1. 12 08 17 08:56

More Bad News | speymouth

95 to “More Bad News”

1. Capella

Now Sport, Weather and Travel, Call Kaye.

2. Ghillie

What a bonnie picture Chris = )

Apart from the hideous carbuncle on the Right.

3. Street Andrew

Somebody told me that the Company which employs most UK graduates is ….MacDonalds.

It may of course not be true.

4. Malky

Aye, it’s grim up North.

5. Cactus

Excellent, HOME city of us 602,000 Glaswegians.

The Clyde looks brilliant.

Cheers Chris.

NB: What if somebuddy was to do a parody report looking over from the Millennium Bridge, outside their building and reported these “tonight’s headlines” as actual onto a recording. Mibbies it’s our turn to ridicule the BBC on their own doorstep, since they ridicule us on ours? Then post the series on social media.

6. Almannysbunnet

You could have save all that writing and just put Awe shit! 🙂

7. Highland Wifie

And finally: High street stores fear closure as every new mum in Scotland receives baby box.

8. Iain

That sums up the Scottish media, and another blow to them a new Internet TV service is announced.

9. X_Sticks

The bbc view that Scotland will never be good enough to run its own affairs has indeed been getting to the point that surely even dyed in the wool better together voter must be beginning to question their integrity. Right?

Probably not. It seems that many living in our country actually want to remain in a state of subjugation and continue to hand over all the wealth of Scotland for the betterment of the south-east of England while some of the deprivation experienced by children here is some of the worst in Europe.

We pay a very high price for our membership of this English run ‘British’ club but our state broadcaster will never tell the truth about it. A curse on the lot of them.

10. Grouse Beater

Haha! Neat, Chris, and something of a new style. I like it.

Yes, whatever is achieved is a fluke; somehow it failure when reported by the right-wing unionist media. We must be told over and over again we are failures.
    And on that score…

Your essential weekend reading

Colonialism unmasked: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-iD0
    And other summer turkey: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-iGy

11. T.roz

Yep, that’s how they do it, open the bulletin with hopelessness and a touch of anxiety on matters of economy and health, then some more reporting on trivial shit and round up with something stupid with a sneering patronising style.

A truly poisonous programme.

12. One_Scot

As far as I am concerned Reporting Scotland and STV News are two of the biggest problems that the SNP face if Scotland is to become an Independent country, and I have just told them that.

Not sure if this has been posted before,

http://www.mobilise.scot/questions

It is a short questionnaire from the SNP looking for advice. You don’t have to answer all the questions, but it does give you the chance to let them know what you think needs to be done to help them achieve Independence.

And from some of the posts I have read on here recently, I am sure that there are many people here that have opinions, questions or advice they would like to give to the SNP.

I think it is a great opportunity to let them know what you think they are doing right, or for that matter, what they are doing wrong.

13. galamcennalath

Aye Chris, they can still manage to turn the best of news into their negative anti SG/SNP/Scotland propaganda.

What’s we need are media laws to protect democracy. The media needs to be able to freely report, challenge, investigate, and bring to public attention facts. However such power can be abused where they can misreport, omit information, or generate fake facts to manipulate opinion for someone’s agenda. Thus undermining democracy. This is exactly what goes on in Scotland. We need laws to curb excesses. Though that won’t happen anytime soon in UKOK.

Prompted by WoS Twitter I spotted the point below and drew attention to it on the previous thread. In Canada has a law, with punishment by a custodial sentence, which prohibits wilful publication of false statement or news that the person knows is false and that is likely to cause injury or mischief to public interests .

To my mind, the BBC and others certainly “cause mischief to public interests”!

14. G H Graham

Imagine yourself working there, being directed to sneeringly obsess every day about how to inform your customers that they are uniquely inferior individuals living in a country that is only ever, a neighbouring country’s subsidy away from economic disaster.

How much longer can sore loser Jackie Bird, theatrically grimace from her studio chair before she grinds her teeth down to the gums?

Could a career be any more narcissistic & less hopeless that one at BBC Shortbread?

15. Macart

Fitba, murdurr n’ kittens where you are.

(though mainly in Scotchland)

16. Robert J. Sutherland

Oh, to be a fly on the wall sometimes at PQ!

It’s a wonder that some staffer there hasn’t blown the gaff on that benighted place already. They can’t all be BritNat clones, surely?

I just hope some proper journalist is doing an undercover investigative piece on the workings of the place. With the reportage timed to appear just as indyref2 is declared, natch!

17. Pacman

With family, friends and work colleagues, there is one thing in common. When it comes to talking about the weather, there is always usually a mention of Sean, the STV weatherman.

Another thing, I hardly ever watch TV but when I do and watch the news on both of these channels, leaving out the political bias and recycling of Police Scotland press releases, of the two, STV news is far better.

Reporting Scotland is twee, old fashioned, stale and when watching I get a feeling of stepping into a sort of ‘alternative reality’ of 1950’s TV broadcasting set in a modern age.

With STV news, it does have a bit of professionalism and at least try to make an effort with reporting Scottish news, within limits. As mentioned it has Sean the weatherman and an odd camaraderie between the two main presenter John McKay and Raman Bhardwaj where you are always rooting for Raman to get one up on the snide comments from the other.

I know this is just an anecdotal observation and hard scientific but it occurs to me that most people watch the STV news rather than the one on the British Broadcasting Corporation. I just have to wonder what viewing figures does Reporting Scotland actually get?

18. Swiss Perspective

As often as not, the top article on BBC Scotland’s website is something about a murder or a rape. Not that these are not despicable and tragic events that have their place in news reporting, but consistently placing them as the most important feature provokes the image of a country mired in chaos and cruelty where the political process is meaningless to non-existant. Most state broadcasters in Western Europe put politics first which are more important to the course of people’s lives.

19. Famous15

T.roz @8.25.

Exactly! It is not random wickedness. It is planned psychological warfare and that is from someone who believes the Americans DID land on the moon.

I keep hoping for a leak confirming that MI5 psycheops does have a wee department in the BBC.It took me years to confirm that the old GPO telephone engineers routinely tapped calls for the UK Government and that was the deatbed confession of a guilty relative.

The sooner we are independent the better before they REALLY shaft us.

20. Robert Peffers

The BEEB have trotted out Lord Darling this a.m. to tell us all where we all went wrong and he was the one who got it right.

They must have now scraped away the bottom of the barrel and be well on their way down towards their former Australasian colonies. If ever I despised a fellow human being that being is Lord Darling.

The truth, of course, is that we were all right and it was on Darling’s watch that everything went down the financial plughole and his Lordship is in deep denial that he was a main plank in the deck of main ship in the United Kingdom shipwreck.

21. ronnie anderson

Nice one Chris i hope thats Purple Toxic rain on the horizon to shower the BBC

22. Tackety Beets

I really want to use expletives this morning, FFS

Report on GMS ref Lins Sharpe who was disqualified , according to GMS she has been reinstated due to “BRITISH appeal on the decision” and the word British seamed to be very emphasised on GMS
    “An appeal went in from the British” As if the aul “British” came to the rescue !
    Gggrrrrrrr……
    I have never heard reporting like it before.

Thanks Chris , another wee gem.

23. Morgatron

Superb Chris. It does indeed appear if the BBC are to be believed that we as a nation are just shit. Shit at education , shit at managing our own affairs, shit at policing, shit at social care blah blah blah. Well, i for one love our shity nation and our goverment ,the more they sling the more i will defend. The SNP have done more in the last decade than any of the opposition had done in the last 100 years. Though as i answered in Tommy Sheppards questionnaire, these bastards at the BBC need to be taken to task at every opportunity. Thanks Chris & Stu for getting the real news to us.

24. HandandShrimp

Do the BBC deliberately accentuate the negative at every conceivable opportunity or are they just wannabe Express journalists…or a bit of both?

I no longer subject myself to the TV version but still dip into the early morning weekend radio magazine. If it is Bill it tends to be OK, if it is Gordon much less so.

25. gus1940

Virgin Media are blocking access to the mobilise.scot site.

26. Undeadshaun

@One_Scot

Your link is blocked by virgin media.

I checked link on https://www.virustotal.com/#/home/url and its clean.

As is http://www.scot.ref the snp site for independence referendum.
    i have submitted a complaint.

I would advise any other virgin media customers to the same.

27. heedtracker

Is that looking east, good morning Scotland style? They really are at their most SNP bad aggressive, first thing, battering home their hate SNP stuff, into sleepy Scottish minds.

Its BBC Scotland versus Scottish democracy alright, Pacific Quay versus Holyrood. Who will win? can beeb Scotland gimps really get a FM Colonel Ruth or at the very least red tory sock puppet sock puppet Kez, into office? Tune in next Scots GE to find out.

28. One_Scot

I should have also added that the questionnaire was in an email I received yesterday from Tommy Sheppard MP, here is a link to his video clip and the questionnaire,

http://www.mobilise.scot/questions_intro?mc_cid=04da09a094&mc_eid=5c161e5da2

It even asks if you visit Wings Over Scotland!

29. Lenny Hartley

The Daily Gael has an exclusive from some Puffins , , seems we are all shite after all 🙂
    http://dailygael.com/puffins-see-you-next-year-scotland/

30. galamcennalath

BT are also blocking access to the mobilise.scot site with a warning, though you have an option to continue.

” BT Web Protect

The site you tried to visit does not look safe: http://mobilise.scot/

Why am I seeing this page?
    We have found that this website contains potentially harmful content. This means it may contain a virus or be a phishing site designed to steal your personal details.

Back to previous page
    Continue anyway “

Now, if I was into conspiracy theories ……

31. Undeadshaun

Can anyone on virgin check the mobilise site again.

Virgin should have fixed it now.

32. One_Scot

For anyone who finds that they are being blocked by Virgin Media from helping Scotland gain a better future, you can download the Opera browser to bypass their servers.

Opera lets you select a VPN (virtual private network) with one click at the top left of the web address bar. It lets you visit all the sites that your internet provider does not want you to see.

You just then unclick the VPN icon and you are back into the world of we will tell you what you can and cannot do.

33. Breeks

Ha ha ha. Not sure if that’s sunset for the BBC, or the darkening skies of Mordor, but it’s a Chris Cairns ‘toon so probably both.

34. Undeadshaun

@galamcennalath

Their url filter is incorrectly saying its malicous.

Call bt support and ask them to edit their url filter to allow the site.

Can anyone on virgin confirm it works for them now.

35. Undeadshaun

@onescot

The site is should now work as they have edited their virus protection.

You dont need to use a another dodgy dns. This can open you up to viruses.

You can switch off webfilter or do as virgon have now done add the url to a whitelist. After calling to cancel services.

Virgin should have now fixed issue, i need confirmation of this.

36. naina tal

naw still blocked

37. Helena Brown

Caught a wee bit on that other pro Britsh channel this morning. English Newspapers picking up the “Skye is Full Up”.
    If I was running a business there and I lost any I would be suing.

38. Undeadshaun

Virgin have not fixed everyone should call an threaten to leave.

They switched off my web protection instead of whitelist.

Their tech support person lied to me.

39. John Moss

Staff shortages in Scottish burger bars as disadvantaged teenagers fain university places…

Bloody hell, the ruddy SNP are going to close down my local MacDonald’s. Damn them all to hell!

Oh, wait…it’s just a cartoon.

Thank God, it had me going for a bit there.

40. heedtracker

If I was running a business there and I lost any I would be suing.

They may as well sue God. It was the BBC what won Scots ref1. The whole of the BBC got behind Nigel Farage and UKIP a few years ago. They made Farage a household name, lovingly cherished, rebranded, vote UKIP and here we are, our EU citizenship gone. That’s more power than God ever had right enough.

41. One_Scot

Looks like I picked the wrong day to believe unionist internet companies would not hinder Scottish Independence.

42. Davy

Scotland doing well, it’s the ultimate Yoon nightmare.

43. Breeks

If you cannot access Mobilise.Scot, let me summarise…

We’re planning to win by a knockout in the twelfth, so don’t worry about being pummelled on the ropes for the previous 11 rounds. The BBC is only planning to show the highlights after 11pm anyway.

Our Sovereign voice meant absolutely nothing to anybody in 2016, but apparently it’s going to be decisive in 2018. It’s a special “now you see it, now you don’t” kind of sovereignty. Bit like a constitutional Brigadoon, it only appears for one day every 300 years then disappears in a puff of smoke and mirrors.

44. Robert J. Sutherland

O/T I’m still getting mobilise.scot via VM.

As it happens, I use ghostery to block pretty much anything except what I positively want, but the site doesn’t appear to have indirect scripts to anything except the usual trackers. (“Facebook connect”?) But then I don’t see any video or questionnaire either, so maybe it’s that which is giving the problem…

45. yesindyref2

Just back from Skye doing my rounds, and the reports about the Police were a topic of conversation.

They were amused and pissed off at the same time. The BBC didn’t make any friends on Skye with their lying reporting.

46. Stoker

Sorry, that link posted previously (@ 10:44) was a bit messy.

Tax Research UK
    http://archive.is/twIV8

47. One_Scot

Just out of curiosity I typed ‘Mobilise.Scot’ into Google, and the second result was this from the Express.

http://archive.is/V95OY

It looks like there may be a deliberate concerted effort by the Establishment to suffocate the SNP.

48. Col

I wonder how they compare to the main BBC channel when it comes to attacking the Scottish government v’s the British government? Sometimes the BBC in Scotland have up to three or four stories which have a negative message which can be aimed right at the SG or SNP as a party.
    Could the Scottish government not just make it an offence for broadcasters and newspapers etc to lie in their headlines and news items. Who could actually argue with that without appearing anti democratic? Of course the unionists would.
    Scottish law is ours, not Westminsters. Take them on head on before it’s too late.

49. Marker Post

Tried the mobilise.scot site, despite the dire warnings, but BT is now telling me:

You don’t have permission to access “http://www.mobilise.scot/questions” on this server.

50. Naina Tal

Never forget the coverage by the propaganda unit during first Indyref: song at the time by C.D. Durness
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UNVud_R-aZ8

51. Valerie

Great toon, Chris. Made me smile.

I’m getting access to the mobilise.scot site fine via Sky BB, using a number of browsers.

I spent a bit of time last night filling in the survey. Good to see WoS mentioned!

52. Flower of Scotland

@One Scot 8.30am

That’s what I did as soon as “mobilise”, from the SNP, came out. I slated BBC and STV. STV is sometimes worse and folk share on Facebook because they think it’s a Scottish programme. It might be but It’s as dangerous as BBC in Scotland.

Good one Chris!

The last stand off at Pacific Key was very poorly attended. Those on the radical left were calling for folk NOT to go.

53. Flower of Scotland

Mobilise is available on iPad iOS.

54. yesindyref2

@Helena Brown
    The thing is that last week in July and first week in August has always been a very busy time for tourism in Scotland, Glasgow Fair fortnight and English school holidays, plus a busy time for Euopean visitors, mad fortnight it used to be called, and it’s always been advisable to book accomodation in advance, always. What you always got was the touring Europeans looking for accomodation at 7pm and even later, but accomodation owners do phone around for people. Then you’d get sites full for campers and touring vans as well, with campers and caravans using side of the road places.

Second week in August used to be a bit quieter already, but this year and last I guess is almost as busy as those two weeks. It’s weather, basically, and the last week July and first week August were largely cold and wet, and a bit windy too. People book last minute, or even cancel bookings. At the same time though if it’s wet, campers use hostel accomodation to get out of the rain and wet tents, and even B&Bs.

But for a channel to talk about it being full up now, is basically rubbish, as from today there are those who go home, so it gets a bit easier tonight and for the next week. It shows their total ignorance of the tourism scene and timetable in Scotland.

55. Undeadshaun

Called virgin media again, made formal compliant and asked that site is whitelisted.

Was advised that it will take time, which is true as tech people will need to carry out checks.

I would suggest eveyone complaining today about it.

I may also contact my snp msp/mp to ask them to ask questions of virgin media.

56. Valerie

In case you missed the good news.

There is a great little vid on gov’t now supporting Cycling without Age.
    Fraser Johnston is a 21 year old who started this project, idea from Denmark, and he was recently crowdfunding. He is an incredible young man.

https://www.snp.org/good_news_you_might_have_missed_august_2017

57. Ghillie

Hey there Cactus = ) Quite like Tribish, definitely an improvement. A Tribishness that welcomes 🙂

In Scotland, Clannish. Which welcomes with fullhearts = ) That’s us ! That’s the Scotland I want to see. Family that everyone belongs to.

X Sticks! Hey there too = ) Time for an Edinburgh gathering?

The BBC can away and beil their heids.

The BfeffingBC will never get the better of Scotland.

WE know that. Horrid wee thorns that they are. But I think you are right. Even the unionists are going to dispair at the blatant, not subtle, not clever attempts to fool folk who ultimately won’t be fooled. Tipping point and all that. Our day is fast approaching 🙂

Those that are totaly taken in ? Do you remember Patty Hearst? I do think we are looking at alot of cases of Stockholm Syndrome. The mind works in interesting ways.

And it isn’t always the most dramatic event that releases folk from those clutches. We all need to keep talking, encouraging and loving our neighbours. There lies our influence, our strength =)

58. harry mcaye

Pacman – STV News are a snidey bunch too. Did you watch it last night? The Blair Logan photo was the one of him at the BBC bias protest. They didn’t show his Yes t-shirt, like they did the last time, but you could see loads of saltires in the background. They have been worse than the BBC in this tragic case. Reporting Scotland made do with his police mugshot and footage of him collecting for a charity.

Then, a few moments later, another tragic case about the potential murder of a five month old baby girl in Fife. For at least the second time they showed a shot of the property featuring a Yes sticker on one of the windows.

This is the same crowd that twice in the space of a week said that the M9 crash tragedy came after police failed to respond to a 999 call. It was a non-emergency 101 call about a car that had gone off the road. I contacted both John Mackay and the reporter Colin Mackay via twitter. Presenter John tweeted back saying it was an honest mistake and would be corrected the following night. I watched and it was never mentioned. The self same reporter, Colin Mackay, repeated the lie the following week. Incompetent or deliberate? Aside from that incident, I’ve always found Colin Mackay to be fair in his reporting and interviewing, much like Bernard Ponsonby. His namesake, GA Ponsonby, never seems to mention STV News but they want monitoring too.

59. Jason Smoothpiece

Very slightly OT.

I was leafing through a small dictionary I found this:

Regime “if you refer to a government or system of running a country as a regime, you are critical of it because you think it is not democratic and uses unacceptable methods”

Starting today I know how I shall refer to the Colonial Power.

60. Calum McKay

Excellent, but sadly true, satire mirroring actual life!

61. Chick McGregor

If every train in Scotland arrived exactly on time, the BBC would report “Half the trains in Scotland arrive late.”. i.e. the rear half of each train.

62. Graf Midgehunter

If there are any yoons/No’s on Skye who are in the tourism industry, then they must be getting pretty mad at the Beeb – English/scottish MSM coughing up so much sh*te about Skye be full up and ruining their own livelyhoods.

Maybe getting a taste of the crap from their “friends” should get some thinking about who their REAL friends are.

Spent many great times on Skye climbing ….. (sigh)

63. Grouse Beater

Cactus: “Excellent, HOME city of us 602,000 Glaswegians.”

More on perfidious BBC and heroic Glaswegians here: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-iD0

64. yesindyref2

@Valerie
    That’s a good thing the SNP do with their website, “Good news you might have missed”. But there should be a link to it a “sticky” on their main page, perhaps above “updates”, or below.

65. Az

Nice – the disseminator of propaganda, Pacification Quay. Jackie Burd is loving it.

@ Grouse Beater 8.16am

Enjoyed your oil thief article, and like your use of the word ‘scrofulous’. That’s one to remember 🙂

66. Ghillie

Hey their Valerie @ 11.13 am

That Fraser Johnston, what a smashing lad !

And what a great idea to bring to this Country = )

Bicycle carriage rides for folks who struggle to get out. Brilliant 🙂

67. Jack Collatin

Imagine that you are eating breakfast of porridge and a sprinkling of seasonal mixed fruit and berries, washed down with a steaming soup bowl sized cup of dark coffee in Gothenburg, or hot croissants, a slither of Gauda and a steaming soup bowl sized cup of dark Java in Bruges, and you switch on your TV to catch up with the latest news where you are in Sweden or Belgium, and the playlist consists of a gory murder, an FOI revealing that the hospitals waiting lists are still chronically shite, your nation’s protected species of bird, moose, or butterfly is in danger of extinction, and that your Government is Bad at everything…for three minutes, then the network hands you over to Berlin TV, or Paris TV to get another nation’s Real news where they are?
    That’s what happens Up Here.
    Well done, Cairns, another heart wrenching take on the continuing Colonisation of Scotland.

68. Dramfineday

Ha,ha,ha, enjoyed that. Well done Chris. Run out of square sausage (smiles).

69. Marcia

Some of own opponents don’t believe in free speech, I filled in the Virgin Media questionnaire to say the website concerned is harmless except to Unionists. Everyone who uses VM should do the same. It is nice to now we are getting under their skin.

70. Marcia

*own = our – predicted text thingy again.

71. Foonurt

Aye, oan Thursday’s Radio Scoattlin (7-10am), ah sooth-speakin erse [Seamus ‘Neilsen’] fae wurr Scoattish Saekintrae Teachurrs Association, sid yoan Scoattish Nationull Fower wiz shite.

Bit retractit ah bit, efturr ah lassie fae thoan EIS, siddit wiz fine.

Split wae wurr YES, in yoan erse Cat Beiyd, meenshint thurr moarnin. Reverend Stuart Campbell in homophobia meenshint anaw (c.9-40am).

Bit nuhin oan, wurr £15 Billion fae eiyull. Leein basturts.

Wurr leaves, dinnae faw aff wurr trees richt …. .

72. galamcennalath

The BBC know exactly what they are doing!

Some definitions which express their activities with uncanny accuracy (my emphasis)…

Fake News is a type of yellow journalism or propaganda that consists of deliberate misinformation or hoaxes spread via traditional print and broadcast news media or online social media. Fake news is written and published with the intent to mislead in order to gain financially or politically, often with sensationalist, exaggerated, or patently false headlines that grab attention.”
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fake_news

Yellow Journalism, or the yellow press, is a type of journalism that presents little or no legitimate well-researched news and instead uses eye-catching headlines to sell more newspapers. Techniques may include exaggerations of news events, scandal-mongering or sensationalism. By extension, the term yellow journalism is used today as a pejorative to decry any journalism that treats news in an unprofessional or unethical fashion.”
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yellow_journalism

Propaganda is information that is not objective and is used primarily to influence an audience and further an agenda, often by presenting facts selectively to encourage a particular synthesis or perception, or using loaded language to produce an emotional rather than a rational response to the information that is presented.”
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Propaganda

73. Ghillie

One Scot @ 8.30 am

Thank you for the link to ‘Mobilise’ ‘How we can help the Indy Movement’

Worked for me.

Didn’t realise I had so many thoughts for what I could do or how I would like to see an Independent Scotland to be = )

Give it a go folks = )

This is OUR future and our children’s and their children’s and their children’s forever 🙂

Where else in the World do you get to shape your future, and your children’s?

74. Robert Kerr

My access to mobilise.scot is denied by BT but not on my iPhone/Safari. Different servers!

WTF is going on?

Previously I was advised by BT that site was “malicious” but I could choose to continue.

Not Now!

75. handclapping

Don’t watch, save money and use your local library instead. Even better get involved in IndyRef2 to fill your time.

There is definitely an acid streak in your character Chris. Long may it continue!

76. stonefree

@ One_Scot 9:47 am
    I received that as well,what I would say is I was not entirely surprised that it was fronted by Tommy Sheppard,one of the left of the SNP.I also noticed it didn’t have the usual SNP banners everywhere
    I’d suggest the SNP has seen the error of distancing itself from the left of the party.When one is told to “Fuck off to the Yesser campaign” by party members,One wonders

77. Ghillie

Hey Nana and Smallaxe !

Missing you both this morning =)

Hope all is well.

Ah well, have a lovely weekend everyone = )

Peace and Love.

78. Meg merrilees

Graf Midgehunter

re your comment about NO voters/Skye coverage.

A few days ago, when the story first broke the BBC footage showed an interview with three people
    American tourist who thought it was amazing,
    Sheila, Scottish wifie who runs the Three Chimneys
    and an English property owner (wasn’t clear if he owned a campsite/hotel) who obviously was very unhappy about the island being SO busy.

Why? …because the tourists come here, jump out of their cars, take a picture and then go away. They don’t spend any money here.

Surely if all the accommodation is fully booked someone is spending their money there, just not at his place. He wis quite miserable.

It’ll be even worse if nobody comes to visit.

79. Meg merrilees

Stonefree @12.17

In my e-mail, the questionnaire is from the SNP. In fact it states that I have been sent it because I am a member of the SNP.

If you notice, the return address is info@snp.org and at the bottom of the letter there is the SNP logo and their mailing address.

I accept it isn’t a bright yellow, all-guns-blazing, SNP election-type leaflet style, but it is probably, if not more particularly, aimed at obtaining the thoughts of those SNP members who didn’t vote for the SNP at the GE17.

80. Derek Rogers

O/T, but replying to One_Scot:

Thank you for the link to http://www.mobilise.scot – the links in the email sent me by the SNP had all been garbled by mailchimp, which to me showed SNP incompetence.

The survey is unimaginative, though – the only participation they ask for is street stalls, canvassing, leafletting – foot soldiers of the political party. Where is the call for public speakers, professionals who know how societies work, data analysts, campaign managers, even Vile Bigot Bloggers – people who can turn discontent into political change? The SNP hasn’t understood the changed level of engagement from 2014 and the Corbyn bounce, which should be leading us into participative politics. Disappointing.

81. Dan Huil

Chris calls it correctly once again.

Don’t pay the bbc tax. Let britnats pay for britnat propaganda.

82. ailsa craig

Is the mobilise site genuine? Be careful, [even tho’ mine came from email] There is no padlock plus the inverted exclamation mark deems it is insecure. As there is a Donate button I would advise caution until properly cleared.

83. mike d

I see the Shetland Isles had more sunshine than Cornwall this year. It’s aw yon SNP’S fault if you ask me. Stealing the nice weather from our overlords and masters.

84. mike d

Subjugated 8.11 am. Aye there’s nae scot like a subjugated ‘proudscotbut’.wha’s like them eh?.

85. yesindyref2

@ailsa craig
    mobilise.scot

from scotnet.net whois
    Registrant Name Christian Jones
    Registrant Street Address Line(s) SNP, 3 Jackson’s Entry
    Registrant City Edinburgh
    Registrant Postal Code EH8 8PJ

The registrant is of the SNP – Head of Data & Technology at The Scottish National Party

86. Clootie

…their organisations income is driven by their success in “mis-reporting Scotland”
    …their careers as based on measurement of “mis-reporting Scotland”

87. Undeadshuan

@ailsa craig

The site is clean when ran through url check and when you click to donate it uses https which is an encrypted web page.

88. One_Scot

Mate, it’s just a basic questionnaire asking for your opinion, chill out. And yeah it’s real. Had a reply from Tommy earlier, they are looking into the ISP issue.

89. crazycat

@ Meg merrilees at 12.25

The English chappie in the “Skye full” clip that I saw (on Twitter, but originally from the BBC) was a snack bar/van owner, not a hotelier.

90. Ghillie

DR @ 12.59 pm

So did you the do the useful thing, as requested on MOBILISE, and list your rather interesting and definitly useable sugestions?

Or did you just fancy a wee dig? Behave = )

91. Derek Rogers

Ghillie @ 12:08pm on 12 August

Firstly, sorry for the belated reply – I didn’t realise that ‘DR’ meant me! (what’s the emoji for “shoots self in head”?). I wanted to say to the SNP that emails that come out all garbled piss off the membership. And nowhere on the survey (as far as I remember) did it say, “What else could you contribute?”, so I couldn’t do useful things like making further suggestions. All they wanted to do was to collect a database of footsoldiers, and that, it seems to me, is uninspiring.

Secondly, I tried to check just now what in fact the survey had asked for (I could have misremembered it), but my ISP reports that the site http://www.mobilise.scot cannot be found. Either we have here cock-up (i.e. the SNP has mismanaged this) or conspiracy (i.e. chunks of the Internet are out to get us). This last seems to me implausible.

A further thought is that the SNP ran the Great Listening Exercise about this time last year. Is ‘mobilise’ just a rerun of the same?

I’ll post more about this on (NAKED PLUG!:) http://www.scotlandisdifferent.wordpress.com, soon.

92. Cactus

That’s yer River Clyde Glasgow.

Gorgeous.

X.

93. Cactus

Fuck, not More Bad News, not again!

There are two bridges in the distance…

Anna Clydeport crane portside.

1) Bell’s Bridge
    2) Clyde Arc

Bonnie.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.