SNP 2025 Update
So here’s where we’re at.
Fat 20 grand pay rises for themselves, taking the salary of every minister and junior minister (which is almost half of SNP MSPs) over £100,000. Nice.
But Nicola Sturgeon’s still skint, so it’s £160 a skull to have a wee canape or two with her before you watch her field some ultra-soft questions from one of her pals.
And don’t worry, she won’t be paying too much tax on it.
Don’t be expecting any progress on indy for that extra cash – having already abolished the short-lived office of the Minister For Independence (supposedly to “focus on the economy”, which the Scottish Government doesn’t control), they’ve binned all the civil servants who were ostensibly working on it too in order to secure Lib Dem support for the budget, even though they didn’t need anyone’s votes to pass the budget.
(Labour having announced weeks in advance that they would abstain, leaving no way the government could lose the vote even if everyone else voted against.)
And they won’t be showing up at any cross-party independence convention to come up with a strategy despite admitting that they don’t currently have one of their own, and despite the fact that they’ve been promising such a convention since Nicola Sturgeon’s infamous capitulation speech in January 2020.
Ordinary SNP members unhappy at this state of affairs who’d like to challenge it don’t even know who to ask. They aren’t allowed to know who’s on their own NEC now – the members section on the party website includes only a partial list, supplemented by an unspecified number of unidentified other “Representatives from the Parliamentary Groups, the Association of SNP Councillors and Affiliated Organisations”.
(Is the Association of SNP Councillors different to the Association of Nationalist Councillors? We honestly don’t know. The ANC’s Twitter account says that it only represents SNP councillors, but it hasn’t tweeted since 2022, and we can’t find any online presence for any Association of SNP Councillors.)
They do get an exhaustive account of what the Committee’s been up to, though. Here’s the entirety of what members were told about the last monthly meeting.
(Featuring interim CEO Carol Beattie being thanked for her service before stepping down to make way for new permanent CEO, er, Carol Beattie.)
Short version: no indy, plenty gravy. Both votes SNP, everyone!
Whitehall’s finest.
So glad I left in 2019 before if became a unionist secret society.
Swinney gets worse day by day.
If you think the SNP are unionists then you really are a special kind of dumb
If they thought that standing up and saying “Right of claim”
Would instantly dissolve the union then they would do it quicker then you could say
“Private jet catalogue”
link to find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk
“Nature of business- Artistic creation”. Aye, piss artist!
And Maureen Watt as President ?!?
I look forward to Geri telling English scum like myself how the SNP are super dead brilliant and how they are the chosen ones on behalf of Scotland and they should be paid £20,000 extra day
Why at the same time telling everyone else they are forced upon the TRUE SCOTS by the English
HEY NATS
I want a competent Scottish government
I want free speech
I want less state interference
I want a smaller state
Who should I vote for?
As there isn’t a single YOON party who offer that
OR
Is wanting those things anti-scottish?
As they are all the exact opposite of what the SNP offer
YS. Your comment is vague and inarticulate.
If you want a smaller state, the English might well oblige by moving boundaries.
Only state interferrence could retain Grangemouth but you might prefer ‘free enterprise’.
You are most likely to vote for Farage and co.
This lot were never remotely interested in attaining independence. Whether it was an ‘inside job’ or sheer incompetence is a moot point.
One thing is certain, though, whoever has will be given more, and they will have an abundance.
Some things never change.
OR
They knew that they couldn’t win indyref2 even if they got it
And figured out that if they waved a saltire once a year then idiots would vote them back into power
58,940 members.
Isn’t that a further drop on what they’d last claimed?
How the mighty have fallen..
Mind you, how’s Westminster parties branch membership here going, or don’t they dare release those figures..
Irritating c**t “Thrush” Mendacious McCarthyismface need not reply; it won’t be read..
I hear cant thrush is a nasty condition.
Care to give us a first person account, YL sah!
Ah, if only I had £20 for all the posts/posters boldly claiming on here they don’t read my posts – I’d be well on my way to an extra £20k myself.
£20 in crisp new tenners says that even as I type, YL sah! Is eagerly checking his notifications to see if I’ve risen to his bait and given him the affirmation he craves.
Any takers? Maybes naw, eh
*Fuck off*
I suspect the uplift is designed to compensate some of the outgoing team before they either step down or lose their seats come May 2026.
And the higher salary will be factored in to the calculation of their pensions.
Best thing would be to shut Holyrood down. It serves no useful purpose. It’s just an expensive additional layer of government we don’t need. Can someone tell me what a Scottish MP does these days. MSP’s deal with a lot of stuff that MP’s used to do and still do in England. So Scottish MP’s must have very little to do. If MSP’s want more money let them take it off Scottish MP’s who are doing nothing. Lets go back to the days when you would go and see your MP for all matters. And in those days Section 30 didn’t exist, all we needed for a referendum was a majority of Scottish MP’s at Westminster supporting it. Christ we still have a Scottish Office, what do they do day to day. It’s absurd
I agree – and I voted for devolution. It was set up to stymie the growing movement heading towards Scottish independence. Authentic devolution should have resulted in a devolved English government too. It didn’t.
YEP
I’ll never forget the cold sweat of fear that run down my back after I read the true horror of this headline
link to latimes.com
Free by 93
THE UNION IS OVER
Sillars was right. Holyrood was only ever going to be a roadblock. A trick to derail the march for independence. A much needed sticking plaster but it’s gig is now up. A busted flush. Tried , tested & failed. The English just couldn’t leave it alone as they imposed strict rules & clawed back powers & control.
Scotland should have insisted England had a devolved parliament too at the same time instead of them squatting in a GB parliament like they own the place.
Close Holyrood . A majority of Indy MPs is all that is needed for indy.
“Nicola Sturgeon Limited”. Yes indeed. Very limited, and with grotesque detrimental consequences for Scotland.
A demo outside the Usher Hall on the 7th October to remind people of her deceit and betrayal?
Brilliant Idea!
With different placards stating all the fuckups she is responsible for. Including the lies, deceit and framing of Alex Salmond!
The SNP are just corporate scammers. No more no less, and the electorate and democracy are the victims of the scam. This is the only lens through which to see them. All the usual identical traits employed by yer-run-o-the-mill scammer are there in broad daylight for all to see.
Well said Frank.
Correct.
Now you know the facts what will you do?
The biggest threat to Scotland is the SNP and the National paper, for me I’d rather see the SNP dead and buried and the Scottish parliament shut down and down for good. Holyrood which is a Unionist branch office for English parliament, only benefits the people working in it not Scotland. Liberation is Scotland’s best hope not the SNP.
From Sturgeon to Swinney and not one of them can see if they’d broken up the Union of the UK they could have sold there ticket on the world stage and made more money than they could have dreamed of.
As thick YOON I fully agree with you
That indy would make sturgeon one of the richest women on the planet
SO
If you where in Sturgeons shoes
How would you end the union with the horrible English?
Wave some flags?
Scream right of claim?
Declare UDI?
You simply do what was only ever required. You send a majority of Scottish indy supporting MPs to Westminster & declare independence.
That’s it. No bells & whistles, no section 30, no hoops to jump through, no % target to meet, no kissing English arses.
It’s good night Vienna. See ya… we’re off & here isn’t a single thing they can do to block it
Holyrood should be closed. That is the roadblock. The invention of the section 30 pish & endless mitigation for toxic Tory policies the SNP decided to wrap up in cotton wool.
If yoons really love Tories so much they should live the dream & actually live Tory policies. All of them..
Unleash the dogs on yoons I say…let’s see how really cool they are living the dream of Toxic Tory & digging in their pockets for bridge tolls, prescriptions, child care, elderly care, bedroom tax, dementia tax, tuition fees..etc..etc…that’d soon bring some much needed focus..let the games begin.
@Geri – you’re in grave danger of making comments directly relevant to independence. The problem with the “let the Tories have their own medicine” is they’d take the threat of mythical bridge tolls and the occasional £10 prescription fee in a heartbeat if it meant income tax was reduced to English levels. Raising income tax so that it’s so much higher than rUK is a particularly stupid SNP policy, up there with gender transition in my view.
That’s because you’re thick as mince.
The English have higher taxes in all the additional costs of living they have there, like water charges, GP appointments, dental charges, higher rents & properties, higher council taxes etc..
How many Scots actually earn all the mythical salaries you yoons dream up to continually beat the *higher taxes* drum like fckn eejits? I’d guess precious little are on 150K+ & if they are, quit moaning because you save on on the *free shit* you yoons also complain about FFS…
The fecked up Yoon arithmetic there where everything arrives back to Scotland is shite..
Then fuck off & move. Simples.
“is they’d take the threat of mythical bridge tolls”
Google is your friend. Not mythical at all. Go update yer bot…
“Yes, people in England do pay bridge tolls in the UK, though not on all bridges. Some bridges, like the Severn Bridge and the M4 Prince of Wales Bridge, used to have tolls, but these were abolished in 2018. However, bridges like the Skye Bridge, Mersey Gateway Bridge, and Humber Bridge still have tolls. “
Geri
After indy
Should Yoons escape scotland before we are executed from treason?
You do you, sunshine.
You do exactly the same as you colonising fuckwits do wherever you try recreate little England. You follow the laws of that country or remove yerself from living there. Simples really .
@Geri – the amount you have to earn to pay more tax in Scotland vs England is £28k, not some huge “mythical” salary as you put it. And by the time you get to a professionals salary of £80-£100k it’s the equivalent of losing nearly 3 weeks pay every month. There’s no charge for GP appointments in England (I don’t know where you got that from). The rest of the freebies don’t add up to much of a saving, certainly not to offset the income tax. It’s pretty revealing you don’t know this.
Also the Skye Bridge is a) in Scotland and b) doesn’t have a toll. Again, huge campaign and issue in Scottish politics.
Then move to England. Simples.
Scotland receives pocket money, a set of instructions of what to spend it on & a debt list for England’s shopping bill just for good measure.
Were told to fuck off & find extra money to pay for other things if we want them. “Raise Taxes” Yoons screamed – “You have the powers & won’t use them!” Yoons squealed! So they did only to find yoons are still fucking squealing how unfair it all is & how they didn’t actually mean their pay bracket…meanwhile they soak up..
Free prescriptions
Free dental checks
Free Eye checks
Free childcare
Free nursery places
Free School dinners
Free elderly personal care
Free bus passes
Free spare bedroom
Free hospital parking
Freeze on council tax
Free NHS – Yes, GPs/English NHS do have charges for additional items as well as prescriptions per item. Last I followed parly TV they wanted to pilot introducing GP charges for appointments so watch that space..
Etc, etc, etc..
& Still they fucking complain..suck it up, Sunshine, or move to Englandshire & pay a lower tax but a higher cost of living across the board.
As for Skye – that is correct – the toll was abolished. Shows how shite Google’s AI is eh? They answered the question. Humber Bridge does tho so it wasn’t “mythical” tolls as you claim. The Tories love a good bridge toll scam as well as the scam to charge the ppl of Yorkshire for its maintenance. Puts it into perspective tho eh cause us Scots are lead to believe these fckrs subside us while they don’t even allow their own citizens to cross a fucking bridge or even have a spare bedroom LOL!
I’m sure the good ppl of Scotland would willingly give up free childcare & dental checks etc just so some twat on £100k can save a few quid on their taxes. NOT!
& I may be wrong but it’s my understanding that the tax raising powers came with a catch (Doesn’t everything from the English always have an angle?) whatever the Scottish government raise in taxes is deducted from the following yrs budget. If correct, that’s nice of them eh? Remind me again of the great benefits of this toxic Union? Can you name any? We’re still waiting for an answer…
I know one of them won’t be Scots crying over someone on £100k losing three weeks money every yr. That money doesn’t belong to them. It belongs to the government to see fit how they spend it. It’s the contract you agree to when you accept the job offer.
“won’t be Scots crying over someone on £100k losing three weeks money every yr. That money doesn’t belong to them. It belongs to the government to see fit how they spend it”
And there you have it
Your wages belong to the state
PS
Care to point to the piece of UK legislation that says majority of Scottish MP means instant indy?
also
seeing you could get all Scottish MPs with 38% of the vote
What happens to the 62% unionists?
Geri says:
“Freeze on council tax”
My, my. Does Geri know much of anything about what she writes?
Haha, rhetorical question.
To be fair, maybe there’s a man in the picture somewhere to pay all her bills for her. Bless.
Interesting to see her so fanatically determined to defend ScotGov and refute what started off as condemnation of the hypocrisy of Sturgeon in avoiding paying the taxes she herself imposed on ordinary Scots.
Maybe we’re supposed to not notice Geri’s obfuscation, deflections and evasions, buried as they are, under her signature screeds of hysterical, ad hominem abuse and outright lies.
@Geri – firstly, every single thing on your list is either free in its entirety or free with means testing in England, so the perks really are only for the middle class, who are now significantly financially worse off.
Secondly, there we have it – “if you don’t like our higher taxes, move to England”. Then who pays for all the free stuff, plus the alleviation of poverty (which is still a major problem in parts of the central belt as you know), and the economic development agenda, plus the better public services we’re all expecting. The group of people I’m talking about, people earning £80-£150k in their 30-50’s are the group who pays for everything, so it’s a major problem now that Scotland is a lot less attractive compared to what it was or now compared to England. Driving away successful higher rate taxpayers in favour of encouraging retirees is economic suicide for a country looking to become independent, but it appears that is exactly the strategy being pursued!
Complete bollocks.
& Means testing is just job creation intended to put ppl off from claiming altogether.
& The rich don’t pay fuck all. They’re rich for a reason. They hoard & invest in capital. They offer very little to the economy because they don’t spend unless it’s to spend on snagging all the properties & then charging exorbitant rents to families or tourists.
What will pay for Scots post indy? Scots will, we’ll be in full control of our own resources, our own economic decisions & in FULL control of who we trade with & who invests here. No more FREE Gas, oil & electricity to a hostile neighbour for a start & no more cooking the books via ports.
You morons don’t seem to realise that there’s hundreds of independent countries out there who manage perfectly well & without as many natural resources as Scotland has. Scotland is a wealthy country. It’s England who isn’t. That’s why they have to steal. None of those independent countries are running to the parasite that is England to sign up to a union are they? They couldn’t even get trade deals so have o resort to their rebranding of Scots world class food, drink & textiles & drown it in the butchers apron – just incase ppl forgot what bastards were flogging it. The same ones who they probably colonised at one point. So quit with the too wee pish that’s long been debunked.
& Stop dumping yer pensioners here. If they can obtain all that free stuff just from filling in a form then what are they doing here leeching off our services & snapping up all the properties? If they were brown ppl you lot would be losing yer shit & demanding them flights.
Yoon Scum – yer wages already do. Do you live in some parallel universe where you get to set yer own Tax & NI contributions? You enter a contract & yer deductions are already made clear before you even accept the job. You morons really need to stop thinking you pay for other ppl. You don’t. Poor ppl pay too & no one gets to decide they won’t bother unless they fancy a wee stretch in jail. If you wanna rant, fck off and rant to the UK government about Starbucks, boots, Amazon, Google etc who don’t pay theirs at all if they can avoid it.
Just wait until you see what AI has in store for you. You’ll own nothing & starve if you aren’t deemed healthy enough & a worthy compliant member of society. AI is going to decide survival of the fittest even tho it is over 50% inaccurate in its decision making – the West is defiantly pressing on & fck the losers. Collateral damage. So buckle up, sunshine. Yer going to really know what State rule is via a conscience free bit of electronic tat. Mind, yer human overlord, Sir Kid Starver & all his English predecessors, are already wanted for war crimes, past & present, so maybe AI won’t be any different really other than the fleg – it’s no doubt be stamped on its forehead.
Yoon Scum
“Care to point to the piece of UK legislation that says majority of Scottish MP means instant indy?”
Democracy. Majority rules. The ballot box. Union by consent. Claim of Right. Right to self determination.
Pick any one you like.
No legislation needed. They’re all internationally recognised as legal & enshrined in international law. Also enshrined in the non negotiable terms of the Union.
Y’know – those great “Western Values” you bomb the fck out of others for not sharing & leave them to live amongst rubble.
You really have to laugh at the fascist democracy deniers thinking there’s nothing wrong with their world view in just blocking democracy cause they’ll lose while at the same time try sell us democracy values in some far flung country no one has heard of, usually in possession of a gold mine or three they want to relieve them of. Do you seriously buy that shit? Zoomer.
Point me to the legislation that states Scotland cannot terminate a political union. & Don’t mention the SP court pish. That was only for Holyrood. The English branch office.
Take yer time….
Geri says:
“wanted for war crimes”
Tell ye fit, Geri. Aff ye go and mak yersel a citizen’s arrest.
I’ll be behind you 1000%. Every sane and rational Scot will be too. It’ll be the finest cabaret we can ever expect to see in our entire lives.
@Geri – Intrigued by some of this, could you advise in particular how;
– people who earn £80-£150k can get away with paying no income tax; and
– how people living in England can benefit from free oil, gas and electricity.
Why you are wasting your time on here when you could on hosting your own Martin Lewis style programme advising higher earners how to keep an additional 35/40% of their income is beyond me.
The reality is Geri – public services have to paid for by money raised through general taxation, and that’s the case the world over. You can’t go around claiming that because Scotland has oil/gas, wind and fresh water that money will magically appear in the state bank account without any legal means of collecting it. The money has to be raised through taxation, and you’re sat here telling the most valuable taxpayers, the ones that contribute disproportionately to public services, that they should piss off over the border into England. I don’t think you really have a grasp of macroeconomics, but the reality of the resources unicorn isn’t going to descend from the Cairngorms and bless Scot’s with untold riches. Serious people actually have to consider what the fiscal position of an independent Scotland might be and what tax and spending polices will provide good public services and support economic growth.
Shitface
No need to. Over 40 lawyers, from all different countries, are already on the case. The Muppet is even on video saying it’s perfectly legit for an occupying force to turn off electricity, water & aid.
The rule of law applies to everyone or it doesn’t. The United Nations is under immense pressure to decide if a handful of antagonist yobs make up the UN Charter as they go along or if the should just abandon & start again without them. Trump is only adding to it by starting a trade war to keep his donors happy. That’s also not going to plan..
Things aren’t looking great are they, grandad? I thought you’d be off crying in yer cornflakes at another F16 down too…
Geri
There is two possible futures in this world
The first is where Scotland is an extreme left wing marxist state where the state controls everything and there is death camps for those that disagree with the government
the other future
Is a future where you are deeply disappointed.
Geri
As most of my relatives all live in England
Will an independent Scotland work with the EU to ensure that england is cut off from all imported food, power, gas and water?
And how long before my family are in the streets starving to death
I thought you’d be aff crying in yer cornflakes that an F16 ever goat aff the groond. C’moan Geri, you promised us that not one ever would.
So why aren’t you greetin? And apologising for being a liar?
Haha! Maybe your clock is still telling you we haven’t yet reached the end of President Trump’s first 24 hours in office. But dinna fash, yer wee secret is safe.
But first, when you doing your citizen’s arrest? That popcorn isn’t going to keep for ever.
Have ye asked yer man aboot the increase in cooncil tax he’s paying fer ye? Ah wonder fit else he’s keeping fae ye, eh?
Absolutely loving Sturgeon’s use of dividends to minimise her exposure to the punitive additional Scottish income tax she saw fit to extort from our Scottish grafters.
If she’s the only one in ScotGov doing this, I’ll be so surprised I’ll tattoo a saltire on my arse.
I guess that when it comes to us all being in it together, being really in it is just for the little people failures who lack the nous to exploit the tax loopholes.
Where’s twathater when you really need him (and that’s not something said every day, or even ever)?
[ For clarity, I’ll need help with the arse saltire tattoo. In case anybody’s wondering
]
You’re an eejit. Of course the “Scottish grafters” will be using the exact same loopholes on that pay bracket. Welcome to the UK, where swindling the poor for the rich to maintain their lifestyle is an art form. Even Lizzie had her wee offshore accounts to dodge her own tax bill.
As for the Saltire on yer arse – you’d probably melt, hissing & spitting like her from the Exorcist being shown a crucifix. 666 is probably more up yer street…
After Indy
Will it be a hate crime to wave the GLORIOUS UNION FLAG?
Or will it seize to exist?
I have a postage stamp here, Geri.
Ye’re welcome tae write on it fit ye ken aboot Scottish grafters.
A very nice wee top up to the pensions of those standing down at the next Scottish election. When they may receive up to two thirds of their final salary. And it comes in nicely just in time to fit in to the 2025-2026 financial year.
Trebles all round (at our expense) in the heavily subsidised dining and drinking areas.
Nice wee top up and gold plated pensions too whilst everyone else is losing their pension shirt.
“Bought and sold for English gold …..”
More accurately
bought and sold for Scottish payers money
It bought you lot time.
We’d be independent by now. Holyrood was only ever a sticking plaster & that was quickly ripped off via Brexshit & the hollowing out of powers that followed.
Now it’s just a talking shop full of careerists.
As you seem an avid fan of face paint & Braveheart then *Burn it*
We’ll go back to the single “Mother of all parliaments” & do what we should have done from the ery beginning. Send a majority of Indy MPs to Westminster & declare our independence. No section 30 required. No block either. The Scottish ppl will have spoken. Indy means indy & all that jazz.
The Union is by consent & when the Scots no longer give our consent the Union is deid. Over. All the tricks in the world won’t get Perfidious Albion out of that one. The ballot box has spoken..
“Don’t be expecting any progress on indy for that extra cash – having already abolished the short-lived office of the Minister For Independence (supposedly to “focus on the economy”, which the Scottish Government doesn’t control)…”
That’s a bit harsh seeing as you have previously used polling stats that showed the economy was more important to Scots than returning Scotland to self-governing status.
Would have thought that was an open goal for any articulate independence supporter to rip the NuSNP a new one and convey the message to the Scottish electorate that improving their economic lot is only really going to be possible with Scotland aquiring all major powers currently reserved and controlled by London Rule, and after that Scots would be empowered to begin to sort our economy.
It is afterall likely to be the main reason to support Scotland returning to self-governing status in the first place…
While I am happy to say that the SNP don’t have full control of Scotlands economy
Can I also say
Thank fuck they don’t have full control
As they appear to be wilfully ignorant of the laffer curve
When they can use the few powers they have just now responsibly
Then I might vote to give them more powers
But just now they appear ignorant and incompetent
At this point you will probably flop over to what I call the “magic cupboard theory”
The magic cupboard theory is where a NAT will claim that after we leave the union then the magic cupboard will open in Holyrood and an entirely new set of competent and intelligent polticans will come out of it. And they will replace the fuckwits in the SNP
I don’t believe in the magic cupboard
I believe that after indy (which has never been closer) that will will be lumbered with the same polticans that we have just now
And the ones we have just now
Aren’t very good
PS for the hard of thinking
Not wanting bum cancer isn’t a glowing desire for brain cancer
For the hard of thinking, ie, YOU… What is so great about the Union then? What benefits do Scots receive from the one party state next door that perpetually falls short every single time…
I gave you a full & comprehensive list of SNP achievements for Scotland over the last decade. Let’s be having yours now. It’ll surely be a long one given the 300 yrs of pish we’ve had to suffer..
Let’s be having it..we could do with a laugh.
After indy
Will filth ike me allowed to vote?
Will English scum like me be allowed to own property?
Do you have an identity problem? You said on another rabid post of yours that you were born in Scotland. Now yer English? How did that happen? Swallowing Yoon beans?
Be off with you, troll, & take all yer other identities with you.
Dear geri
I was born in scotland
I am against scottish independence (mainly due to loons like you)
Do you consider me to be Scottish?
Or am I a filthy English colonist invader?
Y.S.
‘As they appear to be wilfully ignorant of the laffer curve’
If you think Lafferism is in any way NOT a politically driven nonsense, then you probably need to stop typing and do some reading. [1]
If you think advocating for continued extreme neoliberalism is going to help you or us, then you probably ARE an extremist idealogue.
If you would like to be educated as to how a simple and relatively painless adjustment to the current extreme neoliberal climate enforced upon Scotland by England-as-Britain could help everyone who lives on these islands, then you could read an analysis of the current existing situation with respect to taxation [2], and the fully costed remedies which Professor Richard Murphy has provided.
[3]
[1] link to nytimes.com
[2] link to taxresearch.org.uk
[3] link to taxingwealth.uk
aLurker says: 14 April, 2025 at 10:54 am
“If you think Lafferism is in any way NOT a politically driven nonsense”
Agreed, aLurker.
We Scots are special people and we all like nothing more than grafting to contribute as much of our incomes as is possible to the state.
This is especially true when we can all see that every bawbee of our hard-earned taxes go to deserving causes we all support, under the benign guiding hands of our political classes of unimpeachable moral rectitude, transparent openness, and unbribeable fiscal prudence.
Like you and every other true Scot in the land, once I am in the solitude of that polling booth in May 2026, I intend to put my X next to the Scottish party that promises to squeeze me until my pips squeak. And everybody else of course, natch.
Let’s all shout about this from the rooftops, aLurker and Indy will surely follow.
The sort of people who deride the Laffer Curve are the same sort of people who ignore plain empirical facts, such as how “successful” the 90% higher income tax band was in the 1960s and 75% in the 1970s.
Long may it continue; those with the most to lose in the event of an independent Scotland with anything like the current political class et al in charge must note such innumerate ignorance with abject horror. Good.
Dan: what do you mean by the words “rip the nuSNP a new one”? NuSNP is obvious but i have not fornd a specialist dictionary to help with the phrase as a whole. Is this an instance of American useage?
Sorry to learn that your search engine is broken and you’ve been left pondering. Maybe think along the lines of the term “tearing a strip off of someone” and you’ll grasp the meaning.
But rather dissapointed that there is not far more discussion and scrutiny regarding ongoing political decisions being mooted and made.
Not one person picked up on content in the weekend’s ISP bulletin which mentions a U-turn on GE and GM crops and food.
link to isp.scot
Aye, best just leave it aw in the hands of others to determine what’s best for us seeing as the powers that be fucking about with stuff resulted in covid and their “vaccines” went so well.
It also further ties in crop and food production to big corporate interests with monopolies on seed copyright.
Fortunately I’m still able to grow and harvest a lot of my own food and keep plants and seeds for the next season.
Off out for a quick fishing session now, but not for fish, this time I’m magnet fishing to catch the two disposable vapes some brain dead roaster chucked off the bridge into the river.
Pity the “Greens” and “
StWronger For Scotland” NuSNP never did push for a vape deposit return scheme (which I suggested years ago) and would have been a very simple system to implement.If they’d done that I could soon be a tenner up, but instead our unthinking politicians allowed tens of thousands of vapes to be thrown away causing the toxins in the batteries to leech out into our environment, or for the batteries to short out and catch fire as they are processed along with general refuse in waste management facilities.
Hey Dan, maybe most “true Scots” never go anywhere near anything that’s ever been grown naturally in the ground.
Chips excepted
As it happens, I used to be dead opposed to GM tinkering too. But that was back in the days when I thought the environment could still be saved. It’s now obvious it can’t, so WTF. If we assume that Darwinian natural selection is valid throughout nature, and we assume that humans are part of nature, then we can at least hypothesise that an ability to gather economic wealth is just another facet of natural selection.
The wealthy always get the best diets, so I expect that sufficient humans (the rich ones) will make it through and out the other end of the looming evolutionary choke point.
So the survivor’s ancestors will have been the greedy, grasping, selfish, sharp-elbowed, calculating, hypocritical cants. So what. A wee think about Darwinian natural selection over geological eras tells us that must be true about EVERY SINGLE ONE OF US ALIVE TODAY.
Yup. We’re all descended from the survivors who stamped the faces of the weaker ones into the ground.
Well done for clearing up the vapes.
If you have any ideas for stopping GM food on our supermarket shelves, other than just bumping our gums about it on here, then let’s hear them.
As a typical TORY I am 100% against GM crops
Golden Rice which could easily and cheaply solve the vitamin A deficiency in poor areas is disgusting
These people should be paying towards rich corporations instead of growing rice that contains Vitamin A
How can I get richer if it isn’t through poor people suffering?
Hatey said;
“So the survivor’s ancestors will have been the greedy, grasping, selfish, sharp-elbowed, calculating, hypocritical cants. So what. A wee think about Darwinian natural selection over geological eras tells us that must be true about EVERY SINGLE ONE OF US ALIVE TODAY.”
You need to read up more on evolution, Hatey; that’s an ancient trope. Evolution also permits co-operation as well as conflict. It comes down to local circumstances and what works out for the organisms and species involved. All of this is unconscious and undirected, (except for humans who have the capacity to negotiate as individuals and groups), but it certainly happens nonetheless. If it works out for the species involved, evolution can consolidate such behaviour.
The most important form of cooperation by far was that between the bacteria and the original free-living single-cell organisms that became our mitochondria, intra-cellular organelles that process the mechanisms of respiration, and which gave rise to the eukaryote cells that make up all multicellular organisms today. Something similar created the cells of plants which contain cellular organelles called chloroplasts that perform the process of photosynthesis for their hosts.
You can learn a lot from the natural world.
That ‘National Executive Committee – Sat 15th February’
requires some decoding:
National Secretary Alex Kerr [1]
Business Convener Angela Constance [2]
Depute Leader Keith Brown [3]
‘It was noted that the Interim Chief Executive was stepping down at the end of the month with the NEC thanking Carol Beattie for her contribution to the party and her work at headquarters.’
So presumably at some point after Sat 15th February and before 10th March they reversed this announcement by announcing that Carol Beattie was to stay on permanently. [4]
[1] link to en.wikipedia.org
[2] link to en.wikipedia.org
[3] link to en.wikipedia.org
[4] link to thenational.scot
N.E.C Addendumb
Members were most gratified by the fascinating talk from Arabella Whittering-Green titled The Ecology of Trans-Vaginas & The Sanctity of Arses.
This was followed by a hands-on demonstration of grooming , inc how best to get a leg-over an intern and grope a tea-person from a missionary position .
After lunch members engaged in a session of non-intrusive back-slapping combined with paper-shuffling : truly an under-appreciated artform .
Next came a lecture by Out For Undies spokestit , Tarquin Bladderwort , on how to sense and defuse an imminent micro-aggression from your pet cat/dog/budgie . Wonderfully illuminating .
Finally , the members would like to thank The Queer Cone Co for their generous supplies of tutti-frutti ice cream & ginger beer
See you all next year when we’ll all be super-busily engaged in greasing the wheels of the Gravy Train ( actually , finances being somewhat strained , it may be the Gravy Moped ) and selecting the most useless candidates to stand in the forthcoming Holyrood Erections .
“Swinney, in a response to a Holyrood written question by SNP MSP Rona Mackay, said: “Since 1 April 2009, Scottish ministers have declined to accept their full salary entitlement, freezing it at 2008-09 levels.
“Between the start of the pay freeze on 1 April 2009 and 31 March 2025, this has resulted Scottish ministers making over £2.2 million available for public spending from their own pay packets.”
————————————————————
I would like to see some evidence to confirm that.
Maybe someone could post their pay statement and also post the relevant part in the Scottish Gov accounts that show the returned pay?
Exactly. At the end of the day this is the Campervan party we’re talking about. Scammers the lot of them.
Cesaire reminds us that a colonial society always functions through numerous ‘confidential agents pensioned off at high reward’. And Fanon tells us where we are in the decolonization process:
link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com
April the 23rd we discus all this in Brechin – the event will be livestreamed.
For those interested, Holyrood has recently begun a blog / newsletter in Gaelic, edited by Alasdair MacCaluim agus Mark McNeilly:
BLOG PÀRLAMAID NA H-ALBA
Fiosrachadh is naidheachd bho Phàrlamaid na h-Alba
link to parlamaidalba.wordpress.com
@Yoon Scum
Can you not just F**k O** now
You obviously like nothing about Scotland, why don’t you head back to parasite central where you feel at home?
Oh wait I know, because you’re a F**kn parasite
You’re leeching some benefit from living in Scotland much like your motherland, whether of blood or just soul, leeches oil, water, electricity, geographical importance etc etc meanwhile telling us we’re poor, like India was poor and every other corner of the earth you’ve perverted and attempted to destroy
Your allegiance is to the must horrific fascist state the world has ever known, hidden behind bowler hats and marble mouthed condescension
Just get tae f**k
Bravo!
Well said!
Can I ask
Are you and Geri paid by MI6 to make look like Scottish nationalists are thick English hating intolerant arses
or
Do you do it for free?
As you’re certainly doing an excellent job at it
Not up to your usual writing standard, Rev Stu.
It has to be you in there, right? Got to be, as it’s only you who gets to say who can post on Wings BTL.
That’s defo a ball ache for those brave “freedom fighters” who melt like chocolate fireguards every time they encounter an opinion they disagree with (online and anonymous FFS! – the very definition of unimportant and irrelevant).
But no loss, eh? What use are chocolate fireguards, however thick, to a nation striving for its freedom, independence and prosperity?
None.
Coincidental juxtapositions are fun.
Is that Lucy Letby getting a gig with them? Head of child welfare??
I suppose if indy was a baby, then Nikki is the Lucy Letby equivalent (- with hints of Myra Hindley and Lady Macbeth.)
There is a profound uniformity among the western political class about social issues, economics, like they are all getting it from the same place, reading from the same songsheet.
Bill Hicks put it thusly : they are all “sucking Satan’s cock”
which would explain a lot, like – why nothing gets better, it just gets worse, the determination to force on people perverse and unpopular policies, in all countries, at the same time
check this guy, start about 30 minutes in (it’s all okay, if you aren’t doing much)
youtu.be/IkR3iANDA78?t=2030s
I wonder if he misses the orgies?
He seems a bit of a plonker; he sells his soul to satan and loses his job.
– does lucifer have a 30 day no fault refund period? Can we get the lord of flies with the consumer credit act?
The palace of westminster, curiously, for no apparent reason, has 3 masonic lodges.
England’s ruling class were shaped by buggery in the public schools; it warps the mind, one becomes a sadist and this poison flows down from the top and into every subsequent action.
The worship of the demon Moloch (something the hebrews did for a while) involved throwing newborns into a furnace in the feet of the idol.
Baphomet is another idol/demon, with both tits and a cock.
When you start to see these strange links all over the place, makes you wonder if there is any coincidence at all, merely synchronicity in the jungian sense.
“you start to see these strange links all over the place”
Of course you do, Confused.
It’s all the fault of the Dews.
Baby burning and buggery. Just look at all those letter ‘b’s.
Coincidence? You know better, eh Confused?
Just gie thanks tae the Guid Gowd yer mammie never cried ye Brian.
“Is the Association of SNP Councillors different to the Association of Nationalist Councillors?”
Tut, tut – Is the Association of SNP Councillors different FROM the Association of Nationalist Councillors?
We’ve all had a fun weekend screaming hysterical abuse at each other as we vent our anger at our impotence and futility over the elites who control us.
I would vote for any body in Scotland who would do something about this:
link to unherd.com
Here in Scotland, there is still time to draw a line in the sand and state “this shall not be crossed”. Because of our demographics, and our own legal system, we have the advantage that we can still do this, as part of our campaign and plans for Independence.
For England, and thus for the UK generally, it’s already too late.
Nobody should be under any illusion that the power that is subverting mainland Europe, England and increasingly Northern Ireland, won’t have Scotland on its target list too.
That being the case, our pointless rammying on here is the equivalent of fiddling while Rome burns.
Oh do pipe down. Replace islam with Judaism & you’re already there bending the knee to capitulate, welcome in laws & arrest ppl for daring to speak against it, including against a current gen-ocide.
So dry yer eyes & put yer white sheet back in the broom cupboard & go sit down .
Fa’s this current genocide than?
And how come raisins are being left alone? Can they afford to be unconcerned?
Do you reckon they’ll eventually come for prunes too? You had best start on a daily hyaluronic acid regime, just in case, eh Geri
Get yer man tae buy you some.
Hyaluronic mind, nae hydrochloric because … ach never mind. Yer man will defo know what’s best for you.
Here you go, Geri. The photos of 22 blown to bits on this link. Take your time and have a good, long laugh in the face of every one of them.
link to bbc.co.uk
Mind and have an extra hearty chortle at the kiddies
Oh do shut up FFS.
The UK is heavily involved in terrorism & has been for centuries. It actively seeks out the weak & the wounded to exploit & radicalise into carrying out atrocities like these so they can go blast through £billions bombing the fuck out of things abroad (that just happens to be neighbours of a certain someone) with the public’s blessing so morons like you can squeal like a stuck pig demanding retribution. Little old UK again…was just minding it’s own bizz ZZzzzz
Did you learn fck all from NI? Newsflash, Islam isn’t just brown ppl.
There’s a far more dangerous ideology that has overtaken the UK & the West. Permeating through every aspect of our lives, from our parliaments to our laws, to even a fcking re-tweet, a celebrity, a protest at anti war & even into football grounds removing flags, to policing, thought police & even into *just thinking* there may be trouble yet you don’t cry yer eyes out about it, in fact, the opposite, you cheer it on blowing kids up every.single.day because they don’t have a right to exist because some magical being said they’ve no right to be there because, err – it was written, that’s why..so do piss off. As they say in legal circles ‘You opened the door’
Moral of the story. Stop going to other countries to destabilise, disrupt, starve, persecute & kill & maybe they won’t follow you fucking home. Okay?
Sorry, Geri, your post rambles a bit.
Did you have an extra chortle at the blown up kiddies?
A simple Yes or No will suffice.
And mind and read the label on yer bedtime cleanser. Don’t risk looking like a prune the morn.
What is it with you & kiddies, Shitface?
You seem to have an unhealthy fixation with them.
Are you projecting something?
Can you also never stick to the discussion in hand but continually wander off onto something else? Usually a poor attempt at an insult.
Do one.
@Geri says:14 April, 2025 at 11:52 pm
PAEDO!!!
Does Scotland weep? Surely some of us must, that this is what Indy means in 2025.
the thing about islam, a terrible system really, is that nothing happens without a reason; it’s like God lets you roam on a long leash, then yanks you back in. Take even Satan, he is not God’s adversary, or equal – he still works for God, he is Man’s opponent; he tests you.
Likewise what is Islam but “the scourge of God” – it is coming to england, to punish the english for the accumulated crimes of empire and for a ton of other shit going back even further. In a way, a good thing – you cannot limit God in his instrument, everything is his creation, ultimately.
link to archive.ph
– so when england gets turned into p4ki-saudi-stan-shire, it is righteous; but we don’t want caught up in it, as collateral damage. Evil has to exist, because of free will, and yet still serves a higher purpose, in this case to destroy a far greater evil.
Islam, in the end, I think will itself be destroyed, likely by the chinese – they won’t mess about, they won’t let them slowly dig in for generations, setting up mosques, madrassas, halal slaughter houses. Disciplined and intelligent people, the chinks; they won’t fall for the taqqiya bullshit. Not animal lovers, though, and frankly they see the muslims as just that.
Everything we do, or don’t do when we could have acted – creates a debit or a credit in our universal account. God allows a generous overdraft; He gives you time to pay, time to fix your mistakes, to come to some realisation as the product of internal growth, spiritually and intellectually … then when you keep farting in His face and middle fingering Him
– He “sends the boys round” to collect
anglo saxon “liberal democracy” … YER TEAS OOT !!
inshallah
and see how long the rainbow woke demographic lasts when a stern man in a beard informs them their behaviour is “haram”
link to archive.ph
– not a parody by chris morriss
An interesting post, Confused.
But confused. And how apt is that?
You believe internally, because you haven’t taken the trouble to spell it out, that when the “day of judgement” arrives, you will self-evidently be among the saved. Scotland too, or at least all those Scots who agree with you.
But that’s not how it works. If you never cottoned onto the meaning of the “motes and beams” parable as a wean, it’s too late for you now.
“punish the english for the accumulated crimes of empire”
A well-worn classic from the library of Wings BTL fallacious tropes. But perhaps you’re just another poster accrediting yet more miraculous powers to Hadrian’s Wall.
You not only think it stops responsibility for empire from spreading north, you believe it will keep out divine vengeance too!
Scottish born but transitioned to being English,
is it the first Trans yoon.
Seeing that I have transitioned to English
Does this make me evil?
AND
What happens to NO voters after indy?
YS: a comment citing the ‘Laffer Curve’ really reaches a low point from which personal credibility cannot be re-established.
Are you so thick that you think that 100% income tax on all earnings over a million would raise any money?
What happens to NO voters after indy?
Get used to it, leave or go back to where they came from
After you win indyref 3
(indyref 2 has already happened Queen Nicola promised it. She isn’t English therefore can’t lie)
Will us YOONs be allowed to camping for indyref4?
So we can rejoin with our beloved English overlords?
OR
Would that land me in jail
LMAO!
The scots parliament, that just means its mostly operated by the scots, I used to operate a machine, but the machine was not owned by me, and the owner made sure I new my place
This machine
Can switch it off and on again?
YS. Maybe you are so thick that you think the Laffer curve means what you say. I am not highly intelligent, nor trained as an economist, but general reading indicates that Laffer’s ‘curve’ is regarded as valid only by ‘economists’ who accept ‘free market’ religion, including trump and those of his ilk.
If you can show us the shape of the Laffer ‘curve’, rather than a notional origin and arbitrary end point, then you are a very clever boy.
Your comments are, however, barely literate. How did you do in your Highers?
comment
SOME ROYAL REGALIA TRIVIA:
The Honours of Scotland
The Honours of Scotland are the oldest regalia in the British Isles.
The crown, the sword and sceptre date from the late fifteenth and early sixteenth century, during the reigns of James IV and James V, the grandfather and father of Mary Queen of Scots.
According to tradition, the silver-gilt sceptre was a gift in 1494 from Pope Alexander VI to James IV, as a mark of papal support for Scotland as a ‘special daughter’ of the Holy See.
Remodelled and lengthened in 1536, the sceptre’s finial features small figures of the Virgin and Child, St James and St Andrew within Gothic canopies, flanked by stylised dolphins (symbolic of Christ’s Church). The sceptre is topped by a polished globe of rock crystal.
The Sword of State was another generous papal gift, presented to James IV in 1507, from Julius II (who commissioned Michelangelo to paint the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel). Almost 1.4 metres long, the silver-gilt handle is decorated with oak leaves and acorns (symbols of the risen Christ), and at the bottom of the handle are two stylised oak leaves overlapping the blade.
The blade is etched with the figures of St Peter and St Paul and Pope Julius’s inscription. According to tradition, the break in the blade is due to the sword being snapped in two in 1652 so that it could be smuggled away from Cromwell and his troops.
The sword has a scabbard of wood covered in dark red velvet and mounted with silver gilt, and a belt of woven silk and gold thread decorated with the arms of Pope Julius. The sword was subsequently used in the ceremonial connected with the Order of the Thistle, until the 300th anniversary of the Order in 1987.
The Crown of Scotland was made in its present form for James V, refashioned in 1540 from a damaged and lighter crown, by an Edinburgh goldsmith, John Mosman. James wore it to his consort’s coronation in the same year at the abbey church of Holyrood.
The circlet at the base is made from Scottish gold, encrusted with 22 gemstones and 20 precious stones taken from the previous crown. Freshwater pearls from Scotland’s rivers were also used. The crown weighs 1.64kg.
The Honours as coronation regalia were first used together at the coronation of the nine-month-old Mary, Queen of Scots in 1543, and subsequently at the coronations of her infant son James VI (and I of England) at Stirling in 1567 and her grandson Charles I in 1633 at the Palace of Holyroodhouse.
Despite his success at the Battle of Dunbar in 1650 and his subsequent occupation of Edinburgh Castle, Oliver Cromwell failed to stop the coronation of Charles II in 1651 at Scone (the last coronation in Scotland).
Determined to destroy the Scottish Crown Jewels, just as he had disposed of the English regalia, Cromwell pursued the Honours to Dunnottar Castle near Aberdeen. He failed. From there, they were smuggled out for safe burial until Charles II’s restoration in 1660.
The Honours were never again used to crown a sovereign. Until the Treaty of Union in 1707, and in the absence of a resident monarch, the regalia were taken to sittings of the Parliament in Edinburgh to signify the Sovereign’s presence and his or her consent to the passing of each Act.
After the Union, when the new United Kingdom Parliament met in London, the Honours had no ceremonial role. They were locked away in an oak chest in the Crown Room at Edinburgh Castle. In 1818, the chest was opened in the presence of the Castle Governor and the author Walter Scott. They discovered the Honours were still there in their linen wrappings.
The Honours were removed once from the Castle in 1953, to be taken to a National Service of Thanksgiving at the High Kirk of St Giles in Edinburgh. During the ceremony they were formally presented to The Queen, who then returned them to their custodians.
Since 1819, the Honours have been on public display in the Crown Room at Edinburgh Castle, together with the Stewart and the Lorne Jewels. The Stone of Scone was added in 1996, after 700 years in Westminster Abbey.
The last time the Honours of Scotland were used for a coronation was to crown Charles II at Scone in 1651.
link to royal.uk