In Ruins
Don’t watch this. You’ll only waste 12 minutes of your life making yourself angry.
It’s our job to be angry for you.
Quite aside from anything else, the title is a barefaced lie. There is nothing remotely resembling a “route to independence” aired anywhere in the interview. Despite being gently pressed by former SNP adviser Geoff Aberdein, neither Swinney nor Forbes has a single word to say that amounts to any sort of strategy, let alone a credible one.
Forbes says that the SNP’s primary responsibility is to “inspire hope”. Which it isn’t, but even if it was, the party is manifestly not fit for that purpose. It has lost almost 40% of its own support in just two years, from a peak of 50% in December 2022 to an average of 33% since last year’s general election.
(And just two years before that it was as high as 56%.)
It’s lost half of its own members, from 125,000 to somewhere around 60,000. It’s lost 80% of its MPs. It’s shown itself unable to build a ferry, deliver a road, or even conduct a simple headcount or correctly identify what a woman is.
Scottish voters are so scunnered with the party that’s held the reins of power for nearly 18 years that they look set to elect a bunch of MSPs from Reform, a party that barely even exists in Scotland.
So the idea that the SNP are going to be inspiring “hope” any time soon is a crass insult to the intelligence of anyone watching. But that’s just the start of the shambles.
Forbes’ first suggestion of the party’s grand vision of the future is that an independent Scotland could “power the road to Net Zero” – a futile and stupid piece of expensive, damaging virtue signalling that voters don’t actually give a toss about (77% of Scottish voters don’t think it’s a top-three priority) and which was toxically unpopular when the Greens were driving the Scottish Government’s agenda just a matter of months ago.
Forbes elaborates that “wee plucky countries can do a great job if they believe in themselves”, (yes, she honestly did say “wee plucky countries”) and that “the route to independence is about outlining that alternative that can inspire”.
Amid a general vomiting of empty motivational-poster waffle, she opines that this feelgood drivel at demonstrable odds with the manifest reality of public opinion is “an electric solution”, which sounds about right.
(She MIGHT have meant “electoral”, but she definitely says “electric”.)
Geoff Aberdein then invites John Swinney to explain how this aimless wibble is in practice going to lead to independence and how it differs from the SNP’s previous strategy, and after some more drivel and padding Swinney finally gives the closest thing that either politician does in the whole interview to an answer:
“In a democracy, Westminster cannot stand in the way of the people of Scotland determining their own future […] that is just a logical democratic inconsistency that cannot be sustained.”
We had to stop writing this article for a moment and go and give our punchbag a good battering at that point, because dear Jesus above.
Westminster has spent the last decade demonstrating in the most comprehensive manner that could possibly ever be imagined that it CAN stand in the way and that it CAN sustain that “democratic inconsistency”, and the Supreme Court confirmed its legal right to do so. It is a settled fact.
So it is contempt for the electorate on the most staggering, inconceivable scale for Swinney to STILL be trying to flog that dead and rotting pig in a poke to voters. Westminster told the SNP to GTF when it had 56 out of 59 MPs and 50% of the vote, and neither of those things is happening again any time in the foreseeable future.
Unfortunately Scotland’s media is almost as wretched as its politics, so the interview then allows Swinney to claim that “I’ve got a very clear sense about how we need to progress on the constitutional question” but then refuse point-blank to say what that means. (“I’m just not prepared to do that”.)
The whole thing is uncomfortably cosy and pally, with everyone chuckling fondly at his unwillingness to reveal anything about the SNP’s 2026 manifesto. Politicians of the past were not models of accountability and transparency, but Margaret Thatcher used to submit herself occasionally to proper inquisitions from the likes of Robin Day or Brian Walden, and Tony Blair had to face up to extended grillings from Jeremy Paxman now and again.
We struggle to recall Nicola Sturgeon ever doing a proper full-length interview with any sort of serious journalist in her entire time as First Minister, and with the likes of Gordon Brewer and Bernard Ponsonby now off the scene there’s barely anyone capable of doing the job even if our leaders were willing to allow it.
By modern soundbite standards 12 minutes is an eternity, but neither Forbes nor Swinney is given a single uncomfortable moment in the entire clip, and the time just dribbles out with absolutely nothing of any value emerging. The most incisive thing that happens is Aberdein’s sceptical expression after Forbes witters on about the “democratic deficit” again like an incredulous pouting child.
The final words spoken in the video are Swinney saying “nothing happens on the constitution in Scotland without the SNP doing really well”.
But if that’s true, then given that the SNP so evidently lacks the ability to regain the trust of Scottish voters (even as its main opponent implodes as spectacularly as Labour are currently doing), so evidently lacks the basic competence required for government, so evidently lacks any sort of inspirational talent that these two simpering, vacuous damp blankets are the FM and DFM, and so evidently doesn’t have the tiniest clue about a coherent strategy for independence other than whining “It’s all so unfair!” for another 10 years, it really does look like everything is screwed.
For as long as the SNP owns the indy movement, that movement has no future.
Pointless people.
“Forbes says that the SNP’s primary responsibility is to “inspire hope”. Which it isn’t,….”
To be fair to Ms Forbes, she didn’t say to whom she was trying to inspire hope.
My guess it is in all the deadbeats they will select (or have selected) as candidates in the forthcoming election. Hope is all they have!
Some hope!
Aye, ah fear yir right.
I wasted 12mins of my time this am and agree with every word of this article, including using the punch bag in frustration. On another subject I cant believe there are Indy supporters that promote Forbes for leader.
I can’t believe that indy supporters are falling for snp version2 Alba, and Ash Regan”s faux outrage at the despicable sex crimes carried out against our children when she was a silent part of a government carrying out abuse against our children and our womenfolk
Pretty much run by the British-American project these days..
Two apallingticians interviewed by three meedjits.
Why can’t they realise emulating unionist parties is not working on majority of independistas. We see through their lies.
Keep exposing them Stu.
Just spent the morning feeding wood into a brazier located next to the condensate pipe for my 12 month old, condensing boiler. This is the second time I’ve had to do this.
The boiler was a replacement for a knackered, old, standard boiler. These have been outlawed, hence the condensing boiler, the condensate line for which freezes every time we get two consecutive nights of minus temperatures in double figures. Still, save the planet for 10% more efficiently in the heat cycle.
Puts me in mind of the ban on wood burning stoves in new builds and conversions, that was in place before the Bute House agreement was thankfully consigned to the skip of history. That also started out as a “write over” from legislation in England and Wales. Patrick Harvie was insistent that it be applied to Scotland also, despite its patent unsuitability in rural areas.
The SNP route to independence is like having a ballot box in one hand and the other hand in their pocket jingling their money.
Clowns,utter clowns.
It’s like the SNP has got tired of being a political party and decided to turn itself into a *Revival!* movement for an aspiration which it, itself, has extinguished the possibility of ever achieving. Brexit was the moment: we all knew it, Sturgeon knew it and now that moment has passed. There’s more chance of achieving independence by joining the Plymouth Brethren than voting for a party that took it’s 30 pieces of silver.
Are you prepared for ‘The Great Scotland Revival’
#Prepare
Oh f***
John Swinney is reported in the press today as “calling for NI-style trigger for an indyref”. Everyone, including John Swinney, knows perfectly well that this is just whistling in the dark to try to keep up his spirit and those of his deluded supporters. This is a reserved matter and every MP at Westminster, except the small number of SNP members, would vote against such a measure. Just more empty talk, John – we need some action instead.
I read an article yesterday that they were (belatedly) floating a Northern Ireland style argument for a referendum, which immediately got me thinking; why didn’t they do this around 2021, when the same 7 year timescale had elapsed? Of course, those who are familiar with the Good Friday Agreement will also know that, along with the ability to raise the constitutional question every 7 years, another tricky stumbling block is that a referendum is in the gift of the UK Secretary. As long as Scotland leaves it in the hands of the very people we are trying to break from, it’s going nowhere.
That said, with things as they are, it’s likely a United Ireland will happen before an independent Scotland and it will be food for thought – for people on both sides – when they see the UK establishment won’t fight anywhere near as hard to keep NI as it does to hold on to Scotland.
The condition precedent for the Secretary of State to hold a border poll in NI is if it:
but it’s left (intentionally?) pretty vague how it is judged and what the process would be. The general consensus is that it would be on the back of consistent polling majorities in NI in favour of re-unification &/or a majority for parties supporting it in the NI Assembly.
There is also the role and involvement of the Irish government and people to be considered: there is no guarantee that they will show the same appetite for re-unification at the same time.The situations aren’t that analogous because Scottish independence doesn’t involve a 3rd party government like the NI case, nor does it really have the inbuilt threat of incipient violence, civil war and sectional interest groups of die-hards refusing to accept the outcome.
The Scottish pro-independence movement has a choice to make in as much as if it wants to change the current devolutionary settlement, it can do it in two ways. The simplest is of course to bypass any tinkering with devolutionary concerns by concentrating on achieving independence.
It’s the “all or nothing” approach that almost worked in 2014 (much to the shock of complacent British nationalists), but has seen us languishing for more than a decade since because there is no Plan B.
That alternative plan could either be short circuiting the devolutionary path by using plebiscitary elections (which many still seem inexplicably opposed to doing) or alternatively campaigning to revise the current devolutionary settlement such that more powers were repatriated from Westminster to Holyrood, in particular the right to hold referendums which had a popular mandate and specifically removing any unionist / Westminster veto.
Given the current British nationalist and Scottish unionist position on devolution, any additional powers seem unlikely: indeed the opposite seems more likely even if it’s in the cynical guise of more powers to local authorities to bypass Holyrood.
“In a democracy, Westminster cannot stand in the way of the people of Scotland determining their own future”.
Am I right to assume that the SNP’s meaning is that this refers only to a referendum and not to a plebiscite election? As it stands two things are clear. The SNP as they have been since 2015, and a referendum dependent on UK approval, are both complete dead ends. However if a plebiscite election would be legally accepted internationally, then that would leave only one dead end blocking the way to independence and they can be replaced.
Electric Soup was later bottled and rebranded as
‘Who you looking at.’
Being Pedantic, but electric soup was made by bubbling ‘coal gas’ through milk, not natural gas.
Grouse Beater has an interesting post about Geoff Aberdein today. It fits with my thinking at the time that GA wasn’t called as a witness at Alex Salmond’s trial, being let off by Alex because of Geoff’s new job, I seem to remember. What a coward, I thought – GA should have volunteered.
So he isn’t the man to press Swinney and Forbes on their unbelievably feeble, and indeed wicked, failure to do anything at all to rescue Scotland from the Union.
What a shower they are. What an absolute disaster for all of us who aren’t wealthy Unionists.
Thanks for the pointer sarah.
link to grousebeater.wordpress.com
2 Reform is clearly sucking the majority of its support from the Tories.
If the human race do nothing about climate change at the very least we will have to move the line to Aberdeen so it runs up the Mearns from Perth pretty soon or it will end up like the Cornwall line which was blocked by the sea undermining the wall not that long ago.
That is how it will go, individual storms will cause damage until the extent of it becomes far too expensive to fix and the land just isn’t there any more.
Barry Buddon peninsula will simply disappear too, meaning Carnoustie gold course will largely go as will the army firing range.
Just release a few more beavers, everything will be fine… lolz
And seeing as so many humans can’t even be arsed to recycle their waste properly, jist crank up yon energy from waste plant in Dundee to eleven and use aw the ash to build a sea wall along the Tay estuary to save Errol.
Folk on the Carse of Gowrie are surely more worthy of saving than Carnoustie golf course. Natch, Chas will be peeved at this suggestion but there’s a lot of food grown on the Carse of Gowrie farmland so golf or food, yer choice.
If the train line goes so be it. Maybe the new replacement track will actually be electrified and trains north of Dunblane can actually be powered by some of the clean renewable power Scotland generates rather than the leccy going south and oor trains continuing to burn diesel.
I think there is room for doubt.
There are scientists, quite a few, who do not accept the narrative pushed by IPCC.
link to worldfreedomalliance.org
“Four leading Italian scientists have undertaken a major review of historical climate trends and concluded that declaring a ‘climate emergency’ is not supported by the data. Reviewing data from a wide range of weather phenomena, they say a ‘climate crisis’ of the kind people are becoming alarmed about “is not evident yet”. The scientists suggest that rather than burdening our children with anxiety about climate change, we should encourage them to think about issues like energy, food and health, and the challenges in each area, with a more “objective and constructive spirit” and not waste limited resources on “costly and ineffective solutions”.”
You are indeed correct. It’s the Carbon monoxide in Town gas that drove the jaikies pure mad mental. ?Stuff up the cracks, turn on the gas, I’m gonna take my life?
The Jouker (2025) Andy Murray calls out Elon Musk for Twitter meddling:
“”Murray said: “The top 17 posts on my Twitter feed are from Elon Musk. #Interesting algorithm he’s created.”…
A number of people in Murray’s comments said they had made the decision to block Musk from appearing on their timeline.
“I blocked the account and – at least for now – I’m not seeing his posts,” said one user…”:
link to archive.ph
#Q
Guardian: Andy Murray: not miserable, just normal:
“People say Murray’s miserable because he doesn’t smile very often. He’s not miserable. He’s normal. Have you walked down a street recently?
The people who want Murray to smile are the same ones who try to make me dance at weddings. They want the world to conspicuously enjoy itself in a manner of their choosing…
So Murray isn’t going to win the Merryville Festival of Grins any time soon. What difference does it make to you, you needy pricks?…
Perhaps part of the confusion is that despite being very much in the public eye, Murray refuses to play along with the patronising emotionalism demanded by the media…”:
link to archive.ph
#YOU
I see anglofication continues apace under the SNPs watch; this time with proposals removing Burns from the “English”(sic) curriculum.
That’s another fine mess you’ve got us into Gilruth (you screaming roaster and serial cabinet post rank failure)..
Needs to take her head out of a certain persons arse and get some reality..