Notify of

23 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Rev. Stuart Campbell

In case anyone missed it, the context of today’s cartoon is this:

link to newsnetscotland.com

Ray

Loving the cartoons so far. I’d do some for this independence issue aswell, but the only things I can still draw are Sonic the Hedgehog, Bugs Bunny and Road Runner. I dunno why I can’t advance past them…

Aplinal

@Ray

well you could “Scottify them 😉

Beacan Bunny
Sorcha hedgehog
Roan Runner

Alba gu bràth

Boorach

The truth is funnier than fiction!

Keep them coming Chris they’re all bang on. 

velofello

Investment opportunity. Start making cuddly mascots of this wee lion, he’s a stoater.

Cameron B

Love the image. Chris, was your inspiration for this one Andy Capp? He was pretty cheesed off with the politics of the day.

Macart

😀

Now that’s commentary. 

Laura

I think Hamish and his wee tartan tamie would do really well as a mascot.

Keep up the good work Chris, great stuff.  

uilleam_beag

Quality cartoon, as brilliantly cutting as the previous ones.

ianbrotherhood

Need to pick brains here –
Does anyone know of a source showing data about the Commonwealth countries which have claimed and won their independence since, say 1945? If we can show how these nations have fared in economic terms, it would be a useful tool. 

Fiona

Love the cartoon
One of the many things not reported would undoubtedly have been the First Minister inaugural Jimmy Reid Memorial lecture link to snp.org – a very interesting read. Just as interesting was the Reid Foundation take on the content of the speech and lengthy question and answer session which followed link to reidfoundation.org . Along with the fact that Unison decided not to jump on the latest Labour bandwagon regarding payments to public sector staff taking voluntary redundancy it seems that the “left” and the unions are moving at least to the undecided camp.

Jeannie

Love it.

Ron

Need to give the ‘wee lion’ a name – how about ‘Cally’?

ianbrotherhood

Here’s a picture of ‘Roary Superscot’:

link to myspace.com

Macart

@ianbrotherhood

I know its wiki, but its a good place to start for further links.

link to en.wikipedia.org

Cameron B

@ ianbrotherhood

I am not sure how useful a comparative analysis of post-colonial success will prove to be. Working in conjunction, the World Bank and the IMF have pretty much fkd up most of the southern hemisphere. John Perkins goes in to this in much more detail, in his book Confessions of an Economic Hit Man.
link to economichitman.com

ianbrotherhood

@Macart – cheers. As Cameron B points out, might be a waste of time, but no harm having a look-see…I’m just curious as to why none of those who’ve left ever tried to get back in.

Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Need to give the ‘wee lion’ a name – how about ‘Cally’?”

He’s called Hamish, as in the “hame-ish” joke, hence the “hamish” tag on all his appearances.

Angus McLellan

@Cameron B, Ian Brotherhood: The problem with comparing most CW countries now and in 1945 is that in 1945 they were so poor, underdeveloped and undergoverned that the data for 1945, and for many years afterwards, is so unreliable as to be meaningless. There’s a CIA paper about this issue which is worth a glance: link to cia.gov And it may be that things have not changed all that much today in some cases: link to sfu.ca Realistically, you’re going to end up with a list of former parts of the British Empire that goes “Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand”. All of those were effectively independent long before 1945.

Robert Kerr

@ ianbrotherhood

Lots of information from CIA.

link to cia.gov

Enjoy details about UK. 

Jen

Chris, I love the lion, he is lovely, so cute and Scottish!  

DanTDog

Gaun yersel, Chris…mair po’oer tae yer paw…!!

K Mackay

Beautiful Chris, when can we get Hamish on Tshirts?

Stats: 6,693 Posts, 1,209,255 Comments

• Mia on The same old tricks: “Thank you.Jan 19, 02:03
    • Mia on The same old tricks: ““The two parliaments who enacted the treaty no longer exist” But they can be recalled. The only thing that is…Jan 19, 01:35
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The same old tricks: “Thanks Mia. And for all your own very helpful and encouraging contributions. I would add that, since I can no…Jan 19, 00:29
    • sarah on Poisoning The Unwell: “I couldn’t find that article by the search button. Could you remember which year it was so that I can…Jan 18, 23:22
    • sarah on Poisoning The Unwell: “I missed that bit about the registering of judges’ interests being stopped by Sturgeon. Now why would she do that?…Jan 18, 23:07
    • Mia on Poisoning The Unwell: “Thank you Sarah. The grousebeater article is most interesting. Mmm. 1996/97 is quite close to the devolution referendum for comfort,…Jan 18, 22:59
    • Aidan on The same old tricks: “The two parliaments who enacted the treaty no longer exist, and haven’t existed for hundreds of years, so the problem…Jan 18, 22:47
    • Mia on The same old tricks: ““but in your fantasy, there is no way of amending the UK’s constitutional structure to give effect to that termination”…Jan 18, 22:32
    • Aidan on The same old tricks: “GERS provides figures for oil and gas revenues on both an illustrative geographic share and a population share basis. Why…Jan 18, 22:24
    • Dan on The same old tricks: “May be a helpful explanation of the asymmetry within the union. https://consoc.org.uk/the-constitution-explained/devolution/ I used to have an article bookmarked but…Jan 18, 22:16
    • sarah on Poisoning The Unwell: “Hard to believe, isn’t it? LOLJan 18, 22:10
    • Aidan on The same old tricks: “That should read “administrative structures of the EU”Jan 18, 21:55
    • Aidan on The same old tricks: “Treaties can be terminated for the purposes of international law (I note that is one legal principal that you do…Jan 18, 21:36
    • G m on Poisoning The Unwell: “‘It is interesting why they thought they could get away with acting like this..’. Aye, It is something that has…Jan 18, 21:10
    • Mia on The same old tricks: “Cynical as I am, I have always thought that this is how England retains control over the entire UK and…Jan 18, 21:10
    • Dan on The same old tricks: “@muscleguy If climate change and resultant rising sea level is gonnae make Carnoustie underwater, does this mean the new Star…Jan 18, 21:04
    • McDuff on Poisoning The Unwell: “Another great one Chris.Jan 18, 21:04
    • sarah on Poisoning The Unwell: “Chris, have you ever thought of setting up as a portrait painter? You have her build, her dress sense and…Jan 18, 20:53
    • Dan on The same old tricks: “Another of Xaracen’s posts I bookmarked to save them retyping so often. https://wingsoverscotland.com/at-the-seven-eleven/comment-page-1/#comment-2802136Jan 18, 20:44
    • Marie on Poisoning The Unwell: “Sturgeon playing fast and loose with a case of a woman’s safety????? Surely not????? Feminist to her fingertips etc etc…Jan 18, 20:30
    • Dan on The same old tricks: “https://wingsoverscotland.com/square-one/#comment-2862113Jan 18, 20:27
    • Dan on The same old tricks: “And a wee bump for the utter totes in yer face aspect that the “equal” union has been anything but…Jan 18, 20:21
    • Mia on The same old tricks: “Thank you for these two posts, Fearghas. They are most interesting and useful. With your permission, I am going to…Jan 18, 19:56
    • sarah on Poisoning The Unwell: “1996/97 per the Grouse Beater article that Dan has given a link to. The article has some interesting things to…Jan 18, 19:55
    • Dan on The same old tricks: “Aye, The Kingdom of England doesn’t even have its own Parliament. It simply hijacks the UK Parliament for its own…Jan 18, 19:53
    • Mia on The same old tricks: “Absolutely. I always thought that this “asymmetric” devolution of powers between Scotland and England was unlawful under the conditions of…Jan 18, 19:45
    • Mia on Poisoning The Unwell: “I am not familiar at all with the circumstances of the case, so just out of curiosity, can I ask…Jan 18, 19:40
    • Dan on The same old tricks: “And as the terms of the treaty of union in certain matters pertaining to law are either reserved or devolved…Jan 18, 19:38
    • Mia on The same old tricks: ““Indeed, and that proves that the terms of the Treaty of Union cannot have primacy over all other forms of…Jan 18, 19:16
    • Dan on Poisoning The Unwell: ““Any decent journalist”… That’s the overriding issue though isn’t it Ian. Scotland doesn’t have a media. It has a bunch…Jan 18, 19:12

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()