A cordial invitation

Posted on July 13, 2018 by

Dear Mr. Trump,

I’m a big fan of your work.

Especially your later stuff. You are the obvious natural successor to those other great leaders, Richard Nixon and George W. Bush – the perfect combination of dodgy and thick. You’ve got it all.

Since the first day of your tangeroid slithering into Barack’s old gaff, you’ve gone from strength to strength. I thought building a thousand mile wall to stop people escaping would be your greatest triumph. But putting kids in cages? Genius.

Why can’t your critics see this for what it really was – a preemptive strike. It’s only a matter of time before the little bastards grow up and want to do the same to you.

(I was a bit disappointed when you appeared to backpedal on the idea, but only until I figured you were on the cusp of an even better one – putting the parents in there too. Shame on me for doubting you.)

I think you and I are quite alike. We’re both Scottish, have ridiculously high opinions of ourselves, are not known for our mental stability, and both hate Mexicans. Actually, that last one’s just you. I don’t know any Mexicans. A mariachi band came to Torphichen once, but they were from Pumpherston. Probably doesn’t count.

Still, I think you’d agree we have enough in common for me to suggest a meeting.

I believe you’re due to encounter an array of British establishment oddballs on Friday July 13th. That’s not going to be much fun for any of you, and the following day lefty sandal-wearing types are going to be on the streets of London and Edinburgh objecting to the need for you to so much as draw breath in this or any land.

You could avoid these unpleasant scenes – guaranteed to be beardy and tanktopped – by meeting me in Scotland’s real capital, Dundee, on Saturday July 14th, when I’ll be attending EuropeFest.

EuropeFest is where Scots of all nationalities gather to celebrate their European connections and the rich cultural ties brought about by migration, over a shared love of pies and vigorous pale ale. There might be something similar in the US that you’re currently trying to stamp out.

I mean, you’ll be here revisiting your immigrant roots. What better way to do it than to be amongst fellow immigrants? I myself emigrated to The Enchanted State Of Torphichen some years ago, but am never happier than when I return to the McGonagallian motherland. I could show you round (my ancestral home is in Mains Drive), and regale you with stories of Lord Snooty and his pals (I knew them well) as we quaff mightily into the small hours.

Should you reply in the affirmative, I will know that the following day you will mean the exact opposite. Therefore tell me you won’t be attending, and I’ll see you at Albert Square, Dundee, next to the museum at 11am.

Yours,

Greg Moodie, Torphichen Citizen Of The Year 2016

1. 13 07 18 12:56

A cordial invitation | speymouth

155 to “A cordial invitation”

1. Dr Jim

We all love the guy as much as you do Greg

2. Clootie

All hail Trump. The genius who leads the free World ( I use genius and free in their Trump concept)

3. Capella

It’s all beautiful. Wonderful welcome. Looks like a brilliant day out in Dundee. The giant baby would be perverse to miss out.

4. Macharpocrates

Tell Donald there’s a pint behind the bar for him and a John Panten for Mel in the Bowser. Tell him it’s a mad house, he’ll love it.

5. Greannach

Looks like a great day out, Trump or No Trump.

6. Croompenstein

Amna Saleem nails it..

http://archive.is/Ceq96

Although Trump has often spoken fondly of Scotland, the feeling is certainly not mutual. In reality he is as popular as a can of new recipe Irn Bru. And as orange. Of course, he has some fans here, just as there are still Rangers supporters 😀

7. HandandShrimp

After such a warm welcome it would be churlish of him to refuse.

8. bobajock

There is a silver lining to his visit, the utter implosion of the Tory party.

9. Andy Anderson

I can’t stand the man. A man who is mucking up the worlds and America’s economies, breaking human rights law (USA not a signatory) and an all round twat.

The letter above is a nice sarcastic repost.

10. Bruce L

“McGonagallian motherland”

Instant classic.

11. Eppy

Sorry to go off topic so soon but the UK Maths trust has tweeted

“Scots state school student achieves perfect score in International Mathematical Olympiad ”

This is an amazing achievement as he is basically top in the world. The full press release is here

Uk Maths Trust Press release

It has been sent to various Scottish papers including the Scotsman and Herald. I wonder how many of them will give it the prominence that it is due.

12. HandandShrimp

Trump and Mundell make a fine pair

Bully and doormat. They should get on well.

13. Abulhaq

Trump is the epitome of What-you-see-is-what-you-get. As POTUS he is little different from his previous rôle as businessman and entrepreneur. If only all politicians functioned in the same ‘in yer face’ way. Remember the Vow and the ‘nice’ politicians associated with it and who had no intention of keeping it? You may not care for the Trump worldview but at least you know where you’re located in it.
    Btw Nixon went to Communist China and brought an end to the futile Indo-China wars, started by the ‘saintly’ J F Kennedy. Like Nixon, Trump too is a risk taker. We could do with some of that.

14. fillofficer

great, greg
    actually laughed out loud (1st time this year)
    but the big orange baby is teetotal
    behaves bad enough withhoot it tbh

15. Malcolm McCandless

Is Trump an Arab? Coloured tangerine and pictured in front of the Dundee waterfront. That can only mean Greg Moodie is an Arab as well.

Is there no end to this dysopian nightmare

16. Ken500

Shaking things up. Right enough. People, migrants, refugees are treated extremely badly in the UK. Deported illegally and detained illegally for years. Some special relationship. To maim and steal. 25% export duty on steel. Putting prices up.

US economy the biggest debt and most unequal. Followed by the UK.

17. Ian McCubbin

Nae doot he ll nae turn up at onie event in Dundee.

He is a real sonnsi puddin an a cannae wait till he is outa offic.

18. Dave McEwan Hill

Sadly I think too many of our people find Trump entertaining rather than abominable.
    Smashing big anti Trump A3 poster in the National today (plus a marvelous article by David Pratt)

Daily Record reporting the collapse of the Labour vote and the SNP winning all those seats back off them. Same poll appears to show Tory vote holding up better which I find hard to believe. I think we’d take at least four back of them.

I take some comfort however that after several years of limitless promotion across all the media the Scottish Tories led by Mumbles and Preggers still sit only at a derisory 25% in the polls and I don’t believe that this accurately represents the young vote component.

And we haven’t even started yet!

The final battle will be Scotland against the Tories.

19. Dave McEwan Hill

Should say “off”

20. Marcia

Trump won’t get the Freedom of Torphichen award this year.

Interesting poll numbers from Survation. They didn’t include 16 & 17 year old’s in their recent poll. If they had the Yes vote might nudge up a bit.

21. HandandShrimp

The Survation poll results will make grim reading for Richard and Ruth.

22. Foonurt

Ett Robert The Bruce’s birthplace. Noo yurr sprechin, heid yin.

23. Blair Paterson

Ii like Trump straight talking not like all those do gooderswho have got us into a world where the minorities have more say than the majorities and the winners are represented by the losers he speaks for more people than the media will admit to more strength to his arm I say because he is upsetting the corrupt establishment and their media and all their cronies who don’t like brexit and don’t like Trump but really hate democracy and the power and will of the ordinary people who they hope to silence by their mis reporting

24. schrodingers cat

@H&S

spotted those polls, we are moving in the right direction

25. Dr Jim

Trump is a thin skinned nascissist who cares more about what he thinks he looks like and surrounds himself with what he thinks are beautiful things and who he thinks will do his bidding and that makes him an extremely dangerous man

He’s a fool but an uneducated fool with no fuse let alone a short one and blustering and bluffing people doesn’t work on everyone

A short reminder to folks who think he’s a good businessman, research was done some time ago on Trumps success as a businessman and the findings were that if Trump had never invested any money in business at all he would have been financially worth very much more than he is had he just left his money in the bank

It’s all to do with who you hang out with, marry, or just talk big all the time, bit like Michelle Mone over here come to think of it

Allmouth and Nobrain, could be a double act

26. Josef Ó Luain

With no recourse to the status-quo-ante, a “no-deal” scenario is inevitable. What a timely distraction then: the Trump visit.

O/T The Rev. and Moodie: WOW!

27. Clapper57

I love how the deluded Brexiteers are desperately trying to convince both themselves and everyone else into believing that Trump will give UKOK a deal BECAUSE HE LOVES THIS COUNTRY AND HIS MOMMA CAME FROM HERE………sorry thought he was a business man who as president believes ‘America first’….are we to seriously believe that he will forgo the ‘no sentiment in business’ for ‘sentimental’ reasons ?

Trump wants a ‘No deal’ Brexit because it would leave the UKOK in a vulnerable position and at his mercy…..how ironic that the Brexiteers delude themselves into believing Brexit empowers the UKOK when in fact it is weakening their position in the world….the only consolation is that May is Trump’s bitch and that is hilarious to watch….strong and stable cannot be applied when dealing with an idiot like Trump instead she has to tread carefully and thus appear weak and insecure …..what a joke UKOK HAVING to bow down and grovel to a neanderthal idiot like Trump……and all because they need to save Tory Brexit.

Trump sees any potential trade deal with UKOK as a ideal opportunity, thanks to Brexit, to take advantage of the country he supposedly ‘loves’ ….well the Tories love to use business analogies when talking about Brexit ……and Trump is certainly treating this all as a business deal……..with America the big Business and UKOK as the small business he intends to take over and take advantage of….what a joke ….only I am most definitely NOT laughing!!

28. Dr Jim

Nicola Sturgeon Scotlands First Minister to lead the Glasgow Gay pride march

Now that’s how you troll Trump and the British Nationalists you show the world you’re not a bigoted sectarian fascist homophobic headcase you walk down the street openly with the population of your country NOT surrounded on all sides by big burly men with big guns up their jaikets

Aye go on Daily Record tell us again how unpoplular Nicola Sturgeon is
    Funny thing though isn’t that other wummin the one the Record said was really really popular Davidson was it? isn’t she gay? how come she’s not going to the Gay Pride march considering she’s really really polular

Mibbees the Gay Pride people don’t know who Wotsername is

The FM does like a good party (get it good party) I’ll get ma rainbow coloured coat

29. Socrates MacSporran

Many years ago, in a working men’s club in Normanton – when they still had working men there – I encountered a country singer, from ‘Alifax, what did Marty Robbins numbers.

His American accent was flawless, as was his greeting of: Aa-oop Jock ould lad,” in best West Yorkshire.

I thought that was the funniest thing I had heard of, until Mr Moodie came up with his mariachi band from Pumpherston. Not even Chic Murray could have come up with that one – chapeau Greg.

30. jfngw

What can you say, the trophy wife, the aggression, the misogynistic behaviour. It’s 2017, it’s safe to be yourself.

Maybe I’ll need to wait for the bio-pic ‘Behind the Candle-and-Bra’

31. Ken500

The protesters should take a detour to 10 Downing Street and protest there. The way people, migrants and refugees are treated in the UK. Illegally deported and illegally detained for years. Protest who started the migration crisis in Europe. The US/UK and France. The illegal policies in the Middle East. Supporting despot absolute monarchies and apartheid States breaking International Law.

32. Highland Wifie

I’d like to stake a claim to the McGonagallian motherland too since my mother was born there and my gran never tired of telling us about how Churchill was kicked out of Dundee.

Ah The Tay the Tay the silvery Tay flows past Dundee every day,
    It looks to me like the Bay of Naples and smells to me like rotten aipples.

But I digress. As Dr Jim points out Trump is an uneducated bully and there’s no more dangerous type except perhaps an educated one. The list of his failed businesses is legend and he has undergone bankruptcy proceedings on numerous occasions. Airlines, magazines, universities, the list is endless. But he just walks away like all ‘good’ businessmen leaving a trail of creditors and unpaid taxes. Then he pops up again with another great business. Money talks. The poor are jailed but the rich just keep screwing everyone.
    Looks like a great lineup for tomorrow with or without the orange man.

33. Thepnr

How we all laughed at the idea of Trump as US President and then it happened.

Since then US relations with the rest of the world (except Russia) have fallen off a cliff. They’ve got trade wars with China and the EU, children separated from their parents and locked up in cages, Muslims banned from entering the US etc ect.

He is an embarrassment and his visit to the UK has proven to be a personal humiliation for Theresa May so far with his comments on all things Brexit.

Right wing media owners and propaganda are responsible for all this and the majority of people do nothing but sit and watch the tragicomedy unfold.

I’m glad Nicola Sturgeon as First Minister has completely ignored his visit and will have nothing to do with Trump and his views, she too would have been humiliated by him.

I hope Mundell grovels when he meets Trump and is humiliated as well. This whole visit is an embarrassment to the UK, not so much to Scotland thankfully.

34. HandandShrimp

On the popularity front it should be note that although Mad Col McMad has a +2 rating to Nicola’s -2 Nicola does have a positive 40 to McMad’s positive 35. The difference is that 33% have no opinion on Ruth as opposed to only 18% for Nicola. So it is only partly true to say that Ruth is the most popular leader.

The numbers for the other leaders are in the “ouch” territory. May at -35 Corbyn -20 and Leonard -14 (but Leonard only has a positive 9% with 65% holding no opinion…Leonard who? )

35. Dan Huil

Well said, Greg

36. Thepnr

The absolute state of ITV coverage of Trumps weekend in the UK.

Trump’s trip to the UK has many hallmarks of a state visit

US President Donald Trump’s much anticipated trip to the UK may not officially be a state visit, but it has many of the hallmarks of one.

A lavish banquet, military pomp and ceremony, a meeting with the Queen and political talks are part of the American leader’s busy two-day itinerary – all familiar elements of a state visit.

In the imposing grounds of Blenheim Palace, Mr Trump and wife Melania were welcomed by Prime Minister Theresa May and her husband Philip on Thursday.

http://archive.fo/wI7RO

Melania Trump continues to impress with her fashion choices during UK visit

Melania Trump has been putting on a masterclass in first lady fashion during the US presidential visit to the UK.

Mrs Trump visited the Royal Chelsea Hospital with Philip May while Donald Trump travelled to the Royal Military Academy in Sandhurst to meet Theresa May.

Greeted by the Prime Minister’s husband at the hospital, she wore a knee-length fit and flare dress with wide coloured stripes, by Victoria Beckham, paired with nude Christian Louboutin high heels.

http://archive.fo/kW7FP

The press are even more pathetic than the Tory government and that’s saying something.

37. Macart

Neatly done Greg. 🙂

38. Ken500

The separate of children and cages was already happening The Muslim ban was already in place. Trump passed an order that children should not be separated from parents and continued Obama’s Muslin policies. Muslins are banned and deported in the UK. The result of the illegal wars. Teresa May caused havoc at the airports cutting staff. People were admitted uncheck to avoid the chaos. Imagine the Brexit chaos? because of the Westminster useless incompetents. The already massive queues in Heathrow etc. More mass surveillance.

39. Dr Jim

Who do the media respect:

Scotland can put many thousands of protestors against the UK government in the shape of the YES movement on the streets and that attracts
    almost zero coverage so the media respect the UK government of England more than they respect Scotland or its government

Trump arrives and it’s wall to wall coverage of that event because no matter the words the media say they make sure that Trump gets all the coverage thereby respecting Trump and the American government over their own English government

I believe the deal has been done now for the sale of SKY news to Disney and the BBC are to feature Nigel Farage in his own show

So who do the media respect

40. Heidstaethefire

Real capital my arse. Ye’re nuthin but a peh. The real capital’s Glesca.

41. Robert Peffers

@Dave McEwan Hill says: 13 July, 2018 at 11:33 am:

“The final battle will be Scotland against the Tories.”

The current battle is Scotland vs the Tories – all colours of them within Westminster union.

42. Cuilean

And tonight Donald Trump is *drum rolls* Hughie Green!

43. Jack Murphy

Off Topic a bit.

Tomorrow the First Minister of Scotland will attend the Pride Glasgow parade.

“….Ms Sturgeon will become the first serving prime minister or first minister in the UK to march at a pride event…” 🙂

ITV NEWS:
    https://tinyurl.com/ycy69fua

44. Ken500

The Tory lies. Never trust a Tory. The shambles. What a mess. The illegal wars. More illegal wars. Warmongers. They can’t even walk down the steps. Liberty, justice and peace. They must be kidding. Total hypocrites. No mention of the illegal wars and mass migration into Europe their administrations have caused. The displaced people. Conveniently ignored. Liars. The Balfour Agreement. The McCrone Report etc. Two faced lies. The Westminster unionists ruined the Oil & Gas, farming and fishing sector. Useless ignorant incompetents. Cost Scotland £Billions.

26Million Russians died saving the West.

1WW debt £1.9Billion was paid off in March 2015.

Scotland biggest trade is with the EU. Not overseas. £15Billion + EU investment. UK + overseas £15Billion. £30Billion. Excluding Oil & Gas.

45. Robert J. Sutherland

Clapper57 @ 12:20,

Pretty much my thoughts too.

Mayhem may assemble a bunch of toy soldiers at Blenheim Palace to please the visiting Big Baby, but her Brexittania is just another plaything to him.

It’s quite an achievement, to turn a country into a vassal state of not one, but two power blocks. “Just like that!”

While the idiot Leavers think we’re magically becoming great again. =sick laugh=

46. Nicola

Heidstaethefire says:
    13 July, 2018 at 2:00 pm
    “Real capital my arse. Ye’re nuthin but a peh. The real capital’s Glesca.”

….you wish, pal.

47. gus1940

Is it too much to hope that The Queen may develop a sudden diplomatic headache this afternoon.

48. Tinto Chiel

Trump is a revolting topic but a Pally Ally and Peh Festival in Dundee seems pretty perfick to me.

Thanks to That There Sturgeon I can get to it free by bus 😛 .

49. Robert Peffers

@Highland Wifie says: 13 July, 2018 at 1:01 pm:

” … Looks like a great lineup for tomorrow with or without the orange man.”

Wasn’t it the English National Bard that said, “Such men have a mean and orange look, such men are dangerous” – or something like that?

50. Abulhaq

First Minister to lead ‘Gay Pride’. Does she really need to engage in such vote catching tokenism? This ‘celebration’ seems just another exhibition of the ‘sectarian’ type. Orangemen or gaymen it’s the same knuckle-headed hubris at work; all rather infantile whoever engages in it.
    Pride goeth before a fall Nicola. Be mindful of whom you may alienate. Sadiq Khan, tying himself in logical knots on R4 Today on the subject of freedom of speech, is a bad rôle model.
    As a ploy to snub the Donald, the Pres. will probably not give a damn anyway.
    Trump may be an object of opprobrium but this guy is an wilely, unorthodox cat among some rather drab pigeons.

51. ahundredthidiot

I am often taken aback by the arrogance of anti-trumpers. They do get quite animated

Some people need to get a life, it’s democracy, just deal with it.

Each and Every US president since WW2 has been a disgrace with Obama being one of the worst.

52. Rob

Off topic I know, sorry, but why isn’t this appearing anywhere? What am I missing? http://survation.com/scots-want-second-independence-referendum/

53. Doug Bryce

who turned the george square web cam off ?
    seems to happen whenever there is a protest…

https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/george_square_webcam

54. Referendum1707

I’m no more for Trump than anyone else on here but I’m certain that Hillary “Wall St’s Favourite Warmonger” Clinton would have been even worse.

Also a reminder about polls, in the US Elex 2016 ALL the polls had Clinton winning either by a landslide or a comfortable majority. Which tends to suggest – putting it mildly – that they were either flat out made up or that they deliberately focused mainly on Clinton supporting areas like New York and California where the educated liberal chimpanzees live.

55. Doug Bryce

@rob : 54% in favor of independence according to your link / poll. that is news…

If there was a referendum tomorrow with the question “Should Scotland be an Independent country?”, how would you vote?

Yes – 54%

No – 46%

56. Thepnr

@Rob

It’s from 25th June 2016 immediately after the EU referendum vote so is old news. Still I don’t see no reason that these figures couldn’t be achieved again as soon as the outcome of Brexit is known.

57. Ken500

Anyone can join the GayPride celebration.

Not everyone can join the discriminatory Orange Lodge or the Masons. Discriminatory, bigoted, racist and misogynistic secretive. Established to discriminate. Blackballed. Not equal open or fair. Not upholding the Law. Other people have to fund their illegal pursuits and inconvenience on the streets damaging the economy. Banned in most Cities. Other people do not want to fund their carry on.

58. Ken500

US – D’Hondt. The loser won. The American voters did want change. They got it.

59. Robert Peffers

@Abulhaq says: 13 July, 2018 at 2:45 pm:

” … This ‘celebration’ seems just another exhibition of the ‘sectarian’ type. Orangemen or gaymen it’s the same knuckle-headed hubris at work;

Well that comment certainly marks your ticket, Abulhaq, that little snippit, exposes much more than you intended for the term, “gaymen”, cannot describe the participants marching for they includes everything from males to females and everything in between.

The celebration is to acknowledge the fact that they, no matter what sexual orientation, DO NOT discriminate and are not, at least legally, discriminated against in modern Scotland.

The LOL are exactly the opposite in that they march in order to demonstrate that they actively discriminate against Roman Catholics and they also discriminate against homosexuality, republicanism and quite a few other things as well.

There will be many people in that march who are not homosexual but who are demonstrating their support against discrimination of any kind.

60. Rob

Oops, sorry, feeling a prat now. Missed Saturday 25 June not being this year. 2016, you’re right.

61. Luigi

ahundredthidiot says:

13 July, 2018 at 2:47 pm

I am often taken aback by the arrogance of anti-trumpers. They do get quite animated

Some people need to get a life, it’s democracy, just deal with it.Each and Every US president since WW2 has been a disgrace with Obama being one of the worst.

Indeed – A lot of people here seem to have swallowed the MSM anti-Trump narrative hook, line and sinker. This suprises me, since with our experience with the BBC, anything the MSM says (about anyone) must be taken with a ton of salt.

The child taken away from her mother by immigration officials was a complete MSM photo set-up (ask the child’s father). A lot of Trump’s silly comments (and they are silly) have been deliberately spun out of context.

I’m not a Trump fan – but please don’t swallow the globalist MSM narrative (even if your belief systems/irrational hatred is begging you to). Trump has stirred the hornets nest and he has a lot of enemies in high places.

Let’s be bigger than that. Leave the childish insults to the BritNats.

Besides, if Hillary had won, those of us that survived the initial nuke blasts would be suffering a lingering death by starvation and/or radiation sickness by now.

62. Capella

@ Luigi – not the MSM alone. I’ve despised Trump for decades. You can blame Doonesbury – catoonist Gary Trudeau – for giving the world a giggle at the vulgarian Trump.

e.g. “Give Those Nymphs some Hooters”.

https://www.gocomics.com/doonesbury

63. Thepnr

@Luigi

“The child taken away from her mother by immigration officials was a complete MSM photo set-up (ask the child’s father). A lot of Trump’s silly comments (and they are silly) have been deliberately spun out of context.”

You’re being very selective there in talking of “the child” are you not aware that it is actually thousands in just weeks?

You don’t need the MSM to find this information, would you believe Amnesty International for example?

Although the Trump administration only formally announced the separation of families as a deterrent measure under the “zero-tolerance policy for criminal illegal entry” on 6 April 2018, Amnesty International has found that this practice has been in use since at least the beginning of the administration, including against people who presented themselves at ports of entry to exercise their right to apply for asylum.

The DHS said on June 19 that it had separated 2,342 children from 2,206 parents at the US-Mexico border from May 5 to June 9 under the “zero-tolerance policy”. Official statistics obtained by news media suggest that thousands more families may have been separated by the US government even prior to this policy.

https://www.amnesty.org/en/latest/news/2018/06/usa-authorities-must-stop-separating-and-locking-up-families/

It’s a fact that children have not just been separated but they have been held in cages inside warehouses, some have been drugged by the authorities and others forced to appear before judges without representation, facing deportation and having no idea what is going on.

These actions are deplorable yet you appear to believe a single story where “the child” was a setup by the MSM. I think you’ve been had.

64. Capella

Link to cartoon – Trump is having his yacht distastefully decorated:
    https://www.gocomics.com/doonesbury/1989/03/15

65. Clapper57

@ Robert J Sutherland

” While the idiot Leavers think we’re magically becoming great again. =sick laugh=”

Yes Robert, I unfortunately made the mistake of turning on BBC QT last night and they,the rabid Brexiteers, are STILL oblivious to reality…quoting trashy newspapers ( aka tittle tattle propaganda sheets)….are these people so so thick that they never stop to question/challenge anything in this Brexit ( lack of ) process.

If you ever feel the need to want to suffer…watch BBC QT….and see how the media control the cerebrally challenged among us….it’s like a Stepford audience…compliant to the point of Zombieism……often wonder am I part of the human race or are they since the distance between I and they is so so very far apart.

Does one laugh or cry at the sheer madness of it all….if one knocks on their head is it hollow ? You know Robert I used to laugh at those B movies showing how selfish and mad people would get in times of disaster….see now……..fcuking masterpieces in demonstrating human nature in times of strife….nasty b***ards on one side and the good guys on the other side….see this is what Brexit has done….made me draw on insane parallels….wow so glad we decided to stay in UKOK in 2014 and be sheltered and protected by big broad UKOK shoulders …..we would have missed out on all of this…..will stop now as descending into a mental rant of a demented soul Ha Ha…sure this will be continued though by yet another madness connected to Brexit and UKOK Britnat land of No hope and certainly No glory.

Have a good day

66. Clapper57

@ Luigi

Hi Luigi, Watch on YOUTUBE Noam Chomsky “Donald Trump is a distraction”.

Makes sense to me in respect to us all looking in his direction via his controversial comments and tweets while behind the scenes his administration is doing the real dirty work and the elites are getting away with so much….deflection tactics.

Have a good day

67. Breeks

Luigi says:
    13 July, 2018 at 3:31 pm
    ahundredthidiot says:

……Some people need to get a life, it’s democracy, just deal with it.Each and Every US president since WW2 has been a disgrace with Obama being one of the worst.

I disagree. Yes, Trump likes to carry on like a maverick antihero who’s not afraid of rattling a few cages, and yes has a lot of enemies, but Trump in my opinion is just a card shark confidence trickster who enjoys playing people, and doesn’t care if people get hurt.

His conduct in the Middle East, especially moving the US Embassy to Jerusalem, was simply despicable and grotesque. If it doesn’t mark him as a cynical psychotic, then it marks him as a reckless imbecile. In either event, he isn’t fit for the office and responsibilities that he holds.

His rhetoric about making America great again comes from the same stable as Farage and Johnston and their “taking back control” through Brexit. It’s dangerous, populist, nonsense. They are starting fires they can neither control nor put out. The danger such people pose is that they are disarming and persuasive when given a platform, and the result of that is a population hoodwinked by guile and the art of persuasion rather than substance, and voting for something like Brexit in droves without actually knowing what Brexit means.

Just deal with it? It’s democracy? No. Not buying that argument either. It’s not democracy that sees Farage on Question Time every other week. There is some cynical string pulling going on behind the scenes. “Something” stinks. This is sham democracy.

68. gus1940

I wonder if Boris has arrived at Turnberry yet.

69. Thepnr

Trump is already calling yesterday’s interview with the Sun and his comments over Brexit “Fake News”.

The man is absolutely shameless, he’ll say anything to cover his tracks and I really can’t believe that anybody can be taken in by his antics. There is no bigger FAKE than Trump.

https://twitter.com/guardian/status/1017758519569809409

70. Robert J. Sutherland

Thepnr @ 16:22,

Nail on head there. It’s amazing to me there are so many people out there, both in the US and elsewhere, who still don’t get it.

Trump is a confidence trickster. A genuine, (fake-)gold-plated grifter on the make.

He’s scamming everyone, and not least the Republican Party and his own faithful followers.

71. jfngw

Looking at the output of quite a few journalists I’m pretty much expect a ‘Hurrah for the Gammons’ article coming to a leading national soon.

72. Ken500

Trump did not start the over 10 years illegal wars. A previous administration did. Causing the migration into Europe which led to the Brexit excuse. The Westminster Unionists did. Trump could be gone within four years. In November starting losing support. With a possible four year extension.

How long will the Tories last?They have already been in power for eight years. Scotland did not vote for them. The last time the Tories were in power for 18 years. Scotland did not vote for them. The Thatcher disgrace. Labour/LibDems are useless incompetents.

73. Dan Huil

A wee word for/from scotgoespop.

“Fundraiser: If you find Scot Goes Pop’s polling coverage useful and would like to help it continue, donations can be made via the 2017 fundraiser page. The initial £7000 target was reached last summer, but one year on that money has all been used up. I know there are always lots of very worthy pro-independence causes looking for support, so I’ve held off for as long as I possibly could before actively seeking donations again.”

74. frogesque

Was feeling down today so took myself, the dog and a YES2 flag to Milnathort and the M90 bridge.

Only there for an hour or so but a great responses. Especially from the lorry drivers who are the ones who really know what’s coming and how it will hit them.

The message is getting out and we are winning!

75. frogesque

For @Cactus.

Beep beep!

76. jfngw

Looks like a massive anti-Trump protest in London. Expect a tweet from Trump claiming the biggest best turnout of support he was ever gotten.

Tried to put that in Trumpspeak as best I can.

77. ahundredthidiot

Ken500

I think a lot of people are going to be disappointed – my money is firmly on Trump getting a second term (someone mentioned polls…..Jeez)

I personally haven’t had this much fun since Bush Junior

And Breeks, give me a break, ‘taking back control’ make america great again’……eh, in case you haven’t noticed….many Yessers are making the same argument about Scotland!!….In fact, just recently some us on here were even entertaining the idea of a hard border with England!

Pot and Kettle me thinks

78. stu mac

@Referendum1707 says:
    13 July, 2018 at 3:05 pm
    I’m no more for Trump than anyone else on here but I’m certain that Hillary “Wall St’s Favourite Warmonger” Clinton would have been even worse.

Certainly in foreign affairs and she would have pushed things to the limit – we might be at war now with Russia if she’d won. Trump isn’t great either which shows how bad Clinton was that she failed to get elected.

http://nationalinterest.org/blog/the-skeptics/clintons-road-the-white-house-paved-war-16068

79. gus1940

All those guardsmen and all those shining bayonets – If only.

80. Thepnr

Here’s a video of Trump explaining how in his interview with the Sun yesterday he said very nice things about Theresa May. Nah, he never lies LOL

Trump took a huge dump on May’s Brexit plans – then blamed The Sun for not cleaning it up

It was an aerial assault. The President of the United States hovered above Britain, took a dump, then switched the blades of his V-22 tiltrotor escort aircraft to fixed wing mode and sped off to Putin…

But it does mean that, the morning after using The Sun newspaper to soil the Special Relationship to such an extent that frankly the bin is the only place for it, those gathered at Chequers for the joint press conference between the prime minister and her theoretically closest ally were treated to a wonderfully cathartic spectacle.

This was the sight of a toddler, knowing it has shat itself with thermonuclear effect, mounting an embarrassed attempt to clean up the mess itself, and with entirely predictable results…

The Sun’s interview, recorded, filmed and published in full online, was “fake news.”

The special relationship had been elevated to “the highest level of special” and as the prime minister stood there and grimaced for almost a full hour, the president made her fall in love all over again by pushing her under every available bus that came by.

Couldn’t have put that better myself, the man is a charlatan, he fucked up yesterday but pretends that it didn’t happen. Yet some it seems think he’s the bee’s knees.

This is one of these times when you really can believe the sight of your own eyes. You just need to open them the video is a laugh (not).

https://www.independent.co.uk/voices/trump-theresa-may-chequers-us-president-brexit-nato-eu-europe-a8446026.html

81. ahundredthidiot

Thepnr at 4:22

NEWSFLASH – We live in a world of spin. There is no innocent parties here.

This is it, expect nothing else and nobody will be doing anything about it any time soon.

Everyone in politics and journalism is lying to some extent, big deal, what is important is what you DECIDE to believe.

I even read a piece in The National by our very own Mhairi Black and it had it’s own fair share of lies about Trump in there.

People (usually on the crazy left) are just losing perspective and Trump is laughing like f”*k at them.

82. Dan Huil

Trump is hilarious; almost as hilarious as Westminster britnats. So far up Trump’s anus they think it’s a chocolate factory.

Special, special, special… specious.

Laugh?!

83. Jason Smoothpiece

Mr Trump says Ive just arrived in Scotland. They have finally taken their country back.

Or words to that effect.

Not yet Mr President, not yet. But we are working on it.

84. ahundredthidiot

RJS at 4:32

You’re wrong. People who voted for Trump do get it. They know he is a confidence trickster and still voted for him. They aren’t thick, backwards, stupid or otherwise – what they are is fed up.

And it really is quite simple if you think about it. The reason they voted for him is this – who would you rather have running your country? A confidence trickster or a crooked warmonger

You have your answer.

85. Petra

@ Clapper … “QT”…

I watched it too Clapper and as expected some on the panel and many in the audience want to walk away now. No deal.

Few wanted to listen to Gina Miller when she asked about the state of the country on the 30th March 2019 (and thereafter). In fact Piers Morgan who says he was a remainer is all for it. His argument, lol, was that we were threatened with what would happen if we didn’t take on board the Euro and the scaremongering in that case came to nothing. Miller tried to say that you couldn’t compare the Euro situation with pulling out of the EU with no deal at all. Morgan (another Trump lackey) as per usual just talked over the top of her.

I’m also sick and tired listening to the numpties that go on about the EU exporting roughly (big threat to the EU) the same amount to us as we do them …. around 650 billion. They forget that on the EU side that’ll be divided by 27. Something they’ll cope with. We won’t.

Then on This Week we had Portillo say we should reverse the lot and just stay in the EU! Mealy-mouthed Farage was on the programme too. It makes sense to give him his own programme as he’s never off of the BBC. I just wonder how long he’s been in cahoots with Trump and how much he’s getting in backhanders (Morgan another). The US, Russia, Saudi and so on desperate to destroy the EU but the Brexiteers, some of them, can’t see it. Thank God we can opt out of staying in this disfunctional hell. Thanks for that Nicola.

86. ian murray

I am a big Donald Trump fan
    He has had a very positive effect on US unemployment with more minority groups now working than ever before.
    Unemployment levels for African Americans ( especially the younger ages) and Hispanics are at record lows.
    Food stamp usage numbers are down by over 4 million
    His approval numbers are up among African American and Hispanic population including his immigration policy
    He has had a positive effect on real peoples lives!!
    He is not a politician (that is a plus by the way) so it is easy to nit pick his faults and the media do a fine job of that
    Those cages were already built and in use before he became President

87. Thepnr

@ahundredthidiot

People (usually on the crazy right) have lost all sense of perspective and I’m laughing like fuck at them.

Especially at Trump their Commander in Chief and his sycophants like Johnson and May.

88. Dan Huil

‘I was opening Turnberry the day before Brexit and all they wanted to talk about was Brexit and I said I think Brexit would happen and it did happen.’ Special-boy Trump

Trump in fact cut the ribbon at Turnberry on June 24, the day after the Brexit vote.

89. Dan Huil

Special, so special, so very very special, the specialistist special ever, totally… er, what relationship?

90. Dr Jim

First they came for…..and I did nothing

Remember that phrase, you don’t have to be a homosexual or any of the other persuations or religions of people to stand up and defend their rights to exist just as you do, because if you don’t who is it the fascists will decide they don’t like next, people who don’t have blonde hair maybe, or the homeless oh wait they’re doing that already along with some Jamaicans under the cover of darkness till they were caught or anybody who isn’t like them

I can’t tolerate intolerance and the right wing nasties should remember that because it was us middle of the road people who decided we’d had enough of nasties the last time they pushed their bile too far and I’d be more than happy to do that again without a moments hesitation

There are one or two of that sort popping up on WOS from the safety of their anonymity and the protection of internet distance between them and their putrid views 99.9% of us on Wings over Scotland don’t welcome you nor want you nor do you in any way represent the views of our hopes for an Independent Scotland free from your sort of influence

So take your nasty views and your nasty bilious attitude and drive yourself off the cliff you wish on the rest of us and when you hit the bottom go back up and do it again

91. Greannach

Rob at 2.49 pm

Amazing figures and thanks for the link. Things are looking up.

92. Ken500

Clinton would have had another war going on the Russia border with the Westminster henchmen. She was a warmonger. She was taking money from the Saudi to act as their mercenaries. An absolute despot monarchy.

The Saudi (pro rata) spends the most on arms in the world. $69Billion. Including internal security (33Million pop)

The US spends the 2nd highest (pro rata) $611Billion (320Million pop) Trump wants to cut Defence spending. The US are in colossal debt.

China (1.2Billion pop) spend $228Billion.

Russia (150Million pop) spends $69Billion

The warmongers are the US and the Saudis. With the UK hangers ons. $47Billion. (66Million pop)

Not China or Russia.

EU membership is worth it for the shared Defence. Otherwise it would cost £Billions more.

93. Thepnr

@ian murray

Unemployment has also been falling in the UK, is this due to an improving economic picture since the crash or is it due to people being removed from the unemployment statistics? Hard to tell maybe but one thing is clear is that the use of foodbanks rises substantially year on year.

The poorest people are getting poorer increased employment or not and the same has happened and is happening in the USA under Trump’s Presidency.

Just last month Philip Alston of the UN and who acts as a watchdog on extreme poverty sounded a warning of what is really happening in America under Trump.

Trump’s ‘cruel’ measures pushing US inequality to dangerous level, UN warns

Donald Trump is deliberately forcing millions of Americans into financial ruin, cruelly depriving them of food and other basic protections while lavishing vast riches on the super-wealthy, the United Nations monitor on poverty has warned.

Philip Alston, the UN special rapporteur who acts as a watchdog on extreme poverty around the world, has issued a withering critique of the state of America today. Trump is steering the country towards a “dramatic change of direction” that is rewarding the rich and punishing the poor by blocking access even to the most meager necessities.

“This is a systematic attack on America’s welfare program that is undermining the social safety net for those who can’t cope on their own. Once you start removing any sense of government commitment, you quickly move into cruelty,” Alston told the Guardian.

Millions of Americans already struggling to make ends meet faced “ruination”, he warned. “If food stamps and access to Medicaid are removed, and housing subsidies cut, then the effect on people living on the margins will be drastic.”

Asked to define “ruination”, Alston said: “Severe deprivation of food and almost no access to healthcare.”

I guess most people see only what they want to see when it comes to political leaders.

94. Thepnr

Link to the full article that appeared in the Guardian 1st June 2018.

http://archive.fo/pALNv

95. Thepnr

There’s more of course on Food Stamps, known as the SNAP program and what is really happening.

More cuts to eligibility could come if the federal government approves proposals to trim the budget for SNAP. Republicans in the House of Representatives have proposed in their budget resolution cutting about $150 billion from the program over the next decade.

President Donald Trump, long a critic of SNAP, has proposed a budget that would cut $193 billion to the program over 10 years. “We need people to go to work,” Mick Mulvaney, director of the Office of Management and Budget, told reporters in May.

“If you’re on food stamps and you’re able-bodied, we need you to go to work. If you’re on disability insurance and you’re not supposed to be—if you’re not truly disabled—we need you to go back to work.”

http://www.newsweek.com/people-food-stamps-snap-decline-participation-640500

96. Clapper57

@ Petra @ 5.22pm

Yes Petra…Piers Morgan playing to the gallery again….like Oakeshott , Hartley Brewer and other well known shit stirrers …”Oh I voted Remain but my God you would never know it to hear me now”…he is such an over opinionated grade A Bawbag….but he knows his audience…gullible and open to be force fed Rule Britannia all the way.

It would have been nice if someone had asked him to expand on why he voted Remain since it seems unclear given his seemingly born again Brexit sermon last night….kinda sick of those ‘I voted Remain’ types who now are only too willing to lie down and take Brexit a La Tory style….democracy….more like pandering to the lunatics among us……

Re backhanders…….I passionately believe people are definitely benefiting financially from this and that certain politicians are among them….cause I have never seen such determination to ensure we leave EU….once upon time conspiracy theorists were laughed at but something stinks about this fervent obsession with , not just leaving EU, but walking away with no deal…..money is behind this and money will gained by those who are propagating this anti EU mania….thank God for alternative media because mainstream would have us all stay in the dark as far as the truth is concerned….never mind Who killed Jessica Rabbit LOL who the Hell is really behind Brexit?

Sorry for rant…again….but I consider myself blessed to have an open mind not easily swayed by fake arguments and idiots who are undeserved of a platform to represent or communicate with people solely to brainwash them into choosing the wrong path….and all for their own warped selfish reasons.

As you say we in Scotland have an alternative….but we need to persuade or guide others who are still confused.com….I mean it should be evident but hey ho …wha’s like us indeed.

97. Clapper57

Oops sorry missed this out in my post…………

Have a good evening Petra

98. remo

Eppy 11.13

Only place I could find any mention of the Dundee boy is on iNews. Every body should share that news on facebook etc.

99. Croompenstein

FFS how long is a game of tennis supposed to be… jeezo

100. ahundredthidiot

Dr Jim at 5:37

If you truly were middle of the road then you would imply that you would also take up arms against the far left, surely??

But you only mention ‘far right nasties’

Here’s a fact for you. The far left have done far more damage to humanity over the past few hundred years than the far right…..by a considerable country mile.

Both of course are reprehensible, and both start from a convincing conniving position, tapping into peoples weaknesses, being aware of the dangers from BOTH ends of the spectrum is truly middle of the road.

And don’t be foolish enough to think all Indy supporters are left of centre, or attempt to speak for 99.9% of Wingers.

Tolerance, a virtue you seem to be promoting, means accepting people from all points of view into our drive for an Independent Scotland – and yes, even those who like Trump.

I am no fan of Trump, but I do not consider it a breaking of one of the ten commandments by those who do.

Some people need to chill out.

101. Thepnr

This should tell all Independence supporters what you need to know.

“Pro Trump protest being led by Alistair McConachie, the holocaust denying campaigner behind A Force For Good who held counter protests during the big Yes march in Glasgow”

https://twitter.com/andrewlearmonth/status/1017813015180267520

Alistair McConachie is so extreme he was even thrown out of UKIP.

102. Highland Wifie

@Robert Peffers 2.40
    Don’t know that one I’m afraid but it sounds like something he would have said.
    Orange is the new black lol.

103. HandandShrimp

Thepnr

Back in the 70s and 80s you either had a real job or you were unemployed. These days the DWP will sanction at the drop of a hat and people find claiming job seekers allowance (an absolute pittance anyway) so unrewarding that they take zero hour gig economy jobs. Lots of people in low paid jobs not earning enough to pay tax which means that the Treasury has to watch while the job stats say near full employment (it never gets much lower than 3%) but the tax receipts fail to rise.

We do not have a vibrant economy filled with opportunity and decent salaries, we have a dis-articulated economy with too much tied up in house equity with the older generation (a bubble that could easily burst) and a younger generation who can’t buy a house and with little emotional investment in their work, the country and the future.

The pigeons are circling and when they come home to roost the accusations will fly but the damage will have been done.

104. HandandShrimp

LOL

I wonder if McConachie and Clerkin share the same loudhailer or whether they have their own favourite ones.

105. ahundredthidiot

Thepnr at 7:09

Any other types you would like to add to your list? tories? Keep Trident folks? Austerity types?

or will you wake up and realise that identity politics is a recipe for failure. There are pro Trump folks on the Yes side – just deal with it with a bit more dignity.

Problem with the far right is they want to tell everyone what to do.

Problem with the far left is they want to tell everyone how to think.

The last one, I fear, might relate to you.

106. stewartb

O/T The contrast in how BBC 1 News and C4 News tonight are handling (and framing) the Trump visit and its associated events, including their outdoor broadcasts showing the scale and nature of protests, is just so incredibly stark. The BBC is being incredibly ‘limiting’ in its coverage of opposing political and public views against Trump.

And the editors and presenters of BBC Reporting Scotland, with their tone of excitement and anticipation of Trump’s arrival at Turnberry, just seems to me to be very ill-judged.

107. ahundredthidiot

HeadandShrimp at 7:19

An excellent point well made. What always gasts my flabber is that people (still) think that rising house prices are a good thing and that a house is some sort of asset – the opposite of course is true, but still people, in their droves, believe that nonsense.

Just stunning.

Not without solution though, slash 75% off all house prices in Scotland and cap them, reassess all mortgage debt to no more than 110% of the new value and clear off the remaining debt (Iceland style) – jail any banker who stands in the way and reintroduce the corset arrangement that Thatcher removed (meaning only building societies to lend money for domestic dwellings).

Result – younger people can buy a house. Mortgage owners reduce their debt and start to spend, boosting the economy and the only losers are the (delusional) wealthy home owners (like me)……and of course the Banks.

108. Ken500

Poverty rates in the UK. Absolute poverty 6%. Overall poverty 16%

Poverty rates in the US. 12%. Supplementary overall poverty? 14%.

43Million in the US in poverty. Pop 326-328Million?

Could be different measures of poverty. Varies different countries.

109. Conan the Librarian

@ ahundredthidiot

Concern trolling is so passe – whatever name you post under…

110. Thepnr

@ahundredthidiot

“Any other types you would like to add to your list?”

Aye. You!

111. Conan the Librarian

@ Thepnr

SNAP!

112. Ken500

70/80’s. Thatcher. Unemployment NI (troubles) 20%. Scotland 15%. Only place under 10% was London S/E. Interest rates were 17%. (Inflation 25%?). Thatcher devastated the Scottish economy. Shut down every manufacturing facility. Illegally and secretly offshored the Oil revenues. ‘This must be kept secret’ written on the Official documents. Spent the funds on London S/E. Building Tilbury Docks and Canary Wharf banking etc. Deregulating banking causing the banking crash.

Demutualising the Building Societies owned by the members. Privatised utilities. Now private foreign owners. Civil war with the miners. The Poll tax. Riots and violence. People had to migrate to get a job. The 40million diaspora.

Thatcher came to the Church of Scotland Assembly and said, ‘we the English people are generous to you Scots’. The sermon on the Mound. Professional liar.

113. ahundredthidiot

Thepnr

haha, well worry not, once you have your utopia you can send me for ‘re-education’!

114. Thepnr

@ahundredthidiot

I think you might benefit from a measure of re-education, what you’ve had so far doesn’t seem to have done you much good.

115. Petra

@ Dan Huil says at 5:48 pm …. ”Trump so special:

http://www.thenational.scot/news/16353775.an-snp-source-had-the-best-comeback-to-reports-that-trump-totally-hates-nicola-sturgeon/

Sarah Smith was full of glee tonight on BBC Scotland with her comment ”a source says that Donald Trump detests Nicola Sturgeon and bitches about her on the phone.”

Who is the source? Talk about dredging the bottom of the barrel. In saying that no doubt most people across Scotland will be pleased to hear that. Who in their right mind wants to be liked by Trump?

………………………………

@ Clapper57 says at 6:34 pm …. ”Oops sorry missed this out in my post………… Have a good evening Petra.”

You too Clapper. In fact I hope everyone who visits the site has a fabulous weekend X

116. Ken500

The Herald started the ‘bitching’ story. Then followed it up by the ‘bitching’ about Teresa May. He must be doing a lot of ‘bitching’ heresay.

117. Dr Jim

When the nasties get called out they just get nastier by outing themselves even more even when you don’t use their name they themselves know what they are

118. stewartb

I rarely have anything good to say about BBC Scotland. However, very occasionally one of its specialist editors writes something of note online – informative, balanced.

A few months ago months ago Douglas Fraser (business/economy editor) wrote a good piece on the marine fishing industry and the Common Fisheries Policy (CFP: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-business-43534964). And today, Fraser has written a piece entitled “ North Sea oil and fish: Independence day?” (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-business-44723702) – another good article. Credit where credit’s due. It includes the following statements.

On fishing: “During the referendum campaign, you may recall Mr Gove blamed the CFP for having sunk his father’s Aberdeen business – though, on closer inspection, that story was a tad economical with the truth.”

He goes on: “Maintaining access to EU markets is particularly important to fish processors and to the small creel-boat sector, both with strengths in Scotland.

However: “It’s noteworthy that the people commenting (about Gove’s post-Brexit plans) in the Defra press release were the big fishing interests. Not only had they got advance sight of the white paper while Scottish ministers had not, but this is taken by some as a signal that the future of fishing will look very like the recent past.”

Fraser goes on: “Those big fishing interests have done rather well out of the Common Fisheries Policy, given that it cleared out a lot of capacity, restored fish stocks, making the business more profitable, so that skippers are now investing. It also allowed for a quota system, creating an asset which UK skippers could sell, often to foreign firms, as they scrapped boats.”

But then he argues: “There’s not so much sign of the white paper helping develop more coastal communities, with smaller boats, the way that Norway has chosen to do. That was always an option for Defra and for the Scottish government, had they wanted to allocate the national quota that way.”

Never quite get this kind of critique translated into a Reporting Scotland broadcast for the mass (!) audience.

119. Liz g

K1 @ 8.16
    I’m sure we will all have as fabulous a time as we can… Thanks Hunni..
    But I must admit.
    ‘‘Tis is a wee bit sad tae see Air Force One (always viewed as a Friendly sight) land in our Country, and hate that it’s here.
    One day my friend it will be a welcome sight…. Rest (we’ll spend yer weekend like it was) assured!!

120. Confused

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/uk-44807972

Mundell is to be sacrificed on the beach at Turnberry, Wicker-Man-style at sunset in elaborate FreeMasonic ceremony in order to appease the Wrath of the Trump-God

A man with the power of a King
    A man who comes of his own free will
    A virgin (of sorts)
    A man who is king for a day and who but a fool would opt for that

One of the great Fools

Everyone finds their level.

Mundell, medium-rare, pink in the middle. (Ooh-err, missus)

121. ahundredthidiot

Thepnr

actually, maybe you are right about my level of education, maybe I am just getting everything wrong.

I just made the mistake of supporting Djok with the tennis, wife says that’s not on….we’re supporting Nadal……

Jeez….. I’m getting it on Wings, now I’m getting it in the hoose…..

122. Jomo

I’d be more convinced by the ‘Trump is a misogynist, racist, homophobe….etc’ mob if they turned out in similar numbers to protest against visits by some of the other wretches who lead nations with human rights records which make the SS look like the Salvation Army.

123. HandandShrimp

I find the notion of Trump moaning to May about Nicola quite funny. I wonder if May agrees with him and they go some bitching rant like high school kids or whether she just views it as a welcome distraction in case he starts off on some other mad nonsense. The aid seemed to suggest that May would prefer if he actually phoned her to talk some actual business like a trade deal…Trump may still have enough marbles to give that one a body swerve.

124. Rock

President Trump has caused an earthquake among European Establishments as never before and I am enjoying it.

Crooked Hilary would have bombed Syria to the stone age.

125. Rock

Are WOS and the MSM led by Pravda GB on the same side with respect to President Trump?

That must be a first.

126. Thepnr

I think the real Rock is on his holidays LOL

127. Phronesis

This is not fake news;

‘the Trump Organization has worked with some truly questionable business associates, that it has run afoul of anti-money-laundering laws, and that its most high-profile business expansion—a line of three- and four-star hotels—has all but collapsed…By 2014, Trump was seen by lenders as a high-risk bet, since he had so many bankruptcies and so few successful projects…There simply isn’t enough money coming into Trump’s known business to cover the massive outlay he spent on Turnberry…Instead, Trump turned to a new source of other people’s money.

He did a series of deals in Toronto, Panama, the Dominican Republic, Azerbaijan, and Georgia, with businesspeople from the former Soviet Union who were unlikely to pass any sort of rigorous due-diligence review by pension funds and other institutional investors…He also made deals in India, Indonesia, and Vancouver, Canada, with figures who have been convicted or investigated for criminal wrongdoing and abuse of political power…We know very little about how money flowed into and out of these projects. All of these projects involved specially designated limited-liability companies that are opaque to outside review.

We do know that, over the past decade, wealthy oligarchs in the former Soviet Union and elsewhere have seen real-estate investment as a primary vehicle through which to launder money. The problem is especially egregious in the United Kingdom, where some have called the U.K. luxury real-estate industry “a money laundering machine.” Golf has been a particular focus of money laundering. Although the U.K. has strict transparency rules for financial activity within the country, its regulators have been remarkably incurious about the sources of funds coming from firms based abroad…The goal of laundering money is to take the proceeds of a criminal activity—government corruption, tax fraud, drug trade, or many others—and to disguise its origin.

Many oligarchs in the former Soviet Union who made their money by expropriating the state’s wealth want to move their money into a more stable nation with greater rule of law…we do know with certainty that much of his (Trump’s) business over the past decade was in the industries most known for money laundering, in the locations most conducive to money laundering, and with people who bear the key hallmarks of money launderers.

http://www.newyorker.com/news-desk/swamp-chronicles/where-did-donald-trump-get-200-million-dollars-to-buy-his-money-losing-scottish-golf-club

‘Trump begins by citing German imports of Russian gas as evidence that “Germany is totally controlled by Russia.” NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg remains stoic as Trump lays out his complaint, but U.S. ambassador to NATO Kay Bailey Hutchison and White House Chief of Staff John F. Kelly look uncomfortable. Hutchison appears to avert her gaze from her NATO colleagues sitting across from her, while Kelly looks down, then shifts his body and glances away, lips pursed tightly’

http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/worldviews/wp/2018/07/11/pursed-lips-and-glances-to-the-floor-watch-trump-aides-react-to-his-attacks-on-germany/

‘It is even more controversial knowing Trump has been reluctant to confront Putin on election interference. Trump has repeatedly given Putin the benefit of the doubt over the U.S. intelligence community, which has concluded the Russian president ordered the meddling in the 2016 campaign specifically to help Trump win’

http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/the-fix/wp/2018/07/13/muellers-indictment-of-12-russians-lands-at-a-really-awkward-moment-for-trump/

128. Legerwood

Petra @ 8.16pm and Ken 500 @ 8.26pm

The story about Trump complaining about Ms Sturgeon when he phones Mrs May seems to have originated in an article in the Huffington Post.

Long article. Bit about Ms Sturgeon comes near the end if I remember correctly.

https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/amp/entry/trump-uk-visit-theresa-may-what-its-like_uk_5b477a1de4b022fdcc5719ff/?__twitter_impression=true

129. stewartb

Jomo @ 9:19 pm
    You wrote: “I’d be more convinced by the ‘Trump is a misogynist, racist, homophobe….etc’ mob if they turned out in similar numbers to protest against visits by some of the other wretches who lead nations with human rights records which make the SS look like the Salvation Army.”

There are some, pretty bl..dy obvious things you’re missing here are you not – this is the self-proclaimed leader of the western world; the leader of the most militarily powerful country in the world; and, not to to forget, the leader of the nation state that ‘our’ UK government states we have the most special relationship that is possible to have ever, anywhere. Is it not right that we expect more of the President of the USA because of this status – and all the more important that we call it out when he falls so far below acceptable standards?

130. K1

I didn’t comment at 8.16 Lizg…I’ve noticed you addressed a post to me…it was Petra who was commenting at that time stamp. Slip of the keyboard ma dear? 😉

131. Thepnr

In the US election they had a choice between Clinton or Trump and in the UK it was between Corbyn or May.

Not much of a choice really is it?

That’s where we are very lucky. Scotland has a choice that is not between two extremes it can chose SNP and vote for Independence.

This country is truly blessed in having a third choice, we just need enlighten our neighbours to that fact.

132. Graham King

Of course we respect and admire Donald!
    – as much as if he were our own Secretary of State for Scotland.

133. Petra

Let’s face it Treeza (and people like Farage) has no doubt moaned the face off of Trump about Nicola Sturgeon and Scottish Independence.

Trump’s mammie had to leave Scotland because she had nought to live for under a Westminster Government.

He’s too thick of course to work that out.

He’s so thick that he doesn’t even know where Syria, Iran and Iraq are. Bomb them anyway.

134. Robert J. Sutherland

ahundredthidiot @ 17:21,

Of course Trump’s base are fed up, but they’re not nihilists either, (unlike you, it would seem). They think this “business guy” and TV “personality” is actually going to help them. Give them a better, more secure future. Jeez. How wrong can you get?

Well he ain’t. He’s going to help himself. Insofar as this multiple-failure of a “businessman” is able to do even that.

And in the process he’s going to wreck the world’s economic system, with trade wars escalating by the day, and trash virtually the entire international framework that since the end of WW2 has kept the peace and ensured a modicum of stability. How’s that for “security”?

You think the alternative is worse? What, because she is hard-headed and/or a woman judged by different standards from the men? If so, your moniker is extremely well-chosen. I just wonder what kind of twisted far-leftist-rightist bent trumpapologist yardstick you are using.

Whether by accident or design, that self-obsessed man-babe is returning us to the 1930’s, and that turned out so very well last time. A new economic crash and war by accident is almost a guarantee with this crook, it’s just a question of whether we can, by dint of good fortune, avoid both before he makes his exit from office. Probably via a well-deserved jail term.

135. Petra

A few articles not to be found on the MSM:

http://www.thenational.scot/news/16348265.tories-blamed-for-tonnes-of-rotting-fruit-in-perthshire-fields/

………………………..

http://www.thenational.scot/news/16348226.northern-irish-leaders-appeal-for-calm-as-violence-erupts-in-ulster/

……………………….

http://www.thenational.scot/news/16347691.tory-councillors-agree-to-delete-twitter-accounts/

………………………………

http://www.thenational.scot/community/16345542.letters-johnsons-resignation-is-entirely-self-serving/

……………………………..

http://www.thenational.scot/politics/16345692.end-the-annual-shame-of-orange-order-marches/

….”If you live in Glasgow, contact the Council’s Procession Committee to tell them that you don’t want the city’s streets filled with this sort of 18th-century hatred. The email address is processions @ced.glasgow.gov.uk.

Meanwhile on Change.org there’s a petition asking Glasgow council to call time on the Orange Walk. The walk has had its day, and that day was in 1690. This is the 21st century, not the 17th.”

………………………………..

http://www.thenational.scot/thejouker/16353166.michael-fabricant-says-he-accidentally-posted-racist-tweet/

Tory Fabricant joined in by posting an image of an inflatable pig sodomising an inflatable Mayor of London Sadiq Khan, accompanied by an image of Trump laughing.

…………………………….

thoughtcontrolscotland.com/2018/07/10/is-bbc-scotland-exploiting-patients-with-mental-health-problems-to-construct-an-ill-founded-attack-on-nhs-tayside/

And, eh, how many people with mental health issues are being sent from England to Scotland for treatment? No figures being kept just as there are no figures for homeless people heading north from England. High time, imo, to record what’s going on here.

…………………………………….

/www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-north-east-orkney-shetland-44807189

And, eh, high time we put a stop to this cr*p.

136. Reluctant Nationalist

The fact that you believe Trump makes any of these decisions, Rob, puts you on the same level as the delusional Trump base you describe. I’m sure you don’t intend this, though.

Nihilism, eh? Very unattractive.

137. Petra

From the ”Talent”

ScottieDog says at 6:36 am …. ”Petra I had a lot of time for Jim Sillars during indyref, especially his take on currency which coincided with mine. His idea about waiting until brexit is sorted, well, when will that be? Probably long after the demise of holyrood. He comes across as very aggressive and bitter in his criticism of the SNP and of course the Britnats lap it up. It’s strange, I thought the prospect of iscotland out of the EU (probably inevitable) but within the SM would have been acceptable given his passivity in 2014. Here’s an interview he did with Mark McNaught a while back..

https://livestream.com/IndependenceLive/jim-sillars-interview

……………………………

Scottie just trying to catch up on here. Thanks for taking the time to post the link.

Well what can I say other than there’s no fool like an old fool, especially one with a massive ego that’s not being massaged any more rather being bruised at every turn because he’s over and out now. Not the leader of the pack and never will be. He can’t take it anymore hence his nasty comments about Nicola Sturgeon and the SNP (total jealousy, imo). This has-been is being used by the Unionist Media. Needs the money?

I was going to say that this interview took place 18 months ago and he may have seen the error of his way, the light of day, but no I see that since then he’s written to Mundell (for God’s sake can you believe it) to say that in his opinion there is no power grab.

High time that this idiot renounced his SNP membership and got lost.

Like you I used to admire him. Not now. If he truly wants Independence for Scotland vote for it and then vote for EU membership or not.

I hate to mention his late wife, Margo, but I just wonder what she would make of this. HIM.

138. twathater

O.T From Indycar Gordon Ross VERY INTERESTING

ARTICLE 48 from the treaty of the EU the successor state , of particular interest to Rob Peffers as he has commented a couple of times

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wg4AP5QKIFg&feature=em-uploademail

Is this the way out and would wastemonster throw a wobbly

139. Petra

Let’s get shot of the Orange Order in Scotland for once and for all and forget about building a bridge between NIreland and Scotland. Arlene et al would love it. Can’t hook up with England so Scotland is second best. That’ll do. Aye right on Arlene.

I can just see hundreds of thousands of morons marching across that bridge from NIreland to Scotland banging on their drums and tweeting away on their blooming flutes. Forget it. If they think they are ”soldiers” then send them off to the front, in say Afghanistan, and they can walk to their hearts content, bang away on their big bass drums, whistle away and fight for their beloved UNION (why are they not out there right now .. big bellies and cowardice getting in the way?).

We don’t want or need their likes here. End this sacriledge right now.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-44830392

140. twathater

Petra 2.56am I agree with you regarding the NI bridge loyalists and Arlene , IMO no way Pedro, I have long had concerns that if brexshit was mental , Ireland voted reunification, and we gained independence, we would face a massive influx of loyalists coming here to try to reunite with engerland their mother country . The walks are bad enough we don’t need no go areas or bonfires , this would have to be stopped

141. ScottieDog

On holidays. Out for a walk on the outskirts of L.A this evening.old boy walks up and starts chatting away. White, 62 years old, unemployed.
    He was very chatty when I said we were from Scotland…

Then he gets chatting about trump…
    “Doing his best”, says he.
    “Sending all dem immigrants home”

I told him, trump was in the U.K at the moment.. “Ah he’s helping you guys out too!”
    Bit ma lip.

I’ve met so many like him back in the U.K. similar age, similar viewpoint – brainwashed of course by MSM.

142. ScottieDog

@Petra
    “I hate to mention his late wife, Margo, but I just wonder what she would make of this. HIM.”

Yeah I thought the same Petra.
    Strategically, scotland in the SM should be preferable to him to the circumstances of a YES vote in 2014.
    I think he’s too far down the road to change his viewpoint, even though we would be staring down the barrel of awful trade deals with the great orange Bawbag.

143. Meg merrilees

So there we have it.

BBC Finally has to report the violence in N.Ireland this morning as a ‘bomb’ was thrown at Gerry Adam’s house yesterday. Then they casually say last night was quiet after 7 nights of violence.

Did we hear about 7 nights of violence on the BBC? ( No because England was too busy since it had already won the World Cup in all but name and we all had to be told every detail).

If this is Ulster politics I certainly don’t want Ulsterisation of Scottish politics thank you very much Mr. Torrance and Ms. Davidson.

Priests, Rabbis, Imams, Humanists, yir granny and yir kids should be able to walk about our streets as and when they like without being subject to abuse, insults, spittle, flute music and all the whole shebang.

We want a better country than that.

144. ahundredthidiot

Mhairi Black piece in The National today regards our esteemed visitor

C’mon….some of it is just down right funny

145. Tinto Chiel

It was even worse than that, Meg. Apart from ignoring the bonfires and rioting from Ruth Davidson’s eternal marchers over the last week, the BBC reported that the attack on Gerry Adams’ house was probably carried out by dissident republicans opposed to the peace process.

Hmmmmmmm.

It’s an amazing tool, the BBC Airbrush.

146. K.A.Mylchreest

Abulhaq says:
    13 July, 2018 at 11:20 am

“Trump is the epitome of What-you-see-is-what-you-get. As POTUS …”

P.O.T.U.S. ???
    Maybe : “Piece Of Totally Useless Shite”

147. Big Jock

Well folks another Scottish brand Buchanan Sweets have just lost another customer. They have started putting union jacks on their Scottish branded sweets.

I have written to them. We can’t keep letting this happen.

148. Robert J. Sutherland

Reluctant Nationalist @ 02:22,

I certainly thought that of George W, but I’m not convinced about Trump. Too erratic. Though who he owes for what is an interesting question.

The legal part of the establishment are busy trying to find out if his crookery is actionable, while the rest are doing body swerves trying to catch up with his latest Twitter ourburst over policy. Not a sound ship, whatever.

Or for string-puller, do you mean Vlad Putin…? =grin=

149. Bobp

Meg merilees 8.14am .the bbc are a CANCER eating away at the brain and heart of Scotland.

150. Bobp

Petra 12.54am. Exactly, trump should ask himself. Why did my mother have to immigrate to america if things were so wonderful in a country ruled by london. Eh donald whats your answer?.

151. Bobp

Meg merilees 8.14am. No but if a petrol bomb had been thrown at tory mp michael fabricants house for showning a pig on twitter mounting london mayor sadiq khan. There would be a state of national emergency declared. How the f**k can even decent unionists stand by and support these vermin.

152. Jomo

@stewartb
    I’m afraid you’re the one missing the bl**dy point my friend. The fact that Trump is the leader of the most powerful country in the world and a so-called ‘friendly’ nation is utterly irrelevant. We must hold every one accountable to the same standards. Your argument suggests that we must expect less of nations like the Saudis, Turks, Africans, Chinese. Why should this be? Because they are not like us? Because they are not white, not western, not civilized?

153. Fred

@ bobp, Trump claims his mother didn’t emigrate, she was on holiday from her home in Lewis visiting relations & met auld Trump (whose German emigrant father kept a brothel in the Yukon) at a society ball & Cinderella (in reality a domestic cleaner who fled poverty for New York) never looked back.

Liked the placard at the demo. “Yer Maw wiz an emigrant!”

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,614 Posts, 1,193,286 Comments

• RSS Wings Over Scotland