Busy busy bees

Posted on February 01, 2014 by

We like to put a bit of extra effort in in January. The excitement of a fresh new year, coupled with the need to shake people out of the festive-period stupor that otherwise kills momentum stone dead, calls for 110%. Even so, with the slow opening week and then losing most of a weekend to a server outage, we weren’t expecting this.

jan2014

Not only were January’s pageview stats more than 30% up on December, but they also smashed the all-time record set in November by well over 100,000.

The number of unique visitors in January was, as expected, down on the November record but significantly up on December at 116,048 – just fractionally under four times the 29,796 we had this time last year. Good luck finding a Scottish newspaper that’s quadrupled its audience in the last 12 months.

From the start of February 2013 to the end of that August we grew our readership by 154% – if we can manage the same between now and the beginning of September, we’ll have almost 300,000 readers in the weeks leading up to the referendum.

That’s enough to make a big, big difference, folks. Let’s crack on.

186 to “Busy busy bees”

1. airchie

I think the readership stats are only going to increase exponentially tbh. Word of mouth, frequent mentions in the MSM and increased interest in the referendum as it gets closer should see things ramp up. 🙂

On a side note, the new comments section doesn’t work well in chrome on Android for me. Anyone else seeing issues? It seems to zoom in on the comment box which obscures the submit button… 🙁

2. cearc

It pays to advertise in the Mail.

Remind me, how much did all those full page ads. cost?

3. bunter

Im up for funding to get the site more visible, polling, advertising, anything really, so looking forward to putting my hand in my pocket when you need.

4. Marcia

I mentioned your site to a life long independence supporter who hadn’t heard of your site. Expect more visitors as word of mouth is as good as paid advertising.

5. DonnyWho

At 300000 that would equate to about ten percent of the voting population. As this website tends to radicalise it’s readers, (in an “o my god we are being lied too by the MSM” kind of a way)the general public are going to be far better informed by us “WingNuts! It is almost certainly enough to swing the balance and destroy the propaganda!

No wonder then we are being vilified by those self same organs of state propaganda.

Then they come and fight you… Daily Mail

6. Roddy Macdonald

Well, sticking one on the Daily Hate certainly helps – 102 Proud Cybernat badges sold in the first hour!

Keep spreading the indyref love in Cyberspace and beyond.

Proud Cybernat badges on sale here:

http://logicsrock.blogspot.co.uk/2014/02/proud-cybernat-badges-on-sale-now-as.html

7. The Man in the Jar

Well that brightened up a miserable wet Saturday morning. 🙂

8. ronnie anderson

BBC news just now disscussion on Scotland s finacial statious

9. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Incidentally, with a bit of luck and a following wind we might just hit the lifetime 1-million-readers mark by the end of this month…

10. Les Wilson

Well gotta say you deserve the public response, you work very hard and deserve a return. Looking at the logo, which is excellent in your own interests I I would think you should have WingsoverScotland.com at the bottom. Reason being some people might wish to send their emails with this on, which could make it go viral or at worst still bring in a lot of interest on the site. Just a thought.

Think the logo with the into is brilliant, more use should be made of that too. Well done, in all sectors.

11. Findlay Farquaharson

when new readers first look at this site they see a union jack, i hope that doesnt put anyone orf. just sayin like.

12. Wp

It’s just shows how Scots will react when they are attacked and lied to.The Mail and BBC will never understand that their continuous assaults on our intelligence only makes our resolve even stronger. So keep it coming,I’m sure many DKs have been converted to Yes due to this.

13. Robert Whyte

I am now in the habit of posting your articles on facebook. If 300000 people did the same then I can pretty much say everyone in Scotland will see this site.

14. Ian Brotherhood

For those who may have missed yesterday’s stushie over Brian Taylor’s ‘debate’ in Strathallan school, Perth, here’s a link.

Please have a listen to the very end (58.40), where an unidentified young woman sounds genuinely angered by all this talk of ‘independence’, and NB the reaction she receives from the crowd. This is what the voice of power, privilege and entitlement sounds like when it’s under pressure:

‘Does Scotland want a government that says that people don’t matter to them just because they don’t agree with them?’

Someone thought it was a neat idea to have the ‘debate’ in a UKOK hotbed? Perhaps not so smart after all – the truth will always out, one way or another.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03qgnfm

15. Murray McCallum

Stunning result and well deserved.

16. heedtracker

You’re doing sterling:-) work Rev. Referencing WOS is the proverbial pin that keeps on bursting BetterTogether project fear balloons every time. eg “please please vote no, England will have a Tory gov for ever.” No thats not true either, see here

http://wingsoverscotland.com/why-labour-doesnt-need-scotland/

Pop!

17. Fay-yes

Superb stats, no wonder the dying msm is so bitte.

I’m having the same technical issues posting airchie – submit button disappears if trying to post more than a couple of lines from my phone (using chrome on android).

18. alexicon

I would like to think that I had some hand in this with pestering newsnow to feature both wings & NNS in their list of Independence stories.
    I suspect that, as cearc says, the DM also had a lot to do with it.

19. The Tree of Liberty

As I’ve said on the Tumbleweed thread, could somebody please tell me where I can buy the “Aye Right” business cards? The wan wie the ah the Independence sites on the back.

20. alexicon

I forgot to add, the more recent figures.

21. benarmine

Findlay Farquaharson

A number of people I’ve pointed here have mentioned the union rag being a trifle disturbing on their first viewing. We can only hope it doesn’t see too many leaving before they’ve had a proper look.

22. AnneDon

@Tree of Liberty – go to September’s posts on this site, the rev provided the pdf, and also the link to a printer website on that page.

23. Monty Carlow

I agree with Findlay Farquaharson about the Sealand Gazette Union Jack logo. I find it embarrassing when it comes up so prominently. People passing might think I’m a Britnat. Can’t you remove it, or at least move it down the page?

24. Schiehallion! Schiehallion!

Do you have any idea how many visitors are from overseas?

25. Croompenstein

@benarmine – I agree that the union flag is the first thing that catches the eye on the homepage, maybe move it to the bottom of the list

26. HandandShrimp

I am sure Murphy and Kezia will be over the moon that all their hard work has paid dividends.

27. ronnie anderson

O/T, form a orderly file,Downing St handing out Reward,s for Labour support.

YER AWE SACKED FAE QUANGO,S.

Lady Morgan Sacked as head of OFFSTED, she,ll jist hiv tae get by with her Lord,s sty pend,life,s toughf being a Troughfer

Alister Dunnerheid tak note.

28. reginald

Bob Allan of Oban is the publisher of the ‘Aye Right’ small leaflet at £8 per 1000. Phone number 01631 562571.Leaflets can be collected from his son who works in Glasgow.

29. SquareHaggis

Haud gan yersel Rev.

30. caz-m

@Ian Brotherhood 11.52am.

Ian, I am still having serious flashbacks to this programme. Absolutely disgusting people, who reminded me of that pro-foxhunting mob from Tory England.

It’s the closest I have ever came across any human beings like that and I don’t want to repeat the experience any time soon.

And to think that this actually happened in 21st century Scotland.

They really do get right into your gut. I can feel the anger growing again, so will end it there.

SELFISH SELFSERVING BASTARDS !!!!!

31. Lanarkist

Ian Brotherhood;

“Does Scotland want a Government that says that people don’t matter to them just because they don’t agree with them”

Don’t we have a Government like that already, down in Westminster?

I hope that this particular debate turns the screw on BBC after all the reports of bias. I also hope that the BBC receives hundreds of invitations to hold the debate from Community groups from all over the country.

32. Boorach

Congrats Stuart and thanks for all your endeavour.

Completely o/t but anyone heading North over the Kessock bridge this afternoon keep your eyes open for the ninja’s banner on the bank to the right (East) side and let them hear your support. Long and loud please.

33. The Tree of Liberty

Rev,forgot to say “Weel done, Cutty Sark”.

34. Rough Bounds

I hadn’t thought about that union flag at the top of the page till it was pointed out. I agree. It should be dumped or at least put somewhere else where it would be less obtrusive.

Regarding the recent figures I can only say ‘Meallaibh Ur Naidheachd’ (Congratulations)

35. G H Graham

It seems right then to ask when your next fund raiser will commence/end?

And despite falling print sales, there’s still sufficient readership amongst them to consider placing display ads amongst the main stream news print media.

Thoughts?

36. Ian Brotherhood

@Lanarkist –

‘Don’t we have a Government like that already, down in Westminster?’

Precisely. But the irony is lost on these people.

The equation is simple: anything which threatens their comfort is bad, regardless of the effects on the rest of us. It’s got to be one-way traffic – redistribution of wealth from the bottom to the top, and anything jeopardising that flow is, ipso facto, anarchic/criminal.

They are bricking it, and can’t disguise it any longer – the fact that we’re not a pitchfork-carrying lynch mob makes the threat even more acute.

37. SquareHaggis

O/T @kendomacaroonbar placed a WoS trailer on the tumbleweed experiment thread. Jusr wondering how much it would cost to get this on TV, would certainly be happy to help crowdfund something like that.

Might be catalyst that blows the readership figures through the roof IMO.

38. Smith

Well done. It’s a huge effort to get that many readers. I can’t go more than half a day without a Wings fix.

39. Helena Brown

Congratulations Rev, all publicity is good publicity even in the Daily Heil, I expect it is many of the English who are being told to consult your pages with reference to the IndyRef courtesy of your readers on pages of the Guardian and used to be Independent and Telegraph, as well as those here in Scotland who are being directed here as I was.

40. Gin

If the Sealand Gazette logo was just moved down under UK Politics section that should work.

OT I see that BT were tweeting at 11am yesterday that they had 16 people & 3000 Goodbye leaflets away at their morning Waverley ‘event’. That would be a pretty impressive distribution rate. How does it compare to the observed activity?

Also interesting that they don’t seem to have any concerns about extensive pictures of activists online [inc. Twitter] – as long as they are the ones taking the pics and controling the distribution.

41. Roddy Macdonald

200 Proud Cybernat badges sold in the first 2 hours!

It’s good to be hated by the Daily Mail!

Proud Cybernat badges on sale here:

http://logicsrock.blogspot.co.uk/2014/02/proud-cybernat-badges-on-sale-now-as.html

42. Grahame

Proud to report a huge YES Presence in Edinburgh this morning

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BfYu0xuCUAE7IiC.jpg:large

43. Midgehunter

Schiehallion! says:

Do you have any idea how many visitors are from overseas?

Interesting question, how international are we?

At least 4-5 as far as I know.
    Myself in Frankfurt, Germanknee, LumiLumi, Tony and Stuart Black, a guy from Shanghi if I remember. Not to forget Tasmania!

Probably the Rev has a total-totter somewhere in the tech-box.

44. Thepnr

Great numbers Rev though absolutely expected. I’m looking forward to the numbers on 1st September.

@alexicon
    So you were the culprit responsible for Wings and NNS headlines appearing on Newsnow. Job well done.

45. Bugger [the Panda]

Caz-m

You never heard the baying of the mob at Solihull when baroness whatever formed an unholy alliance with Starkey and a couple of mock jocks, one of whom could well have been a pupil at Strathallan, to pour pish and ljquid shite over Scotland and Holyrood…pretendy wee parliament.

46. Bugger [the Panda]

Moi en France

47. Ericmac

O/T How the other half live
    https://www.bankofenglandsportscentre.co.uk

48. Luigi

Roddy Macdonald
    200 Proud Cybernat badges sold in the first 2 hours!

It’s good to be hated by the Daily Mail!

They would also make brilliant car window stickers (just saying)!

49. Chic McGregor

Everyone should keep pushing Wings and other on line alternatives to the mainstream dependency tendency.

The UJ does seem a little incongrous.

I wouldn’t worry about those who leave the site as soon as they catch sight of it as I suspect they are going to vote YES anyway.

However, as someone pointed out, it is potentially the valuable DKer who might see it on someone else’s computer screen at work, and possibly someone they admire, and come to the wrong conclusion that that person is a supporter of the Union. Very valid and quite believeable point I think.

50. Malc

Have to agree re the Union News and union jack so prominently at the top.

51. Juteman

NATural justice. 🙂

52. wee_monsieur

@Monty Carlow
    I agree with Findlay Farquaharson about the Sealand Gazette Union Jack logo. I find it embarrassing when it comes up so prominently. People passing might think I’m a Britnat. Can’t you remove it, or at least move it down the page?
    Listen to your audience, Stu. The Union flag so prominent is off-putting.

53. alexicon

@Thepre.

Yes, I sent them several letters, through their contact us page, asking for these 2 websites to be added to their listings, after all they were highlighting conservative home.
    Thankfully I received a positive response.
    I would suggest that people on here should get in touch the same way and propose their preferred sites.

54. Derick faeYell

“cearc says:
    1 February, 2014 at 11:19 am
    It pays to advertise in the Mail.”

Cheeky monkey. Monitor coffee incident here!

55. SquareHaggis

@Grahame

Thank you for sharing that ;-D

56. The Tree of Liberty

AnneDon and Reginald, thanks for your help, but it not a flier I want, it’s a business card. kendomacaroonbar very kindly gave me two when he supplied my “Wings” car sticker, but because I’ve only two I’m kinda reluctant tae gie them oot. Ah lot o undecided people I know are kinda askin me aboot the referendum in a kinda roundabout way an I just thought to gie them a business would be a quiet and discreet way of directing them to the Yes sites. I should add, my computer skills are crap, so PDF files etc mean sweet FA tae me.

I should add whilst going through the September files looking for the PDF’s (??), I was reading some of the comments, and you know something, it’s amazing how far we have come since then. Rev, you should take a bow!

57. Grahame

@squarehaggis

when i arrived, the carpark beside meeting place which can hold about 120 cars was gridlocked. usually empty that time on a Saturday. loads of groups had already left to campaign before i arrived.

58. caz-m

Rev and all who have contributed to this site, a big congratulations and keep spreading the story.

We are winning this war of truth over lies.

But,, I have to agree with all of the above Rev..

THE APRON MUST GO!

Onwards and upwards.

59. gillie

WoS has a higher readership than the Scottish Daily Mail.

60. G H Graham

But if you click on the Union Jack image it leads to an aggregation of quite the most frightening British news stories one can imagine.

It’s not for those whose sensibilities are easily offended or for those who enjoy shopping while in a self comforting trance. If you think that problems always belong to someone else & somewhere else, look away now.

On the other hand, if you want some insight into the oppressive state you are living in, knock yourself out with any number of grim accounts of misery, poverty & infringements of basic rights, all consequences of a morally & financially bankrupt Britain; the state where rules are written to control your behaviour by >700 unelected Peers & English Bishops.

61. David McCann

I see Cochers is at it again, suggesting that there will be long lasting nastieness no matter what the result.http://archive.is/fwA2c

BTW Stu, according to the ‘Courier’http://archive.is/Qfa5x BT are targeting 160 train stations, not just handing out 500,000 leaflets, but will have “thousands of Better Together activists from all walks of life will be taking to the streets to speak to undecided voters about keeping the strength and security of the UK pound. Our message is simple, it is increasingly clear that leaving the UK means waving goodbye to the UK pound.”
    Seems we all got it wrong!!

62. msean

What,of all the places you could hold a debate,made them pick such a venue as a private fee paying school? Not exactly representative of Scotland is it?

63. Dramfineday

Well done Stuart! I must say I look forward to my fix of Wings. The forensic debunking of the BT tosh is a real treat. The comments just add to the enjoyment so thanks to to the contributors who make the site light up!

While I’m at it, thanks to Gavin and the guys for the “Aye Right” leaflets, a great concept. I stick one into the news papers when I’m doing the rounds for YES Pentlands, I also leave them other places (as appropriate).

Finally, Roddy – I’ve just ordered 5 and unlike the Mexican Bandits in “Blazing Saddles” I want those badges.

64. GrahamB

I see in today’s Herald that their chess correspondent Jonathan Rowson has come out in his weekly column in favour of YES. Wonder how he managed to get that past the editorial team?

65. gillie

We’re these BT activists being paid to hand out leaflets?

66. SquareHaggis

An article revolving around the strength of the Yes campaign would make a good follow-up to the BT leafleting charade.

Your picture says more than a thousand words.

67. SquareHaggis

Sorry previous post @Grahame

68. Alba4Eva

10 badges ordered Roddy. Ps. I kept forgetting to send an SAE for Wings sticker. Is it too late now?

69. HandandShrimp

I have to confess I have never really clocked the Union flag at the top before

I must be Union flag blind /\(oO)/\

Might it not make undecideds feel more, I don’t know, safe? Just a thought.

Stu, I aborted my photo upload last night because others rightly thought it intruded on the lady’s privacy. Although the photo was not unflattering (she looks quite at home dishing out her leaflets) I wasn’t trying to mock her but rather just trying to show that there was only one leafleteer at one of the biggest stations in Scotland. Where should I send future photographs for vetting without using the nightmare that Imageshack has become?

70. Famous15

Square Haggis and Grahame.
    AND many of the early birds like me were already off with piles of newspapers!

71. G H Graham

China’s Government

The Central Politburo has 25 members & its 18th National Congress has 2270 delegates selected from 40 constituencies. The countries population is 1,354 million (1.354 billion).

Britain’s Government

There are 650 M.P.s & 779 unelected Lords including 24 English Bishops & 88 hereditary Peers. The population of Britain is 63 million.

Aren’t you feeling the benefit of being vastly over represented by people who have your core interests at heart?

72. Alba4Eva

…oops sorry, was Kendo… same question though if Kendo sees this.

73. kalmar

BTW Stu, according to the ‘Courier’http://archive.is/Qfa5x BT are targeting 160 train stations, not just handing out 500,000 leaflets, but will have “thousands of Better Together activists from all walks of life will be taking to the streets to speak to undecided voters about keeping the strength and security of the UK pound. Our message is simple, it is increasingly clear that leaving the UK means waving goodbye to the UK pound.”
    Seems we all got it wrong!!

Might be worth a letter to the editor pointing out that this is incorrect, how it’s known to be incorrect and the dangers of believing commentary based on unquestioned statements from one side of a political campaign. From memory the Courier’s letter page is a hive of frothing lunacy but lots of people read it, and there are serious points made too.

If nothing else it would be fun to see if it got printed!

74. Patrician

@Roddy Macdonald

Is it OK to use your cybernat graphic on my website? properly attributed of course. I really need to start updating my website, I haven’t looked at it in ages.

75. HandandShrimp

LOL

The Courier prints the wee advertising puff that BT wanted to put on their 500,000 leaflet nonsense without checking to see if they did it. That in a nutshell is why it was a good idea to check to see if they were there. It is also why BT are so annoyed we did go and check.

76. Boorach

The Tree of Liberty

Re the ‘Aye Scotland’ cards you need to contact Alex Taylor. Drop me a line at bill_urquhart@hotmail.com and I’ll let you have details.

77. Thepnr

Todays “Record View” is blatantly linking “cyber criminals” with Wingers. Three supposedly unrelated topics seamlessly put together. Pathetic.

Record View: Keeping safe from cyber criminals, the sinister Indy debates and justice for Moira

http://archive.is/XJtmm

78. Pin

Could some more of these 116,000 unique visitors please take the survey at the top right hand of the page. Would be good to see if readership is still mostly SNP supporters

79. theycan'tbeserious

The tree of liberty:

Re business cards you can create your own at vistaprint.co.uk. Just copy and paste the jpeg image s onto the card. 250 cards for £12-20.

80. Ken500

1million+ is more than the BBC Scotland gets.

SNP membership (folk who put their money/effort in) is 25K

81. The Tree of Liberty

Boorach, yur the MAN. I hiv tae go oot just noo, but I’ll get back to you tomorrow. That OK? Thanks again.

82. Bugger (the Panda)

G H Graham

Chris Patten: BBC has more senior managers than the communist party

I wonder if that is still the case?

83. Bugger (the Panda)

the Chinese Communist Party with 1.5 billion population

84. Roddy Macdonald

@ Patrician. Of course, don’t worry about attributions, everything on http://logicsrock.blogspot.com and https://www.facebook.com/ProjectFearScotland and its predecessor is fair game for the cause.

Thats 300 Pround Cybernat badges gone. Get yours before it’s too late. They could be an heirloom after 18 Sep 14!

85. Roddy Macdonald

Thankfully the badges don’t have any typos! Proud Cybernat

86. Albert Herring

To me the Butcher’s Apron is a YES symbol, in that the sight of one makes me desire a YES vote even more keenly.

However I agree it should move down the page for reasons stated by others above.

How much traffic does The Sealand Gazette get anyway?

87. ronnie anderson

REV,yer missin a trick here, WINGS penny press,a penny a day login, average 4 issues a day,get to the end of a story
    get back to the start of previous, another multitude of readin matter, Its the never ending story,fek it 10p login per day.

Ivan Mc Kee, some number crunching fur you, simlpes.

88. Shiehallion! Shiehallion!

@ Midgehunter

Thanks. I just wondered, in view of the ongoing disintegration of BT’s credibility, and given what stands behind them, whether the site might be being followed by journalists and others abroad. It’s not so often this kind of thing happens.

89. gordoz

Agree never liked the prominent position of the Apron

Just saying.

90. Ian Brotherhood

What a week this has been. Best yet.

‘I can feel the hope spreading all around…’

91. ronnie anderson

gordoz2.30 noo dont go alianating the wummin voter.s,that wear Apron,s, or Pinny wearer,s.

92. CUtommy

A sizeable proportion of Scottish voters will still be undecided on polling day. Many people in this position want to be on the winning side and will cast their vote accordingly.

The odds given by the bookies are a good predictor of the final outcome. In the last 3 months, the odds on a yes win have shortened from 11/2 are 7/2. And the odds on a NO vote have dropped from 1/10 to 1/5. The online YES activists can influence these odds by placing small bets on a YES win. If 100,000 people to bet £10; these odds could be reversed and make a YES result a racing certainty. Get your bet on now, not only will you be helping the campaign, but you have an opportunity to win some money. Get down there now and watch as the odds shorten. The most you can lose is your stake.

93. Andy-B

O/T Rev, I apologise if it been covered.

The Daily (Drivel) Record has a three-quarter page spread today about yourself and Wings over Scotland, the title is “The Aye Spies.” I, can’t find this story in the online version, only the paper version.

David Clegg calls Wings followers and yourself creepy, paranoid stalkers, the article goes on to say we intimidated, the BT volunteers at the train stations, and that they were photographed without permission in a sinister way.

Clegg then goes on to say that the YES campaign has distanced itself from Wings over Scotland, Clegg then says the men and women who were videoed or photographed, in dark train stations, were afraid.

Labour MSP Ken Macintosh who claimed he was one of the volunteers at Clarkston train station handing out leaflets, said I was photgraphed, I think they (us) must be bonkers, they’re creepy and paraniod how pathetic.

94. ronnie anderson

@IanBrotherhood, briliant Ian,ah kin hear you rummlin in
    the Tamla Motown archives the noo.lol, Is Ghost Riders in the Sky appt,or hiv we got to start another arm,ie Cyberider,s, we all hiv oor jaikit patches.

95. Heather McLean

Just enjoying a nice cuppa, reading Wings while defrosting after leafleting at a Yes Stall in Dundee city centre today! A very positive feel despite the bitter cold day.

I think I managed to convert a few don’t knows by mentioning a few things like the appalling amount of money wasted on the unelected House of Lords and the EU money diverted from the intended Scottish farmers and crofters to English farmers.

One undecided person asked ” How come none of this is in the news?”
    People are desperate for accurate and truthful information and it is being deliberately witheld by the biased media!
    The people of Scotland deserve better than this – it’s relatively easy to convince people to vote Yes when they hear the facts.
    I made a point of directing people to Wings and Newsnet Scotland for the truth!
    Every little helps!

96. ronnie anderson

@ Heather Mc Lean, Weil done Heather, pit yer feet up cappa
    tea n a big buttery,Yes every little help,s.

97. Juteman

@CUtommy.
    Ignore the bookies odds. They are British bookmakers, and their existence depends on the British State. They will do what they are told.

98. Ian Brotherhood

@ronnie –

Cheers mister. There’s nothing quite like solo disco dancing with a mild hangover. Canny whack it…

99. Juteman

No voters are Yes voters that haven’t had their eyes opened.

100. Alfresco Dent

I see no comments are allowed on that Cochrane article. I wonder why? Could it because he says this in the very first paragraph – “He was resolute in saying Scotland could not have the pound and independence”. He’s talking about Mr. Carney there.

Keep up the great work everyone, we’re winning. Oh, I’ve also ordered 10 Cybernat badges.

Those with eagle-eyes will notice I’ve changed my handle. I’ve done this because it makes no sense to use a different moniker here from the one I use on FB. I will change my avatar in due course. Sorry for any confusion.

101. Jon in Chicago

@ Schiehallion! Schiehallion!:

“Do you have any idea how many visitors are from overseas?”

At least one here in Chicago.

102. Morag

Jings, abominable snowman here. Just done 70-plus Yes newspapers round my own area, in what turned out to be a snowstorm. Mega thanks to whoever it was thought of packing the papers in plastic bags in 25s – I was able to put a clean dry paper in every door despite the weather.

OK, doesn’t sound many but it’s mostly big detached houses here, more walking than leafleting. This is supposed to be No territory, and when we had a local council by-election I was leafleted multiple times by the Tories and the LibDems (and once by Labour). Nary a sniff of a BT leaflet.

Mind you, the big Yes poster I just put up in my front window will probably ensure they skip the house now!

I need to defrost a bit.

103. Findlay Farquaharson

great the daily record is doin free advertising for wings, probably add a few thousand undecideds to the numbers.

104. Desimond

Congratulations to the Rev and those spreading the Wings Gospel but more importantly congrats to Alex Salmond and his Generals at the SNP who are behind all this work and brilliant reader involvement…they are arent they?, im sure thats what the papers tell me so it must be true!

BTW…has anyone did a Blair McDougall ‘Downfall’ tribute for yesterday yet..it would be perfect!

105. Paul

Alfresco I was going to make that point as well Cochrane gets to publish that nonsense and yet we are not allowed to comment back. The way he was talking you would think that if you didn’t live in Scotland and know different that all our towns and cities were like Belfast in the late 60’s 70’s and 80’s maybe the Neptune water canons aren’t for The English rioters after all they are for us when we have the mother of all parties celebrating our YES victory, With the unionists and the British state nothing would surprise me they aren’t going to let our resources go without a fight.

106. McDuff

Well done Wings, you do a great job and deserve our thanks.

107. Garry Henderson

I got a YES newspaper through the door today in very rainy Kirriemuir – first one Fantastic.

There is a YES shop in the town but I’ve never seen it open, pity as I’m desperate to get my hands on some badges and volunteer to help out locally – too many NO people around here who need educating!

Keep up the great work Wings!

108. Alfresco Dent

Paul, I suspect there is much worse to come after we vote Yes. We shall overcome though.

109. Roddy Macdonald

That’s 403 Proud Cybernat badges sold so far today. I’ll be pulling them at 450 as I gave some away to those who were accosted by the Daily Hate and sold some to artist friends at Celtic Connections who wanted an alternative to the Yes badges which are banned from televised performances by the BBC.

If you’ve been swithering about buying one, don’t swither too much longer! Get them here:

110. Patrick Roden

@Gin
    ” OT I see that BT were tweeting at 11am yesterday that they had 16 people & 3000 Goodbye leaflets away at their morning Waverley ‘event’.”

Yes they had an accompanying series of photographs in case anyone doubted the authenticity of the event.

What BT forgot to mention, is that one guy is on ‘FOUR’ of the pictures!

There is also suggestion that they have doubled up some of the other pictures as well, but it’s hard to tell because of the poor quality.

Some things just never seem to change with the BT liars.

111. Findlay Farquaharson

by sept the eyes of the world will be on scotland, gonna be hard for any dirty tricks to go unnoticed.

112. Alfresco Dent

@ Midgehunter

Is that fog-horn the one at Ardnamurchan?

113. Malc

Juteman, Bookies odds changing will create lots of publicity and provide momentum. They are not often wrong as we get nearer to the day. I am hoping the odds plummet because it means the people seeing the real polling are voting wit their wallets.

114. CUtommy

@Juteman

Don’t you believe it. The bookies are only interested in one thing. Making money. The odds are calculated by a computer based on how much money is being staked

115. Findlay Farquaharson

the british state will compensate bookies so long as they do as they are told, and that will be to make the yes vote look ridiculous.

116. kalmar

Dammit. I registered with Ladbrokes on Friday, the odds were 3.5:1 for Yes. I didn’t get around to putting my card details in, just tried again now and it says 1:5 for No and SUSP for Yes.

Looks like I’ve missed the boat on this one!

117. Juteman

I fear that some folk believe that bookies are only interested in money.
    Mainstream bookies are as much a part of the British State as are British polling outfits.
    Open your eyes.

118. Dave McEwan Hill

Patrick Roden at 3.23

I tweeted back that it was suspicious that they didn’t have them all in the same photograph.

119. edulis

Stuart, as a matter of course we should be trying to get top billing on Ken Macdonald’s Headlines programme every Sunday. Maybe those stats will do it for tomorrow, I hope so, but anything with unique information relevant to the Referendum debate should be pitched for a Headlines outing.

120. Yesitis

Our ever opening flower continues to blossom.

121. Malc

Juteman & Findlay , Don’t be silly the Bookies are there to make money and will do it in UK or Scotland for sure, regardless the result they will be winners.

122. Kev

Great news and shows that peoples’ attitudes are changing and fast. I was out delivering Yes newspapers in the East End of Glasgow last week and not once was denied access to a close, which contrasted greatly to when I leafleted here for the SNP before the last Scottish election, when I was told to “gettae f*ck” more than once.

And when approaching people on the street, I would say 3 out 4 took a copy and when asking groups/couples, a “naw” from one would often be met with an “aye” from the other.

Project Fear is no longer working on folk, people are no longer listening to the media and not even listening to their partner/spouse/friends, they are forming their own opinions in their own time on their own terms. And that is solely down to the internet and sites like this so keep it up guys, were gaining momentum and soon we will be in the lead…

123. Roddy Macdonald

wow, what a whirlwind!

Many thanks to everyone who bought one, 5 or 10 Proud Cybernat badges. 454 sold on the web in 6 hours. I think that counts as a Feck you Daily Mail!

I sold some of the early ones too cheaply as I’d forgotten how long it was since I last sold anything through PayPal and boy have their transaction charges gone up. However, overall they should have washed their face with a bit left over for Scottish Autism. Thanks also to Stuart, and the many Wingers who purchased.

124. TheGreatBaldo

OT

For those not on the Twitter…..

Anas Sarwar retweeted a pretty nasty racist tweet linking him to the Taliban and naturally blamed it on the cybernats…..

https://twitter.com/anassarwar/status/429619252602363904

Sadly for Anas, as obnoxious as the pinheaded moron is

https://twitter.com/rgrodgers

He is definitely not in anyway shape or form a cybernat.

125. Juteman

@Malc.
    You sound like a very nice person.

126. edulis

Just thinking further about the Headlines programme, it would be good to do a summary piece – why we did the monitoring, how efficiently and effectively it was done and the result which proved that the hunch that BT was fibbing turned out to be true.

127. Malc

Juteman, What do you mean by that are you trying to imply something because I did not agree with your opinion, very strange post. Think you need to grow up.

128. kendomacaroonbar

There are still WoS Car Window Stickers available. Please see my contact details in quarrantine forum.

I don’t charge for these. An SAE please and a sincere wish that you may see merit in supporting Stu’s (Febby Do…Let’s do another thing) fundraiser.

Yours aye

Ken McDonald

129. gordoz

Ken :

Thanks for mine – all out in circulation now

cheers

130. Dave McEwan Hill

Malc at 3.53

7/2 no longer available at Ladbrokes. They’ve taken that offer down today. Watching with interest.
    Can I repeat Ladbrokes (and the others I presume) got their arses felt at the 2011 Scottish election by listening to misinformation and spin and offering as much as 11/2 against an SNP victory. The papers if you remember were full of Iain Gray as the next FM. I believe they lost over £1 mill and they won’t be doing that again

131. Malc

Dave , Agree totally but they do seem to be realising that the wind is changing , the more it comes in the better. They do not get it wrong that often and as we saw last time the prices plummeted as they saw what was going to happen.
    Odds are a good indicator of where we are as we get closer to the date.

132. Semus

Further to those abroad, are 7 Czechs and 1 Slovak

133. Desimond

Blair MacDougall Downfall…hope you like it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jvddXy2tkNg

134. James123

Being a bit of a stat junkie I’ve been looking forward to these numbers all month, and they haven’t disappointed. To reach your total of 300,000 uniques by the end of August requires a 15% increase month on month which is more than doable.

135. Clootie

We had 10 out today delivering newspapers , (East Aberdeenshire), in awful weather. 9 did West Turrif while I did one of the coastal villages.

I’ll keep pushing the site as it is more gritty and plain speaking which is what is required now to counter the lying manipulating MSM. I do feel for those who will lose their jobs in the media but their circulation would not be falling if they did the job newspaper journalists were intended to !

I hope these newspapers realise that an increasing readership at sites such as this will lead to more and more people accepting that they are being manipulated.
    If they can do that on the topic of independence they can do it on any story.
    Once you lose trust…!

136. Malc

Whoever put the £100K bet on at 1/9 or 1/10 must be a bit sick. Luckily as they will lose anyway it does not matter.

137. Paul

O/T On a cold and wet Saturday and with my team playing in the league cup semi tomorrow to cheer myself up I have been watching some of the results of the 2011 election on you tube. Interestingly when Andy Kerr lost Johan Lamont was on the panel saying how sad it was but then went on to try and explain the collapse of the lib vote and she said “the reason was not so much because they got in to bed with the Tories but it was the enthusiasm with which they did it” I wonder if those remarks will come back to haunt her with the enthusiastic way she has jumped in to bed with the same Tories to deny Scotland it’s independence.

138. Norrie

Desimond

Brilliant.

139. Bevrijdingsdag

@Desimond.

Brilliant!, still laughing.

140. TJenny

Roddy Macdonald – Hi, I ordered 10 Proud Cybernat badges but didn’t get the Paypal email confirming purchase. Surmising I might have been too late to the party this time 🙁

Will you be making more available for sale? (Please)

141. creigs1707repeal

I think a short, snappy leaflet showing examples of BBC bias and misinformation (as well as that of the press) needs to be circulated, along with, of course, the full details of sites where real facts with proper analysis (i.e. that truth) can be accessed.

Imagine a leaflet with the title: You are being lied to

Are you aware that NO campaign are lying to you, aided and abetted by the BBC and the press?

Example 1

Example 2

Example 3

Etc, etc.

Too negative? Thoughts anyone?

142. uilleam_beag

These readership figures are well-deserved, and clear evidence that you’re filling an important hole in the Scottish media landscape. Keep up the effort – we all know how hard you work!

On top of the website hits, the phenomenal response to your call for volunteers for Friday’s effort (a genuine journalistic undertaking, no matter what the naysayers may claim) is testament to the fact that these are not simply casual browsers.

Deep breaths, organise your time, schedule proper rest: there’s a long seven-and-a-half months to go yet, and we all need you to last the distance!

143. scaredy cat.

@Ken
    Got my wings sticker on my car too 🙂
    Thanks for the extra one. Gave it to my dad, so that’s another one out on the road.

144. Alan Mackintosh

Desimond, re Downfall vid. Fantastico!

145. Grahame

@roddy macdonald

bugger i never got one! been so busy with customers in shop today – and your website kept crashing on chrome. just got round to getting on it on IE10 and saw they’ve gone

146. Albert Herring

10% swing to YES in 3 months, 8 months to go, just another 3% swing for a YES win.

Odds of 7/2 are absolutely mental!

Imagine a two-horse race where the leading jockey was thrashing away desperately for all his worth, while the 2nd horse was cruising along on the bridle – The latter would be very short odds on!

147. Alba4Eva

Well done Roddy… looking forward to wearing mine with PRIDE… along side my Wings badge (from the Rev at the rally) and my Saltire pin. hehe by September, i’ll be looking like Rick out of The Young Ones.
    http://userserve-ak.last.fm/serve/_/9558721/Cliff+Richard++The+Young+Ones+youngones2.jpg

148. crisiscult

I had a look at the daily record article (on archive of course – try not to visit those types of sites) and to add that to some of the other comments, I’m really not getting it. If I was out filming or photographing leafleting maybe it’d be a bit odd but I felt that this was a form of citizen journalism checking the veracity of claims by a political organisation about public ‘events’ they were staging. Regardless of that though, the vilifying of independence supporters (cybernats etc) by the establishment is actually making me feel like some kind of revolutionary, bizarre as it may sound, and I actually don’t mind the feeling. I didn’t start supporting independence for this feeling but now I’m like one of the characters from Easy Rider sticking it to the man! ha ha.

149. Andy-B

@Desimond.

Brilliant wee video, I haven’t laughed so much in ages.

150. kendomacaroonbar

@ scardy cat

My pleasure, contact me if you require any more

151. Alba4Eva

NOTE: Just a wee confirmation of the first post on this thread. Airchie is correct, there is a problem with the green ‘Submit Comment’button disappearing on Android, when the post is too long. Hence no spaces in my last post. Im using a Galaxy Note 3, which has a large screen, so prob is site related.

152. Alba4Eva

Crisiscult… when you realise the lies and awaken, its only a natural symptom that you are feeling. Dr Alba4eva prescribes a wee dram, putting your feet up and some physiotheraputical smiling to yourself. :o)

153. RoughMan

@ Desimond, Norrie

Agreed, Brilliant! … Altho’ I think the translation was a bit …erm, loose. 🙂

154. crisiscult

Alba4Eva

Thanks for advice. I’m feeling hyped right now and online shopping for Harley Davidsons, but I’ll definitely have a dram later to bring me down a little before sleep 😉

155. Alba4Eva

ROFL @ Desimonds vid. 🙂

156. Midgehunter

Alfresco Dent says:

Is that fog-horn the one at Ardnamurchan?

No, it’s the one at the Broch (Fraserburgh).
    It’s keeping a good eye on the oilfields so that the bitter togethers don’t sneak in in the mist 😉

Sheesh… As you’re apparently interested I could make you a special offer, you know 1/2 price… 😉

157. annie

Desimond – great video real laugh out loud stuff.

158. Roddy Macdonald

@TJenny, without knowing your name or e-mail address it’s impossible to tell if you snuck in under the wire. Someone did so the final total is 459. However, if you didn’t get an e-mail back from PayPal, it’s unlikely. Have you checked your Junk Mail just in case? If you comment on the original link, I’ll gauge demand and see if it’s worthwhile ordering more.

159. Desimond

Thanks to everyone who enjoyed the Downfall video.

You can make your own via

http://downfall.jfedor.org/create/

160. Alba4Eva

Roddy… once you get rid of this lot, I wpuld seriously consider doing a bigger run. These are very popular. 🙂

161. EdinScot

Ken – Thanks for the wings car bumper stickers, received all 10 of them, distributed 6 so far. Very much appreciated.

Intending to get aye right business cards & flyers for me to distribute in my area of Edinburgh as will have a week off work 2nd week in february. Brilliant news on your stats Stu. All the travel is going one way. Brilliant also reading about all those pro active Yessers going out to rail stations all over the country. Its shone a torch on the sham that is the no campaign. They may have the propoganda loudhailer but its not creating the desired effect for them. Their campaign is demolorised and in deep deep trouble. We have the people on side. Brilliant stuff!

162. heedtracker

@Desimond that is really funny, coz its true. Catch Alistair Darling’s wild eyed panic last week on the old BBC/BetterTogether news about the BoE guv saying sterling zone is not a problem.

163. Franariod

We are spreading the word rev

164. Desimond

Regards Betting Odds…

I notice a bet at Oddschecker…Scotland being totally Independent by 2020 is 11/2 compared to a YES win being only 7/2

http://www.oddschecker.com/politics/british-politics/scottish-independence/full-independence-from-uk-by-2020

165. Dave McEwan Hill

creigs1707repeal at 4.50

Or a “Would I Lie To You?” leaflet. I was working on one with a big picture of John Bull and a series which says on the flip side “Of Course I would” with a number of big lies exposed one by one

166. Richard

@crisiscuit

O/T why Harleys when there are perfectly good BMWs out there! ;-p

167. ScotsCanuck

Aye, ye preach a fine sermon Reverend and it appears the congregation agree as they keep growing.
    First Class work Stuart, mair power tae ye.

168. TJenny

Roddy Macdonald – Hoorah! Paypal email did go straight to Junk box (doesn’t usually), so it seems that I will be the recipient of these proud to wear wee badges. Just in case you didn’t have 10 badges left by the time I paid, just send me what you can and give rest of money to Autism or whatever – or keep it towards the next badge issue:-)

Many thanks.

169. scaredy cat.

@Desimond.
    Wonderful!

170. Croompenstein

Desimond – Go to the top of the class 🙂

171. Dave McEwan Hill

Desimond at 5.52

Yes. That puzzles me. I have no idea what that means unless they imagine some sort of devo max status is going to be argued about.

172. Alba4Eva

Richard. Easy Rider would not have been the same on a BMW. See Crisiscuit’s earlier post 😉

173. Richard

@ Alba4Eva

Oh I don’t know. I can picture Peter Fonda in lederhosen on a GS driving down the Autobahn!

174. Breastplate

Desimond, great video, thanks for the laugh.
    Icy bin ein Winger.

175. Breastplate

‘ich’ even, bloody iPad.

176. Calgacus MacAndrews

Great news on the stats.
    The tipping point has been reached.
    The MSM are caught between a rock and a hard place.
    So everybody keep on Cybernattin’ …

Any response from the MSM only serves to make more undecideds find their way to Wings, Newsnet, Bella, Derek etc., and to THE TRUTH.

177. Gin

@Daismond – Star Billing for you with that Video

@Creigs1707repeal To keep it more positve how about The Truth is Out There

then each lie with a web address leading to the truth

178. Ian Brotherhood

@Calgacus –

I love the way you just drop the name ‘Derek’ in there.

I know who you mean, as do most of us. And he must know it. Whether he likes it or not, Mr Bateman’s eggs appear to have ended up in one basket. (It was only a fortnight ago that he was decrying any suggestion that BBC Scotland was anything but impartial.)

Now? He’s on our side after – all credit to him – making his disgust with the BBC pretty clear for all to see. He’s set the bar for Hassan, Riddoch and plenty others – they cannot continue spinning plates indefinitely.

We need the support of these people. We need them, as ‘professional broadcasters’, to raise their voices against the sort of shite we heard being broadcast from Strathallan school yesterday via Brian Taylor’s ‘Big Debate’

179. CUtommy

The truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.

http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm201213/cmselect/cmfaff/writev/643/m05.htm

180. Ian Brotherhood

@CUtommy –

I’ve just finished reading that report you linked to, and many thanks for it.

Aye, it’s ‘normal’, right? What we’re doing here is really not so special, remarkable…it’s just ‘what happens’, and the tone of this report bears that out.

So, Scotland becomes independent, and, er, well, so what? Interesting, but no big deal….life goes on.

Isn’t that what they’re saying?

181. joe kane

Another equally remarkable grassroots blogger, Thomas G. Clarke over at Another Angry Voice blog, says of his Facebook –

During the week to January 31st Another Angry Voice generated 50,829 interactions, whilst the official pages of all three of the official pages of the Westminster establishment parties (the Lib-Lab-Cons) generated 43,655 between them. This means that the political content of just one bloke, working in his spare time is more politically engaging that the combined output of all three establishment parties.

http://anotherangryvoice.blogspot.co.uk/2014/02/aav-progress-report-january-2014.html

182. lumilumi

desimond – brilliant Downfall vid! Definitely one of the best I’ve seen, so topical!

Though I have to admit my Finnish friend who was here when I watched it and giggled uncontrollably didn’t get it 😉 – he’s well aware of the Downfall meme but this one relies on so much insider knowledge. Absolutely brilliant and funny. Thank you!

183. lumilumi

Also, congrats to Rev Stu on the impressive figures – like someone above said, it pays to advertise on the DM 😀

Most of all, thank you, Rev Stu for all the hard work you and other contributors put in. Thanks also to all who comment BTL!

184. J. R. Tomlin

Give the Daily Mail a nice ‘thank you’ for all that free advertising. 😉

185. Graeme McAllan

Please include me, I’m an overseas reader from Orlando, Florida 😉

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.