1. 25 07 15 10:17

We’ll leave the red flag lying here | Speymouth

70 to “We’ll leave the red flag lying here”

1. Les wilson

Always good Chris, you have never produced a bad one.

2. Robert Kerr

The less than “Deepest Red” is noted.

“It’s not so red as some folk think…..”

Keep them coming Chris. Gladdens us all every time.

3. Grouse Beater

The People’s flag is deepest red- no!
    Scratch that.
    The people’s flag is deepest blue,
    Our sweet Maggie’s favourite hue.

4. Swami Backverandah

Superb.

5. Helena Brown

I am sure that is they only place you will find the colour RED anywhere in Westminster, as a carpet for walking on. It will disguise the blood being spilt by the candidates for “ahem” Labour.
    An absolute beauty Chris,I don’t know how you think them up but they are always appropriate.

6. dakk

I’d rather walk on dog shite than sully my feet on Labour’s filthy BritNat imperialist cloth.Corbyn or no Corbyn.

Nice toon Chris. 🙂

7. heedtracker

Aye you have to hand it to our red and blue imperial masters, they’re winners.

8. Muscleguy

It’s rot.

/German

9. Blackford Wheeler

The people’s flag is mauve in hue
    It’s nae longer red
    It’s turnin blue
    The workin class can kiss wur arse
    Whan we got the poll tax, we sold the pass

Additional/alternative stanzas welcome

10. gordoz

What we can’t see in the picture are the Labour cheerleaders (they’re in the House of Lords; out of shot) 🙂

11. One_Scot

Takes a few seconds, but when you get it, it’s very symbolic.

12. aldo_macb

I’m convinced the establishment will not allow Corbyn to win. Labour and the UK are set to head ever rightwards. Labour are done for in Scotland for the foreseeable future.

13. Joemcg

Labour threw those principles in to the wind around about the mid eighties when they were continually being trounced at elections by Middle England voters. If we want a more caring society in scotia there is only one route left for us.

14. dakk

Joemcg

Harold Wilson’s old ‘Labour’ had the Roiyal Navy throw the Chagos Islanders off their island at gunpoint to create a US airbase in the 60s, so if they ever had any principles other than ‘British Values’,they lost them long before the eighties.

15. call me dave

You must have a flair for this sort of lampoon!

Excellent!

16. IanH

And at that far end of the carpet, at the entrance to the lobby, is a tired old pile of threads that used to resemble something a long time.
    The faded and well worn letters spell out doormat.

17. Clydebuilt

O/T …….BBC’ Scotland’s new best mate Peter Geoghegan is on Shareen Nanjani’s Sat Morning radio program. Ever since he’s up a new web news outlet ….(named after his appearance) the Beeb has been giving him loads a airtime, both the Beeb and STV promoted the Launch.
    the Beeb have probably got their fingers crossed we all flock to Geoghegan’s new wheeze. Certainly plugging it enough.
    They had a scoop at start of week , Scotland’s CCTV net work is obsolete, and illegal, and guess what The Scottish government will have to foot a bill for £11m to replace it…..BBC ran with this as lead story for rest of day.

18. ronnie anderson

Hows yous lot doing in Helensburgh Behaving yourselves I hope I will be lookin in later on

19. cearc

Excellent, Chris.

Preferring red carpet (and robes) to red flag is at the core of Lab’s problem.

20. Dave McEwan Hill

The election of Corbyn could conceivably help Labour in Scotland a little bit but the overwhelming might of the media will guarantee at least a civil war in Labour in England.

We have seen the last UK Labour Government and the establishment’s victory over democracy.

We have to get out. In the next three years.

21. Molly

Joemcg

It’s not just about a more caring different kind of society, has anyone read ‘ The Northern Powerhouse:One Agenda, One Economy, One North ?

They’re going to crucify us.

govt Northern Powerhouse Investments

£235m – for advanced materials research based in Manchester with centres in Leeds, Liverpool and Sheffield.

£113m -Cognitive Computing Research based in Warrington

£78m – the Facory Manchester a new theatre /exhibition space

£20m – Innovation Hub for Ageing Science in Newcastle

New National College for Onshore Oil and Gas in Blackpool with centres at Chester Redcar and Cleveland.

Doubling the number of Northern cities to benefit from Govts super fat broadband programme

All this before you add planned investments and underway

Humber-£ 310 Siemens/British Ports

£450m- logistics and Marine Energy Park /Able UK

Liverpool

£350m -Liverpool 2 deep -sea container port Peel ports

£920m -city centre retail Grosvenor Group

Greater Manchester

£800m -Airport City Enterprise zone

£1billion East Manchester housing programme from Abu Dhabi United Group

The lists of train/road/flight investments go on and on . Scotland is effectively going to be crucified unless we really start to stand on our own two feet.

During the Referendum , the media based in the North of England were savvy enough to cover the impact of an Independent Scotland, ours zilch.

At least their readers were informed , our media zilch .

22. Croompenstein

Brilliant Chris, the Labour ‘rebellion’ will come to nothng their only hope is to split off. The tories have played a blinder with them and they have no one clever enough to fight back.

23. Molly

Meanwhile Labour UK are on a jolly round the shires looking for a leader . A leader even if it is Jeremy Corbyn is not going to say well we must consider Scotland before we power up ‘ the North’

Labour in Scotland really need to take a look at themselves and before wringing their hands and saying ‘what about the children of Sheffield etc’ you wicked ‘Nats’ , they should have been supporting the Scottish Govt to get as many powers as possible to retain jobs.

Mind you that takes politicians with foresight -sadly lacking in their tribalist , petty games .

24. Clootie

The reason Labour lost

“A people that values its privileges above its principles soon loses both.”
    ? Dwight D. Eisenhower

25. Scot Finlayson

Labour abandoning their principles is nothing new.

Their was a book written in 1940 called `Fame is the Spur`by Howard Spring and later made into a film in 1947 that deals with a Labour MP from being a working class activist to abandoning his principles to taking his seat in the House of Lords.

Labour have been corrupted by Westminster from the very start of the party.

26. Bob Mack

It is like the story of Robin Hood,only reversed.No doubt Robin of Locksley would be refused admission to todays Labour Party for being out of touch.

27. Joemcg

Molly-never knew those stats. Jeez that’s scary. When or has Scotland ever had that kind of investment? Think crucify is too kind a word.

28. call me dave

Heard Ian Davidson on the BBC Radio Scotland this morning moaning about Scottish labour still listening to their policy group hug-ins while the SNP was out there on the doorsteps with their good ideas convincing voters and won. ‘Good on them, they did well’ he ventured. 🙂

Meanwhile at 12:30 today for footie fans.

http://neolive.net/25860/1/Watch-Hibernian-vs-Rangers/

29. ronnie anderson

lindsayjarrettfound.wix.com/lindsayjarrettfound

Please help out as you,s can afford.

30. CameronB Brodie

Molly
    I hadn’t heard of “The Northern Powerhouse:One Agenda, One Economy, One North” . Thanks.

Combining this with HS2, 3 and 4, it looks like England has just declared economic war on Scotland.

https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/427339/the-northern-powerhouse-tagged.pdf

http://www.greengauge21.net/blog/the-northern-powerhouse-one-agenda-one-economy-one-nation/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Creative_destruction

At least they appear to realise the UK/England is horrendously imbalanced. Unfortunately, I get the impression that England is the One Nation/UK. Scotland is captured, an appendage. It will do what it’s telt and pay for the privilege.

Rule Britania.

31. ronnie anderson

http://lindsayjarrettfound.wix.com/lindsayjarrettfound

Please help as you,s can afford.

32. Hoss Mackintosh

Here is an interesting account of the “Flight of Fluffy” from Mark Frankland…

http://marksimonfrankland.blogspot.co.uk/2015/07/the-day-when-david-mundell-viceroy-of.html

33. Joemcg

Further to your point Molly I have visited a few major Northern English cities in the past couple of years and I have noticed major investment being put in before I knew those facts. We are being shafted royally. Cheers proud scots. Thanks a million.

34. GallusEffie

Top cartoon once again Chris. So talented.

I only wish your topic material for inspiration was more positive.

As much as I enjoy coming here, I’m currently feeling pretty down at the extent of the machinations you guys expose and thinking what if it’s like an iceberg with 90% of the crap hidden and we never get there…?

Trying to keep the memory of the night of the GE, bouncing around our living room each time another SNP MP was declared. Walking about like a zombie the next day as it’s not often I’m awake all through the night like that.

Also trying to draw strength from the experience we had when our disabled son left his excellent school and was moving into adult services, the transition was just utter shite. So much at stake at the mercy of other people’s money and power.

We’re extraordinarily lucky with the level and quality of support services the Bold Joff has here now in W. Fife, and if I had known back then where we’d be now, I’d have felt much less discouraged and disenfranchised at the time.
    I really hope there’s a parallel there.

Feel like getting a t-shirt with “sair fecht” on it as I say it all the time now.

35. mr thms

# Molly

Take a look at the Scottish government’s spending on infrastructure. For the period from 2011 to 2030 the amount of the spend will be £60 billion.

http://www.theconstructionindex.co.uk/news/view/scottish-infrastructure-plans-published

36. CameronB Brodie

Stepping Stones to a re-balanced Britain
    26 January, 2015

There is widespread agreement that rail needs to improve to help bridge the north south divide. The refranchising of Northern Rail and TransPennine Express is key in this. An important stage has now been reached with the Department for Transport about to publish an Invitation to Tender (ITT). The ITT must set the tone for service improvement and reject the ‘minimum cost’ approach to Northern Rail taken in the past. This report, commissioned by Campaign for Better Transport, aims to define the ‘stepping stones’ needed between now and the 2020s?–?when major new rail investment comes on stream – steps that should form an integral part of the new Northern franchise. Read the full report here: Stepping Stones to a re balanced Britain.

http://www.greengauge21.net/resources/stepping-stones-to-a-re-balanced-britain/

Breath and relax…Breath and relax.

Sorry, great toon Chris.

37. Morag

This has been going on for a long time. In 1994, Labour chose a rather nauseous colour for the background set for its annual conference. Apparently this was “pistachio green”. This led to a number of ribald comments, including a re-working of the Red Flag that was published in Tom Shields Diary in the Herald. (This is from memory.)

The people’s flag’s pistachio green,
    A sicker sight you’ve never seen.
    It isnae quite like Tory blue,
    But in the mean time, it will do.
    So raise the gin and tonic high
    And welcome in the CBI.
    [something about prospects drear]
    There’ll be no red flag flying here.

More than 20 years ago. Not long after John Smith’s death, when Tony Blair had only been leader for about six months. And they were being mocked as Tory-lite.

38. heedtracker

Interesting list of just some of UK.gov invests in N. England now. I got this far in rancid The Graun’s usual, “our Scotland region’s a shithole populated by idiots scoffing deep fried mars bars” reportage

https://archive.is/AQV4Y

“Limond would now and again be cited as an example of a “cybernat”, the phrase used to describe a particularly angry cohort of online nationalists.”

Angry cohort’s a pretty good slam on lots of people who’d quite like to permanently shake off the creep show that is teamGB media.

Libby Carrell is unwell.

39. Morag

Dang, Blair had only been leader for three months at the time that little ditty was written.

40. CameronB Brodie

Libby Carrell is unwell.

I could have told you that a long time ago, Heed. 😉

41. Joemcg

“Limmy has no regrets about supporting the pro-independence movement” eh? Why would he??

42. Molly

Thanks mrthms

Its excellent that the Scottish Govt are planning ahead and spending on the infrastructure on Scotland but to ‘grow our economy’ we need to export and attract investment Worldwide.

while we need to be able to move people and goods around Scotland , we need to be able to get them out and into Scotland more directly.

If you look at the plan for ‘ the Northern Powerhouse’ if successful it has the power to pull in any vested interests , People, skills, investments, research , imports, exports and once more Scotland will be left on the sidelines watching as the younger generation leave to go to better opportunities.

It’s a big world out there and China has already invested in areas in Asia to improve trade ( a massive market) building infrastructure in places like Sri Lanka enabling that part of the world to move their goods to new markets .

Scotland needs to be able to compete , we have world class goods, food etc but will we end up having to funnel everything through England ?

Like you joemcg, I was recently in Manchester and besides the roadworks to broaden the access roads to Manchester airport , you repeatedly had to step off the pavement for all the upgrading, building works being carried out in the city centre.

Manchester is already a vibrant city centre . It’s how Glasgow could / should be !

43. heedtracker

@ CameronB Brodie, they do enjoy a good old sneer don’t they, “the cybernats are revolting” bwhaha or mwhaha.

To be fair to the rancid old hypocrites and liars with silly facial hair at The Guardian, they never used to give their Scotland region much attention at all really. Dirt cheap Highland second homes, locals well they’re all Rab C Nesbit types etc Occasional desperate hack runnig out of stuff to say in a TV review wheeled out “it’s quite to easy to tell apart a ray of sunshine from a Scotchman with a grievance, mwhaha”

The sweaties are revolting and so’s their revolting food, how will they possibly manage without teamGB? Why Scots cringers like this farce Union, I will never know, as UK’s greatest ever athletes Andy and Jammie Murray, bring sporting triumph normally unimaginable to teamGB etc ettc we’re bettertogether….

44. arthur thomson

Cartoon spot on.

Clydebuilt at 10.45

Is this new guy pure MI5 perhaps?

Is there a whole team of MI5 running and fronting BBC Scotland, elements of STV etc? I actually presume that is how it is. The propaganda war is so obvious. Big problem they have is that they don’t have the talent they once had and their target audience is more educated than in the other colonies they lost.

Is Fluffy’s ‘advisor’ MI5?

Am I getting paranoid? No. They are definitely out to get us. But we are going to win because they have all the nuanced subtlety of the Stasi.

45. heedtracker

Is there a whole team of MI5 running and fronting BBC Scotland, elements of STV etc?

I never got the MI5 thing in BBC vote Slab Scotland. The whole point of spooks is to observe everyone unseen and unnoticed.

BBC in Scotland’s merely owned by unionists and cringers that got their jobs because they are unionists and cringers and get promoted by unionists and cringers, if they are really good at unionist cringing.

Does this gurning high paid UKOK placeman look like a spook to you?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/corporate2/insidethebbc/managementstructure/biographies/macquarrie_ken

Wait a minute…

46. chris kilby

# Then raise the pallid standard high.
    Within its shade we’ll live and die,
    Though cowards flinch and ("Tractor" - Ed)s sneer,
    We’ll keep the white flag flying here. #

47. ben madigan

here’s how the original Red Flag came into being – words by an Irishman, tune originally Scottish (later changed) , linked to a Clutha pub victim https://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2013/12/21/minds-are-fixed-on-self-and-place/

48. michael diamond

Molly 11.01. I wonder what the “proud scot buts” are thinking re those stats molly?. But then again i suppose they dont do shame or remorse, just ignorance!.

49. Rob James

Great satire Chris, but so true.

Regarding comments re the involvement of MI5, rest assured they have their grubby fingers probing everywhere(literally).
    Even the letters page in The National is becoming interesting, from the drum thumping, no bones about it die-hard unionist, to the more subtle attacks laying blame on the SNP for actions or inactions nothing to do with their remit.

One letter today was calling for the SNP to put an option for a federal solution in their manifesto. Does any independence supporter faintly acquainted with happenings of late believe that Westminster would honour any such vote? We must be clear that Independence is the only option and it must come soon.

They have already started attacking our economy, early removal of renewable subsidies being a prime example. Not only is it an economic blow, it is a direct attack on the Scottish governments renewables targets and gives Slab the opportunity, ably supported by the MSM, to attack the SNP.

Meanwhile our taxes will be used to help subsidise the Hinckley C nuclear plant currently estimated at £77billion, not to mention future decommissioning costs. The basic unit cost of nuclear is twice that of wind.

What’s the latest on road signs?

50. yesindyref2

Very good, on so many levels.

51. frogesque

Rob James says:
    25 July, 2015 at 2:45 pm
    Great satire Chris, but so true.

. . .

What’s the latest on road signs?

Lets be brave, let’s be bold: all roadsigns should be replace with distances reading km instead of miles, speed limits in km/hr instead of mph and yellow road markings instead of white.

Even bolder (but prohibitively expensive to change), we could drive on the right like most of the world!

We can be a different country!

52. cynicalHighlander

What a knotted web has been woven by Axminster.

53. Dave McEwan Hill

Rob James at 2.45

I have already written to the National about the daft Federal letter published today. We will meet many other such traps.

Here’s what I wrote

“Alastair Stuart asks “Do the readers of the National think this (federal devolution)is a reasonable way forward. This reader’s answer is a resounding “no”.
    Federal devolution, were such an unlikely thing to ever become a feature of the UK unitary state, could only be effected by concession of the Westminster government.
    They retain the power. We beg
    Independence we take.
    Anything any form of devolution does for Scotland independences does better. And quicker. And simpler.
    Surely two things are now becoming obvious. Firstly all offers on enhanced devolution are not steps on the road to independence but intended as impediments. Secondly all concession of extra powers are only offered in the face of growing appetite for independence.
    There is no evidence whatsoever of any appetite for federalism in England and such a system could only be practical in the UK context if Scotland was reduced to the status of Yorkshire or other English regions.
    Suggestions like Alastair’s can only encourage our opponents to lead us into the never ending swamps of complicated constitutional wrangling in which minor concessions are heralded as huge steps forward and my grandchildren will still be waiting for an independent Scotland.
    We nearly won last year. Have people forgotten?
    This is like a football manager saying “Well done lads. We got a good runner up in the league. Let’s go for third place next season””

54. bugsbunny

The peoples flag is deepest blue,
    We all kow tow to, you know who;
    If you’re out of work, and out of luck,
    We really couldn’t give a fuck.

So raise that Royal Banner True,
    That good old red and white and blue;
    The Butchers Apron is the Labour Flag,
    If that makes you angry, we are glad.

Stephen.

55. frogesque

Dave McEwan Hill says @ 3.48.

Good reasoning. Put simply, Power, real power is taken, not given.

56. galamcennalath

frogesque says:

“Even bolder (but prohibitively expensive to change), we could drive on the right like most of the world!”

Nah, even simpler solution … YES voters could drive on the left, while NO voters drive on the right.

57. call me dave

@Dave McEwan

Read it this morning and immediately thought, “That’s not for me”

They have had their chance and been found wanting, lets go for independence again. George’s budget cuts are coming, many will suffer, and the decision to become independent will become inevitable.

58. Molly

Michael diamond

The unfortunate thing is due to our inept state broadcaster/ media many will never see far less hear about what’s going on.

Today our state broadcasters favourite tweet seems to be steam trains will be running in the borders for 6 weeks.Now don’t get me wrong that’s great for the area, tourists etc but …

I once went to Venice . Spoke to a local and together we admired the history , architecture etc then they told it’s hard work living in a museum . You can’t change anything, no Sky dishes there because the tourists don’t like it.

I don’t want to live in a museum . I don’t want to have to drive ten miles into England before 4G comes up .

I want the steam trains and the rolling hills but I also want a modern country which functions in the modern world.

We know Scotland is a great country, water, gas, electricity, food, drink , finance, tourists but it’s best asset is its people.

If we’re not vigilant the Scottish Govt will end up fire fighting Osbournes policies , while Westminster is stealing the Family assets. ( people having to leave for work)

And Labour in Scotland by their abstentions to amendments/devolving powers to let the Scottish Govt be competitive /tackle economic growth , will be holding the bag.

59. donald anderson

The duvet is the deepest red
    Since we chose the Tories for our bed.
    Away up high, high in the sky
    Oor necks are red
    And we can lie.

The working class can kiss my …

60. Lochside

Molly says@….never knew about this being an official policy but suspected this would be the outcome of a ‘NO’ vote.

I have spent a lot of time in London, Sheffield, Leeds and Manchester recently and the contrast with our cities is staggering. The infrastructure in these cities is progressing at a frightening pace.Contrast and compare with our cities.

A ‘New National College for Onshore Oil and Gas in Blackpool with centres at Chester Redcar and Cleveland’…..WHY?…..Oil is running out…isn’t it?

Our msm are such despicable ‘tractors’ that they blithely turn a blind eye to the deliberate impoverishment and starving of resources to Scotland. Only for it to increase further at warp speed, when and if the double whammy of the Scotland Bill and Austerity cuts are imposed.

Like many others, I feel that the people of Scotland are wanting some decisive action from our leaders. The SNP strategy has worked at the G.E. but the lack of clarity and vision at the ‘REF’ was ultimately a loser and rendered this outcome of reformist biting at the Unionist ankles a disappointment that we all feel.

The mass mobilisation of the REF campaign was invigorating and galvanised many waverers. Why can’t we organise more of the same?…Mundell thought he could show his ugly mug at a food bank months after he and his loyalist pals were reduced to three stooges.

These people have no shame and even less empathy than a rattlesnake. Unless we keep reminding them loudly and publicly that they’re working their notice and that the game’s a bogey…we will have to sit watching Scotland being asset stripped and disabled as a first world economy.

61. Molly

Lochside

You have said exactly what I am struggling to say ! I couldn’t agree more !

62. GallusEffie

Open-mouthed at a quote I just read from Tim Farron saying:
    “we are the Party that sees the best in people not the worst.”

He mibbe wants to tell his oppo Norman Lamb that…

http://wingsoverscotland.com/?s=norman+lamb

63. cirsium

@CameronB Brodie, 12.09

Scotland is captured, an appendage

Yes but a more accurate word is colony, CameronB. Our taxes are being used to fund the One North project while the UK Government takes step to weaken our economy so that we will not be a threat. Colonies eventually have enough of exploitation and take steps to gain their freedom so roll on IndyRef2. I am reminded of the words of Frederick Douglas, the great abolitionist.

Power concedes nothing without a demand. It never did and it never will. Find out just what any people will quietly submit to and you have found out the exact measure of injustice and wrong which will be imposed upon them, and these will continue till they are resisted with either words or blows, or with both. The limits of tyrants are prescribed by the endurance of those whom they oppress.

In the light of these ideas, Negroes will be hunted at the North, and held and flogged at the South so long as they submit to those devilish outrages, and make no resistance, either moral or physical. Men may not get all they pay for in this world; but they must certainly pay for all they get. If we ever get free from the oppressions and wrongs heaped upon us, we must pay for their removal.

64. CameronB Brodie

cirsium
    Trust me to overlook the inherent imperialism. I couldn’t agree more with your Ace comment, though. 😉

65. Chic McGregor

Vote Corbyn.

Better Red than Ed.

66. Rock

aldo_macb,

“I’m convinced the establishment will not allow Corbyn to win.”

And if he does manage to win, he will be sabotaged from within and outside.

They will do to him what they did to Michael Foot.

But basically, Corbyn is a coward like all the “left wingers” who did not have the guts to resign from Labour at the start of the illegal war leading upto the abstention from the Tory cuts vote.

Tony Benn was always a fraud.

67. Macandroid

Cracking cartoon – nail on head etc.

68. Charles Edward

The power of Powder.

Lord Sewel’s residence is being smashed open with police battering ram , searches conducted with the same equanimity utilised on expeditions to neutralise the disturbance at an underclass crack den.

The demolition of Labour identity is an active agenda.
    Poor bloke is on a leave of absence now, is that paid or unpaid?

Is it just me but every time I hear a Scottish voice on Radio 4 it’s either as an actor in a play dealing with some common addiction or an expert talking about drugs. Almost as if there has been a consideration of which accent should talk about particular subjects and draw your own subliminal associations.
    Meanwhile on ‘local’ Scottish radio stations there has been an infiltration of English news readers, weather reporters and expert opinion.

The voice of reason ( with the obligatory ‘you know’ addendum or vocal tic, so favoured by the over – familiar heartless Tony Blair).

David Cameron’s last applauded tribute speech to parliament about Leon Brittan, you know.

69. Will Podmore

Why does anyone still believe that Labour offers anything to the British working class? the great ‘left’ Jeremy Corbyn, now endorsed by the great ‘left’ Ken Livingstone, recently said of the capitalist EU, “We cannot be content with the state of the EU as it stands. But that does not mean walking away, but staying to fight together for a better Europe.” “Look at it another way: if we allow unaccountable forces to destroy an economy like Greece, when all that bailout money isn’t going to the Greek people, it’s going to various banks all across Europe, then I think we need to think very, very carefully about what role they [the EU] are playing and what role we are playing in that.”
    Stay and fight for a better Europe? Exactly what Cameron says.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.