I’m sure it will be the SNP’s fault. 🙂

2. Gaelstorm

What Luigi said….

3. Malky

I don’t see her waking up any time soon.

4. jimnarlene

The eject button will be pressed soon, who next will seize the poison chalice of “Labour” “leadership”, in Scotland?

5. Stoker

What a sorry looking bunch, you captured it well Chris.
    That expression on Dippy Dugs face is priceless.

6. yesindyref2

She’s her father’s daughter alright ..

7. Robert Kerr

“On the button once again Chris”,

Thanks!

8. galamcennalath

Excellent.

Kezia is definitely an asset, but to which side!?

And with scowls like that, you know they are really all Tories underneath the red paint!

9. Artyhetty

Ha ha ha, that is fabulous! How embarrassing, she will never live it down! Not to take any pleasure in rubbing it in, lol, but she deserves it.

10. Robert Louis

Haha excellent cartoon. I do think even Kezia might laugh at that.

I can see the ‘news’ headlines now ‘Labour leadership fiasco – Sturgeon must answer’, OR as the illiterate and hatred filled English Daily Express might put it ”Battered’ Sturgeon, ‘KICKED in teeth’ over button ‘FAILURE’ misery’.

I keep saying this, but this week’s cartoon is one of the best.

11. starlaw

Perhaps Kezia was afraid SNP would stand aside and leave them to get on with it.
    A Tory Labour coalition would have gone down well with whats left of her party.
    Perhaps she is biding her time to see where Brexit goes before calling for independance

12. Morgatron

Good old Daphne Broon.Dont you just love her.

13. jimnarlene

Was Kez just abstaining? We know “Labour” love to abstain.

14. Ken500

Parliamentary Channel

Rural Economy and Connectivity Committee – Chairman (Sir) Edward Mountain Unelected Tory Multimillionaire milking the public purse. In politics to line their pockets and their associates. The unelected Unionist/Greens on the take. Abusing public money. Against the majority wishes and the public interest.

A public disgrace. Cheek doesn’t come into it. Totally non democratic.

Farming now railways. The Unionists on the take. Taking the piss.

Aberdeen/Inverness rail line goes through Mountain’s ‘small’? farm?

15. Smallaxe

Done it again Chris,love the face,kezi would do better just keeping her mouth buttoned and that goes for the rest as well.

Peace Always

16. Jack Collatin

Ken 500: You may be accused of making a molehill out of a Mountain, Ken.
    Cairns, but for the fact that you favour an Independent Scotland, you would have had Dead Tree Scroll proprietors beating a path to your door.
    An excellent take on Buttongate.

17. Grouse Beater

Dugdale’s existence represents three Labour truths.

1. Her elevation exemplifies their presence in Scotland merely as a branch office.
    2. Her crushing dearth of ability demonstrates contempt for Scotland’s electorate.
    3. Labour show they have all the worst characteristics they used to blame on the SNP.

18. Papadox

All the old labour stalwarts are slowly but surely being brought out of the detox clinics and re installed in their privilidged positions. Over the last few weeks the EBC, STV MSM have been giving them oxygen of media exposure. Magrit Curran, Tom Watson, Ian (stab) Davidson + all the unelected MSPs etc. To restart the SLAB expense train, for the benefit of the daft jocks. Dim Jim will make an appearance soon to start edging his way into Kezias position. SLAB is on its way back now we have seen their new improved “dream team”. Watch this space, they haven’t gone away you know. This all achieved with the connivance of Westminster yoons of all persuasions.

19. A. Graham

Oh, I love that. Classic!.

20. Ken500

Unelected Unionists using the Committee system to score party political points. Totally wasting public time and money. They are a total disgrace, A complete and utter useless disgrace. They would do anything to hamper progress in Scotland. They haven’t a clue what they are speaking about. So out of touch it is appalling. Hypocrites.

21. Smallaxe

Jack Collatin:

Nippy this morning Jack? 🙂

Peace Always

22. Clootie

Nothing highlights the importance of leadership more than when it is missing!

23. Breeks

Any normal person in her position would realise her position is untenable.

Kinda moving off topic;

Just read a story about Austria coming under pressure from the far right, and that their presidential election is having to be re-run because there was a problem with the glue on postal ballots.

It may seem farcical, but it surely asks questions about our own response to the 2014 referendum result, and the litany of dubious protocols and propaganda pieces which stood unchallenged. The Austrians are having a rerun because the glue didn’t stick. We are living with a No result because the muck thrown by the BBC did.

24. Smallaxe

ATTENTION,Nana’s links are on the last thread.

Peace Always

25. Luigi

Coming phone conversation, Saturday 11:30am

Dugdale: “Congratulationsd, Jeremy, I’m sure….”

Corbyn: “Zip it, Buttons!”

26. Heather McLean

“yesindyref2 says:
    She’s her father’s daughter alright ..”

Don’t think so – her father is a well known SNP supporter and member!!

27. Celyn

I just posted this cartoon on a message board, and I *did* say that I stole it from Chris Cairns and Wings over Scotland, but is that all right?

If it is a bad crime against Chris Cairns’ copyright, I will remove it at once, but I sort of hope it is all right to share it.

28. Marconatrix

Nice one 🙂

29. starlaw

I believe Kezia was abstaining, what if SNP lost that vote stood aside and told Tory / Lab to get on with it.
    A Con/slab coalition would kill her party stone dead

Kezia is biding time to see how Brexit pans out and Scotland goes for indie2 which will split her Scottish branch.

30. sinky

Finger on the button as usual Chris.

A must listen is the Radio Scotland piece at 8.25 this morning when former BBC Scotland head John McCormick reveals that not only did John Birt get Tony Blair to oppose a Scottish Six but all Labour MPs and Lords were whipped not to say anything in support of a Scottish Six.

This deserves much wider coverage so that ordinary voters learn more about how the British Establishment works.

31. JLT

For one hour the other night there, the media and Scottish Labour banded together and literally hissed at the SNP over the voting result. A result whose failure for the Unionists, lay at the hands (…or finger) of a Unionist …but, WHOA!!! Let’s get one thing straight …it was the SNP’s fault!!

The BBC article that initially reported it was sulky, provocative and accusative and Scottish Labour weren’t much better. They just couldn’t hold their hands up and admit that Kezia had made an honest mistake (for that might be all it was!)

Even the BBC’s wording was glossed over. It stated ‘But when it came to the final decision, the vote was tied at 63 all – with Ms Dugdale apparently not voting. The presiding officer then used his casting vote to back the government’. And who is the presiding officer? None other than Ken Macintosh, Labour MSP for West Scotland.

But rather than the BBC wondering why Ken, a former Labour MSP had not only decided to vote WITH the SNP (as according to the BBC), but in doing so, defeated the Tory amendment all by himself, it was better instead to not only focus on Kezia’s distress, but look accusingly at the SNP and begin the insinuation game.

James Kelly in a giant huff, stated ‘Every Scottish Labour MSP voted against the government today’, while Iain Gray decided to just ignore the facts altogether when he said that Ms Dugdale had cast a vote and that it had apparently registered with the system.

Well …no, it hadn’t. And all the stamping of feet in frustration won’t change that fact.

No technical fault has been found, and anyone working in IT will tell you that a faulty system will be tested at least half a dozen times to see if the fault can be re-created. I would bet a month’s wages that the IT staff in the aftermath stood at Kezia’s console and pressed whatever that was supposedly ‘faulty’ a good dozen times while others at the main console and the presiding officers desks watched lights go on and off successfully. Simply put …no fault has been found.

Almost as soon as the accusatory story broke, it died a death within the hour. Why? Because there was no fault and the mistake actually lay with Kezia. She either

(1) Did not believe in the Tory amendment and therefore abstained
    (2) Did not press her button firmly enough to vote
    (3) Was not paying attention and thus missed the moment to vote
    (4) Quietly agreed with the SNP proposals but still abstained.

And since then …tumbleweed. Nada. Hee-haw! If this had been one of the main SNP Cabinet members (let alone Nicola Sturgeon), this story would have ran and ran.

But instead, the BBC and Scottish Labour have taken the big cream puff and gone off to sulk in the corner. And Kezia …not a peep. In fact, she’s vanished again …just like she did after the Brexit result. This is a woman you just know, should not be allowed anywhere near the levers of power …let alone a voting button at her desk.

32. X_Sticks

@JLT

I think I’m right in saying that in the event of a tied vote the Presiding Officer HAS to vote for the status quo, and they have to resign their party political affiliation to hold the post of PO.

33. defo

Pushing it !

34. Bob Mack

They say Scottish Labour is autonomous. I think that is a lie. Someone else must be pushing the buttons because it sure isn’t kezia.
    Couldn’t resist.
    As usual Chris,brilliant depiction on one page.

35. Davy

Great cartoon Chris.

Would anyone actually be surprised if that happened again ?

Nae, nor would I.

36. DeilTakTheHindmaist

Funny how the boy at the bottom left looks like George Osborne

37. bugsbunny

Morgatron,

Not so much Daphne Broon, more the Bairn. Like the Bairn, she is always getting things arse for elbow, doesn’t check her facts/sources, has everyone running to see what she’s talking about and then rolling about the floor pissing themselves with laughter.

A typical Bairn Kez example would be, “Quick Ma and Pa, Granpa’s having a fight”. They all run to Granpa’s with coats tails flying to find Grandpa in the Cludgie reading the Sunday Post with his troosers at his knees and bog roll sitting next to his feet. They say, “Ho Ho Kezia, Granpa’s no haeing a FIGHT, Grandpa’s haeing a SHITE”.

Baby Kez replies, “Opps” and they all laugh at her. True story, (probably).

Stephen.

38. Ken500

To prevent this happening. The Unionist/Green/No Party voting down the majority eldcted Gov.

Vote SNP/SNP 2017. No deviation. For a more equal, fair prosperous country.

Get rid of the ‘Pycho Bastards’ sanctioning, starving and illegally killing the vulnerable. Creating a total destructive mess.

39. Another Union Dividend

Good front page story in The National this morning.

http://www.thenational.scot/news/libdem-msp-must-resign-the-whip-calls-for-alex-cole-hamilton-to-stand-down-while-expenses-probed.22805

Amazingly this is not covered in the local Edinburgh papers and yet another reason to support The National.

Cole-Hamilton is a chancer and Lib Dems who hounded Michele Thomson and attacked her throughout Cole Hamilton’s election campaign do not apply the same standards as they demand of others.

40. Ken500

If the Unionist/Green vote had gone through. Imagine the aftermath of recriminations. They would have been held up the total hypocrites they are. totally reneging on their ‘policies’ as usual. Not fit for publc office. Unelected 2nd rate, troughing on public money trying to muck up the Scottish economy. Appalling.

Vote SNP/SNP 2017

41. JLT

@X-Sticks

Hi mate, I knew Ken had ‘resigned’ from his party once he became Presiding Officer (PO) hence my stating of the ‘former’ part in my dialogue above.

But although the PO does not take part in any debate or vote, and that they only do so when it come to tie breaks, you are definitely right when you state that the convention is that the speaker casts the tie-breaking vote in favour of the status quo.

The convention states that it is expected, but it is not sacrosanct. Ken could have, if he wished (though as you rightly state, would have led to serious growls from the SNP benches), voted with the amendment if it was that serious. After all, the media used to look upon Tricia Marwick with suspicion simply because she was a former SNP MSP. Everytime she chastised a non-SNP member, the media at times reported it as though the SNP were determined to have the final word in heated parliamentary debates.

Now we have a former Labour MSP as PO, but rather than state Ken’s name or his previous affiliation, the BBC instead glossed over it with ‘the presiding officer then used his casting vote to back the government’. Call me paranoid LOL, but the BBC article did skirt around the overall subject matter, and it did leave an accusatory tone aimed at the SNP, even though Kezia screwed up, the final word came from a former Labour MSP and that no fault was found at all with any of the systems.

Anyway …enjoy the weekend mate! Hope all is well.

42. mike cassidy

Breeks 8.28

Here’s the link to the dodgy Austrian envelop story which came up on another thread.

http://archive.is/6fn1n

And a little light relief from the same site.

http://archive.is/35QlW

43. Iain MacDonald

Nice one, Chris.
    Your crowd scene turned out just great. It would have been nice to see the crowd filled out with former SLAB leaders, just for old times sake.

If JC wins the election today and Kez gets hoofed at least she can look forward to the panto season where she will be a shoo-in for the role of Buttons.

44. Richardinho

The thing that amazes me most about Buttongate is that it’s never happened before.

45. kailyard rules

Is that Richard Nixon at back row second from right? Kezia’s “shining” nightmare.

46. ronnie anderson

Aye rub it in Chris why don’t you , these cartoons will be remembered long after the event itself.

Brilliant bud.

47. Stuart McPhee

Poor lassie, only value she has is comedic value.

Those who vote for her must have loyalty, but loyalty to what?

To see Ian Gray being used by Kezia to validate she voted, that must be a new low for any Scottish politician.

To those in labour who wish the best for Scotland, come and join the independence camp.

48. Grouse Beater

I’ve little to say this weekend: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-9X1

Autumn is here to announce winter not far behind, so I’m off to build the foundations of my Roman garden. That way I can look forward to its planting in spring.

49. Sinky

Labour’s attack between now and next May will be on Council underfunding and Tony Blair’s lapdog Brian Wilson leading the charge in to-day’s Hootsman.

http://archive.is/LWOdp

50. Jockanese Wind Talker

JLT says at 9:10 am

As I posted on the previous thread:

Lots about the button but no mention of Labour siding with the Tories again despite the ideological conflict this should be if they are the left leaning party of the worker they pretend to be.

51. bugsbunny

With 127 MSP’s in the chamber Thursday Morning, I was wondering who the odd man out was? After all, not including the PO of course there should be 128 MSP’s in the chamber, not 127. So step forward Douglas Ross, Highlands and Islands Regional MSP and Moray Councillor.

Where was he, in his sickbed perchance? attending a family funeral? at his wife’s side as she gives birth? Nope to all. He was, wait for it…….at a World Cup Referee Training Course in Switzerland where he is expected to earn around £40,000 from his “Extra Curricular Activities”.

Step forward with an explanation Ruthie?…..tumbleweed and silence…

Stephen.

52. Jockanese Wind Talker

Another Union Dividend says at 9:46 am

No cries in the press (either printed or televised) for Alexander Burnett MSP Tory to resign the whip either.

Consider the fact he is being investigated for both conflict of interest and electoral expenses fraud.

Compare Burnett and Cole-Hamilton’s column inches, article prominence and lack of media storm with that of Michelle Thomson and Natalie McGarry.

One rule for the Yoon’s and a completely different one for the SNP.

Same as it ever was.

53. AuldReekieJim

Cracking cartoon

With Kezia no longer leader of the opposition, I think she may have been distracted by her ‘SNP bad’ colouring in book.

54. starlaw

Kezia button failure or not may be due to her realising if SNP stepped aside and told the tories to get on with it Kezia would have been isolated for propping up a mostly unelected tory government.
    With a possible Inde2 on the cards what way will Kezia jump?

55. Ian Brotherhood

Kezia really ought to just chuck it, and she won’t get a better opportunity than today.

At least she’d be able to resign as a matter of ‘principle’, but that doesn’t seem to count for much these days anyway. She’ll be remembered, if at all, for Buttongate.

56. heedtracker

They should just put some hair round it. Sorry, old drilling gag:D

57. Smallaxe

Jockanese Wind Talker:

I owe you an apology I was posting to Liz g this morning on the last thread and was referring to yourself as Japanese W.t.
    Sorry about that I wasn’t too bright this morning.

Peace Always

@ bugsbunny reply on last thread 🙂

58. Proud Cybernat

Nice one, Chris. Dugson’s Choice, lol.

Panto season begins…

http://imgur.com/a/pGBVP

59. bugsbunny

Maybe we should send her some chocolate buttons as a consolation prize instead?

Stephen.

60. mogabee

How apposite is this weeks toon? Some may say it’s right on the button, I couldn’t possibly argue agin that!

I believe I have the answer to why Kez didn’t press that button…

It became invisible, just like SLabour members when scrutiny is directed towards them. 🙂 🙂

61. Chic McGregor

Heh heh! Autonomy of a blunder.

62. Valerie

Nice one, Chris. Buttongate was very funny on Twitter, with clever cats, able to push buttons etc.

Blairite nightmare coming up shortly at 11.45, and I would assume they have started plotting already, in anticipation of Corbyn winning again.

Can’t tell you the depth of disgust I feel for Labour. I understand those down south clinging to hope, but I could never belong to the Labour party.

Their shenanigans this year have surpassed the Tories. The Tories do what they do, and Labour, this year, have enabled them on a grand scale.

63. Flower of Scotland

Great cartoon Chris. Says it all.

I wonder who will accept the “poisoned chalice” of leader of the monotonous, autonomous Labour Party in Scotland, when Kez stands down?

64. manandboy

A cracker, Chris. Lang may yir lum reek!

After the Labour Leadership announcement later, Buttongate will be flushed down the toilet by the MSM/BBC and left on the Labour time-line, like they do on the Borders railway, (and others I’m sure).

As for Ms Dugdale, if she gets the sack by Labour’s NEC, she could always get a job as a circus clown. Oh wait. . . .

65. bugsbunny

Maybe she was day dreaming about her latest biography of her old pal George Foulkes, titled “Diary of a Nobody?”

I suppose it’s better than George’s booklet on toilet etiquette on how not to miss the pan, written under his pseudonym I. P. Squint.

Stephen.

66. Grouse Beater

Brotherhood: “Kezia really ought to just chuck it. She’ll be remembered, if at all, for Buttongate.”

Yup. That’s about it.

67. heedtracker

On what could be Holyrood Barbie’s last day in the job, rancid The Graun puts the UKOK boot in SNP wise, again. Did anyone NOT know, all the UK press hate the SNP yet?

http://archive.is/QNvIt

UK bust you Scotland, don’t even think of running your own economy.

68. Grouse Beater

Saw this movie a second time – it’s that good: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-9zy

69. Dr Jim

The controversy’s better for Kez at least more folk will be talking about her instead of ignoring her so it might well have been deliberate…. poor soul, more than half the country doesn’t know or care who she is, they think she’s Jeremy Corbyns Nanny in England

Anyway, (spoken in very slow motion) Alex Rowley’s got his chib ready for between Kez’s shoulder blades anytime now

Defo agree with the Ken McIntosh bit, everybody chose to ignore that one

Anybody noticed the FM gets called just “Sturgeon” a lot now while Ruth Davidson gets her full moniker as does Kezia Dugdale or even warmly, “Kez” that might just be because folk feel sorry for her though I suppose, like the little lonely kid at the back nobody plays with

70. HandandShrimp

I personally think we should cut Kezia a wee bit of slack.

I have no problem with the Kezia, Gray and Bailie team staying in charge.

71. heedtracker

Its getting exciting! 5 minutes to go. If a red tory coup like this one is “bickering,” well maybe bickering means something very different to red tory yoonsters like Dr NO!

Scott Arthur ?@DrScottThinks 4h4 hours ago
    Yes, the bickering stops at 11:45am

Burnham urges MPs to “engage constructively” with whoever becomes leader:

72. Jockanese Wind Talker

No apology necessary Smallaxe.

Been called a lot worse in my time 🙂

Hope you feel better later on.

All the best for a speedy recovery

73. Chic McGregor

HandandShrimp

You mean the KGB?

74. heedtracker

I personally think we should cut Kezia a wee bit of slack.

I have no problem with the Kezia, Gray and Bailie team staying in charge.

Holyrood Barbie’s not great for Scottish democracy, so she’ll stick around. When she came out of her closet just before the last GE, it was one of the most cynical acts of political desperation. Where was she when same sex marriage was being thrashed out?

If it wasn’t for the tory yoon press and corrupted tory BBC Scotland, she’s maybe have a chance but its too late for red tory Kez now.

75. Breeks

Thanks Mike C at 9:56

Picked up another link of interest from the same site:

https://www.euractiv.com/section/uk-europe/news/source-new-post-brexit-eu-summit-on-3-february-in-malta/

EU summit in Malta post Brexit.

Come on Scottish Government movers and shakers, that’s the kind of thing we want to happening here. Wee Malta’s quicker off the mark.

76. call me dave

Jeremy strolls in: Wiping the Welsh slate clean!

PS:

Nicola Sturgeon ‘could call second Scottish independence referendum in Autumn 2017’

https://archive.is/0K9uk

77. Nana

Super cartoon Chris. Poor Kez the pressure must have gotten to her. Did her finger slip or did Anas sabotage the button. Questions questions

Well she’s under pressure now
    61.8% Corbyn
    38.2% Smith

78. Triangular Ears

Anyone else see Dugdale’s face on the BBC coverage? Ha ha. I hope somebody screen grabbed it!

79. mike cassidy

Bugsbunny 10.43

Buttongate was funny enough –

but to learn they wouldn’t have needed her vote if all the tories had been present just adds extra laughter.

I wonder if the opposition worked out that his vote wouldn’t be needed, and he could go on his lucrative training course.

Tee Hee!

80. carjamtic

Smallaxe in the modern world we live in,you need to be careful with your words,lest the dogs of fury are unleashed upon you,wingers know when a typo has been made or a funny,so no worries,as JWT has said,we all have been called a lost worse.

Old ones are the best.

What do you call a Brazilian car thief with a prosthetic foot ?.
    Roberto Carlos

What’s the difference between a joiner and a carpenter ?.
    One works with wood the other paints cars.

Another brilliant cartoon Chris.

Coat on…

81. heedtracker

Je suis Duncan.

Duncan Hothersall Retweeted
    David Clater ?@SpawnofJustice 18h18 hours ago Edinburgh, Scotland
    It isn’t the PLP. It isn’t MSM. It isn’t the “coup”. It isn’t MI5. Or Blairites. Or aliens. It’s Corbyn. Corbyn.

82. HandandShrimp

You mean the KGB?

Chic

Aye…only not quite as efficient. 🙂

83. louis.b.argyll

Heedtracker posted this guardian piece..
    http://archive.is/QNvIt

My God, that ‘illustation’ by Matt Kenyon is a Primary 7 – ‘learning to use Paint’effort. Wonder how much the Guardian payed him for it.

84. DerekM

Ouch lol that`s got to hurt nice one Chris.

I hear New Labour Blairites have a new theme song

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AWtCittJyr0

Get it up ye Red Tory filth.

85. Jack Murphy

Kezia Dugdale on Jeremy Corbyn’s re-election as Leader.
    TWITTER:-
    “Congratulations to Jeremy. We must all now harness the energy and enthusiasm of our movement into real change for people”.

She must be feeling kinda sick——-her man lost.

86. John

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b07vwz9p#play Sinky @ 8.59 , here is podcast of Good Morning Scotland this morning for anyone that would like a listen , slide rule to 28:18 .

87. Hamish100

Now how will the single tory, sorry Labour MP vote. Is he in the shadow RUK Cabinet or not?
    He is so two faced he will be fully supportive of his parties democracy!! and then plot with the Kinnock’s of the world. As my old mother says “creepy get”. Who am I to argue.

88. Nana

Oh dear looks like Kez may have chosen the wrong button [candidate]

https://twitter.com/YES2ForScotland/status/779643014889299969?lang=en-gb

89. heedtracker

From,

Writing for the Daily Record, she said:

“Owen Smith gets my vote. I believe he can unite our party and move us on from the divisions that exist under the current leadership of Jeremy Corbyn.

Owen understands that to have a chance of implementing Labour values, we need to win over some of those who didn’t vote for us at the last election.”

to,

Kezia Dugdale ?@kezdugdale 15m15 minutes ago
    Congratulations to Jeremy. We must all now harness the energy and enthusiasm of our movement into real change for people

90. heedtracker

It is going to be interesting to see what Kez and Ian do after politics.

http://labourlist.org/2016/07/ian-murray-handed-scottish-labour-role-after-resigning-from-corbyns-frontbench/

91. DerekM

Poor Dunc someone send him a box of hankies to wipe away the tears lets show him we are not totally heartless vile cybernats lol

This will cheer you up Dunc lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XsYJyVEUaC4

92. heedtracker

End of Kez era approaches but probably not. JC’s not the messiah sadly. Ulitimately, JC’s win is another catastrophic failure for our relentlessly ghaaaaaaaaaastly tory BBC, who will as usual, pretend to be mere reporters.

News UK News Jeremy Corbyn
    Jeremy Corbyn says Tony Blair should be tried for war crimes
    23:08, 4 AUG 2015
    BY MIKEY SMITH
    The Labour leadership frontrunner says the former Prime Minister should “deal with the consequences” of an “illegal war”

93. One_Scot

Seriously, Yoons must be the most hypercritical lying group of life forms this planet has even seen.

For the love of God Scotland, please don’t F’ck up again.

94. Luigi

Aye, it’s been a nightmare week for Buttons.

Don’t worry, Buttons. It can only get worse. 🙂

95. mumsyhugs

Maybe they didnae cover button pressing at that course she was on in the States during the summer! Either that or she was too busy arguing wi’ somebody at the time tae notice whit the lecturer was saying! 🙂

96. Luigi

Aye Mumsyhugs,

It makes you wonder what exactly Kez learned during that expensive trip to the states:

How not to push buttons?

97. HandandShrimp

Just waiting to hear why Jeremy’s election is all the SNP’s fault

98. Effijy

Dipity Dug has more faces than a Swiss Watch Factory!

Congratulations the man I hoped to put out of leadership
    as I don’t agree with his policies. Can I keep my job? lol

On the topic of Switzerland, a Tory MSP had the choice to put his country and party first, or his own personal finances and his more important job.
    Who can be surprised that money always comes first with the Tories. More a Swizz than a Swiss miss!

O/T Read someone’s Daily Hail today, but missed out checking that SNP are bad on every page, to read the Emma Cowing Column.
    She is a bright star in blatant anti-Scottish Establishment, and finds the most random drivel to write about with great regularity.

Today we have our Bard, Rabbie Burns, who it seems wrote poetry for the middle classes and not the working classes? (That will be the end of his career then Emma) lol

Another stoater is the stupidity of the council refusing to allow a Burger Van to set pitch next to the Kelpie Horses in Falkirk. It seems we ungrateful Scots are going to starve the tourists who have travel to visit the Kelpies

You can just hear an English family discussing the benefits of seeing this magnificent piece of art, but delaying any decision until they can confirm the presence of a Burger Van????

Sorry Emma, Scotland must pay more attention to these vital historical and economical guidelines that a silly wee lassie has laid down before an inferior nation. NOT!

99. Capella

@ sinky and john
    There’s a record of the Scottish Parliament debate in 2008 with some interesting facts. Lesley Riddoch referred to it. You can read the report here or download the pdf:
    http://www.parliament.scot/parliamentarybusiness/report.aspx?r=4832&i=41107

e.g. “According to PACT, only two hours of independent drama produced in Scotland were broadcast to the whole of the UK during 2007. In comparison, across all the major broadcasters, 10,661 hours of programmes were made in London. On top of the situation being “deeply disturbing”, it is dismal, disappointing and desperately London-centric.”

George Foulkes contribution is ridiculous as you would expect.

100. Effijy

Louise Ellman, Liverpool MP, is unhappy with the Corbyn re-election. She feels that the result is corrupt and will be fighting the decision.

Looks like that Red Tory MPs still have a hand on the self destruct button while Kez isnae worth a Button.

If Labour insist on wasting £180 Billion on Trident, could they put Kez in charge of Button pressing? lol

Her actions could explain why she does so badly on the door step.She only thinks she pressed the door bell Button

101. Smallaxe

bugsbunny:

Sorry post for you last thread.

Peace Always

102. call me dave

@Capella

Aye I heard a wee bit of Riddoch on GMS earlier not singing the praises of Shortbread coverage.

All murder,fitba and polis she says, time to get the finger oot!

I must agree, Auntie Scotland’s coverage is akin to the ‘penny dreadfuls’ of bygone days.

103. Proud Cybernat

Kez – a ProudScotButton.

Wonder what her erse’ll be making now that JC has one with an even bigger mandate than before.

How do they do it? Sides splitting here.

104. Proud Cybernat

…that’ll be ‘won’. Naturally,

105. Jack Murphy

Jeremy Corbyn re-election as UK Leader.

Scotland Leader LibDem Willie Rennie puts in his pennyworth:-
    “Scottish Liberal Democrat leader Willie Rennie said his party could offer an alternative to voters who had “no confidence in Mr Corbyn’s left-wing lurch.”
    From the BBC.

106. yesindyref2

@Heather McLean
    Yeah, that’s what I mean!

107. G H Graham

If only there was someone like saviour of the union, Jim Murphy, available to save Labour’s north British accounting unit from itself.

“I know we can win in ’16, but the path to victory runs through ’15, and we need to do very well in ’15. I’ve set the bar, which is holding everything we have.

Source: http://tinyurl.com/jxg9sv4

Ha! Ha! Ha!

108. call me dave

Kezia says…a bit like Simon says… but really it’s Jeremy says!

https://archive.is/fy9do

109. Papadox

Kez giving her opinion on Corbyns election victory on EBC NEWS 24. Victoria Derbyshire Vicky Young could not believe the shit that Kez was spouting and smiling as she did it. Absolutely thick or very very evil. Give her enough peanuts she’ll say and do anything. Aye a shining light of the Labour Party in Scotland, and very autonomous she says. As sharp as a tennis baw.

110. heedtracker

Jim Murphy ?@GlasgowMurphy Sep 1
    I believe in Labour as a party of government. We can’t win by sacking the voters but we can by changing leader. Today I voted for Owen Smith

And lo, it can came to pass.

What’s his idiot side kick Macternan saying

John McTernan ?@johnmcternan 1h1 hour ago
    John McTernan Retweeted Carl Dinnen
    It is Corbyn’s way. He lies about MPs knowing that they will be trolled on Twitter

Red tory hatrick? His Blairness cant be arsed saying anything on Twitter. He RT’s on Syria a lot, very noble obliges but its a horrifying fact that red tories Labour under these guys, caused all the middle east civil wars, and then they destroyed the Labour party too. And that’s just the start of a catastrophic red tory list. But then they do rage away at how they won 3 elections, what have you ever done etc, via BBC tory gimps. Its all we’ll hear for the next decade.

Blair McDougall Retweeted
    Alan Roden ?@AlanRoden 5h5 hours ago
    Happy 30th birthday to my brilliant colleague @HigginsKieron. Nice quiet day for it..

111. Jockanese Wind Talker

Breeks says at 11:54 am

That’s the kind of event Scots Gov or SNP WM Foreign Affairs Spokesman should gatecrash.

Perhaps Scots Gov/SNP could conveniently have a team in Malta publicising Scotlands import, export and business opportunities at the same time.

Maybe the EU Reps might be persuaded to drop in past for a whisky and seafood dinner??

112. Smallaxe

carjamtic:
    Sorry about late reply,keep your coat on.

What do you call a guy that wears size 17 shoes and doesn’t
    own a dog?

Big Shuie Dugless

I’m gone!

Peace Always

113. manandboy

Kezia backed the wrong horse during the race, but now the race is over and the winner declared, she is now going to back him instead. Meets with the BBC to read her scripted interview.

Meanwhile 172 Labour MPs, who would like to see Jeremy Corbyn rest in peace, have yet to give their response to the result.
    The PR is about the Labour Family re-gathering and making peace/wiping the slate clean, after the summer war between the members and the MPs/NEC, but as most people will know, peace after war is often merely a ceasefire. Actual peace is a very different proposition.
    Labour now has a socialist Leader and a socialist majority of nearly 2:1 among the members, and a neo-liberal/tory parliamentary group plus supporters.
    Peace? I’ll believe it when I see it.

114. louis.b.argyll

The UK is a state.
    Scotland is a nation.

England hides within the UK.
    Scotland seeks independence.
    The UK idealises supremacy.

The real England is nowhere to be seen,
    it’s corruptable establishment maintaining it’s centuries old undemocratic influence.

Scotland clings on, having clear sight of the inequalities within, and abuse of, The Act of Union.

115. Richardinho

Buttongate is pretty funny but it’s really just a symptom of the more general incompetence within the Labour party – and these are the people who would lead us!

116. Jockanese Wind Talker

heedtracker says at 12:35 pm

Oor Kez in a U turn??

Shurley Shum Mishtake 🙂

117. Sunniva

Owen Smith won in Scotland with 58% of the votes, so Kezia’s support not out of tune with the Scottish branch.

Probably because Labour in Scotland consists of right wing members, the left wing having departed to the SNZp.

118. heedtracker

Other news, rancid The Graun reports,

“Social housing
    Footballers’ £400m social housing dream unveiled
    Brighton’s Bobby Zamora, West Ham’s Mark Noble and Rio Ferdinand, now retired, present project to build 1,300 homes near Luton”

Its interesting that millionaire Premier League footballers can do something that millionaire red toryboys like Bomber Blair, Crash Gordo, Flipper Darling etc simply could not.

119. HandandShrimp

Kezia says that Labour can win under Corbyn

Kezia is either planning to administer a full lobotomy to all of us or she thinks we have the memory capacity of carp.

Whether Jeremy can win is moot but that is not what Kezia believes.

120. CmonIndy

My name is Kezia. I support/oppose Jeremy and under him we will win/lose the next General/Captain election. I have always/never supported the leader/loser and his election/defeat will help/hinder autonomous/dependent Labour in Scotland/Eritrea. Now we can all work together/fuck each other for a stronger/weaker future/past. Goodbye/hello.

121. Capella

Someone was missing from the Scottish Parliament vote on Thursday – Douglas Ross, Tory MSP, who was abroad with the SFA.
    I thought the arithmetic was one short. Poor Kezia might have been saved the embarrassment if the Tories were held to account.
    Andy Wightman tweeted this Daily Record article:

https://archive.is/0u9ja

122. Smallaxe

As Kezia has problems with buttons,it just occurred to me,
    who does up the buttons on the back of her Head?

Peace Always

123. mike cassidy

Re the missing tory in the Buttongate affair.

http://archive.is/ozNFw

You’ve got to love that quote at the end – even if he never made it to Westminster.

“Moray needs more than a machine politician representing us in Westminster. Douglas would probably be a Whip’s nightmare, but he will be an excellent MP for Moray.”

124. thomas

Ah saw kezia in asda govan the other week.

It wis a momentus moment for me , especially as it coincided with an incident wae the wife.

Right out the blue the wife said to me

“you really are one lazy bastard!”

Well!!!

I nearly fell oot the trolley!!!

125. bugsbunny

Thomas,

What was she say to her now?

Stephen.

126. heedtracker

Murdoch goon not impressed or understandable, shock. Kenfarq’s been at the toryboy thesaurus again.

Blair McDougall Retweeted
    Kenny Farquharson ?@KennyFarq 1h1 hour ago
    Every single utilitarian nationalist I know is simply an existential nationalist who seeks a utilitarian justification for their beliefs.

127. heedtracker

And lo, a new dawn of peace and consensus blossomed in the Labour party.

Blair McDougall ?@blairmcdougall 2m2 minutes ago
    Blair McDougall Retweeted Blair McDougall
    A fundamental contradiction in the space of about 10 words.Blair McDougall added,
    Blair McDougall @blairmcdougall
    Paul Mason’s strategy: Scotland is key to Labour recovery across UK so Labour should stop sending MPs to House of Commons. Genius

128. annie

@heedtracker, He thinks it makes him sound intelligent, he works for the Times don’t you know.

129. heedtracker

annie says:
    24 September, 2016 at 4:06 pm
    @heedtracker, He thinks it makes him sound intelligent, he works for the Times don’t you know.

Times ain’t what it used to be. Blue tory Yoon insults need to at least make sense but existential nationalist is not exactly hurtful.

Scans of though. My next placard at the YES rally

“I am the very model of an existential nationalist…”

I am the very model of existential nationalist,
    I’ve information vegetable, animal, and mineral,
    I know the kings of England, and I quote the fights historical
    From Marathon to Waterloo, in order categorical;a
    I’m very well acquainted, too, with matters mathematical,
    I understand equations, both the simple and quadratical,
    About binomial theorem I’m teeming with a lot o’ news, (bothered for a rhyme)
    With many cheerful facts about the square of the hypotenuse.
    I’m very good at integral and differential calculus;
    I know the scientific names of beings animalculous:
    In short, in matters vegetable, animal, and mineral,
    I am the very model of a existential nationalist.

Wiki:D

130. cirsium

Breeks (8.28)- the Austrian Presidential elections are being rerun because of problems with postal voting. The rerun is being postponed because of problems with the glue on envelopes.

131. Luigi

Capella says:

24 September, 2016 at 3:49 pm

Someone was missing from the Scottish Parliament vote on Thursday – Douglas Ross, Tory MSP, who was abroad with the SFA.
    I thought the arithmetic was one short. Poor Kezia might have been saved the embarrassment if the Tories were held to account.

Oh Dear, Ruthie probably did do the voting arithmetic in advance but was not expecting Dugdale to miss the button. The cunning yoon plan fell apart the moment Buttons missed her cue. Yet again both blue and red tories make themselves look stupid. The Buffalo Rider will be raging. 🙂

132. Proud Cybernat

“The rerun is being postponed because of problems with the glue on envelopes.”

They should bring in Jim Murphy as a glue consultant.

133. Robert Peffers

Bloody hilarious, Chris.

I was having a rather unproductive and depressing day. Then you made me laugh until my sides hurt.

134. Luigi

I often wondered how the first SNP minority government managed to get so much done, so much passed in the face of sustained, fierce yoon opposition. Buttongate has just reminded me how it was actually achieved. Sheer bloody yoon incompetence. 🙂

135. Capella

@ Luigi
    Nicola can’t help it if she’s lucky!

136. Grouse Beater

58% of Scottish Labour voted for Owen Smith, say the analysts.

I predict the first Glaswegian supporter who voted Owen Smith and now sports a leek in their buttonhole will get their lights punched out, followed by the freedom of llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch.

Having endured the piousness of the “I’m a proud Brit-Scot” brigade we shall now have to suffer hundreds of “I’m a proud Welsh-Scot”.

137. Ian Brotherhood

Not that we should feel pity for her, but how on earth can Kezia get up in the SP next for FMQs, or anything else?

It’s just ludicrous – she really has to go.

138. Capella

LSE article discovers that the MSM are horribly biased. Nice to see the Corbyn experience raising awareness in the Great Wen, though the author may be booted out after his PhD. Not British you see. Too bad old chap. Or is LSE one of the 4 exceptions to the rule along with Oxford and Cambridge and Bath?

https://archive.is/pRjgw

139. Robert Louis

It’s all well and good Jeremy Corbyn being magnanimous to Labour MP’s, when he has just won a vote, but more to the point, does the result improve things for Labour?

The truly fundamental issue that has been at stake throughout is simply this, Corbyn is guilty of the most cack-handed p*ss poor management of a political party. Policy issues are something that ALL political parties sometimes disagree on, but a good leader exhibiting GOOD management practice, finds a way around such issues, whilst causing as little upset and dissent as possible.

From day one, Corbyn and his ‘henchman’ John McDonnell, have set about being as divisive and stubborn as possible. They saw the Corbyn selection first time around, as an opportunity to give blairite MP’s a (to use the Labour party phrase) ‘doing’. That was his trouble. It wasn’t about policy or indeed any other substantive matter, it was about Corbyn, his momentum allies and nefarious ‘supporters’ who had just joined the bandwagon that were at fault.

That is why Corbyn is simply not fit to be Labour party leader. It isn’t because of his policies, it isn’t because he is a bit of a leftie (or whatever), it is simply because he has not from day one behaved anything like a leader. Petty grievances from the distant past dug up, and stirred, merely it would seem to cause discomfort for the existing Labour MP’s.

In industry he would be sacked for gross incompetence as a manager.

Fundamentally, you can say what you like about the membership voting, but at the end of the day, if a political party leader cannot or in Corbyn’s case, WILL not, try to find ways to work, and reach agreement with their MP’s, then they have failed. It does not matter one jot how ‘engaged’ your membership is. It does not even matter how big the mandate is you have from those members. If you simply cannot gain the support of your MP’s, then you may as well go home. Westminster, to put it bluntly, is quite literally about bums on seats, and that means MP’s. Without MP’s you can have the most amazing wonderful enormous radical left wing political membership ever seen, but you can NEVER enact a single policy as you cannot form a Government. It is to use the vernacular, stating the bl***y obvious.

At its most basic level, it is not about policies, it is about bad management by Corbyn, and he and McDonnell, have indulged in the most petty minded ‘student type grievance’ politics since day one. Of course some other MP’s have done the same, that is true, but they are not party leader – a VERY fundamental difference.

As such I cannot see how Corbyn’s election today will help Labour. Corbyn (and McDonnell) comes across as grievance personified, bitter at the years of ‘new Labour’ and blairism, hanging on to Labour in hope of a radical socialist revival.

Corbyn is a source of division, and has been from day one. He will never unite the Labour party, indeed I think things are just about to get even worse, since he still refuses to condemn brexit – missing an open goal, since half the UK voted against it. He is simply not Prime Minister material, and that at the end of the day is the test he must pass, for Labour to form a Government.

Aye, the Labour party, I could almost envisage re-writing the Monty Python parrot sketch, replacing the word parrot or Norwegian blue with Labour party. The Labour party really isn’t just resting, it actually is dead. That is how bad it is.

Meanwhile, the Tories still have complete freedom to carry on privatising the English health service, removing England and Wales from the EU and shafting Scotland in true Tory style.

140. Proud Cybernat

The BBC PQ PR BRIEFING ROOM (YOON CENTRAL)

“You see, Ruth, with Jim it was easy – he had his own Irn Bru crate he could carry about with him and stand on. Simple, effective and brilliant. What can you give us that’ll give you similar gravitas, that will allow us to project onto the great unwashed your Unionist Greatness?”

“I have a big tank. With a gun.”

“Tank? Right. Okay. Moving on. Jim was great because he was seen by the punters as one of them, one of the lads. He was sporty too. Always had his Scotland football top over his Union Jack t-shirt. And he was never off the football pitch, Ruth. The punters just LOVE that kind of sporty stuff, Ruth. Now – what can you give us in the sporty department?”

“I ride buffalos. They call me buffalo-gal.”

“Buffalo-gal? Aye. Moving on. You see, Ruth, Jim was a great talker, a brilliant orator. When he spoke people listened. Now one could get a word in edge-ways ’cause Jim could talk for the UNion. He was brilliant at it. What can you give the role in the talking dept?”

“I’m brilliant at being shouty. That’s why they call me Rooth the Mooth.”

“Shouty? Right. Okay. Well I think that about wraps things up here, Ruth. Your make-over as ‘Ruth, Great Saviour of the Union’ starts tomorrow. That okay?”

“Hmm – tomorrow’s nae good. Big vote coming up. Need every vote we can get to beat them nasty Nats.”

“Well, since we’ve dumped Kezia as the Great Unionist hope, can she no’ stand in for you?”

141. Bill Hume

Robert Louis ….I think I have for the first time on wings (bar trolls), ever read anything in which I didn’t agree with one single word.

142. mumsyhugs

Capella no – she has to stay!! Then we’ll have nae problem getting the referendum bill through as wi’ a bit of luck she’ll likely be too busy having a rammy wi’ somebody in the SNP when she’s supposed to be hitting the button! :

143. Robert Louis

O/T,

We often get told how much the Scottish deficit is, or the Welsh deficit or indeed, the UK deficit, but does anybody know how much the actual English deficit is? I assume it can be calculated?

144. Robert Louis

Bill Graham at 453pm,

Well, that is of course, your prerogative 🙂

145. heedtracker

Not that we should feel pity for her, but how on earth can Kezia get up in the SP next for FMQs, or anything else?

It’s just ludicrous – she really has to go.

It all begs questions like, what exactly was their judgement in going after JC like they did.

Red tories like Kez and Ian Murray MP all piled on the JC bad campaign but at no point did JC even look like losing. Kez even promoted Murray into some silly non but anti JC job, after he stuck the knife in.

Could red tory Scotland have been taken in by the sheer power and glory the get Corbyn tory BBC led media campaign? BBC gimps especially seemed confident they could get JC but when they kicked off that insane antisemite stuff, you could see they were as desperate as they were in that last 2 week Scottish ref 1 run in, of shrieking tory BBC Project Fear hysteria.

Idiocy doesn’t come close to whatever Kez and Ian were up to.

146. Effijy

For Kez

I’ve been a puppet, a patsy, a pirate,
    a problem, a pawn and Miscalculat ing.
    I’ve been down and down and over and out
    And I know one thing:
    Each time I find myself, flat on my face,
    I pick myself up and act with disgrace.

That’s life
    I tell ya, I can’t deny it,
    I thought of quitting Slab,
    But my heart just ain’t gonna buy it.
    And if you think I wasn’t worth a button,
    You know I’m not, but more like Mutton.

Slab Life!

147. Tam Jardine

Robert Louis

No such thing exists as England is not a unitary state. It is not calculated and even if it were it would be mere guesswork. Exactly like the Scottish deficit except the Scottish one is definitely a thing, a black hole no less…

148. Macbeda

Robert Louis 5:03

Good God man, England doesn’t have a deficit.

Deficits are for the colonials don’t ye know.

149. Capella

@ mumsyhugs – Oh I hope she stays too. But what a pickle SLAB are in now. I’ve lost count of how many leaders they’ve had. Now she’s backed the wrong horse and is staring Local Election defeat in the face next May (I hope).

Former Labour voters might have been tempted to go back to Labour with Corbyn’s victory. But knowing that the SLAB membership are right wing Blairites will kybosh that.

Mirrror says that an exit poll shows women backed Corbyn by a “landslide”. So much for all the bullying hype in the MSM.

https://archive.is/pPcfz

150. Bill Hume

Robert Louis….Bill Graham? moi? Actually I recognise what you are saying and have some sympathy for your views. I, unfortunately, am old enough to remember Tony Blair. I had long voted SNP but as a Trade Union representative who had lived through the Thatcher years. I would have done anything to get the Conservatives out of power in Westminster…….so I voted Labour.
    That went well.

I accept that Corbyn is unlikely to ever lead the Labour party back into power in the next 10 years, but, to an old socialist warhorse like myself, I get excited at a whiff of socialist gunpowder.

It’s better than rolling over to let the right wing of the Labour Party tickle your tummy.

151. mike cassidy

Presumably the England deficit

is the UK deficit

minus the Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland deficits.

Or is there a deficit in my thinking?

152. Hamish100

BBC AUTONOMOUS are cock a hoop over Corbyn. Cut to Dugdale –of course we can win a general election she bleats from a half empty conference centre. Cut to a pub in Glasgow with Corbyn supporters and a full camera crew (no expense spared by BBC north). I counted a massive 15 people.

Hardly the hydro.

153. Ian Brotherhood

@heedtracker –

‘It all begs questions like, what exactly was their judgement in going after JC like they did.’

Maybe we’ll never find out for sure, but the simplest explanation is maybe the best – that Corbyn is serious about getting Blair’s baws in a mangle and is not squeamish abut turning the big handle.

If Blair ends up in the Hague he’ll make sure he’s not alone, and even those exonerated by Chilcot will be bricking it e.g. Alistair Campbell.

Who knows? It’ll all come out in political memoirs, but most of us will be dead by then.

🙁

154. heedtracker

Who knows? It’ll all come out in political memoirs, but most of us will be dead by then.

Its good for Scotland, if only because tory BBC led freak show now has two fronts to fight on and look even more tory corrupt. JC’s not going to be a radical lefty though. They don’t live in a centre left England and they know they have to go after the middle England that does vote.

So the war criminals will sleep easy tonight, royals will be in their counting house, teamGB rich will get richer, BBC will sharpen up their get JC act, JC will chunter away, nationalise the railways, in 2036, student fees are bad, but lets not do anything hasty, Lords should be scrapped but lets get some Corbynistas like Baroness Chakrabarti in there too, buy Trident 2 but don’t carry nukes, well maybe do but nukes are bad and as everyone knows, multilateral disarming is the teamGB way, oh yes.

155. call me dave

As mentioned before: In the Hootsman.
    Looks like both sides of the unionist coin were a dollar short!

Tory MSP slammed for missing Holyrood vote for Zurich trip

https://archive.is/6Lf4r

156. Dr Jim

I see MSN readers and commentators are calling for Nicola Sturgeon to be tried for treason hanged drawn and quartered but at the very least put to death in some fashion or other to their liking

One can only assume that MSN endorses the views of 99.9% of it’s English commentators on their opinions otherwise why would they print such vile abuse

It always seems to escape the brain cell of these English commentators that Scotland elected the FM and her government as their favoured political party and it’s Scottish voters who’s wishes the FM is articulating as was the former FM Mr Salmond

So when these commentators express their uneducated bile all over the internet and newspapers calling for their desires to be fulfilled it never seems to occur to them that should Scotland not succeed in winning the next referendum, even if the hated FM (as they see it) were to resign Scotland has plenty more where she came from and we’ll vote them straight back in again until our country is sorted

Half my family are English (Mums side) and it shames me when they behave in this blind stupid gullible manner
    Although the media and English government is responsible for this nasty brainwashing it nevertheless is sickening to see it in print on a daily basis and it would seem no amount of evidence to the contrary as to how competent and popular the Scottish government actually is will be believed

All I can say is we’d better win the next one for sure or we’ll be in real real trouble

157. Proud Cybernat

Anyone know when the next Labour Leadership contest will be?

158. Valerie

@Nana
    Just read that on Twitter. I actually find it quite sinister. Why would May take time out for this given everything on her plate?

Why does she name our biggest assets? I wonder if it’s a threat. I personally think these assets are being lined up for use as negotiating chips, under the guise of making Brexit a great deal.

Then when the jocks object, we are the nasty ones condemning Brexit, and not playing the game.

There are chess pieces being moved here. You don’t make a point of seeking out this conduit, without ulterior motive.

159. Gary45%

Another cracker Chris.
    Had a wee smile on my face when I heard Mr Corbyn had won (no surprise really).
    I reckon the cries of Anti Semitism will be cranked up to 11, because Israel have someone who does not buy/believe their propaganda.(after all everything else has been thrown at him)
    If I lived in England Mr Corbyn would be the only politician I would personally vote for.
    After Scotland gets its Independence me and the missus will vote for the party who will do what’s best for Scotland, which does not automatically mean the SNP.
    But at the moment the other parties in Scotland are beyond clueless.
    It was great meeting everyone at the rally last Sunday.
    Dr Jim@6.31.
    I normally have a wee look at MSN when there is a headline regarding Scotland, yes the vitriol that comes from some inbreds dan saf and in Scotchland is pretty disgusting, but hey when you complain, nothing happens.
    Its better to take the conclusion that the Yoons are “bricking it”.
    Indy Ref 2 AYE its coming.

160. yesindyref2

@Nana
    Yes, May’s off her bonk. Scotland voted 62% Remain.

161. K1

They’ll keep lumping Scotland’s remain vote in with the UK, they won’t honour it and my guess is like Valerie’s, that May will be looking to ‘utilise’ Scotland’s assets as a negotiating chip. She’s firing shots across Scotland’s bow with this shit.

She’s also way off the mark suggesting that Scotland is ‘dissatisfied’ with our government in Holyrood. I mean what a crock of shit, praising Davidson after our elections as the ‘success’.

Never trust a fucking Tory. They are liars and propagandists tae a fault.

(don’t even think of commenting on ma comment Hamish 😉 )

162. yesindyref2

So I think I’ve worked out Labour’s timetable for the next 4 years.

Nov 2016 – Labour’s NEC (?) decides frontbenchers should be elected
    Dec 2016 – nominations for frontbenchers opened
    Mar 2017 – elections for frontbenchers
    May 2017 – frontbenchers resign
    Jun 1017 – nominations for leadership election opened
    Jul 2017 – NEC decides Corbyn can restand as leader candidate
    Sep 2017 – Corbyn re-elected
    Nov 2017 – repeat

yawn

163. call me dave

Here’s a wee toe curler for you. 🙂 FGS!

https://archive.is/QNvIt

164. Legerwood

Hamish 100 @ 5.41

I thought the Corbyn supporters in the pub looked pretty glum.

The hall where the result was announced was not exactly brimming with people either.

I felt sorry for Ms Dugdale. She looked on the verge of tears.

165. Rock

If she had any shame, she would resign.

But she hasn’t, so she won’t.

If Corbyn has any sense, he should force the failed coup leaders and their followers to resign as Labour MPs and stand for re-election.

166. K1

The gerrymandering of Labour’s leadership vote is staggering in scale…they are a shower of criminals and Corbyn should ‘purge’ them from the party:

‘THE NUMBERS LABOUR DID NOT WANT YOU TO SEE ON TV THIS MORNING – AND WHY’:

http://archive.is/xqVGs

167. Dr Jim

Support for Independence is only a small insignificant majority says Henry Mcleish

Well, you can’t take it away from old Henry eh what a brain, what a thinker, what a W….r

SHeeeSH!!

168. Iain

That toe curling article in the guardian was too much. We need to be free from this awful union as soon as possible. Nicola obviously needs to judge when the time is right, but when Mrs Thatcher Mark two goes for brexit it is probably right. The Scottish people have moved, on the only way for the yoons is down. They will never be stronger. The only way is down for them. The people of Scotland need and deserve freedom from from having to subsidize our fellow nation in this unequal union.
    Freedom is our inalienable right under the U.N. charter, we must exercise that right.

169. sinky

Robert Louise @ 4.45
    A good analysis despite all the Labour spin their membership has just condemned us to another decade of Tory rule as Corbyn will never persuade middle England to vote for a left of centre albeit principled contender.
    Murray and Dugdale are shallow so called socialists.

170. @RadioGuyGlasgow

Kez has that magical ability to persuade people to vote for SNP merely by facial expressions. Her face when JC won the leadership election said it all; doom for Kez!

171. Marcia

It is amusing being in London listening to diehard opponents of Jeremy Corbyn almost frothing at the mouth at his re-election. I shall keep stirring the pot.

172. heedtracker

K1 says: That blog is staggering but keep in mind, exact same gerrymandering Lab run most Scottish councils and the same councils ran ref 1 and may well still run Scotland’s next independence referendum.

I postal voted for ref 1 in Aberdeen but delivered it myself to the council head office. Their ballot box was sitting under by the main stairs like a waste bin and you could reach into it through the opening, if you wanted to. Be afraid.

“The scale of the gerrymandering by Labour party officials to try to undermine their own leader is simply huge. But not as huge as the fact that in spite of it, Corbyn was still able to increase his majority and achieve a clear win in all sections of the vote – and he deserveves massive kudos and congratulations for that”

173. Vambomarbeley

OT
    Marshall Plan.
    Great article on the bbc site. Showing how with a third more than Germany got. Britain squandered it basically propping up sterling and pretending they were still a empire.
    In Dortmund the houses built under the Marshall plan are still getting bought and sold and for good prices.
    Now here is the interesting bit. In Dortmund they were all built with a small additional bedroom. To get one of the houses. You had to agree to take in a young miner. So they could get the coal fields operating again. Clever.
    We should have kept some German POWs and sent them to WM to run the country.
    I have sent the article to German friends. They were totally unaware that Britain had benefited under the Marshall plan and to bigger amount of money than Germany got.

174. Tinto Chiel

call me dave @ 7.39. Thanks for that (?).

Dear Goad! Where do you start with such a display of ersatz Proud Scotbut Cringe (is that a term)?

Never mind, Ian of The Grauniad can console himself with his nice houses in Highbury and Bute while he runs down his adopted country.

He gets paid to write this utter crap, so good for him, I suppose. I write crap for nothing.

I wonder if there are mirrors in his house? Does he stare into them soulfully and bleakly of a morning?

No, I don’t think so.

Independence? Are we nearly there yet?

175. dramfineday

A bit late in the day, given events later on, nonetheless thanks Chris, excellent toon. I’m reminded of my days as a laddie, “press button B” Kezia, you’ll get your money back….before the new (old) boss notices.

Ps How’s Mr Murray (MP) doing?

176. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel says:”
    Dear Goad! Where do you start with such a display of ersatz Proud Scotbut Cringe (is that a term)?”

It is now!

“I wonder if there are mirrors in his house? Does he stare into them soulfully and bleakly of a morning?”

Vampires have no reflection,and they only come out at night.

Peace Love and Parasites

177. heedtracker

http://archive.is/NyTzk

Rancid says goodbye Cammers. Personally it was his tearful begging and pleading at Scots to stay 2014, he loved us and wanted us to lead the UK, not leave, to a brighter tomorrow. Morning after the referendum, steps of No.10, right fcuk the jocks, its EVEL England all the UKOK way.

Cammers might be buying a gorgeous Deeside, sorry, Royal Deeside estate and his possible neighbour’s a ferocious tory spiv MSP, currently getting a free pass from our relentlessly creepy BBC in Scotland. Welcome to your Scotland region Cammers.

178. ronnie anderson

Get your tickets early for The Kings & Cinderella pantomime Buttons looking for whoever the Glassslipperuper fits,nae conferring.

179. liz

@call me dave – Ian Jack is just another PSB who has made his life in London and has no clue about modern Scotland.

At least the BLC are mostly scathing.

great cartoon Chris, although you really have to wonder – is Kez’s heart really in it?

180. Tinto Chiel

“I have sent the article to German friends. They were totally unaware that Britain had benefited under the Marshall plan and to bigger amount of money than Germany got.”

Vambomarbeley: an old SNP guy told me this in the 70s and, being a naïve prat, I thought he was a nutter.

The UK just pissed it up the wall as usual, like with out oil revenues.

The older I get, the angrier I get.

Is this normal?

181. heedtracker

http://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=101&v=2H4f0sVaiiU

Watch Kez’s eyes, behaviourally, she’s mentally reading her script that she’s rehearsed with the nice BBC Scotland news chap.

182. Smallaxe

“The older I get, the angrier I get.

Is this normal?”

Yes it’s normal,at least it’s normal for North Britain because
    we can’t piss as high up the wall as we used to be able to!

Peace Love and Pissing up Walls

183. Tinto Chiel

Sorry, heedtracker, I lasted about 15 seconds.

How can anyone believe a word this woman says?

She’s toast but doesn’t even know it yet.

I admire your indefatigability, but sheesh!

184. heedtracker

Maybe if we get them to pledge to not start another war, anywhere, to not launch air and ground assaults illegally in countries just far away enough to not strike back, to not launch multi million quid cruise missiles directly in to city centres like Baghdad, maybe not piss away £6+bn on two aircraft carriers who’s only purpose is attack not defence, or £200+bn nukes to be able to punch other countries above our weight and so on…

Scott Arthur ?@DrScottThinks 3h3 hours ago
    >@alicmurray @blairmcdougall

There is more to Labour than fighting the Tories and the SNP, it’s about help people reach their potential.

185. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: hope you’re gradually getting better from your recent bad spell. I’ve left something in Paula’s gaff which you might remember affectionately.

She’s out tonight doing outreach work in Montrose.

Still wearing sling-backs, though.

186. Cal

O/T Sorry. Just looked at Sunday Herald Twitter feed. They’ve announced the appointment of their new political editor – Andrew Whitaker. So, I had a look at HIS Twitter feed…. lots of retweets from Labour party and Yorkshire Labour mps, stuff about grammar schools, cricket and English football. He’s also clearly a big fan of some guy called Jeremy Corbyn. Aye, he’s just perfect as the political editor of the only Sunday “Scottish” paper that supports Scottish independence. FFS they must think our head zips up the back. So there are NO journalists based in Scotland with a Scottish perspective who support independence that can do the job of political editor in a newspaper that supposidly backs independence? Aye right!. I’m finished with them. Disgusting!!

187. mike cassidy

Tinto Chiel 9.55

15 seconds!

I’m impressed!

188. Tinto Chiel

Cal: I’m delighted about this polarisation. I stopped buying the SH when it tried to split the vote in favour of RISE/Greens before May.

Don’t worry, we’re approaching the final countdown and End of Days for The Union. This just make it easier.

Why any Independence supporter would buy this rag astonishes me.

189. Tinto Chiel

mike cassidy says:

24 September, 2016 at 10:09 pm

“Tinto Chiel 9.55

15 seconds!

I’m impressed!”

Shucks, you guys!

😛

If it weren’t for the good humour on here, I would despair sometimes.

190. BJ

Tinto Chiel @ 9:55

I watched that clip of K.D. What a performance, she should be on the stage, maybe scrubbing it if she gets hoisted. I doubt they will get rid of her though as no one else is daft enough to take the job on.

191. heedtracker

So it begins

http://archive.is/OSaDq

How and why the fcuk would anyone think

News›UK›UK Politics
    Theresa May hugely popular among voters, who see her as in touch with ‘ordinary people’, poll finds”

Planet toryboy is on the war path now.

192. Iain

It will be a long and hard fight, but we will prevail because right always wins in the end.
    The people of Scotland deserves nothing less.
    Any sacrifice we have to make is nothing that our forefathers have not made, we have to prevail.
    The people of Scotland demand freedom.
    Is that to much to ask?

193. Tinto Chiel

@BJ: I suspect a Rowley move to punt Indy Lite and salvage something from the wreckage of the once great party of Keir Hardie.

Och, it doesn’t really matter, British Labour in Scotland is the Toom Tabard of the 21st century. How strange to use that phrase after almost a millennium.

Our children will taste the free air of Scotland.

That’s all that matters.

194. Dave McEwan Hill

Cal at 10.02

I might be wise to wait and see what Whitaker does at the Sunday Herald. Because he is English and Yorkshire doesn’t mean he is anti Independence. There are a couple on board already who are Scots and anti independence.

195. Iain More

re Mike Cassidy

Douglas Ross would be an excellent MP for Douglas Ross. It begs the question of what dirties does he have on the high heid yins in the Tory Party that such a Tory Rebel managed to get himself top of the H&I list for the Tories, even above the English landowning Mountain and other carpetbaggers?

196. sinky

Cal @ 10.02
    That is really disappointing and the Scottish cringe is alive at Herald Towers. Appointing a Scottish political editor is obviously parochial whereas someone who identifies with cricket and grammar schools is the ideal candidate for Scottish political editor.

197. Cal

Dave at 10.28

There are many English people who support independence. I know some and I’m a fan of English Scots For Yes but there’s clearly an agenda with the S Herald now – get the Scots back supporting Labour under Corbyn and stop all this silly SNP nonsence. The SNP are dangerous in their minds because they cannot be controlled by London HQ. Cornyn doesn’t understand, know or even want to know about Scottish politics. He’s an old school British Nationalist Socialist. He does not want the Scottish population to have any more control over their own affairs. I’m sure he begrudges us the little we currently have. He’d nationalize key industries (good) but headquarter them in London (very bad). I’m not going back to being a subserviant, provincial-minded, Labour supporting sheep. Never.

198. Iain

I suspect Kezia is doomed to a plot from her deputy, but that is life ,she will benefit from a life in obscurity. At least she will not be examined in depth by the dominant non msm media ,then you can never be sure of anything.
    Isn’t life a bastard, then you die.

Still I wish her a long and happy life.

199. Tinto Chiel

“How and why the fcuk would anyone think (regarding May and popularity)”

heed: remember when we used to watch The World at War and we used to think, “How could the Germans swallow all that horseshit?”

England is now in its Goebbels period.

Beam us up, Scotty.

200. Dave McEwan Hill

Have been reading some of Andrew Whitaker’s stuff. it is pretty balanced. He is probably relieved to have escaped from the Scotsman etc. I’ll keep a watching brief. But I find some of the remarks here not very clever. Because he’s a Yorkshire man doesn’t mean he’s a unionist hack. I know lots of English folk in Scotland voting for Scottish independence. Perhaps Tom Gordon will get his jotters (he’s Scottish by the way).

201. BJ

Tinto Chiel@10:24

They’re all empty coats to me now T.C. They are nothing but troughers who care nothing for Scotland or its people.

SNP/SNP always

202. Tinto Chiel

DMH: I know many English folk who are Yes (and always remember, it’s the Scottish No Voters who actually scuppered us) but let’s wait and see if AW provides a balanced view.

I admit I have little confidence in the SH and only buy The National now.

I remain to be convinced.

203. Cal

Dave Of course it’s not because he’s English that object to his appointment. It’s his politics and his perspective -that must be Scotland first and always. It doesn’t matter where you come from, if you think “Scotland first” then you’re the right person for the job. Is that so difficult? I mean he lives here in Edinburgh, apparently. Has he lived here long? Has he unpacked his suitcase yet? If he supports Cornyn then it’s a fair bet he’s anti-Scottish autonomy. The idea that if he’s English he must be anti independence is frankly risible! Some of the most fervent supporters of independence are from south of the border. I traipsed around the doors with a few of our southern friends when I was canvassing in 2014. A good number of SNP councillors are English etc. The Sunday Herald is at it. I’ve had my doubts about them for a while now. I’m done.

204. heedtracker

Cal says:

Dave absolutely abhors any criticism of the SH or the National. They’re above it all you see. Once a newspaper says its for something like Scotland running Scotland, you must believe that, and then they become anointed with a special cloaking device of honestness and honour. Say anything that might doubt their honestness and honour, they don’t like it. So watch out.

There’s none so zealous as the convert, in UKOK hackdom:D

205. Patrician

Chris, well done again. I actually laughed out loud at this one 👿 it is so apt, kez’s nightmare indeed.

206. Dave McEwan Hill

Tinto Chiel at 11.14

Indeed. That is exactly what I said. Others on here obviously can’t read.
    I lost faith in the Sunday Herald quite a long time ago and have expressed such regularly on here.
    I will not judge Whitaker until I see what he does and I find the fact that some find that because he is English or a Yorkshire man that he is unacceptable

207. Cherry

UK surveillance…is the Westminster parliament lying about extra judicial drone killings…U.S. gets UK to kill targets(people to you and me) and pays them for it…isn’t that illegal!

http://truepublica.org.uk/united-kingdom/uk-surveillance-and-the-cover-story-for-a-targeted-killing-programme/

208. Dr Jim

At long last Kevin McKenna has written and article

Overly flowery but nevertheless an actual article worth reading

(Stands up and gives a bit of a clap)

and a wee !Yaay!

209. call me dave

The autonomous branch manager Deputy Deadwood.

Kezia Dugdale questions feminist credentials of Theresa May and Nicola Sturgeon

http://archive.is/t9LK2

210. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel & Chick McGregor

O/T More was left than first you thought!

Thank You Both

Peace and Love to All

Goodnight

211. Dave McEwan Hill

I see the Sunday Herald has Macwhirter discussing different routes to independence in tomorrow’s edition. Heaven forfend that any of us should read such stuff!

212. Vambomarbeleye

I might be a bad person but I think Kesia is doing a wonderful job. I hope that she stays as labour leader north at least until independence. I can not think of any one more suited to the job.
    If I was her doctor. I would be concerned for her mental well being. But I not.

213. yesindyref2

@Dave McEwan Hill
    Both McWhirter and McKenna do a good job for Indy. They’re not appealing to the “faithful”, and what’s the point of doing that anyway? They’re doing the open discussion thing, and are far more likely to be interesting to the undecided, wavering, thoughtful and plain bewildered.

214. Liz g

Smallaxe my friend have had a busy day so have only just caught up with all the gossip.
    So from earlier on … good morning to you,and yes I did catch a few hours sleep thank you.
    Isn’t our Nanna wonderful?

I am hoping you are not reading this right now,cause I hope you and Mrs Smallaxe are coorried up together fast asleep.

But if you are and need a distraction while you’re good lady gets her well deserved rest (mind and tell her I am asking for her), just letting you know that I am here if you are in the mood to chat.
    We at this time of night can also be totally decedent and go so far off topic…..it could be called multi topic…HA
    Well I think so anyway??????
    Cause I suspect the Rev is far to sleepy to rember where the HAMMERS are.
    So we are probably safe.
    What say you?

215. liz g

Smallaxe
    Getting sleepy now myself so can’t guarantee I’ll be checking in here for you tonight.

But don’t let that stop you enquiring if I’m still around.

Hopefully you are in the land of nod right now, and, so cause we will probably miss each other again (this could actually become a thing, as in will Liz g & Smallaxe ever be insomniacs at the same time ) good morning to ye and I wish ye all ye wish yerself . X

216. yesindyref2

OT
    Oh dear, it seems Corbyn was upstaged on Google by Pippa Middleton.

217. Liz g

Yesindyref2 @4.41
    Because she Actually did anything or just because…well… reasons?

218. Smallaxe

Liz g:
    We pass like ships in the night Liz,thanks so much for your good wishes,sending same back at you.We will meet up one of
    these nights and probably get sent to the naughty step if the
    Rev catches us.Have a lovely Sunday. 🙂

Peace and Love to You and to those you Love

219. Smallaxe

Chic McGregor:
    Sorry about the extra K.on my last post,but it was a Special K.so you can really eat your cereal this morning.:-)

Thanks so much for sending me off to sleep with some great memories.

Peace and Love to you and Yours

220. Grouse Beater

A profound loss of commitment: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-9X1

221. DerekM

Could someone please tell those slabber idiots that they were voting for a leader of the UK Labour party unless of course they wish to replace Kez with Smith as Scottish branch manager.

The other lot down south are just as bad they seem to think they have voted in a Prime Minister got news for you guys your boy Corbyn will not be PM of the UK for 5 years that is if there is still a UK in 5 years time something we Scots intend to end.

Enjoy your little victory momentum but never forget you now have a choice back our indy movement for Scotland or be our enemy,and if you think the MSM gave you a hard time you really dont want us cybernats on your case.

222. Cal

Yes Grouse at 8.07 I agree with most of that. I consider Wales to be a nation too though. Of course you can have multiple identities. But when you need to choose….? I have made friends with people from the four corners of the globe who have settled here in Scotland. They all consider Scotland their home and put it’s interests first. Why wouldn’t they? It’s their home, their future, their children’s future. In 2014 the people of Scotland had to choose Scotland or the UK. They chose the UK. We argue the reasons for that every day. We hope to change minds and we also argue about how that should be done. Dave McEwan Hill makes a valid point about the Herald that if they mix it up – unionist and nationalist – then some who are currently unionist may change their minds. Fair enough. But personally I’m sick of the Sunday Herald and won’t be buying it again.

So now the Scottish population has an even more difficult descion to make – drop the UK or drop the EU. Once again they MUST choose. These are two radically different prospects because one involves an alliance with a contro?ling abusive partner and the other is a far looser relationship with a fundamentally more outward looking international outlook. I know which one I would choose.

I love languages but I also love numbers. Here’s some fun numbers I got from Googling:

1. Of the world’s total land area, the UK represents just 0.048%. Or, to put it another way, 1 square km in every 2083. If the world was the size of Scotland, the UK would be smaller than the island of Colonsay!

2. Of the world’s total population, the UK has just 0.88% or 1 person in every 114.

3. Only 4.5% of the world’s population are native speakers of English or 1 in 22 people.

So what? Scotland is much smaller again. Yes it is but I don’t want Scotland to dominate the world or anyone in fact. I don’t want to strut around the world telling the other 99.12% that they’re all wrong and that only my opinions are valid. “The EU will do a deal with the UK on its terms because they know what’s good for them”. Hmm…I don’t think so.

223. Cal

Line 5 of my post at 9.09. “its” not “it’s”. Damn predictive text!

224. heedtracker

Its been a week. Still no sign of future Baron Ian Xavier MurrayMP.

https://twitter.com/IanMurrayMP

Posters, much like all those “missing, much loved pussy cat, answers to Ian, reward if found” going up all across Morningside, Scotland’s spiritual heart of great British socialism.

225. liz g

Heedtracker @ 10.44
    Please tell me that nobody’s going to put his face on milk cartons?
    For obvious reasons.

226. Liz g

Smallaxe
    Morning hope you slept well.
    And yes one of these nights we will be awake and chatting here at the same time.
    Just so you know as I said last night just shout out even if you don’t see me commenting,cause there is always a chance I am popping in and out.
    And I am always ready to put the world to rights in the wee small hours. X

227. heedtracker

liz g says:
    25 September, 2016 at 10:59 am
    Heedtracker @ 10.44

He’s certainly getting a free pass this weekend. Unless he has been on BBC Scotland tv politics stuff already. I don’t watch it much. What really sticks out is how much more Ian stuck the red tory boot in to JC than Holyrood Barbie did.

It’s all just another UKOK conundrum in their Scotland region. JC promotes Ian to Scottish Sec shadow, seats Ian right hand next to him for Prime Ministers Questions, to show us rebel sweaties of their Scotland region SLabour is still in it to win it for SLab, then Ian stands up and knifes JC, very very noisily too.

So all new Old Labour will have to swallow pride and decide whether or not to bring oor Ian back down on to the front benches again, for the sake of the SLabour party.

Rancid The Graun says JC says “vast majority” of red tories can chillax but a lot of them are knocking back JC’s olive branch now anyway. Whatever will future Lord Ian do now? Obviously all of the info we get will decided by assorted Pacific Quay propaganda gimps, as usual.

228. Liz g

Heedtracker @ 11.17
    He’s mostly likely trying to figure out if actually using his only bit of power, to cause a by election.
    Would cost him his future title.

229. heedtracker

Liz g says:
    25 September, 2016 at 11:27 am
    Heedtracker @ 11.17
    He’s mostly likely trying to figure out if actually using his only bit of power, to cause a by election.
    Would cost him his future title

Would SLab jeopardise its very last Westminster MP in Scotland?

If he’s not on BBC Scotland Politics this morn, he’s been placed under SLab style house arrest, gagging order, self imposed, possibly with tag, certainly with an open Waitrose home delivery account. SLab enjoy the finer things in this socialist worker SLabour life.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.