A completely different situation

Posted on February 24, 2017 by

No.4: file under “Hell actually froze over”.

Previously:

(All clips via the always-excellent Phantom Power Films.)

1. 24 02 17 17:56

A completely different situation | speymouth

56 to “A completely different situation”

1. theMadMurph

First there was a trickle. Then the dam burst!!

2. Betty Boop

Aye, he’s the reason I’ve got a Wings “I’m on the List” t-shirt and proudly wear it ! πŸ™‚

3. Grouse Beater

Well done, Mike. Let our conscience be our guide!

4. Hamish100

Good snippets. Better in my view than the SNP broadcast with the funny voice pretending to be a child. Apologise if that was a real voice.

Labour will fight for Federalism on the new Independence ballot paper. They will link with the libs.

Anything than independence or self determination

5. GraemeR

These videos are excellent. Well done to all involved.

6. CmonIndy

Well not only is it great to have him but his reasoning is spot on.

7. Proud Cybernat

Gawn yerself, Mike. Nice one!

Let’s make Scotland the kind of progressive, inclusive, internationalist country we all want.

Mawn IndyRef New!

8. Sunniva

He makes some great points that will be useful in the campaign.

1. We are at a cross roads now.
    2. Staying in an insular UK the future is bleak.

9. mogabee

We ARE going to do this now, aren’t we πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

10. lollysmum

Like the films-well done Phantom Power. The more the merrier. Welcome to YES one & all πŸ™‚

11. Helena Brown

Bravo, but these are the thinkers, I see a great deal of pain in all our futures, perhaps that will turn the non thinkers. I hope do,for all of the rest of us.

12. Thepnr

As we all know Mike Dailly was a very loud voice on the side of Better Together last campaign so it is absolutely brilliant to see that he now supports an Independent Scotland.

He’s changed his mind for all the right reasons, he want’s the same as I do, an opportunity to escape the Tory austerity and just sheer cruelty that their policies bring to the poorest and weakest.

It’s never too late to change your mind and I am hopeful that many more will follow Mike’s example. He’ll get a lot of stick for this from former friends and Better Together past friends.

Maybe he can bring more with him him, let’s hope he does. Well done Mike and well done again Phantom Power Films.

This wee series of shorts is just bloody great!! We want more.

13. Proadge

Great stuff, well done Phantom Power and thank you to Mike – a warm welcome to Yes.

A small and very possibly pedantic quibble: the other three films all finished with the words ‘I will be voting yes’, which is the perfect note to end on and collectively helps create a strong sense of momentum. That this one didn’t would be my only criticism.

14. Andrew Morton

But GERS!

15. Ken500

May crowing in Copeland.

Indy2 can’t come soon enough. Everyone on board.

16. Andrew Morton

Eagerly anticipating video number 5 featuring Blair McDougall.

17. Hugh Wallace

I think I was on Mike’s list as well so this surprises me. But it also delights me as it highlights that a good number of No voters did so with the best of intentions at heart, namely wanting what we all want and that is a better Scotland for all; we and they just disagreed about the best method of achieving that same end. Ok, the scales had fallen from our eyes somewhat quicker than the have for them (if they were ever there in the first place) and we saw things as they really are in this glorious UK a long time a go, but lets be happy to welcome all of those who are willing to see clearly. So the ‘I’m alright Jack’ crowd and lunatic fringe (if a large number can be called a fringe) of the unionist camp can be worked around and seen for what they are but the soft Nos, they are out there and eminently convertible. This gives me hope.

18. galamcennalath

Excellent. It boils down to …

In 2014 we had a choice, some of us believed Indy was best, slight more believed in powers to Scotland and safety in the UK in the EU.

Now we have a quite different choice. 2014 is ancient history. People are now entitled to make a quite different decision.

19. galamcennalath

theMadMurph says:

First there was a trickle. Then the dam burst!!

I hope so!

What would be great if some serving Lab or LibDem politicians came out for Yes. I believe it will happen.

20. Meg merrilees

Another great video- fascinating to hear how the truth slowly dawns on one after another.

Encouraging.

Bought my National today – have to admit to having let it slip to just the occasional copy, however, it is frequently sold out when I want to impulse buy.

21. Robert Graham

Good to see these clips of real people finally waking up, it’s a pity that they can’t be shown to the delusional folks at the Labour in Scotland lie fest , every single one I listened to I thought fine that’s nice, then I remembered what they actually did in practice, and to listen to Anus silver spoon in the gob spout the SNP had no vision, no integrity, no answer but Independence, I thought this arsewipe is on drugs, this lot are truly in the twilight zone, and have lost sight of the real enemy the Tories.

22. jfngw

Labour have no interest in federalism, this was proved when they voted against most devolved powers. It is merely a wrecking position for any independence vote, they realise project fear cannot work again since all that was threatened with a yes vote has happened with a no vote.

You cannot have a sensible referendum with three questions and be guaranteed a definitive result. There plan is to try and ensure yes is below 50%, after which federalism will be quietly dumped. Of course you will be given some powers, allow speed limits to be displayed in Gaelic numerals or some other meaningless concession.

23. Auld Rock

Mad Murph – reminds me of Dam Buster Motto, “Aprez moi Le Deluge”.

As for Federalism, once bitten twice shy as Brown promised us that in 2014 and then they voted ‘NO’ after ‘NO’ when the Smith Commission was debated after 2014 Liars beware your lies eventually find you out and you were found out years ago.

Auld Rock

24. Tinto Chiel

Well said, Mike: a most articulate explanation of your reasons for moving to Yes. Having such an articulate ex-BT spokesman see the light is a powerful weapon for Yes.

However, all these films need a wider audience. I presume these will be on the main channels once the new referendum campaign begins, in the place of anodyne PPBs?

Given the Tory Orgasmatron that is Pravdsasound4 now, I wouldn’t put it past May to go for another election to grind the Corbyn-led Labour Party into the dust and go for a “strong mandate to deliver a great deal for the country in the Brexit negotiations” or some such crud. The Tories could probably gain about 50 seats from the Hapless Party and might even shave a couple of seats off the SNP, given a massive Unionist concentration of resources/BBC propaganda campaign in marginal/weaker seats.

Then it’s on to the “Independence has stalled Agenda” to be ruthlessly punted by BBC/MSM.

How to scotch the independence snake, ya bass.

Beam us up, Scotty.

25. sinky

I look forward to federalism being on a ballot paper with only one vote using a cross allowed

26. shiregirl

Hey Mike

Welcome πŸ˜€

So good to have you with us!

27. Artyhetty

Great stuff. It ‘s our children’s futures at stake here. To even consider living in a country with no real human rights is terrifying. The tories will scrap human rights, as soon as we are dragged out of the EU, if not before.

We must make sure that people are not fooled next time by the unionists on both sides of the border. No they won’t allow Scotland any more powers, no they will absolutely not allow Scotland ro become a federal state. That is their game right now, supposed federalism. Poppycock!

You can just imagine, given that Scotland is treated as a region, and not a country, the protests from the actual regions south of the border if this pretendy federalism was an actual real option. They would cry out for it for their regions, and Scotland would be treated to a regional one size fits all system.

The vow, the Smith commission, the Scotland Act. They took the p**s out of Scotland, have been doing so for over 300 years and will continue to do so. Scotland is their cash cow, I fear they will not give that up without a fight. The unionists may play very dirty next time.

28. Marie Clark

Well it was sure a surprise, but Mike, you are very welcome. Good to have you on board.

As for federalism, it’s not a runner, no time, no how, no way. We’re way, way beyond the point where it might have happened. Next time it’s Scotland v the tories, that’s where the real fight is.

29. Chick McGregor

That’s a great clip of Theresa May they use in those vids, clearly shows she has all the compassion of a Preying Mantis.

30. Bob Sinclair

These Phantom Power ‘Journey to Yes’ videos would look great on the new BBC Scotland channel.

31. Ghillie

Thank you Mike Dailly for being open-minded and changing your view and for having the courage to speak out about it.

THANK YOU PHANTOM POWER FILMS!!

Thank you Rev Stu for bringing this to us = )

It’s interesting to hear folk speak of Independence in terms of the recent past and the short term future.

For me the necessity for Scotland’s Independence spans hundreds of years into the past and for forever into our future.

No matter how marvelous governence of England could one day become there is no excuse for handing over the governing of your own nation to another.

We can, and I hope, will be brilliant and supportive neighbours.

I will be voting YES for Scotland’s Future = )

32. Conan the Librarian

@galamcennalath

Any serving Labour politician defecting now would we welcomed, as they should be.

But would he or she be trusted not to be the rodent running away from the foundering raft of lies that they had previously recommended?

33. Ghillie

Chic Murray @ 6.46 pm

‘That’s a great clip they use of Teresa May in those vids, clearly shows she has all the compassion of a Preying Mantis.’ = )

Chic, when I see Teresa May I see Nosferatu ! = )

34. robertknight

Welcome aboard Mike πŸ™‚

Be sure to bring a friend, or three…

35. Alex Beveridge

I knew Mike Dailly over many years, and considering the work he did for the underpriviliged and most vulnerable in our society, I was astounded when he came out for the No campaign.
    So it’s great to welcome him to our side, where he will be a valuable asset to our campaign, as he is an honest and articulate person.

36. Tom Dailly

It’s to Mike Dailly’s credit that he has not only thought this through but has decided to be so upfront about it. Encouraging news for independence supporters.

37. Ghillie

Artyhetty @ 6.43 pm

Agree totaly!

38. Suzanne

A big welcome to all those who make the journey from No to Yes. It’s great to gather new friends on the road to Independence.

39. Dan Huil

Mike Dailly has made his “conversion” to Yes public. Kudos to him. I hope he has inspired others to do the same.

40. Ghillie

Whoa! = )

Journey to Yes #4 trending on #SLAB17 !!

Tipping point?

(Credit to Wing’s twitter, Phantom Power tweet 58m)

41. robertknight

Gillie says @7:12pm

I just see a Thatcheresque caricature sketched by the artist who did the opening titles of “Yes Minister”.

That, or a Spitting Image puppet of Mrs T brought to life by some new form of Devilry.

42. Macart

All of that!

Spread these far and wide.

Mr Dailly has hit the nail squarely on the head for many who were in his position in 2014. Those who were soft no CAN become a firm YES this time around and I believe his argument is the one that needs to get out and be heard on the doorsteps.

Welcome aboard. πŸ™‚

43. galamcennalath

Conan the Librarian says:

But would he or she be trusted not to be the rodent running away from the foundering raft of lies that they had previously recommended?

All welcome, and they would help persuade other to follow.

Could they be trusted? Their history would show whether you could turn your back on them, or not!

Complete chancers usually crash and burn (politically) eventually IMO.

44. CameronB Brodie

It’s pleasing to see more former No voters using reason, I just hope former Yes voters who object to the EU, do the same. The EU is far from perfect but it poses far less of a threat than Westminster, to the future viability and authenticity of the Scottish nation.

LSE β€˜Europe in Question’ Discussion Paper Series
    Europe: From emancipation to empowerment

It may be objected that the Union has indeed improved the situation of citizens since it has some powers to protect them against the follies of their own governments. The Stability and Growth Pact seeks to make sure that governments behave fiscally responsibly. The serious concern that the Commission has repeatedly expressed over the Orban and Ponta governments underscores the Union’s vigilance with regard to human rights and the rule of law. But what the Union system does here is to add another layer of protection on top of the national system of separation of powers. It extends checks and balances to the transnational sphere. In no manner does this go beyond the constitutional ideas governing the national level*.

https://www.lse.ac.uk/europeanInstitute/LEQS%20Discussion%20Paper%20Series/LEQSPaper60.pdf

* my emphasis

45. Ghillie

robertknight @ 7.32pm = )

Thing is, Scarfe(?) caricature/Yes Minister and Spitting Image Thatcher and DisMay are almost indistinguisable…horribly so…

Some new form of devilry indeed!!

Nosferatu stalks the land. Garlic sales soar.

46. galamcennalath

sinky says:

I look forward to federalism being on a ballot paper with only one vote using a cross allowed

Westminster and the Establishment will never ever allow the UK to become federal.

They like their monarchy with sovereignty and all the power vested in that parliament. A federal state would require half of that sovereignty and power to be moved down permanently to the next level of government. Also, to work it would need England to be split into smaller units so as to achieve balance among the lower level.

Federalism is the opposite of devolution.

Not a snowball in Hell’s chance.

However, that is quite different from politicians talking glibly to the gullible in the hope of causing disruption to the democratic process by an introducing impossible solution. No deceit is to large for some Yoons. So yes, expect them to try it on.

47. JayR

Fine words. Will they actually vote Yes when the day comes? I still have my doubts.

48. Thepnr

@JayR

Care to explain why you doubt those on the videos or are you just at the wind up.

49. A2

I’m a bit worried that John McTernan is going to turn up in one of these.

50. Molly

Been working so just catching up. Can anyone tell me, did anyone ( media wise) ask the Labour hierarchy at the conference today, would this federalism be a UK vote?

You know, like a referendum because Scottish Labour don’t have a mandate to change the UKs constitutional arrangements so how will it work ?

51. Tam Jardine

Excellent series and it is great Mike has joined the SNP and will throw his weight behind Yes. I really admire him for publicly stating his change of position on independence. He will have come in for a fair amount of criticism from former friends and anonymous trolls I am sure.

Anyway – glad he has seen such a hearty welcome from Wingers and the wider Yes community… if we were really all frothing, raving tribalists Mike would be getting nothing but pelters but that is not who we are. It is not what our national movement is about.

Re the films- I see no reason why Phantom Power should not be adopted by the next Yes as THE team for video promo work, PPBs etc. These journey to Yes vids are brilliant and I hope this is a long, long series.

I would love to see a series of short, snappy well made films featuring experts explaining in simple terms some of the strengths of the Scottish economy and debunking some of the main planks of the No campaign that are clearly emerging.

52. Hector

Delighted…just delighted to know Mike Dailly has joined us. Always admired his intellect…heart of a lion….he has much to contribute……much respect, man…..!

53. Robert J. Sutherland

Molly @ 00:00:

Can anyone tell me, did anyone (media wise) ask the Labour hierarchy at the conference today, would this federalism be a UK vote?

A very good question inside a question, but I can’t answer your one, alas.

UKez was saying though on the teatime TV news that their “peoples’ convention” would be a UK-wide affair, so the implication was that after years of arguing the toss in their own little bubble, either Labour would have to be back in UKGov again (like when would that be, then? – more likely instead the Gove Ploy: “not actually in gov, old chap, so dreadful sorry, but can’t possibly deliver”) or the current gov (who that, then?) would have to agree to a referendum that the majority of English folk would then have to vote to accept (=sigh=).

This isn’t punting the indy question into the long grass, it’s firing it off in a rocket into the middle of the Amazonian rain forest!

But getting any TV media folks to ask searching questions of Labour (northern branch office) about how their cunning federal plan is ever going to be made to actually deliver anything significant within the lifetime of our children’s children is perhaps expecting too much of the timorous craturs anyway.

54. Robert Peffers

@Andrew Morton says: 24 February, 2017 at 5:56 pm:

“But GERS!”

I was going to ask, “is that the Fake figures or the fitba team”, but then I realised it was much the same thing, “Fake figures and fake fitba team”.

55. Truth

I’m genuinely glad Mike has seen the light, and he certainly wasn’t the worst of the no side.

It just shows what a missed opportunity the first indyref was.

I wish some of these people would admit that, because most of what they are taking about now as their reason for moving to yes, was explained ad nauseum. If only they’d had an open mind before.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.