In answer to
    Ian Brotherhood on another thread .

Ian Brotherhood says:
    18 October, 2014 at 11:46 pm

@Fairliered (10.33) –

β€˜How do I get a job working under Paula Rose in her lap dancing club?’

I’m ever so sorry, but that information is classified.

“Ha Ha like it,was going to post on that thread but thought i would do it here.
    I’ve met Paula Rose a couple of times now and would like to dedicate this song to her if i may x”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Hwlb7TB7lk

2. Croompenstein

Aw Ian, Clouds Across The Moon… brings back loads of memories, this one from around the same time one of my all time favs…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iPUmE-tne5U

3. TJenny

IB – then this is especially for you, babes. πŸ˜‰

The Waterboys, Whole of the Moon – one of my favs. (In fact, listening/singing along now)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q7dEC3PAzUs

4. Natasha

I’ve obviously been too uppity lately. Need to serve my time before I’m allowed to post too often. πŸ™‚

5. TJenny

IB – that’ll be OK, I’m good with animals, and Orang – Utans, being gingers, are ergo honorary Scots. πŸ˜‰ (Maybe thta’s why they were chosen for the ads?).

6. Croompenstein

@Michael – Wow, one of my favourite songs ever and I don’t know if you know but the song was written by a Scotsman. Eric Bogle..

7. TJenny

Yeeha – top comment on new page – happy days. πŸ˜‰

8. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Whatever you say is always ‘top’ with me, anytime. πŸ™‚

9. Ian Brotherhood

Half-past one on a Sunday morning?

Hmmm…why not?

Average White Band, ‘Pick Up The Pieces’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MfAJLGFWxYo

10. Thepnr

A good Dundee Band!

11. Michael McCabe

@ Croompenstein Yes I knew it was by Eric Bogle. Is he not from near the Borders somewhere. I just like that version I find it kind of Hypnotic. Anyway Anybody up for a dance ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=dMH0bHeiRNg Aye till I die.

12. TJenny

Have we

a) not realised there’s a new O/T page

b) all gone to bed

c) the site’s keeled over

d) something else? (just my pc)

13. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

I’m still here with ye hen, every step of the way…

14. Croompenstein

@Michael – Judson is my new hero πŸ˜€

15. Michael McCabe

@ Natasha 1:04am I don’t think you have been to uppity. So here is a song for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=O03xgRfoK78 Aye till I die.

16. Croompenstein

FFS Scotties know your place… Victoria..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z2GHlcwlT1Y

17. TJenny

Croomps – I’ll raise your Victoria with G-L-O-R-I-A, Gloria, by THem @ 1965 – remember seeing Them in The Top Storey in Edin. ‘-) Exciting days indeed. (don’t now hoe to do a wee excited face.) ;-(

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0aHmMfZTEw

18. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael (1.47) –

What a fucking great link man. thanks aplenty…

Get down on it!

19. Michael McCabe

Here is a song for all the old Bikers out there. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=j0kJdrfzjAg Aye till I die.

20. Stoker

Looks like nothing I’ve posted is getting through so I’m trying this, without any links – Simon & Garfunkels Sound of Silence.
    πŸ™‚

21. Croompenstein

TJ – I can’t raise you on that but hey an all time fav…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aXD1B2651X8

22. Michael McCabe

Is that a theme started with girls names in the title. Victoria then Gloria. if so then here is one from the 70s Ariel. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=xGFW9jCFml4 Aye till I die.

23. Croompenstein

Bob Dylan’s boy…The Wallflowers..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jLoc62pmFVk

24. TJenny

Comments taking too long – time for nighty nights, and so here’s the Mamas and the Papas and Dream A Little Dream of Me. x

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NLkCzeeR91c

25. Michael McCabe

@ Croompenstein Loved the here comes the Night. All I can say to that is http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=Flvwebz7oUw Aye till I die.

26. Michael McCabe

Had not heard of the Wallflowers. Heard this though. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=UIU8VRW9yBw The Wallflowers sound good .

27. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Flower of Scotland.

I believe it was Tam Jardine who organised the ‘Friends of Wings Over Scotland’ get-together in The Newsroom a wee while ago.
    Why don’t the pair of you work together to organise something in Edinburgh?

Now, we have the suggestion of a date for Glasgow, 22nd November, and we also have a suggestion for a venue, the Yes Bar.
    So, who, of the Glasgow Wingers, is gonna take the bit between the teeth and gallop down to the Yes Bar to let them know that they’ll be invaded by Wingers on the 22nd?

Lastly, for tonight, on the subject of girls’ names,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ahbhS4bvkTk

28. Brian Doonthetoon

Right – the page wouldn’t accept this post so I’m gonna stick dashes in.

Hi Flower of Scotland.

I believe it was Tam Jardine who organ-ised the ‘Friends of Wings Over Scotland’ get-together in The Newsroom a wee while ago.
    Why don’t the pair of you work tog-ether to organ-ise some-thing in Edinburgh?

Now, we have the suggest-ion of a date for Glasgow, 22nd November, and we also have a suggest-ion for a venue, the Yes Bar.
    So, who, of the Glasgow Wingers, is gonna take the bit between the teeth and gall-op down to the Yes Bar to let them know that they’ll be invad-ed by Wingers on the 22nd?

Lastly, for to-night, on the sub-ject of girls’ names,

29. Brian Doonthetoon

Right – the page wouldn’t accept this post so I’m gonna stick dashes in.

Hi Flower of Scotland.

I be-lieve it was Tam Jar-dine who organ-ised the ‘Friends of Wings Over Scotland’ get-together in The News-room a wee while ago.
    Why don’t the pair of you work to-gether to organ-ise some-thing in Edin-burgh?

Now, we have the suggest-ion of a date for Glas-gow, 22nd Nov-ember, and we also have a suggest-ion for a venue, the Yes Bar.
    So, who, of the Glas-gow Wing-ers, is gonna take the bit between the teeth and gall-op down to the Yes Bar to let them know that they’ll be invad-ed by Wing-ers on the 22nd?

Last-ly, for to-night, on the sub-ject of girls’ names,

30. Brian Doonthetoon

Ri-ght – the page would-n’t acc-ept this post so I’m gonna stick dashes in.

Hi Flow-er of Scot-land.

I be-lieve it was Tam Jar-dine who organ-ised the ‘Frien-ds of Wings Over Scot-land’ get-toge-ther in The News-room a wee while ago.
    Why don’t the pair of you work to-gether to organ-ise some-thing in Edin-bur-gh?

Now, we have the sugg-est-ion of a date for Glas-gow, 22nd Nov-emb-er, and we also have a sugg-est-ion for a ven-ue, the Yes Bar.
    So, who, of the Glas-gow Wing-ers, is gon-na take the bit bet-ween the teeth and gall-op down to the Yes Bar to let them know that they’ll be invad-ed by Wing-ers on the 22nd?

Last-ly, for to-night, on the sub-ject of gi-rls’ names,

31. Brian Doonthetoon

5 attempts at posting a comment and nothing accepted so I admit defeat for tonight.

32. Brian Doonthetoon

5 att-empts at post-ing a comm-ent and noth-ing acc-epted so I admit de-feat for to-night.

33. Brian Doonthetoon

A-A-A-A-RGH!!!
    What it appears was happening was that when I clicked on submit, the site was going to the top of the previous page (like when a post isn’t accepted for some reason) so it looked like my post was rejected.
    I apologise for the multi-posting.
    8=(

34. Natasha

@Michael McCabe 1.47am

Thanks for the link, Michael, haven’t heard that one for years! πŸ™‚

I’m up for the Wings get-together in the Yes bar on the 22nd; might have to drag my husband and daughters along though!

35. Natasha

@Brian Doonthetoon

I’m not surprised you were confused; when I posted just now it didn’t just go back to the top of this page, but to the bottom of the previous one!! Weird, or what?

36. Betty Boop

TJ and all,

If this post ever appears before 22 Oct (I am trying Explorer again), I will be at Nicola’s World Tour of Scotland at the Hydro as well along with Jim T.

Maybe all the Wingers should carry a sign saying so!

Where is the Yes Bar anyway ?

Posting this at 12:11pm

37. Oneironaut

@Natasha
    Feel free to be uppity any time you like.
    According to Westminster, all of us restless natives are uppity, so you won’t be alone! πŸ˜‰

38. Natasha

@Betty Boop
    The Yes bar is on Drury Street, off Renfield Street, almost directly opposite Renfield Lane. Very close to Central Station and not far from Freedom Square. We went there a few weeks ago and found it to be quite nice, reasonably good food and pleasant staff. Good place to meet up for a drink, but might be a bit crowded that night for obvious reasons!
    Look forward to maybe seeing you there on the night if I can drag my family along with me. πŸ™‚

@Oneironaut
    I’ve always been uppity; I was once described as a stuck-up know-it-all by a woman I’d only met once for half an hour; I thought I had offered her some helpful advice, but clearly not! She wasn’t brave enough to say it to my face, mind. Can’t think why not . . .

39. TJenny

Croomps – nice one – Here Comes The Night was the first single I ever bought. πŸ™‚

Betty Boop – I have no idea where the YESBar is ot indeed how to get to Nicola’s gig. My only knowledge of Glasgow is the route out of of Queen St station, down the road and turn left to the CH, so I’m hoping some kind Wingers will post up directions nearer the time. πŸ™‚ Or I’ll just get a taxi from QSt.

40. Thistle

Hi WoS

We have a couple of live streams today and you can find the live stream links via our website.

Also we are doing some crowd funding and it has ground to a halt. Could please help promote us?

We Are Citizen Live Stream Journalists, People Like You Are Us.

http://www.independencelive.net/support-us

Regards

Kevin

41. TJenny

oops – should have said turn right to CH.

42. Stoker

Rev,
    What’s the story with all these posting problems?
    since last night i have attempted to post approximately 8 times, posts with links to music from YouTube, and not one of them have appeared.

I don’t seem to have the same problems (other than the usual delays) when posting without any links.

As you can see from relatively recent posts others are experiencing similar problems.
    Its a bit annoying, to say the least.
    πŸ™

43. Jim Thomson

@Stoker

Have you read the posting rules? They are in the link just above the wee text box into which you type your much admired epistles πŸ˜‰

It’s the “this page” in blue text.

If you are posting youtube links you MUST remove the https:// bit otherwise it all gets binned. That’s to stop the embedding of the YT images into the thread.

Other things also cause delays to, and dumping of, messages.

44. Betty Boop

@ T Jenny, 2:28pm

You don’t even have to turn right to the CH from Queen Street Station – door on the People’s Square side too (the name I gave to George Square after the first Yes rally) πŸ™‚

@ Natasha, 12:50pm

Thanks for the address for the Yes Bar – thought you lived in the Borders? How do you know so much about bars in Glasgow? πŸ™‚

45. Stoker

Cheers, Jim, I’ll give it a try with this attempt:

Creedence Clearwater Revival – Fortunate Son
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvwQmxLaknc

46. SquareHaggis

@X_Sticks,

Here’s that clip I was talking about

http://tinyurl.com/mwrewvs

Also uplifting is this

http://tinyurl.com/kggwcqw

Enjoy:-D

47. Jim Thomson

@Stoker
    and just to add the the knowledge πŸ™‚ all URLs that start with www. need to have just the http:// bit removed but, if they (with the notable exception of YouTube) start with anything else you can leave the http bit alone, otherwise the link won’t be auto-completed by WordPress.

48. X_Sticks

Thanks SquareHaggis πŸ˜€

49. SquareHaggis

Nae swett pal πŸ˜‰

50. Stoker

Girlschool & Motorhead – Please don’t touch
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vz2KnXcwPN0

51. Natasha

@Betty Boop 3.35pm

I suppose this is my chance to pretend I lead an interesting double life, but the truth is, I have Glaswegian in-laws and my daughter just started at Glasgow Uni! πŸ™‚

52. Stoker

Manic Street Preachers – Imperial Bodybags
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hj4mMf895NQ

53. Stoker

Jim, or anyone else in the know.
    How do you go about setting up one of those wee avatars some of you have?

πŸ™‚ )

54. Jim Thomson

@Alex Clark in response to your posting here http://wingsoverscotland.com/a-good-start/comment-page-1/#comment-1911923

and my one just before it πŸ˜‰ here’s my “Inky Fingers” offering (FY!M are a Glasgow band – that video was filmed entirely on a mobile phone btw)

After watershed viewing I’m afraid (mainly because of the band’s full name)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHoJXFw7uxc

55. Jim Thomson

@Stoker

you need to do it via this website (Part of the WordPress family methinks)

http://en.gravatar.com/

Instructions available near top of page I think

56. Alex Clark

Hello Jim!

I expected some revelation or words of wisdom but thanks for the song πŸ™‚

I couldn’t help but notice the guitarists teeshirt with the Pulp Fiction reference so I’ guess you’ll appreciate this one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DicYF4RQBnU

57. Flower of Scotland

Sorry Natasha! That rant has been building up a while. It’s embarrassing reading it today!

The night at the Newsroom was the first time that I’d met anyone from Wings. It was great meeting like minded people.

I know what you are saying Alex, it’s just disheartening to think how big a job Edinburgh is for the GE. 4 Labour MPs and 1 Lib/dem. Two of whom I’ve never even heard of.

It’s not difficult to come to Glasgow for a wings night out. I can get a train from Perth. It would be nice to have one soon.

58. Thepnr

@Flower of Scotland

Hi, glad to hear your are up for another Wings night out, no matter where. I remember very well meeting you in Edinburgh and for me it was a pleasure πŸ™‚

We’re in a new phase now and for what it’s worth I reckon that requires all of us to work together and support each other. Just because we lost the referendum doesn’t mean we go away and lie down. The opposite is true, we regroup and come out fighting.

At least that is my view and I’m sure it’s yours. One thing I do believe there will be those that do not wish us, the supporters of Independence that is, to carry on and they will be doing their damnedest to prevent it.

Ignore them, they are not hard to spot. If you won’t give in then neither will I, see you at the next WoS night out.

I’ll send you a wee song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J9gKyRmic20

59. Stoker

Flower of Scotland says:
    19 October, 2014 at 11:42 pm
    Sorry Natasha! That rant has been building up a while. It’s embarrassing reading it today!

Don’t let it get to you, FoS.
    The anger and frustration you expressed was exactly how we’ve all been feeling. We all let rip from time to time.
    I’d worry more if you didn’t – it shows you care.
    πŸ˜‰

60. Flower of Scotland

Hi Thistle, I sent a donation to you when Ian Brotherhood first mentioned that you needed help. I will continue to remind folk to support you.

I tried to watch the Hope over Fear live thread but it kept freezing. Still I got a bit of the flavour of it! Thanks for that.

61. Stoker

FoS,
    Meant to add this to that last post for you.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zaGUr6wzyT8

62. Flower of Scotland

Thanks Alex , Stoker for your support ????

63. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr I liked that. Don’t Dream its over. And know why ?Because its. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=c0A7jAVDPJU Aye till I die

64. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Had a word with Bob Costello (Team YES Bus) at our Dundee foodbanks collection at City Square (Dundee) today and he indicated that he would put on a bus (mini or George Square 49 seater, dependent on numbers) to get us from Dundee to the ‘Friends of Wings Over Scotland’ get-together at the YES Bar in Glasgow on 22nd November.

He just needs numbers, then he can work out a price per head.

So, are we going to the party, the tea party…?

8=)

65. Michael McCabe

And as that Scots Legend said. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=SXW-sL5gzHQ Aye till I die

66. Alex Clark

I’ll be coming Brian, make that two seats.

I like a tea party. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0JvHroG3u5E

67. Brian Doonthetoon

HA HA! I’ve got it sussed!

When I submit a post, this blΓΌddy system accepts it, but instead of letting me see what I’ve just posted, the WordPress system takes me back to the page before, which makes me think that my post has gone into the cyber-ether, and not been accepted.

Bear it in mind peeps.

68. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex.

That’s five of us so far. What about Quentin Q, Paula R, Tartan Tory, and so on?

You must network…
    8=)

69. Stoker

Are The Red Tories deed yet?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CYkZcPYXQI

70. AuldA

Is there any way to search through all the posts of someone?

71. AuldA

Sorry, I meant to search through the comments of a known person?

72. Flower of Scotland

Just realised when I put a smiley face in I, Four question marks come up!

Definitely wasn’t questioning your support Alex and Stoker.

73. Stoker

I don’t know about anyone else but i’m starting to have serious doubts and concerns over the “new look” NNS (or are they still in the process of giving the site a makeover?) and the way it seems to be conducting its business.

They recently published an article about the roll the DR and its journalists played in the referendum. The article, to me and many others, seemed to be a load of sympathetic journalistic shite and most comments on the article seemed to reflect that thinking. That article has now vanished.

The most recent article is badly written with spelling mistakes and a link to a unionist newspaper. You get the impression it was very hastily cobbled together.

The same article seems to be pointing the finger of blame at the “Better Together” parties via Davina Moron – when the No1 culprits in the destruction of our referendum were the BBC, DR and The Red Tories.

I mean, not that i would ever even think of defending these scumbags, but nobody can very well blame English politicians for trying to look after English interests, can they. SLAB, and everyone connected to them, sold Scotland out.
    They must never be allowed to get away with that, focusing the blame on English politicians is detracting from the real problem.

There is also a lot of growing discontent among NNS readers due to the slow production of articles – its not as if there’s a lack of material out there, is there – but to take several days between the appearance of relatively poor quality articles does not make a lot of sense.

What the hell is going on over there? Are they working on something big? Have they given up the ghost? Can anyone shed some light on all of this?

74. Flower of Scotland

Have a look at Bella today.

75. Stoker

FoS,
    Just replaced NNS with ‘Bella’ in my boomarks.
    πŸ™‚

76. X_Sticks

@Stoker

I think this article may explain the NNS story.

http://www.newsnetscotland.scot/index.php/scottish-opinion/9800-newsnet-scotland-a-continuing-story

I suspect they are going through changes at the moment, which may also include new reporters etc.

You’d expect it to improve going forwards with Derek Bateman involved. I’m prepared to be patient for a wee while to see what happens.

77. Stoker

Thanks, Sticks, I’ll keep checking for any progress.
    πŸ˜‰

78. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve just been looking at Jim Thomson’s ‘Dropbox’ pics from the ‘Hope Over Fear’ rally in George Square and I realised that I’ve been a tad remiss.

I shot one video that day, really only as a ploy to show the sea of saltires. I used one of the songs done by the ‘Trongate Rum Riots’ as the excuse. The sound is a bit ropey but you’ll get the idea.

BTW: YouTube’s ‘fix your shaky video’ filter is working brilliantly these days. The video below was done with my arms almost straight up above my head and tiring from about a minute in.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xTznFNQS7eI

79. Jim Thomson

@Brian Doonthetoon

fur a shoogly auld bugger like you thon’s a pretty guid effort πŸ˜›

Yeah, these fix-it apps are pretty good now. They only throw away a few pixels from the border of the image. They’re a bit like the apps that normalise the levels in audio tracks when converting to MP3s. They need to see the entire file first and then work out how much they can keep and what needs to be tweaked.

The fact that they’re free is indicative of how good the professional plug-ins are nowadays.

80. Quentin Quale

Over on the twittersphere, Mr Roger Quimbly is arguing that now would be the right time for the EDL to release their reggae song. Top man and top site.

81. Tackety Beets

@ Brian Doonthetoon

Aye , Brian , good video clear pics etc Thank you for posting .
    Looks like I missed a ” Gran Day Oot ”

I’ve noticed recently posting seam to indicate / suggest ( creaking chairs & music ) many are of the senior age bracket .
    I’m heading towards my Pension at a relentless pace .
    I only say this bearing in mind the statistics on the Ref , and we were singled out for a wee bashing .
    I do hope there are plenty young ones here too .

82. James Caithness

If anyone on twitter have you ever come across this?

whitepuma.net/twitter/

I was left a message to click on that link.

83. Betty Boop

@ Briandoonthetoon, 8:47pm

That’s a pretty good video of the Trongate Rum Riots – you’d think you were there or summat, eh?

See y’all in the Yes Bar, hopefully. We’re up for Nicola’s world tour in the afternoon.

84. Naina Tal

Boycott having an effect already?
    Just heard an advert on Forth 2 (well, I stopped listening to Bias Broadcasting). B&Q offering discount vouchers and free stuff, but only in Scotland.

I do hope they are hurting, but expect they’ll claim it’s a long planned promotion.

That’s the only thing these big companies understand though – the bottom line. Keep the pressure on everyone! No drifting back!

85. Paula Rose

Darlings, such problems – normal service will be resumed at some point tomorrow xx

86. Tackety Beets

Boycott !
    I popped past Aldi to collect a few bits , Milk etc , jings got the only empty parking space . Non stop inside. I only hope their staff manage to handle the extra trade , they seam to be in control at the moment .
    N.B. ASDA & Tesco are both nearby .

Keep up the boycotts folks , I’m sure they will feel it .
    There is a page on FB if you are unsure of which Co’s to Boycott .

87. Oneironaut

@Tackety Beets
    “There is a page on FB if you are unsure of which Co’s to Boycott “

What if you’re already boycotting FB? πŸ˜‰

I get most of my stuff from Aldi already. With occasional visits to the conveniently-placed Lidl at the end of my street.

Getting harder to find packs of frozen peas without union jacks on them for some reason. Is there a unionist monopoly on frozen veg or something?

88. Cactus

Hey ewes,

Good times in iGlasgow on the 12th, cheers to thepnr and co. from iDundee, Ronnie, Mr X, JS, JT and many others πŸ™‚

Count me in for YES on the 22nd November in Glasgow aye.. as Nicola is also gigging that night in The Hydro, maybe we could all meet-up afterwards at the public bar in the SECC.. then take a leisurely stroll up to Drury Lane together.. a bit like the tour guides do in Edinburgh CC, you know.. the 500+ people waiting to cross at the traffic lights on the Broomielaw hehe πŸ˜‰

Scotland’s opportunity to independence should never be generational, it should (at the very least) be seasonal..

Four Seasons ~ Vivaldi
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GRxofEmo3HA

Cheers to y’all people of Xland!

89. Natasha

@Flower of Scotland 11.42pm

Just read your post! Thank you and don’t worry about it; I should have just let it go. By the way, I just mentioned your comment about me lording it a bit on another thread, but I wasn’t being bitchy; I was joking because I know I can come across a bit superior sometimes. πŸ™‚

90. Natasha

@Auld A 9.40am

Are you planning to stalk someone? Thought that was my job! I’ll be interested to see if you get an answer; I need an easy way to hunt down the Plod.

91. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee bit of Night Music. /www.youtube.com/watch?v=adT9TCA0DZw&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die

92. chipmonkey

@ Brian Doonthetoon Two more for the bus from Dundee on the 22nd Nov please – QQ and me. Like you I am still here reading all I can here,but not able to answer often. Dundee isn’t 4G city!

It’s been an incredibly difficult month,hasn’t it everybody? Hope to see lots of you soon.

@Paula Rose…I just saw an ad for spiky boots like your! Not sure I’ll be able to walk in them like you can πŸ™‚

93. Fairliered

There is a bus service from George Square, Queen Street station side, to the SECC, which serves the Hydro, and also the Clyde Auditorium, for those of us going to the Radical Indy conference. It also stops near Central Station, which is near the Yes Bar.
    http://www.spt.co.uk/wmslib/Bus/100_april.pdf

94. AuldA

Guys,

suppose I’m considering moving to Edinburgh. I’ve more or less found out that the nicest areas were south of the railway. Is that correct? Does anybody also have an opinion on primary schools? I’ve got the map of catchments, but it does not tell much.

Thanks!

95. TJenny

Cactus – good to hear from you again. πŸ˜‰

Great idea to meet up in the Hydro public bar after event, as I have no idea how to get around in Glasgow (QSt station to CH is it!)

Also is there anyone going through to Nic’s Hydro gig by train from Edin who knows where they’re going at the other end? If so we could meet at Waverley?

96. Paula Rose

Hello darlings – c’est moi!

Gosh ten days ago my lovely lap-top refused to do anything other than go down on me

apparently this was due to a faulty hard drive – not something I’m used to, anyway, a lovely man I know in Dundee suggested some –

Virtual Integration And General Realigning Applications –

Problem solved – my dear little lap-top responds to every keystroke and command!

Natasha and Flower of Scotland – see you in Glasgow on the 22nd, and everyone else, book me a seat on the Yes Bus. Off to see what you’ve been talking about – need some new knitting patterns doubt that will be on wings.

97. AuldA

@Paula Rose:
    Hello darlings – c’est moi!

Smashing!

If you want to be perfect, and if I nitpick, you’d have to insert a space between the β€˜moi’ and the !. In French, β€˜double signs’ such as ?, !, :, ;, %, etc. are always preceded by an unbreakable space (whereas there is no such space in English).

Have fun the 22nd!

98. Paula Rose

Darling AuldA – there is no space between moi and my exclamations, its all a very tight fit xx

99. AuldA

@Paula rose:

Translation exercise for tonight:

β€œLes femmes, je suis contre, tout contre.” (Sacha Guitry)

100. Natasha

Just voted for Stewart Hosie! Looking forward to seeing you all on the 22nd, especially your heels, Paula Rose! πŸ™‚

101. Ian Brotherhood

Frankie Miller, ‘Darlin” –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t2MFutruZ8E

102. Ian Brotherhood

Hey, how funky can YOU get in three minutes?

James Brown, ‘Get Up Off That Thing’ (live on Letterman) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sRQoYCqEr_4

103. AuldA

@Ian Brotherhood:

In a very different style, β€˜Les passantes’ (the passers-by), poem by A. Pol.

Original French version by G. Brassens: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l4Q7urIVYAE
    English translation by G. Allwright: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X2FwscHg3To
    E per coloro che capiscono… Italian translation by F. de Andre: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ShpYbfr3cY

104. Ian Brotherhood

@AuldA –

Cheers.

Very interesting stuff, and a fine tune to boot.

I’d never heard of any of these dudes. Next time I’m out galavanting (as I’m wont to do of a Tuesday afternoon) I shall bear that tune in mind, and burst into whichever version seems most appropriate as I wander around Kilwinning et environs

105. AuldA

@Ian:
    Hey,

So you’re a modern minstrel, aren’t you?
    A gallant lad wandering from town to city, with a restless heart who only knows one master: his country?

Brassens is well known in France. Famous for his irreverent songs (he was anarchist) and great poetic talent. G. Allwright is a New-Zealander who was a friend of Leonard Cohen and John Baez. He sung in French, translated songs of Cohen as well as his own, and sometimes the other way round. On Fabrizio de’ Andre I know much less, though I own one of his album where he sings in his native patois, Genovese (the album is called β€˜Kreuza de ma’ and the eponymous song begins with a kind of bagpipe instrumental riff that’s worth to listen to.

Have a great day and great ballads! (Ballade in French means both β€˜romantic song’ and β€˜saunter’).

106. AuldA

@Ian:
    Hey,

So you’re a modern minstrel, aren’t you?
    A gallant lad wandering from town to city, with a restless heart who only knows one master: his country?

Brassens is well known in France. Famous for his irreverent songs (he was anarchist) and great poetic talent. G. Allwright is a New-Zealander who was a friend of Leonard Cohen and John Baez. He sang in French, translated songs of Cohen as well as his own, and sometimes the other way round. On Fabrizio de’ Andre I know much less, though I own one of his album where he sings in his native patois, Genovese (the album is called β€˜Kreuza de ma’ and the eponymous song begins with a kind of bagpipe instrumental riff that’s worth to listen to.

Have a great day and great ballads! (Ballade in French means both β€˜romantic song’ and β€˜saunter’).

107. Cactus

Hey TJenny, yeah meeting in the Hydro public bar after the do would be good for everyone. I’m not going to the event, but quite fancy coming along to check out and feel the positive after-vibe..

So yes, allow me to be your tour-guide for iGlasgow, who knows.. maybe some of the other gig-goers would like to join us for afters at the YES bar on Drury Lane?

Enjoy the show and see you at the bar lovely lady πŸ˜‰

108. Lenny Hartley

Looks like Ive given away my tickets for the Hydro to some new converts. I will be at RIC so see y’all at the Hydro public bar and the YES bar afterwards.

At least we can wear badges with our real names this time no more Jingly Jangly or Liquid Lenny for me, I have come out of the cybernat closet πŸ™‚

109. Ian Brotherhood

Thursday Challenge –

Give us a better pop-song than this.

The Foundations, ‘Build Me Up Buttercup’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rd4QGfukjBk

110. AuldA

Yuck. A service on the way rabbits are bred and fed in cages. Gives the creeps (English with French subtitles)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xyNDLgv6B1I

111. Paula Rose

Darlings – ever since my lap-top’s resolve was strengthened I no longer have auto-fill and immediate comment appearance. Seems like I am now in a similar position to many of you – I need a simple form of entry.

112. Natasha

@AuldA
    Loved the George Brassens music; and thanks for the translated version.

113. Bugger (the Panda)

Great news wrinklies, drinking later in life helps cognitive function.

https://archive.today/0ejqP

All we need is to work on the flesh as well.

114. Bugger (the Panda)

I am coming up to Glasgow for Nicola’s rally at the Hydro at the end on November.

Anybody up for a wee night somewhere in Glasgow after?

πŸ™‚

BtP

115. Bugger (the Panda)

F OF S

you going to the Hydro in November for Nicola?

116. Bugger (the Panda)

Feck I fecked up the http thingies for this wee tune for Ian Bro

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EUV2GPas4aY

117. Ian Brotherhood

@BTP –

Many thanks. A tremendous tune, and another artist I’ve never even heard of. And she’s gorgeous…

118. AuldA

@BtP:

Personally, I prefer blueberries.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2850944/

119. AuldA

@Natasha:

You’re most welcome!

In fact, I was acquainted first with the English version, and still like it a bit more than the other two. I find G. Allwright adaptations always better than the originals, especially when he translates Leonard Cohen in French.

Have a great night!

120. AuldA

@Paula Rose:

Welcome to the real world! πŸ™‚

@BtP (bis):

Will you write me a report on the Glasgow event?

121. chipmonkey

Ian’s challenge but for Brian Down Town

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zx06XNfDvk0

122. chipmonkey

Popping back a couple of weeks of o/t
    Dad type pop song

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5JrfMsfnVbw

Now Paula Roses’s theme tune.

123. chipmonkey

Tears of a clown?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZaMX0Cs5Bc4

OK Buttercup still winning.

124. chipmonkey

What about the king of the pop song – standing the test of time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4-Vz6tNfV1Y

125. chipmonkey

That wasn’t the name of the song ;-0 It was just a comment.

He turns up again this year:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P_4fLO0WnDo&list=RDP_4fLO0WnDo

I’ll stop now…

See you on the 22nd πŸ™‚

126. TJenny

Ian B – think these are better?

Badfinger and ‘Come and Get It’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N3TOcw7taBo

Followed by ‘No Matter What’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xoke1wUwEXY

127. TJenny

BtP – I’m also going to Nicola’s gig in Glasgow and the plan is to meet in the Hydro public bar after, Cactus, IB, Morag others?, and then on to the YESBar. πŸ™‚

128. Bugger (the Panda)

AuldA

This blog will be the report.

129. Bugger (the Panda)

TJ

Done deal.

130. Brian Doonthetoon

hi Bugger The PAnda.
    You haven’t been keeping up with events, have you, yi wee scamp?

There’s a Wingers’ get-together taking place in the YES Bar, Drury Street, on the evening of the 22nd.

I’m trying to get enough bodies to fill a minibus from Dundee. So far, we have:

Brian Doonthetoon
    Chris (my son, the lurker)
    Pete d’Baj (aka Pete the Camera)
    Alex Clark + 1
    Paula Rose
    Chipmonkey
    Quentin Quayle

Onnybody else from Dundee, Angus, North Fife, Perth want to join the party? Pickup possible at Broxden Interchange if needed.

Pop music…

Thanks for the mention of my Sunday name Chipmonkey!

Here are a couple of tracks from one of my favourite bands of all time in the world ever, who were a legend in their own lunchtime. One from their early period and one from their ‘psychedelic’ tea break, whewn they were heavily under the influence of tea, like many of their peers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qf8y7v0WIE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FKezWLZqRik

131. chipmonkey

I like those @TJenny!

Now my multimedia device has forgotten who I am so this will probably post at Christmas. First problem I’ve had for ages.

132. Ian Brotherhood

@chipmonkey –

Ah, superb stuff there. Wonderful.

Haven’t even looked at TJenny’s and the others…great night here, loving it.

133. TJenny

IB – ‘Haven’t even looked at TJenny’s’.

I am wounded to the marrow. Sobs. πŸ™

134. TJenny

Still taking +20 mins to see posts.

135. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

I should’ve added ‘yet’!

I have now viewed and enjoyed – they spark very early memories. Cheers, and hoots!

136. TJenny

IB – whew – glad you liked them. πŸ˜‰

A wee O/T O/T (?) – still haven’t received my email so that I can vote for SNP Dep Leader. Phoned SNp HQ n Edin today and they said that they were having probs sending these emails to hotmail addressess.

GCHQ shennanigans at work?

137. Alex Clark

Pretty sure I played this before but the memory can play tricks!

It’s good anyway.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VjEq-r2agqc

138. TJenny

Oh and what about this one?

Bandwagon, ‘Breaking Down the Walls of Heartache’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dYTqTPmTZ0o

139. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

This is for you.

Aztec Camera, ‘Somewhere In My Heart’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n4pWcVPUybE

140. TJenny

IB – thanks Ian – ah, memories, really liked that one – now for you and all night owl Wingers…..

The MacCoys and ‘Hang on Sloopy’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TlTKhPkZSJo

Followed by,

Lou Christie, Lightnin’ Strikes

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LyRqdzF8swY

Enjoy. πŸ˜‰

141. TJenny

Last post seems to have disappeared.

142. Michael McCabe

I Was going to Protest about all these great songs posted on here. then I thought what the hell. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=4vBNedRsPSI Aye till I die

143. Michael McCabe

Just to be fair and balanced. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qfTlGMCeuDE&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die

144. TJenny

My comment with 2 music links disappeared and maybe, on reflection, they were a bit frothy? after Michael McCabe’s offering, which was very moving and by someone I’d never heard of before. WOS really informs on all sorts of things. πŸ™‚

So here’s a number that should really resonate with all of us – try singing along and replacing the words ‘over me’ with ‘for indy’ (you have to pronounce it indeee). πŸ™‚ (Could be another one for YEW Choob?)

John Lennon, ‘Come Together’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_HONxwhwmgU

145. Michael McCabe

Here is my attempt at a great wee pop song. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7J4nhDPuBJM&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die

146. Michael McCabe

@ TJenny Great song. I took your advice and sang along and my Neighbour banged down and asked if I had left the cat out. Here is someone I just discovered on you tube last night. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FAlWxZK-ps4&feature=player_detailpage I Think she is no bad.

147. TJenny

Aha – it seems that if I post a comment 21 mins after the time the most recent comment, that I can see, was posted, mine posts instantly. Hmm.

‘Though heaven only knows where or why some don’t post at all. Maybe the ether, or GCHQ deems them unworthy. (Either that or the GCHQ nightshift aren’t big fans of either Lou Christie (Lightnin’ Strikes) or The MacCoys (Hang on Sloopy) – Nae taste, obvs. πŸ˜‰

148. TJenny

Mchael McCabe – that was a beautiful song from a very beautiful lady. big thanks. πŸ™‚

Are you going to be at the gathering on 22nd after Nicola’s gig?

149. Michael McCabe

@ TJenny 2:14am I Am hoping to go but can say for definite yet. I will post nearer the time if I can make it. (Hopefully) Hopefully can get yourself and tam jardine through on the train from Edinburgh if that’s how you are going through ? If tams going ? Don’t know my way round Glasgow.

150. Michael McCabe

Hope this works. for TJenny http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TlTKhPkZSJo&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die

151. Michael McCabe

Well it is Goodnight from me. But I will leave you with some Old Soul. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=INj4ZrsI_pk&feature=player_detailpage

152. Morag

Just going to test another diasppearing post to see if I can figure out why it won’t appear.

153. Morag

I’m doubtful anything will come of that, for the simple reason that McTernan didn’t say how he got that information. It could have been a legitimate opinion poll, it could have been an educated guess, it could even have been pure bluff. He’s got plenty wiggle room to get off the hook there.

154. Morag

Ruth’s situation was different in that she specifically referred to “sampling” carried out by BT polling agents during the postal vote opening. That does constitute an offence, but not by her, by the polling agents involved. Unfortunately it’s likely to be impossible to prove that any specific polling agent actually did this.

155. Morag

I just think it’s a bit unwise to keep shouting about people having committed criminal offences when they’ve neither been charged nor convicted, and indeed where there seems to be no compelling evidence that they have actually committed a crime. They probably won’t come after posters on an internet blog for defamation, but you never know.

156. Morag

That’s funny, it wasn’t my post itself that wouldn’t appear, but the bit I quoted from a previous poster.

157. Morag

Ah, it’s the old YouTube catch! I forgot I had to remove the first bit of the link to stop it embedding. (Actually I barely noticed there was a YouTube link in the quote.)

Sorry to have troubled you, as you where!

158. Michael McCabe

We are the Revolution. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQRxBbeZ11c&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die

159. Thistle

Got a couple of live streams for you over weekend people…

#NewScotMedia let’s make it happen…

#IndyLive Sat 25th 9:30-16:30 SSP Conference, Edinburgh http://tvl.ink/ssp2014a

#IndyLive Sun 26th 14:00-17:00, BBC Bias VII “Switch Off”, Glasgow #bbcbias http://tvl.ink/bbcbias

160. Alex Clark

@Thistle

I hear there is a do going on this Thursday at the Central Hotel in Glasgow. Are you saying you haven’t got an invite. Ah c’mon πŸ™‚

161. cearc

Alex,

You mean the gladiator event?

162. Alex Clark

@cearc

I heard it was a dinner. Like this one!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i3j9jpBez8g

163. X_Sticks

For Gerry Parker

Santana, Sould Sacrifice from Woodstock:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m_pDjX65vHo

164. gerry parker

@ Morag.
    An incident of a polling agent counting votes is currently being investigated by Motherwell police.

165. gerry parker

@ Colin. thanks got it bookmarked for later.

166. Bugger (the Panda)

@ Alex Clark

You mean like this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TosAt5fGn4E

167. Bugger (the Panda)

For the night shift

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jo1cyl0QbWo

She played the Hydro last night.

and this

For T Jenny

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9DEPD5b0FXs

Finally

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O4EONdg_Ufs

Nightol

168. X_Sticks

Gerry, just realised that is a cut version of the track which misses out most of the drums πŸ™

Here’s a bit with the drums only – not a long solo but one of the best.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pbm9fobW7U0

If you like drum solos one of may favourite soloists is Jon Hiseman of Colosseum / Barbara Dickson’s Paraphanalia (his wife) brilliant. Wish I was that good.

Colosseum – A Machine Demands Sacrifice / John Hiseman’s Drum Solo (live version) 1971

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ub6H9-eWLsg

You can look up any Hiseman solo on YT and be blown away.

169. X_Sticks

And while I’m on the subject here’s a bit of Jon at a Planet Drum clinic 40 years on from the last one.

Especially of note is at about 6:00 – he speeds up the bass drums and slows down his hands and then reverses it. Get your head round that!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zk7t2auZ8Go

170. Paula Rose

Who needs instruments…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1YKWXJyrZGg

171. Paula Rose

And more beautiful voices with pictures of St Kilda…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sk4sVqLqlrw

172. Brian Doonthetoon

I think I may have posted this some time ago but it can stand being reprised.

CAUTION! The Dundonesian twang may confuse Loons, Westcoasters and Morningsiders. Fifers, due to their geographical location I understand, are bilingual, ya hoormin!
    And I believe Paula Rose is always up for a wee touch of bilinguality. As she says, “The more the merrier!”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fybwkm7ivQc

I haven’t posted this one before but it goes down in the Scottish musical history books as a ‘Dundee classic’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LoKKAXVJuFg

173. Ian Brotherhood

If anyone’s been wondering whatever happened to atypicalScot? fret not – met him today at SSP conference. He’s been having strange connectivity problems, but can, I think, still see what’s going on here.

So, give him a wave abody!

ATS, ’twas great to meet you, and congratulations on the very brief speech – ‘a minute’s silence for Labour’.

Nice one.

174. Stoker

I would like to dedicate this one to any disaffected Unionists
    who may be lurking with their life currently at a crossroads.

Don’t despair – there is hope.
    We all make mistakes – come and join us.

CCR – Up Around The Bend
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BnRsaHXHznQ

175. gerry parker

Colin, great drum solo there.

πŸ™‚

176. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m wondering if anyone actually reads my posts, coz I haven’t elicited a response for days.

Onnyhoo, update on the minidragon from Dundee to the ‘Friends of Wings Over Scotland’ get-together in the YES Bar on 22nd November.

I had a constructive blether with Bob Costello, the head man of ‘Team YES Bus’ at our stall in the Murraygate today, to collect food donations for the Dundee foodbanks.

Here are the pertinent details. Assuming we can get another 8 (Eight) names for the minibus, he’ll provide the following…
    Minibus leaving Dundee Sensation Science Centre at 4pm.
    Drop off at George Square (handy for the Counting House for tea) sometime approaching 6pm.
    That lets us have a meal and then head for the YES Bar for 7, or just after.

Pickup at the YES Bar, for the return journey, at 12 midnight (due to 10 hour rest time constraints on his driver).

The cost will be Β£8 per head, basically as a contribution to the actual cost.

So, can we have another 8 heads from the greater Dundee area, or we’ll have to make our own way…

177. Alex Clark

@Brian Doonthetoon

I read your posts Brian and watch your links. The Devil Went Doon Tae Forfar was great. Few would understand the berry language he was singing in though, might be an issue! LOL.

178. Brian Doonthetoon

Thanks for that Alex!

A couple of songs for those of us who will (hopefully!) be on the minidragon to Glasgow…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mgBHRYtt-Y4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0zHh8xs6CbI

179. Betsy

I’ll be heading along to The protest on 30th. If anyone is going but isn’t sure what sort of stuff to donate to the foodbank, this list gives a few good suggestions

http://agirlcalledjack.com/2013/10/15/what-can-you-donate-to-a-food-bank-suggestions-list/

180. Ian Brotherhood

@Betsy –

Cheers. Hope to see you there.

A wee word for anyone who might be getting brassed off about the Glasgow-Glasgow-Glasgow refrain.

I know. It’s tiresome. But hey, we don’t decide where these people have their glam shindigs. It was their shout, they chose Glasgow, so Glasgow it is – if they’d chosen Cumbernauld, Lossiemouth, Brechin, Inverness or Milton of Campsie, the response would be the same – ‘youse are having a slap-up dinner when a third of your own peoples’ weans are in poverty?’

They’ve nowhere left to hide.

Let’s not miss this chance to give Glasgow and Scottish Labour the utter shirriking they’ve deserved for so long.

181. Paula Rose

Ian darling – they wouldn’t dare set foot in Brechin!

182. X_Sticks

Here’s some fun from Jock Scot and Ninja Panguin πŸ˜‰

Timing is everything as they say…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z9v_4htRbd8&feature=youtu.be

183. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I met someone you know earlier today – please see 8.58.

A lovely man!

184. castle hills chavie

That’ll be a double post then.
    If not at all.
    R.E Jack Bruce.

185. castle hills chavie

Jack Bruce passed.
    Your talking about drummers, the greatest thing a drummer can, ever have/want/be is the bass player.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n4EUlyduEb4

186. Croompenstein

Aw FFS Jack Bruce.. RIP Jack

187. AuldA

Yet another wee and cute French tune: β€œFontenay-aux-Roses” [Lyrics: JP Kernoa; Music and voice: M. Le Forestier.]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A7P39crzOCc

Translation (not literal):

You are so beautiful
    As you, in the twilight,
    Round the corner of my street.
    Perfumed and colourful,
    Under the evening light,
    Clad in a blue that sweet.

When I watch you go by,
    Sometimes I imagine we are to meet so soon,
    A secret rendez-vous, a crooned lullaby,
    Bathed by the waxing moon.

Nightly, tucked in your sheets,
    I percieve you naked, enrapt by written words.
    Mr. Audiberti softly brushes your cheeks,
    And opens forbidden worlds.

You’re dreaming you’re away,
    What will you discover, the weather was so cool,
    Tomorrow’s Saturday,
    Feverishly I’ll wait for your egress from school.

My Sunday will be grey,
    I won’t see you again,
    Not before Monday’s eve,
    Where will you go astray?
    Will you feel desperate pain?
    Whom will you all day grieve?

The secret which is mine
    I cherish like a trove,
    Please don’t name me a fool:
    It’s the very first time
    That I’ve fallen in love
    With a whole boarding school.

188. Paula Rose

Time for a spot of shaking…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IBnXaFxSAdk

189. Paula Rose

Talking of spots, The Spots were the first name of this adorable bunch…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Ar1B-Gy5II

190. Paula Rose

Oh this is the one I sing whenever I think of any of you (Alex, Ian, John and Ronnie especially xx)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Go9aks4aujM

191. Ian Brotherhood

What’s the catchiest tune of all time?

Please don’t listen to more than ten seconds of this unless you want to be humming it for the next fortnight:

Traveling Wilburys, ‘End Of The Line’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cwqhdRs4jyA

192. Stoker

I have no idea, Ian, but i often (nearly every morning) wake up
    with some tune stuck in my head.

And its not as if its always songs i like and it usually takes
    me hours to get rid of the things.

This morning it was ‘Rambling Rose’ – don’t even ask – don’t know
    why and i don’t even like it.

193. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

Cheers.

Having been prompted to recall it, I will now have ‘Rambling Rose’ in my heid until Christmas.

194. Michael McCabe

Here is a catchy tune for all you Drivers out There. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qx6De4V58Zg&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die

195. TJenny

Ooh spooky coincidence or what? Just as I’m posting this link to Macie Gray’s ‘I Try’ song, check out top comment on the Rev’s twitter! πŸ™‚

So here’s Macy Gray

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LYIW6MTigGQ

And Eliza Doolittle, ‘Pack Up Your Troubles’ – enjoy trying to get them out of your head. πŸ˜‰

http://www.directlyrics.com/eliza-doolittle-pack-up-lyrics.html

196. ronnie anderson

@ Ian brotherhood Rambling Rose in your heid & Paula Rose lusting after your body lol.

197. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood. Here’s a Who’s Who with some of the Wilburys http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q_WgX-6DdAU&feature=player_detailpage

198. Ian Brotherhood

@ronnie anderson –

If I said you had a beautiful body, would you hold it against Paula Rose?

199. Michael McCabe

Ah the old ones are the Best. or so my young Wife tells me Here is my Catchy old tune. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uq-gYOrU8bA&feature=player_detailpage

200. TJenny

As it’s now after midnight,

A BIG HAPPY BIRTHDAY to our own Rev Stu. πŸ™‚

201. TJenny

I don’t tweet, but if any of you do, you could tweet him birthday wishes etc.

202. Michael McCabe

Happy Birthday Rev Stu Hope you have a good one. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ztoSUhbNntQ&feature=player_detailpage

203. Alex Clark

@TJenny

Yes a happy birthday Rev.

@Ian Brotherhood

You did warn us and I ignored the warning. Still sing “Yes it’s alright” 20 minutes after watching it. Won’t sleep tonight now!

204. TJenny

For any of you who have been to the YESBar, where some of us Wingers are going on 22/11, can you help with this plea from twitter?

‘Please show support2 @Vespbar who changed the name to #YesBar in support of #IndyRef ppl trying to ruin trip advisor reviews http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g186534-d2392421-Reviews-Vespbar-Glasgow_Scotland.html

205. Stoker

Ian Brotherhood says:
    26 October, 2014 at 9:45 pm
    @Stoker –

Cheers.

Having been prompted to recall it, I will now have β€˜Rambling Rose’ in my heid until Christmas.

You’re welcome.
    πŸ™‚

Don’t know why i’m laughing – probably wake up tomorrow morning
    with “The Crystal Chandelier” or “Lets Go Fly A Kite” burlin
    roon ma heid.

Ocean Colour Scene – Better Day
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zSeTB-c2jPY

206. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

Okay, here’s me revenge shot. Open it if you dare:

The Beatles, ‘Obladi Oblada’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LAXc2kNzN-0

207. TJenny

Hee, hee Ian, I only had to read ‘Obladi Oblada’ to have it burbling away in my head, without even having to open the link. πŸ™‚

208. Michael McCabe

The words are hard to remember and the singing does not start to about 1:30 in But it sticks in your head. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tvLDm8821jQ&feature=player_detailpage

209. Stoker

Nah, yer alright Ian, i’m quite happily listening to some Jarre
    (Jean Michel Jarre) right now.
    πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

btw, All the very best, Stu.
    Don’t know what yer tastes are but here’s a good yin tae chill tae
    Paul Weller – Broken Stones
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_M8m4Yr7vc

210. Brian Doonthetoon

C’mon peeps!

I’ve just taken this up to Β£2,500. Β£1,500 to go to meet the target by the 29th October.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/scottish-independence-live-events–2

Just to let you know, there are only 6 seats remaining in the minibus through to Glasgow on the 22nd November. If you want seats, book them here.

211. Stoker

OK, Ian, done and i listened to it all the way through.

I’m away to my pit, will let you know if Obladeeeeeee worked.
    πŸ™‚

night night folks – Wee Lamonts Lament
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_a-m3pH9Dr8

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

212. AuldA

Happy NON-BIRTHDAY Stu’!
    From the crazy hatter.

213. Brian Doonthetoon

Karen and Christine have put their names down for the minibus to the YES Bar (they were on the ‘Hope Over Fear’ bus).

So, that’s 6 seats remaining.

214. Paula Rose

Brian Doonthetoon honey, any chance you could make us all some lovely badges for the 22nd? That way we wouldn’t have to put up with Ian Brotherhood’s tatty sticky labels.

215. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for Paula Rose and her p-p-p-pet.

David Bowie, ‘Cat People’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hdpaKtlgXc0

216. Patrician

o/t on o/t πŸ™‚

For all those people having to reinput their details each time they post, the issue isn’t with you or your device. WOS site is not serving out cookie files to your browser so your name and mail details aren’t being stored on your PC. There is nothing you can do about this but put up with it, the issue is on the server side. This issue will affect everyone on here eventually as Word Press cookies are valid for 1 year, when the year is up then your details will no longer be stored. The latest valid cookie I have on my devices is dated 26 August, 2014. This is the reason some people are affected and others aren’t. If you have installed a new browser or bought a new device since the start of September this will be an issue.

217. Graeme Doig

Wee question from long time lurker (sounds like the polis should be involved πŸ™‚ )

I was going to head through to Glasgow on Thursday for the wee demo at the Slab dinner. I don’t know Glasgow that well, except that it’s the place of my birth, and think i read somewhere that folk are meeting at the Yes Bar. (I believe Yes Bar is near Freedom Sq which i know well)

Anyone able to confirm and if it’s ok to tag along.

Cheers folks

218. Ian Brotherhood

@Graeme Doig –

Some of us SSP Ayrshire folk will be there, and some of us will surely be going for a wee refreshment afterwards. I’ve never been in the Yes bar but it seems as good a place as any, and is certainly close enough.

We won’t be hard to find, and you’re very welcome to join us.

219. Graeme Doig

Ian

Thanks for that bud. Should be in Glasgow about 5 ish. Hopefully dragging a mate through.

Cheers Ian.

220. Ian Brotherhood

Something different. We’ve had it before, after you good folk helped me locate it.

Hamish Maccunn, ‘Land of the Mountain and the Flood’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2-F5dmRV5Bc

221. ronnie anderson

@Graeme Doig Yes bar is in Duary St of Renfield St.

222. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula.

I’ll have to consult with Pete d’Baj (aka Pete the Camera). I only do the artwork sheets; he makes the actual badges. I do have an idea for YOUR badge though…

Onnyhoo, as I typed this morning, there are 6 seats left on the minibus so if you want to join us, get in quick. Also, we could pick up at Broxden bus thingy if there’s anyone from Perth wants to hop aboard. Same cost; Β£8.

223. Alex Clark

Had to go to the Glasgow passport office yesterday for a replacement and decided I might as well visit the Yes Bar and scope it out.

A pint of John Smiths Β£3.95 and a pint of Fosters Β£3.70! Might be better in the Horse Shoe Bar across the road. Just saying.

224. X_Sticks

Passport Alex?

Not thinking of doing a runner are you? πŸ˜‰

225. Alex Clark

@X_Sticks

Not running away, running at you :o)

226. Jim Thomson

Jings, Brechin’s declared UDI and Paula didn’t tell us!

What are the vaccination requirements? How much does a visa cost? are the border crossing queues tolerable?

We need to know.

227. Jim Thomson

OK – apologies to (at least) three wingers ..
    not paying attention to who is posting and who is responding to whom.

I thought Alex was responding to Paula and not X-Sticks [note to self … read the sodding text before responding!]

228. Jim Thomson

So, in way of seeking a wee bit of forgiveness here’s a bit of George Harrison

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=667mRFLM5S8

Not the best video quality (sorry … again)

229. ronnie anderson

@Briandoonthetoon (Pete d’Baj) ur you in Mike Reid mode

yad ma mannnnn

230. Paula Rose

Getting a bit ratty over on the main threads – time to check out my funky time abroad…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=reqJEt3VUpM

231. Paula Rose

Me getting ratty that is – anyways I’ve put a deposit down on this wee place, time to move on – at least I’m not too poor, too wee or too stupid…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SQ83RVZviQ

232. Brian Doonthetoon

GREAT NEWS!

Scottish Independence Live Events fundraiser has reached its Β£4,000 target – and there’s still 8 hours to go.

Big thanks to funder 108, who seems to have donated just over Β£1,000 to take it to the limit.

233. Paula Rose

Brian Doonthe wotsit – could you save me the hassle and post the link, I was just trying to find it to put up on pages I manage – cheers.

234. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose (9.39)-

Good stuff, and you appear to be in good form, but I’m gutted we didn’t get any close-ups of the heels.

235. Paula Rose

S’ok B de D – got the link from a wee way up the thread now mailed an posted etc.

236. Oneironaut

@Brian Doonthetoon
    Nice! I was starting to worry they wouldn’t make the target.

Maybe they can drop in a couple more thousand so Thistle can take a well-deserved holiday. He looked half-knackered last time I saw him!

Doing an awesome job becoming the media anyway! Good on ya if you read this! πŸ™‚

237. TJenny

Here’s the next Slab leader’s dedication to Ed Miliband.

James and Bobby Purify (oh, the irony in that surname) singing ‘I’m Your Puppet’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=liKhLNY5GYI

238. Alex Clark

Yes well done Independence Live in reaching their target. So much work for so little reward. The reward will come in the future though. Best of luck.

239. Paula Rose

A few musings on dealing with the likes of Mr Podmore;

I’ve done my fair share of “eating” his ilk, but I never resort to splashing their identity across a main thread, I find that a cryptic comment works very effectively.

If you have the right person – job done, if not, no harm done. Anyway I don’t think endangering someone’s job is at all correct.

240. Oneironaut

Anyone in Glasgow yet?
    Just sitting on the train right now and thought I’d check in here πŸ™‚

241. Alex Clark

@Oneironaut

I could’t make it, hopefully you and/or Ian can provide some feedback.

242. Oneironaut

@Alex Clark
    Just got back home here.
    Was a good night πŸ™‚

Jim Murphy got quite a welcome.
    Wonder if he ordered the eggs for dinner? πŸ˜‰

243. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

Good showing from Wingers tonight – Ronnie, Patrician, Cactus and Graeme Doig. May have been others I didn’t see or meet, but then again, you could also include me and Gerry, although we were wearing our SSP hats.

The atmosphere was good. Hard to judge numbers, but there was already a fair sized squad outside the main Hotel entrance when we arrived (5.50-ish) and it grew steadily until about 7, stayed the same until 7.30-ish (official sit-down time for the banquet) and we then headed off for a pint. (The Livestream guys obviously hung around a lot longer!)

At its busiest? I’d guess there was maybe 200-250 folk around the main entrance to the hotel, and a fairly heavy Police presence. (Credit to the cops – I didn’t see any heavy-handedeness, and there was no call for any.)

The hairiest moment was when Murphy turned-up. He didn’t have much choice I suppose – really had to show face after all his bluster via the airwaves throughout the day – but I wonder if he realised just how visceral the reaction would be to the mere sight of his big coupon. ‘Baying mob’ isn’t often accurate, but tonight? It was. And I was ‘baying’ right up there with the rest of them. The man has an attitude and body language which seems to incite violent reaction, and he got it in spades tonight.

He was almost at the steps to the hotel when he stopped, turned back, and placed a bag of ‘messages’ along with the donations for the foodbank drive. That incensed everyone even more, even though most of us couldn’t see what he was doing. And then, with the cops forming a guard in front of him, and safely on the steps, he turned and gave us all a ‘wave’ which some interpreted as ‘the finger’.

Looking forward to seeing still snaps of his behaviour this evening – it felt like a wind-up. If it was? it worked.

244. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood. I am from Edinburgh and could not make it through to Glasgow. So I would like to say thanks to you and the other Wingers. and Everyone else who was there to give them the welcome they Deserved. Here is a wee song for you all. Cheers. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=awV925MjUuk&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die.

245. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood and Oneironaut

Dammit, wish I could have been there, anyway report much appreciated. Hopefully we will all be seeing each other soon.

I hear Anas Sarwar has gone? //www.youtube.com/watch?v=rY0WxgSXdEE

246. Alex Clark

Lesson learned, post Yew Choob links on their own line.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rY0WxgSXdEE

247. Stoker

Leonard Cohen – Tower of Song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oiAuXRK3Ogk

248. Stoker

Leonard Cohen – Tower of Song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oiAuXRK3Ogk

249. Ian Brotherhood

Bowie, ‘The Secret Life Of Arabia’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbTMR1BO5PE

250. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    “you could also include me and Gerry, although we were wearing our SSP hats.”

You got an SSP hat? All I got was a tiny little badge! πŸ˜‰

Yep, was a good night last night.
    Looking forward to seeing Murphy lead the Red Tories out of disaster… And into even greater disaster! πŸ˜€

The title of this song is dedicated to them… (Lyrics are slightly NSFW, and you might wanna turn down your speakers a bit!) πŸ˜‰

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v6WikP2L4H0

“It’s been a long time comin’,
    But you got the message now.
    ’cause I was never goin’.
    Yeah, you’re the one that’s going down!”

(Great song for when you’re feeling angry!) πŸ˜‰

251. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Nice one.

Ricky Ross just played this one on his show. Good one for Halloween.

Johnny Cash, ‘Ghost Riders In The Sky’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k_oXQVUzEoc

252. cearc

SSP hat,

Is that the woolly, very proletariat one?

I loved your banner, really class. Well done.

253. Oneironaut

@cearc
    Still trying to remember who it was I saw carting that banner off after everyone left.

Hoping it’ll turn up somewhere else, probably around the time of the election!

Labour, yer tea’s oot! πŸ˜‰

254. Paula Rose

Stop messing around…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IbqiCxEIeEo

255. Paula Rose

Opening shot babes.

256. Paula Rose

The saints are the people…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3MzZgPBL3Q

257. Paula Rose

Did I manage to post this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3MzZgPBL3Q

I think I did

258. Alex Clark

@Paula Rose

Yes you did! LOL

259. Paula Rose

Is that you Thepnr, gosh all this name changing – a girl cannot keep up!

260. Paula Rose

I know Halloween is over but…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VrafPlgQlME

261. Oneironaut

Thought of posting up some Rammstein while I’m still angry, but I know there are sensitive people on here so I won’t!

Instead I’ll switch the mood over to something a little more upbeat.
    I’m sure the folks at the BBC wholeheartedly agree with the title of this song and find it inspiring. I liked it long before they did though, so I’m keeping it!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=46dcQE2mzPI

Enjoy! πŸ˜‰

262. Paula Rose

Never mind all that sunny weather…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SR2gR6SZC2M

263. Oneironaut

This next song is in honour of Paula Rose’s new avatar πŸ˜‰

Keep on walkin’ all over those trolls! πŸ˜€

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbyAZQ45uww

264. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

That last one you posted is just magnificent.

265. Ian Brotherhood

By way of contrast, I offer this effort:

Karel Fialka, ‘The Eyes Have it’ 9see what he’s done there?) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZlWY6NqxiEA

266. Ian Brotherhood

‘Standing in the dark, watching you blow…’

Huh? What?

Anyway, I liked this because I thought he was chanting ‘underpants!’. Which would’ve been apt.

John Foxx, ‘Underpass’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QjA-aFWOZOw

267. Ian Brotherhood

One of the best plinky-plonky stylophone-inspired whistle-along tunes of the 80s, about an entirely inappropriate subject:

OMD, ‘Enola Gay’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TYpXcakyrYk

268. Paula Rose

Ian honey! Just for you- repeat but one that I never tire of performing…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUqXM7D2Lsg

269. Paula Rose

Time for a spell Ian honey…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xDprYZ-tgiA

270. Jim Thomson

You guys need to get out more (Paula you need a night off πŸ˜‰ )

A bit of Northern European death metal to get the heads nodding …

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mVgJXx1BdK8

271. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula –

T’other night I had a Winger pressing me for details about you, but I was steadfast, assuring him that he’ll have to wait and meet you in the flesh because, however long it may take? it’ll be worth it – only then will he grasp why you are so unforgettable.

Nat King Cole, ‘Unforgettable’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fy_JRGjc1To

272. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex Clark –

If you see this mister…just remembered that something was meant to be happening at ATOS, Cadogan St yesterday.

Did you go? If not, any idea what happened? Anyone?

273. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Oneironaut.

If Rammstein is a tad angry, perchance Laibach is bubblegum to take you out of your mood?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W7muCRio2nQ

8=)

274. Paula Rose

Why me Ian? There are so many lovely ladies on Wings.

275. Brian Doonthetoon

It’s funny (peculiar) how you can remember, with some tunes, where you were when you first heard it.

In this case, me and Pete d’Baj (Pete the Camera) were sitting in one of his many vehicles, in St Giles Terrace, having just returned from something, somewhere, no doubt exciting and terribly interesting.

Onnyhoo, we were blethering, as you do, with John Peel on the radio. And this track came on. As usual at the end of it, Mr Peel gave the label and so on so, asap, I went into I&N Records, the only record shop in Dundee, at the time, who dealt with the indy labels, and ordered it.

6 weeks later it arrived. It’s been covered by Grace Jones and Laibach (whose YouTube page reminded me of it) and is still in my vinyl collection.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5QErPDNcj4

276. Paula Rose

Darlings and dears – this is for you…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qzzke7808Jo

277. Brian Doonthetoon

Oh yes, you can only fully appreciate Paula ‘in the flesh’…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I9hJDUHTLUg

278. Paula Rose

Brian Doonthetoon – honey you have such happenstance, Mr Normal was a great pal of mine, I haven’t seen him for years – oh yes my warm leatherette period.

279. Paula Rose

Two of my best friends…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dqQyKL8nf8E

280. Paula Rose

Brian Doonthetoon honey are we in one of those mind meld thingies (giggling big time)?

281. Paula Rose

Well it was like this..(btw Cameron Brodie xxx)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l3yvOn-E-Kw

282. Paula Rose

Has the Rev got a son?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dp4339EbVn8

283. Oneironaut

@Brian Doonthetoon
    Hmm, never heard of them before. If that’s bubblegum for my mood, it must be bubblegum laced with some sort of hallucinogenic compound! hehe.

I wonder what they could do with old folk songs…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QVm1Z2quPvQ

284. Brian Doonthetoon

To go off topic in ‘Off-Topic’…

I’ve just posted this in the latest thread today…

Brian Doonthetoon says:

I’m gonna try to keep this on topic. (What was the topic again? Oh yes, repetition of ideas.) I posted the bulk of this last weekend so I’m indulging in repetition.

We’re organising a minibus as follows, to get to the ‘Friends of Wings Over Scotland’ get-together in Glasgow on 22nd November at the YES Bar in Drury Street, which is around 5 minutes’ walk from George Square. Here’s the post I did in “Off-Topic” at Wings over Scotland last weekend.

“I had a constructive blether with Bob Costello, the head man of β€˜Team YES Bus’ at our stall in the Murraygate today, to collect food donations for the Dundee foodbanks.

Onnyhoo, update on the minidragon from Dundee to the β€˜Friends of Wings Over Scotland’ get-together in the YES Bar on 22nd November.

Here are the pertinent details. Assuming we can get another 8 (Eight) names for the minibus, he’ll provide the following…
    Drop off at George Square (handy for the Counting House for tea) sometime approaching 6pm.

Pickup at the YES Bar, for the return journey, at 12 midnight (due to 10 hour rest time constraints on his driver).

So, can we have another 8 heads from the greater Dundee area, or we’ll have to make our own way. We can also pick up at Perth and so on, en route.

If you want to join us, get over to ‘Off-Topic’ and express your interest.

So, do we have another 8 botties to claim seats?

285. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Oneironaut.

You did dare to type,
    “I wonder what they could do with old folk songs…”

Well NOT Laibach but ‘old folk songs…’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UYEBraJDXNw

286. Paula Rose

Oh gosh – he does it right, so does Thepnr but that’s another story.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hIXP889rLBQ

287. Brian Doonthetoon

And, Oneironaut, there’s this one I posted a couple of months ago…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uhRN-O0VakI

288. Oneironaut

@Brian Doonthetoon

……..

Excuse me a moment, I need to go outside and retrieve the speakers I just threw out the window! πŸ˜‰

289. Brian Doonthetoon

Bill Oddie or Deni Reid – or both?

8=)

290. Oneironaut

Bill Oddie. Deni Reid just made me pull the plug out!

291. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Thanks, but your wrong. Thepnr does it like this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HD0eb0tDjIk

PS Love your new avatar.

292. Natasha

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again; you are ALL on drugs!

I don’t remember Enola Gay as being that fast; did someone speed it up? I used to listen to Architecture & Morality over and over again when I was about 17. Talk about a blast from the past.

293. Natasha

Okay, maybe I was 14. Keep forgetting how old I am.

294. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Natasha.

“Too fast”.

The explanation is in the caption on the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NP4Q-gd-UXg

295. Ian Brotherhood

@Natasha –

FWIW, I don’t do drugs. Just milk and hairspray.

Check this out:

http://www.hiddenglasgow.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2897&start=15

296. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

Re ATOS and Cadogan Street, I never made it. Full of good intentions ect. but the will wasn’t there to make the effort.

Shame on me.

297. Oneironaut

@Natasha
    I just get high on a volatile cocktail of caffeine and adrenaline that would probably have lethal side-effects for anyone not as accustomed to it as I am! πŸ˜‰

298. Paula Rose

Alex you gorgeous man – you are due a wee spank, Natasha honey only chocolate xx gosh I love you all to bits.

299. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

Hey man, if anyone’s ‘guilty’, there’s plenty more closer to the place feeling likewise.

We (SSP Ayrshire) had a stall in Saltcoats today, trying to plug the public meeting this coming Tuesday in Ardeer Community Centre, Stevenston. No idea why, but Saltcoats was dead. It felt like a mid-week day, hardly anyone about, and loads of folk in a very bad mood, wouldn’t even take leaflets. Mind you, a half-dozen or so stopped, chatted, said they might attend, but the overall vibe was very low-key and depressing.

So it goes. The heady days prior to Sep 18th now appear distant, are fading, but it’s important to recall that buzz, that optimism – we really were that close to making history? Aye, we were.

The memory is real, and it won’t go until none of us are left to remember it.

‘The dream shall never die.’

300. Paula Rose

Frank had a frank look…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yJQLMCQ

301. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    We all love you too! πŸ˜€

@Ian Brotherhood
    “So it goes. The heady days prior to Sep 18th now appear distant, are fading, but it’s important to recall that buzz, that optimism – we really were that close to making history? Aye, we were.

The memory is real, and it won’t go until none of us are left to remember it.

β€˜The dream shall never die.’”

Well said! πŸ™‚

We going back out for more tomorrow? (Err, I mean, “later today” since it’s now past midnight!)

302. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Sadly, not so far as I know. I’ll be here, house-bound. Wouldn’t stop you though! Please don’t go solo though – too dodgy man. Seriously.

303. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    I can’t really do stalls solo anyway. I’m not even very good at doing stalls with someone else, let alone solo.
    And these days I’ve got too much pent-up rage in me anyway… Never been one to suffer fools gladly.

Tempted to try and get along to the George Square do, but also thinking of the train fare and how much I’ve already spent this week…
    Might go along anyway. I’ll see how bored I get sitting around at home eating my cereal! πŸ™‚

304. Paula Rose

Ian honey – let me stroke you my darling…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oQ1vQPEBlnI

305. Natasha

Oneironaut & Ian Brotherhood: if you’re feeling down, watch Gerry Cinammon at Freedom Square on the 12th; that’ll cheer you up. We will get there, you know.
    Love you all. xxx

306. Natasha

Can’t spell – Cinnamon. Bloody primary school teachers – get their degrees off the back of cereal boxes. πŸ™‚

307. Croompenstein

All our problems will be solved when England gets home rule….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s96dAiD16Ow

308. Paula Rose

Natasha honey! How are you? Are you coming on the 22nd?

309. Paula Rose

I suppose this gives my age away…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TGDQ85Dg-ss

310. Cactus

Hey all you Wings regulars, we all meet up again in almost three weeks time. This’ll be the first time we’ve all got together since le result.. lot’s of thought provoking stuff to talk about, let’s make it a fun night to remember!

NOW SHOWING: Wings at YES (plus post Hydro after-party)

Where1? YES bar
    Where2? Drury Street (not Lane, that’s a line from Shrek) πŸ™‚
    When? Saturday, 22nd November 2014
    Time? Before, during and after Nicolas speech at the Hydro
    Why? We’ll all be there

As my home city of iGlasgow is hosting this gig, maybe we could all take this opportunity to properly celebrate Scotland, each of ourselves and iGlasgow for saying AYE to independence!

311. Natasha

@Paula Rose 1.38am

Hi, exhausted as usual! Hoping to be there on the 22nd unless I have to go to a family funeral (very likely in the near future). Looking forward to seeing everyone. πŸ™‚

312. Oneironaut

I probably won’t be at the Hydro event. But tempted to join in the Wings night out.
    Even though I’m usually sort of a fish out of water at social events… πŸ™‚

313. Alex Clark

@Oneironaut

“I’m usually sort of a fish out of water at social events…”

No you won’t be. Your a winger, a flying fish and are part of a shoal πŸ™‚

314. Oneironaut

@Alex Clark
    Nah, I’m really not a team player.

I wasn’t even going to join a party at all.
    Just wanted to do something, maybe so I could honestly say I actually tried to help change things instead of just sitting around complaining about them.

People make me nervous.

The other Wings nights out were ok though. I wouldn’t mind another one.

315. Alex Clark

Yer still part of that shoal, you may prefer to swim on the edge as that’s where your most comfortable. Doesn’t matter your one of us.

As you know we’re a pretty diverse bunch and those on Wings probably more diverse than most groups. Mavericks in many ways.

That’s fine by me, if you can’t think out of the box then it’s likely your already in the box!

316. Michael McCabe

In my Humble Opinion. If this song does not get your toes tapping. Maybe you are on the Wrong Train. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=Kb2uciHpe4U Aye till I die

317. Oneironaut

@Alex Clark
    “That’s fine by me, if you can’t think out of the box then it’s likely your already in the box!”

Well, I’ve never been one to be happy sitting in the box eating my cereal πŸ˜‰

I’ll probably be there if something doesn’t stop me…

318. Alex Clark

@Michael McCabe

Very good, did bring a smile or two to my face and my knees trembled for a moment haha.

319. Brian Doonthetoon

Alex Clark typed,
    No you won’t be. Your a winger, a flying fish and are part of a shoal

And to confirm that, Oneironaurt, see this page…

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-seafest

To follow on from Cactus’s post about the Friends of WOS get-together on 22nd November…

(Sorry for the repetition but needs must…)
    Onnyhoo, update on the minidragon from Dundee to the β€˜Friends of Wings Over Scotland’ get-together in the YES Bar on 22nd November.

Here are the pertinent details. Assuming we can get another 8 (Eight) names for the minibus, Bob Costello (Team YES Bus) will provide the following…

So, can we have another 8 heads from the greater Dundee area, or we’ll have to make our own way…

320. Brian Doonthetoon

I just recently discovered what “Quarantine” is and have caught up with the posts there.

All very interesting, from the start of the year, where the first WOS get-together was being organised for the 4th April.

I got up to the posts of 3rd April – then nothing until 27th April! Was the night so cataclysmic that memories were wiped?

We should be told…

321. AndyC

In the msm today….Β£2.5 billion to be spent on new tube trains for…..yup, you guessed it…London.
    This shower of shit’s generosity knows no bounds when it comes to ‘their’ city.
    They are taking the piss….big style.
    Thanks again all you NAW cunts….arseholes!
    I’m 67 years old now, have wanted independence my whole adult life.
    I’m not for going back in the bottle.
    Please make this happen before I die.
    I certainly won’t stop trying,
    Thanks to all the wingers on here…you have (I think!) kept me sane since that fateful, godawful day in September

322. Cactus

Aweright Brian Doonthetoon.

I’ll put Β£20 into a kitty to help with transport or any other entertainment costs, I’m sure others who can would be able to oblige.

Get yourselves on that minidragon.

Cheers πŸ™‚

323. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cactus.

Generous of you but, hopefully, we’ll get a full complement on the bus.

I’ll leave it another couple of days to see if any Wingers here want to book any of the remaining seats. If no takers, I’ll do a post on the Team YES Bus Facebook page to see if we can capture some bodies.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1449600478633420/

324. Natasha

I’m going to try to get to the Million Mask March in Edinburgh on Wednesday (closer to me than Glasgow). Will any other Wingers be there?

325. Michael McCabe

I Might go to the Million Mask March in Edinburgh. If I can find out Where and When it starts. Anyhow here is a wee mellow tune to relax to. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=XwFoVdNCmDU Aye till I die.

326. Michael McCabe

No reason for Playing this other than I think it is Great. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=XmgYBFRXsUQ

327. Oneironaut

@Brian Doonthetoon
    I wouldn’t make a good fish. I hate water! πŸ˜‰
    I’ve been tinkering with a design for an aerial camera drone inspired by National Collective’s one. So might indirectly try the flying part someday πŸ™‚

Nice avatar by the way!

@Natasha
    I’d love to, but Edinburgh is way out of my travel range, especially with how much I’ve been splashing out on fares lately…

Hope you have a good day though πŸ˜€

328. Oneironaut

And while on the subject of flying…
    I can never resist an excuse to post this one πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1VQ_3sBZEm0

(Sorry about using Vevo, but the video is hilarious and they seem to have monopolised the right to use it on there!)

329. Natasha

@Michael McCabe 12.31am

Details are on IndyScot Events website; it starts at 6pm at the Castle; route is down the Royal Mile. There will be food stalls and speakers; you can bring foodbank donations and masks will be on sale.
    Hope it won’t be p*ss*ng down like it is just now!

330. Paula Rose

For any devotees of cult punk…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6RIYi0D_m4o

331. Capella

Paula Rose
    you’re right – Lost Trios Paranoias. This is definitely off topic. But it does remind me of the Bullingdon Boys.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d6DuS78g8mk

332. Paula Rose

This may not be getting through the filter – for those interested over on the ballet thread.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6RIYi0D_m4o

333. Paula Rose

I’m getting confused – I’m off to bed xx

334. Lenny Hartley

Paula, michty me you boys are well behind with the Berts I was into them in the 70’s πŸ™‚ Brilliant piss take bank, sadly main man died of leukemia in the 80’s. Check out album Italians from Outer Space, brilliant piss take of Lou Read’s Heroin called Anaddin.

335. Brian Doonthetoon

Heads up, peeps!

Pete and I are preparing personalised badges for the Friends of WOS get-together on 22nd November.

If you’re gonna be there that night, and want a badge, do a post here, in off-topic, letting us know what name you want on the badge.

There are still 8 seats available on the minibus from Dundee, picking up and dropping off en route (if needed).
    Pickup in Dundee at 4pm; pickup at the YES Bar at midnight.

336. Michael McCabe

@ Natasha 7:52pm Thanks for that link. Hoping to get cover so I can go to the march. only 70% just now. Not bothered about the rain hope it stays off though. Hope its a big crowd.

337. CameronB Brodie

Paula Rose
    Say It – 5 Royales πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2amu_UPFQeU

338. CameronB Brodie

Of course, it helps not to confuse the 5 Royales with ten Benson.

Here’s one for Better Together.

Ten Bnson – I Don’t Buy It
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BTaNQQc8OI8

339. Taranaich

Hello folks. I can’t sleep, so I thought I’d pass along the recent Independence Live meeting in Inverclyde:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a8RLokTP7WU&list=UUzRLPhCkJOehIeIOkZ1HOxw

Quite a few movers-and-shakers from Yes Inverclyde: Ronnie Cowan, Gary Forbes, Jenn McClafferty, mary McGlashan, Fiona Cook, Ian Ramsey, and a bearded guy in a leather jacket whose name I cannot quite recall on mike duty.

340. X_Sticks

@Taranaich

Tried to have a look at the vid, but just get

“This video is private”

341. Bob Sinclair

Brian Doonthetoon,
    Include me in. Can’t miss this one.

342. SquareHaggis

X_Sticks,

T’was the 16th not the 18th.

2 days beforehand.

343. Bugger (the Panda)

No explanations, no problems?

http://tinyurl.com/kq52ser

Have fun and chase the Lady?

344. Ian Brotherhood

@BTP –

Great link. Cheers.

345. kininvie

Hi Brian,

A namebadge with Kininvie on it would be a treasured souvenir!

Thnks

346. Brian Doonthetoon

Re the effigy burning, I posted this on the ‘an-acceptable-answer’ thread a wee while ago but I think it’s gone too far up the page to be seen by those who just read the last two comments.

So I’ll stick it in here.

——————————————

If you missed the Reporting Scotland story on this, it’s at the link below. Apologies for the sound being a few milliseconds out of sync.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vDN3XGuYqlk

This second video provides the story of the cancellation of the burning, with a rather nicely generated computer voice.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cA-4l8CRzcw

Bob Sinclair – I’ve noted your name for your badge.

8=)

347. Michael McCabe

With all this talk of lewes on the other threads I just cant help myself. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K9vubq4itpM&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die

348. Natasha

Can I get a badge too? Can I? Please?

349. Michael McCabe

Would it not be Great if we could sing all our cares away ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_8lstJ1I_sg&feature=player_detailpage

350. Brian Doonthetoon

Kinivie and Natasha – names now on the list.

351. Brian Doonthetoon

Sorry – KININVIE!

352. Oneironaut

Hmm, tempted to get a badge too… πŸ™‚

353. Brian Doonthetoon

Oneironaut – you’re now also on the list.

PS: what’s the story behind your username?

354. Brian Doonthetoon

I think I’ve got it, oneironaut.

Instead of trying to understand ‘ironaut’, I should have concentrated on ‘oneiron’.

It’s something to do with pitch and putt, iye?

8=)

355. Paula Rose

Brian Doonthetoon honey – a problem

I don’t know if I’ll be able to come on the 22nd, no problem with my pussy I have a friend who will spend the night with her, but…

The Perfect Noble Romantic who gives up his bed for me when we have these merry jaunts will be stateside starring in his new movie, so unless the bus does a wee detour to Brechin or…

some other gent is prepared to sleep on the floor or sofa, I may have to back out

(sob)

356. Natasha

Just watched the footage of the Edinburgh Million Mask March on independence live.net and I am gobsmacked; I was there, but I had absolutely no idea how big it was! I was at the front, and because it was dark and I’m not quite five feet tall, I couldn’t see how many people were behind us. I knew it was a lot, but not that it was that many. Nice to know other Wingers were there, even if I couldn’t tell who you were. Saw Ronnie on the Glasgow footage, though, which was nice.

357. Natasha

Must find another adjective instead of ‘nice’. Thanks for the badge, Brian – will collect it on the 22nd.

358. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula.

Working on a solution to salve your dilemma. Will probably email you over the weekend, once the ingredients are assembled.

359. Paula Rose

Oh gosh ingredients and salve – you are a real sweetie!

360. X_Sticks

Unless I get a last minute reprieve from a business trip to Houston I won’t make the party.

Damn, I’ll usually do anything for a badge! πŸ˜‰

I know the rest of you won’t even miss me.

Swearies, swearies, swearies!

361. Ian Brotherhood

Ceelo Green featuring The Muppets, ‘All I Need Is Love’ –

(Watch out for Beaker and AD)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zEgcLrgxUOw

362. Ian Brotherhood

P.S. And Alistair Carmichael AKA Fozzy.

363. Paula Rose

X_Sticks honey – there are many wonderful wingers I hope to meet up with but none are quite as sweet as you… I feel a song coming on – you are always on my mind…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n2aMaMkDwTA

364. Paula Rose

Oops – Ian honey you know how special you are to me…

remember I wrote this for you xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sR2PXwRxQH0

365. Paula Rose

My heart is all a-flutter apparently the perfect noble romantic is still in town, be still my quaking heart – my heart is not silly, enjoy this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zGMR3yX630k

366. AuldA

@Paula Rose:
    Be careful! Other wingers might become prickly if you hold Ian to be sweeter than them!

367. Alex Clark

@Brian

Keep my badge on hold, might make it after all but will take the car. Will explain all when I see you next.

Paula behave yersel πŸ™‚

368. Ian Brotherhood

Anyone still feeling low or sorry for themselves post-18th should have a swatch at this, and bear in mind how much the guy has lost in his life. Oh, and he’s 68 years old.

Barry Gibb, ‘Tragedy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uTJWk99-Dq0

369. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

re link at 8.45 –

‘Our music will live on…’

Nice one.

370. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s Barry Gibb when he still had his brothers, giving it big licks. (Not many people know that the video for this was shot entirely in Kilwinning.)

Bee Gees, ‘Stayin’ Alive’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_izvAbhExY

371. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

As soon as I heard the first bars of Staying Alive it made smile and remember this πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b2X2wX0cwv0

372. Ian Brotherhood

And while we’re on the subject of decrepit property…

Shakin Stevens (with Legs & Co), ‘This Ole House’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZYpTiDCwXqg

373. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

Great stuff. Takes me back. I might dig out my white suit for the next Wings night.

374. Brian Doonthetoon

At some point, between now and 25th January, I will stick something on that YouTube, which will hark back to this wee flurry of Bee Gees tonight. Take note and remember…

Hi Paula.

I’m still sourcing ingredients for what could be merely a salve or, with a bit of joined up thinking, could become a soothing balm.

Keep an eye on your Inbox. (I know; if you could keep an eye on your Inbox, you wouldn’t get into half the bother you do…)

8=)

375. Brian Doonthetoon

Oh, BTW:

Apart from us coming down to the YES Bar on 22nd November from the greater Dundee area (whose badge names I know), the only Wingers who have requested badges marking the night, are

Bob Sinclair
    Kininvie
    Natasha
    Oneironaut

Looks like the Westcoaters may be outnumbered…

376. X_Sticks

@Paula,

The thought of missing you chasse through the Yesbar in your Yes heels is a killer πŸ™

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sXfPHISW10o

377. X_Sticks

Lost the last post – may end up a duplicate

@Paula

The thought of missing you chasse through the Yesbar in your Yes heels is a killer πŸ™

378. X_Sticks

Lost the last 2 posts – may end up duplicated

@Paula

379. Brian Doonthetoon

Guess what X_Sticks?

They weren’t lost at all! At all. At all.

8=)

380. X_Sticks

Lost the last 3 posts – may end up duplicated

@Paula

381. X_Sticks

I give up – tried to post a reply to Paula three times now.

It might yet appear.

382. Brian Doonthetoon

At all.

Which reminds me of the archaic joke:

What does a single yellow line at the edge of the cribbie in Ireland mean?
    No parking at all.
    And what does a double yellow line mean?
    No parking at all, at all.

8=)

383. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi X_Sticks.

When the page resets itself after you click on “Submit comment”, reload/refresh the page before you post again.

All your 4 posts have appeared.

384. X_Sticks

Sorry folks! It’s a sign of determination πŸ˜‰

385. Ian Brotherhood

More property-related woes…

‘Cities, buildings falling down…’

Simple Minds, ‘I Travel’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_6MwzSaBBQY

386. Alex Clark

Hey I’m sure you all knew that the Gibb brothers were great songwriters as well as performers. Check them out, all classics.

Did you know they wrote this?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UaYHRx9-v2M

or this?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NiwcOaaRo1Y#t=69

and this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9xHQsMYosao

All great songs, not surprised that they sold over 200 million albums.

387. Fairliered

O/T. Can all Wingers please check out and respond to http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2014/11/02/a-yes-registry/ Braco, who posted the original article on Bella Caledonia, and all of us in Yes Largs are trying to get as wide a coverage as possible to get this very practical project widely known. It’s success depends on ‘word of mouth’!”. Braco can be contacted on nationalyesshopregistry@hushmail.com. We have reopened the Largs Yes Shop – details at http://yes-largs.blogspot.co.uk/ and are hoping to work with other similar shops and organisations. We want to share ideas, recommendations for speakers, support, equipment, coffee and inspiration. If you can help, it will be really appreciated. Thanks. Braco and Fairliered (and all the other Largs Yessers).

388. Paula Rose

I think I’m coming darlings!

Oh gosh yes – Thepnr is working his magic

as is this lassie

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GHe2H2WOQXs

389. Ian Brotherhood

@Fairliered –

Good to see you in here!

BTW, I passed on your message/invitation to someone better placed to do something about it. If he doesn’t contact you directly I’ll be chasing him up for something solid.

Orrabestest mister.

390. Paula Rose

My darling X_Sticks honey – a fab song for you should be hereabouts xx

391. X_Sticks

Did try that Brian but hey still didn’t appear. WordPress seems to be getting pretty cranky. Obviously not happy with the referendum outcome πŸ˜€

392. Fairliered

Thanks Ian. See you at RIC?

393. Fairliered

Forgot to say, if anyone was involved in a now defunct Yes shop, can you also let us know?

394. Ian Brotherhood

@Fairliered –

I’d love to go to RIC and/or the Wings night. Neither’s looking likely for me right now, but you never do know.

395. Natasha

Alex Clark
    Despite being just a CHILD when the songs you linked to were popular (!) I did actually know that the BeeGees wrote almost everything worth hearing (smug expression). You are clearly a closet romantic.

Fairliered
    I think there is a Yes shop re-opening in the Borders somewhere; I will let you know once I find out more.

Ian Brotherhood
    Loved your comment on the other thread about the SSP meeting in Stevenston.

396. Paula Rose

(where’s Tartan Tory – So long no spottee)

397. Brian Doonthetoon

Och well, since the posts in here are still mentioning the Bee Gees, here is the link to my fave BG track of all time, in the world, ever – on a number of levels.

1. It heavily features the mellotron, probably my favourite instrument in the world ever.

2. It was released, and tuned in with, the psych-pop movement in British music in 1967-69.

3. It works as a SONG.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7O2JMdwVAfA

398. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

Cheers for those links. Every one a belter.

The Bee Gees wrote some fantastic stuff and were never given, IMO, the kudos they deserved. (For example, all their contributions to ‘Saturday Night Fever’ were written in just three weeks.) The largely forgotten Kenny Everett had a lot to do with the opprobrium heaped upon them in the UK, and Clive James’s treatment of them in interview was appalling. (BTW, Graham Norton’s ‘joke’, when Robin Gibb was in a coma, was written by a Glasgow-based, female freelancer – utterly shameful. She would’ve been paid approximately Β£100 for it, and will have received repeat royalties every time that clip was shown.)

Anyway, their music will live on, while the detractors sink further into irrelevance. My own favourite is ‘Jive Talkin’, and they wrote it while in the back of a van, travelling between gigs in the USA – the ‘beat’ at the start of the song is based on the regular rhythm of the van-wheels against the road. Superb artists who generated a lot of joy in their lives.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XBw25CrUS-o

399. Brian Doonthetoon

Off topic O/T – anyone else watching Dolly on BBC4?

‘I will always Love You’ on the noo.

400. paula Rose

Natasha honey – bit stealing my thunder doll.

401. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

re ‘Where’s Tartan Tory?’

When was the last time you checked under your bed? God forbid, but he may have expired by now…

402. Paula Rose

No probs dolls – lovely gorgeous Tartan Tory clad in leather has just knocked on my door (swoon)

403. Natasha

Paula Rose
    NO ONE could steal your thunder! I know my place. πŸ˜‰

404. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Did you open the door before you swooned, or is he still standing there?

Best check dear…

405. Paula Rose

Due to the vagaries of the modern world my declared love for Tartan Tory may be lost – but there is no denying my desire for Ian Brotherhood – total swoon and desire.

406. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Right back at ye.

When we first met eyes? I knew, right then, it was a moment I would never ever forget.

Sure enough, I haven’t.

Bee Gees, ‘More Than A Woman’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BQPBk0RD8d0

407. Betty Boop

@ Briandoonthetoon, 7/11/14, 10:42pm

“Oh, BTW:

Apart from us coming down to the YES Bar on 22nd November from the greater Dundee area (whose badge names I know), the only Wingers who have requested badges marking the night, are

Bob Sinclair
    Kininvie
    Natasha
    Oneironaut

Looks like the Westcoaters may be outnumbered…

Brian, the other half Jim T and I have every intention of being in the Yes Bar on 22nd – can’t miss the Wingers meeting. How many are bussing in from my fav city?

Haven’t been around much recently and trying to catch up on the goings on… soooo much to read.

Ok, so we are technically Westcoasters, but, actually Eastcoasters, so I don’t know it that evens up the numbers or not πŸ™‚

408. Alex Clark

I’ve enjoyed the music, education and the banter tonight with the Bee Gees. Has been a laugh.

Friday nights are now theme nights. First up first served. Dying to be first next week lol.

@Natasha

No way a closet romantic. An out and out left wing socialist romantic that puts REAL democracy above all else apart from nostalgic music!

409. Betty Boop

Alex Clark, 7/11/14, 9:21pm

“@Brian

Keep my badge on hold, might make it after all but will take the car. Will explain all when I see you next.

Paula behave yersel :)”

Gee, that last comment appeared immediately – was expecting it to hang around in the ether for several hours!

Alex, we are depending upon Paula not to behave! πŸ™‚
    Hope you make it down to the Yes Bar too.

410. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop/Jim.

I will now add yooz twa to the list. Will Betty’s Boy be there for a badge an’ a’?

I’ve just had a wee rant at Dundonians in “the-meaning-of-devo-max” at the link below. (Paula Rose will be sorted, so no need to worry on her account).

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-meaning-of-devo-max/comment-page-1/#comment-1922069

411. Alex Clark

@Betty Boop

I fully intend to be there but will be abroad until the 18th, just hoping the job doesn’t overrun. My expectations are that it won’t see so looking forward to seeing you and Jim on the 22nd.

Off Topic is good, sometimes you need a break from politics and this is as good a place to come as any.

412. Natasha

Alex Clark
    Will I know you by the red rose between your teeth?

Sorry, just realised that was totally inappropriate – why on earth would you have a SLAB symbol anywhere near you?!?

Let’s make it a white rose.

413. Oneironaut

Hmm, are there ANY Westcoasters apart from me thinking of going?

414. Alex Clark

@Natasha

You will recognise me no problem. I will be wearing my heart on my sleeve!

415. Natasha

Alex Clark

πŸ™‚ xx

416. Brian Doonthetoon

Mmmm….

This just came to me, about a second ago, after reading the comments since my last post.

Are WE this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hL7NC4Duu8I

417. Betty Boop

@ Briandoonthetoon

Thanks Brian, I’ll have a wee gander at your rant in a mo’. Nope, Betty’s boy is unlikely to be there; he’ll be at home looking over at Dundee!

@ Alex,

Hope you will be there and I hope we don’t need a bucket of water for you and Natasha!!! Thought I was reading the personal columns for a moment there, hearts on sleeves and all that. Paula might get jealous.

BTW – is there anything other than politics, these days?

Just in case no one has posted this one, I find it nostalgic because way back in the 60s it was played every Saturday for ages in the ice rink!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ODZYDcYmCco

@ Oneironaut

Jim T and I are “technically” westcoasters. Living in Ayrshire for 28 years (where did the time go?) Always meant to go home to the east.

418. Michael McCabe

You have played the Bee Gees songs I like. So Just to be Different. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4n1GT-VjjVs&feature=player_detailpage the bee gees is boss

419. Oneironaut

@Betty Boop
    Ahh ok.
    Just checking I’m not alone πŸ˜€

420. Alex Clark

@Brian Doonthetoon

Just checked your rant and you are right!

I don’t understand it myself, there are a good many Dundonians here who have posted here for not just months but years.

Ach well, each to their own and we shouldn’t be critical as we know nothing of others circumstances.

For example I know a very good Winger in Arbroath who has done much to help. In fact a lot, but he doesn’t like crowds and won’t attend anything like the meet up on the 22nd.

He’s still though a great guy and does things in his own way that I at least am very appreciative of. Like you though I wish more would be willing to get themselves visible and become noticed to keep the pressure on.

We still have a job to do. Getting rid of Labour in Scotland is first.

421. Brian Doonthetoon

Oneironat – you never responded to my enquiry…

Onnyhoo, keeping with the Bee Gees stuffication…
    This was this duo’s follow-up to their debut single – and of course, it was written by the Gibbs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=30GnG4XWtNQ

But, their first single, is one I have on 12′. Nina Carter eventually married Rick Wakeman but Jilly Johnson was my fave Page 3. (Well, it was in the olden days.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vV5tOtxw0UE

422. Alex Clark

@Brian Doonthetoon

Yeh dirty old man yeh! LOL.

Talking of subways, I preferred this in my younger days.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hf4EFDGP4yg

423. ronnie anderson

The Wings Banner will be at the SECC on the 22nd as near the entrance as possible.

424. Betty Boop

@ Ronnie Anderson

Ronnie, I presume you mean the Hydro with the Wings Banner.
    I think we should maybe all carry a mock-up card with “Wingers” on it or something like that and see how many we can spot amongst the thousands in the auditorium!

Look forward to seeing you.

425. ronnie anderson

@Betty boop glad sombodys paying attention Hydro aye.

426. cearc

Brian Doonthetoon,

‘(Paula Rose will be sorted,…’

And which of you think you’re man enough for that!!

Have loads of fun on the 22nd. I definitely can’t come down then as it is inconveniently situated between two unmissable appointments that week.

427. chipmonkey

Thanks for trying so hard to get the bus going from Dundee Brian. I did try some contacts to add to numbers,but no luck.
    I’m very disappointed. We won’t be able to stay over and driving through and back isn’t an option either. Miss you all πŸ™ Maybe next time.

428. chipmonkey

I’ve often wished that wings had an ‘Events’ area on the site. Trawling through threads to find things takes determination !

429. AuldA

@chipmonkey:

I think what this site lacks the most is a search engine able to ferret out words in the comments.

430. Swami Backverandah

hiya wingers
    re your meet up on 22nd.
    I would have liked to come but am way way in the country in the Borders, and logistically it would take a lot of travel on public transport for me to get there and back.
    I will be there in spirit though so if anyone wants to make me a wee cardboard badge and stick it to the side of a glass in the YES bar, that’ll be me. πŸ˜€

Hope you have a great time.

431. Betty Boop

@ chipmonkey, 9:29am

I’ve often wished that wings had an β€˜Events’ area on the site. Trawling through threads to find things takes determination !

I was talking about that with the other half this morning, the problem with the Dundee bus having brought it to mind. We must have been affected by the Arbroath smokie aroma to have come up with the same idea πŸ™‚

It would have to be a different format from the current comments sections because you would still end up trawling through. CTRL f whilst useful for searching out words and names probably wouldn’t be so useful for searching events.

Maybe some of you techy types can come up with a solution, pls πŸ™‚

Sorry you can’t be there Swami Backverandah, but we’ll raise a glass to absent Wingers.

432. Stoker

Paula Rose says:
    7 November, 2014 at 11:12 pm
    I think I’m coming darlings!
    Oh gosh yes – Thepnr is working his magic as is this lassie

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GHe2H2WOQXs

Absolutely gorgeous, and i don’t even understand Gaelic.

433. Ian Brotherhood

@chipmonkey –

Have you tried using ‘Control’ + F? Only lets you search within the thread you’re on, but handy all the same.

434. Paula Rose

oops – I better make it clear that the coming refers to the wings nite out on the 22nd

435. Jim Thomson

a question for @AuldA and @Bugger (the Panda)…

What’s the difference between the French terms “Bougre” and “Enculer”?

Those nice people in the Google Translate-isphere offer the first if using “the Panda” enclosed in brackets and the second one if the brackets are removed.

I am sure there’s a logical (and hopefully blush free) explanation.

436. Stoker

Relax, Paula, i think most of us caught yer drift.
    πŸ™‚

For those of you who may have missed it.
    While the filthy London mouthpiece (BBC) is blanking Nicola’s roadshow
    they did do this little piece on Women for Independence.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b04n5q32/reporting-scotland-07112014

((( GO LADIES )))
    πŸ™‚
    The item appears at around the 8 min 35 second mark.
    Apologies to those outwith the UK who, i believe, will
    not be able to view this.

437. AuldA

@Jim Thomson:

Etymologically, both means the same thing. β€œEnculé” is strictly vulgar slang (offensive) and means β€œbugger”, both in the β€œobnoxious” and β€œsod” meanings. β€œBougre”, currently, means a poor guy, an unfortunate one, much like β€œbugger” when used in an other context (that poor bugger is sick: β€˜ce pauvre bougre est malade’).

However, β€œBougre” is the old middle French word for β€œBulgarian”. Why? Because during the heyday of the Catharist heresy, that heresy was thought to have come from the Balkans (Bulgaria). And – as it was common in those days – since Cathars had to be hated by to populace, the Church accused them of many sins, especially of sodomy. Wherefore the meaning, later inherited by the English word, directly borrowed from French. As it is often the case for English words borrowed from French, they keep their original meaning, whereas in French their meaning might alter, or even the word can disappear completely (β€˜double-entendre’, for example, does not exist anymore in modern French).

438. Jim Thomson

@AuldA – ta much for the explanation. I’m sure that @B(tP) is mightily relieved πŸ™‚

439. Paula Rose

@ AuldA – I presume double-entendres still exist in french, is there a new expression for such wordplay?

440. AuldA

@Jim Thorson:

You’re most welcome. If you’ve another question, do not swither. Linguistics have always been (one of) my cup(s) of tea.

441. Natasha

Swami Backverandah 10.44am

We live in the Borders; do you want a lift? We’d be going to see Nicola first, and may have a spare ticket, but if we don’t, you could go shopping/have a wander through the toon and meet up afterwards to go to the Yesbar.

Let me know if you do want a lift, and I’ll give you my email address.

442. AuldA

@Paula Rose:
    In the country of Sade, to whom one of our greatest museum has just begun to dedicate a new exposition (http://www.musee-orsay.fr/en/events/exhibitions/in-the-musee-dorsay/exhibitions-in-the-musee-dorsay/article/sade-41230.html?tx_ttnews%5BbackPid%5D=254&cHash=c82564fd3f), there was no question that a word such as ‘double-entendre’ has to be replaced if it came to disappear. In fact, ‘we’ now use ‘double-sens’ (i.e.: double-meaning) in lieu of ‘double-entendre’.

β€˜Entendre’ in modern French has almost completely lost his former meaning of β€˜understand’ (cf. Spanish β€˜entender’) and has come to mean exclusively β€˜to hear’, except in some frozen expressions.

443. Paula Rose

Time for a whip-round – I need to go to Paris!

444. Jim Thomson

@Paula Rose – you told me to NOT bring the whip last time. Sooo disappointed in you πŸ™

445. AuldA

@Paula Rose:
    Ian, if I were you, I’d not let Paula go to Paris.
    She might come back with a lot of kinky ideas. πŸ˜›

446. Betty Boop

@ AuldA, 8/11/14, 4:04pm

@Paula Rose:
    Ian, if I were you, I’d not let Paula go to Paris.
    She might come back with a lot of kinky ideas. πŸ˜›

Or might introduce a few new moves to gay Paris! Most of us don’t really know what fun goes on in Angus πŸ˜‰

447. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop et al.

This idea of an ‘Events Page’ must have exploded over Scotland the other day, as Pete mentioned the very same to me – Thursday I think it was.

Hi Ronnie.

You’re the second person to suggest the Horseshoe rather than the YES Bar – Alex Clark typed the same a couple of weeks ago.

How about this to mull over/argue about? Move the Wings get-together ‘officially’ to the Horseshoe (more seats/space and cheaper gigglejuice) and then, anyone who wants to, can nip across the road for a pint in the YES Bar, so they can say they’ve supported it.

Could be like the old days in Meadowside, Dundee, where Foreigners was on one side of the road and the Cafe Club on the other. (Both Rock pubs.)

There was a steady exchange of customers all night…

Onnyhoo, update on the names I have for ‘Wings Over Glasgow’ badges…

Alex Clark
    Betty Boop
    Bob Sinclair
    Brian Doonthetoon
    Hanii Puppy (my son)
    Jim Thomson
    Kininvie
    Livestream – Kevin + Delboy
    Natasha
    Oneironaut
    Paula Rose
    Pete the Camera
    Ronnie Anderson

Anyone I’ve omitted so far?

448. Ian Brotherhood

@AuldA –

The mind boggles. As things stand she can do extraordinary things using nothing more than an elastic band and a ping-pong ball.

449. Paula Rose

Dear old Donatien – I think I’d have the whip-hand over him, if only he were alive today we could compare notes.

450. AuldA

@Ian:

You say that because you both share a sling? Errr… fling, forry πŸ™‚

@Betty:

I am sure Paula would quickly be leonized!

451. Betty Boop

@ Briandoonthetoon

All those folk with the same thoughts around the same time about an events page… spookily, they were all in Arbroath in the summer. Hmm… I smell smokies! Done something to our collective minds. Anyways, it would make life easier.

As I haven’t been in either the Yes Bar nor the Horseshoe, I shall have to bow to your superior knowledge of the Glasgow drinking establishments πŸ™‚ I hope some more Wingers will manage along on the night. Sure there must be a few going to the Hydro in the afternoon.

@ Paula Rose,

Enjoyed Fear a’ Bhata and offer here a different version for your delectation:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A5muVg_ZWek

452. Paula Rose

I posted the song as a metaphor for losing the referendum – those of you who understand the lyrics may be very comforted by the fact that the writer Sine NicFhionnlaigh and Domhnall MacRath (the boatman) married – a happy ending.

453. X_Sticks

@Ian

Aha, so she didn’t show you the one with the hairy string and the beer mat? πŸ˜€

454. Paula Rose

X_sticks and Ian, boys that entertainment was for your eyes only, now please desist in causing any more speculation.

455. Paula Rose

Just gone 7 – time to put the juke box on, first up a french classic from 1977…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v98HEQvtpgo

456. Paula Rose

More french naughtiness, Stinky Toys…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AW1DnaVaD6w

457. Paula Rose

and next… Les Wampas!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DEtVBYT3SNQ

458. Jim Thomson

@Paula Rose, you’re straying off-topic … well, anyway …

back to the earlier theme, a nice bit of Doris.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x_xmujSyxkU

459. Paula Rose

Damn! You beat me to it!

Never mind – for all those, moi aussi, who are going to have to wait a couple of hours to see how Malcolm Tucker defeats the cybermen…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEkkhK3GPV8

460. Paula Rose

Totally on topic…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IIEVqFB4WUo

461. Jim Thomson

I can’t find any of those hats in the Wings Store πŸ™

462. TJenny

Jim Thomson – if we’re on a ‘Doris’ theme, here’s a great wee song written by Jimmy Doris, of The Stoics where he was guitarist + vocalist along with Frankie Millar.(from 1969). LuLu is giving it her all, enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rb4W6Hkji_A

463. Jim Thomson

Ennio Morricone – Cat o’ Nine Tails
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=78nG4kEsHzA

464. Jim Thomson

@TJenny errmmm, well, actually, errmm it’s kinda more like “whips” πŸ˜›

Paula started it earlier, honest πŸ˜‰

465. Ian Brotherhood

The Clash, ‘Tommy Gun’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bFHEuKkTa5k

466. AuldA

If you are curious of French naughty songs, the best reference is Serge Gainsbourg, either as a writer or as a singer. Two examples:

β€’ Soft and very famous, France Gall’s β€œLes sucettes” (Lollipops, Popsicles):
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FD8BZdXSbyE
    English exegesis here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Les_sucettes

β€’ Harder and nonetheless as famous, β€˜Love on the beat’:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1ONRpYDkhA
    Some cursory elements here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Love_on_the_Beat

467. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula.

“Ca Plan Pour Moi”…
    An interesting history. This record was first released in Belgium in 1977, on the RKM label. It was then released all over the world, before being released in the UK in 1978, on the Sire label.

I already knew the tune, because I had bought the Elton Motello single “Jet Boy Jet Girl”, on the Lightning label, prior to PB’s release.

Both tracks use exactly the same backing track, ie only the vocal tracks have been changed for each version.

Perchance the English lyrics of ‘Jet Boy Jet Girl’ are more up your side of the street than all that French nonsense?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=to9xJqXs6j0

468. AuldA

@Paula Rose:

From the same Belgian singer (Plastic Bertrand), a French translation of the famous Neapolitan song β€œGuaglione”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5San6num1eI

469. Ian Brotherhood

The Clash, ‘White Riot’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zoJYM3krDWQ

470. TJenny

Jim Thomson – oops.;-) But did you like the tune?

471. Brian Doonthetoon

Seeing that it’s less than a week to Dundee’s Christmas lights switch-on, I’ll get in with a traditional Scottish Christmas song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K2dCMDNqE5Y

472. Ian Brotherhood

Skids, ‘Masquerade’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r–TkMjI-Z4

473. Ian Brotherhood

The Skids, ‘Working For The Yankee Dollar’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_QE4E41-hk0

474. Paula Rose

Oh giggle giggle…bare as well…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hQDBset44E8

475. Ian Brotherhood

The Ruts, ‘Babylon’s Burning’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_QE4E41-hk0

476. Brian Doonthetoon

I saw this band 4 times at the Bowlin’ Alley (Dundee College of Technology Students’ Union) in the late 70s/early 80s.

Hailing from Liverpool, they always went down a storm. Still performing in some shape or form – just stick Supercharge or “Albie Donnelly” into YouTube’s search box. More jazzy tyhese days.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_Kz0e3Tq30

477. Brian Doonthetoon

“these”…

478. Brian Doonthetoon

Ruts are on in Dundee later this week.

479. Jim Thomson

@TJenny Marie McDonald McLaughlin Lawrie is usually more than bearable πŸ™‚

480. Ian Brotherhood

The Stone Roses, ‘Waterfall’ (Live – Good God Almighty, they look about 16 years old…)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HhNS6MsCEpc

481. Ian Brotherhood

Everyone beware – we’ll likely be shifting onto a new page later this evening, so remember to refresh and advance (that sounds positively stirring, eh?), and don’t get stuck here, thinking everyone’s naffed off.

482. Paula Rose

Ian honey – its all mine xx

483. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

What’s all yours?

Please put that pink-gin down and explain yourself.

484. Paula Rose

Any excuse – one of my favourites…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_fASRDQ6QQA

485. Paula Rose

Off topic on off topic – my big sister…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q7Yw1UsoiQU

486. Paula Rose

Totally off topic – but from the best western ever made, I’m in tearful mode and the pink gins help – I’m all alone except for my pussy…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jp0d330bbxs

487. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Wow. Knew the face, didn’t know the name.

Here’s one you may be able to help me with. One of the most beautiful women I’ve ever seen was in at least one Hammer House of Horror movie – a sultry brunette, not dissimilar to Claudia, but I can’t pinpoint which film, or recall her name. She was a proper stunner. Can’t remember if she played a vampire, or whatever, but I can see her face in my heid…

488. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Here’s one for your, er, cat:

The Cure, ‘The Lovecats’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mcUza_wWCfA

489. Paula Rose

16 year old stoned roses – get a grip Ian dear, time to dance…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KXewIR7Y7cc

490. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian Brotherhood.

Could have been Caroline Munro, or one of the Collinson twins, or Lesley-Anne Down, or Fenella Fielding (most famous for “Carry On Screaming” – “Do you mind if I smoke”?)?

You can see Caroline in this Manikin ad from 1970. BTW: the music is “A ‘B’ Side” by Manfred Mann, which was the B side of “Ragamuffin Man”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C6z1LqiJh2A

Have a look at the site below – you may be able to pick out your fantasy if she isn’t Caroline Munro.

http://www.listal.com/list/women-hammer-horror

491. Brian Doonthetoon

And you can listen to the full version of “A ‘B’ Side” here:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7JohPAlV204

492. Paula Rose

Here’s my big brother telling it li(k)e it is…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V4wNH2tQQog

493. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula.

No reaction to Elton Motello then?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.