kinda insensitive , flippant comment there , Stu .
Maybe you should do another exhaustive , definitive poll ( average sample 1007 , so pretty representative of the views of 5.5 million residents of Scotland huh ? ) on what’s people’s favourite brand of biscuit . Nothing much else happening , eh ?
Statistically, a sample of 1,007 is a fair representation of the views of 5.5 million people, within a small margin of error and with 95% confidence that it is correct.
The sample size may be enough to capture the representative views of a society, but that’s a society mostly kept in the dark about what’s really going on because their opinions are likely formed by the narratives and propaganda pushed by the MSM and big corporate interests pushed by social media algorithms.
Being right about what a dumbed down society’s views are is hardly solid ground and cause for celebration when you purport to wanting change and better the society you supposedly care for.
Have you seen the price of biscuits (and other foods) lately?
There are families struggling to make ends meet and decent biscuits are a fucking luxury. Obviously no concern for those of the bourgeois class though… out of touch arseholes that they are.
(1) “biscuits can often be regarded as a metaphor for the reverse manifestation of the colonial suppression of the indigenous proletariat…brown on the outside but white inside” Cesaire
(2)”biscuits are the tools of the dominant colonial suppressor” Memmi
(3) “Want a bite of ma caramel wafer, blondie ?” Fanon
Wait til they find out how much the Vietnamese took to croissant’s…..never mind the Scottish fondness for an Empire biscuit. They’ve already been renamed once: perhaps post indy they’ll be called Freeeeedom biscuits?
You are not allowed, on here, to even attempt to take the piss out of the esteemed Professor from Napier Tech.
The cranks and nutters will be upset.
Personally I found it quite funny
more seriously, genocide by famine is the way to go, the sophisticated way – pioneered by the english in ireland, copied by stalin for that episode we call the holodomor
‘Emergency Food Ration Long Life Survival Biscuits Seven Oceans’
– In survival situations, one 500g pack provides enough nutrition to last one person 72 hours
– contains no meat or animal fat
– Halal, Vegetarian
– approved for use by NATO forces
– shelf life: 5 years unconditionally from the date of manufacture
Not sure what this post is about so no change there but if I was a betting man I would guess that the pop goes the weasel blogger has been up on his hind legs having a pop at Stu.
I haven’t looked at his site so I don’t know just how crazy he has become.
Has he become so unhinged he’s saying they should come out of their holes, hands up, weapons dropped, releasing the hostages and going away into third-party mediated exile?
Then the war would be over. The winning government would fall, the former government leader would be tried for corruption, etc. etc. Reconstruction would start. Foreign aid would pour in. All the good things everybody and their braying ass claims to be wanting.
No? He’s not yet that crazy?
Pity.
Where’s Greta Thunberg? Is she nearly there yet? Anybody want to put money on her sorting it all out?
I see that the biscuits in the first link are appropriately diverse in colour, shape and orientation, and the ones in the second are rainbow-like. Are you trying to tell us something?
I went, I looked, but no way was I wading through that amount of shite in search of a chocolate finger, nor even a reference to one. He’s such a sad figure now…
“Stephen Flynn has urged the Scottish Government to purchase more equipment to help drug addicts inject heroin and smoke crack cocaine at Glasgow’s controversial drugs consumption room. The SNP’s Westminster leader called for tourniquets to be provided to drug users to aid them with taking illicit substances.
He also wants a smoke inhalation room to be installed at the Hunter Street facility which would allow addicts to smoke illegal drugs as well.” link to scottishdailyexpress.co.uk
————————————————–
Scotland was the first UK country to ban indoor smoking in 2006. Now he wants a crack cocaine den.
NOT ABOUT THOSE CHOC BISCS but genocide, ethnocide and the steady Islamization of Nigeria, another root and branch corrupt Commonwealth member.
These unfortunates do not have access to the media that keeps the spin on Gaza going.
Besides, its Africa and who cares. link to archive.is
And another form of colonization…of the mind. link to archive.is
The Biscuit Eater:
Racial Stereotypes, 1939-1972 ‘THE BISCUIT EATER” by James Street is an innocuous little story
it’s about two boys, one black and one white, and their dog Moreover. Soon after the story was published in the Saturday Evening Post on May 13, 1939, it was made into a movie by Paramount. It was remade by Walt Disney Studios (1972)
Hatey, I think James sees himself as Scotland’s Greta Thunberg (there is a strong physical resemblance) and needs to berate us all on the situation in Gaza on a daily basis. It helps if he can tie in Stu’s thoughts on biscuits and sweeties as evidence of his ‘support for genocide’.
“If you had seen this toast before it was made,
You’d lift up your hands and bless marmalade!” (Adapted)
The apple of identity crumbles on the tongue
as shortbread from a tartan tin
or oatcake too thin to bear the buttered blade.
(Our dentures fix their nerveless grin).
Some worm by ear insinuated
hath drilled our brain into a riddle.
Each kernel of thought drops through a slot.
A glut of glume bestrews our griddle.
From ransacked mouth the husks still spill.
From cankered core pour hollow pips.
All fail to germinate on half-baked floor.
A tongue of Highland Toffee licks our lips.
Native recipes we scorn to approve –
no peat-smoke reek nor teuchter Babel!
Full English Breakfast on North British Stove:
Cumberland sausage commands our Table!
UBHAL NA DEARBH-AITHNE
Ubhal na dearbh-aithne, bruanach air teanga,
mar spruan cho fuadain ri tartan an tiona,
no aran-coirce ro thana fo sgithinn làn ìme.
Ar fiaclan-brèig’ a’ cur drèin gun chlì oirnn.
Liùg cnuimh gun chagar a-steach air ar cluais.
Chagainn i gu slìogach ar n-eanchainn na ruideal.
Tro mhogall nan toll sgiolc smaogail ar smuain.
Am moll sgaoilt gu mall ann am meall air a’ ghreideil.
Beul bochd air a’ phoca ga bhòcadh le càth.
Cridhe crìon na chriathar a nì liath gach silean.
Gun gin a’ ginideachadh air cloich-ghràin an làir.
Teanga tofai-bò a’ suathadh ar bilean.
An reasabaidh dùthchasach air a chur suarach,
cuidhteas fàileadh ceò-mòna, blas cànan ar sinnseir.
Làn-Bhracaist Shasannach, stòbh Breatainn a Tuath:
bheir Isbean Chumbarlainn bàrr air ar truinnsear!
Discovered a cake called a millionaire brownie. Brownie instead of shortbread. Of course, yes I’m a Scot and love shortbread, but the brownie is gluten free and also has white chocolate in it. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, yummy.
Jeremy Bowen, international editor for BBC News, asked International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) president Mirjana Spoljaric about comments she made last month when she visited Gaza, several weeks into Israel’s total blockade on humanitarian aid, and declared that the enclave had been transformed into “hell on Earth.”
“Has anything changed?” asked Bowen.
“It has become worse,” replied Spoljaric. “Humanity is failing in Gaza… We cannot continue to watch what is happening. It’s surpassing any acceptable legal, moral, and humane standard.”
“Long before drones buzzed overhead and missiles lit up the night sky, armies resorted to siege and starvation to break their enemies. To restrict food does not just target soldiers, it also attacks the very foundations of civilian life – families, communities, children. And today, as the world watches the deepening crisis in Gaza, questions about the deliberate denial of food are again at the forefront.
It is abundantly clear, even from the Israeli government’s own statements, that access to food and water has been sharply curtailed in Gaza as part of a wider military campaign.”
The lady who was catering manageress at St Mirren in the lat 1990s/early2000s was a noted baker of shortbread; her shortbread was to die for and was particularly loved by the Press Box regulars at Love Street back then.
The Buddies got promoted to the Premier Division and the Board decided that since they were now in the big time, the home-baked shortbread had to be replaced by shop-bought chocolate biscuits, to reflect the tastes of the more-sophisticated fitba writers who would now come to the ground to report on Rangers’ and Celtic’s visits.
About three games into the new season, the Saints Chairman visited the Press Box at half-time, to be met by a delegation of the fitba writers, demanding the immediate reinstatement of the shortbread.
I feel that is a parable on Scottish politics as well as Scottish Fitba.
I wonder if Swinney and the SNP will be eating chockie bickies later tonight.
No indications yet, but with Labou having sold out and lost the trust of the voters, and with many SNP supporters only having priorly hung on with gritted teeth to a party that says it supports independence but actually doesn’t, do wonder if voters will decide to send them a message.
It is after all a by election with the Hollyrood election proper next year. So why not a message to Reform of you’ll be shipped out.
I don’t know the result of today’s by election but it could be interesting.
The ultimate advantage the oppressed have over their oppressor, besides their superior range of delicious biscuits, is that oppressors are a pretty thick bunch blinded as they are to reason by their insatiable greed.
And since the tools of reason are unavailable to the oppressor it falls back on the only tools truly available to its severely greed restricted intellect…fear and duplicity and lies and violence.
Powerful tools of oppression for sure…for a little while on the scale of worldly things anyway.
Eventually oppressed peoples get tired of ‘living’ under such conditions and reach the conclusion that ‘yer better aff deid than livin’ in fear’ and that’s when their pent-up anger and frustration breaks the oppressor’s dam of lies (the only thing keeping the oppressed truly oppressed)
Unbelievably, oppressors rarely, if ever, see their demise approaching – it’s that old stupid/arrogance tag team coupled with their blindfold made of greed biting them in their ain erse again.
The oppressor’s stupidity and its faithful partner arrogance inevitably leads to its downfall, although it can sometimes take a wee while.
England lost its empire because of its stupidity and arrogance; it’s delusional belief in its own superiority.
It’s about to lose it’s last imperial prize for exactly the same reasons it lost the rest of its beloved, stupid and arrogant empire.
“Who are better prepared than the oppressed to understand the terrible significance of an oppressive society? Who suffer the effects of oppression more than the oppressed? Who can better understand the necessity of liberation?
Fear is why the national party sought its ‘accommodation with colonialism’ (Fanon) and became ‘neutral’ on independence, causing the rupture in the movement.
Fear is why the some of the colonized oppose even thay’re ain leeberation.
Remember the colonialists ‘project fear’?
A colonized and therefore racist society is aye looking to inflict its ‘punishment’ on those it views as subordinate.
So fear is ever present, and especially ‘whenever colonialism is imperiled’ and the colonizer ‘reveals his fangs’ (Memmi).
I guess it’s just all part and parcel of being enslaved, abused, etc. Are you being tortured too? Please say the ‘r’ word does not apply – I need to be able to sleep at night.
Truly hard to believe this kind of thing is going on, in 2025, in Scotland, right under our very noses.
Really nice to see you back again Northy … you’ve been missed.
Just a wee personal request for your consideration. Any chance you could do this old duffer a favour and maybe make individual posts either entirely in “conventional” English, or alternatively in one of the “broad Scots” dialects. I say “one of” as there seems to be a fair variation in users’ spelling of many words.
At just on 80 years of age this particular Scot has only English as a language and it’s frustrating to commence an interesting post just to find that it changes to what is, for me, a foreign language halfway through and I have to abandon it.
Post Indy then, when the often repeated requirements to be fluent in written and spoken Scots are enforced (not naming any names), you’re gonna be struggling.
However, I’m afraid playing the old, old age card will have no effect on this heartless, aye and fearless tae, old Scotsman.
You’re never too old too learn…never.
And so I have to tell you that I am unable to bow to your request and suggest that you look up the online Dictionaries of the Scots Language. A terrific resource and one where you’ll find every Scots word I use…maist onyways.
“Corporate America has fallen out of love with Pride month – and it’s because of Donald Trump.
Businesses that used to smother their merchandise in rainbow flags for the month of June have dramatically scaled back this year, many wary of provoking an investigation by the Trump administration.
Meanwhile, Pride events across the US are facing budget shortfalls as corporate sponsors duck out.”
Corporate social and brand activism peaked between 2016 and 2022, observed Northeastern University marketing professor Amin Grinstein, but most recently, it has been in retreat. For example, Gravity Research found a 60% decrease in Pride engagement across major companies between 2023 and 2024, and that trend continues. In its 2025 Pride Pulse Poll, which surveyed communications and public affairs officers from over 200 major corporations, nearly 40% reported that their companies are reducing Pride-related engagement, and none expect engagement levels to increase this year. A majority (61%) cited pressure from the new administration as the cause for change, followed by 39% concerned about a conservative backlash.”
While this is happening in the US at the present time, the same thing is not being seen here but I have no doubt it will take a couple of years to filter through to here though.
The events in Scotland and the supreme court have had a big effect on many. The world was watching Scotland slide into a pit. It’s pass the hand grenade time.
The Cheery Chipmunk quibbles the Rev’s casual use of “50”. Alas, the risible rodent’s list of 4 shows the limits of his arithmetic skills.
link to en.wikipedia.org has 20 on-going conflicts. Not all are as brutal as the Gazacide but many are pretty nasty with atrocities against civilians the norm.
It’s very convenient that the Rev. gets singled out, when the last statement from his pals in the SNP over Gaza was 11 months ago.
Freire-wow that’s s new one Alfie boy. Who is he? Is it possible for you to sometime write something that reflects some thoughts of your own or is plagiarism all you have? At least Northcode appreciates your constant repetive mince so not all bad for you.
I think this website is the most important and effective force for good in the Scottish media. Therefore it is with regret that I’ve just cancelled my subscription to Kofi/Wings. The genocide in Gaza is not a joke.
Spring’s disillusioned, the seasons
stand on the edge
and throw themselves off,
like a woman who can’t take it anymore.
Open your arms to her,
be as generous
as the sea with the drowned —
it never asks for addresses or names.
The seasons stand on the edge
while spring falls
with no land to receive it.
[AN T-EARRACH A’ TUITEAM
An t-Earrach fo sprochd. Na
ràithean nan seasamh air an oir,
gan tilgeil fhèin le creag, mar
bhoireannach aig a dùbhlan.
Sgaoil do ghlacan rithe.
Bi cho fialaidh ris a’ mhuir
a’ cur fàilt’ air daoine bàite —
coma mu ainm no seòladh.
Na ràithean nan seasamh air an oir,
agus an t-earrach a’ tuiteam
gun fearann a ghabhas ris.
Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.
Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Holiday Relief: “My fault Alf for not making my last question tight enough. However unlikely the prospect that you might one day…” Jun 27, 22:53
Mark Beggan on The Art Of Noise: “Stay on the Downers John boy that shit ain’t doing you no good” Jun 27, 22:51
Mark Beggan on The Art Of Noise: “Crack cocaine.? What else?” Jun 27, 22:49
Alf Baird on Holiday Relief: “It is well established that English (and other languages) use many words from various languages. The essential thing for us…” Jun 27, 22:17
Hatey McHateface on Holiday Relief: “Sure, Alf, and perhaps “cide” is derived from the Humous for “yellow, tunnel skulking, helpless lassie mutilator”, but that’s all…” Jun 27, 21:36
Hatey McHateface on The Art Of Noise: “Surely Swinney is doing a first-class job? It’s not his fault that nobody ever asked for the job description to…” Jun 27, 21:24
sarah on The Art Of Noise: “They got rid of the Good Guys and they changed the party rules to permit self-identifying of disability in order…” Jun 27, 21:13
Alf Baird on Holiday Relief: ““linguicide” (death of a language due to natural or political causes) is derived from the Latin ‘lingua’, meaning tongue.” Jun 27, 21:11
Hatey McHateface on Holiday Relief: ““Linguicide” Loving it, Alf. BTW, what’s the Scots for linguicide? That’s surely gonna be the first question every alert…” Jun 27, 20:59
Hatey McHateface on And it’s goodnight from he/him: “That’s a thought provoking post, Andy, but tell us true. If we Scots all just shouted “Bairns Not Bombs” in…” Jun 27, 20:51
socratesmacsporran on The Art Of Noise: “You might have hoped, given what a success Swinney was as SNP leader, first time round, a half-way sensible party…” Jun 27, 20:43
Hatey McHateface on But Don’t Give Yourself Away: “James’s Mammie gone oot again. Hope she left James plenty of Kleenex!” Jun 27, 20:42
Alf Baird on Holiday Relief: ““Scots displacing other native languages” ? Hardly. Lets looks at the facts: Gaelic came from Ireland. Norse from Scandinavia. English…” Jun 27, 19:33
Andy Ellis on And it’s goodnight from he/him: “You clearly don’t know what you’re talking about. Many US defence systems actually depend on European (and sometimes Taiwanese, Japanese,…” Jun 27, 18:39
James on But Don’t Give Yourself Away: ““…You’re coming across as obsessed, tending towards unhinged…” ROTFLMFAO – look in a mirror, Prick.” Jun 27, 18:36
Andy Ellis on Holiday Relief: “@Fearghas I’m sure this has been pointed out to Alf before: the colonialism goose sauce serves equally well for the…” Jun 27, 18:26
Confused on The Art Of Noise: “stop being so lazy and read the article; grandad was a yookie who did a lot of yehudis but then,…” Jun 27, 18:04
Hatey McHateface on But Don’t Give Yourself Away: “Are you on a piece rate for every time you drop the ‘g’ word, Mia? You’re coming across as obsessed,…” Jun 27, 17:35
Alf Baird on Holiday Relief: “If we consider Scots-speaking communities throughout Scotland it does appear that descendants of the Picts did help develop and speak…” Jun 27, 17:33
twathater on The Art Of Noise: “What a condescending, patronising piece of excrement this tr@ itor to Scotland and Scots is, that he can sit there…” Jun 27, 17:31
Hatey McHateface on The Art Of Noise: “Must try harder. Shoehorn DEW into your title somewhere.” Jun 27, 17:30
Anthem on And it’s goodnight from he/him: “Oh please, stop the drivel. My point is clear. None of the manufacturing for American based products will be based…” Jun 27, 16:49
Anthem on And it’s goodnight from he/him: “Oh please, stop the drivel. My point is clear. None of the manufacturing for American based products will be based…” Jun 27, 16:44
robertkknight on The Art Of Noise: “Finbarr Swinney & his double entendres… “Fnarr fnarr, yack yack, indy indy, arf arf”” Jun 27, 16:39
Oneliner on The Art Of Noise: “Spectacleywell of the voteyfold. Ah, deepjoy indeed!” Jun 27, 16:35
Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Holiday Relief: “I’ll try again, Alf. Do you believe that the language which the Picts spoke developed into Scots?” Jun 27, 16:20
Insider on But Don’t Give Yourself Away: ““James” I see ! Just a “bookkeeper” on a slave plantation! And you think that’s o.k. ?? Good grief !…” Jun 27, 16:18
Cactus on The Art Of Noise: ““A vote for John the moron is a vote to guarantee Scotland will be in the Union until 2031.” -…” Jun 27, 16:17
Ian on The Art Of Noise: “The failure to get rid of those favouring the union within the SNP well before 2014 was when the big…” Jun 27, 16:02
Apparently so is napalm in the morning!
Only the smell.
It’s so popular because fundamentally it works.
As do biscuits.
Sausages, that’s whom our PM should be working to release, definitely sausages.
Hear about the fight in the biscuit factory?
A ‘Bandit’ hit a ‘Penguin’over the head with a ‘Club’ and got a quick getaway in a ‘Taxi’!
Crumbs!
Did he do a “Twirl” on the way out?
That’s what the “Wispa” said…..
(OK, they are chocolate bars…..but I thought jokes about Garibaldi would be a bit too much)
kinda insensitive , flippant comment there , Stu .
Maybe you should do another exhaustive , definitive poll ( average sample 1007 , so pretty representative of the views of 5.5 million residents of Scotland huh ? ) on what’s people’s favourite brand of biscuit . Nothing much else happening , eh ?
I don’t see any chains holding you down, Robert.
Statistically, a sample of 1,007 is a fair representation of the views of 5.5 million people, within a small margin of error and with 95% confidence that it is correct.
And of course the sample is carefully selected and weighted, which is why polls are so consistently correct within a couple of points.
The sample size may be enough to capture the representative views of a society, but that’s a society mostly kept in the dark about what’s really going on because their opinions are likely formed by the narratives and propaganda pushed by the MSM and big corporate interests pushed by social media algorithms.
Being right about what a dumbed down society’s views are is hardly solid ground and cause for celebration when you purport to wanting change and better the society you supposedly care for.
Have you seen the price of biscuits (and other foods) lately?
There are families struggling to make ends meet and decent biscuits are a fucking luxury. Obviously no concern for those of the bourgeois class though… out of touch arseholes that they are.
Keep it light, Dan.
In 2023, 66% of Scottish adults were reckoned to be overweight, with nearly half of these (32% of all Scottish adults) clinically obese.
Things might have improved since then, but what are the chances?
These pics of bickys need to be taken down – they pose a risk to public health.
Tunnocks……..hands down!
Ok, I’ll bite…
What’s the connection/reference???
James Kelly on SGP and one of his daily ‘Stu’s a unionist and disnae care aboot Gaza’ rants .
James is going to get another 10 articles out of this alone.
Chocolate Garibaldi’s – Hen’s teeth territory
and, slightly OT – WHY did Rowntrees (or whoever) stop production/distribution in UK of Plain Bountys?
Woah, woah – chocolate Garibaldis?
Uh-huh – totally Godly.
Last time we saw them must be about 20 years ago now. Been trying to locate them ever since.
I have seen chocolate rich teas. It is postmodern madness and it sickens me.
And what has happened to ginger nuts? They used to be hard, hard, hard but no longer – made snowflake soft by the wokerati!
I’m obviously missing something here.
(but then again I’ve not got any hob nobs)
I love Viscounts but my wife hates mint so it’s hobnob’s and bourbons unless she’s away!
Post-colonial studies tell us
(1) “biscuits can often be regarded as a metaphor for the reverse manifestation of the colonial suppression of the indigenous proletariat…brown on the outside but white inside” Cesaire
(2)”biscuits are the tools of the dominant colonial suppressor” Memmi
(3) “Want a bite of ma caramel wafer, blondie ?” Fanon
Don’t get them started FFS!
Wait til they find out how much the Vietnamese took to croissant’s…..never mind the Scottish fondness for an Empire biscuit. They’ve already been renamed once: perhaps post indy they’ll be called Freeeeedom biscuits?
You are not allowed, on here, to even attempt to take the piss out of the esteemed Professor from Napier Tech.
The cranks and nutters will be upset.
Personally I found it quite funny
?
Well, this is Nice…
kelly and other SNP apoligists need to wake up. Managing devolution is not why the snp was formed.
more shocking than the gas bill for auschwitz
more seriously, genocide by famine is the way to go, the sophisticated way – pioneered by the english in ireland, copied by stalin for that episode we call the holodomor
bullets cost money, you know
Sure, Confused, prior to 1845, nobody anywhere in the world ever went hungry as a result of deliberate hostile actions, or monumental fuckwittery.
no biscuits for you
For example..,
‘Emergency Food Ration Long Life Survival Biscuits Seven Oceans’
– In survival situations, one 500g pack provides enough nutrition to last one person 72 hours
– contains no meat or animal fat
– Halal, Vegetarian
– approved for use by NATO forces
– shelf life: 5 years unconditionally from the date of manufacture
link to evaq8.co.uk
Not sure what this post is about so no change there but if I was a betting man I would guess that the pop goes the weasel blogger has been up on his hind legs having a pop at Stu.
Spot on there, David,Kelly’s descent into madness on Gaza goes Pop continues unabated.
I haven’t looked at his site so I don’t know just how crazy he has become.
Has he become so unhinged he’s saying they should come out of their holes, hands up, weapons dropped, releasing the hostages and going away into third-party mediated exile?
Then the war would be over. The winning government would fall, the former government leader would be tried for corruption, etc. etc. Reconstruction would start. Foreign aid would pour in. All the good things everybody and their braying ass claims to be wanting.
No? He’s not yet that crazy?
Pity.
Where’s Greta Thunberg? Is she nearly there yet? Anybody want to put money on her sorting it all out?
I see that the biscuits in the first link are appropriately diverse in colour, shape and orientation, and the ones in the second are rainbow-like. Are you trying to tell us something?
SO MANY SECRET MEANINGS
Chocolate Bath Olivers – that’s what you should go for, Rev. Superb.
I went, I looked, but no way was I wading through that amount of shite in search of a chocolate finger, nor even a reference to one. He’s such a sad figure now…
“Stephen Flynn has urged the Scottish Government to purchase more equipment to help drug addicts inject heroin and smoke crack cocaine at Glasgow’s controversial drugs consumption room. The SNP’s Westminster leader called for tourniquets to be provided to drug users to aid them with taking illicit substances.
He also wants a smoke inhalation room to be installed at the Hunter Street facility which would allow addicts to smoke illegal drugs as well.”
link to scottishdailyexpress.co.uk
————————————————–
Scotland was the first UK country to ban indoor smoking in 2006. Now he wants a crack cocaine den.
NOT ABOUT THOSE CHOC BISCS but genocide, ethnocide and the steady Islamization of Nigeria, another root and branch corrupt Commonwealth member.
These unfortunates do not have access to the media that keeps the spin on Gaza going.
Besides, its Africa and who cares.
link to archive.is
And another form of colonization…of the mind.
link to archive.is
Custard’s Last Stand
Eton out of House and Home
Sturgeon Really Takes the Biscuit
Can I play
The Biscuit Eater:
Racial Stereotypes, 1939-1972 ‘THE BISCUIT EATER” by James Street is an innocuous little story
it’s about two boys, one black and one white, and their dog Moreover. Soon after the story was published in the Saturday Evening Post on May 13, 1939, it was made into a movie by Paramount. It was remade by Walt Disney Studios (1972)
Hatey, I think James sees himself as Scotland’s Greta Thunberg (there is a strong physical resemblance) and needs to berate us all on the situation in Gaza on a daily basis. It helps if he can tie in Stu’s thoughts on biscuits and sweeties as evidence of his ‘support for genocide’.
THE APPLE OF IDENTITY
“If you had seen this toast before it was made,
You’d lift up your hands and bless marmalade!” (Adapted)
The apple of identity crumbles on the tongue
as shortbread from a tartan tin
or oatcake too thin to bear the buttered blade.
(Our dentures fix their nerveless grin).
Some worm by ear insinuated
hath drilled our brain into a riddle.
Each kernel of thought drops through a slot.
A glut of glume bestrews our griddle.
From ransacked mouth the husks still spill.
From cankered core pour hollow pips.
All fail to germinate on half-baked floor.
A tongue of Highland Toffee licks our lips.
Native recipes we scorn to approve –
no peat-smoke reek nor teuchter Babel!
Full English Breakfast on North British Stove:
Cumberland sausage commands our Table!
UBHAL NA DEARBH-AITHNE
Ubhal na dearbh-aithne, bruanach air teanga,
mar spruan cho fuadain ri tartan an tiona,
no aran-coirce ro thana fo sgithinn làn ìme.
Ar fiaclan-brèig’ a’ cur drèin gun chlì oirnn.
Liùg cnuimh gun chagar a-steach air ar cluais.
Chagainn i gu slìogach ar n-eanchainn na ruideal.
Tro mhogall nan toll sgiolc smaogail ar smuain.
Am moll sgaoilt gu mall ann am meall air a’ ghreideil.
Beul bochd air a’ phoca ga bhòcadh le càth.
Cridhe crìon na chriathar a nì liath gach silean.
Gun gin a’ ginideachadh air cloich-ghràin an làir.
Teanga tofai-bò a’ suathadh ar bilean.
An reasabaidh dùthchasach air a chur suarach,
cuidhteas fàileadh ceò-mòna, blas cànan ar sinnseir.
Làn-Bhracaist Shasannach, stòbh Breatainn a Tuath:
bheir Isbean Chumbarlainn bàrr air ar truinnsear!
Discovered a cake called a millionaire brownie. Brownie instead of shortbread. Of course, yes I’m a Scot and love shortbread, but the brownie is gluten free and also has white chocolate in it. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, yummy.
Bring back holiday boy..
Jeremy Bowen, international editor for BBC News, asked International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) president Mirjana Spoljaric about comments she made last month when she visited Gaza, several weeks into Israel’s total blockade on humanitarian aid, and declared that the enclave had been transformed into “hell on Earth.”
“Has anything changed?” asked Bowen.
“It has become worse,” replied Spoljaric. “Humanity is failing in Gaza… We cannot continue to watch what is happening. It’s surpassing any acceptable legal, moral, and humane standard.”
“Long before drones buzzed overhead and missiles lit up the night sky, armies resorted to siege and starvation to break their enemies. To restrict food does not just target soldiers, it also attacks the very foundations of civilian life – families, communities, children. And today, as the world watches the deepening crisis in Gaza, questions about the deliberate denial of food are again at the forefront.
It is abundantly clear, even from the Israeli government’s own statements, that access to food and water has been sharply curtailed in Gaza as part of a wider military campaign.”
from The Independent
“Your comment is waiting moderation”.
So is yours.
Eh? Whose comment are you referring to?
No journalists in Gaza
The Scots and biscuits – a cautionary tale:
The lady who was catering manageress at St Mirren in the lat 1990s/early2000s was a noted baker of shortbread; her shortbread was to die for and was particularly loved by the Press Box regulars at Love Street back then.
The Buddies got promoted to the Premier Division and the Board decided that since they were now in the big time, the home-baked shortbread had to be replaced by shop-bought chocolate biscuits, to reflect the tastes of the more-sophisticated fitba writers who would now come to the ground to report on Rangers’ and Celtic’s visits.
About three games into the new season, the Saints Chairman visited the Press Box at half-time, to be met by a delegation of the fitba writers, demanding the immediate reinstatement of the shortbread.
I feel that is a parable on Scottish politics as well as Scottish Fitba.
A SMALL OBSERVATION
Shouldn’t SGP now be listed as “Zany Comedy Relief” in the Wings contents column?
I wonder if Swinney and the SNP will be eating chockie bickies later tonight.
No indications yet, but with Labou having sold out and lost the trust of the voters, and with many SNP supporters only having priorly hung on with gritted teeth to a party that says it supports independence but actually doesn’t, do wonder if voters will decide to send them a message.
It is after all a by election with the Hollyrood election proper next year. So why not a message to Reform of you’ll be shipped out.
I don’t know the result of today’s by election but it could be interesting.
I know Wings says that the SNP are throwing everything at this but from where I sit it’s Labour who appear most desperate.
I’ve just had my fourth Labour canvasser chap the door (SNP only one) and we’re a third of the way through polling day…
The ultimate advantage the oppressed have over their oppressor, besides their superior range of delicious biscuits, is that oppressors are a pretty thick bunch blinded as they are to reason by their insatiable greed.
And since the tools of reason are unavailable to the oppressor it falls back on the only tools truly available to its severely greed restricted intellect…fear and duplicity and lies and violence.
Powerful tools of oppression for sure…for a little while on the scale of worldly things anyway.
Eventually oppressed peoples get tired of ‘living’ under such conditions and reach the conclusion that ‘yer better aff deid than livin’ in fear’ and that’s when their pent-up anger and frustration breaks the oppressor’s dam of lies (the only thing keeping the oppressed truly oppressed)
Unbelievably, oppressors rarely, if ever, see their demise approaching – it’s that old stupid/arrogance tag team coupled with their blindfold made of greed biting them in their ain erse again.
The oppressor’s stupidity and its faithful partner arrogance inevitably leads to its downfall, although it can sometimes take a wee while.
England lost its empire because of its stupidity and arrogance; it’s delusional belief in its own superiority.
It’s about to lose it’s last imperial prize for exactly the same reasons it lost the rest of its beloved, stupid and arrogant empire.
Helpful analysis Northcode.
Which follows from what Paulo Freire wrote:
“Who are better prepared than the oppressed to understand the terrible significance of an oppressive society? Who suffer the effects of oppression more than the oppressed? Who can better understand the necessity of liberation?
Please don’t say you’re living in fear as well.
Aye, Alf.
Freire put it more succinctly than I did, but it’s the gist of it right enough.
Fear is why the national party sought its ‘accommodation with colonialism’ (Fanon) and became ‘neutral’ on independence, causing the rupture in the movement.
Fear is why the some of the colonized oppose even thay’re ain leeberation.
Remember the colonialists ‘project fear’?
A colonized and therefore racist society is aye looking to inflict its ‘punishment’ on those it views as subordinate.
So fear is ever present, and especially ‘whenever colonialism is imperiled’ and the colonizer ‘reveals his fangs’ (Memmi).
It’s not blokes revealing their “fangs” in supposedly safe places that our women folk are concerned about.
It seems clear enough that some women genuinely are living in fear. Not the pretendy fear that NC is trying to conjure up out of nothing.
Scottish women living in fear is not the fault of “the coloniser” either. We Scots did that to ourselves.
Sorry to hear you’re “livin’ in fear” NC.
I guess it’s just all part and parcel of being enslaved, abused, etc. Are you being tortured too? Please say the ‘r’ word does not apply – I need to be able to sleep at night.
Truly hard to believe this kind of thing is going on, in 2025, in Scotland, right under our very noses.
@ Northcode.
Really nice to see you back again Northy … you’ve been missed.
Just a wee personal request for your consideration. Any chance you could do this old duffer a favour and maybe make individual posts either entirely in “conventional” English, or alternatively in one of the “broad Scots” dialects. I say “one of” as there seems to be a fair variation in users’ spelling of many words.
At just on 80 years of age this particular Scot has only English as a language and it’s frustrating to commence an interesting post just to find that it changes to what is, for me, a foreign language halfway through and I have to abandon it.
Post Indy then, when the often repeated requirements to be fluent in written and spoken Scots are enforced (not naming any names), you’re gonna be struggling.
Join the club. It’s going to be hoaching.
“…you’ve been missed.”
Very kind of you, Sven.
However, I’m afraid playing the old, old age card will have no effect on this heartless, aye and fearless tae, old Scotsman.
You’re never too old too learn…never.
And so I have to tell you that I am unable to bow to your request and suggest that you look up the online Dictionaries of the Scots Language. A terrific resource and one where you’ll find every Scots word I use…maist onyways.
Here’s a link to the DSL resource:
Dictionaries of the Scots Language
The path to libertie baith personal and that of yer ain people entire wis niver gang tae be an easy yin.
So come on, Sven…put a bit of effort in will ye no.
“You’re never too old too learn…”
For the pedantic out there this line should, of course, read as “You’re never too old to learn…
@Northy,
Erm no, just no. (And, because I’m fond of you I’ll even attempt “nae”).
an in Scots – yer nivver ower auld tae lairn!
“an in Scots – yer nivver ower auld tae lairn!”
No, Alf, that’s not “Scots”, that’s English mate. Albeit with some terrible spelling going on there. (Word should be able to help you out here).
If I write “pass me le feesh and cheeps” that’s not French either.
As ever, happy to point out the blindingly obvious.
Funding for Pride month in the US has been drastically cut back by American private sector companies:
link to archive.is
“Corporate America has fallen out of love with Pride month – and it’s because of Donald Trump.
Businesses that used to smother their merchandise in rainbow flags for the month of June have dramatically scaled back this year, many wary of provoking an investigation by the Trump administration.
Meanwhile, Pride events across the US are facing budget shortfalls as corporate sponsors duck out.”
While it is in part attributed to Trump, it is also due to a decline in corporate activism:
link to archive.is
“Brand Activism In Retreat
Corporate social and brand activism peaked between 2016 and 2022, observed Northeastern University marketing professor Amin Grinstein, but most recently, it has been in retreat. For example, Gravity Research found a 60% decrease in Pride engagement across major companies between 2023 and 2024, and that trend continues. In its 2025 Pride Pulse Poll, which surveyed communications and public affairs officers from over 200 major corporations, nearly 40% reported that their companies are reducing Pride-related engagement, and none expect engagement levels to increase this year. A majority (61%) cited pressure from the new administration as the cause for change, followed by 39% concerned about a conservative backlash.”
While this is happening in the US at the present time, the same thing is not being seen here but I have no doubt it will take a couple of years to filter through to here though.
The events in Scotland and the supreme court have had a big effect on many. The world was watching Scotland slide into a pit. It’s pass the hand grenade time.
The Cheery Chipmunk quibbles the Rev’s casual use of “50”. Alas, the risible rodent’s list of 4 shows the limits of his arithmetic skills.
link to en.wikipedia.org has 20 on-going conflicts. Not all are as brutal as the Gazacide but many are pretty nasty with atrocities against civilians the norm.
It’s very convenient that the Rev. gets singled out, when the last statement from his pals in the SNP over Gaza was 11 months ago.
I’ve been a loyal reader and fan of this blog for well over a decade, but I’m done.
Our government is directly complicit in the ongoing genocide and everyone who defends it or minimises it is also complicit in my view.
Freire-wow that’s s new one Alfie boy. Who is he? Is it possible for you to sometime write something that reflects some thoughts of your own or is plagiarism all you have? At least Northcode appreciates your constant repetive mince so not all bad for you.
Ah ken fit ye mean, Donald.
The Humous boys could end the ongoing genocide by the weekend.
But they don’t want to. They’re benefiting from it and besides, they’re sitting comfortably.
I hate, loathe and detest their complicity.
“I’ve been a loyal reader and fan of this blog for well over a decade, but I’m done.
Our government is directly complicit in the ongoing genocide and everyone who defends it or minimises it is also complicit in my view.”
I hope your stopping reading my blog helps bring about the change you desire in the Middle East. Bye!
off topic question…. whats the connection with sturgeon, irons and lavander sheets?
Blimey Alf , you have your very own James Kelly to contend with , seems all he ,she or it is interested in is writing denigrating ordure aimed at you.
I think this website is the most important and effective force for good in the Scottish media. Therefore it is with regret that I’ve just cancelled my subscription to Kofi/Wings. The genocide in Gaza is not a joke.
WHILE SPRING FALLS
(Najwan Darwish,1978-)
Spring’s disillusioned, the seasons
stand on the edge
and throw themselves off,
like a woman who can’t take it anymore.
Open your arms to her,
be as generous
as the sea with the drowned —
it never asks for addresses or names.
The seasons stand on the edge
while spring falls