Off-topic

Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Paula Rose

Oh gosh I love it when boys sing about me…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QBGSLWKDMzM

2. Croompenstein

I know the Rev has an unhealthy liking for young Taylor Swift but she has a long way to go she is running up a hill….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wp43OdtAAkM

3. Croompenstein

Ah well..since I mentioned Kate..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VerK4zwMRQw

4. Paula Rose

A song for those who voted no and now have regrets…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7f189Z0v0Y

5. Brian Doonthetoon

Och Paula, I thought you were gonna link to this, appropriate for all the dual personalities out there…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W7vcRyBAQZA

Still no comment on Elton Motello though…

6. Brian Doonthetoon

WAY-HAY!!!

First time ever. First post on a new page!

I am humbled…

7. lochside

@Ian Brotherhood… the sultry brunette was Fenella Fielding in ‘Carry on Screaming’. Her goth vampiric look was ten years ahead of Suzie…I remember seeing the movie at the time and well….it’s an uplifting mammory. Sorry memory.

8. Paula Rose

I’m getting my whip out.

9. Ian Brotherhood

@Briandoonthetoon –

Cheers mister.

Turns out I’ve been leading meself astray, as well as everyone else.

The lass I had in mind is Ingrid Pitt. I’m still sure as can be that she was in a Hammer movie, but no matter, she was definitely in The Wicker Man.

http://79.170.40.241/pittofhorror.com/images/exotic.jpg

10. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian.

Ingrid Pitt was mentioned on that list page I gave the link for on the previous page. Her real name was Ingoushka Petrov.

11. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW Ian.

You no’ coming on the 22nd? You haven’t put your name forward for a badge…

12. lochside

@Ian Brotherhood: Ingrid Pitt?…check out ‘the Vampire Lovers’ a Hammer Horror starring Miss Pitt and another starlet of the era..the toothsome Madeleine Smith.,..something to get your teeth into.
    By the way, Ingrid allegedly escaped via the Berlin Wall before becoming the leading light in British Schlock horror movies.

13. Ian Brotherhood

@Brian Doonthetoon –

That link is a marvellous thing, and I did go through the whole 100 – can’t imagine how I missed Ingrid/Ingoushka. Dammit, I’ll have to go through it all again…

So far as the 22nd goes? Not looking good for me…various family-related shenanigans. Mind you, where there’s a will an’ aw that…

14. Paula Rose

I am going to be very cross with some of you boys on the 22nd – top spot belongs to the girls.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KXewIR7Y7cc

15. Paula Rose

Sorry darlings – I can’t resist from posting the prettiest boys ever…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lVQDK_dw97k

16. Paula Rose

Ian honey – if you think I am going to cross the country to find that you are not there? No way dearest.

17. Brian Doonthetoon

Paula Rose – I’m hurt to my back tooth.
    You’re ignoring my flirtatious questions. (Did I just type ‘flirtatious’? I apologise.) Questions, period.

BTW: was Tartan Tory in better spirits than the 19th, when he swanned up to your door, no doubt for the usual “coffee and a wee shot on the swing”?

18. Paula Rose

I’m so naughty – cuntry and western on the bbc watching as broadcast, Brian Doonthetoon I will be getting a

19. Paula Rose

oh my darling Brian Doonthetoon pour too…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpA0oPR_EOQ

20. Brian Doonthetoon

Blanquet on the ground?

I’ve been here, and I’ve been there and, I’ve been everywhere – but never below a blanquet on the ground! This is more my style…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-kALGhbTxdg

But still no mention of Elton Motello. I will percy vere.

21. Brian Doonthetoon

And onnyhoo, it was Garth Brookes who put the c*nt into ‘country’.

He was the ar$e who wanted the sale of second-hand CDs taxed because subsequent sales did the original “artiste” out of royalties. Sounds like a red tory…

22. Paula Rose

For the faint hearted xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qd2AHZ22SJ8

23. Paula Rose

Brian honey – this is more my style…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-FFx68qSAuY

24. Brian Doonthetoon

Rockabilly/Psychobilly was hinted at earlier, so I will offer this classic of its time…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OegqDyBbndw

25. Brian Doonthetoon

And then keeping in a redneck groove…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ltrMfT4Qz5Y

26. Brian Doonthetoon

And did you know, Paula Rose, that you have only got to make six connections through your myriad friends, to get into Kevin Bacon’s pants?

I’ll bet you’re swooning now!

8=)

27. Paula Rose

Brian darling – I think of you…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C2AxWPQVOBA

28. Brian Doonthetoon

You think that has some sort of status?

Nah – ‘Bend and Flush’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gc03C9EAtow

29. Brian Doonthetoon

And off topic in ‘off-topic’…

WHY, when a new page has been created in this wonderful ‘off-topic’ scenario, does the system take you back to the start of the page before, when you type a comment and then click on ‘Submit Comment’, instead of showing your comment on the current page?

The answer to this is one of my favourite things…

30. Cactus

Count me in for YES Brian Doonthetoon, Cactus +1 (Dixie) for now.

Looks like I’m going to the ‘homecoming gig’ of Scotlands newest First Ministeress at the Hydro afterall, received a kind invitation.

Get your name up in neon lights Nicola.. shining onto the Clydeside Expressway like they did for Rod Stewart hehe 🙂

Let’s raise the roof ayeGlasgow!

31. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cactus.

Added, just before I turn in. You twa are on the list…

32. Brian Doonthetoon

And before I finally shut down the computy apparaturie…

Paula Rose: Still no reaction to Elton Motello?

33. AuldA

@Brian D.
    It seems Elton made a flop.

34. Free Scotland

Anyone fancy a laugh?

https://archive.today/eYGTy

35. Natasha

Swami Backverandah, if you’re out there, my offer of a lift on the 22nd still holds. 🙂

36. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AuldA.

And we all know that Paula Rose turns her nose up at anything floppy…

37. Betty Boop

@ Briandoonthetoon,

Loved the first comment under “The Oldest Swinger in Town” youtube video, ie “This used to be about other people, now it’s about us !!!”

Oh, how true… Where did the last 40 years go? 🙁

38. Natasha

@Betty Boop 3.15pm

I was 6 forty years ago! 🙂 Still, I did spend a whole year thinking I was 39 when I was only 38. It was a lovely surprise when I realised my mistake.

39. Paula Rose

Sorry darlings – I thought I’d posted this earlier, one of my faces by young elton…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GvhdnGd8wRU

40. Paula Rose

Oops – faves not faces

41. Bugger (the Panda)

@ AuldA

5 points pour toi!

42. Bugger (the Panda)

no posts displayed?

43. Bugger (the Panda)

Bugger!

Older posts connection link and new post connection link.

6,000 posts. Hey ho

44. Natasha

Bugger (the Panda)
    Remember when you’ve posted, you will be sent back to the top of the previous page for some reason.

45. Bugger (the Panda)

I am only a fekin Panda, not the brightest of badgers.

46. Natasha

You’re our Panda and we love you. 🙂

47. Bugger (the Panda)

I left this on an earlier thread but I am offering a one-way lift to Glasgow on the morning of Nicola’s rally at the Hydro.

Could also pick up in Glenrothes or Kirkcaldy.

Just spending the night in Freuchie

innerbearsden(at) gmail (dot) com

Fill in the symbols yersell.

48. Ian Brotherhood

The Levellers, ‘Just The One’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DFU1S07oe4I

49. Bugger (the Panda)

Natasha

Just read further up the pages.

Remind me not to pick a fight with you.

Are the glasses made in real glass or plastic in the Yes Bar?

50. Paula Rose

I’m not drinking out of plastic glasses!

51. Bugger (the Panda)

OK ruby plastic slippers?

52. Natasha

@BtP 6.13pm

I don’t know whether that’s an insult or a compliment! Put it this way – if you are going to pick a fight, you might want me in your corner . . . 🙂

53. Brian Doonthetoon

For anyone thinking about producing badges, I’ve typed some advice, and designs for download, at the link below.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/badge-designs

O/T in off-topic…
    To get round this strange going back a page after you click on “Submit Comment”, what I do is click to submit, then when the previous page appears, I click “Back” on Firefox’s top toolbar, then refresh the page. You should see your new post in situ.
    If there is still text in the comment box below your new post, just delete it, coz it’s done its job.

54. CameronB Brodie

Here is one for all Unionists and No voters. 😉

The White Stripes – You Don’t Know What Love Is [You Just Do As You’re Told]
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YLmIlVJYEtw

55. pete the camera

The story of Jack Bruce is on BBC2 at 9pm tonight for any interested party’s

56. AuldA

@BtP:

Merci ! Mais pourquoi cette générosité subite ?

@brian D.:

Floppy and chubby? 😛

57. Paula Rose

The White Stripes! Any excuse… enjoy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUqXM7D2Lsg

58. Ian Brotherhood

After the Saturday Night Fever comes the Sunday Night Teaser –

What was the top-selling No. 1 single in the UK in 1965?

Go on, have a guess before you click, and prepare to have your flabber properly gasted. (Clue – it wisny by The Beatles.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ys1ShRxuAnY

59. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood 8.59, an hiv we no shed enough of them

60. Ian Brotherhood

@ronnie –

Kin right.

61. Jim Thomson

@Pete the camera 7:49pm

Yeah – watching it now and here’s a wee sample of the greatness

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pwDo0JUeKqM

Go to 1:20 in to miss the preamble.

62. CRAIGthePICT

For those not seeing posts updating quickly, do this:

1. Visit main page
    2. Observe how many comments are on the latest post
    3. Type this at the end of the website name /? (wingsoverscotland[dot]com/?)
    4. Hit Enter
    5. Observe how many comments are on the latest post
    6. Visit the latest post and add some insightful comment

What you are doing is tricking the web server into not serving you a cached page and think it has to go and find dynamic web content, which will then result in the latest page being served.

63. Ian Brotherhood

A curio from 1931 – Gandhi’s very first ‘telly’ interview.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zt_MmVBUv84

64. Jim Thomson

Complete change of scene. Have some thoughts for these guys and their colleagues around the coast.

This is effectively a “training run”. Still imagining the bruises the crew must have suffered.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b3SDnq7ZjsQ

65. Ian Brotherhood

@Jim Thomson –

God almighty. I feel quite nauseous…

66. Brian Doonthetoon

Did you see the guys crossing Victoria Falls on a slack wire today?

Made me rather queasy…

http://www.euronews.com/2014/11/09/across-the-victoria-falls-on-the-high-wire/

67. Ian Brotherhood

@Brian Doonthetoon –

And this…totally effing mental stuff.

Praise God!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oHLLYIUbfB8

68. Brian Doonthetoon

JEEZ! He’s doing that without a condom! Sorry – without any protection; no wee ring round the wire to catch him if he falls.

Does he not realise what a mess would be left on the road if he hit it? Has he no consideration for the street sweepers? They’d need a big scraper…

69. Tackety Beets

@ CtP
    I’m not “techy’ but have noticed when I post from my i-pad it takes a while to show up .
    I can post from i-pad then jump onto my Mac and its already on screen , yet does not show up on i-pad , even when I re hit the topic selection at the top . The mysteries of the www

I’ll follow your post suggestion next time ,

Thanks

70. crazycat

@ Brian

Just looked at your badges information – really helpful, thanks.

71. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi crazycat.

I noticed that indyref2’s badge designs were at 45mm – must be for 50mm or bigger badges as they’d be no use for 38mm.

Onnyhoo, over in Dundee, we’ve got a wee badge-making cottage industry going.

See you on the 22nd? YES Bar or Horseshoe? Nobody, except for me and Alex Clark and Ronnie, has gone along with the suggestion of moving the get-together to the Horseshoe, in the interests of more seats and cheaper gigglejuice.
    (See my post on the previous page of ‘off-topic’.)

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-13/#comment-1922384

72. AuldA

@Ian:

Dancing on a high-wire:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zZwsr2iUgCg

@Brian D.:

He has magnetic soles.

73. Jim Thomson

@Brian & @Ian high wire walking – torn between them. The Chicago one had a steadied/guyed wire and he was using a balance pole but, and a HUGE but (sorry for the imagery 😉 ) is he wasn’t using any safety line. I wonder how often he practices falling off and grabbing the wire :-/

The Vic Falls one no balance pole and no guying of the wire so it was swaying, plus very wet from spray. They did have safety lines though. Possibly greater skill required (even if Health and Safety rules gave them a much reduced risk).

74. Oneironaut

@Brian Doonthetoon
    Sorry for lack of response. I’m not always on here these days. Especially in November…

As for the origin of my name, I like seeing if people can figure it out… 😉 *evil grin*

75. Jim Thomson

Bearing in mind that the weather’s getting a bit damp over the next wee while, a salutary tale from The Big Yin.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2j7quobEQNs

Apologies for the grubby quality of the video …

76. Natasha

I’m happy to go to the Horseshoe if that’s what people prefer.

77. AuldA

@Natasha:

I vote for the Horseshoe too.
    The name suits my pony self.

78. Paula Rose

Natasha honey – we could arrange for a rickshaw to criss-cross the street at regular intervals!

79. Brian Doonthetoon

I haven’t visited either but both Alex and Ronnie seemed to suggest that the Horseshoe was a better bet for the get-together.

Nothing to stop anyone nipping across to the YES Bar for a pint…

80. Paula Rose

Have we sorted out the question of plastic glasses? I shall of course have my glass slippers for the good boys.

81. Paula Rose

A PINT! Does the Horseshoe do cocktails?

82. AuldA

@Paula:

Plastic glasses? You mean, for the spectacles?

83. Paula Rose

AuldA honey – every wings nite out is a spectacle, so far we’ve had skinny dipping, dancing, dangerous sports, decameron and domestic science.

84. Natasha

Skinny dipping?!!! I never thought I’d be posting these words on this forum, but No Thanks!

85. Natasha

Swami Backverandah – DO YOU WANT A LIFT ON THE 22ND?!! Repondez s’il vous plait. 🙂 (If you didn’t see my first post, just let me know and I’ll explain).

86. Paula Rose

too late Natasha too late – that was the nite out at Inverwotsit

87. crazycat

@ Brian

I shall be in Glasgow on the 22nd for the RIC conference. I was intending to go into town to see who was where after it finishes (5pm in theory; will take a while to get from the SECC and I haven’t decided yet whether to get the train up to Glasgow – in which case I need to be back in the town centre anyway – or drive; parking after 6 would be free) plus or minus any hangers-on I may have with me.

Hope to see you there. (Horseshoe or YesBar)

88. Michael McCabe

Cant post a song up as my computer is knackered. So could someone post Roy Orbison. Crying as that is what I feel like doing. Cheers. Aye till I die.

89. Natasha

Michael, you need Peter & Kate.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VjEq-r2agqc

I have no idea if this will work; never posted a link before.

90. Natasha

Aaargh!! I deleted the http:// bit, how did that show up?

91. Natasha

Stu, please don’t kill me.

92. Natasha

Just checked up the page; seems to be ok if the http bit is there. Is that right?

93. Paula Rose

Michael McCabe dearest – this one…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tv7S8v3rM-U

94. crazycat

@ Natasha

I think the trick is to remove the http bit in what you type/copy – it will then be reinstated to make a usable link once you have submitted your post, in the same way that you can’t see that the link is blue and clickable until it actually appears on here.

95. Natasha

Thanks crazycat, that’s exactly what I did, so it must be okay; I was just a bit alarmed!

96. Paula Rose

For my dear Michael McCabe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ycbgHM1mI0k

97. Michael McCabe

Thank you Natasha and Paula Rose. You have both lifted my spirits. Cheers.

98. Bugger (the Panda)

AuldA

Plastique Bertrand?

The Belgians are very surreal.

99. AuldA

@BtP:

Yeah, that’s right. Indeed, I remember the quip of a Belgian (whose name, however, I forgot), who said that no country was fitter than Belgium to give birth to surrealism.

@Paula Rose:
    AuldA honey – every wings nite out is a spectacle, so far we’ve had skinny dipping, dancing, dangerous sports, decameron and domestic science.

Domestic science? Could you be more specific? 🙂

100. AuldA

@BtP:

Pandas can be quite boisterous.
    http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-china-29845852

101. AuldA

Just received this mail from the U. of Glasgow:

Archive sources substantiate claims that Doctor Who may have graduated from University of Glasgow

New research by archivists supports claims made by Doctor Who that the celebrated Time Lord may at some point have received a Doctorate from the University of Glasgow.

The question of how and when the Doctor was awarded his Doctorate has eluded Whovians for decades. Given his adventures travelling through time and space, keeping the world safe from evil monsters, it is perhaps not surprising that the Doctor’s matriculation record is less than straightforward.

Revelations made in the episode ‘Death in Heaven’, broadcast on Saturday 8 November seemed to answer that question when the Doctor’s companion Clara Oswald referred to the degree he was awarded by the University of Glasgow.

Sometimes I love my job because of what I receive in my mailbox.

102. Paula Rose

Out the way folks – discussion of the neolithic and the orkney islands on its way! Me on the neolithic is like Robert Peffers on the UK xx

103. Paula Rose

Oh my! And Dr Who – heaven!

104. Bugger (the Panda)

@ Grouser

re English Establishment and Nazi symp[athies

http://www.fpp.co.uk/Hitler/house/Homes_and_Gardens_Nov1938/

Be warned!

This is the site of Nazi historian David Irving.

and the newish finder

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2003/nov/03/secondworldwar.blogging

by the way read the Guardian article first and see what the author was up against from IPC.

I have no idea who owned Homes & Gardens at that time?

It is of an article written by one Ignatius Phyre ( a pseudonym) about Adolf Hitler’s Berghof home and is as hagiographic as you can even imagine.”

This from an earlier fag end post.

105. Paula Rose

AuldA honey – I study the neolithic, it is of particular interest to me – as a theatre designer I find the lay-out of major sites such as the Brodgar peninsular fascinating, one has to bear in mind the demographic of the society and the early development of keeping cattle. The lay out of Skara Brae has puzzled archaeologists – it is no puzzle to those who ken the kine.

106. Alex Clark

Hello Paula

Got your glad rags on? Let’s party 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QDdAgJxdgcQ

107. AuldA

@Paula Rose: I was sure you would be enrapt by this Dr Who’s scoop.

@Clootie:
    http://www.ancient-wisdom.co.uk/astronomy.htm

I have mixed feeling about this site. While I agree (and it is beyond doubt) that the neolithic people had made significant astronomical discoveries, I can hardly believe they had any notion of the precession of the equinoxes. This is a cycle that spans tens of thousand of years, and it can hardly be discovered absent the use of advanced mathematics and writing. The site is right in mentioning that Greeks benefited from Babylonian and Egyptian discoveries, but precisely because they both used writing. Aristarchus of Samos could not have discovered the precession without access to their work, no more than Kepler could have formulated his three laws without access to the observations of Tycho Brahe. Advanced astronomy (in particular predictions) relies on computation that you cannot carry without assistance from a written medium.

The metonic cycle, spanning just 19 years, could possibly be discovered, because it is well within the life expectancy of neolithic people (that hardly exceeded 40 years). So this is a more reasonable hypothesis.

The site seems to mingle confirmed and solid scientific discoveries with fancy theories, probably implying that they both have the same value. That’s flimflam for me.

108. AuldA

@Paula Rose: you design theatres? Amphitheatres?

You mean that the shape of those houses were designed to harvest and shelter cattle? But which type of cattle?

109. X_Sticks

Thanks Taranaich bookmarked the video for later and found your blog moving.

Derek Bateman has just posted something in a similar vein.

http://derekbateman.co.uk/2014/11/11/dead-in-a-squalid-miserable-ditch/#comments

It seems many of us are struggling with the ‘normalisation’ of militarism that our ‘Great britain’ seems to revel in these days. remembrance is good, celebration is abhorrent.

I have ceased to wear any sign of support for it too.

110. Alex Clark

Celebrating war is despicable. It is the lowest of the low. I’ve played this before and it is meant to shock.

No one can celebrate war it makes me sick.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtK-QCiD-FE

111. Paula Rose

Aye – what is so funny about this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lAqAmLSIGU8

112. Paula Rose

um – The perfect naughty reprobate, are we doing maudling or dancing tonight?

here’s 15 mins of genius

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GzF0AETdRF8

113. Paula Rose

Is he really asking?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rTfyUqVqX-0

114. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

Must’ve missed that first time you posted it. Powerful indeed.

115. Lollysmum

@ lex Clark & @Paula Rose

Your choices of music took me back years. I still have my original Yazoo & Alison Moyet cassettes & although I’ve now put them onto a cd I refuse to throw out the tapes-just can’t do it. Spent days copying all my old cassettes to digital fully intending to throw them out afterwards & all I managed to get rid of was two cassettes. The rest I decided were part of my history & each evoked particular memories so now they still sit gathering dust whilst I carry the music wherever I go on my phone. Oh how times have changed.

Thanks for the unexpected memories

116. Natasha

Hi guys
    Various people are being horrid to me; can you cheer me up? Tell me you love me, or something. 🙁

117. Lollysmum

@ Alex Clark

Hmm not impressed by Johnny Cash. Saw him at Carlyon Bay in Cornwall in the early 80’s & can honestly say that its the first & only time I’ve ever felt depressed after a concert. My husband was not impressed by me-said I had no taste!

118. Paula Rose

Lollysmum – remember this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6AeWZ6RrM5s

cos my baby does good sculptures!

119. Lollysmum

@ Paula Rose

2nd attempt-1st one disappeared

More memories-I was at Lossiemouth when this came out-what a wonderful couple of years stationed there as an aircraft engineer. Vague memories of dancing on tables after imbibing a lot of brandy & babycham 🙂 Happy days.

120. Ian Brotherhood

Test – comments not appearing on main thread…anyone else having bother?

Don’t tell me it’s another one of those effing ‘nfl’ scenarios…

121. Paula Rose

Natasha honey – you are dearly loved by moi, I love this – not so keen on the beards though…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UKAp-jRUp2o

do you need more cuddles?

122. Ian Brotherhood

For Paula Rose.

The Best Beards and Moustaches in The World.

Go on – pick a winner!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VuaVwsbcE6I

123. Ian Brotherhood

Oi!

What happened to me avatar at 11.22?!

Eh?

124. crazycat

@ Natasha

If you’re still here, or see this in the morning – I’m looking forward to meeting you on the 22nd – pedants with ‘A’ level physics have to stick together 🙂

I realize that prospect may not cheer you up! Paula and Ian know I’m harmless, though.

125. CameronB Brodie

In case folk haven’t seen this map. Might be useful? Cracking Chomsky vid Ian. Cheers.

http://ukdataexplorer.com/scotland-census-map/

126. Oneironaut

@crazycat
    Can I meet with you two as well? 🙂

I don’t have any ‘A’ levels, but I like trying to sneakily exploit imagined loopholes in the laws of physics anyway! 😀

127. AuldA

@CrazyCat:
    That snide remark on A level was for me?
    No worry, I won’t disturb you the 22nd.
    I will be cantering elsewhere 🙂

@Natasha:
    We all love you, we’re all attracted to you like matter toward a black hole…
    (Don’t physicists have a knack for romantic wooing?)

Let’s trot…

128. Jim Thomson

@Lollysmum 10:32pm

You’ve never been depressed until you’ve listened to at least one Leonard Cohen track … hand me the rope/gun/poison right now 🙁

129. Jim Thomson

and just to brighten up a dull morning, one of the best “plinky plonk” tunes ever – I give you Supertramp

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tODaH_fGtMY

I always feel sorry for the drummers who have to be boxed in to ensure the sound mix is just right 😉

130. Jim Thomson

Rosetta live on http://rosetta.esa.int/ now

131. AuldA

@Jim Thomson:

The “Stranger song”? (As far as I’m concerned, better French version by Greame Allwright:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ELPlMX0glwk)

Thanks for the link on Rosetta. That’s indeed soaring well above Scotland!

132. Tartan Tory

Just dropped in to let you know that I’m still thinking about you all and I occasionally peek-in to see what Paula is up to with Ian brotherhood. I’m may no longer be her flavour of the month, but I’ve had my fun with her, so perhaps it’s someone else’s turn. 😉

@ Brian – Spirits have been prety low since the 19th. I’ve retreated into my shell quite a bit and I struggle to see anything positive in a number of life’s avenues. I’ve certainly lost most of my political mojo and I have difficulty talking to people who were on the other side of the divide.

To illustrate the problem, I was talking to a customer of mine a few weeks ago – a Hebridean chap (Benbecula) who has always voted SNP since the early 1980’s. He says that his prime objective was always independence. However, he voted NO! He told me this on the phone, from an oil rig in the North Sea, and I simply couldn’t believe what he said to me. He didn’t feel the SNP had made the case well enough. Now, I don’t even answer his e-mails! Just typing about this is twisting me up. 🙁

Anyway, glad to see there’s still some high spirits about this place.

133. AuldA

@Tartan Tory:
    However, he voted NO!

Some people like to shoot themselves in the foot. That’s how Humanity goes.

134. crazycat

@ Auld A

I’m sorry you though my remark was snide! It was not intended to be and was definitely not aimed at you – I wasn’t even thinking of you when I wrote it.

The background is this: I am a pedant. I have an ‘A’ level in physics (from 40 years ago) and have more recently been part of a physics research group at a university despite not having studied the subject after I left school. I am planning to go to the get-together on the 22nd. I have been to two previous Wings socials, where I’ve met Paula, Ian and Oneironaut (I’ve also met the latter two on other occasions). I haven’t met Natasha yet (or you).

Natasha said (I think) that she is also planning to go on the 22nd. She definitely said she needed cheering up. She has previously self-identified as a pedant and a person who studied physics to ‘A’ level.

I tried to cheer her up by saying that I hoped to meet her. The rest was jocular. I would be delighted to meet you, too, if either you come to Scotland or I go to France (less likely now that I no longer have relatives in Toulouse).

135. AuldA

@Crazycat:

Do not worry. I was also joshing when I called your remark ‘snide’! What I was unaware of, is that studying physics up to the ‘A’ level was sufficient to be deemed ‘pedant’! I wonder how I should qualify myself, then… 🙂

What will you be researching on?

I am definitely planning to settle in Scotland, but that project won’t see the light before next Summer at best. I’ll have to find two jobs (one for me and one for my ‘partner’), a suitable house, and figure out everything for the kids. It’s not really a breeze. But I’ll be delighted to meet you too, as well as any other Winger, either in France or eventually in Scotland if everything goes well.

And, meanwhile, sorry for having inadvertently unsettled you!

136. Ian Brotherhood

@Tartan Tory –

Good to see you here again – your absence was noted!

Don’t let it get to ye mister – we’ll get our day of celebration yet, and it’ll be all the sweeter for the waiting.

137. Taranaich

@X_Sticks: Thanks Taranaich bookmarked the video for later and found your blog moving.

Derek Bateman has just posted something in a similar vein.

Thanks for the link & kind words. One of the starkest things I’ve felt on my yearly trips to America is their approach to the military: it’s something I’ve never felt I could truly reconcile. I respect soldiers as much as I respect any other human being, which is part of the reason why I won’t partake in the tacky nonsense of Remembrance Day. Tesco’s “poppy pizzas,” the cynical and manipulative reunion of the wee girl with her father on BBC Primetime TV, and so forth. It’s deeply insulting and trivialising when there are thousands of soldiers who are homeless, or having their benefits sanctioned, or being marginalised by the system which took so much from them.

Derek’s blog is horrific. This really stood out:

The BBC has a Head of World War One and is planning coverage to last for the full equivalent duration of the war itself – four bloody years.

I can think of no better way to desensitize the public to such a thing than to stretch it out for the same duration as the war itself. It’s one of the problems of the human psyche, that increased familiarity results in desensitization, and eventually, apathy. Remember the outrage for Afghanistan, Iraq, Israel? Now we’re used to it. The horrors of what went on – goes on – in those countries have happened for so long, broadcast so often, that it’s become normalised. Afghanistan & Iraq are perpetual warzones. Israel is a perpetual occupation. It’s been this way for so long, we can’t imagine it being any other way.

It gets depressing – but then, I remember how other countries have flourished, changed for the better. Look at the Balkans now, compared to 20 years ago; look at the former Soviet satellites; look at the Emirates. It’s not too late for Afghanistan, Iraq, Israel… or the countries of the UK for that matter. But it’s though peace that it’ll be achieved.

138. crazycat

@ Auld A

There is no connection between pedantry and ‘A’level physics; it is just coincidence that Natasha and I share those characteristics (and a few others, I think). I know a lot of totally unscientific pedants, and more than a few physicists who could do with being a bit more pedantic (especially when writing reports)!

139. AuldA

@CrazyCat:

Well, I will never call you a pedant.
    It’d be the story of the kettle and the pot! 😉

140. Jim Thomson

sorry folks, still fascinated by the Rosetta/Philae thing.

See live feed here: http://rosetta.esa.int/

The thing that’s holding my attention, or rather the person, is the bloke in the brown jacket. I, seriously, want his job! Lolling around in a nice chair, holding court every so often, and generally just wandering about. Even had his feet up on the desk at one point WHILE holding court.

Mind you, the sound is muted so he is probably expounding detailed and complex mathematical solutions to the “we didn’t manage to anchor the lander” issue.

141. Jim Thomson

RT just had to cut Max Keiser in full flow because of potentially slanderous accusations. Interesting. Wonder if Max will still be in a job tomorrow.

142. cearc

Rosetta, (the spacecraft not Paula Rose’s little sister)is just so exciting, I was on tenterhooks this morning remembering the launch.

Jim,

re Max K. About whom?

143. Betty Boop

Just seen Sainsbury’s “Christmas is for Sharing” ad on STV featuring soldiers’ WWI Christmas Day football match. Muat be okay because it was “in association” with the British Legion.

Ye Gods! Cynical or what?

144. Jim Thomson

@cearc he went on a rant about bankers and how they avoid legal sanctions and slipped in references to Jimmy Saville and how he’d been handed the keys to childrens’ hospitals … at which point the feed went dead and we had a nice image of the Thames with the London Eye in the background

145. Betty Boop

@ Natasha

@ Crazycat

I’ve met you both and hope I can meet you again on 22nd despite not having an A-level in physics and only being an occasional pedant (although we do have someone at home who is well-qualified in pedantry and physics whom I annoy regularly!). 🙂

Cheers

146. Betty Boop

@ Tartan Tory

During the campaign, when I realised the uphill struggle we had (canvassing in this area was quite depressing at times), I found solace in Wings and the folks here lifted the spirits.

Your Hebridean customer was obviously “got at” (doesn’t excuse him really) by all the diversionary tactics (lies) employed by the no campaign. I am currently reminding folk of such things whether or not they are interested! I’ve found a degree of joy in being a bit smug 🙂 Well, we have to take comfort where we find it! I remember your spirit in Arbroath, reeling in the no lot.

Don’t be a stranger. Would be good to see you at one of the Wing dings. Join us again and find your wings. 🙂

147. Natasha

Dear all
    Thank you so much for all your loving messages! I’ve only just read them, I’m afraid.

Taranaich, I was dead impressed by your appearance on the video of the Yes Inverclyde meeting.

Finally, I would like to point out that I can’t help being a pedant, I was born that way, and people shouldn’t hold it against me! 🙂 xx 🙂

148. Natasha

@Tartan Tory
    I met a lifelong SNP supporter who was voting No when I was out canvassing. They do exist; they’re examples of how people manage to compartmentalise their thinking so that they don’t have to face up to uncomfortable truths.

It’s also really upsetting when people you like and respect take decisions which you know are based on cowardice, ignorance or selfishness. It makes you question your own judgement of character, doesn’t it? Especially when it’s something so important.

I don’t blame you for wanting to hole up and lick your wounds; I felt exactly the same on the morning of the 19th when I had to go into work and face the uncomprehending sympathy of my no voting colleagues. They knew I’d be ‘a bit upset’, but to them it was just like commiserating with the losing side of a sports match or something. It meant nothing to them; it simply wasn’t that important. They’d forgotten about it within a couple of days at the most. I was the one with the broken heart.

Stay with us; we’re not going anywhere. xx

149. cearc

Tartan Tory,

Well if Paula Rose can’t get your mojo working try Muddy Waters.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8hEYwk0bypY

150. Jim Thomson

Back on one of my stableful of Hobby-Horses.

Why oh why are people (most of whom should know better) using “were” instead of the perfectly serviceable “was” when expounding on any topic and applying it to a singular subject?

Drives me just about as mad as the use of terminal prepositions (that battle is well lost).

Footballers and football pundits who seem to have had avderbectomies and have also forgotten what the word “ultimately” sounds like.

And as for “various different” … aaarrgghhhh!

… and … breathe

151. Natasha

And I thought I was a pedant! (From a member of the Society for the Preservation of Apostrophes . . . and don’t even get me started on split infinitives). 🙂

152. Jim Thomson

@Natasha I was also going to have a mini rant about “strategy going forward” that I heard the other morning on the ol’ car wireless.

That was from someone who was some high flying lawyer in a political environment. I would prefer to have political lawyers to have at least a basic grasp of the meaning of words and, in this instance, an entire mini-phrase.

We’re all doomed I tell you, doooomed.

153. crazycat

Sounds like the 22nd is going to be an Eats Shoots and Leaves event.

Has a decision been taken yet about the venue?

154. crazycat

Now I’m wondering if decisions are made and votes taken….

155. Ian Brotherhood

@Jim Thomson –

Personally speaking, that is, for myself, I feel that we should, at this present moment in time, park this to one side, put it on a back burner, unpack it, then flag it up at some later stage down the line and see if it flies or faces challenges.

I did a short stint in a slaughterhouse (more than a decade ago) and remember seeing a colleague being given a five-minute lecture on ‘Best Practise’. His job? Heaving armfuls of still-warm cattle-fat into big shallow buckets.

156. Betty Boop

@ crazycat

Re venue for Wings on 22nd. Horseshoe or Yes Bar doesn’t matter in terms of finding everyone because they are opposite each other.

What do you all think, however, about the images of Union Flags I see in the windows of the Horseshoe Bar? …

157. Brian Doonthetoon

And here’s Doon catching up on the last 24 hours or so…

Hi Lollysmum.

“Hmm not impressed by Johnny Cash. Saw him at Carlyon Bay in Cornwall in the early 80’s”

I was there! Well not at the concert but I did spend a few days at the eastern end of the beach in the summer of 1983, that bit where clothing was optional and Paula Rose would have been busy with her double-entendres. Never saw much of Johnny Cash though, above or below the waist…

Hi Paula Rose.

“cos my baby does good sculptures!”

I have that mispressed single also. I seem to recall that this version was a recording for John Peel’s radio show.

Hi Natasha and Ian B and Paula Rose.

“The Best Beards and Moustaches in The World”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OB1_J18FqGE

Hi Jim Thomson.

“You’ve never been depressed until you’ve listened to at least one Leonard Cohen track”

Controversy rears its head! I think Mr Cohen wrote some bra’ tunes. Here’s only one example.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZ61su9H5RU

And I like “Sisters of Mercy” and “Suzanne” as well. Must be a ‘Doon the toon’ thing…

Hi Tartan Tory.

Good to read that you’ve resurfaced. I think I posted here, or possibly on Facebook, that when Pete and I got back to Dundee from the Arbroath count, rather subdued, at around 5.30 on the morning of the 19th, I looked up at the saltires hanging from my flat and thought, “I’ll leave them there till Sunday evening.”

Then I went to the wee rally in City Square around 6pm that evening, then the rally in the High Street (and march round the city centre) on the Saturday. I felt a hell of a lot more inspired after these two events. My saltires are still hanging outside my flat…

Hi Crazycat.

“There is no connection between pedantry and ‘A’level physics”

I’ll repost here that which I posted elsewhere, a number of hours ago…

“All I feel capable of adding to this is that when the flux linking a circuit changes, an emf (electromagnetic force) is induced.
    The magnitude of the induced emf is directly proportional to the rate of change of flux linkage.
    Furthermore, the induced emf acts in such a manner as to oppose the cause to which it is due.
    I’ll hold these thoughts far a day then re-examine through a new lenz…”

I have re-examined – and they still hold true.

Hi Jim Thomson (again).

“Why oh why are people (most of whom should know better) using “were” instead of the perfectly serviceable “was” when expounding on any topic and applying it to a singular subject?”

What gets my goat is the apparent lack of English language education that TV presenters (particularly of the footballing fraternity) seem to have experienced.

“The boy has collected the ball and went into the box. He’s got round the boy Soap and he’s took a shot into the top corner of the net.”

So wrong! What’s wrong with the simple past tense? (I’ll refrain from any comment on the rest.)

Hi Betty Boop.

You typed,
    “What do you all think, however, about the images of Union Flags I see in the windows of the Horseshoe Bar?”

That doesn’t read too YES-friendly. Perhaps someone of Glasgow habitation could nip in there and find out their allegiance? No point in throwing kally-dosh at a Unionist enterprise.

158. Brian Doonthetoon

Has anyone else been subjected to

Service Unavailable

Guru Meditation:

XID: 2166437362

I don’t believe I have ever meditated with the help of a Guru so I’m bereft of a scooby as to which path to follow.

BTW: That message appeared after I had clicked on “Submit Comment” to post my previous comment. I just went down to the last entry under my “Back” button, clicked on it, and found my comment all present and correct.

The Guru was obviously looking after me…

159. AuldA

@Brian D.:

This “Guru meditation” error message was famous in the 80s. It was the error message the Commodore Amiga machine spat out when a fatal error (read: a 68000 exception) had occurred. This was usually indicating a serious bug in the code, leading, eg., to the execution of unknown instructions, access to void areas of memory and so forth.

Atari ST (the machine I was using at that time) and old Mac (the computer I use right now) used a different system based on bombs. A number of bombs briefly flashed on the screen, the number uniquely identifying the exception that had arisen (2: bus error, 3: address error, etc.)

That was a good time, a time when you had to know how to program to use your computer. No Internet, so we were exchanging floppies 720 or 1440 KB. We used assembly. Gosh, I remember well this guy, Dominique Laurent, who had authored a full-fledged word processor called ‘Le rédacteur’ entirely written in assembly. Packed with bugs, but quicker than even today’s MS Word.

My first technical articles too…

That was the mournful ramble of the morning.

160. Jim Thomson

@Betty Boop 11:55pm last night

Just had a look on Google Streetview. The image date is September this year. Hmmmm.

161. AuldA

“A famous pie with beans or peas”?
    Yuck.:)

162. Jim Thomson

@AuldA

My first micro was a homebuilt Nascom 1 running a Z80 processor with around 8k of RAM (hazy recall). I had to build the PSU as well so that it would only present the supply voltages in a particular order to limit the risk of damage to the components that didn’t like having 5V on them before the 12V supply was available.

It would quite happily take assembler AFTER it had been fed quite a few lines of machine code.

The programme storage (after having written the code to make it all speak to the “outside world”) was via a top end Hitachi tape deck that I specifically purchased because it had a “remote control” socket on the rear (more hardware interfacing devised).

Ahhh, those were the days. Whatever happened to 1979?

The current crop of Raspbery Pis and the like (yes, I have one of the first batch) are all very interesting, but, they don’t lend themselves to teaching the hardware aspects particularly well. It’s been sitting gathering dust from a few days after I received it.

163. AuldA

@Jim T:

Yeah, Z.80 machines: Sinclair ZX80, ZX81 and other stuff like that. The Z.80 was much more powerful than the 6502 or even the 6809. It’s a pity Zilog missed the 16-bit step-up. I clearly remember the book by Rodnay Zaks (born in Paris, by the way).

I recall using tape recorders, too. Until I bought a Sinclair QL (that was before the Atari ST) that was equipped with ‘micro-drives’ that were as reliable as a Skoda car (remember the jokes about Skodas? How to double the speed of a Skoda? Ans: stop the engine and get it towed).

Then hopefully the floppy disk won the war, and those 1200 bauds FM tapes were retired.

I’ve never had a Pi in hand. Seems a bonny wee device, but now everything is integrated inside the µcontroller so, you’re right, it’s impossible to teach hardware design with that, other than, maybe, crosstalk between lines and impedance concerns (which is more analog/microwave than digital electronics).

164. Oneironaut

@Natasha
    “It’s also really upsetting when people you like and respect take decisions which you know are based on cowardice, ignorance or selfishness. It makes you question your own judgement of character, doesn’t it? Especially when it’s something so important.”

I can sympathise with this. As someone who recently had someone I would have sworn was a definite Yes very proudly admitted to having voted No in a conversation.

To stay I was stunned was kind of an understatement, especially as I’d really come to like and respect this person’s views.

Now, while I try to remain polite and civil to them, I find it increasingly difficult to even stay in the same room as them, let alone hold a conversation with them.
    As time goes by, I’m feeling that I should probably just cross that particular social event off my calendar before I end up snapping at them.
    Time is supposed to heal all wounds, but I find my anger only increasing as time goes by…

@Betty Boop
    “What do you all think, however, about the images of Union Flags I see in the windows of the Horseshoe Bar? …”

I noticed them last time I was there, when me and some people from the SSP were winding down a bit after taking out some of our frustrations at the Labour Gala Dinner protest.

My first thought on seeing those flag windows was to turn to the people with me and go: “Any of you have something heavy?!”

165. Oneironaut

@Auld A
    “Yeah, Z.80 machines: Sinclair ZX80, ZX81 and other stuff like that. The Z.80 was much more powerful than the 6502 or even the 6809. It’s a pity Zilog missed the 16-bit step-up. I clearly remember the book by Rodnay Zaks (born in Paris, by the way).

I recall using tape recorders, too. Until I bought a Sinclair QL (that was before the Atari ST) that was equipped with ‘micro-drives’ that were as reliable as a Skoda car (remember the jokes about Skodas? How to double the speed of a Skoda? Ans: stop the engine and get it towed).

Then hopefully the floppy disk won the war, and those 1200 bauds FM tapes were retired.”

And now I’m off on a rather bittersweet nostalgia trip… hehe 🙂

166. AuldA

@1ironaut:

My first thought on seeing those flag windows was to turn to the people with me and go: “Any of you have something heavy?!”

The brick!

And now I’m off on a rather bittersweet nostalgia trip…

Those were sweet times before the idea of a society based on fairness and equity was definitely quenched. Somebody labelled the 80s as ‘the decade that saw most utopia die’. This is mostly true.

167. Oneironaut

@AuldA
    As a child of the 80s, I’d have to agree with that…

Happy days 🙂

Also, anyone can throw a brick through a union flag window. I like to add a little more style to things.
    For example, throwing an old bottle of bitter ale through it, since “old” and “bitter” are concepts the union is no doubt familiar with 😉

168. Taranaich

@Natasha: Taranaich, I was dead impressed by your appearance on the video of the Yes Inverclyde meeting.

D’oh, I knew my ruse would not last long! 😀

169. Paula Rose

Oi darlings – I don’t mind a bit of physics but you binary aficionados are going to extremes!

Current main thread discussing polecats, ferrets and weasels –

I’m going to have some serious words with a lot of you on the 22nd.

170. AuldA

@Paula Rose:

We were discussion 80s digital age. Eons ago, where everything was yet to be done, and the cyberworld was but a vast desert waiting to be settled. It was the best of times, when we were doing fantastic things using limited ressources. A bit like the Greeks, who were building awesome theaters with limited means.

I’m going to have some serious words with a lot of you on the 22nd.

Hopefully I won’t be there! I don’t like serious words!

171. Jim Thomson

Careful now @Paula, you’ll get me all worked up about PDP8s and bootstrapping.

There was nothing quite as exciting as entering your bits via the front panel.

172. Paula Rose

@ AuldA – I can’t discuss my Phd thesis on the quantum mechanics of mitochondrial replication flippantly.

173. Ian Brotherhood

And one more. This creature is either incredibly old or very very young, and it’s impossible to tell which –

http://rack.2.mshcdn.com/media/ZgkyMDE0LzA4LzIwLzg3L2JhYnl3b21iYXQuYzc3YzUuanBnCnAJdGh1bWIJNTc1eDMyMyMKZQlqcGc/29700798/f44/babywombat.jpg

174. AuldA

@Paula Rosa:

I notice you don’t call me honey anymore. That’s because you think I have a bee in the bonnet? Or am I not sweet enough?

By the way, speaking of mitochondria and quantum mechanics, what’s the wave function associated with the reduction of the superoxide ion by the manganese superoxide dismutase?

175. Ian Brotherhood

Oh FFS!

I posted THREE wombat snaps, and the first one has gone AWOL.

Here it is again:

http://i.imgur.com/61jCiKR.jpg

176. Ian Brotherhood

Okay, if wombats don’t do it for you, what about a Coelacanth?

This creature is almost as old as Ming Campbell, and not nearly as boring –

http://www.thehindu.com/multimedia/dynamic/01248/25ISBS_coelacan_25_1248254g.jpg

177. Natasha

@Ian Brotherhood 8.54pm

They say dog owners resemble their pets, but this one is uncanny!

178. Jim Thomson

Aaahhh, but, do your wombats laugh?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-admRGFVNM

179. Natasha

I meant the 8.50 post of the wombat, but hey, let’s not leave Ming out.

180. Ian Brotherhood

Not many people know that Ming Campbell won the triple jump gold medal for Great Britain, in Paris, in 1900. Even then, he was the oldest athlete ever to represent his country at an Olympic gathering.

Respect due…

181. Natasha

Has anyone ever noticed the date listed at the top of this post?

182. Paula Rose

Now really are you lot having a laugh at my expense?

I love coelacanths and wombats – as a naturalist I would.

Now please have some decorum, or else.

183. Paula Rose

Natasha honey – some of us are getting on.

184. Ian Brotherhood

The Saw Doctors, ‘N17’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GgC6JVN5Ygo

185. Paula Rose

AuldA et tout les autres, je vous aimez lots and lots mais le thread ne respondez pas – apologies if la disruption donnez la concept ça moi est disregardez votre amour, c’est not thé case.

oops ma franglais c’est tres mal.

186. Alex Clark

@Auld A

By the way, speaking of mitochondria and quantum mechanics, what’s the wave function associated with the reduction of the superoxide ion by the manganese superoxide dismutase?

187. Paula Rose

and the point (of) natural reasonableness rides to my rescue – swoon.

188. Jim Thomson

For any of you musically talented peeps on here, Limmy’s experimenting on-line with some music s/w and is looking for composition ideas.

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/limmy-s-webcam

189. Ian Brotherhood

The Chieftains & Friends, ‘Give The Fiddler A Dram’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XQaJq-COBhc

190. Alex Clark

Here’s an explanation of the answer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aboZctrHfK8

191. Paula Rose

You can live in a country called Scotland.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TKqNfwgTeTg

192. Ian Brotherhood

The Dubliners, ‘The Octopuss Jig’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5SmWUMJRIDo

193. Paula Rose

about a country I cherish…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e98oObp4nwM

194. Paula Rose

And people wonder about me! Enjoy a wonder…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7XpVj1vkUU4

195. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Cheers for the standing stones stuff.

This is probably closely related, eh?

The Dubliners, ‘Maids When You’re Young Never Wed An Old Man’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C21-l0idoeo

196. Paula Rose

Just a wee introduction to the wonders of the neolithic – a time that fascinates me, I design the spectacle AuldA – the sets and costumes.

197. Paula Rose

Ian – you delectable boy, are we going to have a hug on the 22nd? xx

198. chipmonkey

Drat. I know I’ve had technophobitis for a few weeks, but now my posts don’t seem to be recognised any more.Oh Well. I was just wondering if anyone is going to make it to Perth -maybe even with a wings banner -for the gathering to mark Alex Salmond’s time as FM. Proposed for 4pm …at the end of the conference. Is it widely known about? Hope to bump in to some of you there. xx

199. Paula Rose

Natasha cherub – 22nd I’ll be there xx

200. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Well, I don’t know about any hugging on the 22nd, but I do know, after having just watched both parts of the video you linked to, that I will not die happy until I’ve seen ‘Maeshowe’.

201. Ian Brotherhood

The Pogues & The Dubliners, ‘The Irish Rover’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=au30c9ZMIPg

202. Natasha

@chipmonkey 11.25pm

Do you know, I had exactly the same idea, that it would be great if people just turned up outside the venue to show their appreciation. Unfortunately I can’t! I’ll try and send my husband, though. That would be a wonderful sight, and I bet it would be packed.

203. AuldA

@Ian:
    (Ming Campbell). He did the triple jump on a stretcher carried by nurses? 😉

@Paula Rose:
    (franglais) adorable text, but I’m afraid I didn’t got the gist of it! 🙂
    (Spectacle) so you design Neolithic spectacles? The costumes must be quite basic! The dialogs, too. 😛

Alex Clark:
    (42): still hitchhiking for Betelgeuse?

204. Willie John

David Stewart MSP is having a go in the local rag about the SNP voting with the torys against the living wage for public sector contracts (www.hebrides-news.com/snp-idle-on-living-wage-131114.html). I’m pretty sure I read on Wings that it was EU regulations that would not allow this but cannot find the thread again. Can anyone help, or am I barking up the wrong tree? I would also like to put up the link to the debates in the Commons showing the number of MPs attending for the living wage debate and the one showing how many attended for their own pay rise.

205. Nana Smith

@Willie John

Link for the living wage debate and if you click on google images you can see the images.

http://www.parliament.uk/business/committees/committees-a-z/commons-select/backbench-business-committee/news/mps-to-debate-promotion-of-the-living-wage/

There’s links on google for eu regulations. I don’t believe Alex voted with the torie,will try and find out.

206. Nana Smith

@Willie John
    Check out this thread…

http://wingsoverscotland.com/scottish-labour-by-numbers/

207. Willie John

@Nana Smith at 11@02 & 11:04

Thanks. I had managed to find those but the two pictures I remembered were of the Hoc debating the living wage with about a dozen mp’s there and then debating their own pay rise with standing room only!

208. Nana Smith

@Willie John

I think the pics are on the Wings thread I put up.

Are you in Lewis? I still can’t believe the result from there. My relations all voted YES and they say all their families and friends did as well.

209. Nana Smith

@Willie John

Both pics are on google images. Type in mps debate pay rise and mps debate living wage.

Geez what a contrast, only out for themselves as usual.

210. Willie John

@Nana Smith at 11:32

Thanks, Found them now at http://www.itv.com/news/2013-12-12/the-public-deserve-a-mature-debate-on-mps-pay-rises/ and at http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/heres-how-many-mps-really-4586189. I was sure they were together on on here and I would have loved to have annoyed him by rubbing his nose on the Wings site and maybe got a few more readers too.

I’m in Uists. I think we were pretty strong yes down here but Stornoway is strong labour. I suppose a cospiracy theorist would have had a field day; high voter registration, low turnout, No vote where we have a SNP MSP and a SNP MP.

211. Paula Rose

This is for Morag – but the rest of you may well enjoy this, from (in my opinion) one of England’s best movies.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fVupIO6OavU

212. Paula Rose

I hope this works – if not – I love Jock Scot and Ninja Janet

youtube.com/watch?v=KSryFqjOqqc&feature=youtu.be

213. Paula Rose

I hope this works – if not – I love Jock Scot and Ninja Janet

youtube.com/watch?v=KSryFqjOqqc&feature=youtu.be

214. AuldA

Not much activity here today, everybody was enrapt by the conference it seems!

215. pete the camera

No I think Paula broke the internet with a duff link last night 😉

216. Brian Doonthetoon

Alecsammin’s speech from yesterday is now on YouTube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=as7TdgkHDg4

217. AuldA

@Pete:

That would be a disaster. This thread needs Paula as much as the SNP needs Nicola!

218. Ian Brotherhood

This popped into my heid when I was wandering about in Ayr today. No idea why, but just watched the video for the very first time. A splendid tune.

Amii Stewart, ‘Knock On Wood’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HAbq_qkzFR0

219. Natasha

Ian Brotherhood
    Do you often just wander about in Ayr, or did you have a reason for being there? 🙂

220. Paula Rose

Eek alors – naughty moi, je took too much of the rouge last night – sorry.

221. Ian Brotherhood

@Natasha,

I did have a reason. To collect a book from Waterstones. That didn’t take very long, so there was plenty of time to wander around, have a rummage in the charity shops and watch the people.

It’s funny to see the same places that were heaving with Yes supporters in the sunshine just a couple of months ago, now back to what they were before. It’s as if it was all just a dream.

222. Ian Brotherhood

I remember seeing a copy of the NME or Sounds, and it had a big close-up of Leo Sayer in his clown gear, and the question, ‘Is This The New David Bowie?’.

It’s hard to believe now, but Sayer was a bit of a sensation when he first appeared. Here he is doing ‘The Show Must Go On’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q6UdgWrrlNY

223. Croompenstein

This one often crosses my mind when wandering around Ayr

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1WhhSBgd3KI

224. AuldA

@Paula:

Ben merde ! Moi qui pensais que tu étais une teetotaler! 😛

225. Croompenstein

@Ian – I’ll never forget one night in the Oriental there was a karaoke on and this guy got up to sing, he was a real hard looking case a big scar on his cheek real no nonsense type, well we were all wondering wtf this guy is gonnae sing and believe me none of us picked this…. btw it was f*ckin brilliant

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S2o2kdd_Veo

226. Ian Brotherhood

This is just superb. When it was in the charts I was just 11, and remember watching it with my cousins – we were all terrified of the dude with the weird eyes.

Sparks, just a few years ago, doing ‘This Town Ain’t Big Enough’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yLoZ0pxLWGE

227. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Coincidences are strange things, at times. I have numerous playlists on my Mac for when I want a couple of hours of music to snooze/rest my eyes by.

I have just surfaced from tonight’s snooze, which was accompanied by various 80s tracks. This is the last track that was playing as I decided to get up and have a wee dram, 10 minutes ago.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9CWKclBxgF4

228. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    “It’s funny to see the same places that were heaving with Yes supporters in the sunshine just a couple of months ago, now back to what they were before. It’s as if it was all just a dream.”

That’s exactly how I feel sometimes.
    Half of the population seem to have forgotten it as if it never happened, no-one but us still talks about it.

Like a shared memory we all cling to and wonder if it was just a lingering fragment of a summer daydream…

Feeling quite poetic this evening.

Never forget…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Lsb8Week94

229. Brian Doonthetoon

Typing of Sparks – this is probably my favourite Sparks track.

It always plays in my mind whenever there’s a major ecological or weather related incident.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Y4W9yVA00c

230. Ian Brotherhood

@Croompenstein, Briandoonthetoon, Oneironaut –

Great stuff. We’re heading down a rabbit-hole here. Ain’t it fun?

Roxy Music, ‘Virginia Plain’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OEalg62F8Zg

231. pete the camera

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hW9tq9ImRTg

this could sum up the feeling of the 19th September result for most I think

232. Croompenstein

@Ian – I’ll raise a few for Alex…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tkYkeeM8qIA

233. Natasha

All I can say is, thank God I was a small child during the early 1970s with extremely limited access to television!

234. Alex Clark

@Natasha

Believe me when I say I’m just winding you up 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4Y93Qucbt0

235. Ian Brotherhood

This is for Natasha –

Elton John, in Edinburgh, in 1976 –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j0Qe5P7bSYA

236. pete the camera

Alex S really did move Scotland’s world one step on

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jGTENfxd8M4

worth listening to the lyrics

237. Ian Brotherhood

Time to get funky.

Graham Central Station, ‘Release Yourself’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WqXbIXfmH3g

238. Croompenstein

@Natasha – doesnae get much better than this……

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y64211sjSko

239. Ian Brotherhood

James Brown, doing ‘Gonna Have A Funky Good Time’, in Zaire, 1974, before the Ali/Foreman fight.

Contains mild nudity.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K03ysnERtuA

240. pete the camera

one to play to Jim Murphy if he is on his Iru Bru box near you

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ce-v2EyG52Y

then again you could always learn the words and chant it to him yourself

241. Natasha

Yes, I understand I’m here to be patted on the head. With three older brothers I’m used to it. 🙂

242. cearc

Thanks Ian and Brian for reminding me of Sparks, I hadn’t listened to them for ages.

PaulaRose, a doppelganger for your younger self?

243. cearc

Natasha,

It’s not just your heid that these guys will be wanting to pat!

244. TJenny

Ian – tried posting a comment and link to a photo of Nicola’s fabby tartan stillettoes with wee tartan rosettes on the sides, especially for oor Paula Rose, but it all disappeared into the ther. Link prob wouldn’t have worked though as it was from Twitter + I don’t seem able to post them right. 🙁

But if someone could post a pic of the shoes, thanx in advance. 😉

Anyway, will we be seeing you next Sat at the Hydro public bar prior to jolling in the YesBar?

Wonder whether the YESBar staff are aware that they could have hundreds of indy folk, inc Wingers, from the Hydro, descend on their premises? (With or without sexy shoes)

245. crazycat

@ T Jenny

I wondered if anyone had told them we were likely to descend on them next weekend, too. If I had been in Glasgow I might have called in to find out (and check out the décor at the Horseshoe), but I wasn’t. Hope to see you then, regardless.

246. Ian Brotherhood

@Natasha –

No heid-patting here in O/T!

It’s all ‘educational material’.

Hopefully, you were young enough to miss this. I wasn’t.

Bay City Rollers, ‘Saturday Night’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBn2ux5vRHk

247. Brian Doonthetoon

“Saturday Night”…

This was the BCR’s 4th single, after “Keep On Dancing”, “We Can Make Music” and “Manana”. The original singer, Nobby Clark, was the vocalist on the original single.

However, here’s what Wikipedia says…

The original version of the song was recorded and released in the UK in 1973, but did not hit the charts. The original version was sung by Nobby Clark. At the end of 1975, Saturday Night was released In America and it hit the no. 1 spot in January 1976. It was the first Billboard #1 of the US Bicentennial year. The song had been re-recorded for the Rollers’ 1974 UK album Rollin’ with lead vocals by Les McKeown, Nobby’s replacement.

Nobby Clark had either left the band, or was kicked out, after the failure of the “Saturday Night” single in the UK. He did sign for Epic Records and released at least one single.

http://s.pixogs.com/image/R-3002045-1311182816.jpeg

248. Bob Sinclair

Somehow, with over 10000 people going to the Hydro I think there might just be a queue at the Yes Bar.

249. AuldA

Time to exert your brain, nerds! 😛

‘The wee train of memory’. French ORTF ‘interlude’ clip, ’60s.

Each wagon carries a part of a larger drawing. You must memorize all parts and find out what the original drawing is.

This particular clip (quite easy) features one of the finest alpine landscape in France (col du Lautaret, liminal on the border Savoy/Isère).

Good luck!

http://www.ina.fr/video/CPF86643233

250. Jim Thomson

@TJenny 12:14 am

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B2lKE6eIMAES8J0.jpg:large

You’re welcome …:-P

251. TJenny

Jim Thomson – Yaay – thanx oodles, and I hope Paula Rose sees them too. 😉

252. Jim Thomson

and the …:-P should have been 😛 [oops]

253. Paula Rose

I’ll let you in on a little secret – that’s the pair I was wearing when Nicola visited Brechin!

254. Jim Thomson

They cleaned up well then 😛

255. Jim Thomson

I posted this link across on the main thread, but it’s been by-passed with far more interesting stuff 🙁

Notice how there are separate manifestos for the three “main” parties for “UK”, Wales and Scotland.

I think that it should be highlighted to the English regions that they aren’t special enough to merit their own tailored manifestos.

http://www.politicsresources.net/area/uk/ge10/man10.htm

256. Jim Thomson

Some light relief for those keyboard warriors amongst us.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nW8dGwa2zRw

257. Jim Thomson

Odd instruments and classical music also spawned this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XKRj-T4l-e8

258. Jim Thomson

Bonzo Dog Dooh Dah Band – Urban Spaceman – using a funnel and a length of tubing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbLDI5lNdRQ

259. Cactus

On the subject of footwear.. does anybuddy know of any western shops in Scotland that sells new cowboy boots? (need to try on for size / feel and willing to travel).

I’ve used the shop at High Street in ayeGlasgow before, but the owner went a bit weird, so no go there no more! I’ve had a good search on line to no avail.. help & thanks B-)

Looking forward to Saturday night.

p.s. Groovy shoes Nicola.

260. Jim Thomson

@Cactus – how about this lot?

http://www.yelp.co.uk/biz/chas-at-byres-road-glasgow-2

261. Natasha

@Cactus 7.20pm

“Went a bit weird? 🙂

Btw, my wee angry Glaswegian husband says he has exclusive ‘patting’ rights!

262. Oneironaut

@Natasha
    “Btw, my wee angry Glaswegian husband says he has exclusive ‘patting’ rights!”

Aww, not even one little pat?

I’m even happy to pay royalty fees for a temporary ‘patting licence’ if necessary 😉 hehe

263. Natasha

This is starting to get out of hand (boom, boom).

264. Ian Brotherhood

Tony Orlando & Dawn, ‘Knock Three Times’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k7Jvsbcxunc

265. Oneironaut

One for all the folks who still like to dream… 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mrZRURcb1cM

266. Ian Brotherhood

This song CANNOT be 23 years old.

Nirvana, ‘Smells Like Teen Spirit’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hTWKbfoikeg

267. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jim T.

Typewriter – Brandenburger Symphoniker

That’s on my randomised ‘light instrumental easy listening’ playlist on my iMac at work, for my accompanying my lunchtime snooze – but I’d never seen it played live!

Glass harp-Toccata and fugue in D minor-Bach-BWV 565

Amazin’!

Hi Ian B.

I prefer this version…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FklUAoZ6KxY

8=)

268. Cactus

@Jim Thomson ~ Not tried there yet, will drop by and see what they got.

@Natasha ~ Yeah, the shop doesn’t seem to stock any boots over Size 10.. I asked three times for a larger size of a pair I wanted but the owner never bothered to order them in, terrible customer service.

Calling Edinburgh, Perth, Dundee, Aberdeen, Inverness to John o’ Groats.. if you know of any western shops out your way, gimme a holler, muchos thankos.

I need a new pair of boots like Scotland needs independence!

269. Bugger (the Panda)

For those of you who are interested in the nuts and bolts as well as astounding enormity of the EU wide tax evasion network based in Luxembourg and the Netherlands, until today quietly working in the shadows of Switzerland, may like to follow this ling and rummage about.

Juncker, the current EU President was very much involved in the structuring of the Luxembourg end, when he was the Prime Minister of Luxembourg.

I wonder if that makes the EU-USA treaty of opening the service industry up to each other, any more likely.

270. Stoker

Looking for a bit of guidance and advice.

Trying to purchase a Tablet as a gift for someone but i’m clueless when it comes to technology.

I have managed to whittle it down to these 2:

http://www.tesco.com/direct/hudl2-8-wi-fi-tablet/454-7907.prd?pageLevel=&skuId=718-1001#

OR

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Lenovo-8-inch-Tablet-Silver-Metal/dp/B00G459J5W/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1416173230&sr=8-1&keywords=lenovo+yoga#productDetails

The person it is intended for will probably MAINLY use it for
    watching movies, facebook, emails, internet, playing games and
    watching some catch-up tv/iPlayer etc.

Would also consider other recommended makes in same price range.

Any and all help very much appreciated.

271. AuldA

@Stoker:

Sorry, I only own one iPad. I cannot advise you on Android ones.

Other O/T. Don’t watch the screen. Close your eyes, imagine you’re at the top of the Ben Nevis, or on the shore of one of the outer Hebrides, or any place else you love, and listen: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1nKjFBEMpjg

272. Nod Bruce

@Stoker:

Of the 2 tablets you linked to, the Tesco has a faster processor, twice as much RAM and is well-reviewed.

The Lenovo, IMHO, has the name “Lenovo”, bends cutely and might feel slightly better-built – I don’t know, I’ve never fondled one!

They seem to have virtually identical cameras, Bluetooth, etc., the Tesco may have more sensors (ambient light, gyroscope).

I’d go for the (spit) Tesco one myself…

273. AuldA

My daughter got a 2015 YES calendar at school! I made a shot of the relevant part, if you want to print it!

https://www.evernote.com/shard/s522/sh/e2bc6a15-4b26-48fe-9237-e86e3d977144/3675006a222ffec4751c12dd73ef2916/deep/0/Yes-calendar.jpg

274. Natasha

AuldA 7.39pm

If I tried to produce anything like that at my school, I’d be sacked!

275. AuldA

@Natasha:

That’s why we made it for you! 🙂
    Have a good night!

276. Stoker

Thank you anyway for the thought, AuldA.
    _________

Thanks for that, Bruce, but i’m still none the wiser.
    The third one i was considering was the Kindle Fire HD 7,
    but i eliminated that one due to the smaller screen size
    and the single band Wi-Fi. It also has one or two negative
    points in the reviews.
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Fire-HD-Display-Wi-Fi-Black/dp/B00JXOU1XK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1416171381&sr=8-1&keywords=kindle+fire+hd+7

Nevertheless, thanks again, your recommendation has been noted.

btw, Why the (spit) Tesco’s – just a personal dislike for Tesco?

277. Nod Bruce

@Stoker:

” – just a personal dislike for Tesco?”

Yes – I live too near one! It leaves a strange taste in my mouth recommending any of their products…

278. Ian Brotherhood

The Miracles, ‘I’m Just A Love Machine’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9IyqekXd8H8

279. Alex Clark

I saw this guy live at Newmarket Racecourse in 2011. He was 77 years old and still a brilliant singer, had everybody singing and dancing.

You may not want to watch all of this as it’s 12 minutes long, but just found it and this is him at 80 years old.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZcsImgGmRY

280. Michael McCabe

@Aulda 5:41pm cheers that music was nice and relaxing. Ian Brotherhood that song takes me back. You could fly away with those shirt collars. Cheers.

281. Natasha

@Alex Clark 11.34pm

I’ve never been that impressed in the past by the way the USA make such a fuss about the 4th of July, but actually it was just really nice to see all those people waving flags, enjoying themselves and celebrating their country’s independence; imagine what it’ll be like when we finally get there!

282. Betty Boop

@ Natasha, 11:58pm, 17/11/14

I hope to wave and fly flags in celebration of independence some day and, although I generally can’t be bothered with them, enjoy fireworks too.

We have spent several 4th July in the US and the best was in Henderson, Nevada where we went to the celebration in the local park. It was also the 50th anniversary of the city so the Mayor had gone all out on the fireworks. It was a great, friendly atmosphere with everyone celebrating in common cause. That is something to be cherished, even for a few hours, community.

283. Jim Thomson

just playing with html tags so this might not look too pretty.

Ignore content.

just trying to see if I can use the “blockquote” tag to good effect

284. Jim Thomson

woohoo – it works 🙂

What other unlisted tags can be used? I haven’t been able to get underline to work or strikethrough.

285. Nod Bruce

Strikethrough Should work – use (strike), not HTML5s (del).

All tags compatible with HTML 1.0 Transitional should work if the script allows them, but unless you control the CSS there’s no knowing what’ll happen.

HTTP Tags list

286. Betty Boop

The BBC are looking for members for the Audience Council Scotland.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/acs

0845 300 44 33

Calls cost up to 5p a minute for most landlines, blah, blah…

Quote from BBC page: “Our role is to ensure that the voice of Scottish audiences is heard at the heart of decision-making at the BBC.

We provide independent advice to the BBC Trust, the BBC’s governing body, on how well the BBC is performing for audiences in Scotland, taking into account all of the BBC’s services. We also identify, and advise the Trust on issues of priority for Scottish audiences.”

Go on folks, get right in there! No guarantee you will make any difference though…

287. Jim Thomson

Thanks @Nod Bruce.

I’ve been playing with a few tags over the months but not had much success until now.

The strikethrough one might be useful at some point 😉

288. Jim Thomson

@Betty Boop re the BBC ACS thing

Page 3 of this document on their website is interesting.

http://downloads.bbc.co.uk/bbctrust/assets/files/pdf/acs/recruitment/2014/acs_information.pdf

I have no idea of its origin, but if you applied the criteria to politicians from local to European level, you’d be hard pressed to find many that would comply.

The application form (for people who are NOT politically active) is here

http://downloads.bbc.co.uk/bbctrust/assets/files/pdf/acs/recruitment/2014/acs_recruitment.pdf

289. Stoker

Bruce,
    After doing a bit more research and reading through the reviews
    i have decided to go with your recommendation, thanks.

Betty Boop @ 1.10pm

I’ve a funny feeling the most important part of that info you
    have shared in your post is what its not revealing.

Is that a sign that broadcasting will not be devolved and the
    powers-that-be have instructed the BBC to come up with a plan
    to make it look as if they are taking steps to appear to be
    making themselves more accountable?

The fake apologies will most likely follow very soon.

This is most definitely their pathetic reaction to the avalanche
    of complaints that the BBC in Scotland has experienced due to
    their criminal and biased reporting on all matters regarding the
    Scottish referendum and Scottish independence.

Scotland’s people must not be fooled and buy into this cr@p.
    We must continue to keep up the campaign of non payment of the
    licence fee, and continue to encourage others to do likewise.
    We must also continue to bombard them with complaints every
    time it is appropriate and justifiable to do so.

This “Audience Council Scotland” is a BBC farce and con –
    You don’t need any sort of “Council” to report facts accurately.
    WOS does it every day of the week.

btw, BB, thanks for sharing that, i was unaware of it.

http://www.facebook.com/activeresistancetothetvlicence

290. CameronB Brodie

Here’s one inspired by oor Mags Curran, from back in the day when ‘socialism’ was all the rage. An eara when Tory and Labour joined in forming a National Government, and any toff worth a listing in Burke’s Peerage, was rushing headlong to join the Fabian Society. This was when the Labour party was corrupted to become stooge in the Establishment tag-team, IMO.

James Dapogny’s Chicago Jazz Band – Caught
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PUNxRkm3cVE

291. CameronB Brodie

@ British Labour
    “Are you holding me up, or just holding me back?”

The Blue Bloods – The Ties That Bind
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oTjRg7juQC0

292. Paula Rose

ooh lookee – one of our favourite wingers takes the lead…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CWOFK7M0QBM

293. Paula Rose

This one has a Rev and others –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Jz6LJXUqhI

294. Paula Rose

Love a history lesson – always good to know stuff…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w2GwNaLVgt8

295. Nod Bruce

Thanks, @Paula Rose, plugs always welcome!

Here’s a song by a good team, a post-referendum refrain for Wingers everywhere, dressed in a nice pretty anchor tag, just for you, honey, from the smartass technical dude at the Choob:

…Told you so

296. Brian Doonthetoon

Right peeps.

Here are the names of yooz who want personalised badges for Wings Over Glasgow get-together on Saturday.

Alex Clark

Betty Boop

Bob Sinclair

Brian Doonthetoon

Cactus

Dixie

Hanii Puppy (my son)

Jim Thomson

Kininvie

Livestream – Kevin + Del Boy

Natasha

Oneironaut

Paula Rose

Pete the Camera

Ronnie Anderson

If anyone else wants a badge, post the name you want in this topic, before 11.59pm tomorrow evening.

297. Paula Rose

Swoon big time BdoonT xx – can I have one for my pussy? She’s called Minxie?

298. TJenny

Brian Doonthetoon – can TJenny have a wee badge too, please. 😉

See you all on Saturday – oooooooh, excited, Nicola and Wingers. 😉

299. crazycat

Could I have a badge too, please, Brian?

crazycat with a lower case c would be wonderful – and definitely all one word. Thanks.

See you all on Saturday.

300. AuldA

@Brian:

I thought our regular Panda would be drafted, too 😛

That said, can you please not add me? Instead, if someone of the Wingers’ gang takes some pictures, I don’t say I am not interested in seeing them!

On those very negative thoughts…
    Don’t have a dull day!

301. Nod Bruce

Oops! Here’s a working version of that link from 18th @ 23:09:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGBtwQPDTWs

302. Jim Thomson

@Brian Doonthetoon – thanks for ordering the list of names in a way that puts me in the middle. I normally end up last(ish) 😉

303. desimond

Anyone needing a ticket for The Hydro Queen Nicola Show on Saturday let me know, got one spare.

paul {@} kpacontracts {.co) (.uk)

304. castle hills chavie

oooh Brian could I get a badge as well.

If ye cannie fit it all in Ch Chavie will do.

Has it been decided yet whether it will be the Horseshoe or the Yesbar???

Looking forward to catching up with folks.

305. Taranaich

My latest post, sort of a response to Derek Bateman’s “indyref2” post, but also generally about referendum conspiracies (Morag will either like or hate this post):

http://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2014/11/19/of-course-it-was-rigged/

306. Taranaich

Also, Brian, what time would the meetup be? I’m going to see Nicola at the Hydro, so I’ll be in the vicinity, but I’ll have the family with me, so I’ll have to check with them. I’ve always wanted to meet more of you fine folks in the flesh!

307. Paula Rose

Taranaich honey! – great piece of writing, already shared and we meet on Saturday! Brian DTT – get the badge made!

308. AuldA

@Paula Rose:

Brian is your local badger? I thought we already discussed weasel et al. some days ago! 😛

309. Paula Rose

Someone died on Monday – now I’m brokenhearted…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sFLdc8dBRhs

310. Paula Rose

And for those of you who ken your history – how about this for allegory?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y-knGjxcPms

311. Paula Rose

@ AuldA – sweet Brian is one of my many local heroes! (how does one do the happy smiley emote thingie)

312. Paula Rose

Morag and Ian Brotherhood are two others, I will be making sure that they ken that on Saturday xx

313. Ian Brotherhood

@Taranaich –

Another great post there mister. You have a knack (like Stu) of being able to pull together a lot of seemingly disparate events/issues – most of us are aware of them, but can’t summon awareness of them all simultaneously.

I don’t believe Whitehall/WM will ever allow the legalisation of an electoral system which is NOT riggable – a century hence we’ll still be fannying about with bits of paper and blunt pencils in doorless lavvies, not even allowed the dignity of signing our own names.

314. Paula Rose

A century hence our descendants will be living in a country regarded by some as furrin.

315. cearc

Paula Rose,

Never mind in a century. Right now nine out of ten of my descendants are living in ‘furrin’ countries!

Maybe in a century families will all be able to stay here.

316. Brian Doonthetoon

Righty-o.

The deadline has passed and here’s the list of names for badges I have…

Alex Clark

Betty Boop

Bob Sinclair

Brian Doonthetoon

Cactus

castle hills chavie (Ch Chavie)

crazycat

Dixie

Hanii Puppy (my son)

Jim Thomson

Kininvie

Livestream – Kevin + Del Boy

Minxie

Natasha

Oneironaut

Paula Rose

Pete the Camera

Ronnie Anderson

Taranaich

TJenny

Does anyone know if Chipmonkey and Quentin Quayle are coming on Saturday?
    Also, Paula, I DON’T believe you are taking your pussy to Glasgow! What if there’s a furball scenario on the A9? Would your pussy not prefer to stay at home, chasin’ spyugs, and gain a “Minxie” fridge magnet?
    (New product line – top secret.)

Lastly, I can extend the deadline for names to 5pm tomorrow afternoon but, as soon as I’m in from work, I’ll be doing the artwork for the badges to get them made on Friday so 5pm is the deadline.

317. Brian Doonthetoon

Forgot to mention…

The scores of Wingers who were involved in the Invergowrie skinny-dipping – make sure you’re wearing your “Wings Over Invergowrie” badge on Saturday. They’re like gold dust and much sought after but, if you weren’t there, and remember it through the past darkly, you’ve missed out on that one.

318. Brian Doonthetoon

And apropos of my previous post…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=05ateplA2LA

319. Michael McCabe

I can’t make it through on Saturday.but I hope you all have a great day. Hopefully I will meet a lot of you if there is another wings meeting in Edinburgh. All the best. Aye till I die.

320. X_Sticks

Thanks Taranaich and a’ the rest o’ ye’s. Stuck ower here in the US o’ A and missin’ hame. Gutted I won’t see ye’s a’ on Saturday, but won’t get back to Aberdeen ’til well late on Saturday nicht. Hae ane fur me whilst ye’s are oot partyin’. Buggers 😀

321. chipmonkey

Hi Brian and everyone. I did post before,but there are lots of posts on here. I’m sorry to say it still doesn’t look like QQ and I can make it. I’m very jealous, especially when I see that list of names! We’d have got ourselves to Dundee for the bus if Dundee folks had been listening… I’m more than a bit below par (see time I’m posting) so maybe we wouldn’t anyway. Maybe the Eastern contingent could have a wee meet up for a bite to eat and a good blether sometime. Grumpy not to be coming.

322. Tam Jardine

TJenny

What’s the plan for Saturday? Am working so will miss the hydro and RIC but could mibbe nip through after work. This is what happens when you don’t keep tabs on off topic.

323. TJenny

Tam – we’re all heading to the YESBar in Drury Street after the Hydro, so head for there. If it’s too packed and we move on somewhere else, I’ll get someone to post an update on here. Hope to see you on Saturday. 😉

324. bob sinclair

Briandoonthetoon

Great seeing my name in such esteemed company (I think)

325. TJenny

Briandoontehtoon – thanks in advance for my badge. I foretell lots of drinks for you from grateful ‘badgers’ on Saturday. 😉

326. Jim Thomson

I thought the plan was to meet in the Hydro bar immediately after the event and then wander off to the YesBar (or alternative)

327. TJenny

Jim Thomson – Yes, that’s the plan, but Tam Jardine said he isn’t able to attend the Hydro and may only make it through after work @ 7ish, hence advice to head to the YESBar venue.

328. Jim Thomson

Thanks TJ. I think I get it now. At least I’ll have Betty Boop to keep me right (as ever) 🙂

329. desimond

Brian- A Desimond badge would be lovely.

What bar in the Hydro?

I know theres the Clyde Built Bar in the SECC thats a public bar but I have never seen a bar in the Hydro thats wanting punters inside it after a gig.

Can someoneconfirmplease.

Still a spare ticket for The Hydro tohear Nicolas “I hae a Dream” speech if anyone has a need for it

just mail me at

paul(@) kpacontracts [.co.uk]

330. TJenny

desimond – Cactus suggested meeting in the Hydro public bar after Nicola’s gig. I took it to be the Clydebuilt Bar, but would need Cactus to confirm, as I’ve never been to the Hydro.

331. Tam Jardine

TJenny

Great, thanks. Hopefully catch up in Yesbar. It’s been too long.

Guid luck herding Wingers between venues. I recall losing someone between 2 pubs at Wings Edinburgh – and the boozers couldn’t have been more than 15 yards apart! My memory is quite hazy on detail.

Anyway – I’ll try and be there for about 7

332. Alex Clark

“Anarchy in the UK” like never heard before. Brilliant.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gAwzxVaMTtI

333. Paula Rose

It would be even better if they showed the morris dancers re-interpreting the pogo in front of the stage!

334. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

The original suggestion for Saturday’s get-together was for a 7pm kick-off at the YES Bar. The libations after The Hydro were a later addition.

Subsequently, Alex Clark pointed out that the YES Bar was a tad pricey, then, in the past couple of weeks, Ronnie Anderson raised the issue of its lack of many seats and that the Horseshoe could be a better idea.

I did suggest that we could move the meet to the Horseshoe Bar, across the road and, individually, as the mood takes, have a pint in the YES Bar during the evening, just to be able to say we’d visited it but nobody really commented on that suggestion.

So I guess the plan is still to meet up at the YES Bar at 7 and take it from there. This wee Dundee contingent (Pete d’Baj, my son and I) are planning on hitting the Counting House around 6 for nosebags, then heading to Drury Street.

Desimond – I’ve added you to the list.

TJenny – I do the design and printing of the artwork; Pete d’Baj does the actual manufacturing and he drinks Coke!

Now I’m off to get these Wings Over Glasgow badges together for Pete to produce tomorrow.

PS: if Drury Street isn’t up to standard, we could always take over the Counting House, like last time…

335. Jim Thomson

@Brian – there is a small issue of the Horseshoe having quite a few UJs in the windaes. (Google street view images dated Sept 2014)

336. Paula Rose

The UJs are there to keep glaswegians out so’s we can have the place to ourselves. Did you notice the hairy string in the bottom left windae?

337. Alistair Grapevine

Brian Doonthetoon says,
    Hi Brian, can i please have a badge too,

338. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jim T.

I had a look on Streetview as well. I THINK those could be advertising plaques, possibly produced by a brewery.

Hud on…

Mmmmmm…. I took a screenshot of the UJ and surround and stuck it into Google’s image search – nothing similar showed up. But, having the file on my Mac, I was able to blow it up a bit and the lettering over the top APPEARS to say “The UKOK” and the lettering underneath, seems to end in “…independence” but I can”t make out what comes before.

Onny ehdeahz?

339. Brian Doonthetoon

“Alistair Grapevine” – you’ve JUST made the cut…

340. AuldA

I’d be damned if there is no winger from Glasgow that can have a gander of what exactly those UJs stand for.

341. Oneironaut

The mood I’m in right now, the temptation to put a brick through the union flag windows would be too overwhelming to resist.

Think I’ll stick to the Yes bar myself 😉

342. Paula Rose

Adverts for this scurrilous site darlings – https://www.facebook.com/UnofficialUKOK?ref=hl – are in the windaes of The Horseshoe.

343. Paula Rose

Oneironautty – have we key honey?

344. Paula Rose

cearc honey – you might want to come after all, The(luscious)pnr has arranged private use of an heated pool for wingers at an hotel! Must be due to the success of your last endeavour! I won’t tell the rest of the wingers, but just pass the word around on Saturday.

345. alistair Grapevine

thanks Brian, don’t lurk about off topic often, however Kininvie gave me a nudge this way.

346. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    “Oneironautty – have we key honey?”

I’ve got a few keys. Any one in particular? 🙂

347. Paula Rose

Darlings – have I got the schedule right –

6pm chips art the counting house

7pm meet at the clyde to welcome the Rev off the banana boat

8pm cocktails at the Yes bar

9pm pints at the Horseshoe

10pm check the Yes Bar for stragglers

11pm hug Ronnie and put him in a taxi

12pm skinnydip in plush Glasqow hotel?

348. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    “7pm meet at the clyde to welcome the Rev off the banana boat”

ooo, is Rev Stu coming along too? 🙂

“12pm skinnydip in plush Glasqow hotel?”

Tempting, but I have to get the last train back home before then.
    Also I have the kind of body that should always remain clothed in public places to avoid causing severe mental trauma to innocent bystanders! 😉

349. Ian Brotherhood

To all youse heading for Glasgow on Saturday – safe trip, and don’t worry about UJs in the Horsehsoe windaes – FFS, after half an hour you won’t give a toss.

Here’s a wee tune for all who are definitely ‘Goin’ West’, and those of us who wish we could join ye’s. –

Go West, ‘The King Of Wishful Thinking’ (live)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BGlRG44WSDc

350. Ian Brotherhood

Apologies for my unfortunate typo above, where I very nearly called the Horseshoe the ‘Whore’s Ho’ – it’s not that type of pub, honest.

And Paula Rose, please disregard Oneironaut’s modest description of his physical attributes – I have been on many a campaign with the man, and rest assured he is as fine an example of rippling Ayrshire beefcake as you’re ever likely to encounter.

351. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    “And Paula Rose, please disregard Oneironaut’s modest description of his physical attributes – I have been on many a campaign with the man, and rest assured he is as fine an example of rippling Ayrshire beefcake as you’re ever likely to encounter.”

Ayrshire beefcake that’s gone several decades past its ‘Best Before’ date! 😉

352. Paula Rose

Ian absoluteheavenliness – you will be there won’t you? Otherwise I’m not going (stamp foot petulantly) sorry Thepnr I love you too, I’ll be there.

353. Brian Doonthetoon

Paula – That Facebook page. You’re such a TEASE! Think you can tease? Wait till you see the badgeS we’ve got for you on Saturday!

Why don’t we meet up in the YES Bar, then invade The Horseshoe after a refreshment, just to make a point?

Onnyoo, that’s my break from badge designing over so back t’mill.

354. Paula Rose

Oh what am I to do? Snicker – does nae matter, Thepnr is in control.

355. Oneironaut

Well, I’m calling it a night here for now.

I’ll just leave this here. Bit of an upbeat sound for what will hopefully be a fun weekend ahead 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AMCyEZRpYk

356. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut/Paula Rose –

That final train…getting the timing right…wondering whether or not to chance hanging on for just one more…

Heaven 17, ‘Temptation’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ViUiz-TyYYw

357. Ian Brotherhood

ABC, ‘Look Of Love’ (live, 2005)-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Crn0TY7zztc

358. Paula Rose

Never mind missing heaven etc my wee sweet Ian –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XCW1i5HQ0o0

I need reassurance that I will see you on saturday – thepnr has promised to behave.

359. Paula Rose

I love that voice my sweet Ian – so like your dulcet tones, swoon.

360. cearc

Paula Rose,

I wish I were coming down.

Last night I thought that maybe I could drive thursday but then this morning I realised that it was thursday (I seemed to be a day behind for some reason).

Very sad to miss it.

Are you heading this way anytime soon?

361. cearc

Mind you,if thepnr has promised to behave it might be a bit dull.

362. desimond

Brian…many thanks

John King…you have mail regards Hydro ticket.

363. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Lou Rawls?

A magnificent voice from what appears to be a rather small frame. He would slot right into the SSP nae borra.

Unfortunately, the chances of me making Saturday night are somewhat less than those of Miliwotsit (NB I’m stealing your patter) becoming PM next year.

If I do make it? I’ll have to be heavily disguised. My grandfather-in-law bequeathed his de-mob suit, which I have just retrieved from the attic – with some slight alterations, and a touch of slap to the fizzog, I could maybe pass as Kezia Dug for a few hours, and get back to meself on the train home…it’s not likely, but I’ll do me best.

364. Cactus

Hey TJenny and all, took a look at The Hydros website (see below) this appears to be the bar they promote.. so The Clydebuilt Bar & Kitchen at the SECC it is. We can network.

http://www.thessehydro.com/the-sse-hydro/food-and-drink.aspx

I reckon we all rendezvous at Drury Street. I’m sure there will be many of us kicking about outside. It might even get to being as busy as Ashton Lane (West end of ayeGlasgow) on a Saturday evening.

For your on-street entertainment, Ronnie will be serving gourmet BBQ snacks from 9pm, whilst Paula dances barefoot on the cobblestones!

If any new/current readers want to come along and join us and are not sure who’s who? Just look out for all of those mysterious people wearing hats.. we’re a friendly kinda bunch from all walks of life who, like you, share a common desire 😉

365. Cactus

Hey TJenny and all, took a look at The Hydros website (see below) this appears to be the bar they promote.. so The Clydebuilt Bar & Kitchen at the SECC it is. We can network.

http://www.thessehydro.com/the-sse-hydro/food-and-drink.aspx

I reckon we all rendezvous at Drury Street. I’m sure there will be many of us kicking about outside. It might even get to being as busy as Ashton Lane (West end of ayeGlasgow) on a Saturday evening.

For your on-street entertainment, Ronnie will be serving gourmet BBQ snacks from 9pm, whilst Paula dances barefoot on the cobblestones!

If any new/current readers want to come along and join us and are not sure who’s who? Just look out for all of those mysterious people wearing hats.. we’re a friendly kinda bunch from all walks of life who, like you, share a common desire 😉

366. Cactus

Apols for me double post readers.. the guru was meditating.

367. john king

Briandoonthetoon
    don’t leave me and Irene behind we want to go, (nae swally though 🙁 ) I’ll be driving back to Fife,
    btw Desimond has come up trumps with a ticket for me but now I need one for Irene any offers?
    she’ll get aufy cauld staundin ootside the Hydro for two hours. 🙁
    If anyone can help me can you leave you spare ticket with Ronnie/wings banner bearers outside the venue?

368. john king

Cactus says
    “If any new/current readers want to come along and join us and are not sure who’s who? Just look out for all of those mysterious people wearing hats.”

Just wait for me Mr Dillon!
    (look it up) 🙂

369. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hello all, haven’t posted on o/t before.

I have a spare ticket for the ric conference and Nicola’s do in the hydro (I am now unfortunately having to attend alone!) so I can meet up with anyone who wants them on the day, and I was planning a visit to the yes bar later on so I hope to see you all there.

Brian, I would love a badge if I’m not too late to ask (or too cheeky!)

370. john king

Gillian your a life saver,
    have you been to any wings events before?
    if not don’t worry we’ll find you, just head for Ronnie complete with wings banner who will be near the entrance to the venue if you could leave the ticket with him that would be brilliant, you wont find it hard to get the wings crowd we’ll be the noisy ones 🙂
    And dont worry about coming alone (you definitely will not be alone) 🙂

And if Brian doesn’t have a badge, I’ll have a rummage in the wife’s bag and see what she has. 🙂
    Oh, what do I look like if you miss Ronnie?
    I’ll look like a miniature Cactus (only better looking), complete with cowboy hat and a blue tee shirt (weather permitting) with a wings advert on the back. 🙂

371. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hello John, thanks for the kind words, and its a pleasure to be of help with the ticket. I’ve been to lots of things that have had a wings presence and spoke to some folk briefly but you know what its like in a crowd, its not the best place to start conversations, and I’ve often thought later I wonder who that was! (though your description sounds quite unmistakable).

As I am going to the RIC conference I’m not sure how I’m going to manage my time during the day, I was hoping to nip into the hydro at the last minute to save missing too much of the conference, so I could meet up with whoever’s about at lunchtime (about 1pm going by the workshop timetable) or in the morning (before 10am) unless you have any other ideas?

372. Oneironaut

@Cactus
    “Just look out for all of those mysterious people wearing hats..”

Hmmm, I need to get myself a hat!

There aren’t many looks I can pull off, but “mysterious” is definitely one I can do! 😉

373. john king

Gillian says
    ” I was hoping to nip into the hydro at the last minute to save missing too much of the conference, so I could meet up with whoever’s about at lunchtime (about 1pm going by the workshop timetable) or in the morning (before 10am) unless you have any other ideas?”
    Well in that case we’ll, ahem wing it, so if you meet someone whose going to be there before you and knows me or I’ll wait in the foyer for you, no matter, we’ll resolve it. 🙂

374. john king

The wife just looked on the SNP events page and spotted that you need your SNP membership card to get in,
    I DID NOT KNOW THAT,

If that’s the case I’ll need to check if members (me) can take a guest in (wife) or the games a bogey! 🙁

375. Gillian_Ruglonian

John says
    “Well in that case, we’ll ahem wing it” you bet me to it!

I think I’ve decided that my look for the day is “mysterious” under a hat too!!

376. john king

Stand down troops, drama over,
    phoned SNP and was reassured that due to delay in sending out membership cards to new members they wont ask for proof of membership just your ticket, phew.

377. john king

Oneironaut says
    Hmmm, I need to get myself a hat!

There aren’t many looks I can pull off, but “mysterious” is definitely one I can do! 😉

Well knowing you Oneironaut,
    this should for the bill

http://img.costumecraze.com/images/vendors/rasta/3003-04-large.jpg

378. desimond

And the winner of “Surreal Comment of the Week” goes to John King ( Reigning Champion for last 179 weeks)

‘I’ll look like a miniature Cactus (only better looking)’

379. john king

or fit the bill even . 🙂

380. john king

I can see where your going with that Desimond,
    he he,
    when you meet me and Cactus together you’ll get what I mean! 🙂

381. Oneironaut

@john king
    I suppose I could just borrow the hat off that bloke on the horse outside the modern art gallery then 😀

382. Cactus

There could be a theme emerging for tomorrow night.. Hats at the Horseshoe. If you’ve got one, get it on.

I’m heading out, way out west end for the live music, have a cool Friday night Scotland.

X

383. john king

Wheres the horseshoe ?

384. Oneironaut

@john king
    “Wheres the horseshoe ?”

On the horse! 😉

385. john king

Eh wheres the Horseshow pardner?
    I meant.

386. Jim Thomson

@Brian Doonthetoon & @PeteTheCamera

Get yersels across to here and protect your heritage:

http://www.scotland.gov.uk//Publications/2014/11/7264

387. john king

Oneironaut says
    “I suppose I could just borrow the hat off that bloke on the horse outside the modern art gallery then” 😀

What?
    The Duke of Wellington?
    that bloke?
    Well I suppose,
    if the traffic cone fits,
    wear it. 🙂

388. Jim Thomson

@John King

Here

http://www.google.co.uk/maps/place/The+Horseshoe+Bar+in+Glasgow/@55.8609795,-4.2563778,3a,75y,189.38h,90t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1sN7fjZdPbytGsG-4uNXCSMQ!2e0!4m2!3m1!1s0x4888469e475fd18d:0x5159133ccaba1954

389. Jim Thomson

@John King

of course I could make it easier by using a shortened link 😉

http://bit.ly/1xcXF23

You’re welcome 😛

390. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi John King (and Gillian).

You’re in luck – badges are sorted via Pete.

Also, If you look at this link, you can see the YES Bar on the left, with the Horseshoe Bar nearer, on the right.

The view is from the Renfield Street end of Drury Street, looking east.

http://goo.gl/maps/SIeEa

Hi Jim T.

Dundee Cake story was featured on TV up here last week.

Of course, we don’t want Dundee Cake to be confused with this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WwylBRucU7w

391. Taranaich

Hats sound like a grand idea. Now the question is, do I wear my big Texan 10-gallon, or my more modest riding hat… Then again, my beard & hair are probably distinctive enough! But I’ll still wear a hat, if I can find one.

@Ian Brotherhood: Another great post there mister. You have a knack (like Stu) of being able to pull together a lot of seemingly disparate events/issues – most of us are aware of them, but can’t summon awareness of them all simultaneously.

I don’t believe Whitehall/WM will ever allow the legalisation of an electoral system which is NOT riggable – a century hence we’ll still be fannying about with bits of paper and blunt pencils in doorless lavvies, not even allowed the dignity of signing our own names.

Thanks Ian, though I should say this particular post was in the making since about the 19th when the whole “it’s a fix” mania started to take hold – after all, I was present at the count, and even then there were rumblings. So it’s a few things percolating over.

Sometimes I let them percolate too long: I was working on a post about SNP & Labour voting trends, when lo and behold, the Rev beat me to it. My focus was more on Inverclyde voting, but still, argh!

392. Oneironaut

@john king
    Ohhh, is that who he is?

History was never my strong point 🙂

393. Paula Rose

Dolls, honeys and beautiful lurkers – the wings crowd will be gathered beneath the hairy string – the laughter will be loudest where the wingers congregate.

394. Oneironaut

“And lo, the Duke of Wellies did don his red and white conical headgear and sit astride his horse, and he raised the hairy string on high.

And he said unto the courageous Wingers:
    “Under this symbol shall ye gather and defend thine lands from Tory tyranny! So mote it be! Now I’m off for chips, see ya later!”

Truly, it was a tale that shall live on in legend…”

(Sorry, I’m busy trying to write a novel and the mindset seems to be creeping into my posts lately…) 🙂

395. Paula Rose

(message to Al Harron – please be there tomorrow night – you are a gem)

396. Paula Rose

@ Oneironaut – dearest, will this be your first encounter with cybernat central?

397. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    Nope, think I’ve had a couple of encounters with Cybernat Central 🙂

Had the pleasure of meeting John King and Thepnr at the Counting House on two occasions.
    And not forgetting crazycat too of course 🙂

398. crazycat

@ Oneironaut

See you tomorrow. I’m going to be at RIC all day so will make my way to the Yes Bar afterwards and see who’s there. Will also think about a hat.

399. Ian Brotherhood

The Cult, ‘She Sells Sanctuary’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8I8mWG6HlmU

400. Oneironaut

@crazycat
    Looking forward to it 🙂

What sort of hats do physicists have? Ones with built-in lasers, for melting union jack windows? 😉

401. Ian Brotherhood

Friday Night Poser:

Do spiders hibernate, keep a low profile, or just die?

NAE WIKI-FIDDLIN’ ETC – DOES ANYONE HERE KNOW FOR REAL??

402. Ian Brotherhood

Another Friday Night Poser, but this one’s just for the ladies.

http://pixcdn.posterrevolution.com/pr/1/550968f.jpg

403. Brian Doonthetoon

Spiders hang around, twiddling their legs, until the time comes for them to INSPIRE.

Then all hell breaks loose.

BTW: badge-making endeavours now completed so no more requests; we hate to disappoint.

404. Brian Doonthetoon

Last post for tonight.

Re: the

‘http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-time-is-right/

topic – and badges. We have rush released badges to mark the new UK election scenario and a limited number will be available for purchase tomorrow evening.

405. Brian Doonthetoon

A-A-A-ARGH! No edit facility so I can’t KILL that aberrant apostrophe that has destroyed the link.

So here it is clean…

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-time-is-right/

406. Taranaich

@Paula Rose: Taranaich honey! – great piece of writing, already shared and we meet on Saturday! Brian DTT – get the badge made!

Thanks Paula! I’ll definitely be there tomorrow. All I ask is you be gentle, I’m very shy and retiring in real life!

407. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hi everyone, I’m really looking forward to tomorrow’s activities, especially since the hat thing appears to have sprouted wings!!

408. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s an oddity –

David Bowie, ‘The Mask’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2i6COiwMl9Q

409. Alan Mackintosh

Three (at least) of Team InverYESs coming down tomorrow to the Hydro. Look forward to seeing the other wingers. Is there a meeting place?

410. Natasha

Hi guys
    Only just got back from a funeral in deepest Essex and am posting on someone else’s computer, so I don’t know if this will show up, but I’m really looking forward to seeing you all tomorrow (today, now! just looked at the time). Remember to get there by 1.45 or they’ll assume you’re not coming and give your ticket to someone on the reserve list . . . 🙁

xxx 🙂

411. Natasha

Bugger! Never duplicate posted before!

412. Oneironaut

@Gillian_Ruglonian
    “especially since the hat thing appears to have sprouted wings!!”

Hats over Scotland? 😀

Looking forward to tomorrow (err, later tonight I mean!)

Heading off to sleep for now, but I’ll leave behind a song that I’m thinking of using as my own theme song, as its title perfectly describes this stage of my life…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1q1oA9b3cQY

Night all! 🙂

413. Cactus

This was in a time when wearing a hat was second nature. Allow me to share a personal love of mines:

Glasgow Trams
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kO2DmTnXlDA

PLEASE watch all 9 minutes and 57 seconds of it.. it’ll do you good.

See you all later on today groovy people of Scotland and Rev.

414. AuldA

Have a great day at the Hydro.
    Please tell me afterwards if the SNP is more hydrophilic than hydrophobic, more hydroelectric than hygroscopic.
    And Paula, watch out for our exiled Panda to show up unexpectedly!
    Enjoy. Have fun.

415. cearc

Cactus,

Ahem, for some people (well me) wearing hats is still second nature.

‘.. it’ll do you good.’ Well actually, it made me feel sad but a great wee clip.

Have a great time tonight.

416. john king

Auld A says
    “watch out for our exiled Panda to show up unexpectedly!”

Naw I cant see BtP coming all the way from France,
    even for Nicola! 🙁

417. john king

Never mind though,
    we can raise a glass to him in his absence. 🙂
    see you all at the Hydro.

418. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alan Mackintosh.

There’s a Wings get-together happening from 7pm in Drury Street, off Renfield Street, in the YES Bar and, possible the Horseshoe Bar, which are across the road from each other.

You can see them at the link below, then zoom out to get your bearings.

The view is from the Renfield Street end of Drury Street, looking east.

http://goo.gl/maps/SIeEa

419. AuldA

@John King:

He said he’d come. He even offered a lift from wherever he had decided to overnight to Glasgow. You don’t remember? It must be on the preceding page in off-topic.

Have a great time!

420. AuldA

@John King:

Bugger (the Panda) says: (23 October, 2014 at 8:14 pm)
    I am coming up to Glasgow for Nicola’s rally at the Hydro at the end on November.

Anybody up for a wee night somewhere in Glasgow after?

BtP

421. desimond

John King

I wont make it.
    I have mailed you the ticket.
    Anyone seeing John at Hydro please let him know to check his email thanks

422. Alex Clark

@desimond

I’ve sent John a text in case he has already left home. Hopefully he gets the ticket.

423. Graeme Doig

To all those great wingers I’ve met ( Ian, Ronnie, John and Irene, Cactus) and all the great winger’s i haven’t, have a fantastic day and night in Glasgow. You are all an inspiration.
    I believe we can keep the party going all the way to our independence.

424. Ian Brotherhood

@Graeme Doig –

Cheers mister. I’m in the house.

I hate missing WOS gigs, but I’ve exams looming, so the theory was that I’d stay in, perhaps do some light reading, and avoid the knees-up which would surely wipe me out for tomorrow as well.

Will have to content meself with posting some YT music vids. Not quite the same, but greatly looking forward to the stories streaming in later…the WOS Abroath episode was comedy gold.

Have a braw nicht mister!

425. AuldA

@Ian:
    All the best for your exams! In France, we say ‘keech’. It’s supposed to give you luck.
    I knew the slight anxiety you must feel that quite some time ago.
    Now, I’m on the other side of the fence… I grade them! 🙂

426. Morag

We’re in the Counting House. About 20 of us.

427. AuldA

@Morag:

Bon appétit ! 🙂

428. Tam Jardine

Natasha

Paula Rose is looking for you in Yesbar if you are still at large

429. Ian Brotherhood

@AuldA –

Cheers indeed.

Have to say, hard-going as it is at times, I’d much rather be on this side of the fence – the very idea of having to grade the kind of stuff I end up writing makes me nauseous…a grim task to be sure.

Anyway, let’s see what happens tonight – and who will post comment 333,333?

430. Oneironaut

Posting this from the Counting House.

Anyone else out there? 🙂

431. Ian Brotherhood

Bowie, ‘Suffragette City’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aSQ0LWnFx7w

432. Oneironaut

Just to let everyone know that the Wings get together has moved to the Counting House.
    Anyone who isn’t there yet, get yer bum over here quickly!

Still MIA:
    Cactus
    Dixie
    Natasha
    Gillian_Ruglonian
    John and Irene King
    Desimond
    Kevin and Del Boy
    And anyone else I can’t think of right now! 😀

433. Ian Brotherhood

Queen, ‘Keep Yourself Alive’ (live)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MfILg4mJAG0

434. AuldA

@Ian:

Yeah, sometimes one must gather a lot of determination and stamina to grade some papers. Hopefully, this time it’s a quizz.

You believe in numerology? 🙂

What happens tonight?
    Guy Béart: le grand chambardement (the big turmoil) : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_OPoSVqrc0

435. Ian Brotherhood

@AuldA –

Your comment (above, at 9.12) was number 333,333.

Not sure whether congratulations are in order, but there ye go!

436. Ian Brotherhood

PS My last YT link was intended for Oneironaut – stay safe buddy!

437. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    “PS My last YT link was intended for Oneironaut – stay safe buddy!”

I don’t like being safe. I like to live on the edge! 😉

“Danger” is my middle name!

438. AuldA

@Ian:

YEAH! Thanks Ian! That’s a solace for not being in Glasgow tonight.

Catch you at post 666,666 now. The post of the two-headed beast!
    (Hopefully there won’t be a post #666,666. Scotland will be independent before!)

439. john king

Auld A says
    “@John King:

He said he’d come. He even offered a lift from wherever he had decided to overnight to Glasgow. You don’t remember? It must be on the preceding page in off-topic.”

I was only jesting,
    my wife and I had been for lunch with him in Freuchie yesterday. 🙂

Oneironaut says
    Still MIA:

Oh, I’ve never been MIA before,
    maybe I’ve been wounded in action or something,
    or maybe Im sittin in the hoose cos a couldny find ma wiy oot o a paper bag?

sorry guys I really wanted to be there! 🙁

440. john king

oneironaut says
    “Danger” is my middle name!”

Don’t I know you?
    you don’t have a friend called Penfold do you?

441. Ian Brotherhood

To all the Wingers in Glasgow – youse are making history up there, with the RIC and Hydro-people. Today will go down as a major hernia for the British state.

Here are some more legends.

Spinal Tap, ‘Stonehenge’ (live, Glastonbury 2009) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Ec1WaFrK8E

442. john king

In my defence I am working tomorrow,
    dammit.

443. cearc

Love and kisses to you all in CH. Have fun.

444. chipmonkey

Missing you all xx Keep an eye on that Paula… don’t want any repeat of the damage to the floor in Invergowrie from those heels-and Glasgow might not be so forgiving about skinny dipping and the gym incidents. (Or was it me in the Gym? No matter).
    Ian… how did you get a picture on your comment? Hope your studying is going well.

445. Oneironaut

Hello Fiona

It’s Thepnr here, I tried to phone Graham on your home number but got unavailable number. Sorry you couldn’t make it. Hope we can catch up sometime, 🙂

446. Oneironaut

Hmm, that was odd. Felt like someone was taking over my mind for a moment.
    Back now! 😀

447. chipmonkey

Texted our home no. to Alex (If I got the right number. Not right now,but hope to speak soon. Thanks Oneironaut.

448. Ian Brotherhood

@chipmonkey –

Do you mean the wee avatar?

Long time…suspect I may have got my son to do it for me, but I’m sure it was straightforward enough. If I can get him to remind me I’ll pass it on…

449. Ian Brotherhood

Oi!

Wingers Over Glasgow!!

Some up-to-date reports, please?

450. cearc

Ian,

I think they’re all too busy watching Paula Rose demonstrating her famous pole-dancing routine on the lampposts of George sq.

451. Ian Brotherhood

Right.

That’s it.

Nearly one in the morning?

Where are y’all?

If I was your mum I’d be calling the cops by now.

Oneironaut?

Paula Rose?

Alex?

Cactus?

Ronnie?

TJenny?

If I find out that you’re all in Clatty Pat’s and didn’t tell me that was the plan? There will be hell to pay…

452. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Actually I’m back home now.
    Can’t quite remember how I got here. I do have a phone number for a Manky Mandy… (Must be a cleaning service I was going to hire, the house does need a bit of a tidying up!)
    And in my other pocket, I’ve got a ball of hairy string and a pair of frilly tartan panties with the Wings logo on them.
    Curious…

Anyways, gotta go for now. Need to find a hacksaw, these handcuffs are really chafing!
    Then I’m off to sleep. Night all! 😀

453. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I’m currently shacked up with Paula Rose in Giffnock! Eat yer heart out lol.

Good night as alaways, saw Oneironaut, Ronnie, TJenny. Cactus was posted as missing. Sorry you couldn’t make it, nor Natasha.

Wings still standing proud thoug

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zBwk5LRyTDQ hahaha

454. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut/Alex –

Cheers for putting my mind at rest.

Your differing circumstances sound more or less secure, so I can stop worrying that y’all were arrested for this, that, or t’other.

Hoots to y’all.

455. cearc

…a pair of frilly tartan panties with the Wings logo on them.

Must be Ronnie’s.

456. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie, Oneironaut, Paula, Alex, et al (whoever he is) –

If it turns out that I get a campaign badge for this evening, I will wear it proudly – 20 years hence, nay a fortnight from now, I will be convinced that I was there with y’all tonight.

To all those who are about to get to their pits – I salute ye’s!!

457. Betty Boop

@Thepnr, 1:20am

I hope you’re not keeping Paula Rose up!

458. Betty Boop

And a good night was had by all.

Ronnie (in charge of the search party) rounded up stray Wingers. Briandoonthetoon and Pete the camera were in charge of decorations and BtPanda, by way alcoholic enticements, nearly recruited a couple of young ladies to the cause. Cactus was missing in action, no sign of the hat after one brief encounter.

Great to see so many, missed those who couldn’t make it, see y’all next time. Ian B, I’m talkin’ to you and John and Irene, Cearc, Chipmonkey,QQ,Natasha and Cactus for longer than 2 minutes, anyone else I’ve missed.

Ronnie, hope you remembered to pick up the poles – no not Paula Rose’s props – the banner!

Paula R – your stroke is delightful… mwah!

Like I said, we’re fabulous 🙂

459. chipmonkey

Ian… I am confused as usual. I tapped a box some time ago and off topic pops on to my phone as emails. For some reason your ‘one for the ladies’post came through with a photo not just a link, which hasn’t happened before. I thought it was that way on off topic too.
    I actually would like to know how to do an avatar though!

460. john king

Chipmonkey

logon to gravatar
    https://en.gravatar.com/
    and upload picture of choice
    and it will automatically appear as your “gravitar where ever you might put on a post, Wings, Bella, Wee Ginger Dug, well you get what I mean. 🙂

461. john king

Oneironaut @ 1.11
    Now that’s what you call a night out,
    dammit. 🙂

462. john king

Alex Clark says
    “I’ve sent John a text in case he has already left home. Hopefully he gets the ticket.”

Text?
    I never even got to grips with telegrams. 🙂

463. john king

Was I the only one who heard that wee girls voice break when she was singing the Stanley Odd song, “Son I just wrote this”

My heart went out to her,
    ITS NOT OVER SWEETHEART,
    ITS NOT OVER!

464. john king

Oneironaut
    your “Manky Mandy” gag reminds me of a great night out I had in Arbroath, what? you kin hae a guid nicht in Arbroath and get a smokie oan yer way hame, 🙂

How I ended up on a trawler though I don’t know, but the crowning moment was when I woke up,

IN TROMSO GETTING MY FACE LICKED BY A SEAL!

465. AuldA

@John King:

Your fate was sealed.

Maybe you had big whiskers at that time? 😛

466. Jim Thomson

@Morag – you know that watch you mentioned well, I now know exactly what time it is, twice a day, at 3:31 – spooky or what 😉

467. Jim Thomson

@cearc 12:51am

I have to say, Paula’s ability to use those street lamps and remain clear of the wrap-round Christmas lights and decorations is nothing short of spectacular. The local bobbies were standing back in amazement.

No tazering was required, it was a simply electrifying performance on its own.

468. AuldA

@Jim Thomson:

If what you say about Paula is true – and I don’t doubt it – then I know why the damsel is with the Greens: she alone can supply electricity for the whole Scotland!

469. Natasha

Right, that explains it! While I was going up to strangers in hats in the Yesbar and braving some very nasty looks from the unionists in the Horseshoe, you were all living it up in the Counting House! I need to get a smartphone. I did end up at a party with my in-laws in Milngavie, but that’s small consolation.

Keep my badge for me, Brian Doonthetoon. And I knew ALL the words to ‘Son I Voted Yes’. What a great experience that was. We only just made it into the Hydro at five to two, so that’ll be why we didn’t see Ronnie and the banner.

I’m sure I saw Taranaich doing a little dance in the foyer afterwards, but I didn’t feel confident enough to go up to him – if it was him!

Love you all, see you another time.xxx

470. AuldA

Geez.

An English bomb dating back to WW I has been dug out in downtown Rennes during excavations made for the building of the second underground line. 3,000 people have been evacuated.

https://twitter.com/ouestfrance35/status/536482051135119360/photo/1

English people are definitely uncouth. They don’t even throw their litter properly away into the dumpsters. How rude.

471. Brian Doonthetoon

As usual, it was a convivial evening last night.

Pete, my son and I arrived the Counting House around 6.20, grabbed a table and ordered nosebags. Then I nipped outside for 5 minutes to observe Glasgow at play(?).

And who was there? Cactus and Dixie, going for a wee wander before the YES Bar meet at 7. Back into the CH, was accosted by Ronnie, Jim T, Betty Boop, et al, lubricating before the YES Bar.

Onnyhoo, the consensus, among those who had just been in the YES Bar, was that we should stick with the CH. So, just after 7, Ronnie headed to the Yes Bar & Horseshoe to look for misplaced Wingers.

He and I, and my son (I think TJenny was with us as well) headed back to Drury Street just after 8, to see if we could sweep up those that Oneironaut posted ‘MIA’ in a post up above.

Went all round the Horseshoe and the YES Bar, specifically looking for the two vertical opposites Cactus and Natasha and the visually unmistakable John King but no luck.

Onnyhoo, back in the CH, it was fine to put faces to names, like Oneironaut, Taranaich and his mum, Proud Cybernat and Mrs Proud Cybernat, Morag (whom I think I saw at the Edinburgh get-together) Alistair Grapevine, Crazycat, Kininvie, and so on.

Before embarking on the lamp post shenanigans, Paula Rose ensured that everyone was stroked by her presence, dear.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/badge-designs/Paula%20Rose-Stroked-cropped.jpg

I made a point of telling Tam Jardine that it’s Edinburgh’s turn for a get-together now, so he’d better get cracking, and find an Edinburgh equivalent of the CH, which he thinks may be in George Street(?).

Lastly, looking forward to meeting Wingers next Sunday, at the Dundee St Andrew’s Day march and gathering. For those of you not on Facebook, I’ve uploaded the poster for this to my webspace. You can see it here:-

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-7/StAndrewsDay-Gathering.jpg

472. Oneironaut

@john king
    “IN TROMSO GETTING MY FACE LICKED BY A SEAL!”

I hate it when they do that and don’t even call you the next day. You feel so taken advantage of!

@Natasha
    Aww, I was hoping to meet you too.
    Maybe next time 🙂

473. ronnie anderson

@ BrianDT & PeteTC could yous please save me a couple of Paula Roses Strokes,that Rid Biddy French Scotsman BuggerTP, purr_loined mine,sees yous next week.

474. Quinie frae Angus

So sorry I missed the day altogether.

Am going to try to make it to the Dundee rally though.

So glad to see the Wingers’ socials are still going strong!

475. Natasha

@Brian Doonthetoon
    I’m torn now between Dundee and Faslane on the 30th! My conscience says Faslane, but my heart says Dundee. If you can promise the Wings banner will be there so I can actually find you, I’ll come to Dundee. 🙂

476. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Natasha.

I think the Counting House has achieved the status of ‘reset to default’ in the Wings Community. If Wingers aren’t where they’re supposed to be, a trawl round the nooks of crannies of the CH may yield results.

We obviously missed you in Drury Street. Were you hiding behind the leg of a stool? Cactus usually stands out in a crowd, due to his height of 8’6″. But we didn’t see anyone being dwarfed in either of the Drury Street pubs.

But seriously… Ronnie has bestowed upon me the honour of the title of “Protector of the Wings Banners”, in advance of next week’s involvement in the YES City Gathering. They are safely ensconced in my son’s bedroom.

We hope to organise a Wings involvement in the march and have a stall in Fat Sams to promote Wings. So both banners should have a visible presence.

So, If anyone has any Wings promotional materials (leaflets, posters, business cards, hairy string and so on) that we could use, could you please let Ronnie Anderson know so that, hopefully, he can bring stuff up to Dundee next weekend?

Jim T and Betty Boop – I can’t remember if you said you were gonna come to Dundee next weekend.

Hi Chipmonkey and Quentin Quayle.

Yooz twa coming to Dundee next weekend?

Hi Ronnie.

Your request for another stroke will be met in full by Paula.

In the meantime, here are two of the bands who are on the bill for Fat Sams…
    First off, the Graham Brown Band. This clip is shows them performing at the Bannockburn 700yrs Music Event.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CAPrp3y8_wU

The second clip features Dundee band ‘Independence’, who have had that name since 1997.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ITRSdXVcQAc

477. Ian Brotherhood

Have we ever played any Elkie Brooks? What a chanter.

‘Lilac Wine’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N0RfTsZvk4M

478. Paula Rose

Sunshine after the rain – Ian honey c’est pour toi!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4y5TOVldgkQ

479. AuldA

@Paula Rose:

Ian honey c’est pour toi!

Splendid! I see your French is improving. BtP has probably given you some private lesson.

Instead of ‘honey’, you can try:
    ‘chéri’ (that’s ’darling’)
    ‘mon cœur’ (i.e. ‘my heart’)
    ‘mon lapin’ (i.e. ‘my bunny’)
    ‘chou’ or ‘mon chou’ (very much used = ‘my cabbage’)

E.g.: ‘Ian mon chou, c’est pour toi’. Perfect French.

480. Jim Thomson

@Brian Doonthetoon

regrettably Betty & I will be assisting with a bit of a relocation in another airt over the weekend.

You guys (and gals) will carry the banner(s) high and with aplomb, we’re certain. 😛

481. Ian Brotherhood

One day we’ll all get together to sing this. (Bags me the cool dude on the xylophone…)

If you can get to the end of this without shedding a tear then you are, actually, dead.

Donna Summer, Night of the Proms, ‘State Of Independence’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ClyVapjZma0

482. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jim.

You’ve been reading Ron Manager’s autobiography, “Marvellous isn’t it”, iye?

He makes much use of ‘aplomb’, ‘mantle with aplomb’…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4I1ye2gcEo

483. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Merr-see bow-coo ma ‘eye-‘eeled chou.

484. Paula Rose

@ AuldA XXX

485. Brian Doonthetoon

Je taime moi non plus, sur la pont d’Avignon. Le plume de moi tante est formidablé. Frere Jacque est dormé vou, ne pas?

I give up…

486. Brian Doonthetoon

OOPS! And this one for Paula Rose.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3EWbg-sW-gA

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.