Keeper of the flame

Posted on June 13, 2015 by

fmofliberty

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 13 06 15 11:13

Keeper of the flame | Politics Scotland | Scoo...

2. 13 06 15 12:17

Keeper of the flame | Speymouth

52 to “Keeper of the flame”

1. handclapping

She’s no Iron Lady! πŸ™‚

2. jimnarlene

I really hope she will deliver our liberty, soon.

3. HandandShrimp

πŸ™‚

It was a successful foray into international politics. I haven’t seen any negative comments either side of the Atlantic (grumpy, torn faced SLab supporters notwithstanding as they would be negative in their fulminations regardless of where she is)

4. Croompenstein

Cracker Chris, a nice antidote to the candle being snuffed out toon.

5. David Smith

What if the ordinary American people get to hear what she has to say about a better society and start to wonder about their own..? πŸ™‚

6. michaelc

Have watched on youtube the videos of her appearances on the Daily Show, Bloomberg, Msnbc, council for Foreign Relations and Glasgow Cal Uni in NY.

She just keeps getting better and better, the “wee lassie from Ayrshire” following in the footsteps of other greats from the area. I wonder what Burns would have made of her or indeed Bruce or Wallace.

Seriously, her stature as a leader must now be regarded pretty much everywhere as right up there at the very top. She can slug it out with the best as well as charm, amuse and inspire. Formidable indeed and still one of Jock Tamsons bairns. Unionists sneer of a cult in their envy but completely miss the point of her growing greatness.

One day there will be statues

How lucky are we πŸ™‚

She is standing on the shoulders of a giant. Lets not forget how he paved the way to this.

7. Xaracen

That’s a keeper!

8. No no no...Yes

Inspirational image, nothing more to say.

9. Kenny

Nice cartoon. I have been thinking a lot and viewing the whole Scottish situation from aside. And, you know, I think we are in danger of being sucked into the whole unionist v nationalist “circus” played out in the media.

I feel this is, in actual part, evolving into the same “Blue Tory v Red Tory” (or, for our American friends), Republican v Democrat paradigm.

Do not get me wrong. I think we should keep on voting SNP in constituencies and supporting FFA et al. But I think the people we should be focusing attention on are the likes of Lesley Riddoch, Robin McAlpine and Andy Wightman, not anyone in favour among the professional political class (this lets out Jean Urquhart, John Finnie!).

Yes, we have Nicola Sturgeon at Holyrood and Alex Salmond at Westminster… But Parliament can only ever provide “top-down” change… which is never real change — even though Parliament is the mechanism through which the legal transformations must occur (for we are a democracy).

In the future, I urge people not to be too distracted by the bread and circuses of unionism v nationalism, however relevant these themes might “seem” to be to our own lives. The fact that these games are being played out in the traditional media tells us all we need to know.

Spend more time following the likes of Common Weal, Nordic Horizons, etc.

We need to change ourselves, our neighbours, our country, and this can only be done by ourselves — independent of who is leading the country. That is REAL change and REAL independence.

Read “Animal Farm” and do not think “this time it’s different”. It never is!

10. galamcennalath

Liberty! What a wonderfully positive and inspiring image!

11. Helena Brown

She follows a giant but the apprentice learned at his side and boy is she good. Democracy is a word those in the US love to use, she can show them how it actually works because it certainly has no place in the United States with no clear difference in the two parties. Europe is far and away ahead in the Democracy stakes and we in Scotland could be said to be showing the way here in stuffy old GB.

12. Clootie

Imagine Kezia representing Scotland on such a tour!

The lack of ambition by Labour for our nation to be successful on the World stage or to achieve a fairer society is shocking.

The World has gone from 50 nations to 200 nations since WW11. However our proud “unionist Scots” cannot see a positive future for our ancient nation. They are happy to sit at the feet of their master hoping some crumbs will fall from the table.

….one day, one day

13. donald anderson

They were still sniding about her visit on EBC Radio Scotlandshire this morning.

14. One_Scot

If the world could have a First Minister, I could not imagine a better one.

15. manandboy

Superb, Chris.

Still to come – Statutes of Liberty by Nicola Sturgeon.

16. Iain More

Deputy Dug and Ruthless would be big fails Internationally. Dont even get me started on Rennie.

17. Joseph Robinson

Im all green with envy

18. Chic McGregor

Very clever and a great and characteristic likeness.

19. Proud Cybernat

Fantastic, Chris. That one is a keeper!!

Big ‘O’ march through Glasgow city cntre right now. Just witnessed Orange marcher in Bowler hat in a couple of scuffles with people trying to cross the busy junction (West George Street at Buchanan). Fight almost broke out between them but was quickly cooled down by swift police intervention. No one harmed, just some bruised egos.

I don’t think Jim Murphy was involved. No eggs or anything thrown. I’m sure SLABBC will give it wall-to-wall coverage.

20. Proud Cybernat

‘Twas a lady that took us into this bondage (Queen Anne). It will be a woman that frees us from it.

21. Grouse Beater

David: Her comments on SG foreign policy are worrying…

She told Jon Stewart the US usually does not ask permission to invade a country. Right there she was making a value judgement.

Yes, eyebrows went up when at her later Q &A she said there’s not much difference between the Scottish outlook and the UK’s outlook. There cannot be so long as Scotland is ruled by Westminster. Our protests go ignored.

Her brief comments should not cause concern at this stage. She’s selling Scotland as a peace loving nation. She’s a guest in the States. Platitudes are expected. We did not give her a mandate to vilify US foreign policy on her first official visit – it has plenty of internal critics doing that already. In any event, the US hard Right has already made their view of her known in opinion newspapers and shows. In a nutshell, and there’s plenty of nuts in the USA – ‘she’s a danger to western hegemony.’

The trick is to regain independence without bringing the combined might of the British Establishment and the USA down on our heads before we get there.

After that we will form our own distinct foreign policy objectives when we can gauge the mood of the public.

22. fred blogger

the flame of life, the essence of what it is to be.
    imv the X factor, spirit, is human passion, love (empathy type) and compassion, that lives and drives our movement.
    not the greedy grasping culture that has ingrained itself in our way of life of recent decades.
    all of us first.
    yes make a living, but never crush others in doing so.
    lest we forget who we are.
    all need reliable supplies of vitality giving vitals of life.

23. The Rough Bounds

Scotland’s loss of freedom and independence:

”It cam’ wi’ a lass, and it will gang wi’ a lass.”

24. Macart

The lady done good.

Nice one Chris.

25. ronnie anderson

Awe FFS Chris no anither diplomatic incident ,leave that tae Carmichael,as Handclapping says up thread She,s no Iron Lady, but Nicola has Copper Bottomed Principles.

Flambe Nicola, ah love the smell of roasting nuts.

26. Grouse Beater

On accepting a knighthood:

Composer MacMillan
    Took Westminster’s shilling.
    He said, “My Scotland in tears,
    Is sweet music to my ears.”

27. Bob Mack

The French contribute again to the vision of Nicola.even though the statue is in USA.
    She really is the torch bearer,lighting our path to freedom.Go on lass.

28. Craig

Kenny says:
    13 June, 2015 at 11:07 am

Nice cartoon. I have been thinking a lot and viewing the whole Scottish situation from aside. And, you know, I think we are in danger of being sucked into the whole unionist v nationalist β€œcircus” played out in the media.

Well Kenny, sadly it’s like that, in a way that I am glad that there is a whole Unionist and Nationialist circus being played, the reason I am glad is that those who are not in either camp can see clearly what both sides represent and see the constant attacks by the Unionist side.

I for one, am getting very tired of being under attack all the time, I just wish that the SNP would go on the attack for a change instead of just defending their position, I understand that it’s harder for us to do so when the Establishment have the media on their side but when we do get the chance to be on “LIVE” TV, we shouldn’t be having to explain our postition, I would demand to know why they have so little faith in the people of Scotland and why is it so wrong for Scotland to take charge of it’s own affairs, why do the Unionist parties never condemn the outrageous smears and racist insults of the Scots?

Great Cartoon Chris, very inspiring, a few of my friends in America have been telling me that they can now see why I and so many others in Scotland are dleighted to have Nicola as our First Minister, she comes as across as natural and not stiff or fake, they said they wished that some of their leaders would be more down to earth at times

29. Phil Robertson

“What a wonderfully positive and inspiring image!”

That’s from the country with the largest nuclear arsenal in the world, something Ms Sturgeon assiduously avoiding mentioning.

30. mogabee

A most excellent ‘toon Chris!

What can this woman NOT do? πŸ˜€

31. Dr Jim

@Kenny 11.07am

Where did you get the notion we live in a democracy?

If the Scottish Parliament hasn’t delivered any real change
    Who Did? Because we’re doing it now are we not?

Some of the people you mention are well meaning folk but without the correctly positioned people to create influence
    nothing happens

Throughout history ordinary people fracture and divide and fail as is the case now
    Almost every day folk write on this site and express the view that they will support the SNP until they get what they want and then vote otherwise, which is their right to do so, however as an SNP supporter you can probably see how this thinking immediately causes concern as to what do folk think they are going to replace them with

The SNP have spent years honing what they do and are very professional at it so my question is if something’s working for us do we not want it to keep working for us and change, if change is needed comes at the natural pace

I fear there is a lack of political understanding in Scotland and a naivety of it’s workings, that’s not to ignore the engagement which is huge

Most of politics is Showbusiness
    Whoever puts on the best display wins, then you sort out running the country
    In recent times Tony Blair, no substance plenty of show
    Obama, Ronald Reagan, Arnold Flaming Swarzenegger (excuse spelling)even Thatcher

Why did Miliband lose (Duh)
    Clegg (Snivel)
    Why did Cameron win, he scared people to death with the threat of everyone else’s incompetence by using Showbusiness

People need figures to focus on, right now in the SNP they have that but they also have competence to go along with it and that’s quite rare

First you have to sell a product before anyone will eat it
    Then it has to taste good to keep selling it, change the flavour too quickly, lose the customer,

That’s politics

32. Valerie

Great image, Chris!

Well said, Grouse Beater at 12.16, Nicola had to walk a fine line over there, and it would appear flawless when the Unionist press here are stumped at what to use for ammo.

First and foremost, she has presented herself to the wider world, and shown she is more than capable, so all the silent watchers can see for themselves she is not the caricature painted.

She was Scotland’s FM abroad, showing how this country is emerging.

I was heartbroken when Alex stepped down, but it is still a huge measure of the man how he has played this part, and Nicola does bring other qualities to the role, with the same passion Alex has.

33. Les Wilson

Nicola is definitely emerging as a star performer, so this is an excellent piece from Chris. ( as they all are )

34. Robert Peffers

What a great image, Chris. I have nothing but great admiration for your art and creativity but that one is so outstanding and so inspiring.

35. carjamtic

Brilliant image,as others have said ‘a keeper’

‘It is in truth not for glory,nor riches,nor honours that we are fighting for,but for freedom–for that alone’

Thanks Chris πŸ™‚

36. The Tree of Liberty

Oooooh Chris, that’s good!

37. Clydebuilt

Nicola’s playing a blinder……..so’s Mhari Black….she’s on Stuart Cosgrove’s “Off The Ball” the lassies got the touch

38. handclapping

@Phil
    On a per capita basis that’ll be us, unless you think Coulport is empty.

39. nodrog

Almost split my sides listening to and watching the Unionists and Establishment Propaganda Media trying so hard to put a negative spin on Nicola’s visit to the USA. “Oh dear haven’t we got enough problems at home for her to deal with.” AYE RIGHT!!

40. yesindyref2

It’s quite funny, well, hilariously stomach-churningly fall down on the ground sobbing with hysterical laughter funny, watching The Others trying to spin it that Sturgeon should know her place and stay in Scotland doing the health education and whatever stuff, as she should not be wasting taxpayers money in the US.

I’m very polite with them, no, really, very polite. It’s that kind of polite niceness people have when in the presence of total gibbering foam-flecked idiots.

41. yesindyref2

@Craig
    I for one, am getting very tired of being under attack all the time, I just wish that the SNP would go on the attack for a change instead of just defending their position,

Chin up Craig, there are two basic ways of winning, first is to attack attack and attack and hopefully win. The second is to absorb attack after attack efficiently and limit damage, either waiting for the main chance, or even letting the other side defeat themselves.

It seems to me though that there is a third thing happening here slowly, and that is that the “other side” includes people who were going along with it all, but are now looking at the excesses of their own side and saying “what the f***”.

So Craig, there are THREE basic ways of winning πŸ™‚

42. yesindyref2

@Kenny 11.07
    Yes that’s a good posting. I too am thinking about what needs to be done next, preparing for Indy Ref 2.

The first for me is indeed to be talking to people wo are undecided, but also those of a still strong NO persuasion. But not I think so much to persuade them YES, but to help them to open their minds to the possibilities. Indy Ref 1 was very much polarised, and neither side gave an inch. This between-times I think is the time to be less dogmatic, more open to genione criticism, more able to admit risks and uncertainties. I foound that worked well in Indy Ref 1, it was the way I “campaigned” as such, and had good results in moving people to “undecided” with an open mind.

But the other angle is England. I’ve said before that basically towards Scotland the Englsih are prepared to be fair, but with the relentless distortion in the London-based media they haven’t been given the chance to have that fairness. In their turn then they rail at the Scots in their midst, and those Scots complain to the family and friends back home here in Scotland. It also influences the 500,000 English who have happily moved here from places like Yorkshire, some to get away indeed from the Westminster political system. And then there are the EU citizens who are also influenced by other “settlers”.

So it seems to me it’s neccessary to strike at the heart of the misinformation and disinformation, which is England, London specifically. We have 56 MPs prepared to do this, but perhaps it’s up to us to do whatever we can. Not in an aggressive “racist” fashion though, but in an empathic and understanding and, at times, accepting one.

I think by 2025 we will be independent, and I suspect the majority think so too.

43. jcd

yesindyref2 4.15

2025!!! If you’re ok with putting up with another ten years of this you need to look at your priorities… long and hard.

44. heedtracker

Great art:D

Its all in stark contrast to English media coverage that only went after her for the Daily Show thing.

The biggest media void is in broadsheet newspapers and BBC stuff that focus on women, so rancid The Guardian’s famous women’s issues stuff, not a mention of Sturgeon, BBC Women’s Hour, total black out and so on.

British attack propaganda on Scottish democracy is endless really.

45. David Smith

@Grousebeater. Thanks, I take reassurance from your thoughtful and reasoned assessment at 12:16.
    πŸ™‚

46. yesindyref2

@jcd
    Saying most people including me think we’ll have Independence by 2025 doesn’t mean I’m happy with a Tory Government, austerity, sneering unionists, and Scotland being held back meantime. But ranting and raving about it isn’t going to win the day, sweet reason and patience will.

47. yesindyref2

@jcd
    I forgot to add that I personally think Indy Ref 2 will be well before then.

48. Grouse Beater

David Smith: Thanks, I take reassurance from your thoughtful and reasoned assessment at 12:16.

The time will come when the combined sentiments of you and I prevail, (your opinion gleaned from your reservations about what she did not say.) We’ll be in a better position to argue for ideals and new ways of seeing and persuading, our elected representatives in an position to be heard and respected internationally.

πŸ™‚

(New essay in a few hours – a little different from the usual.)

49. desimond

Bravo…best one yet!

50. Fred

@ Phil Robertson, Nicola Sturgeon went out of her way to emphasise her opposition to squandering squillions on a Trident replacment, do try to keep up dickhead.

51. Matt

When Salmond was the boss, we also heard a lot about Nicola Sturgeon. They were, at least to my eyes, always a duo, like Zig and Zag. But with Nicola as leader of SNP, I haven’t heard much about her second. Who is Nicola Sturgeon’s “Nicola Sturgeon”, and why haven’t I heard of them?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.