks and venison sausages in gravy, with carrots and broccoli and, of course, baby spuds, and if we’re not full, we may follow that with ice cream and mandarin segments. We’ll see…

Onnyhoo, I will still be partaking of the ‘roostie nails’ while food preparing so, depending on how mellow I become, I may be on later; or maybe not.

Enjoy the rest of Christmas day peeps!

8=)

22. Alex Clark

Relatives, we all have them. Paula Rose has a very interesting Uncle of which you might be surprised.

I have just discovered that I have a second relative (distant) that bloody well surprised me to.

PS He was not from Easterhouse.

23. David

Merry Christmas to all, and thanks to Brian Doonthetoon for the Barclay James Harvest song.

I think I got into them the traditional way back in the days of vinyl, scouring through the stacks in a second-hand record shop (well I am a Paisley boy, a penny saved is a penny earned…). If you found an LP with good artwork on the cover, you took a chance on the music.

24. Natasha

Brian Doonthetoon
    I understood about three quarters of that. Go easy on me, I used to be English!

I was into Barclay James Harvest in my teens, believe it or not. Also Steeleye Span and the Alan Parsons Project. The worms are really coming out of the woodwork now.

Hope the kangaroo steaks were yummy.

Has anyone worked out 16 dn and 22ac in Wednesday’s crossword yet? I’ve got words that fit, but that doesn’t mean they’re right.

25. Natasha

Bdtt
    By the way, my Glaswegian husband thinks you just called me a whore. I’d get your coat if I were you. πŸ™‚

26. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi David And Natasha – pleased you enjoyed BJH!

Nah, nah, Natasha. Your Glaswegian husband is misinterpreting a Fifer’s term of endearment. “Ya hoormin” is used similarly to “Well, fΓΌk me” – it’s just an expression. The person who utters “Well, fΓΌk me” doesn’t actually expect you to comply. Similarly, “ya hoormin” may be used in mixed company. I’m sure Paula Rose or John King will back me up.

BTW: the lentil and bacon is in the pressure cooker – around 10 minutes to go. Everything else is cleared for take-off, except for the kangaroo and venison – they’ll be last to do; around 12 minutes in the frying pan, turning every three or four minutes.

27. Natasha

Bdtt
    Are you in a different time zone? Most people eat their Christmas dinner on Christmas Day. Don’t tell me you’re in Australia for Christmas.

28. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Natasha.

The thing is, my son usually confines himself to one main meal per day. However, on Christmas Day, he goes with my ex to his Gran and Grandad for Christmas Dinner, where they sit down to eat at 3pm.

He then comes down to my hovelhold in the early evening and, most years, he has his second Christmas ‘supper’ around 10 or 11pm. So, with one thing and another last night, mainly partaking of small ‘roostie nails’ and posting here, we were running a tad late.

Onnyhoo, around 1am we sat down to lentil and bacon soup with a couple of slices of bread to dip in it. It was rather fine – made with around half a kilo of bacon chunks, from a bag of Lidl’s ‘cooking bacon’ and with the usual grated carrots, swede chunks, chopped onion and leeks.

When we had finished the rather generous portions, we kinda looked at each other sheepishly, had a short conference and decided that we were too full to do the kangaroo and venison justice.

So, both items are in the fridge, along with the cooked tatties and carrots. All that has to be done is the making of the gravy and cooking of some broccoli. So, we’ll be eating a delayed Christmas ‘supper’ today, around 1-2pm.

I’ll cook off the roast duck that was planned for today and we’ll have that tomorrow, before he goes back up to his Mum’s.

(Belly is now rumbling with all that typing about food!)

29. David

Mmm venison, very tasty. I worked a summer season in the Atholl Arms Hotel in Blair Atholl, a place that had lots of guests from England and from the continent.

When we had German guests in for a meal, I used my Higher-Grade German: “Guten Tag, wir haben Orangensaft” etc. Except that one time venison was on the menu and I had no idea of the word for that, or for deer. So all I could do was say “Bambi, der fleisch ist Bambi, sehr gut, yum yum!”

Sales of venison were down that day. πŸ˜‰

30. Natasha

@Bdtt
    I like a man who can cook. πŸ˜‰

David – I hope you didn’t mention the war . . . πŸ™‚

31. AuldA

@Bdtt:

Kudos for your chef skills with British supplies.

I can’t rival you. I just cook cakes, biscuits, mousses and other desserts.

32. Paula Rose

AuldA dear, you are not suggesting that British ingredients require special cooking skills are you?

33. Natasha

Paula Rose
    I think he’s just astonished that we can cook at all. In my case, he’s right; I just get my husband to cook for me.

34. Paula Rose

Natasha honey – I will not (stamps foot) have any denigration of either our cooking or our ingredients.

35. Natasha

Paula Rose
    Be careful you don’t snap those pretty heels when you stamp your foot.

36. Alex Clark

What have YOU done today to make you feel proud?

This is my Christmas present to all Wingers. Enjoy and reflect.

Heather Small – PROUD

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OygsHbM1UCw

37. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

How about Potted Heid, aka Head Cheese?

I’m no veggy, but FFS, a line has to be drawn somewhere.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Head_cheese

38. Alexandra Ryabov

The message is for all of us. We’re not beaten, we fight on.

39. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

Potted haugh here in Dundee, hated it. Used to get it for my tea wie chips, worse was spread on a piece. It was cheap though so popular.

40. Ian Brotherhood

Boxing Day Challenge –

Great songs clocking-in at less than three minutes.

Blondie, ‘Hanging On The Telephone’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uWhkbDMISl8

41. Ian Brotherhood

P.S. Please, a’body, don’t make any jokes involving ‘head cheese’ or there’s a good chance I’ll throw-up.

42. AuldA

@Paula Rose and Natasha: Don’t stomp. It’s a great achievement to be able to cook spicy and toothsome dishes when you don’t have olive oil, pepperoni, various aromatic herbs, rocket, garlic, etc. at your disposal.

Paula, never tried to cook a blanquette? Amongst my late granny recipes, this was a clear winner. Blanquette for Xmas. Out-and-out posher than turkey! πŸ˜›

43. Ian Brotherhood

Radiohead, ‘Faust Arp’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LC76ZrWZsPM

44. AuldA

(Linguistic quest, again)
    Experts, pundits, kingpins, etc. of the English language, I beg once more that you enlighten the poor and miserable pipsqueak I am.

Is there a word that would mean a sudden twist of circumstances, but not for the best, as a turnaround can be, but for the worse?

I pledge my faith in your arcane and unfathomable linguistic knowledge.

Your eternally obliged.

45. Ian Brotherhood

The Undertones, ‘My Perfect Cousin’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pgqa3cVOxUc

46. Alex Clark

@AuldA

A “comedown” is equivalent to a sudden change for the worse.

47. Ian Brotherhood

@AuldA –

‘Snafu’ is in my 1999 Collins English dictionary.

A horrible word, with grotesque origins (I don’t recall ever hearing it in everyday usage) but perhaps fits the bill?

48. Ian Brotherhood

The Buzzcocks, ‘Ever Fallen In Love’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bif2q_Zo3-4

49. Ian Brotherhood

Tom Jones, ‘It’s Not Unusual’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QrwO8b9iq34

50. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Your on a roll Ian, you’ve just played two of the favorite songs of mine from my youth with the Buzzcocks and the Undertones. Slainte!

51. Ian Brotherhood

Definitely under three minutes, when you top-and-tail all the palaver…

Pavarotti, ‘Nessun Dorma’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdTBml4oOZ8

52. Paula Rose

Oh yippee – lots of movies of naughty boys being spanked, see you next year darlings!!!

53. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

I’m trying to remember where I got this crack cocaine, but don’t care enough to concentrate fully…where’s me chewing gum?

54. Ian Brotherhood

‘I would like to be cheerful again…’

Van Morrison, ‘I’m Tired Joey Boy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2RkjdYNvbVI

55. Ian Brotherhood

Thin Lizzy, ‘Don’t Believe A Word’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZaGNAL_u-SU

56. Ian Brotherhood

Makes it in, by the skin of Windsor’s proverbials:

Don Estelle & Windsor Davies, ‘Whispering Grass’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=10dmK7O-KSY

57. Alex Clark

This is what have in abundance. Heroes!

Could always use a few more, go on, you have it in you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntuqTuc6HxM

58. Ian Brotherhood

The Waterboys, ‘How Long Will I Love You?’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yq3POFbIp8U

59. Ian Brotherhood

Stone Roses, ‘Elizabeth My Dear’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=npGtRKvnk0E

60. Ian Brotherhood

‘Scotland is my dreaming head…’

The Waterboys, ‘Islandman’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dc5DRVSyyzw

61. Alex Clark

Ian, my friend this one is for you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A2xwwkX2T4c

62. Ian Brotherhood

Taj Mahal, ‘Statesboro Blues’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fQMU1S8FhKg

63. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex Clark –

Hoots mon!

As it happens, watched Cool Runnings this afternoon with my lass.

‘I’m not smokin’, I’m breathin” !

64. Brian Doonthetoon

Potted Hough melted over chips is quite tasty…

Onnyhoo, at the moment, I am watching ‘Chas & Dave’s Knees Up’, recorded from Channel 5 last night (originally broadcast in the 80s). I’d seen clips of it on the Chas & Dave documentary on BBC 4 some months ago so, to get a chance to record it was a bonus.

Albert Lee has just done “Country Boy”; Eric Clapton is coming up. Here’s the segment that’s on now, featuring both Eric Clapton and Albert Lee.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZm96PKwtHc

65. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

This is what we need right now – more of this man, and all he represents.

Dick Gaughan, ‘Workers’ Song’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nrdl4ijru8o

66. Thepnr

Ian, agreed. I’ve missed Dick, haven’t saw him post for a while.

See what I believe, there will be a reckoning and we will reject those that rule us, our Imperial Masters.

I don’t seek communism or revenge. Only justice, and the poor have and are being shafted for the sake of the rich.

This is why I have abandoned the Labour party, so called party of the people. A sham is what they are, in fact a disgrace in my eyes. Read this and weep you Red Tory bastards.

67. ronnie anderson

@ Brian DTT the last time I hear of a reciepe with Potted Hough was fried hough on toast,25yrs ago,ah kin still hear John McInroe.

68. Paula Rose

AuldA darling, I grow most of those in my garden and we do have shops!!!

69. AuldA

@Paula: You grow blanquettes in your garden?
    I’m on my way… πŸ™‚

70. cearc

Paula Rose’s blanquettes are growing in the field next door. Yes, even in Scotland cows have babies and produce milk.

Her pepperoni tree is a sight to behold in full fruit (miserable coo won’t give me a cutting).

Surprised that you can get Italian sausage in France you must have a transport network.

71. AuldA

@Cearc: As I have myself lived in Italy, I’ve set up my own traffic in various ingredients! I’ve a stash, but shhh! πŸ˜›

Paula, be careful: Highland cattle are very fond of pepperoni! Gives their milk a spicy aftertaste. You should keep your plant under a glass cloche, especially if there’s a herd of ferocious bovines next door! πŸ™‚

(I like teasing you. It always makes my day!)

By the way, do Walkers’ shortbreads also grow on shrubs in Scotland? πŸ˜›

72. Paula Rose

Fears dear, I explained to you that this species will not thrive in the wet,windy and salty air where you live and AuldA it is far to big to be kept under glass. I expect like me you have a spaghetti tree – Cearc honey, you could try one of those.

73. AuldA

@Paula: I can assume a glassy look, but you’ll have to ding me!

74. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AuldA.

I have popped up to to increase your knowledge of the Scottish culinary arts. Two subjects for now; Finnan Haddie and Haggis.

These stories were originally posted in DC Thomson’s 3Js forum, some years ago. First of all, the Finnan Haddie.

———————————–
    Doon the Toon on 21-Feb-05 20:12:06

Its full name would be “Finnan Haddock” or to give it its Sunday name, “The Glenfinnan Haddock”.

It is so named because it is one of the UK’s scarce freshwater haddock species and is only found in Loch Sheil and the burns that flow into it.

The Glenfinnan Viaduct was constructed so that anglers would have somewhere to sit while casting their lines into the water, be able to enjoy the view from higher than the river bank and indulge in a bit of trainspotting while waiting for a catch.

There is a legend that Prince Charlie (no, the Scottish one!) enjoyed a meal of freshly caught Glenfinnan Haddock, in a creamy white wine sauce, on a bed of oats, accompanied by the chef’s choice of in season greens, with spam and a fried egg on top, shortly before the raising of the standard.

Of course, I can’t vouch for the authenticity of the legend!

———————————–

Secondly, a subsequently ‘hushed up’ story about Haggis research.

———————————–
    doon the Toon on 12-Aug-99 11:43:25

Have you seen this month’s (Sept) issue of “Haggis International”? According to their lead story, scientists at the Haggis Research Institute at Kirkmichael are close to a successful conclusion to their attempts to develop a genetically modified, bi-directional haggis, which has the ability to instinctively shorten or lengthen its legs, depending on whether it is running clockwise or anti-clockwise round its hill.

They hope, that if their experiments are successful, the way will be opened up for lowland haggis farms to be developed, in places where the hills or hummocks do not rise to the heights that the highland haggis is used to. So, it is hoped that these GM haggii(?) will, within a couple of generations of lowland acclimatisation, develop legs of equal length.

The eggs they have in incubation are due to hatch in late October, so there is mounting excitement in Kirkmichael!

If things work out ok, one haggis will deliver twice the amount of edible haggis drumsticks, which, as you know, are a much sought after delicacy. (The short legs are currently of use only as hornygolloch fodder)

yours,
    Doon the Toon
    ———————————–

8=)

75. AuldA

@Bdtt:
    I received your mail alright. Thanks so much. Will answer in due time!
    About your comment:

1. The story does not say if the railway was built to serve Scotland’s main factory of creels!

2. I didn’t know Scots had imported our famous dahu. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dahu)
    I am really chuffed the Scottish genius will be righteously applied to further improve the Dahu race. As a French humorist put it: β€œI like animals, especially with mushroom gravy.”

But I am thrilled to watch a haggis coasting along a brae and skidding over an iced lochan. Youtube link, please!

76. Paula Rose

I am absolutely outraged at this attempt to genetically modify the lovely haggi!

This will be a disaster – if this strain escapes into the wild it will result in haggi no longer being able to keep upright. This would be a disaster for our unique Scottish ecosystem.

I shall be writing to my MP!

77. cearc

Ddtt,

The ’99 project was doomed to failure as thy did not take into account the nature of the haggis.

What would a lowland haggis do all day? Sit around in a field. Perhaps, occasionally have a wee trot around in a circle? It would be like battery hens, an abomination.

Every Highlander knows that the haggis wakes up each morning with an unquenchable desire to get to the top of a hill during the day. As it does this by the longest possible route it has to develop large, powerful and meaty muscles in order to be able to get there and back home to bed in the evening (in winter that’s just a few hours!).

A lowland haggis would be miserable little creature yielding drumsticks hardly worthy of the name.

78. Brian Doonthetoon

Well, I must admit (changing the subject from Haggis) that I am totally dumfoonirt at the myopic vision within the SNP, as detailed at the link below, re: Craig Murray being defined as not a suitable candidate, because he said he would NOT support the SNP if they decided to back the bedroom tax.

You couldn’t make it up!

http://www.craigmurray.org.uk/archives/2014/12/disbarred/

79. Brian Doonthetoon

We have Labour on the ropes, so are the SNP trying to be fair, by alienating the vast majority of their new membership, to put the contest on more of an even keel?

80. AuldA

@Bdtt:

I am totally dumfoonirt at the myopic vision within the SNP, as detailed at the link below, re: Craig Murray being defined as not a suitable candidate, because he said he would NOT support the SNP if they decided to back the bedroom tax.

This is outrageous, but no surprise to me. Mainstream parties expect their MP to form a solid block and implement the consigns without discussing once they are uttered. That is, in other words, put the party interests before your owns. Divergences in opinion are supposed to be discussed internally before the final decision that clinches any dissension and must be followed by anybody. It has always worked this way. I am viscerally opposed to this kind of policy, and that’s why I never entered in politics. Too many scunners to swallow.

81. chipmonkey

Bdtt Obviously the SNP are extremely anti the bedroom tax. They’ve gone to great lengths to counter it. What extreme circumstances would they ask him to back that? He must have known that. Obviously there will be many attempts to divide. It’s like defence counsel schooling for prosecution in court. He failed big time… which is very worrying.

82. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Chipmonkey.

If you know a prospective candidate is against smashing the pointed end of an egg, and your party’s against battering the pointed end of an egg, surely it is a leading question to ask the prospective candidate if they would vote with the party, if the party changed its mind and decided smashing the blunt end of the egg was the way forward?

It all seems a tad weird to me. But then, I’m not trained or educated in the art of understanding the internal machinations of a party I pay a subscription to.

I just find myself feeling uneasy about the way this has been done, IN MY NAME.

83. Brian Doonthetoon

Or on my behalf, to be slightly more correct.

84. cearc

Chipmonkey,

Whether it was likely to happen or not isn’t the point.

It is people giving the ‘right’ answer rather their honest opinion that has created the mire of UK politics. Party before integrity is never good.

85. chipmonkey

Bdtt …What if the candidate’s 350 word statement read like he intended to disrupt breakfast any time the egg was put in the cup in a way that favoured cutting and also made statements alienating those being asked to join them for breakfast by calling them all to be either evil or stupid (or words to that effect). Would you still be sure he was sent to another table just over tbe egg smashing?

86. chipmonkey

Grrr. Phone typos. It jams up and I can’t correct.

87. chipmonkey

One went missing altogether.@Cearc I actually think it is the point. Innocents get slaughtered in politics ( like I will be soon on this probably) but it is so clear and extreme that it must be asking for the wider question to be taken into account…holistic thinking,not a reactionary answer. (Plus we don’t know it was tbe stumbling block.) I have no insight or i side knowledge so just rambling anyway.

88. Natasha

Can I just recommend a viewing of Craigs’ interview tonight with independence live? It answers some questions (while raising others).

89. Thepnr

I should have just stayed in bed today and never got up.

All of us are individuals, sometimes we can come together because we have a common goal. When we do it is not necessary IMO to agree on every subject, just the main ones.

I’ve ranted and said enough today, I hope I haven’t upset too many that I think of as friends. Ach well, tomorrow is another day.

90. Natasha

Alex
    You haven’t upset me! πŸ™‚ Btw, tomorrow is Monday now.

91. Bob Sinclair

Nope, not upset either. Our strength is our differences – or as a great philosopher once said, we canny all be irn bru bottles.

92. David

People want a strong SNP, why? To govern well at Holyrood, partly, but mainly to lead the campaign for Independence.

We do not want a strong SNP just to replace a strong Scottish Labour party, and become a law unto itself. I don’t think this will happen, because there are too many people, including the 75K new SNP members, who will be keeping the party on their toes.

For next year’s Westminster election, it appears that the SNP plan is to have a unified block of MPs, and Craig Murray is too much his own man to be able to follow the party line 24/7. That is a pity, but there are other good candidates who will step up and be counted.

One such is Dr. Philippa Whitford, who can speak with authority about the threats to the Scottish NHS. Another is Ivan McKee of Business For Scotland, no prizes for guessing his specialist subject.

I would’ve liked to see Craig Murray getting stuck into the likes of Jack Straw at Westminster, using his insider knowledge about the foreign office, but hey-ho, I will settle for a 45-strong united, determined, focussed, block of SNP Energizer Bunnies. No stop till Indy!

93. David

As for the 3-min musical selections , how about 35 seconds of Glasgow 2014 Opening Ceremony – Team Scotland Entrance:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8BiGV1QuBvc

Or the Mamas & the Papas, ‘California Dreamin’: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qhZULM69DIw&index=3&list=PL1936FF8521F0F666

Jimi Hendrix, ‘Crosstown Traffic’: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tX5tOX6vA-0&index=5&list=PLMKA5kzkfqk2GEImRCIqGqWmQvKYygUhG

94. David

Merr mini-musics:

The Byrds – “Mr. Tambourine Man”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPqAvgN6Tyw

The Kinks – You Really Got Me: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fTTsY-oz6Go&list=PLPAL315FJtRyNtWoyStt_pzJYO63qbK-f

The Jam – The Eton Rifles: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C7kUDkK70qQ

The Specials – Too Much Too Young: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxHcx7FO8nI

95. David

3-minute heroes:

Madness – Baggy Trousers: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XJOLwy7un3U

Motorhead – “Ace Of Spades”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvK7PCO6T0M

And for Christmas: Steeleye Span – Gaudete: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lN9AJj9rtlk

96. David

And the jeely piece de resistance: Jimmy Shand & 50 Cent “Bluebell Polka In Da Club” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eCzE6kyN2-M

97. Cactus

Regarding our haggis potential.. have you ever tried substituting beef for haggis whenst making a lasagne? Yum.

I guess you could call it Laggis or Haggagne.

ps, my bestest ever haggis dish was in a restaurant overlooking the bay in Oban. I think it was their mushroom gravy that made it for me, mwah!

98. Brian Doonthetoon

I believe that the project to create the lowland Haggis was quietly dropped, because of the concerns perceptive readers up above have raised.

There’s one other species of Haggis which is often overlooked, due to its scarcity; the Maritime Haggis (Haggus Maritimus).

The staple diet of this shy creature is wulks, with a special fondness for buckies. It is roughly the same size as the Highland Haggis but differs in a number of features.

It’s fur is waterproof (obviously). It lays its eggs in a rock pool, where they float around, being kept warm by just enough sunlight in the growing season. The eggs look like rough pebbles, to protect them from predators.

When the young hatch (usually a flock of four), they instinctively ‘haggi-paddle’ to the edge of the pool, where their parents lift them out of the water.

This species has webbed feet and each front foot has one elongated claw, rather like a curved stiletto. This has evolved to allow the Maritime Haggis to extract the goodies from the wulks.

As they swim, the legs on each side change length, so instead of swimming in a circle, they swim in a figure-of-8, the size of which can be altered to allow them to reach the shore.

There are no known pics of this creature available and actual sightings tend to be hushed up, to keep their habitats free from sightseers.

When cooked properly, they taste of wulks.

99. AuldA

@BDtt:
    Do you haggis look like a Koozbanian phoob?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y4SZmIeGGts

100. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AuldA.

Not really; it tends to spend its life horizontally aligned, rather than vertically.

101. Alex Clark

I like haggis and wulks. Feart to say that though as the majority don’t and I might be laughed at.

102. Thepnr

LOL and an hahaha Michael. Just what I needed.

103. Thepnr

Fecking hell! a split personality!

Sorry for alternating between Thepnr and Alex Clark. It’s the computer I’m using which has Thepnr as default and I do forget to change this sometimes in my “eagerness” to post.

104. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex.

I’ve never liked wulks. Mind you, older 3Jaysers opined that the best wulks – nay, buckies – grew on the sewer pipe down at the Stannergate.

Must have been all the nutrients flowing out…

105. Brian Doonthetoon

And, interestingly enough, it is said by those who are experts, that the earliest signs of hunter-gatherers in Scotland were found down at the Stannergate.

Presumably wulk gatherers, going by the shell midden that was discovered.

106. Alex Clark

@Brian Doonthetoon

I got all my wulks from the Stannergate, so what if I ate shite! It was tasty shite.

107. Alex Clark

If I’m being forced though to ate shite against my will. Ain’t gonna happen.

108. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve finally got round to uploading to YouTube, some of the videos I recorded at the YES City St Andrew’s Day Gathering in Dundee.

I’ve got 4 up tonight; I’ll get the other ones uploaded tomorrow evening.

Strange thing is…
    When I was looking down over the dance floor, I could see Jock Scot (Yew Choob) muckin’ about on the dance floor, along with Paula Rose, who was strutting her stuff, with a tartan high heel firmly clamped in each oxter.
    But, while recording, when I looked at the screen on the back of the camera, Paula Rose couldn’t be seen!

Go figure…

Onnyhoo, here are the links for the first two – I’ll stick the links for the following two in the next post.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wjqddGD2XzE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W0EphLF-8mQ

109. Paula Rose

Thepnr – language honey xxk

110. Natasha

Bdtt
    So that’s what you all got up to after I left! I knew things would go to pot without my restraining influence . . . πŸ™‚ (No comments about drugs, Paula Rose).

111. Ian Brotherhood

Dick Gaughan, ‘Both Sides The Tweed’ (live, with Bain/Cunningham, 1989)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3pkCiSQjkDo

112. Betty Boop

@ Ian Brotherhood, 10:54pm

Enjoyed that – Lovely song, great rendition. Thanks for posting.

113. Betty Boop

@Bdtt, 10:26pm

Ha ha Brian, you obviously looked at the screen as Paula boogied out of shot! Paula R was giving it laldie. πŸ™‚

Some cool moves there PR – put me in mind of a Christmas party in the Caribbean, no stilettos there though, mostly bare feet. I could hear the steel band all over again!

114. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: Anyone know the title of that reggae song?

115. Paula Rose

Betty Boop honey – it was ecstasy dancing with all those lovely winged boys, I’m sure Bdtt filmed me and Ronnie Anderson doing the fandango – perhaps he accidentally deleted it, he does tend to get a bit dopey when he is in close proximity to sweet little moi!

116. Paula Rose

Oh btw mes petites – j’ai un pet haggis that shares a basket with my pussy!

He puts his longer legs over her in such a fetching way –

If I knew how to post pics I’d show you.

117. Paula Rose

@ Ian Brotherhood –

re today’s natty own it all

Delighted, exhausted and content xx

118. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Delighted to have been of service.

119. Brian Doonthetoon

Aye, Paula Rose, in yir dreams!

I delete NOTHING (unless it’s a blurred version of something I have anyway) and my videos are NEVER blurred!

So there!

PARP!

I was there and remember it well – you and Jock made a heavenly couple…

Only not captured be my camera…

120. Brian Doonthetoon

“by my camera”.

(No post submission edit facility.)

121. AuldA

@Paula Rose:

β€œmes petits” would be seemlier. β€œmes petites” is feminine, therefore one infers you’re addressing a public made up of women only. Since I suppose you meant both men and women, the masculine is required.

BTW, is your haggis shaggy, Paula?

122. Stoker

The Outlaws – Best Part Of The Day Is The Night
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtBFFuWFlXA

123. Paula Rose

Nope -just intended for the ladies, sexist French lingo wot sits.

My haggis is very shaggy as my Minxie can testify.

124. Paula Rose

Bdtt – you want me to be your camera? Weird honey.

125. Michael McCabe

@Stoker 7:57 Loved the Quo Cheers http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-h2hox–bR8&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die

126. Ian Brotherhood

The Pretenders, ‘Back On The Chain Gang’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CK3uf5V0pDA

127. Stoker

Michael,

Cheers for the top.
    πŸ˜‰

Very similar, almost identical, intro to this:

Spirit In The Sky – Norman Greenbaum
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AZQxH_8raCI

128. Natasha

Chic, Paula Rose – help! I’m stuck on 12dn, 20dn, 27dn, 28dn (wtf is that one about?) and 26ac. It’s doing my head in.

129. Paula Rose

Natasha my wee darling

What’s the problem honey?

130. Stoker

The Benn Sisters – The Earrings Song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JDZeyHUNhbw

131. Ian Brotherhood

David Bowie, getting perilously close to ‘daddy-dancing’, in ‘You’ve Been Around’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-MzTl_kjAU

132. Natasha

I need some hints. Ian keeps sticking in Scottish words and I didn’t have the right upbringing.

133. Stoker

Ian Brotherhood says:
    “getting perilously close to β€˜daddy-dancing’”

To late, am already giving it big licks.
    Started ma build up to the bells at lunch today.
    πŸ˜‰
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2WfHtDTZguQ
    πŸ™‚

134. Ian Brotherhood

@Natasha –

For 28dn you really need a magnifying glass: what appears to be a solid – (dash) is, in fact, three separate -‘s. That should help…?!

(P.S. 26 ac – I had to go back to the notepad and check for meself – couldn’t remember!)

135. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

re Billy Ocean.

Great shout. What a wonderful singer. Don’t think he’s ever appeared here in O/T before.

136. Ian Brotherhood

Some seasonal naughtiness, with The Krankies nicking Paula Rose’s patter –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2X9D9ZAFHWg

137. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

As you know, I’ve been fretting about what to wear at the next WOS gathering.

Just watched the following, and am quite taken with JB’s outfit. I’m thinking about a sequined ‘WOS’ where he has ‘GFOS’, and a simple ‘IB’ where he has ‘JB’ on the neckband.

What think ye?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4N-NrucQcB8

138. Natasha

Ian Brotherhood 11.01
    Thank you!

You’re not being of any help whatsoever, Paula Rose. Pay attention! πŸ™‚

139. Stoker

Lighthouse Family – Lifted
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qPZ6CXuiHdQ

goodnight folks.

140. Natasha

Ian – thanks – I’d already worked out it had to end in ‘ic’ but was struggling with ideas about pedestrians! Loved 13dn by the way.

Just got 25 ac – why the cold bit? That really threw me off the scent. And I got 21 down but I don’t understand why.

Let me know tomorrow (oops, later today) when the solution is out and you won’t be spoiling it for anyone else.

141. cearc

Ian,

I think you’ll look wonderful in it. Now you just need to persuade Paula Rose to tone down her usual stuff and dress like his dancers!

142. Betty Boop

@ Ian Brotherhood, 11:39pm

Just watched the following, and am quite taken with JB’s outfit. I’m thinking about a sequined β€˜WOS’ where he has β€˜GFOS’, and a simple β€˜IB’ where he has β€˜JB’ on the neckband.

Fret no more. Dunno what Paula thinks of it, but that outfit would be terrifying in red! The colour might suit you, mind. Can you do the splits?

143. Natasha

Apologies, Paula Rose. Just watched Ian Brotherhood’s link to James Brown’s outfit and I realise you must still be in shock. You could always lend him your heels to finish it off.

144. Grouse Beater

Hi, Paula

Mentioned the honorable art of pole-dancing in my latest blog. Hope I get a gold star! Till next time …

πŸ™‚

(‘The Curious Case of Craig Murray’)

145. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s Jim Murphy’s first pick if he’s called up for karaoke (Unfortunately, he’s been unable to smoke a fag whilst doing it ever since the Scottish Parliament passed legislation which prevented such posturing.)

Telly Savalas, ‘If’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J94-_w9ARX0

146. ronnie anderson

@Ian Brotherhood
    Betty Boop.

Sos to bust your bubble its not fitting atire for the counting house,but round the corner you would go down a storm Ian in any colour,I,ll arrange for the ambulance to stand by when you do those splits.lol

147. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty Boop –

In that outfit, it would be remiss of one not to attempt ‘the splits’. I suspect that, if I did manage it? it would be the first and last time, and I’d wake up in Crosshouse Hospital surrounded by pissed-off relatives.

148. Chic McGregor

Sorry Natasha, just back from the mandatory family tour, plus managed to get a bad cold which developed into a raw throat and then chesty. Think the worst is over, as long as it doesn’t fill my ears. That can take months to clear up.

149. Chic McGregor

Natasha, just saw your “Wow” to which, I suppose, a very retrospective ‘thanks’ is merited. πŸ™‚ Sadly, since those days, tempus has most certainly fugit (probably spelled with a ‘k’ would be more appropriate).

150. Michael McCabe

A one hit wonder from the year Scotland were going to win the world cup. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=edCleBiDScI&feature=player_detailpage

151. Betty Boop

@ Ian Brotherhood, 12:46am, 30/12/14

In that outfit, it would be remiss of one not to attempt β€˜the splits’. I suspect that, if I did manage it? it would be the first and last time, and I’d wake up in Crosshouse Hospital surrounded by pissed-off relatives.

The attempt would be worth watching and I live close enough to Crosshouse to visit! I’d bring grapes.

152. Michael McCabe

One of my Occasional Hobbies. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=xFjOuz_ud0k Aye till I die

153. Betty Boop

@ Ronnie Anderson, 12:41am, 30/12/14

Sos to bust your bubble its not fitting atire for the counting house

Aww, Ronnie, folk would pay good money for a floorshow like that. Mind you, if he had WOS in sequins on his outfit, folk might wander to this site under a misapprehension… then again… πŸ™‚

154. Michael McCabe

Woolworths was never like this in my day. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=2GK462XnRjQ

155. Michael McCabe

I have been reading the posts on the other threads. and I am falling asleep. and that’s a long way to fall. So I will leave you with this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rIWPlFevJNQ&feature=player_detailpage Sweet dreams all you Wingers. I am away to my kip.

156. Brian Doonthetoon

Anybody got any idea for the title of that reggae tune in the first link in my post of 10.26pm on the 28th?

It would be fine to add it to the YouTube page.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-17/#comment-1943260

157. Chic McGregor

From Ken500 over on Main Street
    “Rev Stu is genius, what would Scotland do without him. A font of information.”

Agree.

It will soon be nomination closing time for the annual Scottish Press awards, where they publicly pat themselves on the back for a job well done. Wouldn’t it be great if the Rev won something? That is of course, a joke.

The awards are a couple of weeks before the election.

How about this for an idea?

The Scottish Non Press Awards

Categories

Best scoop of the year undiscovered by the MSM

Best story the MSM refused to cover

Best exposure of a lie promoted by the MSM
    (might need several categories for this)

Scottish whistleblower of the year.

Best photograph not shown by the MSM

Best video not shown by the MSM

Best speech/debate unreported by the MSM

Best cartoon

Best Reporter

Best Journalist

Best Live coverage

Best on line news outlet

I’m sure you can all think of numerous nominations for each.

Doesn’t need to be lavish. Compere? Frankie Boyle?

158. Bob Sinclair

Chic Mcgregor,
    That would be a damn good basis for another Wings Night out.

159. Taranaich

Sorry I was scarce for the past few weeks, folks, I was offline and away from the mess of politics. Anyway, my final post of 2014 looks forward to the year ahead:

http://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2014/12/30/challenge-accepted/

160. Alex Clark

@Taranaich

I’m glad you have continued the blog and followed up the “controversial” post with another good article.

Cheers.

161. X_Sticks

All you lovers of language here will enjoy this:

Ileene Macdonald, ane o the Indy Quines @sair_fecht has started a blog in Scots

http://thesairfecht.com/

Wishing you all the very best for 2015.

Couldn’t have coped with this roller-coaster of a year without you all.

The next Wings social could be quite a night. Looking forward to it.

162. Paula Rose

Scottish press awards – gosh who’s the best? Um…

163. Thepnr

My wee tune for the new “leader” and deputy “leader” of the Labour party. Jim, you’ll like this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zBb1PVV69sI

164. Chic McGregor

@Bob
    It was a serious suggestion but would include Bella, National Collective, Bateman/Newsnet, Munguin’s REpublic, Business For Scotland, RIC/Common Weal, and many other on line sanity savers.

165. Thepnr

Thought that one deserved a wider audience LOL.

166. Grouse Beater

Paula: Scottish press awards – gosh who’s the best? Um…

I vote WoS for its inexhausible skill in rooting out lies, misinformation, disinformation, and humbug, but does criteria for a short-list stop at the border?

167. Ian Brotherhood

@Grouse Beater –

Your mentioning ‘humbug’ reminded me of this Orwell essay, which I never tire of reading – one wonders what he would make of what’s happening right now, eh?

He uses ‘humbug’ as the penultimate word, followed by ‘generally’ – have any other notable writers ended polemical pieces with an adverb?

http://theorwellprize.co.uk/george-orwell/by-orwell/essays-and-other-works/why-i-write/

168. Alex Clark

George Orwell, what a man.

There is irony there I do not know the man but has respect for his writings and his stance. Might remind you of someone?

I wish I could write, maybe 20 years ago but too but too busy earning a living. I will speak my mind now though even if it is on blogs like this or newspaper reports.

Wish I could write, but at least I believe I have a voice.

169. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex Clark –

Ha! What the fuck’re you on about? You can’t write?!

So, who’s the ‘Alex Clark/PNR’ we all know and love?

This, right here, right now, is the most important ‘writing’ that’s happening – for our weans, and the ones thereafter,

Is it ‘literary’. ????

Nah.

But each and every comment we make is another thread in the rope.

(Ye can dae a lot wi’ a bit ay rope, eh?)

Hoots mon!

170. Grouse Beater

Alex: I wish I could write

Phooey!

You’re doing pretty well. And a hellova lot better than Ernie Wise!

πŸ™‚

171. Grouse Beater

Ian: one wonders what [Orwell] would make of what’s happening right now, eh?

I know what you are hinting at; Orwell would be justified in stating everything fired at Scotland during the Referendum confirms his worst fears … and then he’d refer us to his novel, ‘1984.’

(I think ‘Animal Farm’ his masterpiece.)

I have all his essays, and take quiet pride in the fact that, although he was a well-heeled Etonian, he chose the Isle of Jura to write his last novel and end his days.

Then again, who says all Etonian’s are ignorant bounders? What, ho, Jeeves!

172. Thepnr

As you may have guessed guys, I’m a bit under the weather.

Wife’s in England I’m done there tomorrow, couldn’t be assed going earlier.

Talking of writing, I’ve never wrote anything. You guys have and I admire that but at the same time wish I’d at least tried. You know what I mean.

173. Grouse Beater

Alex: I’ve never wrote anything. You guys have …

Me? Well, since you ask: Five books, two for the Royal Academy of Arts in London, seven screenplays, 14 short radio dramas, three short films, two television documentaries, six children’s tv shows, six youth news programmes, seven commercials, (one for the late, great, Paul Newman) three innovative PPBs for the SNP, edited one political thriller for tv, founded and edited educational magazine, paid doctor to a number of poorly written scripts by other authors, many hundreds of lectures in English and drama, countless magazine articles, franchised column in three US magazines, (and I still have a mental spelling block over certain words!) some children’s nonsense verse, speeches, composed a ton of formal documents, contracts, plus two signs saying ‘Private Parking – Don’t Even Think About It!!!’ thousands of letters, e-mails, and oodles of expressions of love and affection for wife and family- phew! – and still had time to go to the lavatory. Impressed, or what?

Best publically reviewed work always when politically motivated, and not just by party politics.

You’re missing your wife.

We can’t get them out the door fast enough:

‘Lovely, dear. You deserve a week away on your own. Relax. Enjoy yourself. Don’t forget your hiking boots.’

Soon as they’ve gone, and we’re down to the last tin of beans and a stale roll, we miss them. Nobody to exchange comment with over bad television programmes, no one to accompany you to the supermarket or walk the dog, no one to bring the ltest gossip about that pig-headed neighbour at Number 13, no one to say, ‘Yes, you did the right thing, darling’ no one to tell you where you left your tie, sock, underpants, no one to iron those bloody shirts ramrod flat, or share you bed when it matters in the wee sma’ hours when we all feel vulnerable…

… and talking of wee sma’ hours, have you seen the time!

Yours, signing off.
    Grouse

174. Alex Clark

And yet you still fail to beat me in an argument!!!

Don’t too get wound up about that. πŸ™‚

175. Thepnr

@Grouse Beater

Have to say I like this place and YOU.

@Ian

You too.

176. Alex Clark

@Grouse Beater

I’m only now getting an inkling of you. Know what I mean?

177. Grouse Beater

Alex: I’m only now getting an inkling of you.

And modesty had me omit mention of 75 original essays on my blog – 75 yesterday!

(Aye, Grousey, china, just as well. They’re all crap.)

I’ve a pronounced sense of humour and try my best to offer it up here, but sometimes the topic doesn’t justify it, or the poster I’m engaging will interpret it as sarcasm. Or the poster catches me when I’m cranky.

πŸ™‚

178. Alex Clark

Right I’m off, long drive ahead,

Won’t have a computer as I’ve promised to be sociable πŸ™‚

All the best for the coming year. Be back in 2015 there’s a job to be done, or so I hear!

179. Chic McGregor

@Grousebeater

But I have also seen it claimed he eschewed his surname ‘Blair’ because it was too Scottish.

OTOH he seemed to be a convert to the idea of indy before he popped his clogs.

180. Chic McGregor

@Alex

Good luck with the missionary expedition. Our’s was one night in Bathgate and three in Glasgow, for New Year our family comes here.

Got the ham boiling for tommorow’s lunch as I write. Indeed it needs to go off right now.

Byesee bye.

181. Bob Sinclair

To all the Wingers who have been part of my life for the last year, thanks for being there, you helped change a complacent cynic into someone who will not give up until we get to our goal.

It’s been an honour more significant than anything the British state could ever bestow to meet you, chat with you, campaign with you, sometimes laugh, sometimes cry, but always feel like a part of something big, something important.

To all of you I wish you a happy 2015 and a bright future. 2014 was one of the most amazing years of my life and it’s down to you.

182. Grouse Beater

Chic: But I have also seen it claimed he eschewed his surname β€˜Blair’ because it was too Scottish.

Aye, a few do that – hide their Scottish anticedents, such as Winnie the Pooh</i author, Alan Alexander Milne dropping the obvious to become, A.A. Milne. He walked around his English estate dressed in tweeds and plus fours.

Orwell's look at the way the poor and those on the bottom run subsist, 'Down and Out In Paris and London,' carries the contradiction that Orwell, unlike the poor, the lowly paid, and the disenfranchised he lived among for a time, could escape his predicament by simply walking into the nearest bank and withdrawing money from his account.

The restaurant dish washers and the street cleaners he studied didn't have the same escape route. For them life was bleak, without much hope of improvement.

I admire his ability to stay away from self-publicity, the cameras and the interviews that come along with success, and just get on with the job of writing, and tilting at injustice. I look at him as a journalist and polemicist first, a novelist second – some of his novels while always intelligent, are written in a pedestrian and clunky style. But I've read them all.

183. goldenayr

Anyone know the PriceWaterhouseCoopers report this piece came from?
    http://www.msn.com/en-gb/money/taxes/how-does-your-tax-rate-compare-to-other-countries/ar-BBhmXKw?ocid=TSHDHP

184. Colin Mccartney

On the last day of the year it’s usually time to reflect on what has passed, but for me – a republican (for those who haven’t worked that out) – it’s the new years honours list and a chance for my annual rant.
    To those honoured in the 30% bracket that are charity, social care and efforts outside your usual job – you have my utmost admiration and thanks. I only wish that someone other than the biggest benefit claimant in the UK could be seen to reward you.
    To the rest, the overpaid sportspeople, the journeyman politicians, the β€œentertainers” and the career diplomats, you have my total contempt.
    This year I’d like to focus on two totally unworthy Scottish recipients of the gongs.
    Gordon Mathieson CBE, the leader of Glasgow City council, and sadly my local councillor, for services to shouting his welcome message during the Commonwealth Games ceremony, being a useless a**e and doing nothing to further the lives of those he was elected to serve.
    And Archie Graham OBE – who? – The deputy leader of Glasgow City Council and husband of Johann Lamont – remember her? For services to – it can only be, being Johann Lamont’s husband? Well at least he did a service to mankind by taking her off the β€œavailable” list.
    To all my friends at home and around the world, I’d like to wish you all, a happy, healthy and prosperous 2015.

185. Charles Edward

Katie Hopkins = pond scum.

186. Ian Brotherhood

The Pogues, ‘Bottle Of Smoke’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s5OOeuvuoq8

187. Ian Brotherhood

Dick Gaughan ‘No Gods(And Precious Few Heroes)’ Live, 2013

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=25I8llcBplQ

188. Paula Rose

Ian honey, you are my hero xxx

189. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Special wee clue for you in next Monday’s National, based on an original idea by Saffron aka Crazycat.

190. Ian Brotherhood

The Anonymous ‘Time To Unite’ 2014 video – well worth a swatch if you’ve not seen it. Presumably there will be a 2015 message along in due course.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ir277bORkKA

191. Ian Brotherhood

Very very slow-loading tonight in here. Am writing this at 9.18. Last comment showing is mine at 8.01 but I’ve definitely submitted two or three since then.

Bummer…

192. Thistle

Happy New Year all and looking forward to what is going to be a very interesting year.

Peace.

193. Ian Brotherhood

Don’t know when this was recorded, but Prince doesn’t appear to have aged much in the past 25 years. I saw him in concert in Tokyo, ’91 or ’92, but he was so far away he was just a wee purple dot.

Prince & 3RDEYEGIRL, ‘She’s Always In My Hair’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nyyS0FSztKc

194. TJenny

Ian B – Hi, welcome to my world re posting times. Also saw Juteman and The Man in the Jar (I think) saying the same.

Ironically, the Rev tweeted yesterday that we had another server update and were we noticing that the site was running quicker. Honestly can’t say I’ve noticed that. I intend to post a Happy New Year To All comment at 11.40, in the hope it’ll post @ midnight. πŸ˜‰

In your words, Ian, Hoots!
    (@21.46)

195. Ian Brotherhood

Don’t know if this happened across all threads, but a big wheen seems to have gone amiss between 8 and 9.20-ish, here on O/T at any rate. Site under attack again?

196. TJenny

Hmm, maybe site is running a bit quicker, as my comment posted at 21.46(and time stamped as such), appeared at 22.03, which is 4 mins faster than usual. πŸ™‚

197. Ian Brotherhood

Have posted this link many times, and do so again now, for the last time in 2014. If it gets to even one person who hasn’t seen it before? job done.

A long lifetime involving humour, political activism and brutal honesty, distilled into three blistering minutes.

George Carlin, ‘The American Dream’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rsL6mKxtOlQ

198. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Lovely, lovely TJenny – the only thing which took the edge off the Sep 19th heartache was the consolation of having met yourself and all the other Wingers.

I hope you have a great ‘bells’ and a corker 2015.

Mwwwaaaah! X

199. Ian Brotherhood

There’s me 8.35 ‘Anonymous’ post just appeared, and it’s not my avatar with it.

200. TJenny

Ian,sweetie, great big hugs and xxxs back at you. Can’t wait for the next WOS night out, you were missed at the last one, on Hydro day. πŸ™

WOS virtual hugs and xxxs are great – but Wingers real hugs and xxxs are the very, very best. πŸ˜‰

201. TJenny

Eeek – my Wingers’ apostrophe went amiss too. (wee blushing faced thingy).

202. Paula Rose

Hello darlings – kisses and hugs and strokes and loveliness and blessings xxx

203. scaredycat

Hi everybody

I haven’t posted in a long long time. Just wanted to wish all you wingers a happy new year.

All the very best for 2015.

204. Ian Brotherhood

Had a total crush on this lass, and hated the baldy guitarist who was – if I remember correctly – her boyfriend.

Lene Lovich, ‘Lucky Number’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KnIJOO__jVo

205. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Hope you caught Wilko on the Jools Hootenanny – great stuff.

206. Ian Brotherhood

The Waterboys, ‘Old England Is Dying’ –

Aye, but her people – our friends, relatives and neighbours – will help Scotland put the knackered auld cow out of her misery once and for all.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jv_6B77pfCQ

207. TJenny

Hope this posts just at midnight!

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO OOR REV STU + HIS FAMILY AND ALL WINGERS. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Onwards and upwards to GE 2015 and a Red Tory WIPEOUT. Mwahahahah.

208. Jim Thomson

@Ian B – no idea why but, your links above reminded me of the first live gig I went to in London waaaay back in 1973.

Wishbone Ash supported by Stackridge. The song that sticks in my head (a bit of an ear worm for me) is this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kRBDYk5QLEs

The video is just a wee bit later πŸ˜‰

209. TJenny

Weird – my post appeared right away – but only, I think, ’cause I opened a new O/T page – still not showing on version of O/T that I posted comment. Hmmm. perplexed. (strokes chin ponderously).

210. Jim Thomson

And the only way to get rid of an ear worm is another, well, ear worm.

I give you Lindisfarne and Lady Eleanor

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P82uYBZJEzM

211. Jim Thomson

@TJenny – ’tis the magic that is “nearly New year” πŸ˜›

212. Jim Thomson

Ol’ Jools has another excellent line-up this year. Actually has people that can hold a note …

213. Jim Thomson

Happy New Year to all Off-Topicers πŸ˜›

214. chipmonkey

Happy 2015 fellow wingers.Work even harder this year. Enjoy the hootenanay Jim. xxxx

215. TJenny

WHOA – just tried to post a comment and got this message:

‘Go back and try again.
    Error: answer is wrong. [2014]
    Comment was blocked because it is spam.’

How very dare Akismet!

216. Betty Boop

Ok -trying to get past the spam filter – so apologies if there are multiple posts!

I wish a happy and peaceful (except in May when I expect to hear whoops and hollers!) New Year to all Wingers.

Love to all,xx

217. Stephen McKenzie

Folks, it has been a pleasure to share all your hopes, doubts and good banter during 2014.

Take a bow one and all – and especially Stu

218. Ian Brotherhood

@Jim Thomson –

You nailed it!!!

Many happy NY felicitations to you and the bold Elizabeth. Next time we meet at a count as official WOS reps, we’ll be heading off to a party afterwards.

Kin right!

Raising one right now – to you and all the bods who’ve made this journey so enjoyable despite the grief – love ye’s all.

XXX

219. Alex Clark

Couldn’t help myself!

I must wish all our fellow Wingers a Happy New Year. Especially as I believe we will have one in 2015.

So many people I met during last year were committed and decent ordinary people that truly wanted only the best for their country. As I do.

In particular I have many thanks and love even for those that I’ve personally met and are too many to mention by name. I was buoyed by your support.

Cheers Guys and Gals. 2015 is a year to look forward to, there will be more to come from us before May. That is for sure. You never give in!

Until the job is done.

Alex

220. TJenny

Aw man – William Bell + Jos Stone singing Private Number on Jools – so many memories from the days of the original, especially of those from then, unfortunately no longer with us – still. I’m singing along…..and remembering. πŸ˜‰

(Hope Akismet doesn’t think this comment is spam. :-()

221. TJenny

Now boogying to ‘Blame it on the Boogie’ – and thinking that the next WOS night has to have space for boogying – The Black Bull would do nicely. πŸ˜‰

(Looking at you Tam Jardine. πŸ˜‰ )

222. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

If I ever get the chance to dance with you, I’d like it to be to this. (In drunken, hopeful anticipation, I have started practising…)

KC & The Sunshine Band, ‘Shake Your Booty’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDV4RreCCg8

223. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex Clark –

Fond HNY manhugs to yerself and yer lad – a real pleasure to have met you both ‘for real’ and I hope, when we do so again, it’ll be at an overdue celebration, perhaps with Dick Gaughan and/or Jock ‘YouChoob’ Scott playing in the background?!

More power to ye and everyone around ye!

224. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Or maybe this?

Chic, ‘Everybody Dance’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J1MMzMGX8xY

225. Patrician

Tried to post this up on main thread but it went into moderation so long the thread had moved on.

Anyway, a quick look back over the year:

Yes in the Park (May)
    Pacific Quay 2 (29th June)
    Pacific Quay 3 (27th July)
    Arbroath Seafest (9th August)
    Yes Convoy (17th August)
    Airdrie Town Centre (23th August)
    Cumbernauld (24th August)

One of the first public outing for Wings from September 2013:
    Edinburgh Yes Rally

226. TJenny

Ian – I was thinking more like this. πŸ˜‰ (Especially loved the Saltires on the front of the panel’s desk).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e1XE5EKRUlQ

(OK – maybe not quite like that – don’t want you to be scared. πŸ˜‰ )

227. cearc

Happy 2015 to all.

Will Ian being wearing the James Brown outfit for this dance?

Hello, Scaredycat, nice to see you pop up again. Iwas wondering what had happened to you, hiding from us wee mice again?

228. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Okay. Fair do’s.

Wait till they see us!

(Bags me the guy’s bit – can’t be doing with all that tumbling your wilkies.)

229. TJenny

Ian – OK, Ian, my man – tumble this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XAWjSTwvroY

Luvya! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

230. Thepnr

@TJenny

My most favorite song from Off Topic in 2014 courtesy of our Ian.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2x8PLjvmiIw

231. TJenny

I’m off to beddy byes – sleep well unto the renewed year.

LOVE TO ALL WINGERS. πŸ™‚

232. AuldA

Someone has clyped 2014 was over.
    Onwards, onwards, to unknown shores and new adventures. There’s a land to conquer!
    Let’s make a grand 2015 together!

233. goldenayr

Happy New Year a’body.

234. Brian Doonthetoon

Happy New Year to all the Wingers I met in 2014, and to all those I’ve still to meet in 2015.

I should have stuck this in last night but, with one thing and another, I ran out of time.

When I had a Hogmanay DJ gig, I used to play this around 8 minutes to midnight, followed by ‘Auld Lang Syne’, then the bells, then Jimmy Shand’s version of ‘A Guid New Year’ (which is the TRADITIONAL order of events).

Onyhoo, better late the never…
    (There is a ‘live’ version on YouTube but the intro’s cut off.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RgEs__FH75U

235. Brian Doonthetoon

Or, “better late THAN never…”

8=(

236. gery parker

Jim, thanks for the photo recap. It was a tremendous year and a privilege to get to know so many people committed to an independent Scotland. All the best for 2015.

237. ronnie anderson

@ Pete the Camera. Peter my Daughter was asking about ah starter motor from that spare you were telling her about, could you please get in contact with her at 25 Bayview .

238. Chic McGregor

This one is dedicated to all those no voting ‘I’m alright Jacks’ who suck up all the crap they are fed by the reprehensible Britnat mainstream mediocrity. Like believing food bank users are scroungers.

youtu.be/sBPTuAl2Qyk

239. Chic McGregor

Happy New Year to all Scots who retain their dignity.

240. call me dave

Happy New Year to all wingers, may 2015 be a good year for Scotland.

To all those who are interested and who are missing wiziwig footie, closed due to the new law in Spain which took effect today try this link, and then use the side bar. Good luck,enjoy, it might not last too long.

http://crichd.tv/bt-sport-1-live-stream.php

241. Brian Doonthetoon

Just a wee post to see if ‘off-topic’ is accepting posts, after having a post disappear, along with the following two, which were truncated edits of the previous offerings, just before 8pm.

242. Brian Doonthetoon

So, I tried again, with no success.

I’m gonna paste it again, with ß in the url so, to get the url, delete the ß. There are six of them.

—————————————–

Hi call me dave.

I found out about wiziwig when I went to see if the Dundee derby was being streamed.

So I went a-Googling and found four, which all seem to work. I watched the derby via this one.

wßwßw.drakulßastream.eu/footßball-live-streaßming-vißdeo.html

243. Brian Doonthetoon

HA! SUCCESS!

Nothing succeeds like a budgie wie nae teeth.

244. Jim Thomson

There you go, fixed it for ya πŸ˜›

245. Jim Thomson

Nighty night folks. Far to long after my normal beddy-byes

246. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jim.

I believe you had a ‘senior moment’ there!

I did type,
    Just a wee post to see if β€˜off-topic’ is accepting posts, after having a post disappear, along with the following two, which were truncated edits of the previous offerings, just before 8pm.

and

So, I tried again, with no success.
    I’m gonna paste it again, with ß in the url so, to get the url, delete the ß. There are six of them.

That URL you posted won’t work in a month of referendums – unless you take out the six ß like I previously typed.

I know, it’s an age thing.

8=)

247. Paula Rose

Main thread tonight to do with football.

So honey bunches –

I have an I pad thingy from Santa

What’s the best drawing app?

248. Jim Thomson

@Brian DtT

Speed reading’s a b**** πŸ™

Sorry about that young man πŸ™‚

I thought you had stumbled across a bizarre way of representing a URL that was, errmm, dodgy πŸ˜‰

Awake now though and about to start painting a couple of walls so, not likely to be replying to any other comments until much later.

249. Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s another of the links I found for watching footie:-

http://fancystreems.com/tvcat/sportstv.php#categorychannels

250. Brian Doonthetoon

And here are the other two.

http://www.freesoccerstreams.com/

http://www.freefootball.ws/upcoming.php

That last one sometimes has miscaptioned descriptions, eg a Baseball game as ‘English Premier League’.

251. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Seeing it has roughly the same size and appearance, maybe you should have asked for an Etch-A-Sketch?

8=)

252. AuldA

@Paula:

Pixelmator. I think there’s an iPad version. It’s well worth the price. Highly commended.

253. CameronB Brodie

@Smithy
    Chin up Grasshopper, the Reel Wisdom is accepting death and change are part of life. Even James Bond agrees. πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G2wIuTdf5FQ

254. CameronB Brodie

@Smithy
    In a similar vein, perhaps?

Seamus Heaney – The Tollund Man

Some day I will go to Aarhus
    To see his peat-brown head,
    The mild pods of his eye-lids,
    His pointed skin cap.

In the flat country near by
    Where they dug him out,
    His last gruel of winter seeds
    Caked in his stomach,

Naked except for
    The cap, noose and girdle,
    I will stand a long time.
    Bridegroom to the goddess,

She tightened her torc on him
    And opened her fen,
    Those dark juices working
    Him to a saint’s kept body,

Trove of the turfcutters’
    Honeycombed workings.
    Now his stained face
    Reposes at Aarhus.

I could risk blasphemy,
    Consecrate the cauldron bog
    Our holy ground and pray
    Him to make germinate

The scattered, ambushed
    Flesh of labourers,
    Stockinged corpses
    Laid out in the farmyards,

Tell-tale skin and teeth
    Flecking the sleepers
    Of four young brothers, trailed
    For miles along the lines.

Something of his sad freedom
    As he rode the tumbril
    Should come to me, driving,
    Saying the names

Tollund, Grauballe, Nebelgard,

Watching the pointing hands
    Of country people,
    Not knowing their tongue.

Out here in Jutland
    In the old man-killing parishes
    I will feel lost,
    Unhappy and at home.

255. Ian Brotherhood

This popped into me heid today.

Dana, ‘All Kinds Of Everything’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=awhQjT14cdA

256. Jim Thomson

Ha! I’ll see your Dana and raise you a Kenneth McKellar

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SH8BQmfhUgo

257. CameronB Brodie

Stands back and munches popcorn.

The table stands at a Dana raised by a Kenneth McKellar. Was the opening an underplay or was the McKellar too strong a show?

258. Paula Rose

Bdtt darling – ah yes the “drawing machine” with little knobs that needed a good shake…

AuldA honey xx

259. Ian Brotherhood

Why didn’t these ladies ever represent Scotland at Eurovision?

The Prince Sisters, aka ‘Fran & Anna’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNGFJMJaqGU

260. Brian Doonthetoon

OK, keeping to the musical vein, here’s Wolfstone with the theme tune to the battle that we’re gonna have between now and the 7th May.

Wolfstone – “The Battle”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJyOlFmqd1M

261. Natasha

Happy New Year, everyone; just come back from England (thank God) and didn’t take my laptop, so have been out of the loop. Here’s to hope for a successful 2015.

262. Grouse Beater

Natatasha: just come back from England …”

A winter’s break in a foreign country? Lucky you.
    Happy New Year πŸ™‚

263. gerry parker

@ Ian Brotherhood.

Aye, Coatbridge’s finest. I always used to give them a wave when I seen them out and about the town.

264. Paula Rose

New thingy – called an I pad, don’t know how to do all the naughty stuff, don’t even know what thread I’m on…

265. Alex Clark

Like you Natasha I spent the New Year in England and didn’t take my laptop.

Just used my sisters instead as I couldn’t keep away. Some say an addiction is a terrible thing. If it doesn’t harm you and is in a good cause, then maybe not so bad.

@Paula Rose

You succumbed then to consumerism? An I pad indeed, pah!
    Just kidding, will be in touch.

266. Natasha

Hi Grousebeater
    Natatasha, eh? I quite like it, sounds like machine gun fire. I couldn’t wait to get back across the Border. Hate leaving Scotland just now. πŸ™‚

267. Paula Rose

The slightest strokes xx

268. Grouse Beater

Natasha Hate leaving Scotland just now.

Being half-Sicilian means most winters I’m off to warmer climes to study and write, (south of France or Spain) back early March, but major project here, hence dark dreary nights endured with only the reruns of Inspector Montelbano for light and optimism, and knock-out femme fatales.

Oops! “Natatasha”? – name for a Russian doll. (Must have sneezed!)

πŸ™‚

269. Grouse Beater

Meaningless cliche phrases to kill in 2014:

“A close knit community.”
    “All we ask for is closure.”
    “It ticks all the boxes.”
    “The insurgents of Scotland.”
    “Believe in better.”

270. Brian Doonthetoon

And,

“pooling and sharing”,
    “the settled will of the Scottish people”
    “for a lifetime/generation/year/weekend”

And, at # 1…

“Better Together”!

Tum tiddely tum tum tum ta-ra!

271. Paula Rose

@ Grouse Beater –

We are a wonderful bunch here on Wings – could you please do me a great favour and no longer cause me grief over your attacks on my lovely dance partner

Morag

It is very out of order to attack our head girl –

Please honey, when we twirl around a pole together I will stare lovingly…

But our lovely Morag is more special than perhaps you realise.

272. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m gonna stick this link in again, in cas anyone missed it over Saturnalia.

Looks like being the (first) major event of 2015.

http://allianceforscotland.tumblr.com/post/105909904956/one-convention-one-city-coming-this-january-the

273. Brian Doonthetoon

JEEZ!

“In case anyone missed it”

Mea Culpa.

274. Paula Rose

Brian Doonthetoony thingy I did suggest we had a stall there – I’ve got a brand new pair of roller skates – you know I’m always up for things, thought you had this sorted – I could do autographs.

275. Grouse Beater

The standard to beat for the weirdest post in 2015:

Paula: … our lovely Morag …

276. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

I’ve replied to you on one of the other active topics tonight but you haven’t replied to me therein.

I am bereft of existence, feeling slighted…

8=(

277. Alex Clark

I thought we were all Jock Tamson’s bairns?

So what if we disagree at times, discourse is good. I admire someone who will stand their corner defending their beliefs and opinions.

That includes you Grouse Beater though we often disagreed, same goes for Morag.

278. Natasha

Well said, Alex, when push comes to shove we are all on the same side. Let’s make a New Year’s resolution to cut each other some slack.

Bdtt you know Paula Rose loves you. Get a grip, man. πŸ™‚

279. Taranaich

The growing talk of a New Labour / Conservative coalition has me thinking we’ve wandered into some weird alternate universe:

http://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/01/03/a-new-year-an-alternate-reality/

Happy New Year to all those in this strange new reality we’ve found ourselves in!

280. Brian Doonthetoon

Nah nah Alex.

You’re completely wrong there. I do believe you’re just here for a five minute argument…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQFKtI6gn9Y

281. Ian Brotherhood

Please don’t do it people…just, please, don’t, eh?

282. Brian Doonthetoon

Och Ian, you were really asking for this, weren’t you, yi wee scamp? Gonnae no’ dae that?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xYX-k1r2DLQ

283. Ian Brotherhood

Elkie Brooks, ‘Warm And Tender Love’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Paas6gM8saA

284. Alex Clark

Ian just watched the James Kelman video.

I’m not sure where he is coming from, I can tell you this though. I read his first book “The Chancer” about 1985 just after getting married. I thought I was that guy in the book!

Never read another for a great many years it was “How Late It Was, How Late”. My Da gave me it.

If you haven’t read this then I recommend it.

285. Grouse Beater

Guys, can you lay off?

You need to read character acutely.

I removed myself from the assassination debacle on Wings many days ago – stated as much – because it’s toxic, returning here momentarily to the ‘non-politics’ thread to say hello to Natasha out of courtesy and respect, and then leave, only to get T-boned by some nonsense or other.

Now, before somebody adds something else obtuse or simple-minded that has me running to the ‘Handbook of Obscure Internet Banter’ for intepretation, please don’t throw yourselves at every post that irks you. Keep it adult.

Many thanks.

Over and out.

286. Alex Clark

@Grouse Beater

Here’s a wee video of when I lived in Easterhouse, I remember this though was only about 9 years old at the time.

It really didn’t do much good though!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KXykeBuQ5lw

287. Alex Clark

As always there are two sides to a story.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HdeKrF4vINc

288. Ian Brotherhood

Apropos of nothing in particular –

‘It will drag you to the verge of brain-burning insanity!’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i0OnDYxdilk

289. Grouse Beater

Alex: Here’s a wee video of when I lived in Easterhouse

I was told about that many years later, when still young, how the ‘great Frankie Vaughn’ had visited Easterhouse and, living in Edinburgh, my guardian wondered when he’d visit Niddrie or Pilton. But I think it was less for his ability to be a role model and inspire than because she was his Number One fan!

Got to go, Alex, only dropped by for a minute.

I’m wading through, and getting drowned by, oodles of accounts that must be in order before resuming work on Monday. I’m way behind…

‘Cheers,’ as they say for cheerio, as if raising a glass.

(On the telly beside me there’s some talented Scottish natural history cameramen in a steamy jungle somewhere, crowing about bugs and birds under their lens, another kind of reality.)

290. Alex Clark

We are all different but I believe with the same goal. Scotland can show the way. We can pave the path.

291. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

The BUG.

A cross between Ian Duncan Smith and George Osborne if ever I saw one. Humankind should be terrified.

What will they do about it? Fuck all probably.

292. Alex Clark

Has this been played before on Off Topic?

It is after all what this battle between good and evil is all about!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SYN96RWEo28

293. Alex Clark

@Brian Doonthetoon

You got it mate. Hahaha, we could all learn from this.

294. Alex Clark

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=61etFdGpXq8&list=RDHdeKrF4vINc

5 in a row. I expect a knock on the door soon.

295. Bob Sinclair

Alex, I Don’t know if you got the same wolves howling in the woods ad but as an intro, perfect

296. Natasha

Do you guys ever go to bed? Even I gave up at 3am.

297. Bugger (the Panda)

Especially for the Night Shift, IB especially.

https://hat4uk.wordpress.com/2015/01/04/revealed-how-were-paying-for-politicians-to-lie-to-us/

This is an astonishing piece of clear general analysis and opinion, devoid of tin foil hats stuff, about how the UK Gov has entered into a post Goebbelesque world of state information manipulation and near total control, paid by us.

John Ward the author write well about things he knows intimately. He also writes a lot apocalyptic stuff about economic implosions and whilst his general analysis is good his dystopian views colour his conclusions. He make mistakes about predicting the end of the World, economically speaking.

Just think about Murphy getting his hands on these big levers of State. I think Murphy could become mad and a dictator, given these powers.

298. Ian Brotherhood

@Bugger The Panda –

Interesting stuff. Cheers.

The advertising industry is something which I don’t believe many punters have any real appreciation of. It IS politics. It’s inflating the price of the stuff we already pay for, and doing so by making the advertising more ‘entertaining’ than the programming it ostensibly interrupts.

I don’t watch the box, but happened to see an advert t’other day which appeared to show liquidised shite making its way through pipework. It was utterly repulsive, but there was no volume so I don’t know what was being said. Turns out it was a advert for a brand of dishwashing-machine tablet. Not exactly subtle – if you don’t buy this specific brand then you are, in effect, trying to clean your eating utensils, glasses etc with sewage.

If they can sell us that? (and are permitted to do so) they can sell us Murphy, nae probs. If we buy it? we deserve all we get – one way or another, we’ll be paying for it. The only option is to fight:

‘I’m here to chew gum and kick ass. And I’m all outta gum.’

299. Ian Brotherhood

@BTP –

As the canonisation of Murphy continues apace, will this sort of thing still be tolerated?

Murphy’s ‘100 Towns’ Tour, in Carnoustie:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ODNlFyzbxnQ

300. Natasha

Ian Brotherhood & BtP
    Richard Murphy (Tax Research UK) gives an interesting analysis of advertising in his book “The Courageous State”, basically saying that it is simply a means to persuade ordinary people to spend more and more money on unnecessary items to the detriment of their spiritual, emotional and economic wellbeing.

Sounds a bit puritan on the surface, but when you read his book it makes perfect sense. The rich get richer through making profits from poor people spending money they can’t afford on things they don’t need.

A bit like the National Lottery – stop people from thinking about why they are poor by offering them the apparent chance of becoming stinking rich overnight – even if that so-called chance is less likely than being hit by an asteroid.

Looking forward to tomorrow’s crossword!

301. Patrician

@Ian Brotherhood, to use an old cliche about advertising. Only 50% of advertising is effective, they just don’t know which 50% it is. In the media we see lots of different images each trying to persuade us they are telling the truth about their product and in effect cancelling each other out. However, in politics now we aren’t seeing this plurality of viewpoints and the same narrative is being pushed by all the main parties. So, we get wall-to-wall austerity, neo-liberal concensus with no dissent.

302. AuldA

Weird things happen in Glasgow. Since the National does not have a scientific/technical column, here it is.

β€œScientists have harnessed the strange power of quantum mechanics to create a digital image using fewer than one photon per pixel.

In a paper published today (Monday 5 January) in the journal Nature Communications, researchers from the University of Glasgow describe how they created an image of a wasp wing using just 50,000 particles of light, none of which ever directly interacted with the wing itself.

While tens of thousands of photons might seem like a lot, it is actually an extremely small amount of light. Conventional digital cameras sample around 100,000 photons per pixel to make an image with their megapixel sensors.

The process works using quantum ghost imaging, which harnesses what Einstein called the β€˜spooky action at a distance’ property of quantum entanglement, where photons are paired so that any measurement of one instantaneously gives knowledge of the state of the other, no matter the space between them.

The work was carried out by the Optics Group in the University of Glasgow’s School of Physics and Astronomy in collaboration with researchers in Ottawa Canada. The project is the latest in a series of quantum imaging breakthroughs at the University of Glasgow, which was recently announced by the UK Government as the lead in a Β£29m Quantum Imaging Hub.

Reuben Aspden, who helped build the system, said: β€˜Our system works by sending ultraviolet light from a laser to a non-linear crystal similar to a piece of quartz. The crystal splits every incident ultraviolet photon into two infrared photons, which exit the crystal on separate trajectories in a state of quantum entanglement.’

Peter Morris, a graduate student working on the project, added: β€˜One photon illuminates the wasp wing while the other photon goes to the camera sensor. Because the photons are entangled and share information between them on a quantum level, the image is formed on the camera’s sensor by photons which have never actually β€œseen” the object for themselves.’

The experiment is calibrated so that information is only collected when a photon strikes a detector after passing through the wasp wing. This detector is also the source for the actual count of 50,000 photons.

50,000 photons work out to be less than one per pixel, so unavoidably the picture looks very noisy. The group then use statistical techniques – similar to those employed in JPEG compression of photos – to create an enhanced image.

Professor Miles Padgett, head of the Optics Group, , said: β€œImaging in extremely low light like this can be useful in areas where more intense light can damage or fade very fragile materials. It also has applications in biological imaging and defence.

β€œOur Quantum Imaging Hub will work to bring research breakthroughs such as this into the commercial sphere in the coming years.”’

303. Chic McGregor

@AuldA

Thanks for that. That will make headlines in the Physics fraternity.

304. AuldA

@C.M.G:

You’re most welcome! It’s an interesting application of quantum entanglement that for once does not revolve around cryptography or security. I’m not sure it will have any commercial applications soon, though.

I’ve no idea as to why I’m on the press list of the Glasgow university, but it’s fine with me.

305. Chic McGregor

Glasgow were the first to demonstrate quantum ‘ghost imaging’. The thing I am picking up on here(and it may be no more than a dumbing down for the leity, in which case I will be annoyed) is the ” The crystal splits every incident ultraviolet photon into two infrared photons, which exit the crystal on separate trajectories in a state of quantum entanglement.” If that is literally true then it eliminates the shared paths and possible persistence of interference effects splitters bring to the table and which still leave small question marks re the entanglement of information.

I would like to see a repeat with a slits image.

306. AuldA

@CMG:

The crystal splits every incident ultraviolet photon into two infrared photons, which exit the crystal on separate trajectories in a state of quantum entanglement.

I suppose this is a kind of Raman effect, maybe on a birefringent crystal? It is, in any case, highly non-linear, so I suppose their laser is of a high-energy or high-concentration type. That’s one of the reasons I don’t see any low-cost commercial applications soon.

If that is literally true then it eliminates the shared paths and possible persistence of interference effects splitters bring to the table and which still leave small question marks re the entanglement of information.

Interesting. Could you elaborate? Of course, being French, I’m well aware of Alain Aspect’s experiments, but I’ve never heard of the phenomena you mention.

307. Paula Rose

The Slits album “Cut” would be a good place to start (giggle).

308. AuldA

@Paula Rose:
    β€œAbsolute zero” from Hologram, a Parisian group:
    http://hologramusic.bandcamp.com

309. Alex Clark

One of the reasons I keep coming to Wings is that the comments are well how to say it? So diverse.

310. Natasha

Hi guys
    Would you believe it, someone just called me aggressive, rude and arrogant on another thread! Petit moi? Honestly, what is the world coming to? πŸ™‚

311. Alex Clark

Coming to Wings Natasha as well as the diversity you also learn to stand your corner.

I think you were just standing your corner πŸ™‚

312. Natasha

Alex, I was brought up to come out of my corner fighting at every opportunity! πŸ™‚ (Usually biting my opponent’s ankles).

313. Paula Rose

Natasha my wee honey – I thought knee-caps were your speciality!!!

314. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve never worn a knee-cap. I wouldn’t know which knee to wear it on. My education was bereft of information regarding caps, hats and sundry bunnets.

I do, however, possess a blue glittery cowboy hat, with a selection of badges round the band. I tend to wear this, intermittently, on my head, rather than my knee.

315. Natasha

Paula Rose
    Only since I grew up. When I was little(r) it was definitely ankles (unless I had access to a stool – the wooden kind, before you start sniggering). πŸ™‚

316. Paula Rose

Natasha doll –

Next time I’ve got a naughty winger on their knees come round for a bite fest!

317. Alex Clark

Now we get onto furniture and stools. I blame you Paula for not eating your greens at school dinners.

Instead of eating them you joined them. You should’ve ate them πŸ™‚

318. Brian Doonthetoon

Reminds me of an old joke…

You’ve heard about the F-Plan diet, eh?

Have you heard about the G-Plan diet? The first two courses are ok, but it gets a bit filling when you get to the suite.

However, you do get interestingly shaped stools.

319. Paula Rose

How come reproduction furniture has migrated to this thread dears?

320. Alex Clark

@Brian Doonthetoon

Haha very good.

@Paula

Here is the best place to discuss reproduction furniture πŸ™‚

Wee tune my old man used to like, not played here yet as far as I know.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MTCen9-RELM

321. David

Does the Daily record open up any article for comments now? The last few times I’ve looked, no article, whether news or sport, has been open for comments.

They can control the stories they print, but are they afraid that they cannot control what people will write as comments?! Is this a deliberate policy to shut down debate & stop people ripping their biased stories to shreds?

322. Chic McGregor

Just reviewing some of my youtubes and not at all sure, but could I have caught Nick Robinson in this BBC demo c 40 seconds in.

Don’t think it is him, but certainly a look alike.

Apologies for my singing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J6iIXVT57ho

323. Chic McGregor

AuldA

I’m talking about set ups where both the image interacting beam and the non interacting beam subsequently co-travel and or use the same beam splitter. That leaves room for some as yet unascertained information transfer mechanism. consequently there is still debate on whether such set ups demonstrate true entanglement.

324. AuldA

@CMG:
    I see. Thanks for the explanation.

I have always wondered if the underlying description of a flat space-time in the case of quantum entanglement was correct. In other words, would it be possible to find out a metric in which the particules entangled would be at a null distance until their quantum state is measured, therefore projected? But that’s on the fringe of SciFi.

325. Paula Rose

Was the wing still attached to the wasp?

326. AuldA

@Paula:
    As much as the ring is attached to the rasp.
    Or the fling to the flasp.
    Or the cling to the clasp.
    Oh blast…
    πŸ™‚

327. Natasha

I’ve just realised that in my earlier post I should have said ‘petite moi’. Oops.

328. Ian Brotherhood

@AuldA –

πŸ™‚

That’s a commendable effort there. I wouldn’t even be able to offer anything en francais anywhere near as, well, poetic?

But here’s a wee conundrum which does involve relativity and suchlike, and therefore transcends borders – if a wee mouse living in the outskirts of Edinburgh believes that his farts are louder than the One o’clock Gun (and generates pleasure among his kith and kin every day by proving so at that precise time) who would want to prove him wrong?

329. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

Only King Rat, who believes his farts are louder and sweeter.

330. Paula Rose

Typical – I come here for some erudition and the boys are being smutty.

331. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex Clark –

Aye, there’s always one.

Ever seen a ‘rat-king’?

I haven’t, but they’re fascinating all the same. Here’s a picture of one (NB anyone who doesn’t like mice, rats etc – don’t click!):

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/f4/Ratking.jpg

332. Natasha

Ian Brotherhood
    Wtf was that? I feel quite sick. And I know you said don’t click, but I don’t mind mice or rats. Yuk.

333. Paula Rose

Have I ever stroked Dave McEwan Hill, if not I want to – lovely stuff on the Union of snakes thread!

334. Alex Clark

Rats in the main are gentle creatures that will shun humans.

Some humans are rats that will drink human blood with relish.

Rats only have a bad name because of these human rats.

335. Chic McGregor

AuldA

One of my personal explanations of wave-particle duality, since undergraduate days, is that that there could be instantanaeity of energy transference possible in a direction orthogonal to that of travel.

So if you imagine the energy of a photon actually is distributed over the entirety, or perhaps just a large area, of an expanding sphere centered on its point of origin, but that once that photon interacts, all that energy instantly collapses to the point of interaction.

For the two slits experiment that energy collapses to both slits generating two new ‘half photons’ with half the energy, which because of their new source geometry recombine at one point of interaction with the detector but at points determined by that interference geometry.

The vying theory in my head is that the mass used to create the slits could retain ‘perturbations’ manifested by the refractive interaction with a photon which have sufficient persistence and ‘spread’ to influence the diffraction of a subsequent second photon through the other slit.

I have thought of an experiment to distinguish between those two which I am hoping to perform this year.

336. Thepnr

…Human rats hide themselves in the community by becoming politicians.

337. X_Sticks

Why does a rat’s fart bring Jim Murphy to mind. Is it quantum?

Enjoying the physics lesson, there’s some truly amazing stuff coming down the line. Quite mind boggling.

338. Thepnr

…Rats though fear Humans, we have the power to destroy them.

339. Paula Rose

Harrumph – rats are well loved on this site, you will all desist immediately from your smutty, vile attacks – or there will be repercussions!

340. Alex Clark

Chic/Auld A

How is it possible for a photon to have energy but no mass. So they say, just curious.

341. Thepnr

@X_Sticks

What you really meant to say was “Who gives a rats fart about Jim Murphy” sorted it for you.

342. Paula Rose

Thepnr honey – put your hand under a sunbeam, does it go down?

(Jokes about cars will not be appreciated)

343. Ian Brotherhood

@Natasha –

Stories starring such creatures emerged in Glasgow during the bin-workers strike back the 70s – it was straightforward hysteria, fanned by the success of James Herbert’s imaginatively-entitled novel (i.e. ‘Rats’) at around the same time.

I do remember staying at a cousin’s house that year, during the same week which spanned the clearance of the accumulated garbage – we were confined to the house (ground-foor, council house, Possilpark) but allowed to watch the troops clearing the mountains of rubbish from the back courts by day. By night, we watched the empty orange street being overrun by rats of all sizes, with sparse traffic – and no pedestrians! – to interrupt their meanderings. It was as thrilling as it was horrifying.

The neighbours across the landing from my Aunt’s house lost their terrier when they pulled back the covered hearth to let him get at the rats whose noise was driving them all crazy – the dog was overcome and killed. The area continued to be infested for many years following the ‘bin-strike’ despite massive regeneration efforts. Just like the properties closest to the Clyde, rats are never far away, and have probably been resident longer than humans.

(NB The last outbreak of The Black Death in Britain was in the Gorbals, just 100 years ago! – http://historicalwhatsits.tumblr.com/post/45847968151/scotianostra-gorbals-plague-outbreak-1900-it)

Probably best not to click on this either (as it features the same image) but it does provide an explanation.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rat_king_(folklore)

344. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

Can we please stick to the subject of farts?

I was on a train once from Dundee to Bristol, two of us, young guys. We changed at Edinburgh and walked up the hill to this wee student pub as we had an hour to kill.

Ordered 2 pints at the bar and despite the place being busy we managed to grab a seat, within a few minutes we had loads of space around us.

Honest it wisnae me!

345. Paula Rose

What is it with you boys?

There are ladies present, please, show some decorum.

346. Ian Brotherhood

Not sure if a wee bit ‘high culture’ mixed with the baser elements of entertainment will get things back on track, elsewise spark arguments about imperial theft etc etc…

In any event, it’s a richt guid tune, and they’re obviously very nice lads.

Dey-up, dey-up, dey, dey-up, dey-up, dey, dey-up, dey-up dey…

(Aye, that one!)

Bastille, ‘Pompeii at the British Museum’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=27DelLooE1o

347. Paula Rose

I kid you not, there are going to be some very sore botties at the next Wingie thingie unless you all behave.

348. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

No bad, a few good thigh slappers there, Reminded me of the spoon players that you got at family gatherings on Hogmany.

This ones pretty good, watch for at least 1.05 than it takes off πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=POvLaziUsTo

349. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

So, what do we get if we DO behave? πŸ™‚

350. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex Clark –

Superb stuff. Glad I watched that before hitting the sack…nicht-nicht!

351. AuldA

@Ian:
    First, thanks! πŸ™‚
    I’ve nothing against rats or mice or other rodents chugging along every day, as long as they do not produce too much methane, which could add to the greenhouse effect.

@CMG:
    It’s an interesting theory and experiment. Personally, I rather think that we have somehow struck a fundamental limitation of human knowledge, in terms of comprehension. Quantum mechanics rises unfathomable riddles, and not only entanglement and its paradoxical instantaneous transmission of information; e.g.: how β€˜Nature’ chooses between the various quantum states during a measurement (i.e. the mechanism behind degenerescence).

Mathematics, as we know them, are not a universalism. They are the product of our brains, nervous systems, and therefore are subject to the same limitations. Our brains are wonderful tools that are designed to handle correctly physical situations we deal with every day, i.e. macroscopic sets. As such, what happens to the microcosm is simply dazzling, because we are not equipped with the required logic (or senses) to comprend the underlying mechanisms fully. I’d say that, had we evolved as beings a few nanometers high, quantum mechanisms would probably be as crystal clear as classical physics is to us, whereas we would probably be fazed by the laws describing macroscopic systems.

@Alex:
    Massless photons. Mass seems to be created by an interaction between a ‘particle’ (whatever that means) and an infinity of other ‘particles’, cramming all space, and called ‘Higgs bosons’. A mass particle must somehow jostle against those bosons when it moves, but they resist, and that creates inertial mass (think about moving in a pool full of balls). Photons are somehow capable of moving between the Higgs bosons without disturbing them, and therefore are massless. But they still possess β€˜energy’.

There are three types of masses. The one I just spoke about, the inertial mass, represents the difficulty to lug something (or to stop it once it moves). The other mass is the passive gravitational mass, which is tied to how quickly an object falls in a gravitational field, e.g. near the Earth. And the third one tells us how intense is the gravitational field generated by a body (e.g. the Earth). For some unknown reason (fundamental assumption of General relativity), all these masses are equal. But there is no reason why they should. It’s another big mystery of physics.

352. Chic McGregor

@Alex
    AuldA gives a good ‘real world’ analogy for current consensus theory. Basically, what we call ‘particles’ [sustainably (perhaps not for long) localised, organisations of what we call ‘energy’ (really a conceptual construct to quantify the potential changes in momentum of whatever other ‘particles’ we might be able to use to detect/measure it)] have a different propensity to interact with each other. That propensity between ‘particles’ down at the individual particle level is quantised (basically it either can or cannot happen).
    When no such interaction between particles occurs there is no change in momentum in either for us to detect or quantify.
    A photon (with, albeit, a vaguer understanding re ‘locality’) fits the definition of a ‘particle’.
    Whatever kind of ‘particles’ might constitute the ‘fabric of space’, it appears that photons do not interact with them at all.
    This is where the pushing through balls analogy falls down, because in that scenario a photon would slow down, however gradually, but we see no evidence to suggest that happens in free space.
    A closer analogy might be the motion of electrons in a conducting loop. Normally when a driving potential is removed, the electronic current will stop very quickly due to them interacting with the conducting material’s particles but in certain conditions of conductor material and temperature (superconductor) interaction between the electrons and the conducting material are eliminated (or very greatly reduced) so in that case the driving potential may be removed but the electrons continue to move round the superconducting loop indefinitely. An imaginary sentient being inhabiting this superconducting loop might invent a word to describe this property of the electron which was more analogous to the term ‘massless’.

However, if we put a particle which can interact with a photon, e.g. an electron, in its path then there is an energy exchange we can detect in the electron and a transfer of momentum which the photon must have ‘had’.

Mass, in some ways, is the more special case. A particular piece of ‘mass’ can have its velocity changed, but only if there is an energy/momentum exchange with something else with the additional proviso that there is no net change overall in total energy or momentum. That means, that if a third party ‘space fabric particle’ is involved the mechanism is a null net one for these properties.

But the fact that velocity of a ‘mass’ may be changed and that energy/momentum reconfiguration is required to do so and the fact that mass can itself warp (change) the properties of space locally suggests an interaction with some kind of particle.

353. Chic McGregor

AuldA

I am more than willing to accept spooky action at a distance and the Copenhagen interpretation on determinism. That is actually my emotional/spiritual preference. However I am not convinced all ‘understandable’ alternative explanations have yet been exhausted.

Agree on the limitations of mathematics. Indeed even at the most basic level I find it can obscure understanding rather than aid it. And worse, can do so in a way where even very intelligent people do not even see that they fail to really understand something as simple as the square relationship for kinetic energy because the formulas used bred simple acceptance rather than thinking it through for themselves.

354. Charles Edward

Conservative and Labour insurgents spotted at local Spar purchasing Telegraph..
    Photon torpedoes with anti – matter warheads at the ready..

355. AuldA

@CMG:

I won’t comment on the first part, partly because I hardly want to transform O/T into a metaphysical thread – but it’s a good example that the more we discover, the more questions we raise, and thus the more we learn that we DON’T know – and partly because I have some problems to focus after what happened to my β€˜colleagues’ a few hundreds meters from home.

W/r to mathematics, I’d say that most genius had intuitive grasps/grips of their future theories, that only later got formalized. Mathematics is a tool useful to describe how the world works, as much as English is a tool to express other ideas.

356. Alex Clark

Nothing (with mass) can travel at the speed of light.

Photons without mass are light so this rule does not apply.

@Auld A

It’s a complicated world, violence against each other though no matter the “cause” is unacceptable.

357. Chic McGregor

AuldA
    I don’t want to discuss matters which are imponderable either. ‘Spiritual’ was used in the loosest sense as I am not religious at all. It is just,I choose to hope that things are not deterministic so that therefore there is such a thing as free will and meaningful sentience. Merely mentioned that lest you thought my personal motivation was to disprove the spookiness. Quite the opposite.

What happened to your ‘colleagues’? Apologies if it is something I should know.

358. Alex Clark

@Chic

I take it Auld A means the terrorist attack today on Charlie magazine.

359. Chic McGregor

Alex
    Thanks, haven’t caught the news today.

360. Chic McGregor

Just checked the news. Terrible events. My thoughts are with you and your fellow citizens AuldA.

361. AuldA

@CMG:

Thanks so much. Since there is now a dedicated thread, I won’t discuss it anymore here.
    I’ll return to our more physical conversation tonight.

362. Paula Rose

Got the vin, got the canapΓ©s

When does the physical stuff start?

363. AuldA

@Paula:
    Paula, are you a sensualist? πŸ™‚

364. Ian Brotherhood

This episode of Roobarb & Custard contains some profound metaphorical/allegorical lessons relating to Murphy/SLab, but I haven’t figured out what they are…yet.

Rubber bones, anyone?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I4aVXeDg3U4

365. Paula Rose

I love those particles rubbing themselves up against my quantumness.

366. AuldA

I’m sure you exert a sort of magnetic force on every electron that revolves around you, especially when your spin is not zero.

I was told that a lot of modern physicists work on the G-string theory, hoping to solve the fundamental problem of why there is no such thing as a naked singularity.

367. Paula Rose

What would be the point of a naked singularity if there was no-one there to observe it? Obvious I would have thought.

368. AuldA

@Paula:
    You’re right. And astronomers have big telescopes, especially when singularities are naked. πŸ˜‰

369. Ian Brotherhood

A superb edition of The Clangers, with all sorts of pagan stuff going on when the Soup Dragon goes on a broody downer, thus threatening the food supply.

The Clangers, ‘The Egg’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G512fvK9KXA

370. pete the camera

get your Quantum peeper around this from 15:30 in

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b04xsc5m/scotland-2015-07012015

sorry Auld A if it does not work for you

371. Ian Brotherhood

Copying this from the BTL comments on a CH4 Paul Mason article which Rev linked to earlier his evening via Twitter. It seems genuine, and important, but I’m not sure where else it can go…

Paddy Briggs 03-Jan-14

I was the Commercial Manager for Shell in Scotland from 1983-1986. In this job I had the overall responsibility for serving the needs of our customers in (inter alia) the Road Transport sector. As the miners’ strike intensified concern was expressed about the future of the huge Ravenscraig steelworks. The furnaces at Ravenscraig required coal to keep them functioning and if the fire in a furnace was extinguished then that furnace was lost – at huge cost. To keep the furnaces operating, even at a low level, required huge quantities of coal. This was normally supplied directly from Scottish mines – mostly by rail. Because of the Miners’ strike this supply source was stopped so British Steel sourced their Coal from overseas and imported it through a Terminal at Hunterston in Ayrshire. The coal then had to be road-bridged by truck from the Terminal to the Steel Plant – a distance of about 50 miles. The Haulage contractor appointed by British Steel for this task was a company called β€œYuill and Dodds” of Hamilton run by the well-known Mr James Yuill (known to all as Jimmy). Yuill and Dodds was a Shell customer for the diesel and the lubricants their trucks needed. One day I was asked by one of my staff to visit Jimmy Yuill who was concerned that the supplies of diesel he needed might be interrupted because the Transport and General Workers Union (T&GWU) would order their members working for Shell not to make fuel deliveries to him. Inter-union cooperation was a key part of the Miners’ strike and the Railway Unions were Full Square behind Arthur Scargill and his National Union of Mineworkers (NUM). The position of the T&GWU was more ambivalent and I think quite local in its application. I realised that if Mr Yuill was to be kept in business and more importantly if Ravenscraig was to be kept open then Shell would need the cooperation of the local T&GWU. I arranged a meeting with the Senior T&G shop steward at our depot at Grangemouth alongside the BP refinery. This gentleman was not only the senior Shell Union official but one of the Union’s top men at a National level. He sat on the various negotiating panels that negotiated terms and conditions with the Oil industry. I had met him before and we got on well. He was a shrewd and very fair man – strong in his views but not a militant. Together we reviewed the situation. We agreed that the primary motivation must be to keep Ravenscraig open – it employed huge numbers on site and many more in service industries in the area and across Scotland. On behalf of his members I was given an assurance that there would be no disruption of fuel supplies to Yuill and Dodds. This story is a complex one in the febrile conditions of the time. My Shop Steward colleague was naturally supportive of the Miners in their strike – as indeed was I (though, given my position, not openly!). On the other hand I had a Shell customer to protect both in the Company’s interests and in that of the wider business community around Ravenscraig and, of course, the huge plant itself (it was a large customer for Shell lubricants). I was largely on my own in seeking this accommodation with the Union via the Shop Steward. I reported the details to my boss in London. He rang me early one morning and asked me point blank (he was like that!) whether I could assure him that I believed what I was doing was the right thing to do (I did) and that no flack would hit Shell as a result of the deal (more difficult!). He backed me 100% and locally we got on with the task. Yuill and Dodds got their fuel. Ravenscraig stayed open and there were few if any reports in the media about Shell’s involvement. (There were plenty of reports about Yuill and Dodds though as secondary pickets tried, unsuccessfully, to stop the coal trucks getting into Ravenscraig!). I have not told this story before but have been prompted to do so by the report that Margaret Thatcher was prepared to use the Armed Forces to help defeat the miners. Some are saying that this would have been to help the movement of essential supplies. I do not, of course, know the truth of this claim. All I can report is my own experience which was that locally essential supplies were kept going and with the cooperation of a major Union. My guess is that this was replicated across the Country and that there was little need for Mrs Thatcher to use the Army to provide transport. So if the Forces were on standby it was for other reasons.

http://blogs.channel4.com/paul-mason-blog/thatcher-miners-official-papers-confirm-strikers-worst-suspicions/265#sthash.dMBE9eXv.1HjWopOl.dpuf

372. Natasha

Hi Ronnie!
    πŸ™‚ xx

373. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

Those were interesting times. I was just about finishing my apprenticeship in 1979 when it was decided that out shipyard was to be closed.

So another 1000 to be put on the dole and what about the apprentices. We demanded a seat at the table so as the apprentices could get some kind of guarantee. We didn’t trust our own union to do it for us!

I was elected for the boilermakers and allowed to attend the most important meeting when Graham Day turned up.

We’ed just sat down and before the meeting started I was told by my shop steward “keep yer mouth shut unless we tell you to speak”

Fuck that! I said my piece despite the glares, it was our jobs too. Didn’t do much good though and in hindsight we could have done a lot better.

374. Grouse Beater

I’ve never posted a link to a song, so here’s my choice, a wee troupe that I know. They always cheer me up, dispel the blues. Might even ask that it’s played when … I’m gone. Hope ya-all get as much enjoyment as I do, dudes.

YouTube: Cups Tap Dance – Anne Kendrick

πŸ™‚

375. Alex Clark

Hey Grouse Beater

Link is not clickable? Do I just search for it? Suggest you post a clickable link, make it easier for others.

376. ronnie anderson

@ Alex Clark And a lot of apprentices didnt know they were covered by laws.I was told by a shop steward we were going on strike Iron Steel Trades Federation,like you Alex I told them to fuck off, the Molders that were they’re 40 odd years didnt even know that apprentices could,nt be forced to go on strike as we were learning a Trade.

377. ronnie anderson

@ Natasha xx hope you enjoyed the vidio.

378. Alex Clark

@ronnie

I was not yet 20 years old then, we sold out. My experience a year or so later with George Galloway could have put me off politics for life.

If I didn’t believe in the Independence campaign that is.

379. X_Sticks

@Paula

Your charm has my quarks coming over all strangeness πŸ˜‰

380. Alex Clark

@Grouse Beater

That’s a foot tapper and one to make you smile. Cheers.

381. Ian Brotherhood

@Grouse Beater –

Aye, that worked, and very good it was too…click-clickety-click-click, click-click!

382. ronnie anderson

@ GrouseBeater certainly better than playing Taps at this time of nite,am in ma barracks.

383. Alex Clark

tick-tickety-tock-tock-tock-tock

384. Grouse Beater

Thanks, guys.

I’ve got my eyes on the red head in the blue top.

She’s got all sinuous the moves, shoulders, arms, hips, and legs back up to her shoulders. Very graceful.

Okay, I’ll take her.

Don’t bother to wrap her.

πŸ™‚

385. Thepnr

This will either lift your soul or give you a headache.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iWOyfLBYtuU#t=121

386. Cactus

Good Friday morning cool people..

I love Scotland.

387. AuldA

@Cactus: It was a bit early.

@Paula: Have you added quantums leaps to your list of skills? πŸ™‚

388. Jim McIntosh

Headline on page 20 of today’s National:

‘POLICE TASER MAN WITH KNIFE’

How does that work then?

389. jackie g

Hi all,

been keeping up with this all morning:

siege in Dammartin-en-Goele, north-east of Paris.

So far no fatalities ( was reported that there had been shots) but has been confirmed the two suspects are holding hostages..

390. AuldA

The second siege in Porte de Vincennes is only a few hundred meters from home.
    In fact, it’s a miracle I could pick up my son at school. All the pupils are more or less confined in the schools right now. The avenue right before my building looks like a military camp: police, fire brigade, emergency medical vehicles… Charming!

391. Alex Clark

If you got a headache from the video that I put up late last night, here’s one with no pictures.

Better than an aspirin.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0wi75BBkLqs

392. Alex Clark

Something we don’t hear that often on Off Topic. A wee bit of heavy.

Radar Love

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zf53Pg2AkdY

393. Cactus

Howdy Alex Clark, top band, good year, groovy tune. Isn’t it funny strange how the audience were so static back then? Let’s DISCO! πŸ™‚

Here’s another of my favourites from their ‘The Naked Truth’ tour:

Twilight Zone ~ Golden Earring (Dutch ROCK)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H4uPp69TMLI

394. Brian Doonthetoon

OK, seeing as we’re in the region of ‘heavy’ from the early 70s…

John Peel reckoned that this was the rock single/track of 1974. It was actually the B Side of ‘The Six Teens’ but would have made a cracker of a Double-A Side.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fh9WmAV5Ly0

395. Alex Clark

Howdy to you too Cactus (tips hat. Have a feeling we will catch up again soon.

@Brian Doonthetoon

I was watching the video saying to myself “that lead singer looks just like Brian Connely from the Sweet”.

Stupid me! I didn’t realise it was the Sweet πŸ™‚

I preferred this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g3–_S86-sc

396. Brian Doonthetoon

Ah, deep joy from the Sweetich progressy periodical. Beardymost, for the ‘artisty integrigrail’ and a fundemold of harmonia on the vocal twitterage.

397. Alex Clark

Quiz time.

Who spotted the halo above Brian Connely’s head?

What was that he was wearing on his left pocket? Clue it was not a yes sticker πŸ™‚

398. Brian Doonthetoon

That was an “Eh’ll be Eh” patch Alex.

399. Paula Rose

I’m charm.

400. Ian Brotherhood

@Brian Doonthetoon –

Ha!

‘Deep Joy’ would’ve been a splendid name for a heavy-metal outfit, with Unwin on drums.

401. Alex Clark

OK A wee bit different. I respected this man for his music.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FyejB43PKkE

402. Alex Clark

This is the song he was recording. Has a special place in my heart, will tell you about it later.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oB4K0scMysc

403. Patrician

@AuldA 3:40pm. I hope you and yours are all OK after today.

404. AuldA

@Patrician:
    It’s okay, thanks a lot. Now we must somehow cope with the β€œfallout”, especially explaining to the children what happened.

I somehow hoped Nicola Sturgeon would take part in tomorrow’s demonstration, but it seems she’s not been invited.

405. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

ALLIANCE CONVENTION DUNDEE
    Saturday, 17th January.

The Wings stall is confirmed. There is no charge for having the stall but all stall helpers must have tickets for the event.

How to get tickets is detailed on the Convention’s web site:-

http://allianceforscotland.tumblr.com/post/105909904956/one-convention-one-city-coming-this-january-the

Β£5.50 and a limited number of ‘unwaged’ tickets are available.

I did a more extensive post about this convention on Christmas Eve, with details of guest speakers and so on. You can find it here:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-16/#comment-1942147

So, how many Wingers, apart from the Troon and Aberdeenshire contingents, are gonna be volunteering to hang around our stall in Dundee next Saturday?

406. Paula Rose

Yippee Wingie stallie!

But… Having problems booking a ticket on my etch-a-sketch, if someone could get me one, I will of course reimburse (with a wee extra).

And a wee sherry afterwards perchance?

407. AuldA

@Paula:
    You support the β€˜oui’? πŸ™‚

408. AuldA

@Paula:
    I could even say β€˜Oui chΓ©rie’?

409. Willie John

Can someone help? How can I find the voting records from the SG on a particular subject – either by party or by individuals. There’s a Red Tory fantasist being silly and I’m sure I read somewhere that Labour originally voted against the introduction of RET. Story at https://archive.today/3uDH1. I’d love to respond but need to have facts.

410. Charles Edward

Robert Burns supper in Moscow ( not the one in Ayrshire).

Should the Scottish leadership send a delegation to Russia to reinforce links with Putin’s government?
    We are entering an interesting phase in international relations and Mother Russia is becoming increasingly upset.
    It might be in the interests of Scots to remember all our old allies from WWII, not just the Americans.

The fallout of American empire building has not been fully discussed.

411. Ian Brotherhood

Time for some Saturday Night Magic with Daniel Chesterfield!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zvJRESt4MHs

412. Brian Doonthetoon

C’mon now, don’t be shy. Who’s coming to Dundee for the convention next Saturday?

We could always have an ad hoc get-together in the Counting House after the event.

413. Alex Clark

@BTD

Brian I will try and make it along, can bring some material too.

@Paula Rose

I’ll take care of the tickets, you can buy me a beer.

414. Brian Doonthetoon

Good to read Alex!

Glad you sorted out the damsel in distress also. We’ll be at the Dalhousie Building from just after 9. Still got stuff in the back of the van from St Andrew’s Day. Pete’s gonna have a plethora of badges to entice the natives and explorers.

If anyone else can bring materials for the Wings stall, it won’t be wasted.

Let’s do it!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mivOhQhRiHI

415. Ian Brotherhood

James Brown, ‘Sex Machine’ (Live, Rome, 1971) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeNY-_Jo6oQ

416. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie Anderson.

Gill the RIC Panda is wondering if she’s going to see you at next week’s Alliance For Scotland Convention.

417. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: anyone who wants to help put the stall together next week should get to the Dalhousie Building just after 9am.

The Convention starts at 10.

418. Alex Clark

@BDTT

I’ll make it for 09:00, see you outside.

Can you phone me, my old phone has packed in and I lost all my contacts.

419. Brian Doonthetoon

Will do. You giving Paula Rose a hurl in your limo?

420. Paula Rose

Nope, it’ll be The purring new roller!

421. Alex Clark

Paula’s peddling, I’m in the rickshaw. It’s an age before beauty thing.

422. Alex Clark

Anybody else have a problem with the site taking forever to update the posts? Started happening with me yesterday and has continued all day despite my best efforts at getting around it.

423. AuldA

@Alex:

Welcome to reality.
    I’ve never seen it work differently.

424. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

Yep. It’s been happening on-and-off for weeks. Some comments I’ve posted have vanished forever. So it goes…

425. Ian Brotherhood

…and then that last one goes up instantly. Murphy’s Law, eh? (9.42)

426. Natasha

Hi everyone
    I’ll be there on the 17th; bought two tickets and then read that Paula Rose already had a chevalier to the rescue, so I’ll try and persuade husband to come along.
    Looking forward to seeing you all. πŸ™‚

427. Natasha

Alex Clark
    What is it that Paula Rose is peddling, exactly? Nothing dodgy I hope. πŸ˜‰

428. Ian Brotherhood

What’s happened to the bold Oneironaut of late? Haven’t seen him posting, but know he’s alive and well as I spotted him today, out and about, taking in the bracing Ayrshire air.

Come in Oneironaut…come in Oneironaut…

429. Alex Clark

@Natasha

Just the rickshaw, we don’t do dodgy peddling in Angus. Apart from the odd bad tattie or two!

430. Ian Brotherhood

@Natasha –

So far as I’ve ever been aware, Paula Rose deals only in dreams and deep joy.

431. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

I’d like to make a suggestion…

All Wingers who are coming to Dundee next weekend – if you have a name badge from Wings Over Invergowrie (September) and/or Wings Over Glasgow (November), wear it/them!

I will now retreat to consume my roast pork supper…

432. Alex Clark

I’d like to remind you Brian. Or Wings Over Arbroath.

Yes, the one with the dodgy spelling πŸ™‚

433. Brian Doonthetoon

Ah but, eh but, they weren’t ‘name’ badges, like Invergowrie and Glasgow.

BTW: the spelling of the Seafest badge was fixed so we can send a ‘correct’ one to Rev Stu. I hope to get the jiffy bag of badges sent off to him on Tuesday.

434. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: in case anyone’s interested…

It was 10 seconds between me hitting ‘Submit Comment’ and the previous post appearing on the page.

435. cearc

Sorry, cannot come. I have a house full of people at the moment and won’t have time to recover and go away so soon.

Have fun everyone and don’t let that Paula Rose do anything I wouldn’t do. Pedaloes or peccadilloes.

436. ronnie anderson

@ Briandoonthetoon Ma Grandson is at colledge in Renfrew & has to leave the hotel on Fridays to come & stay with me for W/end I,m going to look at a couple of Cars this week so need to wait & see.

437. Natasha

Ronnie Anderson 12.08am
    Great video Ronnie, thanks for the link; loved the Dim Jim one too.
    xx

438. goldenayr

The most disgusting display of state propaganda is going on with morning call on radio Scotland.
    We’ve now to spy on our neighbours.
    Where are we?
    Stalinist Russia?
    1930s Germany?
    or
    McArthy era America?

439. Paula Rose

I can’t get 8 down.

440. AuldA

@Paula Rose:
    Try a glass of Seven up πŸ™‚

441. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Keep looking…you may see a pattern?

442. Alex Clark

What Westminster have always thought of Scotland.

Spitting Image http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nljGymA7siw

443. Natasha

Alex Clark 10.45pm
    Brilliant link; nothing’s changed really, has it?
    πŸ™‚

444. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex Clark –

Great find there mister!

Amazed we haven’t seen that one before on here. (We haven’t, have we?)

445. Alex Clark

No we’ve never seen it before was only put on YewChoob 1 week before the vote an Sept 11. Shame πŸ™

446. Michael McCabe

Post not showing up. Will keep trying until they do.

447. Michael McCabe

The Union. Why does it feel like a forced Marriage. Try Marriage Counselling Someone Said. Tried That. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nu8ta_ECc5s&feature=player_detailpage Roll on the Divorce. Aye till I die.

448. Michael McCabe

My earlier posts that never showed up was because I forgot to strip away the bit before the ww thingy. Sorry if I have clogged anything up. and apologies to whoever deals with it if I have. All the best for 2015 to all Wingers.

449. Alex Clark

@Michael McCabe

Yer back πŸ™‚ and all the best for 2015 to you. Your link obviously led me to this. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry.

I see this video in a different light now, it is heartbreaking.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pZgu0KichKE

450. Michael McCabe

He is a good Artist And best of all a Yes Man. Hope you enjoyed your Holiday Alex. And are back refreshed for the Battle ahead of us. This time Though. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Un5oEdfrm_A&feature=player_detailpage And We will Win.

451. Alex Clark

Another song that means much to me. One day all will be revealed?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EsCyC1dZiN8

452. pete the camera

this deserves more watcher on youtube

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FSFwqjYnZTg

453. Chic McGregor

pete the camera

Similar feel to this one penned by an ex pat for the indy ref.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sRpUFlWhhUo

454. Ian Brotherhood

@AudA –

A few weeks ago you were asking for short words meaning ‘to study intensively, cram’ etc.

Just stumbled across ‘con by rote’, and it’s described as an archaic term, but does seem close to what you were looking for.

455. Betty Boop

@Briandoonthetoon

I haven’t been around Wings much recently (too busy with GE stuff) and started trawling through the comments and found the answer to my question re the stall at the Dundee conference this weekend.

Ok on the stall pour moi and JimT. Hope to hear some of the conf as well. I haven’t been producing much that’s of use since the ref. so don’t know what to concentrate on at the mo’. Head is spinning with number of groups trying to get started just now. So, question:

Do we have any leaflets, merch or anything for the stall?

456. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop.

I have all the stuff that remained on the stall at the end of the St Andrews Day Gathering – Aye Right leaflets, WBB leaflets and so on, plus we have a stock of iScot magazines to distribute, courtesy of kendomacaroonbar.

And, of course, Pete will be manning the badge bar. We have quite a few new ones.

457. Paula Rose

And I’ll be offering a variety of strokes at very reasonable prices!

458. Betty Boop

@ Paula Rose, 7:02pm

And I’ll be offering a variety of strokes at very reasonable prices!

Oooooh, Paula, still all a tremble since the last one!

@ Bdtt, Sounds good. Looking forward to seeing you all at the w/end.

459. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Pete and I were at a ‘Team YES Bus’ meeting tonight so, on Saturday, we’ll have a wee supply of ‘Team YES Bus’ t-shirts to sell, at a fiver each. Proceeds from the t-shirts will of course, go back to TYB.

But it’s something else for the Wings stall, iye?

460. Alex Clark

All for a good cause is OK with me. Do you have any small πŸ™‚

461. Natasha

Bdtt: a wee supply of β€˜Team YES Bus’ t-shirts

Alex Clark: Do you have any small

Mine’s a large.(Too many mince pies and cream). Can’t be bothered with a New Year diet; will soon be as wide as I am tall (completely spherical midget).
    πŸ™

462. Brian Doonthetoon

I don’t know about sizes but I’ll tell Pete (who’s picking them up) to try for a small for you Alex.

I think you’ll be ok for a large Natasha – but, are you havin’ a joke?

8=)

463. Brian Doonthetoon

Oops! Nearly forgot. The reason I came back in here was to post a music link.

Gordy Duncan Jnr is the son of the late, legendary piper, Gordon Duncan. There’s info about Junior’s musical career at the link to the song.

https://gordyduncanjr.bandcamp.com/track/where-i-belong

His dad was the guy who ‘rediscovered’ the art of note bending on the pipes, latterly used to great effect by the Red Hot Chilli Pipers. This link takes you to his original version of AC/DC’s ‘Thunderstruck’, since covered by many.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_EwDlUHoDFo

464. Brian Doonthetoon

And, if you’re intae the pipes, you’ll have already watched “DUELING PIPERS”.

youtube.com/watch?v=amNF_F6oeRU

465. Brian Doonthetoon

Or, indeed,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amNF_F6oeRU

(Clipped off a tad too much.)

466. Alex Clark

That was great Brian, here’s the original Banjo dueling.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1tqxzWdKKu8

467. Michael McCabe

Did someone mention Iain Duncan Smith. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Exh8t6lUpAI&feature=player_detailpage

468. AuldA

@Ian: β€”

β€˜Con by rote’. A wise choice. I wasn’t aware of the archaic sense of β€˜to con’, akin to German β€˜kennen’, be known. Thanks for digging this out. However, it’s still not the word I was frantically trying to find riffling through my dictionary. If I remember correctly, it was a four letter verb with only one meaning synonymous to β€˜din into’. I hope my memory is not tricking me, though.

Thanks so much Ian!

469. Betty Boop

@ Briandoonthetoon

The questions just keep coming – re Dundee conference, will the stalls be indoors. Thinking ahead, Brrr…., for a trip to the east coast πŸ™‚

470. Jim Thomson

Just looked at Met Office website forecast for saturday in sunny Dundee …

http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/public/weather/forecast/gfjchqtgsdk1#?fcTime=1421452800

Brrrr indeed.

471. Jim Thomson

Just a wee push for one of our Central Ayrshire constituency candidates, Philippa Whitford. She now has a shiny new website at
    http://whitford.scot.

Worth a look and a read.

472. James Caithness

Does anyone have the link (or can tell me where to get it) that appeared on WINGS regards MPs expenses. On the link you typed in the MP and it gave you an easy to see breakdown of their expenses for certain years.

473. Jim Thomson

In today’s National, pages 24/25, photo of a ballet dancer. Please someone confirm to me that’s a badly photoshopped picture. The leg on the right looks OK but, surely, the one on the left is anatomically bizarre (for want of a better word).

474. Jim Thomson

@James Caithness

would it be this website: http://www.parliamentary-standards.org.uk/ ?

475. AuldA

@Ian:

By the way, there is β€˜to mug up’ too. β€˜I have to mug that subject up before my lecture.’

476. Brotyboy

I’ve done a wee piece on Rab Bruce’s Spider to answer an earlier criticism of the Yes voter as acting out of self-interest. It references Scott Minto’s Trident article on Wings, as well as others.

http://rbs.postach.io/yes-voters-morals

477. Ian Brotherhood

@AuldA –

What about ‘bone up’? Did we already try that one?

478. AuldA

@Ian –

Yep. I clearly remember having said that I was more used to writing β€˜bone up’ because I was more American- than β€˜British’ oriented. AFAIK, β€˜bone up’ is more American than British English, but of course, the limits are thin. Now I write things like β€˜clype’, β€˜stooshie’ or β€˜fankle’, so things have really evolved on my side! πŸ˜‰

So, it was a verb without an additional particle. Plain form. The quest never ends! πŸ™‚

479. Betty Boop

@ Briandoonthetoon
    and everyone else interested.

Just got an email to say that the Alliance for Scotland Convention in Dundee this weekend has been postponed until 19th September – weather and double booking of some speakers apparently.

Email content below:

“A Message from Alliance for Scotland: Unforeseen severe weather & a few double booked panellists require us to postpone our Convention, but we’ll be back in September one year on from referendum, no snow then hopefully! We can only apologise & we’re very disappointed to have to postpone the event, but we’re looking positively to September & we have several smaller events throughout the rest of the year giving plenty of opportunities for debate & political engagement. Full refunds are available, you can do this via EventBrite. Or alternatively you can keep hold of you ticket which will still be valid in September. The event date has now been changed to the 19th September. Alliance for Scotland – Dundee first political convention is a huge opportunity for the public to engage in politics in a way never seen before. You only have to have an interest in politics to come along, or just want to chat face to face with politicians or even just want to hear from one particular party or group. Alliance For Scotland Convention 10:00 -17:00 19th September 2015 Dalhousie Building Old Hawkhill Dundee University. Tickets Β£5.50 via http://www.yesconnect.scot & http://www.eventbrite.co.uk. Unwaged tickets available & tickets will be available on the door. Email for details: info@allianceforscotland.org.uk We shall still have four main debates throughout the course of the day & workshops on various topics & 20 + different stalls from political parties, campaigns, local action groups, charities, national bodies, arranged in the foyer & upper level. All debates will still be chaired by broadcaster & journalist David Torrance Please invite as many friends as possible to the event & share this on your page or your group page. Tickets can be purchased via EventBrite or if you Join http://www.yesconnect.scot you can buy tickets on the event page. Please remember refunds are available for tickets purchased already, see eventbrite site for details. Once again apologies for such short notice, we hope to have your interest & support continue for September. Regards The Alliance Team
    ALLIANCE FOR SCOTLAND CONVENTION

Hosted by Alliance for Scotland

Saturday, 19 September 2015 from 10:00 to 17:00 (BST)

Dalhousie Building, Old Hawkhill, Dundee, Scotland DD1 5EN”

480. Betty Boop

@Briandoonthetoon

Shame about this weekend. We’ll just have to think of something else, eh? If the weather isn’t too bad, and the Met Office don’t seem to think it is going to be too awful this weekend, might there be an alternative for Wingers who were all geared up for meeting up this weekend?

Who was going anyway?

481. Betty Boop

@ Briandoonthetoon

RE: my last posting in consideration of the postponement of the Dundee convention when I asked if there might be an alternative Wingers meet. Well, within the short space of time between then and now, I have received an invitation which will preclude a trip to the bonnie toon o’ Dundee on Saturday.

Hope to catch up with everyone soon; was there any further interest or arrangement in the offing for a Wings do in Embra? or anywhere? Nice to get one going before the GE really kicks off.

482. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop.

I would have thought an email to intending stallholders wouldn’t have gone amiss. Who did you get your email from?

There’s a Team YES Bus foodbank collection from 11am to 2pm at City Square.

483. BettyBoop

@Briandoonthetoon

Hi Brian,

Got an the email from AllianceforScotland via Eventbrite.com

It is also on the http://www.eventbrite.com list of Dundee events.

484. Brian Doonthetoon

Mmmmm…

I got our tickets through yesconnect.scot. They’re still dating the event as this Saturday, running until November!

Time: Jan 17 2015 at 10:00 – Nov 17 2015 at 17:00

No communication from that site.

485. X_Sticks

Bummer the Alliaince thing is postponed. I was looking forward to that.

Ah, well, we’ll just have to look forward to the next get-together.

Is Edinburgh 13th Feb still on the cards?

486. Alex Clark

@Brian and Betty

I got the same email from Eventbrite, definitely cancelled until September. Shame.

487. gerry parker

@ James Caithness.

Available here for your MP is you scroll down after accessing your MP’s details.

http://www.theyworkforyou.com/

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.