The parable of the window

Posted on July 02, 2013 by

The first minute is January to May of 2011. From around 1m 12s, the glass represents the next two years’ referendum polling. Julianne Moore plays the parties of the Union. (Jeff Goldblum is the SNP throughout.) Technically speaking nothing changes for quite a prolonged period. Positions are maintained. But something’s happening.

That’s just how we interpret the situation. We could be wrong, of course.

35 to “The parable of the window”

1. ianbrotherhood says:

Rev,

With these seven posts in one day you are really spoiling us.

2. Yesitis says:

They say dinosaurs never really went the way of extinction; instead, some evolved into birds 🙂

Evolution is a wonderful thing.

3. Dave McEwan Hill says:

Some of the birds I have known evolved into elephants

4. G. Campbell says:

The dinosaur is Project Fear. The dog is BBC Jockovision. The boy is Yes Scotland. Magnus Gardham, Tom Peterkin, Eddie Barnes, Simon Johnson and Alan Roden are the fish. Mum and dad are “don’t knows”. The dog wants to build an alliance with the dinosaur. The fish want to swim in the big pool. Mum and dad want more information. The dinosaur agrees to help the fish if the fish will help the dinosaur. The dinosaur wants to eat the boy. The dog gets screwed over by the dinosaur. The CGI dinosaur stops animating as the Tory money dries up. The dinosaur falls in the pool and squishes the fish. The boy lives happily ever after.

5. King of Frogs says:

I thought being cast in that godawful Jurassic Park sequel was harsh enough on Julianne Moore, now you cast her as the unionists? Ouch.

6. scottish_skier says:

But something’s happening.
    Aye.

7. Alex Grant says:

Excellent. So funny I’m going to bed with a smile on my face! In spite of Newsnicht!

8. ianbrotherhood says:

Julianne Moore represents the Unionist parties?

Aye, okay, but she doesn’t represent Jackie Baillie. It would’ve ended at 1min 12 secs otherwise.

9. I always forget Vince Vaughn is in The Lost World

10. Yesitis says:

John Curtice on Newsnight – some polls are better than others.

11. ianbrotherhood says:

@Yesitis-

Curtice is right.

Here’s one:

link to newsnetscotland.com

12. Bill C says:

Talking of dinosaurs and “Project Fear” which is now mainstream, in that it provided much of the focus for tonight’s Newsnight Scotland.  Ian Murray Labour MP, a fully paid up member of the “Project” just had a car crash of an interview at the hands of Gordon Brewer.  Well worth a watch. Also John Curtice  admitted that the YES vote was now anywhere between 38/39% and 44% depending on which poll you look at.  He also said that the YES vote had not moved in the last year.  I’m puzzled by his stats. and summary, but have no doubt we are now moving in the right direction.

13. ianbrotherhood says:

@Craig Gallagher-

‘ I always forget Vince Vaughn is in The Lost World.’

Aye, and Vince Cable’s there as well.

14. Mister Worf says:

So, Goldblum is the SNP. Makes sense, he does good but people seem to dislike him for trivial reasons at times, though there is valid criticism of his performance too. And yes, that’s the unionists in Julianne Moore, not really doing all that much to help herself and staring into the abyss…

Then who was phone?

15. ianbrotherhood says:

We don’t know who the phone was, but Vince was the cable.

16. scaredy cat. says:

Sorry O/T, but this is really good and I wanted to share. Hope this works I’m using my phone to post.
    link to businessforscotland.co.uk

17. Adrian B says:

Then who was phone?

That would be the electorate voting ‘Yes’ in 2014.

18. Bill C says:

Tomorrow’s Telegraph headline says it will take 20 years to fix the UK economy. 20 years too long for Scotland. Vote YES in 2014.

19. Marker Post says:

You’re all so wrong.

The movie was Independence Day, from Project Fear Productions.

The bus is the independence movement, the dinosaurus is the big bad world outside. Jeff Goldblum is David Cameron. The dog (what dog?) is Danny Alexander. Being a dog, his career is very short, whether the bus goes over the cliff or not.

Like all Project Fear Productions, what was intended as a horror movie was interpreted by the public as a comedy.

At the end of the scene, once the cameras stopped rolling, Julianne Moore (Ruth Davidson) let go of Jeff Goldblum’s hand, and plummeted 2 inches to the floor. She then walked off the set, got a proper job, and never heard from Cameron again.

20. ukp42 says:

Off topic, found this cartoon for the new border crossing

link to imgur.com

21. Ivan McKee says:

@Bill C : regarding the Polling data.
    The answer is that when the headline polling data is published they don’t exclude the Don’t Knows.

So for example a poll result of NO 50%; YES 32% ; Don’t Know 18% actually means NO 61%; YES 39% when you exclude the Don’t Knows.

This is completely different from the way they report Party Voting intention Polls where they ALWAYS exclude the Don’t Knows before publishing the result.

(The only reason I can think of for this is that it allows them to trumpet a lower YES % in the headline).

When you actually look at all the Polls over the past 6 months (since the Referendum Question was agreed) they all give remarkably similar results when you exclude the Don’t Knows of around NO 62%; YES 38%. This was also exactly the same result that the Glasgow Uni vote came in at as well.

There was a slight wobble down to around  35% when we took an (unnecessary)  battering in the Press on Pensions/Currency a few weeks ago, but then it bounced back.

The only exception is PanelBase which consistently gives a YES vote of 44% (compared to around 37% for the other polling companies).

There is a bit of work going on to try and understand why the Panelbase methodology is different : There are a couple of theories about that : but one thing Panelbase do do as part of their questioning is to ask respondents how they voted in SG 2011 (this serves as a check to make sure your sample contains the right mix of people from different party political persuasions).

The results of this check show that the Panebase sample is reflective of the % who voted for each party in SG2011, so that suggests their sample mix is accurate : That is good news.

So despite the anecdotes we all have from real life the headline polls are remarkably flat and ain’t moving at all.

I think the answer to this (if you read what Stephen Noon for example says) is that the headline polling doesn’t pick up someone moving from a Firm No to a Soft No or from a Soft No to a ‘very wobbly/but not quite sure its OK to say YES yet’ position.

The YES/SNP internal polling / canvassing ranks respondents on a scale of 1 – 10 so you can see the movement along the scale in a more subtle way.

I’m not party to that internal polling data but what I hear is that there is quite a bit of moving along the scale with people shuffling towards Yes but without committing yet.

In other words the window tipping point analogies the Rev gives is a pretty good reflection of reality.

At some point we should see a leap in YES in the headline polls : at that point it gets very interesting.

Hope that helps.

22. john king says:

“Some of the birds I have known evolved into elephants”

ahhh ha ha ha ha ha ha ha hah ahaaaa 
    I might just know those birds

23. Alastair wright says:

Who is the phone? Scotland’s MSM, they’re already in free fall!

24. Desimond says:

Dont forget the big steaming pile of shite in Jurassic Park, definetely reminds me of a few No campaign links.

John Curtice must be a Pterodactyl…mad unwanted swawker who turns up for no apparent reason ( A discussion on Negative Campiagning – lets get Curtices thoughts?)…eventually we get birds like the Kingfisher…and Curtice does remind me of Professor Yaffle from Bagpuss.

25. kininvie says:

Although I have no idea what the cumulative results look like, the polling cards using the 1-10 scale are interesting to use. The ‘definites’ of course go straight for 1 or 10. Among the ‘don’t knows’ very few people seem to choose 2,3, or 4, or 8/9 for that matter. Answers clump around 5/6/7, almost always with the suggestion that ‘more information’ will push them up the scale a wee bit.

26. Chic McGregor says:

Does anyone believe the parable of the Prodigal Sun?

27. Chic McGregor says:

@Yes it is
    “John Curtice on Newsnight – some polls are better than others.”

Yep.  Best to continually quote independence support from one where independence options (2 out of 6 available) contain references to Europe and separation.

28. Bill C says:

@Ivan McKee -Thanks Ivan very helpful, much obliged.

29. jake says:

Last night on Newsnight we were given two contradictory statements from two different people as to the origins of the term “Project Fear” as used in the current independence debate. One of the commentators was either wrong/mistaken/in error….in which case he should be told……or he was being deliberately dishonest…..in which case we should be told.

Can anyone provide the actual evidence of first use?

30. Adrian B says:

@ Jake,

link to twitter.com

Blair Jenkins is correct on origins of Project Fear label. Mentioned by Better Together in @newsunday herald report a week past Sunday.

31. Desimond says:

Jake…there was actually 2 YES folk saying it originated at NO HQ…Ian Murray then tried to say it was a a nasty jibe from the YES campaign…no-one believes a word he says when he offers support, bar the Orange Order and Rangers of course

32. Tearlach says:

Jake – it was in the Sunday Herald – They tweeted last night “Blair Jenkins is correct on origins of Project Fear label. Mentioned by Better Together in @newsunday herald report a week past Sunday” @ 12:24

33. Albert Herring says:

Project Fear first seen here I believe
    link to heraldscotland.com

34. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

Then who was phone?

That would be the electorate voting ‘Yes’ in 2014.”

Actually, the phone represents an as-yet-unknown tipping point. It could be anything. It could be the “Project Fear” revelation, or something that hasn’t happened yet, but which when it does acts as the straw that breaks the camel’s back and sees opinion turn conclusively Yes-wards.

35. Andy-B says:

Theres a “Break Through” hopefully it will be for the YES camp, but Jeff Goldblum, shouts “Hang on to something” and of course the unionists or as their better known “Project Fear”, are trying to hang on to Scotland, but remarkably Goldblum (SNP) actually saves Julianne Moore (Unionist), maybe it will be that way after independence, Scotland will end up saving Westminsters arse, who ironic.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,718 Posts, 1,213,998 Comments

• Young Lochinvar on Signal and noise: “I thought the telling bit on the TV was when SHE who shall not be named love-honey was quoted hoping…Mar 12, 23:57
    • sarah on Signal and noise: “The problem is that most people haven’t heard about Salvo and the Liberation Movement. Even an ex-MSP of the Highlands…Mar 12, 22:03
    • lindsay on Signal and noise: “By extension this has to be the best discription ever of what today passes as Scottish “parliament”Mar 12, 21:55
    • Nae Need! on Signal and noise: “Of course there’s only ONE side cloaking the debate. The ones wearing cloaks, real and figurative.Mar 12, 21:40
    • Nae Need! on Signal and noise: “Couldn’t agree more, Lorn.Mar 12, 21:35
    • sarah on Signal and noise: ““Because it’s a waste of time. You cannot declare independence…unless you’ve had some sort of democratic event demonstrating that it…Mar 12, 21:28
    • Nae Need! on The evolution of fairness: “I don’t agree with everything you say, but I do agree with some. See the last sentence, can we change…Mar 12, 21:10
    • Mark Beggan on Signal and noise: “All aboard!! The last train to Wokeseville leaving from platform Scotland. All aboard!Mar 12, 20:58
    • Mark Beggan on Signal and noise: “Generations of inbreeding.Mar 12, 20:48
    • Nae Need! on The evolution of fairness: “IF there are any changes they’ll be the type of changes that remain the same.Mar 12, 20:42
    • Nae Need! on The evolution of fairness: “Undoubtedly. There is always more. This is the REDACTED parliament, after all. But I don’t think it’s what YL says.…Mar 12, 20:36
    • Southernbystander on Signal and noise: “Yes I am sure you are right that in fact it is a very narrow set of ‘communities’ being referenced…Mar 12, 20:35
    • Nae Need! on The evolution of fairness: ““I cannot understand why Stuart Campbell has chosen to ignore organisations like SALVO and Liberation.Scot consisting of dedicated independence supporters…Mar 12, 20:14
    • George Ferguson on Signal and noise: “Agreed. Young people have no understanding of Scotland of the past. Social migration was there for working class Scottish people…Mar 12, 20:13
    • Hatey McHateface on Signal and noise: ““transgender and nonbinary people contribute immensely to the wellbeing of Scotland’s communities” You need to focus on the communities that…Mar 12, 19:52
    • lorn on Signal and noise: “The ‘trans’ lobby utilizes these individual cases at huge public cost in order to wear down women. Simple as that.…Mar 12, 19:49
    • Nae Need! on The evolution of fairness: “They’re not stupid. They are richer. And the deal they made with their ‘lack of conscience’ bothers them not one…Mar 12, 19:49
    • Nae Need! on The evolution of fairness: “Indeed. It’s certainly interesting (to me, at least) how Tommy has been scrutinised by both Peter A Bell AND Wings…Mar 12, 19:33
    • Nae Need! on The evolution of fairness: ““And they would turn Scotland into a extreme left wing authertarian hellhole And they would make trump look like an…Mar 12, 19:29
    • sarah on Signal and noise: “OK that’s me put off my dinner. Holyrood is sickening and Sturgeon having the gall to open her mouth and…Mar 12, 19:22
    • lorn on Signal and noise: “The rights of these men to enter female spaces? Is there such a right? Don’t think so, Scott K.Mar 12, 19:19
    • Lorn on Signal and noise: “That Vic Valentine, Scottish Trans Manager, Equality Network, stated that his organization makes sure that people in public and private…Mar 12, 19:15
    • Southernbystander on Signal and noise: “‘The Parliament believes that transgender and nonbinary people contribute immensely to the wellbeing of Scotland’s communities’, say the Greens. Eh?Mar 12, 19:11
    • Chris on Signal and noise: “Without wishing to stress the obvious here, but isn’t the simple way to stop this nonsense to elect more Tory…Mar 12, 19:08
    • Hatey McHateface on Signal and noise: “The entire stooshie is looking and sounding most unfortunately WHITE, WHITE, WHITE. I’m not a big fan of the BROWN,…Mar 12, 18:28
    • twathater on The evolution of fairness: “To use your example of IT being a waste of time, you used your knowledge and dedication to produce the…Mar 12, 18:14
    • agent x on Signal and noise: ““Speaking to reporters ahead of the debate on a rare appearance at the Scottish Parliament, Ms Sturgeon said: “I think…Mar 12, 17:52
    • KT Lorimer on Signal and noise: “The tranny dickheads are still in charge SNP amendment passed all is well in la la land.Mar 12, 17:40
    • A2 on Signal and noise: “At least misogyny and transmisogyny are seperate things now… progress!Mar 12, 16:30
    • KT Lorimer on Signal and noise: “No they are not – this is nothing to do with people who have been diagnosed with dysphoria and chose…Mar 12, 16:25