The Sealand Gazette

Posted on June 16, 2012 by

Alert viewers may have already noticed a new addition to the central links column: The Sealand Gazette. (If so, they should award themselves 200 Alert Viewer Points and add them to their Viewerscore card.)

The Gazette came about because I have a bad habit of using Twitter as a sort of Post-It Note for news stories I want to keep on file for future reference. It is, of course, singularly badly suited for this purpose, because finding anything you posted on Twitter more than a couple of days ago is a hideous trial and – as I learned only recently – Twitter deletes your old tweets forever when you exceed your quota, which varies according to how prolifically you tweet but can be as little as a few weeks.

So instead, now there's the Gazette, the newspaper for people who increasingly wish they lived on an isolated former gun platform in the middle of the North Sea. Published through the rather nifty Scoop.it platform, the benefits are that it's incredibly easy to use – a couple of clicks adds a story – and both persistent and searchable.

(NB To search the Gazette use the "FILTER" function below the banner, not the Search box at the top of the page, which searches the whole of Scoop.it instead.)

At launch many of the stories are old-ish, because I've been going through my Twitter account grabbing everything I've posted there since April before it gets wiped, but from now on it'll be hot-off-the-presses stuff, and there's even a Page Three girl today as an introductory bonus. (Though of course, it's a rather sinister and troubling one.) Readers can also easily suggest stories to add.

The Gazette should be a lot less trouble to maintain than the short-lived "Reasons Not To Recycle" blog, and fulfil much the same purpose. (Misanthropic nihilism, essentially.) But I'll make a special effort to throw in a few nice stories too, because mass reader suicide isn't the goal. Although in the broader sense, it is a bit.

0 to “The Sealand Gazette”

1. John says:

The little girl with the school food photoblog could have kept going with the project, substituting MSPaint/scanned crayon depictions for the photographs, if the ban had remained in place. Fortunately the PR fallout took care of things, as is nature's way.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,900 Posts, 1,240,791 Comments

• Alf Baird on Binfire Of The Vanities: ““We’ll never be a nation again until we learn to mean what we say” Indeed so, Hatey. And, on the…May 5, 12:55
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Taking some time out from his tour of the fishing ports of the Moray Firth, James the Walrus graces us…May 5, 12:52
    • Cynicus on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Great Question The only one of your answers that matters is anti-SNP. These devoUnionists are a stronger bulwark of continuing…May 5, 12:45
    • Northcode on Binfire Of The Vanities: “By the way, I’ve read several versions of the Bible, each of them a few times over, and an English…May 5, 12:44
    • Northcode on Binfire Of The Vanities: “For fuck’s sake, Sven, that pish is from the Old Testament which even God tells me (in a dream) wis…May 5, 12:44
    • James on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Quoting your imaginary friend again? Bless.May 5, 12:42
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: ““merely requires better understanding of our colonial condition” Sigh. I guess the most depressing part of that statement is that…May 5, 12:39
    • James on Binfire Of The Vanities: “looks like it’s newspaper stand business has folded….May 5, 12:38
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: ““mainstream media blackout and censorship” OFFS, Alf! What century are you inhabiting? What you write of means NOTHING in today’s…May 5, 12:34
    • James on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Hmmmm…..the “Site Prick” is now obsessed with “bumming”. Interesting segue. Who knew?May 5, 12:33
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: “We need a Pict Party. That would unite us Scots behind a single aim. Completing the extermination of the Picts…May 5, 12:31
    • Young Lochinvar on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Fat Slag Wilma Flintstone I would have thought “crushing a grape” was more your thing..May 5, 12:25
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Careful, CC! YL might swear a solemn vow, a mighty oath even, to post a half-decent response on here. Oh…May 5, 12:22
    • Young Lochinvar on Binfire Of The Vanities: “C @ 12.04 Well if that makes you feel better. I’m sure if the Tories gain the seat in question…May 5, 12:20
    • Alf Baird on Binfire Of The Vanities: ““converting Scots to the Indy cause” merely requires better understanding of our colonial condition, which is all explained here in…May 5, 12:19
    • James on Binfire Of The Vanities: “You clowns are hilarious. Not.May 5, 12:18
    • Alf Baird on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Correct Northcode, every one Tommy, Craig and Eva seeking oor leeberation is easily worth a dozen or mair daeless SNP…May 5, 12:14
    • Sven on Binfire Of The Vanities: “North ode @ 11.39. “Thou shalt not take the name of the LORD thy God in vain; for the LORD…May 5, 12:09
    • Captain Caveman on Binfire Of The Vanities: “😀 “W.w..why I’m SO ANGRY, I could THROW THE PHONE DOWN!!!!!!1111!!!”May 5, 12:08
    • Young Lochinvar on Binfire Of The Vanities: “HMcH @ 7.41 No it’s called a point of view. Talking of solemn vows, did you write that post cock’n…May 5, 12:05
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: “I too await with interest Northy’s spoof on the Koran. I always immensely enjoy the bravery and daring of those…May 5, 12:04
    • Cynicus on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Young Lochinvar says: 5 May, 2026 at 1:19 am “C @ 12.29 Not voting SNP? Fine. Tactically voting for Unionists?…May 5, 12:04
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: ““Actually, we do care” The royal “we” again, or is Geri self-identifying as the Scottish electorate now? Cos if it’s…May 5, 11:57
    • Young Lochinvar on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Fat Slag Wilma Flintstone @ 9.52 Hit a raw nerve did I there thunderthighs? Anyway, get off this site and…May 5, 11:51
    • Geri on Binfire Of The Vanities: ““Breaking point reached?” No. Because you are a fool if you think Reform will fix immigration or gender woo for…May 5, 11:49
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Elkins, eh, Alf? Another name to conjure with. No doubt already familiar to thon loon who churns out the LOTR…May 5, 11:40
    • Northcode on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Fuck off, Sven you’re a Scotti prick and joyless cunt. I’m a Christian and Scotland is a Christian country what…May 5, 11:39
    • Sven on Binfire Of The Vanities: “James Che @ 10.19. Although not, perhaps, quite so amusing to a Christian, James. I await with interest Northy’s spoof…May 5, 11:13
    • Northcode on Binfire Of The Vanities: “The election on Thursday is a pantomime in which I don’t usually participate having accepted a long time ago that…May 5, 11:12
    • Geri on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Actually, we do care. SNP may find themselves out of office because of it. They’ve spent the last five years…May 5, 11:11