In case you’re hungover this morning

Posted on May 20, 2012 by

Maybe you’re a Hearts fan (or a Chelsea one), and you’re not sure whether you’re still a bit drunk and imagining things or not, so allow us to clear something up for you.

No, you’re not dreaming. This actually happened. Tragically, this is really the picture that Scotland’s LEAST moronic newspaper thought most appropriate to illustrate their story on the imminent launch of the “Yes Scotland” campaign. (And, indeed, as the front-page lead of the entire website.) We’re not joking. We imagine the Daily Record is lining up Russ Abbott in a Jimmy hat and Rab C Nesbitt even as we speak.

We seriously can’t imagine how ashamed anyone with even the last shred of an ounce of conscience who works for the Herald must be today. Please, readers – don’t berate and chastise these poor, fearful souls. Take pity on them, for their dignity is ruin’d.

7 to “In case you’re hungover this morning”

1. redcliffe62 says:

I am sure they have some good staff who would like the truth to be told but then again I am sure Hitler had some good staff in 1939, it all gets lost in the crap.

2. David says:

“Scotland’s LEAST moronic newspaper”? That’s very kind of you. Perhaps vestibule of the journalistic vomitarium that is the Scottish MSM dripping in unionist establishment reflux and puke.

3. Barbarian says:

What’s the betting that the Sun will publish something similar, although possibly with a DD chest…….

4. Suth says:

Oh for goodness sake. This is ridiculous. Our media is a pathetic embarrassment. It’s so bad they should be ashamed to even admit being involved with it in public.

5. I find myself in complete agreement. I always trust the Herald to at least attempt to balance the apple cart, but this feels like a stark betrayal of that trust. An idiotic, contemptible picture which deserves all the opprobrium it will draw.

6. Christian Wright says:

I noticed that my contribution dealing with the use of the photo, of the perceived pejorative use of the word, “separation”, and the overall negative tone, never got published.

Restrained as it was, calling for factual reporting, unbiased   commentary, and useful analyses, it was clearly too much for the Herald’s censors. 

Yet the resident and ubiquitous  Unionist shill, “Michael Mckeown”, never seems to lack consideration. It may be that the identity belongs to the Herald’s editorial staff, of course.

The Herald is censoring on political grounds rather than matters of relevance and propriety. This then gives a false impression of the true range of views actually submitted.

Meanwhile thoughtful questions like, ” Will he (Salmond) paint his face?”, are included.  

The Herald should make it clear in their TOS that pro nationalist  submissions are subject to deletion, because they are nationalist views. 

7. Morag says:

Funnily enough the dead-tree paper looks nothing like that.  The front page is a picture of Salmond smiling with an added glint on one of his front teeth, with the headline “Operation Charm Offensive”.

The article is on pages 4 and 5, and while that picture of Gibson is there, it’s only one of a montage of 13 images, and is next to the words “… but there will be no talk of ‘freedom”.  It is not especially prominent over the other 12 pictures, being in the middle row.

The online editors seem to have had a bit of a rush of blood to the brain.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,975 Posts, 1,250,699 Comments

• Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Every time someone asks Andy Burnham a question he does this amazing goldfish out of water impersonation.Sep 9, 19:59
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Out of all the Shires in Scotland Aberdeen seems to produce an altogether unique form of stupidity and arrogance. Lowest…Sep 9, 19:53
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “I hope people aren’t being distracted by a smirking bald guy and a whole lot of gas. Who would fall…Sep 9, 19:46
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “Wow! Looks like some big, bad, English basturts really are gonna do it. But this time I don’t think they’re…Sep 9, 18:59
    • Captain Caveman on Anything But That: “Given the gas was unburned, the CO2/greenhouse gas impact would have been horrendous. Roughly the same as driving an average…Sep 9, 16:58
    • agentx on Anything But That: ““John Swinney nightmare as Westminster launches probe into Peter Murrell’s crimes and Lord Advocate’s role in Cabinet” For details read…Sep 9, 16:39
    • sam on Anything But That: “sez the UK parlyment England which has about 90 % of UK surface water has problems, to put it mildly,…Sep 9, 16:37
    • Captain Caveman on Anything But That: “OK we’re talking methane, not propane, therefore a lower calorific value and all that jazz, but fuck me, 700kg of…Sep 9, 16:37
    • agentx on Anything But That: ““Stephen Flynn says he was unaware of ferry gas escape” ——————————————————- No surprise there then!Sep 9, 15:57
    • agentx on Anything But That: “The Math Breakdown:Methane Volume: \(700 \text{ kg} \div 0.657 \text{ kg/m³} = \mathbf{1,065.4 \text{ m³}}\) Average UK 4-Bedroom House: A…Sep 9, 15:54
    • Minceheid on Anything But That: “Hatey McHateface says: 9 September, 2026 at 2:54 pm Sounds like they were very lucky they didn’t have 82+ incinerated…Sep 9, 15:10
    • Ian Smith on Anything But That: “700kg of methane could fill far more than the volume of a four bedroom house, unless it had a double…Sep 9, 14:56
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “Sounds like they were very lucky they didn’t have 82+ incinerated corpses bobbing in the ocean. I guess “lessons will…Sep 9, 14:54
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “Not a bad program for the myopic. Nothing specifically about G@za. I guess it comes under Foreign Policy, but I’m…Sep 9, 14:47
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: ““which means the pipelines are back on” Good one! Biggest laugh of the day so far. Perhaps to be exceeded…Sep 9, 14:28
    • Willie on Anything But That: “Oh dear, news just breaking of the appalling developing country engineering standards in Scotland has just emerged. Seems that in…Sep 9, 14:23
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “Michty! Is it breakfast time already?Sep 9, 14:20
    • sam on Anything But That: “I guess you didn’t read this. “OUR MISSION The Scottish Sovereignty Research Group was formed in December 2020, when it…Sep 9, 14:16
    • Confused on Anything But That: “leah has a good blog, connecting scottish nationalism into wider geo politics https://archive.ph/gM0JM – she is an american woman and…Sep 9, 13:55
    • Confused on Anything But That: “SSRG is perfectly fine – if it was a middle class wankers circle wank setup there would be a whole…Sep 9, 13:54
    • Confused on Anything But That: “beggan is a just a turd with an 85IQ, here to disrupt. He is reminiscent of another turd, Mark Boyle,…Sep 9, 13:53
    • Confused on Anything But That: “everything is made in china (more or less) ya fucking tit; let’s all buy english flatscreen tellies and english computers…Sep 9, 13:52
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “The EU is moving at its usual glacial pace towards shutting out Covid Spreader unfair competition within its markets: https://www.theguardian.com/world/2026/sep/09/eu-buy-european-public-procurement-rules-china-goods-services…Sep 9, 13:15
    • James Che on Anything But That: “I do not vote so neither left or right. Or even in the middle. When politics and election improve from…Sep 9, 12:33
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “Mark, Measurements of length have always been relatively arbitrary and it has only been in recent times that it has…Sep 9, 12:26
    • James Che on Anything But That: “Mark Beggan. I wll retain my politeness as I have done on wings for the sake of he host of…Sep 9, 12:21
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: ““differed in some degree from their English equivalents.” Which system would be the more accurate? Was the transition to the…Sep 9, 11:35
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Aye Northy never trust the French. A wee eighth of a Scottish inch or a baw hair ken.Sep 9, 11:24
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: ““professors, authors, policy thinkers, a Labour peer, a broadcaster, and Salvo/Liberation Scotland” I wonder if they will be taking questions.…Sep 9, 11:07
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: ““move Scotland even a millimetre closer to independence” Sorry, Northy, but no True Sovereign Scot uses the metric system. Prior…Sep 9, 10:53