Slow news month

Posted on January 26, 2016 by

We’re not saying there isn’t a lot going on at the moment, but today’s Daily Record actually devotes a page to telling women when to change their pants.

drpants

(Almost all of page 5 is given over to “SOMEONE GOT THEIR BMW SCRATCHED”.)

drbmw

The Herald and Record both desperately try to inflate Shona Robison asking why a report is due out on a particular date into a “scandal” and a row “engulfing” the SNP.

bump2

bump1

(Absolutely nobody at any point made any kind of request or even suggestion that the report be “bumped” or delayed. Neither article has a single quote to that effect.)

The Mail’s front page is “HOSPITAL FOOD LOOKS A BIT UNAPPETISING”.

dmfood

We might go out and see a movie.

1. 26 01 16 14:44

Slow news month | Speymouth

267 to “Slow news month”

1. jimnarlene

There’ll be a few in the unionist parties, requiring a change of underwear; as May approaches with gathering speed.

2. Ally

Must be a “slow news day” at Wings HQ too?? (Rolls eyes)

3. Jamie Arriere

To be fair, the pants-changing advice is probably useful for Record readers & staff. They seem to be soiling them more often than usual these days 😉

4. ahundredthidiot

Did the Herald really run with that Picture of NS??

Jeez, talk about a new low, is this what the paper I used to read on a daily basis is reduced to?

God help Scottish MSM. This must be what a slow death looks like.

5. Dcanmore

more than like they have no news gathering staff left and just resort to buying in filler.

6. Wulls

I spent the morning arguing with idiots on FBs STV news page.
    Apparently oil is the responsibility of everyone in Scotland and the SNP do not represent the people of Scotland.
    Oh and oil is a curse and our economy would be worse than Greece if we voted for independence.
    At least I remembered to change my pants

7. heedtracker

Just the usual. Their Scotland region airbrushed out of teamGB, BBC says #SNPbad.

http://www.smh.com.au/sport/by/Andy-Murray

A Scots athlete’s doing nae bad down under, apparently. Not a chance in hell of BBC vote SLab Scotland showing him in action though.

8. osakisushi

Must admit, that is a cracking photo of NS in the Herald. It tends say more about the papers agenda than the editor realises.

9. mealer

“Living life to the full” it says.Appropriately enough for an article about when to change your pants.

10. Peter Mirtitsch

With the best will in the world, I love haggis, but can’t work out how to make it LOOK appetising.

11. Stoker

Extremely hard to believe there are still people who will contribute towards the survival of those rags.

Advertisers, take note, that is what you are associating your business with, abject failure.

Fumigate Holyrood: vote SNP x 2

12. Big Jock

Should that headline in the Daily Fail not be: ” Free Fleecing For Every Scot, Courtesy Of No Voters”.

13. handclapping

What have you done Stu! We’ll now have John King telling us about his diet, Nana’s links will be to knitting patterns from the People and I’ll be reduced to telling you what the SNP was like in 1963. Buy popcorn, take in a film. 🙂

14. liz

Spent a good bit of time laughing at the Revs twitter feed and all the posters commenting about what their ‘wives’said about their ‘twitter abuse’.

That Hague guy is a pain in the neck – he’s still banging on today about the terrible ‘cybernats’ negative comments he recieved after the John Beattie interview.

15. Greannach

I was grateful for the tips on when to change my pants as I’ve been wearing the same pair since Pol Pot was installed as leader of the Khmer Rouge. I always wondered why my fellow bus passengers would start gagging and vomiting whenever I would sit next to them. Thanks, Daily Record, for changing this halfwit’s life.

16. Steve Bowers

How about you spend the time adding a like button to peoples posts, cos that one from Jamie Arriere at 1.33’s a doozy

17. lenny Hartley

Heedtracker, not I that I watch misreporting Scotland but somebody tells me that bbc scotland has a reporter called
    Keridene Nitsan or something like like is there in Australia at our expense (Well those daft enough to be paying their TV Tax) reporting on the event, The Big BBC station also has a different person reporting on the event, as they spout the exact same britnat pish whats the point, in these days of britnat austerity at least one of them should not be on the gravy train.

18. gordoz

Daniel Sanderson is emerging as your next generation establishment gimp – like Gardham or Hutcheon aka ‘Shitraker’

19. Sandy M

Mildly interested women need read no further than the very first word. Concerned women needn’t read that far, just go with your suspicions 🙂
    The rest of the paper may come in handy though.

20. scav

Thing about that Nicola photo is, you think “weird pose”, then see the ping-pong bat and move on.

You see the best-posed and lit photo of George Osbourne or David Cameron and you think “Look at his fucking eyes! What the hell is wrong with that guy?”

There’s only so much demonisation you can do with funny-face snapshots, and only limited non-demonisation is possible with psychopathic little shits who have no more humanity and conscience than literal demons.

21. CameronB Brodie

Crochet work can be absorbing. 🙂

22. Golfnut

Her Maj will not be pleased, that was supposed to be a wee treat for the corgis.
    Looks very like a staged picture.

23. Clare

Good plan. I can recommend The Big Short.

24. jimnarlene

The changing of your undercrackers story, it is from the BUM press.

25. AFewHomeTruths

@Wulls

Interesting piece in the Torygraph with quotes from OPEC and interestingly prediction of bounce back in oil price AFTER MAY from Russian oil chief. Also explanations about the role of hedge funds in the collapse.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/oilprices/12120946/Opec-pleads-for-Russian-alliance-to-smash-oil-speculators.html

Read this and pick what you like as ammo. This jumped out for me.

Claudio Descalzi, head of Italy’s oil group Eni, said Opec has stopped playing the role of “regulator” for crude, leaving markets in the grip of financial forces trading “paper barrels” that outnumber actual barrels of oil by a ratio of 80:1.

26. Stoker

From that Herald page:
    “Rangers manager calls official a ‘killjoy’ after win at Morton”

FFS…..POT…..KETTLE…..BLACK AS THE ACE OF SPADES…..

Did he really say that with a straight face?
    Manager of THE most corrupt Scottish football establishment EVER!

Either i’ve got a sudden attack of appendicitis or my sides are in sheer agony at the hilarity of the Sevco meedja!

27. Bob Mack

Probably my imagination,but are those Y fronts in the picture ?. Don’t think my wife would wear them somehow, but you never know.

28. Matt

What’s up Stu? You haven’t been yourself since the Christmas break.

29. Capella

Definitely go and watch a film. Any film.
    e.g “Why Has the Bodhi-Dharma Left for the East?” 2hrs 24 mins
    Take you up to tea time.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=erbSF2S_GIE

30. Effijy

This could be a precursor to the Dire Redcoat announcing that
    Westminster now need to Tax the pants off Scotland.

Shouldn’t Scored Drawers appear in their sports section?

Maybe next to their report about skid marks affecting the bends at Brands Hatch?

Knickers to their pathetic unionist propaganda pamphlet!

31. liz

The Torygraoh article archived https://archive.is/ukdl2

32. Inverclyder

They’re definitely touching cloth with these articles!

Will they will follow through with even more?

33. heedtracker

lenny Hartley says:
    26 January, 2016 at 1:53 pm
    Heedtracker, not I that I watch misreporting Scotland but somebody tells me that bbc scotland has a reporter called
    Keridene Nitsan

When BBC 24 news reports, the camera always kicks off behind a union jack in the crowd, then across to Andy playing, just in case anyone sucker forgets what nationality he is.

If the creeps wont show Scotland Scottish international football matches, they sure as UKOK hell wont show Andy Murray, a Scots athlete, achieving world sporting success way beyond anything our chums in the south can even begin to imagine.

Andy’s brother’s doing incredible things too, apparently.

34. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/uk/scotland

Rupert Carrell, rancid The Graun Scotland editor must have the biggest UKOK doss ever. Money for nothing and the haggis on expenses. Only in their Scotland region, where nothing ever happens and the only way is England.

35. mogabee

Well I’ve just had a lovely Burns lunch at the local school, so I’m full and in a proper mood for a film…

As for the “papers”, knickers to them all!

36. Ethan Blair

About the food, Since hospitals have to make sure that food served doesn’t contain any chemicals or additives that could either react to medication or exacerbate the patients conditions it’s usually made from scratch with limited ingredients.

As such it never looks good but I can’t help but wonder if it’s actually nutritious and healthy, you know, because it could look awful and still be good for you?

37. heedtracker

Read all about it!

“ONLY nine per cent of Scots believes that “The Vow” has been kept, according to a new poll. The Vow, signed by Prime Minister David Cameron, then Labour leader Ed Miliband and then Liberal Democrat leader Nick Clegg promised Scots more powers if they voted No in the independence referendum”

9% is an awful lot of UKOKers.

Dare anyone ask our new bestie Kevrage if he thinks The Vow isn’t an historic shyste on Scotland?

38. X_Sticks

@Stuart Campbell

WHAT?! YOU MISSED THIS HUGE NEWS:

“JK Rowling to receive human rights award”

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-35408331

39. kailyard rules

This is to the Rev’s Chum.

To a Chocka (belated from the 25th)

Far fa’ yer yoonist pompous face,
    Gratin’ shafter o’ the hodden race.
    Aboon them a’ ye tak yer place,
    Hootsman , mail , an’ Funner,
    Weel are yer words, fu’ o’ mince,
    worthy o’ the praise o’ Scunner.

With thanks ,and apologies, to Rabbie.

40. ArtyHetty

I like the first comment, it’s the funniest yet.

It’s not like there is a horrendous, devastating drought in South Africa, or a huge methane gas leak in California or anything happening at all in the world at the moment. These rags really do like to keep things perochial and mind numbingly shallow, don’t they.

Think I will pop over to http://www.commondreams.org, today for a snippet of whats going on, anywhere.

41. Cuilean

‘Rats of Nimh’?

‘Ben’?

Tak yer ain snashters, mind.

42. heedtracker

X_Sticks says:
    26 January, 2016 at 2:57 pm
    @Stuart Campbell

The Harry Potter author will be presented with the Pen/Allen Foundation Literary Service Award on 16 May at the group’s annual spring gala in New York.
    Pen (Poets, Essayists and Novelists) said it was honouring the author in recognition of her support for free expression and charitable causes.”

So paid her BetterTogether charity a million quid to stop Scottish PR democracy, insults anyone who grinched about her doing it, and gets an award.

Whatever next?

She called vile sepratists “death eaters” and then called Donald Trump one too. Still cant be arsed actually finding out what the idiot means though.

http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/j.k.-rowling-calls-trump-spokeswoman-a-death-eater/article/2581407?custom_click=rss

Ghastly character.

43. brewsed

Apropos of nothing (and I had to look that), the accidental death of journalism on old media continues unabated probably at the inverse rate of the rise of alternative media. The full page spread on the dog walker must be about the cheapest bit of journalism ever. The incident, which took place in Buckie, was reported on Facebook on the 24th January and, as I type, has had 8,832 shares and 528,858 views. During the 25th someone was named and, on the 26th, the police confirmed that ‘a 44 year old woman has been charged’. The video shots were probably grabbed off Facebook and, I would guess, the other images are just photoshopped stock images. Point being – when printed it was not news it was just filling up space.

I had a similar experience (the powerful effect of new media that is) last year when I discovered a digital camera on a footpath. After being encouraged to look at the memory card and post an appropriate image, within minutes the owner’s father-in-law (whose image was posted) was identified. And the next day I received a nice bottle of wine in exchange for the camera.

The statistics are interesting. Facebook Fubar News which was a reliable source of information during recent flooding has 105,709 likes, so over one hundred thousand readers, while the Press and Journal, which covers roughly the same sort of area has a circulation of 66,679. Ouch. My village’s pictures of sunsets and lost dogs Facebook page, which also has useful nuggets of important stuff happening, has a membership 3,076. The local regional newspaper has a circulation of 2,754. Less of an ouch perhaps. Meanwhile, WoS may have over 300,000 readers (please – don’t start – been there, done that, unique IP addresses, web server logs, perl scripts, nuff said), which puts it ahead of any Scottish newspaper (sun: 224,298, DR: 190, 985, DM: 91,519) and makes the ‘real’ Scottish papers readership stats look absolutely pathetic, for example Hootsmon: 32,435.
    Reference: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_newspapers_in_Scotland

So, maybe a quiet day, but an opportunity to reflect.

44. JOHN KING

“With the best will in the world, I love haggis, but can’t work out how to make it LOOK appetising.”

WHAT ABOUT PIPING IT OUT OF A WIDE TUBE IN A SPIRAL UP TO A PEAK?…………..EHHHH………………

45. Not Convinced

Hmm, I guess it would be the fault of the SNP (who are, it must be remembered, very bad!) if people aren’t changing their pants often enough (or too often for that matter?). Also, will SLab propose using the “extra money raised by not cutting APD” on an infomercial campaign informing the people of Scotland the correct frequency to perform this?

46. Nana

What slow news day

Brotherly love or maybe not…

https://twitter.com/andrewlearmonth/status/692003398363799552?lang=en-gb

47. De Valera

So, the Record is pants today and everyday. Ask yourself, when was the last time the Scottish MSM contained any news?

The last time the Fail was honest was when it printed “Hurrah for the Blackshirts!”.
    I believe that was in 1935.

48. DerekM

lol i dont know what the owner of the BMW did to deserve that but i would bet there is a reason,now i am not saying it is correct or clever to do something like that its not,but if its got anything to do with a relationship he/she got of lucky 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=knhyV53zIDs

49. Andrew Haddow

I reckon the Rectum’s done a good job here. Just think of all the money SLab will save by not cutting APD (Alternating Pant Deployment).

50. Robert Peffers

@Peter Mirtitsch says: 26 January, 2016 at 1:42 pm

“With the best will in the world, I love haggis, but can’t work out how to make it LOOK appetising.”

Hide it among the traditional Clapshot of course : –

Clapshot Recipe

Ingredients:

500g boiled potatoes.
    500g boiled swede.
    50g butter .
    2 tablespoons of chopped chives.
    A pinch of nutmeg is optional.
    Salt and Pepper to taste.
    Shallots may be substituted instead of chives
    Dripping mat be substituted instead of butter

1. Boil the potatoes and swede in separate pans and then drain.

2. Mash the swede and potatoes together adding the butter.

3. Stir in the chives and season with the salt and pepper to taste.

Some people add a dram but I find it tends to make things mushy. Serve the dram in a glass.

51. Effijy

Can anyone imagine how many Editors of Unionist media would have gone to war on the SNP Government, if that English Toddler had
    died due to a fault with NHS Scotland.

The poor kid had a whole series medical appointments that should have been able to identify the symptoms and administer the necessary treatments.

The media at least covered the story today, but you will never hear about incompetent, budget slashed, soon to be privatised, NHS England’s failings again.

How does this media coverage compare to Michelle Thomson legally purchasing a buy-to-let home by putting in the highest bid???

My sincere sympathies to the little boys family. Tragic loss.

52. galamcennalath

heedtracker says:

“ONLY nine per cent of Scots believes that “The Vow” has been kept ….. 9% is an awful lot of UKOKers”

I suppose the good news story is that 91% of Scots are now savvy enough to recognise a Cameron pig well poked.

You are right, though. Why would anyone outside the actual UKOK propaganda industry say that The Vow has been delivered?

Perhaps they think The Vow refers to one of Cameron’s many other vows?

BBC – “7 Oct 2015 – David Cameron has vowed to devote much of his time in office to “an all-out assault on poverty”, in his speech to the Conservative Party conference”

Telegraph – “10 Nov 2015 – David Cameron will vow to seize control of Britain’s borders”

FT – “7 Oct 2015 – David Cameron vows to defend UK ‘common ground'”

Sky – “7 Nov 2015 – David Cameron makes the vow as part of his “digital mission” and says everyone will have access”

Telegraph – “12 Jan 2016 – David Cameron vows police bail shake up”

Express – “7 Oct 2015 – DAVID Cameron today vowed to build a “Greater Britain” by tearing down the barriers to equality”

Vows, As many as you like, cheap and cheerful, ten a penny.

53. Robert Peffers

I knew the Record had already been reduced to scraping the barrel but didn’t realise they had gone beyond that point to scraping BMWs. Next thing you know it’ll be scraping Ford CAs.

54. mike cassidy

I ate hulahoops today for the first time in years.

55. Donald Anderson

“Nicola Sturgeon keys car”

56. Iain More

I think even the most dunderheided Brit Nat knows you cant really improve hospital food, then again maybe not! Well since 9% of folk actually or apparently think the Vow has been fulfilled they are no doubt the ones changing their pants several times a day whilst expressing their disgust at hospital food. But then again the Daily Record obviously thinks that even the women in Scotland are too thick to know when to change their pants. What is next from the daily Record – Potty Training???

Me I would be happy to get a hot mug of proper tea or coffee whilst in hospital and just get hame as fast as possible.

57. Robert Peffers

@handclapping says:26 January, 2016 at 1:49 pm:

“What have you done Stu! We’ll now have John King telling us about his diet, Nana’s links will be to knitting patterns from the People and I’ll be reduced to telling you what the SNP was like in 1963. Buy popcorn, take in a film.”

Yer ower late, handclapping, I’ve already posted a recipe.

58. Karmanaut

O/T.

OIL.

John Redwood Conservative, Wokingham 8:10 pm, 18th January 2016

“I am delighted that the Secretary of State has pledged strongly that she sees the North sea as a fundamental part of Britain’s energy requirements in the future and a fundamental part of our whole industrial base, as indeed it is. The North sea has not just spawned substantial energy reserves and large tax revenues for us, but enabled the growth of a large number of highly skilled and technical jobs, with talented people working in a large number of companies.”

http://www.theyworkforyou.com/debates/?id=2016-01-18a.1208.0

Fundamental to the UK?

Fundamental to the future of the UK?

Hang on… this is the same oil which is an enormous curse for Scotland? What with the price of it being so volatile and all that…

Depserately bad for Scotland.
    Fundamental to the UK.

59. Karmanaut

“Desperately”

60. Robert Peffers

@liz says: 26 January, 2016 at 1:49 pm:

“That Hague guy is a pain in the neck – he’s still banging on today about the terrible ‘cybernats’ negative comments he recieved after the John Beattie interview.”

Just as well then, Liz, that he doesn’t know what we really think of him>
    ;-))

61. Jack Murphy

De Valera said and asked at 3:34 pm:-
    “So, the Record is pants today and everyday. Ask yourself, when was the last time the Scottish MSM contained any news?”

Breaking News today from Scotland’s Champion 🙂 :-

“Meet the OAP swinger who became a PORN STAR at 62 and has slept with over 100 men”.

62. Hamish McTavish

@heedtracker – Tennis coverage

Making the rash assumption that you can access Satellite TV, have a search through the channels for Eurosport. They seem to have live coverage of the Melbourne tennis.

Not sure if they offer free access on-line – probably not.

63. Robert Peffers

@CameronB Brodie says: 26 January, 2016 at 1:57 pm:

“Crochet work can be absorbing.”

Aye! CameronB, so can a muckle hiap o Clapshot on a plate of soggy Haggis.

For all you budding cooks out there. Avoid soggy Haggis by steaming it instead of boiling it.

64. ronnie anderson

And next week the Daily Rancid will hiv a feature for us aulder yins How tae put yer LongJohns oan withoot bendin ower Phat Phat fek it anither chinge.

65. Magdalena Klopp-Finch

I wonder if Woman Of The People and ex-MP, Margaret Curran, reads the Daily Record and makes lifestyle choices based on the wisdom it contains. I’m not speculating about Ms Curran’s pants. Not for a moment. Just wondering where she get the advice that guides her gorgeous lifestyle.

66. Fred

The point of clapshot is that it only needs one pot!

67. Robert Peffers

@Bob Mack says: 26 January, 2016 at 2:24 pm:

“Probably my imagination,but are those Y fronts in the picture ?. Don’t think my wife would wear them somehow, but you never know.”

It’s not yer imagination, Bob. What’s more the last six pack of what were advertised as, “Men’s Briefs”, looked very much like Woman’s nickers, (no frontal vent).

Next thing you know it’ll be unisex panties to save manufacturing costs in the sweat shops of India. One production line of wee child workers instead of two.

68. One_Scot

I guessed it was question 8 that you got wrong, as I did the same. I think the question may be badly worded or possibly intentionally a banana skin.

69. Conan the Librarian™

Apparently there’s a bear that looks like Leonardo DiCaprio.

70. lumilumi

Over at Twitter, Rev Stu had taken the BBC’s Holyrood quiz

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-35403398

and got 9/10 right. (“freakishly well-informed about Hoyrood goings-on and may well be planning a coup”)

My score: 9/10 (got the lobbying one wrong)

Am I planning a coup as well? 😮

71. call me dave

Nicola Sturgeon urges Chancellor to lower oil and gas industry taxes

https://archive.is/YKowe

PS:
    This bit is about sport!
    On-line sports streaming.
    Ad blocker (free) Google
    A wee bit of fettling and finding your way and….
    You can get all the sport you need.

http://cricfree.tv/

http://myp2p.ec/

72. galamcennalath

Karmanaut says:

“John Redwood … Fundamental to the future of the UK?

Hang on… this is the same oil which is an enormous curse for Scotland? ”

The imperial mind of a Greater Englander exposed. What is ours, is theirs.

If it had been ours, and not theirs, it was a curse. When it’s theirs, it’s a blessing.

With the likes of Redwood, this is not propaganda, he believes it.

73. frogesque

O/T – but it’s a slow month – allegedly.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/the-people-versus-carmichael#/

Fundraiser has stalled a bit since the New Year, currently at £204,801.

Any news from the Orkney 4 whether they still need funds and has Carmichael thrown in the towel as regards his own costs?

74. Grouse Beater

Conan: “There’s a bear that looks like Leonardo DiCaprio”

This one: https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2016/01/16/the-revenant-a-review/

75. Dan Huil

What will I line the budgie’s cage with when the britnat press in Scotland has ceased to be?

76. old dearie

FB local group Corstorphine the Friendly Village ( total misnomer for the site) has someone having a go at Michelle Thompson for opening an office. To quote “the cheek”. Pleased to see others joined me in defending her right to do so. The liberal leaflet has similar smears. Clearly the powers that be stalling on clearing her or charging her is going to continue till May.

Thanks for the “welcome ” comments. Much appreciated.

77. frogesque

galamcennalath says:
    26 January, 2016 at 4:42 pm
    Karmanaut says:

“John Redwood … Fundamental to the future of the UK?

Hang on… this is the same oil which is an enormous curse for Scotland? ”

The imperial mind of a Greater Englander exposed. What is ours, is theirs.

If it had been ours, and not theirs, it was a curse. When it’s theirs, it’s a blessing.

With the likes of Redwood, this is not propaganda, he believes it.

UK oil is a blessing to the UK, should it ever (rightfully) become Scotland’s oil then it will indeed be a curse – to the UK.

How else will all those UKOK infrastructure projects get paid for without those ubersuperdoober billions from the black gold.

78. call me dave

@lumilumi

Ditto! on the quiz.

PS
    Tony on the EU vote. That’s the one that gets free bed and breakfast at our embassies but can’t find the money to stand ex FM Salmond a meal. 🙁

https://archive.is/PaqGa

79. Robert Peffers

@Conan the Librarian™ says: 26 January, 2016 at 4:32 pm:

“Apparently there’s a bear that looks like Leonardo DiCaprio.”

Or mibbie there’s a DiCaprio that looks like a bear, (mibbie even wi a sair head).

80. john king

mogabee
    “As for the “papers”, knickers to them all!”
    OR
    As for the paper knickers to them all!

81. Hamish McTavish

@old dearie 4:54pm

What would be handy would be a current list of the MPs subject to HoC investigation. I’ve had a quick look but can’t find it. Someone suggested to me that there are a few hundred names on it.

If SNP only has two or three, that’s pretty good going on a percentage basis. 🙂

82. galamcennalath

OT His Imperial Heedness Blair now highlights the reality of EngExit for their beloved UKOK.

https://archive.is/l6oan

83. Fred

Fred’s New Improved One Pot Quick Haggis Curry.

Left-over Haggis (I used MacSween’s), a jar of Lloyd Grossman’s Madras Curry, a sachet of Tilda Pilau Rice, a Red Pepper, some Garlic, a tabsp Chilli Flakes, Black Pepper & Lemon Juice.
    Fry the chopped up red pepper, add garlic, pepper & chilli, then the curry sauce & lemon juice. Chop the haggis up and heat through in the sauce, microwave the rice, 2 min’s & serve. Luggies if ye like!

84. yesindyref2

Yeah,, slow news. Had a look at Hague’s twitter and this caught my eye: “I think anybody who’s seen my timeline recently will understand if I don’t interact as much as usual for a few days”

I suspect he’s read his own FFA for Dummies, realised it’s crap rubbish economically illiterate not quite correct, and is frantically reading up on economies, budgets, deficits, borrowing, revenues, spreadsheets, graphs …

85. call me dave

Just listening to Kezia down in London. 🙂

Telling us, on the BBC radio Scotland, one thing for public consumption and the real Labour, party darn Sarf, another thing which is the truth ‘dire straits’ and a good album it is too.

86. Andrew McLean

Hamish McTavish says: 26 January, 2016 at 4:01 pm

@heedtracker – Tennis coverage

For live tennis check out the times on

http://www.smh.com.au/entertainment/tv-guide

make sure you take into account the time difference!

Then download
    http://www.vyprvpn.com/refer?ar=48ufen5ker6qs_1

Set it to Perth Australia
    Then load http://www.7tennis.com.au/live if asked for a postcode type 6000 in the box.

Good luck

87. yesindyref2

“You are freakishly well-informed about Holyrood goings-on and may well be planning a coup”

Same one wrong, lobbying.

88. bjsalba

Tonight I’m having haggis with mashed tatties, neeps and carrots. May not be the prettiest thing on a plate, but some of the tastiest food I have ever eaten has looked yucky and some of the prettiest food I have eaten tasted vile.

89. cearc

Dan Huil,

‘What will I line the budgie’s cage with when the britnat press in Scotland has ceased to be?’

Letters from TV licensing?

90. call me dave

@Andrew McLean

Thanks for that I have installed and looking forward to using it later.

91. Nana

Imperial masters on the way to Scotland to bolster kezia and the slabbers. There was me thinking panto season was finished. Story in the evening times.

92. JLT

But Tony Blair partially saves the day by warning all Britnats that a UK exit from the EU will see Scotland leave the UK itself.

This is probably the only thing that Tony Blair has said in the last 20 years that has partially made me smile. Personally …it seems that hell got a slight coating of diamond dust today.

93. caledonia

Tomorrows press headline

“The scrached car and the SNP”
    Then at the bottom of the page the lady who did it walked past an SNP stall and up the road to the car

94. Marcia

Nana

I get a feeling that Labour party resources will be diverted to London for the Labour Mayoral Campaign.

95. Ananurhing

There must be a squeeze on at Trinity Mirror Group just now. I received an email from one of the Daily Wretched’s junior hacks last week, as did everyone in the community I live in.

A particularly poor and transparent attempt to whip up indignation and manufacture a story where there simply isn’t one. As far as I’m aware, no one responded.

It was also a load of pants

96. KenC

Daily Record, pants.

Fact.

97. Brian Doonthetoon

WARNING – post about tennis.

There’s a lot of “Australian Open” listed at the site below, from midnight onward, GMT. You have to know which court you want to watch.

http://www.batmanstream.com/tennis-live-streaming-video-2016.html

I haven’t used this site since it changed its name from “draku-streamhunter” so I would offer the usual advice of NOT downloading anything you get offered. It was ok before, however.

98. mike cassidy

Ananhuring 6.12

How did they know your email addresses?

99. Luigi

JLT says:
    26 January, 2016 at 5:54 pm

But Tony Blair partially saves the day by warning all Britnats that a UK exit from the EU will see Scotland leave the UK itself.

Aye, I wondered how long it would take before the in crowd started playing the Scottish card. I wonder how Farage and the Tory outers will respond.

Helmets on. 🙂

100. liz

I’m a back bencher got 50% in Holyrood quiz.

Need to revise for next time:)

101. TJenny

Ananurhing – Ooh! Intrigued. Both by content and how they knew your and your communities’ email addresses.

102. Dan Huil

@cearc 5:34pm

Appropriate, since the budgie’s favourite programme was The Bill.

103. Hugh Barclay

This rag is only for Unionists as the rest of us wouldn’t buy it, gives another meaning to I can smell a Unionist a mile away :-0 anything they say usually reeks anaw.

104. TJenny

Re BBC Holyrood quiz – got the same as the Rev – Holyrood Hero 9/10 and may well be planning a coup. (And got same q wrong for same reason i.e. and chose oor Alex instead of Wally by misreading Govts for parliaments).

Clearly (vile) Cybernat Hive mindset.
    Yaay. 😉

105. Craig MachAonghais

I see STV led with the same pish as the Herald giving us the added bonus of the Labour leader of West Lothian Council John Mcginty spouting some nonsense about the “closure” of children’s services at St. John’s being a “done deal” when in fact there is a review being carried out right now which has yet to reach any conclusion.
    I would be very worried if my council leader showed such great ignorance and stupidity as Mcginty as he clearly doesn’t understand the difference between a review currently being undertaken and a report as a result of the review.
    Any excuse in the unionist media attempts along with their Labour cronies to carry on with the SNP baaad narrative I suppose…the trouble with all this nonsense of course is that intelligent folk just stop listening so that even if there was some reason in the future to criticise the SNP Government we just wouldn’t believe it. It is very crude and ineffective long term.

106. Dr Jim

Tony Blair also said if Scotland leaves the UK it would be a disaster for RUK
    Two things about that 1. They said we were spongers, have they changed their minds?

2 If Scotland leaves the UK there is no RUK, if there are only two Kingdoms how does one part (England) become a United Kingdom with two other bits who aren’t Kingdoms

Surely they would have to change that title to “The much diminished Kingdom of England and it’s remaining colonies Nasty Furriners need not apply”

I’m not being sarcastic honest I’m not Hee Hee

107. Andrew Mclean

Warning tennis

Exactly why I use the green frog vnpr it is clean and is removed easily, it was recommended by my previous employers IT guy as the best.
    Trouble with torrent sites is they tend to drop out, leaving you with wee worms!

Using a vpn masks your location so you can use the proper link, or I player.

If you have a vpn I would recommend Rebellion on the RTE player no chance of ever seeing this on the BBC!

108. call me dave

@Brian Doonthetoon

Thanks for the warning, I’ve got a good virus and malware protection software etc, as everyone should, but your post is noted.

PS:
    Darn Sarf!
    Emergency services ‘should share control rooms’

https://archive.is/ZyAei

‘The shape of things to come’.

That’s a good film for those interested.
    Saw it years and years ago… scary stuff! H. G. Wells.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wqH1jyiHCyo

109. Dr Jim

I think it was originally an American idea to use the news to shout through the telly that everybody was doomed because bad news sells better than good news

I definitely get the feeling Scotland isn’t buying this method anymore, I think we’ve grown up and got smarter at long last

If whoever is writing the script for STVs JOHN McKay to shout we’re all doomed and going to die needs to get a tight grip or they’ll lose their remaining viewer
    While over on the other side BBCs RS we’ve got poor wee Sally McNair apologising her way through the news about the doom, it’s not really good enough is it

There’s plenty of good stuff happening in Scotland every day, maybe they should report some of that, just give it a wee try

Don’t worry be happy

110. mumsyhugs

You’ve all missed the big story right there in the Mail folks – older pensioners to be asked to give up their free tv licences – that’s it then, independence is in the bag with all the outraged pensioners switching to Yes because of this unprovoked attack from their beloved UKOK – the worm is turning! 🙂

111. JLT

Luigi says:

Aye, I wondered how long it would take before the in crowd started playing the Scottish card. I wonder how Farage and the Tory outers will respond.

The thing is, Luigi. In Scotland, we can all see what is going to happen. One thing the Referendum did do, and even a good few Unionists must admit too, is that it gave the nation a political awakening. Scots are probably still, the most politically active and aware nation in the whole of Europe.

This EU Referendum is going to tear England in two. Whatever way this result goes, half of England is going to be left bloody incensed and in deep fury. In fact, I believe they will be so focussed on the argument of ‘what’s best for England’ is that they may not realise that the Union of 1707 is in serious jeopardy. And if they do …they may not even care now if Scotland makes for the door and leaves the British Union.

I don’t know if you caught it on Channel 4 news last night, but there was a gathering of ex-politicians from all around the European Union to discuss what might happen if it is a successful ‘out’ vote. In summary, let’s just say, that the opinion of the EU politicians to Norman Lamont was that if you are out ‘…you’re out!’. The ex-Polish PM made it perfectly clear that there will be no special treaty for Britain should it leave when it comes to trade (which blows away Nigel Farage’s theory of trade continuing as normal). As he simply put it …if we allow Britain to leave, but give them access to all the best bits of the EU, but also allow them to avoid contributing to the least-appealing parts of it, then very quickly, you’re going to have every nation in the EU wanting the same. This will not be allowed to happen! In fact, to stop such a scenario happening, we will have to make an example of what happens if a nation does leave the EU. We have to make other nations think twice about leaving.

To say at that point, I wasn’t hee-hawing and rolling about the living room floor in knots would be an understatement. Make no bones about it, there will be no ‘amicable’ negotiations for the UK if it leaves. The Europeans are warning Westminster; if you leave …then beware …for you better be prepared for what comes!

112. mr thms

BBC Scotland who made a song and dance of last week’s hospital A&E performance figures,

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-35351918

“Emergency waiting times rise in main Glasgow hospitals”

have ignored this week’s figures.. I wonder why?

http://news.scotland.gov.uk/News/A-E-performance-improves-21d6.aspx

“Performance in Scotland’s core A&E departments improved during the week ending January 17 with 91.5 per cent of patients being seen and subsequently admitted, transferred or discharged within four hours.”

“Over a 10-week period to January 17, the national combined four hour performance rate was 93.4 per cent – five percentage points higher than the equivalent period last year. This is the strongest position Scotland has seen at this time of year since 2011.”

I wonder why?

113. Ananurhing

Mike Kennedy and T Jenny

The hack has connections in the area and I’m guessing has access to round robin emails on local issues.

Nothing too sinister, just a keech handed attempt to manufacture a lame story.

114. Nuggets O'Pish

‘The Daily Skidmark’
    ‘The Daily Cling-on’
    ‘The Daily Dangleberry’
    That’s all.

115. Nana

Marcia, that’s certainly possible. Labour will see the mayoral election as more important than a dying slabber party.

Re the quiz

I could kick myself, 9/10 in the Holyrood quiz. I may be planning a coup.

116. call me dave

@mr thms

Excellent catch and your right Auntie will turn a blind eye to certain items, this could be one of them.

I’m off! Footie to watch.

117. HandandShrimp

I have just had a rare foray onto Twitter. Kevin has managed to start a whole internet meme thing off by himself.

Remarkable!

Kevin, if you are reading, some advice my son gave me about the interwebs regarding the amazing unpleasantness on YouTube

“the only thing stupider than a Youtube comment is someone who reads them and gets upset by them”

I think it is advice that has more generic application.

118. galamcennalath

Quiz 7/10

I really am spending to much time obsessing over politics.

However, not as much as some, it seems! 😉

119. Nana

@Ananurhing

Curious [actually plain nosey]as to whether the hack wanted info on fracking and snp as I spotted this last week.

https://twitter.com/frackstorm/status/691605964391260164

120. HandandShrimp

mr thms

There has been so little for Eleanor to report on from the SNPbad perspective that I am sure I saw her writing up non-health news stories for BBC North Britain

Needs must I suppose.

121. TJenny

galamcennalath – Slacker!. Return immediately to Cybernat Central for reprogramming. 😉

122. jimnarlene

8/10, in the state propagandist, let’s amuse the Scots, quiz.

123. galamcennalath

jimnarlene says:

” in the state propagandist, let’s amuse the Scots, quiz.”

It’s probably a ploy to flush out the politically aware. Record the IP addresses of high scorers because they must follow politics just too closely for their own good!

UKOK needs dumb and compliant voters.

Tin hat back on hook.

124. Cath

Pants can definitely harbour some real nasties, to be fair. I mean, I know it seems unthinkable but some women may even have Alan Cochrane and Joh McTernan in their pants.

125. X_Sticks

8/10

That one about serving in UK/HR *government* caught me out 🙁 RTFQ!

126. jimnarlene

galamcennalath says:

“It’s probably a ploy to flush out the politically aware. Record the IP addresses of high scorers because they must follow politics just too closely for their own good!

UKOK needs dumb and compliant voters.

Tin hat back on hook.”

Bugger, never thought of that, I should’ve kept my tin hat on.

127. Paula Rose

I got 10/10 in that quiz! I’m now the First Minister!

Well if the shoe fits.

128. TJenny

X_Sticks – Hi, can you phone me please on my landline (my other devices have fallen out with me owing to lack of use – they reeeally don’t like/aren’t made to be ignored). 🙁

129. Hoss Mackintosh

@Dr Jim,
    6.55pm
    I think the geographically and poltically correct name for rUK would be :

“The Kingdom of South Britain and Northern Ireland”

They would just need to drop the “United” bit and the “Great” bit changes to South to accurately reflect the geographical reality.

Rather fortunately Serbia have given up the “SB” car country letters so they could use that to replace “GB”

Scotland would of course revert to the “Kingdom of Scotland” until we have a referendum on a republic.

Possibly, when Charles, with a name change to King George VII, acends to the throne that would be the appropriate time for that decision.

There – sorted that all for you. 🙂

“Republic of Scotland”

t

130. HandandShrimp

I got 9/10

Mucked up the lobbying bill question :/

131. Kenny

If Morrissey came from up here, I am sure he would have been more inclinded to write a song called:

** Every Day is “SNP Bad” Day **

It certainly is in BBC “Scotland” and on the pages of The “Scotsman” and “Scotland’s” Ch[u]mpions…

Yet the SNP might even take every constituency in the forthcoming elections… Is there any other country in the world, where the media report “everything is bad” and yet the electorate stubbornly disagrees?

I suppose the place to go to look for an answer is any other country where the media belongs to a foreign country…

So, NO voters, do you really trust the BBC or the Daily Record to give you the truth about Scotland’s REAL economy, about the fact that Scotland pays more into the UK than any other country of the UK, and always has done, yet gets back far less — and then gets told it is a nation of benefit scroungers ?!?!?!?

… And, get this, whenever the benefit scroungers say they are leaving, the “broad shoulders” of the UK break down in tears and beg us not to leave with all sorts of vows and threats…

132. call me dave

Dundee pie and Falkirk bridie…halftime. 1-1

PS:
    Two job appointments announced for ex-MPs.

https://archive.is/N78W9

133. cearc

It does say something about how they view their market if they feel the need to tell their readership when to change their knickers!

134. cearc

Paula Rose,

Smarty pants!

135. call me dave

Just noticed a BLT comment:

“Beaker leaves Muppets, gets Job in China” 🙂

136. schrodingers cat

trying to convince stu to stand on the fife and mid Scotland list. watching him oust wullie rennie, the last leader of the scot lib dems would be a memory to cherish.

difficult to avoid having stu on the tv after such an event

137. Robert Peffers

@mumsyhugs says: 26 January, 2016 at 7:09 pm:

“You’ve all missed the big story right there in the Mail folks – older pensioners to be asked to give up their free tv licences … “

But that’s why it isn’t really news, Mumssyhugs. The over 75 OAPs are being asked to volunteer to pay the Licence fee. Now to me that means the BBC are banking on the Blue & Red well-off Tories to help bail out the BBC but seeing as it is the Tory Government that is forcing the BBC to pay for the over 75’s licences it will probably be the Red Tory OAPs who they expect to volunteer.

My guess is the BBC are in for a dissy.

138. Graf Midgehunter

When queenie leaves this earth then I don’t think I’d be too keen on that actor called Charles to be the head of a proud Nation called Scotland. You know someone who sticks up for the place and doesn’t run around playing with his diamond cuff-links.

Why don’t we do what we did about a thousend years ago and import a nice young Scandanavian prince or princess to be OUR monarch. The sovereign people etc. etc.

After all the Scandis/Vikings were a part of our heritage for a long time and would do a lot to cement Orkney and Shetland and other parts of Scotland into a Nation.

139. louis.b.argyll

As others have said about the look of haggis..

It’s hard to be creative with stuff that is measured in ‘dods’.

140. bookie from hell

Just trashed my borgden collection

141. cearc

We could stay a kingdom but with an empty throne and appoint a guardian of the throne who would represent the throne for ceremonial and diplomatic purposes but with no political power.

142. Ananurhing

Nana @ 7.41
    “Curious [actually plain nosey]as to whether the hack wanted info on fracking and snp as I spotted this last week.”

Hi Nana, No. Something much more banal and perochial. Not really of any interest other than the amateur attempt to manipulate people and create a story.

143. Bill Hume

Life has been a bit hectic, what with Mrs. H having broken her leg a week before Christmas, so, if I’m a bit late with this…..sorry

I’ve just heard that Cecil Parkinson has died.

I should like to add my feelings to the outpouring of grief.

The man was a well rounded and complete arsehole.

It’s at times like this I wish I wasn’t an atheist…immagining the bastard burning in hell.

144. Albaman

Robert Peffers, at 20.59hrs.
    My understanding is that this idea regarding over 75s possibly agreeing to voluntarily paying the “t.v.” Licence came as a idea from the Government.
    (Anyway,is it not a licence to enable a house/building to legally receive “radio” signals, irrespective where that signal originated ) cannot remember the correct terminology .

145. Rob James

Afraid I only got 7/10, but I only come here for the recipes!

146. Nana

@Ananurthing ok.

Going to leave this here. Tories showing total contempt for snp mps seems to be a thing…

https://twitter.com/StewartMcDonald/status/692031823304597504?lang=en-gb

147. Still Positive.

Re BBC quiz:

I got 8/10 but my son got 9/10.

We both wrongly answered Margo and I misread the Q about parliament/government and wrongly answered Alex Salmond.

I knew that Q was badly worded and I should have read it again especially as I was an English teacher (retired)and have politics as part of my degree.

Still an A, was dreading a C/D.

148. jimnarlene

@Nana, they’ll be a good spring cleaning, in our Parliament, come May. The cheeky feckers.

149. Graeme Doig

Cuilean @ 3,07

“Snashters”

A word I’ve used my whole life and got the response “what’s that ?”

Mothers family from Ayrshire. Is it from around there? Was thinking my gran just made it up.

You’ve no idea how excited I am. It’s a slow day all the gither for me 🙂

150. handclapping

There being nothing else to do I went and polished HEC the handclapping election calculator that predicted 26 seats for the SNP in GE2010. There was still a glimmer in the old girls innards so I looked and looked, into the eyes, just the eyes and I’ve been inspired to tell you how 2016 will pan out.

Feb 12 No agreement on FFA; DC too busy with renegotiation, leves it to Gideon who reckons upseting the Scots will earn brownie points in England
    Feb 22 DC does a Neville Chamberlain and proclaims a win for Remain on June 16
    Feb 23 Boris and Theresa May join Leave
    Mar 19 Lords complain about Gideon’s ‘settlement’ but pass the Scotland Bill anyway
    Mar 23 Emergency sitting @ Holyrood refuses Legislative Consent
    Mar 26 Fluffy starts steam-rollering Scotland Bill through Commons
    May 5 Stunning win for SNP 76 seats Lab 19 Con 19 Green 8 RISE 4 LibDems 2 and Tommy
    May 10 Kezia voted Presiding Officer Tories become Official Opposition
    June17 Remain 15,473859 (England 12256559 Wales 937300 NI 280000 Scotland 2000000)
    Leave 15,472667 (England 13250567 Wales 937100 NI 285000 Scotland 1000000)
    ( England leave 994008 NI leave 5000 Wales remain 200 Scotland remain 1000000) UK remain 1,192 in 30,946,526
    Jun 17 Cameron resigns Osbo Acting PM
    Jun 20 Boris and Theresa May join Giddy in Tory leader race
    Jun 21 Osbo introduces renewal of Trident bill
    Farage goes on the stump saying England should be out and Scotland must go
    Jul 12 Scotland Act passed at Westminster by guillotine
    Jul 24 Poll for Sunday Times shows England 60:40 for England out and get rid of the Scots, Tories down to 29% Ukip up to 19%
    Aug 1 Theresa May endorses England out, Boris follows
    Aug 27 Theresa May wins Tory Party, becomes PM and says UK is broken she will be withdrawing from EU and abrogating the Treaty of Union
    Aug 28 Sunday Times poll shows England 63:37 for England out and get rid of the Scots, Tories down to 27% Ukip up to 21%
    Sep 12 Second reading of Trident Bill passes 332:63 Labour abstain apart from Jeremy Corbyn who votes with the SNP and Plaid
    Sep 17+18 Labour party conference

I’m sure there was more but I’ve forgotten it. Happens a lot nowadays.

PS 9 who cares about Rumbold trying to get back anyway

151. Kelpie

I think I can push the date for when the DR last reported real news back by about 20 years.

I was on the subway, early morning and many of my fellow passengers were absorbed in their newspapers while I sat opposite and browsed the front pages on show. And it was a big news day – Nelson Mandela was first black president of South Africa.

At least, it was the lead story in the Herald, Scotsman etc. Then I spotted the Record front page… the main story was something along the lines of ‘Pensioner Jack had an affair with his daughter in law and now she’s pregnant!’.

The year was 1994 and it must have been either 28 April (day after the election) or 10 May which was inauguration day.

Does anyone know where I could find a cached front page to confirm – or maybe someone else remembers?

152. Robert Kerr

@louis.b.argyll

Anent “Dod” as a unit of measure. Seeing it’s our bard’s Birthday plus one.

“Twa roarin’ handfu’ and a daud”

From “Nine inch will please a lady”

https://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Nine_Inch_Will_Please_a_Lady

Good night.

153. yesindyref2

Just thinking about the fiscal framework negotiations and the Scottish Unionist politicians and posters attitude to Swinney and the SNP daring to actually negotiate and it made me realise why they’re all so bitter.

Unionist: I desperately need to buy a used car
    Del Boy: I have just the job, came in today
    Unionist: I’ll take it!
    Del Boy: That’ll be £12,000 cash
    Unionist: Thanks very much, here you go (hands over money).

Unionist: Why’s there a price tag of £100 on it? Where are the wheels?

154. Quakeawake

O/T – in fact is there a T?

As it’s a slow day, thought I’d drop this in because we really ought not to miss John Swinney making wisecracks at Jackie Baillie’s expense – from last week’s Finance Committee (www.scottish.parliament.uk/parliamentarybusiness/report.aspx?r=10316):

Jackie Baillie: “I could not believe it when I saw it, but there is a line in your budget document that talks about maintenance for the Forth and Tay bridges. Where is the Erskine bridge?”

John Swinney: “It was near Clydebank, the last time I looked. With any luck, it is still there.”

Tickets available to see Oor Johnny at the next Finance Committee from all the usual outlets!

155. jimnarlene

@Graeme Doig’ re: Snashters, it means sweets and is a guid Ayrshire word.

156. louis.b.argyll

@Robert Kerr,

Thanks for the Burns link…

It’s BRILLIANT..

.not one for the primary schools though..

157. dakk

Anyone who suggests that the self governance of any country should be forfeited because of the current/short term price of any commodity does not have the interests of that country at heart.

Be it Hague or anyone else.

Would anyone suggest Norway should surrender its sovereignty and be part of Sweden again,or Russia should give it up and ask for pooling and sharing with Westminster?

What planet is the hamster vendor on ?

Well done Stuart,great to hear you on MSM dishing it out 🙂

We’re getting there.

158. galamcennalath

handclapping @ 9:51

Typical! Does that mean we have to wait until next week’s exciting episode for the conclusion !? 🙂

159. David

10/10 but then i lied and cheated….aspiring pollytician I am NOT!!!

160. louis.b.argyll

Nothing like a good Burns night, even just taking a wee moment the days after, to get a bit of feel good factor.

Burns’ work, and the craic it inspires still, is a rare gift we share.

161. onelessday

Re snashters I have always known this word pronounced as snysters meaning small cakes ect

I too still use it

162. Still Positive.

@ Graeme Doig and Jimnarlene @ 10.17 re Snashters.

My late husband used the term and his mother was born in Greenock but moved to Ireland when she was 2 for 12 years. I was brought up in deepest Lanarkshire and had never heard the word.

My husband described it as what we would call ‘junk food’ now not just sweets. As an example we gave our boys treats or ‘snashters’ on a Saturday – pizza for dinner, fizzy drinks and sweets for afters.

163. X_Sticks

@Tjenny

Just seen your post to call – bit late now – I’ll give you a call tomorrow.

164. jimnarlene

@onelessday, snysters would be how I pronounce it too, it does mean cakes, sweets etc.

165. jimnarlene

For the dictionary definition of snashter/snyster.

http://www.dsl.ac.uk/entry/snd/snashter

It’s a good site to bookmark.

166. Lenny Hartley

Was visiting friends and they had beeb on telly, a program about C list elderly celebs looking at retiring in India, the commentator said this and I aint kidding, “its hard to get used to a country where the class system still exists and the wealth is in the hands of a few”

What planet do these idiots live on?

167. Graeme Doig

Aye I’ve always used it for sweets, cakes and other snacky stuff.

Never imagined discussing Snashters on Wings. Superb. Thanks folks. And apologies Rev 😉

168. TJenny

X_Sticks – It’s OK I’m still up and about otherwise tomorrow @6pm ish OK?

169. Graeme Doig

jimnarlene

Never thought of it as a “contemptuous” term for sweets etc

Thanks for link to the SND.

170. jimnarlene

@Graeme Doig, as we know from the Rev’s weekend soapbox, he loves his snashters.

171. Still Positive.

Jimnarlene @ 10.42.

Thanks for the link – seems my late husband was right – trashy food!

172. call me dave

Day trippers from darn Sarf to boost ‘Scottish’ labour’s election chances is it a risky strategy? Corbyn leads his top team North.

https://archive.is/APOjG

173. Ronnie

re- snashters/snysters.

I think trashy foods and cheap sweeties were what my Grannie referred to as ‘smachry’.

She regarded such things as a waste of money.

174. HandandShrimp

Who are the Labour top team these days? I’m struggling to think of someone that would be credible in a Scottish political context. Jeremy is a nice enough bloke but after him who?

I see Tony Blair is now saying that Brexit equals Scottish independence.

It is likely true but I get the feeling it is being used as a club down south.

175. jimnarlene

Ronnie, did she mean:
    http://www.dsl.ac.uk/entry/snd/smacherie

176. handclapping

@galamcennalath 10:19

Depends if I find my Roxy Saturday Matinee pass by then 🙂

177. scotspine

@call me Dave

Day trippers are one thing. My wife works in an estate agents and has seen an upsurge in folks from England buying property……

178. X_Sticks

@HandandShrimp

Aye, but a club being wielded down south by the peace envoy is liable to backfire is it not?

I detect a sense of panic in the british union media.

179. schrodingers cat

lmao

Bill Hume “I’ve just heard that Cecil Parkinson has died.
    The man was a well rounded and complete arsehole.
    It’s at times like this I wish I wasn’t an atheist…immagining the bastard burning in hell”

better late than never bill.

hope yer wify is feeling better and a happy new year

best laugh on a slow news day ive seen

180. Fred

Swedgers = Sweeties 🙂

181. call me dave

@X_Sticks

They can only be trying to retain 2nd place now.
    I think they will.

BUT SNP x 2 is important.

@HandandShrimp

Take your pick…

http://www.labour.org.uk/people/filter/c/shadow-cabinet#main-content

182. Steohen McKenzie

Bill Hume @9:31

Bill I am sure that Mrs H’s broken leg has influenced your viewpoint as I am sure that being clattered by Mrs H’s stookie as she turns over during the night has not be easy on you both – well you especially..

However although Cecil was as you say a “well rounded and complete arsehole”, we should not bring hell and damnation upon him just because he was a Conservative.

Indeed I am sure that Fluffy would ask that we all just turn the other cheek.

183. Ronnie

@ jimnarlene,

As with so many Scots words, I never saw this in written form and used my Lomond dictionary to find it.

I don’t suppose that she ever wrote it down either.

But – she did use three syllables, so your reference may be more accurate.

(I confess to using Google to check – does that make me a bad person?)

Much of her language was that of the Mearns.

I wish I had been able to record her lengthy story telling, they were a treat.

184. schrodingers cat

It is likely true but I get the feeling it is being used as a club down south.

correct h&s, it isn’t for our benefit

185. Capella

Kevin McKenna complains about the Scottish Government being too soft with the BBC. Some interesting morsels:

“Scotland raises £323m in licence fees, yet has an annual budget of some £35m. The corporation has tried to put that figure at £123m, but such a sum includes spending on programmes and projects that are “badged” as Scottish but whose DNA is anything but.

The disparity arises from the cost of what BBC staffers call “lift and shift” programmes. These are programmes that are given a patina of Scottishness so that the cost can be added to the Scottish budget. In this way, a sum of between £75m and £80m is added as part of the network supply review, under which several programmes are produced for the UK network. These include Homes Under the Hammer and all the lottery game shows.

None of them had their origins in Scotland and the creative personnel and processes bypass Scotland completely. Technical studio staff are flown in from England on a Monday morning as part of the ritual known inside Pacific Quay as “the trundle of the trolley-bags”.”

https://archive.is/fr4Ox

186. Chic McGregor

@Capella
    “Technical studio staff are flown in from England on a Monday morning as part of the ritual known inside Pacific Quay as “the trundle of the trolley-bags”.”

Not to mention Eggheads (where c 1 in competing 20 teams or less are Scottish, just to rub it in).

187. Effijy

From the link above_

https://www.commonspace.scot/articles/3336/glasgow-councillors-approve-bulldozing-kelvinmeadow-for-private-flat-development

I wonder if the Labour Councilors are more vulnerable to giving
    developers the right to develop community park land into flats
    as they are well aware that they will be unemployed next year?

The entire community has fought tooth and nail for many years to retain their park, so Labour must know it is yet another nail in their well secure coffin.

Tragic if this land is now lost but perhaps it might also mark the last draconian action of a Labour Council?

188. Effijy

The scratched car lady, does that look a bit like Yvette Cooper?
    Perhaps that’s Dippity Dug on the leish and the car had an SNP
    sticker in the window? lol

189. Chic McGregor

The Herald could have picked a worse picture of Nicola. e.g. by by photoshopping out the droplets from an assailant who had the the words ‘Acid Attack’ emblazened on his water pistol, but that would have risked prosecution.

190. scotspine

@ capella

It’s like the techies at area 51 in the US. Sworn to secrecy and flown in and out of a place shrouded in mis-information.

191. jimnarlene

Ronnie,
    “(I confess to using Google to check – does that make me a bad person?)”

Not at all, I’ve lost a lot of words my parents and grandparents used, the interweb is a great tool for rediscovery of things lost.

192. Effijy

HandandShrimp says:
    26 January, 2016 at 11:27 pm
    Who are the Labour top team these days? I’m struggling to think of someone that would be credible in a Scottish political context. Jeremy is a nice enough bloke but after him who?

I see Tony Blair is now saying that Brexit equals Scottish independence.

Wouldn’t that be great for SNP to encourage the English Electorate
    that by voting No they can get rid of the Colony that they say
    are subsidised, stupid Nazis?

They vote No, we vote Yes, and everything turns out best!

193. Robert Peffers

@Albaman says: 26 January, 2016 at 9:33 pm:

” … My understanding is that this idea regarding over 75s possibly agreeing to voluntarily paying the “t.v.” Licence came as a idea from the Government.”

The point is that the BBC collect the licence fee on behalf of the Government. The BBC do not keep all the licence fees. The Government then make an agreed grant to fund the BBC. BTW: The BBC carry our several other tasks on behalf of the government. Including investigating radio, radar and TV innterferannce.

The Government base their grant to the BBC on a per capita basis but it was the Government that ordered the BBC to pay the over 75s licence fee. So the BEEB do actually lose the money.

“(Anyway,is it not a licence to enable a house/building to legally receive “radio” signals, irrespective where that signal originated ) cannot remember the correct terminology.”

No. It only now only applies to TV live broadcasts frequencies from any source, (including satellite). It no longer applies to radio frequencies. There are no restrictions upon radio reception now.

194. BJ

Snashters ! A very commonly used word here, “You’re not getting any Snashters jeest noo, your dinners nearly ready!

195. yesindyref2

You know something? I think it’s over time we really got down to kicking the arses of the Unionist doom and gloom merchants, purveyors of doom for Scotland, and by the looks of it, Unionists who really hope doom will happen.

There’s a thread in the Herald, taken over by some of the most disgustingly ignorant comments I’ve seen. It’s “Nicola Sturgeon urges Chancellor to lower oil and gas industry taxes”

I looked at Oil & Gas report, and apparently production ROSE an estimated 7% in 2015 – despite the low oil prices. Yet there are those saying it’s “doomed, doomed, doomed”. I finally lost the rag and my comment (if it lasts) is below.

196. yesindyref2

(my comment in Herald)

This is a very sad thread. The article is about helping the Oil & Gas industry to get through a tough time, by reducing high levels of taxation and other measures. One aim is to stop companies decomissioning oilfields which would make them much more difficult to extract from in future. This is part of what is being asked for.

Yet the industry itself is managing, even increased production by 7% during 2015, but needs help from Government – basically to allow it to keep some profit so it can reinvest.

Yet all people can do is run down the industry for political grievance, it’s disgusting. I can not find words strong enough to condemn that.

197. TJenny

yesindyref2 – Ach they’re Yoons, doom ‘n gloom is what they do, it’s all they have. They are incapable of seeing Scotland in any positive light.

They are truly miserable.

198. Chic McGregor

Wad some power the Giftie gie us
    Tae see oorsels as Dithers see us

Or mibbes

Wad some power the Giftie gie us
    Tae see oorsels as Cringers see us

199. Robert Peffers

@Graeme Doig says: 26 January, 2016 at 9:50 pm:

” “Snashters”

A word I’ve used my whole life and got the response “what’s that ?” ”

Snashterer – n. (contemptious use) – sweets, cakes,pastries, etc.; trashy food. The word is now only local.

It derives from the mid/low German snascherie – eating of dainties. (In Swedish it is snask – sweets).

Does that help?

200. Dave McEwan Hill

scotspine at 11.34

All the more reason that we get to them first. There are very many nice people among and a decent welcome warms to the idea of an independent Scotland

201. liz g

Lookin like its not a slow news day after all
    We have the known knowns… Wingers do indeed know when to change their underwear
    The previously unknown knowns….Tony Blair did not self combust when uttering truth (l have held a healthy respect for miracles though since Robert,second name witheld in the intrests of being awkward, once posted a 3 line reply.
    Now we are waiting on word of the
    Unknown Unknown….. Has X stick’s phoned T jenny yet!!!

202. Dr Jim

Re the TV Tax:

That was thunk up by a Tory think tank chaired by Dr Liam Fox who also at the time put forward the Idea of withdrawing the Heating allowance from pensioners but suggested that should be held back until the middle of this Parliament so that voters would forget which government introduced it as it affects the Scots more, he said

At that same meeting was discussed removal of the bus pass

See, if there’s one thing pensioners don’t forget, it’s anything to do with who might take their money away

Now we’ve got talks on working till you’re 80 which would apply to those who are under 40 at the moment

It’s all going rather well eh
    I’m feeling better together more and more

Does anybody know if you can buy broadband on its own without paying for a phone (serious question)

203. yesindyref2

@TJenny
    I thought I was used to it, but suddenly I just saw red.

What we need is positive messages, and perhaps that’s what the electorate would like as well. The three Unionist parties are full of whinge and doom and still carping on about White Paper and oil prices, bad NHS, bad education, bad police, bad SNP, bad Scotland. The Unionists are miserable – perhaps we should cheer them up!

Maybe we should start up an official “Happy Unionist Day”?

204. cearc

Dr.Jim,

You can get dedicated satellite broadband from Q-Sat but at £29.99/mth it is probably dearer than having it plus phone on your phone line.

205. CameronB Brodie

Capella
    Was the BBC’s milking of Scottish revenues not discussed at length on this sight, during indyref? I think by Grouse Beater, at least. Grouse Beater?

I wonder what has prompted Mr. McKenna’s belated interest. Has he decided which way he swings yet?

206. yesindyref2

@CameronB Brodie

McKenna’s YES but not SNP. Probably still Labour at heart.

207. CameronB Brodie

Site.

Me, obsessive? More like paranoid. 😉

208. CameronB Brodie

yesindyref2
    Thanks, I’d kind of tuned out from him after Christmas. 😉

209. Onwards

McKenna is right on the BBC execs being given an easy ride. Their argument against retaining more of the Scottish licence fee for Scottish content is that we watch a high proportion of UK network programmes on the BBC.
    Really? Perhaps that’s because their Scottish TV content is limited to a handful of shows produced on a shoestring budget.

210. CameronB Brodie

OK, also obsessive. Not Christmas but that rather dodgy slavery cringe a while back. I don’t mean to be offensive to Mr. McKenna but I really wasn’t impressed by the tone of the article. Perhaps I misread.

211. CameronB Brodie

Oops. I’ve already been offensive.

Apologees Mr. McKenna. 🙂

212. One_Scot

I must be mental sitting here with a coffee and a Mega size packet of Flamin’ Hot Monster Munch wait for Andy Murray to start.

213. chris kilby

They’ll be telling us how to wipe our arses next.

(With the Daily Record, presumably.)

214. yesindyref2

@CameronB Brodie
    Different people take McKenna different ways. I read his articles back in 2012-13 in the Grun (Observer), and he was violently anti-SNP and was pro-Labour. But the shambles with Labour, and the “something for nothing” and end universal credit from Lamont hacked him off, and he moved towards Indy – but not the SNP. Oh, the Catholic Church let him down as well, and his football club! A tale of woes.

Some people thing he writes to the tune of the paper. I think he’s just reactive, which I kind of like. That means he can say one thing one week, then totally another the next. Well, what’s wrong with that? !! ?

His articles can make you angry, and that’s almost rare, usually ones that offend me from other journos I mostly raise the eyebrows in disgust.

215. onelessday

One Scot

Hope you’re enjoying what little we’re hearing about Andy. Well done Ms Konta but if I hear her name again I think I’ll scream It has been none stop

216. jdman

Dr Jim
    “Does anybody know if you can buy broadband on its own without paying for a phone (serious question)”

If you have Virgin in your area you can get broadband without a phone line from them. not sure of price but normally its about £27.00
    But just as cheap to get a line with it, Sky will give you free broadband for a year line rental £17.40 broadband (without tv) is £10.00

217. call me dave

Try this:
    Ad-blocker and the usual precautions.

1 set all Murray one break up in third.

http://cricfree.tv/watch/live/the-australian-open-live-streaming

218. yesindyref2

@Dr Jim
    Didn’t see your question, but Post Office have a deal till end this month for Phone line £16 per month + 1 year free BB, then £8. Pay a year up fromt line rental save £48 for £12 a month line rental. http://www.postoffice.co.uk/broadband-mobile/premium

I don’t think there’s any line-less option, if there is please let me know!

219. louis.b.argyll

Let’s go Andy..

220. louis.b.argyll

…LET’S GO!

221. heedtracker

Thanks to everyone for the OZ tennis links. GO ANDY!

222. Robert Peffers

@yesindyref2 says: 27 January, 2016 at 1:34 am:

“What we need is positive messages, and perhaps that’s what the electorate would like as well. The three Unionist parties are full of whinge and doom and still carping on about White Paper and oil prices, bad NHS, bad education, bad police, bad SNP, bad Scotland. The Unionists are miserable – perhaps we should cheer them up!”

I’m not sure how aware some wingers are of just why the Local Council elections are so important to the independence campaign.

I may be wrong but I see it as the unionist controlled councils not only being the leaders in the, “SNP BAD”, drip-feed propaganda machine but they manufacture much of the actual deficiencies they blame upon the SNP SG.

Think about this :-

Who employs teachers and run schools? The local council controlled Education Boards.

Who employs nurses, and other ancillary staff, and who runs local Heath Centres? Local Council controlled Health Boards.

Who, until recently, appointed Chief Constables? Local Councils.

Who is supposed to build council houses for rental; regulates homelessness? Local Councils.

Who does the roads, pavements and Winter snow clearing? Local Councils.

To my mind much of the SNP BAD moans are situations set up by the Unionist Controlled Local Councils and that is the reason the Local controlled Councils dominate COSLA.

It is why the Unionists are so keen on devolving powers from Holyrood to local councils. This is their last bastion against being wiped out in Scotland.

With a good SNP/SNP vote in both Holyrood and Local Council elections the SNP BAD situation would come down to complaints of poor service actually being due to the SNP Holyrood Governments control.

223. call me dave

Game over! Two plucky Brits in semi-finals… 🙂

224. Robert Peffers

@onelessday says: 27 January, 2016 at 5:57 am:

“Well done Ms Konta but if I hear her name again I think I’ll scream It has been none stop”

Oh! Aye! You British Ladies No1 Tennis player : –

Born: May 17, 1991 (age 24), Sydney, Australia

Parents: Gabriella Cortez, Gabor Konta.

Yes – All very British – of course!

225. louis.b.argyll

Robert P…
    Are you suggesting that elected members / councillors would sabotage this nations well-being, to score points against Scots Government?

If not, I’ll say it…

Be very wary of ‘independent group’s
    They are blazer boys in sheep’s clothing.

226. Capella

@ CameronB Brodie
    I guess McKenna is writing about the BBC’s shambolic service in Scotland now because the Charter is up for renewal and we want control over broadcasting.

Pity his remarks are confined to the Guardian, but an airing on WoS will reach a wider audience!

227. call me dave

@Robert Peffers

I agree the local elections are vital
    SNP x 2

PS:
    Auntie savaging the NHS on both sides of the border this morning on mental health.
    Curiously it’s only on the news where you are depending upon which side of the border you live.

Tin hats on for Call Kaye 🙁

PPS:
    Hinkley Point:

https://archive.is/9CEgt

228. paul gerard mccormack

Interesting this colonisation of the person.

Konta Johanna, to call her by her real name – as the surname is always given first in Hungarian – will have dual nationality ie 2 passports.
    But no, thats not good enough – the brits will first take her birthright and then lay claim to her nationality.
    All just a harmless bit of public school flag waving fun of course
    Aye right.

229. onelessday

p.g.mccormack

We were informed she actually held 3passports.

230. Ghillie

Capella, @11.57pm

(BBC)Technical studio staff are flown in from England on a Monday morning as part of the ritual inside Pacific Quay known as the ‘trundle of the trolley bags’!

Or more like the hens’ march to the midden? 🙂

231. call me dave

Abbot and Corbyn, bring it on!

https://archive.is/QNc7N

@Nana

That’s a mornings reading already… 🙂

232. starlaw

@ Robert Peffers re local councils
    Spot on If SNP can gain control of most Local Councils next year, and make a good job of it, then its game over for this Union. Councils made lots of mischief during Referendum by their refusal ta make school halls and other places usually used for public meetings. Most even refused the lampposts to be used, never heard of this before. Still .. that’s next years campaign.

233. Nana

@ call me dave, the last link above is a cracker, an ex soldier replies to a begging letter from Fallon.

234. call me dave

James Naughtie (special correspondent) shurley slome mischtake!?

https://archive.is/MexBn

I’m off to get The National and solve these cryptic ‘Scottish’ word clues. 🙁

235. Socrates MacSporran

call me dave

Two plucky Brits in semi-final

Sorry to prick your Britnat bubble old boy, but, the reality is, it’s two Scottish brothers and an Anglicised Australian/Hungarian “Brit” who are in the semi-finals.

236. call me dave

@Socrates MacSporran

Irony! Irony!

Anyhoo!

Gordon Reid (another Scot) wheelchair tennis competition makes three in the semi-finals.

237. Luigi

Nana says:

27 January, 2016 at 8:46 am

Just have to post this, hahahaha

https://twitter.com/GerryHassan/status/692143868381433856

“I say, old chep. What are the Chinese playing at? Sir Danny is one of ours. This is no way to treat one of our useful idiots!”

238. Luigi

Robert Peffers says:

27 January, 2016 at 7:33 am

I’m not sure how aware some wingers are of just why the Local Council elections are so important to the independence campaign.

Absolutely critical, Robert. Obviously we have to get another majority SNP government elected, with Nicola as FM in May, but I am concerned that if we achieve this, people will get complacent. This ain’t done until the fat lady sings.

As KD has said herself: Labour are down but not out, and I agree with her. We cannot afford to stop after May – we need to further degrade our enemy and that means hitting them at base: the council elections in 2017. The voting system used for council elections will make it very difficult to remove large numbers of Labour councillors, and blue and red tories will certainly combine to thwart any SNP majorities where they can, but our objective has to be very few (ideally none) unionist-controlled councils by late 2017. If this is achieved (and it won’t be easy) then, IMHO the road to IndyRef 2 and a resounding YES victory will be open.

239. Dan Huil

I’m sure the Record and Mail will be hoping liar Carmichael gets all the money he’s demanding.

240. Lenny Hartley

Dr Jim
    Unfortunately unless you have fibre direct to your door or subscribe to satellite broadband then you need a phone line. B.T. Fibre only runs to the nearest cabinet , thereafter it uses your telephone line for the last segmant.

About 15 years ago Hydro were running a pilot scheme in Stonehaven and Creif using the thick
    Piece of copper carrying you’re electrickery into your house, but took it no further, problems with filtering out certain frequencies I believe was its undoing. Now you can use your internal electrical wiring as a data network so maybe Hydro will look at broadband over electrickery again.

241. Dorothy Devine

Having read many of your links Nana ( not all as I have a deal of housework to do) and the article in the National about Carmichael The Liar plus comments , I have had an upsurge of optimism that the revolution is underway both North and South of the border in the UK.

Ordinary folk are taking action all over the place , helping and supporting each other , wresting the upperhand from those who pretend to be their betters

I shall smile as I do an ironing that would frighten a Chinese laundry – something never seen in 60 years worth of ironing.

242. Grouse Beater

Published essay lampooning History Woman – gulp! There will be no hiding place now.

grousebeater-wordpress: ‘Jumping the Snark’

(You didn’t see me – okay?)

243. X_Sticks

@liz g

“Has X stick’s phoned T jenny yet!!!”

Of course I have 😀

244. Papadox

@Luigi 9:15 am

Good post Luigi and very true. Get a majority in Holyrood “again” and be accepted as the natural party of the people and Government.

The totally discredited and distrusted local Government system in many parts of this country is not fit for purpose and requires new blood and new ideas, some of it should be put out of its misery. Sounds a bit like Tammany hall.

I believe the local Government elections will be the most difficult part of the jigsaw, but will be the final nail in the UK coffin and independence will then only be a matter of time, and it won’t be long.
    If we can achieve these two targets then there will be no going back, the end is nye.

DONT LET UP. FREEDOM!

245. Robert Peffers

@louis.b.argyll says: 27 January, 2016 at 8:04 am

“… Are you suggesting that elected members / councillors would sabotage this nations well-being, to score points against Scots Government?”

Suggesting No! I’m saying it.

Some of them would, “sabotage”, their spouses, first born, mother, father and both grannies, (if they haven’t already done so).

246. gus1940

Interesting article this morning in the Politics Section of the Main BBC News site.

It is about suspicions of Communist infiltration of the BBC in the 50s but the most interesting point made is a straight statement that MI5 vetted BBC Staff something that nowadays is often brought up by YES supporters but is ridiculed by the BT lot.

247. call me dave

Orange smoke and union jacks in protest outside Holyrood they are not fishing for compliments then.

SG debate marine protection zones not everyone’s in favour!

248. Almannysbunnet

If you wan’t something to cheer you up have a look at this piece. The barely disguised angst is fun to read.
    “No Sign of the SNP losing its lustre”.
    If you can’t be bothered I’ve listed a few highlights that made me smile.

“Labour could’nae run a bath,” I heard one voter telling an SNP canvasser.

At first glance, it is a puzzle. Nicola Sturgeon’s government has to defend a record – on education, aspects of the NHS, police reform – that gives openings for a good opposition.

Ruth Davidson, the feisty Conservative leader

One voter we heard last week told SNP canvassers that she wasn’t interested in politics, she just always voted Labour. But two words interested her. “Nicola Sturgeon.” It turned out she liked her, and might change her mind.

I have lost count of the people who have asked me in the last few weeks when the shine will start to come off the SNP. The answer is: not yet.
    It is remarkable that a party can have four of its new MPs at Westminster facing serious allegations of wrongdoing and hardly miss a step

So basically the people trust the SNP in government, like Nicola and are not interested in media attempts to demonise the SNHS, Policing, education and our elected MPs at Westminster. It’s very reassuring.
    https://archive.is/MexBn

249. Almannysbunnet

It just keeps getting better. From today’s Herald.
    Dianne Abbot who accused Jim Murphy of wanting to “expropriate money from Londoners to win an election in Scotland”, and who recently said labour have no chance in the Scottish elections has decided to come to Scotland to help labour win.
    I personally find her one of the most insincere politicians in Westminster and that’s saying something!

250. Fred

Dianne’s biggest mistake was preventing George Galloway from giving the baron Cardowan a severe tanking in the Commons lobby!

251. Nana

Bedroom tax declared discriminatory by top judge

https://archive.is/6cEZz

252. X_Sticks

@Grouse Beater

“Jumping the Snark”

https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2016/01/27/jumping-the-snark/

The history woman’s histrionics – lol.

253. Cuilean

Re “snashters” I’m from Greenock, where snashters meant, mostly, “sweets” but anything that’d rot your teeth.

My sister & I waited every Friday afternoon, outside ‘Hasties,’ Greenock, for our uncle to emerge, in oil-stained, navy boilersuit, for our pocket money – 2/6 or a half crown, each, forbye.

The big, heavy siller coins were doled oot, wi a wry smile and the words, “Wee bandits. Nae snashters, but”. The last ‘t’ in “but” silent, replaced with a true Greenockian glottal stop.

I have always loved the smell of engine oil.

There’s another Greenock word, which I have never heard anywhere else. In Greenock, at Halloween, the weans go “oot in galoshins”; never ‘guising’ or, worse, ‘trick-or-treating’.

254. Petra

@ Nana says at 11:21 am ”Bedroom tax declared discriminatory by top judge.”

https://archive.is/6cEZz

That’s very interesting Nana. If they win their case it’ll open the floodgates for hundreds of thousands of others.

Hell mend them (Westminster).

255. yesindyref2

@Robert Peffers, @Luigi
    I must admit I always considered council elections to be select the good candidate as it’s local issues, rather than party, but have had to change my mind. There’s actually a very good local Labour councillor who proves the point – he posts regularly and writes letters to the wee paper. Good councillor, blinkered Labour party animal.

Yes, if Scotland’s political landscape is going to be properly changed and cleaned up for good – that’s good in all senses of the word – it is important to root our the last remains of the Labour entrenchment. Then if the Labour party is worth saving, it will have to totally reform to do so. But first all the rot has to be cut out and burnt.

I’m not really a political party person as I’ve said before, even though an SNP member now for Independence.

But for the good of open politics in Scotland, I guess, sadly I have to say, it’s time Labour were put to rest. RIP.

256. yesindyref2

@Nana / @Petra
    If the DWP were forced to refund automtically all the benefits they withheld on account of the “bedroom tax”, it’d be interesting to know the terms of the Scottish Government benefit replacement / augment.

Who would get the refund? Probably the lucky benefit claimer!

257. IndySilverfox

Chilcot. Nuff said.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.