The Day Everything Changed
We’ll be honest, readers, we gasped out loud when we saw this.
That such a basic, fundamental truth of human existence should ever be front page news with the capacity to shock 100,000 years after we invented language is a sign of just how insane our world has become since 2015.
But magnificent as it is, it’s not even today’s BEST front cover.
That accolade surely has to go to this thing of sheer beauty.
We salute the Scottish Sun’s layout team, and we hope that they’re sending a framed version to each of the three women whose achievement yesterday will resonate across every aspect of Scottish and British society for years to come.
Almost every paper recognised the scale of the story.
At various points on the spectrum from delight to firmly gritted teeth.
Even the utterly trans-captured Metro had to put its bravest big-boy face on it, with only a weaselly pair of scarequotes serving as a mask.
And obviously the earnest wokechildren in charge of The National squeezed in a lie, although its actual reporting, while predictably cretinous and embarrassing, remarkably wasn’t as woefully and alarmingly inaccurate as the Guardian’s.
The Courier deftly gave it a topical local spin.
And only the Daily Record, which has been pitifully unable to locate the zeitgeist with both hands and a map for the last decade or so, disgraced itself.
We hear its headline the day WW2 broke out was “POLLOK NED GLASSED IN PUB”.
Once the all-bestriding colossus of Scottish news, the Record (whose circulation trails far behind the Scottish Sun as well as behind the Scottish Daily Mail, and has dropped more than 60% since as recently as 2019) is now on roughly the same sort of level of journalistic credibility as the Daily Star, and indeed its lead inside story was also the Star’s “Rihanna wears lingerie” scoop.
The FWS story came three pages after Ri-Ri’s pants in the Record and only got a single two-page spread, while the Sun gave it five pages in addition to the whole front cover. And even that’s probably underselling it, because when you get to thinking of all the ramifications of yesterday’s judgment your brain simply gets overwhelmed.
We can scarcely grasp the sheer magnitude of it enough to even start listing the consequences, from crime to schools to sport to basic data collection to whether the Gender Reform Act can survive at all.
Labour MP and wretched Aunt Lydia wannabe Stella “a woman can have a penis” Creasy issued a dreadful, pious statement astonishingly implying that the UK’s highest court had indulged in “hatred”, but still had to acknowledge doubts over whether the GRA – which the panel of judges had essentially ruled redundant – had any future.
(Even just within the media, the Telegraph’s headline surely dynamites any notion of trans rapists being referred to as “she” in that paper ever again, and once that dam is burst IPSO must surely revise its guidance and tell everyone else to follow suit.)
What happened yesterday is only just beginning to sink in. Buckle up for the ride.
That Sun front page! I may have to go out and buy a copy.
Fair made my day!
If you go onto YouTube, you will see that this has been picked up by mainstream news outlets throughout the world.
We’re gonna need a bigger tub of popcorn.
For WINGS Scotland.
Great stuff – never thought I’d welcome front pages of some of these ‘sensation-before-facts’ news-crap groups. Nice to see they’ve reported the type of news that affects ordinary tax-payers, non-tax payers, and citizens that care about healthy, good ways of living.
Excellent journalism, Stu, and congratulations for making a helluva difference. Dude, you deserve a holiday (Rothesay and Saltcoats are banging, btw)
In their written findings, the Supreme Court boldly stated that: “Nothing in this judgment is intended to discourage the appointment of trans people to public boards or to minimise the importance of addressing their under-representation on such boards.“
How much research did they conduct before making this statement? Is this a mathematically valid assertion? A hae ma doots.
The 2022 census states that 0.44% of respondents identified as trans. That statistic is skewed by false positives. On a pro rata basis, there should be one trans board member for every 200 non-trans members.
My scepticism is fuelled by the attitude of the nebula of Scottish Government aligned bodies to trans people in general.
They’re viewed as speshal, magical, somehow vaguely virtuous in a way boring, white heterosexuals aren’t.
Without submitting FOI requests the number of trans individuals on public boards is unknowable.
Trans folk are treated like dwarves in a medieval Royal Court. Totems of good luck. Pets to be pampered to project your own virtue by proxy.
They may now be elected to boards only as ‘trans’ identified individuals, under ‘gender reassignment’ – EQA 2010, not as men or women. No reason why they should not be elected to boards as the court stated.
However, there is one huge pitfall: they can be elected only in their birth sex because the boards are sexed 50-50; so a ‘trans’ identified male will have to be elected as a ‘trans’ identified male (by sex) and a ‘trans’ identified woman will have to be elected as a woman (by sex); and, if the boards are to maintain their quotas by sex, birth ‘trans’ identified men and women will require to be elected equally.
Otherwise, the quotas will require to be reduced and places held specifically for ‘trans’ identified people of both sexes. This, of course, would crush the aspirations of the ‘trans’ identified misogynists whose greed for women’s rights as well as their own, and overreach, has led them to fall into a pit of their making.
Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.
THE JOY OF SEX and that with a “NATURAL BORN WOMAN” has brought our species back to where it all began and where it should be.
It’s interesting that the TRAs are losing their shit over the ‘denying that we exist’ judgement at the same time as insisting that ‘it doesn’t change anything’; a sort of Schrodinger’s ruling.
While I’m still awaiting Michael Foran’s analysis I did read a lawyer’s comment yesterday which pointed out that a Supreme Court ruling clarifies not just what the law is, but what the law has always been, opening up the possibility of retrospective claims and lawsuits.
And there must be a lot of squeaky bums around NHS Fife right now. Deep joy.
If you’re right about it being retrospective, a few squeaky bums too belonging to the Scots who are going to dig deep to pay for it all.
Me and you for starters.
Perhaps Rev Stu could list the politicians and civil servants with primary culpability for this shitfest. Only fair we see them personally bankrupted. It will make a dent in the final bill and reduce the amounts every other one of us is going to have to pay.
A wis gonnae but naw a canny ********
Since it’s not the WOS headline today, please may I be the first to post;
“This is for you, Beth !”
I wouldn’t wipe my arse with the Sun, no-matter the headline.
Ditto the Daily Mail.
The Sun must have enjoyed that! A legitimate excuse for their habitual sleaze.
The photo really is joyous. FSW must have spent the last few days in agony as doubt was cast on the power of the judges to make a difference, so the relief of the verdict will have been magnified.
I was thrilled and have scarcely stopped grinning.
Thank you, Rev, for compiling this record of the MSM FINALLY covering the issue properly. I didn’t spot any credit to Wings though.
If there all quoting common sense now, then normal people have to ask the question WHY did it ever have to go to the courts?
For me I’d like the question put to John Swinney is he’s going to step down immediately as he’s defend this with public money when the Equality Act is pacific?
If I was a leader of any political party in Scotland, I’d make this front and center of my campaign at the next Holyrood election at the SNP leadership.
I hope Joan Cherry sues the SNP for the abuse she’s received.
The SNP isn’t fit to govern never mind deliver Independence.
What I found entertaining yesterday, when I was flicking between the news (revelling in the great headlines) was to find Shona Robison being interviewed on BBC news.
The look on the face of Robison of perplexed ‘caught-in-the-headlights’ and out of depth stumbling to try and answer the questions relating to the shock and horror that real women are biologically based on sex at birth.
The way she tried to put it across that the SNP were always supportive of the Equality Act, etc, etc, but somehow forgetting that she had been a vocal champion of the confused fallacy.
Priceless was then the look on the face of the BBC news presenter when she put pertinent questions to Robison, the poor presenter was clearly bemused at the obvious attempt by Robison to change (forget?) history.
I am extremely proud of For Women Scotland for their tenacity, and for the way that the court reasoning was so bluntly ‘on point’.
A wonderful day!
Something I wrote pertaining to Shona Robison some years ago. Caught-in-the-headlights is Robison’s default setting:
Every cult must have a specific, outlandish, core tenet. Something that sets it aside from the general populace. Something to differentiate them from the “unbelievers”.
A spacecraft hiding in the tail of the Hale-Bopp comet (Heaven’s Gate). A subterranean land of milk and honey under the Mojave Desert (The Manson Family). Control over a Chinese satellite death-ray (Workers’ Institute of Marxism-Leninism-Mao Zedong Thought). Other reality defying examples are available.
The tenet is multi-functional within the group. To gain access to the cult a disciple must repeat the tenet. The tenet is deployed as a mantra to increase cohesion of the group. Those who repeat the tenet most loudly and most often are promoted within the group. The competence and abilities of those selected for promotion are an irrelevance (the permanently glaikit fizzog of Shona Robison stares back at us from history).
Devotion to the tenet is all. Subservience to the cult leader as expressed through evangelising the tenet is paramount. The tenet defines the group. The tenet binds the group. The tenet is used by the cult leader to control the group.
Sound familiar?
Trans Women Are Women!
I laughed a bit at the bullet point on the front page of the National that proclaimed, “Ruling ends 20 years of understanding.”
Said ’20 years of understanding’ undermined the years and years of science that came before it.
You are in no small way part of this triumph, Rev. Without your doggedness and understanding that this issue was much, much bigger than most people realized, it might never have come to this. As you say, the implications of this ruling are humungous and it will penetrate into the darkest corners of all the stupid legislation around the topic of ‘trans’. Hate crime and many other pieces of ‘Stonewall-inspired Law’ that the totally out-of-touch Scottish government has enacted are about to suffer a binfire.
However, we cannot afford to be complacent because the viciousness shown by those examples you provided in your last blog are testament to the possible danger at least some of these people pose when thwarted.
Wise words Lorn. Us Indy women have so much to be grateful to Stu for on his early alert on this. Plus you’re right. They’re wounded but very powerful. It’s not going to be easy but after yesterday we have turned the tanker round. Full steam ahead! La
Jist sayin’ the phrase “Histed by ther’ ain petard” comes tae mind as weel as “Arrogance afore the Gods”, baith result in crushing defeat.
Dinnae expect ony the so ca’d high heid yins tae fa’ oan ther’ ain swords ower this bourach of ther’ makin’ an’ the scandalous waste o’ tax monies. Aye an’ dinnae forgit bringin’ Scotland’s guid name intae disrepute an’ ridicule !
I see Kelly Gittering Given is in gobbledegook mental free fall over on the National.
She must be on Stonewalls mantra literature full time to come up with such reality denying garbage.
“The Joy Of Sex”
Loving it!
Right up there with “Gotcha!”.
Aye Stuart Campbell you played a big part in all of this.
Although they don’t admit it the MSM and the politicos know very well exactly what Wings says and does.
The synopsis of the MSM coverage was great reading. And the Dailly Retard’s front page said it all.
Maybe an article now perchance about how much dosh all this nonsense has cost the hard pressed public in these cash straightened times.
The cost must run to many tens of millions, if not more. Legal fees, compensation, the huge expense of implementing policies that now need to be slung out.
The nonsense has not ended. But for the present, a great result.
They’ve had their wings clipped and then some so as to speak. Great stuff Rev.
It’s sad it ever came to this. Grown adults playing God.
Chapman has declared war on us.
“Woman
I can hardly express
My mixed emotions at my
Thoughtlessness
After all, I’m forever in your debt,”
Thoroughly enjoyed the bizarre, deranged, indignant, ludicrously melodramatic, outraged tone and tenor of the homegrown yank-cause-copiers. Kelly Given was hilarious as usual, her usual solipistic ravings giving great comedic fodder copy:
“Defining women by our biology alone is chilling”
“I AM a “biological woman” – whatever that means. That might make you laugh…” The whole thing is instantly made about her, as usual, of course.
“And the Supreme Court ruling that asserted my womanhood is to be defined by my biological makeup sent chills down my spine…” Laughing here.
“I am not a woman because my body looks or performs in a certain way, or rather because it is biologically set up to deliver and serve the patriarchy.” Knew she had to get the feminist-boogeyman ‘patriarchy’ in there somehow.
“Womanhood is glorious – and reducing its glory to the ins and outs of female biology is utterly sinister and political for more reasons than one.” ‘Sinister.’ Still laughing here. You’re not oppressed, Kelly, dahlink, you missed the oppression boat, you have no real problems, you’re not even trans…so what does all this static really have to do with you? She can’t even keep her mind on the subject at hand for ten seconds without bleating in her usual misandristic victim-mentality way. Plenty like her, mind you.
“I don’t see anyone jumping to define what a male is with quite so much enthusiasm – and that’s intentional.” ‘What about, what about, what about…bloody men…’ AS USUAL. She really does despise us. She (and others of her pretentious, melodramatic, condescending, unbalanced type) are paid to write nothing but pure misandristic hate speech. Joy.
“The so-called “gender critical” movement is underpinned by right-wing mouthpieces with ulterior motives – the type for example that want to strip us of our bodily autonomy, as they are successfully doing across the Atlantic.” So you can’t be a supporter of men in frocks not getting their cocks out in front of women without being some yank hatemonger. There’s no give-or-take with Given, a real caustic, bitter, vitriol-spewing halfwit of a (real) woman.
“Or closer to home, it’s the SNP allowing transphobia to embed and be legitimised by an unforgivable lack of any substantial consequence.” Still laughing here. The SNP fought this in court, dahlink, AND THEY LOST. People like you PUSHED THEM INTO IT. It’s not their fault! I thought you liked kissing SNP (especially Sturgeon’s) bahookie on a daily basis! Has that love that dare not speak its shame died out now? A tragedy, I tells ya! No gravy train position for you, eh? I can hear the bleating cheated weeping from here.
“Let the resulting snowball into fascism that is coming rest on their shoulders too.” Cannot stop laughing. A snowball resting on folks’ shoulders! Summer is coming, Kelly! No snow in sight! Get out more! Take some antidepressants! Talk to a therapist! Get a boyfriend! Get a girlfriend! Get a grip!
“While it is premature and unhelpful to panic…” This line just genuinely made me laugh out loud.
“This is authoritarianism in practice dressed up as legal clarity and feminist activism.” Ooooh, miiiaaaoooww dear, I’ll scratch yer bloody eyes out! Nobody does anti-female hate like women do.
“The greatest danger to me as a “biological woman” or an “adult human female” is – and has always been – cisgender men.” Ah, the usual manhating pish, had to get that in there somehow somewhere, as usual. This woman is caustic and bitter and unhinged, like a great many of her middle class female columinist type. A deeply unpleasant, hateful individual.
“The likes of For Women Scotland do not, and will not ever, speak for me or my body and it will be a cold day in hell before I’ll celebrate being reduced to my biological functions.” Shaking my head here. This halfwit and her America-copying kind have just cost this country YEARS of turmoil and YEARS of division and MILLIONS OF POUNDS fighting this sort of psychotic abject idiocy they imported from America and ENDLESSLY spat and shat all over us for no sane reason whatsoever.
See she seems to have recovered from the lip of the grave with her fake long covid rubbish to snap and snarl at men (as ever) and the courts. YOU LOST, GIVEN, GET OVER IT. Her drooling idiocy is indicative of the sad, bad, mad rubbish these people are babbling, as if they’re all suddenly going to be hunted down by a junta and bumped off. Paranoid madness.
About time this utter shite was put to bed. Beyond sick of hearing about it. No harm to trans people, but the political and societal harm they, and more specifically their idiot middle class female wannabe-progressive ‘defenders’ have caused…will take a long, long time to be digested by this country. Where they are free to live, as ever, and long may they be happy.
ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.
She sounds like Goebbels in April 45′
She sounds more like Valerie Solanas (author of SCUM Manifesto – Society For Cutting Up Men) in June 1968, just before she shot Andy Warhol. Thank god we don’t have guns in this country.
Let’s make April the 16th International Woman’s Day.
I second that proposal
I second that proposal as it would enshrine the VALUES we place on REAL WOMEN and their safety , PLUS it would be really nice to rub rub rub SALT in their orifices
Great Article.
Great Day.
Great Scots.
Well done Stu a great victory for common sense. And congratulations to the womens campaign groups who deserve all the public adulation they are getting. How did ‘we’ allow it in the first place?. The Scottish Parliament and the Court of Session? They got confused. They messed up and thought the Will of the Parliament represented the Will of the People. And the really sad thing is my grandchildren could have told them the difference between a man and a woman. I am looking for many apologies from Nicola Sturgeon, Anas Sarwar, Alex Cole Hamilton, Patrick Harvey, Shona Robison et al.
Yes, big congrats to everyone involved & JK Rowling for bankrolling it. The entire country owes them a drink for life. Well done not giving up in the face of such a nasty, vile, threatening bunch of bullies with the full force of every institution behind them, including the media. x
You have to laugh at those headlines tho regards common sense prevailing – lest we forget they were compliant wee foot soldiers for this cult over the last 10 yrs.
The Feminist junta (the feminista) fought since the end of WWI hat no difference exists between men and women ; the feminist mafiosa laid the foundation for this Transinsanity and actually joined forces with them. The fact a handful of the lesbian feminista fought against their own, hardly makes this a victory.
Cleaning up your own mess is not a victory – it’s disaster management.
The lesbian fantasy is highly erotic; the reality deeply neurotic.
One wonders if Stonewall’s ‘contracts’ compelling local and national government bodies to help achieve their aims will survive this change.
Announcement from the Ministry of Truth. Oceania is at war with Eastasia. Oceania has always been at war with Eastasia. The Labour party does not subscribe to the fiction that a Trans-woman is a Woman. The Labour Party has never subscribed to the fiction that a Trans-woman is a Woman. The Labour party does not take the knee to the Buy Larger Mansions charity. The Labour party has never taken the knee to the Buy Larger Mansions charity.
I do not comment often these days although I find the writing of Mr Campbell generally the best on matters on Scottish media because he is just so damn factual. Not opinionated. Factual.
I genuinely think the media fear to cover him unle they can have a negative slant.
Makes a change to the Hutcheonist drivel that spurts out of the Record.
I simply want to talk about the trans issue.
I have a daughter who transitioned to be a son. Has better chest hair and beard than I could ever grow. Looks like a man. Has a voice that is like Lee Marvin now.
I accept the whole thing is “weird”. I said it before during and after this process. But I love my child. Just as much now as when a schoolgirl doing well at school.
But my son says he finds the virtue signalling negative and simply wants to live a quiet life.
Not telling everyone else they are right or wrong. Behaves impeccably. Fits in with everyone. In short the perfect child. Before and after.
I am writing this as coincidentally we had a good chat about ex-men in women’s prisons and he thought it was a terrible idea which would just cause chaos. He was right.
I know some on here will say I should use the pronoun “she” but after many years I have through osmosis realised my child is not my daughter now and if not my daughter in a binary choice what can he be but my son?
I respect all opinions. Many will disagree and they have every right to.
But please realise there are real people involved and I am concerned the meatheads in society may take it out on the gentle and vulnerable like my son and that is not what the courts or even society should accept.
Even the judgement admitted that now the only purpose of a GRC is to make a depressed man feel a bit better.
And I for one am convinced that that is not a good enough reason to make the female category legally mixed sex.
Replying to Redcliffe62. No one has an issue with transmen or transwomen. Long life and happiness to all of you. It’s the disingenuous activists who have created all this trouble. They thought this would be a simple way to keep the cauldron boiling, and the money pouring in. Sadly they chose the wrong minority group to piggy back and exploit.
Dear Bob.
Hi.
I think you are right about noisy extremists demanding fealty to their view changing public opinion when these frankly difficult issues wre approached demanding respect and not simply requesting mutual respect for others in a constructive way entered the public domain.
I am sorry Bob but I sadly and respectfully disagree with your first line that nobody has an issue with transmen and transwomen.
In Australia where I live outside the metro areas I assure you that they do have a problem with “poofters” and this legal outcome, which in law I agree with, will unfortunately provide further grist to the mill.
Australia outside the metro elite areas took well until this century to get beyond its gaybashing history. As friends of my son can confirm.
I do hope it does not force trans people to avoid society with the toilet issue in pubs and restaurants being to the fore!
But which door to use is a genuine question; if cubicles are readily available it would be less of an issue for my son than an open trough communal weeing area.
Thank you for wishing us all well.
This is clearly a divisive issue which I honestly do not have the answers about but that NHS Fife case is precisely why legislation was needed.
I trust that IPSO who fined the Spectator for an article where a columnist referred to a transwoman as a man will both apologise and reimburse use the fine and Spectator’s legal costs.