Being our own media, part 26

Posted on June 25, 2018 by

Michael Gray and Robert Somynne’s Scotia Live, episode 1:

1. 25 06 18 10:56

Being our own media, part 26 | speymouth

11 to “Being our own media, part 26”

1. Phantom Films really are the benchmark of independent film/programme making in Scotland. Top quality. Well done folks! Just wanted to write that, back to watching…

2. Tackety Beets says:

Well done to both presenter & its nice to see the people who are only a face to me on twitter.

I appreciate this has been left on a previous thread but feel it is appropriate for here too.

A good news story to share far & wide.

3. Ian Brotherhood says:

Soo-perb funkiness!

4. Ken500 says:

Poor publicity

Causing fractions. Diluting the Devolution/Independence vote. If they don’t take a back seat on some conficting, controversial policies. Pie in the sky fantasy. Much of which will not work as intended. Been tried before. Not radical and new but reactionary. They could cost votes for more power, Devolution and Independence. Especially in a close round thing. Criticising the SNP irrationally will damage that. Naive and inexperienced. Poor researched and without an inability to think things through. Blinkered by ideology. Do some more researcher. For a credible argument. Two and two make five. Can’t count or read a balance sheet. Of a balanced economy and stability.

The most unpopular party with the most unpopular policies. That’s why few vote for them. A pressure group trying to gain influence prematurely. It could damage the Devolution /Independence movement by creating unnecessary faction and further confusion prematurely. Lose votes and support. Renege on their policies. Just look at the Green representation in Holyrood.. Gives a clue. Six white, wealthy men. No diversity on the list. There should be a female, one of ethnicity, disabled etc. They do not practice what they preach. Hypocrites. Make people’s lives harder for publicity.

5. Ken500 says:

Fracked Gas is being imported into Scotland from the US. People are using it. Why deceive people? There is very little gas in Scotland to frack. It dried up in the 1960’s. The Tories have ruined the Oil & Gas sector in Scotland by taxing it too highly when the price had fallen. More Oil & Gas has to be imported putting up the balance of payments deficit and the debt. Fracking in the rest of the UK is tax free.

Scotland is surplus in fuel and energy and nearer the source. but pays more for it because it is colder. No parity. A hold back on the economy. Scotland has vast coal reserves. Facilities for CCS. The Westminster incompetents cut the funding. They cut solar investment, banned coal, support fracking. ruined the Oil & Gas industry. cut tribal projects, banned wind turbines in the rest of the UK. They are building Hinkley Point a gross total over priced waste. HS2 absolutely no business case. A total waste. Trident a total absolute waste. A gross grotesque monstrosity.

Illegal wars, financial fraud and tax evasion have ruined the UK/world economy. Brexit will do further damage. The Tories are going to ruin the world economy cause a recession. So they and their cronies can continue to tax evade and embezzle public resources. Illegally killing people.

These problems will only be sorted out with self goverance Independence. Not Brexit. Or Westminster governance.

6. Ken500 says:

Migrants are treated worse in the UK than in the US. They are detained for years in detention centres of poor quality, with no respite. They are treated worse in the UK. Deported illegally. Yet people in the UK are asking May to condemn Trump. Sort out the own backyard. May Westminster unionists caused all the migration problems in the world.

The US/US caused the migration crisis in the world by illegal wars. Before Trump was in Office. Obama policies Trump inherited them. Trying to sort it out. Korean agreement will help sort it. Iran does not need to be reliant on nuclear. It has Oil and could invest in solar etc. Investment could help it out. Stop discriminatary policies within it’s economy. Try and sort out the Middle East. Stop US illegally funding it for years. Clinton was getting illegally funding from the Saudis.

Tory William in the Middle East now illegally supporting Tory illegal policies. Supporting illegal wars for remuneration. Apartheid State of Israel. The Arabs are deludedly believing he is there to apologise for the illegal, secret Balfour agreement. Imposed by Lord Balfour and Lord Rothschild. Lloyd George Lib gave illegal consent. The Arabs were promised democrscy and the vote for support. Betrayed in every way by the corruption of the West. UK/France (US) carved up the Middle East and caused havoc ever since

7. Dan Huil says:

Well, it’s better than anything on bbc [if memory serves right]

8. Ann Rayner says:

As someone who is partially deaf, can I make a plea for subtitles on these videos. If someone is talking to camera and I can see their face clearly, I can just about cope, but if they are off screen and all I see is a running tap, I can’t understand anything.

9. Cactus says:

Many thanks Michael & Robert and the teams at Scotia and Phantom Power Films for your inaugural show.

Especially liking your bgm sounds from the Govanhill Baths, Sound Acoustics…

Even a wee bit Sigur Ros’sy at some points if aye may say so indeed.

Jumping into puddles (for ages 3 to 100):

Et guess where the excellent band are from 😉

10. Cactus says:

Hi Ann Rayner, I agree with you with regards to subtitling, it would be good to have as an additional standard feature.

If I’m watching a dvd, I always put on the subtitles, it focuses you on the movie, world cinema subtitles are good too x.

11. Graeme J McAllan says:

Brilliant stuff – best of luck, hope to see more 😉

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,949 Posts, 1,246,693 Comments

• Captain Caveman on It just takes a beat: “Sore head and happy heart. Semi finals is better than I thought England would do. 🙂 Bring on the Argentinians!Jul 12, 09:18
    • Hatey McHateface on It just takes a beat: “So quiet here this morning. Almost as if the faithful all stayed up late to watch the England game!Jul 12, 09:01
    • Ian Smith on It just takes a beat: “If someone had donated to the ring fenced fund at the same time as buying bitcoin or Nvidia shares, could…Jul 11, 23:58
    • Hatey McHateface on It just takes a beat: “Good post, Northy. Don’t take yourself off to Alpha Centauri just yet.Jul 11, 21:18
    • Hatey McHateface on It just takes a beat: “It’s worth observing that the regular moon howlers don’t think so. You’ll never hear a peep of criticism aimed at…Jul 11, 21:10
    • Bilbo on It just takes a beat: “Demonstrations in a number of deprived areas in Glasgow this week. MSM says it involves men who committed alleged sex…Jul 11, 20:42
    • Alf Baird on It just takes a beat: ““Not even liberation.scot can fill the gap if the SNP disappears.” Lorncal, I suspect most of Liberation Scotland’s 20,000 members…Jul 11, 20:17
    • Aidan on It just takes a beat: “You are absolutely disgustingJul 11, 20:09
    • Confused on It just takes a beat: “widdecombe? – I think farage done it. He was round at her house, telling gas chamber jokes, having a rare…Jul 11, 19:54
    • James Barr Gardner on It just takes a beat: “You’ve hit the nail on the head with your comment, some of these cultists have threatened violence against those who…Jul 11, 18:38
    • Lorncal on It just takes a beat: “Alf: you illustrate my point well. I agree that a massive civic political movement for independence would be preferred, perhaps,…Jul 11, 17:43
    • twathater on It just takes a beat: “Stuart Campbell would certainly have earned that ACCOLADE ,yet there are still moronic snp apologists and sycophants over t’Internet ACCUSING…Jul 11, 17:00
    • Aidan on It just takes a beat: “You’re boring everyone Alf.Jul 11, 16:53
    • Alf Baird on It just takes a beat: “The point both you and Andy, and the Rev and others miss, Lorncal, is that we do not need another…Jul 11, 15:50
    • Young Lochinvar on It just takes a beat: “Rev Further to your interview with Martin Geisler is there any sign of John Swinney having taken up residence in…Jul 11, 15:43
    • Lorncal on It just takes a beat: “Andy: I agree with the Rev’s logic and your comment, but, again, what is going to replace the SNP? The…Jul 11, 14:35
    • Luigi on It just takes a beat: “The second photo of Honest John is hilarious. He looks like the tin man in the Wizard of Oz.Jul 11, 13:29
    • robertkknight on It just takes a beat: “Today’s The National front page… SNP OFFER TO REFUND ‘INDYREF’ DONATIONS Concession despite ‘no evidence of fraud ‘ finding Whose…Jul 11, 13:23
    • TURABDIN on It just takes a beat: “more on same meme. WE GOT RHYTHM…..or you’s the bass. https://theconversation.com/racial-stereotypes-of-african-footballers-persist-a-world-cup-is-a-good-time-to-talk-about-them-286673Jul 11, 13:04
    • TURABDIN on It just takes a beat: “TALKING ABOUT «MONEY» QUOTE they dream of «corporate monarchies ruled by ceo kings» https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/cly8eqyj8e2o representative national government is necessary, democratic…Jul 11, 12:40
    • James Barr Gardner on The Only Notes That Really Count: “If you paid by bank transfer and your address and bank details have not changed then the SNP should be…Jul 11, 12:07
    • shug on It just takes a beat: “When the civil case approaches the only deal you should consider is Name the Alphabeties Lady Dorian out Swinney and…Jul 11, 11:31
    • Knuckle_Heid on It just takes a beat: “Wow, look at all those press articles! And not one of them would be there if WoS hadn’t doggedly pursued…Jul 11, 10:25
    • Bilbo on It just takes a beat: “Politicians get photographed in positions under lighting where when photographed, they appear to have a halo above them. When John…Jul 11, 08:54
    • Northcode on It just takes a beat: “I would, if I had the means, chase down the ragged, walking dead corpse of the SNP and at last…Jul 11, 07:34
    • Captain Caveman on The Only Notes That Really Count: “🙂 He’s a 60kg working lines Rottweiler male (our 7th of this magnificent breed). However, his aggression dial is turned…Jul 11, 07:32
    • twathater on It just takes a beat: “That pathetic response from polis Scotland only serves to show just how ill served The Scottish public is with the…Jul 11, 03:14
    • Frazerio on It just takes a beat: “The simplest way of putting it is: There is a cover up going on. Simple question. The big question. Why?…Jul 11, 02:53
    • James Barr Gardner on The Only Notes That Really Count: “Wee Peem gas offered to repay, meantime he is in the gaol.Jul 10, 22:45
    • Tartan Tory on It just takes a beat: “I certainly had and kept records, but after seven years it goes in the bin! By contrast, I recently cleared…Jul 10, 22:43