More audience participation

Posted on May 19, 2014 by

We already know that we have the most awesome and creative readers in the land, but this morning we’re going to give you a chance to demonstrate it yet again.

covers

(Don’t worry, you won’t need your credit cards.)

We’re currently working on a particularly excellent project, which will hopefully be ready very soon but about which we can’t give you any more details at this stage. However, we need some stuff for that project, and that’s where you can help.

We want 18 images. Nine of them have to depict some aspect of the Yes campaign, and nine of them the No campaign. They have to be in portrait format (ie taller than they are wide), and very roughly newspaper-sized in proportion, so we’ve suggested a couple of examples above, one representing each side.

But any kind of image goes – it can be a picture of a person, a cartoon, an original graphic, a chart, or anything else. All that matters is that it sums up some aspect of the campaign, that it’s the right shape, and that it looks good.

We’ve got a few ideas of our own, but we’d like to see yours. Go for it.

180 to “More audience participation”

1. kendomacaroonbar

Boz, If only I can find the article *I swear* I read stating if Scotland achieved Independence it wouldn’t be allowed to call itself Scotland.. and it wasn’t BBC Scotlandshire !

2. Bugger (the Panda)

Hamish and the “divorce” from the drunken lout cartoon by Chris Cairns maybe juxtaposed with Osborne’s greetin face at Maggie’s Memorial with a judicious text below him

3. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Hamish and the “divorce” from the drunken lout cartoon by Chris Cairns”

“PORTRAIT FORMAT”. “TALLER THAN THEY ARE WIDE”.

4. Jimbo

Not exactly the NO campaign but a NO campaigner:

“Johann Lamont’s speech about Scotland’s ‘something for nothing’ culture reminds ex-Labour voters why they defected”

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2012/sep/28/scottish-labour-hostility-snp

5. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Johann Lamont’s speech about Scotland’s ‘something for nothing’ culture reminds ex-Labour voters why they defected”

A speech isn’t an image.

6. john

How about this one for YES? The last remaiming figure in the wall is of course England.
    pic.twitter.com/jN1EO5IHdV

John

7. Duncan

How do you want them? Via email, or posted here via link?

8. Jimbo

“Scottish independence: Sectarianism fears as Orange Order to march in Edinburgh against Yes vote”

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/scottish-independence-sectarianism-fears-as-orange-order-to-march-in-edinburgh-against-yes-vote-9352562.html

9. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“How do you want them? Via email, or posted here via link?”

A link seems the easiest way, but anything will do.

10. John White

https://twitter.com/MiriamBrett/media

Picture of Miriam in YES gear with thumbs up w UKOK sticker on car in background.

11. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Scottish independence: Sectarianism fears as Orange Order to march in Edinburgh against Yes vote”

“PORTRAIT FORMAT”. “TALLER THAN THEY ARE WIDE”.

12. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/8351/starkeyhitler.jpg”

Something that looks nice.

13. Tamson

For the No side: any shot of Nigel Farage girning

14. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“How about this one for YES? The last remaiming figure in the wall is of course England.
    pic.twitter.com/jN1EO5IHdV”

“PORTRAIT. FORMAT.”

“TALLER. THAN. THEY. ARE. WIDE.”

15. Away the farmers!

Not the snazziest of images

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-iH99qzf-Gg8/Uw5UvkTTo5I/AAAAAAAADgI/uXGRMNNImCM/s1600 Johann+Lamont+Genetically+Prgrammed+Decisions.png

16. Votadini Jeannie

Spoiled for choice of nasty No posters on this FB page:

https://www.facebook.com/kiltedkelpie

17. Rev. Stuart Campbell

‘Not the snazziest of images”

So just one out of three criteria, then?

“All that matters is that it sums up some aspect of the campaign, that it’s the right shape, and that it looks good.”

I swear you’re all just trying to get me to burst a blood vessel this morning as a prank, folks.

18. caz-m

This pic would put you off your lunch.

It’s Ed Balls and George Osborne hand in hand on the sofa.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-PM7ZvZXgGwI/UwULUNWUoOI/AAAAAAAAMFA/63TqgmbVnIo/s1600/photo.JPG

19. Morag Graham Kerr

I just saw this on Munguin, and loved it.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-TZ5s_NteGbY/U3kmySwX1ZI/AAAAAAAAPS8/ocN56VocwAM/s1600/10338250_643727229042096_4101284670239295307_n.jpg

Munguin has a metric ton of fantastic images, come to think of it.

20. Gaavster

Have a rummel about here Stu, myself and a pal been saving loads of images for posterity

http://www.pinterest.com/billboyd374/scottish-independence-referendum/

21. Oneironaut

I’ll see what I can do 🙂

What’s the time limit on this?

22. Brotyboy

Great parody here;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=voR81ZievAc

23. Rev. Stuart Campbell

‘What’s the time limit on this?”

Sooner the better 🙂

24. Brainblunttotal

This about sums up why we wish to leave for me http://t.co/7i6aLsUeDI

25. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“https://picasaweb.google.com/106091106726005563972/May192014#slideshow/6015088439730969010”

“Sorry, that page was not found.”

26. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s a belter of Danny Alexander. Bet his granny doesn’t have this one on the mantelpiece…

http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/02002/danny-alexander_2002687i.jpg

27. Lynn MacRae

I have an image on my phone but cant work out how to attach it. Can anybody help? Samsung Galaxy S3. Ta.

28. Cath

There is one image that entirely sums up the NO campaign for me. This one:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/5/55/Braveheart_imp.jpg

29. Chic McGregor

Portrait format, great. Should be lots of output for Kirrie Aye TV (and other Yes shops with window monitors).

30. MochaChoca

The map on pg 3 of this report:

http://www.ons.gov.uk/ons/dcp171778_291684.pdf

contrasted with the map on pg 3 of this report:

http://www.ons.gov.uk/ons/dcp171776_289407.pdf

31. Roll_On_2014

ATOS – Get the real scroungers

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BeayczyCEAAJ2W7.jpg:large

32. Carol Anderson

I’ve got a few good ones on my tablet but not sure how to post them here?

33. Breastplate

What about a picture of a landscape in a portrait format?
    Just kidding 🙂

34. K8ie

How about the Economist’s Skintland? 14/4/2012.
    http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2012/04/13/welcome-to-skintland/

35. Chic McGregor

I’ve had an idea for one targeting women voters but don’t know when I’ll get time to work on it.

36. Edward

Slightly O/T
    Just spotted something strange on Better Together’s Facebook
    page with the number of likes have leapt by 2458 since 17th May. Why its strange is the average that they increase is around 527 !

I smell something dodgy going on with these creeps

I do recall some friends who were not supporters of the Better Together campaign by any stretch of the imagination, finding themselves as a ‘like’

37. Lewy Tee Bee

I was going to be knocking up a “jam tomorrow” picture anyway so may as well put the finished result here!

Hopefully turns out the way I want it to 🙂

38. Breastplate

There were a few pictures of kids on their dads’ shoulders at the last rally that I thought were great.
    This is after all for the younger generation and all generations to come. No link but I’m sure somebody else will have one.

39. James123

Here’s one I made earlier Rev

http://i.imgur.com/hwEOmb9.jpg

Relating to Ian Davidson’s “bayonet” remark.

40. desimond

The Kid on Calton Hill with Saltire
    Sunday Scottish Swastika

Simple but says it all.

41. Dinnatouch

No picture I’m afraid, but possibly an idea for one of your more artistic readers.

I thought of a cartoon book cover, the book to be called “The Big Book Of Unionist Scare Stories”. The cover features a be-kilted Scot being chased away from a polling booth by a John Bull type figure, with speech bubbles featuring the words ‘Currency!’ ‘Mortgages!’ ‘Europe!’ etc.

If not for your own project Rev, it’d still make a good image to share on social media.

42. dodecostanza

A banner I saw at the rally in September

[IMG]http://i60.tinypic.com/5nkef4.jpg[/IMG]

43. dodecostanza

http://i60.tinypic.com/5nkef4.jpg

Try again with the link

44. Camilla Kaczinski

This cartoon by the madly talented Kate Madigan
    http://www.madiganillustration.com/images/scottish_independence_kate_madigan_w940.jpg
    Frontpage (The Courier – Tayside Families Going Hungry)
    http://dy1m18dp41gup.cloudfront.net/cdn/farfuture/0zag_bbRDIPAP-VySAPmyT2QK4COcFQL8ayaGFlk8U4/mtime:1399482925/files/Courier.jpg
    Ths one made me giggle. (Wickes ad, I hope it’s genuine)
    http://www.chipshopawards.com/include/image.php/CHIP_SHOP_WICKES_RPM.jpg?width=770&image=http://www.chipshopawards.com/userfiles/nominations/6008/CHIP_SHOP_WICKES_RPM.jpg
    This flyer for a debate is rather poignant. “How can we create a healthier Scotland in the age of Austerity”. Not just an age of austerity. THE age of austerity.
    http://biowrite.files.wordpress.com/2013/11/healthier_scotland_discussion.jpg

I’ll give it a think.

45. Bill Oliphant

Here are a couple of recent covers of Yes Clydesdale’s Aye Magazine.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/h6r7lvg6jetsayq/AYEMAG%2012.pdf

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ddsq71t8e58ujgh/AYEMAG%2014.pdf

46. desimond

2 Pandas at Rally
    1 David Mundell

47. Dr JM Mackintosh

You have to have a Lady Alba picture – perhaps from her “Nuclear Love” song. She is just a great asset for Scotland.
    On the No side – how about that Daily Mail nutter – Melanie Phillips.
    They would make an interesting contrast – intelligent, beautiful and funny versus stupid, bitter and twisted.

48. Jamie Arriere

God, this is hard. Any search for photos are 95% landscape.

http://alturl.com/fbmi2

http://alturl.com/xrs4s

49. desimond

A picture of poor wee Susan Calman and her alleged threats

The Daily Mail cover vilifying weirdos from Bath

50. JPFife

I don’t know if it’s portrait or not but the cartoon, can’t remember which paper, where the question was Should Scotland Go F*ck itself.

And what about screen shots of your last crowd funding campaign showing total passed within eight hours or so?

51. desimond

The Bedroom Tax
    Anas Sarwar lecturing wannabe Entrepreneurs in Pakistan

52. willie

Im sure your resident cartoonist could help. Early 1970,s I saw full page advert depicting a caricature of an oil rig with the large words below
    PROOF THAT GOD IS AN ENGLISHMAN
    Cant remember the newspaper bloody enraged me.

53. Wee_monsieur

Breastplate @ 12:13 pm

What about a picture of a landscape in a portrait format?
    Just kidding 🙂

Actually laughed out loud at that!

54. Meindevon

@indigo 12.45.

Thanks for that! Not seen it before.

Makes you think.

55. Gavin

Mmm maybe this will help

http://www.pbase.com/gwiz/image/152504485

56. scottish_skier

Just to make sure people are aware.

Yesterday’s SoS ICM poll must be discounted. It asked indyref related questions ahead of asking the indy question, namely how comfortable / uncomfortable people were in being asked referendum VI.

Unsurprisingly, this made respondents uncomfortable about pollster motivations resulting in Yes dropping and no rising in those groups who felt most uncomfortable giving an indy ref intention. Most obvious among female respondents, but male hit too; that’s mainly what cause the mysterious gap increase.

ICM said last month they ‘feel’ that No should be higher and that they believed their was a shy No vote. This had alarms bells ringing for anyone who follows polls; no pollster should be using their own gut feelings which are likely to be based on their own bias/political preferences.

Well, it looks like they looked for a shy No and created / highlighted a Shy Yes. The leading pre-indy Q and implications seems to have been hushed up by them and Prof. C; I can’t see anything in the latter’s blog about this yet he was all over the SNP when they had ‘leading’ Q’s ahead of the indy Q in a poll last year.

ICM can’t be trusted it would seem, which is quite shocking.

tables:

http://www.icmresearch.com/data/media/pdf/2014_may_indyref-1.pdf

Also ICM have 7% to many people from England again, further skewing results. Panelbase the most demographically representative sample.

57. katie vee

Vonny Moyes pic in the herald of the Anti-UKIP poster.

58. a supporter

Lots of good Indy supporting cartoons in Leithal Yak http://norrie.wordpress.com/page/2/

59. Capella

What about the Business for Scotland maps showing where the wealth is generated as a positive, or the life expectancy as a negative?

http://www.businessforscotland.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/Screen-Shot-2013-06-19-at-23.53.20.png
    http://www.businessforscotland.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/Life-Expectancy.jpg

60. call me dave

@scottish_skier

Thanks for this post,on behalf of many visiting this site, your critical examination and dissemination of the data and procedures applied are much appreciated. 🙂

61. desimond

Help The Aged
    Help Me Rona

62. call me dave

Wasn’t listening clearly but I’m sure Dave just said that in the event of a ‘NO’ vote “Scotland will get Rockall”!

Is that a Devo dividend? 🙂

63. desimond

A picture of Saffron Dickson wih passion in her heart.
    A picture of a young William Hague with Thatcher

64. a supporter

The Noble Lord Haw Haw of Nato and Russia pic.twitter.com/99Sqa5Xsv9

65. laukat

@Scottish_Skier

Is it not very odd that the old age category that Yes lead in is the 55-64 demographic? I might be wrong but I’ve never seen that group in favour of Yes in any other poll and its not one that I would think of being a bastion of pro-independence support

Also Glasgow is the only region were its close. Again this seems odd in comparison with other polls.

Are the attributable to the shyness factor or am I miss reading the tables?

66. desimond

David Cameron backing Gary Barlow
    The vilification of the Weirs

67. WantonWampum.

A picture of “Rhu Narrows” and/or the Gare Loch (PRE-FASLANE).?

Has anyone access to pre-Faslane Sea Charts.?

68. desimond

Just realised thats 2 against the NO campaign there. It gets so hard to tell.

The White Paper

Devo Max – The White Elephant

69. Muscleguy

@call me dave
    Seconded.

I knew there had to be shenanigans like that. Curtice has gone further down in my estimation. I prefer Poultice over on BBC Scotlandshire, more honest.

70. Fairliered

Magnus the Viking
    From “Largs & Millport Weekly News” facebook page

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10152109146831099&set=pb.106877466098.-2207520000.1400504067.&type=3&theater

71. heraldnomore

Late to this party Stu, and haven’t had the time to view all the links everyone’s put forward. As mentioned above Munguin’s the man for the graphics; and some good ones at BfS too.

Here’s a few I saved at various times:

Oh sod it, I’ll need to try and attach to an email…

72. Derek Hunter

I think this is a good image for a logical outcome lol

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10152383860283128&set=t.793638127&type=3&theater

73. Chic McGregor

Did a quick rework on oor march banner design.

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f390/chicmac/DecisionTime.jpg

74. wee e

I want Donald Dewar’s words from a 1996 TV debate:
    “Why is it, when there are powers presently exercised by Westminster, you think that’s fine, but when those powers are passed to Scots, you think they cannot be trusted to take sensible decisions?”
    But I don’t know what visuals that would be with. Dave, George, Nick, Ed and a bunch of ermine vermin?

I’d also like pictures of wee tots with captions like “Scotland’s ambassador to Brazil, 2038”; or “Got her dream job without emigrating, 2031”; “Scotland’s Olympic team 2032”; “Graduated debt-free in 2034”; “Scotland’s head of European Commission, 2060”.

75. liz

There’s lots on Munguins Republic which are very good.

Trying one first to see if this links

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-Y_h2TczsG50/UrWsRVNEApI/AAAAAAAANI4/N1Lj1Vlcv8Q/s1600/1491628_468534393264789_1632123862_n.png

76. WantonWampum.

Found a link via (NLS) National Library of Scotland to ADMIRALTY SEA CHARTS-2159 – Depicting “Rhu Narrows”.

Unfortunately it is only available in Landscape mode.
    Sorry if time was wasted.

77. Chic McGregor

How about something like this recent T-shirt one alongside another “JUST THANK ME, I VOTED YES” version with a smiley, smiley?

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f390/chicmac/DontBlameMeTshirt.jpg

78. desimond

Contrasting Images

Tall trees

Mushrooms

Im sure you get the imagery

79. Fay Sinclair

The “Skintland” magazine cover for the No side.

80. desimond

Kevin McKidd – A YES Scot doing very well over there
    John Barrowman -A right “Captain Jack” – as per Billy Joels lyrics, over here!

BTW…I know it isnt Portrait and i know i dont have a counter but just try and look at this without thinking “God help us!”

http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/61127000/jpg/_61127425_015157181-1.jpg

81. desimond

A Wee Ginger Dug and a wee Kezia Dugdale

I think a simple text one would work

large letters : HOPE
    vs
    Small letters : FEAR

82. liz

I think I’m in moderation because I posted to many links, so I’ll try again with one for each post.

You can delete the one in moderation.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-bxD4xLR5yGw/UtmywCmo91I/AAAAAAAANns/5Zk2FnMzuSE/s1600/1013480_345376418934516_1638059546_n.jpg

83. Truth

Can I just ask if all the people complaining of missing posts ever logged on and commented on VNB’s website?

I seem to have detected more people complaining since then.

I never posted to their site and have never had a post go missing on Wings.

84. Fay Sinclair

And this pic of my 2yr old campaigning on.Dunfermline High Street to secure a Yes vote for his future.https://fay4yes.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/wpid-wp-1400052430640.jpeg

Shame these are landscape https://fay4yes.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/28/

85. Betty Boop

@John 11.26am

That image says “freeeeedom”! Not portrait though 🙁

86. braco

Hi rev,
    do you have an email I could send you the perfect companion NO image for Morag’s cracker at
    http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-TZ5s_NteGbY/U3kmySwX1ZI/AAAAAAAAPS8/ocN56VocwAM/s1600/10338250_643727229042096_4101284670239295307_n.jpg

I have it as a jpeg but dont have any way to upload it in order to create a link for you (sorry). Its of Micheal Fish beside the 1979 BBC weathermap with outline accurate UK map superimposed over the top to show only Scotland was diminished by at least one third! Had my parents up in arms and very effective.

87. boglestone

I’ve gone for minimal – http://imgur.com/zypCt1m

88. liz

I had some problems including comments disappear or saying ‘duplicate post’ and pages posting dozens of times on top of each other and I could only stop that by pressing the close button on my computer a few weeks back but not recently.

The strangest thing that happened after that was I posted a link to Wings on one of the MSM papers and when anyone clicked on that, it linked straight on to a post that I had made – I thought that was a bit ‘spooky’.

I did look at VNB once or twice but I can’t remember if it was before or after the problems.

89. liz

@Truth – I was just responding to you when my post disappeared.

90. liz

Try again – I clicked on the web site you mentioned a couple of times and did experience comments disappearing on here or saying duplicate but I’m not sure if it was before or after.

I was explaining what happened when my post disappeared.

91. liz

I mentioned that I had posted a link to WOS on an MSM, which went straight to a comment I had made instead of to the top of the article I was referring to.

92. liz

Apologies – the post has now appeared.

93. Grendel

How do you post an image on here?

94. Camz

My little effort:

http://i.imgbox.com/PXKL72Xj.png

95. desimond

Hows about a simple Compare and Contrast

NORWAY

vs

NO WAY

96. Murray McCallum

The Daily Express Scottish v UK edition front pages on the pensions black hole makes a good image. Challenges people to think about what they are told.

http://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2014/04/22/a-short-essay-black-propaganda/

I like the “too wee?” map that shows land + sea split between Scotland, Wales, N.Ireland and England. It challenges basic perceptions about Scotland. Sorry, can’t find where I downloaded the image from!

The “cost of university in the EU” map is informative. England’s cost of Uni education is odd in Europe and it would appear they resent people living in Scotland not being charged tuition fees.

http://one-europe.info/in-brief/how-much-does-your-education-cost

97. liz

@Grendel – right click on the image, copy shortcut and paste below comment.

98. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“How do you post an image on here?”

You can’t, sadly. You have to post a link.

99. orri

Either a female sheep or the UKIP hand on the left of the page, Farage on the right. Subtitle it You Cock.

100. Murray McCallum

The “too wee?” map I referred to (I hope).

https://twitter.com/search?src=typd&q=too%20wee

Maybe also fits in with an item on the secret NE sea boundary changes.

101. Kestral

http://www.pinterest.com/billboyd374/scottish-independence-referendum/

Morag Graham Kerr

These are amazing

Grow some baws and vote aye

Brilliant lol

102. Murray McCallum

Ahem … apologies for other inappropriate image in that “too wee?” search.

103. cathy

Did that work?

104. Chic McGregor

@Desimond
    Stuart posted that on twitter. I did another experimental foray into twitter and posted, I think that it was a remake of Titanic and that Wullie Rennie must be standing on something – unlike his party. But haven’t the foggiest if anyone saw it.

105. Truth

Thanks Liz

I’m maybe being paranoid, but I don’t trust the whole VNB thing.

106. desimond

O/T In case anyone missed it first time around etc etc

@iainmacwhirter : Don’t tell anyone but you can watch Bafta-nominated Road to Referendum here goo.gl/LsZveM

107. crisiscult

Excuse my lack of skill on art software. Maybe someone can improve this but here’s my contribution to the message I’d want to get out to people for Yes.

http://goo.gl/photos/iAhcyjiUsS

108. desimond

@Murray McCallum

Why dont they show Gibraltar as Free Eductaion? Happy proud Tour Guide I met there smiled when he heard my Scottish voice and said “Ah Scotland, you are they same as us, You believe that children should be able to go to University and everyone benefits!”

Gibraltar give ( or did at least a few years ago) each child a grant to go learn and then come back improving the standards for all etc

109. Stuart Black

My favourite Christ Cairns ‘toon, Hamish in the balloon with scissors, cutting through the weights marked “Too Wee”, “Too Poor”, and “Too Stupid”. Portrait format too. 🙂

110. Stuart Black

There’s also a belter of the “noble” Lord Robertson dressed up like a turkey that was doing the rounds last week, I think on Twitter. Certainly a single image that would persuade me to vote Yes, on the grounds that I do not want to be part of a society that takes this shit seriously! 😉

111. Murray McCallum

If the referendum is about where ultimate power lies and who makes decisions, this is a neat summary of what many people think of Westminster:

https://twitter.com/WingsScotland/status/461115076598972417/photo/1

A good presentation of the Scotland v UK pension misreporting:

https://twitter.com/RobbieCastleSNP/status/458561307760144384/photo/1

UKOK and Trident

https://twitter.com/CNDuk/status/456483012352307200/photo/1

The UK ank bailout myth in a graph:

https://twitter.com/BizforScotland/status/441243735225937921/photo/1

112. Murray McCallum

Desimond

Interesting about Gibraltar education. I tried zooming the map – difficult to tell if it is coloured blue (free).

113. Dannybaws

here’s an idea (unfortunately I don’t have the time to make it right now)

Gary Wilson – co-ordinator for the No campaign in the Edinburgh
    East Labour party

Alex Lunn – councillor for Craigentinny & Duddingston ward in Edinburgh

… (list some more folk who have converted to a yes votes, sure there is a lib dem and a tory)

Then list results of debates in universities etc (there are many) and on that episode of newsnight Scotland, before and after.

Finally state that ‘we can’t think of any cases which are the opposite of this’ and ask ‘why do you think that is?’

or something along the lines

114. Proud Cybernat

That Daily Fail headline should actually read “18.09.14 Vote No – The Day We Can Make Scotland History.”

115. Dinnatouch

The British Isles viewed from space, versus the British Isles viewed from the BBC weather map

116. JLT

It depends on how you are going to use it, Stuart.

If it’s for Billboards, then the simplest message is two pictures with no words except ‘Union’ and ‘Independence’. One half of the billboard says ‘Union’ and depicts a run down area within Scotland, while the ‘Indy’ side shows something like a bunch of happy kids running to a new school. Another might be empty shipyards under the Union, while the Indy side shows the building of ships. All positive messages!

If it was for a book, then you would want facts (as some of the guys have done above). Myth busting claims such as the recent one in the Scottish Daily Mail (sure it was the Mail) where they claimed Pensions would be better in the UK, but in the UK edition, it claimed ALL our UK Pensions were going to hell. Things like that where the BT mob couldn’t deny it since the media had ACTUALLY published it, will make folk think twice.

Part of the problem is (and I’m sure you get it on a daily basis) is that folk say ‘give me the facts’ …well, what better way than to blow the media’s own facts right out of the water by showing people 2 contrasting headlines. If you can get the vast majority of people to become suspicious and question the media, then it moves everyone in the right direction. It may just have the ‘normal’ folk out there who have not really engaged wonder if the UK government is being straight with them. Sow the seeds of doubt and who knows!

Hope this helps.

117. crisiscult

@JLT

Definitely makes a big difference where they’re being used. I’d like to see something like these from Chomsky, pulling no punches about the media:

If we choose, we can live in a world of comforting illusion

or

Any dictator would admire the uniformity and obedience of the media.

or

Citizens of the democratic societies should undertake a course of intellectual self defense to protect themselves from manipulation and control

118. Diane

Proud Cybernat at 12.15pm – think you have just been identified! Just saying.

119. tartanpigsy

A couple of old ones from the rallies last year and 2012

https://www.facebook.com/CampaignForBalancedBroadcastingInScotland/photos/pb.371015282981775.-2207520000.1400527975./453834074699895/?type=3&theater

https://www.facebook.com/CampaignForBalancedBroadcastingInScotland/photos/pb.371015282981775.-2207520000.1400527975./421306127952690/?type=3&theater

https://www.facebook.com/demonstrateagainst/photos/pb.340553392651193.-2207520000.1400528153./373935142646351/?type=3&theater

I know there on FB but as can’t post images.

Thanks again to the artists involved.

incidentally, will be 2 years since first demo at PQ next weekend, there we were naively asking for a

“An open honest debate on Scotland’s future”

that panned out well eh! A pic of the day still on the excellent ‘Exposing’ page (in landscape of course)

https://www.facebook.com/www.bbcbias.co.uk?fref=ts

120. geeo

http://fixyblog.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/euhokeykokey.jpg

Bit old, but well loved all the same.

121. Caroline Corfield

oh, what about the newspaper thing where Alex Salmond and David Cameron were both given two pages to ‘state’ their case, and Cameron left most of his pages blank, even if you can’t read the wee text the headlines for each plus the expanse of empty newssheet on the pro-union Cameron side would be quite telling. I’ll away see if I can find them

122. neil mackenzie

The FT infographics

123. Caroline Corfield

hmmm, maybe not

http://i.imgur.com/tLEAmQq.jpg

124. geeo

http://eurofree3.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/before-the-truth.jpg

This was stolen from an in/out referendum page, perfect fit for BT scaremongering.

Text says..

Before the truth can set you free
    you need to recognise which lie
    Is holding you hostage.

125. The Flamster

This is one of my own photogrpahs taken a couple of years ago.

126. The Flamster

LOL maybe not 🙂 don’t know how to link it – really annoying!

127. Horseboy

Help! Tried posting over the weekend!

Nothing Nothing. No joy.

I’m one of the good guys.

ps. was to let donors know of SNP’s “DOUBLE YOUR DONATION” deal. Under this offer, Stagecoach millionaire Brian Souter matches all your donations.

I’ve just dropped £1k into their coffers, doubling my donation. If your going to do it, and you can do it, this is the time to do it.

Donate and Double Your Donation.

128. Paul Steele

This is all the posters i have done since the indy debate began :)https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.292232220928944.1073741827.100004265049355&type=1&l=58c765f4ec

129. Duncan

added to say, just found his
    Pintrest site – Wow!:

http://www.pinterest.com/stewartbremner/scottish-independence-posters/

130. Macsenex

How about a rotting nuclear hulk for No?

131. aldo_macb

Got to have some anti-WMD material in this project…..how about …..
    http://www.indyposterboy.info/trident-and-defence.asp

132. dadsarmy

9 Topics: Currency, EU, Pensions, Defence, Economy, Oil, Energy, Borders, Universities. All based on BT claims, but grossly exagerated. And the BT claims under the heading “what you get with the Union”. Just reverse their own claims back on them. No particular order:

1). Ponsonby of STV chasing Osborne into a taxi after the Edinburgh pounding. Salmond shaking hands with Carney, signage Bank of England.
    2). Gordon Brown refusing to be interviewed after the Fife pensions thing. No, better is those 2 contrasting headlines same day.
    or 2). Something with http://www.pistonheads.com/pics/news/18563/personnesagees-L.jpg demonstartaing what BT want for Scotland – an ageing population.
    3). Some brilliant picture really demolishing “the best of both worlds”. Maybe craters on the moon, and arable farmland.
    4). Ah, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid done up as Alexander and Osborne, robbing the Bank of England
    5). Pic of the Kuznetzov being escorted, 1 with the UK with the Black Pig leaky dinghy, Hammond at the tiller, Cameron firing a Purdie. Other with a T26 with Saltire, Sturgeon at the helm.

That sort of thing. I agree with JLT – we’d really need to know the context the picture are for, is it totally factual, comparative, taking the rip?

133. manandboy

http://i62.tinypic.com/119umb8.jpg

Another try Rev.

One for your poster collection

134. dadsarmy

Or take posters from the BT website, there’s a lot of dodgyu ones there. Against them take some real life or film image. For instance, the BT one saying “the only way to keep the pound is vote NO”, against a clip from whatever film it was with a load of Scots in kilts turning their backs and lifting the kilts. Ah, Braveheart. Well, why not?

135. dadsarmy

Mmm, a picture of Fred Goodwin with the caption “Your Pound is safe in the UK banks.”. Cameron and Boris holding hands opening London’s 9th Hub Airport, with an old smoky steaming bus destination board “North Britain”.

136. Chic McGregor

What about this maybe juxta positioned with the Indiana Jones one?

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f390/chicmac/LordOfTheCringe1000.jpg

137. geeo

Wrong shape i know but screams ‘Put this on a Billboard’

http://thebabelfishblog.files.wordpress.com/2014/02/whatdidshesay.jpg

This picture below the one above..

http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/sheepie.jpg

Under the pictures..

Be the shepherd, Vote Yes.

138. Vambomarbeleye

Joan D Arc
    Proof that the English establishment have been a bunch of two faced conniving bastards for century’s.

139. desimond

Food Banks
    vs
    Feed Banks

140. desimond

Was thinking Food Banks vs Missile Banks but both anti NO I suppose.

Im sure theres a Commonwealth Games vs London Olympics comparison in there somewhere.

141. desimond

Hows about pictures showing

The National Health Service (Scotland) Act 1947

vs

A picture of Garfield

142. Chic McGregor

Here is a side by side map one showing installed ON shore wind power generating capacity for England and Germany.

Not directly on song but it is illustrative of the extent to which English nimbyism has been accommodated. I don’t blame the English people themselves for the nimbyism, every country which has ON shore wind power has nimbys, but the level to which it has been accomodated by Westminster is quite extraordinary, a source of bemusement and frustration for its neighbours who are doing their bit for the environment and indicative of the little Englander mentality of its ruling elite whether blue or red.

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f390/chicmac/EngVGerONshore.jpg

It is even worse than it looks because each blue dot on the EEA maps represent a wind ‘farm’ and there is one for every farm regardless of whether it consists of one turbine or hundreds. The only indication being a small change in dot size.

And many wind farms in England consist of one or two turbines especially in the South. For example the two dots which come anywhere near London in Essex and near Reading consist of 1 turbine and 2.

No surprise either that we have a very strange subsidy model where those very small wind farms get twice the subsidy of the larger ones through the voucher allocation system.

To put numbers on it, Germany, with much poorer onshore base resource potential than England, has installed ON shore wind capacity of around 400 megawatts for every million people, England has 15 megawatts per million. Scotland, incidentally, has around 450 megawatts per million.

143. Nana Smith

I recall a pic of Blair and Bush wrapped in the US flag. Fair turned my stomach.

144. sideshowmanny

Africans for an independent Scotland – pic.twitter.com/7SpGS0NkUo

145. cathy

I made this one after I read the Scottish Secular Society’s reasons for coming out for YES. I found their logic very touching.

146. Derek Morison

I loved ‘Jockholme Syndrome’ but I gather its creator has since apologized and withdrawn it?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.