79 to “The Sunday papers”

1. Fergus Green

Looks a bit like last Sunday’s papers.

2. CyberNiall

Cut to Alistair Darling, cowering behind his sofa…

3. Jimsie

Excellent cartoon Chris. Drives the point home that the MSM are completely out of touch with the way the wind is blowing.

4. Iain

James Blunt ?@JamesBlunt Jan 16
    RT @JordanSHill: What ever happened to James Blunt?
    http://tinyurl.com/npuqxaq

5. CalumCarr

LOL Nothing to worry about today. The papers keep up their good work for us although there is one surprising article.

See headlines from across the papers http://calumcarr.blogspot.co.uk/

6. Mosstrooper

Heard on the Ken MacDonald programme while he was reading from the Sunday papers “The UK government are meeting in Aberdeen and so are the SNP under Alex Salmond” didn’t catch which rag he was reading from. This attitude from the British really gets my ire up. To be treated like a possession and regarded as being uppity strengthens my resolve and to borrow from Rob Roy MacGregor, Scotland will be free
    Despite Them

7. Christian Wright

Political cartoons are seldom this good. this salient.

This is up there with the very best.

8. seoc

And another week of Unionist wishful thinking goes by…

9. Clootie

Well done Chris Cairns another high quality political cartoon.

Andrew Marr on – time to take the dog for a walk!

10. Albalha

@Mosstrooper

The Observer I believe, did anyone catch the name of the paper reporting on trying to get Hollywood celebs with any drop, no matter how diluted over the centuries, of Scottishness the vote?

11. Helpmaboab

Eck richly deserves a quiet Sunday at home in his baffies.

This has been a very satisfactory week.

12. Alan Mackintosh

Looks more, I am Jolly, than I M Jolly

13. heedtracker

British media vote no UKOK pressure/propaganda really does hang over Scotland like this, everyday, all the time. They must expect push back at the poll though. How many countries did they once think they ruled forever and ever is it, 120+ now?

14. C J Caldwell

Still no time for complacency. I have no wish to continue in this union and really cannot think of any other outcome for the referendum but there are still many voters out there who don’t understand what this is all about or, worse still, listen to the BT guff and worry about pensions, the pound etc.

The WM pack will do themselves no favours with this comedy sketch from within our borders claiming they can spend our oil dollars better and wiser than we could alone.

I like the way the polls are going and hope that the Scottish switherers can glean some truth from the rest of us.

Roll on a September landslide.

15. Schiehallion! Schiehallion!

Sound as a pound.

While Oil me Dave & the Broad Shoulder Boys get frantic.

16. Croompenstein

I thought King Alex was on a diet?

17. ronnie anderson

Well done once again Chris, playtimes over back to the yes paper folding for me,see,s ya.

18. X_Sticks

Jimsie says:

“Drives the point home that the MSM are completely out of touch with the way the wind is blowing.”

It’s not that they don’t know which way the wind is blowing Jimsie, rather that they are trying to change its direction 🙂

Excellent cartoon Chris.

19. Scotswoman

Aye Croompenstein – he’s lost a lot of weight since this was drawn!

20. Flower of Scotland

This made me smile and feel good !

21. Tartan Tory

Meanwhile, ‘working the weekend’ at a secret loaction in Westminster, the entire cabinet is frantically employed in ‘role play’, overseen by London media agents (McScroat Bros). They’ve been ‘playing’ scenarios to ensure that tomorrows tory cabinet visit to Aberdeen is viewed appropriately by the heathens 500 miles north of the great divide – that is, 500 miles beyond J23-J27 of the M25.

22. Jimsie

@X-Sticks.

Of course I realise that the MSM are attempting to influence the debate and we are subjected to biased reporting. Nonetheless I do think that they are completely out of touch with the trend towards a YES vote.

23. Croompenstein

WTF we’re too stupid to look after the North Sea Oil industry..who knew?

24. Croompenstein

Don’t worry we will carry the heavy burden of the oil on our broad shoulders and our rich pals deep pockets. Now be a good child Scotland and stop all this waffle

25. Proud Cybernat

O/T – Apologies.

In today’s Sunday Herald there is an article showing the new ICM poll which gives NO @ 47% – YES @ 37%.

The figures isn’t what caught my attention. I am a Herald subscriber and normally I have to log in to read the articles in full behind the pay-wall. But, curiously, this article showing No with a healthy lead is available for all to read, including those who are not subscribers. (Okay, I know about clearing your browser cache etc to access articles but many don’t).

I wonder why the Sunday Herald have placed this article outside of their pay-wall?

26. Macart

That’s brilliant Chris. 😀

Sums up the situation nicely.

27. Helena Brown

Well that smile says it all Chris, another brilliant cartoon. Made me smile as has the WeeGingerDug this morning. Mind I am smiling at the thought of the whole Westminster Cabinet coming up to plead with ????? to let them keep the oil.

28. Albalha

See that Mr Darling has an article in the Sun, headline,

‘Bowie did more Scotland debate in a sentence than politicians in a year’. Dearie me.

Not signed up so haven’t see the whole story.

29. SquareHaggis

I’m currently standing in front of an egg stall at Thainstone Sunday market considering whether to buy 2 dozen or 4 dozen for the cabinet meeting tomorrow.

If only it were known where they’ll be…..

30. The Man in the Jar

I don’t work in the oil industry but I have a couple of friends that do. These friends are hard Yes voters and they cant believe the cheek of the UK cabinet meeting near Aberdeen.

I also read that Osborne will be missing this “golden opportunity” to explain to us why the UK keeping the pound to itself is such a good idea. Apparently he wont make it back in time from a foreign visit. As big a coward as Cameron!

31. caz-m

There are Political Ministers from all over the UK moving from one end of the country to the other.

Westminster and Edinburgh governments will be in Aberdeen on the same day.

It will probably never happen again, and what do we get from Scottish Labour. Silence, nothing.

All of Johann Lamont’s political enemies are in the same city at the same time and yet again Scottish Labour bring nothing to the party.

32. Ellie

I for one have had it with all this grandstanding; from both sides. In fact I have only seen one headline today which matters, which fully exemplifies why independence is not only a good idea, but the ONLY idea if we want children in this country to have a future:

http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/home-news/the-food-bank-with-no-food.23509422

The rest of it, stuff and nonsense. This is reality, not hypotheticals, not academic scenario’s, not blooming paintings hanging on a wall but the cold hard reality of life in Scotland in 2014, a country with hundreds of billions of pounds worth of resources and children are starving and not even the food banks can keep up.

Why is there even a debate? How can life be any worse in an independent resource rich nation that it is now for way way to many of our people.

33. alexicon

“I don’t work in the oil industry but I have a couple of friends that do. These friends are hard Yes voters and they cant believe the cheek of the UK cabinet meeting near Aberdeen.”
    I’m sitting offshore right now reading this (don’t tell the boss) and I can assure you there are many hard YES voters here.

34. Marcia

I see on the Rev’s twittery thing these is a photo of a question on a Yougov poll.

https://twitter.com/ValDobson/status/437546292760158208/photo/1

I know someone who got a different version of that questionsaid some professor in Oxford said that Labour were going to get the most seats and the same questions below tweaked to refer to Labour. Very dishonest in my opinion.

35. heedtracker

Anyway, no matter what the result in Sept, this whole vote No UKOK media fearmongering freak show will all merely revert back to Scotland doesn’t exist again. They’ll being praying for the worst on Scotland but even today some charmer in the hootsman calls us zero’s.

So with 7 months to go, the 19th Sept win UKOK BBC headline may well be, “You stupid, deluded morons voted YES.” Cant wait!

36. tartanfever

Proudcybernat:

Re- the Herald and it’s paywall – Haven’t been to the Herald site for a while, but I remember you could view 3 or 4 articles before having to sign up. Maybe that has something to do with it ?

37. Ivan McKee

O/T Euro 2016 Draw

Scotland
    Germany
    Polska
    Georgia
    Rep of Ireland
    Gibraltar

First game the week before the referendum; hopefully a tasty one at Hampden.

38. proudscot

How’s this for a reported “blow to YES” – the PCS Union voted 18,025 for neutral, 5,775 for YES and ZERO for NO. Not one vote from the entire membership for NO, as opposed to over five thousand for YES, yet this is a blow to the YES campaign, according to Mangled Garbage of the Herald!

39. The Tree of Liberty

Chris, ever thought aboot daein a book?

40. Dave McEwan Hill

Today’s Sunday Herald has absolutely brilliant offerings from Bell and Macwhirter and lots of other good stuff widely featuring RIC among others.

Can I say again – get out and buy one. It very much deserves our enthusiastic support.

In a broader view the Record/Mail stable, while not supporting YES, are giving a much better balanced coverage than anybody else. Lovely big photo of Nicola today.
    The way the wind is blowing?

I noted Bateman’s suggestion last week that the Scotsman is facing some form of closure or contraction.
    I have also noted the cries that that would be a disaster for the journalists etc employed. Be that as it may were I a journalist I would choose to stack supermarket shelves rather than write treachersous unionist shite to order

41. heedtracker

I work in Scots oil too and its very much YES if you’re Scots and NO if you’re English. It goes almost exactly down to where your from. Its interesting in that most Scots oil workers live in Scotland and have a vote but most English oil workers live in England and obviously don’t. But pollsters skip that bit when polling the several hundred thousand Scots oil workers. Wonder why.
    https://www.gov.uk/government/news/recovery-boost-for-north-sea-oil-and-gas-through-the-28th-licensing-round

42. Mosstrooper

Ach, aw this oil worries me. A think it is better tae leave it aw in the haunds o oor betters and mair cleverer folk fae furrin pairts doon in Lunnon toon.

43. bookie from hell

BT only want a NO period

negative,negative,negative

calling OIL a liability will be icing on the cake

spoke to a guy last night,he said he’s voting NO because if we vote YES England will take revenge.

44. HandandShrimp

Osborne goes to Aberdeen to say soz for the tax grab? Probably not.

45. haud oan the noo

Ivan :

Hampden is out of action for a while.

46. G H Graham

VAT bombshell for an independent Scotland according to Ruth Davidson http://tinyurl.com/nemxoxp

She made the claim after a letter from Donato Raponi, the head of the VAT unit at the European Commission, said that member states of the European Union (EU) “must apply” EU rules on VAT.

I’m not sure what she thinks she has because the application of VAT within the EU has been a directive in force for years. I discovered that VAT ranges from 15% in Luxembourg to 27% in Hungary.

So it seems that EU members appear to be free to set whatever VAT rate they wish, just so long as they set VAT. e.g. Malta joined the EU in 2004 & its VAT rate is only 18%.

But on the 27th Nov 2013 Alistair (Flipper) Darling, supported the Spanish Prime Minister’s claim that Scotland will be booted out of the EU upon independence …

http://tinyurl.com/nobsuow

So if that is true & the Unionists achieve a heightened state of enlightenment at the achievement of kicking their neighbours out of an economic zone after 40 years, Scotland can set whatever VAT rate it wants anyway.

47. Alba4Eva

Proudscot, someone on here in PCS explained earlier that the way the votes are compiled are by branch… hence, if a branch voted majority YES, all the votes from that branch count as YES. Apparently it was tight between YES & Neutral, with no branches voting NO. I hope I understood that right.

48. Flower of Scotland

O/t
    @ Schiehallion ! Schiehallion !
    That song is on my iTunes play list . It’s very stirring ! And a Gaberlunzie song I’ve been listening to for about 35 yrs and it’s still appropriate .!
    Good choice of name !

49. Steve B

@Ellie

I totally agree — it’s our job to cut through the crap and get to the point that a rich country shouldn’t need food banks. All the waffle about the EU, currency, etc. put forward by BT and Westminster is just that.

They know it’s untrue but don’t care as they want to push the debate down these side alleys in the hope it stops Yes from getting our main message across.

50. rab_the_doubter

PMSL at the Sunday Heil Yes or no Stars feature.

A few highlights and my opinion of their stance:

David Tennant: ‘it would be strange to have to present your passport to come over the border.’ – this old chestnut again, ask the Irish how that feels David. Sorry, whats that, no border control between the north and south, surely not.

Jimmy Krankie: ‘Alex Salmond can sod off cos I don’t want it’ – heavyweight cutting edge political comment from someone who isn’t even a real person.

Susan Boyle: ‘I am a proud patriotic scot, but im not a nationalist’ – this is up there with ‘im not a racist but ……’ didn’t you ‘Dream a Dream’ Susan.

John Barrowman: ‘I’d be worried if we were not part of the UK Collective’ – That sounds vaguely commie John, they might not lett you back into the US after a comment like that, and that would be a shame.

Bobby Gillespie: ‘Nationalism has never done it for me’ – surprised that you even know what planet you’re on at times Bobby.

Michelle Mone: ‘I think it would be really bad for business’ – obviously worried about it all going t*ts up.

51. HandandShrimp

Alba

That is correct. While it would be amusing in the extreme to say that not a single PCS member voted No there were in fact people who cast No votes. It is just that as they didn’t win a single branch they were registered as zero in the final count.

It would be interesting to see the actual break out of votes. From what I can gather rather than 75% neutral 25% Yes, Yes and Neutral were pretty close with No firmly in third place.

52. Alba4Eva

Handandshrimp. Thanks for clarifying. Like you say, I would love to see the total voting counts for all branches and the grand total prior to the adjustment to branch totals. Clearly YES was significantly ahead of NO.

53. Davy

Funniest headline so far is in the herald (p41),
    “but if we lose sterling,what on earth will we call Poundland?”,
    now thats satire at its best.

54. Macart

@Ellie 11.45

First class and couldn’t agree more.

55. Doug Daniel

Great cartoon, Chris. Although I think you’ve been a bit unfair on Eck’s current waistline!

56. G H Graham

Regarding Ruth Davidson’s latest pathetic attempt at creating yet another scare story, each EU member state must set VAT to comply with a VAT directive

http://tinyurl.com/cnbam2y

It allows member states flexibility in setting VAT rates & does require a minimum standard rate of VAT of 15% and one or two reduced rates not to be below 5%.

But nowhere does it mention that Scotland would be singled out & have a VAT bomb dropped on it.

Ms. Davidson should know by now that a good scare story only works if its based on at least some shred of truth.

Meanwhile, here’s some info on kickboxing … http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kickboxing

57. Heather McLean

Let Cameron and co come up here and do their worst!

Cameron preaches to Scotland = increase in Yes support
    Osborne threatens Scots = increase in Yes support
    Bowie pleads with Scots = increase in Yes support
    Bowie’s son insults Scots = increase in Yes support
    The whole Westminster Tory cabinet come up to tell Scots what to do = ?

Every time this privileged, over paid, bunch of useless numpties opens their mouths and tries to tell Scots what to do, increases Yes support.

And it won’t be lost on the Scottish electorate that Alex Salmond and his Holyrood cabinet will be meeting a mere 10 miles away, providing an ideal opportunity for both First Minister and Prime Minister to engage in a debate, as requested by popular opinion, and Cameron will studiously avoid it!

Bring it on – the more of these Westminster elitist, out of touch fools that come up here to spout their lies and propeganda, the better it is for the Yes campaign!

58. Dave McEwan Hill

Paddypower (Dublin based bookie) is first to drop the YES odds to lower than 3/1 at 11/4. (invest £4 get £11 plus your £4 back ie £15). Ladbrokes still offering a generous 7/2.
    Still think the 7/1 for 55% and above is a great bet.

59. Dave McEwan Hill

Coconut for rab_the_doubter at 12.48 for our first tits joke of the week. Far from uplifting stuff from Michelle Mone. If Scotland gets independence will she move to Brazzaville?

60. liz

@Ellie – agree 100% but unfortunately there are too many people – who for reasons that are beyond me – can’t see it.

I had a look at the Observer articles on the cabinet in Aberdeen and a 65 yr old man was voting no because he was scared about losing his pension.

This is what happens when you have liars such as Broon not being challenged on his scare story.

We all know of people who live abroad and get a state pension – how do we get this info out?

61. rab_the_doubter

OT but interesting.
    Mrs Doubter was in a care home today (part of her work) it seems that projections of the older voters coming out en masse in support of No may be grossly exaggerated.

62. Alastair

On the PCS vote.

I know of two branches in the north of Scotland that voted to be neutral. However they were very strong YES votes in both but as they are UK civil servants they thought it was best to back a neutral vote. So in other words YES voters backed the neutral stance. (questioning the morals or sense of this is a different debate but it happened) What is being reported in the MSM is that NO voters decided to vote to remain neutral in order to stop YES winning…. from my info this did not happen.

What ever way you look at this the MSM must know they look rather daft trying to spin this as a blow for the YES campaign.

63. Ann

A wee bit off topic, but a reply to Ellie’s earlier post.

To me it is a sad state of affairs, when in the 21st Century we have food banks which are opening up day after day all over the county.

It it any wonder that they can’t keep essentials on their shelves.

What really gets up my goat is all these MP’s or MSP’s getting TV or paper time with their smiling faces as if this is something to be proud of. It’s not, it’s an embarrassment.

Yes, food banks are around for people in dire need, but you know what? You have to be referred. Yes referred. No referral no food.

I only know this because of a situation that arose with a close member of my family and via Citizens Advice.

It’s actually amazing and an eye opener at how many places you have to be “referred” to before you can get the help you need.

64. Inbhir Anainn

@Albalha

Think the paper you were referring to was the Sunday Post with regards to celebrities.

65. caz-m

Also work offshore lads and a very big YES.

I wear my YES wristband all the time. Very good for starting a conversation.

I am finding that the English lads are a bit less mouthy regarding Independence.

I think they are realising that this could really happen.

66. caz-m

@Ellie

Regarding food banks running out of food Ellie. A Tory newspaper guest actually said they were running out so quickly because people were starting to get greedy.

FFS these people are on another planet.

67. farrochie

Two sad wee anti-indy cartoons in current Private Eye (Issue 1360).

Decline and Fall of the Scottish Empire shows a “before” map of the British Empire; and an “after” map Scotland and not a single other country on the map.

What victory in the referendum will look like. Scotland represented by the smiling, severed, bloodied head of Alex Salmond, himself wielding the sword. The headless rUK… err…is headless!

In matters #indyref, Private Eye is establishment.

68. msean

Greedy? When speaking of a food bank,should greed not read hungry?

69. Davy

The fact that foodbanks are on the increase throughout the UK and that they are running out of food should shame all of us, even if many of us have limited means to change this situation.

But here in Scotland we will on the 18th of Sep have total power to rid ourselfs and our country of foodbanks and the requirements to have them.

We the people who bide, work and live in Scotland can within the hours of 0700 am til 1000 pm at night, a total of 15 hours, have the supreme power to get rid of foodbanks forever.

And all we have to do is put a cross in the YES box.

If for no other reason than to stop the under priviledged having to go hungry, to stop children and their familys from having nothing to eat, while 800 unelected true benefit cheats sit in the House of Lords claiming £300 pounds a day plus expenses enjoying their subsidised 5 star meals, while the poor hunger.

We all have the power to stop children going hungry in Scotland, and all it takes is a St Andrews cross in a YES-box on September 18th 2014, nothing more.

70. Taranaich

Decline and Fall of the Scottish Empire shows a “before” map of the British Empire; and an “after” map Scotland and not a single other country on the map.

Hah, projection much? Luckily I and I presume a great number of other Yes voters are perfectly happy to consign the Empire to the past, and simply rule our wee nation and no-one else.

What victory in the referendum will look like. Scotland represented by the smiling, severed, bloodied head of Alex Salmond, himself wielding the sword. The headless rUK… err…is headless!

I’m starting to wonder if Private Eye (or at least the cartoonists) aren’t pulling a bit of reverse psychology here: as criticisms go, these are pretty much the silliest they could make.

71. TJenny

Wow – the red down arrow has re-appeared – unfortunately it doesn’t work. 🙁

72. chicmac

@Dave McEwen Hill
    I read her company was going bust(making a loss).

73. chicmac

“In matters #indyref, Private Eye is establishment.”

An old cartoonist at the Cartoon Festival they used to hold annually in Ayr, told me that you have to be fully establishment programmed (public school, oxbridge) before you get to be a ‘proper’ satirist or editorial cartoonist.

Don’t know how accurate that claim was then, probably less so now after a couple of decades of stand ups, but it struck me as being a bit like the police investigating police complaints.

Another great cartoon Chris, BTW.

74. Macandroid

Dear Dave
    You’re in a shop of some sort in Aberdeen and you hear “fit fit fits fit?”
    If you don’t know what it means F off back to safety.

75. Barbara Reid

It is my understanding that anyone in need of food has to be referred by a body such as citizens advice. They must accept help with managing their income in return and can only be referred three times. If this condition is being met and there are such large queues at these foodhalls, I despair at the numbers that must be in need

76. Will Richie

Once we get Independence, my guess is we’ll see an mass influx of Northern English to Scotland. After all, the ‘Northerners’ hate the tories as much as we do, and will probably jump at the chance to escape a southern English government once and for all. Let’s invite them to bring their skills and hard work ethos up here, where it will be appreciated, let the southern government rot.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.