Under construction

Posted on February 28, 2013 by

NOTICE: We’ll be doing a bit of an internet flit this evening – any comments posted from 12 midnight to around 6am may find themselves going astray in the process. Everything should be better than normal by the morning. As you were.

15 to “Under construction”

1. Boorach says:

Aye, and we all know why folk do a moonlit flit!

2. scottish_skier says:

Aye, Rev’s off tae Rio with all oor donations.

3. Robert Kerr says:

More likely he is moving fast to avoid the Secret police !

4. Yesitis says:

Rev, if you do decide to split with the bread, I hear Denmark`s lovely this time of year.
    Maybe you could say hello to Reporting Scotland`s Raymond Buchanan? I hear he is over there doing some Labour Party broadcasts or something? Anyways, just don`t buy any second hand cars from him, he`s a pure chancer so he is.

5. Indion says:

Bon voyage!
    And pity the poor sod being splitterred (vented spleen twittered) if it doesn’t go well!

6. Albert Herring says:

Was going to chuck in another tenner…. better wait till tomorrow!

7. Richie says:

Sorry this is OT but I noticed a lot of Absolutely fans on an earlier thread and thought they wouldn’t want to miss this 

You can watch all episodes of Absolutely on Channel 4 od here 

link to channel4.com

Mr Don and Mr George

link to channel4.com

As you were.

8. Erchie says:

Did you figure out what a database is yet?

9. Ally says:

Everything should be better than normal by the morning. 
    I saw on the telly there was someting about an “election” – thought it was 18 months away yet? – hohum Everything should be better than normal by the morning. 

10. scottish_skier says:

Incidentally, a search for ‘Scottish politics’ has WoS now just behind the guardian on google and ahead of the BBC…

Also, a search for ‘Scottish independence’ yields YesScotland on the first page and ever closer to the top.

In contrast, no sign of better together on the first couple of pages. In fact that lovely site ‘British unity’ crops up first.

Maybe I should have searched for ‘Scottish separation’?

Oh tried that and seems its not an effective keyword.

11. scottish_skier says: 
    28 February, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Incidentally, a search for ‘Scottish politics’ has WoS now just behind the guardian on google and ahead of the BBC

??  Not for me.

link to google.co.uk

12. K Mackay says:

I’m not getting the same results as Scottish Skier either for either search, can’t see WoS anywhere on first few pages 🙁 but at least NNS is in first few results.

Could this be because google is doing alot more to ‘personalize’ our search results based on things it thinks we like? Think I saw a TED Talk on that theme and that it was potentially quite a bad thing as it means when we search a subject we’re only exposed to what we already know and don’t see others points of view.

Anyone with a knowledge of these things got any insight? If that is the case it could be quite a set back in terms of using the net to get to undecideds. Maybe I’m way off mark with this but does kind of concern me a bit.

13. Richie says:

@K Mackay
    That’s what I thought. I think Google somehow builds up a knowledge of the sites and type of sites you look at and gives you search results based on that knowledge.
    I think you could maybe delete all your cookies or install a new browser and make the first search for one of Skier’s suggestions then it would give you a more random result.
    I installed the Opera browser, did a search for Scottish Politics and Wings came in 29th.
    I think the best thing for a site’s google ranking is to have lots of links from lots of other sites. I’m not sure how Facebook/Twitter work but blogs and news sites should be good.

14. kininvie says:

Rev, I’m sure you’ll get round to it, but the link on your twitter profile currently takes me to ‘We own splendour’. It sounds suitably biblical, but not quite what I’m looking for! 🙂

• Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

That’s because there was a snarl-up last night and the transfer has been postponed for a day. It’s actually a good sign – it means the domain move has propagated 🙂

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,893 Posts, 1,239,262 Comments

• Rev. Stuart Campbell on Not So Octopus: “You seem to have forgotten to name any of them, ironically.Apr 9, 22:48
    • Colin Dawson on Not So Octopus: “Is there a way where the voters could choose the order of the regional list candidates rather than the parties?…Apr 9, 22:21
    • Geri on Not So Octopus: “George, That is unfortunate but it shouldn’t be held against everyone else. There are individuals I’d think twice about now.…Apr 9, 22:08
    • MaryB on Not So Octopus: “George Ferguson @ 7.22pm I can well understand why people are so tired and jaded with the independence movement, especially…Apr 9, 22:03
    • Alf Baird on Not So Octopus: “There is nobody to be held higher than those who have lost or stand to lose their liberty fighting for…Apr 9, 21:47
    • George Ferguson on Not So Octopus: “@Mark Beggan @9:09pm It was nothing to dae with me either. Self made situation for the Independence movement. We are…Apr 9, 21:39
    • Mark Beggan on Not So Octopus: “I want a clean conscience after the 7th of May. When the whole shit house comes burning down I will…Apr 9, 21:09
    • Bilbo on Not So Octopus: “There is quite a lot of comment saying that support for the Greens is generational where the majority of their…Apr 9, 20:52
    • George Ferguson on Not So Octopus: “@Geri 7:45pm So I have ruined the Independence movement. The fact that I was defrauded twice is not relevant. Perhaps…Apr 9, 20:38
    • Bilbo on Not So Octopus: “You are never going to get a party that is fully aligned with your own personal political views in normal…Apr 9, 20:37
    • Bilbo on Not So Octopus: “I’m afraid the others are correct Socrates. If your grandson is involved in the Greens, he is either an ideologically…Apr 9, 20:28
    • agentx on Not So Octopus: “Why is the name in English and not Scots?Apr 9, 20:26
    • Bilbo on The quality of mercy: “Trump is touted by his supporters as a business President untouched by the grubbiness of the Washington political machine. The…Apr 9, 20:25
    • Geri on Not So Octopus: “Eh? Wales belongs to England. Scotland is a country. Scotland is in a Union with England. Not with Wales or…Apr 9, 20:03
    • Cuphook on Not So Octopus: “Here’s my idea: Non-voters are counted on the list just as political parties are and each time non-voters win a…Apr 9, 19:58
    • Geri on Not So Octopus: “So basically you’re waiting on 5.5 million people agreeing with you before you’ll even consider if Scotland should be an…Apr 9, 19:57
    • Geri on Not So Octopus: “You have that the wrong way around. It’s ppl like you that have ruined the Yes movement. You aren’t asked…Apr 9, 19:45
    • Geri on Not So Octopus: “I have to agree with GM. They weren’t in Holyrood five minutes & immediately started reversing on indy with inventing…Apr 9, 19:38
    • agentx on Not So Octopus: “Why is it “Alliance to Liberate Scotland Party” when the Wales Nationalist party is Plaid Cymru?Apr 9, 19:30
    • George Ferguson on Not So Octopus: “@MaryB I am so glad I didn’t stand as an Independent Candidate seeking Scottish Independence. I couldn’t share a platform…Apr 9, 19:22
    • diabloandco on The quality of mercy: “Thank you so much auld yin! Now some others may listen to it!Apr 9, 19:01
    • Joan Hutcheson on Not So Octopus: “Well said, Lorna. Sane and intelligent as always!Apr 9, 19:01
    • Lorncal on Not So Octopus: “Hi Alf. The problem with the Alliance, for me, is that some of the candidates are as batshit on some…Apr 9, 18:52
    • Geri on Not So Octopus: “Exactly, Twathater. No voters voted for this shite & now they complain about it. It was evident this would always…Apr 9, 18:46
    • twathater on Not So Octopus: “ALL these arsewipes that refuse to accept that we are a colonised nation under the control of a vile regressive…Apr 9, 18:19
    • Dan on Not So Octopus: “Socrates – I fear you have just proved the old rule of:”There are none so blind as those who will…Apr 9, 18:09
    • Alf Baird on Not So Octopus: “Yes, excellent candidates standing throughout Scotland for Alliance to Liberate Scotland Party offering the widest range of experience and abilities…Apr 9, 18:00
    • Socrates MacSporran on Not So Octopus: “GM – I fear you have just proved the old rule of: “It takes one to spot one.”Apr 9, 17:44
    • Dan on Not So Octopus: “Ach, so jist more time and attention focusing on the negatives of Scottish politics then. Hmm, it’s hard to believe…Apr 9, 17:40
    • J Robertson on Not So Octopus: “Think you might be on to something Stu ! I have encountered the same information desert when it comes to…Apr 9, 17:34