2. 13 12 19 00:01

And now we wait - Spotile

570 to “And now we wait”

1. john dickson

I guess it means watching this election is like watching paint dry?

2. Robert Louis

Gonna watch it all. Just to see what happens..I mean their is a twist near the end, isn’t there??

3. Grendel

That’s stuck in ma heid! Bastard!

4. Ian Brotherhood

Good luck to all Wingers – keep the heid, take naps, and hydrate frequently.

5. sassenach

Rev, you need help!

6. Dan

It’s dark, cold and wet and I’m in the middle of nowhere with nobody to be seen.
    What a hellish time to have an erection…

7. sydthesnake

Spoiler alert, I think he’s making Bacon Pancakes, X marked the spot at 07.01 this morning, good luck all

8. HYUFD

New Survation final Scotland only poll

SNP 43%
    Tories 28%
    Labour 20%
    LDs 7%
    https://twitter.com/BallotBoxScot/status/1205011532511371264?s=20

9. X_Sticks

If only this was the end, but it’s only the beginning of the end.

If you can possibly overcome your ennui get out and help your local SNP (or anti-tory in some cases) candidate to win then do it. It’s easy to just sit back and think “what difference will I make?” You will make a difference.

I’ll be out today doing the best I can for the outcome I want. If we all did that we’d smash it.

10. Macart

@X_Sticks

Nailed it. 🙂

11. Terry callachan

Grendel…7.26am…me too

Dan 7.46am…perhaps it’s a sign of good things to come

12. Breeks

While we’re all waiting…

If you want to use time constructively, I heartily recommend you Google Duolingo Gaelic, and teach yourself some Gaelic…

13. John Jones

OK been there done it, now getting ready to go up to the Indyref2 hub to do my shift.
    Indyref2cdd shop

14. John Jones

Correction should have been yes2cdd

15. Dorothy Devine

Can anyone tell me why we have been ‘entertained’ on the news with jolly videos of Johnson in Primary schools , hospitals that didn’t know he was coming , delivering milk and making pies while avoiding all scrutiny by any serious journalism , if indeed ‘serious journalism ‘ still exists?

And why a big oooh! was given to the Shadow Health secretary saying ‘we are gubbed ‘ to his erstwhile pal’s recording of his thoughts passed on to the media while the media worked desperately hard to mitigate Johnson’s reaction to a small child with suspected pneumonia ? Not to mention the same media desperately trying for an ‘assault on a Tory story’?

16. dakk

Daughter up at 7 looked out window and seen woman with red coat(Labour?) on own outside polling station. Quickly threw on clothes and grabbed leaflets to help out before uni. Will go back at 7 tonight.

I’m on way to vote now as working late tonight and might not get out in time to vote. It’s Christmas.

Good luck and heartfelt thanks to all those working to help fight the curse of british nationalist colonialism in Scotland.

Vote SNP the only Scottish party and the only ones who care about Scotland.

17. Bob Mack

@Dan,

Politcs never, ever ,got me that excited.

18. Scot Finlayson

@HYUFD,

as a moral,compassionate human being do you really want `this` Tory Gov to be in charge of UK for next 5 years,

any true Conservative would be fighting to clear their party of such self serving incompetent bufoons,

either that or you are one also.

19. ScottieDog

Tories on 28pc.
    With state media backing. Beginning of the end for them.

I’ll NOT be voting SNP today.

I’ll be voting for Neale Hanvey

20. manandboy

This General Election is to Democracy what magic is to the entertainment industry.

So let’s talk about something a little more real – like ‘inclusivity’ as proclaimed in Scottish Government circles.

The Scottish Conservatives are English and Colonial, and hostile to Scotland’s population having any effective democratic or constitutional rights.

The Scottish Labour Party is equally English and Colonial, and is equally hostile to Scotland’s population having any effective democratic or constitutional rights.

The LibDems are English and Colonial, and similarly hostile to Scotland’s population having any effective democratic or constitutional rights.

We needn’t refer to the Orange Order and their associated groups of assorted Loyalists.

But, because of the dogma of ‘Inclusivity’, a foundational belief of the Scottish National Party & Government, these three Colonialist parties are to be wholly welcomed in Scotland, even though their sole aim is to do their utmost to keep Scotland shackled under Westminster Rule.

Time to have a review of ‘Inclusivity’, as roughly half of Scottish voters will be voting for these three English parties today.

21. Iain mhor

Needed to start today with a laugh – typo or not, that was worth it.
    Cheers @Dan !

22. Dan

Getting reports from a local polling station of several burlesque blokes performing an intimidating song and dance towards anyone not voting Tory…

#tweetlikeruthdavidson

23. stonefree

The clip reminds me of the Johnny Castaway screen saver

24. Graf Midgehunter

Dear God,

As an atheist I’m probably not one of your biggest fans, but, nevertheless could I ask you for a small favour.
    My sister BTW reckons you’re the bees-knees so maybe that could help as well.

You specialise in mysterious ways so could you please cast one of them and wave your magic wand over all the Scots today to guide their hand when voting.

On the voting paper there are SNP candidates and the nice Mr. Hanvey. They all need a small cross in the little box next to them.

You and your son know a lot about crosses so I reckon you could help with this guiding thing.

We don’t have much time so I’ll let you go to, hopefully, get on with your wand waving.

Cheers

Ayemer Sinna

25. Boudicca

On the Guardian live page there are loads of photos of voters in England queuing to vote, long queues outside polling stations. Never seen pics like this before except in places like South Africa. Anyone seen any pics from Scotland? Also a bit on how the French newspapers are reporting the election – blistering.

26. Famous15

?”All I want for Christmas is seeing Ruth Davidson skinny dipping in Loch Ness. Yeeeeees” *

*Roofie said she would do so if SNP did something baaaaad.

27. Dan

BBC News patching through for an update from Laura Kuennssberg inside a ballot box in a previously held Labour constituency.

BBC – “Hi Laura, can you hear us?”
    LK – “Burp! Boris, I love and would do anything for you but this paper tastes shit!”
    BBC – “Hello Laura you’re live and on air”
    LK – “Oh! Sorry, yes, I’m inside the ballot box and even with the polls only having been open for 3 hours the Conservatives already have eleventy squillion million bazillion votes which is 300% more than there are registered voters in this constituency, compared to just one half eaten vote for Labour, which is obviously bad for Corbyn…”
    BBC – “Thanks for that”
    LK – “No problem”
    Still live mic…
    LK – “Right, has anybody got any fuckin sauce or condiments to put on this bastardin Labour vote so I can finish the fucker off. Burp!”

28. HYUFD

Scott Finlayson I have just finished telling for the Tories and bow knocking up.

ScottieDog 28% for the Tories in Scotland barely unchanged from their fantastic 2017 share, the Tories still going strong in Scotland and heading for their second best result in Scotland in 3 decades

29. highseastim

All my family, friends and work mates are voting for Laura Mitchell to oust Douglas Ross in Moray. C’mon Laura you can do it, odds against with the bookies yesterday morning, now 5/6 joint with Ross, hopefully the tide has turned

30. ScottieDog

HYUFD

28pc WITH the propaganda machine on your side.

31. ScottieDog

28 pc – going strong.

Cuckoo

32. Bob Mack

Going go vote tonight with family. I have at least managed to convince them (my girls) that the SNP will look after their rights, so i hope they dont let me down.

Thats five votes for SNP.

33. ScottieDog

@Scot Finlayson
    I think the FUD is just winding you up.

The neoliberal machine is starting to stutter. It’s only a matter of time. I’m seeing it in my own family where my old dad didn’t vote for the tories for the first time in his life.

34. Abulhaq

Do I hear the rattle of the tumbrels taking unionism to its merited and just reward?
    I sincerely hope so.

35. Colin Alexander

Famous15

If the people of Scotland elect 50 or more SNP MPs then there’s gonnae be more reports of a monster sighted in Loch Ness:

Rape clause Roothie.

36. admiral

Dorothy Devine says:
    12 December, 2019 at 8:45 am
    Can anyone tell me why we have been ‘entertained’ on the news with jolly videos of Johnson in Primary schools , hospitals that didn’t know he was coming , delivering milk and making pies while avoiding all scrutiny by any serious journalism

Maybe he wants a job as a Blue Peter presenter? 🙂

37. misteralz

It’s been a while since I saw the original version of Bacon Pancakes. The mash up with Empire State of Mind is fantastic, and worth looking out. I’d link to it, but I know that never works here.

38. Capella

Voters in a Motherwell constituency are being redirected to the Primary School because a suspicious device has been found in the building where the polling station is situated.

Marion Fellows is the SNP candidate there defending a small majority of 318 votes.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/election-2019-50755464

This is also where the QEUH is situated and a relentless BBC Scotland campaign may well have boosted the Labour candidate.

Meanwhile, supporters of Lesley Laird (Labour) are telling voters in Kirkcaldy that a vote for Neale Hanvey won’t count because they will have a spoilt ballot paper. Not true.

Meanwhile, in Perth and Kinross, voters are being told that they will need to take ID to the polling station in order to vote. Pete Wishart is countering this misinformation as best he can.

So many marginals where a few hundred votes might make a difference. This is where OSCE monitors would have been useful (as Craig Murray has pointed out).

39. HandandShrimp

HYUD

To be fair just 2 seats would be their second best result for decades.

However, yes the Tories have utterly avoided Brexit up here and everything has been pitched to a stop a second Indy vote. They have morphed into a Scottish version of the DUP. It is arguable that they are actually Tories any more. They are a Unionist party with little interest in Johnson.

Labour have lost their way and the Liberals have had a poor campaign. I’m Remain and I find their “just stop it” message odd. It would have to go to a second vote to stop it.

40. jeff

HYFUD is farting again….He’s worried….

41. Colin Alexander

If the people of Scotland elect 50 or more SNP MPs then there’s gonnae be more reports of a monster sighted in Loch Ness: Ruth Davidson – the archetypal Tory monster:

A woman who will sell out her nation to colonial servitude.
    Deny Scotland democracy.
    Put innocent weans into poverty.

Her only principle being: as long as I’m alright (Union) Jack.
    She’ll lie, abuse the postal votes, stir up sectarian hatred for advantage.

An opponent of Boris, then his no.1 supporter once he’s the leader.
    Anything as long as Ruthie is alright.

Sadly, she typifies the Tory candidates in Scotland nowadays.

So, get out there, vote; just stopping another Tory being elected is reason enough to vote.

Vote SNP.

42. Dr Jim

What they don’t seem to understand in England is there are almost no Tory voters in Scotland, what there are is anti SNP voters and Labour voters
    The Labour voters are generally older habitual family or location voters and the studenty young who vote Labour only do it because they want to feel part of a great new movement led by an elderly Santa man that’ll never happen, in other words a GranDad Fad
    The folk who vote Liberal Democrat are likely to be more Tory than the Tories, it’s just more palatable to pretend to be Lib Dem, ask the pensioners in East Dunbartonshire what the Liberal Democrats are for and the answer you’ll get back is to stop the SNP

You would think that the Greens would do better what with all this climate change and worry so why don’t they, in a word, or name, Patrick Harvie, if the Greens replaced him with a toaster they’d do better

43. Anon

No names, no constituency named here …but… my wife was accosted at our local station by Scottish Labour activists leafleting. All very jovial. She said: “I’m torn: I want independence, but I like your candidate”. Reply was: “We’re working on it”.

!!

44. Dunadd

Tories running a stop Nicola campaign at our polling station.(No mention of Boris).

Feel we should be reminding the older voters not to vote for the man who lied to the queen.

45. Meg merrilees

Been told second hand that some tory voters in Stirling have held their noses and admitted voting for the SNP because they dislike Kerr and Johnson so much.

Let’s hope more of them have such good taste.

46. mike cassidy

Don’t even have to hold my nose today.

A vote for Neale Hanvey

With the additional pleasure of one in the (fill in missing word) to transactivists everywhere

47. Republicofscotland

I hope the SNP do very well today, however as Sinn Fein’s Mary Lou McDonald said, Westminster is not the forum in which Irish interests have been served.

That applies to Scots as well, hopefully a good showing for the SNP wil be a springboard to independence, sooner than later.

48. K1

All that firepower aimed an NS and it turns out Swinson is the one who will die on ‘that’ hill…so much for it will all be about gender ID ‘after’ the election, when it’s clearly not been the case at all and Swinson and Libdems is/are the one/s who has/have been put on the firing line, not the essempee…I mean, gie me a fiver on some spurious fucking bet somewhere lost in the caves on the internet that said ‘that’ was gonnae happen?

Nah…didn’t think so.

49. Republicofscotland

I agree with the leader of Plaid Cymru Adam Price, that lying politicians should face criminal charges.

https://www.thenational.scot/news/18095434.adam-price-politicians-caught-lying-pay-legal-price/

50. McBoxheid

The Scotsman and Edinurgh News headlie with Ice Warnings for Scotland

ffs they couldn’t be more blatant in their attempts to get voters to stay at home. I wonder if they’ve been roond the auld folk’s homes and ‘helped’ them wi’ their postal votes?

51. Liz g

K1 @ 12.14
    I don’t know so much K1…. The jungle drums I’m hearing is ” the gloves are coming off after the election “.

52. mumsyhugs

Dan @ 7.46

You do know that, according to Jeremy Corbyn, that’s a once in a generation event? 🙂

53. Confused

some comedians have been telling englanders if

YOU REALLY WANT A HARD BREXIT

– put an X for the tories

AND

– put an X for the Brexit Party as well

chortle.

remember your hate and keep it pure today

54. Republicofscotland

Evolvepolitics reports Laura Kuenssberg to the police after postal votes incident.

https://evolvepolitics.com/bbcs-laura-kuenssberg-accused-of-breaking-electoral-law-after-revealing-confidential-postal-vote-information/

55. Breeks

Unionists now talking about blocking democracy in Scotland, no referendums for Scotland without permission, and 50% or even 60% threshold with the option of a confirmatory referendum after…

And to think Scotland’s Sovereignty remains locked away, the great unmentionable, because there might not be a positive majority for it, even though it’s an absolute legal status irrespective of ephemeral popularity.

Even the Chagos islanders know more about Sovereignty than we do.

56. mumsyhugs

Saw 3 obviously new baby voters clutching their voting cards heading in to the Town Hall – hope they’re upholding the trend of the young folks voting SNP!!

Then a very old wee wife trundling along to vote – with a lovely SNP badge proudly displayed on her coat!! Exchanged big thumbs up and a smile 🙂

C’mon Laura Mitchell – boot Douglas Ross out!!!

57. Daisy Walker

Right then, a bit of rules and regs for all you Yessers.

At the Polling Station – electoral posters should only have on them, the name of the candidate and the Party they represent.

That’s it, that’s the law. And the posters should not be attached to the fencing etc.

It is an Offence under the Polling Stations (Regulation) Bill to campaign in prescribed areas around polling stations on the day of elections.

A Prescribed area is in a 250 metre from the main entrance of the polling station.

Campaign Activity means – the promotion or distribution of any literature associated with election candidates, political parties or associated organisations.

So, if, at your polling station – candidates are displaying posters with bar charts on and literature promoting tactical voting etc – this is an offence under terms of

S1, 2a of the Polling Stations (Regulation) Bill – the act extends to England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

If the above is going on at your Polling Station the people to make a Formal complaint to are the person in charge of the Polling Station and the Police (101).

And if your not sure, please take a photo of the offending poster (and its distance from the polling booth) and report it later.

The above is a criminal offence, not civil. So, Police reporting is appropriate.

58. Capella

@ Daisy Walker – thx Daisy – very concise. Another offence to add to the long list.

59. Confused

– more voting rules

voting tory is haram if youre a muslamic

you get an extra vote for each degree you have, and for handsome-ness

you can help out your neighbours by going back in and voting for them as well; they will appreciate it

if you spoil your ballot paper, the standard way is to draw a big massive cock BUT the rules are it MUST have jizz spurting out of it – if you omit this, then the spoilage might be counted as a vote for the tories

for the younglings – you CANNOT vote by twitter (and numbers of likes and retweets does not decide the winner) – you have to actually get out of the house and do it IRL

60. Capella

A vote for the SNP in this election, therefore,
    is a vote to endorse the following position:
    • the people of Scotland have the right to
    choose their own future in a new referendum
    on becoming an independent country,
    • it must be for the Scottish Parliament
    not Westminster to decide when an
    independence referendum should be held –
    and the SNP intends that it will be in 2020.

page 10 of the SNP manifesto.

https://tinyurl.com/wpae39p

61. Terry callachan

HYFUD.,,I don’t think the Tory vote is on the up in Scotland
    There will be some tactical voting
    Labour folks voting against SNP could vote Tory or Lib Dem but there won’t be many

Then there’s the Tory who doesn’t like BJ and doesn’t like SNP so they might vote labour or Lib Dem but there won’t be many

Tories and labour tactical vote will swap places and even out but overall so many labour votes have switched to SNP

I see SNP seats increase
    Labour seats decrease
    Lib Dem seats stay the same
    Tory seats decrease

62. Dr Jim

Radio Scotland with John Beattie and I think Tam Cowan but it might have been Stuart Cosgrove I can never tell the difference, and Tam or Stuart says (paraphrasing) Can we compare the Aun Saan Suu Kyi situation with Scotland where Aun Saan put the people first and was a heroine but now she wears a different set of clothes she puts her country first at all costs defending everything that’s wrong, more blood and soil,
    The inference being, well you know what the inference is

My paraphrasing is as near as I remember to what he said, I’d be greatful to anyone if they managed to record it or heard what I just thought I did

63. Capella

Excellent Craig Murray article on media bias. He reports on seats in England where the swing away from Tory is massive but is ignored by the BBC. The media spend all their energy on endless vox pops in the constituencies where there is a small swing away from Labour because of “Get Brexit Done”. The BBC and print media are pushing an entirely false and misleading narrative.

https://www.craigmurray.org.uk/archives/2019/12/the-largest-vote-swings-in-british-general-election-history-censored-out-by-the-bbc-and-mainstream-media/

Add to the long list of crimes against democracy perpetrated by the British Establishment.

64. Capella

@ Dr Jim – only half listening because reading WoS comments! It was Stuart Cosgrove commenting and he said that he sometimes finds himself doing “my country right or wrong” and has to be careful because that can lead to blood and soil nationalism – a bad thing.
    Stuart is one of the good guys IMO.

65. IZZIE

Done a shift at polling station twice Labour voters have said they are voting for SNP. Turnout is high in Angus

66. crazycat

@ Capella at 11.30

This is also where the QEUH is situated and a relentless BBC Scotland campaign may well have boosted the Labour candidate.

Your post reads as if “this” = Motherwell. The QEUH is nowhere near Motherwell – it is in Shieldhall, which is in Glasgow South West – certainly a very marginal constituency (Chris Stephens) and a top Labour target.

Motherwell is east of Glasgow – there’s a university hospital in Wishaw, which is also part of Marion Fellows’ constituency. Possibly that’s where the confusion arose in your source for this information.

67. Republicofscotland

In Glasgow’s sunny Govan for a bit, saw Labour canvassers carrying Labour literature emerge from a street. They piled into a transit van mostly English accents from what I could tell, as they headed off.

68. Meg merrilees

Daisy – Have voted but I’m off out for some fun now. The Tories here have their ‘only a vote for Stephen Kerr can beat the SNP leaflet ‘ complete with bar chart outside the polling station here – and I’ll bet throughout Stirlingshire – hopefully that is about to change.

big, smiley grin…..

69. Dr Jim

When I was going out to vote this morning one of my neighbours, a Labour man told me he wasn’t going to vote because Labour couldn’t win, I said well come and vote for my lot then, he replied “Nah if Labour cannae win ahm no votin”

There’s a definite problem when people just switch off altogether, and it plays right into the hands of Westminster Tories every time folk have this defeatist attitude, then they complain when they get Tories, and who do they complain about, the SNP for not doing something about it, even though they won’t vote for them but can’t bring themselves to vote against the Tories

I’ve never got to grips with this mentality of not doing something then moaning about the result of not doing something

It’s like slowly dying of helpless disappointment and losing the will to live

70. K1

No doubt Liz, the point being all over the SNP on that issue not a fucking predicting peep about libdem position as if the SNP are the only party caught up in this mess, that’s my point.

And all during the lead up to this election campaign: SNP fucked.

Aye right.

71. Juteman

Thank fuck today has arrived.
    Hopefully this is the end of the Revs articles designed to suppress the SNP vote.

72. lothian lad

7 hours to go and I havent voted yet. Really struggling to bring myself to vote SNP. As a life long snp voter member and activist, Im really struggling to vote for the candidate.

The stop brexit part is also something I didnt sign up for.
    REV is 100% correct.
    The day I stop voting SNP means things have changed drastically. cant wait fir the wings party.

73. robertknight

Depressing that 28% of voters intend to vote Tory. At this point, a long list of expletives should appear but frankly, I can’t be arsed…

74. Defo

Designed? That’s a bit much.
    Timing questionable?, maybe aye.
    The Message still needs outing though.

75. McBoxheid

I can’t vote today as I live in Germany, but the best of luck to the SNP. I even baked some SNP sign biscuits while we wait…

76. admiral

Daisy – Have voted but I’m off out for some fun now. The Tories here have their ‘only a vote for Stephen Kerr can beat the SNP leaflet ‘ complete with bar chart outside the polling station here

Is that not illegal? I thought you could only have a candidate’s name and party, no campaigning material at all. Get a photo and send to the Electoral Commission.

77. AndyMcKangry

Spot on Juteman.
    Turned right off for the last few weeks here. Thinking carefully about my £25 donation for next year.

78. Capella

@ crazycat – thx for the correction. Yes I expect the Uni Hospitals are being confused. I have little grasp about the Glasgow and district constituencies living as I do in these high pastures. Apos.

79. Defo

Andy
    I fear there won’t be a next year …

Craig Murray deserves a helping hand

80. kapelmeister

“Make Scotland Tory Free” says the front page of the Daily Record.

There was that other DR front page which bore a vow from Tory David Cameron to vote No. If the paper had instead said Vote Yes back then we would be Boris Johnson free. In an independent Scotland with a plurality of political parties, none of them controlled from London.

Vote SNP to help make Scotland Johnson free, Corbyn free and Swinson free.

81. John

What is going on out there ? , devices being made safe , people able to get a hand in ballot boxes that no one is overseeing , registers going missing so people can’t vote in Deirdre Brock’s constituency, are the dark forces at work again ! .

82. John Higgins

A friend living in Scotland has had a Tory leaflet put through her door today, apparently meant for English people.
    “If you vote Labour Scottish people will be allowed a say in running the country. Act now to keep them out”.

83. Effijy

Vote for any Westminster Party, or don’t vote and Ensure you have a Serial Liar and Adulterer as Prime Minister.

A man you physically restrained his latest lover in her own property forcing her to shout Let Go and Leave my house in hope of help arriving via the neighbours.

Boris has penned his hate of Scots as he would eliminate us and always invest in England before Scotland.

A man in a party that insults or ignores Scotland at every opportunity.

By not voting SNP you are asking for more Food Banks, Period Poverty in England, Corruption payments to the DUP in Billions,
    Money Laundering and Tax avoidance for the richest and the NHS
    Privatised with the help of Trump.

He know he was lying with his £350 Million per week on the Brexit
    bus but life it just a game against stupid commoners when your are a filthy rich Eton boy!

84. Sarah

@admiral: yes it is illegal and that is why meg is off out to deal with it, following Daisy Walker’s information at 12.52!

We will no doubt hear from the BBC that Tories charged by police for electoral crime in Stirling!

85. boris

North Lanarkshire Labour/Tory Alliance Council forced to pay pension costs of hundreds of women it underpaid

And, not to be outdone the North Lanarkshire Labour/Tory Council set about screwing their female staff out of their pensions.

Yet again the Unions and the labour party were complicit in heinous acts against women employees.

As events unfolded it became evident that the Labour/Tory Alliance run Council would incur a £1million bill after systematically ducking its pension responsibilities to hundreds of female staff it previously tried to squeeze out of equal pay.

https://caltonjock.com/2019/12/12/in-the-minds-of-the-labour-party-in-scotland-women-count-for-nowt-women-would-be-well-advised-to-remember-these-events-before-voting/

86. Blair Paterson

Terry Callachan I agree with you about in comers should not be allowed to vote on the future of Scotland it is on the record that 80per cent of them voted no in the last ref.,thus swinging the vote to no but I notice when people like you and me want to close any loopholes that caused us to lose the last tlme some on here cannot wait to condem us and vilifie us surely if they want a yes result they should be agreeing with us it, makes you wonder ??? It is the same when Stu brings up valid points about the SNP he is critised for having the nerve to ask questions about the SNP actions or lack of them To go back to Incomers it is all very well pointing out the odd 3 or 4 who voted or will vote yes but as I said 80 per cent voted no and the true fact is it is not their COUNTRY

87. dakk

Odds are drifting a bit on Tory majority.

Was 4/11 now out to 4/9.

88. crazycat

@ Capella at 3.24

And I know very little about your part of the world, despite its being my ancestral homeland (or thereabouts).

Posting information is less contentious than posting opinion, so I appreciate the opportunity to do so.

89. Terry callachan

Mcboxheid…3.11pm

You say you can’t vote today because you live in Germany ?
    I hope you know that in a GE election you can vote if you have at some point in the last 15 yrs lived in U.K.
    next time you are here register to vote it gives you 15 yrs
    Hopefully you won’t need it I expect us to be independent long before that

The guardian newspaper tells a story of a man who lives in Amsterdam who did not get his postal vote forms delivered to him in Amsterdam in time so he flew to London this morning to vote in Richmond Surrey where’s the Tory mp only has a majority of 45
    I think it’s scandalous that people who don’t even live here can vote in a GE

90. Bobp

Blair Paterson 4.49pm. Cant argue with those cold hard facts.

91. Sarah

@Blair Paterson: where is the evidence of 80% non-Scots born voted No? In my Yes group about 80% are non-Scots, certainly of the activists.

As you well know, it is the ProudScotsButs who let us down. We only needed about 190,000 more to vote Yes – Glasgow’s turnout was 10% lower than the average so that would have produced 60,000 more Yes. So we are looking at 130,000 folk – perhaps those who were told their pension would stop next day if they voted Yes?

92. wullie

If UK expats who do not have a residence here are allowed to vote. Where do their votes go. To what constituency.

93. Joe

My head says its wrong to say it. But my heart says- if you voted no in last indy ref ‘becuz muh EU’ and your voting SNP now ‘becuz muh EU’ Gonnae jist fuck off to Germany or something?

94. admiral

Joe says:
    12 December, 2019 at 5:06 pm
    My head says its wrong to say it. But my heart says- if you voted no in last indy ref ‘becuz muh EU’ and your voting SNP now ‘becuz muh EU’ Gonnae jist fuck off to Germany or something?

Joe – people were lied to. I’ve got no probs with those who have come on a journey to realising that independence is better.

95. admiral

wullie says:
    12 December, 2019 at 5:05 pm
    If UK expats who do not have a residence here are allowed to vote. Where do their votes go. To what constituency.

AFAIK, it’s the last constituency you lived in before you left.

96. Terry callachan

Blair Patterson 4.49pm…
    What surprises me is that there was not a whimper when england decided that EU citizens would not be allowed a vote in the EU brexit referendum
    Didn’t hear any blood and soil accusations then
    There were no cries from the usual people saying we must let the EU citizens vote because they are such nice people and have joined the local community council or school board oh no it was silence nothing

And it was england that decided that EU citizens should not get a vote on brexit ..they have more MPs than the rest of us added together

I think England decided to exclude EU citizens from the EU brexit referendum because they knew nearly all of them would have voted remain

well of course they would vote remain its to their advantage they have the EU courts looking out for their rights but that will disappear if BJ wins today

It’s just like the English people living in Scotland who have the advantage of knowing that England’s Westminster is looking out for English interests of course English people in Scotland are going to vote for continued control of Scotland by England

I’m sure the people who call themselves English Scots for yes are all very nice and well meaning but there is no such thing as an English Scot you are one or the other

I’ve lived in many countries and have had friends call me an honorary German or an Arab etc etc but it’s all just banter , friendly gesture, reality is what’s on paper , the legality.

My stance is that I would never have voted in an English independence referendum or an Irish independence referendum or an independence referendum in any of the other countries I lived in and that’s because I’m Scottish , I believe I only have thee right to vote on Scottish independence no other countries independence and even then I only have the right to vote on Scottish independence if I’m actually still living in Scotland.

My sister has lived in Canada many years she doesn’t expect a vote on Scottish independence

97. crazycat

@ Terry callachan at 4.58

The guardian newspaper tells a story of a man who lives in Amsterdam who did not get his postal vote forms delivered to him in Amsterdam in time so he flew to London this morning to vote in Richmond Surrey…

He might be disappointed; if it was the application form that didn’t arrive, he will be able to vote in person. If it was the actual ballot, he’d have to try to get another one from the Electoral Registration Office before 5pm today.

Otherwise, postal voters are identified on the register and not allowed to vote in person, though postal ballots can be handed in to polling stations. People who have appointed proxies can still vote themselves, provided they get to the polling station before the proxy does.

98. Dorothy Devine

Admiral , the Blue Peter presenters are courageous – you just have to look at the antics that John Noakes undertook , cleaning Nelson’s column sticks in my mind.

Johnson would be incapable of giving clear instructions on sticky backed plastic never mind shinning up a statue. He would be considered extremely sub standard dross and unemployable.

99. crazycat

What I’ve said above has relevance to Jackson Carlaw, who seems (https://twitter.com/KAlmsivi/status/1205171237560958980) to have voted twice.

Either he has a postal vote and was going into the Polling Place today as a polling agent, or he really voted today and the envelope he put in the pillar box contained someone else’s vote (or not a vote at all, of course).

Regardless, he is clearly so stupid he doesn’t think (or care) that anyone will notice.

100. Bobp

Terry callachan 5.22pm my thoughts exactly. But we’ll know in the early hours of tomorrow morning whether we are ‘Scotland the brave’ or Scotland the slave.

101. Terry callachan

Crazy at 5.32..
    He managed to vote the polling staff at the polling place initially said they don’t have access to overseas voter registration records but then a phone call to head office and they found the mans registration details and allowed him to vote in Richmond when he showed ID , they did not let him do a proxy vote for his wife who did not travel from home in Amsterdam to Richmond today with him they s said it was too late for him to be nominated as her proxy it has to be done several days in advance

102. maureen

The election’s upon us, our Nation is stirring
    by the end of the vote, hope the queens nae purrin
    We’ve played nice we’ve played fair, never gamin the system
    and our reward by Westminster, constantly pissed on.

It’s time to put our people first, without hesitation
    one person one vote, complete defenestration
    Of torys, labour & libdems, prolific liers
    For solid proof just check out their fliers

Been out to vote, I’ve done my bit
    Put my cross in the box, only one party fit
    SNP, no other choice
    No other party will give me a voice

I didn’t vote just for me, but for my kids
    A vote for their future, free of Johnsons fibs
    A man who makes mockery of the highest office
    No respect, amoral and offensively lawless

How did we come to be in this mess
    three elections in five, gie it a rest!
    If Westminster can’t do it’s job
    It’s time to call it & let us go

103. AndyMcKangry

Defo @3.31pm
    Think you’re right
    and Murray’s stuff is excellent!!

104. Old Pete

Loads of voters in Prestwick, vast majority seem SNP supporters. Philippa is a fantastic candidate, if she doesn’t get returned I’ll eat my hat.

105. crazycat

@ Terry callachan at 5.46

Yes, the deadline for non-emergency proxies was some time ago. The criteria for what is an emergency are pretty onerous too.

106. dakk

Tory majority now 8/15.

Something is stirring.

107. Joe

@ admiral

Yup. Its not a thought process to be massively proud of. But its bounced about my brain a few times today it has to be admitted

108. Dan

Yey, the sun rose as the erection subsided! Bloody typos lol
    Nice dry day if a little cold, no excuses for folk not to get out and vote.
    Spent afternoon ferrying folk to polling station. Two on duty cops were at the polling station at one point and they were aware of the issue with regards Conservative campaign material next to polling stations, which was the same at all 3 stations I’m keeping tabs on.

Today I accomplished something I’ve been trying for years.
    Two folk behind desk at polling station, one was new so process was slowed enough for me to see it properly.
    I hand my polling card to first person, they find me on their list of registered voters, score through my details to check me off as voted, they then call out my voter number, at this point the second person writes that number on a sheet next to the ballot paper number I am them given, the ballot paper is numbered and has a barcode.
    After an election it would be a piece of piss to identify who voted what if you had the ballot papers and the second list of short voter ID number as a key to link to ballot paper.

Postal votes also have 3 different barcodes on ballot paper, voter statement, and envelope A. These are all prepared in my area by Idox and sent out to each postal voter.
    So again fairly straight forward to identify what ballot paper came from what voter.

Good steady trickle of voters throughout the day and just finished calling up to check all friends and aquaintences have voted, replies all saying yes.
    Off out again now for another stint. Then collect up boards as polling stations close.
    Then home and we’ll just have to wait and see what transpires.

109. admiral

Dorothy Devine says:
    12 December, 2019 at 5:34 pm
    Admiral , the Blue Peter presenters are courageous – you just have to look at the antics that John Noakes undertook , cleaning Nelson’s column sticks in my mind.

Ha ha , Dorothy! You and me must be of a similar generation. I was thinking presenters for the Dumbvision TV generation!! 🙂

110. Iain mhor

Right that’s their ‘Brexit election’; so they can forget that and move on to their next campaigning. It had better be all Indy & Scotland for the forseeable, or the SNP will hear all about it. Ah ken whaur they bide.

111. crazycat

@ Dan

Although it’s clearly open to abuse, the ability to link ballot paper and voter is necessary in cases of personation; if when you went to vote, you’d been told you already had, there is a process (which must include some sort of verification of your identity, I assume) to deal with it. You would be given a new ballot (or should be), a different colour, and then at the count the fake would be identified and removed.

There are of course very few such incidents, which is why it was so opportunistic of the Tories to run pilots for compulsory voter ID recently.

With postal votes, when I was a counting agent in 2014, I watched council staff dealing with the postal votes that the Idox system rejected. Usually this was a simple difference – a middle initial on the application form but not on the voter statement, for instance. But sometimes members of the same household had put their votes in each other’s envelopes – especially if they had named their children after themselves. If they’d used the right ballot paper and just put it in the wrong envelope and the “twin” could be found and shown to have the same issue, all was well. If they’d used the wrong ballots, that was two invalid votes. That process requires the ability to identify specific ballots, too.

I have encountered people who refuse to register to vote because of this traceability, though.

112. Iain mhor

@Dan 6:17pm
    Aye the ‘Secret’ part of the ballot is just where you are in a booth and yer neebor canny see.
    There used to be matching tear-offs both coded (latterly barcoded)
    It’s been like that for decades (tho the obvious tear-offs I don’t see anymore) Always used to get ‘Thank you for voting X’ flyers thru the door, but that doesn’t happen now either.
    I think it was all a bit too obvious, so they stopped it.

113. Reluctant Nationalist

@Sarah

Bobp’s 80% claim seems a tad high, but Ailsa Henderson’s survey results, though questionable in relation to the male/female divide, left no doubt about the guffie intent; it stuck out like a sore thumb.

Obviously the result was just as much the fault of Scots, but you can’t just wipe away the absurdity of it all with some anecdote about your wee bunch of friends.

114. Terry callachan

I’m hopeful
    Almost confident that rhe
    SNP will increase their seats

115. Brian Doonthetoon

RE: John Noakes.

A wee video to remember, that comes in at less than 3 minutes…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IOAJYAe_O88

116. Bob Mack

Voted. 5 of us. All SNP.

117. Lothian lad

Ok… voted SNP in lothian. Had to wrestle with my conscience though. Careerists and stop brexit politicians have changed the party here.

Come on Rev, start the wings party. SNP has lost its way

118. ahundredthidiot

6 of our votes in for the SNP,

my membership, however, will be decided tomorrow, NS needs to pull a big fat fucking white rabbit out of a miserable english gentlemens top hat…..

119. tartanfever

This is a brilliant resource. This lady, Christabel Cooper, a Labour type from London and a Data Analyst has made this free to use Constituency Map for the entire UK and more importantly, what time to expect results.

It’s available here:

https://public.tableau.com/profile/christabel.cooper#!/vizhome/Time_15760854433110/Timings

It also has predictions based on the You Gov MRP poll so you can see how things progress.

For the SNP, the first declarations she expects are around 1am from Rutherglen and Hamilton West (currently Labour but predicted to be an SNP gain) then from Kilmarnock and Loudon (predicted SNP hold).

Those first two seats might be a good indicator for the night ahead.

120. tartanfever

Following on around 2am we should get the result from Lanark and Hamilton West, the very closely contested Angela Crawley seat which You Gov has as an SNP hold of just 1%. Other pollsters have predicated a CON gain from SNP.

Maybe another good indicator of the night ahead.

121. TJenny

Voted for Tommy Sheppard,SNP, Edinburgh East. Polling station busy. People at all 3 tables. Usually, I’m the only one as another is leaving or entering. My ballot got a bit stuck and had to poke it into ballot box with my fingers. Previously I couid hear it hit the bottom. Said to the 2 behind the table that the box seemed full and they must have been busy. They replied they were and it had been a constant flow all day.

Went into Co-op after and asked young lassie serving me if she had voted. Said she had on way to work. I said I hope it was for SNP , she said yes, and all my friends are too.

Feel a bit buoyed up. So, fingers crossed folks. 🙂 Hopefully the young will get us there.

122. tartanfever

Also around 2am is the Angus vote. You Gov expect Kirstene Hair to lose her seat to the SNP and for the SNP to gain Midlothian.

123. tartanfever

T Jenny @ 8.45

Edinburgh East declaration expected at 5am – prediction is for a safe SNP hold.

124. tartanfever

Other expected timings for SNP results:

Joanna Cherry – 5 am – expected to hold.

Laura Mitchell – Moray – 3am (expected gain against CON Douglas Ross)

Stephen Flynn – Aberdeen South – 3am – CON hold but very tight, maybe SNP gain.

Kirsty Blackman – Aberdeen North – 3am – SNP hold.

125. TJenny

tartanfever – I’ll be staying up through the night for all the results as they come in. I expect twitter to be on fire

126. CM

9pm and still people queuing outside local polling station here on outskirts of Falkirk.

127. ahundredthidiot

tartanfever says ‘are we there yet?’

chamomile tea for you me thinks

128. Graeme

Lets hope this election puts an end to the Stop Brexit obsession of the SNP

England voted for Brexit let them get on with it, it not our job to save them from themselves.

I don’t remember any English parties standing up for Scotland when Theresa May binned Nicolas compromise proposals for Scotland to stay in the SM & CU

129. tartanfever

Other SNP seats to look out for:

Phillipa Whitford – Central Ayrshire – 4am – expected hold

Stewart Hosie – Dundee East – 2am – expected hold

Amy Callaghan – East Dunbartonshire – 3am – Swinson expected to hold, but could be tight

Alison Thewliss – Glasgow Central – 3am – expected hold

Stephen Gethins – NE Fife – 4 am – expected hold, but tight

John Nicholson – Ochil and S.Perthshire – 3am – Expected SNP gain, but tight.

Pete Wishart – Perth and N.Perthshire – 3 am – SNP hold but tight.

130. frogesque

Any ideas on time or feelings for Kirkcaldy & Cowdenbeath?

131. frogesque

Key/Cdbth Neal Hanvey Independent

132. crazycat

@ tartanfever

That website is brilliant! Unfortunately I’ve now got my hopes up for all sorts of places – so I hope it turns out at least as well as she’s charted.

133. tartanfever

Sorry, earlier on I said Angela Crawley was contesting Lanark and Hamilton West. It is of course Hamilton East.

Hamilton West and Rutherglen is expected to be an SNP gain for Margaret Ferrier.

Out of interest, Boris’s seat in Uxbridge expect to declare around 4am on the outside/unlikely chance that he gets booted

134. tartanfever

Kircaldy Cowdenbeath expected to declare around 3am with a Labour victory I’m afraid.

135. Jockanese Wind Talker

Just voted (rural Aberdeenshire)

Polling Office volunteers say 63% turnout today normally max is high 30s

Take up of postal vote is apparently 24% but told that doesn’t mean all 24% will be returned

Fingers crossed the incumbent Tory gets the boot.

136. tartanfever

So the first couple of hours could also be interesting for results. (11pm – 00.30am)

It’s the usual contest for the NE England constituencies having their race to see who can get their declaration quickest. They’re all Labour strongholds that may give an indicator of of a strong Brexit vote. If you see Labour wins getting down to 10% or so instead of the usual 15-30% then it may signal a tough night for them.

137. One_Scot

Ten minutes to go. Thank f***!

138. tartanfever

Alyn Smith in Stirling result expected at 3am with an SNP gain.

Jockanese – Aberdeenshire and West Kincardine is predicted to be the safest Tory seat in Scotland outside Mundell’s . Majority of 8,000 in 2017. result around 5am.

139. Dr Jim

We should have a time pool on who the first person to say *The SNP has had a disaster and Nicola Sturgeon’s ambitions are in tatters will she resign*

Somebody’ll say it

140. Meg merrilees

Overall turnout in Stirling is up by 6% we think; some areas recording 83% turnout for the ballot; average turnout is 72% or above and all stains have been busy all day.
    THeresa May was campaigning in Dunblane this morning….

Daisy – re the regulations concerning posters at polling stations:

This afternoon, I spoke with a couple of Polling station staff about the Tory poster, my local one removed the poster straight away; second one, came out, had a look and then said she would phone the election office for advice. Poster contains a bar graph and says ‘only a vote for Stephen Kerr can beat the SNP in Stirling + say no to Indy ref 2’ plus a bar chart. This is campaign material and is illegal.

The tories have put them all across Stirling; mentioned it to the local SNP office who took copies of my photos and will take it up with the Electoral Commission.

Went back to my local station about 9.30 tonight with a voter who needed transport and discovered that the Tory poster was back on display. When I asked the person in charge, she said she had phoned the electoral officer and described the poster + bar chart but was told that it was perfectly legal, so she put it back on display.

I don’t think the Electoral Officer understands the law.

Offence of campaigning within a prescribed area

(1)

It shall be an offence to engage in campaigning activity within a prescribed

area around a polling station on the day of a relevant election at any time

during the period in which the polling station is open.

(2)

In this Act, “campaigning activity” means—

(a)

the promotion or distribution of any literature associated with election

candidates, political parties or associated organisations;

Apparently it is a criminal offence if you do not comply.

Fingers crossed for a strong result tonight for the SNP

141. dakk

Just home from shit long day at work.

Hope the exit polls give a boost.

142. TJenny

Here we, here we, here we f*****g go.

143. Tam the Bam.

FEKIN’ WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

144. tartanfever

Meg – As I just posted, Stirling expected to go to SNP’s Alyn Smith with an 11% majority.

Remember, the Tory majority was only 148 last time out. They’re very vulnerable, so I’m not surprised to hear your tale. Result expected around 3am.

Ok, here’s the link to the website I’m using – it will keep you amused whilst waiting for results:

https://public.tableau.com/profile/christabel.cooper#!/vizhome/Time_15760854433110/Timings

Lastly, I posted last week that me and the family were not going to vote in protest at the gender situation after much discussion. Well, we talked some more over the following days and 3 out of the 4 of us decided to vote SNP and we did today. (Eldest daughter refused to vote which i thoroughly respect her for ) However, being in Mundell’s seat it won’t probably make much difference

145. dakk

Will take that from exit poll for starters.

Fuck the food.

Need a drink.

146. Mark Russell

The brickies in the borders will be busy if the exit polls bear out. We’ll need an immigration policy after all.

147. Lothian lad

So glad I voted SNP!!!!
    BBC crapping it again giving little air time to the dominance of the SNP in the exit poll.

Go Scotland! Onward to freedom!!!

148. tartanfever

Jesus, that’s some exit poll.

OK, those NE England Labour stronghold constituencies that declare first (Sunderland/Newcastle) could be very interesting. Brexit voting Nissan workers etc.

Results start from @ 11pm.

149. Grey Gull

Hope that exit poll is right. Cheerio Jo.

150. Mist001

Apologies if this has already been mentioned but if it has, it’s worth mentioning again because the Exit polls are putting the SNP on 55 seats!

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/politics/ruth-davidson-ill-go-skinny-dipping-loch-ness-if-snp-win-50-seats-1338019

151. mr thms

If the exit poll is correct it will result in one of two things Home Rule or independence. Mr Johnson will be the last PM of the UK

152. Al-Stuart

BBC Exot Poll….

Con: 368 + 50
    Lab: 191 -71
    SNP: 55 +20
    LibDem: 13. +1
    PC: 3 -1

Instant thought… oh 5hite and cr@p.

But as the old proverb goes, COULD BE BAD, COULD BE GOOD.

If this BBC exit poll is anywhere near accurate, the SNP have a MEGA-MANDATE to secure INDYREF2.

England and all those idiots in foodbanks at Kent saying they will vote for Boris “cos the papers say so” will get what they want. Dickensian England falling off of a Brexit Cliff.

I forecast that Scotland HAS a mandate for Independence. Boris the lying turdspeaker will say NO. The courts are 50/50 and it may take an international intervention to force the English parliament to let the Scottish nation have our democratic wish.

153. Welsh Sion

Same exit poll gives Plaid Cymru THREE seats (i.e. Minus 1 on last time).

Not smiling here – just waiting and hoping.

Thinking our Scottish cousins will have a better night of it.

154. hackalumpoff

Get your tickets for the New Loch Ness monster viewing here.

155. robertknight

So which Yoons held their seats here?

Fluffy, Swinson, Murray and ?

156. HYUFD

Great result for the Tories, Boris heading for biggest Tory majority since Thatcher and will be the most powerful Tory PM since Maggie. SNP doing better than expected on the exit poll but we will wait for the results, SNP still forecast to do fractionally worse than 2015 though, even despite the Brexit vote

157. Jockanese Wind Talker

I’m in Gordon Constituency @ tartanfever says at 9:52 pm

158. Simon Curran

mr thms
    That would be very good news indeed!

159. tartanfever

If these Exit Polls are right, then any Remainer in England, whatever political colour, owes the SNP a huge Thank You for trying to stop Brexit but more importantly, their complete unquestioned support for a new Indyref and support for Scottish Independence.

Those figures would just confirm that we are two countries on very separate paths.

160. Famous15

Exit poll be damned.I will be delighted if SNP get 39 seats.Ruth Davidson skinny dipping in Loch Ness will have to wait

BUT we will again see Tories deciding our future Scotland will rue that day in 2014when we chickened out.

161. Bob Mack

I hope and pray these polls are even remotely accurate.

Fabulous mandate for the SNP
    Ruthie to go au nathrale with Nesxie

Clear division of the UK

162. potter

Here we f….in go.

163. Defo

What’s the eta for Swinson getting her dues?

164. tartanfever

Jockanese – SNP gain predicted turning over the 2,000 Tory majority. Result around 5am.

165. gus1940

I hope this means ‘Hit The Road Jack’.

166. tartanfever

Defo – East Dunbartonshire result @ 3am

167. Ian Brotherhood

@roberknight (10.20) –

Alister Jack? Carmichael?

168. george wood

The exit poll obviously does not incude postal votes and it would reasonable to expect the Tories to do well in the postal votes (pensioners and the better off tend to use postal votes).

How reliable this poll may depend on how the exit pollsters have factored that into their calculations.

169. Dan

Phew! That was a shift, but I’m just back home now with fire lit, beer poured and pizza cooking.
    80 to 85% turnout at closing which if I understood correctly didn’t include postal votes at the three rural polling stations I was monitoring.

170. Bill McLean

Hyufd – go away you curmudgeon! What a drip you are! Your empire is finished; your people are going to suffer enormously – Boris will see to both of these! I live in England and feel for your people but how could they be so ill-informed or is it misinformed, to vote for the clown!

171. Glamaig

While 55 seats would be great – it would almost be worth only getting 49 in stead of 55 just to avoid the Ruth in Loch Ness scenario and accompanying publicity…

172. Boudicca

We need to crowdfund to buy a blindfold for Nessie ?

173. Jason Smoothpiece

Hope the exit poles for Scotland are accurate, nearly peed myself watching Dugdale on BBC ignoring the SNP predicted victory.

Fingers crossed guys.

174. Defo

Ta Tartan fever, a wee kip, and set my alarm for a good laugh.

175. Glamaig

BBC finally get round to a quick mention of SNP exit poll after 35 minutes… thats how important Scotland is in the Union folks – time we were out. I’d like to think they wouldnt notice if we go, but I have a feeling they will for some reason do everything they can to stop us leaving…

176. mike cassidy

If the exit poll is accurate

Its 2015 over again.

Lots of SNP mps ignored by Westminster.

And with the majority they are expected to have

They can have the political luxury of ignoring us for a full five years.

This is why the legal situation should have been clarified over the last three years.

For this moment – if it happened.

177. ScottieDog

This is bloody awful.

178. Colin Alexander

Chap at the door. I opened it.

“I’m from Labour” says the lady at the door, “have you voted”?

Being a bit of a political nerd I recognised her immediately but didnae let oan: Patricia Ferguson, the Labour candidate, former MSP and wife of Bill Butler ( former MSP and now Glesga cooncillor).

“We’ve aw voted SNP already” says I. “Labour should support independence or at least support an indyref and they would get more support but London disnae allow you to”, says I.

“You’re denying democracy to the people of Scotland”.

“No. WE don’t support independence. But we aren’t denying people democracy, the people voted to remain part of the UK,” says she.

“Circumstances have changed since then and you are denying the people of Scotland democracy. So, we’ve aw voted SNP”.

“At least you’ve voted” says Ms Ferguson.

“Aye. Thanks for calling; I’ll no keep you back. Cheerio”, says I.

179. gus1940

Tsunami Warning issued for Loch Ness and the rest of The Great Glen – Inverness and Fort Wiliam to be evacuated.

180. dakk

Leopard Dick.

I want to hear what Leopard Dick has to say.

181. Sarah

@Reluctant Nationalist at7.06: exactly! That was the point of the “anecdote about my wee bunch of friends”. Sources and data are needed to support an assertion.

So I don’t accept the AH survey as sufficient evidence.

182. call me dave

Jings!

Out in the car there coming in from polling station and heard that exit poll.

Radio shortbread chatting to the Yoons and it’s so unfair this FPTP voting! 🙂

Settle in and hope that it plays it OK.
    I said to HYFUD last week 40 to 45 would be great fingers X’d.

Oh BBC map on now I expect to see more yellow soon.

183. robertknight

Boudicca says at 10:32 pm
    We need to crowdfund to buy a blindfold for Nessie ?

BLINDFOLD???

Nessie needs moved to Loch Morar for the duration to keep Mòrag company. Just until the Great Wannabe Leader scares all the fish out of the water.

184. One_Scot

If the SNP get over 40 seats, then I think that will be a good result for them.

185. tartanfever

As an aside.

The £ has risen 2% to $1.347 just on the announcement of the exit poll.

It would be interesting to know what Crispin Odey (hedge fund manager, major sponsor of Vote Leave and Tory backer) has been up to.

Remember, he was the one who made hundreds of millions shorting the pound when he betted against the currency in the EU 2016 referendum.

186. Unionist Media BDSM Club

Bill McLean says:
    12 December, 2019 at 10:29 pm
    Hyufd – go away you curmudgeon!
    —————

Go nowhere, HYUFD! Stick around and keep entertaining us with stuff about how this SNP result would fall short of 2015.

187. Jockmcx

NOW!

188. manandboy

Scotland votes in the totally opposite way from England. The Union is over. The Marriage between Scotland and England is over. Divorce is the only logical next step.

189. Flak Blag

Stockpile food. Obtain arms. Form militias. Erect road blocks at the border. Blockade Faslane. Demand the loyalty of the Scottish regiments and police force. Storm the British Imperialist institutions (Scottish Office, BBC). Start printing Scottish pounds. Declare Independence and plead for international support to repel the RUK military response.

The Conservatives have no right to rule in Scotland. In Scotland the people are sovereign, not the monarch or her courts.

190. call me dave

Shortbread predicting 99.9% chance of SNP taking Stirling. 🙂

Partner away to bed what a whim! …. Sensible woman.

Utter SNP failure says Scottish Tory cause Brexit done!

Christine Jardine trying to make a fist of it but her voice betrays her.

191. manandboy

Forget the writing on the wall, penned by the Colonial Tories and their media lackeys. Independence is written in the footnotes.

Scotland, the next ’colony’ to regain Independence.

192. call me dave

Cowdenbeath & Kirkcaldy to go (independent) ???

Does that mean only 3 yoons then?

193. Dan

Terry callachan says: earlier in the day

Dan 7.46am…perhaps it’s a sign of good things to come

I hope these kids appreciate the efforts us auld farts put in to give them a better future. First 45seconds… welcome Zanderland!

https://twitter.com/zandernationdj/status/954040851281399809?lang=en

194. mr thms

Will the Scottish Lib-Dems now support independence?

They were the most vociferous supporters for revoking the result of the EU referendum if they won the GE.

Now that Brexit is going to happen, what is their Plan B?

195. Robert J. Sutherland

Yes, the UKOK Remain dream is shattered.

Even the NE appears to have woken up to reality and has gone SNP.

There is only one way forwards now. Let’s go for it.

196. mike cassidy

Hamza Yusuf just saying on STV that he expects Westminster will accede to the request for indyref2.

WTF is he on?

197. Unionist Media BDSM Club

“A disappointing night in many ways, but please quit whining about the economics of a hard Brexit. If I can survive on a diet of rat droppings, so can anybody.” — @blairmcdougall

198. Robert J. Sutherland

Of course, people say things in the heat of the moment that they don’t follow-up on later, but nevertheless I can see a new kind of northwards English drift beginnning now, and one of people very much inclined to vote indy. =grin=

199. Davy

Greenpeace reverses it’s position on whaling on Loch Ness.

200. Clapper57

A long time ago I mentioned on here that a friend of my husband’s was a Labour voter…never ever vote anybody else.. said would NEVER vote SNP or for independence…tonight he texted my husband and said he had voted tactically…in Christine Jardine’s seat…he voted SNP.

My husband and I were shocked…he was so against the SNP and really really pro Labour..he is coming round to see my hubby tomorrow, who has been ill, and said he would explain why he has changed his mind….eh and also to see how hubby doing.

My husband and I are in shock cause we never thought this guy would ever vote SNP…christ he even said at one point he would vote Tory before SNP…initally with Corbyn he hated him…then post 2017 GE he had warmed to him….however he was back to hating him because of how weak he has been on Brexit…he also hated Boris Johnson…he voted Remain in EU election.

As I type this I am still shocked as he was so for Labour and so against the SNP…more I think for selfish reasons…worried about his pension (my husband told him where to look on t’internet at a WM select committee meeting on pensions where guy, expert, confirmed that Scots pensions would not be at risk should we get independence)…I also played my part in trying to persuade him too.

This is but one person…but in my eyes is a major U turn for this guy…before he had always voted Labour in this area even when they did not look like winning this seat..also heard a few other people e.g. neighbours were Scottish Green voters at every election but this time voted SNP…and for once did not have Vote Green posters up on their windows….and this when climate is HUGE issue just now.

Hope postal votes do not let us down….cause Exit poll looks so good…

End of my wee story….or is it ????

201. crazycat

@ call me dave at 11.13

C&K might be being counted as SNP because that’s what it says on the ballot paper. We’ll see.

202. crazycat

@ me

I meant K&C, of course – serves me right for being too lazy to spell it out!

203. One_Scot

I believe the Exit poll has been overblown for the SNP so that the UK unionists media can then go on to say it is a disaster for the SNP.

#PredictableUKMedia

204. Sarah

O/T The Yes.scot pledge numbers signed has surged this evening – now almost 296,000, up 4,000 today. @Effijy – I hope you have noticed!

205. Robert J. Sutherland

mike cassidy @ 23:23,

Aw jeez, just wait and see. And right now try (if you possibly can) to savour the good moments as the results come in.

This is Scotland starting to come to terms with itself. We may not as yet know what the game is, but it’s most definitely on.

206. Al-Stuart

England is Fcuked.
    Scotland is on its way to Freedom.

The English did this to themselves. God help the decent English people who voted anything but Tory cripple killers.

Scotland better prepare herself for a ton of refugees from England.

207. HandandShrimp

Incredible exit poll, not sure I believe it. I will reserve judgement until a few results are in.

208. Joe

Congratulations SNP. Looks like I underestimated peoples enthusiasm.

We get down to the truth at last. I hope for Scotlands sake these arseholes have paid some attention to the critics

209. Graf Midgehunter

I posted at 9.44am asking someone for a bit of help and magic, but I didn’t expect this for the SNP… 🙂 🙂

210. Glamaig

mike cassidy 11:23 pm

I guess the longer they refuse it, the higher support for independence will go

211. Unionist Media BDSM Club

Curious shortage of calls for Nicola’s resignation. Presumably people are waiting for official confirmation of this disastrous night for her.

212. call me dave

@crazycat

Aye!
    By the way I get strange looks when I do the same when I mention
    Marks & Spencers. 🙂

@Graf Midgehunter

I read it earlier and said “Amen”

PS:
    Ian ‘ship building’ Davidson sitting in the borders on Shortbread there kinda resigned to defeat.

213. manandboy

If the exit polls stand up, then the Scottish electorate think that neither trans-gender nor the FM’s Brexit policy are game-changers.

And Wings is sent homeward tae think again perhaps?

214. Katie

Hopefully Ruth keeps her kit on!!

215. Glamaig

DUP now irrelevant I guess

216. Katie

I meaan obvs I want snp to get mid 50s seats but not Ruth to frighten us all!!

217. Glamaig

…will the Tories take their £1bn back?

218. potter

@ manandboy
    Aye, he will be beelin, got that totally wrong eh Rev.

219. Clapper57

People telling Ian Dunt on twitter that he should have being paying MORE attention to Scotland…as news of Jo Swinson potentially losing her seat has him shocked…to quote him when told she MAY lose her seat he tweeted ” F***ing Hell”.

One guy tweeted in response to him ” I did tell you all you should have being paying more attention to Scotland”.

Ian was a prominent ‘liberal’ minded remainer…willingly took his eye off the ball in Scotland in this election to focus SOLELY on tactical voting in Engerland for Remain anti Brexit candidates…with the Lib Dems his champions and ex Tory remainers e.g. Dominic Grieve etc , Labour remainer candidates too…..did Ian not have his finger on the pulse of what people who live in HIS country, England, were actually stating they wanted i.e. Brexit and who they would vote for to get it i.e. the Tories…political pundit hmm…he should have went to Specsaver if he could not see the disaster that is/was Jo Swinson…her flip flops ala Ruth Davidson in her campaign should have been a warning sign….e.g. I will be next PM…hmm maybe not….I will revoke Article 50 the day after GE…hmm maybe not just get a second Referendum etc etc

Well Ian is not the only prominent ‘liberal’ minded remainer who ignored what was happening in Scotland ( or cared)…now he and they can join the Tories and his beloved Lib Dems and campaign against Indy Ref 2.

WOS was right the English really really want Brexit …if Exit poll is correct nudge nudge wink wink

220. Joe

@ manandboy

There is a time delay between policy and public perception. Do not write wos off too soon.

Besides, maybe we Scots are too pathetically fucking thick to be concerned about basic womens rights?

221. TheItalianJob

Well Well Well

Who’d have thought it. Good night for Scotland and the SNP.

We need to progress this result into an IndyRef2 mandate and get us sorted as an Independent Country.

Surely that’s what the majority of Scots want now.

222. Dan

@manandboy at 11:45 pm

Or perhaps us Scots are now savvy enough not to cut off our noses to spite our faces.

United we stand, divided we fall.
    Maybe this clusterfuck the UK has become has taught us to compromise our individual ideals for the collective’s overall benefit.
    We can sort that smaller stuff out after we free ourselves from the bigger overriding problem.

223. call me dave

Jeremy Vile on showing his new voting toy on my computer.

224. Glamaig

Will the Rev be disappointed if the SNP do well?

225. Robert J. Sutherland

Joe @ 23:54,

Oh dear, Troll Farmer, just can’t help but offer a petty niggle now.

Instead, try wiping all that diversionalist egg off your fake face.

226. donnywho

How about “Dipping for Indy”. We can join Ruthie on Naers Day.

what a laugh that would be!

227. Joe

@ Robert J Sutherland

Thanks for the comment bob. Hope youve had a nice evening

228. Capella

R Scotland presenters sounding very down in the mouth over the election results – I mean the exit polls of course. SNP rampant in Scotland and Boris Johnston in England.

Angela Haggerty now on. We’ve had Ian Davidson earlier and Ming Campbell. Shirley-Anne Somerville in the studio for the SNP. All pouring cold water on the exit poll prediction of 55 seats.

Fingers crossed.

229. call me dave

Angela Haggerty blethering on shortbread about socialism sounding a bit shocked by the poll.

“Blackford said bad things about Charlie Kennedy” says shortbread,
    but not to his face, as he now gets a spot on shortbread.

He sounds confident but a pinch of salt about polling 55.

Ian Murray in Edinburgh pointing big finger at Corbyn but looks like he’s going to hold his seat.

230. call me dave

For the Rev. That film you wanted was: I don’t twitter.

Passport to Pimlico 1949 ? Comedy ? 1h 24m

231. Dr Jim

As predicted the losing Unionist parties now want to add up the votes cast for the three of them add them together count that and if they’re more than the SNP get then they get to apply them to say NO mandate No referendum no nothing

Unionists are like the slimy fat collected by my George Formby grill tray and I may have to start pouring it over them shortly…..hot!

Oh and Federalism or something with Henry McLiesh……again

232. SilverDarling

What to say. ‘If the exit poll is correct…’

We will know later. I hope Joanna Cherry is safe.

Murdo Fraser doing a HYUFD on STV saying unless the SNP get 56 seats with the same vote share they have lost.

Pauline McNeill wibbling, she knows SLab are done unless they support Indy.

Almighty battles ahead – if the exit poll is correct…

233. Colin Alexander

Murdo Fraser giving Bernard Ponsonby the giggles.

Murdo: ah! but if the SNP got 55 it’s not 56, so it wouldn’t be their highest ever result in 2015.

Once Bernard stifled his laughter and could speak: That’s your best answer…?

234. Bob Mack

@Manandboy,

Sorry mate your way out.Took me all week to get the women in my life to put aside their opposition to GRA and vote SNP.

For now.They wont do so again if they are let down.

235. call me dave

BBC Scotland TV has it’s own Scotland map. Jings!

All Scotland coverage there.

Glen Campbell & Big Brian what more can you ask for? 🙂

236. Unionist Media BDSM Club

Shortbread: exit poll entirely accurate for England but not for Scotland.

Wireless soggy with media Yoon tears.

237. manandboy

http://archive.ph/9nPne

“The second huge message of this election is that the Scottish National party has received a mandate – with a projected 55 seats in Scotland – to press for a second referendum on independence. Johnson has made clear he will not do what David Cameron did and concede a second indyref poll. His mandate is to defy the SNP. But the SNP has been prepared for this fight for months. The confrontation in Scotland will be at the very top of the political agenda now.” (Martin Kettle in the Guardian)

238. Robert J. Sutherland

Interesting conversation on STV. Even Pauline McNeill now recognising a mandate for the SNP, and asking how can BoJo claim his English mandate and ignore Nicola’s Scottish one?

The framing is already beginning to turn 180 degrees around: London, how can you possibly NOT agree to IR2?

239. manandboy

Bob Mack says:
    “Sorry mate your way out.”

Bob, the exit poll results, if they stand up in Scotland, speak for themselves.

The next time may well be a different kettle of fish. But for now, GRA is not an election issue.

240. Terry callachan

Never settle yourself until the final results are in
    Many many results will not be in until 3am it’s now just after midnight

The exit polls which gauge reactions from people as they are leaving polling stations reckon SNP have done really well
    A word of caution
    It’s U.K. we are dealing with here
    Exit polls have a good reputation but postal voting has a bad reputation it’s not the counting of the postal votes that is suspect
    The staff counting votes are reliable and expert

It’s the completion of postal voting forms “ AT SOURCE “ where the fraud and cheating occurs
    Relatives filling in postal vote applications for dead relatives
    relatives filling in forms for reelatives with dementia and other illnesses that prevent sound mind
    Postal applications from people who don’t live in U.K. and have not lived here in the last 15 yrs
    Postal applications in the name of people who never vote made by people who know they never vote

Postal votes are counted and added last of all
    Postal votes in Scotland are much higher than elsewhere in U.K. that needs examined to find out why and if it’s correct and legitimate

It looks good for SNP , for Scotland , for US
    But go forth with caution

An increase in seats for SNP will be fabulous
    40 or more will be wonderful
    Anything over 40 astounding

241. TheItalianJob

Worst Labour election since 1935.

That’s what Labour get for having such and a****** as Corbyn as a leader. In addition his attitude to the Scottish voters will be reflected in the SNP gains.

He He

242. Jockmcx

rennie,Leonard,Ruth,kezia,Sarah Smith,rod stewart,gavin Hastings,Jackie bird,billy,
    ,andrew niel,

Welcome to independent Scotland (thanks for all ur support)…not !

well, maybe not wills!

243. Joe

@ Robert J Sutherland

Cant you tell the future yet?

‘…in order to ensure that we avoid a crisis such as we had after the Brexit referendum a 60% requirement will be set..’

244. call me dave

Annie Wells (Tory) looking glum in Glasgow.
    Not accepting the poll… (rightly so) but sounds gutted!

Jings! ‘Kezia Break’ on a computer telling us things.

Angela Haggerty admits the SNP stands for Independence although it wasn’t much on the leaflets even the dugs on the street!

If Boris is elected she says the SNP will ‘make hay’!
    For younger listeners that’s good for SNP.

245. Tony Hay

A bloody nose for the revs fanboys and girls…..

246. SilverDarling

@Bob Mack 12,14

I agree. Many of my contemporaries were deeply conflicted about voting for an SNP candidate who openly supports reform of the GRA. They felt, like me, that the bigger the bloc of SNP MPs the better and that as it is a devolved issue the big debate is still to come.

Luckily Swinson took the flack for now but come the Holyrood elections this is a huge and potentially explosive issue.

247. Glamaig

My god BBC guy with his lifesize graphic is totally wetting himself at his projected result

248. Robert J. Sutherland

Joe @ 12:35,

The more desperate the BritNats get, and demonstrate it with their ever more absurd goalpost-moving antics, the faster opinion will tilt for indy. Canute-style denial is a bust.

I’ve said it often – and not been the only one to do so – that the worst enemies of the Union are the Unionists themselves. They have nothing to offer.

(Never mind, you can always get your precious Brexit by moving south. Though they’re getting ever more antsy about admitting foreigners, so don’t wait too long. You’ll be happily replaced here anyway by folk moving the other way who have a more positive view of the future.)

249. Breastplate

Dr Jim,
    A George Formby grill? I’ll be waiting for George Foreman to play the ukulele.
    As far as exit polls go, it’s turned out nice again.

250. mr thms

If it is an issue it has flopped

251. Capella

BBC has Scottish papers up on the website NOW. They don’t even have the English ones up yet.
    Shock.

252. manandboy

This exit poll ‘result’ demonstrates a very clear divergence between Scotland and England.

Scotland has a clear sense of which direction it wants to go in, but it is the polar opposite of the direction which England has chosen.

Such is the path to going their separate ways as two different, independent countries.

253. call me dave

Murdo Fraser:

No Scottish results in yet!

That FPTP voting system blh blah but! but! vote share look at that.

Aye! 3 yoon parties together outvote the SNP. So there!

254. Unionist Media BDSM Club

If the exit poll is correct and the Scottish opinion polls so massively underestimated the SNP, might this mean they also (massively?) underestimated Yes in the indy polls they conducted with the same voters?

255. Breastplate

Manandboy,
    I’ve been a critic of SNP strategy but that does not stop me voting for them to get independence.
    I’m sure I’m not alone.

256. cynicalHighlander

@Breastplate.

Your not alone.

257. Famous15

I think the Wings melt down will only account for ten SNP seats. So ,no 55 is too high but anything above 39 is fantastic in the face of that last minute BS.

Nicola will remain as SNP leader but will have to recognise Science needs improving in Scottish education. Sympathy for sexual dysphoria but not so women and their rights particularly in sport are not diminished.

AND very much expect Indyref2 as promised in 2020.

I will skinny dip in Loch Ness Leisure centre pool if wrong.

258. call me dave

Lib Dem in danger of losing their deposit in Rutherglen and the SNP to take it back from Labour. says BBC.

259. manandboy

In the now imminent negotiations between Westminster and Brussels, I suspect the EU will not look kindly on Westminster’s colonial attitude toward Scotland.

Another dilemma for the new right-wing born-again Tory Party and Government.

Agreeing to a Section 30 request from Scotland’s First Minister, may be the least of Boris Johnson’s forthcoming political challenges.

260. Robert J. Sutherland

Pedants’ corner. FLAK – German acronym for FLugzeug Abwehr Kanone – Anti-aircraft artillery (fire).

261. Arthur Thomson

If the SNP win the same number of seats as they had prior to this election they will have done well. We must never forget the tsunami of unionist propaganda and money that our candidates have to contend with.

262. Effijy

The First Minister’s Independence Petition requested a Target figure of 300,000.
    Tonight the people of Scotland smashed through that number!

We have great momentum today and it is building.

https://www.yes.scot/

263. call me dave

Jings! Are political rosettes getting bigger?

Ian Davidson who voted ‘leave’ would now vote ‘remain’
    Folk will have a chat with Jeremy next week he says. 🙁

Prof A Tompkins exalting Boris & Brexit…not so much Scotland.

264. Robert J. Sutherland

Latest Turd Tory dummy on STV trying another predictable dodge by discounting the MP tally and whining about the total vote share. (Which incidentally is rumoured to be heading for 50+% in Glasgow Central.) Ponsonby having none of it, asks the obvious comeback (thanks, Bernard, doing a proper job there): will BoJo then not have a mandate for Brexit? Tory dodges by saying in effect “we’ve had enough referendums”.

These buffoons are digging their own political graves, and just can’t help digging ever deeper.

265. call me dave

@Effijy

I am pleased for you, you have been pushing this for a long time.
    Well done!

266. Effijy

Boris Dad showing that his sons racist outlook has been passed
    Down in his jeans.

Would you let a Muslim woman fighter pilot wear
    A najib ?

The audience booed him but again like Boris he doesn’t give a shit
    What people say when they have the money and the power.

On STV a procession of Scots Tories demanding nothing on this earth
    Would constitute another Indy Ref.
    Scotland is ours and you count for nothing is the attitude.

267. Glamaig

If Margaret Ferrier wins in Rutherglen that would be brilliant obviously, although bad news for by-election campaigns everywhere in Scotland because she is an absolute campaigning power house and a fantastic example to everyone

268. K1

Gain rutherglen and Hamilton West

269. Effijy

Margaret Ferrier looking good to retake Rutherglen and West Hamilton for SNP.
    Result in 15 minutes.

Margaret previously knocked out an English Labour guy, Tom Greatrex,
    A man in power for 5 years in a safe seat didn’t do a thing here and we didn’t even know
    He was English until he began to be visible when looking to be re-elected.

The Latest Labour guy again never seen or heard of
    Until this election. All I know about him now is that he has a husband?

New Westminster Labour leader coming up and yet another North Accounting Unit Patsy required.

No doubt we will be assured for the 5th time in recent history that this accounting unit manager
    Can make local decisions on policy without strings.

They only use puppets on strings up here and if you can see them you can be assured
    That a London Hans is right up where it shouldn’t be.

270. Robert J. Sutherland

Tory dummy on STV ploughing on with “we have to respect the results of the two referendums”, without any recognition that you can’t possibly respect any referendum that has been won by an avalanche of outrageous lies and funded by dark money, and whose “vows” made during the campaign were all immediately cynically trashed afterwards without even a twinge of regret.

Respect is a two-way street. And we have got SFA.

Hence (what’s shaping up to be) the current election result. Funnily enough, causes do have effects.

271. Effijy

Thank you call me Dave.

Is it stubbornness or stupidity but I just can’t let go of a just cause!

272. Effijy

SNP WIN Rutherglen

273. manandboy

In the days, weeks and months ahead, Boris Johnson will insist on the result in England being accepted and respected by Remainers, as well as by the EU.

By the same token, however, Mr Johnson and his government will have to accept and respect the result in Scotland. Except for the likelihood that neither he nor his government will do either. If that turns out to be the case, then we will see more of PMJohnson’s colonial mindset in his dealings with the Scottish Government, and respect for the election result in Scotland will be flushed down the pan.

274. Robert J. Sutherland

CNN actually deliver the Rutherglen result while the “Scottish” channels just witter on with their talking heads. Labour vote apparently held up, but SNP turnout was much increased. Hopefully a good omen for what’s yet to come tonight.

Poll adjustments made on the basis of low turnout in 2017 may be a prime reason for a possible underestimation of SNP performance. We’ll see.

275. Meg merrilees

5.1% swing to the SNP in Rutherglen

276. Swami Backverandah

This isn’t a referendum and Boris can’t claim the result for the UK.

Well played the SNP.

277. Robert J. Sutherland

Neil Findlay on STV attempts once again to resurrect the federal fairy. Oh dear.

Tory dummy mutters platitudes about “more post-Brexit powers”. Oh double dear.

Meanwhile, Kirsteen Hair in Angus is effectively gone. At least she will no longer be tortured about having to actually decide on behalf of her (now former) constituents how to vote on anything.

278. call me dave

Kirsteen Hair gone! 🙂

BBC missed the first part of the declaration. FFS Oh! FGS.

279. Swami Backverandah

Hugh Grant’s entourage spotted heading north.

Filmstar trailer futures soar.

280. Swami Backverandah

Cameron, Clegg, Osborne, Johnson.

What’s the collective noun for a Bullingdon cartel.

281. crazycat

@ call me dave

SLab lost their deposit in Angus, too.

282. Swami Backverandah

Who’s getting baronets in Boris’s Xmas crackers?

283. call me dave

Hope Mr Cairns is working on his political cartoon. Quite a task encapsulating all this if the polls are correct.

What no HYFUD yet! 🙂

284. manandboy

Allan Johnson states on STV that Labour will need ten years to recover from GE19.

So that’ll be another ten brutal years of Tory Austerity to look forward to in Scotland.

285. twathater

Just watching the other biased broadcaster stv and guess what findlay ( liebour ) and lockheart( tolly ) and earlier Turdo bringing up the old canard of FEDERALISM , in other words squeeky bum time so lets try and con the Scots AGAIN , hurry somebody dig the clunking fist up and dust him off for an INTERVENSIONNNNN

Now listening to Alan Johnstone liebour from darn souf the one who sided with the tories re the old age pension increases

Angus= Kirsten Hair shafted , Dave Doogan SNP takes it with over 3000 majority

286. Swami Backverandah

NHS in England puts out emergency call for coats.

287. call me dave

The last two swings to SNP have been not too bad.
    Maybe that 50+ can be achieved.

Ian Murray spitting feathers about Labour’s performance.
    Jeremy was not the messiah on the doorsteps. 🙁

288. Swami Backverandah

“Jeremy was not the messiah on the doorsteps. ?”

He was outplayed by a naughty boy.

289. mr thms

With the Scottish results declared thus far, the SNP have secured almost 50% of the votes cast! Should they achieve more than a 50% share of the vote as well as 56+ seats, Mr Johnson will be unable to refuse a request from the FM for a Section 30 Order to hold a referendum on independence. The EU and the rest of the World are watching.

290. Robert J. Sutherland

twathater @ 02:05,

Glad you caught up with me on that, twh. =wink=

Still, nice to be on the same wavelength.

Tory dummy now claiming that Fridge Dodger is a “One Nation” Conservative. Whatever that is supposed to mean these days.

SNP even managing to challenge in Banff & Buchan, apparently.

291. Meg merrilees

Call me Dave

I don’t have a TV so I’m stuck listening to Radio Shortbread. They have missed all the declarations so far. I’ve heard a few English declarations with all the respective cheering that accompanied them…

they’ve just managed to broadcast Martin Docherty-Hughes win so I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt

292. Meg merrilees

No, I take it all back, They’ve just missed the declaration for Mhairi Black !!! I’m getting more information from the BBC Scotland live text report than Radio Scotland live reporting.
    9.0% swing and increase of majority to 10,000+

Think I might switch over Radio4 and james Naughtie.

293. call me dave

Aye! Taking 50% of the votes in some seats. Thought provoking!

Some marginals no more!

Angela Heggarty says ‘YIKES’ bless her.

294. Al-Stuart

The BBC are BLOCKING the speeches of winning SNP candidates.

Glenn Campbell and the BBC please note… there WILL be a FORMAL COMPLAINT about your anti-SNP bias this evening.

In England the BBC are broadcasting the MAJORITY OF TORY winning MP acceptance speeches.

In Scotland, the BBC are CHOKING on the SNP wins.

WOULD ANYONE CARE TO JOIN ME AND COUNT EXACTLY HOW MANY SNP WINNING CANDIDATE SPEECHES BBC SCOTLAND BLOCK FROM BEING BROADCAST TONIGHT?

The BBC are not just petty and bias, but they have broken their charter tonight in Scotland and it is ACTIONABLE.

New management is required at Pacific Quay and the strings to BBC England need to be cut now, either by the BBC or by the courts.

295. Swami Backverandah

Prof John Curtice: “The SNP have now picked up their first Tory scalp in Angus, where the Con vote fell by 5 points – indeed the Tory vote has fallen in all three of the seats declared in Scotland so far. ”

A statement like that is enough to give Ruth goosebumps.

296. marydoll

I’m trying to watch the BBC election results………every time an SNP wins, which is them all so far, they find an english result to declare

297. twathater

Angela Crawley won with 5000 majority

RJS yir too fast for me Robert , poor Dean Lockhart rubbing it in to poor Findlay both look as if they want to go hame , not getting too excited but I hope hope it continues

298. call me dave

@Al-Stuart

Auntie says “Silence is golden” no SNP victory speeches.

Your on the money there. 🙁

299. marydoll

where else can I watch the results ACH is annoying me and hasnt shut up for 10 minutes

300. Effijy

That anti Scottish anti democracy shill Glen UK Campbell
    Suggesting 55 SNP seat would mean a fall from their 2015
    Result.

No Glen. 55 seats out of 59 is like the Tories winning 500 seats.

The sooner you and your band of biased corrupt clowns are kicked
    Out of propaganda quay the better for all.

301. Bob Mack

!ooking very good people. This is better tban I ever expected.

302. call me dave

Alec Cole Hamilton there making some wriggle room for Jo Swanson
    who is losing her seat very soon.

303. twathater

Lisa Cameron SNP East Kilbride win

304. Al-Stuart

Just want to record how many SNP winning speeches the BBC BLOCK.
    INVERCLYDE won by SNP. BBC blocked Ronnie Cowan MPs speech.

305. Robert J. Sutherland

twathater @ 02:29,

Findlay now blames Sturgeon for “scaring the horses” in England. SNP baaaad! Their fault for Labour meltdown. Of course.

Can’t possibly go to bed yet. I am contemplating getting a bottle ready for a wee dram when the East Dunbarton result is declared. But not pouring anything out quite yet.

306. marydoll

theres only been 1. You sort of heard Margaret Ferrier

307. Al-Stuart

EAST KILBRIDE won by the SNP.

BBC BLOCK the winning SNP speech.

The BBC editor returns to the blatherin 3 unelected Unionist talking heads on the BBC couch rather than broadcast anything from an SNP winner.

308. call me dave

Shortbread misses another declaration.
    Make that two in a row! FGS! 🙂
    Pete Wishart elected. ;_0

309. Al-Stuart

PERTH & NORTH PERTHSHIRE

BBC BLOCK the SNP winner Pete Wishart MP and refuse to broadcast his speech.

310. twathater

Pete Wishart retains his seat

311. K1

Findlay’s is the most ungracious dolt yer ever likely tae come across, a man behind the times grappling wi the simple reality, it’s over Labour.

312. Bob Mack

Midlothian,Ochil and s Perthshire both gained.

313. Al-Stuart

ALOA.

BBC BLOCK SNP JOHN NICHOLSON MP’s WINNING SPEECH.

The BBC editor deems Unionist Labour MSP Richard Leopard more worthy of airtime to blather on about Labour learning lessons.

FFS, this is a General Election and BBC England are broadcasting Tory MP winning speeches whilst blocking Scottish SNP winners.

314. Al-Stuart

MIDLOTHIAN

SNP GAIN.

BBC SCOTLAND BLOCK THE BROADCAST OF THE WINNING SNP MP.

INSTEAD THEY CONTINUE TO ALLOW THE MSP RICHARD LEOPARD TO DRONE ON ABOUT JEREMY CORBYN IN ENGLAND.

BBC SCOTLAND YOU ARE HEADING TOWARDS ACTIONABLE LITIGATION.

315. twathater

RJS I understand Findlay is stepping down at HR but he looks ready for tears , but we all know its Sturgeons fault for everything ,oh good Danielle Rowley also lost against SNP

316. call me dave

John Nicholson Elected SNP win Ochil.

317. Bob Mack

Njmber crunchers saying exit poll may be underestimating SNP results now. Could this be true?

318. K1

Dikiewad leopardo looks utterly gutted lol

319. call me dave

Nigel Dodds DUP loses by 2000 to Sinn Fein’s John Finucane.
    North Belfast

WoS twitter.

320. Frank Gillougley

YASS!
    This has to change the discussion, despite the intransigence of the diehards. Bernard is doing a good job, streets ahead of slimy glen.

321. Tony Hay

Glenn Campbell pure spewin so he is.

322. K1

Fucking outrageous from leopardo denying voters in Scotland the right to hold indyref 2 on the back of these results…he needs to get tae

323. Unionist Media BDSM Club

Remember last night’s Survation poll when we thought at first the lead over the Tories was 19%, only to have to reduce that to 16% later on? Seems a long time ago now.

With twelve seats called the SNP lead over the Tories is currently 23%, 47% to 24%.

324. call me dave

Who will ever forget the day Glen ripped up the SNP manifesto on those steps not too long ago on live tv news! 🙂 Karma!

325. K1

Ponsonby is the best host of all of them…hammering it home to leopardo

326. Robert J. Sutherland

A very uncomfortable-looking Rudyard Leotard explainerising on the BBC that there was nothing wrong with the Labour message. (Must be all our fault then.)

A Labour non-result worse even than the dark days of 1983. Much agonising navel-gazing to follow. Looks like the SNP will be the real opposition in WM now.

Keep firmly in mind though, peeps, for all this supposed Tory “success”, it looks like the SNP will have achieved a far stronger mandate in Scotland than the Tories will have received in the whole UK.

327. call me dave

East Lothian SNP gain from Labour. K Macaskill returns.

328. twathater

Dickhead Leopard being scoured by Ponsonby re another indy ref , this absolute fuckwit thinks he will hold Scotland’s demand in contempt

329. Al-Stuart

13 seats in Scotland declared, all SNP and we finally get an SNP on BBC Scotland for interview. Cut short of course.

EAST LOTHIAN DECLARATION. SNP KENNY MACKASKILL MP GOES TO WESTMINSTER.

Glenn Campbell waffles over Kenny MacAskill’s acceptance speech.

The BBC editor then cuts away without a word of what we can see KENNY speak on screen being broadcast.

330. Confused

the SNP are a machine (- or wuz it the tranny vote wot wun it?)

the SNP have become so powerful they are capable of winning seats they do not even stand in – if this was star wars they would have lightning bolts coming out of their fingers

demand S30 or – threaten to commission an ENP and stand it in england!

strange omens – last night watched the end of game of thrones where the white queen, daenerys, takes a “pure maddie” and BURNS THE WHOLE FUCKER DOWN
    – tirion was trying to setup federalism or devo max or … but she had her own ideas

then this afternoon, flicked on the telly and, of all people, michael caine is on, in “kidnapped”, playing allan brack and at that very moment, SLITTING A REDCOATS THROAT

what a night

331. Famous15

Bbc do not block me.

332. Robert J. Sutherland

K1 @ 02:57,

Agreed.

Isn’t it wonderfully refreshing to have a TV journo actually doing their job properly?

333. Al-Stuart

AIRDRIE AND SHOTTS. BBC SCOTLAND FILM THE NEW SNP MP’s ACCEPTANCE VIDEO, BUT GLEN CAMPBELL WAFFLES OVER THE SPEECH AGAIN.

FFS IT IS ALMOST AS IF BBC SCOTLAND HAVE MAGGIE THATCHER’S SINN FEIN BAN ON HEARING WHAT THE WINNING CANDIDATE SAYS.

334. Robert J. Sutherland

Kirsten just announced as winner in East Ren.

335. twathater

FFS Kirsten Oswald takes east renfrewshire from paul masterton

336. call me dave

Another miss by shortbread but SNP gain from CONS where about??

337. call me dave

Renfrewshire East!

338. Al-Stuart

RENFREWSHIRE EAST. BBC SCOTLAND GLENN CAMPBELL TALKING OVER SNP KIRSTEN OSWALD MP. WE CAN SEE KIRSTEN BUT NOT HEAR HER.

339. K1

Aye it is Robert 🙂

340. K1

Please dear god take Swinson out

341. Ronnie

Don’t bother looking out your swimming costume Ruthie, you’ll not be needing it…

342. Robert J. Sutherland

twathater @ 03:04,

(This isn’t a competiton, is it? =laugh=)

“Potential PM” Swansong now arriving at the count. Wonder if she’ll leave by the back door?

343. Bob Mack

Kirsty Blackman holds

344. twathater

RJS no it certainly isn’t Robert as far as i’m concerned if this carries on WE ARE ALL WINNERS

345. call me dave

Aberdeen North SNP . Blackman increases vote share.

Murray: Ross holds for Tory by a whisker! 🙁

346. call me dave

Stirling SNP gain!

347. HYUFD

Moray Con hold

348. Famous15

Independence is one small step for Scots. One giant leap for democracy.

349. Bob Mack

Cumbernauld held

350. call me dave

Jeremy says he’s standing down. Official

351. K1

Good result for Patrick in Glasgow north, my MP….good stuff, hold

352. Arthur Thomson

Re acceptance speeches being blocked – the media just continue to undermine themselves. Let’s not interrupt them. The vast majority of Scotland’s electorate are not going to be interested in acceptance speeches. They have cast their votes positively and will be satisfied with the results. No doubt they long ago gave up any expectation that the media would behave impartially. That is a crucial lesson for all Scots and the more blatant the media bias the more Scots will be aware.

Or to put it more succinctly, hell mend them.

353. call me dave

Goldsmith Tory loses to Lib/Dems

NE Fife

Lib Dem WIN! 🙂

354. Unionist Media BDSM Club

call me dave says:
    13 December, 2019 at 3:25 am
    Jeremy says he’s standing down. Official

A sharp shift back to Red Toryism will surely return the Scottish Cringe Labour Party to dominance.

355. Bob Mack

Dundee W held

356. call me dave

OOps! 🙁 🙁

357. HYUFD

Fife North East LD gain

358. bittie45

BBC Radio 4 at 01:55 “…to what extent are London a different country?”.

Then later on (paraphrasing) “What are you going to do about the SNP getting closer to their goal of independence?” to a winning Tory candidate. “Absolutely-NO-Section-30” was the response.

Nothing to do with the people of Scotland’s opinion. An actual COUNTRY. No. Just the evil SNP.

359. call me dave

Tories swung in behind the Lib/Dems in NE Fife.

360. Balaaargh

Stephen Gethins was a good MP. He will be missed.

361. call me dave

Aberdeen S. SNP gain. Goodbye Ross!

362. call me dave

Yet another miss on shortbread. Oh!

Glasgow E. SNP hold big increase in vote share

363. call me dave

Berwickshire Lamond Holds for Tory/

364. call me dave

Hosie Holds doubles majority

365. Reluctant Nationalist

East Renfrewshire eh? Shalom!

Wishart you star.

366. call me dave

Jo Swanson SNP Win

367. Confused

a wee tune for jo jo – she could rock a big jumper, but not so much with the politics
    – rumours say she will be getting a job with the BBC : signing for the deaf

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EFqOpkBRLDs

– and the girl MOST likely to is in blue

368. Robert J. Sutherland

Arthur Thomson @ 03:28,

At least STV gave my (renewed) MP Patrick Grady a chance to say a few well-chosen words. (Cheers, Patrick. No doubt as to where he stands!)

Nicola meantime recognises an English mandate for Brexit, but insists on the same recognition in return for an even-stronger Scottish mandate for Remain.

Significant Tory cross-voting evidently swung NE Fife for the FibDems. Small consolation for just losing their Swot Gal leaderene?

369. call me dave

149 votes did it YESSS!

370. HYUFD

Swinson loses East Dunbartonshire to SNP

371. K1

Swinson gone…

372. Defo

Up for Swinson!

373. Al-Stuart

JO SWONSONG BOOTED OUT.

Michael Portillo moment.

Bless the people of East Dunbartonshire.

374. twathater

oH jO you are now free to return HOME to englandshire and look for a wee safe lib dumb seat

375. call me dave

Alec Cole Hamilton distraught! Suck it up. 🙂

376. Kangaroo

HYFUD
    Great isn’t it. F the Tories of all colours.

377. K1

Oh fuck she’s no gonnae greet noo is she

378. HYUFD

Tories were cheering Swinson loss here, first time ever Tories cheer SNP gain I expect

379. Al-Stuart

Twathater,

I don’t think Jow Sweeeinssoooon weeaal bey heading to Engerland. Oy enderstoooeed sheay comes from the planet Vowter.

380. call me dave

Ayr:

SNP Win. 🙂

381. Arthur Thomson

Awe. Poor Jo will be greeting the night – but not half as much as the poor and the disabled who suffered as a result of her despicable politics. Greet hen and just think about why many like me will have zero sympathy for you.

I will sleep better now.

382. bittie45

yes.scot signature counter is going beserk, passing 311,000.

383. Robert J. Sutherland

K1 @ 03:09,

Looks like there is a God in heaven after all.

Swansong just can’t help but make a false equivalence between Scottish and English nationalism. I suspect though that the good folk of East Dun won’t be tortured by her vowels ever again.

Sláinte, everyone!

384. dakk

OK will go to bed content that Josephine Swinson will not be the next Prime Minister of the disunited kingdom.

385. call me dave

Glasgow NE
    SNP gain from LAB

386. K1

Sweeney out, another great result, fucking wanker is gone

387. Al-Stuart

So BBC Wales gets Welsh MPs wins getting announced.

At the same time BBC Northern Ireland gets the DUP and Northern Ireland declarations.

Whilst simultaneously, BBC Scotland swiches to AND inflicts BBC England with Boris de P’fwaffel with the verbal excrement and Glenn Campbell plus BBC Scotland gets put back into its box.

Hopefully there is a BBC media watch person somewhere working out how very very bias BBC is against Scotland?

388. Robert J. Sutherland

NorthBritLab gets its jotters in Glasgow NE. Despite all the false confidence beforehand.

389. call me dave

Kirk & Cowd

Independent (SNP)

390. K1

SNP still up in voteshare in Moray, for tories even though they won by squeaky bum they are hanging on by a thread, hardly celebratory victory,

391. call me dave

Majority 1200 and Laird Lab OUT! 🙂

392. K1

Sweeney gutted…good, pompous prick

393. call me dave

SNP take Glasgow SW Hold.

394. K1

Southwest Glasgow snp win

395. K1

Clean sweep in Glasgow, fantastic

396. bittie45

Sláinte. And ignoring Amy Callaghan. Silenced.

397. HYUFD

Dumfries and Galloway Con hold

398. call me dave

Union Jack holds his seat by only 1000+ votes 🙁

399. call me dave

Glasgow Central

SNP Hold

400. call me dave

Cherry SNP Holds.

401. Robert J. Sutherland

call me dave @ 04:00,

(I believe it’s counted as part of the SNP tally in the exit poll predictions.)

So will Tory-supported Murray again be the only NorthBritLab left standing?

402. K1

Joanna’s home free

403. bittie45

Ah. Amy Callaghan being interviewed. Interviewer choking.

404. gus1940

Boris just can’t help it – even in his acceptance speech he came out with a pack of lies.

A One Nation Conservative Party uniting the nation – Aye Right.

405. call me dave

Glen Campbell what’s he like in that interview wi Sturgeon. Jings! Plonker

406. call me dave

Edinburgh S

Murray Lab Hold by a whopping majority. 12000ish!

407. Robert J. Sutherland

Nicola:

I’ve put forward a plan, that plan has been endorsed, the Scottish Conservative opposition to that plan has been roundly rejected, so it’s for the Scottish Conservatives, and the Conservative Party overall, to consider what their alternative plan is, because it’s my plan that’s won the election and theirs has been rejected.

That’s exactly the reframing that’s now needed. Stop whinging about “what can we do?” and start demanding a proper democratic response from others.

408. call me dave

I see the DUP have lost 2 seats now. 🙂

409. call me dave

Ah! Ian Murray gets to speak. Good old Auntie!

410. marydoll

The union-jack suit man gets to make his acceptance speech. No talking over him!

411. Al-Stuart

THE BBC ARE A CRUNCH OF BUNTS.

41 SNP MPs elected and NOT one new SNP winner’s acceptance speech broadcast by the BBC.

Yet we now have Unionist Labour’s ONE Scottish MP getting his FULL speech broadcast.

The only other SPEECH we get is Jo Swansong’s defeat “pity me” waffle.

WHO IS IT AT BBC SCOTLAND THAT GETS THE SACK FOR THIS BLATANT BROADCASTING BIAS OF BLOCKING EVERY SNP MP WINNERS SPEECH WHILST ALLOWING LABOUR + CONSERVATIVE + LIBDEM MP speeches when ALL the Unionist parties are in single figures in Scotland?

412. call me dave

Worth listening to his speech it was from the heart.

Lone Ranger Lab in Scotland!

413. Robert J. Sutherland

I note that uniquely tonight Glen Campbell doesn’t witter all over Ian Murray’s election speech. He gets privileged treatment.

Probably because he’s an endangered species, I suppose.

414. call me dave

Lesley Laird a bit bitter there. Tough suck it up.

415. bittie45

BBC Radio4 04:31 “How is Boris going to cope with a problem like Scotland?”. There you have it. In the BBC’s eyes, Scotland is a problem, not an equal in this hahahahahaha “united kingdom”.

So speaketh the BBC.

416. Swami Backverandah

This result for the Tories is enough to give Theresa May pause for thought.

417. call me dave

Tommy Shepherd Holds for SNP

Mundell Holds for tory

418. Al-Stuart

Cr@p Fluffy is back.

Dumfriesshire has a lot of Tory Wane Kerrs in it.

419. Unionist Media BDSM Club

SNP currently on 88% of seats. If that continues we should end up with around 50 MPs.

This means a good bit more than 2015 because we’re much closer to iref2. Well done to everyone.

420. Robert J. Sutherland

call me dave @ 04:26,
    marydoll @ 04:28,
    Al-Stuart @ 04:29,

Snap!

(We’re evidently all still awake. In more ways than one. BBC, please note.)

421. call me dave

Edinburgh N: Brock SNP Hold big increased vote share!

422. bittie45

Scotland is NOT a constituency (re. brexit vote). JFC, the pomposity of the BBC.

423. Al-Stuart

Hi Robert,

Yup, snap indeed.

Worth waiting up for Jo Swansong getting put on Universal Credit.

Started out very depressing with Boris as PM with such a big majority.

After the shock, the mists cleared and with Scotland’s electoral map looking like 53 out of 59 SNP wins. It is a breath of fresh air to see us heading towards IndyRef2 in turbo charged rockets because of the stark contrast between England and Scotland.

Robert, I guess it is an all-nighter! Maybe a couple of hours power nap before going to work. Plus lots of coffee.

Though I just love hearing the BBC reporters choke on having to utter the words “It’s been an excellent night for the SNP”

424. crazycat

Unless I’ve missed some, all the Greens in seats declared so far have lost their deposits. Not sure that advances their cause at all, so a pretty pointless waste of their members’ money. (What a shame!)

425. Reluctant Nationalist

Bliss.

426. call me dave

West Aberdeen

Tory Hold by just over 1000+

Christine Jardine Holds for LIB/Dems

427. Al-Stuart

Aberdeenshire West is in the bad books for electing a toady Tory.

And Edinburgh West are also getting put in the naughty corner for keeping LibDem Christine Jardine.

428. call me dave

Willie Rennie Indi2 very bad to the end! 🙂 🙂

Is he really sorry Jo lost?

429. Al-Stuart

Oh do Fcuk off BBC Scotland.

You just broadcast Unionist LibDem Jardine a lot of airtime for her anti-SNP speech.

Whilst 43 winning SNP MPs don’t get any of their speeches broadcast.

Shame on you BBC.

You have been found out. Again.

430. Frank Gillougley

The whole tenor and age-old arguments by the unionists will have to fundamentally change in recognition of what the Scottish electorate have said. And that goes for the broadcasters too.

Oh well, you can but hope.
    Dinosaurs are just such a total waste of space.

431. call me dave

Inverness SNP hold

CON 15807

SNP 26247
    LAB 4123

432. call me dave

Jings Christine Jardine speaks too. 🙂

433. call me dave

Banff & Buchan

Tory Hold

434. Robert J. Sutherland

call me dave @ 04:52,

Damn about Jardine. Given the exit polls, I had better hopes there. Remain-leaning voters the only ones anywhere drinking the FibDem snake oil, or just more Edinburgh Tory cross-voting…?

435. AndyMcKangry

Plague and pestilence on the North East and the Borders?!
    When they start complaining about the effects of Brexit, fuck them. They will reap what they sew!!
    I don’t want to hear any wokes on here having any pity for them. They will deserve every bit of misery that will befall them!!
    And what the fuck are LibDem voters all about!! It’s no rocket science, you can longer have the EU and the Uk so what the fuck are you all about!!
    When Scottish voters waken up today, there are 2 choices, brexit England or an independent Scotland. There is no longer anything in between.
    Unless you’re a fuckwit of course!!

436. Al-Stuart

Gordon back in the SNP. Another Tory told to go back and think again.

437. K1

Gordon snp win… 🙂

438. Capella

Richard Thompson has won Gordon for the SNP. So looks like his election video was a success. Great result. Colin Clark was well in with the farming community so was a tough seat to win this time.

439. Meg merrilees

SO it looks like the NE Tories have saved the (t)Ruthless one from doing her skinny dook in Loch Ness – came damn close though…

440. Robert J. Sutherland

Well, it seems officially Scotland will have another Tory government in London foisted upon it which it substantially rejected.

When will Labourites in Scotland (and FibDems as well, for that matter) face up to the unassailable fact that the Union is a total bust? For all the fond hopes of the likes of Henry McLeish and Gerry Hassan, the only viable way forward now for faithful Labourites such as them is independence.

441. Al-Stuart

BBC gives LibDem Caithness MP time to broadcast his winning speech.

There is a clear EVIDENTIAL trail left by BBC Scotland that they have blatantly allowed 90% to all of the Unionist MP winners airtime for their acceptance speeches, whilst 46 SNP MPs have been given NO airtime for the 46 winning MPs speeches.

As soon as the video rolled whilst an SNP MP was giving his or her speech, we got Glenn Union Jack Campbell talking carp over the SNP winners.

442. Reluctant Nationalist

48 seats, then. That’ll do.

443. Robert J. Sutherland

AndyMcKangry @ 05:13,

I imagine that once the dust has settled, Scots FibDem voters in particular will have to endure a fair amount of deserved buyers’ regret. They may have saved a few miserable skins on the periphery, in some cases by a proverbial hair’s breadth, but it signifies nothing. The survivors will have no influence whatever. On any side of any question.

444. Al-Stuart

Hi Reluctant Nationalist,

It is 49 SNP MPsnow as Ian Blackford just got back.

We still have Alistair Carmichael. If Jo Swinson can get her P45 we can live in hope the Orcadians and Shetlanders do the decent thing and dump the LibDem liar. Even if it is just to rub that tw@t Glen Ileach is SNP Campbell’s Unionist BBC face in the merde because he had a fly gloat that there is “no way the SNP can get 50 MPs now”.

445. Reluctant Nationalist

Thanks Al-Stuart. That’ll definitely do.

446. Al-Stuart

Cheers Reluctant.

Sadly LibDem Liar Carmichael got back into Orkney and Shetland. Respectable 4.4% swing from LibDem to SNP.

So if the BBC are right then we have gone from 35 up to 49 SNP MPs.

447. Capella

Is Neale Hanvey included in the SNP total? If Alistair Carmichael loses and Neale Hanvey is added that will make 50 SNP seats. Just wondering if Ruth Davidson will be skinny dipping in Loch Ness.

448. Breeks

AndyMcKangry says:
    13 December, 2019 at 5:13 am
    Plague and pestilence on the North East and the Borders?!
    When they start complaining about the effects of Brexit, fuck them. They will reap what they sew!!

Fuck you arse hole. Didn’t see you standing up for the Borders when it was denied Scottish news bad Broadcasting. Where were you then? . Let me guess, you’re central belt aren’t you?

And it’s “sow”. It’s thick obnoxious dick heads like you which are a big part of the problem.

449. Adrian B

Well, that was the final General Election for Westminster that Scots will ever take part in.

Roll on a better future…

450. PacMan

Meg merrilees says: 13 December, 2019 at 5:33 am

SO it looks like the NE Tories have saved the (t)Ruthless one from doing her skinny dook in Loch Ness – came damn close though…

Considering how close it is, maybe she could do it for charity. I’m sure we we will all chip in for her to do it. I mean we would doing it because money will be going to a good cause and nothing to do with making her have egg on her face in public 🙂

451. Ann

Shocking coverage by the BEEB.

Hardly any winning speeches from SNP winners.

Then once again the obsession with Indy2 instead of concentrating on the major constitutional problems that lie ahead.

Good thing though is that the constant negativity of the MSM played in the SNPs favour.

452. Willie

Prepare for the onslaught ladies and gents.

The Tories led by elites like Johnston are back and back big. The neoliberal right wing agenda is now mandated by a landslide and we in Scotland are going to hurt.

The SNP victory will put paid bums on seats but whether they will.be able to do diddly squat is another question. Outgunned and ineffectual in a landslide Tory Westminster Scotland is now going to get a right good fucking.

453. PacMan

Al-Stuart says:
    13 December, 2019 at 6:06 am

So if the BBC are right then we have gone from 35 up to 49 SNP MPs.

BBC spin, I mean not fake news, will report that the nationalist wins did not hold up to Nicola Sturgeons expectations.

454. Robert J. Sutherland

SNP’s Kevin Pringle:

The scale of the SNP victory is much more significant, much more emphatic, than Boris Johnston’s success across the UK. So we’re really into a situation of – […] – it’s a contest between the two mandates, and certainly the SNP mandate is much more significant than the Tory mandate across the UK.

So we’re clearly in a situation where the Scottish constitutional debate – y’know – comes right back into centre stage (not that it was ever very far away from there =chuckle=), but, y’know, with a huge, huge energy now behind the SNP and the Scottish Government.

Again, good reframing, but let’s also hope though that the mentioned energy is suitably reflected in the upcoming words and deeds of our elected representatives.

Meanwhile, Tory strategist Andy Maciver judges this to be a tremendous result historically for the SNP. He believes the Tory strategy of “no to IR2” hasn’t really worked. They have held on to their core vote but got nothing they expected from Labour on the basis of Unionism, whose expected drop in support has actually gone instead to the SNP on the basis of Remain. So the Tory vote has now maxed out (peak Tory!) on the basis of unionism and so they now have “a pretty big strategic problem” going forward.

455. Sinky

BBC news channel hexagon shows Scotland as one tenth of size of England.

Critics of Nicola Sturgeon will need to eat their words.

Labour wiped out in Scotland. I am told the remaining red Tory had his activists standing outside Waitrose in Morningside for most of the day as working class areas of Edinburgh South moved to the SNP.

456. Dr Jim

DUP lose Nigel Dodds and at least one other and the Northen Irish are screaming for a border poll just like I said

Swinson out Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!

The FM will demand the section 30 order by the first week in December and the FM will be in another country talking to folk the week after about the Tories and their *trade deal* with pals in the EU

Like 6 tons of granite coming down on Johnson’s napper from every angle all at once

C’mon Mary Lou goodbye Dodds sweet Mary Lou I’m so in love with you, I bet Johnson forgot about her

Oh aye, what a loser Corbyn is eh

457. Dr Jim

The leader of the Labour party student activists in Scotland said the youth Labour vote will now swing in behind the SNP and Independence for Scotland

458. Doug Bryce

Great result. Good game Scotland!
    Well done everyone for sticking with SNP.
    Independence is coming. Brexit is a train wreck

459. Simon Curran

Cracking result for Amy Callaghan, fracking bad for Jo Swinson

460. PacMan

Willie says: 13 December, 2019 at 6:23 am

Prepare for the onslaught ladies and gents.

The Tories led by elites like Johnston are back and back big. The neoliberal right wing agenda is now mandated by a landslide and we in Scotland are going to hurt.

The SNP victory will put paid bums on seats but whether they will.be able to do diddly squat is another question. Outgunned and ineffectual in a landslide Tory Westminster Scotland is now going to get a right good fucking.

I’ve taken a break from politics for a good while and not been on this or any other independence site for ages. In that time I have had a number of political conversations with people, just went with the flow and not corrected the usual anti indy and anti SNP they spout etc

With the conversations with these people, they opened up and I have detected a trace of dissatisfaction, unease and frustration with these peoples unionist ‘friends’ south of the border. There is no doubt they are not happy with the right wing Tories and how they are popular down there.

In the EU referendum, we in Scotland voted overwhelmingly to stay in the EU. Yesterday, we in Scotland voted overwhelmingly for the SNP. Not of all these votes was for independence but in the coming weeks and months when these two results are ignored and if Brexit is as bad as we know it will be and it hits people bad in the pocket, it will focus a lot of minds and a lot of people will question their opposition to independence in light of this.

Expect interesting times ahead.

461. Robert J. Sutherland

Dr Jim @ 06:40,

Yup, I think once the remaining Labour faithful in Scotland have got over the immediate sting of such a calamitous loss across the board, we need to gently whisper to them “how do you fancy a likely further decade of Tory rule?”

Likewise to all those Remainers whose last-hope dreams are now shattered, however they have just voted. A phyrric victory in NE Fife, for example, and only thanks to Tory tactical voting, will win them absolutely nothing in the end.

There’s only one way forward now for all of them, just as there is for us. Let’s do it.

Take the I-Train.

462. Breeks

PacMan says:
    13 December, 2019 at 6:22 am
    Meg merrilees says: 13 December, 2019 at 5:33 am

Considering how close it is, maybe she could do it for charity. I’m sure we we will all chip in for her to do it. I mean we would doing it because money will be going to a good cause and nothing to do with making her have egg on her face in public ?

Make her swim 50% of the way across or it doesn’t count.

463. Scozzie

Great result for SNP – hope to see some serious advances now made for gaining independence. No excuses – they’ve got mandates on top of mandates.

464. mike cassidy

That’s me, folks.

Wake me up in five years time if we hold the balance of power.

465. Sinky

Remind Tories who kept saying the SNP do not speak for Scotland now Tories claim that they are The People’s Government and Labour out of power for 10 years.

They are finished in Scotland unless they embrace independence. Federalism does not work when you are in bed with an elephant.

466. Tatu3

Proportionally how does the SNP win in scotland compare to Tory win in england? Does anyone know?

467. robertknight

Forgive me for raining on the parade…

* Nearly one-third of the electorate here couldn’t be arsed to vote.

* One in four who did vote here voted Tory, FFS!

* Despite Brexit, the swing to the SNP was only 8%!

* The Pro-Indy (SNP + SG) vote has barely moved since 2014, despite the impending Brexit disaster.

* The SNP is still languishing in the mid 40’s and remains well short of the pre-Brexit result of 2015 in terms of % share of the vote and seats won.

* Stephen Gethins lost Fife NE to the bloody FibDems who also kept Aliar Carmichael’s nose in the trough.

*If I see that smug prick Johnson on TV again today, the TV’s get’n it!.

*On the positive front, only two things come to mind – I now have Alyn Smith as my MP, and Swinson is history. Otherwise…

468. Socrates MacSporran

Did anyone else notice, Ian Murray wasn’t wearing Labour Red, rather he was sporting Hearts’ Maroon.

469. Breeks

Time for a red line ultimatum Nicola… Boris is gonna make a dash for a quick Brexit whatever the cost. We need a Scottish Backstop that breaks the Union when he does.

We can apply democratic ratification retrospectively, but Brexit happening must emphatically mark the end on the Union.

470. Effijy

Bojo the English Clown would need 4 out of 5 MPs to be Tory to match the
    SNP success.
    He doesn’t have that!

471. Tam the Bam.

Y’know….overjoyed and stunned as I am at the overwhelming scale of the SNP’s success tonight…I’m still left with a wee bit regret at the loss of Stephen Gethins (a damn good and popular MP…NE FIFE must count as one of the very few constituencies where ;tactical voting’ actually worked!) and that SNP came within 500 votes of getting rid of Bluebottle (Doogee Ross @ Moray)…then again…had anybody shown me this chance of a final outcome at 9-55pm last night…..I’D HAVE BITTEN THEIR HAND OFF!!!…..night folks….celebrate and sleep well (I know I will).

472. North chiel

Propaganda Quay election coverage both on radio and tv throughout the night an absolute disgrace . Where do they dig up these “ has beens” from ? Jim Murphy ? Ian Davidson? Kezia ( all night sour faced) Dugdale , Nicol Stephen , Menzies Campbell . Honestly it’s like people rescued from “ the ark” . It’s like ghosts from the past . And as for “ the rhinestone cowboy” ? Time he Rhode off into the sunset . Shocking unionist bias all night long on both radio and television .

473. robertknight

Lets not kid ourselves here people, with the most unpopular Tory PM in a generation and the impending economic disaster that is Brexit, at the very least the SNP should be back up at 2015 levels of support: 56 Seats with 50% of the votes cast of a 71% turnout.

Instead, we’re at 48 Seats with 45% of the votes cast of a 68% turnout.

The SNP should’ve done better.

474. sassenach

Great night, but why is it that people in Dumfries and Galloway area keep returning these Tories – Fluffy and Union Jack??

Need to move even further north I think, out of this union cesspit!

475. Abulhaq

What the SNP ought to have done in 2015 let it do now. Take a constitutional hammer to the British State. It’s what we expect.

476. Tam the Bam.

robertknight@8-16am

Glass half-empty Robert?…

477. Jock McDonnell

Given Brexit, 2015 & 2019 aren’t fully comparable, so a great result for yessers last night.

478. Dorothy Devine

Considering the media of Scotland and it’s perpetual anti SNP garbage , I have to say I am over the moon with the SNP result!

It fills me with delight to realise that the folk who live here have left the ‘lead by the nose ‘ media behind.

479. robertknight

So, the PM tells the FM you’re not getting a Section 30 Order. The UKSC tells the FM that the PM has every right to refuse one – after all the Constitution is ‘Reserved’. The FM can’t go to the ECJ, because we’re out of the EU, and the UN doesn’t give two hoots – none of us are being ethnically cleansed, imprisoned or shot in the streets. What next? UDI? The FM says a Section 30 Order is the only means of Indy. Anyone else see a problem here?

480. ahundredthidiot

Robertnight

SNP went from 35 seats to 48

what’s that? 35-37% increase in actual FPTP seats?

You need a sugary doughnut me thinks

481. Tam the Bam.

robertknight @ 8-35am

Yeh…I do.

Go to bed Robert…we are all tired and in need of some ‘shuteye’.

Best Regards.

482. Robert J. Sutherland

There is unfortunately a segment of any population of any era that was well-recognised back when by Abe Lincoln: “You can fool some of the people all of the time…”. But among that segment here and now, there are going to be many who get a nasty wake-up call when the effects of Brexit really get a grip on them. I just hope we here in Scotland succeed in preemptively dodging that bullet by making our own early arrangements.

It’s also due in no small part to the media, and the buffoons who get free range on it. CNN just now had a smirking Malcolm Rifkind on, “I know about Scotland, you know, I was Secretary of State once upon a time…”, complacently assuring the audience that Scotland was no problem, because the pro-SNP % of the vote hadn’t changed in several years, a Scotland outwith both the EU and the UK would be in a very lonely place, needing an “English backstop” (whatever that means), oh, and the oil is about to run out. =sigh=

(You can see though from that cosy little homily that getting the UK out of the EU was part of Tory anti-indy thinking all along, and why Nicola & Co. were conversely trying hard to prevent it. But that’s history now for sure.)

Well, if it’s going to be such a no-brainer for the Union, then no problemo to just bring it on, Mr. glib plummy smart-arse Edinburgh lawyer. And just watch the numbers for indy soar away as the pro-indy arguments strike home against a morbund and negative empty husk.

I’m getting right ready for this.

483. Willie

She never counted for much and now that she’s gone she’ll be consigned to a very small footnote in history.

But as an individual who made you want to throw a boot at the TV the bumper chested one was not throwing her arms about like a demented chimpanzee upon her Dumbarton East electoral deselection. A sitting MP and party leader chucked by the voters.

Must have been something to do with the peculiarly accented guff she trotted out.

484. Joe

Ok. So whats the plan if Brexit isnt a financial disaster and the danger turned out to be staying in Europe? Or if bojos brexit isnt much of a brexit after all?

I know thats not what everyone has been brainwashed with but if that were the case where would the argument be?

485. Defo

JC shouldn’t feel too bad, if you allow for the Russian money letting the Tory scum outspent everyone else to a huge degree.
    The years old anti Semitic campaign nonsense , cheerled by Auntie did it’s job too.

Democracy?
    Pull the other one.

486. Joe

@ confused

I might be off on the politics of it but the SNP threatening to stand candidates in England might be quite powerful

487. Big Del

No wonder Blowjob won, just watch his victory announcement and he had Darth Vader and LALA..

488. Ghillie

WELL DONE SNP 🙂

And a very big thankyou to all you hard working activists who helped this happen xxx =)

489. Pete

Stock markets and the pound surging.
    Fabulous result for business and pensions.
    Brexit almost done!

490. Pete

Quite an incongruous result when you think about it.
    England and Wales have put away their political differences to vote for freedom from the EU to become independent whereas the SNP are desperate to return to subjugation.
    Something not quite right here?

491. mike cassidy

Pete 9.15

Something not quite right here

Your analysis.

You’re welcome

492. Dorothy Devine

Robert J.Sutherland , I saw him on BBBC and was reminded of the Channel 4 programme where he was exposed as a money grubbing grandee , an utter disgrace.

493. Dan

Didn’t stay up for results as was exhausted.

It’s worth remembering that this GE result doesn’t include the votes of 16 & 17 year olds and EU Nationals.

494. Ottomanboi

UK leaving the EU is certain. The SNP leadership must now be focussed on Independence for Scotland. Nothing else matters. Westminster rules no more.

495. jockmcx

theres nowhere left to hide,theres no excuses left.

your a scot or your not.

496. Republicofscotland

Great result for the SNP, England and Scotland are moving in two different directions. The SNP must now concentrate on delivering independence.

497. Breeks

Pete says:
    13 December, 2019 at 9:15 am
    Quite an incongruous result when you think about it.
    England and Wales have put away their political differences to vote for freedom from the EU to become independent whereas the SNP are desperate to return to subjugation.
    Something not quite right here…

Your analysis.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.