A thing we just noticed

Posted on July 22, 2012 by

In the debate over whether the SPL buys the broadcast rights to SFL games featuring Rangers, we’ve just spotted a rather interesting quirk. Sevco Scotland Limited was accepted to the SFL as an Associate Member, and will not be eligible for full Member status for four years. Rule 19 of the SFL Constitution says:

“An Associate Member shall have no financial interest in the assets of the League and shall not be accorded any voting rights.”

We assume “the assets of the League” include its media rights. (Indeed, as far as we can see those would be pretty much the only assets jointly owned by the League.) Rule 19 would seem to suggest that if the SFL does want to sell “Rangers” games to the SPL – or indeed to anyone else – not only will the newco not be entitled to a vote on the matter, but it won’t be entitled to any of the money either.

We haven’t seen anyone else mention this. It seems quite significant.

(EDIT 23-7-12: See comments for SFL response.)

15 to “A thing we just noticed”

1. Seb Co says:

Or maybe your ‘assumption’ is just incorrect.

• Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“Or maybe your ‘assumption’ is just incorrect.”

Feel free to suggest why.

2. andy_ek says:

the membership will be TRANSFERRED! So wont be associate membership, they have a current full membership under SPL and that full membership will be transferred to SFL

“the membership will be TRANSFERRED! So wont be associate membership, they have a current full membership under SPL and that full membership will be transferred to SFL”

Pay attention, Andy. SFL membership != SFA membership. I know it’s all a bit hard to follow (follow), but try to keep up, eh?

3. Jim Torbett says:

Err you seem to be forgetting our membership was transfered. We are not a new club.

Who is “we” in this case, Jim? I ask because you’ve given a “celticfc.net” email address, and also because NOBODY’S membership has been transferred anywhere as yet.

4. Appleby says:

Amazing to see the passion and intrigue that this game inspires. And the gamer/computer geek types are meant to be bad but football seems worse. Rev Stu  makes a comment about a new team and the financial failings and drama of an old one and people take it very much personally.

5. FCF1983 says:

Rangers are dead and don’t ever forget it ! Ha ha !

6. Christian Wright says:

andy_ek says:
    July 22, 2012 at 3:05 pm

“the membership will be TRANSFERRED! So wont be associate membership, they have a current full membership under SPL and that full membership will be transferred to SFL “

Clearly that is demonstrably false. Below is the first sentence of the statement released by Scottish Football League chief executive David Longmuir. A link to that statement is thoughtfully provided in the article. The truth shall set ye free, and is but a click away. I commend it to you.

The member clubs of The Scottish Football League have today voted to willingly accept The Rangers Football Club as an associate member of The Scottish Football League.” (the emphasis is mine)

7. jimmyarab says:

Newco are being treated as oldco by the SFA ( 12 month transfer ban etc) so I don’t think it’s worth getting excited about any further trangressions that occur.
    Newco shouldn’t even be in the SFL.
    Until the ‘leaders’ at the SFA and SPL resign then it’s not really worth following Scottish football as it’s totally corrupt and a dark stain on our country. A total waste of money.
    I watched the Open golf today and saw true sportsmanship and integrity.

8. Barbarian says:

A few people (not here) are making the assumption that Newco will race up the leagues and get into the SPL in 3 years. They need to win Div 3 first…….

9. charlie says:

i can’t see them doing that at the moment (and i suspect ‘coistie’ can’t either). I wonder how fast the fan base will evaporate on the second season in that division, I know Hibs would be in trouble if we hadn’t gone straight back up when we went down.

cheers charlie

10. McHaggis says:

Some of you obviously don’t watch too much div 3 games… I’ve seen Cowden through div 3, 2 and 1 and am fairly certain that the new Rangers will stroll div 3 and probably 2 as well. Div 1 will be tougher but by that time with spl just around the corner and a team being constructed for that purpose, it is likely they would be challenging at the top.

Div 3 is very much a different game, but a combination of talented youth and one or two old guard should see them through. Seriously, div 3 is not that much better than the huffing and puffing fat part timers i see hoofing the ball in the Sunday league in my local park.

11. Doug Daniel says:

“Seriously, div 3 is not that much better than the huffing and puffing fat part timers i see hoofing the ball in the Sunday league in my local park.”

That just makes it even worse that Aberdeen have regularly been punted out of cup competition by such sides. How Aberdeen lost to Queen’s Park a few years ago I’ll never know.

12. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

I dropped the SFL a line this morning asking them to clarify Rule 19. They replied saying that “The ‘assets of the League’ relate to any financial assets should the SFL be wound up”. For super-extra clarity I mailed back saying “So not the media rights, then?”, and got another response reading “Wouldn’t have thought so”.

Probably best if we file that one under “semi-authoritative”, then.

😀

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,847 Posts, 1,231,908 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““The Scottish people can, if they so wish at any Scottish election, vote for a party or parties who wish…Dec 9, 13:05
    • Tinto Chiel on Off-topic: “Amen to all that, Marie. We live in difficult times, which Globalist Milliband would probably make even worse. Glad you…Dec 9, 13:03
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The Long Walk To Freedom: “EL RETRATO EN LA ROCA by Pablo Neruda (extract). Miré y allí estaba mi amigo: de piedra era su rostro,…Dec 9, 13:01
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Too many weasel words, Alf. I’ve taken the liberty of modifying your sentence so that it would work in the…Dec 9, 12:39
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The Long Walk To Freedom: “The following are excerpts from the closing pages of the book ‘THE DREAM SHALL NEVER DIE: 100 Days that Changed…Dec 9, 12:35
    • Alf Baird on The Long Walk To Freedom: “This remains a key question, James, as to why none of Scotland’s three elected majorities of supposedly ‘nationalist’ MPs since…Dec 9, 11:27
    • James Cheyne on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Once the parliament of Great Britain came under dissolution in 1800/1801, The Westminster parliament of England cannot reinstate the treaty,…Dec 9, 11:24
    • James Cheyne on The Long Walk To Freedom: “The information I posted can be found in House of Lords. Select Commitee, Parliament Business, Lord grey Vs government, This…Dec 9, 11:07
    • Marie Clark on Off-topic: “Hi Tinto and Sarah, I look in to OT now and again to see if anyone is still around. Sad…Dec 9, 09:41
    • Willie on The Long Walk To Freedom: “The Sandi Peggie result is a good one. Very much in line with public sentiments. Putting a biological man with…Dec 9, 09:14
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Good news for once? The branding for Great British Railways (GBR) has been revealed and the amount of blue in…Dec 9, 08:18
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Looks like she’s in line for compo. Do you think she’ll want to divi it up with the poor saps…Dec 9, 08:10
    • Mark Beggan on The Long Walk To Freedom: “‘Hello, hello, hello. Is there anybody in there, just nod if you can hear me, is there anyone home. Relax,…Dec 9, 02:10
    • Mark Beggan on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Well done Sandie Peggy. She’s got balls!! ?Dec 9, 01:45
    • Peter McAvoy on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Would you prefer the abolition of jury trials. How many miscarriages of justice have taken place in England compared to…Dec 9, 01:40
    • Tinto Chiel on Off-topic: ““…..aided and abetted by the UK high heid yins”, a fact sadly never reflected in the MSM. Mrs Tinto has…Dec 8, 22:33
    • sarah on Off-topic: “Well, you’re not wrong about world events, the most awful things going on, aided and abetted by the UK high…Dec 8, 21:53
    • James Cheyne on The Long Walk To Freedom: “The final analyses of the dissolution of the parliament of Great Britain time and again so the parliament of England…Dec 8, 21:31
    • James Cheyne on The Long Walk To Freedom: “The parliament of England after acting as the parliament of England to make treaties and contractual agreements legally cannot re-…Dec 8, 21:07
    • James Cheyne on The Long Walk To Freedom: “So what did I omit in my ramblings and thoughts to you all while I swither over the treaty of…Dec 8, 20:45
    • Tinto Chiel on Off-topic: “Hi, Sarah: oh, no, just girding my loins (ooh, matron!) for The Last Battle. I’ve only looked in two or…Dec 8, 19:59
    • Aidan on The Long Walk To Freedom: “I’ve no idea to be honest Hatey, but as long as they are FIGHTING that is good enough for me.…Dec 8, 19:58
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““… you’ve taken that too far.” I fear you might be right… I feel dirty now. Not least because I…Dec 8, 19:56
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Hmmm, Northy, you’ve taken that too far. Cos I don’t want to believe you enjoyed having high pressure air blasted…Dec 8, 19:34
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““…an increasingly big and increasingly vocal minority…” Indeed, aye. I was having a bite of lunch a couple of years…Dec 8, 19:31
    • sarah on Off-topic: “Hi, Tinto. Nice to hear from you. I trust that all is well with you and you are keeping your…Dec 8, 19:29
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Ah ken that ane. It’s ane of the Apocrypha. But dinna let oan tae Confused.Dec 8, 19:26
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: “I was played like a church organ once…I rather enjoyed the experience.Dec 8, 19:10
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “@Aidan Has it occurred to you that the Liberate Scotland boys are almost certainly FIGHTING among themselves?Dec 8, 19:09
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““Labour had been in power in Scotland mostly for the previous 70 years and the destruction and carnage they presided…Dec 8, 19:06