I was going to say the MoD could secure Faslane using, jets from their aircraft carriers, but they neither have carriers nor suitable jets to proceed in that direction, I wonder if the supposed deal to use French Carriers is still valid.
Either way we have the Waverley steam ship..a formidable, leviathan.
Sorry Rev. I know you like us to wait till after 5 or so posts before going off topic, but your readers need to visit Tris’s site and read the article by Foxy, magnificent stuff, and should be compulsory reading for everyone, not least the MPs themselves. link to munguinsrepublic.blogspot.com
Another link to a piece by Robbie Dinwoddie in today’s ‘Herald’ which will generate ‘recall’ for the oldies and certainly should be prescribed reading for the younger generation link to heraldscotland.com
ianbeag, I would like to know exactly what kind of pressure was brought on the BBC. BTW anybody who is to young to remember the name of Helen Liddell should look it up, she was a real peace of work.
(John Smith, as Privy Council minister, was in overdrive, co-opting Helen Liddell as secretary of the Scottish Labour to use her influence as a recent BBC staffer), says it all really.
I served Helen Lidl once, at a massive New Labour fundraiser in a prestigious Glasgow hotel in the late winter of 96/7. (With baby potatos, french beans, and deep-fried asparagus tips. She went down a treat.)
If only…at least then her existence would’ve generated some pleasure.
Ah, the lady transported to Oz -‘For Services Rendered’, I’d bet Julia Gillard is absolutely delighted that she took her advice and brought John McTernan to Oz! Nasty is, as nasty does!
Great Hamish ‘toon. I’m still wondering what kind of mascot the No campaign will come up with to compete with Wings’ Hamish, NNS’ Duggy Dug and Yes Scotland’s Yessie.
If that Hellen Liddel was at Strathclyde, she spent most of her time in the Lounge, just beyond the beer bar necking at tonguing her “beau”.
She was also very skelly.
Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.
Wally Jumblatt on Believers In The Ruins: “I really don’t care if in 1632 or quarter to eight some treaty or law was passed. Since don’t have…” Aug 14, 14:49
Hatey McHateface on Believers In The Ruins: ““Scotland absorbed, annexed, incorporated is actually how the world sees it and many English do also” Aye, TURABDIN, just like…” Aug 14, 14:11
Captain Caveman on Anatomy Of A Grift: ““Plus any attempt to discuss a subject btl just gets relentless trolling from obvious disruptors to the point few can…” Aug 14, 13:46
Captain Caveman on Anatomy Of A Grift: ““trannyism is deadly boring” Yeah, it’s only “deadly boring” if you don’t have a wife, daughters, granddaughters, dear female friends;…” Aug 14, 13:41
TURABDIN on Believers In The Ruins: “Scotland absorbed, annexed, incorporated is actually how the world sees it and many English do also. A face to face…” Aug 14, 13:40
Hatey McHateface on Anatomy Of A Grift: “As always, it needs to be pointed out that the alternative to the NHS needn’t be an “American style” system.…” Aug 14, 13:25
Confused on Believers In The Ruins: “that was an odd segue into footy about halfway; don’t knock it, it gives joy to many people www.youtube.com/watch?v=lrgJ_-stYHw anyway,…” Aug 14, 12:51
Confused on Anatomy Of A Grift: “trannyism is deadly boring and only becomes interesting once you realise what it is all connected to; it is not…” Aug 14, 12:47
aLurker on Believers In The Ruins: “@Breeks. I always enjoy your posts, but this one has prompted me to respond. I am assuming that you are…” Aug 14, 12:22
Spartan 117 on Believers In The Ruins: “A good post that accurately sums up many of the problems in the West currently. Although along with HMcH I…” Aug 14, 12:21
Hatey McHateface on Anatomy Of A Grift: ““I’ll take the gammon over the quinoa every time” An unforgettable classic line! Hoping I can re-use it occasionally with…” Aug 14, 12:05
Stevie on Believers In The Ruins: “As Reform does better, amplified by the likelihood that pro-indy voters won’t be actually motivated to go vote for the…” Aug 14, 11:55
Aidan on Anatomy Of A Grift: “Probably also worth pointing out that the trans issue IS one of the most important issues in Scottish politics, both;…” Aug 14, 11:27
Rev. Stuart Campbell on Anatomy Of A Grift: “Since we started covering gender, something like 5% of Wings posts have been on the subject, so the idea that…” Aug 14, 11:19
Hatey McHateface on Believers In The Ruins: ““we welcome the soporific effect of mindless, tribal politics” You got that right. “In the West, we live in a…” Aug 14, 11:12
Aidan on Believers In The Ruins: “This was considered by the UN in 1954 and a decision was taken that Scotland would not be listed as…” Aug 14, 11:09
Hatey McHateface on Believers In The Ruins: ““I must remember to keep repeating that” You must, sam, and tae hell wi the environment. Let it burn! One…” Aug 14, 11:07
100%Yes on Believers In The Ruins: “Senior Police Accuse Prosecutors of Master-Servant Power Dynamic After Peter Murrell Scandal youtube.com/watch?v=rY9LqiAk1M4” Aug 14, 10:41
James Che on Believers In The Ruins: “Claiming UDI from a Colony,? uK general elections in Scotland when the Scottish parliament was dissolved from the parliament of…” Aug 14, 10:04
Vivian O’Blivion on Believers In The Ruins: “Marx said; “religion is the opium of the people”. In the West, we live in a post religious world. In…” Aug 14, 10:02
James Che on Believers In The Ruins: “Correction to last post, Meant to say over 3 hundred years,” Aug 14, 09:55
sam on Believers In The Ruins: “Professor Robert Black KC has said that Scotland was effectively annexed into England and ceased to exist as a sovereign…” Aug 14, 09:55
Hatey McHateface on Believers In The Ruins: “Ah, TURABDIN, aren’t you an exile in a foreign land, your ancestral home a pile of rubble, hostile strangers picking…” Aug 14, 09:55
James Che on Believers In The Ruins: “Breeks, I admire your post yesterday and you’re efforts to sort out a new Scotland from its problems, which is…” Aug 14, 09:53
James Che on Believers In The Ruins: “With the articles of a treaty if real, being ignored as old guff by the Westminster parliament, it only leaves…” Aug 14, 09:42
Hatey McHateface on Believers In The Ruins: “Any potential “leader” intending to bring the fight to the “enemy” must be immediately sidelined. This is the 21st century,…” Aug 14, 09:39
I was going to say the MoD could secure Faslane using, jets from their aircraft carriers, but they neither have carriers nor suitable jets to proceed in that direction, I wonder if the supposed deal to use French Carriers is still valid.
Either way we have the Waverley steam ship..a formidable, leviathan.
Was he off on a recruiting drive Just in case
Sorry Rev. I know you like us to wait till after 5 or so posts before going off topic, but your readers need to visit Tris’s site and read the article by Foxy, magnificent stuff, and should be compulsory reading for everyone, not least the MPs themselves.
link to munguinsrepublic.blogspot.com
I think the lion has the right idea. Beat them to the punch and annex MOD HQ. 🙂
So, apologies, and back on topic, lovely cartoon again Chris, gaun yersel’ Hamish, I’ll get yer back… 😉
Dinna be sniping at oor Hamish wih yer big guns at thon top table wih the big boys, eh!
Oh oh… here come the bendy Wendy cavalry.
Wait…wait…wait…
@ Stuart Black – Great link and definitely worth a read. I am sure Rev Stu will forgive you.
Hamish might be at the wrong address, The MoD could sell off that building before he gets there according to this Torygraph story.
And in an unrelated find, it’s deja vu all over again in this piece from the Spectator’s archives: link to archive.spectator.co.uk
The time might have come to remobilise the Glesca Eskimo Regiment!
Another link to a piece by Robbie Dinwoddie in today’s ‘Herald’ which will generate ‘recall’ for the oldies and certainly should be prescribed reading for the younger generation
link to heraldscotland.com
ianbeag, I would like to know exactly what kind of pressure was brought on the BBC. BTW anybody who is to young to remember the name of Helen Liddell should look it up, she was a real peace of work.
(John Smith, as Privy Council minister, was in overdrive, co-opting Helen Liddell as secretary of the Scottish Labour to use her influence as a recent BBC staffer), says it all really.
Helen Liddell… what nightmares are made of.
Hail Alba
Robert Kerr
…but enjoyed seeing her walk into the Gents’ toilet after her then boss, Robert Maxwell.
It’s Helen Lidl, actually.
Not to be confused with her sister, Ellen Aldi.
@Seanair-
‘…but enjoyed seeing her walk into the Gents’ toilet after her then boss, Robert Maxwell.’
Aye. We are all eternally grateful that she wasn’t following him when he was on that yacht.
I served Helen Lidl once, at a massive New Labour fundraiser in a prestigious Glasgow hotel in the late winter of 96/7. (With baby potatos, french beans, and deep-fried asparagus tips. She went down a treat.)
If only…at least then her existence would’ve generated some pleasure.
Helen Lidl
She got herself a big hoose in Tighnabruaich when she was in her prime . The locals called it Maxwell House
Ah, the lady transported to Oz -‘For Services Rendered’, I’d bet Julia Gillard is absolutely delighted that she took her advice and brought John McTernan to Oz! Nasty is, as nasty does!
Lamont = Liddell reincarnated sans wallies.
La Liddell was also known as ‘Stalin’s Granny’
O/T came across this,
link to guardian.co.uk
This’ll definitely put the wind up bitter together.
Great Hamish ‘toon. I’m still wondering what kind of mascot the No campaign will come up with to compete with Wings’ Hamish, NNS’ Duggy Dug and Yes Scotland’s Yessie.
If that Hellen Liddel was at Strathclyde, she spent most of her time in the Lounge, just beyond the beer bar necking at tonguing her “beau”.
She was also very skelly.