Your rules, our rules

Posted on April 09, 2012 by

We couldn't help but note the Bill Walker story floating back to the top of the media agenda again this weekend like – well, you can finish that metaphor for yourself.

After an embarrassing week in which Labour had scoured Twitter and Facebook with a fine tooth comb trying to find obscure SNP councillors/candidates saying anything mildly contentious that they could fake some pious outrage about (of which this surely represented the pitiful, embarrassing nadir, as a fully-grown man tried pathetically to manufacture some kind of offence at a handful of primary-school-playground jokes that wouldn't have upset even the primmest Victorian maiden aunt), the beleagured party and its increasingly-desperate activists went back to some safer ground.

As we've said previously, we don't think the MSP for Dunfermline has any place in the SNP, on account of his prejudiced views about gay marriage. And the party is well within its rights to expel him purely for not telling them that there were allegations of domestic abuse in his past. But that remains all they are – allegations. Walker has denied the claims, and no court has ever been asked to reach a verdict on them.

In this country, however inconvenient it may be for the Unionist parties and the nationalist bloggers who have jumped on the bandwagon, a person is innocent in the eyes of the law until proven guilty. The "court of public opinion" has no legal weight, and just as well – if it did, Christopher Jefferies would have been hanged from a Bristol tree long before he was ever found innocent of any connection with the brutal murder of Joanna Yeates, as would a great many more of the country's numerous victims of infamous miscarriages of justice.

And yet despite this blindingly obvious basic principle of any civilised society, everyone's decided that Bill Walker is guilty anyway, and must resign from the position to which he was democratically elected. The Herald has openly demanded it, as has a Conservative spokesman, while Labour have bizarrely insisted that the SNP must determine Walker's guilt rather than a court of law. Neither party, seemingly, is aware of the beams in their own eyes.

Eric Joyce (Labour) and Jeffrey Archer (Conservative) both still sit in the UK Parliament despite having actually been found guilty of crimes. Joyce was left to resign from Labour – rather than being expelled – even after being convicted of multiple violent drunken assaults, while as far as we're aware Archer remains a member of the Conservative Party (as well as a peer in the House Of Lords) despite serving jail time for the serious offence of perjury. Indeed, he's continued to enjoy close relationships with party officials both after and during his imprisonment.

We will, yet again, make our position absolutely clear: as supporters of independence we don't want Bill Walker in the SNP, we're glad he's been expelled (even if it's only for reasons of convenient expediency), we would be delighted from a political viewpoint if he did resign and bring about a by-election, and if he's guilty of domestic abuse we want to see him charged, convicted and severely punished under the law. But we will NOT be part of a lynch mob of screeching witch-hunters gleefully ripping up the most fundamental foundations of British justice at the drop of a hat.

Without a trial or admission of guilt, the demands for Walker's resignation are inappropriate, unseemly, hypocritical and wrong, and all those making them – whether for party political or kneejerk ideological reasons – should be ashamed of themselves. One day it might be you, or someone you care about, that the tabloid-reading public has judged in the absence of facts, just because they don't like the look of their face or because they've assumed that all allegations of vile crimes are automatically true because "there's no smoke without fire". And if it does happen, don't be surprised if there's nobody left to give a damn about your rights any more.

Subscribe
Notify of

8 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
G. Campbell

Christopher Jefferies never admitted to hitting young women over the head with cookware. Bill Walker has. He also admitted to striking one of his wives because she was “hysterical”. Interesting choice of word, that. Says a lot about him, I reckon. I mean, what are the chances that Bill would ever attack another man because he looked a bit “hysterical”. Even gay men would probably have nothing to worry about.

John White

In all the excitement you have forgotten Labour's Lord Watson…………….

Holebender

You describe the man as a "list MSP" for a constituency. That can't be right. He's either a list MSP or he's a constituency MSP and I believe he is a constituency MSP.

22bstar

link to labourlist.org

we should keep a close eye on future Labour byelections due to the mayor/police commissioner elections

Morag

He did, however, lie to the SNP in his application to be considered as a suitable party candidate.  That's why he was expelled from the SNP, not for anything else.

Stats: 6,679 Posts, 1,205,173 Comments

• twathater on Trump’s Card: “I’ve got to agree with you and Dan , obviously it would be brilliant to clear Alex’s name , but…Dec 15, 17:33
    • Republicofscotland on Trump’s Card: “As expected the religious mad men are now heading to Syyriaa – with the blessing of the West and the…Dec 15, 17:33
    • Athanasius on Trump’s Card: “In fairness, the SNP ARE an absolute clown show…Dec 15, 17:28
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “Aye, Ros, they Naattoo cants really are fecking up yer wee pretendy scotland (population 1). Here in Scotland, we have…Dec 15, 17:23
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: ““an indirect result of” A direct result of some yellow Islamist nut job deciding that taking out a few hundred…Dec 15, 17:15
    • Republicofscotland on Trump’s Card: “The new Lord Haw Haw of Naattoo Mar Rutte wants _nnaatto and Western countries to cut public services and pensions…Dec 15, 17:12
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: ““24/7” Ask Santa for a matching watch/calendar combo this Xmas. See if he’ll throw in a free arse finder too.…Dec 15, 17:03
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “Moan now Geri. The “gen0cide” claim against Isr only took a bung of $10 million to South Africa to organise.…Dec 15, 16:56
    • Nae Need! on Trump’s Card: “I agree with your last paragraph, even though I did donate to Kenny’s fundraiser for: Justice for AlexA fitting memorial…Dec 15, 16:55
    • Hatey McHateface on Trump’s Card: “Humous fanboy greetin about sectarianism. You don’t have to make this stuff up – Ros does it for free!Dec 15, 16:50
    • robertkknight on Trump’s Card: “Crowd funder for Indy with no pro-Indy party in power and no united front for the liberation of Scotland amongst…Dec 15, 16:48
    • Republicofscotland on Trump’s Card: “So innocent shoppers – had to hide in shops and up closes in Glasgow earlier today, as the sectarian Neanderthals…Dec 15, 16:31
    • sarah on Trump’s Card: “Dan, I do see your point but I am also thinking that the threat of limitless funds to pursue the…Dec 15, 16:20
    • Sven on Trump’s Card: “Be debatable if the RN still has enough manpower to crew 6 Destroyers at one time, RoS. And, the way…Dec 15, 16:12
    • Geoff Anderson on Trump’s Card: “Telegraph article on Terf win https://archive.ph/NPtgYDec 15, 15:33
    • Dan on Trump’s Card: “I do understand the emotive motivations for folk wanting to try to obtain justice. But I’m of a mind that…Dec 15, 15:29
    • James Gardner on Trump’s Card: “Crowd funder to oust Alastair Carmichael in 2015, raised £100K ! Alex Salmond crowd funder in 2018, raised £60K in…Dec 15, 15:05
    • James Gardner on Trump’s Card: “Meantime, Glasgow earlier this afternoon….. https://www.facebook.com/100085397292644/videos/1069127125010543/Dec 15, 14:55
    • James Gardner on Trump’s Card: “Glasgow collected millions to build tanks in WW1, Glasgow built WW1 Tanks, in 1919 London used these tanks to suppress…Dec 15, 14:53
    • Republicofscotland on Trump’s Card: “The Butcher’s apron’s Daring class is on its knees – mind you Perfidious Albion, clings onto the Yankee’s coat-tails when…Dec 15, 14:44
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “I don’t believe there’s a lot of Yes voters who believe the crap about Salmond. If they won’t vote for…Dec 15, 14:40
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “Justice won’t be forthcoming. Its not a term in Perfidious Albion’s vocabulary. We all know it was a stitch up…Dec 15, 14:23
    • Michael Laing on Trump’s Card: “I don’t agree. I think we need to do everything possible, not only to get justice for Alex, but to…Dec 15, 14:00
    • sarah on Trump’s Card: “Alex Salmond case v Scottish government [and in a roundabout way the alphabetties too, I hope; also the young person…Dec 15, 13:10
    • Ian Brotherhood on Trump’s Card: “Aye, get where you’re coming from D but it’s not all about money. It’s more to do with grabbing a…Dec 15, 13:05
    • Dan on Trump’s Card: “But will Alex’s name ever be properly cleared whilst we’re still in the Union, and also enduring this corrupt Scottish…Dec 15, 12:48
    • Marie on Trump’s Card: “Well said Geri. Never mind Scottish troops being sent as part of a so called Coalition of the Willing to…Dec 15, 12:24
    • Ian Brotherhood on Trump’s Card: “If millionaire pals of Alex Salmond are spearheading the legal action to clear his name, is there any merit in…Dec 15, 11:35
    • Geri on Trump’s Card: “BRICS isn’t a currency, ya space cadet. It’s a payment system. Speaking of currency tho – have you tipped the…Dec 15, 11:12
    • Mark Beggan on Trump’s Card: “Your Ross Greer’s boyfriendDec 15, 11:08

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()