Sorry, readers

Posted on November 03, 2013 by

This is why you’ve had no posts today.

ratz

Meet Skye, Islay, Rona, Shuna, Cara and Jura. They’ll be staying.

139 to “Sorry, readers”

1. NewScotGirl

SERIOUS HEEBIE JEEBIES!

2. Embradon

Best not tell the Emergency Kitten.

3. Alba4Eva

Rats are cool… so intelligent and inquisitive.  I had a friend who had rats and love em.  They love to swim.  You put some stones in the bath and fill with a little water (enough to swim in) put in some plastic balls that float around and they will play for ages.  ;o)

4. jahoca

Aw excellent! 🙂

5. Derick fae Yell

So will the next crowdfunding exercise be for cheese?

6. Andrew Morton

Which one is Blair McDougall?

7. uilleam_beag

They’ve come to run experiments on you.

Just remember “42” is the answer to every question.

8. david

AWWWWWWWW

9. Jamie Arriere

All those red eyes – surely one of them must be called Tony?!

10. Papadocx

A the better together team, where’s Alistair?

11. david

Which one is Blair McDougall?
    come on now, theres no need for that. what have those wee rats ever done to you?

12. call me dave

My son’s wife has two of these things. Slowly getting used to them on visits.  Inquisitive and smart too! Unlike their pals in . . . well better not .

News:
    Stephen Deans, the chair of Falkirk Labour Party, intends to stand down from his post, the BBC has learned.bbc.co.uk/…/…

13. Morag

Aw, diddums.  (Why that particular species?)

14. willie fae Irvine

Is that the tory cabinet??

15. Jingly Jangly

Where’s Arran?

16. Albalha

Keeping them all? That’s quite an undertaking.

@callmedave re S Deans so now he’s the fall, fall again guy. Labour Party in Scotland ‘what else do you expect’ monitor hitting the red rage level. 

17. call me dave

Albalha
    Nobody from the Scottish labour party national executive was available to attend the meeting.  In a rat hole maybe.

18. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Where’s Arran?”

Arran is CLEARLY a boy’s name.

19. heraldnomore

We have rats too Stu.  They’re a pest a round the chicken hut.  Sometimes it’s difficult to decide where to put the traps and the poison, safe for cats and chickens.  But the vermin…

And I see Labour and their Leaderene are in the news again.

20. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“(Why that particular species?)”

I’ve had rats for most of the last 20 years. They’re sociable, super-smart, clean and fun. You can stick a couple in your pocket and take them out with you. You can let them run around in the park in summer and you don’t need to put them on a lead. Where I live is no good for dogs or cats, so they’re about the best pet you can have.

21. Murray McCallum

The one popping his head out of the box is clearly a separatist. Better watch him/her.

22. James Westland

If you lived in Aberdeen, they’d be “boomtown rats” 

I’ll get my coat…..

23. Albalha

Maybe they could be the perfect ‘rat trap’ ….

24. TJenny

Aaw, Rev, these are sooo cute.  How will they affect your kitty sitting duties in future? Do you think they kitty and rats might all get along OK?

25. Taranaich

@This is why you’ve had no posts today.

Ah, new staff.

26. Marcia

Taking them for walks in your pocket reminded me of a member of the London Branch SNP who used to take her snake for a walk. It did cause mayhem in a carriage on the London Underground once went it moved from her to look at a man reading a newspaper. The whole carraige emptied when the man shouted ‘Snake’. She gathered the snake back and wrapped it around her. The guard came in to the carriage and said that a man had seen a snake. She replied, ‘What on the London Underground?’

27. gordoz

Rev –
    Is that an actual fly on the wall picture from inside
    290 Bath Street, Glasgow
    G2 4RE ?

28. callum

Pictures of sinking ship at 11.

29. Alba4Eva

‘Arrin’ is a girls name though.

30. Albalha

A plug for a wee fundraiser posted by a WoS reader on another thread. It’s a public event taking place in the Southside of Glasgow making the economic case for independence. The Business for Scotland chaps are involved.

It’s a good cause and just needs a few pennies.

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/independence-live-events/x/2349839

31. Andrew Morton

Apparently, in central London you’re never more than six feet from a Tory.

32. Robbie

Scottish Labour HQ.
    Sarwar seem reluctant to wake up.

33. Alabaman

What’s the name of the “radan dubh? (Reminds me of the black sheep,who is never really
    wanted, shame.

34. call me dave

Andrew Morton

35. kendomacaroonbar

Do you play them Micky Jackson’s excellent tune ‘Ben’ ( as in weebuttn’ ) 🙂

36. Luigi

“They’re sociable, super-smart, clean and fun.”

In other words, they are definitely NOT Labour MSPs (apart from the red eyes).

37. cynicalHighlander

There are more brain cells in that box than the entire Labour party in Scotland.

38. Conan_the_Librarian

I keep Jack Russells.

I know why you don’t talk to me now…

39. Tris

Beautiful.

Love them. They have all the wrong reputations, like wee mice. I have a family of them living in the garden shed, they moved in when I bought a massive bag of wild bird feed, and stayed on, as they like the bird seed and the birds don’t!

For those that don’t like them, think Ben!

Oh and Stu, you are entitled to days off, you know.

40. TJenny

O/T – BBC James Cook has tweeted:

‘At last she speaks! Scottish labour leader and Unite member @JohannLamont on @bbcgms tomorrow after 8am. #Falkirk  ‘

41. mogabee

Erm…. you won’t forget about us will you? 

42. Hetty

Sadly here in central Edinburgh it’s less than 6 ft, once a Tory always a t….it seems, going on the neighbours round here…

43. HandandShrimp

You sure you are a white rat?

Errr….Yes, I’ve had a bit of a cold…got any cheese?

44. Hetty

Who is Jack Russels? 
    Aye rather have rats than right wing vermin anyday. They look quite nice….

45. HandandShrimp

Tjenny

I hope somebody on GMS hides her script and she has to fly solo.

46. megsmaw06

Awwww! Cute! It’s been years since I last kept rats. My last one was a super, sweet wee guy who liked to sit on my shoulder and nest in my hair.

47. Albalha

Re Ms Lamont let’s hope they have actually asked her to talk about all matters Falkirk, we’ll see, well hear.

Just seeing a Labour bod is having a go at James Cook, so glad I gave up on those chancers years ago.

48. Anon Sailor

We too were meeting our new family member, Isis 6 week old Rottweiler, really gorgeous and sweet. Can she play with your rats?

49. Votadini Jeannie

Excellent names Rev, although I do know a wee girl called Arran. And there are a fair few lads going about called Jura…

50. Jon D

Sunday night is always bath night at our house…..

51. scottish_skier

You see a few driving around here in the borders. Once one sped past me on the southern approach to Soutra. Must have been doing 90 mph. I’d clocked the speed camera van sitting at the side of the road as usual miles away as I passed Oxton. As we were both approaching the bend where it would come into view I thought to myself ‘Should I warn him?’. Then I thought ‘Na’. Brakes went on way too late. Well, if you drive without due care and attention…

Rats are pretty cool. Friend at uni had a few. Just the tails that are a bit ugly.

52. Craig Dalzell

Squee(k) 🙂

53. ronnie anderson

johann Lamentable ,s Changing The Labour Party    That ll be the REDUNDANT PARTY them JOHANN

54. Dave McEwan Hill

I used to laugh at the phrase “rats leaving a sinking ship”. They’d be awfully daft if they didn’t and they are not at all daft. We had one we called Roddy. 

My judgement is that Lamont’s done for – though she might be resisting. The Labour Party always briefs against its leaders before forcing them out. This appears to be going on a the moment. Either that or the unionist support in the press realise what a disaster she is and they are trying to force Labour to remove her.

55. HandandShrimp

It would be a shame if Labour replaced her now.

Can we start a “Keep Johann” campaign? Quietly obviously, it wouldn’t look best coming from us.

56. Erchie

Rats, like all rodents, are interesting creatures. Like corvids intelligent, curious and will respond to people

57. TJenny

John D – that was a lovely we vid of the rat’s bathtime – and good bit of guitar too.

So for the Rev and his new wee pals, here’s another wee youtube vid of Rat Tricks, although I fear we may never hear from you again if you start teaching all yours these tricks.

58. heraldnomore

and did I see somewhere that The Dear Leader is on Any Questions this week.  Interesting to hear how they do subtitles on radio…..

59. Ian Brotherhood

This has just been sent to seven local and national papers.
    Let’s see what, if anything, they do with it.

PRESS RELEASE – FOR IMMEDIATE USE 3/10/2013

‘Political Pygmies’ Imperil Prestwick Prom

The Scottish Socialist Party is spearheading a campaign to save the famous Prestwick Prom, an annual event which attracts up to twenty thousand visitors. 

The Tory-led Prestwick North Community Council has scrapped next year’s Prom because it fears ‘Yes Scotland’ campaigners might hand out leaflets. 

Speaking today, the SSP’s Regional Organsier, Richie Venton, lambasted the decision:

‘I thought it was a joke! Who do these people think they are? A fun day out for families, not just in Prestwick, but across Ayrshire and beyond, is being scrapped because some Yes campaigners might invite passers-by to take a leaflet? It’s a joke right enough – but it’s not funny.’

Council head Joan O’Donnell faces mounting criticism from local residents and retailers who stand to lose tens of thousands of pounds worth of business.

The Scottish Socialist Party has undertaken to co-ordinate a campaign demanding the decision be reversed. Mr Venton said:

‘North Prestwick Community Council have a simple choice to make. They can reverse their shameful decision. If they don’t, the SSP will help local people and community groups organise a People’s Fun Day, and there’s not a thing they can do to stop us. We’ll make sure the kids get their day out, and we’ll also make sure that Prestwick sees the biggest gathering of Socialists that Ayrshire has ever seen. 

We’ve seen some pretty desperate stuff from the anti-independence campaign, but this is barrel-scraping at its worst. The people of Prestwick are being deprived of their traditional celebrations thanks to the posturing of Tories who are as spiteful as they are short-sighted. Is this the kind of ‘democracy’ we can expect if we don’t vote Yes next September?  But having said that, we’ll make sure they receive invitations, and they can even bring their Better Together buddies – we’re always up for a healthy discussion.’

The North Prestwick Community Council meets on the last Tuesday of this month, and it’s expected to be a stormy event. 

Mr Venton had a parting shot for Joan O’Donnell:

‘The SSP is the most experienced campaigning party in Scotland. We don’t protest for the sake of it, and we’re very very good at it. Miss O’Donnell and her chums would be well advised to have an extraordinary meeting as soon as possible. Prestwick has been in the news for good reasons lately, but this nonsense threatens to make the town a laughing stock.’

END

For more information, contact Ian Brotherhood (SSP North Ayrshire) via ian@stevenston4.fsnet.co.uk

60. Albalha

@heraldnomore
    Re R4’s AQ’s next week, or well this week it’s Ms Lamont, Ms Sturgeon, Ms Davidson and Ivan McKee from here and B for S.

61. Archie [not Erchie]

Roman name for Bath is ‘Aquae Sulis’ which is totally bye the bye but here is a tongue in cheek walk through for a rat bath.

http://www.ratsrule.com/bath.html

62. Rusty Shackleford

Love rats. Ours used to wrestle and dance, and they could strip a chicken carcass in minutes!

63. Ian Brotherhood

Aye, ‘sorry readers’, about the big spaces in my last comment – I did desperately try to edit, but someone else commented…it’s all Albalha’s fault. 😀

64. mutterings

Personally, I can’t imagine rats as pets but I’m interested in positive reinforcement training; and  the 15 Incredible Rat Tricks video posted above illustrates how much you can achieve with it. I wish my Scottie pup, who some of you met at the March and Rally, was as well trained as these rats!

Another fascinating example of trained rats: How I taught rats to sniff out land mines, again using positive reinforcement training methods.

65. Albalha

@IanB
    Humblest apologies, of course I was VERY guilty in the recent past for redundant space, think I’ve learned my lesson now though. Good on the SSP for taking on Prestwick and as you say let’s see who picks it up. I’ll be watching that space.

66. The Man in the Jar

My wee ginger terrier dug (see gravatar) would just love those. 🙂

67. lumilumi

awww.

A friend of mine used to have rats, and once you get past the species name, they’re actually very interesting, intelligent, sociable. Much better than some other rodents kepts as pets. We had hamsters when I was a kid and they were pretty boring and stupid. I mean, voluntarily running on that hamster wheel thingy? They had no idea they’d been conned.

Then we had rabbits (not rodents but lapids), the real Watership Down kind, and they were interesting. When we brought them into the house, their favourite thing was to chew on electic cable, I’m surprised none of them got electrocuted! And sometimes they broke free and my dad, uncle, Mr Neighbours all would run and try to catch the damn zigzagging rabbits, which was fun for us kids, seeing grown men make silly arses of themselves. 😀

Nowadays I’m more of a cat person. My benevolent dictator (I was definitely “staff” to her!) died a couple of years ago and I haven’t got a new one yet as my own life plans are a bit vague at the moment.

As to rats, and the almost universal hatred… Think of red squirrells. Everybody loves them and wants to protect them in the UK. They’re ten a penny here in Finland – I see several every day in my suburban surroundings – so we’re not concerned about protecting them. We like them, though.

Now, if the red squirrels didn’t have their cute bushy tails and cute tufty ears… They’d look very much like rats.

A friend of mine has this theory. As the human species takes over the planet and wrecks the environment, the only species that can survive are either a) viable and adaptable enough on their own right (rats, mosquitoes etc.) or b) “cute” or iconic enough for the humans to make an effort to try and save them.

Them lovely meerkats! We can’t let them die! Cute badgers! Or the baby seals! And the intelligent dolphins! And the elephants, and cute furry polar bears! And cute red squerrels! And the ultimate cute Panda bears!

The best survival strategy for animals would be to develop characteristics that humans see as “cute”. Nobady wants to save icky insects – apart from cute bumblebees, which are furry and even the name tells us they’re good and cute – or worms or snails or icky things like that.

Even apex predators like wolves or bears are OK (they’re furry and kind of cute, teddybears and dogs), just not at your own doorstep.

The horrible truth is that the ecological balance need all the species, even the icky ones.

68. Ian Brotherhood

@Albalha-

Cheers. If you, or anyone else, knows anyone in the ‘meeja’ who might actually read that release, please feel free to pass it on.

The next North Prestwick Community Council meeting should be on Tues 26th November. (They don’t have a meeting in December, so it’ll be well into the New Year before they assemble again.)

If they don’t call an EGM and overturn that decision, the SSP will be there in numbers, right outside their meeting-place on the 26th. If they think they can get away with ‘blaming’ the pro-Independence movement for their cowardice and cynicism, they’re about to find out – the hard, and acutely embarrassing way – just how utterly, boneheadedly wrong they are.

We need expressions of support – the more the merrier, and the sooner the better. Is Yes Ayrshire up for it? 

69. Alastair wright

O/T sorry
    Queensferry (that’s the south one for the un-initiated) is having a meeting about Independence tomorrow at the roseberry hall, our local SNP councillor posted the event on the community facebook page (the only way is the ferry), it was specifically set up to allow the community to communicate and highlight local events. Cue howls of derision and people complaining about not having enough information about the matter so we shouldn’t seperate, I pointed out it was an ideal opportunity to avail yourself of pertinant facts about independence. Net result was that those against independence decided that “we shouldn’t be using the page for political debate”. I cannot see the original post for the meeting – I’m no longer a member of the group.

70. The Man in the Jar

Back to the rats. Great names. My wee dug is called Eilean. 

Should have called her Minnie (the moocher) 

(Eilean is gaelic for island.)

71. Gaavster

One of my first ever family holidays was on Shuna….

Amazing place…. 😉

72. Morag

I’ve never had rats. Gerbils, guinea pigs, cats, a cocker spaniel and a Highland pony.  Not all at once.

Rats are reputed to be extremely bright and very good pets.  Not long-lived enough for me, but good choice if you can’t have a cat.  Better choice than my friend Peter’s ferrets I suspect….

73. MajorBloodnok

If they’re Rattus norvegicus they probably have their own oil fund already.

74. kininvie

@Alastair & Ian,

I think this ‘community’ business is a tricky one. There are a lot of ‘communities’ which feel, for one reason or another, that politics should play no part in their activities:

However, in the specific case of Community Councils, there is a clear code of conduct, and it’s worth having a look at:

http://www.scotland.gov.uk/Topics/Government/local-government/CommunityCouncils/CCllrCodeOfConduct

In particular, this:

You are free to have political and/or religious affiliations; however you must ensure that you represent the interests of your community and Community Council and not the interests of a particular political party or other group.

It would seem to me that Prestwick CC are directly in breach of this (and maybe SQ too – if it’s a CC facebook page?)  Ian, I suggest it is well worth while writing directly to the Chief Exec of the Local Authority, claiming that Prestwick CC is in breach of this clause, and asking them to investigate. Better of course if you can find someone from the community to do so.

75. Boorach

@ Ian B

Why not try going down the Stirling route? Get the email addresses of all individuals on Prestwick community council, publish them here and let us mail bomb them. Also spread them among your local SSP members and ‘both’ your friends! 

76. David McCormack

Still on the subject of rats,Gorgeous George is doing a BOGOF for his JustSayNaw gig at the Whitehall Theatre in Dundee.
    http://www.groupon.co.uk/deals/dundee?subscribed=true&__fsk=-1046446775

77. Ian Brotherhood

@kininvie-

Many thanks. Valuable stuff. Will scrutinise.

Speaking personally, with nae SSP hat on, I reckon Prestwick North CC will overturn the decision, and they’ll do it quickly – it would be folly to persist.

No doubt we’ll see many similar disputes erupting in the coming months.

Is every Gala Day committee across Scotland going to have to endure the trauma of wrestling with national political concerns? I assume these bodies maintain some form of contact – they’d do well to find agreement on what’s acceptable by way of ‘political’ presence at such events, preferably in conjunction with Police Scotland.

Whether they like it or not, a national referendum of seismic importance is taking place next year – does it take an Einstein to realise as much, contact the Yes/No camps, and say:

Okay chaps, you have this area, in-between the waltzers and the candy-floss stall, it’s fifteen-feet square, and we’d appreciate it if you restricted your activities to that area. The other camp have a similarly-sized patch between the ghost-train and coconut-shy. Good luck to you all, and have a great day.’

How difficult would that be?

The fundamental point remains – when citizens gather at such events, be it the Prestwick Prom, or Marymass in Irvine, they’re observing tradition which can be traced back (certainly, in the latter case) for centuries. It’s completely unacceptable for any politician, at whatever level, to dictate the social activities of people whose ancestors enjoyed similar celebrations – at the same time, in the same places – well before these political ‘parties’ even existed!

The councillors on PNCC are acting as if they’re lairds. They’re not. But their crass stupidity has led them up a cul-de-sac – they’re going to have very red faces, no matter what happens. Other community councils should keep a close eye on what’s about to happen, and do their best to avoid the same embarrassment.

78. Ian Brotherhood

@Boorach-

Hey, mister, are you already in the SSP?

If not, why not?

Come on man – we need people like you: romantic, wandering bards!!

Aye.

I’m not aware of any ‘mobile’ SSP branches – you could be the first.

At least think about it, eh?

79. X_Sticks

Albalha

“It’s a good cause and just needs a few pennies.”

I see they’ve raised £140 of their £500 total and still 7 days to go.

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/independence-live-events

Ivan McKee is certainly worth supporting.

80. kininvie

@Ian

Interesting what you say about gala days. Here in WL, we have a lot of them. Last summer we got Yes stalls into several, but elsewhere ran up against varying degrees of objection – nothing as bad as Prestwick though. This year, we shall try to do better and write to Gala cttees well in advance, so they have time to think things through, and invite BT for ‘balance’ if they feel inclined that way…

81. Ian Brotherhood

@kininvie-

Is WL West Lothian?

82. Ian Brotherhood

Totally O/T –

I’m currently required to study Scottish ‘Litricha’, medieval ‘Makars’, all that stuff…you know, Dunbar/Kennedy flyting?

…ended up finding this, but be warned – if you don’t like ‘sweary-wurds’, avoid it.

83. lumilumi

Sorry, to correct myself above, rabbits are not lapids, they and hares are leporids.

I guess I was carried away by “Lapine”, the rabbits’ language in Watership Down. 😉

84. BuckieBraes

I hadn’t realised rabbits weren’t rodents, until now. You learn all kinds of things on WoS.

Rat-wise, I am reminded of when as a child I first read that well-known book Seal Morning, by Rowena Farre, which told of a young girl’s life on a croft in wildest Sutherland with a brown rat called Rodney and a seal called Lora which played the xylophone.

I drank it all in, believing it to be a factual tale; but years later was disappointed to learn that this seemingly autobiographical account was almost certainly complete fiction.

85. Morag

Pets are good.  I’m still waiting for 100% confirmation that the Emergency Kitteh really is a she though (i.e.that she has been spayed and definitely had girl bits).  I’m kind of stubborn that way….

86. The Water Beastie

CyberRats?

87. K Mackay

Congratulations Rev, they look like they’ll be keeping you entertained and busy! After seeing the video TJenny posted I reckon you could get them all trained to march with Saltires and a tiny wee Yes banner in time for next years march 🙂

I got some unexpected wee furry friends today too, they’re more squatters than pets though. They’re getting pretty brave, coming out in full view and stealing my good crumbs. Don’t mind having them about as long as they behave and keep off the kitchen decks. Might see if they’re up for learning tricks 🙂

88. Ted

Bit O/T, but are your mice private or public sector tenants?  If they are private sector tenants they will have had the joy of being subject to Labour’s private tenant’s “bedroom tax” since 2004.  The current uproar in the MSM conceals the fact that the Tories are bringing the social sector tenant benefit rules into line with the rules for private tenants; legislation which had been introduced by a  party who had socialist roots.  There has barely been a mention of Labour’s attack on private tenants when they were in need of financial help.  The right wing Con/Dems are just carrying out the work started by Labour.   Right wing policies have been creeping upon us well before the financial crash of 2008. Who in their right mind gives their vote to such sadistic, vindictive people? As for Council Tax, has there ever been a system which could totally ignore the ability of the taxpayer to pay?

89. Patrick Roden

Speaking of Rats…
    It seems the ‘buy one ticket get a second one free’ deal being offered for George Galloways gig in Dundee has resulted in a significant spike in sales…

He has now sold 15 (fifteen)

Haha.

90. clochoderic

Those rats are hideously white and will upset the Guardian and the BBC.
     Get a black mamba snake to provide some balance for the media.

91. Seasick Dave

He has now sold 15 (fifteen).

Obviously, most people have just said, “Naw”.

92. Gogrilla Mincefriend

I’m more of a cat person, but your Siberian hamsters looked almost irresistible…..

93. john king

lumilumi says
    “Now, if the red squirrels didn’t have their cute bushy tails and cute tufty ears… They’d look very much like rats.”
    Come on lumi your my favourite Finn  (everybody has one didn’t you know)
    but if you think you’ll make us believe a cute wee red squirrel would look like a rat if you took away the tufty ears and fluffy tail well’ your avin a giraffe mate 🙂
    they’d still look cute only not so much. 

94. john king

Major Bloodknok says 
    “If they’re Rattus norvegicus they probably have their own oil fund already.”
    and an oil company  verminoil (sorry rev) I heard Ian Taylor was head hunted for a job with them 😉

95. truescot

Galloway is a bit of a rat.

96. john king

Ian you might decide to remind these people of their own history 
    travelling actors were traditionally the way local people got their information and were widely known for political commentary (Shakespeare I know I know but he WAS good)  those people would go round fairs and market days providing the people with much needed information and although distrusted by the locals still maintained a healthy attendance to their performances,
    so maybe they might be asked to unwind their necks as the yes/no stalls are really just a modern form of those travelling actors,
    But if these ostriches in community councils will not be moved then we should use that to our advantage and put it out there (what have these people got to hide, what is it that they don’t want us to know?) turn their own stupidity against them 😉 

97. john king

Ian Brotherhood says@ 12.00am
    A perfect analogy for the no campaign 
    full of wind and piss

98. john king

Ian Brotherhood says
    “It’s completely unacceptable for any politician, at whatever level, to dictate the social activities of people whose ancestors enjoyed similar celebrations”

Sometimes I wish I would read previous posts before posting but yes Ian that was exactly my point the dissemination of political information was for many centuries done at local gatherings which was the only opportunity to get a message out to large numbers of people, now were lucky we have the media, msm, oh wait?
    huh as the French say
    Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose

99. GP Walrus

Which is the Black Isle?

100. Alastair wright

kininvie
    The SQ facebook page was set up by somebody local so doesn’t  need to comply – before leaving I checked the number of group members – about 1200, 6 people ‘liked’ the post objecting to any political debate. One of the objections was about having opinions ‘forced’ onto others – they didn’t like it when I suggested that they were doing precisely that! I was in two minds about attending tonight (7.30) as I have garnered more than enough information on independence, now I hope I meet some of these people there and can engage in some friendly debate.

101. scottish_skier

http://archive.is/e8XLt

Labour stalwart declares support for independent Scotland

SIR Charles Gray, one of Labour’s most respected figures and the former leader of Strathclyde Regional Council, has come out in favour of independence.

Sir Charles, 84, argues that backing the Yes Campaign is best for both Scotland and for the Scottish Labour Party.

He said: “I am convinced that a Yes vote next September will be the making of Scotland as well as the means for Scottish Labour to reclaim its place at the forefront of Scottish politics and Scottish life.”

102. mr thms

STV news on Daybreak said, in an item about homelessness at Christmas that it was at a 10 year high? They neglected to say this was a UK figure. Homelessness in Scotland is declining.
    http://news.scotland.gov.uk/News/Decline-in-homeless-figures-26d.aspx

103. Albalha

Stand by your wireless, J Lamont coming up now on GMS.

104. Albalha

Apparently J Lamont’s role is to rebuild trust in the Labour Party. She acknowledges dodgy things happened, won’t say what, won’t say what’s happening, hasn’t spoken to S Deans, won’t say why she thinks you can rebuild trust if you’re not willling to say openly what happened, won’t say if/when she’ll be chatting to Falkirk CLP members. Sure you get the idea.

Oh forgot she somewhat reluctantly aid she had read the report.

105. david

and that could be scotlands first minister, holy crap, she is simply awful

106. Ian Brotherhood

@Albalha-

Yeah, heard it.

I don’t know why she does radio interviews – she sounds even more torn-faced than she looks. They should send Jelly Baby in for these things – at least she can lie with a smile on her face.

107. Seasick Dave

david

Erm, no, that’s not going to happen.

108. MajorBloodnok

@lumilumi

In my day we referred to rabbits and hares as Lagomorphs, which I see when I checked wiki that it contains two (yes two) families: Laporidae (rabbits and hares) and Ochotonidae (pikas).

To be honest I’d never heard of the latter (and I studied Zoology for 10 years) but that is probably because one doesn’t find them in the UK (or Western Europe) and therefore they are profundly un-British and not worth teaching us about.

109. Edward

Listened to Lamont on GMS – she really was completely idiotic and tried avoiding answering any of the questions put to her. At one stage I was willing Gary Robertson to tell her that she is a useless waste of space. Loved the ‘have you read the report’ from Gary Robertson, to which she tries to wriggle out from answering by starting to say ‘I’ve seen it’ then moved back to her trying to talk about Labour dealing with the important issues. Asked about not attending the meeting in Falkirk yesterday, again wouldn’t answer. Asked why she hadn’t met with Stephen Deans, again no proper answer
    In reality she isn’t actually fit to make the tea, never mind lead a political party

110. Robert Kerr

Ed Milliband leads!
    Mrs Graham is the mouth at FMQ.

111. call me dave

Well Johann did not really say anything new, just reiterated old stuff about labour needing to regain the trust of the people. Aye right JoLa ! 

A bit like Darling and the union,  JoLa cannot give anyone a good reason to vote labour but hey people will and in great numbers too.

Was she asked  about ‘bedroom tax . . . Good old BBC.

112. Tattie-Boggle

Without being cruel you could draw black eyebrows on them and call them all Alistair ,you wouldn’t get them mixed up

113. MajorBloodnok

I’m hoping she’ll limp on until the Referendum.  I trust she called for a debate and then accused the SNP of closing it down?  That is her mantra.

114. truescot

If Johann Lamont is being “transparent” with her fellow Labour Party members, then why doesn’t she reveal the contents of the report that she has on Flakirk.

She kept repeating the need to look forward. to move on from this, that this was history.

It is going nowhere Johann, until the whole of Scotland sees what you, the Labour Party and the Unions have been up to.

The lot of the Labour/Union leadership look after one person and that one person is his/herself.

I urge all union members to STOP paying any more money into their bulging bank accounts. Withdraw support for your union, they do nothing for you. Latest news from the GMB Union is that they are backing the NO Campaign, because a YES vote would result in the loss of 40 Labour MP’s at Westminster.

We will re-group after independence.

Vote YES 2014.

115. Albalha

@Major
    Not ONE mention of the SNP, surely a first.

116. call me dave

Changing an old nag in midstream is risky unless you have a sure thing to carry you past the winning post.  Cant see Lamont being replaced now unless she decides to pack it in.  Better together for now I think Johann & Darling.

117. MajorBloodnok

@ call me dave

The dream team?

118. Luigi

When SLAB rats are caught in a trap, they start to attack one another.

JL is toast.

119. Bunter

Think Jo La will have to go to save Mr Eds bacon. Oink oink…

120. Robert Kerr

It has to be kosher

121. Kev

I see  Chinese TV have snapped up TV rights for Scottish matches for £20m, I believe that more than doubles the value of the current BT contract, more signs of strengthening of ties with the Chinese, essential for our future prosperity…but im absolutely confident that come Thursday, JL will try to paint Salmond’s trade mission as an expensive sightseeing trip for the Furst minister tae eat noodles, see the Great waw n some Pandas…

http://www.westfm.co.uk/news/local/scottish-footballs-20m-chinese-takeaway/

122. Robert Kerr

So no curries or pies for the FM then ?

123. Luigi

If JL had an ounce of self-respect, she would go before she is pushed.

We really don’t want you to go, Johann, but for the sake of your own dignity, go now!

124. Kev

“So no curries or pies for the FM then ?”

Not these days, I notice JL has lost a chin or 2 as well, seems to be that copying the SNP’s policies are just not enough for Slab, they are fond of their diets too, (obv with the exception of Jackie Baillie, for her dieting is now even more evil than before)

125. Alabaman

@Ian Brotherhood,
    why not take it at turns being “the town crier” for the day in question? That’s not against the law surely.

126. HandandShrimp

Loved the way JL snapped “Clearly it (the report) hasn’t drawn a lin under the matter”

I think that the only thing one can draw from the interview is that JL isperipheral to this saga and is not directly involved. A real leader would have spoken to all the key players if for no other reason than to find out what the hell is going on. She seems only interested in the PR aspects and the fact that it makes Labour look dodgy (obviously that is an issue but it isn’t the only issue here).

Must be the first interview she hasn’t blamed the SNP for everything though which makes it a curiosity in its own right.

127. MochaChoca

As reported on the BBC news page:

Lamont: “What I am very clear – this is about a situation that is entirely unacceptable for the Labour Party that we have presumed through the selection process that if you can get selected, we presumed that voters will come with us afterwards – that is entirely the wrong message.”
    “I am absolutely convinced that when a candidate is selected their focus will be on engaging again with the electorate rather than the process which is currently going on, which is deeply unedifying.”

WTF? can we get hold of a translator?

**Johann for First Minister**

128. HandandShrimp

Mocha

I think she was saying that the attitude in Falkirk was that all that was required was a monkey with a red rosette and the voters would duly follow regardless of who was selected. Labour have done this before and it has savaged them on the bahookie. It is understandable that this would cause concern. That said I have no idea if the Unite placewoman was a good candidate or not. She might have been better than the London approved candidate – if and when that decision is made.

Not convinced the crime was taking the electorate for granted. It might have been not toeing the party line on selection approvals.   

129. Dave McEwan Hill

MochaChoca

She is just giving the game away, ie they have always assumed that a pig’s bladder with a red rosette on it will get voted in in lots of areas but that’s not an entirely reliable expectation anymore.
    She’ll eventually carry the can for Labour’s deep trouble over Grangemouth and will be replaced in the hope that she’ll take the bad smell away with her.
    Somebody else will then start (they hope) with a clean bill of health. (Sir) Charles Gray has fairly put a spoke in it this morning – though the Herald seems to be convinced that the First minister should be fulfilling official functions in London by travelling from place to place in a mini cab

130. Robert Kerr

This person taught kids English!
    Graduate from Gilmorehill Finishing School for ladies even
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johann_Lamont

131. Dave McEwan Hill

Who’ll give me a bet on Iain Gray replacing Lamont?

132. Ian Brotherhood

@Albaman-

If we get enough expression of interest from Yes supporters right here, or via Twitter, I’m wondering if they’ll find a reason to cancel? It’s only an hour-long meeting (according to the link Albalha posted above) so it’s pretty clear they want it over with quickly – would be nice to send them home with ‘Yes’ ringing in their ears.

Still don’t know who’d speaking though…please, please, please let it be Jackie Baillie! I’ve got all these Aye Right leaflets and I’m dying to give her one.

133. mutterings

@MajorBloodnok
    To be honest I’d never heard of the latter [pikas] (and I studied Zoology for 10 years)

You obviously did not watch David Attenborough’s Life of Mammals series! The pikas were my favourites:

134. X_Sticks

Ian Brotherhood

“please, please, please let it be Jackie Baillie! I’ve got all these Aye Right leaflets and I’m dying to give her one.”

I think you might want to re-word that, Ian!

135. Luigi

“WTF? can we get hold of a translator?”

I don’t know about a JL translator, but the BS detector went crazy.

136. Colin Dunn

Hmm. I wonder if LabourHame could get 136 comments left on a page about pet rats. Doubt it 😉

137. john king

dave McEwan hill says 
    “Who’ll give me a bet on Iain Gray replacing Lamont?”
    I’ll take a fiver on that, I cant see Ian Gray fancying getting his arse handed to him again 

138. john king

X-stick says
    “I’m dying to give her one.”
    To each his own X-sticks to each his own 😉
    Sorry X-sticks
    to each his own Ian to each his own 😉

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.