Let’s fill the Hill

Posted on September 03, 2013 by

Calton Hill is probably our favourite place in all of Edinburgh. You can see everything from its slopes – Princes Street, Arthur’s Seat, the Forth Bridges, Leith, the Castle, the whole city. It’s also, now we come to look at it, just about the worst conceivable place in the entire capital to hold a rally, but it’s too late to worry about that now.

caltonaerial

Wings Over Scotland will be there. Come and join us. We’ve a flag and everything.

555 to “Let’s fill the Hill”

1. Morag says:

I just mentioned the march to a work colleague who is very pro-indy but didn’t march last year.  He’s coming.

2. MajorBloodnok says:

@Jeannie

It’s just a hobby.  Although my controversial editorship of Basters and Bastermen has been much remarked upon in the trade press.

3. Dave McEwan Hill says:

Stephen Boswell 
    Hello, Stephen. So you will. If I’m not mistaken you’re on the big bus from Dunoon

4. Jeannie says:

@major bloodnok

It’s just a hobby.  Although my controversial editorship of Basters and Bastermen has been much remarked upon in the trade press.

Oh….I think I’ve got a copy of that…  is it the Master Basters Weekly?

5. MajorBloodnok says:

@Jeannie said: Oh….I think I’ve got a copy of that…  is it the Master Basters Weekly?

I’m not sure, I’ll have to consult our archivist Onan_the_Librarian, although I think he’s busy at the moment because a bibliophile was going through his back catalogue last week and afterwards he found that all the pages have been stuck together.

Which pub did you say we were meeting at?

6. Jeannie says:

@major bloodnok

I hate it when that happens.  BTP says it’s the Albanach.

7. Dave McEwan Hill says:

Major

Dorothy Parker called her canary Onan because it spilled its seed upon the ground

8. @MajorBloodnok.
    Yes, the Albanach.
    Saves you beating about the bush…

9. ianbrotherhood says:

@Morag-

You know, I was thinking it was an awfully big area to try to fill.  But when you compare the flat bit on top to the area in and around the Ross Bandstand which we easily filled last time, it’s only four or five times bigger, at most.
    It’s a lot, but it’s not completely impossible.

Was this intended for the Jackie Baillie thread(s)?

10. AlexMcI says:

@Ianbrotherhood, quality mate, that really made me laugh.

11. ianbrotherhood says:

@Alex Mcl-

Hope to see you on the Hill mister – I’ll be with the SSP on the march, then doing my own thing, hope to find all ye Wingers as and when.

12. AlexMcI says:

@ianbrotherhood, I will be there mate. Mum, dad, sister , fiancée and a train load of kids are coming this time. Will see you there for sure.

13. Ruby Tuesday says:

Re A Parking Tip
    Please ignore parking tip that I posted earlier.  I drove past Abbeyhill yesterday and there were roadworks going on entrance to Abbeyhill closed and bus stop out of commission.

14. wee folding bike says:

Okay, it’s officially going to be first-come-first-served on the badges 😀
    Badges? We don’t need no steenkeen badges.

15. handclapping says:

Bugger. The Dr sucked his teeth at me and said “We’ll see. Come back in a fortnight.” So its mibbe aye, mibbe naw. Bugger. 🙁

16. Archie [not Erchie] says:

@ Major – Albanach it is with my pelmet. Curtains? Indeed!

17. HandandShrimp says:

One pub is not going to be enough is it? So where is our rallying point?

18. Jeannie says:

@archie (not erchie)

Major –Albanach it is with my pelmet. Curtains? Indeed!

Archie – that Major would get get ye hung!

19. Archie [not Erchie] says:

@ Jeannie – I just knew you would spot that post. 🙂 I love a woman with vision.
    Wait for it…….should have gone to…….. 🙂

20. Jeannie says:

@Archie (not Erchie)

Wait for it…….should have gone to……..

That’s funny…..that’s what Mr. Jeannie keeps saying!

21. Archie [not Erchie] says:

On the Roll Call thread Rev Stu says : ‘Badges will be on a first come first served basis’
    I had to smile, in fact I chortled. The responses will probably break 200 tonight and when folk talk about bringing doubledecker bus loads, families and friends, unicycles and budgies I think the Rev is pickled in his Cussons Imperial Lather. How many WOS badges has he got? I think his goose is charcoal, his faculties are suffering under the relentless feeding of the hungry 1000 Wingers.

22. Morag says:

Can’t he get more badges?  It’s still a fortnight off.

• Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“Can’t he get more badges? It’s still a fortnight off.”

Four-week delivery time. Plus I like the idea of there only being 100. Because so long as a hundred of us turn up in time…

(I’ve no idea how they’re going to look. They should be quite fancy, but they weren’t cheap and I didn’t want to get hundreds sight unseen.)

23. Jimbo says:

Glad to see WOS on the list of groups attending this year’s march & rally.

I reckon it could turn out to be the largest group there.

link to independencerally.com

24. Morag says:

Just compare and contrast this to last year’s dismal attitude….

link to wingsoverscotland.com

• Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“Just compare and contrast this to last year’s dismal attitude….”

To be honest, my attitude hasn’t really changed. I still think these events are unnecessary hostages to fortune unless you can get HUGE numbers – and if it’s pishing down and a lot of folk are put off it could still look bad – but I see the value of people getting together a bit more.

25. Archie [not Erchie] says:

@ Morag – Yes of course the Rev can do that. My post was tongue in cheek 🙂 and I hope that the children get the badges and remember the 21st for the rest of their lives.

26. Morag says:

To be honest, my attitude hasn’t really changed. I still think these events are unnecessary hostages to fortune unless you can get HUGE numbers – and if it’s pishing down and a lot of folk are put off it could still look bad – but I see the value of people getting together a bit more.

Look, this is for us.  There’s a feeling starting to happen, and I think you have to be here to feel it.  I know how it is.  I went through 1992 to 1999 living in bloody Sussex.  You’ll understand when you get here.  There isn’t a morning I wake up now that I’m not glad I chucked up the Sussex job and applied for this job near Edinburgh in June of 2006.  Just to be breathing the air of Scotland at this time is a precious thing.  You need to do it, even if it’s just for the weekend.

And I will trample the children into the gutter for one of these badges.

27. Jimbo says:

I want one.

28. Morag says:

Stu, shouldn’t you make the “Roll Call” thread a sticky for a bit?

29. Morag says:

Sorry. Posted unthinkingly in the Roll Call thread. Please to delete.

30. Arbroath 1320 says:

As per instructions from Stu, www.wingsoverscotland.com/roll-call/ , I am posting here, I don’t want to endure the mighty wrath of Stu, unnecessarily you understand. 😆

We were planning to attend the march along with my partner’s eldest daughter and three year old son. Unfortunately a family problem has raised it’s ugly head that we may need our attendance. As a result we will probably not know if we are able to attend until the last minute. 

To everyone who is definitely going have a great day we’ll be thinking of everyone if we can’t get there. If we can make it then we’ll be there looking out for the Wings contingent! 😆

31. Morag says:

Aw, Arb, you had to call off last year at the last minute too, didn’t you?  That’s a real shame.

32. #indyrally #letsfillthehill – next week at this time we will be filling Calton Hill folks. Please share. http://www.independencerally.com – Tweet, FB, Email, comment in online newspapers lets make this amazing.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,729 Posts, 1,215,355 Comments

• Geri on The more you change nothing: “Charles & Michael Thanks for the reply. I haven’t used Facebook since indyref really. Only a few times as my…Apr 11, 21:53
    • Hatey McHateface on The more you change nothing: “It’s “its” foreign dominions, YLS. If you can’t handle written English, maybe post in Scots. I guarantee 99% of the…Apr 11, 21:30
    • Hatey McHateface on The more you change nothing: “So good you posted it twice, eh TH? Or maybe the DTs were kicking in. Hopefully you will have necked…Apr 11, 21:21
    • Young Lochinvar on The more you change nothing: “You mean like Engerlund treated those “uppity” ones in “it’s” foreign dominions? I reckon a psychiatrist would have a field…Apr 11, 20:54
    • Young Lochinvar on The more you change nothing: “The tragic diary of a blow-in..Apr 11, 20:46
    • Dan on The more you change nothing: “Archived link to Independent article mentioned re. kids and “un”social media. https://archive.is/0K3LC Ahh to be young again and have the…Apr 11, 20:26
    • PacMan on The more you change nothing: “@ Michael Laing 1:41 One of Robin McAlpine’s recent blog posts includes a link to a report in the Independent…Apr 11, 19:46
    • PacMan on The more you change nothing: “@ Michael Laing 1:41 One of Robin McAlpine’s recent blog posts includes a link to a report in the Independent…Apr 11, 19:24
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “Seeing the Un is going to end the union any day now Do you think that the scottish government should…Apr 11, 18:42
    • twathater on The more you change nothing: “@ Michael Laing 3.28pm he along with his fellow yoonionists are just attention seekers desperately trying to undermine independence support…Apr 11, 18:21
    • twathater on The more you change nothing: “@ Michael Laing 3.28pm he along with his fellow yoonionists are just attention seekers desperately trying to undermine independence support…Apr 11, 18:19
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “I so love being on the wrong side of history I’m not on the side encouraging people to kill themselvesApr 11, 17:55
    • GeoffC on The more you change nothing: “17 of them, so one for each year in “power” at Holyrood – but what do they do to further…Apr 11, 16:05
    • Michael Laing on The more you change nothing: “@ Yoon Scum: Please hurry up, then. I, and I’m sure many others, will be very happy to see the…Apr 11, 15:28
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “Quick question Apart from calling me an English scumbag and marching ALOT Any ideas on showing that Holyrood is more…Apr 11, 15:23
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “Why Bother? The UN are sending in troops to free us next week no way can they ignore a petition…Apr 11, 15:22
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “I’m going to slightly disagree with you Grangemouth is closing not because it suits Westminster but because it has been…Apr 11, 15:20
    • sarah on The more you change nothing: “www.barrheadboy.comApr 11, 15:18
    • sarah on The more you change nothing: “Thanks, Michael. It seems that the grassroots are sprouting this spring! There is a Yes Brechin meeting of 5 parties,…Apr 11, 15:07
    • sarah on The more you change nothing: “HURRAH! An umbrella group of independence parties for 2026 Holyrood election IS happening. See Barrhead Boy’s blog today.Apr 11, 15:02
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “Tim Rideout Is he the one who claimed all the IT for the new central bank could be bought for…Apr 11, 14:14
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “GM I live in scotland Should I be locked up after the UN free’s Scotland to stop me holding the…Apr 11, 14:11
    • GM on The more you change nothing: “Absolute waste of his old mans efforts that cunt. Hope his bairns dinnae get tae ken what he does for…Apr 11, 14:01
    • Michael Laing on The more you change nothing: “Apologies if others have already posted the following information, but here is a link to a flyer for the Scottish…Apr 11, 13:48
    • Michael Laing on The more you change nothing: “@ Dan: I’ve just been reading Stolen Focus by Johann Hari, which includes a chapter on the toxicity of Facebook…Apr 11, 13:41
    • Young Lochinvar on The more you change nothing: “Hmmm.. What a transcendent form of uber b0ll0cks. Suppose you had to get it off yer chest..Apr 11, 13:40
    • Jay on The more you change nothing: “Viv O’B, you did not reply to my enquiry relating to your comment on the matter of a lost M88…Apr 11, 12:03
    • bobo bunny on The more you change nothing: “Fair comment. If we’d got independence when Salmond was in charge, who knows where we would be. But with this…Apr 11, 11:37
    • Lorn on The more you change nothing: “Nope. They’re actually doubling down on everything. It is going to take a couple of generations to eliminate their rotten-to-the-core…Apr 11, 11:36
    • Jay on Mad caps: “Saarah: thank you for acknowledgement and good luck. Those rhizomes are troublesome, go anywhere.Apr 11, 11:28