Handed back on a plate

Posted on September 11, 2014 by

From a press conference a few minutes ago:

We must admit, this is our favoured mode for the First Minister.

5 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 11 09 14 14:02

Handed back on a plate | FreeScotland

2. 11 09 14 15:24

our Scotland correspondent will be right here to answer your questions about independence and the battle to decide Scotland’s future. by BBC News | sortnews

3. 11 09 14 19:37

How to deal with a corrupt media in less than 8 minutes | Whispers from the Darkness on the edge of town

4. 12 09 14 14:19

Songs that I wish had Independence Themed cover versions | Whispers from the Darkness on the edge of town

5. 12 09 14 15:31

#Indyref Anguish: Chomsky on Independence. | Tychy

283 to “Handed back on a plate”

1. desimond

Nick wishes to be called Nicola from now on after that operation.

2. eezy

Seen this. I thought Salmond was exceptional.
    Being heckled from a BBC churnalist….Who’d have thunk it?

3. Tony Little

I wasn’t able to see it live. Anyone know if an unedited version of the Q&A will be available somewhere (I am sill overseas and can’t get iPlayer). I guess the BBC will try to prevent it from being on youtube – it seems to be their usual tactic.

4. Ramona

Alex at his best.

5. muttley79

Haha.

6. horacesaysyes

He could have finished by telling Nick to eat his cereal. 🙂

7. Indy_Scot

Ouch!

8. Alexandra-M-

Brilliant!!!

9. Nana Smith

Our enemies in the bbc have taken down the whole briefing.

10. chools

Can only hope the BBC will be moving post a Yes vote

11. Thepnr

My respect for Alex Salmond has gone through the roof. Never have I voted SNP but this man is a true statesman.

Who better to lead an Independent Scotland?

12. Ayetalks

Harry Perkins couldn’t have done any better.

13. Sonas

Brilliant.

Impossible to conceive of Nick R or his BBC colleagues behaving like that towards the PM, or any UK minister.

This is my preferred mode for the FM too – I only wish he had managed to keep a straight face throughout the applause at the very end…

14. Embradon

It would have been nice to see Nick’s face.
    Never thought I’d say that.

15. Sonas

Thepnr – agreed. Alex is a joy to watch at the moment. Clearly very much enjoying the fight too, unlike his No counterparts.

16. Brian Powell

Nick’s sad wee voice, ‘that wasn’t the answer wanted, i wanted the answer I’ve written down”.

17. Jamscot

Nick Robinson well and truly put in his place!

18. chools

Sad thing is despite the heckle as to how much information comes across when our FM is allowed to speak. Interviews to date that I’ve seen or heard have all involved the interviewer cutting across answers making them incomplete, useless or incomprehensible

19. Brian Powell

The international press heard it, they must be laughing up their sleeves at the BBC.

20. john king

I thought hanging drawing and quatering was a banned punsishment, you hear the screams of the poor man as he was disemboweled, it was horrible.

21. Doug Daniel

I love that wee grin he has at the end. He knows that was fucking majestic.

Fuck off Nick, you Tory twat.

22. thedogphilosopher

If only, if only, the whole of Scotland could see this and realise what is going on in terms of the undemocratic forces that have been called in to play in what is supposed to be a democratic process. It has become nothing of the kind.

23. edward robinson

Who could take this shower on other that Alex Salmond. An absolutely amazing man with facts and figures at his fingertips.

We will NEVER get this chance with such an array of great Scots again. We MUST WIN THIS.

24. Indy_Scot

Does anyone know Nicks mums telephone number, I think he needs a wee cuddle.

25. heraldnomore

Stuart and Eamonn doing a grand job on Beattie’s programme

26. goulashman

Clear, informed and reassuring – communicate this as widely as possible! Wonderful! Little BBC Tory Toad sent back to his fetid pond….

27. Geoff Huijer

HELP ME RHONA!

28. Auld Rock

I know AS well and it always amazes me just how he manages to keep his cool. My wife had to restrain me as I was very angry,again, at the BBC. Just listening and BBC are now trying it on with our proud athletes, will they choose Team Scotland or team GB? They can’t help themselves, what a pity we did not set-up a Pirate TV/Radio station just like we did in the old days!

29. fionan

this was excellent, just the boost needed. Now here’s hoping that someone has managed to save a recording of the entire q&a session. AS is the supreme statesman, we are so fortunate to have him on our side.

30. McTim

I was there and filmed it. Link to follow later today as I’m off campaigning in Leith just now but keep an eye on the Reekie Auld youtube channel. Speeches from Kenyon Wright and Alex to follow too.

31. Luigi

Another sick parrot bites the dust LOL.

32. Wee Jimmy

Wow! Are these conferences going to be daily? I hope so 🙂

33. jack trainer

ooft,really telt.And why did the bbc news 24 channel cut to the oscar pistorius trial in the middle of this broadcast,is that really a bigger issue than the future of a nation?

34. kendomacaroonbar

It was about time that pompous follically challenged bell end got his rub down with a screw tap..and Big Lex didnae bottle it !

Watching it again now. 🙂

35. Harry McAye

This will never be shown on the Scottish or national news so, those on twitter, get re-tweeting this.

Thepnr – exactly why I vote SNP, the best politician in the UK and the man who will always look out for the best for Scotland.

36. Mosstrooper

Alex having torn Nick another one he will now be known as 2 arses Robinson.

Great stuff from the FM.

37. Tony Little

Just watched it again. The sideways look of complete distain towards Robinson from AS at the end was priceless. It seems to say, “You comtemtuous muppet, another 1,000 YES votes”

38. James Forrest

That is the most fantastic, incredible and righteous demolition I have ever seen of a journalist by a politician. Not only did he hammer back the point with the speed of an Andy Murray return serve, but he then slapped down the gauntlet of a cabinet office investigation.

There must have been sharp intakes of breath right through the press gallery. Someone at the Treasury is picking up broken pieces of a whiskey decanter right now.

That was superb. It has made my week.

39. Marian

Just come from the FM’s address to the overseas media at EICC and the skewered Nick Robinson was outstanding!

40. Indy_Scot

You can almost feel the other Westminster lapdogs in the room thinking, you know what, I think he’s covered my question, probably best to let someone else have a go.

41. Kenny Hermse

@Tony Little
    Install the ‘Hola Better Internet’proxy plugin for Chrome or Firefox. Gives you unrestricted access to BBC iplayer when abroad.

42. BrianW

So if the leaking of sensitive market info is illegal prior to an official release it would affect the market – insider dealing/trading)..

Then surely that would HAVE to be investigated by the powers at be?

Or will be another non story brushed under the carpet..

Nothing to see here.. No.. Carry on about your business.. There are no lie’s and deceit going on here.. Move on sir/madam..

43. desimond

@Alexandra-M-

Get back to writing some #NoNurseryRhymes you.
    Need a Nick Robinson inspired one!

44. Thepnr

@john king

I thought hanging drawing and quatering was a banned punsishment, you hear the screams of the poor man as he was disemboweled, it was horrible.

I really did LOL. Ta.

45. NovaScotia

Brilliant! AS showing he is true statesman. I must admit I felt quite down yesterday, but this morning I’ve eaten my porridge, stretched my limbs and I’m ready for the final week.
    We must win this! YES

46. Big Del

OH brilliant. First minister Sir WE salute you!!!!!!!!!!!

47. bunter

ITV running with Salmond rattled at his press conference. Martin Giessler says. Fanny!

48. McTim

If the BBC takes the clip down, mine will be up in about an hour. Rendering Wright’s speech as we speak, Alex’s full speech will be up tonight. Not sure yet how much of the Press Q&A I’ll put online.

49. bobby mckail

He like he cut the head off the snake there. Brilliant stuff.

50. west_lothian_questioner

Stitch THAT, Nicky-boy…..

Nice one Eck!

51. Bugger (the Panda)

@ horacesaysyes says:

11 September, 2014 at 1:12 pm

“He could have finished by telling Nick to eat his cereal.”

Eat his Cheerios?

i never seen such a more complete and consumate slap down of a BBC twerp live on BBC

Guess Nick is kindle wood now, unless there is a NO vote.

52. Stuart Anderson

You can see by the screen grab that Alex was just waiting to pounce! What was great was the other members of the audience knowing that Robinson got handed his erkie in a sling and were applauding it.

53. Muscleguy

@John King

The FM used effective and humane methods to put this pest down but some pest species are resistant to even the best methods, you may have read about this. Noticing that there was still some, mewling, pathetic life left the FM, who is a humane person, stopped what he was doing to finish the job. He cannot be held responsible for the resistance shown by the pest itself.

Having in my scientific career and in life* had cause to euthanise suffering animals (often at cost to experimental procedures, as was proper and legal) I recognise the process.

Sadly I expect the BBC had expert technicians on hand and Nick has now joined the rest of the living dead at the corporation and we should notice few differences. I forget, is a stake through the heart effective on all living dead or just vampires? The living dead are not my speciality.

*While out walking with the boss and her husband once we came across a rabbit who had obviously managed to jump the burn from the field where two guys were shooting rabbits but had collapsed on our bank. He stepped on the neck and I pulled hard on the legs and we put it out of its misery. Doing this not only breaks the neck, it breaks the blood vessels in the neck causing exsanguination. It is not a normal Schedule 1 method for rabbits but is effective in small rodents and we had no other method available that was both quick and humane.

54. Roddy Macdonald

Absolutely brilliant! The Metropolitan Commentariat are so far behind the drag curve, they all seem to think it’s 1979 again.

Anyhoo, I’ve some messages to deliver:

http://logicsrock.blogspot.co.uk/2014/09/jam-today.html

55. Scot Finlayson

How does he keep his cool when dealing with these (can`t think of a word to describe my almost physical hatred/disgust with these people/ things, i`m sure the Germans will have a word for them,I don`t mean that in any anti German way but they seem to have big words for describing emotions,) Anyway I would have been over the fricken pedestal and bit his fricken throat out.
    Peace and Love to almost all.

56. Training Day

Back to our friends in the international media.. Lol

The BBC has no place in an independent Scotland.

57. Famous15

Pity I cannot cancel my BBC licence twice!

58. James123

Wow. that was great, AS gave the BBC the good kicking they deserve, the gloves are well and truly off. I really can’t wait to here what he says about the BBC and the media in general after the referendum.

BTW the difference in attitude between the respectful international media and the hooligan like British media was clear for all to see, you could hear and feel the hatred and antagonism towards him from the likes of the BBC and Channel 4.

59. bookie from hell

marr
    robinson

He’s slowing disembowing the BBC London establishment

walofs

60. blindingmemory

Interesting ‘breaking news’ taglines during Salmond taking the BBC to task.

61. Futureproof

A moment of sheer catharsis for everyone who’s been shouting at BBC News for the last few years. The laughter from the proper journalists present, I hope it torture Robinson for ever. Priceless. I think Eck was entitled to a wee grin at the end.

62. call me dave

@heraldnomore

Was that not a breathe of fresh air, I was spellbound, urging them in my mind to keep going and they did and then some!
    Will they be welcome in Pacific Quay again?

Waiting on link appearing on playback.

I said by Thursday the whole ‘better together’ thing would be seen for what it was and the entrails, when examined would expose their lies.

Never thought it would be this comprehensive. Good day for YES.

63. Hamish Humphy

That wee smile at the end said “Get it round ye Nick”. Fantastic performance from FM.

64. Bugger (the Panda)

Scot Finlayson

Engisher schwein fukkers?

Nein

65. Brian Sherry

#arsedskelped#longtimecoming#tooknopleasure#LOL#yes

66. Bill Cruickshank

Possibly one of the finest political performances from any politician anywhere. Absolutely outstanding.

67. Papadox

Looking forward to nicks report on FMs qa secession,

EBC NOW IN TOTAL LAND OF MAKE BELIEVE MODE.

68. The Rough Bounds

Y’know…I’m sure I could hear water running as Alex was explaining to Nick how things work in national and macro economics. It was definitely coming from the same part of the room as Nick.

69. ScottyC1314

As good as that was….the masses will only get some edits that the BBC choose to give us on their main bulletins. I have to admit that my head is a little down at the moment and I keep asking myself have the undecideds been engaged enough at this stage to know that we are getting a re-hash of the last 3 years of scare stories rolled into a couple of days. No doubt when I get home from work and look at the hundreds of leaflets that need to go out I will be re-invigorated….this will be won in communities and doorsteps after all – but the injustice and unfairness of the situation does have an impact.

70. Michael Hamilton

Watched the whole thing,can’t believe the BBC never cut away, and applause from the world’s media,sensational

71. Matt S

Wee Nyaff ..

72. Yesitis

Oh what a lovely watch 🙂

73. Paul

Message to Alex when the Yes vote comes through can you tell the BBC to Fcuk off they are not wanted. I will never ever pay for a license again no matter if we are independent or not.

74. call me dave

Have a listen to this on the John Beattie show.

Astonishing.Just after 1hr and 8minutes in.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b04gnvc8

75. Robert Peffers

@chools says: 11 September, 2014 at 1:14 pm:

“Can only hope the BBC will be moving post a Yes vote”.

Whether they wish to or not!

76. JLT

Ouch! In more ways than one.

Would like to be the fly on the wall as Nick has some helluva an explaining to do…

But finally …the BBC caught out with their own lies. More useful information to use tonight while out canvassing!

77. The Knome

How I managed to hold my temper watching that I do not know. Nick showed a lot of contempt and no small amount of fraud was committed in his questions and statements.

Said before, I did not vote for Salmond, or even the SNP, but this here is one of many examples I have respect for the man, about the only one with integrity in this damn referendum (or for that matter, either government).

78. muttley79

Meanwhile over on the Guardian: Gordon Brown is saying he is going to stand for Holyrood, if Yes do not stop using the threat to our NHS of voting No!

Gordon Brown is to take centre stage in the next election to the Scottish parliament if Alex Salmond continues to peddle the “deception” that the NHS in Scotland will be at risk from privatisation if the pro-unionists win the referendum.

Is Brown going mad? Has he not heard Andy Burnham’s comments on privatisation of the NHS in England?

79. Sinky

This is people power against the London elite that has ruined the country.

Worth repeating George Monbiot in the Guardian, 10 September 2014:

If Scotland becomes independent, it will be despite the efforts of almost the entire UK establishment. It will be because social media has defeated the corporate media. It will be a victory for citizens over the Westminster machine, for shoes over helicopters.

It will show that a sufficiently inspiring idea can cut through bribes and blackmail, through threats and fear-mongering. That hope, marginalised at first, can spread across a nation, defying all attempts to suppress it. That you can be hated by the Daily Mail and still have a chance of winning.

80. Macart

Oh – my – gawd!

He’ll feel that one in the morning. 😀

Outstanding from the FM. I’ll bet he’s been waiting to hand out that slapping for years.

81. Nana Smith

Can you believe it ITV said the FM ‘struggled’ today. I think they mistook Nick for our FM

82. gillie

Nick’ Fannybaws’ Robinson will be sitting on a cushion for sometime.

Here we have exposed to the international media the collusion between the BBC, the UK government and their friends in the City.

It is we the Scottish people against the whole rotten corpse of the British establishment, the Westminster political class, the London elite, and their powerful friends in the city.

83. msean

Is there a timetable or a plan ‘A’ to remove the BBC as the state broadcaster in an independent Scotland.

84. pipinghot

So, if I have it right, that is our national broadcasting corp recieving a brief (illegaly perhaps) and using it to influence a democratic process. I would like to think that this will become the story. Any thoughts?

85. stonefree

Just superb!!! What else is there to say

86. Faltdubh

Bloody fantastic.

Robinson’s always been a wee lapdog/toad. Terrific and great to see Eck in such fine form tearing him not just a new one but handing him back his baws as well.

Even better the international media all roundly applaud.

Roll on the SBS and we can be shot of the Beeb forever in 2 years time.

87. Robert Peffers

@Sonas says: 11 September, 2014 at 1:15 pm:

“Impossible to conceive of Nick R or his BBC colleagues behaving like that towards the PM, or any UK minister.

I very much doubt if Nick R, or his BBC colleagues, will ever again even attempt to behave towards the FM like that ever again. In fact I’d go as far as to doubt that Nick R will be allowed ever again by the BBC to even get the chance to do so ever again. The Scottish expression, “Nick jist haed his gas pit it a peep”, springs to mind.

88. anton le grandier

Salmond does this with such style which makes it all the more effective.Like being handed your arse on a plate with a satin napkin.

89. Clootie

😀 😀 😛 ;D

90. joe kane

Unionist Terminator model Eck-1000.

91. frazer allan whyte

@Scot Finlayson
    I think the appropriate German term you are looking for to describe the odious Beebhack is “Schleimscheisser” – pronounced more or less as “shl-eye-m sh-eye-sur” and translates as “slime-shitter” – although it sounds even more repugnant in the original.

This is another advantage of Scotland having membership in the EU – any missing or weak invective in one language can be replaced by a more appropriate or stronger one from one of the many languages of our friendly European brothers and sisters. How tragic if Scotlands turns its back on this wonderful cultural opportunity.

Vote Yes for a free Scotland in a fun Europe.

PS Apparently Mrs Farage is German (I may be mistaken) so perhaps questions of this nature could be addressed to her husband when he drops by soon.

92. Iain (orri) McCord

Another point is that they will be required under EU regulations to have an office in all the states they operate in. There’s a danger that this will be portrayed as somehow reflecting confidence in the economy of an independent Scotland and that in turn will cause harm. It will not. The very supermarkets that claim prices might have to go up are the ones who don’t have a registered office in Scotland and will have to start paying corporation tax here come independence. We won’t accept the Starbucks dodge of pretending to be a franchise and balancing payments for that against profits to pick an choose where you pay your taxes. You do business in Scotland you pay us what we’re due.

93. Vronsky

I love Salmond in attack mode. Industrial strength sarcasm that could strip paint from a battleship. Poor wee tory Nick, way out of his league.

94. Steve Bowers 74% win

Just fucking brilliant, what an arse kicking to dish out, cheesy grins all round and an extra bowl of Cocopops for Eck.

95. bookie from hell

telegraph hurt feelings

Iain Martin

Major, Blair, Brown, Cameron. Never seen a serious leader behave like Salmond just did when asked legitimate questions by @bbcnickrobinson

96. Grendel

Having just moved house I’ve cancelled one tv licence and am looking forward to informing the BBC I’ll not be paying at this address either!

97. Now's the Hour

Even amongst the FM’s standout performances that takes some beating! I loved his wee GIRUY grin at the end. Is it true the Biased Broadcasting Corporation has pulled the clip already? If so, get it viral!

98. Steve White

The best example of a person in full control of his brief I’ve seen. Voice level throughout, no swivel eyes and no pointing. Someone should make sure Alastair Darling sees it.

Outrageous for Robinson to heckle, but every interviewer on national media I’ve seen are too scared to let Salmond finish a point so try to cut him off and talk over him. And some of the Scottish ones have been worst.

Man’s an expert. More strength to him.

99. Socrates MacSporran

Great, those of us on here have seen that; but, the vast majority of the population have not. Just wait until the BBC starts editing it – they may not succeed, but, they will do everything in their power to make Eck look bad and poor wee Nick look good.

It’s what they do.

We are fighting a very dark and devious foe here folks, no dirty trick is beneath them.

100. A.N.Surgent

Text the bbc on 61124 and have a laugh at them, I did. Message optional

101. dadsarmy

@Rev
    Thanks for that, it’s enormous.

Completely crushed Nick Robinson in front of the international press. Cameron, Miliband and Clegg would have been jealous.

102. Nana Smith

@call me dave

That’s an excellent slamming of the bbc on the Beattie.

103. pitchfork

Can someone please do a transcription for those of us who can’t watch videos at work?
    thanks

104. Graeme Doig

Brilliant Mr Salmond sir. Just what we need from you now.

O/T been out and about delivering booklets and chatting and folk still looking for info/reassurance … duly given. People not impressed with attacks on Scotland.

Thanks again Eck. We need you to keep this up!

105. Nana Smith

@Socrates MacSporran

Its on youtube already.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rHmLb-RIbrM&feature=youtu.be

106. scotswoman

That’s as impressive a performance as I’ve ever seen from Salmond. Given the high stakes at this point in time, it’s even more remarkable and a contrast to the frantic, shambolic efforts coming out of Westminster.

107. Marjorie

Absolutely brilliant, fair made my day. 🙂

108. Pentland Firth

I loved every second of it, especially how Nick Robinson tried to heckle Salmond and how the international media then laughed at the BBC and applauded the FM. Brilliant performance from Alex Salmond.

109. Macart

Oh not just Nick Dads. The BBC itself has just had the mother of all facers in front of their international peers.

Like I say, the FM must have waited years for that opportunity to present itself and boy did he hit the target when it came along or what?

110. pipinghot

I would like to hear the leagal oppinion on this leak to the BBC, possibly much more serious than first thought.

111. Kev

Outstanding Alex, demolished and embarrassed the wee tory tosser in front of all his peers, wonderful viewing will be watching this many, may times over. Can’t help but wonder if AS had come out with such a withering slap-down if he didn’t believe that most Scots felt the same way about the BBC, afterall he’s had many opportunities over the last few years. Its obviously the impression he has picked up whilst on the campaign trail recently. I would agree, the BBC were out on Buchanan street earlier trying to chat to passers-by and not a single soul was the slightest bit interested.

112. Doug Mcgregor

I vote we award Charlie Brooker the honour of honourary Scot. Light relief for those that need it.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/sep/08/scottish-independence-david-cameron-no-campaign-windows-8

113. tartanarse

INDY SCOT at 1.32

“You can almost feel the other Westminster lapdogs in the room thinking, you know what, I think he’s covered my question, probably best to let someone else have a go.”

Class. That’s exactly what I was thinking.

More please.

114. heedtracker

Devolve Scottish public broadcasting now. Can’t wait to see twerps like this become foriegn correspondents, or “friends in the foreign press”

What a relief to see the BBC gone from Scotland for good.

115. Papadox

THE EBC ARE FINISHED IN SCOTLAND. THEY JUST KEEP DIGGING. THIS WILL NOT BE FORGOTTEN OR FORGIVEN. THIS IS A PLANNED AND COORDINATED EFFORT. PREMEDITATED.

116. FireStarter

Awesome performance – was cheering “Yaassss!” And I’m here in my own, too 🙂
    That was truly beautiful to watch 🙂
    Sod off Auntie!

117. Alex Smith

Love him or hate him, you’ve got to respect the First Minister – He’s the greatest British statesman of his generation.

Gaun yersel’, Eck!

118. Robert Peffers

@Futureproof says: 11 September, 2014 at 1:49 pm:
    “I hope it torture Robinson for ever. Priceless.”

All it needs now is for someone Robinson is attempting to talk down threaten to do a Wee Eck on him while on camera. It will, in effect, end that vile man’s career forever. When they make such errors of judgement as Robinson has just made they can very easily be made figures of fun.

Remember when Emu repeatedly attacked Michael Parkinson eventually causing Parkinson to fall off his chair? Parkie was never quite the same again. It was the beginning of the end of his career. Robinson could well be now on the way out. He just now needs to be constantly reminded on air for the effects to be terminal.

119. P.R.D.

Dignified Alex Salmond unlike the foul mouthed thuggish effing-statecraft of David Cameron.

NR as with most MSM journalists should be laughed at on their way out of Scotland.

120. Black Douglas

call me dave says:

“Have a listen to this on the John Beattie show.

Astonishing.Just after 1hr and 8minutes in.”

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b04gnvc8

The worms that turned. That is one interesting conversation, sounds as if some of the staff have also had enough of the BBC bias. 😀

121. A.N.Surgent

The leak is a serious issue, information to be released on stock
    exchange is sacrosanct.

122. Kev

@pipinghot

Its 7 years in the slammer for insider dealing and revealing information from an inside source:

http://www.sfo.gov.uk/media/99234/insider_dealing_sfo_ops_handbook_topic_march2012.pdf

123. Iain

Eck, you are a professional among amateurs. Well done, for the content and for your calm response. These hacks from the BBC are being pushed so hard to defend the corporate union that they have completely lost the plot. The new charter for the BBC must be rejected. Start campaigning on the 19th.

124. fred blogger

is this right? that 97% of eligible voters are registered to vote.
    the actual number that i have seen repeated is 4385323 WOW!

125. The Rough Bounds

Substitute British for Romans in the following quotation and you will see that we have been here before. It’s part of the speech of Calgacus, first named High King of the Picts in his exhortation to his countrymen to rise up and defeat an enemy that was trying to subdue us in 83 ad.

”We, the last men on earth, the last of the Free, have been shielded by the very remoteness and seclusion for which we are famed. But today our boundaries lie exposed. Beyond us lies no Nation…nothing, but waves and rocks and The Romans. They make a desolation, and they call it peace.

Abandon then, all hope of mercy, and take courage, whether it is life or honour that you hold most dear. So let us,uncorrupted, unconquered as we are, ready to fight for freedom but never to repent failure, prove at the first clash of arms what heroes Caledonia has been holding in reserve.

On then, into action, and as you go, think of those that went before you and of those that shall come after.”

126. David McCann

Threat to move RBS head office to London? Check the bank’s entry in the Stock Exchange Directory here, top line.

http://www.londonstockexchange.com/exchange/traders-and-brokers/membership/member-firm-directory/member-firm-directory-detail.html?castMemberId=ALSE1A0003T5

The RBS head office has been in London for a long time.

127. #ScotlandSayYes

The top 1% neoliberal machine is wrong to chose a battle with us Scots over our Independence and the Sovereign will of the Scottish people. Well done Mr Salmond. Scotland has had 42 billion barrels of oil taken that should have gone to our Government. Vote Yes to change this anomaly of our assets.

128. GrahamB

Brilliant! Remember NR being made to look a twat by AS at the White Paper launch as well, I don’t think they get on!

Doug D at 1:21,
    At the Euro Election results NR could hardly conceal his glee at the UKIP advances so he’s probably not a Tory, he’s worse.

Like several people above I enjoyed Stuart and Eamonn shredding the BBC’s partiality on John Beattie’s programme, best twenty minutes radio I’ve heard in years. I’ve given up listening to Radio Scotland for months but it was on the car radio on the way back from a funeral in North Ayrshire where the NO banners were all in farmers’ fields although there were also a couple of YES ones. Plenty of Saltires and YES posters in the towns though.

129. EphemeralDeception

Regardless of the result, and in fact as soon as the polling closes all of the SNP and YES reps should decline or minimize time and interviews with the BBC in favour of other outlets and reporters.

Any questions that must be taken can be parked to last.
    eg.
    “Brian Taylor, BBC: What is the…”
    SNP spokesperson: “Sorry Brian, can you pass the microphone to international journalists at the back please, I may come back to you if we still have time later.”

The CBI supporting, No campaign member know as the BBC and especially the BBC in Scotland need to be ostracised.

130. west_lothian_questioner

New arse for Robinson!.. Nick Robinson??. step right up and collect your new arse directly from the First Minister…

still cacklin over this…. could go on for a wee while yet…. bwaaahahahahaha…

131. pipinghot

Cheers Kev, this deserves to go much further. I for one will be unable to accept a no vote as the will of the Scottish people simply because of the lack of BBC impartiality. The papers can (and do) what they like. NOT THE BBC

132. peter

Revenge is a dish best served cold.
    BBC have some of that. News papers take heed.

133. Chris Baxter

The quality of reporting at the BBC has been degrading for years. This is just embarrassing.

134. Juteman

Unfortunately some folk are believing this shite from the BBC/Westminster cabal. I’ve spoken to two undecideds that had moved to Yes. They are undecided again. This is an affront to democracy.

135. Les Wilson

Watched all of this, suggest all do, before it is cut and pasted by the BBC.

Alex Salmond was at his best, took all come’rs in questions, gave solid answers and never faltered. Those among us who question him should think again, he is Scotland’s best.

I for one am proud he is fronting this for us, despite everything thrown at him, he is still undisputedly FOR SCOTLAND, unlike so many others. He still has all his passion and can handle all that considerable personal material that would have broken lesser men.

136. Quentin Quale

You’d have thought that even although the BBC seem to think Scotland is beyond mention, apart from small amounts of Scottish output programming and of course the ‘news where you are’, they might just have noticed the international media representatives at the venue. Correspondents from Brazil and Germany only two of the many present asking questions. Arrogance and contempt in equal measure. And destroyed by the FM in tremendous fashion. What an uplifting performance!

137. Jim McIntosh

Just listened to John Beattie show from the link given by ‘call me dave’ above.

That was exactly how this debate should have been covered for the past 28 days (purdah) at least.

Stuart Cosgrove was brill, sorry to say he’ll be getting his books from the BBC.

Loved Eammon O’neill as well, he kept referring to the other side of the argument a ‘No better together’ with the emphasis on the ‘No’.

138. A.N.Surgent

Was watching RT the other day when one of the guests said he had
    been interviewed by Pravda and right away the host asked were you
    interrupted. The International Press will be lapping this up.

139. CameronB Brodie

muttley79
    Is Brown going mad? Has he not heard Andy Burnham’s comments on privatisation of the NHS in England?

I don’t know about mad but I read Gordon Brown as a deeply flawed character. He knows he is lying but it suites his purpose. This and his apparent lack of empathy, makes me wonder if he is a sociopath.

140. bookie from hell

Whisky socialism? The Telegraph is reporting that it has been told by officials in the North Korea that the regime would support an independent Scotland – and one of Scotland’s most famous exports could be a key ingredient.

141. bookie from hell

Voter registration figures are out today. My colleague Libby Brooks has sent us this.

A total of 4,285,323 people – about 97% of the adult population – have registered to vote in the Scottish independence referendum next week, making this the largest electorate the country has ever known for any election or referendum.

The figures include 118,640 voters who have registered in the last month alone, since August 1, as well as 789,024 postal voters. A total of 164, 829 voters have been added to the register since March 1 this year.

Much has been made in recent months of the so-called “missing million” – a term that describes both those eligible to vote but missing from the register as well as those who are registered but habitually do not vote – and whether they could swing the referendum result in favour of independence.

142. Frost

I was at the press conference today. After it had finished, I overheard one young English journalist who sounded a bit shell shocked and was asking his one of his colleagues in the toilet “Why does Alex Salmond have to be so digressive all the time?”

143. Tony Baregi

I love how when they realise it hasn’t gone their way they change the headlines along the bottom of the screen to some more doom and gloom.

144. John Boyes

Alex is on fire today and is not suffering fools lightly. He started just before 8am by ripping GMS’s Hayley Millar a new one:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b04gnvc4
    ( 02.09.48 – 02.21.07

145. heedtracker

Milliband’s seems to have bottled it with a Sturgeon head to head STV tonight. Cameron arranged audience only, bulletproof Range Rovers. What a bunch

146. Socrates MacSporran

Just seen this: the latest Hitler Rant – brilliant:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nsRzO18nM8A

147. gillie

Stuart Cosgrove and Eammon O’Neill certainly put the boot into the BBC. The corporation will be black and blue all over tomorrow.

It is about time the Scottish media grew a pair and challenged the unionist orthodoxy, otherwise they may find themselves looking for new jobs as Scots look elsewhere for news.

148. Clootie

@GrahamB says:
    11 September, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Same on the road down from Aberdeen to Glasgow.Perthshire fields covered in No Thanks posters.

The fields don’t get a vote. Plenty of posters, probably on one or two estates so we are talking of TWO VOTES it doesn’t matter how many posters they put up.

I also seen this at Turrif but the owner was getting “his chaps” to put them up while he supervised.

Unlike 1707 it is not the voting landowners who will decide.

149. heraldnomore

Oh my goodness, Brown to come back as FM. WTF are we going to hear next?

Screen wipes, where’s the screen wipes?

150. Derek M

lol Nick Robinson the question should be why should the people of Scotland believe a word said by a wee tory bum sook like you ,now why dont you go crawl back under the rock you slithered out from.
    As for the UK minister who leaked this market info to the MSM bye bye not only should they be sacked but should face prosecution.
    Go yerself eck vote yes Scotland lets give our FM the mandate he needs to kick some butt.

151. Quentin Quale

What do you find more uplifting – posters in fields or posters in windows?

152. Flower of Scotland

O/t

The BBBC are indeed on a war footing against Scotland today!! The other day I shared a post about Asda saying that Independence would not affect prices in Scotland. The BBBC have just announced that Asda boss has come out and said that there WOULD be a cost after Independence!

How can we counteract that today! It’s not in the WBB!!

153. Quentin Quale

Damn – No Thanks posters in fields or Yes posters in windows, obviously.

154. Murray McCallum

OK who exactly is still voting for the BBC and why do they have such influence over our lives?

155. Marie clark

ouch! that had to hurt, and in front of the international media as well.

Gaun yersel First Minister.

156. dadsarmy

@Scot Finlayson
    Arschlocken

157. Derek M

what a poor deluded muppet big crash broon is ,can we have him sectioned please he is quite clearly off his rocker ,on i side note i wonder what wee jola thinks about him trying to steal her job ,not that she will have one for much longer since all the westminster blairites seem to be lining up to take over SLAB ,what a bunch of back stabbing snakes in the grass lol you couldnt make this stuff up,so labour people see the true face of new labour save your party vote yes!!

158. McTim

my video from the audience’s point of view is on my youtube channel Reekie Auld now. I wasn’t expecting Nick Robinson to heckle Alex Salmond so that bit is missing but I recorded Alex’s second answer to NR.

159. liz

O/T PLEASE READ – Paul Mason Ch4 wants sourced evidence of lies on pensions plus any experiences of pensioners worried, stocking food etc.

Twitter account @paulmasonnews

160. Robert Peffers

@JLT says: 11 September, 2014 at 2:00 pm:

“finally …the BBC caught out with their own lies. More useful information to use tonight while out canvassing!”

BBC still at it. Just heard a woman on BBC News24 make claims that shop prices in Scotland will increase due to it costing more to transport goods to Scotland. How bloody stupid are these people?

Scotland is a net exporter of food, fuel and power while England is a net importer of all three. If it costs the major supermarkets more to transport food to a net exporter of food from a net inporter of food then the transportation costs are the same in both directions but only one party is a net exporter.

Then we have power. Scotland exporteed 25% of her generated power into England in the past year but to make a total nonsense of the BBC’s claims that power generated in northern Scotland is charged £20 for every kilowatt they add to the grid while South English generators get subsidised by £3 per kilowatt added to the grid. This imbalanced charge alone costs Scotland £100 million per year. Do these numpties imagine an independent Scotland will go on allowing this theft?

This all smacks very much of Westminster sheer panic and abject fear. You can smell that fear up here in Fife all the way from Westminster. All that, without the consideration of the difference between the present 8.2% of the UK oil & gas production that Westminster credits as Scottish share of oil & gas production when the post independence share will be a whopping 95% of the Oil & Gas production.

Two things that cannot be disputed, (except going upwards), are that 95% of the oil & gas output is in Scottish territory and that Scotland’s per capita GDP is higher than the per Capita GDP of the United Kingdom.

161. BigRik

The boy done good…the problem with the treasury leak is this.. Who will investigate? Dave’s pals in the treasury , or Dave’s pals in the stock market?

162. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Wonderful! 😀

Contrast the toecurling fawning and arselicking that former Chairman of the Young Conservatives Nick Robinson gave to the coward Cameron to his angry little man heckling of scotland’s first minister in front of the world’s media.

The BBC and several others are digging their own grave directly in front of the scottish public who are a wee bit unlikely to trust these repulsive tory idiots.

Now Ed Miliband (even more disliked in scotland than Cameron) is lithping away looking every bit the twat even labour voters know he is. The poor little mite has had to get the polis to keep him away from ordinary scots and firmly surrounded by his 10% pay rise westminster Labour lackeys.

163. heedtracker

Another crap attempt. This “senior commentator” also regularly makes a Nick Robertsonesque fool of himself

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/sep/11/alex-salmond-scottish-independence-referendum-david-cameron

“The Unionist side in Scotland’s separatist referendum is noisily bouncing back today with big banks and oil companies being pushed off the fence to warn of the pitfalls of a decision to break up the UK.”

All reported MONTHS AGO. See the vid:D

164. CameronB Brodie

Timing and foresight are essential ingredients for success.

The BBC’s international credibility seriously damaged in one press briefing. It is almost as if the FM had a plan. 😀

165. BuckieBraes

@Robert Peffers

‘Just heard a woman on BBC News24 make claims that shop prices in Scotland will increase…’

Och, that’s all right – I’m not looking to buy a shop.

166. Andy

They reporting that asda says prices will be higher in indi scotland wat a joke, will be shopping at tesco from now on lol

167. Neil

The oracle of truth that is the Daily Mail Online has just put up an article stating that North Korea is strongly behind the Yes campaign… the article goes on to quote Russian separatists in the Ukraine too. I kid you not! Project Fear coupled with Project Farce

168. Marie clark

Aw naw. Say it aint so. Big Broon standing for Holyrood. Checks back o heid fur buttons, naw still tight shut.

Does this man believe that we would let him anywhere near Holyrood. I think that the pair soul is ill.

169. Wp

After watching Alex today, its hard to believe Darling wasn’t destroyed in the first debate. Leads me to think it was part of the plan. Absolutely no one can compete with Alex Salmond in full flow.

170. Papadox

EBC where o where is nick Robison I’m missing him so much. His fair and impartial reporting is a sad loss to this debate.
    Unfortunately we have the even thicker more biased Norman Smith. What a bunch of ars*oles.

171. Kev

I see Rob “just in it to pay the mortgage” Shorthouse is claiming on twitter that all the international journalists were actually just Yes supporters smuggled in to applaud Salmond, priceless!

172. creag an tuirc

@Marie clark I wonder how that makes wee Johann feel?

173. Les Wilson

The BBC cut Salmond’s finish to avoid his applause being seen.

174. muttley79

Article on Guardian about number of Scottish electorate:

A total of 4,285,323 people – about 97% of the adult population – have registered to vote in the Scottish independence referendum next week, making this the largest electorate the country has ever known for any election or referendum.

The figures include 118,640 voters who have registered in the last month alone, since August 1, as well as 789,024 postal voters. A total of 164, 829 voters have been added to the register since March 1 this year.

Much has been made in recent months of the so-called “missing million” – a term that describes both those eligible to vote but missing from the register as well as those who are registered but habitually do not vote – and whether they could swing the referendum result in favour of independence.

Over 100,000 registered since August alone!

175. bookie from hell

just phoned up ASDA

0800-952-0101

must be getting a lot of phone calls

I said ,I heard on bbc ASDA putting prices up Scotland

eh,eh let me help

can I read out a statement

yes

thx

176. Haggis Hunter

The World is laughing at the BBC and the Brit establishment.

177. muttley79

The lad in Glasgow playing the Star Wars song at the Labour MPs/MSPs was inspired as well. Great Stuff! 😀 😀 SLAB are getting the piss taken out of them in Glasgow.

178. Graeme Doig

The thing that impresses me about our FM is that everything he states if will back up and stay consistent. None of the ramblings we get from bt with nonsense you can see through.

I know there are things we’ve all wanted him to say but if has had to remain the real statesman he is and has conducted himself with great self restraint.

I’ve got a heavy parka which I’ve just hung on his performance today

179. norrie

We’ve had the Pope now we get the MFI just breaking. Who next god has the Rev got a direct line?

180. Papadox

Norman Smith (EBC) “who do you believe the treasury or Alex Salmon?” Are you really that thick Norman?

Ed The talking horse at concert hall, all the muppets cheering behind him were either SLAB MSPs or mercenary Labour MPs shipped up from the big smoke, under orders and obviously on expenses. EBC edited the event perfectly (for the BT mob) I think we could call it ANOTHER stitch up.

181. biecs

AS was superb.
    I have no idea how he manages to stay so calm.

Can I check something please?
    This was an international news conference?
    So the people in the hall were all journalists?
    So the people applauding when AS filleted NR were his fellow journalists?

How often would hard-nosed, used to being lied to, journalists applaud a politician like that?

182. Chitterinlicht

Not sure why this has not been used much by YES

USA banks plan to leave UK and go to IReland if UK leaves EU.

This is GOLD dust and negates ALL scaremongering stories about Scotish banks money movement etc

http://rt.com/uk/181340-us-banks-desert-britain/

http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/9b555ed6-25f1-11e4-8bb5-00144feabdc0.html#axzz3D1E18COb

183. Chitterinlicht

Yes re clapping

184. Nana Smith

Very funny. Mps marching up Buchanan st. Heckler playing imperial march from Start wars.

https://twitter.com/WeAreNational/status/510062878515556352/photo/1

185. BrianW

@John Boyes 2:55pm

Just listened to that Hayley Millar Interview. I really do like how he kept reiterating the info that the BBC leave out, and I’m sure you’ll have this in future bulletins.

A gathered from online reports that Jackie Bird interviewed Mr Salmond the other night and was tutting and hawing at him, interrupting etc.

I’m starting to think there must be an “Interviewing the SNP Workshop” on the go at the BBC. Hayley was exactly the same.

I know I’m biased, I am a yes through and through, but there really is a marked difference to the way they interview SNP Politicians then from the other partys.

Alistair Darling mealy rabbles on loudly that is makes it hard to interrupt. Maybe that’s his ploy.

I personally think that Mr Salmond is right. Of course they will enter into some kind of Currency Union, they’d not let the markets suffer – half of the Tory Benches are in bed with the Markets and have a financial vested interest in the markets not suffering. They really must think we’re zipped up the back if we are to believe anything different.

186. i'm a fan

From BBC Live page

Treasury slam ‘leak’ claims

Posted at 15:34

Treasury sources have dismissed as “absurd” claims by Alex Salmond [see 12:33 entry] that they deliberately leaked news about RBS preparing to relocate its headquarters.
    A source described the claim as a “desperate distraction tactic”.
    Treasury sources say they were responding to inquiries from journalists. It is understood they were contacted by The Sun newspaper after Lloyds had issued a statement about their future. Questions were then put to the Treasury about the future of RBS.

The source said the story about RBS potentially moving its headquarters had already been reported elsewhere previously.

The source also suggested that claims by Mr Salmond that any decision by RBS to relocate would have no impact, was wrong. The source said if RBS had its headquarters in London, the banking rules under which it operated would be drawn up by the Bank of England.

187. muttley79

The gift that keeps on giving. Tweet from James Cook, Better Together have put George Galloway forward as an official representative! 😀 😀

https://twitter.com/WeAreNational/status/510072473535401985

188. sydthesnake

chitterinlicht
    or the USA banks could just move to Scotland?
    we don’t want to leave EU

189. Malcolm

The First Minister does his bit again, leading by example. We can’t let this man, or Scotland, down. We are so close, keep pushing, keep talking, facts will beat all the London pish.

190. fred blogger

they’ve here to save the union.
    https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=720408611340179

191. dadsarmy

Bloomberg / washington post, businessweek, ibtimes about market sensitive Treasury leak

Hope it goes global

192. Dan Huil

Yet more scare-mongering. It’s all the unionists have. I see it as a good sign for the Yes campaign.

193. Black Douglas

@Fred

The evil empire.

Now bow down to your masters. 😀 😀

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=720408611340179

The peoples moment of the campaign so far for me. 😀

Hilarious

194. Flower of Scotland

Posted this and it disappeared!

@bookie from hell..I phoned Asda to to complain about them or the BBBC trying to influence the vote in the referendum! Didn’t know anything about it but the lady was nice and put my complaint on their system and took my Email address. We.ll see!

195. Juan P

OT

Guardian piece here reporting that a man (now a legend if you ask me) played the imperial march from Star Wars to accompany all the Labour MPs arriving into Glasgow to spout more of their usual shite and bile.

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/sep/11/westminster-express-scotland-labour-mps

Guardian don’t seem to realise thought that the referendum is for independence and not devolution. End of the first paragraph reads:

“…as somewhere between 50 and 60 Labour MPs made their way out of the station to join the campaign against devolution”

Also, tweet from the Guardian journalist confirming the MPs travelled to Scotland on standard class. My god! Is there nothing these saviours of Britannia won’t endure for their beloved union. Truly heroic.

196. call me dave

@fred blogger

Sometimes the music and the action just fit together, good catch!

From the looks on their collective pus they are astonished by the irreverence being shown. I see our MSP ‘numpty’ James Kelly on escort duty.

Comedy gold.

197. Derek M

lol here is the youtube full video its brilliant

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DiMXuEmqAHA&feature=youtu.be

hope this works first time ive done a link

198. heedtracker

Just got this emailed from Canada, its our fellow UK citizens. Next up, they’re singing Flower of Scotland. BBC in Scotland region will have it on tonight no doubt:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SKuNXIgAxBw

199. stewart bc

Alex Salmond’s behaviour in this campaign has been exemplary: disciplined, forceful, well-mannered, courteous, informed, patient, statesmanlike …. truly Scotland at its best. Thank you Alex.

Can you even imagine Lamont, Murphy, Carmichael, Davidson or any of them performing like that?

200. biecs

Thanks Chitterinlicht.
    That makes it even better.

201. Macart

Treasury slam leak claims?

But, but, but surely the BBC can be trusted to have gotten their information correct last night? 😀

Were the beeb lying about receiving the briefing from a Treasury source?

You can’t trust anyone these days. 😀

202. Free Scotland

Now Nick Robinson knows what a right good gubbin’ feels like. By siding with the shabby journalism which seeks to denigrate one of the most outstanding politicians of our time, Nick Robinson and his colleagues are asking to be consigned to the dustbin of irrelevance, along with the Daily Mail, the Express, the Hootsman and umpteen other rags, the reading of which represents nothing but a waste of time and energy. Vote Yes.

203. Kenzie

Dear Flower of Scotland

“The BBBC are indeed on a war footing against Scotland today!! The other day I shared a post about Asda saying that Independence would not affect prices in Scotland. The BBBC have just announced that Asda boss has come out and said that there WOULD be a cost after Independence!”

The big stores simply could not afford to lose and more of their customer base as they are in enough trouble as it is with Aldi and Lidl eating into their market-share.

Still, many of them wouldn’t recognise economic suicide if it bit them on the arse.

204. Col

The BBC is today continuing with a pile of lies despite the information being public knowledge that jobs or operations will not move. They really are Westminster`s mouthpiece. Blowing a story out of proportion to create fear and uncertainty. It is sickening to watch, they are trying to make it a they said this and they said it`s just scaremongering as if it is just two opposing views which it is not. Lying scum

205. Flower of Scotland

@bookie from hell

I phoned Asda too. They have put my complaint on their system, but the girl knew nothing! She took my email account. I objected to Asda entering the Referendum debate!

I have posted this twice already. Third time lucky!!

206. Macart

@Derek M

Hero! 😀

Utterly brilliant.

207. Kenzie

Col

It’s the same old tired tactic – repeat a lie often enough and people will come to believe it. The EBC’s good at that – they do it often enough.

208. McTim

God, I’m crying tears of laughter at that Imperial March video.

209. Kev

Longer version of Labour MP’S in glasgow imperial march, pure, pure gold!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DiMXuEmqAHA&feature=youtu.be

210. heedtracker

@ Derek M
    LOVE IT! The Force is strong in these ones.

211. smudger

Excellent. I really hope for more of this from Alex Salmond over the next week, totally dignified in the face of obvious bias. He’s never short on answers but delivering his responses in that manner is the best way to get the point across and make the public question the relentless negativity of our media.

212. Midgehunter

Just got in and seen what been happening on the net.

Please dear god look after wee Eck and keep him safe. He is without any doubt the most gifted politician in Europe. This man towers above the pygmies in London and the BT worms who are so meaningless in his presence.

I would love to see every second of the whole press conference. Youtube.

Compare this to the antics of the 3 stooges who slithered over the border yesterday.

Scotland is in safe hands for the future.

213. dadsarmy

@i’m a fan
    HMRC is clear that for taxation (corporation tax) it’s place of business, not registered office. On the other hand regulatory things may apply to registered office, not place of business.

The Treasury deliberately misquoted Salmond who was clear that it was corporation tax. They lie again, what a surprise.

214. Quentin Quale

Derek M – utter genius. We’ve had Local Hero. He is now National Hero.
    What a day – tears when Salmond was speaking earlier and tears of laughter at this. Jeez, whit next?

215. Chris Silver

Whoever we send in to the BBC from now on wwill need body armour as they will be ready to jump all over us.

216. call me dave

Geez!

Foreign Sec Hammond overuled by Call me Dave ( not me the other one) over air strikes with the Americans.

We are to all intents nearly at war ‘officially’

The other thing who knows what’s going on, what an embarrassment one standing at a news conference saying ‘no air strikes’ then about 5 minutes later ‘oh yes there will be air strikes’

Vote YES!

217. haud on the noo

West minister’s codpiece perhaps..

218. Calgacus MacAndrews

A wee thought re the BBC bias demo on Sunday …

https://twitter.com/CalgacusMacA/status/510081607555096578

219. Midgehunter

Forgot to say – the world’s press was there and watching what was happening, they must have had a lasting, positive impression of wee Eck, 🙂

220. Derek M

lol the imperial march video is the funniest thing i have seen in years ,you are all right this guy who ever he is ,is a national treasure what a great idea ,now where did i put my lightsaber i have some Sith lords to confront roflmao

221. mutters

BADDABOOM BADDABING!

222. john j

GIRUY Robinson

223. call me dave

@Chris Silver

Maybe some truth in that but maybe they will recalibrate their approach since being called out in public airways both within and outside Glasgow HQ today.

Cosgrove and Beattie, both on contracts from BBC, will be having tea &scones with the boss by this time about this afternoons impromptu performance.

224. McTim

Canon Kenyon Wright’s speech earlier this morning was excellent, I thought: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GB0isVuBJFk&list=UUryQU1dVED4DzPLdB9vQcwQ

225. Lesley-Anne

fred blogger says:

is this right? that 97% of eligible voters are registered to vote.
    the actual number that i have seen repeated is 4385323 WOW!

WOW!

That is an almost unbelievable figure Fred. Not only that but significant portion of that figure is no doubt down to all the registering to vote over recent weeks and months.

I did a wee *ahem* fun calculation the other day to see what the figure would be for us to achieve the 50% +1 number of votes to win as a bare minimum. I think it’s time to do a wee recalculation. What do you say folks.

Total number of eligable voters 4385323

80% of eligible voters 3508258

50% of the 80% eligible voters 1754129

50% +1 of the 80% eligible voters 1754130

Now as we all know the YES campaign have surpassed their aim of 1 million voters signed up to the YES independence pledge. I believe that a further 300,000 further signatures were also gained after the announcement of reaching the 1 Million.

Therefore we psychologically already have 1.3 million votes for YES which leaves us just 454130 more votes to gain from all over Scotland to get a YES win! 😛

Do not be shocked folks that I am suggesting that this is ALL that we need. it isn’t. Like everyone else here I want as massive a victory as we can possibly get. The thing about working out the 50% + 1 figure, for me, is that it gives me an idea for next Friday morning when I’m watching the results flow in, and the commentators jaws repeatedly hit the floor, of WHEN Scotland actually has *ahem* officially voted YES! 😀

Personally I’d want to see another 877,000, but that’s me … ever the optimist, except off course when I’m the pessimist! 😉

226. A.N.Surgent

You Tube video effn fantastic.

227. Chris Silver

AS couldn’t help himself to have a wee rye smile at the end there, absolutely fantastic.

228. Marie clark

@muttley 79 3.56, dear god, we really are through the looking glass now.

@creag an tuirc 3.31 Well any self respecting and competant individual would have his guts for garters. Oh haud oan self respect and competant disnae quite fit the Lamonatble one. Or mabies it’s a releif that Big Broon will take over and lead us all to erm,erm, well war or anither financial crisis. Oh dear think I better stop now it’s making my heid hurt.

229. Dick Gaughan

Slightly O/T:

Could someone explain to these fuckwits that “Scottish” is an adjective, not a bloody noun. Hearing us being described as “The Scottish” gets right up my nose. (And I couldn’t give a fuck how that overweight Scotophobe Dr Johnson described us.) We’re either “The Scots” or “The Scottish People”. Rant over.

Anyway, Alex was on superb form this morning and if Robinson was actually directly involved in that briefing, he should be kacking his breeks by now. Couldn’t happen to a more deserving fellow.

C’mon, for two years we’ve managed to ignore or lampoon the torrent of threats, lies and shite being thrown at us. Keep on keeping on – we’re on the final lap and we’re winning.

230. john j

I complained to the BBC this morning about the performance of Hayley Miller when interviewing AS after the 8am GMS News . She talked over him, interrupted at length and generally tried to intimidate him, fat chance! However this car-crash of a presenter really should be taken off the air, she can barely string a sentence together without a succession of ums and as and you-knows and constantly delivers leading ‘dolly’ questions to the No campaign. And we’re paying for it!

231. annie

Just cancelled my BBC Licence direct debit, ok so I’m still legal till November but it still felt good.

232. Wayne

I think we have to concede that Salmond was very cleverly trying to take the story in a different direction, if nothing else to take some of the edge off the barrage of economically doomladen reportage to follow. Whether successfully or not, I doubt it, but I was certainly cheering at the TV screen as he gave Robinson and the BBC a right good kicking, and not for the first time.

When good old Blair McD is annoyed, we know he did something right, that is for sure.

The fact is the information was coming out anyway, but throwing some mud at the BBC and UK government is no bad thing, but sadly we all know it will be after the referendum is over before the full scale of Westminster and BBC duplicity becomes apparent.

We need to sound positive, confident and rattled, not come across as the persecuted victim. Victory rests with the people, not the metropolitan elite, and they will hear the clamour of our voices loudly next Thursday.

233. Wayne

Clearly I meant to say “not rattled”.

234. call me dave

@Thorbor

Aah! The full version, just marvellous!

Destroyed before they even got started I expect it to be all over the BBC news tonight. Waste of a train fare.

See that Salmin… Oh wait! grass roots you say.

Can’t be controlled what a weapon satire and humour are.

I’m sure Donald had a wee smile on his green physog.

235. Alan Bates

Wasn’t there a question about oil asked?

236. Dram

at 0:03 🙂
    Knows he has BBC by the balls, and plans to enjoy the next 7 minutes.

237. Colin

Well folks, the baw is bust, we can’t use the pound regardless of if we want to or not.

A comment on the Guardian reads:

“Without a formal monetary union it will NOT still be the same currency. Unless of course you think the name means everything. Perhaps you live under the assumption that Egyptian pounds are the same as ours.”

How can we lose when dolts like this are on the other side.

238. Lesley-Anne

Like everyone else Derek, I was in tears watching that video. 😛 😛 😛

I think this video is the ultimate example of the differences between the YES an NO camps. The YES camp are prepared to take the piss out of either side at the drop of a hat. The NO side are just dour 24/7. 😀

I can’t beleive what a day today has turned out to be. First up we had the First Minister getting set into wee Nicky Robinson and wee Glenn Campbell closely followed by a severe kicking of their employer. Now we have the video of the *ahem* musical escort for the Feeble 100, or is 60 I’m not quite sure, from the railway station in Glasgow.

As we say in Scotland … Pure dead brilliant!

239. McTim

James Forsyth at the Spectator says there’s a YouGov poll going to be published tonight.

240. Malcolm

The Empire Strikes Back guy- you are a genius. Crying with laughter here!!

241. bjsalba

I’m not quite sure if the BBC grasp that the damage Nick Robinson has done to their reputation will be worldwide and lasting.

The applause the First Minister got was not from YES activists but from the foreign press many of whom are quite knowledgeable about economics as part of their jobs.

While they may have been a little perturbed at Nick Robinson’s aggressive, unpleasant and clearly biased attitude, they will be disgusted at the ignorance of economic facts displayed by his question. That he refused to understand the answer and tried to harangue the First Minister into giving him the answer, will simply lower Nick Robinson ad the BBC in the eyes of the International Press.

From now on. they will be watching the BBC with a jaundiced eye. I wonder how many of these journalists will sit in their hotel rooms tonight watching the mangled version the BBC presents. What will they think of it? I doubt if it will be complimentary.

242. Auld Rock

I have just written to my bank and told them that if they move then I move my account to a bank with no connection to any of the defectors. I’ve already heard many of our ‘YES’ Shetland members are looking to do same. As money is the only thing that they understand then hit them where it hurts.

This also applies to shops that up their prices just go elsewhere if you can.

Auld Rock

243. Marco McGinty

Aye, brilliant performance by the First Minister, and a great piece on Beattie’s radio show.

I’m usually a complete pessimist, mainly because it leads to fewer disappointments, but I am feeling hopeful!

244. Debbiethebruce

What class from the FM!
    Hope there is a huge turnout on sunday outside pacific quay,the BBC is going down whatever the result next week.

245. Moira Currie

Just has some idiot on another thread saying that the applause came from SNP plants in the audience. International journalists are SNP plants. There’s a novel wheeze then. Much more novel than the snouts in the trough treasury lot breaking the law by releasing information before the start of trading. I don’t suppose we will see any of them being prosecuted. That would be too much to hope for.

246. Les Wilson

Derek M says:

Great wee video, the people of glasgow must be feeling WTF,
    do these people expect to convice us of er, anything!

247. Socrates MacSporran

Nick Robinson on BBC Six o’ Clock News, a couple of minutes ago: “At time it was an Alex Ferguson press conference”.

Aye Nick, and, while you’ve got no hair – you got the “Hair Dryer Treatment”.

248. ailsa craig

STV’s news concentrated on Catalonia’s wish for independence from this International Broadcast. No positives for Alex at all. His claim that the Treasury and RBS in cahoots rubbished. There will be no inquiry. RBS’s negative comments printed across the screen, while the non-impact on jobs – not – just a little aside. Sometimes you just wish someone would get out of the NO closet, and be honest.

So proud of being part of this great Union – not.

249. Leap of faith

The Bilious Broadcasting Corporation truly seems entirely staffed by employees with no moral backbone, scruples or ounce of remorse – you must really have to sell your soul to the devil to get a job there!

Scots should vote with their wallets after this and refrain from being conned into paying the licence fee…that’ll hit Westminster’s mouthpiece where it hurts!

250. ticktock

That guy in Buchanan St today is a feckin hero. (pardon my French)

Would bring a laugh and a tear to a gless eye as they say here in Glesca.

251. Chic McGregor

The outrageous affront to all the principles of democracy by the British Establishment media and politicians has now been laid bare to the World.

Well done Alex (assisted by the lovely Nick).

252. JimMcCabe

We need to remember that Nick is a former chairman of the Young Conservatives before becoming an ‘ impartial’ BBC ‘churnalist’. The mouth of the establishment.

253. alexicon

And these people things will be the same after a YES or no vote?

254. Bill

Tony, if you use Tor you can get iPlayer to work anywhere World.

255. john king

Famous15 says
    “Pity I cannot cancel my BBC licence twice!”

You dont have to give the name,
    cancel your neighbours! 🙂

256. BrianW

I’ve just listened to the John Beattie thing this morning..

Am I hearing right?

I’m questioning whether I’m on the BBC. This is the first time I’ve heard anything on the BBC that has discussed events form a Scottish Perspective and on a positive note on the Referendum.

The really sad thing about the piece, is that Stuart and Eamonn may just see their P45..

257. Chic McGregor

SOT NNS have an excellent summary of their main Beeb Bias stories overthe piece. Worth a swatch to remind yourself just how morally bereft they have been.

http://www.newsnetscotland.com/index.php/affairs-scotland/9719-the-dirty-dozen-the-case-against-bbc-scotland

258. bluedog

Wayne @ 4:30 pm says,

‘I think we have to concede that Salmond was very cleverly trying to take the story in a different direction, if nothing else to take some of the edge off the barrage of economically doomladen reportage to follow.’

Exactly right. The FM simply didn’t answer the question.

The central point is that made by Nigel Farage, and of course, he is devoid of credibility because he’s Nigel Farage. His point is that Scotland won’t be independent without its own currency and certainly won’t be independent when (or if) in the EU and using the Euro, as the EU demands.

Now the FM is no fool, and he knows that if Scotland did set up its own currency there would have to be a central bank managing interest rates, exchange rate policy and sovereign loan matters. Given the large number of government and private traders in these areas, the Scottish central bank would be extremely vulnerable to speculative attacks. Remember how the UK was forced out of the ERM by George Soros.

So really the Yes vote is just Yes to European dominion. If Scotland makes the mistake of voting Yes, there will be no need for a subsequent referendum on EU entry, that will be ratified on September 18th.

And still so many cheer the man who is leading you to that fate.

259. Cath Maguire

Complaint made by phone to BBC. Utterly disgusted. Pointed them to the earlier video from the BBC showing the FM answering the question twice!

260. gerry parker

66,790 hits so far to u tube.

261. Bugger (the Panda)

The Hornets are a buzzin tonight.

262. Dave McEwan Hill

bluedog

Point of fact. There is no necessity to have a central bank. Several successful and stable currencies run without one.

No point in reading the rest of your silly post except to point out that anybody who thinks that Germany, Italy and Holland for instance are not independent because they are in a currency union doesn’t understand that the EU is an entirely voluntary union and the countries in it are in it by choice.

Like all the other Euroean members an independent Scotland can negotiate its terms of continued membership or negotiate its withdrawal

263. Chic McGregor

The main thing for me, put in its simplest terms, is that the UK is run by a stinking pile of corrupta. A club of lying, cheating, power obsessed, entitlement a privilege deluded scum. A cabal of a self-seeking business, media and government. It is a completely dysfunctional state, democracy is meaningless since it has been perverted into a now regionally aligned tyranny which enables a large parasitic class to feed off the rest. It is doomed, whatever the result.

Apart from that, it is OK.

264. GG

“I asked him…….he didn’t answer”
    That is just a bloody disgrace for BBC reporter to stand and tell an outright lie on the BBC News. Just disgusting.
    It’s filmed with all the other journalists applauding after you’ve had your arse kicked you …arghhh!

and then volunteers for the hillside late shift to get his little personal..ahh see I was right comment in. Absolutely disgusting and if that’s the norm then the BBC is finished in Scotland and badly damaged worldwide….hope the promised CBE’s etc for BBC top brass are worth it for them destroying it.

265. Isabel McCue

the mans a genius, thank god for him taking us to indipendance to a country we can all be proud of. This a not a man squirming like Cameron and crew this is a man who knows Scotland is behind him and respects him for what he stands for, I am so proud to be in the YES team.

266. bluedog

Dave McEwan Hill, the EU is committed to a federalist dream of ever-closer union and has recently appointed a federalist Jean-Claude Junker to lead it. Within the EU and more particularly the Eurozone, size matters. The largest economy is that of Germany and by virtue of economic heft, Germany dominates the Eurozone. One cannot blame the Germans for this. But countries like Italy and the Netherlands are satellites within a German economic co-prosperity sphere. Even France, Germany’s equal partner, is being overshadowed in all regards by united Germany. The Italians in particular don’t like it because they joined up at the wrong exchange rate and have been disadvantaged ever since.

You say, ‘Like all the other Euroean members an independent Scotland can negotiate its terms of continued membership or negotiate its withdrawal.’

On 1st November 2014, pursuant to the Treaty of Lisbon, a number of areas of competence will switch from requiring unanimous approval of all member states of the EU to qualified majority voting only, including the withdrawal of a member state from the EU.

Threshold issue, where would Scotland sit within the ambit of qualified majority voting? Second issue, pursuant to QMV, how does Scotland get out of the EU when the electorate realises the extent of the FM’s deception?

Why do you think it will be better together with Brussels than with Westminster?

267. tonymac

o/t rt on youtube

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k4-LuBADiIA
    UK: Watch Miliband-and co get photobombed at ‘No Campaign’ rally
    RUSSIA today more balanced than bbc surely not lol

268. Daniel McAllister

Poor Nick will not be able to walk right after that response from Salmond. It’s great to see the media’s pathetic attempts collapse on themselves..

269. BB

Have a plate of that, Nick, you total fibber.

270. kerridge

Didn’t Nick Robinson ask TWO questions and FM decided to completely ignore the second question? The one about businesspeople talking about prices going up and the money leaving Scotland (other than RBS which was the first question).

The people accusing Nick Robinson of being a liar would seem to be refuted by this very video?

271. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Didn’t Nick Robinson ask TWO questions and FM decided to completely ignore the second question? The one about businesspeople talking about prices going up and the money leaving Scotland (other than RBS which was the first question).”

No. Watch the damn video. Salmond explicitly deals with the second part too, mainly by pointing out that they’re just repeats of dire warnings made months ago and dealt with at the time.

272. Yertakinmince

Just for the avoidance of doubt, his tax advice here is wrong.- Salmond is both vociferous and worryingly entirely wrong on the “economic acitivty” element.

Our two legal systems mean we currently have scottish companies (registered offices must be in scotland) and vice versa in england. A company with an English registered office is incorporated in England ie in the remaining UK – you cannot move your registered office from scotland to Englandor vice versa. So…. – the banks will require to move trades inside their group structures and switch to a new English holding company structure if they are to change to be truly English companies- this will be quite cumbersome for market listed companies ! . In any case Section 14 of corporation taxes act 2009 makes it clear a company incorporated in England (rUk) will be corporation tax resident there. The second test for residence which would ensure you cant just dodge tax by registering your company in a haven is not “economic activity” at all ! – that statement is unfortunately totally wrong – it is “central management and control”. So if the board of a new parent company and the board of the main rbs trading company meet in London at the new registered office scotland may want to tax profits but depending on the new tax treaty and which group companies are scottish or English the corporation taxes may come partly to scotland or not at all. In short when he says we wouldn’t get natwest corporation taxed is correct but the real issue is scotland will probably only get corporation tax on local scottish profit and nothing from their English, overseas or spiv activities in the city.

273. Jim

edward robinson says:
    Who could take this shower on other that Alex Salmond. An absolutely amazing man with facts and figures at his fingertips.
    We will NEVER get this chance with such an array of great Scots again. We MUST WIN THIS.
    __
    At last, people are getting it. Alex Salmond has taken us where we are and we should be grateful for this chance to take our destiny in our hands. The man is a true statesman.

274. Jim

kerridge says:
    Didn’t Nick Robinson ask TWO questions and FM decided to completely ignore the second question? The one about businesspeople talking about prices going up and the money leaving Scotland (other than RBS which was the first question).
    The people accusing Nick Robinson of being a liar would seem to be refuted by this very video?
    ___
    Robinson got royally fucked, deal with it.

275. Tattie-bogle

Does it work different with oil companies ?

276. Nan

Hi..the sound seems to have been seriously reduced on this..have tried to view on You Tube..Facebook and now Wings..too low to hear..can anyone help please ?

277. Michael Stirrat

Robinson pretends (reprehensibly, this isn’t journalism this is propaganda) that Salmond didn’t answer:

http://tompride.wordpress.com/2014/09/11/bbc-reporter-caught-red-handed-manipulating-video-in-scottish-indy-campaign/

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.