The sound of one horn tooting

Posted on May 01, 2012 by

We don’t plan to do this every month (and we’ve only done it once before), but we hope you’ll forgive us for celebrating a small Wings Over Scotland milestone. In April our readership figures smashed all previous records, and smashed them hard. Page views broke through the 100,000 barrier and kept on going, and by the end of the month were considerably higher than March and February put together.

We’re extra-pleased because there was no one huge story responsible for distorting the numbers (unlike in February, when the “Why Scotland Doesn’t Need Rangers” piece got over 15,000 by itself, many from people who don’t normally read the blog). April’s stats grew steadily and organically – the most popular single article contributing just 4% of the total compared to February’s 30% – and they show no signs of slowing.

Thanks to everyone who’s read the site, linked to it, plugged the stories on various social-media sites and everything else that contributes to this modest but gratifying success. Hopefully we’ll keep doing what more and more of you seem to like, and the voice of intelligent nationalism will get louder still.

11 to “The sound of one horn tooting”

1. douglas clark says:

RevStu,

Congratulations on that. Do you know how many unique readers you’ve had over that time period? For you certainly seem to have carved out a niche for yourself.
    I think bringing Scott Minto on board was a master stroke.

2. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“Uniques” were fractionally under 16,000.

3. douglas clark says:

Thanks for that. That is actually a more impressive statistic.

4. Leighton says:

Well done WoS, still my favourite Nat blog love Rev Stuart’s stuff and Sneeky boy has proved to be a brilliant addition, keep up the good work.

5. UkFacepalm says:

Great to hear of the extent of your success 🙂

Put me down for an XXL Wings over Scotland t-shirt, a calendar and a paperweight !

6. Macart says:

Well done Rev. Kudos

7. MajorBloodnok says:

It is very heartening the level of informed and civilised debate that you do get on pro-independence sites generally.  And this is one of the best.  More power to your wotsit.

8. Suth says:

Good on you. It’s well deserved. It’s a good sign to see more and more people flocking to read what is actually important stuff and (not to slight your enjoyable writing) not as easy or entertaining as the rest of their likely internet or TV viewing due to the topic at hand. Every regular visitor is another person leaving better informed and hopefully more interested in the politics at hand than they were before. You’re chipping away at the apathy.

9. hector says:

just discovered wos a couple of weeks  ago.like it

10. Peninsula says:

The more the unionist media goes into overdrive, the more sites like this need to exist

11. Adam Davidson says:

Hopefully that is a sign of the increasing levels of interest and support in the SNP campaign! I am looking forward to Thursday, or actually Friday even more now. 

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,910 Posts, 1,242,489 Comments

• Ebok on Only An Excuse: “‘That Green MSP shouldn’t even be allowed to take up office’ If it hadn’t been that Green, it would have…May 23, 21:40
    • Dan on Only An Excuse: “George’s 600m targeting skillz may be somewhat overstated going by his ability to find and click on the correct reply…May 23, 21:40
    • Young Lochinvar on Only An Excuse: “Uncalled for Dan He’s referring to his army days back when weapons weren’t pop guns and still of a decent…May 23, 21:07
    • Aidan on Only An Excuse: “Oh yeah Dan I’m sure Geri is a normal person keeping society functioning. That’s definitely the impression I’m getting. I…May 23, 21:02
    • Young Lochinvar on Only An Excuse: “Fat Slag Wilma Flintstone @ 1.17 Jesus H. Christ! The social media lifestyle influencer/ dating site catfisher is back at…May 23, 21:01
    • Geri on Only An Excuse: “Whit exactly is the point of SpaceX rocket? Yet more debris in the Indian ocean. Probably killed loads of marine…May 23, 20:52
    • Geri on Only An Excuse: “Ach, dinnie be like that..May 23, 20:40
    • Geri on Only An Excuse: “Well who disnae love a roastie with herbs – lush! Just follow the correct strength tho or it’ll be yer…May 23, 20:38
    • George Ferguson on Only An Excuse: “@Dan Missed the point again Dan as always. You save Scotland I know you want to. The only reason I…May 23, 19:59
    • Dan on Only An Excuse: “AiDan struggling to comprehend that “normal” people that keep society functioning may work night shift or live / work in…May 23, 19:50
    • Dan on Only An Excuse: “Hitting a target at 600m… Whit’s this aw aboot? Are Scotland’s issues somehow going to be resolved through a long…May 23, 19:39
    • George Ferguson on Only An Excuse: “@Geri I have given you the heads up on where this is going. We the people have given a Scottish…May 23, 19:13
    • TURABDIN on Only An Excuse: “A quote from D.H. Lawrence “All the lot. Their spunk is gone dead. Motor-cars and cinemas and aeroplanes suck that…May 23, 19:02
    • Geri on Only An Excuse: “Then scroll by. Fuck off. Don’t comment. It’s not exactly rocket science is it? It’s you that seems troubled &…May 23, 19:02
    • Geri on Only An Excuse: “But you can at least vote out a presidente, George. & I’d assume an independent Scotland would have a constitution…May 23, 18:53
    • Aidan on Only An Excuse: “The things that you post on here Geri are deranged, and the fact that you post them in the early…May 23, 18:32
    • George Ferguson on Only An Excuse: “@Geri We are monarchists because we don’t want Nicola Sturgeon as El Presidente in charge of a Country that doesn’t…May 23, 18:11
    • Geri on Only An Excuse: “I do know that, AI Dan. I just dunno WTF some sad wanker would think to check it & then…May 23, 18:05
    • Aidan on Only An Excuse: “I don’t know if you know this Geri – but at the bottom of each post it shows what time…May 23, 17:43
    • Geri on Only An Excuse: “I dunno. There was nothing like going off to fight for king & country to come hame tae yer entire…May 23, 17:42
    • Tinto Chiel on Off-topic: “@Marie. In that case, may The Force be with you!May 23, 17:35
    • George Ferguson on Only An Excuse: “Well thats the Trongate trashed tonight. And most Celtic supporters won’t be able to tell you why. It was Father…May 23, 16:49
    • Alf Baird on Only An Excuse: “Hatey, in a colony we are all colonised to some extent, some groups more, some less, and those exhibiting denial…May 23, 16:47
    • Geri on Only An Excuse: “Shiteface, Do you need a hanky?May 23, 16:45
    • Geri on Only An Excuse: “AI Dan, It’s quite easy to call you a sad bastard. You & Shiteface give so many opportunities. Whit other…May 23, 16:32
    • Young Lochinvar on Only An Excuse: “I’mnogay McI’mnogayface @ 8.11 Well well well! 😉 What a Julian Clareyesque rant! Raw nerve hit eh.. I think you’ll…May 23, 15:56
    • Young Lochinvar on Only An Excuse: “I’mnogay McI’mnogayface @ 8.46 Your projecting again “old boy”.. And not one reference to oaths either, you’re slipping..May 23, 15:39
    • Hatey McHateface on Only An Excuse: ““I’ve used “Yisra’el”, the unRomanised Hebrew form of the country’s name just in case using its modern, Romanised, version offends…May 23, 14:56
    • Hatey McHateface on Only An Excuse: “Shocking, Northy. He’ll be claiming to be a thousand year old, space traveling Pict in no time. Nevertheless, your post…May 23, 14:36
    • Marie Clark on Off-topic: “Aw Naw Tinto, don’t tell me that, you’ll break my wee heart. You are naughty. Onywho, as long as MrC…May 23, 14:30