More audience participation

Posted on May 19, 2014 by

We already know that we have the most awesome and creative readers in the land, but this morning we’re going to give you a chance to demonstrate it yet again.

covers

(Don’t worry, you won’t need your credit cards.)

We’re currently working on a particularly excellent project, which will hopefully be ready very soon but about which we can’t give you any more details at this stage. However, we need some stuff for that project, and that’s where you can help.

We want 18 images. Nine of them have to depict some aspect of the Yes campaign, and nine of them the No campaign. They have to be in portrait format (ie taller than they are wide), and very roughly newspaper-sized in proportion, so we’ve suggested a couple of examples above, one representing each side.

But any kind of image goes – it can be a picture of a person, a cartoon, an original graphic, a chart, or anything else. All that matters is that it sums up some aspect of the campaign, that it’s the right shape, and that it looks good.

We’ve got a few ideas of our own, but we’d like to see yours. Go for it.

180 to “More audience participation”

1. kendomacaroonbar says:

Boz, If only I can find the article *I swear* I read stating if Scotland achieved Independence it wouldn’t be allowed to call itself Scotland.. and it wasn’t BBC Scotlandshire !

2. Bugger (the Panda) says:

Hamish and the “divorce” from the drunken lout cartoon by Chris Cairns maybe juxtaposed with Osborne’s greetin face at Maggie’s Memorial with a judicious text below him

3. Donald Kerr says:

Positive Yes!

link to twitter.com

4. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“Hamish and the “divorce” from the drunken lout cartoon by Chris Cairns”

“PORTRAIT FORMAT”. “TALLER THAN THEY ARE WIDE”.

5. Jimbo says:

Not exactly the NO campaign but a NO campaigner:

“Johann Lamont’s speech about Scotland’s ‘something for nothing’ culture reminds ex-Labour voters why they defected”

link to theguardian.com

6. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“Johann Lamont’s speech about Scotland’s ‘something for nothing’ culture reminds ex-Labour voters why they defected”

A speech isn’t an image.

7. john says:

How about this one for YES? The last remaiming figure in the wall is of course England.
    pic.twitter.com/jN1EO5IHdV

John

8. Duncan says:

How do you want them? Via email, or posted here via link?

9. Jimbo says:

“Scottish independence: Sectarianism fears as Orange Order to march in Edinburgh against Yes vote”

link to independent.co.uk

10. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“How do you want them? Via email, or posted here via link?”

A link seems the easiest way, but anything will do.

11. Jim Thomson says:

link to img23.imageshack.us

12. John White says:

link to twitter.com

Picture of Miriam in YES gear with thumbs up w UKOK sticker on car in background.

13. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“Scottish independence: Sectarianism fears as Orange Order to march in Edinburgh against Yes vote”

“PORTRAIT FORMAT”. “TALLER THAN THEY ARE WIDE”.

14. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/8351/starkeyhitler.jpg”

Something that looks nice.

15. Tamson says:

For the No side: any shot of Nigel Farage girning

16. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“How about this one for YES? The last remaiming figure in the wall is of course England.
    pic.twitter.com/jN1EO5IHdV”

“PORTRAIT. FORMAT.”

“TALLER. THAN. THEY. ARE. WIDE.”

17. Away the farmers! says:

Not the snazziest of images

link to 4.bp.blogspot.com Johann+Lamont+Genetically+Prgrammed+Decisions.png

• Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

‘Not the snazziest of images”

So just one out of three criteria, then?

“All that matters is that it sums up some aspect of the campaign, that it’s the right shape, and that it looks good.”

I swear you’re all just trying to get me to burst a blood vessel this morning as a prank, folks.

18. Votadini Jeannie says:

Spoiled for choice of nasty No posters on this FB page:

link to facebook.com

19. caz-m says:

This pic would put you off your lunch.

It’s Ed Balls and George Osborne hand in hand on the sofa.

link to 3.bp.blogspot.com

20. Morag Graham Kerr says:

I just saw this on Munguin, and loved it.

link to 1.bp.blogspot.com

Munguin has a metric ton of fantastic images, come to think of it.

21. Gaavster says:

Have a rummel about here Stu, myself and a pal been saving loads of images for posterity

link to pinterest.com

22. Oneironaut says:

I’ll see what I can do 🙂

What’s the time limit on this?

23. Jimbo says:

link to picasaweb.google.com

24. Brotyboy says:

Great parody here;

25. Jamie Arriere says:

Got to have ‘Klan Alba’

link to notthesingularity.com

26. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

‘What’s the time limit on this?”

Sooner the better 🙂

27. Brainblunttotal says:

This about sums up why we wish to leave for me link to t.co

28. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“https://picasaweb.google.com/106091106726005563972/May192014#slideshow/6015088439730969010”

“Sorry, that page was not found.”

29. Ian Brotherhood says:

Here’s a belter of Danny Alexander. Bet his granny doesn’t have this one on the mantelpiece…

link to i.telegraph.co.uk

30. Lynn MacRae says:

I have an image on my phone but cant work out how to attach it. Can anybody help? Samsung Galaxy S3. Ta.

31. Brainblunttotal says:

link to t.co

Just a few of my own

32. Cath says:

There is one image that entirely sums up the NO campaign for me. This one:

link to upload.wikimedia.org

33. Chic McGregor says:

Portrait format, great. Should be lots of output for Kirrie Aye TV (and other Yes shops with window monitors).

34. MochaChoca says:

The map on pg 3 of this report:

link to ons.gov.uk

contrasted with the map on pg 3 of this report:

link to ons.gov.uk

35. Roll_On_2014 says:

ATOS – Get the real scroungers

link to pbs.twimg.com

36. Carol Anderson says:

I’ve got a few good ones on my tablet but not sure how to post them here?

37. Breastplate says:

What about a picture of a landscape in a portrait format?
    Just kidding 🙂

38. Proud Cybernat says:

Hi Stu,

My 2p’s worth (all portrait):

link to scottcreighton.co.uk

39. K8ie says:

How about the Economist’s Skintland? 14/4/2012.
    link to bellacaledonia.org.uk

40. Chic McGregor says:

I’ve had an idea for one targeting women voters but don’t know when I’ll get time to work on it.

41. Edward says:

Slightly O/T
    Just spotted something strange on Better Together’s Facebook
    page with the number of likes have leapt by 2458 since 17th May. Why its strange is the average that they increase is around 527 !

I smell something dodgy going on with these creeps

I do recall some friends who were not supporters of the Better Together campaign by any stretch of the imagination, finding themselves as a ‘like’

42. Lewy Tee Bee says:

I was going to be knocking up a “jam tomorrow” picture anyway so may as well put the finished result here!

Hopefully turns out the way I want it to 🙂

43. Roll_On_2014 says:

Aly Carmichael

Braveheart

44. Breastplate says:

There were a few pictures of kids on their dads’ shoulders at the last rally that I thought were great.
    This is after all for the younger generation and all generations to come. No link but I’m sure somebody else will have one.

45. James123 says:

Here’s one I made earlier Rev

link to i.imgur.com

Relating to Ian Davidson’s “bayonet” remark.

46. heedtracker says:

link to theguardian.com

This one?

47. heedtracker says:

Typically Scottish Scots

link to theguardian.com

48. Craig Brown says:

Jo La’s Speech.. image.. portrait

49. caz-m says:

All good things start with a YES.

link to yesscotland.net

50. Craig Brown says:

Trident cost per day:

link to 2.bp.blogspot.com

51. desimond says:

The Kid on Calton Hill with Saltire
    Sunday Scottish Swastika

Simple but says it all.

52. Dinnatouch says:

No picture I’m afraid, but possibly an idea for one of your more artistic readers.

I thought of a cartoon book cover, the book to be called “The Big Book Of Unionist Scare Stories”. The cover features a be-kilted Scot being chased away from a polling booth by a John Bull type figure, with speech bubbles featuring the words ‘Currency!’ ‘Mortgages!’ ‘Europe!’ etc.

If not for your own project Rev, it’d still make a good image to share on social media.

53. dodecostanza says:

A banner I saw at the rally in September

[IMG]http://i60.tinypic.com/5nkef4.jpg[/IMG]

54. dodecostanza says:

link to i60.tinypic.com

Try again with the link

55. Camilla Kaczinski says:

This cartoon by the madly talented Kate Madigan
    link to madiganillustration.com
    Frontpage (The Courier – Tayside Families Going Hungry)
    link to dy1m18dp41gup.cloudfront.net
    Ths one made me giggle. (Wickes ad, I hope it’s genuine)
    link to chipshopawards.com
    This flyer for a debate is rather poignant. “How can we create a healthier Scotland in the age of Austerity”. Not just an age of austerity. THE age of austerity.
    link to biowrite.files.wordpress.com

I’ll give it a think.

56. Bill Oliphant says:

Here are a couple of recent covers of Yes Clydesdale’s Aye Magazine.

link to dropbox.com

57. galamcennalath says:

A search around. Not easy to find portrait ….

link to twitter.com

These could be cropped to portrait without loss of meaning …..

link to twitter.com

http://bellacaledonia.files.wordpress.com/2013/09/independence-march-rally-2013-008-1024×768.jpg

link to bellacaledonia.files.wordpress.com

58. indigo says:

saw this on facebook yesterday and thought it was very impactful link to facebook.com

59. desimond says:

2 Pandas at Rally
    1 David Mundell

60. Dr JM Mackintosh says:

You have to have a Lady Alba picture – perhaps from her “Nuclear Love” song. She is just a great asset for Scotland.
    On the No side – how about that Daily Mail nutter – Melanie Phillips.
    They would make an interesting contrast – intelligent, beautiful and funny versus stupid, bitter and twisted.

61. Jamie Arriere says:

God, this is hard. Any search for photos are 95% landscape.

link to alturl.com

62. desimond says:

A picture of poor wee Susan Calman and her alleged threats

The Daily Mail cover vilifying weirdos from Bath

63. JPFife says:

I don’t know if it’s portrait or not but the cartoon, can’t remember which paper, where the question was Should Scotland Go F*ck itself.

And what about screen shots of your last crowd funding campaign showing total passed within eight hours or so?

64. desimond says:

The Bedroom Tax
    Anas Sarwar lecturing wannabe Entrepreneurs in Pakistan

65. willie says:

Im sure your resident cartoonist could help. Early 1970,s I saw full page advert depicting a caricature of an oil rig with the large words below
    PROOF THAT GOD IS AN ENGLISHMAN
    Cant remember the newspaper bloody enraged me.

66. Wee_monsieur says:

Breastplate @ 12:13 pm

What about a picture of a landscape in a portrait format?
    Just kidding 🙂

Actually laughed out loud at that!

67. JGedd says:

Don’t know if this fits?

68. Meindevon says:

@indigo 12.45.

Thanks for that! Not seen it before.

Makes you think.

69. Gavin says:

Mmm maybe this will help

link to pbase.com

70. scottish_skier says:

Just to make sure people are aware.

Yesterday’s SoS ICM poll must be discounted. It asked indyref related questions ahead of asking the indy question, namely how comfortable / uncomfortable people were in being asked referendum VI.

Unsurprisingly, this made respondents uncomfortable about pollster motivations resulting in Yes dropping and no rising in those groups who felt most uncomfortable giving an indy ref intention. Most obvious among female respondents, but male hit too; that’s mainly what cause the mysterious gap increase.

ICM said last month they ‘feel’ that No should be higher and that they believed their was a shy No vote. This had alarms bells ringing for anyone who follows polls; no pollster should be using their own gut feelings which are likely to be based on their own bias/political preferences.

Well, it looks like they looked for a shy No and created / highlighted a Shy Yes. The leading pre-indy Q and implications seems to have been hushed up by them and Prof. C; I can’t see anything in the latter’s blog about this yet he was all over the SNP when they had ‘leading’ Q’s ahead of the indy Q in a poll last year.

ICM can’t be trusted it would seem, which is quite shocking.

tables:

link to icmresearch.com

Also ICM have 7% to many people from England again, further skewing results. Panelbase the most demographically representative sample.

71. katie vee says:

Vonny Moyes pic in the herald of the Anti-UKIP poster.

72. a supporter says:

Lots of good Indy supporting cartoons in Leithal Yak link to norrie.wordpress.com

73. Capella says:

What about the Business for Scotland maps showing where the wealth is generated as a positive, or the life expectancy as a negative?

link to businessforscotland.co.uk

74. call me dave says:

@scottish_skier

Thanks for this post,on behalf of many visiting this site, your critical examination and dissemination of the data and procedures applied are much appreciated. 🙂

75. desimond says:

Help The Aged
    Help Me Rona

76. call me dave says:

Wasn’t listening clearly but I’m sure Dave just said that in the event of a ‘NO’ vote “Scotland will get Rockall”!

Is that a Devo dividend? 🙂

77. desimond says:

A picture of Saffron Dickson wih passion in her heart.
    A picture of a young William Hague with Thatcher

78. a supporter says:

The Noble Lord Haw Haw of Nato and Russia pic.twitter.com/99Sqa5Xsv9

79. laukat says:

@Scottish_Skier

Is it not very odd that the old age category that Yes lead in is the 55-64 demographic? I might be wrong but I’ve never seen that group in favour of Yes in any other poll and its not one that I would think of being a bastion of pro-independence support

Also Glasgow is the only region were its close. Again this seems odd in comparison with other polls.

Are the attributable to the shyness factor or am I miss reading the tables?

80. desimond says:

David Cameron backing Gary Barlow
    The vilification of the Weirs

81. A picture of “Rhu Narrows” and/or the Gare Loch (PRE-FASLANE).?

Has anyone access to pre-Faslane Sea Charts.?

82. desimond says:

Just realised thats 2 against the NO campaign there. It gets so hard to tell.

The White Paper

Devo Max – The White Elephant

83. Muscleguy says:

@call me dave
    Seconded.

I knew there had to be shenanigans like that. Curtice has gone further down in my estimation. I prefer Poultice over on BBC Scotlandshire, more honest.

84. Fairliered says:

Magnus the Viking
    From “Largs & Millport Weekly News” facebook page

link to facebook.com

85. Chris Welton says:

@kendomacaroonbar The piece which you saw is in the NC (last year):
    link to nationalcollective.com

86. heraldnomore says:

Late to this party Stu, and haven’t had the time to view all the links everyone’s put forward. As mentioned above Munguin’s the man for the graphics; and some good ones at BfS too.

Here’s a few I saved at various times:

Oh sod it, I’ll need to try and attach to an email…

87. Ross says:

Plenty of decent ones over at:

link to indyposterboy.info

The ones one these pages are especially good:

88. Derek Hunter says:

I think this is a good image for a logical outcome lol

link to facebook.com

89. Chic McGregor says:

Did a quick rework on oor march banner design.

link to i51.photobucket.com

90. wee e says:

I want Donald Dewar’s words from a 1996 TV debate:
    “Why is it, when there are powers presently exercised by Westminster, you think that’s fine, but when those powers are passed to Scots, you think they cannot be trusted to take sensible decisions?”
    But I don’t know what visuals that would be with. Dave, George, Nick, Ed and a bunch of ermine vermin?

I’d also like pictures of wee tots with captions like “Scotland’s ambassador to Brazil, 2038”; or “Got her dream job without emigrating, 2031”; “Scotland’s Olympic team 2032”; “Graduated debt-free in 2034”; “Scotland’s head of European Commission, 2060”.

91. liz says:

There’s lots on Munguins Republic which are very good.

Trying one first to see if this links

92. Found a link via (NLS) National Library of Scotland to ADMIRALTY SEA CHARTS-2159 – Depicting “Rhu Narrows”.

Unfortunately it is only available in Landscape mode.
    Sorry if time was wasted.

93. Chic McGregor says:

How about something like this recent T-shirt one alongside another “JUST THANK ME, I VOTED YES” version with a smiley, smiley?

94. Darkness says:

here are 2
    link to facebook.com

95. liz says:

Ok that worked, so some more,

link to 4.bp.blogspot.com

96. desimond says:

Contrasting Images

Tall trees

Mushrooms

Im sure you get the imagery

97. Fay Sinclair says:

The “Skintland” magazine cover for the No side.

98. desimond says:

Kevin McKidd – A YES Scot doing very well over there
    John Barrowman -A right “Captain Jack” – as per Billy Joels lyrics, over here!

BTW…I know it isnt Portrait and i know i dont have a counter but just try and look at this without thinking “God help us!”

link to news.bbcimg.co.uk

99. desimond says:

A Wee Ginger Dug and a wee Kezia Dugdale

I think a simple text one would work

large letters : HOPE
    vs
    Small letters : FEAR

100. liz says:

I think I’m in moderation because I posted to many links, so I’ll try again with one for each post.

You can delete the one in moderation.

101. liz says:

One more

102. liz says:

Last one.

103. Truth says:

Can I just ask if all the people complaining of missing posts ever logged on and commented on VNB’s website?

I seem to have detected more people complaining since then.

I never posted to their site and have never had a post go missing on Wings.

104. Fay Sinclair says:

And this pic of my 2yr old campaigning on.Dunfermline High Street to secure a Yes vote for his future.link to fay4yes.files.wordpress.com

Shame these are landscape link to fay4yes.wordpress.com

105. Betty Boop says:

@John 11.26am

That image says “freeeeedom”! Not portrait though 🙁

106. braco says:

Hi rev,
    do you have an email I could send you the perfect companion NO image for Morag’s cracker at

I have it as a jpeg but dont have any way to upload it in order to create a link for you (sorry). Its of Micheal Fish beside the 1979 BBC weathermap with outline accurate UK map superimposed over the top to show only Scotland was diminished by at least one third! Had my parents up in arms and very effective.

107. boglestone says:

I’ve gone for minimal – link to imgur.com

108. Kenny says:

109. liz says:

I had some problems including comments disappear or saying ‘duplicate post’ and pages posting dozens of times on top of each other and I could only stop that by pressing the close button on my computer a few weeks back but not recently.

The strangest thing that happened after that was I posted a link to Wings on one of the MSM papers and when anyone clicked on that, it linked straight on to a post that I had made – I thought that was a bit ‘spooky’.

I did look at VNB once or twice but I can’t remember if it was before or after the problems.

110. Darkness says:

link to facebook.com

111. liz says:

@Truth – I was just responding to you when my post disappeared.

112. liz says:

Try again – I clicked on the web site you mentioned a couple of times and did experience comments disappearing on here or saying duplicate but I’m not sure if it was before or after.

I was explaining what happened when my post disappeared.

113. liz says:

I mentioned that I had posted a link to WOS on an MSM, which went straight to a comment I had made instead of to the top of the article I was referring to.

114. liz says:

Apologies – the post has now appeared.

115. Darkness says:

link to facebook.com

116. Grendel says:

How do you post an image on here?

• Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“How do you post an image on here?”

You can’t, sadly. You have to post a link.

117. Camz says:

My little effort:

link to i.imgbox.com

118. desimond says:

Hows about a simple Compare and Contrast

NORWAY

vs

NO WAY

119. Murray McCallum says:

The Daily Express Scottish v UK edition front pages on the pensions black hole makes a good image. Challenges people to think about what they are told.

link to grousebeater.wordpress.com

I like the “too wee?” map that shows land + sea split between Scotland, Wales, N.Ireland and England. It challenges basic perceptions about Scotland. Sorry, can’t find where I downloaded the image from!

The “cost of university in the EU” map is informative. England’s cost of Uni education is odd in Europe and it would appear they resent people living in Scotland not being charged tuition fees.

link to one-europe.info

120. liz says:

@Grendel – right click on the image, copy shortcut and paste below comment.

121. orri says:

Either a female sheep or the UKIP hand on the left of the page, Farage on the right. Subtitle it You Cock.

122. Murray McCallum says:

The “too wee?” map I referred to (I hope).

link to twitter.com

Maybe also fits in with an item on the secret NE sea boundary changes.

123. Kestral says:

link to pinterest.com

Morag Graham Kerr

These are amazing

Grow some baws and vote aye

Brilliant lol

124. Murray McCallum says:

Ahem … apologies for other inappropriate image in that “too wee?” search.

125. cathy says:

Did that work?

126. Chic McGregor says:

@Desimond
    Stuart posted that on twitter. I did another experimental foray into twitter and posted, I think that it was a remake of Titanic and that Wullie Rennie must be standing on something – unlike his party. But haven’t the foggiest if anyone saw it.

127. Truth says:

Thanks Liz

I’m maybe being paranoid, but I don’t trust the whole VNB thing.

128. desimond says:

O/T In case anyone missed it first time around etc etc

@iainmacwhirter : Don’t tell anyone but you can watch Bafta-nominated Road to Referendum here goo.gl/LsZveM

129. crisiscult says:

Excuse my lack of skill on art software. Maybe someone can improve this but here’s my contribution to the message I’d want to get out to people for Yes.

link to goo.gl

130. desimond says:

@Murray McCallum

Why dont they show Gibraltar as Free Eductaion? Happy proud Tour Guide I met there smiled when he heard my Scottish voice and said “Ah Scotland, you are they same as us, You believe that children should be able to go to University and everyone benefits!”

Gibraltar give ( or did at least a few years ago) each child a grant to go learn and then come back improving the standards for all etc

131. Stuart Black says:

My favourite Christ Cairns ‘toon, Hamish in the balloon with scissors, cutting through the weights marked “Too Wee”, “Too Poor”, and “Too Stupid”. Portrait format too. 🙂

132. Stuart Black says:

There’s also a belter of the “noble” Lord Robertson dressed up like a turkey that was doing the rounds last week, I think on Twitter. Certainly a single image that would persuade me to vote Yes, on the grounds that I do not want to be part of a society that takes this shit seriously! 😉

133. Murray McCallum says:

If the referendum is about where ultimate power lies and who makes decisions, this is a neat summary of what many people think of Westminster:

link to twitter.com

A good presentation of the Scotland v UK pension misreporting:

link to twitter.com

UKOK and Trident

link to twitter.com

The UK ank bailout myth in a graph:

link to twitter.com

134. Murray McCallum says:

Desimond

Interesting about Gibraltar education. I tried zooming the map – difficult to tell if it is coloured blue (free).

135. Dannybaws says:

here’s an idea (unfortunately I don’t have the time to make it right now)

Gary Wilson – co-ordinator for the No campaign in the Edinburgh
    East Labour party

Alex Lunn – councillor for Craigentinny & Duddingston ward in Edinburgh

… (list some more folk who have converted to a yes votes, sure there is a lib dem and a tory)

Then list results of debates in universities etc (there are many) and on that episode of newsnight Scotland, before and after.

Finally state that ‘we can’t think of any cases which are the opposite of this’ and ask ‘why do you think that is?’

or something along the lines

136. David says:

Predator alien wearing a kilt:

link to grousebeater.files.wordpress.com

137. StevieMcB says:

One for Rev Stu.

link to onedrive.live.com

138. Proud Cybernat says:

That Daily Fail headline should actually read “18.09.14 Vote No – The Day We Can Make Scotland History.”

139. Brian Nicholson says:

link to lh3.googleusercontent.com

Simple but effective

140. Dinnatouch says:

The British Isles viewed from space, versus the British Isles viewed from the BBC weather map

141. JLT says:

It depends on how you are going to use it, Stuart.

If it’s for Billboards, then the simplest message is two pictures with no words except ‘Union’ and ‘Independence’. One half of the billboard says ‘Union’ and depicts a run down area within Scotland, while the ‘Indy’ side shows something like a bunch of happy kids running to a new school. Another might be empty shipyards under the Union, while the Indy side shows the building of ships. All positive messages!

If it was for a book, then you would want facts (as some of the guys have done above). Myth busting claims such as the recent one in the Scottish Daily Mail (sure it was the Mail) where they claimed Pensions would be better in the UK, but in the UK edition, it claimed ALL our UK Pensions were going to hell. Things like that where the BT mob couldn’t deny it since the media had ACTUALLY published it, will make folk think twice.

Part of the problem is (and I’m sure you get it on a daily basis) is that folk say ‘give me the facts’ …well, what better way than to blow the media’s own facts right out of the water by showing people 2 contrasting headlines. If you can get the vast majority of people to become suspicious and question the media, then it moves everyone in the right direction. It may just have the ‘normal’ folk out there who have not really engaged wonder if the UK government is being straight with them. Sow the seeds of doubt and who knows!

Hope this helps.

142. crisiscult says:

@JLT

Definitely makes a big difference where they’re being used. I’d like to see something like these from Chomsky, pulling no punches about the media:

If we choose, we can live in a world of comforting illusion

or

Any dictator would admire the uniformity and obedience of the media.

or

Citizens of the democratic societies should undertake a course of intellectual self defense to protect themselves from manipulation and control

143. Flooplepoop says:

link to scontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net

144. StevieMcB says:

Might work this time
    link to vyoizw.dm2302.livefilestore.com

145. teechur says:

Spotted these…

Colour: link to flickr.com
    Mono: link to flickr.com

146. Diane says:

Proud Cybernat at 12.15pm – think you have just been identified! Just saying.

147. tartanpigsy says:

A couple of old ones from the rallies last year and 2012

link to facebook.com

I know there on FB but as can’t post images.

Thanks again to the artists involved.

incidentally, will be 2 years since first demo at PQ next weekend, there we were naively asking for a

“An open honest debate on Scotland’s future”

that panned out well eh! A pic of the day still on the excellent ‘Exposing’ page (in landscape of course)

link to facebook.com

148. geeo says:

link to fixyblog.files.wordpress.com

Bit old, but well loved all the same.

149. Caroline Corfield says:

oh, what about the newspaper thing where Alex Salmond and David Cameron were both given two pages to ‘state’ their case, and Cameron left most of his pages blank, even if you can’t read the wee text the headlines for each plus the expanse of empty newssheet on the pro-union Cameron side would be quite telling. I’ll away see if I can find them

150. neil mackenzie says:

The FT infographics

151. Caroline Corfield says:

hmmm, maybe not

link to i.imgur.com

152. geeo says:

link to eurofree3.files.wordpress.com

This was stolen from an in/out referendum page, perfect fit for BT scaremongering.

Text says..

Before the truth can set you free
    you need to recognise which lie
    Is holding you hostage.

153. The Flamster says:

This is one of my own photogrpahs taken a couple of years ago.

154. The Flamster says:

LOL maybe not 🙂 don’t know how to link it – really annoying!

155. Horseboy says:

Help! Tried posting over the weekend!

Nothing Nothing. No joy.

I’m one of the good guys.

ps. was to let donors know of SNP’s “DOUBLE YOUR DONATION” deal. Under this offer, Stagecoach millionaire Brian Souter matches all your donations.

I’ve just dropped £1k into their coffers, doubling my donation. If your going to do it, and you can do it, this is the time to do it.

Donate and Double Your Donation.

156. Paul Steele says:

This is all the posters i have done since the indy debate began :)https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.292232220928944.1073741827.100004265049355&type=1&l=58c765f4ec

157. Duncan says:

Stewart Bremner has made some wonderful materiel for Yes:

link to i1043.photobucket.com

more at:

link to facebook.com

158. Duncan says:

added to say, just found his
    Pintrest site – Wow!:

link to pinterest.com

159. Macsenex says:

How about a rotting nuclear hulk for No?

160. aldo_macb says:

Got to have some anti-WMD material in this project…..how about …..

161. Richie says:

Do you still like this one?

link to wingsoverscotland.com

162. dadsarmy says:

9 Topics: Currency, EU, Pensions, Defence, Economy, Oil, Energy, Borders, Universities. All based on BT claims, but grossly exagerated. And the BT claims under the heading “what you get with the Union”. Just reverse their own claims back on them. No particular order:

1). Ponsonby of STV chasing Osborne into a taxi after the Edinburgh pounding. Salmond shaking hands with Carney, signage Bank of England.
    2). Gordon Brown refusing to be interviewed after the Fife pensions thing. No, better is those 2 contrasting headlines same day.
    or 2). Something with link to pistonheads.com demonstartaing what BT want for Scotland – an ageing population.
    3). Some brilliant picture really demolishing “the best of both worlds”. Maybe craters on the moon, and arable farmland.
    4). Ah, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid done up as Alexander and Osborne, robbing the Bank of England
    5). Pic of the Kuznetzov being escorted, 1 with the UK with the Black Pig leaky dinghy, Hammond at the tiller, Cameron firing a Purdie. Other with a T26 with Saltire, Sturgeon at the helm.

That sort of thing. I agree with JLT – we’d really need to know the context the picture are for, is it totally factual, comparative, taking the rip?

163. manandboy says:

link to i62.tinypic.com

Another try Rev.

One for your poster collection

164. dadsarmy says:

Or take posters from the BT website, there’s a lot of dodgyu ones there. Against them take some real life or film image. For instance, the BT one saying “the only way to keep the pound is vote NO”, against a clip from whatever film it was with a load of Scots in kilts turning their backs and lifting the kilts. Ah, Braveheart. Well, why not?

165. dadsarmy says:

Mmm, a picture of Fred Goodwin with the caption “Your Pound is safe in the UK banks.”. Cameron and Boris holding hands opening London’s 9th Hub Airport, with an old smoky steaming bus destination board “North Britain”.

166. geeo says:

Apologies if used already.

link to paisleyindependent.files.wordpress.com

167. Chic McGregor says:

What about this maybe juxta positioned with the Indiana Jones one?

168. geeo says:

Wrong shape i know but screams ‘Put this on a Billboard’

link to thebabelfishblog.files.wordpress.com

This picture below the one above..

link to wingsoverscotland.com

Under the pictures..

Be the shepherd, Vote Yes.

169. Vambomarbeleye says:

Joan D Arc
    Proof that the English establishment have been a bunch of two faced conniving bastards for century’s.

170. desimond says:

Food Banks
    vs
    Feed Banks

171. desimond says:

Was thinking Food Banks vs Missile Banks but both anti NO I suppose.

Im sure theres a Commonwealth Games vs London Olympics comparison in there somewhere.

172. desimond says:

Hows about pictures showing

The National Health Service (Scotland) Act 1947

vs

A picture of Garfield

173. Chic McGregor says:

Here is a side by side map one showing installed ON shore wind power generating capacity for England and Germany.

Not directly on song but it is illustrative of the extent to which English nimbyism has been accommodated. I don’t blame the English people themselves for the nimbyism, every country which has ON shore wind power has nimbys, but the level to which it has been accomodated by Westminster is quite extraordinary, a source of bemusement and frustration for its neighbours who are doing their bit for the environment and indicative of the little Englander mentality of its ruling elite whether blue or red.

It is even worse than it looks because each blue dot on the EEA maps represent a wind ‘farm’ and there is one for every farm regardless of whether it consists of one turbine or hundreds. The only indication being a small change in dot size.

And many wind farms in England consist of one or two turbines especially in the South. For example the two dots which come anywhere near London in Essex and near Reading consist of 1 turbine and 2.

No surprise either that we have a very strange subsidy model where those very small wind farms get twice the subsidy of the larger ones through the voucher allocation system.

To put numbers on it, Germany, with much poorer onshore base resource potential than England, has installed ON shore wind capacity of around 400 megawatts for every million people, England has 15 megawatts per million. Scotland, incidentally, has around 450 megawatts per million.

174. Nana Smith says:

I recall a pic of Blair and Bush wrapped in the US flag. Fair turned my stomach.

175. Africans for an independent Scotland – pic.twitter.com/7SpGS0NkUo

176. cathy says:

I made this one after I read the Scottish Secular Society’s reasons for coming out for YES. I found their logic very touching.

177. Flooplepoop says:

link to scontent-b-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net

178. Derek Morison says:

I loved ‘Jockholme Syndrome’ but I gather its creator has since apologized and withdrawn it?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,727 Posts, 1,215,198 Comments

• Mark Beggan on Mad caps: “I’m sceptical. A man!?! Ok that’s the first hurdle. A man of experience and knowledge. Ok we are going into…Apr 8, 23:46
    • Jay on Mad caps: “Sarah, glyphosate, very weak solution half to 1 percent with adjuvant. Very difficult to apply selectively to couch (twitch in…Apr 8, 23:34
    • Young Lochinvar on Mad caps: “Colin Understood. You do however realise, in stating the entirely reasonable, that you will invoke the keyboard wrath of the…Apr 8, 23:25
    • GM on Mad caps: “Excellent. All respect to you.Apr 8, 22:59
    • Colin Alexander on Mad caps: “We all know Scots parliamentarians are forced to swear allegiance to the monarchs and heirs chosen by the UK parliament…Apr 8, 19:12
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: “MSM reporting the capture of Chinese troops fighting in Europe. Spare a thought for The Donald tonight. At his age,…Apr 8, 18:50
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: “I hope you do stand, George. And the very best of luck to you if you do. Mind and keep…Apr 8, 18:38
    • twathater on Mad caps: “Yes it is Sarah he is asking for volunteers to put their names down to act as ambassadors at the…Apr 8, 18:17
    • Yoon Scum on Mad caps: “I do have some concerns about how you blame the English for ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING that goes wrong in scotland After…Apr 8, 17:56
    • Yoon Scum on Mad caps: “I guess this No voting far right piece of scum better piss off down to england ASAP Not because I…Apr 8, 17:33
    • George Ferguson on Mad caps: “Analysis of the Lothian Region 2021 Scottish Parliamentary Election is a reality check for Independent prospective candidates. Multiple political parties…Apr 8, 14:47
    • sarah on Mad caps: “Dan, I replied an hour or so ago but it went into moderation, I can’t think why – I mentioned…Apr 8, 13:38
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: “If it is, somebody should get them to read this afore they go: https://unherd.com/2025/04/trump-was-a-decoloniser-all-along/ Here’s a snippet: “As for the…Apr 8, 11:57
    • sarah on Mad caps: “Is Dave’s twitter about the 100 Scottish Liberation ambassadors attending the UN Committee 24 meeting in New York in June?…Apr 8, 10:43
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: “Welcome back Dan. The answer hasn’t changed since you were away. The answer continues to be that concerned, competent people…Apr 8, 07:49
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: ““now have to wonder about their validity” Welcome to the club. Vivian O’Blivion famously claimed on here that poot wants…Apr 8, 07:31
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: ““Justice may be on the horizon” Sure, Xaracen, but when, eh? When you look at the shit the UN is…Apr 8, 07:17
    • twathater on Mad caps: “A shoutout for Dave Llewellyn the Indy Ninja for his info on X https://x.com/TheIndyNinja1/status/1909240792356467126/photo/1Apr 8, 02:24
    • Mark Beggan on Mad caps: “Welcome to the machine.Apr 8, 01:56
    • Dan on Mad caps: “Aidan says: at 9:31 pm “You honestly think the Rev should ban people wanting to have serious conversations about Scottish…Apr 8, 00:25
    • Jay on Mad caps: “Vivian O’B, what is this ‘purple pish’ carry-on from you? I have read numerous comments from you but now have…Apr 7, 22:53
    • Aidan on Mad caps: “@Xaracen – you don’t personally rant and rave and that comment wasn’t aimed at you, whilst I don’t think your…Apr 7, 22:01
    • Xaracen on Mad caps: “Aidan said: “Exactly Robert – it’s full of people who rant and rave like you do. Nobody wants to be…Apr 7, 21:56
    • Aidan on Mad caps: “@Twathater (an interest way to project your self hatred but there we go) – I am delighted you aren’t responding…Apr 7, 21:31
    • sarah on Mad caps: “Crowdfunder for Independence Live – it needs a lot more donors. So far it has £900 of the £6500 target.…Apr 7, 21:04
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: “Lots going on in plucky, wee Norway – the country that all sane and rational Scots hold up as the…Apr 7, 20:37
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: “So you’re claiming that US soldiers on RF soil will be summarily dispatched. The RF won’t make any political capital…Apr 7, 19:53
    • PacMan on Mad caps: “The possibility might need to be considered that the higher percentage of support amongst younger voters in polls for independence…Apr 7, 19:49
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: ““after 300+years of neglect and abuse Scotland and Scots are worse off than they have ever been” Here you go…Apr 7, 19:47
    • Hatey McHateface on Mad caps: “Calm down, Bob. This isn’t where you post your application for camp guard in the New Scottish Gulag you and…Apr 7, 19:38