From Shettleston to Maryhill

Posted on July 05, 2014 by

If you’re not familiar with Glasgow, the distance on foot between Shettleston in the city’s east and Maryhill in the west is roughly seven and a half miles. That information will become relevant a few minutes into the video below.

You might want to share it with people.

shettleston

You can contribute to Mark Coburn’s fundraiser here.

If you’re in the area, you can donate food to Greater Maryhill Foodbank here.

(The Labour-run council charges them full commercial rates for their premises.)

In September, you can help more permanently.

3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 05 07 14 15:30

From Shettleston to Maryhill | Scottish Independence News

2. 06 07 14 01:04

Fasting and the Furious | Are We Really Better Together?

3. 19 08 14 00:40

Nailing Our Colours | A Greater Stage

121 to “From Shettleston to Maryhill”

1. Helpmaboab

Sometimes it’s useful to remind ourselves of a few blunt facts:

Scotland sits on top of vast reserves of oil and gas. Yet the UK owes the rest of the world 1.5 trillion pounds. Meanwhile, many of our fellow-citizens rely on charitable handouts to feed themselves.

This is misgovernment by Westminster. Deliberate misgovernment.

2. Jean

Heartbreaking, followed by guilt, followed by anger. We have to win this referendum.

3. Robert Louis

You know that is one of the most moving films I’ve watched. It really doesn’t need to be like this.

We don’te need our fellow Scots to starve and rely on foodbanks, if we stop wasting money on things we really do not need, like pointless aircraftless carriers, nuclear missiles, Westminster, the house of over 800 Lords, high speed2, illegal wars in Iraq, and regularr jaunts around the world interfering in other countries affairs. Scotland is a very wealthy nation, held back by the ruling elits and clying troughers in Westminster, who claim to ‘manage’ our money.

Westminster just isn’t working.

We can do so much better. It’s about how we choose to spend Scotland’s wealth. Nothing is going to change UNLESS we all vote YES.

Wake up Scotland, get up off your knees, and let’s break David Cameron’s stone cold ‘heart’ by voting YES to Scottish independence.

As an aside, I noticed that some ‘better together’ types were spouting rubbish online, suggesting the stories above from the foodbank were untrue, when reported here last week and in the evening times. Will those same people who think the UK is so freaking wonderful still bury their heads in the sand, now they have seen it told by the REAL person involved?

4. Ron Burgundy

I would hate to think that the commercial rates charged to the Food Bank by the Labour Council is a form of collective punishment and an overt attempt to restrict it’s impact.
    The reason being that to a British Nationalist council, Food Banks will be a deep embarrassment, while the knowledge that this one at least, is being operated by YES supporters may have stirred a lot of Unionist bile.

5. joe kane

15 min recording of the excellent James O’Brien at LBC radio interviewing the loathsome, lying and increasingly unhinged Benefits Fuhrer IDS –
    Iain Duncan-Smith’s Explosive Row With James O’Brien
    YouTube

6. galamcennalath

Today I’ve seen two car stickers which say “Proud to be Scots. Delighted to be United”. Which I find a disgusting attitude. After watching this video it makes me angry. You are not a Scot, in fact you are not a member of humanity if you believe everything is OK with the UK when situations like in the video exist. And, you have damn little to be proud of!

7. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Proud to be Scots. Delighted to be United”. Which I find a disgusting attitude”

Maybe they’re just DUFC fans?

8. joe kane

I know it’s a wee bit of cliche by now, but this is a very well-made and factually accurate grassroots activist made “Downfall” spoof video made when Chris Grayling and Miller the Killer were still ministers at the DWP. It’s also quite funny.

Smuggled footage of the Benefits Fuhrer under siege in the DWP Fuhrerbunker underneath the Tory Reich Chancellery on the Thatcherstrasse –
    Iain Duncan Smith – ATOS Downfall Parody
    YouTube

9. Robert Bryce

I felt compelled to write to both the Sunday Herald and my local paper.

It disgusts me that corporates are happy to profiteer from this.

To think that they actually promote this!

Let’s not kid ourselves, their paltry 30% topup is nothing compared to the 100% – 200% markup on the wares they peddle. They ARE making money out of this make no mistake!

Dear editor,
    On a recent trip to Tesco I was met by a handful of volunteers collecting for the local food bank.

Whilst I applaud and wholeheartedly support their commitment to helping those less fortunate than ourselves I couldn’t help thinking that there was something not quite right about it all.

On entry to the store I felt rotten. Rotten that there are people in my local community that have been trampled on to the point that they are unable to feed themselves or their families. Then it hit me. Who’s REALLY benefiting from this arrangement?

There were many people donating food and personal care items etc to the volunteers which was great but all of these items were donated at a cost. Did Tesco foot this cost? No, they certainly did not, on the contrary, they pocketed the profit from the purchase of these additional items that customers would not have normally purchased. The real cost has once again been passed on to the general public.

I take my hat off to the volunteers who are determined to help those abandoned by abhorrent UK government policies but I despise the corporate greed shown by Tesco and others profiteering off the back of it.

Their involvement in this sad state of affairs is that of a corporate wolf in sheep’s clothing and we are stupid enough to fall for it. It is now imperative that we break this cycle and begin to look after each other.

We have an opportunity to follow a different path in September. I sincerely hope we see the sense and take it.

Regards,
    Robert Bryce
    Milton Of Campsie

10. caz-m

On Sunday 27th July 2014 at BBC Scotland HQ at Pacific Quay in Glasgow, we will have the best opportunity that we are ever going to get, to tell the WORLD what exactly is going on in Scotland in 2014.

Can I ask you to contact as many different Country’s TV companies as possible who will be coming to the Commonwealth Games. Tell them to be at Pacific Quay on Sunday 27th July.

Then we can tell them of the food banks, the media bias, of how it will only get worse staying within the UK.

But we can also tell them of the positive vision that we have for an Independent Scotland.

So please start tweeting or facebook them, contact them by which ever means is possible to you.

Tell the World’s media to be at Pacific Quay on Sunday 27th July 2014.

11. heedtracker

Its interesting watching people openly talking like this because here in Aberdeen the Press and Journal have an even nastier than usual vote no thing today about the referendum debate and the work place.

P&J says if like Jk Rowling, who came under a “torrent” of abuse, you too feel that you’re being threatened and or harassed by Yes voters at work, even listening to them, they advise you take legal action for workplace harassment under the Equality Act.

They recommend specific law firms to contact and help you take legal action against your employer and your yes voting colleague. It a full page vote no thing and NOT an ad for law firms, included quoting in detail workplace protection against discrimination part of the Equality act. Several law firms and the Press and Journal wait excitedly for the first case.

So no talking about Scotland in any work place, got it.

12. Democracy Reborn

@Robert Louis

Endorse everything you say.

A poster in the previous thread raised the point about Yes needing to get their act together with simple, straight messages for the voters. Well, what about one of the phrases you use:-

“WESTMINSTER ISN’T WORKING”

13. galamcennalath

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:
    “Proud to be Scots. Delighted to be United”. Which I find a disgusting attitude”
    Maybe they’re just DUFC fans?

The stickers also have the domain proudtobescots dot co dot uk, but I didn’t want to honour them with a link!

14. Jude

Labour actually had the cheek to hold their ‘scare the workers’ invite only meeting in the same venue as Rosyth foodbank. Rosyth used to be a prosperous town now we have a foodbank that regularly runs out of stock. Disgusted. Our Rosyth yes group are doing all we can to counter this and take donations of food for the foodbank. Please consider donating and sharing Marks fundraiser.

15. joe kane

That’s a riveting video and conversation between Julia Webster and Mark Coburn. Well done both of them.

The Greater Maryhill Foodbank is doing so much to bring to people the effects and reality of what the DWP is doing to put the British welfare state well beyond the reach of people who actually need to use it in order to survive.

By the way, following on from last weekend’s Battle of Westminster Abbey protest by disabled people fighting to stop the government putting them back into institutions (DWP Minister Esther McVey is ok with this regressive attack on the human rights of disabled people), there was another civil disobedience protest yesterday in the centre of London which might not have made the BBC news given Nigel Farage wasn’t involved.

Video and pics: disabled protestors block Victoria Street #SaveILF
    Kate Belgrave

16. Mark Coburn

I have to say that sitting in there while watching folk coming in and out and watching Julie’s kids helping them fill a couple of plastic bags of food is something even I find hard and I’ve seen quite a bit in my life as most of us probably have.

Taking control of the Welfare State (something NO voters never talk about) has, for me, probably become the biggest determining factor in us achieving our independence.

Julie’s stark reminder that only 40% of cuts have been implemented is something we all need to bear in mind come the 18th of Sept.

We need to end this once and for all.

17. Mark Coburn

Joe,

I don’t get anything out of this other than a pair of sore legs. It’s Julie’s foodbank, the Welfare State and Scotland itself that stands to benefit. Not me. I’m just a guy with a set of wheels. The 10 local yes campaign bases are pivotal as well, especially when you consider that we intend to put one right in the heart of Easterhouse, Scotland’s poorest constituency!

18. Capella

@ Heedtracker 2.23
    that would also apply to being harassed by NO voters or employers (Union Jacks in evidence?). How apt that the P & J, looking for a weapon, chose a double edged sword.

19. Ann

Well done Molly for refusing to take the Yes badge off at school.

I was asked to do the same at work earlier this week.
    Reason “because the company don’t want to engourage it”.

I also refused to do so saying that “I would not remove it as it was my democaratic right to wear it”.

20. YESGUY

I haven’t read the comments yet but have to say i was moved to tears with the video and It’s the number one thing that we have to act on. Our own folk and their bairns , starving and walking miles. I could never reach a food bank if i had to go there, (C.O.P.D.) . Thankfully i have a huge amount of support.Far too many don’t.

Ah Stu i wish i could do more. If makes any difference , i shout out loud every time i get the chance. I’m no wallflower. I’m often told “they won’t listen if you shout”.

Well bollocks to that . I will NEVER stop shouting about this disgraceful situation. Not until there is no need for them.

NO VOTERS

THERE ARE CHILDREN GOING HUNGRY OOT THERE. WHAT ARE YOU GONNA DO ABOUT IT ??????????????????????

21. R-type Grunt

You really have to wonder about ‘socialists’ who hate us. This is the real Scotland. We can only say YES!

22. caz-m

Hot off the press,

New Unionist/Scottish Labour banners,

“FOODBANKS AREN’T JUST FOR XMAS, THEY’RE FOR LIFE”

23. Kestral

tesco is doing a fundraiser this week as well – something like they will donate 30% on top of everything given

needless to say my food shop was a bit more expensive 🙂

We have to reverse this trend, it is horiffic

24. Ian Brotherhood

It would be good to see Julia Webster in debate with George Galloway – might bring him back down to earth. Then again, she’d probably be too busy helping folk to waste time on such a self-important poseur.

25. Tom Platt

I agree with all of the above and can’t find anything new to say about this sad state of affairs. There is no point in being sad though we must try to change by sharing our knowledge obtained from the video, as requested by Rev Stu.

I have already done so on Facebook with the message:-
    “Is this what my forefathers fought in World Wars for?”.
    Perhaps others will come up with something more telling…it occurred to me only because of dad’s and grandad’s efforts to safeguard a better place for us to live. They have probably succeeded as far as I personally am concerned …and my offspring also …but there are still too many who are not better off than before the Wars as is clear from this video.

The links to You Tube in posts above do not appear to be working by the way.

Tom

26. cynicalHighlander

The man who couldn’ care about people using foodbanks!

youtu.be/wkM4cGfndVk

27. Bill Cruickshank

Just returned from Tesco Banchory. Three good folk (inside the store, credit to Tesco) collecting items for the Banchory Food bank. Meanwhile the car park is full of Audi’s, BMW’s, Land Rover’s etc. Banchory is a satellite town of Aberdeen, the oil rich capital of Europe. Absolute disgrace that such inequality exists in energy rich Scotland.
    Two other pieces of information to report on Banchory: 1. At a West Aberdeenshire Yes meeting on Thursday night it was reported that Banchory is a very Tory town and will be a tough gig for YES campaign. 2. Just seen the best bedecked YES car yet driving out of Morrison’s Banchory. If there is YES in Banchory there is YES all over Scotland we will win this folks.

28. heedtracker

@ Capella, P&J targets Yes voters all the time but this is a rather creepy vote no angle, even for them. What can you do, its a new dark age of UK propaganda and brain washing and all coordinated by these chumps http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/scotland/ under direction from this lot http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk/

29. seoc

““WESTMINSTER ISN’T WORKING” – yet lives on top dollar?

A complete democratic reversal of Food Banks and Westminster complacency is urgently needed.

30. Andy-B

I don’t know what all the fuss is about, starving weans, surely a £3.1 billion quid boat, with no planes to put on it, that can start illegal wars around the world, is more important,also hungry kids and parents will soon forget their rumbling bellies, when they hear the news that £100 billion quid is to be spent renewing Trident.

We live in the 4th most unequal country in the western world, many of our children go hungry, wages are so low is some cases that work doesn’t pay, and the Westminster government are doing their best to punish the weak, the sick and poor. You can change this in September, by voting yes.

31. Lesley-Anne

I have just watched that, what I can only call, heartbreaking video. I have no idea how Julia can do that day in and day out without breaking down, I know as I sit here typing I don’t know whether to cry, shout, scream or punch the bloody wall!

The only suggestion I can think of at the moment is don’t let me with 100 yards of ANY Westminster politician cause I’ll bloody well knock their sanctimonious block off their sanctimonious body! This makes me so angry.

How dare that smug bastard, and I make NO apology for swearing in this post, Cameron or any of his gormless money grabbing millionaire buddies come up to Scotland and tell US that we are better together. After watching this video better together my f*****g earse! What is actually worse is that we have so called politicians in Scotland who apparently are supposed to represent the people of Scotland in the Scottish parliament saying we’re better together. What f*****g planet do these bastards live on?

Come on Scotland WAKEN UP for god’s sake WAKEN UP! It isn’t too late, we can still do this. We have the power within ourselves to make the changes that will make foodbanks history. I am certain Julia and all her colleagues would be the first to celebrate the closure of their foodbank because it is no longer needed. THAT can only be achieved by voting YES! Anyone who votes NO is a self centred greedy ignorant stupid bastard!

ARGH! There is so much more I could say but won’t, well not just yet anyway. I need to go lie down in the “Darkened Room!” 1000 apologies for some of my language I’ll try and temper it in future once I’ve cooled my anger down a wee bit.

32. Jim Bo

Such a powerful and moving video. Thanks for posting Rev.

33. Giving Goose

A point of fact that needs to be recognised in the whole sorry tale of foodbanks in Scotland, is that the following institutions actually support this phenomena.
    They do this with their campaigning and support for a No vote;

The Labour Party
    The Lib Dems
    The Tory Party
    The Daily Record and their Unionist journalists.
    The Scotsman and their Unionist journalists.
    The people who boo’d the First Minister at Rosyth.
    Those Unions endorsing a No vote.
    Celebrities who support a No vote.
    Political activists who support a No vote.
    The Orange Order.
    The Press and Journal.

The list is long and shameful.

If you are reading this, you know who you are.
    Please look in the mirror and ask yourself some searching questions.

There is a better Scotland and you can help us reach it.
    That better Independent Scotland can be a catalyst for change throughout the British Isles.
    http://whitefeatherclub.wordpress.com/2014/07/05/my-future-scotland/

If you choose to vote No, with the full knowledge that your No vote will ensure that grotesque foodbanks and additional, associated poverty will continue to blight the lives of Scots, then you have a problem with your humanity.

34. bookie from hell

GALLOWAY FAN CUB

Just Say Naw ?@justsaynawnet · Jun 29
    Disgraceful GNat abuse of @GeorgeGalloway at 1hr 22min @livestream: http://new.livestream.com/IndependenceLive/events/3109160 … #indyref “Nationalism is an illness” – Einstein

Retweeted by Just Say Naw

Effie Deans @Effiedeans · Jun 26

@ianssmart @FraserNelson If George isn’t very careful he’s in danger of becoming a national treasure. Marvelous speech, funny and true

Ian Smart @ianssmart · Jun 26

Great speech by my comrade George Galloway. H/t to @FraserNelson. Strange times make strange allies

John McTernan @johnmcternan · Jun 24

@georgegalloway On a different topic completely, thank you for what you are doing in Scotland and the arguments you are making.

35. Flower of Scotland

Thanks for this video Rev! It makes me want to weep to see Scottish people having to literarily beg for food! I saw this in California starting about 5 years ago and never thought to see this in Scotland!

I too have put a very angry message on Facebook to all my Slab, LibDem,Tory friends telling them to feel ashamed!,and the only way that I can see to rid ourselves of this God awful Gov. is to vote YES!

36. caz-m

BBC covered stories in Brazil about their Favelas or slum areas.

George Galloway goes all the way to Palestine to see the suffering and starvation that scars that land.

Yet neither BBC Scotland nor George Galloway can find time in their busy schedule to get to the bottom of why poverty is rising in Scotland.

And the one thing that the two of them have in common, is that they want us to vote NO and in doing so, give green light for Westminster to carry out even more cuts.

37. eddiefaeglesga

I am pissed 0ff with all this anti yes crap in the media roll on the 18 sept. does anyone how many have signed declaration so far

38. Lesley-Anne

Hope you don’t mind G.G. but I’ve cut and pasted your list onto my Twitter account for a series of tweets linking to the video. 😉

39. JWil

You wonder if these dedicated NOs have ever thought about what it will be like on the 19 September if there is a NO from the electorate. Instead of thinking, it will be the status quo, they will be thinking what happens next.

The status quo will have been swept away to be replaced by something else which is even worse

The foot soldiers of the NO campaign will be no better off and very likely to be worse off (sold down the river), whilst the politicians who manipulated them and those with vested interests will go on from strength to personal strength.

40. Andy-B

@caz-m

George Galloway advocates independence, for every other country in the world, except Scotland, Galloway who runs his Respect party said regarding rape, “Its no rape if she’s asleep.”

In Galloways twisted mind she canny “Jist say naw” because she’s asleep.

http://feministing.com/2012/08/21/british-mp-george-galloway-defends-assange-its-not-rape-if-shes-asleep/

41. cynicalHighlander

@bookie from hell

Lets just call him Lord Hee Haw because he is the biggest ass around.

42. AyeAlba

@Joe Kane 1.52

Was looking forward to watching IDS explosive row with James O’Brian but when I clicked your link to You tube got ERROR 404- Not Found. Mmm..Anyone else have this problem? Is it my computer or is IDS using that law, The right to be forgotten??

43. bookie from hell

I had same prob aye

44. Jack Murphy

AyeAlba 4:09pm.
    Same for me: “Error 404”.

45. Les Wilson

Shows just where the union, want us to be.

46. geeo

While i am not computer savvy enough to put posters together online, what about this as a poster ?

On the left hand side.
    Image of a greedy banker with handfuls of cash with the tagline. “bank bonus for some”

Then a poor family with an obvious food bank handout on the right of the poster with the simple tagline ” bank bonus for others”

Then underneath

Vote YES for a more equal Scotland !

47. Helena Brown

Moved to tears by this, but angry too at the fact that things have got to this when people are actually starving. I have to disagree with those who say Westminster isn’t working, it is working beautifully for those who have designed this, they want an end to the State provision of welfare, after all why keep poor people in money when you obviously need it. Happy as sand boys, they have got things going their way, charities are doing what the state used to.
    To every stupid working class person, look around, you will be voting against your own interest if you vote NO.

48. North chiel

Foodbanks are totally unacceptable in a country as wealthy as Scotland
    The London Westminster government policy is to “normalise” the use
    Of Foodbanks in our country as they continue with the dismantling of
    The welfare state and the unrelenting attack on minimum wage working
    Families ,the sick, disabled and the unemployed. The end game will
    Eventually lead to a return to the “hungry thirties” .The poor sick and
    Disabled will be forced to walk the streets until the soles of their shoes are
    Completely worn out, scavenging in shop bins for “leftovers” or having
    To walk miles to a “Foodbank” .deteriorating health and life expectancy
    Will be the norm .The creation of a significant section of our country’s population
    Into this “poverty stricken underclass” will be the eventual outcome
    Of this deliberate assault on our people by the Westminster ruling elite.
    Make no mistake this referendum is a fight for the very heart and soul
    Of Scotland .it is a battle no less important than Bannockburn itself.the outcome
    Will decide our fate for decades.The choice is simple: do we want
    A country governed with a social conscience for All of our people, a fairer more equal
    Society, or do we continue to be governed by a corrupt, selfish ,money grabbing
    Elite who will continue to squander our resources on their nuclear weapons ,vanity rail projects
    ,illegal wars,bankrolling the city of London and generally “robbing us blind” whilst
    Simultaneously telling us that we are too poor wee and stupid to govern and
    And implement policies to call a halt to this attack on our less fortunate
    Fellow citizens. Truly September 18th is OUR DATE WITH DESTINY .
    Hopefully our electorate will choose the option of a fairer more compassionate
    Society and vote YES .

49. Helena Brown

eddiefaeglesga, your question about how many has signed the declaration, last I heard upwards of 800,000 and that was a good few weeks ago.

50. Awayanbileyerheed

To watch the link just edit the link (copy link paste it into browser) removing everything BEFORE “www.youtube.com”. Voila. 😉

51. crisiscult

just been exposed to the two positive cases for the Union and westminster rule: Orange walk through east end of Glasgow and food bank donating at Tesco near Parkhead. Lots of Union flags, NI flags, and a few NAW badges. Perhaps a lot of no voters aren’t actually scared to say they are voting now, they’re embarrassed.

52. Robert Peffers

The IDS – James O’Brian barny is at
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eZ231M7fCNo

53. No no no...yes

FOOD BANKS

NO THANKS

VOTE YES

54. Capella

IDS explosive row with James O’Brien – There’s one from April 2013
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eZ231M7fCNo
    is thi it or has he had another?

55. Arel

Makes me sick to hear of all this it really does. And of course the Daily Wrecord giving airspace today to that odious and onboxious Jim Hood MP for Hamilton. I won’t even grace the article by repeating anything he said but let’s just say if you ever were in any doubt about the quality and sincerity about the Labour party in Scotland read it but do it in an empty room or like me you’ll want to do serious damage to your prize ornaments.

There seems to be a sh*tfest of anti-independence scare stories across the MSM today.Is there by any chance a poll due out soon about an increase in the Yes vote? Just makes you wonder.

56. Proud Cybernat

O/T – Apologies folks.

It’s going to be a close run thing:

http://uk.isidewith.com/poll/420350795-scottish-independence-poll/443458700-scotland

If you haven’t voted, please do so.

57. joe kane

Apologies for my duff links above.
    Thanks to commenteers for re-posting the correct ones.

58. North chiel

Just read Lesley Riddoch’s article on Newsnet.i agree with all she
    Has written , but my thinking on the cultural and emotional appeal
    To the electorate would be that the timing on this is absolutely critical.
    A steady build up over the summer months with increasing visibility
    Of cultural events etc. Any emotional appeal should be left to “late in
    The day” and coincide with the culmination of the “cultural build up”.

59. Robert Bryce

@Bill Cruickshank

I’m sorry mate but no credit should be given to Tesco whatsoever. They are profiteering end of!

If they matched tin for tin what was going in I would take my hat off.

I work in this industry sector and trust me, 30% of a basket is fuck all in comparison with their margin.

THEY ARE PROFITEERING FROM THIS – MASQUERADING AS A CARING BUNCH AND FOLK LIKE YOU ARE LAPPING IT UP HOOK LINE AND SINKER!

Sorry for the caps but this is an absolute scandal. We should not be in this position.

Anyone looking at this and still voting no needs sectioned under the mental health act.

Rant over.

60. AyeAlba

Sorry, I didnt try going on to youtube website before I posted. Watched it there. God,IDS is such an arrogant, bumshous(PLZ excuse spelling lol) tosspot he makes my head explode. A pox on his house, NAW, a pox on the whole o Westminster. How can a yes vote not happen when we have this calibre of morons in charge.

61. caz-m

This food banks story kind of links into a comment I made in the last Post, about doing away with the free phone service that you get in Job Centres for phoning benefit offices and future employers etc..

They are trying to cut off the access that you have for making any claims. If you and your family were starving, with no home or mobile telephone, no internet, then how do you tell the authorities of your plight.

You go to the Job Centre and the staff tell you there are no phones here for you to use and no you can’t use my desk phone.

As I have said before, they are gradually cutting off ALL access to ANY benefit payments.

You and your family are on your own my dear, tough luck.

62. jim watson

As I was watching this I got a leaflet from Better Together Inverclyde posted through my door. Point 10 of why we are better together states: –

LOWER SHOP PRICES FOR SCOTTISH FAMILIES

It costs more to transport a tin of Beans to Inverness or Stornoway that it does to Manchester or Birmingham. However, everyone on the UK pays the same prices in big supermarkets meaning our shopping bills are lower as part of the UK.

They also have a little shop receipt graphic that is entitled “Cost of Independence”

It says at the top “Your family shopping bill” and it is dated at 22.00hrs on 18th September 2014.

Random basket of shopping Tesco UK: £26.62
    Identical basket of Shopping Tesco Ireland: £30.75

Extra Cost: 16% higher
    NON REFUNDABLE

So along with all the doom and gloom that bt predict, they are now able to fully cost what a random shopping basket of goods in tesco will cost, the exchange rate between the Euro and the pound and the demise of the Sale of Goods act that will occur on 18th September 2014. With such predictive capabilities I am surprised that the lottery winners were on the Yes side!!!

The leaflet also features an ex tank driving labour party member who is listed as “Inverkip Dad” whilst on the back we have a local tory party member – again it’s nice to see labour and tory working hand in glove. I take my hat off to Inverclyde Labour who were in the vanguard of this arrangement since they have been in coalition with the local tory councillor since 2007.

63. AyeAlba

“bumptious” lol

64. joe kane

Here is what MSP Kezia Dugdale’s favourite Unionist newspaper thinks about United Nation’s concerns regarding the cross-party Westminster Unionist attacks on the human rights of the poorest and most vulnerable people in Britain.
    Better Together No Thanks.

The Brazil Nut strikes again: IDS anger as former Marxist Raquel Rolnik attacks his benefit cuts
    The Daily Dugdale
    https://archive.today/QFGyK#selection-1055.0-1055.96

65. Awayanbileyerheed

Slightly O/T but I’m just back from holiday in Dublin. Flew there via Aer Lingus WITHOUT a passport – Common Travel Area. Prices are slightly dearer but wages are higher, minimum wage is higher and house prices lower fuel prices also lower.

66. Croompenstein

Was talking to my old Dad today and he has been fooled by them as well, under the impression that the foodbank is like some local convenience store for junkies and skivers it makes me mad, had to explain to him that you don’t walk in off the street you have to be referred to use the food bank.

He also told me that we may be finished as he saw a poll this week that had yes below 35%. I explained to him that polls are a tool of the propagandists and not to pay them any heed.

It makes me physically sick that they can get through to my Dad and make him think like this and he is not a stupid old man

67. AyeAlba

When I try to vote in the poll, the page comes up back to front!
    or is it just me??

68. caz-m

I was watching some of the Northern Ireland Assembly on BBC Parliament channel. Boy, do those two sides hate the site of each other.

Republicans and Orangemen arguing over which routes the Orange parades will be taking. That place will never settle, too much hatred.

It is just the start of the marching season there and it is simmering away nicely, as in, ready to explode.

Did you know that the OO were refused permission to complete a march in the Ardoyne area of Belfast last year, so they set up a protest camp, and it is still there to this day. They are not moving until they are given permission to “Complete” their march. Cost for policing the camp has reached £9million.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/ardoyne-orange-order-parade-refused-unionist-fury-as-parades-commission-bars-order-from-completing-march-30329741.html

You get they feeling when you listen to the Assembly, that if the Orangemen don’t get their own way with everything, then the toys are thrown out of the pram, in other words, they are bullies. A bit like the Scottish Orange Order.

69. Croompenstein

OT – What has happened to JoLa has she been shipped off to the isles for bitter together therapy like Flipper

70. caz-m

AyeAlba
    “When I try to vote in the poll, the page comes up back to front!
    or is it just me??”

I think that means your vote has went through.

71. Nana Smith

@Caz-m

Apparently there were 18 arrests at the Glasgow march today.

72. Juteman

@caz-m
    What is your reason for bringing NI politics into threads?

73. AyeAlba

@ Caz-m 6.16

Nope. It wont even allow me to do that!

74. Robert Peffers

I expect after Scotland votes YES we will get what we got after WWII.

My Mother worked in the Western General in Edinburgh and she befriended a German girl, (who cleaned up the gore in the thearte after the surgical team). She invited the German girl to spend Hogmanay with us. The girl’s name was Kitty. Kitty told us that not all Germans were Nazis or even supported Adolf Hitler and her family had not.

According to Kitty she was very glad that the Allies had won and freed up the decent German people. That, though, was before the bells struck midnight and the bottles got opened. By around 01:30 – 0 02:00 Kitty was outside in the street goosestepping up and down the road and making NAZI salutes and cursing the British.

Mother should have known better for Kitty was a tall blonde young lady and quite typical of the Hitler Youth breeding programme. Mother, though, always thought the best of folks.

I expect after we liberate Scotland the NO supporters will have all died out by the following weekend.

75. Grendel

Apparently there was trouble elsewhere in Glasgow, this was reported, but kind of hidden away on the Glasgow pages of the BBC.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-28175940

76. Croompenstein

@Robert Peffers – LOL can’t get the image of Kitty out of my head goosestepping doon the street..

When I was wee there was a German stayed near us he had been in the luftwaffe and couldn’t go home after the war to Dresden so stayed in Scotland. He was a bit like Kitty, all ‘normal’ usually but when he got a wee drink in him he used to go to town like Kitty, I always remember him saying “We didn’t bomb enough of you British bastards in 1941”

77. caz-m

Juteman
    “What is your reason for bringing NI politics into threads?”

Because the Scottish Orange Order are very relevant at the moment, they are trying to force through a NO vote by bullying, thus extend the life of these miserable food banks.

The Scottish Orange Order are also very closely linked to their fellow Northern Irish Orangemen. They both try to bully people into their way of thinking.

78. Carol Jardine

Robert Bryce
    It may be of interest to you to know that In Edinburgh this weekend, there is a similar collection in Tesco for foodbanks. Whatever is given by the public, Tesco will add 30% to it. It’s not quite as one sided as it appears. (I’m not a particular fan of Tesco, I may add).

79. Croompenstein

Oh FFS Disreporting Scotland headline with warning about scientific research if we vote for independence but surprise surprise no mention of the Better Together Orange Order Vote Naw walk through Glasgow..

80. caz-m

Juteman

Regarding the Orange Walk in Glasgow today, I don’t know if you are familiar with the OO, but when they march in Scotland, thousands of Orangemen come over from Northern Ireland and vise versa.

As I said before, the Orangemen of NI don’t want an Independent Scotland, so we have to keep an eye on what is happening in their Assembly.

It is all relevant.

81. Croompenstein

Oh FFS STV open with the research scare, the Aberdeen ISIS scare, a gig in Edinburgh, youth theatre..oh look a squirrel. No mention of official No camp Better Together Orange Walk in Glasgow ah well.. A guy walks in to a bar…

82. caz-m

STV News headlines, funding for Universities will stop/drop in an Independent Scotland.

Oh yes it will, oh no it won’t.

That is what the producers at STV News think is the most important story in Scotland today.

C’mon STV that was crap, you really must try harder.

83. castle hills chavie

What a classy lady.

84. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

I must admit I chuckled when I saw wee ‘Lord’ David Steel sitting at a table backing up the establishment doomsayers on reporting scotland there. Yet more evidence of the ‘quality’ of the establishment’s No politicians.

Galloway’s pitiful attempts to stir up sectarian hatred still seem to be getting undue traction so perhaps it’s time to point out why he’s going down that route. The only other campaigning option open to him was to appeal to hard-core labour voters and he totally blew that chance with his own words on the labour leader Ed Miliband.

If you ever have to sit through Galloway’s pound shop demagoguery then feel free to remind him what he thinks of the labour party and it’s leader he naively wants scots to put all their trust in.

“Miliband’s claim that he repeatedly pursued me for a one hour meeting about ‘boundary changes’ is, quite simply, a lie.”

“I realise now that I showed poor judgement in finally agreeing to meet Miliband. An unprincipled coward with the backbone of an amoeba.” – George Galloway, last April.

So remember folks, Galloway wants to trust scotland’s future to someone he thinks is a “liar” and an “unprincipled coward” with the “backbone of an amoeba”.

The biggest irony is that it looks less likely every day that Miliband can even win a westminster general election in 2015 anyway.

So what Galloway is really saying to the scottish public is to put all their trust and hopes for their children’s future in the hands of tories like Cameron, Osborne, IDS and all their other vile wee helpers.

You seriously think we’re going to trust the tories and ever more pathetic Blue Labour leaders like Mliliband (who Georgie clearly despises) for the rest of our lives Galloway? Away and chase yerself George!

85. Croompenstein

@caz-m – Good program on BBC Alba covering the consequence of yes vote for Northern Ireland and Wales

86. Lesley-Anne

My partner has just watched this video and like I was earlier she is totally fuming! As Fi says, how the hell can we, in 21st Century Scotland have a situation where people are buying food from these supermarkets and donating them to the food banks yet at the same time these bastards at the top of the tree in these organisations will NOT dig into their company’s profits and match tin for tin for the food banks!

I’m at a point now today where I do not know whether to be angry at the greedy politicians or angry at the greedy supermarket C.E.O.’s. I know some folks will say be angry at both but to be honest I’m not sure I have the energy.

I want nothing more than to grab the politicians and lock them in a room then take them out two by two and keep knocking their heads together until they finally open their eyes to the reality of what they are doing to the vulnerable in 21st Century Scotland. I know I’m concentrating on Scotland here but no one should forget that what is happening in Scotland is also happening in England Wales and N.I. as well.

Just like the politicians I also want to grab all the C.E.O.’s of Tesco, ASDA, Morrison’s, Waitrose etc and do exactly the same with them as I mentioned above with the greedy politicians.

I’m gonna have to stop this again cause I feel the anger rising.

87. Tamson

Every food bank should get organised, and place a collection box outside every polling station on September 18th.

88. Robert Bryce

Carol,
    I’m fully aware of Tesco’s 30% pledge. My point is that despite this apparent benevolent act they are still profiting from it.

What sickens me is that they know they are. They dupe the public into thinking they are on our side and doing their bit knowing full well they are still making a profit.

Please see beyond the PR spin. They’re cashing in on this and taking the public for a ride.

Having said that “Every little helps” I suppose.

89. caz-m

Croompenstein

Thanks, I think I missed it, turned it at 8pm.

That is the point I was trying to make, you can’t go into this referendum blinkered. You need to take a wider view of what is going on.

90. Harry McAye

Arel, think the Jimmy Hood article is in the Hamilton Advertiser, where Hood has a column once or twice a month. It’s certainly not in today’s Record and the HA is from the same stable. His bile every column is quite something, constant references to “Salmond” which is quite disrespectful to our democratically elected First Minister. Yet we’re the nasty ones.

91. Croompenstein

caz-m – Yeh it was good, there was an old Welsh guy on, didn’t catch his name, but he was saying about when the olympics were in London and they went to see Crash Gordon and Flipper to argue for more money for Wales, Scotland and NI but were basically told to get tae.. I’ll need to look for the programme on iplayer Rath Referendum I think it was called

92. The Rough Bounds

I went to the Scone Game Fair today. There were two blokes with plummy English accents handing out car stickers. The message was ‘Proud to be Scots. Delighted to be British’.

The cartoon on the sticker was of something that looked like a kilted gonk playing bagpipes with a Union Jack behind him.

This is what the think of us folks: gonks playing bagpipes.

I managed to contain my ire but showed them my Yes badge and told them that unlike them I AM a proud Scot and so will be voting Yes.

There was no sign of any Yes campaigners. How come? Were they denied access to the field?

93. Paula Rose

I walked through Edinburgh this morning for the first time in three years (I moved to Brechin) every 50 yards or so I passed a man sitting on the ground with a begging bowl, men so demoralised they were not even raising their eyes.

94. Lesley-Anne

This is what Cameron, Milliband and the rest of the Westminster money troughers want though Paula. They are adamant that 21st Century Scotland, as well as the rest of the U.K., be returned as soon as possible back to 19th Century Britain. Keep an eye out cause it won’t be long before we have them driving kids from schools and back into the chimney sweep business. 😉

p.s. it was great meeting both you and Thepnr today, even though it was brief. Glad to see you got back safe and sound and were not attacked by any of Milliband’s band of Johnny foreigners. 😛

95. Paula Rose

@ Lesley-Anne and partner, though our visit was short in duration, it was glorious to meet two exquisite women, I love you both, and thanks for the tea and flags xxx

96. Bob Sinclair

I don’t know any foreigners, but I do know a lot of people from different areas of the world.

Foreign – adjective – definition – an ugly word used by people with an ugly mindset.

97. Lesley-Anne

We were glad to meet you both Paula. It was great finally putting, at least TWO faces, to names on here. 😉

We’d both love to reciprocate the love and are happy that you enjoyed your cuppa and especially the *ahem* wee flag. 😛

You’re welcome back any time. I have to admit this is the first time we’ve been called exquisite. We’ve both been called a lot of things 😛 but exquisite is not one of them. Thanks so much for that it has certainly made our day and cheered us up, especially after watching the video. 🙂

98. Ruairidh

For those in the diaspora, is there a way to contribute to the amazing work of Julie and the Greater Maryhill Foodbank. I live and work in Malawi our programs attempt to deal with hunger, poverty and ill health. It makes me ashamed to be working to eradicate this in the third world yet my own country is no better.

99. Lesley-Anne

You can contact the Maryhill Food bank on Twitter here
    Ruairidh @MaryhillBank or go to their website where they have a contact page.

http://greatermaryhillfoodbank.yolasite.com/

I hope this helps. 😉

I think I have just spent about an hour on Twitter tweeting every news station I knew about this disgraceful situation. I don’t know if it will do any good but I think I feel a wee bit better now. We’re in the process of doing our accounts so we’ll donate what we can to Mark as soon as we can figure out what we have left in the bank. 😛

100. Lesley-Anne

Ruairidh, I hope you don’t mind but I just had to copy your post and tweet it. I think it encapsulates how everyone on this site feels about the situation of having food banks in 21st Century Scotland. 😉

101. Paula Rose

for Lesley-Anne and partner –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=skjvDLpeh4c

102. Erchie

On the march on Thursday it was reported, though not in the media obviously, and I saw the results myself today, that the followers had slapped NAW stickers not only on buildings,but also on people’s cars.

That’s the bodywork, not even the windows. There is no question of this being by the owners, the placement and number argue against that.

They have a sense that they will never be held to account, and unfortunately they are right\

this week will see a lot of NI bands in Scotland, the return is that next week a lot of Scots bands will travel to NI, especially as next Saturday actually is the 12th

Travelling in public transport with Orangemen to/frm Stranraer can be very scary sometimes by the way

103. gary see

Thanks everyone for watching. Please keep sharing the video and the donation link. Remember that when the target for the Yes groups has been met that all money will go to Julie and the Greater Maryhill Foodbank, so you can get any undecided or No voters you know to chip in then too.

104. Lesley-Anne

Very much appreciated Paula. I’m guessing our subtle decor in the flat is NOT as subtle as WE thought it was. 😛

105. Carol Jardine

Robert
    I apologise for not reading your earlier article properly before responding. I personally agree with you about Tesco’s prices. If an individual chooses to shop in a supermarket and add one tin of soup, or beans or a packet of biscuits to help someone without food, that’s kindness. How would food banks survive without such generosity, no matter where folk buy their messages?

106. Paula Rose

@ Lesley-Anne, I had no idea that the two of you had such good taste.

107. Thepnr

Hello Lesley-Anne. Sorry it had to be so brief but as explained I had the wee dug to think about. I’ve my wee tune for you too. Suits you, me and Paula I think!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjL7vO8-NOg

108. Lesley-Anne

Paula Rose says:

@ Lesley-Anne, I had no idea that the two of you had such good taste.

Well WE like to think so Paula. 😛

Aye Thepnr you are right on with that one! 😛

Don’t worry, we had a dog and understand your needing to get back.

109. Thepnr

@Lesley-Anne

Yes, it is happening about 40 years after he sung it, but that meant we WERE “Children of The Revolution” then… but it wouldn’t happen until now. Foresight see!

110. Lesley-Anne

Aye he was too bright for his own time that Marc. 😉

111. steve rooney

i was in tescos tonite in glasgow town centre tonite they had posters up for customers to give to foodbanks tesco profit in the millions how wrong is that

also the story last week regarding the mother looking for a tin of beans in a food bank with a ringpull so she could eat it right away made me emotional ,i must admit i wept

this cant be the future of scotland

vote yes ,not for our future but for the kids of the mother in that foodbank

112. Robert Bryce

Carol,
    I agree with you. Buying a few extras and donating is absolutely the right thing to do. I would never argue against that.

My point is that the supermarkets are using this as a way to dupe the public into thinking they care. The reality is that the only thing some care about is their bottom line.

I would still urge people to donate where possible. Just keep it in your mind that some supermarkets are profiteering under the guise of benevolence.

113. Hugh Wallace

Could have done with getting this published earlier in the day, but thanks to Rev Stu for the inspiration.

http://arewebettertogetherscotland.wordpress.com/2014/07/06/fasting-and-the-furious/

114. Big Yin

I am generally a pretty cold hearted person. But listening to the video while reading some of the comments has melted it for the first time in quite a while. Next time I see a good bank collection in a store I will be putting something in it.

115. Marker Post

Meanwhile, Cameron, Osborne and Alexander are about 70 miles away celebrating spending £6.2bn to punch above our weight.

116. WantonWampum.

What is going on?
    Cannot get anything posted on WoS

Are the dirty deeds mob working o/t

117. turnip_ghost

After watching this I too felt guilty. I’m off to see if there’s something I can do for the local food bank And then I’ll be doubling my efforts to get a Yes Vote.

118. Kirsty

Thanks for sharing this. It’s important that people hear/see information like this; it makes a huge difference. It’s hard to stay on the fence when you’re faced with information like this.

119. vari

Jackie Baillie, msp (Labour) was collecting for the food drive in our local Tesco. When asked if she ought to be sporting her NO badge whilst doing this she replied “everyone knows what my stance is”. When it was pointed out that at such events volunteers should be seen to be impartial, so as not to deter any potential voters, she simply shrugged dismissively. She was then photographed by Tesco beside the food trolley, adamantly wearing her NO badge.

This should not be used as a platform for her own Political Agenda.

120. vari

*deter potential DONORS, not voters. sorry!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.