2012 in numbers

Posted on December 31, 2012 by

As we predicted a month ago, we’re a little down on page views for December (by just under 9%) on account of the festive break. Instead, then, we thought we might take a couple of lines before 2012 slides into oblivion to briefly look at Wings Over Scotland’s stats for the entire year, minus these last few hours.

150,384 unique visitors
602,805 visits
2,738,618 page views

Seems not too shoddy from a standing start, if we say it ourselves. We’ve got some big plans lined up for 2013, so don’t go anywhere, folks. Thanks so much to all of you for reading, commenting and contributing this year – we’ll see you on the other side of some 10-year-old Macallan. Slainte!

57 to “2012 in numbers”

1. Bill Fraser

Thank you very much for the great work you are doing. Best wishes for the New Year 
    Slainte

Bill Fraser 

2. Juteman

Well done Stu. It’s folk like yourself and other bloggers that will play a major part in the referendum.
    Keep up the good work.
    Balvennie Doublewood is nicer though.
    Slainte.

3. John White

Your site is peerless, a must see every day.

4. John White

Oh, and all the best for 2013!

5. mogabee

Looking forward to 2013 now, will be an exciting year. All the best everyone!

6. David McCann

Great stuff! Keep up the good work. BTW mine’s a Lagavullin, but who’s argueing!!

7. Yesitis

Thanks Rev Stu and WoS, for being one of the healthy lungs allowing us to breathe, when all around is unionist media smog, smear and scaremongering. Sorry, that was a crap analogy, but you get the idea. Anyway, many thanks for sticking to your guns in 2012. 

All the best for 2013.

8. Training Day

Well done Stu, this site will play an increasingly important role in the months to come in countering the dross coming from so called ‘journalists’ in Scotland.

So, with the exception of the charlatans named above, a Happy New Year to all!

9. kininvie

Always my first port of call when looking for interesting analysis to pass on to @Breichsnp followers. Thanks & all the best for 2013

10. Cathy mcRorie

All the best for 2013, looking forward to next year’s articles.

11. Domhnall dods

Bliadhna mhath ur! 
    And thanks for the best blog of 2012 bar none – even with all the footerball guff 🙂 

12. Scott Minto (Aka Sneekyboy)

I’ll echo the Rev’s sentiments…

Happy New Year to All,

And many happy returns!

Heres to a very good year for the independence campaign!!!   

13. Elizabeth

You are doing a great service Stu. More power to your elbow in 2013! Oh and thanks to the regular contributors who brighten my day with their fab insight and analysis. 

14. JLT

Happy New Year, Rev

A brilliant site. Enjoyed many an hour here.

Here’s to a superb 2013!!

All the best everyone

Cheers 

15. FreddieThreepwood

Slainte, Rev!

Good tip for Hogmanay parties … I wear my ‘Yes’ campaign badge – just pointing at it in answer to most questions (including “Are you too drunk to talk?”) will do the trick.

Here’s to the big push in 2013! 

16. pmcrek

Yeah thanks for the great site, first bookmark I hit in the morning now 🙂

17. Tris

Thanks from me too for all the hard work you do in researching and writing your posts. It’s a great site and a must see for every Nationalist.

Slainte 

18. Vronsky

Well done.  Slàinte!

19. David Smillie

Interesting and enjoyable site.  Thanks for all your hard work.  Bliadhna Mhath Ur when it comes.

20. Clarinda

Required reading and study every day – thank you all.

Good humour used wisely is a powerful influence found throughout this and other Independent-minded sites.

Looking forward with great anticipation to 2013.  

21. Galen10

A guid new year to ane an’ a’ An’ mony may ye see, An’ during a’ the years to come, O happy may ye be. An’ may ye ne’er hae cause to mourn, To sigh or shed a tear; To ane an’a baith great an’ sma’ A hearty guid New year. 

22. Liz

Many thanks Rev for the best blog. May 2013 be a great year for you.
    First time commenting but I felt it was high time.

23. muttley79

Well done Rev Stu and Scott in particular.  Great efforts throughout this year lads.  You really have shone an unflattering, but wholly deserved, spotlight on the failings, distortions and fabrications of the mainstream media in Scotland. 

Overall, it has been another interesting year in the Scottish political scene.  The referendum is really coming into focus, particularly with the Edinburgh Agreement.  The media and opposition have been launching scores of personal attacks on Salmond.  Funny that they still won’t say what the positive case for the Union is, or their vision for Scotland’s future (if indeed they have any vision for that matter)… 

Most importantly though, Happy New Year everyone!!

24. Semus

I have it in good authority from the drip drip torture of the Anglo Saxophone(BBC) that there will be no New Year this year, due to our vile sedition.The Mayan calendar was referring to no year 2013 except for Unionists,and in 2014 the oil will run out.In 2015 there will be no more wind for turbines, Trident?Is to blow up the moon and stop any tidal energy. See that’ll teach us.
    Thank you for your insights and news, Much as I detest your energies wasted on football.Yes I am still a wee stupit lassie in your sporting circles
    Semus

25. Franklin

Thanks for an entertaining and informative year! Looking forward to seeing what the new one brings. have a good one!

26. velofello

Well done Rev Stu.
    The merit of your articles have attracted a number of readers who too have provided excellent information and discussion.
    All strength to you.  

27. scottish_skier

Kudos Rev. We are not worthy.

Hope everyone has a great Hogmanay.

With you on the Balvenie there Juteman. 

Slainte. 

28. Aucheorn

I can’t afford to miss WoS, the Rev. and all the Contributors, as every day adds to my knowledge base.
    I’ll echo an auld Scots greetin’ “Lang may yer lum reek wi’ ither fowkies coal.”
    Och, wait a minute that’s whits happenin ower the border the noo.

I’ll see in the year wi’ a 21 year old Dallas Dhu. My best wishes to all.

29. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Well done Rev Stu, keep up the outstanding work.

All the best to everyone for the new year.

30. Aplinal

Not anything to add to the comments already.  Excellent site Rev. and a credit to you and your (small) team of contributors.  My first call in the morning (and a frequent dropper in during the day).

All the very best for 2013: Health, happiness, and prosperity to all 

31. ianbrotherhood

Does anyone else here like Lambrini?
    Cheers all…hic

32. dadsarmy

Happy New Year when it comes, Rev.

Yes. I like this site. As well as the articles, it’s nice to have somewhere to hang out, maybe even take a break from having to push the Independence line on other media sites like Guardian or Herald – or even the Scotsman (it might be improving a little). Recharge the batteries before re-entering the fray, pick up a few arguments and links to use, both from Rev’s articles and fellow posters here.

Maybe try a new idea, and discuss what the political scene might be – I like both Stephen Noon’s articles and the distortions of it, strangely enough, as they make you think – and react. We really could have a vastly different and BETTER political scene in 2016 and beyond. No need to carry on the UK three/four.

Anyway, cup of tea and another homemade mince pie. Perhaps a wee goldie in a few hours …

33. Bill C

Thanks for all your work Rev, you are making a major contribution towards achieving self determination for our nation.  I wish you and yours all the very best for 2013. I am with Juteman and S_S by way,  Balvenie Doublewood takes a bit of beating.

34. Stuart Black

Best blog going, Rev, keep up the great work, and all the very best for 2013. The 18 y-o Macallan is magnificent, pricey though…

35. Juteman

I’ve maybe started on the Doublewood too early, but i’m listening to Bogle already. 🙂

36. dadsarmy

Looks like I’m having a 10 year old Eileandour, where was that hiding?
    Mmm, smell, at last I think I’ve found what it is in my hip flask I’ve been sparing for, cough, years because it’s nectar. Sip (bottle), sip (flask), yay, now I don’t have to spare it any more. Mmmm, nectar, nectar of the Gods.
    I guess that might not be just the one glass later on …

37. Silverytay

Well done Rev , keep up the good work , 2013 is going to be a very interesting year one way or another .  I would just like to take this opportunity to wish yourself and everyone at W.O.S a Happy , Healthy and prosperous New Year , lets hope we are all available to have one big party in 2014 .

38. Jussy

Thanks so much for your work in 2012, it was a real revelation finding you in November.  Your posts are so insightful and it’s a real highlight coming on here to find a new post and some new ammunition!

All the best for 2013 and I’ll raise a Laphroaig to you tonight!

39. mato21

Best wishes to all in the coming year with health a bite in yer belly and a roof ower yer heid 

My toast to you all will be made with the finest ginger wine   

40. Spout

Taing Mhor Rev – your effort and time are much much appreciated.
    All the best for 2013 to all posting & lurking – let’s all ‘walk the walk’ in the coming year and help the scales fall from people’s eyes – once enlightened  – they can never go back 🙂

41. Alex McI

Well done Rev Stu, you have played a blinder this year, Wings has been compelling reading for 2012. Hope you have an even better 2013. Keep it up its brilliant.

42. Robin Ross

Many thanks for your work.  It is a key player in offering a challenge to most of the stuff peddled in the MSM. Not sure where your title comes from, but as a Rev you will be aware that the seraphim had six wings – pairs covering face, hands and ‘feet’. Lots of different interpretations about that last pair – but often regarded as covering the lower part of the body for modesty.  Ironically, your wings tend to expose the bollocks flashed at us by unionist doom-mongers. Looking forward to these wings flapping in 2013! Happy new year.

43. ayemachrihanish

Well done Rev

Enjoy that fine dram

do dheagh shlàinte 

44. mutterings

Many thanks to you, Rev Stu, for the informative articles and to the contributors for the insightful comments. This site has been my first port of call everyday for almost a year.
    Wishing everyone a Happy New Year and a successful campaign year to us all.

45. Richie

“10-year-old Macallan”
    You are a grippy bastard Stu!
    Nice stuff but after all you’ve done this year you should be pouring one of those £100+ bottles I enviously look at in Tesco. If anyone deserves a drink of that stuff it’s you.
    I’ve spent a big part of the year travelling round India and China, had a terrible job, at times, trying to log on to your site (especially in China) but it’s still, I think been the highlight of 2012. I think it even beats seeing the Taj Mahal!
    Many thanks to yourself, Scott and everyone else that have contributed to the site over the last year (including Eric Joyce, and thanks for smacking the tories)

??? ????

khush hona 

?? ?gan bei?

Slainte mhath

Cheers 

46. Patrician

Have a good New Year Rev.  May your deity of choice look after you and yours and the same to everyone else reading this.

47. Alex McI

O/T just been watching only an excuse. A programme which traditionaly satires scottish football , they have spent about 5 mins slaughtering Alex Salmond. The BBC is a feckin abomination. Why on only an excuse. 

48. Juteman

@Alex.
    I was in a house full of folk, so couldn’t hear, but the BBC1 Scotland ‘hogmanay’  prog looked like an Olympics Britfest?

49. ianbrotherhood

Was thinking, as the bells tolled – two years hence, the fireworks will have to be that extra-bit special…then again, we might be too busy celebrating to feel fussed either way. It’s so close…so close I can taste it, and it’s almost like Lambrini (with ice and a dash of lemon) but, somehow, I don’t know, better…
    I may have to develop a taste for some of the aforementioned malts.
    Cheers to the whole fekkin lot of ye’s, nay-sayers included…
    Hoots!
    And hoots again!
    And treble hoots!
    So there!

50. Yesitis

@Alex Mcl
    To be fair to BBC Scotland`s “Only an Excuse” spoof of a comedy programme, they still use Frank McAvennie as a source for their perceived humour; that seemingly  eternal 1989 weegie stylee humour which Scots find oh so hilarious this time of year…puleez, geez a fucking break, eh.

51. Dal Riata

Thanks Stu and WoS for being a shining light of hope and positivity in a land of dark and dreary negativity from the Establishment MSM. May you and Scotland live long and prosper. May the lying and propaganda-ridden Establishment MSM crash and burn.

A wee quick cheers to Scott Minto aka Sneekyboy for his tremendous work ripping apart the devious, deceitful and outright lying articles from the likes of the Guardian – great stuff!

And, of course, a guid New Year tae ane an’ aw’ the BTL contributors on this site!

52. Luigi

Happy New Year Abody! Referendum next year!

53. Laura

Wishing you all a Happy New Year and a big thank you to you Rev for the best blog around.
    Let’s hope the No camp get themselves out the gutter and give us a serious debate – who knows they may even come up with a positive case for remaining in the Union – won’t hold my breath, either way it’s a YES for me in 2014, and a big party at the top of the Conic – all welcome!

54. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“You are a grippy bastard Stu! Nice stuff but after all you’ve done this year you should be pouring one of those £100+ bottles I enviously look at in Tesco.”

http://wingsland.podgamer.com/donate/

55. Bill

Hasnt sm753 got a point of view about this, I miss him.
    All the best. 

56. MajorBloodnok

I was going break out the 12 year old Bunnahabhain last night but never got past the (Scottish) gin and tonic stage.  Anyway, here’s mud in your eye and all the best Rev for the New Year and thanks also to everyone else here!

57. uilleam_beag

Bliadna mhath ur.

I can’t be the only one who looks at those figures and wonders just how many of the 2.74 million individual page views came from my smart phone or laptop. Time well spent, all the same!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.