The Future Is Yesterday

Posted on February 18, 2026 by

So on the one hand there’s obviously very little point paying attention to the SNP’s regional list candidates for May’s Holyrood election, because as this website has comprehensively demonstrated over recent months, the chances of the SNP having any list MSPs elected are remote.

However, nothing is impossible, so let’s take a look at the B team, which also serves as a guide to the party’s upcoming talent taking its first steps towards the gravy bus.

Well, that was even grimmer than expected.

We should probably start at the very bottom of the barrel.

Because the SNP seem absolutely hell-bent on inflicting the utterly loathsome Fatima Joji on the people of Scotland by hook or by crook.

Not only is she the constituency candidate for Aberdeenshire West – currently held by Alexander Burnett for the Tories on a slim majority of under 3,400 and looking very vulnerable given their collapse in national polling from 22% to 11% – but she’s also been voted third on the SNP’s regional list, which sounds like no chance until you realise that the top two (Stephen Flynn and Gillian Martin) will very likely win their constituency seats, which are both currently SNP with the Tories in second.

So in the event that the SNP do fail to win a few constituency seats in the North-East, Joji will effectively be first in line for a list seat even if she hasn’t won Aberdeenshire West. And even in a region currently represented by both Karen Adam and Maggie Chapman, that is a pretty catastrophic degradation in member quality.

But Joji isn’t the only one being offered a belt-and-braces double ticket. Most of the regional lists are being topped by people also standing for (and likely to win) constituency seats, so the electorate’s chances of rejecting them are almost nil. Let’s redline those and see what’s left.

An incredible 45 of the full slate of 71 list candidates (63%) are also contesting constituency seats, which means that some of the very worst of the party’s absolute dregs – including serial carpetbagger Graham Campbell, the hideous Declan Blench and his fellow “Out For Independence” stalwart Michael Gibbons – are actually in pole position to get list seats should the SNP manage to secure any, despite finishing as low as NINTH on the party’s internal ballot.

There’s also a generous smattering of FILTH – Failed In London, Try Holyrood – trying to get back to the trough after being unceremoniously binned at the 2024 UK election.

(bold entry indicates a double ticket, both constituency and list)

John Beare
Steven Bonnar 

Deidre Brock
Alan Brown

Allan Dorans
Patricia Gibson

David Linden 
Kirsten Oswald 
Tommy Sheppard
Alyn Smith
Alison Thewliss 

(You can be forgiven if you’ve never heard of some of those names despite them being MPs for years, we hadn’t either. But it’s nice to see serial failure Toni “independence is off the agenda” Giugliano getting yet another swing at the gravy pinata. Poor old Katy Loudon must be gutted.)

Basically, as long as you really really hate women’s rights and represent no danger whatsoever of dissenting from the leadership, the SNP will bust a gut to make sure you get into Parliament somehow, no matter what the voters think.

What all that tells us, of course, is that the SNP’s talent pool has the depth of a soggy tissue, and that its next generation makes the useless current one look like a team of geniuses. Readers, if there were still any of you contemplating a list SNP vote despite everything, we simply invite you to picture Fatima Joji, Graham Campbell and Declan Blench trousering £75,000 a year for the next half-decade and shaping the laws of Scotland while they do it.

There is no rescuing this stale vomit-slick of a party. Only its destruction will do.

0 to “The Future Is Yesterday”

1. duncanio says:

What a bunch of numpties.

2. David says:

The thought of Campbell getting in makes me boke.

3. Terry says:

You’ve been right for years. Agreed. They need to go. But how? Apart from us not voting for them. I’m hoping one of the court cases does it.

• Skip_NC says:

But all that one of the court cases may do is make people not want to vote for them. They need to go so that those who still have faith that the SNP will deliver independence realise they have been horribly misled. Then we can rebuild a proper independence movement and actually realise our dream.

4. sarah says:

Horrifying, appalling, sickening, terrifying, outrageous. What a dreadful level the SNP has fallen to.

Alliance to Liberate Scotland is the ONLY option for those who want sincere, principled MSPs.

• sarah says:

I forgot Alba – if they joined the Alliance umbrella, that would be even better.

5. Young Lochinvar says:

I don’t believe for a second that “the independent” courts alone decided sneaky Pete’s hearing would be held back to take place after the election.

I think Bain tipping the wink early to Swinney is just part of a series of colander like leaks and tip offs between their respective networks..

As an aside, I could have sworn John MacKay in STVs early afternoon news round up said “Paula” Murrell..

Yikes!

6. sarah says:

Is there a glimmer of hope that at least one of these troughers won’t get back? Emma Roddick, currently a list MSP in Highland, is standing against Fergus Ewing for a constituency. She only just got the list seat last time as the SNP vote was strong enough to gain 3[?]constituencies. If they get fewer or their list vote share falls enough, there’s a chance that Emma will have to return to the real world. Oh dear, how sad, never mind.

7. John says:

whatever is published by WoS, the short, stark truth remains simple: (i) despite a convincing and comprehensive track record of not delivering in government, the Scottish population is going to elect the SNP (probably with a majority) yet again for another term. That’s – well – astonishing. (ii) that same Scottish population clearly appears to think that the second best alternative is -who’da thought- Mr. Nigel Farage and his welcoming overtures to strengthening inward migration.

that’s all one needs to know.

8. Cynicus says:

“Emma Roddick, currently a list MSP in Highland, is standing against Fergus Ewing for a constituency”
    ============
    Vote Fergus Ewing

#No Votes SNP

9. Rob says:

I have always had a problem with the concept of “list” MSP’s. I don’t understand how a small group of self interested party members can decide who and what is represented for us without being voted in.
    I dislike even more that someone standing for a constituency can be rejected and then get in on the list anyway, even though they have been rejected by the electorate.
    Maybe a petition should be started that a potential MSP can only be on one list and not both.

10. 100%Yes says:

So why not just vote Reform and be done with the SNP, sound good to me.

11. MaryB says:

Off topic but relevant. Inde car aka Gordon Ross reports that the UK government appears to have pulled the plug on the future development of the Scottish space industry. The company producing the rockets, Orbex, in Forres, launches from Saxavord in Shetland. It’s a home grown Scottish highly specialist industry.
    You’d expect the SNP government to be fighting this to keep this state of the art Scottish industry alive and well – but they don’t seem to be doing that?

• 100%Yes says:

The SNP gave up on Scotland after the referendum. I just wished people would waken up before its to late and we are getting very close to that point.

12. Hatey McHateface says:

Dunno why Stu has such a downer on Oor Fatima.

I look at her and see future First Minister potential.

FFS! Count the boxes ticked!

13. Effijy says:

It’s like 3 legged horses must have the right to enter the Scottish Grand National.
    If it can’t jump and is allergic to Jockeys it will be given first priority.
    A fortune will be spent on the best vets and the top Jockey.

Now put all of that Indy ring fenced money on it coming in first with a Westminster Bookie.
    I live in hope of a local independent candidate with common sense ready to work for Indy 2.
    Alba is a forever second vote for me regardless.

14. Campbell Clansman says:

This list of numpties shows how absurd it is for people (mostly Leftists) to wish that the government runs more of our lives.
    Put another way, the only reason people should want bigger government and more regulations (i.e., SNP, Green, Labour, LibDem) is if they also believe that politicians are competent and have our best interests at heart.

15. Aidan says:

They’ll be advertising the vacancies for SNP MSP’s down at the job centre at this rate. I honestly think they’d do better campaigning on the basis that they’ll select their preferred candidate at random off the street the day before (should electoral law allow it, which of course it doesn’t). I quite like that Sally Donald is running though, she at least seems like someone who would be fun on a night out. Unlike the others. Not a high bar I know.

However national polling suggests the SNP will gain the most seats, but not a majority (of course). Cue some feeble whining about a s.30 order,“Noo ya cannae” from Downing Street, see you all again in 2031 folks.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Aidan

Sally Donald?

I suspect you are barking up the wrong tree!

Gaun yerself, go full-on-Tonto, ask Kelly Given out!!!

Let us know how you’re night out goes ?

• Young Lochinvar says:

Aidan

Sally Donald?

I suspect you are barking up the wrong tree!

Gaun yerself, go full-on-Tonto, ask Kelly Given out!!!

Let us know how you’re night out goes ?

16. James Barr Gardner says:

A Vote for the “Status Quo” is a Vote for Further Austerity at best, at worst a Third World War !!!

• Hatey McHateface says:

More alert readers will be observing the 4th anniversary of the outbreak of WW3 next week.

As for austerity, with government spending on “welfare” at an all-time high, I guess our dictionaries must differ on the meaning of the word.

Would I be right in thinking you’re one of those still believing all we have to do to make ourselves rich is go vote for it once every 5 years? Haha, I bet I am!!!

17. Peter McAvoy says:

This list of candidates is only likely to increase despair.

I wonder if they could keep Alexander Dennis open.

No makes in female jails.trans lobby G T F.

18. Stuart MacKay says:

They’re more organised than you. Even if the SNP disappears, they’ll just hitch their wagon to the next horse that comes along.

However, Reform vs Woke is now the new face of two-party politics. You’d better get used to it.

The independence movement within Woke wants it, because more woke, with added Euro-woke. The independence movement within Reform are likely to be a small minority, because it’s fundamentally a British party.

The only solution is to become more organised than either of them, or change the game.

19. Iain More says:

The latest Opinion Poll suggest that the SNP only has 33% support on the Constituency Vote.

Yet we are living under the most Corrupt and probably the Sleaziest London Govt we ever have and perhaps the most anti Scottish Govt since Thatcher. TAXI FOR SWINNEY AND THE SNP.

If the American English NAZI and Child Rapist Party “Reform” Doesn’t stand in the Constituencies and only stands on the Regional Lists then the SNP will be wiped out by Tactical voting. It will be a BLOODBATH.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“American English NAZI and Child Rapist Party “Reform””

You left out “faeces eating”, Iain. I think it goes best right after “NAZI”, but feel free to differ.

• 100%Yes says:

AYE,

The polling figures for most of the parties are at the lowest they have been in a long time other than new formed parties.

If I’m wrong then I’m sure someone will notify me, but its my understanding its in Constituencies where the SNP win all of their seats. For while people have stated the SNP should put forward another party for people to vote for on the regional to win more seats.

Your comment “Reform” Doesn’t stand in the Constituencies and only stands on the Regional Lists then the SNP will be wiped out by Tactical voting. It will be a BLOODBATH.”. I believe the voters are more likely to stay at home and just not vote at all rather than do tactical voting.

I’ve already heard form the MSM that the Scottish Greens have asked Your Party not to stand in the Constituencies. Forgot about the Independence supporters in the SNP they will vote SNP, but their is a bigger portion of voters who vote for SNP only because they don’t want to vote for a Unionist party, here comes Your party who just might stop the SNP being able to win most of the Constituencies seats and lets not forget the SNP can not change the status quo on the constitutional question but your Party can and it also supports the idea of giving Scotland the right to chose for its self, this is something the SNP can not do.

I know for a fact that Independence supporters are going to vote not for the SNP but for reform.

Its going to be a interesting night on 7th May and the SNP just might have egg on its face. Everything is to play for.

• Hatey McHateface says:

I hadn’t twigged that Your Party are an alternative route to Indy.

After typing the question into Google, I got a link to an article in The National, headed up by a pic of those life-long, committed Scottish nationalists, Corbyn and the Sultana bint.

Decisions, decisions! Just as well the election is still a few weeks away.

20. TURABDIN says:

AS SCOTLAND is not a functioning authentic democracy does the outcome of any election matter? May as well burn the ballot boxes for warming winter fuel.
    Eminently a more satisfactory/benefitial result.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Sez you, TURABDIN.

Requires but an hundred driven, committed, savvy, rational, honest, authentic Scots prepared to stand on a plebiscitary platform, armed with a plausible, popular programme for the days, weeks and years after election, and with an utter determination to deliver on their promises.

And all the greetin, gurnin, hand-wringing, and bleating about “it’s not fair” can never be allowed to obscure that simple fact.

I try very hard to avoid subscribing to the conspiracy theories, TURABDIN, but every poster claiming as a fait accompli that we’re all doomed, when the democratic route to Indy is crystal clear, certainly isn’t helping.

Quite the opposite.

• Alf Baird says:

We are no longer in the realm of ‘conspiracy theories’ when even colonialists in Holyrood are calling for another Lord Advocate’s heid; a colonial justice system is aye supposed to protect the colonizers interest, not the leeberator.

Clearly a difficulty in trying tae ser twa maisters – both colonizer and colonized – where the latter is usually sacrificed.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Sez you, Alf.

When you continually claim that anyone who disagrees with you is a colonialist, nobody can be surprised that you see colonialists everywhere.

21. Young Lochinvar says:

Andrew Mountbatten-Windsor’s daily morning routine.

1. Wake up
    2. Ablutions
    3. Issue daily denial of any wrongdoing
    4. Rearrange teddies on bed

22. Confused says:

crazy days – the royals are “untouchable” (usually); example – working for the royals is shit and some years ago they tried to get unionised and take their complaints to an employment tribunal. The union guy tells the royal flunkey “we’re taking you to court”, and the flunkey coolly says :

– you can’t take the queen to court, the courts are hers …

and that was that. Fuck off, peasant.

breaking : news just in

andrew just put a shotgun (a purdey, cost 20K) into his mouth and pulled both exquisitely balanced triggers, his final words

YOU’LL NEVER TAKE ME ALIVE COPPER

“the crown” owns us all

• Young Lochinvar says:

C

Did he ace the teddies first?

• Confused says:

ps – the royal household were paying their gofers below minimum wage.

maybe Andy will be found drowned in a butt of wine

or red hot poker up the arse

this could be a “full popcorn” day

could andy have pimped his own daughters to epstein?

23. Tony Little says:

I have felt for a long time, certainly the last 4 Holyrood elections, that NO constituency candidate should also be allowed to be on the “List” ballot. While I understand the rationale behind the d’Hondt system and it’s attempt at creating a slightly more democratic parliament consistent with actual percentage of the vote, it is time to use the system to the advantage of Independence supporters.

If you have no alternative to SNP in the constituency, at least vote for a genuine Independence supporting party on the “List”. There are a number of options, just not SNP or Green (imho they have no real interest in Independence, just holding on to power).

• willie says:

Rejected by the electorate in the constituency but then perchance a seat at the top of the regional list.

Why not let them sit in multiple seats. A good idea but hang about, is that not where we are.

Now if I detested the constituency candidate as a howling woo woo why would I thereafter vote for the party if the howlig woo woo was t the top of the regional list.

For the SP particularly its all about bums on seats and a free trough.

24. Andrew Kidd says:

Embarrassing position for Tom Arthur. Govt Minister 5th on the West of Scotland list. Resounding vote of confidence for Stuart McMillan for his many achievements over 15 years in Parliament.

25. Iain More says:

Off Topic – I hear that the Sex Trafficker Andrew Mountbatten has been arrested.

===============================================================

Re 100%Yes says:

I am and Indy Voter but i wont be voting SNP in the constituency as the candidate is a she her they them candidate.I doubt if there will be an actual Scots Indy candidate standing in the Constituency I am in. I will spoil my constituency vote ballot i will vote for Alba or Fergus Ewing on the list. I haven’t made my mind up yet.

I believe in going to the polling station and voting even if it just to spoil my ballot as my grandfather was at Arnhem in WW2 with the First Paras and Trumps hero Hitler had a death penalty on them.

26. Hatey McHateface says:

It’s a good day to bury news, whether bad, or just awkward.

Plaid Cymru has dropped its pledge to get Wales to nutt zero by 2035.

And the daffodil-munching Taffs don’t even have any oil and gas!

That puts virtue signalling, achingly right on, progressive wee Scotland with yet another gold in the eejit Olympics.

We’re locked into 2045, with England getting the silver for 2050.

27. Northcode says:

The past is tomorrow… not least because us humans insist on repeating history, and with not a single lesson ever learnt.

Still, there might be some fun to be had in studying the mildly interesting, but excruciatingly repetitive, ecosystem of Scottish politicians as they embark on their quinquennial pre-parliamentary election feeding frenzy… mostly feeding on each other.

There exists, perhaps unsurprisingly, a common phenomenon in the world of politics, and indeed the world of criminals in general.

A phenomenon of which Scottish politicians appear ignorant, certainly where it concerns each of them as individuals, and where they consider themselves untouchable by the possibility of becoming its target.

The phenomenon is called “Intraspecific Predation”, and the ecosystem of politicians makes for an interesting field of its study, not least because of the prevalence of intraspecific predation and some of its cannibalistic features.

Indeed, politicians of the same species are prone to eat each other – and prone also to eat politicians from other species within their own genus, “Politicae”.

The food supply of politicians isn’t restricted to their own genus… they will frequently devour creatures from other genera.

Species from the genus Legalisae are favourite meals of the Politicae… especially the top species of Legalisae, Dominus advocatus, and the more common Parvi advocati.

It’s an interesting area of study within the natural sciences… although caution should be taken when approaching any species of the genera Politicae, Legalisae, and that other potentially vicious genus, Cuprumscotiae (Scottish Copper) – many species of these genera can be very dangerous to the unwary.

28. DMcV says:

So, the SNP won’t bring Independence, per NotRev’s monomania; who can?

ALBA?

Who will disaffected ALBA voters, dozens of them, give their vote to now? Reform?

29. David says:

I’m confused, you didn’t redline Deirdre Brock but you put her in bold. Holyrood might benefit from Tommy Sheppard which leaves me contemplating a both votes SNP, vote 1 through gritted teeth and vote 2 for a punt on some cheerful news if vote 1 bears no fruit.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,889 Posts, 1,238,673 Comments

• TURABDIN on Protest But Don’t Survive: “Scotland/Alba may now proudly join the nevereverlands of Québec & Catalunya among the sovereign states that might have just been…Mar 29, 10:21
    • 100%Yes on Protest But Don’t Survive: “The numbers at the event only prove that even within the SNP most faithful, they just simply aren’t prepared to…Mar 29, 09:14
    • 100%Yes on Protest But Don’t Survive: “I’m willing to bet their was more dog shit that supporters.Mar 29, 09:08
    • 100%Yes on Protest But Don’t Survive: “I feel sure James Kelly will disagree with what you’ve said here. The man brings nothing to the Indy cause…Mar 29, 09:02
    • The Flying Iron of Doom on Protest But Don’t Survive: “Go onto Youtube and search for “If the bomb drops” which is an old episode of Panorama from 1980. I…Mar 29, 07:51
    • Morgatron on Protest But Don’t Survive: “Said it for a number of years. Stu and Robin to to lead us to independence. Come on guys. You…Mar 29, 07:35
    • Sven on Protest But Don’t Survive: “Mark Beggan @ 21.49. I recall it particularly well as I was working in and around both RN Coulport &…Mar 29, 07:08
    • Sven on Protest But Don’t Survive: “Big Jock. “John has a secret plan.” Ah, if only some kind person would tell him what the plan is…Mar 29, 06:56
    • Mark Beggan on Protest But Don’t Survive: “Vietnam war documentary. I recommend The Ten Thousand Day War. An American documentary made in the 1970’s.Mar 29, 06:54
    • Mark Beggan on Protest But Don’t Survive: “Saint JFK! Not the mad shagger with the sexual appetite of a rabid dog? This war has been raging since…Mar 29, 06:01
    • Young Lochinvar on Protest But Don’t Survive: ““Arrogance, ignorance and hubris” of the decision makers and Presidents involved.. (And yes that includes saint JFK).. An interesting summary…Mar 29, 04:45
    • James on Protest But Don’t Survive: “Working class hero Wilma Flintsone’s just not worth wasting time on, cut and paste is all she’s worth; Utter bollocks…Mar 29, 02:47
    • Young Lochinvar on Protest But Don’t Survive: “GF Lose the woke crap and Messr McCrone pointed the way decades ago. It’s not the publics fault so many…Mar 29, 02:05
    • Derek on Protest But Don’t Survive: “May I introduce you to the concept of the question mark?Mar 29, 00:24
    • Big Jock on Protest But Don’t Survive: “John has a secret plan remember!Mar 28, 23:51
    • sarah on Protest But Don’t Survive: “@ George Ferguson at 7.43 p.m. “There is no movement” I belong to a three pro-independence groups and people in…Mar 28, 23:30
    • George Ferguson on Protest But Don’t Survive: “@Bilbo There is no reply button on your post for me to press. I am not an advocate for Reform.…Mar 28, 22:31
    • Mark Beggan on Protest But Don’t Survive: “40 years ago this year the Chernobyl rain fell on Scotland.Mar 28, 21:49
    • Mark Beggan on Protest But Don’t Survive: “We demand George’s best post gets reposted. I really want to read it now.Mar 28, 21:48
    • Sven on Protest But Don’t Survive: “Northcode @ 20.02. Ah my respected friend Northy, if only you could comprehend this “incomprehensible language” in which you post,…Mar 28, 21:42
    • Campbell Clansman on Protest But Don’t Survive: ““I don’t think that the movement has been captured, only the politicians.” In the real world, “Movements” are ALWAYS “captured…Mar 28, 21:33
    • George Ferguson on Protest But Don’t Survive: “I am not doing something right here. A double post on the last thread will be met with hammers. My…Mar 28, 21:33
    • Mark Beggan on Protest But Don’t Survive: “Did you know that a society is at its most collective during times of war.Mar 28, 21:27
    • Bilbo on Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off: “Unless they really go for nuclear, Net Zero can only work if they carpet the whole island with battery storage…Mar 28, 21:24
    • Bilbo on Protest But Don’t Survive: “@ George Ferguson I was going to comment about that Reform ‘homophobic’ joke on the previous post but it’s more…Mar 28, 21:16
    • Mark Beggan on Protest But Don’t Survive: “Bummer. Maybe it’s on its way.Mar 28, 21:15
    • Rev. Stuart Campbell on Protest But Don’t Survive: “So you can’t tell, but you can tell?Mar 28, 21:09
    • Frank Waring on Protest But Don’t Survive: “This may be the last chance in any of our lifetimes to put down the dead weight of UK history…Mar 28, 20:45
    • George Ferguson on Protest But Don’t Survive: “@Mark Beggan Another one of my post meets the axe.I thought this was a free speech blog. I answered your…Mar 28, 20:45
    • DavidT on Protest But Don’t Survive: “On a bright and sunny day?!? The wind chill was absolutely perishing, mind.Mar 28, 20:28