A man telling a lie

Posted on November 23, 2014 by

Ed Miliband on the BBC 10 O’Clock News, 21 November 2014.

1. 23 11 14 10:59

A man telling a lie | FreeScotland

45 to “A man telling a lie”

1. lenny hartley

Maybe he got confused between respect and resign!

2. RMAC

Panic rather than respect fits the bill in this case. How could anyone trust this lot to run their own country never mind ours.

3. The Man in the Jar

Like what goes through the mind of a fly as it hits the windscreen of a car. Its arse!

4. turnbul drier

R.E.S.P.C.T.. think someone should call the fire brigade as there appears to be an incident of pants on fire.

5. Geoff Huijer

Yeah, just like the Edinburgh Agreement was ‘repected’ by the Uninist cabal.

6. heedtracker

You can see how lucrative Labour Party politics is though. Brown, Fliiper, BBC etc all put the fear of God up their Scottish voters right up to the 18th Sept and for what? To save that lifestyle of the wealthy Westminster ligger. Future ruler of Scotland Jim Murphy’s made over a million quid in pay and expenses in 7 years. Tasty.

7. Sandy

Ed Milliband, a day late and a dollar short. Well several dollars actually.

8. Geoff Huijer

I can be a bit thick at times so bear with me here.

A Labour MP sent a picture of a house with England flags on it & a white van outside. She made no comment other than ‘Rochester’. She apparently also has a habit of sending photo tweets of buildings (or houses) from her phone.
    There’s an outcry that she lives in a big house and is being disrespectful. She then feels she has to resign.

Does that sum it all up?

And if so W..T..F..?

9. AnneDon

I would have assumed the guy was a football supporter, tbh. England were playing last week, same as us.

10. Valerie

Nice work if you can get it, it’s our job to replace the $labbers, with better value for our money.

Scotland has put up with being ripped off big time for decades. Brown and Darling do a runner after lying and promising fantasy land.

11. SquareHaggis

@heedtracker,

Can’t wait to see Murphys expenses bill for his hundred hotel holiday.
    Betcha he even charges for bus fares!

12. Valerie

As for the Thornberry tweet, the implied disrespect is what is being said in the minds of those screaming for her blood.

Remember the Tory guy who said some disabled people were not worth the minimum wage? Isn’t he still in his job?

Miliband said Thornberry implied disrespect with her tweet, so seems he is thought police now. It’s more to do with his desperation.

13. heedtracker

Meanwhile , MOD plan nuke waste dump in Argyll and big oil about to frak under the whole of the Central belt, all for the good of teamGB, MOD “has told Argyll and Bute Council that the new facility is to treat and dispose of solid and liquid radioactive waste from the reactors that drive submarines. Some of the waste will be discharged into the Gareloch, northwest of Helensburgh.”

Thanks again proud Scot buts.

14. Jim Mitchell

SquareHaggis, I’m still waiting to see the proof that he actually was in 100 different places!

15. SquareHaggis

If a tweeted picture from an mp of a St George flag is enough to get one them the sack, I say “come on England” get those flags up on every hoose 😉

16. Valerie

Too right SquareHaggis! We need loads of pics with English flags tweeted from MPs, to any anonymous hackers reading this!

17. Conan_the_Librarian

Really? Err, Something Politically, Err, Correct…

…Twat.

18. caz-m

Here is the John Mann Labour MP youtube clip for above post without the “http://” bit on it.

3.10mins in,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wkxPaBgJ1zg

19. wingman2020

Does loads of English flags draped around your house make you:

1. a kipper
    2. Racist
    3. Nationalist
    4. Big footy fan
    5. Thick
    6. Low class
    7. Bad taste in exterior design
    8. Market trader with source of cheap flags
    9. An Englishman celebrating the referendum result
    10. A man who likes flags
    11. EDL / BNP casual

What? I have no idea what it means.

20. joe kane

Weren’t Labour types the first to express umbrage at our beloved former First Minister waving the Saltire in celebration of a Scot winning a title there, the first since 1896?

Gordon Brown said waving the Saltire made Scotland look small and John Prescott complained about it breaching Wimbledon rules.

Somebody from One Nation Labour should really tell UKIP and the SNP where to go with their non-Union Jack flags.

21. Dr JM Mackintosh

click the link behind Ed and you will see some real angry people…

youtu.be/13ijdX51luI

Ian Grant hits the nail on the head.

22. Clootie

Did you notice how many Labour MP’s used the terms that Ed was being “Firm and decisive” / “Strong leadership” etc.

I think the tweet was a bit naff (she probably thought it was UKIP voter instead of football fan)but as stated no real evidence of wrong doing. However it was an opportunity for Ed to spin the headlines. I don’t think he thought of it – some junior pitched the line about demonstrating his firmness and leadership to counter the bad press.

In summary her career was a worthwhile price for ED’s job security…for a few more weeks!

23. ClanDonald

What a fanny. If it were me I’d say something like “it looks like this man was watching the Scotland England match last week.” But Miliband has to say the most phoney, insincere soundbite. I used to think he was a hapless geek, now I think he’s a weak fool, terrified of the media and willing to say whatever it is he thinks the Sun wants to hear.

I’m almost certain now we’re getting a Tory UKIP Coalition come May. I feel sick.

24. john king

Square Haggis says
    “Can’t wait to see Murphys expenses bill for his hundred hotel holiday.
    Betcha he even charges for bus fares!”

I wouldnt be surprised if he puts the fine from AG Barr for late return of thier crates on his expenses.

25. Dorothy Devine

Heedtracker , where does the information come from?
    And why isn’t there a hornets nest of journalistic activity around this?

26. Les Wilson

Labour will say anything to anybody, and mean none of it.
    Sums up Westminster too, et al!

27. msean

What he meant to say was “These flags are wrong,we should have one nation under an eternal Labour government that governs just like Thatcher,so shut up and vote for the red millionaires”.

28. JPFife

Haha, of course it’s a lie, nothing goes through his mind, not even tumbleweed

29. ross

i love when politicians try and be down with the people. some can do it because they are normal anyway. but miliband is not and no ammount of pr is going to make him normal. they are all rich guys and they have to pretend to be normal to win. and we fall for it lol

30. Dave McEwan Hill

This story is the UK establishment at work deflecting away the huge hit on the Tories at Rochester onto a Labour figure.

The major effect of the UKIP invasion of English politics is to prevent growing anti-Tory sentiment going over to Labour, though in fact huge disillusionment with politics is the biggest problem that any democracy has to face. Only the existence of UKIP in the contest pushed the voting figures up to 50%

This leaves an unelected establishment actually in power as tweedledum and tweedledee contest for the trappings of power on the establishment’s terms.

A Tory/UKIP coalition is the next UK government. The final destruction of Labour as an electable party in UK was effected by the Blair/Brown years in office.

The Labour Party in Scotland with a political membership now of reportedly less than 4,000 is no more than a front for the establishment maintaining a political presence only through the establishment owned media

31. Lollysmum

Speaking as a former Labour voter, Ed should have responded like an adult & laughed it off rather than listening to a SPAD with no life experience or nous.

Thornberry did nothing wrong-if she had added a comment then her words might have condemned her but she didn’t. Not only censoring what we see, hear & do, Milliband has decided to censor our thought processes too.

Is it any wonder that I now support SNP in Scotland because I don’t have a coherent choice in my own country.

32. Croompenstein

@Dorothy –

http://tinyurl.com/o7rqzbl

33. Wingman2020

Tired of listening and feeling frustrated.
    Fed-up watching great ideas pass by barely considered
    Comments repeated and explanations missed on threads not designed for debate
    Tired of inaction
    Sickened by the actions of the establishment remaining unchallenged
    Real people power wasted, anger unfocused, collective strength unharnessed
    Fed-up with analysis of the obvious, our second class MPS and first class troughers
    Passion without action is debilitating. It eats the heart and soul.
    Something is missing
    Too many disparate groups and initiatives that barely change anything alone.
    Compared to Catalonia we are a raggle taggle army
    Sometimes waiting for a ragman with more balloons during the fight
    As Hardie spins for Labour, Wallace spins for us
    Canceling the BBC licenses is not enough, nor done by enough of us
    There must be more,much more.
    Men in chains make more noise.
    “Where was that proud highland mettle, our men once so fearless in battle.”
    The enemy are in disarray and we are content to wait.
    Why can I not hear Scotland roaring?
    Are we so used to the pain, stoic on the anger.

I wish I was a stoic. I’d feel better. Right now I feel only that time is slipping through the fingers of history. I feel ashamed.

34. Valerie

As expected, MSM having at the SNP, Nicola, the Hydro do. They cannot stand to see people so motivated about politics, because it means informed and engaged people who will not believe their North British bulkhead.

Makes their job a lot harder, than having drones voting as they are told.

35. Valerie

Bullcrap!

36. Mealer

“The love of your country,patriotism,cannot but be a beautiful thing”

37. SquareHaggis

Remember folks, according to a caller to the Jeremy Vine Show (Radio 2) Friday pm, that’s the British flag Ed’s insulting. (face palm).

I guess it’s an attack on English culture, same as was done (and is being done) to us and our flag. Just look at the Scottish experience esp. the Commonwealth Games, T in the Park etc, etc…

Replace individual cultures and national identities and place them all under the star spangled UJ. Great British this, Great British that, you see it everywhere, on your sausages, yer eggs, yer tea bags, yer forehead, all over the tully and it’s nauseating.

One Nation under two ED’s.

Gawd ‘elp uz.

38. Socrates MacSporran

Wingman2020 @ 12.19pm

Great post, well said.

39. MoJo

its the sense of humour bypass and inability to cope informally in public situations that gets me with Milibot…which is why his popular appeal is less than zero.

If he can’t field a piece of trivia like Emily’s personal idiocy in sending that tweet (whatever it meant) how on earth is he ever going to manage in a position of power when real stuff has to be dealt with on the hoof with real people and often without a script or a few days to consider what his view is on the matter.

40. wingman 2020

@Socrates

Thanks. But for you it would have slipped by unnoticed. 🙂

41. Chic McGregor

If the image, in his opinion, engendered ‘rethpect’, how come it was resigning issue for one of his ertswhile greatest supporter?

My confused.

42. Feil Gype

When I saw thon muppet on the news I actually lol’d … Can the guy nae spik English instead o some political jargon intended te impress voters ? Total car crash o a man…a total neap !!

43. Sandra Wilson

Is he really the best Labour can offer? Really? Roll on May 2015. Let’s at least rid Scotland of Labour. The people’s party my ****

44. tombee

@GeofHuiger,

I agree, Is it not considered patriotic to fly your National flag?. If you do, and somebody notices enough to, in this modern day technological era, decide to photograph and text it to friends. With no apprentice texted comment, other than identify where it happens to be, How can that be deemed to cause offence?.
    why is it not possible to consider it to be prompted by admiration of patriotism?.
    I saw dozens of satires being flown where I live.
    For heaven’s sake, David Cameron flew one from NO 10 dowdy street.

45. tombee

Sorry,
    That should read ‘apparent’

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.