New high score

Posted on June 01, 2013 by

Littered with bank and school holidays, and often with the first glimpse of summer luring people out of doors away from their TVs, newspapers and monitor screens, May is usually a pretty slow month in politics. (Except in election years, of course.) We’re human too, and the last 30 days saw fewer posts on Wings Over Scotland than any this year – 83 compared to the Jan-Apr average of 101.

So we’re extra-chuffed about this:

mayuv

That’s a whopping 15% increase on last month’s all-time record, and over 8,300 more unique readers. (Number of visits was also up slightly, with total pageviews marginally down as you’d expect from the decreased post count.)

As ever, thanks to everyone who makes the site worthwhile by coming here to read it. We’re taking a research day today, but no more slacking after that. There’s work to do.

Subscribe
Notify of

28 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Holebender

I’m certainly unique! 😉

Hillbillhoilday

Congratulations! Far better than my feeble efforts..
link to stats.grok.se
link to en.wikipedia.org

Rod Mac

Referring back to Eric Joyce’s piece yesterday let us hope a lot of these 63111 are Don’t Knows .
Congratulations it goes to show when the material is truth and reality the people respond.
As print papers shed readers like snow off a dyke this is brilliant news.

Silverytay

Well done Rev , its sites and stats like this that will ensure we get the yes vote that we all desire .
This is now my first and last site that I visit everyday .
As the saying goes onwards and upwards .

Weedeochandorris

Excellent.  Onwards and upwards!

Quick the suns oot

I started reading this site after that massive wtf moment when the swastika saltire was published. I waited in vain the day after the photo was printed for the expected condemnation from the rest of the media (we had texted bbc news, call Kaye, Sky news, etc). I was ignorant of the ‘situation’ back then heheh but it was the deafening silence from the mainstream media that made me look for others who felt the same as me. That was at the same time as the dodgy donor and legal letters, N/C going offline etc. What an introduction! Attacking freedom of speech, redefinition of the words fascist and racist, and an introduction of newer hate terms like separatist and cybernat. I had had no idea of what had been going on.

So, I’ve been a regular visitor here since April although this is the first time I’ve commented. I think many more people will have their own wtf moment and then they too will also need to find something to help explain what the mainstream does not. We are fortunate this time around that we have the internet, if this was 1979…

I am really cheered to hear there have been many more like me. People who were waiting but are now fully engaged! Its a wee bit ironic dont you think that it was the extreme position of the mainstream media that sent me here!

Graham Ennis

more than twice the readership of the Hootsmon then……closing on the Herlad, gosh, sounds like a success!,

themadmurph

2 of those would be me checking back while on holiday in internet shops, so it would only be a measly 63109.  That sort of inflation of the numbers will be jumped on by better together! 🙂

David McCann

I never miss it- well hardly ever! Keep them coming. I regularly copy them to the BBC. Im sure somebody must read them.

Roddy Macdonald

Well done, Stuart. No wonder the DTP hate Cybernats! ;o)

The Man in the Jar

“Wings” is definitely the best source of “Cyberammo” going!

Dee

Congrats Rev, really enjoy the site and the mixed views that it attracts. 
O/T   DTP ????  +.  Unique Visitor ?????  

Caroline Corfield

Well done and goan yersel! I don’t know what I’d do without this site, the information, the discussion and the banter are the best.

Red Squirrel

Congratulations and it’s well-deserved – in the absence of decent MSM reporting, I rely online forums like Wings.
Thanks for all the articles and comments – it gives me a whole new perspective on why Yes is the only way to go.

Marker Post

Many congratulations, brilliant site, a haven for us cybernats!

Breastplate

Just to echo others, I look forward to the posts and comments each day. I’m amazed how prolific you are, so don’t burn yourself out or we’ll all not know what to do with ourselves.

Dcanmore

Yup, brilliant site, writing and great banter. I’m sure you’ll have an Mi5 file by now! 😉

The Flamster

Me too – I’m always reading on here and I tell everyone else I know to come on and read the truth.  You also learn so much reading everyone’s comments 🙂

Gorbals Caley

Well done Rev, excellent site – onwards to 2014!

Gizzit

A quality site with high calibre contributors – while I might not agree with absolutely everything posted, I am more convinced every day that Independence represents the only sane choice for the people of Scotland.

Every vile, shabby, underhand trick from Westminster and the mainstream media only serves to strengthen my resolve.

Patrick Roden

Well done Rev, won’t be long until you hit that 100,000 unique visitors mark !

widen
Shinty

Yup, mostly what everyone has said already.
I have to confess to being a Wings Junkie.

john king

my morning begins around 5am 
kettle on, porridge on, computer on, and check whats been said in wings over when I’ve been in bed, and never disappointed, loads to catch up on and lots of  interesting comments on great content provided by rev stu,
its like the old days when I went to the front door and pulled the morning paper out of the letter box,
only difference is WE make the news and noone tells us what to think

RESPECT, STU:)

Seasick Dave

Quick the suns oot

Good to hear from you!

My WTF moment came back in 1999 when Labour ran the ‘Divorce is an Expensive Option’ campaign and the BBC played it at every opportunity, complete with the sound of creaking branches snapping off trees!

link to news.bbc.co.uk

I went from being not interested in politics to joining the SNP and eventually becoming a swivel eyed nutter!

Dorothy Devine

Excellent! Well done!
Now that I’ve found you I won’t let go!

themadmurph

folks I need some help.  I was talking to a work colleague who is currently a NO voter.  I asked him why, he said because of his Dad’s pension from Babcocks!  He believes, and I assume his Dad does too, that after independence he would lose it all.  Are there any good links which would explain it in basic terms, to put his mind to rest?
We could add another two to the YES vote!

Stats: 6,668 Posts, 1,201,992 Comments

• Dan on The People You Most Suspected: “Three letters in my name is a close to god as I get. We* could stop it by working to…Nov 13, 08:47
    • Alf Baird on The People You Most Suspected: “The oppressor always seeks to sow division, which makes it easier to manipulate the people (Freire). Religion, language and identity…Nov 13, 08:36
    • Chas on The People You Most Suspected: “Where did I say that ordinary people can’t organise again and we are all in thrall to the media? Things…Nov 13, 08:28
    • Tinto Chiel on The People You Most Suspected: “And we shouldn’t forget the most revealing words which followed that statement, if I remember correctly: “How better can you…Nov 13, 08:24
    • Alf Baird on The People You Most Suspected: ““England has legitimate security concerns” “we’ll deserve to be destroyed as a nation” Scotland also has rather obvious security concerns,…Nov 13, 08:19
    • Oneliner on The People You Most Suspected: “We need a Tartan Brigade to match the Green Brigade. In Scottish football we have teams espousing Ireland (tricolour) and…Nov 13, 07:38
    • Hatey McHateface on The People You Most Suspected: ““Scotland gave greatly of its sons” Indeed willie, but dinna fash, we’ve few sons to give this time around. Or…Nov 13, 07:27
    • Hatey McHateface on The People You Most Suspected: “Why do we need the Western media to report the casualties, or anything else, when we have you? How can…Nov 13, 07:12
    • Robert Hughes on The People You Most Suspected: “This , ie the subject of this WOS post , is how the Unionists will take control of Holyrood .…Nov 13, 06:54
    • Hatey McHateface on The People You Most Suspected: “Aye, Bob, not enough casualties in U, and not enough casualties in Amsterdam either. Not for you, anyway. And as…Nov 13, 06:50
    • Jay on The Show Goes On: “’greed and will to power’ must be at the core of it, that brought to mind the alleged Cecil Rhodes…Nov 13, 06:13
    • Robert Hughes on The People You Most Suspected: “” I don’t wish to demean the casualties in any way, but for me, one of the most grotesque and…Nov 13, 06:12
    • The Flying Iron of Doom on The People You Most Suspected: “I know that the left’s hatred of private education is de rigueur but with the way the schools are at…Nov 13, 06:03
    • SteepBrae on The People You Most Suspected: “Which would help explain why we’ve lost so many good politicians in recent years, from all parties: they were grounded…Nov 13, 04:21
    • Campbell Clansman on The People You Most Suspected: “Uh, big historical miscues by commenter Fearghas. Wolfe wasn’t even in Canada in 1751, let alone a major general in…Nov 13, 04:11
    • Young Lochinvar on The People You Most Suspected: “I wonder what school Biology lessons are like now? No, strike that, I don’t.. Anyone else watch Starmer quoting unachievable…Nov 13, 01:49
    • Breeks on The People You Most Suspected: “I wonder how the current war in Eastern Europe compares, with regards to casualties. The wanton nature of the propaganda…Nov 13, 01:28
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The People You Most Suspected: “Postmodernism, as we all well know by now, typically rejects any “Big Story” (meta-narrative). In its view of reality as…Nov 13, 01:15
    • Young Lochinvar on The Show Goes On: “COE’s head replacement; 1. Male 2. Female 3. Qwerty mouthpiece.. Odds on considering the crime perpetrated historically? You couldn’t make…Nov 13, 01:10
    • V Hartley on The People You Most Suspected: “Basic, but real – sad in a way. Where did the grown-ups go?Nov 13, 00:41
    • Kevin Cargill on The People You Most Suspected: “For the umpteenth time on here and everywhere else. The unionists are not pouncing on this issue for the same…Nov 13, 00:11
    • Jay on The People You Most Suspected: “”What are they getting out of it?” The reasons which you set out seem eminently reasonable but someone, somewhere, pointed…Nov 12, 23:09
    • Jay on The Show Goes On: “Bright man like you should be able to work out that Trump would not pull the plug on the promised…Nov 12, 22:36
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The People You Most Suspected: ““I should imagine that two or three independent highland companies might be of use; they are hardy, intrepid, accustomed to…Nov 12, 22:17
    • Alf Baird on The People You Most Suspected: “In colonial societies the elite is made up of two main groups (Memmi): 1. the colonizer/se***er, and; 2. the more…Nov 12, 22:13
    • BLMac on The People You Most Suspected: “It’s obvious that schools would be targeted. After all, who benefits from all this? Not the kids, they’re victims. The…Nov 12, 22:12
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The People You Most Suspected: “From Tom Devine’s book The Scottish Nation 1700-2000: “Of the 157 battalions which comprised the British Expeditionary Force, 22 were…Nov 12, 22:10
    • Alf Baird on The People You Most Suspected: “Domination and hence ‘sadism’ lies at the heart of colonial oppression (Freire), for which liberation is the only remedy (Memmi).…Nov 12, 22:02
    • Rev. Stuart Campbell on The People You Most Suspected: ““And meanwhile in the big world the ex prime minister is declaring that if president elect Trump decides to cut…Nov 12, 21:59
    • Lee on The People You Most Suspected: “I’m retired. An ex headteacher. How in the name of common sense (and more pertinently, safeguarding) this school.is still open,…Nov 12, 21:53

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()