Anarchy in the rUK

Posted on March 24, 2019 by

Well, hopefully there won’t be too much of that, as we’ve got a sitter in to keep the Separats in check while we’re away. But activity on Wings will probably be a little sparse over the next few days, for hopefully-obvious reasons.

There’s a limit on how much we’ll be able to say about the case, and chances to post on the site will be restricted in general, but we’ll try to keep on top of any important events. Normal service will be resumed ASAP. In the meantime, behave yourselves.

1. 24 03 19 09:56

Anarchy in the rUK | speymouth

1228 to “Anarchy in the rUK”

1. Capella

Good luck Stu – or better still, good legal representation, and keep us posted when you can.

2. Ken500

Go for it. Wings will win. Right before might. Wings soaring like wins over Scotland.

These corrupt bunch of MSM villains and the corrupt political class making a killing. Killing millions. Most of them should be in jail. If there was any justice. Sychophant, evil, lying, greedy bastards.

3. Greg Drysdale

Do you think a few soft NOs might take a wander over to Wings to see if there’s anything in this “independence stuff”? 😉

4. One_Scot

If you need more funds you know where we are.

5. Macjim

We’re right behind you, best off luck…

6. X_Sticks

Good luck Stuart. Having watched the whole sorry Dugdale stramash I don’t doubt you’ll win.

As for “behave yourselves”, I’m not so sure…

7. Dr Jim

Punk media? I don’t know what that means or what those who coined the phrase mean by it

Is it the Blogger who’s the Punk or the people reading it are Punks?

The only Punk description I was really ever aware of was the derisory American version, the music reference to Punk always escaped me as meaningless, unless they mean their description of Punk Media is it’s meaningless

In which case I would be insulted for both readers and Blogger alike

8. Alison Brown

You’ll win and then get back here and let’s all get this wee country free!

9. stu mac

One thing that article avoided saying. Stu’s site is not just about an alternative to MSM, it is a regular critic of the misinformation and biased reporting that appears in the MSM. In fact it’s such a key feature of Wings that one wonders why it wasn’t mentioned. Or not.

10. stan moore

Went to see Stiff Little Fingers last Sat/Sun night at Barrowlands for St Patricks night, intro tune still buzzing in ma head – ” Go for it” 🙂

11. highseastim

Good luck Stu, sock it to them!!

12. Ken500

More green lies about the Trump Development starting up again by the Greens. They will muck up Independence. Lying bastards. Feeding the lying Press bastards,

The Development was/is supported by the locals. A smaller Development. A smaller number of houses. (250).

The school is over crowded. The unionist council has done nothing about it for over four years. One local Tory councillor can’t attend Council meeting. He attends two free complementary dinners every week. Plus the top remuneration. A bunch of liars. Building houses and no schools or essential services. Empty, offices and shops costing £Billions.

The green/unionists objected for years to the Forth Crossing and the AWPR. Helping landowners and being funded by them. Held them up for years causing traffic chaos and costing £Billions of hold ups. The building of these essential roads have cut journeys by 2/3rds. Cutting emissions, fuel, energy and costs 60% ++. Saving £Billions and putting £Billions into the economy.

The SNP Scottish Gov (Alex Salmond) got it done. Win – Win. No wonder they are winners.

13. Effijy

We are right behind you and whatever you need, we need.

These mouth pieces need to learn a very hard lesson that lies, deceit and distortion come at a price the people of Scotland are not going to be paying for!

The result should be obvious but with wealthy backers, corrupt politicians and judiciary it will be a battle.

If they go rogue on this one its pitch forks out and storm the Bastille.

14. Scot Finlayson

@Dr Jim,

can`t see any reference to `Punk Media`

think the proff is just using the simile of the emergence and energy of anti establishment Punk rock and anti establishment political `e pundits`,

he is a proff so he should think he knows what he is babbling about 🙂

15. Dr Jim

The mainstream media ask questions like should there ever be a second Scottish referendum then print the answer this way

*One in three Scots don’t want a second Independence referendum*

Then the media ask another question framed this way, should a referendum be held in two years five years or ten years then they provide a breakdown of miniscule percentages for each scenario attempting to create the impression nobody wants one now when the truth is the percentage FOR a second Scottish referendum is actually 60% but they didn’t ask the question *Do you want one now* because they didn’t want that answer in order to print their real objective angle which is *Division on a second vote*

So which media is it that are the *Punks*?

16. Giving Goose

How csn Simon Pia be a lecturer in journalism?
    I wouldn’t think working for Scottish Labour would impart those skills.

17. Essexexile

Good luck Rev.
    Let’s all be a bit careful what we say here shall we? Comments about pitchforks and storming the Bastille are likely to be picked up by MSM reporting on the case.

18. bookie from hell

jury or judge ?

19. Derick fae Yell

Behave? NEVER!!

20. Dr Jim

@Scot Finlayson 9:27am

Yeah you’re right I put Punk and media together as opposed to Punk and energy, whichever though I’m 70 years of age and whatever a Punk is I don’t think I feel like any description of Punkyness

It’s about the offensive way the Mainstream decide to name call and label something that isn’t them in order to make it seem less important (A very *British* trait)

21. manandboy

Enjoy your sojourn in court, Stu. All Wingers will be with you in spirit. Do not let your heart be troubled in any way. Love & best wishes xxx

22. Nana

Best of luck Rev. As for behaving ourselves, that will be a miracle 🙂

23. TheItalianJob

Good luck Stu. Let’s hope it’s a fair trial.

Willing to assist with more donations if you think you require it.

24. Sharny Dubs

British MSM, a dark alleyway down which good ideas are lured and beaten to death.

Good luck Stu, we’ve got yer back.

25. Mogabee

Behave???

I’ve been misbehaving for years now and can’t see me starting now! 😀

The best of luck head Punk!!

26. Marcia

Punk media? Do we have to have safety pins through out ears?

27. Jason Smoothpiece

Good luck old bean, all routing for you.

Stay double careful for a wee while.

We are all watching.

28. Brian

God do they not like you.
    Patronising idiots. All the best Rev.

29. Albaman

You should not need “luck” Stew, just sticking to the facts should see you through, K. Dugdale won’t,I think be your problem, but be very,very aware of the treacherous Daily Record.thier political staff, from the editor to David Clegg would just love to undermine Wlngs over Scotland.
    The Scottish government (S.N.P.) they can always get to criticise because of the almost open invitation from the T.V. companies here in Scotland, bu t I believe that they fully recognise the power of “Wings”, and are frustrated inasmuch that they have been unable to lay a finger on you.

30. SilverDarling

Best of luck and here’s hoping for a fair and speedy conclusion.

Take care.

31. Nation Libre

No ‘controversial bath-based’

32. Heart of Galloway

Nicola Sturgeon on Andrew Marr right now.

33. Ronin...

@stan
    Funnily enough listening to slf live at barrowlands on “st Patrix” (albeit from some years ago) as I read your comment. My all time favourite band although only saw them once in Leeds. One day I’ll be in the audience with you in barrowlands!

34. dakk

Good luck Stuart.

And if m’lord starts grogging at you,be sure not to take it as a bad thing. You’ll be home and dry.

Well maybe not dry.

35. Heart of Galloway

A Marr asks NS if the SNP’s 35 MPs would back a soft Brexit (CU and SM). FM says as long as EU membership is on the table that is what we will support. A very important statement.

36. Marie Clark

Good luck Stu, as for behaving weeeelll mibbies aye mibbies naw. I’ve never been very good at behaving.

37. HYUFD

Heart of Galloway Yet crucially Sturgeon did not rule out backing a soft Brexit (SM and/or CU) either if she did not get her first preference of EUref2 or revoke Article 50. The only thing Sturgeon committed to oppose was No Deal or May’s current Deal

38. Alexandra-M-

Good luck, Stu!

39. Heart of Galloway

A Marr to Keir Starmer: you have just heard the First Minister of Scoland say she would revoke Article 50. If faced with a choice between no deal and revoking Article 50 would Labour support revoking Article 50?

Keir Starner: We are not at that stage yet.

And right there stands the great Labour Party. Idealess and bereft of all principle. FFS

40. R

Good luck. Fingers crossed, but looking forward to reading all about a handsome win here.

41. Gary45%

All the best Stu, you know the “army” is behind you.

The punk era, 1 chord, maybe 2 or 3, and energy that changed the world.
    Proud to be an Indy Punk.

42. Habib Steele

All the best, Stuart! May you win your case!

43. Republicofscotland

You ain’t no Daft Punk Rev, you’ve done your Homework, give em hell.

44. TheItalianJob

Andrew Marr.

Who he?

Never watch the delusioned man anymore. Waste of my time.

45. MajorBloodnok

Good luck Stu. Truth will prevail.

46. sassenach

Best wishes, Rev, would be nice to see Dugdale get a comeuppance.

47. Mad Unionist

I note the Sunday Herald is pointing out the slum conditions our people are living in and the exorbitant rents being paid.
    How long have the Tory SNP and the Socialist Greens!been in power? How long were Labour and the Dug in power? I am sure another court case is just what is needed for the emancipation of the working classes.

48. Robert Peffers

Oh! Aye!

So Professor Duff call Stu a punk?

I can see another court case coming on.

I just checked the on-line dictionary and it confirmed my impression of what the term, “Punk”, means.

Besides the musical reference which only confirms the meaning further the second meaning quoted in the dictionary is this:-

informal•North American:

a worthless person (often used as a general term of abuse.

Example- “you think any of these punks they got fighting today could stand up to Joe Louis?”

So this Professor guy says Stu is a worthless person does he? How very dare he.

49. Jockanese Wind Talker

I’d wish you good luck Stu but professionals don’t need it.

The facts are the facts.

You’re comments weren’t homophobic.

Hopefully the political opportunism, manipulation of facts, leaking to (& for) BLiS____d Propagandising of ‘Grand Master’ D Clegg is also put under the microscope during this case.

50. schrodingers cat

go on punk, make my day 🙂

interesting article but it raises the question of why no unionist website with anything like the pull of wos?

i think it is a demographic issue, younger generations are less reliant on the old 4th estate

eg, 70% of the over 65’s voted no and leave.

i’m not sure that being young or a computer literate older person automatically qualifies you as being a punk or a 5th columnist.

sounds more like sour grapes from someone who is witnessing their own demise as it is the medium in which they work in that is dying, not wos

51. Sarah

Enjoy the time off, Rev. Make the most of breathing Scottish air and drinking Scottish water instead of that awful stuff in Bath [I’ve tasted it!].

52. Robert Peffers

@Essexexile says: 24 March, 2019 at 9:29 am:

” … Let’s all be a bit careful what we say here shall we? Comments about pitchforks and storming the Bastille are likely to be picked up by MSM reporting on the case.”

AND … ?

53. mike cassidy

How appropriate the use of ‘punk’ at this time.

For as the Sex Pistols foretold 40 years ago

“There’s no future
    In England’s dreaming “

54. John Alexander Ferguson

Dugdale’s instructions to her lawyer. “I’m a celebrity, get me out of here”.

55. call me dave

A wee cough you say? Jings!

Remember every time you disappear something big happens. 🙂

56. dek

Stu’s not punk; he’s more steampunk.

57. John Walsh

“You feeling lucky punk”
    IF you get a chance to eviscerat her take it.
    She and the paper who are backing her would have no compunction of bankrupting you in a heart beat.
    To the victor the spoils.
    More power to the punk press .

58. Robert Louis

Quote “In the meantime, behave yourselves”.

slightly akin, as an understatement, to “I am just going outside, and may be some time”.

I fully expect a British Nationalist troll pile-on at some point.

Seriously though, this case aside from indy and the rev is probably quite important in a general sense.

59. Mary miles

From Tassie:

Good luck Stuart!

60. Bobp

When you win your case rev, no doubt ‘ scotlands chumpion’ will tell us all about it in a paragraph bottom of the middle page.

61. galamcennalath

“spotlight of ‘punk’ power of new media bloggers” is an interesting phrase. What does it mean, though?

Some dictionary research of ‘punk’ ….

mass noun
    – A loud, fast-moving, and aggressive form of rock music, popular in the late 1970s.

count noun
    – An admirer or player of punk rock, typically characterized by coloured spiked hair and clothing decorated with safety pins or zips.

Fair enough. A music and culture which was of its time and place.

However, there are many derogatory meanings, particularly American.

North American informal noun
    – A worthless person (often used as a general term of abuse)
    – A criminal or thug.
    – An inexperienced young person.

US verb
    – Trick or deceive.

I think we can assume the use in that article is not intended to be complimentary. They imply port quality alternative to their ‘quality’ traditional journalism. Funny.

62. Phronesis

Who are the real anarchic punks ?

When your ideological principles are adrift in a sea of corruption and fraudulent practice and when you see the threat of civic nationalism and any form of Home Rule as the end of your Empire or what’s left of it . And this is hard wired into your party’s thinking to the point that you are willing to usurp any burgeoning democracy because you’ve never really believed in a deliberative and participatory democracy.

In the 21st century we all see it too and for Scotland this is simply not good enough.

‘For when ideological Unionism was dominant, the party followed policies of coercion and conciliation that failed to address the fundamental constitutional issues and created the conditions for increasing polarization and violence’ “The Foundations of the British Conservative Party: Essays on Conservatism from Lord Salisbury to David Cameron” by Bradley W. Hart, Richard Carr

‘Governments returned in this way may face increasingly divisive constitutional issues –from the West Lothian question to the relationship between Britain and Europe. While these issues do not involve religious or sectarian questions to the same extent as Home Rule, they have the capacity to tap similar feelings of nationalism and are similarly difficult for future governments to reverse. It remains to be seen whether Conservatism can navigate such conflicts more successfully in the twenty-first century than in the first decade of the twentieth’ “The Foundations of the British Conservative Party: Essays on Conservatism from Lord Salisbury to David Cameron” by Bradley W. Hart, Richard Carr

‘What right have you who sit on those Benches to say that the people of this country may not and shall not change their minds? Who are you but their servants? What right have you to proclaim yourselves their masters? There are no circumstances in life in which those who have received commands or instructions from higher authority which they cannot carry out without unexpected disaster, are not bound by every rule of honour and conscience to ask for fresh instructions. Is the captain of a ship to go full speed ahead when icebergs have drifted across the course assigned to him? Are the agents of a business concern to persist in carrying out instructions which prove unexpectedly to be full of risk and loss?’

https://api.parliament.uk/historic-hansard/lords/1914/feb/12/address-in-reply-to-his-majestys-most

63. Gordon Henderson

All power to you sir !

64. HandandShrimp

There may be a majority in the HoC for a Norway deal but not likely to happen while May (or worse, Gove) is at the helm.

It is May’s red lines that are the issue. That and ERG swivel eyed madness.

65. Cubby

Dr Doom strikes again.

The only one making such comments is as usual Dr Doom. The resident phoney independence supporter and his sneaky comments just keep popping up. At least the FUD from Essex is honest that he is a Britnat. Mind you that is the only thing the FUD is honest about.

66. K1

He thinks he’s fighting the Jacobites. Nothing honest about a delusional fuckwit with colonial aspirations.

67. HandandShrimp

Good fortune to Stu on the case. It all seems so long ago now that it is barely relevant what Kezia said. Hopefully sanity will prevail and Kezia’s team look for a quick way out of this. I am surprised she didn’t withdraw and settle when Labour pulled the plug.

Stu may be contentious but he clearly isn’t bigoted.

68. call me dave

@manandboy

Thanks for posting that article.

69. IZZIE

Go on punk make our day (tomorrow)

70. mumsyhugs

You know what they say – “Be good – but if you can’t be good, be careful!!!”

Anyway, good luck boss man 🙂

71. Macart

Oh hell! The Rev’s out of the building?

Taking odds on:

1. Gove, Liddington, Bojo or the Downing street cat being made PM (possibly all of them and at the same time)
    2. GE or referendum being called
    3. A mad outbreak of humanity and sense hits the Commons chamber(Ok, this one is EXTREMELY unlikely)
    4. Tsunami, earthquake and/or meteor strike occurs shortly before alien invasion

*Hides under bed*

72. galamcennalath

HandandShrimp says:

There may be a majority in the HoC for a Norway deal

We are being told that MPs might have the opportunity to vote on each of the possible options.

I was talking about this to our daughter. I was pointing that if each MO focuses on only their favourite outcome, then there will be no majorities. I suggested we need a system where the can give any second or third choices they could live with. I suggested using STV for MPs to layout their individual preferences in order.

She look at me as if I was daft.

“You don’t honestly think MPs in WM are capable of understanding STV, do you?”

She’s probably right, I accept. Given their recent performances, it’s highly unlike they would understand a ‘normal’ democratic procedure!

73. Robert Peffers

@call me dave says:24 March, 2019 at 12:00 pm:

” … A wee cough you say? Jings!
    Remember every time you disappear something big happens.”

Well there is Britnat news talk of a cabinet plot to unseat Therese May but I don’t know if that counts as something big or not. I’m only surprised that the long knives have not been out long ago. I suppose it just indicates that no one in the Tory party feels like picking up that particularly hot potato.

74. jack whelan

Will probably get the slanted version from the DR. ON A DAILY BASIS. They are paying her legal bill so will have to get their money back some way. Good Luck Stu,although you shouldn’t need luck. Foolish woman should have apologised way back.

75. Lenny Hartley

Think u will find that the remainer plot to oust May has spooked the ERG and others and they will vote for MaY’s deal as long as she stands down, the way I see it Parliament is split three ways
    But the majority favour Mays deal or a hard Brexit. Both are effectively a hard Brexit so rather than lose Brexit due to Public Opinion the ERG , possibily the Duppers and elements of Labour will vote for Mays deal.

76. Marco McGinty

Good luck!

77. Robert Peffers

@Lenny Hartley says:24 March, 2019 at 1:26 pm:

” … the majority favour Mays deal or a hard Brexit. Both are effectively a hard Brexit so rather than lose Brexit due to Public Opinion the ERG , possibily the Duppers and elements of Labour will vote for Mays deal.”

Yes, Lenny, but that lot are so thick and see themselves as entitled that it will never enter their minds that public opinion will see them deselected by their local parties or even if they are selected get voted out by the public they ignored.

I could bet that this UK Exit caper will see many seats change hands arses at the next UK general selection. That is if a United Kingdom still exists by the time they call a general election.

78. manandboy

https://www.opendemocracy.net/en/dark-money-investigations/dont-ask-dont-tell-how-a-conspiracy-of-silence-will-corrupt-britains-next-election/?

How do the Tories go about winning seats in General Elections – hard work? Don’t be daft – by throwing money from Central Office about, but not declaring it.

79. Robert Peffers

Just to show how biased the Scottish Media, I’ll rephrase that, the UK media in Scotland are this YouTube clip was on YouTube 6 years ago.

Yet there have been Wingers recently who had not even heard of it and some who had heard of it but did not know what it was all about:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JL8rPmkkcAY&t=3s

In any normal country or kingdom the media would have been leading campaigns of one kind or another but the release of the report after decades of secrecy was of little or no consequence to the Britnat media in Scotland.

So do not expect anything positive to be reported about Rev Stu’s case against a unionist party former office holder in the Britnat media in Scotland.

80. Confused

Kez defence will amount to : “it was real, in MY MIND … feelings … Im a girly … ”

Legal ruling = “WTF!”

– at times like these, you kinda miss – WARRANT SALES … would have been fun going round to her flat and putting in a bid for 50p on her dualit toaster
    whats she in the bag for 100K?

OR

– the political fix could be in : politicians being held to account, in the pocket, for the crap they speak – that is a dangerous precedent
    – and then the court papers will be sealed for 80 years

I love our legal system, its like pot-luck/spin the wheel – with real consequences to fuck your life up

81. Cactus

Hehe ahm up top on one of our Glasgow tour buses.

About tae head east.

1400hrs.

82. jfngw

I read that T.May is having a meeting with the ERG today. Rumours are JRM has volunteered to provide the fig starter from an ancient Livia Drusilla recipe.

83. Cactus

“The tall spire ahead is…”

Lovely day for it 2.

St Mungo talk.

84. Merkin Scot

Orrabest, Stu, fae sunny Glesca.

85. robertknight

FIVE MILLION+!!! 🙂

86. Cactus

Ye can hop on and hop off all day on Glasgow Tours.

Hopped aff at The Palace furra pint at Bar West.

City Centre bound a soon revellers…

87. jfngw

@Cactus

Are you sure your not in Salisbury, what height is that spire?

88. Cactus

Cheers Rev, enjoy the journey, we got it.

Indy’s just around the corner

Now is the time 2 party

89. Cactus

Hey jfngw, they all look the same to me, ahm gonnae walk backwards thru The Barras, ahm never away for too long

90. Phydaux

My best wishes to you Stuart. You were uniquely successful in subjecting public servant Kezia Dugdale to proper scrutiny. She chose to abuse her position of parliamentary privilege when she manipulated FMQ, as a form of revenge, in my view, to hurl personal abuse and attempt to malign your reputation and professional integrity. I recall that she was like a wee bairn, in meltdown mode, dependent on the security blanket of Holyrood.

She chose to ignore efforts to resolve matters out of court and avoid further costs even when she seemed to have no independent means to cover her costs. She will have no privileged status at the Sheriff Court where she will be required, under oath, to defend the charges against her.

Shine on Stuart and know that I and many many others will lend our support in whatever way is helpful to you. Just say the word.

91. HandandShrimp

The lean from Nicola and Keith seems ever more towards Indyref2. SNP conference in April? It is after the 11th of April so we should have some clarity as to who is PM and what is happening to “the deal”.

Here is hoping 🙂

92. galamcennalath

In 2016 16,141,241 people across the UK, most taking the trouble to go out of their homes, voted Remain.

Why, therefore, has it taken soooo long for a conveniently available online petition demanding Remain to reach 5,000,000?

It almost certainly is a measure of how disengaged from politics folks have become. Most people arppear to be blissfully unaware of the severity of the impending threat.

93. Cactus

Ah’ve arrived in a wee Irish bar on the corner of Oor Barras, whom pour ah fine fine fine pint ah Guinness, aye have excellent photographs of Freedom Square frae the bus 🙂 🙂 🙂

94. HandandShrimp

Galamcennalath

It wasn’t exactly the most user friendly conduit. That site kept falling over under the weight of traffic. How many gave up or are waiting till things are easier. It doesn’t close until August.

It is the biggest ever petition by some margin.

95. Dr Jim

Open letter from England to over 50 countries who have become Independent from UK

*If you don’t comply with what we tell you and become Independent we will not trade with you, we will go out of our way to make you poor, we’ll be vindictive and starve you*

Those previous 50 countries all got that letter and all of them trade with the UK of England just as they did before and none of those countries has ever been on the phone since asking to please be returned to the bosom of the wonderful UK

Every year those same countries celebrate their Independence from the UK and the UK sends them best wishes on that day of celebration

So what’s different about Scotland then?

If you have a question mark in your mind about that then you’re asking yourself the right question, and the answer is……….

The next question is do you want to be part of a Union that threatens you, and the answer is ………..

The third and last question, would you like to be part of a Union where a small country has the same standing and voting power as a large country, and the answer is ………

96. Dr Jim

On my way to George Square today I met a man who said we should have been Independent 40 years ago when we had oil now it’s too late

I said do you not keep up with these things anymore, he answered *Nah it’s too late*

I said new discoveries have shown there’s now more oil than they ever found before

The man followed me to George Square

97. Cactus

New bar, appears tae be topical, SO thought I’d try out The Barras’ The Squirrel, the decor is interesting, WAL 1-0 SVK

C’mon ye Welsh

Ahm hearing background noises

98. Graf Midgehunter

Oops, had 3 WOS threads open and posted on the old one..! Sorry.
    ————————

@ Cameron B Brodie

I was reading an article in the “Der Spiegel” with an interview by British anthropologist Richard Wrangham which dealt in part with aggression and domination.

To me it seemed to indicate that behaviour in Westminster with regard to Brexit is similar to that of chimpanzees whereas Holyrood tends to emulate Bonobo behaviour, they look the same as human beings but poles apart in human behaviour.

http://www.spiegel.de/international/interview-with-anthropologist-richard-wrangham-a-1259252.html

BTW, keep coming with the links..! ?

99. Cactus

Does anybuddy ken where n when ah can hop back on… more bgm

One walked backwards thru The Barras

And it was FUN!!!

100. Al Dossary

Punks Not Dead………

Going to brave the threat of hammers here, but this one came up on my mates facebook thread today.

https://www.facebook.com/TheExploited/videos/497337654131043/

101. Cactus

Ahm in the Saracen Head.

Billy always talked about it.

They are PLAYing Dominoes.

102. Artyhetty

Anarchy in ‘Britain’. Anarchy, ‘of England’.

Good luck Staurt, keeping fingers crossed for you.

103. Artyhetty

Gah! Meant Stuart of course, dyslexic at keyboard. We didn’t have a good night here so couldn’t get to Glasgow. Sounds like it went really well. Delighted.

104. Cubby

Dr Jim @2.56 and 3.02pm

Two excellent posts.

105. Gary45%

Dr Jim.
    Like Cubby, Nice One.

106. Proud Cybernat

Great Hope Over Fear rally in Freedom Square. Tommy on fire and Wee Ginger Dug telling it straight.

#usethemandate

PS – for the benefit of HM Security Services at today’s rally. You’re no’ very good at that whole undercover malarky – stand out like a sore thumb. Just so you know.

107. Thepnr

Nicola Sturgeon today.

In an interview for the Andrew Marr Show on BBC One, Ms Sturgeon said: “Another Scottish independence referendum is going to happen.

“Nothing in this life is absolutely certain but I think it’s as inevitable as its possible to be.

“Before I set forward a path for Scotland I think it’s reasonable for me to know what the starting point of that journey is going to be and the context in which we are going to be embarking on it.

“We need to know – and hopefully we will know this over the next few days and over the next three weeks.

“Is the UK leaving the EU? Is it leaving with a deal? Is it leaving with no deal or is it not leaving at all, perhaps looking at another referendum?”

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-47679065

Whether the UK leaves the EU or not it is my belief that there will be a second Independence referendum in the not too distant future. The UK ignoring all input from Scotland and it’s refusal to include Scotland in negotiations or take account of the wishes of Scotland’s people is reason enough for another referendum.

The democratic deficit has been laid bare and no matter the Brexit outcome we will have another say on what is to be Scotland’s destiny. Nicola Sturgeon has been totally consistent and correct to wait and see where the final decision to be made on Brexit takes us.

You cannot form a strategy worth pursuing if your opponents can simply pull the rug away from under your feet because you have guessed wrong as to what is going to happen, this is why she has waited with the key word always being clarity.

It really couldn’t have worked out better as the chances of victory have increased the closer we come to Brexit and exposed the Unionist parties as a bunch of British Nationalist shambolic misfits masquerading as politicians.

Couldn’t have happened to a more deserving lot 🙂

108. Dr Jim

@Thepnr 4:48pm

As the FM has consistently said, she wants to win a referendum, not just have one

109. Cactus

Scotland Scotland Scotland

Glasgow Glasgow Glasgow

Ahoy Ahoy Ahoy

Yes Yes Yes

XXX

110. Ken500

Great Glasgow Rally. Little Missy, good music and craic.

No Wings stall presence. Disappointing.. Maybe busy.

111. Ken500

Tommy S. Have another IndyRef when it can be won. Quite soon. Let the Unionists collapse. Just enjoy their demise

112. Ken500

They were heading for the ‘Drovers’? and somewhere else. If someone wants a catch up.

113. Ken500

Was Marr being sarcastic again. Trying to dictate?

114. Ken500

The Glasgow tourist bus. Only drawback. Oliver’s phoney accent commentary. Still great views of the City. The Transport Museum cost £Millions. Bit insipid from the outside. Zaha Hadid. Should have got Trump to design it? Mickey Mouse style.

Stirling Castle.

115. Ken500

Don’t believe it. Snap. Twice on the bus. Overlap

116. Cactus

Hey D, you funny, ahm at Freedom Square…

Are you?

Lap2

117. Ken500

Amanda Brown

Caledonia. Ace

118. Ken500

Away hame. At Stirling. BR.

No Wings stall. Disappointed

119. Ken500

Lap 25? All nighter. Go off topic. Or have some coffee. Or a nice cup of tea. Be happy.Dididee ‘be happy’. Visit relies

120. Cactus

Cool man

Have a good one

Cheers Ken

121. Thepnr

@Dr Jim

Yes, I would say your absolutely correct. The only point in having a second Independence referendum is if you can win it.

Nicola knows this of course as it’s a no brainer.

122. Lenny Hartley

Scotland being rubbish at fotball again, they might have a slender lead but i have seen more back passes in 30 minutes than in the entire six nations tournament.

123. yesindyref2

You’ve got to ask yourself one question. Do I feel lucky? Well, do ya, punk?

124. Ottomanboi

Yesterday, in Trafalgar sq. Nicola Sturgeon sound every mm the model of a British politician….caught in the Brexit headlights. Yawwwwwn!
    Btw what does ‘progressive’ mean?

125. yesindyref2

Punk, as in punk music, is a complement, or at the least, a statement of change, change with vigour and energy, which is what punk brought about in the music world – a change for the good, a breakaway from the becoming staid and ordinary, a breath of fresh and quite atrociously smelly stinky air.

Don’t ask me to explain all that, even though I writ it, I love all music but not the waffle about it.

126. msean

One up front v San Marino.FFS.

127. Ken500

Rev Stu has arrived for the Court case.

Might be colder but still more beautiful. The landscape is brilliant from the train. Amazing.

Scotland the most beautiful in the world. No question.

128. Ken500

Dundee Spectactular. The V&A. What an attraction.

129. yesindyref2

Reminds me of a time I was working dowin in London in the City, around 76-77. Got on the usual commuter train, sat down in the 1st class compartment as always as there were never seats anywhere else, and there were 4 punks in there. It was one of the rare times a ticket collector came in, sliding door from the corridor, and he turned expectantly to the punks, sorely disappointed when they produced their 1st class season tickets. Turned to me shaking his head, feeling kind of akin to me in my city suit and tie, only for me to produce my 2nd class return and really blow his world. “You’ll have to move to 2nd class or pay the difference”, I duly paid.

When he was gone we were pissing ourselves, a good crack all the way up to London. Didn’t know who they were, but that guy who was on the TV in some show recently, Johnny Rotten, looked awfy familiar!

130. Ken500

Sectarianism ruins football in Scotland. No wonder the terraces are empty. People are fed up of it. They cut off their nose to spite their face. Paedos, bigots and racists run the Clubs. Less income. Depressing.

131. mr thms

It seems as if Scotland only play well when qualification is mathematically impossible.

132. ian stewart

I’ll probably get shit for this comment.. but would it not be magnanimous to let Dugdale off the hook ? Sure her comment was outrageous and wrong but somehow I personal feel we have a bit of a witch hunt on our hands The real enemy here is the daily record. So in the spirit of Scottish Independence lets just get her to make her apologies and move on. Of course if she refuses to say sorry then by all means sue her.. But this is ugly and does the cause no good IMO.

133. Ken500

Ticket man just collected. All in line.

Great service. Just a pity it was not faster because of historical lack of investment,

Rigs jacked up in Dundee for decommissioning. Cleaned. Then they go to Turkey for deconstruction. They can’t get enough wprkers in Dundee. No kidding.

Lovely sunset over Broughty Ferry. Nice location.

Nicola has never sounded like a British politican. Someone is getting confused. She is much better than any of them. Totally

Carnoustie for the Golf. World class

134. Ken500

Do not let any of them off the hook. Give them an inch they take a mile. It is the only thing that shuts them up. Telling all the lies.It shows them up.

It helps the Independence cause. Let’s people see through their nonsense and conceit. She did it in the Parliament to get away with it for cheap publicity.

Good publicity for Rev Stu. The so called ‘journalists’watch their step. Show a bit of respect, so they don’t get sued. Rev Stu has sued the lot of them and won. Well done.

135. Ken500

The new Forth Road Bridge and AWPR saving journey times and reducing emissions. 2/3rds. Emission cut 60%++. Amazing. There is no comparison. The SNP Scottish Gov did that. Saves £Billions. Puts £Billions into the economy.

The green/unionist opposition claimed, ‘If the roads were built people would use them’. That was the point.

Amazing sunset all the way.

136. SilverDarling

@ian stewart 6.13pm

I may be wrong but I think Dugdale has been given many opportunities to settle out of court.

137. Ken500

Dugdale did refuse to say sorry. She got the chance. The Labour Party was paying the expenses. Then reneged. The Record stepped in. If they did not cough up. She could not go ahead. She would have to say sorry. The Record is funding for cheap copy. They are pursuing it. The usual – after the lying Vow. It will rebound on them. Lower sales.

138. Robert Peffers

@Dr Jim says:24 March, 2019 at 4:55 pm:

” … As the FM has consistently said, she wants to win a referendum, not just have one.”

Now I wouldn’t dream of trying to second guess the FM but I’ve had the notion for quite a while that her tactic is not just to hold a referendum and then having to fight Scottish Independence through the courts.

She seems to have been building a case, that justifies an already strong claim that as the United Kingdom is undoubtedly a bipartite union of equally sovereign nations that Westminster has set itself up as the de facto parliament of England using EVEL and otherwise ignoring Scotland as a partner kingdom.

She has publicly made the point many times that Scots & Scotland have been totally ignored by Westminster. Perhaps claiming it in court and has used the referendum simply as a smoke screen.

139. ian stewart

SilverDarling says:
    24 March, 2019 at 6:29 pm
    @ian stewart 6.13pm
    I may be wrong but I think Dugdale has been given many opportunities to settle out of court.

Hi SD, Wasn’t aware of that fair doo,s if she’s had the chance. I just personally find the whole thing uncomfortable,

140. Robert Peffers

@Ottomanboi says: 24 March, 2019 at 5:46 pm:

” … Btw what does ‘progressive’ mean?”

Oh! Progressive? Oh! Aye, Progressive. It means just about the same thing as all that anti-SNP bullshit you spout on such a consistent basis.

141. Lenny Hartley

Ken500 have travelled extensively on every continent on this planet bar Antartica,
    I can tell you that there are many countries who scenery equals or surpasses Scotlanda nd I live on what many people claim to be one of the most scenic in Scotland, its good , however, suggest you try Canada, South Africa , argentina, Norway, Tahiti , New Zealand and many more before you make the claim that Scotland is the most beautiful.

142. IZZIE

hope you put in all your expenses STU including loss of earnings

143. Pete Barton

@Lenny Hartley, Ken500

I spent almost every summer in Arran since I was 3.

To me, it was the most beautiful place on earth..very special.

Spent 7 years travelling the world in the merchant marine, and yes I have seen so many wonderful places, such an inspiring planet.

I think my fondness for Arran and Scotland in general is seen through an emotional lens.

Like Ken, love of our hame from a heart perspective influences our views.

Hame is where the heart is?

144. Dr Jim

Home is always the most beautiful

145. ronnie anderson

Ian Stewart There’s a not insignificant matter of legal costs to be brought into the equation to date . Dugdale had ample opportunity to apologise but didn’t , who do you think should pick up the legal tab .

146. galamcennalath

A wee song welcoming Stu home. I particularly like the lines ….

“It wouldn’t be right if the rain wasn’t drowning the stones
    But I’m used to that and for sure I’m just glad to be home”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cbDn7PNM0

147. CameronB Brodie

Solidarity, what’s that? It’s what you need before you can put your political ideals in to effective action. I honestly didn’t know Scotland was home to so many folk gifted with ESP. There you go though, you learn something new here every day.

148. Cactus

We are here.

Isn’t it ironic.

Don’t U think…?

Aye do.

149. Cactus

We got it

The thing…

Our Scotland has everything.

150. Hamish100

lenny Hartley its not just the scenery that makes Scotland special but the air, its latitude which creates such special views in the morning towards the east coast, in the west a bit of roamin in the gloaming where the inside colour of your livingroom becomes sky red as the sun sets in the east. The northern isles with the northern lights. I have travelled the world too but add the lilt of the bagpipe in the distance and all other countries however good are second best.

151. dakk

Enjoyed the HoF at freedom square today.

The sun coming out helped create a lively colourful scene.

Good speakers and music. Particularly liked Craig Murray,wee dig at Nicola notwithstanding.

152. yesindyref2

@CBB
    I knew you were going to say that.

153. Lenny Hartley

Pete Barton , being sorta born and raised on Arran, ( I was premature so rushed to the mainland on the first avail turbine steamer in those pre chopper days 🙂 and having to move away for work for 35 or so years was difficult, I was back on Arran when I could and even would travel long hours for a few days in Aberdeen now and again, once I left Tahiti on the Tuesday, after some R+R after a gruelling seven month round the world trip, flew to Aberdeen , got there Thursday lunchtime and left again 5am Saturday morning for Bolivia, I could have saved myself about twenty hours travel going to Bolivia (I had to cross the Atlantic twice) but I missed Scotland so it wasworth everyminute sitting in a tube of metal for those hours back home. So I get what your saying about home is where the heart is, i love Scotland and Arran with a passion but other places are as inspiring.

154. yesindyref2

What’s Scotland got?

It’s got the lot!

155. CameronB Brodie

yesindyref2
    Am I that obvious? 🙂

156. cynicalHighlander

All the best Stu looking forward to the resume in a few days time.

157. Cactus

ps the cat’s away…

SO you wanna PLAY..

LOVE is coming

158. Cactus

Hey Ken500, ah thought I’d just try to catch up wae ye b4 the marn comes good dude, you good guy… aye follow Dr Jim.

Wait tae ye see THIS in the marnin’

Ahm cool like.

159. CameronB Brodie

Time for some legal thought on our host’s situation and a bit of Brexitology, even though Scotland has no voice in future negotiations, despite the harmful transformative affect Brexit will have on Scotland’s legal and trading environment. I bet you didn’t see that coming. 😉

Philosophical Foundations of the Law of Torts
    Normative Theories of Punitive Damages: The Case of Deterrence

This chapter examines the normative arguments for common law punitive damages. It focuses on one normative argument in particular, that punitive damages can be justified because they deter inefficient conduct. The method by which punitive damages are determined is very different from punishment in public law. Two significant differences flow from this fact. First, the technical resources necessary to achieve deterrence are unavailable in common law punitive damages, so it is highly unlikely that punitive damages could achieve their putative goal. Second, unlike deterrence-based punishment in public law that has the same problem (such as capital punishment) the common law of punitive damages eschews any appeal to political legitimacy to justify its choice of punishments. This chapter concludes that the justification of common law punitive damages should begin with a theory that focuses on their legitimacy, and not their efficacy as engines of deterrence.

Keywords: punitive damages, punishment, deterrence, retributivism, consequentialism, criminal law, legitimacy

http://www.oxfordscholarship.com/view/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780198701385.001.0001/acprof-9780198701385-chapter-16

Workers on the move: does Brexit threaten social justice and the economy?
    https://blog.bham.ac.uk/cityredi/workers-on-the-move-does-brexit-threaten-social-justice-and-the-economy/

Distributive Justice and World Trade Law: A Political Theory of International Trade Regulation.
    https://academic.oup.com/jiel/article-abstract/21/3/733/5088767

Brexit Negotiations Series: ‘How To Negotiate A Successful Brexit’
    https://www.law.ox.ac.uk/business-law-blog/blog/2017/05/brexit-negotiations-series-how-negotiate-successful-brexit

160. yesindyref2

@CBB
    Only to those of us with ESP 🙂

signed: yesindyref2 (with a nod to Cactus and the rules)

161. Cactus

Let’s get Scotland independent by yesterday latest

Let’s be iScotland right NOW

Let’s…

162. lumilumi

Good luck, Rev Stu!

So cute how the MSM outlet is trying to grandstand on “rational, critical discussion”, apparently only available from their outlets, which they quite coyly call “the fourth estate” – so much more honourable and serious than plain old “mainstream media”.

The message: “The fourth estate”, i.e. mainstream media, knows best, don’t read these “punk” new media upstarts. They’re going off-script in their rational, critical discussion.

Hope to see a spike in WoS page views in the next few days!

163. Cactus

Noddin’ ye back good dude Yes…

Let the crazy commence..

Tis the hour of ’17.

164. Robert Peffers

Here is an interesting YouTube lecture and debate from before indyref1:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=asMPMceNWpY

165. CameronB Brodie

yesindyref2
    I should have known. 😉

166. Cactus

Indeed

Le fuck

La fleck… frae Rude Awakenings Yes, Stu kens

La la la ha ha ha laugh at the remaining Tories

All will be explained IF and when one retrurns HOME

Aye promise ye everything and everything evermore

Fuck, we shall

Fuck aye

167. Proud Cybernat

Just so glad that the Daily Record hasn’t yet gone bust as it’s anticipated there will be a serious shortage of loo roll come Brexit.

Every cloud…

168. Cactus

Are we in the calm of THIS ukStorm

Our quickening is ever-present

Gau outside furra smoke

169. yesindyref2

Well, think back 2 years, and the most you heard of the ERG was a small comment, a little muttering in an article. Now it’s used without thought, in nearly every article or news item, as the term for a strong faction in the Tories. Who’d have thunk it? Well, some of us kind of did. But what does that mean? Well, quite frankly my dear, I have a theory, and if you don’t like that one, I have others 🙂

170. Essexexile

@Robert Peffers at 11.53am
    Hope you’ve had a good Sunday Robert. BBQ weather down here but you probably don’t want to hear that looking at the rainfall radar!
    Anyway, ages ago, but I guess the point I was trying to make was that with the Rev’s public profile likely to rise a bit in the next few days it’s likely that more than a few people will seek to checkout his website.
    There’ll likely be two groups. Undecideds who are wondering what the indy side looks like and MSM journos looking for a juicy post or two to cause trouble.
    Either way we need to be aware that overtly aggressive or vitriolic posts are only likely to cause us harm. Plenty of people on here quite rightly point out how the media paints nationalists in a negative light. We shouldn’t just hand them the loaded gun in the form of carelessly constructed aggressively negative posts. Careful, measured, inclusive posting should be our aim.
    Hopefully, you can see what I’m getting at here.

171. Stravaiger

A good day in Freedom Square today. Pity there was no Wings stall, I was hoping to say hi to those of you who were there. Good speakers, good music, and always nice to see and hear the Indy Bikers.

Not long now, I can feel it.

172. Cactus

Cluthabound… Dat’s moi like

Cluthabound is a word

Glasgow knows

173. Colin Alexander

Nicola Sturgeon and the SNP have lost the plot.

Cuddling up with Tories and Iraq War Blairites to save Britannia.

174. lumilumi

HandandShrimp says:
    24 March, 2019 at 12:36 pm

There may be a majority in the HoC for a Norway deal but not likely to happen while May (or worse, Gove) is at the helm.

It is May’s red lines that are the issue. That and ERG swivel eyed madness.

Typical Anglocentric reasoning. 🙂

It’s not about what the British HoC votes, it’s about what the Norwegian Parliament votes, or other EFTA countries’ Parliaments. They’re not exactly keen on having the UK in their EFTA club screwing it all up for everybody.

I don’t think many UK people quite understand the hit this Brexit shambles has inflicted on the international standing and prestige of their country.

Take back control, yeah, sure. hahahahah.

Poor Scotland is held hostage in this horrifyingingly ridiculous situation. If only…

It hurts to think about 2014 even more than it did at the time.

175. Dave McEwan Hill

Colin Alexander at 8.53

How very predictable. Reaching iut to a huge audience that opposed us last time. That’s a bad idea?

Absolutely no understanding of how politics works.

176. Dr Jim

Why do we think the nasty Britnats keep banging on to anybody who’ll listen that Scottish Nationalists are anti English yet we’re not anti anybody else, well I have a theory and it goes like this

England has been subjected to Westminster and Whitehall propaganda for so long that other people are untrustworthy or deceitful that they can’t understand why Scotland doesn’t think of other people in the same way as they do, so we in Scotland must be brainwashed by Nasty Nicola into not hating other people and that’s wrong in their minds and it means we must hate the English folk because we don’t agree with them, so in turn they hate us for not being what they want us to be

That’s my theory and I hope it makes sense in a convoluted way

Whaddya think

177. CameronB Brodie

Ananrchy is it? Right, let’s get creative. What’s this I hear about critical punk media? They anything like the DKs?

Being Critical is Not the Same as Being Aware
    https://www.mindful.org/critical-not-aware/

Why Mindfulness Is the Next Leadership Frontier
    The demands of the 21st century make mindfulness a critical part of a leader’s toolkit.

https://medium.com/thrive-global/why-mindfulness-is-the-next-leadership-frontier-a26c60b95fef

Learning to Embody Leadership Through Mindfulness and Somatics Practice
    https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/abs/10.1177/1523422316646068

Modes of Mindfulness: Prophetic Critique and Integral Emergence
    academicworks.cuny.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1102&context=bc_pubs

178. Cactus

We’re in like, ahn aye ain’t lookin’ furra challenge

Just ah good compromise ra night

We are good

179. Cactus

There is a Southern band on stage inda C

The blues are rockin’

FUCK THIS PM

She gone

180. Proud Cybernat

Alexander – LOLZ.

Now put that bottle away.

181. Dave McEwan Hill

Cactus at 3.34pm

It’s not the Saracens Head. It’s the Sarry Heid

182. Cactus

Scotland Scotland Scotland

Realise whom you are

Almost Monday

183. Cactus

Howde Dave…

Ah was being internationally colloquial, nae sawdust

Flags everywhere like…

Aye felt welcome

Ahm welcome everywhere

184. Scot Finlayson

@Colin,

The story of Jesus calling Matthew the tax collector to be his disciple.

We find Jesus reclining at table with many tax collectors and sinners, “for there were many who followed him”

When the scribes and Pharisees grumble about the company he keeps,

Jesus tells them that he has “not come to call the righteous but sinners to repentance”,

basically , why waste time preaching to the converted.

185. Essexexile

Just watched the football highlights. A win is a win.
    A really shit, unconvincing win in this case. Seriously, we looked awful!

186. ben madigan

All best wishes to the Rev in his upcoming case
    All best wishes to Scotland in her upcoming Independence
    However and whenever it comes

187. Cactus

Wingers… dinnae mind me and everything, get yerselves in here.

Ask yerself a question like

The answer will be Yes2

188. CameronB Brodie

Dr Jim
    There’s a good bit of blood-and-soil tradition in the evolution of British nationalism and that sustains the white nationalism.

CSI Brexit 3: National Identity and Support for Leave versus Remain

Summary
    • Scholars have long emphasised the importance of national identity as a predictor of Eurosceptic attitudes. And according to several recent studies, national identity played a significant role in the UK’s vote to leave the EU.

• Analysis of data from the Centre for Social Investigation’s longitudinal Brexit survey confirms that national identity is indeed likely to have played such a role.

• When asked to choose their primary national identity, about 56% of people say “British” and about 28% say “English”, whereas only 2.5% say “European”.

• People who see themselves primarily as “English” were much more likely to have backed Leave in the referendum. Those who see themselves primarily as “European” were overwhelmingly likely to have backed Remain.

• Consistent with previous work, the effects of national identity on support for Leave versus Remain persist after taking other factors into account

https://ukandeu.ac.uk/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/National-Identity-and-Support-for-Leave-versus-Remain.pdf

Remainer or Leaver? The emergence of the Brexit identity prism
    https://blogs.lse.ac.uk/brexit/2018/10/23/remainer-or-leaver-the-emergence-of-the-brexit-identity-prism/

Defining British identity: is it about “values” or “proper behaviour”?
    https://blogs.lse.ac.uk/brexit/2018/07/20/defining-british-identity-is-it-about-values-or-proper-behaviour/

FORTRESS BRITAIN?
    6 Cultural Identity in Post-Brexit Britain: A Thought on Narrative Healing

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/324965596_Cultural_Identity_in_Post-Brexit_Britain_A_Thought_on_Narrative_Healing

189. Cactus

What’s yer feel Scotland?

29/03/19

12/04/19

22/06/19

2020 is gonna be mental

190. Dave McEwan Hill

ian stewart at 6.13

the “daily record” is not the “real enemy”. The real enemies are the Sun,the Express and the Mail

The Daily Reord gives us far better coverage NOW than it gives Labour and gives a full page weekly to Ian Blackmore -and no Labour figure. Loki gets a full page as well and he’s Yesser and today’s Sunday Mail (Record’s Sunday sister) is very generous to us.

Can we stop living in the past,please

The editor that put the VOW onthe front page is now going about the country preaching YES..

Daily Record knows about half or more of its readership supports YES.

191. lumilumi

Graf Midgehunter says:
    24 March, 2019 at 3:14 pm

I was reading an article in the “Der Spiegel” with an interview by British anthropologist Richard Wrangham which dealt in part with aggression and domination.

To me it seemed to indicate that behaviour in Westminster with regard to Brexit is similar to that of chimpanzees whereas Holyrood tends to emulate Bonobo behaviour, they look the same as human beings but poles apart in human behaviour.

http://www.spiegel.de/international/interview-with-anthropologist-richard-wrangham-a-1259252.html

Hahaha. Thanks for this.

I’ve loathed chimpanzees and loved bonobos ever since I read a popular science book on the subject a dozen or more years ago. Chimps are aggressive, vying for domination, hierarchical. Bonobos are co-operative, non-hierarchical… They also seem to have sex just for the fun of it, male and female.

Maybe we got the wrong traits from out common ancestor?

192. Cactus

Aweright then… challenge me if ye feel challenged

Aye have nothing to protect

Other than Scotland

We are here

193. Cactus

Love you Nicola

We good

We are

194. Cactus

Big thx to Tommy Sheridan today bro

Cheers dude

Cheers

We have our hope over fear

195. Pete Barton

@Lenny Hartley

Yea, there’s always been leaving for the mainland..
    But there’s always the sight of the Fell to come home to.

What we did for a wage back then eh?

196. Cactus

Good evenin’ Craig Murray…

Aye believe we crossed ayes today frae afar..

Ah was on the tour bus and aye saw you ready to go

197. Dr Jim

Glasgow in the 60s was chokka with Bonobos

198. Cactus

Where do you see yerself from 5 years frae NOW y’all?

Aye see a Bonnie Scotland…

Ah see Scotland that’s free and SO fucking cool

Aye ain’t misbehaving yet, but ah can aweways be bad

The music determines the feel

199. Scotspatriot

I will never buy a London based publication. That includes the Daily Record and the Sunday Mail.
    I have one rule in life. Once my Ass has been scorched, I never go back to the scorcher !

200. Cactus

The good music ah ha ha ha he he he ha ha

Do you?

U!

201. Lenny Hartley

Pete Barton, as much as i missed Arran , i loved my job, great company to work for (American) grand colleagues and lots of travel to exotic lands , whats not to like . The only thing that would have been better is being based on Arran and travelling from there, but having said that I had some wonderful times and had (have) some great friends from Aberdeen in my thirty odd years there. Aberdeen and Shire are massively underated by many in the Central belt but its also a great place to live.

202. Robert Peffers

@Lenny Hartley says: 24 March, 2019 at 6:49 pm:

” … I can tell you that there are many countries who scenery equals or surpasses Scotlanda nd I live on what many people claim to be one of the most scenic in Scotland.”

Ah! Lenny, I think you may have missed the point. Every country has areas of great beauty but most, especially larger countries, also have areas that are far from beautiful or perhaps are rather boring. For example Canadian mountains are great but Canada also has flat boring areas where you can cover great distances where every next mile looks just like the last mile.

Scotland is compact and traveling a mile can take you to quite a different scenery and there are few uninteresting miles.

203. Cactus

We don’t need no West-a-minster NO!

We don’t need no arsehole-control

Pull the lever babe

204. Essexexile

5 years from now?
    A solid diagnosis of Korsakoff’s syndrome. The signs are there I’m afraid my friend.
    Look after yourself. You are needed.

205. Cactus

Where is Elvis…

He be gone too long…

Ah’ve been there…

Me n Dixie drove to Memphis

206. Cactus

We LOVE you essexexile

Cheers for the chin

Aye can see you

207. Colin Alexander

@Scot Finlayson

If only.

So how come Saint Nicola didnae meet with Mr Trump to cuddle him and teach him the error of his ways, to love that sinner whilst hating his sin?

208. Cactus

Essexexile Essexexile Essexexile

How was England

Does it FEEL good tae be here?

Ah’ve no stroked ye yet

209. Bobster McPherson

One of the sad statements in article is “the case has thrown into focus the influence in the political sphere” It should be saying ‘the case has thrown into focus failure of the joint attempt by the Daily Record and the labour party’s attempt to smear and discredit Scotland’s best and most popular media critic and analyst. He should be shining the spot light on the fact that the daily record – a leading Scottish news brand, is footing the bill for the leader (at that time) of the Scottish Labour Party’s legal fees in a defamation court. case where, it seems, an attempt by the Daily Record and the labour party to have wings discredited as Homophobic has failed. THIS is what the news is for me, this is what I want the focus to be on. THIS is “the power of the new media” holding corrupt establishment media and politicians to account for their defamatory smears, and innuendo intended for the mass manipulation of information. It’s the vilest thing. Good luck Stu.

210. Essexexile

I love you too….
    You prickly pear.

If I was lost and thirsty in the desert..

Would I drink your juice?

(That sort of thing, yeah?)

211. Cactus

Lookin back Essexexile…

Not sure what you or aye said…

Eitherway, Scotland’s good

Show me your passion of and for Scotland

212. Liam

Dr Jim says:
    24 March, 2019 at 7:05 pm

Home is always the most beautiful

I’m guessing you’ve never lived in Hull.

213. Fireproofjim

Cactus
    Give us a break. Please.

214. lumilumi

Dr Jim says:
    24 March, 2019 at 9:01 pm

England has been subjected to Westminster and Whitehall propaganda for so long that other people are untrustworthy or deceitful that they can’t understand why Scotland doesn’t think of other people in the same way as they do, so we in Scotland must be brainwashed by Nasty Nicola into not hating other people and that’s wrong in their minds and it means we must hate the English folk because we don’t agree with them, so in turn they hate us for not being what they want us to be

That’s my theory and I hope it makes sense in a convoluted way

Whaddya think

Seems legit.

215. Cactus

You may drink ma juice Essex

Aye have lots of juice to share

Can aye try yours?

216. Cactus

Fireproofjim, come in come in come in…

What’s yer 10/4 dudey

Sup?

217. Essexexile

OK, you’ve creeped me out now.

You win!

Good evening Sir.

218. Cactus

Fireproofjim, ye have made yersel be known NOW

Seriously dude

Talk 2 me

219. Colin Alexander

@Dave McEwan Hill

This is about Nicola and the SNP supporting “Britain” and the “British people”.

If you think support for indy will then be reciprocated by the “British” you are sadly mistaken, in my opinion.

For the Brits, this is Nicola and the SNP joining THEM in their belief in one Britain, one people, one country British ideology.

People’s Vote = British people’s vote = England’s People vote.

That’s my opinion. Of course, you see it different. Fair enough.

I still support independence. I just hope the SNP do too.

220. Cactus

Cool tae ye Essex..

As you know ahm not usually a challenger but it is cool to be challenged

And when it happens…

Ah need a lumber yesindyref2

221. Cactus

Howde Essex, be ye a boy orra girl?

Ah wanna know

Anna wanna rock

222. Ken500

Chinese in Glasgow Opium. Thai – Thairiffic

Greek veggie Hallumi

Fish & Chips. Carry oot

223. Al-Suart

Essex-exile,

You give good advice and clearly reiterate various guidelines on this website.

Rev Stu., is about to enter into a British court of law and when you suggest folk might be a bit more circumspect on the comments section or risk the MSM making problems for Stu and YES, Mr Peffers provides the unhelpful rejoinder… “AND”.

I sigh.

The MSM will be looking for ways to cause Stuart Campbell maximum discomfort and Robert couldn’t give a hoot.

For heavens sake, we need to be much smarter than that.

There is an arrogance from a SNParanoia minority that those of us in the 2014 margin between 20% and the final 45% who lent our votes to the SNP and YES will guarantee to do so forever.

The minirity of offensive ‘usual subjects’ on WoS could do with re-reading Rev Stu’s guidelines about conducting themselves in a way that encourages NO and neutrals to come over to YES.

Many who visit Wings Over Scotland for the excellent articles just get put off politics by the BTL SNParanoia brigade just as much as the Yoon Trollls and all of the unpleasant abuse.

It was the implosion of New Labour that led many to change their vote to the SNP in 2014 and keep the faith ever since. But good grief, the SNParnoia lot make it hard work for the likes of myself to keep voting YES. I have no intention of going back to Labour. But there seems to be an obnoxious subset that wallow in abusing fellow contributors.

This has been going on for months and months now.

Might I respectfully say: play nice.

Or some here will lose the YES movement votes. Maybe only 3% or 4%, but with IndyRef2 close now, every vote for YES counts and the casual abuse on sites such as Wings Over Scotland below the line is very unhelpful.

224. Ken500

How about a cup of tea or coffee

225. Cactus

Deal dude, Ken500.

We’re not SO different.

We just do things in different ways

226. sandy

Cactus,
    Why don’t you get your own blog. Those who understand your contributions I am sure will comunicate with you. Sure as hell, I reckon 99% of posters here have given up scratching their heads.
    No insult intended.

227. Cactus

Ah’ve never really spoke wae ye before Ken500

What’s yer passion?

What do U LOVE?

228. Cactus

Cheers sandy, be ye a boy orra girl fine Winger

Tell me something about yerself

Aye wear several hats

229. silverbuick

Cactus, you’re scaring the horses!

230. Cactus

Ahm covert ra night sandy dude / dudette

One has been 2 many places

Try me…

231. Brian Doonthetoon

You’ve got to have met Cactus to know where he’s at.

I have.

I know where he’s at.

It scares me, at times.

But his heart is in the right place.

232. bittie45

Good luck Stu and here’s hoping for a good outcome.

233. Cactus

Good mornin’ silver

Ah seem to have that effect

Neigh

234. Cactus

It’s not even midnight

SO many songs 2 play on the return

Sandy!

235. ronnie anderson

Al-Suart 10.17 For your information Stuart Campbell will be in a SCOTTISH COURT OF LAW . hope thats corrected your britishness in law .

236. yesindyref2

So, a quick look at the json data which breaks the petition down by country gives UK=5063915 out of total 5275399 = 95.99%. Call it 96% from the UK 🙂

So for those Brexiteers saying like “Only 1 million out of the 5 million signatures are from the UK”, they’re errr, wrong. In fact 211,016 approx come from abroad.

https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/241584

Oh, and Edinburgh West by % of electorate in 5th place is just 23 signatures behind Jeremy Corbyn’s constituency in 4th, and 82 behind Wood Green in 3rd. My stupid constituency is still only at 6.32%. Get out of the pub!

Corybn is looking shaky at 22.13% telling him to revoke article 50 – and that’s so far. I think maybe only half will actually sign a petition, could be wrong. So he might lose the seat of his pants if he doesn’t get off his duff.

237. TheItalianJob

@BDTT

Cactus – Heart is in the right place.

Good. Unlike some other posters on here who should know better.

238. lumilumi

Robert Peffers says:
    24 March, 2019 at 9:47 pm

— Canada also has flat boring areas where you can cover great distances where every next mile looks just like the last mile. —

Nah, you only have to discover the beauty of the flat, wide open spaces. Big Sky. The sense of AIR and space and freedom you don’t get in more hilly country.

Also, the silly thrill of a road map that looks like graph paper, lol!

You’re right, the attraction of Scotland is that is has lots of “dramatic” (mountain) scenery, sea, islands, and cosy green rural scenery, old historic towns and castles, all within a compact whole. Also, very friendly and welcoming people. Easily accessible (well, before Brexit, anyway). Scotland has so much going for it tourism wise, despite Brexit.

Sometimes we can’t see the wood for the trees when it comes to the beauty of our own country. Certainly not in my country, we’ve got trees everywhere. Driving from the capital to the northern powerhouse city (nearly 550km, 340 miles), you’re mostly driving trough forest, so you don’t see any “scenery”. Except, the huge swathes of forest are the scenery.

239. Cactus

“Then they fight each other”

We be at Stage 5ive

Ghandi knows

240. Cactus

Cheers TheItalianJob

Brian knows

Meet me

241. Cactus

Ahm prophecisan frae the Clutha

The prophecy is good

Aye aye aye like

242. TJenny

Cactus honey, you just have to understand that not all appreciate and know you the way some of we Wingers do, and accept that the better part of valour at this time, when Wings will be under microscopic scrutiny, is not the time for your admittedly intriguing enigmatic musings. 😉

Oh, and I speak as one who has eaten the very juicy, bright crimson red fruit of the prickly pear cactus. (oohh er missus!)

243. Cactus

Gie yersel a guid stroke

How was it 4U?

Cigarettes at dawn

244. Al-Suart

Hi Ronnie,

Thanks for the clarification, but I was being ironic. Have been in Scottish based courts many, many times myself and am well aware of Scots Law as have qualification in that (as opposed to E&W geographically located courts).

My point can’t too be blatant as there is a ‘live’ case before HM COURT.

The analogy hat comes to mind – is that the Scots Law case will be coverd in the media by BBC Scotland for example. Ronnie would you reckon BBC Scotland is a Scottish broadcaster or a British Broadcaster?

Hopefully you get my subtle point about this case being heard in a British court!

Cheers.

245. Essexexile

@Al-Stuart @10.17
    Yes, that’s what I was driving at. As you say there are some on here who really, really don’t get it. And I mean REALLY don’t get it!
    Robert is a very smart cookie though. His knowledge and application of history is very useful on WoS to show things in context.
    It’s important to know when to keep your powder dry though. I’m sure he’s aware of that.
    Good evening Al.

246. Cactus

Ah got ye TJenny fingertips honey

It takes all sorts

We’re doin’ it

247. silverbuick

Cactus, it’s almost our birthdays. Mine is afore yours. As you might say, ra morra.

248. Cactus

Hey silverbuick, happy birthday when it comes for ye, celebrate yersel

249. lumilumi

Al-Suart says:
    24 March, 2019 at 10:43 pm

I expect the BBC to report this – if they do at all – in such a way as to confuse English and Scots law.

Yet another subtle way to undermine Scottish national identity, “forgetting” to distinguish between Scots law and English law, giving the fudged impression it’s all the same.

250. Cactus

We gotta keep doing it TJ

Scrutinse me babe… what do you see?

We gotta keep pushing

We have our ways

251. Liz g

RONNIE ANDERSON
    You have mail

252. Cactus

Stu is heading to sort it out

One will not be defamed

It’s important

253. Al-Suart

Hi Lumilumi,

You hit the nail right on the head about BBC Scotland. Sadly.

My preference is to go straight to the horses mouth and get the facts….

http://tinyurl.com/Court-Campbell-Dugdale

Fascinating read by the way.

Cheers, Al.

254. Ken500

No where on earth is better than the North of Scotland across the top. It is almost Luna. Every turn brings a new vista. It is recognised worldwide.

Many people have travelled the world. Amazing places but nothing like some of Scotland’s. landscape,

Bolivia Is one of the most dangerous. The road to La Paz. The most dangerous road in the world? Fancied it before learning the facts. Many kidnapping. La Paz has an extreme climate. High in their summer. Extreme Low in their winter.

255. Ken500

The lawyers often win. Even when they lose.

256. Cactus

Can you tell the diffence between the truth and the lies

Wings knows

Aye choose to be different until forever

257. Liz g

Ronnie Anderson
    You have mail 🙂

258. TJenny

Cactus – I say, softly softly. (As I slide overboard).

And a dedication to Westminster, ‘ You don’t Own Me’ by Lesley Gore. (someone needs to do the wee linky thing)

259. Al-Suart

Hi Essex-exile,

Thank you for coming to the rescue of Robert Peffers. I recognised his name, but unfortunately there seems to be a swamp of sniping at times that reading below the line is often not worth the candle. When I saw Robert’s apparent side-swipe at your wise counsel it just pressed the buttons in an adverse manner.

Nice to know Robert Peffers is a smart cookie. Will look forward to reading his points.

Cheers, Al.

260. Cactus

Marnin’ Liz babe

How ye be, tis Sunday in oor city

Well we know where we’re going…

261. Ken500

‘Naked attraction’ is a bit weird. Just have a cup of tea.

262. Cactus

When aye get back HOME gonna PLAY something for you

Normally walk… might get a taxi

You touch mah…

263. Cactus

Good tae see ye still up Ken500

Almost closing time

Opens 2mor

264. Ken500

Fish. Tea and toast,

265. cynicalHighlander

Cactus what can I say other than more lead in your pencil sir. We need to lighten up and enjoy your tours of the Central Belt and beyond, although I would suspect your adventures have been limited as far North as Perth not including us Teuchters in the barren lands!

266. Cactus

You called it dude, ahm yer crazy pal

Ah can’t explain it

Dont need to

In the Scotia

267. Robert J. Sutherland

Just want to add my belated good wishes to Stu for his “day in court”. It’s been a long time coming, but it needed to be done. May justice prevail.

As to the week ahead down in the House of Circus, I still think there is an outside chance that May will get her way, depending (as it will) on how many Tory+DUP dingbats decide to cash-in their meagre gains and how many go for The Big Win.

What a way to run a country (both theirs and ours).

But a win for Dis-May will surely clarify matters enough to make a move, so there is a potential silver lining…

268. Cactus

Cheers tae ye cynicalHighlander

Ah Love the LOVE

Tis that time of the night where aye don’t give a fuck!

269. Dr Jim

Labour set to come in with a cunning abstain plan

270. Ken500

Honest would be glad to meet you. It might happen yet. Crossed paths by chance.

Joan NcAlphine. Her daughter is in a band. Had a gig at Art School? It’s a small world after all. It’s a small world after all. Kind of a joke. Some kids like Disney. Going round, and round in the water boats. They grow up.and go on travels to Australia,India, US, Thailand. and Europe. Just name it they are there. Exchange trips. What a change in destination from before. The good old bad old days. .

271. Cactus

In the meantime

Behave yerselves Scotland

That’s funny

272. Cactus

Ahm caught up in a time warp, they’re playing the 80’s, they’re PLAYing the Mac

Casino is SO tempting

Ah really should

273. Liz g

Mornin Cactus my man
    Sorry to have missed he the day..
    Keep on keepin on my friend X

274. dakk

Go for it Cactus.

Bonobos make Glasgow : )

275. CameronB Brodie

Scotland is a nation without a state, it is a stateless nation.

The failure to distinguish between Scottish and English legal culture poses an existential threat to the integrity of Scotland as a nation. The British constitution completely fails residents of Scotland, as it obviously does not protect our legal identity. Our EU citizenship is due to be stripped from us against our democratically expressed wishes. What next, our nationality, welfare entitlement unless we renounce Scottish independence?

Britain no longer appears to be a deliberative democracy, how much longer can it claim to be an open society?

The right to a legal identity or the right to a legal ID?

Proposed target 16.9 of the soon-to-be-adopted Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) reads: Provide legal identity to all, including birth registration, by 2030. Sounds good! But… what does this actually mean? How can states “provide” legal identity? What is it? If it “includes” birth registration, is that (alone) sufficient or is something else/more needed?

https://www.statelessness.eu/blog/right-legal-identity-or-right-legal-id

276. Cactus

Excellent, ah made it in tae Maggie Mays cous cous

They let me in wow!

That’ll be a second

277. Cactus

Ahm gonna take your mamma out all night

She’s a full grown man

Laura!

278. Cactus

Handing ye back… ahm at 5% battery power beautifuls

We had a groovy cool time

We have

279. Cactus

What else can aye say that will shock you… just that slimey fuck Theresa May & her Cunts.

That should do it

Days 2 go

280. Cactus

Be offended if ye wannaebe… your CHOICE

It’s a learing curveature

Understand the curve.

3%

281. Josef Ó Luain

@ Dr Jim

“Punk” in this instance describes a fresh kind of revivifying energy. That’s positive, I guess. I speak as the once-upon-a-time owner of a punk shop called Slaughter, of course.

282. CameronB Brodie

This legal identity stuff isn’t feminist, hippy, claptrap, or wedge politics from a ‘grude’ nationalist. Identity underpins all human interaction so it’s kind of a CORE issue. Here’s some Commonwealth Law and stuff on the topic.

Legal identity for all

Abstract

This paper examines Sustainable Development Goal 16.9 on legal identity for all. It considers notions of legal identity in international law and looks at legal frameworks for legal identity in Commonwealth member countries, including in respect of birth registration, national identity registers and cards, legal identity requirements for transactions and services, and new forms of digital identity.

The paper examines specific legal issues relevant to identity, including privacy and data protection, identity theft and property rights. It concludes by reviewing the latest developments in concepts of identity, and applicable emerging technologies. It makes recommendations in respect of legal and policy reform that Commonwealth member countries may undertake with a view to meeting SDG Target 16.9

https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/03050718.2017.1439363

What is the future of legal identity?
    https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2015/05/what-is-the-future-of-legal-identity/

CROSS-PRACTICE INITIATIVE
    Identification for Development

https://www.worldbank.org/content/dam/Worldbank/Governance/GGP%20ID4D%20flyer.pdf

The non-realisation of distributive justice
    https://ethosjustice.wordpress.com/2018/12/14/the-non-realisation-of-distributive-justice/

283. Petra

@ Fireproofjim says at 10:04 pm … ”Cactus – Give us a break. Please.”

For God’s sake please come back Rock all is forgiven. Scrolling through one gibberish post after another. This is not on. This is beyond ridiculous on here and the people that encourage him ain’t a friend of this guy either. Another example of the self-centred … me, me, me … narcissistic addict who doesn’t give a sh*t about anyone or anything other than himself. The BritNats best friend, imo. Someone please, please, please tell me how this is going to attract people onto this site and more so to convert them? I’m at a total loss trying to work this one out. I’m off. Can’t be bothered posting on here tonight. Well done Cactus you’re achieving your aim. Too bad that SO many can’t see right through you.

284. Mad Unionist

Glad tae see that Scottish Irish University potential applicants are on here. Phew we can sleep safely in Oor kipp. Help ma Boab.

285. CameronB Brodie

re. the apparent breakdown in Britain’s system of deliberative democracy, time for some ethics and biopsychosocial stuff?

Five Elements of Normative Ethics – A General Theory of Normative Individualism

Abstract

The article tries to inquire a third way in normative ethics between consequentialism or utilitarianism and deontology or Kantianism. To find such a third way in normative ethics, one has to analyze the elements of these classical theories and to look if they are justified.

In this article it is argued that an adequate normative ethics has to contain the following five elements: (1) normative individualism, i. e., the view that in the last instance moral norms and values can only be justified by reference to the individuals concerned, as its basis; (2) consideration of the individuals’ concerns and interests—aims, desires, needs, strivings—insofar as they have a justificatory function; (3) a pluralism of references of these concerns and hence of moral norms and values to all possible elements of actions; (4) the necessity of a principle of aggregation and weighing with regard to these concerns; (5) finally, as a central principle of aggregation and weighing, the principle of relative reference to self and others, operating as a generalizing meta-principle that guides the application of concrete principles and decisions.

Keywords
    Normative ethics, Ethics, Justification of morals, Justification of law, Non-consequentialism, Non-utilitarianism, Non-deontology, Non-Kantianism, Plurality of the elements of action

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s10677-011-9299-2

Individualism, Political and Ethical
    https://sk.sagepub.com/reference/libertarianism/n148.xml

Individualism
    https://www.economicsandethics.org/individualism/

Beyond individualism: Is there a place for relational autonomy in clinical practice and research?
    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5603969/

286. geeo

@al-suart.

You lost what little credibility you had, and frankly, it wasn’t a high bar, when you describe the essexmissile in glowing terms.

And the case is in a SCOTTISH court.

Yet again, you are sinking faster than treeza mays deal.

Time to employ first rule of being in a hole of yiur own making…just saying.

287. cynicalHighlander

Petra what are you on? Who are the many who can’t see through him? What is “not on” does he not speak the queens english up to your standard, get a life.

288. Cactus

100% back HOME NOW

Aye Love Petra xx

Petra is a groovy cool

289. Cactus

Aye ahm your Rock Petra, aye could be your Danny 2…

If you want me to be babes.

How ye daein’ P?

290. Cactus

Okay tis time furra song for my Petra, you are for real babes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XBnZr4SoOZs

Write me a letter babe…

291. Cactus

The continuation…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OJ_ikzHEU8U

Any bar in Glasgow.

292. Liz g

Petra @ 12.33
    Well, I count myself as a friend of Cactus…. So I guess you are addressing me!
    … I remain mindful that this is Stuart Campbell’s site and no one else’s.. As I would if you had a Petra site,where you made all the rules.
    But we are right here right now and the Rev seems to be ok with the man.
    The Rev doesn’t have a problem.
    Cactus doesn’t have a problem.
    I don’t have a problem.
    In fact I would only have a problem if the Rev started censoring this site…
    But the free and easy going nature of it is it’s greatest strength.
    Do ye not understand that come Indy we will all have to deal with people who don’t conform to our own vision.
    Cactus doesn’t conform to yours… Fine… but you don’t get to say he’s not welcome here.
    He’s Mibbi rude and out there but he’s not nasty.
    And it has to be said, you’ve been quite nasty to him.
    You can ignore him.. If that’s your pleasure…but you cannot then also claim to be inclusive towards all Scots…Which I might remind you is the whole point of what we are doing..
    What’s your pleasure? Can you leave him be? Or will you continue to harangue him?…. And denigrate his friends too ?

293. Cactus

Dedication to Ken and mah Scotland:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ofwB7n8uVpo

Speak tae ye in the marnin’ bud

Maybe

294. Cactus

Welcome to the edge of our revolution

Everybuddy is cool

Keep on the edge LOVERS:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dn8-4tjPxD8

You may dance, it’s your pleasure

295. Cactus

Meet Stephen

Meet me

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NrJCDhf5N7k

Stephen knows

Scotland as is Ireland is mine and yours too

Ye’ve just got tae want it

Endorphins…

Word

296. Cactus

Hey Liz, marnin’ tae ye babes xx

Petra’s aweright, she’s just yet tae understand.

Learnin’ is the biggy that comes first

297. Cactus

THIS a continuation frae the last song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x_DQNINhIzo

It finished far too fast

iEndorphins

X

298. Cactus

Same background…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n9RdgsAh5d0

Different tune

X marks oor spot

HEADPHONES RECOMMENDED

299. Cactus

An excellent day in Glasgow

Big Love and cheers to Tommy Sheridan and Hope over Fear

We made it count

300. William Wallace

@ LizG 1:31.

I concur.

301. Al-Suart

Geeo,

You make my point better than I can.

Either I am a fifth columnist as your SNParanoia snide remarks state. Or I am not.

For the sake of IndyRef2 lets actually analyse what you do each time your nasty posts pollute a thread.

If I am some form of Unionist troll, just ignore me. That costs you nothing. You are the better person for it.

But what if I am what I am. A former Labour voter who has lent my vote to the SNP for 6 years and by the way been a paid up member of the SNP between 2014 and 2017? Then what have your Cactusesque ramblings achieved?

My SNP vote will NOT go to Labour as they shat the nest. But Geeo, you really suck at being an SNP poster boy of poster girl.

What you are is a recruiting sergeant for Scottish Labour and Scottish Tories as I find your boring SNParanoia off-putting in the extreme.

So doyourself and your type of nationalism a favour. Keep out of my road and I shall avoid you too.

That way at least I stand a chance of still voting SNP and YES without narcisistic keyboard warriors screwing things up for the floating voters.

302. Liz g

William Wallace @ 1.54
    Why thank you Sir.. 🙂
    How is all things Wallace?

303. Cactus

Ah’ve not Played THIS one in a while…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LgSQcybSFVk

But it gets to me everytime, emotion becomes

304. Cactus

WHY?

305. Cubby

Al- Stuart@10.17pm

That is not a very nice post calling some people on Wings obnoxious. Please play nice.

306. Cubby

Al – Stuart@1.58pm

Now that is a very nasty post. Please play nice. Please follow your own advice and play nice.

307. Cactus

We can be SO much better than Westminster

It’s good tae be yerself

Why wouldn’t ye want tae like?

308. Cactus

Marnin William, how ye daein bud?

Ye dandy?

309. Liz g

Cactus @ 1.45
    Morning Cactus… I know Petra is awright ,but I also know, you know, you get on her last nerve.
    She’s tryin her best,the best she knows how, for Indy…
    We need to work with that Cactus…. You know how to be charming,if you win Petra over I’d be really impressed??
    ……..Challenge Extended……….

310. Cactus

Anarchy talkin’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cem38_KjipU

THIS is what they said, passers by

311. Cactus

Aye SO LOVE an ah’ll tak that mighty challenge Liz, ahm easy LSM

What say you Petra.. ye GAME…

Comprendre?

312. William Wallace

@ Liz

No too bad Liz and thank you for asking. Couple o wee setbacks health wise but, nothing too serious – thankfully.

A wee bit restless on the Indy front but, patiently waiting for the starting gun to be fired. Not long now I suspect.I think I’ll feel a whole lot better once the campaign begins. Gives me something to focus my energies on.

I hope you are keeping well yourself.

313. William Wallace

Morning Cactus.

I’m doing fine bud. I see you’ve had a great day and night oot 😉 Could dae wi ane mysel.

Keep on keeping on my good man.

314. Cactus

Familiar song, ah new take on it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fd-_NK_H3CM

That one was for you Petra and y’all xx

315. Al-Suart

Cubby,

I’m no biting.

Too many people are either pished or mushroomed and some of us have work in the morning.

I love reading Stuart Campbells well researched and sourced articles.

Plus I used to enjoy a decent debate below the line on Wings. But now?

Cubby, you are probably a very decent devoted SNP member who, in real life would be great to have a yarn with in a Glasgow or Edinburgh pub. But it’s late. I am tired, and BTL on this thread lacks a great deal in the decent debate department.

Then again, Stuart Campbell has called this the ANARCHY thread. It might just be that Cactus has a touch of genius and is playing the perfect anarchist as per the thread header.

Good night.

Al.

316. Liz g

William Wallace @ 2.12
    Aw, William it good to hear you are getting on ok.
    We are all chomping at the bit to be Campaigning,and once it kicks off,there’s none of us will have a minute.
    So take care of you…. Your going to be very busy shortly 🙂
    I do hope that in the course of the Campaign we will finally get to meet…. But until then,take care of you and yours and I’m sending you my best XXX

317. Cactus

Great marnin’ Al-Stuart ~

“Too many people are either pished or mushroomed and some of us have work in the morning.”

Cheers, ah needed that 😉

318. Cactus

Be seein’ ye soon William…

319. William Wallace

@Liz

Right back at ya Liz. Take care. x

320. William Wallace

@ Cactus

I certainly hope so. I wanted to make it today but, not really fit for long distance travel quite yet.

Take care bud.

321. William Wallace

Well yesterday but I still class it as today since I’ve no been to bed yet. 😉

322. Cactus

Try me please Al-Suart (ur correct name, apols)

“But it’s late. I am tired, and BTL on this thread lacks a great deal in the decent debate department.”

What’s your question Al, name yer debate?

We can brainstorm it, together, forever and ever to last 🙂

323. Cactus

Haw you William you, ya dick!

Reminiscing like 🙂

Hehehe

324. William Wallace

@ Cactus

Get it right round ye! 🙂 😉

325. Cactus

Ah got it round me

NOW get it right up ye

An right around ye 2 😉 🙂

326. Cactus

Here’s Mr Big

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mHGv5FCS2j8

Gaun Under

327. Cactus

Fillin’ in the gaps

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L6-uJLteKek

Scotland is the one

328. William Wallace

Is it aw that patter? 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-y8Ih1w5k4

Up the road noo 😉

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zcO53Ie7NPc

329. Cactus

Here for the marnin’ and only ever up after midnight, like

Cheers to ye all Scotland, crazy times!

Comin’ HOME

330. Cactus

Ach well, since ahm here… wiz listening tae the LBC wireless earlier yesterday on the radio and noticing a distinct change in the tone of the callers south of the land, they gettin’ more gammonish

An Farage yesterday marnin’ was shocking!

Did you hear it?!

331. manandboy

The dog was early.

On a continuous basis, the British Establishment, & therefore its Government, engages in a pretence of innocence and as a bastion of law & order. However, even the most casual glance at the history of British Imperialism, makes crystal clear the truth of the British Establishment’s culture of brutality.
    And whether it be the 1920’s, and ‘The Troubles’1968-1998, in Ireland, or currently, Austerity, Windrush, Grenfell & now Brexit, the same culture of brutality lies at the heart of British governance.

“One of the most tragic deaths of the period was that of Ellen Quinn. On November 1st 1920, she was shot and fatally wounded while sitting on a wall outside her house in Kiltartan, Co Galway with her nine-month-old baby in her arms. The shot came from a passing police lorry. Her death was powerfully evoked in W. B. Yeats’s poem, Reprisals:

Where may new-married women sit
    And suckle children now? Armed men
    May murder them in passing by
    Nor law nor parliament take heed.
    Then close your ears with dust and lie
    Among the other cheated dead.

It was little wonder that the Black and Tans were feared and hated in equal measure.”

(RTE Come out ye Black and Tans: who were the Black and Tans?
    Updated / Friday, 22 Mar 2019 09:31)

332. Robin

Just a couple things Stu

a) Good luck with the case but I doubt you will need it
    b) Please tell me that all monies are going into the production of WBB2 and that Kez is going to be told that’s where her money is going 😉
    c) For that idiot who was quoted at the end of the article believing that Wings and other Blogs only have the MSM to feed off of is lamentable and lazy churnalism at its finest. There is always a unionist politician who is going to say something stupid along the road and I hope that you will always be here to inform us of it (Unless of course you head up a new Scottish version of OFCOM in our new Independent State which would be just as reasonable if you publicized everything).

333. manandboy

Scotland and England. Living with a full-time liar.

https://www.spectator.co.uk/2016/08/the-proof-that-scotland-is-better-off-in-the-uk/

Came across this, from 2016, a reminder of the onslaught of media lies, sourced in 10 Downing Street. Just how wrong can you be, except the Spectator people must have known full well that every word was a lie.

It hasn’t stopped, has it?

334. A. Bruce

Petra @ 12:33

Agree totally.The inane ramblings are becoming very tiresome.

335. Ken500

Alistair Campbell supports Independence for Scotland. Seen the light? Out of a dark place.

336. Nana

Brexiteers’ go-slow protests fail to ‘bring the country to its knees’
    http://archive.is/jsSSo

Geoffrey Cox accused of ‘sitting on’ Airbus subsidiary corruption case
    http://archive.is/oPJ6S

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2019-03-20/brexit-splits-said-to-deter-donors-to-may-s-conservative-party

https://inews.co.uk/news/102-year-old-woman-made-homeless-with-hours-notice/

337. Ken500

There is off topic. Why not go there?

338. Nana

Peston says
    am reliably told that @theresa_may told @BorisJohnson, IDS, @SteveBakerHW, @Jacob_Rees_Mogg, @DavidDavisMP et al at Chequers that she will quit if they vote for her deal, including the backstop they hate. But she gave no specifics. So there is not a lot of trust she…
    https://twitter.com/Peston/status/1109954000424706049

Brexit: those stupid people
    http://eureferendum.com/blogview.aspx?blogno=87186

As Raab is having a hissy fit about this video from James O’Brien, I think we should watch it again
    https://twitter.com/LBC/status/1109110453073047553

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/brexit-the-comical-political-crisis-that-is-no-laughing-matter/

339. Nana

Brexit trade deals will be worse than current EU deals, says Liam Fox’s former trade chief
    https://www.businessinsider.com/says-liam-fox-former-trade-chief-2019-3?r=US&IR=T

Britain’s financial sector has gloomiest outlook since 2008 crisis: survey
    http://archive.is/BIoKT

Tory coup fails to materialise as Theresa May limps on
    http://archive.is/Zakqo

Leave it to President Trump to describe as “Total EXONERATION” a document that specifically quotes Special Counsel Robert Mueller as saying that one of his principal findings “does not exonerate” the president.
    https://www.lawfareblog.com/what-make-bill-barrs-letter

340. Nana

Pete Wishart: People’s Vote isn’t the answer for Scotland
    http://archive.is/fJc62

Scottish Labour MSPs and MPs given script to stop members quitting party
    http://archive.is/vfXrL

Here’s the Father of the House Ken Clarke saying what he thinks of #MichaelGove @michaelgove in an unguarded moment #CabinetCoup #MurdochsPuppet
    https://twitter.com/OneTenTwelve/status/1109800881095131136

https://blogs.sussex.ac.uk/uktpo/publications/deal-or-no-deal-the-economic-consequences-of-the-uks-no-deal-tariffs/

341. Nana

Lesley Riddoch: Revoke doesn’t lessen chances of second indyref
    http://archive.is/fYpfc

https://skwawkbox.org/2019/03/25/motion-against-watson-passed-by-clps-hundreds-expected-to-follow/

This is the first time a UK Govt Minister has endorsed #revoking #Article50. Very significant.
    https://twitter.com/joannaccherry/status/1110076289313062913

Quick thread on Monday’s “Brexit next steps” debate.
    https://twitter.com/woodstockjag/status/1109962971432869889

342. Sinky

Anonymous Pinstripe in Herald business pages having his usual political attack on Snp.

Daily Mail survey finds people don’t like paying taxes.

Publicity seeking creative election expenses returner Cole Hamilton in Scotsman blaming nationalists for requiring new security system.

Such abuse damages the Indy movement but SNP parliamentarians do not go to the papers when they receive similar abuse.

343. Robert Peffers

@Essexexile says: 24 March, 2019 at 8:51 pm:

… Hopefully, you can see what I’m getting at here.”

Now when did I not see what commenters were getting at, Essexexile?

Yet you grab hold of the wrong end of the stick. You are 100% correct that there are lots of lurkers who read Wings but do not comment and we all know that many who do are anti-independence.

So here you are hinting I am the one in the wrong for showing up FM/SG/SNP detractors because those hostile lurkers will latch onto such comments.

You seem completely unaware that those hostile lurkers will be far more aware that there is a faction here on Wings who claim to be supporters of independence yet who, at every opportunity, are making out they know best and the FM/SG/SNP are doing everything wrong.

So there you go – I’m not the one not showing solidarity. Do you imagine those hostile lurkers don’t see the comments that are at odds with what the FM/SG/SNP? Just where did you imagine the short lived campaign by the MSM/Broadcasters and unionist politicians that the SNP were involved in a civil war?

Furthermore, I have pointed out many times that complaining about the FM/SG/SNP on an open forum will have little or no effect upon them and that there are no more open and approachable people in the United Kingdom. Anyone with a gripe can take it to any of them including the FM herself. Doing so will have an effect. Washing dirty linen on an open forum only serves to help the unionists so why do so?

344. Abulhaq

Only 13% of Brits in a recent poll would support a Brit state general election in the current situation of blocked government. The people who initiated this mess can breath a hefty sigh of relief. It would seem the British electorate has a lot to learn about the concept of power and its exercise. They do, however, excell in passing the buck in this seemingly unaccountable, rump parliamentary, archaic ‘democracy’. Is no one prepared to handle this archaic ‘bauble’, this contemporary Golden Calf?

345. Robert Peffers

@lumilumi says: 24 March, 2019 at 10:49 pm:

” … Yet another subtle way to undermine Scottish national identity, “forgetting” to distinguish between Scots law and English law, giving the fudged impression it’s all the same.”

I’m sure you know, lumilumi, that the Princedom of Wales was won as part of the Kingdom of England by England enforcing English law upon Wales.

346. Breeks

Robert Peffers says:
    25 March, 2019 at 8:23 am
    @Essexexile says: 24 March, 2019 at 8:51 pm:

… Hopefully, you can see what I’m getting at here.”

Now when did I not see what commenters were getting at, Essexexile?

Your constant SNP McCarthyism is wearing a bit thin Mr Peffers.

347. Lenny Hartley

Robert Peffers 21:47 ok if we go for small countries, New Zealand blows Scotland out of the water, think Scotland with the addition of the Norwegian Fjords and the Swiss Alps 🙂 stunning and its also got sunshine (guaranteed) talking about open spaces being boring, I once did a return journey between Capetown and Johanesburg in South Africa by train, several thousand miles through the flat featureless Karoo desert, it was beautiful and fascinating , the train was only going about fifty mph max so you had time to admire the view, i spend much of my none sleeping time of the 52 hour return journey staring out that window and .i was not bored for a second.

348. Ken500

Off topic for others, who like a drink? Can be a bit too near the bone. Sexist, crude. Not a good look. .

Not for Nana Thanks a Billion for the links. Brilliant as usual.

Rev Stu likes the water. Not recycled heaps of times. Pure and simple. Simply the best. Better than all the rest. Pity some folk did not stick to coffee or tea, sometimes. Especially on the railways. Absolutely hammered. Not a good communal attribute in confined spaces. Falling all over the place. Shouting, bawling and swearing. No pleasant. Can ruin an amazing journey.

In Scotland people who take the car have had their journey times cut. 2/3rds. Journey which took. 1hr 30 mins, now take under 30mins. Easing congestion, saving time, money and emissions. Emissions down over 60%. Less stress, tiredness and disruption. Saving two hours on many people’s working day. It’s a miracle. The green/unionists protested all the way wasting £Billions. Funded by landowners. Not wanting traffic near their land.

The new Forth Crossing the and the AWPR are saving £Billions and are putting £Billions into the Scottish economy. Before the FM on 3rd rate roads. The landowners funding the protests. The protestors believed. ‘If the roads were built, people would go on them’. Just the point. The SNP Scottish Gov delivered once again, No wonder they are winners.

It would be good to reduce the times on the railways. Getting better stock. It is being done. Instead of the waste of HS2. Ruining journeys through Britain, especially in the Nirth of England and Scotland. What a waste but Scotland has to pay for it. Not investing in Scotland’s services.

The North of England has bad conductivity. Even worse. Westminster total centrist mismanagement. Costing Scotland £Billions. A new borders rail line was built. Very successful in the main.

The Trams totally mismanaged by unionists. OAP from other cities and not allowed to use their off peak (bus) travel passes. Edinburgh the most wealthiest city in Scotland with publicly funded transport. Other Cities loses out. Especially with indiscriminate bribing City ‘deals’. Just gets spent on utter nonsense. Not thought out. Empty shops, offices and underoccupied hotels. With shops and offices sitting empty already. Instead of building schools, affordable houses and funding social services properly.

The corrupt unionist councils. Illegally ganging up together. Keeping the SNP out. They would deliver better services that the public want. They listen to the public. Not ignorant and arrogant like the unionists. The absolute mess and shambles will affect the Scottish economy. Scotland did not vote for it.

Boris Johnstone would not last a month as PM. He is a criminal. All the lies would be found out. Gove will be pathetic, Aid the Independence movement. Corbyn is beyond useless. He does not even turn up. A total lying hypocrite. Just like the rest of them. Absolutely clueless. A complete embarrassment and a world laughing stock. They are in for a shock. The demise before the fall. How low can they go? Complete and utterly useless.

349. Gary45%

Kids.
    Divided we fall.

350. Abulhaq

@Breeks 08:53
    The SNP does not do dissent. Any critique or ‘deviance’ and you’re a troll, as Mr Salmond found in his ideological brush with the party apparatchiks many years ago and as we see in the neatly stage managed party conferences where alternative voices are relegated to the margins.
    Dissent is a healthy and democratic political process, conformism is stalinism and leader cultism.
    The antiquated British state is hanging on the ropes, the SNP leadership is offering emergency treatment.
    Not in my name!

351. Scot Finlayson

@Lenny,

1. Scotland
    And finally, we come to the world’s most beautiful country as voted by Rough Guides readers: Scotland. Who can deny that the wild beaches, deep lochs and craggy castles are some of the most wonderful and beautiful sights in the world? Add in thousands of years of history, more delicious whisky than you could taste in a lifetime and excellent golfing, hiking, and biking trails and you’ve got a very special place indeed. Well done Scotland!

352. Ken500

One person’s bored landscape, is another person’s passion. It is just a matter of taste and choice. Some people think Norway is boring.

It is recognised Scotland is uniquely beautiful. Worldwide. Especially the far North. Harris comes up trumps every time in world surveys, Applecross brilliant. Arran, Mull the Isles has a special attraction. Along with the great Cities established centuries ago. Edinburgh, Perth, Stirling Aberdeen. Established as royal burgh at cross roads, market places and rivers. Fresh water and transport.

Trading with Europe. Culross. The Fife coast. Trading in wine, wool, coal? cloth etc. Monasteries the hive of industry. Honey (sweet) breweries, not contaminated water. Keep sheep and other beasts. Milk cows. Goats? Tilling the ground and soil. Various crops. Giving employment and protection. Along with the Scottish Crown.

The Court going from town to town for administration and justice. Gathering tithes (10th) taxes to pay for it. Those who could afford it. Churches education even then supported by the burgh universities. The oldest in the world. The King and Official were judge and jury in disputes. Land dispute or theft etc. Until Scotland was usurped. Illegally. The land stolen and taken. When many ‘countries’ were empty. US, Australia, NZ even parts of Africa unknown. Scottish migrants had to travel miles because of Westminster intransigence, brutality, greed, corruption and lies. Still the same. People in Scotland are fighting back.

The Terms of the Treaty of Union reneged upon as soon as they were written. Edward 1 was repelled. The Jacobite Rebellions, the Enlightenment, the Clearances. The Vow. Promises all reneged upon.

Scotland pays £Billions for illegal wars, financial fraud and tax evasion. That could be better spent in the economy without Whitehall interference. Scotland could once again take it’s place in the world. Influencing the world. The Declaration of Arbroath influencing world democracy. The Enlightenment, Scottish invention has changed and influenced the world. Engineering,medicine, TV, telecommunications leading on to the internet. It has changed the world for the better.

353. Sharny Dubs

@Liz G good to hear your voice of reason, always the sane mediator.

Now a whatfiery… I’m no political hack but what if…

Once the result of Brexit deal is confirmed, then the SG declare the treaty of the union defunct due to the breaking of the terms, i.e. not all dominions being treated equally, as would be recognised by international law. Then we hold a referendum asking if the people of Scotland wish the SG to pursue a new treaty (with terms yet to be negotiated)? Or alternately remain an independent country.

I can dream.

354. Ken500

The SNP and others stand united. That is what gives them strength. To do the right thing. To do the good things that they do. The SNP are funded by their members. So is the wider movement. SNP money funds them all. Not that they are often grateful. Not banks or corporates. Trade unions or other vested interests. Or pressure interests groups. That is why the SNP is so successful, does good things and stands up for Scotland. The power is in the members. The people. Ordinary people who want to build a better place. More people should join them. If they want one too. Not illegal intervention and interference in Europe and the rest of the world but Cooperation. Not conflict, despair and disruption. Killing millions illegally.

355. Nana

It might be a quiet day on Wings so here’s a few videos to pass the time. Some of you have already watched, some new readers may not have seen them posted first time around

The Tufton Street Network – Hacking our democracy

In this Real Media co-production for DeSmog and The Media Fund, we hear from three independent investigative journalists, Mat Hope (DeSmog), Peter Jukes (ByLine), and Adam Ramsay (Open Democracy) who connect the dots around this insidious threat to democracy.
    https://realmedia.press/tufton-street/

At the demise of empire, City of London financial interests created a web of secrecy jurisdictions that captured wealth from across the globe and hid it in a web of offshore islands. Today, up to half of global offshore wealth is hidden in British jurisdictions and Britain and its dependencies are the largest global players in the world of international finance.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=np_ylvc8Zj8

Remastered : The Miami showband massacre
    https://www.netflix.com/gb/title/80191046

356. manandboy

BREXIT IS NOT THE PROBLEM – BUT THE BRITISH ESTABLISHMENT IS

https://www.bloomberg.com/opinion/articles/2019-03-24/bonkers-u-k-elites-are-dragging-everyone-down?

“Certainly, Brexit has put a demented establishment on public trial as never before. But indicting pro-Brexit agitators or the toxic culture of a British media doesn’t begin to describe the deep structural problems of the British establishment.

Brexit is a symptom, the most ominous yet, of a broader crisis of elite credibility and legitimacy. The ruling class that brought Britain to this sorry pass also, in recent years, helped mess up large parts of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa with calamitously ill-conceived interventions. And it failed to foresee, and even ideologically enabled, the financial crisis of 2008.”

357. Meg merrilees

Good luck to Stu today.
    Talking truth to power is never easy.

358. Dr Jim

@Nana 10:15am

I doubt it’ll be quiet Nana, the teacher’s left the room

359. Nana

@Dr Jim

I’m sure the prefects will be along shortly 🙂

360. Breeks

Perhaps the most credible comment I’ve read regarding Scotland’s attitude to revoking Brexit is that if Scotland was already an independent sovereign country in the EU, Scotland’s Foreign policy would naturally be to keep England as close to European policy and convergence alignment as possible… and thus naturally we would support and encourage revocation. I can see that, but the operative word that puts the cart before the horse is “if”.

Brexit, even the threat of Brexit, gives powerful impetus to Scottish Independence via the argument Brexit represents unlawful Constitutional injustice. Brexit is the motor that will unarguably propel Scotland into becoming an EU member state. It is our Independence which would afford Scotland the magnanimity to support and encourage pro European views amongst the English.

Defeating Brexit compromises that unlawful Constitutional injustice, undermines Scotland’s argument against colonial subjugation, and leaves Brexit neutered as a driver for Constitutional change and our emancipation from the Union, and Scotland is arguably left no nearer to Independence at the end of the process.

I simply do not understand why we draw back from the clear an obvious path and choose to pursue the abstract route to an uncertain destination instead. Apparently I’m not as smart as I think I am, and it’s true, there’s a lot of head scratching going on at this end.

We want for Scotland what Sinn Féinn wants for Ireland. Can you imagine Mary Lou MacDonald holding Irish unification in abeyance while putting Westminster’s UK interests first? I don’t think so.

I’m not saying we drop everything to become Scotland’s Sinn Féinn, but please SNP people, please tell me you do see the storm brewing with a strategy kept such a stubborn secret, but which clearly appears to put UK interests ahead of Scotland’s, and leaves the ramifications for Scottish Independence abstract and obscure. That’s the wee conundrum that’s beginning to stink.

I’ll warn you in a friendly way… don’t get angry with pro-Indy people who don’t understand this. There’s a lot of them for one thing. This is legitimate concern and anxiety stemming from a confused situation created in large part by a bizarre and enigmatic strategy that is entirely of your own making. Don’t blame Brexit for that bit. Won’t wash.

361. Nana

Upcoming event

Speakers will present in second half of the meeting –
    Michelle Thomson on the Yes Movement
    Roger Mullin on the changing Brexit landscape
    Lindsay Bruce on campaigning technology & logistics
    https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/yes-glasgow-west-spring-meeting-tickets-59285536636

https://thoughtcontrolscotland.com/2019/03/25/bbc-complaint-re-inaccurate-report-on-police-fire-review/

A very useful post, reporting an important (if unsurprising) phenomenon: that the Government is using powers under the EU (Withdrawal) Act 2018 to ‘give effect to significant policy changes’. This is exactly what was feared, Government assurances to the contrary notwithstanding.
    Link to article here
    https://twitter.com/ProfMarkElliott/status/1110115180694917121

From the times and another reason to stop paying the licence fee

The BBC is planning to pay tens of millions of pounds to help to clear the tax bills of presenters previously paid through personal companies.
    Hundreds of presenters, including some of its best known, are being pursued for back tax after HMRC ruled that they were wrongly paid as off-payroll contractors for years when they were actually employees.
    https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/bbc-licence-fee-cash-to-settle-stars-tax-bills-60zvhh50p

That’s all for today.

362. SilverDarling

@BBCPhilipSim is live tweeting the case

@GrayInGlasgow has useful background

363. Meg merrilees

Nana @ 6.59

follow the links for the Scottish Constitution – this is gold-dust.
    Takes a while to read it through but it is worth the effort.

I’ll be stunned if this goes through by the 29th March but fingers crossed – wow!

364. Capella

@ Robert Peffers – thx for that link to the 2013 debate in Edinburgh University on the independence referendum. Interesting opening presentation by Tom Divine but also the comments from the panel are fascinating in the light of what is happening now.
    Willie Rennie, Ruth Davidson, Margo MacDonald, Blair Jenkins and an academic specialising in constitutional issues.

Interesting contribution from Tom Divine about Labour secretly plotting to offer devo max and Gordon Brown to offer it.
    1hr 30mins

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=asMPMceNWpY

365. Capella

Oops – Tom DEvine.

366. Jon Musgrave

Good luck, fingers crossed for you 🙂

367. Lenny Hartley

Scot Finlayson if you believe these votes are an indication of anything you will believe in Faeries. Have you ever been to New Zealand for example? To me this whole Scotland is the best stinks of British Exceptionalism.

368. Tatu3

Even IF article 50 were to be revoked, I don’t think for one moment that would be the end of Brexit. The Leavers would not give up fighting for another vote or whatever.
    But I think it would give Scotland time to have an independence vote and with the threat of Brexit still there, simmering away, it would, hopefully, persuade the undecideds to vote YES.

369. cearc

Must be the best Stu quote ever.

“I’ve tweeted disobliging things about just about every unionist politician in Scotland”

https://twitter.com/BBCPhilipSim is reporting live,

370. Bob Mack

@lenny Hartley,

Having extensively travelled the world I can say without doubt I have seen sights that took my breath away, such as the winter in Shirakawa Japan, and it’s remarkable heritage village. Brought a tear to my eye.

No matter where I have gone though I always looked forward to home, where my emotional ties lay and my development began.

Scots are natural roamers. We have much natural beauty around us in this world, but home is to me, always more beautiful. To each their own.

371. Dave McEwan Hill

What a relief to read the (as usual) first class offering today in the National from Carolyn Leckie having waded through pish from Wishart and Kerevan. There is a concerted effort going on to divide the SNP at the moment and sometimes one wonders what the state has on some people (and be in no doubt, that is exactly the case).
    Listened to Craig Murray at George Square yesterday. Sounded great. We will seize independence! The people will seize independence! etc etc etc etc etc. Didn’t get round to explaining how however. Then I understood. He was shouting what he judged the people in George Square wanted to hear. Patronising bam

372. manandboy

After propaganda, the most effective weapon of control in the British arsenal, is division.
    Over centuries of Imperialist rule, the British Establishment have honed the ability to divide opposition into a very sharp tool. But actually, it is not difficult to deploy. All that’s needed to start with are a few individuals with a gripe or grievance, a disappointment or a frustration, together with the ability to speak or write well, and then, with even a small platform, the seeds of division can be spread until they are widely sown. Success!

Independence WILL NOT BE ACCOMPLISHED BY DIVISION, only by a united Yes movement.

There will be plenty of time for arguments AFTER Independence.

Till then, let ‘Unity in Diversity’ prevail.

373. Sarah

@cearc at 11.38. Many thanks for the link to Philip Sim’s twitter – a blow by blow report of the Rev in court right now.

What a fantastic piece of publicity – he is reading out his “fact check” articles about Kezia! That could well sway some soft Noes.

374. Cubby

Al-Suart@2.23am

Now that’s much better. A post that is nice. Pity about some of your previous posts. I am sure you understand the point I was making was that if you post comments that are unpleasant you loose any credibility when complaining about others posting similar types of comments.

For the record and as I have said on many occasions on Wings I am not an SNP member but I do not see any value in posting criticism of the SNP on Wings – particularly at this critical point in time. Plenty of Britnats criticise the SNP all the time in the MSM why do we need more criticism here?

375. Tatu3

Me @ 11.25
    Also maybe some Remain in EU, but No to independence Scots might realise that Nicola Sturgeon is a good, honest politician and that sounding good and knowledgeable in defence of remaining in the eu, might also know what she is talking about when it comes to how right it is for Scotland to be a normal, independent country?

376. Sorcha S

@Robert Peffers 8.23 am

‘…Furthermore, I have pointed out many times that complaining about the FM/SG/SNP on an open forum will have little or no effect upon them and that there are no more open and approachable people in the United Kingdom. Anyone with a gripe can take it to any of them including the FM herself. Doing so will have an effect. Washing dirty linen on an open forum only serves to help the unionists so why do so?…’

Are you typical of the SNP membership at your branch and the wider membership?

I can tell you, you are typical of the membership of my branch. No one is allowed to criticize anything about the SNP. No one is allowed to question the non-existent secret strategy for Independence. No one can criticize Nicola Sturgeon or her style of leadership.

Old men with fixed ideas about the world who are retired and who have made it their next job to dominate the narrative are the majority.

You say anyone can write to Nicola Sturgeon, but will they receive an answer? I haven’t. Three times I have written to her. Twice as a member and the third time as a spokesperson for a women’s group.

You say no one will change their minds with comments on an open forum, yet her Spads and press people are all over Wings website and Twitter. They are floundering and desperate to court the floating No voter yet they are stifled by people who want to LARP the signing of the treaty of Arbroath.

You and your ilk are the problem for the SNP, not ordinary people who want to openly debate and resonate with the wider public.

So I’ll criticize who I damn well like and you and your henchmen won’t stop me. THIS. IS. NOT. YOUR. SITE.

377. jfngw

The importance of this case to me is not the money but the fact that a leading politician was effectively trying to silence this site from a position of parliamentary privilege, remember she called for all politicians to distance themselves from any of the site content.

It was purely a party political move to control the media we have access to, obviously endorsed by the MSM as it is something they want eradicated.

378. Nana

The PM will make a statement on the European Council this afternoon. It should begin at around 3:35pm
    https://twitter.com/ParlyApp/status/1110157817615400960

379. jfngw

Going to be interesting if Dugdale and Mundell take the stand, they could be confronted, under oath, about lies they have told on the record. After all we need to establish their integrity as witnesses.

380. defo

Well, you can be magnanimous if you like, but i hope this financially ruins her.
    Some here will remember FF, Lord Foo’s attack troll.

381. yesindyref2

Hehe at 22.84%, Edinburgh West is now in 3rd place ahead of Hornsey and Wood Green, and Corbyn’s seat at 22.82%. Keep it going!

382. jfngw

In recent times there has been a concerted attempt to isolate pro-indy site, homophobia, anti-Semitism (ironically from Labour) and supporting IRA violence has been thrown at these sites. There is never any demand to isolate the MSM journalist who spout vitriol.

They know a referendum is coming and they want to tilt the media balance in their favour. Anyone that thinks we can win with just MSM as the source of facts is going to be disappointed.

383. Hamish100

Jonathon Shafi– who, what and why?

384. Dr Jim

@Dave McEwan Hill 11:42pm

I left right at the moment he took to the stage because I know what’s coming and we all know why

Divisive populism that helps nothing but the ego of the person doing it

385. cassandra

386. cassandra

oops posted too soon.

Breaking for lunch now at Court of Session

387. Legerwood

Cubby @ 12:01 pm

Clearly you have not looked at the Thought Control Scotland site over the weekend. It did quite a hatchet job on Ms Sturgeon based on the slightes of evidence.

388. Gfaetheblock

Sarah @11.51

Second your thanks for the twitter feed, compellling reading. Not sure that all the updates are that great for the prosecution or for charming soft no’s though.

389. William Wallace

Asked if Kezia Dugdale was a particular focus of his tweets, Mr Campbell says she was just “one of a number” of people he has written about; “I’ve tweeted disobliging things about just about every unionist politician in Scotland” 🙂 🙂 🙂

390. Fergus Green

@defo 12.53

I well remember Nob Nob al If If, Foo’s backwards and largely ineffective attack troll. Confident about posting her bile in the Scotsman, but afraid to be challenged on a more open forum.

391. Scot Finlayson

Remember,you can lie under oath if you want,perjury in itself is not against the law,

it is up to the judge to rule if the perjury influenced the case,

Sheridan got three years for perjury,

Andy Coulson `his accuser and establishment flunky` was proven guilty of perjury but released because The Hon Lord Burns (David Burns)
    didnae think his perjury was relevent,

so to sum it up,perjury is only `perjury` if the establishment want it to be perjury.

392. Dr Jim

Perjury is against the law and punishable by imprisonment
    It may be complex to prosecute depending on the result desired but it certainly is against the law

393. Fergus Green

From Philip Sim’s Twitter:

‘On question of interpretation, Mr Campbell says if he said “good morning” and Mr Dunlop somehow thought he said “your hair is on fire”, he would not be to blame for him pouring a bucket of water over his head’

Looks like there is only one person on fire in the court room and it is not Kezia’s QC 🙂

394. Ken500

SC in Court.

Wonderful Free publicity that could not be bought.

These lying politicians need to be brought to book.Most of them should be in jail. Abusing the Law to get away with murder.

Alistair Campbell now supports Scottish Independence? Crawler. Creep.

395. Ken500

Did Coulson not go to jail?

Murdoch away with £30Billion. Broke the Law so many times. Surveillance, hacking and bribing public officials. Punishable anywhere is the world for US based companies. US Law.

UK arms dealing companies have been bribing Saudis for years. Since the 1960’s. Wilson administration. Totally illegally. Keeping it secret under the Official Secrets Act. The British establishment are getting £Billions from the Saudi, Russians etc.

396. galamcennalath

Ken500 says:

Alistair Campbell now supports Scottish Independence?

When? Where? Seems highly unlikely! A BritNat through and through, I would have said.

There are some Scots on the left who will come out for Indy. Some have, hopefully more will. But him? A’ hae ma doots.

397. CameronB Brodie

Abulhaq
    “The SNP does not do dissent.”

We already have good reason to suspect you of supporting political Zionism, an illiberal ideology sustained through propaganda and a disregard for human rights. An ideology with closes associations to institutional British nationalism. So what evidence do you have to support your assertions?

398. CameronB Brodie

I was never prefect material, way too disrespectfully critical towards authority. ,)

399. Robert J. Sutherland

galamcennalath @ 13:54,

Ditto. (But consider the source. =wink=)

Still, I would be very happy if the likes of AC were to change their mind. Whatever their innermost motives. It’s the surest sign that the tide is turning, and adds yet more confusion to the stubborn remaining opponents of independence.

Conversion is what it’s about, or it’s about nothing. We might not always like it, but we can’t afford to be precious either, deciding who we deign to change side and who not. Duh. Every change of mind is one step closer to the finish line. And some take more than themselves with them.

But AC? I too hae ma doots. There’s going to be a time though when virtually everyone (even some of the Tories) will claim they were always for indy. So the sooner they do it, and out in public, the better. For us all.

400. CameronB Brodie

Breeks
    Scotland doesn’t have a voice in Britain, so the SNP’s action are unlikely to affect the trajectory of Brexit, IMHO. The damage has been already been done. English cultural exceptionalism is now on full public display, and isn’t it a ugly spectacle?

401. X_Sticks

If you’re not watching Philip Sim’s twitter on the Rev’s case you should! It’s hilarious.
    “Mr Dunlop reading previous tweets from Mr Campbell, including one making reference to “any sanctimonious wankhole” – “what is a wankhole?” Mr Campbell says it would be “a hole into which one might wank””

https://twitter.com/BBCPhilipSim/status/1110182854904950785

402. Essexexile

X sticks, I’ve genuinely just spat a mouthful of tea across my desk!!
    I think that ‘wankhole’ exchange should be on a t shirt.

403. defo

Fergus Green

FF and Eric J’s former agent grahamski knew how to scrape the bottom of the barrel. A tag team of mud slingers

And then remember thon puppy dog look in the daily heil because vicious cybernats dared call her out.

Spent manys an hour debunking the hootsmons ‘journalistic’ efforts, as flyingscott.Got banned there, so a new moniker was needed. Registered as D. Defoe 🙂
    Haven’t been back since WoS became a thing.
    No need, with Stu making a far better fist of it than I could.

404. Jack Murphy

OT. British Airways flies to North Britain by mistake.TODAY.

“BA flight lands in Edinburgh instead of Dusseldorf”

http://archive.is/LA88X

405. Confused

gig of the day is an edinburgh court
    cant be there
    no livestream
    but the live tweets are most joyous
    – the collision of internet culture and the scots law court – marvellous
    shall we be read definitions of
    banter
    lolz
    edgy shitposting
    etc

given the pompous leaden bluster of all legal text – see the 40 page preamble to this – could it lead to a revolution in law
    – rulings given by tweet
    – entire rulings consisting of emoticons

the REV has already given a deadpan explanation of “wankhole” !

– they enemy see a weakness and are now hitting him on the tranny thing …

406. Cubby

Legerwood@1.19pm

Sorry Legerwood don’t understand the point you are making.

407. Fireproofjim

The Rev’s cross examination at the Court is hilarious, worthy of a comedy movie,
    Quote “If I say I I am Napoleon, am I? If I say I am black, am I?”
    Wish I was in the public gallery.

408. Cubby

A pretty neutral report by BBC Reporting Scotland on the Dugdale defamation case at lunchtime. Probably the best we can expect from them.

409. SilverDarling

Quite a scattergun approach being taken by Dugdale’s QC.

410. Effijy

5.5 Million signatures on the Article 50 petition!

411. Confused

the opposing QC is truly a slippery fish
    – he is using the old “draw your opponent into a quagmire”
    suggesting “transphobia”
    then using the fallacious proof by extension – LGBT
    transpobia => homophobia
    – the judge, to his credit, cant be bothered with the tranny stuff
    that the other side are clearly fishing around looking for ammo is a good sign
    – they do not want to fight on the facts, the bare facts alone
    want to work on my golf swing – but – want to see keza on the oche
    – I think she will collapse under the slightest questioning
    BUT then go for the sympathy vote
    “REV bad man … hurt feelings … feel sad …”

412. Robert J. Sutherland

X_Sticks @ 14:18,
    Essexexile @ 14:30,

Thankfully I hadn’t yet poured my cuppa, so my keyboard was spared.

One wonders how RepScot is possibly going to cover this.

Oh, wait a mo’. It won’t.

413. Thepnr

“Next witness in the Wings-Dugdale case is Paul Kavanagh, the author of the Wee Ginger Dug blog.

https://twitter.com/BBCPhilipSim/status/1110197166679748608

414. yesindyref2

This is an important article in the Herald, as it shows it’s not just the SNP “whining” about Westminster ignoring the devolved “assemblies”, it’s Labour, Wales and NI.

https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/17524107.devolution-20-years-on-and-scottish-government-ministers-still-feel-ignored-by-whitehall-says-report/

And no, I’m not archiving it, it’s positive for the SNP AND Indy.

415. Robert J. Sutherland

Just for the occasion, I went over to Stu’s Twitter feed and found this wee gem:

https://mobile.twitter.com/damocrat/status/1109801282141855744/photo/1

Leading from the (far) back as per usual.

Labour and Tories might wish for the SNP’s “problems”! =laugh=

416. Legerwood

Cubby you said at 12.01pm
    “”For the record and as I have said on many occasions on Wings I am not an SNP member but I do not see any value in posting criticism of the SNP on Wings – particularly at this critical point in time. Plenty of Britnats criticise the SNP all the time in the MSM why do we need more criticism here?””

I responded @ 1.19pm
    “”Clearly you have not looked at the Thought Control Scotland site over the weekend. It did quite a hatchet job on Ms Sturgeon based on the slightes [slightest] of evidence.””

I assumed you were capable of making the connection, particularly if you had looked at the post on the blog I mentioned, that it is not just on this site that indulges in anti-SNP comment.

In fact over the pat few days there has been a concerted series of attacks on the FM from supposedly pro-independence voices that smack of ‘my way or no way’

417. yesindyref2

Mmm, from Philip Sim’s twitter:

Ms Dugdale’s QC contends that “dragging his father’s sexuality into” the case was the “vile” thing

THAT, it seems to me, is inherently discriminatory, from the QC. It’s supposed to be about treating people equally, not avoiding their sexuality.

418. yesindyref2

@Legerwood
    Yes there have been a few attacks. Good. It’s out in the open, rather than being a stream of innuendo and indirect attacks. I have no problem by the way about them being open with their opinions, everyone has the right to a different opinion.

As for Alistair Campbell I have no axe to grind, Iraq was a long time ago, it’s in the past, Independence is the future. And as Ken500 posted, he has changed his views on Indy after the EU Ref, and as a still influential voice, can help the cause:

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/news/politics/holyrood/959688/alastair-campbell-says-sturgeon-justified-calling-second-independence-referendum/

Personally if Ruth Davidson, Willie Rennie, Murdo Fraser and of course Kezia Dugdale all took the journey to YES, I’d welcome them. I might count my fingers after a handshake 🙂

419. K1

DM is unable to attend…Dugdale is up the morra. That’s it fur the day.

420. Nana

In case you missed this

Blackford telling May
    “If our votes don’t count, then we may as well go home
    https://twitter.com/BBCPolitics/status/1110210474602225664

421. Dr Jim

That interview was from 2016 and the paper rehashed it, I wonder why they chose to publish it at this moment unless they feel the photo with The FM the other day was of more significance than just a photo

Lots of wheels spinning around

422. CameronB Brodie

Re. the defense’s line of argument. Time for some Moral Philosophy and a bit of Legal Theory?

The Triviality of the Debate Over ‘Is-Ought’ and the Definition of ‘Moral’

“THE central problem in moral philosophy is commonly known as the is-ought problem.” So runs the opening sentence of the introduction to a recent volume of readings on this issue. [1] Taken as a statement about the preoccupations of moral philosophers of the present century, we can accept this assertion. The problem of how statements of fact are related to moral judgments has dominated recent moral philosophy.

Associated with this problem is another, which has also been given considerable attention – the question of how morality is to be defined. The two issues are linked, since some definitions of morality allow us to move from statements of fact to moral judgments, while others do not. In this article I shall take the two issues together, and try to show that they do not merit the amount of attention they have been given. I shall argue that the differences between the contending parties are terminological, and that there are various possible terminologies, none of which has, on balance, any great advantage over any other terminology.

So instead of continuing to regard these issues as central, moral philosophers could, I believe, “agree to disagree” about the “is-ought” problem, and about the definition of morality, provided only that everyone was careful to stipulate how he was using the term “moral” and was aware of the implications and limitations of the definition he was using. Moral philosophers could then move on to consider more important issues….

https://www.utilitarian.net/singer/by/197301–.htm

Lord Devlin and the Enforcement of Morals
    digitalcommons.law.yale.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=4612&context=fss_papers

Toward a Science of Morality
    https://samharris.org/toward-a-science-of-morality/

Freedom of Expression, Media Law and Defamation
    https://www.mediadefence.org/sites/default/files/resources/files/MLDI.IPI%20defamation%20manual.English.pdf

423. galamcennalath

TMay saying she is not obliged to implement anything parliament comes up with and she is adamant that they should stick to the manifesto they were elected on. That means a hard no customs union Brexit. She is ruling out softer options.

She can’t get her ‘deal’ past, so is she saying “it’s going to be ‘no deal'”?

The only way forward, which complies with her position, would be a general election and new manifesto proposals. All MPs elected on those manifestos would be expected to vote for them.

424. yesindyref2

@Dr Jim
    They didn’t republish it as far as I know, I just googled for it as I vaguely remembered it from the time.

425. Bob Mack

The Rev’s QC missed a very important point.

The Rev stated that “it mad you wish he had embraced his Homosexuality sooner” This is a clear indicator that the Rev was in fact encouraging Mr Mundell to have come out as gay sooner than he did rather than “wishing he was not gay”.

It is an important legal point.

It is these fine distinctions that are decided in law.

426. Dr Jim

Ian Blackford doing a good job again in that stupid clown circus of a place

Which leads me to the Twitter folk from England screaming about their sovereignty and how their vote to leave must be honoured and once again I hate to tell them the people of England are not and never have been sovereign

The Monarchy in England ceded their sovereignty to the English parliament making it supreme over all, so in truth English votes do not and never have counted ever, the parliament in England uses peoples votes as leverage not law

Unlike Scotland where constitutionally the parliament serves the people and not the other way round thus making the people of Scotland sovereign and not the parliament

Which is actually similar to the French parliament who’s job it is is to serve the people and to not command or dictate to the people

If a million French people went into the streets to complain of something the French parliament would immediately examine and likely find a way to create the peace of the people

It’s a democracy thing that quite a few countries practice, except in England they practice pretend democracy to cover up dictatorship, they’ve done a good job of fooling people with that for a long time but I kinda think the English people might soon be catching on they’ve been mugged forever and they’re not going to like it when they wake up

427. yesindyref2

*wince”
    From Philip Sim “One fudge doughnut later, we’re back underway at Edinburgh Sheriff court. Kezia Dugdale’s QC Roddy Dunlop resuming questioning of Stuart Campbell.

I’m guessing Sim doesn’t use an urban dictionary …

428. Bob Mack

@yesindyref2,

Now now.Philip will have you in court.

429. CameronB Brodie

More on legal lines of argument.

Utilitarianism as tort theory: countering the caricature

Abstract

Utilitarianism, the view that ‘actions are right in proportion as they tend to promote happiness, wrong as they tend to produce the reverse of happiness’, is no longer taken seriously either as a moral principle or as a theory of tort law. Rights-based theories appear to have won the day. The purpose of this paper is to counter this trend and demonstrate that utilitarianism is not the implausible straw man that its opponents have constructed.

Relying upon a version of utilitarianism advanced by the philosopher RM Hare, I will demonstrate that distinguishing between two levels of utilitarian thinking can provide a credible explanatory and normative theory of tort law that is immune to many of the critiques usually levelled at this theory. My final conclusion is that if a rights-based theory of tort law is convincing, it may be one with utilitarian foundations.

https://www.cambridge.org/core/journals/legal-studies/article/utilitarianism-as-tort-theory-countering-the-caricature/FF5D8D1E7B7F4329FC0B3FBCCB3E102F/core-reader

An Introduction to the Principles of Morals and Legislation
    https://philpapers.org/rec/BENITT

Ethics in Law Enforcement
    2.2 Utilitarian Ethics

https://opentextbc.ca/ethicsinlawenforcement/chapter/2-2-utilitarian-ethics/

Rights and Utilitarianism. John Stuart Mill’s Role in its history
    https://journals.openedition.org/etudes-benthamiennes/192?lang=en

430. K1

She’s refusing ‘customs union’ even if the house voted for it. Now who was it was saying yesterday that WM was moving toward a CU and SM deal and because of that Scotland’s independence was ‘off the table’?

And as I type she is also ruling out a ‘peoples vote’ too, she’s basically saying all indicative votes will not count for anything. And that if the house continues to not vote for ‘a deal (her deal)’…even if ‘indicative votes’ that suggest an alternative route she will not countenance any of those indicative votes.

She’s literally stating no matter what ‘this house’ brings forward the government will not compromise on the deal that is on the table, which the parliament has voted twice against, even though she’s already stated that she knows her deal won’t get through the house a third time.

431. CameronB Brodie

Has Ms. Dugdale’s QC just put utilitarian ethics in the dock? Bold, if so.

Hedonistic vs. Preference Utilitarianism

Summary

It’s a classic debate among utilitarians: Should we care about an organism’s happiness and suffering (hedonic wellbeing), or should we ultimately value fulfilling what it wants, whatever that may be (preferences)? In this piece, I discuss intuitions on both sides and explore a hybrid view that gives greater weight to the hedonic subsystems of brains than to other overriding subsystems. I also discuss how seeming infinite preferences against suffering could lead to a negative-leaning utilitarian perspective.

While I have strong intuitions on both sides of the dispute, in the end I may side more with idealized-preference utilitarianism. But even if so, there remain many questions, such as Which entities count as agents? How should we weigh them? And how do we assess the relative strengths of their preferences? In using preference utilitarianism to resolve moral disagreements, there’s a tension between weighting various sides by power vs. numerosity, paralleling the efficiency vs. equity debate in economics.

Law, Morality, and Economics: Integrating Moral Constraints with Economic Analysis of Law
    https://scholarship.law.berkeley.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1180&context=californialawreview

Beyond Utilitarianism and Deontology: Ethics in Economics
    https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/09538250601080776

Bioinformation
    Ethical values and human rights

nuffieldbioethics.org/wp-content/uploads/Bioinformation-Chapter-3-Ethical-values-and-human-rights.pdf

432. Thepnr

https://twitter.com/GrayInGlasgow gives his own interpretations of today’s proceedings at Edinburgh Sherrif Court. This ones a zinger.

@WingsScotland description of the Mundells as ‘murderous Tory scrum’ is read to him. Counsel: why use this language? Wings: contended that 120,000 people have died prematurely due to Tory benefits policies. Stands by the remark.

433. yesindyref2

Mmm, WGD a great witness.

Ah right, I see others picked up on the doughnut. It goes to show perhaps how the subconcious works. I’m sure CBB will be able to elucidate 🙂

434. yesindyref2

@Bob Mack
    Indeed. It goes to show how easy it is though, and maybe even Rev’s QC could quote that tweet 🙂

435. K1

HYUFD says:
    23 March, 2019 at 11:43 pm
    K1 As I said provided a hard Brexit is avoided any Deal especially staying in the SM and or CU sees a clear majority against independence and removes the excuse of the SNP for a significant change from 2014 enabling indyref2

https://wingsoverscotland.com/oliver-notwell/comment-page-1/#comment-2445135

‘May suggests she would refuse plan for referendum if MPs propose it in indicative votes

Chris Leslie, the Independent Group MP, asks May if she is saying she will reject a confirmatory vote if that is what MPs vote for in indicative votes.

May says people want a confirmatory vote to have remain on the ballot paper. So it would be a second referendum, she says. And that means it would defy what people voted for in the referendum.’

May suggests she would not accept customs union membership even if MPs were to vote in favour
    ——————-

Yvette Cooper, the Labour MP, asks if May is ruling out negotiating the UK joining a customs union with the EU.

May says there are a number of questions that MPs need to address. What rules would the UK abide by? Would it have to abide by state aid rules? Would it have to accept free movement? She says her manifesto ruled out a customs union. She thinks it is very important for the UK to be able to strike its own trade deals.

‘May suggests she would not accept customs union membership even if MPs were to vote in favour.

May suggests she would refuse to accept a plan for a referendum if MPs back it in indicative votes.’

——————-

As I said if Remain was on the ballot on a second EU ref or ‘confirmatory”after’ a vote for ‘any’ deal, Scotland would overwhelmingly vote for that while England would vote for ‘any’ Brexit deal that could get through.

There is no way the current Tory gov will have that happen as it would once again show the deep and immovable divergence between our 2 countries and would indeed increase the likelihood of our independence coming much sooner than britnat brigade care to admit.

436. galamcennalath

K1 says:

Scotland would overwhelmingly vote for that while England would vote for ‘any’ Brexit deal that could get through. There is no way the current Tory gov will have that happen

Indeed. All along I have felt that there is an undercurrent that the most important thing is NOT the style of Brexit, but the integrity of their Union.

If, as you hypothesise, EURef2 went Scotland Remain / England Leave their UK would be completely dead and they know it. Failing to deliver Brexit isn’t something the Tories want on their record, but facilitating the end of the UK is literally their worst nightmare.

437. Cubby

Legerwood@3.40pm

Thanks for the clarification.

As I was posting on Wings I was referring to Wings only but my point of view holds for all sites that support independence. Why slag off the SNP – particularly at this point in time. That is my opinion -others are welcome to think differently.

438. CameronB Brodie

Work, work, work, that’s all I do around here. 😉

The Power and Influence of Your Subconscious Mind
    https://medium.com/bigger-picture/the-power-and-influence-of-your-subconscious-mind-eb3e12c55464

The Inner Language of the Subconscious
    https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/in-flux/201301/the-inner-language-the-subconscious

Humor, Laughter, and Those Aha Moments
    https://hms.harvard.edu/sites/default/files/HMS_OTB_Spring10_Vol16_No2.pdf

The Neural Correlates of Humor Creativity
    https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fnhum.2016.00597/full

439. McDuff

A Bruce
    Petra 12.33pm
    Quite agree. Anyone having a look at wings for the first time would be put off by this guy`s banal posts, so give it a rest.

440. galamcennalath

I see no indication whatsoever in the way TMay is answering question in WM that a ‘no deal’ will be avoided. She is still taking the like that only one vote would count – MPs backing her deal. If they don’t, then it’s ‘no deal’.

The world sits watching how the UK get out of this mess. Today May continues with no attempt to move forward.

She’s like a WW2 Japanese commander preparing for a final Banzai bayonet charge long before the ammunition runs out!

441. Abulhaq

Nicola Sturgeon snuggles up to notorious Iraq war apologist.
    https://www.craigmurray.org.uk/archives/2019/03/please-cancel-your-subscriptions/comment-page-1/#comments
    OMG is the SNP losing its reason as well as its raison d’ètre?

442. Robert Peffers

@Breeks says: 25 March, 2019 at 8:53 am:

… Your constant SNP McCarthyism is wearing a bit thin Mr Peffers.”But then you would say that, wouldn’t you.

Strange that I knew you would be along in a minute just itching to engage it just such an attack. Are you actually denying that you have carried out an extended series of attacks upon the FM/SG/SNP?

No one need me to tell them that you have made constant attacks upon the FM/SG/SNP. They have read it for themselves. That in spite of it being pointed out to you that doing so will have no effect upon how the FM/SG/SNP will act. That though is not your agenda, your attacks are directed at Wingers and Lurkers where these attacks can, and will have effect.

You have been told several times that the FM can be emailed, Written to and is approachable and I’m certain you would get a hearing. Likewise the SG and SNP. You have even been told how to get their contact details but here you are following the same agenda of attempting to undermine them.

Furthermore you will attack anyone who dares to point out that you do. Now then – let’s have you deny that you consistently attack the FM and constantly accuse her of failing to act as YOU think she should.

By the way me calling you out is nothing like McCarthyism and I’ll tell you why – I have never said you should not hold differing views – just that you should not be doing so on an open forum that is dedicated to Scottish independence. and that doing so harms the movement not to mention totally ineffective at changing the FM/SG/SNP actions.

So here is a simple wee question for you – can you answer it?
    After being made aware that you are harming the indy movement why do you insist upon carrying on doing so?

443. Robert J. Sutherland

Cubby @ 17:29,

There is an important distinction between “slagging off” the SNP – which is a dastardly manoevre from any quarter – and being critical friends. It’s not beneficial to attempt to suppress all comment – otherwise what would we all do on here? – because it would make the SNP look like the gang of top-down zealots that is the stuff of BritNat legend.

Having finally got round to today’s National, I can see what DMH was on about upthread @ 11:42. We certainly don’t need people pushing other agendas via the SNP.

Whether member or not, the SNP is in great shape compared to the two main BritNat parties. In a war it’s always worth keeping in mind that whatever problems you may feel you have, the other side may be suffering far, far more. So it is here. In spades.

444. Robert Peffers

@Lenny Hartley says: 25 March, 2019 at 9:12 am:

” … Robert Peffers 21:47 ok if we go for small countries, New Zealand blows Scotland out of the water.”

Well Lenny, first of all I am not the one who claimed that Scotland was either better or more scenic than any other country. I merely pointed out that in Scotland’s case what Scotland had was variety, grandeur and history all wrapped up in a small package.

Can I suggest you carry on your arguments with those who disagreed with you.

445. CameronB Brodie

galamcennalath
    My guess would be she is a prisoner of her mental schema, which could be described as white, utilitarian, Anglicanism.

TOO MUCH MIND AND NOT ENOUGH BRAIN, BODY AND
    CULTURE
    ON WHAT NEEDS TO BE DONE IN THE COGNITIVE
    SCIENCE OF RELIGION1

https://ejournals.lib.auth.gr/culres/article/download/4637/4735

God may work in mysterious ways–but cognitive science is getting a handle on them
    https://blogs.scientificamerican.com/bering-in-mind/god-may-work-in-mysterious-ways-but-cognitive-science-is-getting-a-handle-on-them/

Brain, Body and Culture: A Biocultural Theory of Religion
    https://pure.au.dk/ws/files/22721317/GeertzBioCulturalTheory.pdf

When cul-de-sacs are more mentality than reality: A rejoinder to Coyne and Gotlib
    https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/BF01173756

446. Robert J. Sutherland

Abulhaq @ 17:44,

OMG has Craig Murray finally lost all of his marbles?

(And as things hot up, the false friends all start to creep out of the woodwork.)

447. Robert Peffers

@Gary45% says: 25 March, 2019 at 9:23 am:
    ” .. Kids. Divided we fall.

Careful there, Gary45%, you’ll be getting accused of McCarthyism.

448. yesindyref2

@Cubby “Why slag off the SNP – particularly at this point in time. That is my opinion -others are welcome to think differently.

@Gary45% “Kids. Divided we fall.

These are two totally different things, as are all disagreements and different views and opinions. We can and should hold different views – and should do – on the whole range of issues, without falling out with each other.

The people we’re wanting to change from undecided or NO (hard and soft NO) to a YES, also have different views on everything, from each other, and from “us” with our own different views.

With our different views we can emphasise with those we want to sway over to YES, by agreeing with them on some issues, and disagreeing on others – like Independence itself.

It’s very much a strength, not a weakness.

449. Legerwood

Cubby says:
    25 March, 2019 at 5:29 pm
    Legerwood@3.40pm

Thanks for the clarification.””

Was not disagreeing with you just showing it is more widespread.

450. Robert J. Sutherland

Nana @ 16:10,

Thanks, I had missed it.

Wow. That’s the spirit.

(Did the BBC switch away from him yet again?)

https://twitter.com/BBCPolitics/status/1110210474602225664

451. Gary45%

Mr Peffers@6.10
    Normally when I read posts that look like “the kids having a wee go at each other,” I get kind of sensitive about it, I think “calm down before it escalates into a meaningless argument”, where simple things can be said that could cause “big fallouts”.
    Maybe I’m too sensitive.

452. CameronB Brodie

Further to our friend of political Zionism’s divisive comment @5:54pm. Remember kids, political Zionism and British nationalism are related by blood, so to speak.

Why We Love Moral Rigidity
    We tend to trust people who adhere to moral rules, even when doing so leads to bad outcomes

https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/why-we-love-moral-rigidity/

Moral rigidity in obsessive-compulsive disorder: do abnormalities in inhibitory control, cognitive flexibility and disgust play a role?
    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24161700

Morality and Foreign Policy: Realpolitik Revisited
    https://www.usip.org/publications/1993/01/morality-and-foreign-policy-realpolitik-revisited

Political Prudence and the Ethics of Leadership
    https://pdfs.semanticscholar.org/f01c/6f9e34c4c2ad75f58e1479a7e8a871c39978.pdf

453. yesindyref2

empathise not emphasise! I keep doing that – or my keyvaoard does. I blame the keyvoard. (I don’t use a stupid smell-checker for obvious raisins)

454. Sinky

Bbc tv Reporting Scotland sinks to new low with tonights coverage of Brexit in House of Commons. Quotes from May, Corbyn the some Lib Dem back bencher but nothing from SNP

455. Robert Peffers

@Abulhaq says: 25 March, 2019 at 9:36 am

” … The SNP does not do dissent. “

Stop talking pish, Abulhaq. That is if such a feat isn’t beyond your limited ability. What you are, the usual suspects, stand accused of is your proven agenda, in spite of many explanations, is not only running down the FM/SG/SNP but by doing so on an open forum, and thus aiding the unionist cause.

It has been explained many, many times that doing so on an open forum that we know is read by many unionists only serves to boost their moral that the independence side is arguing among themselves. Yet doing so on an open forum will have no effects upon the FM/SG/SNP but by communicating with them directly very well may. The FM/SG/SNP can be emailed, snailmailed, phoned or got to by their websites or better still by joining an SNP Branch where every member has exactly the same number of votes and has the right to table a motion at the Branch.

Not only that but SNP policies cannot be made, changed or dropped by any other way than by delegates sent by branch members to National Conference.

Now, as the written word seems to be somewhat of a challenge for you, that is exactly the SNP being open and indeed run by both assent and descent by the members and not by the hierarchy. It is all there in the Member’s rule book.

So you, and the other Usual Suspects, are talking utter pish. Absolutely no one has said you should not show dissent – just do it where it may/could make a change and that is not on an open forum read by unionists and thus aiding their cause at the expense of the independence cause.

Where else did you imagine the unionists got their recent idea tat the SNP were engaged in a civil war?

Sp you can bleat all your hollow excuses here on Wings until you go blue in the face – but the facts are there for all to see. All they need to see them is to read Wings.

456. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

I guess vlaming the keyvoard must be your obvious raisin d’être?

457. yesindyref2

@BDTT
    I flame ECERTTHING on the keybard, EVRLLYTHINK, including RSI I gort 19 years ago write enough 🙂

458. yesindyref2

Mmm, excellent, a shot to nothing as my father used to say playing snooker, and preempt Vow 2 🙂 From the Herald:

The SNP will propose a series of reforms to devolution

459. Lenny Hartley

Misreporting Scotland on form tonight ! Claiming that its the SNP’s fault that Vat is payable by the Scots Police and Fire and Rescue, no mention that the anorthern Ireland Nationally funded Police sevice gets an exemption nor the fact that Hammond said in 2017 that he was allowing it to be reclaimed.
    Rev was the headline! But it did not mention the “Wankpit” 🙂

460. hackalumpoff

Yon Brexit is chust a Clusterbourach of Clackwankers and their Wankholes.

461. Brian Doonthetoon

No UK-wide publicity is bad publicity.

https://www.shropshirestar.com/news/uk-news/2019/03/25/scottish-independence-blogger-horrified-by-homophobia-accusation/

I can see a spike in WOS visitors over the next few days.

462. Dr Jim

I’m amazed that English folk seem quite happy that the DUP are running everything in the British Isles except their own part of it which they don’t even represent

Just all beggars belief

463. hackalumpoff

We need to do this Led By Donkeys thing when the time time comes.

https://twitter.com/ByDonkeys/status/1110242873302269952

We have so many examples to take the piss with, remember
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DiMXuEmqAHA

We’ll need a coordinated campaign a few weeks before the Indyref2 vote.

464. CameronB Brodie

Dr Jim
    The media has empowered a narrow-minded and bigoted element of English culture and are now trying to appear aghast at the consequences of supporting white British nationalism (some anyway). English cultural nationalism now dictates public discourse on public policy and foreign affairs, and the politicians either don’t recognise the reality of the situation, recognise it but don’t know how to deal with it, or are fully supportive of English, authoritarian, exceptionalism. It’s a cultural ting.

465. Brian Doonthetoon

Jeez hackalumpoff.

Led By Donkeys huvnae been sittin’ on their @r$€s, iye?

https://twitter.com/ByDonkeys

466. Giving Goose

Reading the tweets re the case in Edinburgh, what the representative for Miss Dugdale appears to be doing is turning the case into a trial against freedom of speech which is critical of the Brit Establishment.
    Am I allowed to say that?

467. Lenny Hartley

Oh dear that wasnt on the script 🙂 Montenegro 1 Engerland 0

468. Giving Goose

Just made the BBC Radio 2 headlines!

469. Onwards

> Bob Mack says:The Rev’s QC missed a very important point.

The Rev stated that “it mad you wish he had embraced his Homosexuality sooner” This is a clear indicator that the Rev was in fact encouraging Mr Mundell to have come out as gay sooner than he did rather than “wishing he was not gay”.

It is an important legal point.

It is these fine distinctions that are decided in law.

=======

I just read the Philip Sims series of tweets. That’s a very good point, and supports the argument that most reasonable people would see a light-hearted joke ridiculing Mundell and his poor conference speech using the old ‘never being born’ format, rather than insulting homosexuality in general.

As mentioned: “If he had “avoided” the “most obvious route” by which Oliver Mundell could have been not born, *that* would have been him treating David Mundell differently on account of his sexuality.”

I also believe there is absolutely NO way Dugdale didn’t regularly browse this site – one of the most popular Scottish political sites where she was regularly mentioned – and where the indy cause is promoted as all-inclusive.
    It’s part of the job for someone in her position to see what the opposition is talking about.

And she is smart enough to know SC wouldn’t sabotage his reputation and hurt the whole indy cause with homophobic remarks. She was the Labour leader in Scotland, not some snowflake 16yo activist who reads the word ‘homosexuality’ in a joke and has some knee-jerk reaction.

She knew exactly what she was doing – It was a deliberately cheap shot for political purposes.

470. manandboy

This is a great comment from ‘Milkthecow2, posted in the Guardian on Saturday, I believe. Though quite long it is nonetheless very succinct. It certainly bears repetition:

“I was on the march today.

Why?

This is a last ditch effort to save my country and its people from the type of Brexit nobody but nobody had envisaged.

For the last 2 years and 9 months I had accepted that the vote to leave though narrow, was democratic and legitimate.

Over that period I have understood the following:

– The Leave vote was tainted by foreign money, criminal actions and more lies than I’ve had hit dinners.

– I have understood that people who voted leave had a plethora of ideas as to what Leave actually meant.

– I have seen our PM put her Tory Party before the country.

– I have witnessed some 80 Tory MPs of the ERG with 10 despicable DUP MPs essentially dictate the Brexit agenda and our PM pay homage to this group and bend to their every whim.

– I have watched aghast as our PM, a PM of the whole country, ignore Parliament time after time even though many who voted Leave wanted Parliamentary Sovereignty and taking back control.
    First by not allowing a MV in Parliament.
    Second by failing to acknowledge that the vote to Leave was narrow 52:48 and that the 48 needed to be represented.
    Third, May made this a Tory / ERG Brexit – by not working across Parliament to have a consensus BEFORE activating A50.
    Fourth, failing to release legal advice and be in contempt of Parliament.
    Fifth, failing to remove “no deal” off the table even when Parliament voted for this.
    Sixth, a PM who wants to force Parliament to accept her deal no matter how many times she has to present it and refuses the people to have a second chance to vote in her deal now that we know what Brexit really means.
    Finally, a PM who has lost her mind, balance and has become so arrogant and self centred that she could pitch herself as a “defender of the people” against Parliament.

– May has now made this once great country a laughingstock globally.

– May and her right-wing extremists in the ERG want the UK to be a vassal state of the USA and force us to feed our kids chlorinated chicken, hormone injected meat and GM plants.

When the facts change, we are entitled to change our minds.

Democracy did not die on the 23rd June 2016.

A second vote does not preclude a Leave victory be it on May’s Deal or No Deal. It merely represents an opportunity to reflect after nearly 3 years and a lot more information whether the 2016 vote is still what the people want.

I ask all and sundry to ask themselves that a delay of a year or so is a small price to pay to avoid an economic catastrophe unless on reflection we choose to continue down that road in a second referendum.

We have a choice.

We can pass May’s Deal this coming week with a proviso that the people have a chance to accept or reject it in a second referendum.

This is the only way to square this circle – where Parliament cannot agree to May’s Deal – that May, our PM if she truly wants to reach out to the people on whose side she claims to be, that the same people be given a chance to pass their verdict on her efforts.

A second referendum is not anti-democratic. If, as David Davis has said in 2012, is true, that “IF A DEMOCRACY CANNOT CHANGE ITS MIND, IT CEASES TO BE A DEMOCRACY” – then a second vote is wholly consistent with that.”

471. manandboy

https://www.thelondoneconomic.com/news/vote-leave-director-admits-won-lied-public/08/02/

Vote Leave director admits they won because they lied to the public
    Jack Peat
    February 8, 2017
    Buried in a 19,800 word Spectator essay written by former online editor and Vote Leave director Dominic Cummings is an admission: The Brexit referendum was won by lying to the public.

The piece, found here, is well worth reading but also falls victim to classic mansplaining of a complex issue with many words wasted on prose that most politicians would be proud of, working around the subject rather than delving in to the heart of it.

Of course, that’s for a very good reason, because at the heart of the vote to leave the European Union is an entanglement of lies and propagandist sensationalism that even the most brave souls wouldn’t dare admit to.

There is the admission that the NHS wouldn’t really take back our £350 million EU fee, and that immigration wouldn’t really be capped, and that standards of living wouldn’t really change if we left the EU. All of which are matters that the general public voted on, and all are incorrect.

And so to the damning paragraph that outs the Leave Campaign for what it was:

Pundits and MPs kept saying ‘why isn’t Leave arguing about the economy and living standards’. They did not realise that for millions of people, £350m/NHS was about the economy and living standards – that’s why it was so effective. It was clearly the most effective argument not only with the crucial swing fifth but with almost every demographic. Even with UKIP voters it was level-pegging with immigration. Would we have won without immigration? No. Would we have won without £350m/NHS? All our research and the close result strongly suggests No. Would we have won by spending our time talking about trade and the Single Market? No way.

472. Ian Foulds

Dr Jim says:
    25 March, 2019 at 4:30 pm

‘…The Monarchy in England ceded their sovereignty to the English parliament making it supreme over all, so in truth English votes do not and never have counted ever, the parliament in England uses peoples votes as leverage not law.’

Does it then follow that if there is no English Parliament now, their sovereignty is not with the UK Parliament in Westminster but, has in fact reverted to Queen Elizabeth the 2nd – Queen of England. Luckily that means it has nothing to do with Scotland, for obvious reasons.

473. ronnie anderson

hackalumpoff Aw ah kin say is the Rev was more than ready for Dugdales QC his wordsmithing was ah sight to behold , what a enjoyable day spent with liz g & Gillian , looking forward to tomorrows proceedings .

Pity the wee muppet of ah Scottish Secretary has pulled out .

474. Robert Peffers

@Abulhaq says: 25 March, 2019 at 5:44 pm:

” … OMG is the SNP losing its reason as well as its raison d’ètre?”

Of course not. You are, of course, entitled to your opinion but all that opinion does is confirm you lost yours quite some time ago.

Now I expect you, and the usual suspects. will attempt to call me a Nazi or at least a fascist. It must be getting close to that particular gambit by this time.

You see it is like this – you, and the usual suspects, claim it is your human right to be critical of the First Minister, The Scottish Government and The Scottish National party but find it inconceivable that someone has the audacity to criticise you, and the usual suspects.

So just why, on a independence supporting blog, it is perfectly all right for you, and the usual suspects, to incessantly criticise the bulk of the independence movement but not all right to criticise you, and the usual suspects, for criticising the only hope Scotland has of independence?

There is something deeply illogical about you, and the usual suspects, thinking and point of view. Mind you, perhaps you, and the usual suspects, consider yourselves of far greater importance than the FM/SG and SNP or perhaps it is you think yourselves of greater intellect. Now there is a technical name for such beliefs but I just cannot think what it is at the moment.(cough!)

475. CameronB Brodie

manandboy
    Nice find. So does Scotland fancy living under neo-fascit corporatism enabled through English cultural nationalism and a majoritarian abuse of English/British constitutional law?

The public conception of morality in John Rawls’ political liberalism

Abstract

This paper proposes an interpretation of the conception of morality that remains relatively vague in John Rawls’ political liberalism. It begins with Rawls’ remark that the political conception of justice is also a moral conception, which is puzzling when taking into consideration Rawls’ explicit avoidance of comprehensive moral doctrines in constructing the political conception of justice. In response, this paper proposes the public conception of morality that is structurally justificatory rather than substantively foundationalist.

This conception is then further developed by addressing two critical questions concerning the necessity of avoiding comprehensive moral foundations and the source of objective prescriptivity in a justificatory view of morality. The former is situated in an analysis and reinterpretation of Alasdair MacIntyre’s reading of Søren Kierkegaard’s Either/Or, and the latter is demonstrated through a comparative study of two leading justificatory theories of morality by Rainer Forst and Thomas Scanlon. Finally, the public conception of morality is fully developed to show that it both defines and defends the political conception of justice.

Keywords:morality, John Rawls, political liberalism, pluralism, justification, Rainer Forst, Thomas Scanlon

https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.3402/egp.v9.28679

476. Robert Peffers

@yesindyref2 says: 25 March, 2019 at 6:29 pm:

” … I keep doing that – or my keyvaoard does. I blame the keyvoard. (I don’t use a stupid smell-checker for obvious raisins).

Ah! But! It is not the spool chucker that is at fault – it is the predictive text. Turn the bloody thing off. In any case it is predicting US of A text.

477. Dave McEwan Hill

Robert Peffers at 8.28

Robert Peffers
    The nawbags are now convinced by the official unionist mantra.
    If you repeat a lie long enough it become the received truth.

I note that we are all engrossed in Scotland in watching football from Montenegro tonight on SCOTTISH television . We have three hours in which to cheer on our nation England. STV is now doing the same as BBC and its news reports are now becoming more anti SNP than the BBC’s are.

478. Bill Hume

Abulhaq is an anagram of Al Qubbah, a town in Eastern Iraq………or if you prefer…….an anagram of arsehole (if you squint a wee bit and don’t worry too much about grammar).

479. yesindyref2

@ronnie anderson
    The thing that struck me most from Phillip Sim’s Twitter is that the Rev didn’t doge anything, didn’t hold back, he bluntly told the truth. And that’s got to be impressive.

480. yesindyref2

@Robert Peffers
    I don’t use predictive text, don’t have it on the PC and turned it straight off when I got a perfect condition refurbed iPhone 4S for a song.

It’s bad enough me trying to work out what I’m going to say, without an algorithm trying to do it for me! Same with spell-checker – if I want to write “realize” to troll people I will 🙂

481. CameronB Brodie

Time for some more Political Philosophy?

THE TAMING OF DESERT
    WHY RAWLS’ DEONTOLOGICAL LIBERALISM IS UNFRIENDLY TO DESERT

I. RAWLS’ ASSERTION AND THE SETTING OF THE ARGUMENT

“Justice is getting what one deserves. What could be simpler than that?” – John Hospers1

The assumption that desert is a first principle of political morality is one that has been present in Western philosophy for more than two millennia. Aristotle affirmed that “everyone agrees that justice…must be in accordance with some kind of merit.”2

This sentiment has been echoed by numerous thinkers since Aristotle, such as W.D. Ross, who thought that the duty of justice consists in “the apportionment of pleasure and pain to the virtuous and vicious respectively,”3 and, more recently, John Hospers, as demonstrated by the quotation above. Conventional wisdom since Ancient Greece has largely assumed that desert is a foundational component of justice and political morality.

But in recent years, John Rawls—as well as a number of liberal thinkers who have followed him—has explicitly proposed to overturn this long-held assumption about the foundational relationship between desert and political morality.4

Given the heterodox nature of this claim, it is unsurprising that many thinkers have challenged its plausibility. Some have directly rejected it.5 Others have interpreted Rawls’ view of the connection between desert and justice as resulting from an idiosyncratic or unorthodox understanding of desert. For example, some philosophers have argued that Rawls’ dismissal of desert as a first principle of justice stems from a line of reasoning that ultimately implies that desert is altogether impossible.

Others interpret Rawls as arguing that pre–institutional desert is impossible. Both of these claims about desert have been shown to be rather implausible; a common tactic is to demonstrate the extent of their implausibility and to then conclude that Rawls’ assertion that desert is not a first principle of political morality must therefore be absurd.

After demonstrating that arguments based on such interpretations are misguided, I will argue that a clearer definition of the concept of desert allows us to discern the true reason for the absence of desert from the first principles of justice in Rawls’ theory. The answer lies in a structural attribute that Rawls’ theory shares with other liberal theories similarly unfriendly to desert. I conclude with some substantive arguments in favor of liberal political theories that have followed Rawls’ lead in downplaying the importance of desert.

https://www.cpsa-acsp.ca/paper-2003/tam.pdf

482. Flying_Scotsman

Dunno if this has been asked by someone earlier, but in law, don’t they refer to a ordinary person, rather than a high ranking political leader?

I feel the answer to what the first minister thinks should have been….what the fuck does that have to do with anything?

Don’t have any political comments I’m afraid, just that I can see the way this case is going already, ie, if ye tell some cunt to fuck off, you cant have justice.

Cant help but think all this t4anny stuff will lose the case.
    I agree completely,but it seems most of the world think men can be women for some reason.

Sorry for the rant but I’m drunk

483. dom

The SNP are playing a blinder.

Have faith in their methods.

They have to jump through every Unionist hoop that is out there so no one can accuse them of not trying hard enough to exhaust every possible option before declaring that the only option left on the table is another vote on Scottish Independence.

Playing England’s Parliament like a fiddle.

And the funny thing about this whole crazy episode is that the Yoons don’t even suspect what Nicola is up to.

484. CameronB Brodie

More Moral and Political Philosophy and stuff concerning the distribution of justice, which I think relevant given Scotland faces the full-English Brexit.

Why Does Inequality Matter? Reflections on the
    Political Morality of Piketty’s Capital in the Twenty-
    First Century

lsr.nellco.org/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1566&context=nyu_plltwp

Liberal Equality: Political not Erinaceous
    https://www.warwick.ac.uk/fac/soc/pais/people/clayton/research/liberal_equality_political_not_erinaceous.pdf

Bounded morality: justice and the state in world politics
    https://www.cambridge.org/core/journals/international-organization/article/bounded-morality-justice-and-the-state-in-world-politics/E3EF64746A3D1B83F4EA5AE04DA70848

International Distributive Justice
    https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/international-justice/

485. X_Sticks

@Ronnie

How do you manage to be everywhere *all* the time? Have you got a cupboard full of doppelgangers?

486. Marcia

dom says:
    at 9:06 pm

Agree with you.

487. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Flying_Scotsman.

Good to see a mention of 4472, even if it is in a username.

488. ronnie anderson

X Sticks Ah hiv a legacy fae that Mega Cisterna ah hud couple of years ago ah Split Personality sos ah chist send wan o thaim lol.

489. Heart of Galloway

galamcennalath@5.26.

You have the absolute rights of it. I said some time ago that of the two evils, ‘losing’ Scotland or losing Brexit, the latter is the lesser is the lesser for Theresa May.

Behind that stupid, wooden woman are some very powerful and malevolent forces that will try to prevent a Scottish dissolution of the union by almost any means.

They are of course able to unleash their rightist attack dogs of the media, but their ability to influence Scottish public opinion is waning and only serves to inflame those already beyond the Pale for the independence cause.

No, other means – subterfuge, false flag attacks, well-placed indivuals and other niceties – will be employed in an attempt to undermine the yes movement.

Our wonderful, multi-faceted unity of purpose has been hard won. Hold that power fast and we win.

490. Cubby

Jon Snow C4 tonight in an interview with Blackford about the People’s Vote.

“The people have no place in the constitution.” Said Snow with 100 % certainty.

There you have it. The Muddle that is the thinking involved in the UK. That may be true for the Kingdom of England but not the Kingdom of Scotland. In Snows mind England is the UK even though he is in discussion with the SNP leader in Westminster from SCOTLAND.

This whole Brexit debacle highlights the problem of the people of the UK not understanding what the UK is and the smokescreen of – no written constitution – allows people like Snow to make comments about the constitution without any agreed written constitution document to refer to.

Why after over 300 years of Union has the UK been unable to produce a written constitution?

What constituted the UK – The Treaty of Union 1706/7. Never gets a mention in Britnatland.

491. Sinky

Date McLean Hill @ 8.39 pm.

STV has become increasingly anglocentric since Simon Pitts became Ceo and many suspect they are cutting costs to invite takeover by ITV.

492. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi X_Sticks.

Have you never noticed Ronnie’s solar powered three-legged wakkin’ stick, with fuel injection, that he tends to hide behind his back? It’s refueled with copious amounts of defrosted chicken curry, when it’s rennin’.

Explains everything.

I think I will cease now. I feel like I’m turning into an early evening Cactus. “Time for bed”, said Zebedee.

493. Robert Peffers

@Ian Foulds says: 25 March, 2019 at 8:23 pm:

” … The Monarchy in England ceded their sovereignty to the English parliament”

It would be more correct to say that the rebellious Parliament of England in 1688. It was after all, the English, “Glorious Revolution”, deposed their rightful monarch, (which the shared with the still independent Kingdom of Scotland. That is the two kingdoms remained independent but had the same person as their monarch.

Having thus deposed their monarch did not apply to the still independent Kingdom of Scotland. The salient point is that The rule of Law in the Kingdom of England was still, “The Divine Right of Kings”. In Scotland, from 1320 and the Declaration of Arbroath, the Rule of Law in Scotland was that the people, not the monarchy, were sovereign.

Westminster then offered the crowns of England, Wales and Ireland to Mary of Orange who was NOT the next in line to the Crown of England as they skipped over all Roman Catholics in the line and Mary was the first Protestant in line.

However none of this applied to the still independent Kingdom of Scotland. Mary at first refused the crowns as she did not want her husband Billy, to be her consort. The English parliament then offered the crowns to the couple as joint monarchs, but on condition they delegated their sovereignty, (Divine Right of Kings), to the Parliament of England. Then Westminster applied his to Scotland and by doing so they kicked of what they called the Jacobite Rebellions.

Yet you cannot rebel against a monarchy not your own. The Jacobites were thus attempting to defend their own monarchy, but the English parliament ten engineered the Darien Expedition and forced The Scottish Parliamentarians to sign the Treaty of Union yet almost 40 years after that signing the English Parliamentary army was slaughtering anything that moved at Culloden.

Here though is the legal point. The Treaty of Union saw the Parliament of England sit and put itself into permanent recession and it has never sat since 30 April 1707. The Scottish Parliament was only prorogued but was reconvened as the Holyrood Parliament so is legally the old parliament of Scotland.

Incidentally, in 1688 the English Parliament made the Kingdom of England into a constitutional Monarchy with the Monarch of England legally sovereign and thus the people of England the Monarch’s subjects but with the Monarch’s sovereignty delegated to the Parliament of England. That is the parliament of England that ended 30 April 1707. Westminster on 1 May 1707 was not the continued parliament of England. It was the Parliament of the two partner United Kingdom.

The Treaty of Union has been an illegal sham since 1 May 1707. It has just assumed itself to be the continued Parliament of England. BTW: The Treaty of union says that it is a union of two kingdoms not either a country nor a union of four countries.
    So there is written evidence that supports Scotland’s right to just simply tell Westminster that the Union is now ended and what is left is not any kind of rUnited Kingdom – it is a return to the Status Quo Ante of The Kingdom of Scotland and the Three country Kingdom of England as was the status before the union.

494. K1

That Barclay is a totally arrogant jumped up prick.

495. ronnie anderson

yesindyref2

Truly it was a sight to behold to see the Rev recalling events & tweets/threads from years ago i lost it at wankhole so much so I got a stern look from the judge , the Rev aquatinted himself well under repetitive questioning so much so the Judge intervened . Paul Kavanagh was a good witness unflustered .

Looking forward to tomorrow when Kezia takes to the witness box & no doubt i’ll get a few stern looks from the judge .

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.