For Children Scotland

Posted on May 02, 2025 by

Something very significant (and welcome) happened in Scotland today that didn’t even make it into the headlines of the stories that reported it.

In fact, it barely got a line.

The decision removes, for the next couple of years at least, the grotesque threat to young gay people in Scotland of being essentially forcibly transitioned to the opposite gender. The Scottish Government, as it so often does, has chickened out of taking the difficult path and dumped the soiled nappy onto the UK government instead.

(The justification is remarkably weak – it’s essentially a health matter and health is a devolved issue – but let’s not look the gift horse in the mouth too closely.)

The news isn’t quite as good as the For Women Scotland judgment – it remains a possibility that the Labour government will take UK-wide legislation against so-called “conversion practices” forward, but we’d be surprised if they did. Keir Starmer’s party bends with every prevailing political wind, not least on gender issues, and the direction of travel is now very firmly against the gender cult.

The SNP’s official position is that if that doesn’t happen then the Scottish Government will revert to its plan to act alone.

But anyone who’s paid any attention to the way the SNP has operated in the last 10 years will be able to read between the lines.

When things get booted into the long grass – like the “independence convention” Nicola Sturgeon promised in her infamous 2020 capitulation speech, or the “household guide to independence” the party promised for every voter in Scotland (and raised funds for which were never seen again), or the national non-profit energy company, or the plan to give every schoolchild a free laptop, or any of a dozen other broken promises – they’re designed to stay there.

(It’s fun, incidentally, to note The National’s attempts to damp down that last one. The original scheme wasn’t just for the “digitally excluded”, it was explicitly for EVERY child, and after having already been repeatedly watered down it wasn’t “paused”, it was binned.)

It’s already easy to foresee the excuses for not acting on the conversion ban. They might say they have to wait for Labour’s plans to become clear. They might not have a majority in support of the plans in the next Holyrood parliament. They might decide it needs another “consultation”, which buys a couple of years until they can say that they don’t have enough time again.

(Because we also know from experience that “publishing a Bill” doesn’t mean they actually seriously intend to do anything, just like the meaningless “independence preparation” bills passed under Nicola Sturgeon. It merely starts a years-long process that can quietly wither away to nothing.)

So we’re quietly optimistic that the “conversion” bill is to all intents and purposes dead in the water, that Dr Hilary Cass’s warnings on the subject will ultimately be heeded by both the UK and Scottish governments, and that gay kids are safe for the foreseeable future.

None of that is guaranteed, of course, and Wings will remain alert to the danger. But the fact that the quiet sidelining of the plan hasn’t even been deemed worthy of reporting in its own right (being instead buried halfway down stories about the dropping of the misogyny law) suggests to us that it’s not coming back any time soon.

And in the wake of the For Women Scotland ruling, that’s worthy of another modest celebration for anyone who cares about the welfare of Scotland’s children.

0 to “For Children Scotland”

1. diabloandco says:

Modest celebration going on here! Chocolate eclair and a cup of coffee!

2. Scott says:

Also planning to incorporate misogyny into the Hate Crime Act. Now, was that not suggested previously?

• Lorn says:

It was suggested, Scott, by the women’s groups who were totally ignored. The only reason they wanted it introduced is because it would have included ‘trans’ identified males so that they could have taken over every female space and right, and, if anyone objected, it would be misogyny.

No need for any hate crime legislation, in any case, because the Scottish Common Law already covers all hate crimes under Breach of the Peace which is a catch-all. Scottish Common Law used to be the shining example, but, now, it has been so debased by totally unnecessary statute law, mainly by the SNP, but also by other administrations, that it is completely tarnished.

• Former President Xiden says:

“ No need for any hate crime legislation, in any case, because the Scottish Common Law already covers all hate crimes under Breach of the Peace which is a catch-all. Scottish Common Law used to be the shining example, but, now, it has been so debased by totally unnecessary statute law, mainly by the SNP, but also by other administrations, that it is completely tarnished.”
        THIS ?

3. David says:

Gender upsets me so much, because it stole Scottish Independence and it stole friendships at University for me, and in Nursing.

I backed Alex Salmond. I backed Scottish Independence, I backed the SNP who abandoned me. I joined Alba where the hope lies.

I country brought to a grinding halt by gender ideology. Today Farage has won in England. The NHS won’t have long to go if he comes to power. So what’s Starmer going to do? Is he going to shut down the illegal migrant industry, save Grangemouth, and put Scots first?

And why should anyone accept their paltry pay rise offers when the the SNP is taking a 20 per cent increase and a golden goodbye for Nicola Sturgeon?

Their deeds would shame all the devils in hell. I’m going to march tomorrow for Scottish Independence for the first time in years. Rise up and stand up!

• yoon scum says:

Either you’re a YOON who loves the NHS as it was invented in England

OR

You’re moron who thinks that the only two health systems on earth are the USAS and the NHS

Which one is it?

As I’d love to copy a fr better health system for France, holland, New Zealand, Denmark, Germany, Australia, Israel etc

4. David says:

It’s time for the conversation to return to nationalism vs globalism, and the case for the United Kingdom is in the absolute gutter now. It’s migrant central down south. Whole towns and villages captured and overrun by illegal migrant criminals that have broken into Britain and claimed what’s ours. Our homeland.

The SNP will now go totally globalist for the next year. They’ll blow the election to Farage without doubt.

They don’t know what they are doing.

5. duncanio says:

It’s bad news for the gender crazies so John the Vote Swindler trying to bury the bad news so as not to upset them and risk losing their ballot box next year.

• yoon scum says:

Chasing votes of gender loonies is confusing

As they are a tiny tiny minority

6. I. Despair says:

A climbdown rooted in snivelling political expediency rather than intelligent principle, but welcome news all the same.
    Another strange and unpleasant man lets down the good name of trans people everywhere (he can’t besmirch the name of the Scottish Greens as that’s already at rock bottom): link to archive.is

7. Vivian O’Blivion says:

The conversion therapy legislation in its fundamentalist drafting was substantially the brain fart of Emma Roddick when she was Meenister for Equalities, Migration & Refugees. Roddick resigned a year ago without explanation.

Moves are afoot to boot Roddick out of parliament entirely. Roddick is daggers drawn with Stephen Flynn, and she has nae mates since Swinney assigned the Dreghorn dyke to the rear view mirror of history.

8. Aidan says:

We all know conversion practices aimed at changing a person’s sexuality are abhorrent, but as far as I am aware this isn’t taking place anywhere in the U.K. anyway, and the conduct usually complained about (e.g. physical and sexual assaults) would be unambiguously illegal in any case. I’m struggling therefore to see what this ‘ban’ would actually prohibit which it isn’t prohibiting now.

According to Stonewall, 38% of LGBT people have experience a sexual assault aimed at changing their sexuality or gender and 10% of the same group have experienced what is described as an “exorcism”. Whilst not seeking to minimise anyone’s experiences, I would suggest that these numbers seem unlikely to be accurate across the whole population, but no doubt capture the ears of the innumerable officers in government and the 3rd sector who are sympathetic to this stuff.

• Lorn says:

The ban on conversion therapy, in reality, would have been a ban on the ban of conversion therapy because conversion therapy was aimed in the past at homosexual men. The Stonewall version would have been aimed at children and would have seen them indoctrinated by ‘trans’. In other words, possibly (indeed, vey likely) homosexual children, both males and females, would have been ‘transed’ without any repercussions.

The likes of Maggie Chapman was in favour of early ‘transition’, from the age of eight years. It is easy to laugh and say she is a rabid extremist for the ‘trans’ lobby, but think about it. She came here from South Africa via Zimbabwe, or Zimbabwe via South Africa, which is why she uses words such as ‘apartheid’. What did she come here for? Why did she pitch up in Scotland? Same with Lorna Slater (although she would appear to have some Scottish ancestry in Canada). Between them, these two have helped to wreck Scotland – and independence – creating huge societal unrest.

Sarwar and Yousaf have both emphasized their Pakistani heritage and complained about too many white people being in the most influential jobs (one being a former FM and the other, leader of his Unionist party) with Sarwar lauding Pakistan’s independence and denigrating Scotland’s attempts to regain hers. You couldn’t make this ‘woke’ horse manure up, could you, and make a novel out of it because it would stretch credulity?

• Marie says:

I agree – but Chapman and Slater would not have been able to do the damage they have done without the backing of their enabler – Sturgeon.

• Lorn says:

Yes, Marie, I absolutely agree. However, would you go to another country and immediately start to deconstruct it, its laws, its social cohesion? The SNP was groomed by people with no moral centre. Was that deliberate in order to use it as the vehicle to social engineering – which I believe it was – or was it something else? No one appears to ask these questions. Just WHY, rather than HOW, was the ‘trans’ ideology embedded so deeply in Scotland?

Same with Yousaf and Sarwar: they went to a fee-paying school and were hoisted into the higher echelons of Scottish society, and eventually, at fairly young ages, propelled into leadership roles; yet, they, too, are dissatisfied with Scotland and want to change it immediately. Again, I’ll ask you and everyone else on this thread: would you go to another country and immediately (or, at least, within one generation) demand that the predominant population stand down to allow you full rein?

9. joolz says:

I welcome them dropping the ‘conversion’ bill but one of your headlines says ‘Scottish ministers shelve
    plans for new misogyny law’.

That must not be shelved, as it leaves men and women unequal in the Hate Crime Bill. Men who dress as women are protected under the bill, but real women are not.

It is grossly unfair that a woman mocking Eddie Izzard’s dress choice can be charged with a hate crime against a trans person, but a man mocking a woman for the exact same dress choice cannot be charged with a hate crime of misogyny.

Of course, the best solution would be to scrap the ridiculous HCB but, if they plan to keep it, then they must make it fair.

• Lorn says:

John Swinney has said that they will amend the Hate Crime law to include misogyny against women and girls (not the pretendy ones) before 2026. We’ll see. However, I would prefer to see the Hate Crime legislation being dumped because it was all so unnecessary. So sick of all these bloody laws! The SNP seems to be besotted with the fact that it can make laws, so makes numbingly stupid ones just to show Westminster that it can. Never mind that most are so incompetent that they are repealed, it’s the ‘being different’ that counts. Well, not on independence, natch. They don’t want to be different from Westminster on that score. Use the Common Law, Mr Swinney. It would cover every hate crime imaginable, including misogyny, because it is so flexible. One of Scotland’s more brilliant inventions and the Police will also find it a lot easier to understand, too, and will not weigh them down with more and more and more legislation. Scrap the Hate Crime laws. They are absolutely hated – and it’s no crime.

10. Effijy says:

My big story of the day is England looking to install Farage as their Prime Minister.
    The man with the lies behind the disaster that is Brexit.
    The fascist party leader funded by the rich bankers.
    Mr Farage promises to bin net zero and to get drilling around Scotland for as much oil as England can take and sell us out to his pals Trump and Must.
    How did the world end up with so many crazies ruling it?

• BLMac says:

‘How did the world end up with so many crazies ruling it?’

Because no one is game to do what Wallace did and take out a Heselrig.

(Hopefully these days with the knowledge that the pen is mightier than the sword)

Someone has to make the first decisive move.

• Yoon Scum says:

Farage

The man who showed that you should never believe politicians who tell you leaving a union is easy and will make you rich

I can see why you hate him

• Anthem says:

YC. He did, and he is!

• Hatey McHateface says:

Ouch!

Several bedroom carpets over the length and breadth of Auld Scotia have just seen another bite being taken out of them!

Bad YS!

• Yoon Scum says:

Sorry I did a whoopsie

I forgot that all the experts who correctly predicted the downsides of leaving the EU as they said that leaving a union would hurt the economy and was driven by nothing but racism and stupidity

Where far right shills of the English state when they said that leaving a union would hurt the economy and was driven by nothing but racism and stupidity when discussing Scexit

• Jontoscots21 says:

Fascist- someone you disagree with. Most of the unreformed lefties on here with their circle of concern extended to the wretched of the earth will hate Farage. They will also hate Reform’s working and middle class voters. Yet his party and platform are a necessary corrective to the authoritarian, I democratic and increasingly useless uni party. T

I think it’s a positive for independence that a nationalist party is in the ascendancy in England. Now that our elites have knackered Scotland’s energy and economy, should Reform get into power they would probably lustily sing “You take the High Road”, should the issue be raised.

• Bilbo says:

Jontoscots21

“Fascist- someone you disagree with. Most of the unreformed lefties on here with their circle of concern extended to the wretched of the earth will hate Farage. They will also hate Reform’s working and middle class voters. Yet his party and platform are a necessary corrective to the authoritarian, I democratic and increasingly useless uni party.”

Reform are too incompetent to be fascists, too full of egotists wanting to be the top dog. They’ll be too busy fighting each other to get anything done.

11. Vivian O’Blivion says:

In other news probably more pertinent to the previous thread, the German permanent state has declared Alternative fur Deutchland (AfD) an extremism, right wing organisation. The Federal Office for the Protection of the Constitution (BfV) takes exception to what it perceives as AfD’s ethnocentric approach to citizenship.

There’s an excellent explainer on the Substack of eugyppius (linked through Moon of Alabama, 27th April).
    The history of banning political parties in Germany is complex. To date, the Courts have displayed an admirable degree of independence.
    The most amusing paragraph is as follows:

“In 2001, the Federal Government, the Bundestag and the Bundesrat jointly applied for a ban, but fifteen months later their application failed for intriguing procedural reasons. The judges found that the National Democratic Party of Germany (NPD) was so thoroughly infiltrated by government spies and informants, that it was impossible to distinguish between unconstitutional things the party itself did and said, and unconstitutional things intelligence agents got the party to do and say.”.

Just fancy that, the Security Services infiltrating a political party and installing stooges and agent provocateurs. Heaven forfend that this could ever happen in bucolic Blighty.

• Oneliner says:

Alas, in Blighty, infiltration can happen at the highest level of an organisation. Instances include Kim Philby (MI5/KGB) and Joe Gormley (NUM/MI5).

Currently, there may be others.

• Cynicus says:

“Blighty” is a British English slang term for Great Britain, or often specifically England( WIKI)
      ======
      V.O’B: are you seriously suggesting that Farage & Co Ltd has been infiltrated by MI5?

• Vivian O’Blivion says:

I proceed on the assumption that all parties are infiltrated by MI5. Now, where’s that jar of marmalade, it’s time for breakfast.

• Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

« Now, where’s that jar of marmalade, it’s time for breakfast. » (Vivian O’Blivion)
        ________
        An appropriately cryptic rejoinder follows (of course from a London perspective):

« If you had seen this toast before it was made,
        You’d lift up your hands and bless marmalade! »

Some explanation below for those interested (though circumspectly leaving the most germane link implicit):

The above couplet was adapted from:

“Had you seen these roads before they were made.
        You would lift up your hands and bless General Wade.”

Sir Walter Scott quotes it somewhere, but the apparent attribution is to Major William Caulfeild (sic), who took over from Field Marshall George Wade (1673-1748) with road, bridge, and fort construction in the North of Scotland, designed to facilitate British troop movements in the quelling of the Jacobite insurrections. In 1725 Wade had been appointed “Commander in Chief of His Majesty’s forces, castles, forts and barracks in North Britain”.

12. Shug says:

To be honest dropping this shit is no hit it us a success.
    Does Swinney have the balls to deliver the rest like an alliance of indy parties and groups

• Yoon Scum says:

How will you convince soft NO voters like myself?

Or is it already a vast majority for YES

13. Yoon Scum says:

The conversion therapy ban was a particularly evil policy

As it would ban anyone from saying

“Are you sure”

I’m in a distinct minority here and I don’t think that everyone should be forced by the government to wear clothes as dictated by the state

So I have the thought

I we are going to help people transition

Lets be pretty fecking certain we trans the right ones

Not anyone who is slightly confused

14. Karen says:

Cynical me thought the point of any new misogyny law (and indeed the Hate Crime Act), was to protect “transwomen”. Now the Supreme Court has confirmed “transwomen” are just men, it is being dropped, of course.

Personally, I think “aggravating factors” are wrong in principle. If someone punches you because they perceive you to be gay or “foreign” why should that be treated differently from someone punching you because they think you keyed their car or jilted their sister?

• Lorn says:

The truth is that they never wanted it for women and girls. They couldn’t give ‘trans’ women (men) extra protection without giving women and girls protection of any kind. I suspect they are happy not to implement any misogyny legislation that just affects women and girls. They absolutely have to be left open to the next wave of insanity that comes along.

Not sure I’d welcome it either, to be honest. I’d like to see the Hate Crime legislation repealed in favour of the Common Law of Scotland which would protect everyone regardless of sex, age, ethnic status, race, ability/disability/gender reassignment, etc. Why does the SNP have to make everything so complicated? Spelling out different categories of humans just means that you create loopholes that someone can escape through very easily. The Common Law allows for no loopholes and amends itself on the hoof as it did with selling glue sniffing equipment, and other offences.

• Geri says:

“Why does the SNP have to make everything so complicated?”

Because they’ve looked around themselves & can’t find anything more pressing to do in Scotland. We’re all just fine & dandy.

I’d love to see a law that fines politicians for wasting parliamentary time on bullshit that doesn’t pass the final stages & removed completely for introducing policies no one voted for.

I remember a time when no one wanted labels. Now there’s think tanks & NGOs spending their whole day dreaming up one for every occasion & behaviour along with networks of charities that basically all do the same thing but receive double/triple funding if they tweak the title & pretend they’re different.

I’d look for a lot more bs emanating from Holyrood in the future. That was always “Better Together” mission in the event of the NO vote. They’d dismantle it from within & render it a pointless talking shop full of daydreamers inventing things to waste money on.

• Karen says:

Yes, principles make good law (as in Scots Law) – example The Law of Nuisance. Lists make bad law (as in English Law) – example The Dangerous Dogs Act.

• Lorn says:

I think they were groomed, Geri. The ‘trans’ movement – or ‘woke’ movement, really – saw the SNP as the perfect vehicle to take them into power and influence in Scotland and to, then, try to push through legislation that would also affect the rest of the UK. They knew they had a bunch of suckers and handmaidens ready to roll. In both the SNP and the Greens, they also had a fair number of absolute morons.

The SNP had already decided that independence was just too risky to their careers to attempt to push through, but they saw the ‘woke’ movement as the answer to their prayer: easy, virtue-signalling (aren’t we the good ones?) and the people swallowing it all were as dim as lightbulbs about to expire, or ready to be brainwashed because of trauma, neurodiversity or just plain sexual feelz.

• GM says:

..keyed their car or jilted their sister..?

It depends whose car/sister IT IS maybe? Have I missed this story?

15. Bilbo says:

I see that Trans charities are trying to put pressure on the UK government over the UK Supreme court ruling:

link to archive.is

It’s going to be interesting how the Labour government acts in this where they were the party that had introduced the GRA acts the last time they were in power that caused all this but are now completely under threat now by the resurgence of Reform UK in England.

Will principles come before wanting to stay in power?

• Dan says:

I thought it would have been more interesting and useful for Scotland to have been developing a clearly required strategy over the past several years that would have filled the vacuum Reform is now harvesting…
      But hey ho, it seems Scotland and its politicians and political influencers are indeed too fucking stupid and drawn like flies round shite to the distraction tactics of the likes of the genderwoowoo.

Need a meme with that bloke and the two girls, the ignored girl on right is the wider majority of the working class electorate getting evermore shafted watching eveything going to rack and ruin, the bloke looking away from her is the arsehole politicians and political commenters gawping at the girl on the left that is the genderwoowoo.

Has anybody tried switching the Indy movement off and on again to see if a reboot clears the mindfuck groundhog day blockage.

• Bilbo says:

I have no interest in UK elections but from what I can gather the 2024 Labour election victory, which is the largest majority in recent history, was delivered by yir man McSweeney on a strategy of ABT (Anyone But Tory). A year later, Reform wipes Labour out in the English local elections.

Mayor Swinney seems to be doing the same thing but ABR (Anything But Reform). It might work in next years Holyrood election but what about after that?

It feels like the Scottish election cycle is a bit like chess, no matter how the SNP moves the pieces about the board, it is eventually going to be checkmate against them.

The question is who is going to fill the void? Are they going to wise up and genuinely going to start supporting independence or are Reform going to clip at their heels until they overtake them?

• Dan says:

@Bilbo

I’ll ask if you or anyone else for that matter have any interest in an end the UK plebiscite election?
        You know, the simple straightforward messaging and process of Scots working to produce a democratic expression of our will to return Scotland to self-governance delivered to Westminster, seeing it is afterall the parliament where UK constitutional matters reside.

If however folk want to fuck about watching and trying to game the inherent designed in complex chess-like game of electoral roulette at the “Scottish” poundshop “parliament” packed with devolutionists, unionists (and other assorted mentalists) where devolved powers (not including UK constitution powers) are dealt with then crack on and waste more time.
        And in all that I didn’t even mention the franchise… Oh!

• Bilbo says:

Dan, my use of analogy of chess is that the SNP is positioning itself to protect the Scottish people from the worst excesses of Westminster but we are now at the point with the possibility of a Westminster government involving Reform UK that in holding that position, the only way they can do that is bottle it or go ahead with actually trying to get independence.

Obviously with the likes of Mayor Swinney, is in charge they will bottle it and spin it with deflections like Sturgeon did with Brexit. This time though they won’t get away with it and will be destroyed at the ballot box.

If you are asking me how I would get independence, imagine that I was in charge of the SNP now.

On a council and Holyrood level, I would get the SNP to stand only for good governance and representation of all Scots, regardless of whether they voted for SNP or not in order to win back trust in the SNP and the cause of independence.

Once a level of trust in the SNP has risen, I would get them to campaign at Westminster on the sole promise of negotiating with Westminster with the use of all means at it’s disposal for independence if they get a majority of seats at that election.

I know this has been discussed to death and has been agreed as unworkable but the strategy is not to get independence but to get concessions from Westminster, the goal to get the right to hold an independence referendum devolved to Holyrood.

This strategy could work in the scenario of Reform being part of the next UK government, either they forming the government itself or in coalition with the Tories in some form or another.

If that did happen, there would be overwhelming support against it in Scotland but also in England where the liberal establishment there would do anything to try to destablise which would include constitutional turmoil.

Given that and the current state of the UK economy, which is only going to get worse due to Trumps presidency, constitutional uncertainty would be disastrous for the UK economy so it would make the Reform government weak in dealing with this, not to mention their inexperience in Government, they would be ripe to extract concessions from.

Even with the shallowness of talent in the SNP, they would be able to do this if they held their nerve.

16. Young Lochinvar says:

Remember back in 2000 there was a collective sigh of relief the computers didn’t switch off automatically and with the “end” of the Cold War how positive everything was going forward?

Little did we realise the lunatics let out the asylum would be in charge 25 years later and that the optimistic feeling then has evaporated completely..

Society really needs to have a good look at how it’s turned out..

Needs people who can see beyond their own wee selfish “thing” though so I’m not holding my breath..

• Marie says:

On the contrary I felt very uneasy when the Cold War ended. Not only would it mean more military conflicts promoted by the Cold War “winners” but the public services provided by Western governments like healthcare and social services would come under threat. Social Security kept the system (and the State) secure – it stopped people moving to the left politically. The end of the Cold War unleashed the psychopaths.

• Geri says:

BRICS will be the future & that will end colonialism.

Countries want their Sovereignty back & control of their own resources. That’s why elections across Europe are being cancelled or mashed together in unholy coalitions to try save the Empire. African Nations & the Global South have already started & have had enough of being dirt poor while their country is being robbed blind of its natural resources & wealth ‘while they work in the fields were they belong’ attitude. China & R are helping them get on their feet with loan’s & belt & road initiative along with other BRICS nations & this is why the West is losing its shit. France & England already booted out the Gold mines in Burkina Faso & their funding of insurgents exposed. They’ve already tried to assassinate it’s leader.

Mutual cooperation, mutual trade & investment with *no strings attached* like implementing crazy IMF/World Bank policies, exorbitant loan fees & having foreign interference in every government around the world.

The Americans actually think the won WW2 & the cold war. No, they just swooped in at the end & claimed the credit. The West really despises R & has an unhealthy obsession with destroying it. Even after WW2 Churchill wanted to immediately have the Americans attack the real victors & carve up their resources between them, same with the end of the cold war, rather than hold to agreements & make peace, they immediately backtracked & started moving in NATO & weapons to surround R & point weapons – Georgia & U was the straw that broke the camels bac for P.

Colonialism is over & so is weaponising the reserve currency – there won’t be one, it’ll return to Gold & countries trading in their own currency through their own payments system & trading with whoever they want.
        No more Team America – world police & it’s G7 attack dogs scattered throughout the world wrecking havoc & it’s five eyes of spies.

Good news is that any country who issued illegal sanctions on others (sanctions can only be officially served via the UN) cannot be a full member. That rules out the G7 who’ve always been trigger happy. France has already been told no.

The West are psychopaths tho so they won’t go down without their usual bloodbath first..

So how does this relate to Scotland?
        Everything in the UK is owned by America & manipulated by America. They’re losing their empire & the majority of the world no longer wishes to deal with them. When the new seating arrangements are in place – colonisers won’t be sitting at it & will have zero influence & control over another country’s territory & resources because they won’t have the reserve currency as a weapo to until compliance & they won’t have their exclusive payment system either.

When England is cut adrift (& that’ll be a certainty) the last remnants of its influence on Empire will go with it. It’ll be Billy no mates. They’re not a superpower & will be nowhere near any new seating arrangements because they have zero to offer the world that actually belongs to them. Funding terrorist groups & insurgents has finally caught up with them. They’re Billy no mates on the international stage.

• Yoon Scum says:

Geri

You see America as evil

Can I ask

How?

They left English control over 300 years ago

Do you think English filth like myself are still controlling them

• Geri says:

America booted out the British & had their independence but after WW2 they took the empire off them altogether & took control of their overseas territories. Britain was demoted but remained a junior partner in all of their atrocities throughout the world. That’s why they were given a seat at the UN security council despite having fck all business being there.

Why do I dislike America? They’re just another shower of psychopathic colonisers that’s why, murdering millions based on lies & destabilising whole regions in the name of democracy but they don’t actually allow democracy themselves. The current state of affairs in Europe is testimony to that. Georgia, Romania, Moldova, France etc – They only want puppets in place while they fleece the resources. African Nations are decolonising – fed up of mining all day for a dollar while it’s true weather is syphoned off.

Decolonisation & a return to individual sovereigty is happening now & it can’t be stopped. The Americans have lost the empire & will no longer get to throw it’s weight around. They’ve not only lost their Empire but the ppl too because they’re not putting up with their governments just blocking democracy cause the Empire doesn’t like their choice of candidate. The age of unelected foreign agents messing in everyone’s parliament & overthrowing governments are over & no amount of lawfare they throw at it will change that fact.

Dry yer eyes, Brexshitters wanted the same thing. Yer sovereigty back, tho in the case of England, that won’t amount to much.

The age of the internet has also played it’s part cause propaganda is easily debunked. This site is just one of many. Ppl are becoming wise & want their country’s back & they’re done with the forever wars of colonialism that just spreads death & chaos.

If anyone wants proof of this fact I suggest the tune in to the United Nations & The Hague at the moment for the damning list of charges against them as they truly believe they’re above international law & can just make shit up as they go along & eradicate an entire population of they’re in their way of resources. It can’t come soon enough. Greedy bastards don’t deserve sympathy as they’re currently starving an entire population with their favourite weapon, famine.

England doesn’t do democracy either. If it did Corbyn would be in charge. The ppls choice. Scotland would’ve had a referendum too. We don’t. & Those supposed ‘Western Values’ died the day they bulldozed Ga-za & then had the audacity to bulldoze the humanitarian aid workers too.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Always good to be reminded by Barbie how R helps countries regain their sovereignty and take control of their own resources.

“Colonialism is over”, opines Barbs.

So why doesn’t she tell Pres poot and our own Alf?

BTW. Is it just me who wonders what her heidfart has to do with the subject matter here?

17. Cactus says:

Scotland’s children count.

For and to.

Let’s see what happens…

Glasgow marches today.

18. Dan says:

Still things going on in Scotland…

link to isp.scot

• Hatey McHateface says:

Surely the Hebrides Hum is caused by white sizzlers constant low level gurning?

The natives constant low level whining about the white sizzlers is at a much higher frequency.

And the beavers noises are generally too high pitched to register.

19. TURABDIN says:

IN THE LIGHT OF RECENT EVENTS IN ENGLAND, WEE DIVE INTO HISTORY

link to en.wikipedia.org

I suspect Gilmour would have made, after many political shapeshifts, a rather good «Green».

20. Willie says:

Just been reading about Angus council,their new school at Monifeith High and their policy on toilets.

On the basis of an announcement this week Angus have no intention of altering the blocks of mixed gender toilets.

That way they say they are compliant with the Supreme Court judgement.

Difficult not to think that unless the building os over provisioned with toilets that the number of single sex protected women’s toilets will be less than required for the school.and it’s pupil numbers.

It very much a question that needs to be asked of this SNP controlled education authority. Certainly not beyond our recalcitrant political ideologues to keep women’s toilets low at the expense of requiring them to use mixed’ trans ‘ toilets.

Restrict the number of girls toilets, put them in relatively in?accessible locations and hey presto, judgement avoided.

The Scottish government are bealing about the Supreme Court judgement but they should be instructing their Angus Council to reassign these mixed sex toilets to traditional single sex toilets

• diabloandco says:

Parent power is needed in Angus, mind you it probably needs the media to tell the parents what is happening and that recalcitrant bunch won’t.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Wait long enough, Willie, and the New Scottish Caliphate will decree there is no need to educate girls. Perhaps the shortage of girl’s toilets is just forwards thinking on their part.

You think I’m exaggerating? Plenty regulars on here pine for Scotland to be settled by “Navid”s.

• Lorn says:

If female toilets are not in direct parity with the number of female pupils requiring them, they will be in breach of the EQA 2010, as upheld by the UKSC. It will be direct discrimination. More court cases to come if they do not all comply. Also, disabled toilets must be constructed, too.

The best way to go about it is to have one small loo (maybe a couple of separately accessed lockable cubicles) for ‘trans’ identified pupils of both sexes – i.e. a third space labelled MtF and FtM. They will spit nails about it, because the whole point is to acclimatize males to going into female spaces. They really do not give a flying whatsit about girls or ‘trans’ identified girls either – or children of either sex.

• Willie says:

Yes lorn, you see the issue quite clearly. Underproviding women’s toilets at the expense of proving surplus mixed toilets will.almost certainly be a breach of the EA 2010.

More legal claims to come I suspect as SG and their impeded anti women clique continue with their nonsense.

21. If British Labour bin the assisted killing bill at UK parliament,

and Scot Gov vote to proceed with the Lib Dem MSP Liam McArthur killing the most vulnerable bill,

would Lib Dem MSP Liam McArthur`s bill be allowed to murder the most vulnerable or would the bill be halted by UK Gov.

• Marie says:

Don’t know. What I do know is that encouraging sick people to end their lives prematurely will save the State an absolute fortune. A lot of people will get their financial inheritance that bit sooner too. Win – win. ?

• Yoon scum says:

What if the Scottish government say that it’s only filthy Yoons like myself can apply for assisted dying

It would suit me very well as I get to top myself quickly and easily once I get cancer

YOU get to watch a Yoon die early

Everyone wins

• Hatey McHateface says:

Ach, YS, Scotland might have to wait years, or even decades, for you to get the big ‘C’.

And besides, cancer’s too good for the likes of Yoons.

We’ll stick with the original plan. Confused, aided and abetted by the fragrant Barbie, will turn up on your doorstep with the mobile gas chamber van.

That car behind them will be rammed with Navid’s and their personal belongings. They’ll be moving in to your house. Mind the freezer is stocked with Halal stuff. Paint some helpful arrows pointing to Mecca. You won’t be wanting any unpleasantness on your last day on Earth.

Just close your eyes, think of Indy, and breathe deeply 🙂

• Bilbo says:

YS, here’s a hanky to wipe away all that greetin and snorters.

• Lorn says:

If they turn it into an industry – which they have done with ‘trans’, with ‘green’, etc. – the persuasion factor will be high. Look at Canada. A veritable paradise for eugenics.

22. Confused says:

I would love it if farage / reform ran this in a campaign ad

– potential H bomb (as jonny would say)

of course the evil shit would walk the election by a mile, but it might be worth it just to see how wide the guardian readers can open their mouths

someone will do an AI mashup of this with farage rubbing a cow’s tongue over tice’s shaved head …

the carcasses are pigs?

white cliffs of dover??

a raft???

I think its an ironic denunciation of fascism, or a tribute to laibach

will the neets queue up to join farage’s new model army?

will nigel declare himself lord protector??

better still, supreme leader … sounds better in the german …

(- someone from essex made a bid on ebay for my mobile gas van)

• Hatey McHateface says:

Accept the bid, even if it’s low, but on the condition that Barbie stays with the van.

After all, your hatred for the English exceeds all bounds of reason. What better revenge for you than unleashing Barbie amongst them 🙂

23. Mia says:

Okay, looking at the results of the council elections in England, it seems that Reform UK is swallowing up the tory party and fast. It appears to have also taken what used to be Labour seats, but the bulk of seats Reform has taken were tories.

We see in the press that some labour MPs are claimed to be “firing” back (with hot air pistols, mind) at Starmer and pretending to demand from him to change course, which he (or rather his master) refuses to do. Who would have guessed?

So, what are we really seeing here?

In my opinion, what we see is the deployment of a planned strategy designed to deliver a general lurch to the right by all puppets in control of the political arms of the British state. REform might be presented like the bogeyman, but every single one of the other political parties are just acting to validate it. Mr Redactor Pen’s undemocratic summit was just part of the validation process.

Who/what might have orchestrated this move to the right is less clear. Was it the British establishment? Was it the American deep state? Or was it the Bilderberg group? We might never find out.

Starmer’s closeted tory party cannot be distinguished from the tory party anymore. In fact, in many respects, it is even more to the right than the tory party itself. The idea that Starmer’s political construct is “the left” in the current political scene is beyond laughable and can no longer be sold.

Clearly, those establishment forces who parachuted such an insipid individual as Starmer, with zero charisma and zero leadership skills to n10, had also plans in mind for the tory party too: ie pushing it much more to the far right.

Because pushing the tory party to the right is the only way the duopoly “left/right” aka Labour/Tory, which served the British establishment and those controlling it so well, could be “maintained”.

Until Reform came along, the idea that Starmer’s political construct was in any way or form close to even the most light essence of socialism would be laughed up even by the most right wing tory voters themselves.

What we had in the UK was clearly a “uni-party” set up. A one-party state. The brand of the party in power may change, but the policies, the fabricated austerity and the systematic assault on the working class to squeeze the blood out of them, so the vampires at the top 5% can continue sucking it to grow their riches, did not and will not.

The MSM expects us to believe that the “bipartite” political model in the UK is disintegrating. Well, I ask, is it really?

Is it really disintegrating at all or rather all what we are seeing is simply a change in the guard at the top levels of the British establishment and their heavy (undemocratic) hand actively forcing a staged lurch of the entire duopoly political set up to the right?

Stage 1 – Trap Scotland by infiltrating what used to be the political vehicle for independence, destroying the essence of it, and by activating the colonial figures “lord advocate” and “crown agent” to rob control over the legislative and executive powers and arrest any pretence of democracy.

Stage 2 – Seriously piss off the average voter by force feeding them with very unpopular shite like the gender ID nonsense, cocks in frocks in every private female space and make them believe the parties in power are polluting the minds of their children in primary schools with gender shite to destroy any protective boundaries around our kids, exposing them to predators, and start removing any form of control from parents. That will freak them out. Let’s not forget that in England, the infestation of every public service with this shite started with the tories.

Stage 3 – install a series of establishment puppets in control of what used to be anti-establishment parties (SNP in Scotland and Labour in England). Get those puppets to destroy the democratic structures of those parties to disengage membership from party control, and push the parties to the right and to become fully aligned with British state foreign and domestic policy, never mind that this is directly in contravention to the constitution of those parties. In other words, render those parties completely worthless and transform them into empty carcasses.

Stage 4 – move the tory party quietly to the right, but do so by temporarily changing the branding, to pretend it is something different.

Stage 5 – use the new tory brand to cannibalise the old tory party vote and hoover up a bit of the labour one to pretend the party is attacking “the establishment” and the “status quo” rather than simply being the tool used the status quo itself is using to push everything to the right.

Stage 6 – push some of the more moderate tory vote into the “reserve” bin, aka the “Liberal Democrats”. The vote temporarily stored in the “liberal Democrat” bin can be quickly mobilised back to the new tory brand or to the new labour construct on demand to maintain the “duopoly order”. The only thing that is needed to mobilise the vote is to fabricate some sex scandal or in worse case scenario, having to give a couple of liberal democrat tools a ministerial car and getting them to do the opposite of what they told the voters they would do. We have seen this strategy deployed in the past already.

Stage 7 – bring the tory party back, but after having moved all its manifesto and policies to the right with the excuse that it had to be done to curb the “threat” of the far right and the progress of “Reform”.

We have already seen a very similar strategy being deployed by the establishment right before brexit, didn’t we? the only difference is that at that time it was the European Elections what was used to show the bogeyman. This time they used the council elections. Same strategy different political trojan horse.

And there. Job done.

It seems the establishment is very, very close to achieve its goal. In line with the series of stages above, we are already at stage 6.

The Uk, never mind Scotland, does not have a democracy and this is by design. All that it has is the pretence of it. Voters are not electing anything. We are simply being used at every election to legitimise and validate the changes already planned and deployed by the British establishment.

How do we fight this rigged game?

By refusing to play it. Either we vote for independence (and properly, not for any begging or for any S30 shite) or we deny our vote to the whole set of shisters currently working against us by maintaining this rigged game and systematically taking us all for fools.

• Geri says:

Well said…

• James Cheyne says:

Mia,

Aye, the process is half done. And as I mentioned a week ago, it is only a matter of time before the Reform party are wearing a blue rosette.

The road to a one party state is being resurfaced,
      But it is something that became evident early on when Alex was falsely accused by the Snp. And when the independence funding went missing etc.

I still hold the same personal political position as I put forward to AS when he was asking us to vote for the SNP, that it would wiser for Scots not to vote in a system that demotes the Scottish people to retaining the position of second class people in a second class pound shop parliament.

The Reform parties position on Scottish independence has already been spoken and made clear.
      No democratic decision can be made by the people of Scotland on when, where or how that can come about other than the manner in which they dictate as colonial owners of the treaty of union.

There used to be two Sovereign countries and peoples in the treaty of union until it was colonised.
      So I have withdrawn my X and not voted for the suicide of Scotland and its people for many a year.

• Yoon Scum says:

YEP

the union is vastly unfair that the 65 million English

Have more of a say in Westminster then the 6 million Scots

Which is why I have changed my mind and want out of this stinking union ASAP

and I KNOW that once Scotland is independent

That my local village (population 18 people) will have the same say in government policy as Glasgow

• Hatey McHateface says:

So what if we can never find out who’s behind it all, Mia.

Can’t you just make something up like you usually do?

G’wan. Tell us it’s Da Dews. That’ll earn you another brownie point from Barbs. Maybes Confused too!

I have to confess, though. Seeing you aweeping and awailing over the rise of a new political movement, and it being swept to power because it pushes policies that resonate with a majority of voters, opens another window onto the twisted world view of your all-too-vocal, warped, Indy supporting Scot.

Politicians promising to do what the voters actually want. Fit utter cants, eh Mia. Lets all work tirelessly to mak damn siccar it never happens in Scotland.

• Mia says:

“the rise of a new political movement”

ahahahahahahaha!!! Please do not take me for a fool. A new political movement my foot.

Was UKIP also “a new political movement”? How short is your memory? Because mine is short, but hell, not that short. The strategy Farage has deployed here for the current rise of Reform is exactly the same strategy (bar a few twicks) that he deployed for UKIP back in the day.

At that time, he got 4,000,000 votes, but miraculously (or rather strategically planned), not a single MP. Not even one. It was even a bigger industrial scale waste of vote than that orchestrated by that other establishment stooge Sturgeon with her infamous “SNP 1 and 2”

After Farage’s “achievement” then, he pretty much subjected UKIP to controlled demolition, vanishing into thin air almost as quickly as it appeared. And, surprise, surprise, Farage walked almost immediately out of the political arena once the tory party, Labour and the libDems were all openly supporting brexit.

I still remember like today Farage going to n10 and, rather predictably, shortly afterwards announcing he was no longer standing for election. It was obvious that, to crush out of the EU, the British status quo required its uniparty system if full working order.

I am convinced we will see the exact same thing unfolding coming next GE.

“Politicians promising to do what the voters actually want”
        Again, you may have the memory span of a gold fish, but I do not. I still remember like today the stitch up to libDem voters effected by the so called “liberal democrats” when in coalition with the tories. The two most critical promises of the libdems at the time were to not increase the tuition fees for uni studies and to bring a referendum to effect proportional representation. They deliberately broken both promises. The students fees increased and instead of offering proportional representation, they offered some shite that was even worse than FPTP. That sent the liberal democrats into oblivion. By contrast, the tory party won a majority at the following election.

“pushes policies that resonate with a majority of voters”
        Is that how you see it? Because I do not. The way I see it is that the only thing Reform is doing is to promote RESTORATION of policies that do not need promoting at all because they have always been supported by the majority. And guess what? We already had those policies in place until the current brigade of useful idiots, tasked with fabricating “the” problem so Reform could waltz in as the pretend saviour, started messing about with them, against public opinion, to scare the bejesus out of ordinary voters and create an opportunity for the new bogeyman “Reform” to enter the political scene with a bang.

It is your prerogative to choose to be fooled by this whole act. It is mine to laugh at it and refuse point blank to play along.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Message received loud and clear, Mia:

We’re all doomed.

Jeez. Think I’ll binge watch a few Dad’s Army episodes. See if Private Frazer can cheer me up.

• Captain Caveman says:

“ahahahahahahaha!!! Please do not take me for a fool. A new political movement my foot.”

Heh!
        Your verbose, salty tears and gnashing of teeth make Reform’s sweeping aside of the worse-than-useless Left all the more delectable.

Enjoy. Plenty more to come.

• Yoon Scum says:

Reform are everything that Scotland hates

We shall leave this union and we will become the first completely islamic nation in the EU

And we shall ensure that there is no personnel freedoms and the state controls everything

• Captain Caveman says:

Imagine knocking Reform when you’ve had the SNP and *Scottish Greens* running the show….

Not so much glass houses, more Crystal Palace…

• Mia says:

“Your verbose, salty tears and gnashing of teeth”

What salty tears and what gnashing of teeth are you referring to?

Because I am not producing any. Why should I? I am just looking at the whole charade (predictably) unfolding with my big bowl of pop corn in had.

Reform is not adding anything of value from my perspective but it is not removing anything of value that the other establishment parties (and I include here tories, labour, libdems, SNP and even the Scots Greens) have not removed or trashed already.

Reform is just another status quo political tool deployed by the status quo itself to maintain the illusion and the pretence that the UK is a democracy. There is no democracy for Scotland in this union. There is only absolute rule.

For instance, from what Scottish constitutional law exactly does the current monarch get their “right” to veto legislation, never mind to stop the applicability of that legislation to himself? And, actually, from what Scottish constitutional law does the English crown get ownership of the mineral rights under our houses in Scotland?

“Reform’s sweeping aside of the worse-than-useless Left”
        Are you fooling yourself? Because you are most certainly not fooling me.

Did you actually look at yesterday’s results? Did you see how many councillors the tory party lost? It was more than four times the number of councillors that labour lost.

Reform is not “sweeping aside the left” firstly because there is no left in the UK. There hasn’t been a left since Thatcher’s puppet and war criminal Blair got to power. The closest to a “left” we have seen in the last decade is Corbyn’s labour and we all watched how quickly the status quo shat its pants and deployed a full on character assassination on Corbyn. Just what happens in every “democracy”, isn’t it?

Reform is hoovering up the tory vote. Only if you close your eyes you cannot see it. Labour is loosing track because it never had it in the first place. It was parachuted to power by the MSM and the deep state. You cannot have a rebranding of the tory party whilst still in power. They needed labour to temporarily take the wheel so they could realign.

“Plenty more to come”
        Is it now? Wonderful. Bring it on, I say. The idiot Swinney has already outed himself as an establishment puppet by declaring without saying so that he is far more concerned about UK politics and the far right in England than he is about putting his arse in gear and deliver independence.

Most of us here already knew the SNP was dead as an independence vehicle and that Sturgeon, Yousaf and Swinney are nothing more than British state useful idiots. He simply confirmed it with that silly posturing summit. So more of that, please. The sooner the public at large realise just how rigged and how deceptive this political game is, the sooner they stop playing along and the sooner we can change course.

By the way, I look forward to Farage’s incoming lame excuses to leave the leadership of the party at the most critical point, to not stand as a candidate for next GE or to form some kind of “coalition” with the tories to formalise “the merge” and absorption of Reform into the “new” tory party.

The whole thing is nothing but a charade. Smoke and mirrors. Only a fool would ever believe that the status quo will ever create a political party that would seriously threat the status quo.

• Michael Laing says:

@ Mia: I agree 100% with you on your comments above. There is no ‘left’ in the UK, and there hasn’t been since 1979. Starmer appears to be somewhere to the right of Thatcher. How did he and his like ever come to be in the Labour Party, let alone leading it? It’s Alice In Wonderland stuff.

• Geri says:

Lest we forget before Reform then they were the Brexit party & before that they were Ukippers and before that they were the BNP/EDL… they’ve had more come backs than Status Quo. New party my arse. They’re disgruntled right wing Tories & always have been. The script remains the same tho = racist, anti immigration & anti European with a sense of entitlement – which I always found strange cause they tend to flock there onset up shop despite hating it so much. They’re easy identified on X – they usually have about 10 flags in their bio LOL

I agree with Michael – there hasn’t been a Labour party for decades. Westminster is just pantomime & the UK is a one party state. There was trouble at mill when the membership chose Corbyn – a blip in the matrix. (Must’ve been those Rs again) But that was soon rectified.

Reform will reform absolutely nothing, same shit, different name. They obviously drew the short straw & will be the party installed to kill off the NHS & flog it to Trump cause they need a trade deal & the NHS is all they’re interested in cause they already have everything else. They’ll then be voted out & skulk off back to Tory where they belong but job done. Fall guys mission complete.

Has reform actually done anything in parliament yet? Farage seemed more interested in swanning around the USA than he did at being elected to parliament – that was until Musk told him to do one.

• Geri says:

Starmer came to lead the Labour party through the membership & lying to them – he then promptly culled them all for being Corbynites & reversed every single thing he promised. An obvious plant. They all are.

Foreign agents run both parties. They do as they’re told. Starmer only received something like 37% of the vote when facing the actual public vote.

It’s hilarious really. Yoons think they’re ‘patriotic’ when really the government gets it’s instructions from foreigners..
        Donations from foreigners..
        Receive their heavily edited news from foreigners..
        Everything in the UK is owned by foreigners..

…yet they don’t actually like foreigners & are choosing Reform who they think will reverse foreigners coming here & ‘taking over’ England LMAO!

Reform won’t do a single thing about immigration. Colonisers need cheap labour & so do capitalists so there’s a quandary for him. Spark up the jets to get ppl to go home & he’ll have to start paying real wages with real contracts & real job security – chances of that are remote. He’ll only be jettisoned in by the elites to flog the NHS & be gone again…off somewhere foreign with a hefty paycheck.

• Marie says:

I agree Mia – the lurch to the far right is happening by design.

• Lorn says:

Politics are reactionary. Marie. Too much right, we get left; too much left, we get right. Eventually you create a balance: middle of the road, if you like, which suits most people best, believe it or not.

We are not yet out of a particularly hard left stage of political and social interaction (‘woke) so a move to the right counterbalances that. If it goes too far, the left will adjust it back to the counterbalance. Inertia, when the danger is spotted, is the real threat. Most extremism/fascism/totalitarianism is the result of inertia and allowing things to go too far even as the prophets who see what is happening raise the alarm – and are ignored.

• Geri says:

‘Who/what might have orchestrated this move to the right is less clear. Was it the British establishment? Was it the American deep state? Or was it the Bilderberg group? We might never find out.’

Anyone wetting their pants over increased military spending is usual totalitarian. Especially so when everyone knows they’d be absolute mince on the battlefield so the military spending is really for their own protection for the shit they’re going to unleash soon.

BoJo was going this way before he was rudely interrupted by the bankers wanting shot of him cause he just couldn’t shut his mouth at home or abroad (& still can’t as he blew the real reason behind U = resources to bankroll England)- he was already making manoeuvres on all the institutions before he was booted out, Parliamentary standards, HOL committees on who could become Lords (then ignoring them), BBC chief, Electoral commission, OFCOM & loads more he all either changed or disregarded including the Queen & prorogation of parliament. The bankers jettisoned in the billionaire to take his place who carried on the Draconian changes with the police bill.

On geopolitical channels they claim its a mix of bankers & the (supposedly) intelligence services putting up placements. This makes sense really cause 1. They’ve absolutely zero regard for public opinion on anything they pass through parliament & don’t care much for democracy.
      2. The totalitarian eejits running the EU & starting WW3 at the moment & also disregarding democracy – all come from banking backgrounds & banks want to control the population through AI (WEF). Misbehaving will get yer account suspended, closed completely or just exterminate us through our devices (just as Isr did recently as a wee test) & even tho it’s been proven to be wrong over 50% of the time (Met police on facial recognition) so far – that’ll just be chalked up as collateral damage & lessons will be learned.

24. Frank Gillougley says:

Apropos of nothing in particular other than last weeks Maggie Chapman row. Sometimes its illuminating to apply past beliefs to a current situation to see how far the balance of society and its regulatory administrations have changed from democratic ideals to the self-serving interests of bureaucratic power. Below are the all important set of 5 questions that the late Tony Benn espoused regarding power and democracy:

“What power have you got?”
    “Where did you get it from?”
    “In whose interests do you use it?”
    “To whom are you accountable?”
    “How do we get rid of you?”

When I look at the Scottish parliament and apply these questions, it’s fairly plain to see that they have all but forgotten the answer to the second one, they serve their own interests, they are accountable to no one, and because of the PR system adopted, the electorate can’t get rid of them.

For me, that goes some way to explaining why we are where we are.

25. James Cheyne says:

Dan,

My new favourite phrase. Do you mind if I borrow it quite a lot.

Our “pound shop parliament,”

It just so apt.

26. Hatey McHateface says:

Interesting article on the BBC Online website at the moment – “How ordinary Poles are preparing for a R invasion”.

It tells alert readers volumes about the parlous state of Scottish Indy when they can learn more about freedom, sovereignty, independence, commitment, courage, patriotism and the fight against aggressive colonialism on the BBC than they ever will on Wings BTL.

Aye. Wha’s like us? None.

The “all deid” bit is a lie. There never was a previous generation of Scots quite like this one in all the centuries that went before us.

• Marie says:

Imagine admitting publicly that you get your “news” from the propaganda arm of the British State. Sad.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Wow, Marie, you’ve blown our minds with that post.

I’ll respond formally eventually, but I’ll ask your forbearance meantime.

Your post is so rich in meaning, allegory, wit, humour, many-layered ambiguities, humanity, and eternal verities too, it will take me quite some time and effort to assemble the reply you deserve.

Truly, I am not worthy, but out of respect and admiration, I’ll try my best to up my game to your level.

BTW, shouldn’t you be at work?

• Yoon Scum says:

I love how ALL scottish nationalists have cancelled their license fee

AND

Know WAY more about what is on the BBC then I do

• willie says:

Marie, the words News and BBC when put together are I believe is what is called an oxymoron.

Me, I gave up on the BBC a long time ago. Many many others have too. Sub atomic particles have a characteristic called spin and the BBC have spin in huge measure.

The mainstream media with examples such as the Daily Record or the Scottish Sun ( oxymoron – again ) also have the imbedded characteristic of spin.

In combination it seems to me that the result of their quantum chemistry is deliver a form of matter reminiscent of the fabled black Kryptonite – toxic and well rhymed with shite, for that is what the MSM delivers.

So yes your barb to Hatey about the BBC this evening is well understood. Quantum physics and grammar all in the one evening on Wings – sublime.

But meanwhile in the real world, and recognising Reform’s success one wonders what dimension Sir Keir Starmer’s man in Scotland will be in this evening. Methinks Sarwar ( and his party ) will be in the Twilight Zone contemplating their future.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Grow up, Willie, FFS.

News and facts don’t become fake news and lies just because you’ve got a chip on your shoulder about the messenger.

Why are you recognising Reform’s success when it’s been reported by the BBC?

Your logic is so twisted the bottom of your post refutes what you wrote at the top.

Tell you what. If you ever grow up enough to be able to face facts, maybe you could bring yourself to take a clear look at Poland and the Poles. They could certainly teach the average Indy puler on here a thing or two about country, nation, culture and courage.

• Bilbo says:

Waves and waves of R mechanised armour rolling across Europe with their cheap Chinese tyres LOL

27. agent x says:

Politics is not done well on here.

Stick to the bleeding heart colony rubbish.

28. agent x says:

‘It’s needed now more than ever’: Thousands march in support of Scottish independence

link to thenational.scot

Believe it or not.

• Yoon Scum says:

I wonder when the NATs will work out

Them marching around with their flags is nothing more then a nice walk out with other racists

They won’t change one single mind

29. SusanAHF says:

Is Reform “far right”? It’s a cheap MSM jibe.im “far right” because I agree with the Supreme Court decision according to TRAs. What price labels?

• agent x says:

a woman is a biological woman – shock to the SNP.

• Jay says:

Susan: it could well be a waste of words to apply right or left labels, maybe ever since the dissolution of the old French National Assembly. Corporal Caveman loves them, though, alongside random capitals ( below).

As for Reform, eventually their policies might become clear but maybe they will prove to be as flexible as Nigel Farage’s rubbery faces. It is quite a challenge to be ‘all things to all men’. It is said that he aims for full privatisation of the NHS which is believable for a rich former commodity trader who showed great liking for Trump.

Could be that the ‘price’ (or purpose) of labels is obfuscation.

• Captain Caveman says:

Nope, sorry mate, words have specific, intrinsic and well-defined meanings, ergo “left wing” and “right wing” politics (just as other words such as “man”, “woman”, “ignoramus”, “imbecile” do, if you catch my drift). Your deriding these well-defined terms as mere “labels” changes nowt, and merely succeeds in highlighting either your conceit or ignorance, probably both.

No matter, son. Those millions of hardworking people who have to set their alarms early each working day have spoken – and loudly. They’ve had enough – and change is wanted, nay demanded. About time too.

30. robertkknight says:

I think there’s a far more simplistic reason which explains Reform’s performance and it has far more to do with the skin colour of both the current and the former Tory party leaders than many political pundits care to admit; at least publicly.

• Geri says:

Robert – yes. I think that too. They wouldn’t be elected as PM & political pundits should give way to Royal ones cause they aren’t too shy at showing their true colours when it comes to Megan Markel either. They absolutely detest her & for the exact same reason…

• robertkknight says:

The race/ethnicity of the most recent leaders of the Tory party is very much the “Elephant in the Room” where the MSM is concerned.

If Truss hadn’t chosen the bin-fire path to economics and had remained in place, I very much doubt Reform would be anywhere close to where it finds itself in the polls.

• Yoon Scum says:

I’d guess you’re too stupid to understand the following

I’d also guess that like the vast majority of moon howlers you are incapable of imagination

Probably a bit too bigoted as well as you think the English are all far right screaming racist scum

But lets give this a go

Imagine you’re living in England

You think that the red and blue tories are disconnected idiots who have no idea of anything outside of their own little central London bubble

Who would you vote for?

• Mia says:

“Imagine you’re living in England. You think that the red and blue tories are disconnected idiots who have no idea of anything outside of their own little central London bubble. Who would you vote for?”

Precisely. But do you seriously think the British establishment did not realise about that already when it has been the British establishment itself what have deliberately caused that despair and disconnect among voters in the first place?

And if they realised of that because they caused it, do you seriously think they did not already planned ahead to take advantage of (or rather neutralise) the massive opportunity for a new “revenge vote” party that represents having disenfranchised a huge proportion of the voters?

Open your eyes.

At the last GE there were already signs that a new party to the left of labour was emerging. Despite the best efforts by the establishment to stop him, Corbyn got in as an independent. Remember that when Corbyn was at the helm of Labour, that party had the largest membership ever. That seriously freaked the establishment (and those at the other side of the Mediterranean see) out. How do you think they have tried to counteract/neutralise that?

In coming REform. The new party fabricated out of thin air that talks the talk, but when it comes to walk the walk, it is very likely to revert to the good old status quo and on steroids, just as it happened with UKIP.

We have a similar situation in Scotland but exacerbated because here, we do not give a shit about the divide “left”/”right”. What we care about here is “independence”/”absolute rule from the English crown”.

The SNP has deliberately stabbed its voting base in the back by turning into a shell of itself and into yet another unionist party which is labour in all but in name.

England has always the libdems (another party of the establishment designed to buffer the “revenge vote”) to “punish” the duopoly. But here in Scotland we do not even have that because it is just another pro colonial party.

Currently, those seeking independence and who do not believe Scotland has to bend the knee to anyone nor ask permission for anything, have very little choice. Particularly if you have already realised that the political game is always rigged against Scotland’s independence and designed to keep Scotland permanently trapped in this toxic union.

Judging by the number of people who did not vote in Scotland at the last GE, it is obvious that all what the SNP + the rest of the unionist parties have done is to disenfranchise people – ie seed the field for the arrival of Reform.

Do you think it is just a coincidence and the result of their own incompetence?

Well, I do not. But I am a self-confessed cynic. I am of the opinion that all this is part of a very carefully planned strategy to neutralise the risk that creating disenfranchisement among a very large proportion of the voting base represents.

That stupid summit by Mr Redactor Pen was, clearly in my view, just another attempt by the establishment to validate Reform as a serious anti-status quo party. And more importantly, another cynic attempt by useless Mr Devolution Swinney to distract the pro independence voting base from the fact that he does not have the conviction, the balls, never mind the will, to actually progress independence at all, so he rather engage in stupid and pointless UK political games.

Look back in time. Farage was no reliable leader. He is clearly very intelligent and knowledgeable. He could talk the talk brilliantly, but when it came to walk the walk, he stepped aside and let the whole thing fall down. Do you seriously think that it was because he is lazy or felt powerless? Well I do not. I am of the opinion that this was always by design, because that was precisely his remit. I do not see his new maneuver with Reform as anything different.

I totally sympathise with the people of England and, of course, it is for the people of England themselves to find a solution to their problem. But from here, what I see is that the solution is never to look at figures of the establishment as the saviours who will solve the problem the establishment itself created. Because they will not. They will circle the wagons around the establishment and make the problem even bigger.

If you want a real “fuck the status quo” party, it has to come from the grassroots. Or even better. The better “fuck the status quo” vote you can ever deliver is by refusing to continue playing the status quo’s rigged game. Change the rules. Let the whole faux democracy edifice of UK politics fall all its way down to the ground.

• robertkknight says:

Oops…

I would appear to have touched a nerve.

• Yoon scum says:

Okay I agree 100%

Reform are an MI5 shadow a ct to protect the rich English

Now imagine that Corbyn had got in and he had immediately executed the richest 10% and had handed control of Trident over to Hamas

Would you still want to leave the union

31. Bilbo says:

We need to be careful about this MSM meme of ‘far right’. Wasn’t it just a few weeks ago if you said that a woman is a biological female, you were deemed far right?

Put simply, on social issues that everything is so far to the left that anyone who thinks otherwise is deemed far-right.

Reform UK can be seen as the old Tory party that was both economically and socially to the right. Of course there are things on social issues that we can have in common with RefUK but there will be a lot of the economic ones that they are in favour of that we will passionately disagree with.

Until there is correction to a middle ground on a lot of issues, there is no point getting caught up on the liberal media manufactured fights with RefUk but concentrate on the real policies that we disagree with them like privatising the NHS and cutting essential services for the vulnerable.

• Jay says:

Bilbo
      Agreed that we need to be careful about this MSM meme of ‘far right’ if you mean that it is a value-judgement label applied in an attempt to discredit the ‘target’.

‘Meme’ is not in my dictionary and the term could be a modern attempt to manipulate our thinking by introducing a word which lacks any properly established conceptual foundation or consistent real-world application, rather like the terms ‘righr’ and ‘left’ in political useage.

If we do not sort out the language we are no better than the MSM which is correctly criticised . In your second paragraph you adopt the term ‘left’ which might be an attempt to engage in the same technique of manipulation as used by the MSM but from a differing ideological/normative position.

Is there a ‘middle ground’? I cannot see it where NHS privatisation is concerned, nor when a huge variety of other matters are in question.

How much disagreement can be contained within a National Liberation movement?

• Bilbo says:

Not sure if meme is the right word to use in this situation but I was getting across this practice of saying something often enough until it is accepted as truth.

For info, here is wiki entry of meme:

link to en.wikipedia.org

32. ivan munro says:

As we approach the glorious celebrations of VE day, I wonder if Scotland would be a healthier and more prosperous country if Germany had won the war ?

Obviously Hitler would be long gone as Trump will soon be. Why are we forced to [celebrate] these unionists wars ?

• Cynicus says:

“Why are we forced to [celebrate] these unionists wars ”
      =====
      as false flags go, that is a pretty feeble attempt!

I would not put the above post on my CV for the new Bellingcat vacancy if I were you!

• Yoon Scum says:

Do you think that the English are more evil then the Nazi movement?

• Willie says:

Yes I think the English are worse than the Nazis.

England had a bigger empire than the Third Reich ever achieved.

Over the period of the British Empire which was taken by force and subterfuge the British killed more than the Nazis ever did. It’s just that you don’t read so much about the wonderful British Empire where the blood never dried.(- but read the book by that name )

• Hatey McHateface says:

As Willie so rightly points out, virtually every inhabitant of the countries England colonises dies.

And as the English are Nazis, they’re obviously worse than the Nazis, who aren’t English, apart from the ones who are.

I’m intrigued by his references to the British and English Empires in the same post. Odd to see a Scottish Nationalist equating Britain with England, so something else must be going on.

I think that not only was there a British Empire and an English Empire, there was a Scottish Empire too. As evidence, I cite the Scottish place names to be found in former Scottish colonies, all over the globe.

And then there’s the Scottish surnames you find everywhere. Not to mention the people you randomly meet in foreign countries, who fall over themselves to tell you about their Scottish ancestry, if they find out you’re from Scotland.

But, to be fair to Willie, I can’t rule out the existence of a shadowy cabal of Nazis, English and English Nazis, with agents in every country, dedicated to spreading the hideous lie that Scotland and the Scots were right up there with the worst, enthusiastically colonising, theiving and genociding during the golden age of European imperialism.

Aye, some big bad English Nazi barsturds did the English Empire and then ran away.

• Dunx says:

The Union can be blamed for a lot of things, but I don’t think WW2 is one of them.

33. Sven says:

Ivan munro

Probably not ‘healthier or more prosperous’ if you happened to be Jewish, Evangelical, Romany or a Jehovah’s Witness for starters, ivan.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Or a commie, pinko fag.

A few of these descriptions certainly apply to a few of the regulars on here.

34. Most academics agree that the English Empire was the most evil of them all,

causing the death of 200,000,000 poor souls,

African saying,

`The English came to our land with the bible,
    and told us to close our eyes and pray,
    when we opened our eyes the English had our land and we had the bible`

• Hatey McHateface says:

Meh. Poor souls, arseholes, whatever.

And if you’re just going to make stuff up, why not claim 200 trillion? Much easier to remember.

BTW. If you’re rewriting the British Empire out of history so you can virtue signal about the English Empire, where do the Scots fit in?

Are you lumping our Scottish imperialist ancestors in as English, or are you claiming the Scottish Empire was a separate endeavour?

Ordinarily the alert readers would conclude you haven’t thought this through, but for you, Scot, an exception is warranted.

You haven’t thought.

• Willie says:

The problem with England is that thus far it has never sustained the big slaughter.

Good enough for the Brit Empire in the day to wage huge slaughter around the globe whether it be by military slaughter,or deliberate slaughter by famine,or slaughter by germ warfare or the more recent bombing of middle Eastern countries by the RAF, the Brits have done it all.

But think could you imagine a Gaza situation being visited on London, or a couple of million Londoners starved to death. It would certain chasten the mind about what a good slaughtering is about.

Of course it’s peace we want. Violence and in all it’s iterations is ultimately a lose lose game.

But yes, the British Empire slaughtered more than the Nazis ever did.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Careful what you wish for, Willie.

Not that many English people left in London.

Your couple of million starved to death would predominately kill ethnic incomers.

But don’t you let awkward facts get in the way of your twisted revenge fantasy.

35. Andrew scott says:

@ ivan munro
    You post is one of the worst i have ever read on here
    Utter disgrace

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,764 Posts, 1,218,797 Comments

• McDuff on Tell Them You’re Frightened: “What makes me sick is that all those SNP MP/MSPs got voted in on the basis that they would be…May 29, 21:18
    • Red on What Anas Actually Said: “When Reform get into the Scottish Parliament, can we finally get a public inquiry into the grooming gangs in Glasgow,…May 29, 21:10
    • Lorn on What Anas Actually Said: “Perhaps, Red, but I suspect it was more about Islam than it was about being Pakistani. You could have Pakistani…May 29, 21:01
    • Sally Hughes on What Anas Actually Said: “For the leader of a mainstream Political Party (sub-branch), which is supposed to be moderate, to commit such an own…May 29, 20:54
    • willie on What Anas Actually Said: “Sad fact of life is that the Pakistani come Muslim community very much see themselves as a community apart. That…May 29, 20:51
    • Scot Finlayson on What Anas Actually Said: “Massie will write 500 or 1000 words on any subject his editor tells him, it`s generally the same 500 or…May 29, 20:48
    • Marie on Tell Them You’re Frightened: “Holyrood gets pocket money. Westminster is the parent, and as parent, has final say on everything.May 29, 20:34
    • Axel Heyst on What Anas Actually Said: “Eh? Have you looked at a map, rather than old colonial divides and rivers? I’m a Cocos Malay, which asian…May 29, 20:07
    • Stuart MacKay on What Anas Actually Said: “If only he were called Anastovich Sarwarov. Can you imagine the gnashing of teeth and rending of garments.May 29, 19:51
    • Red on What Anas Actually Said: ““Disappointed in Massie. On the right, but, usually, intelligent.” Lorn, Alex Massie is a Tory. The Tories are spineless cowards…May 29, 19:43
    • Alf Baird on What Anas Actually Said: “Though obscured in a colonial society, cultural imperialism is based on the racist superiority of one group over others (Edward…May 29, 19:28
    • Mia on Tell Them You’re Frightened: “I am wearing my cynic hat on right now. There is less than a year until the next Holyrood election.…May 29, 19:14
    • agent x on What Anas Actually Said: “West Asia (also called Western Asia or Southwest Asia) is the westernmost region of Asia. As defined by most academics,…May 29, 19:10
    • agent x on What Anas Actually Said: “South Asia is a subregion of Asia located between the Himalayas to the north and the Indian Ocean to the…May 29, 18:55
    • James on Tell Them You’re Frightened: “What’s sixth form? Are you foreign?May 29, 18:19
    • katielass42 on Tell Them You’re Frightened: “‘Change’… yes, we heard all that from labour – and look what we got. Until each party explains PRECISELY what…May 29, 18:10
    • twathater on What Anas Actually Said: “So thrope you only want certain truths to be highlighted or talked about, let’s all just ignore the BLATANT baiting…May 29, 18:00
    • Tartan Tory on What Anas Actually Said: “Hmmmm. Perhaps I should consider it then! That said, seeing some of their new crop of PPC’s, they may need…May 29, 17:49
    • agent x on What Anas Actually Said: ““Of those three, one is a current government minister, one is currently the leader of the main opposition party and…May 29, 17:46
    • Mark Beggan on What Anas Actually Said: “He won the competition that many time his mother was allowed to keep the trophy.May 29, 17:36
    • SusanAHF on What Anas Actually Said: “I agree AntonDMay 29, 17:16
    • Anton Decadent on What Anas Actually Said: “Glasgow Southside Central councillor Soriya Siddique stated that in Scottish councils there are too many “male, pale and stale” staff.…May 29, 16:50
    • Tommo on What Anas Actually Said: “I heard that the midwife slapped his mother..May 29, 16:46
    • Anton Decadent on What Anas Actually Said: “All they had to do previously was employ the smear tactic with career ending words aimed at those they targeted…May 29, 16:40
    • Lorn on What Anas Actually Said: “You may be right, Susan, but, to me, it seemed to be a power play that verged on racism. It…May 29, 16:19
    • Rev. Stuart Campbell on What Anas Actually Said: “If there’s only ONE article up by midnight I’ll be gutted.May 29, 16:09
    • Rev. Stuart Campbell on What Anas Actually Said: ““didn’t think you’d stoop to this stu. what a pity” To what, exactly?May 29, 16:06
    • Mark Beggan on What Anas Actually Said: “The only vote Sarwar ever won outright on his own merit was the Ugly Baby competition.May 29, 16:03
    • A on What Anas Actually Said: “I agree with Susan (and you, Lorn). The days of Muslims, Sturgeonite Transcultists, and Defenders of our imperial masters never…May 29, 15:59
    • Captain Caveman on What Anas Actually Said: “To be fair, Reform insist on having a “real” career, proven success record (eg owning a small business) etc if…May 29, 15:28