The sound of one horn tooting

Posted on May 01, 2012 by

We don’t plan to do this every month (and we’ve only done it once before), but we hope you’ll forgive us for celebrating a small Wings Over Scotland milestone. In April our readership figures smashed all previous records, and smashed them hard. Page views broke through the 100,000 barrier and kept on going, and by the end of the month were considerably higher than March and February put together.

We’re extra-pleased because there was no one huge story responsible for distorting the numbers (unlike in February, when the “Why Scotland Doesn’t Need Rangers” piece got over 15,000 by itself, many from people who don’t normally read the blog). April’s stats grew steadily and organically – the most popular single article contributing just 4% of the total compared to February’s 30% – and they show no signs of slowing.

Thanks to everyone who’s read the site, linked to it, plugged the stories on various social-media sites and everything else that contributes to this modest but gratifying success. Hopefully we’ll keep doing what more and more of you seem to like, and the voice of intelligent nationalism will get louder still.

11 to “The sound of one horn tooting”

1. douglas clark says:

RevStu,

Congratulations on that. Do you know how many unique readers you’ve had over that time period? For you certainly seem to have carved out a niche for yourself.
    I think bringing Scott Minto on board was a master stroke.

2. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“Uniques” were fractionally under 16,000.

3. douglas clark says:

Thanks for that. That is actually a more impressive statistic.

4. Leighton says:

Well done WoS, still my favourite Nat blog love Rev Stuart’s stuff and Sneeky boy has proved to be a brilliant addition, keep up the good work.

5. UkFacepalm says:

Great to hear of the extent of your success 🙂

Put me down for an XXL Wings over Scotland t-shirt, a calendar and a paperweight !

6. Macart says:

Well done Rev. Kudos

7. MajorBloodnok says:

It is very heartening the level of informed and civilised debate that you do get on pro-independence sites generally.  And this is one of the best.  More power to your wotsit.

8. Suth says:

Good on you. It’s well deserved. It’s a good sign to see more and more people flocking to read what is actually important stuff and (not to slight your enjoyable writing) not as easy or entertaining as the rest of their likely internet or TV viewing due to the topic at hand. Every regular visitor is another person leaving better informed and hopefully more interested in the politics at hand than they were before. You’re chipping away at the apathy.

9. hector says:

just discovered wos a couple of weeks  ago.like it

10. Peninsula says:

The more the unionist media goes into overdrive, the more sites like this need to exist

11. Adam Davidson says:

Hopefully that is a sign of the increasing levels of interest and support in the SNP campaign! I am looking forward to Thursday, or actually Friday even more now. 

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,729 Posts, 1,215,358 Comments

• Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “Scotland the brave? You lot get triggered if I write scotland PatheticApr 12, 05:16
    • twathater on The more you change nothing: “Hey MOANY how come yir fuckwit pal YS gets a free pass when he mentions Scotland all in lower case…Apr 12, 02:43
    • Young Lochinvar on The more you change nothing: “Weirdo “..”Apr 12, 00:46
    • Geri on The more you change nothing: “Charles & Michael Thanks for the reply. I haven’t used Facebook since indyref really. Only a few times as my…Apr 11, 21:53
    • Hatey McHateface on The more you change nothing: “It’s “its” foreign dominions, YLS. If you can’t handle written English, maybe post in Scots. I guarantee 99% of the…Apr 11, 21:30
    • Hatey McHateface on The more you change nothing: “So good you posted it twice, eh TH? Or maybe the DTs were kicking in. Hopefully you will have necked…Apr 11, 21:21
    • Young Lochinvar on The more you change nothing: “You mean like Engerlund treated those “uppity” ones in “it’s” foreign dominions? I reckon a psychiatrist would have a field…Apr 11, 20:54
    • Young Lochinvar on The more you change nothing: “The tragic diary of a blow-in..Apr 11, 20:46
    • Dan on The more you change nothing: “Archived link to Independent article mentioned re. kids and “un”social media. https://archive.is/0K3LC Ahh to be young again and have the…Apr 11, 20:26
    • PacMan on The more you change nothing: “@ Michael Laing 1:41 One of Robin McAlpine’s recent blog posts includes a link to a report in the Independent…Apr 11, 19:46
    • PacMan on The more you change nothing: “@ Michael Laing 1:41 One of Robin McAlpine’s recent blog posts includes a link to a report in the Independent…Apr 11, 19:24
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “Seeing the Un is going to end the union any day now Do you think that the scottish government should…Apr 11, 18:42
    • twathater on The more you change nothing: “@ Michael Laing 3.28pm he along with his fellow yoonionists are just attention seekers desperately trying to undermine independence support…Apr 11, 18:21
    • twathater on The more you change nothing: “@ Michael Laing 3.28pm he along with his fellow yoonionists are just attention seekers desperately trying to undermine independence support…Apr 11, 18:19
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “I so love being on the wrong side of history I’m not on the side encouraging people to kill themselvesApr 11, 17:55
    • GeoffC on The more you change nothing: “17 of them, so one for each year in “power” at Holyrood – but what do they do to further…Apr 11, 16:05
    • Michael Laing on The more you change nothing: “@ Yoon Scum: Please hurry up, then. I, and I’m sure many others, will be very happy to see the…Apr 11, 15:28
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “Quick question Apart from calling me an English scumbag and marching ALOT Any ideas on showing that Holyrood is more…Apr 11, 15:23
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “Why Bother? The UN are sending in troops to free us next week no way can they ignore a petition…Apr 11, 15:22
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “I’m going to slightly disagree with you Grangemouth is closing not because it suits Westminster but because it has been…Apr 11, 15:20
    • sarah on The more you change nothing: “www.barrheadboy.comApr 11, 15:18
    • sarah on The more you change nothing: “Thanks, Michael. It seems that the grassroots are sprouting this spring! There is a Yes Brechin meeting of 5 parties,…Apr 11, 15:07
    • sarah on The more you change nothing: “HURRAH! An umbrella group of independence parties for 2026 Holyrood election IS happening. See Barrhead Boy’s blog today.Apr 11, 15:02
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “Tim Rideout Is he the one who claimed all the IT for the new central bank could be bought for…Apr 11, 14:14
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “GM I live in scotland Should I be locked up after the UN free’s Scotland to stop me holding the…Apr 11, 14:11
    • GM on The more you change nothing: “Absolute waste of his old mans efforts that cunt. Hope his bairns dinnae get tae ken what he does for…Apr 11, 14:01
    • Michael Laing on The more you change nothing: “Apologies if others have already posted the following information, but here is a link to a flyer for the Scottish…Apr 11, 13:48
    • Michael Laing on The more you change nothing: “@ Dan: I’ve just been reading Stolen Focus by Johann Hari, which includes a chapter on the toxicity of Facebook…Apr 11, 13:41
    • Young Lochinvar on The more you change nothing: “Hmmm.. What a transcendent form of uber b0ll0cks. Suppose you had to get it off yer chest..Apr 11, 13:40
    • Jay on The more you change nothing: “Viv O’B, you did not reply to my enquiry relating to your comment on the matter of a lost M88…Apr 11, 12:03