Premature evacuation

Posted on November 02, 2015 by

Gordon Brown, last seen wailing that The Vow had been “betrayed”, appears to have jumped ship a little early when it came to changing his position on it for what by our count is the fourth or fifth time so far.

brownvow1

brownvow2

Mind you, it’s easy to see where Brown arrived at that conclusion:

brownvow3

We look forward with some excitement to actually finding out.

1. 03 11 15 00:45

Premature evacuation | Speymouth

68 to “Premature evacuation”

1. mealer

So,Holyrood gets control of everything except defence and foreign affairs? Thought not.

2. Swami Backverandah

Of course Gordon knows what’s happening.
    He gets his information in advance from Joracle McTernan.

3. Lesley-Anne

JEEZ!

Who let that b*****d oot?

I thought he had b******d off PERMANENTLY to shores of a more financial benefit to himself!

Does ANYONE still listen to this bampot?

4. Clootie

Good old Gordon – not one to let himself get confused by facts.

5. JimF

Didn’t Labour lords demur at “repealing the Tory tax credit cuts”?

6. galamcennalath

Although Smith was signed up to by each party, no one should forget it is the LOWEST COMMON DEMOMINATOR of the parties involved. It is the maximum devolution which the London Unionists were willing to agree to. And, it is the minimum they thought they could get away with.

It fell far short of the many submissions by all sorts of organisations like charities and trade unions.

Smith didn’t come anywhere near the levels of power transfer implied by phrases like DevoMax, Federal, Home Rule. The promises and guarantees Brown himself made implied a whole different league.

Scottish voters, including a great many NOs, have long since had expectations for transfer of powers far greater than Smith!

Same old story on devolution – WM offers too little too late, never catching up with Scottish aspirations.

7. Itchybiscuit

G. Brown: ‘I’m still relevant! I am!!’

8. gillie

Brown knows feck all.

9. Gary45%

The reason Crash has jumped ship and is saying the VOW has been delivered is.
    He has fallen hook, line and sinker into believing the northern branch office has turned the corner, and the population are back supporting Dipity.

“THEY STILL DON’T GET IT”.

10. Big Jock

Just a switch of strategy. He argued the Vow wasn’t delivered when fighting the Tories at the GE 2015. Now that battles lost, he will say the Vow was delivered in order to fight the SNP on 2016.

The thrust will be what are the SNP doing with the new powers that Labour helped deliver.

Not that I am cynical.

11. Jules

I now think Gogs Broon might be up there with T Bliar as Labour’s most unedifying politician of recent decades.

12. Robert Graham

Help – Help does anyone know how to escape this parallel universe I am trapped in . It’s like Alice in wonderland, and wonderland is looking pretty inviting, a place of safety and normality Help Help.

13. Kenny

Jules: I always thought of Crash as a poor man’s Tony Blair.

14. ahundredthidiot

Hereth begineth repeat repeat repeat for the build up to May 16

15. HandandShrimp

I thought EVEL was a betrayal of the Vow?

Who knows what Gordon really thinks?

16. Lesley-Anne

Kenny says:
    2 November, 2015 at 11:16 pm

Jules: I always thought of Crash as a poor man’s Tony Blair.

He was NEVER that good Kenny! 😀

17. heedtracker

Maybe Crash’s a clairvoyant, as well as a fcuking disgrace for a human being.

18. Robert Louis

The VOW:’Home rule for Scotland’,’As close to federalism as possible’.

Utter, utter sh*te.

The new Scotland bill is a financial trap to lock ANY Scottish Government into the whims of London. My honest opinion, is the Scottish Government should reject it in the Scottish Parliament, in its entirety.

Nice to Gordon Brown and the Labour party is still in bed with the Tories in London. The man is a total fraud.

19. clochoderic

Looks like Stu has witnessed yer actual collusion between Slab, Tories, BBC and the Record to shape the news narrative.

20. caz-m

Does Brown realise that Mundell’s answer to mitigating welfare cuts is to raise the money needed by putting up taxes.

So, we have to pay higher taxes and take money out of other departments budgets, just to stand still.

I’m just not getting excited at the prospect of that.

I’ll have Independence please.

21. Proud Cybernat

We, the People of Scotland, and no one else, will decide if ‘The Vow’ has been delievered as promised.

And that is the part the WM Establishment does not quite understand–yet.

22. caz-m

English regions are actually falling for this “power house” shit as well.

All Osborne is doing is giving the regions pocket money and then it’s up to them how they spend it.

It’s a win win for Osborne. Because the regions take all blame for not delivering when the budget runs out.

Just look at the nick Wales.

23. fireproofjim

Can-m and Robert Louis
    I agree 100% The Scotland Bill is a classic poisoned chalic

24. Wulls

thank God for sites like this one.
    We’re it not for this we would be blindly shepherded into a kind of ill informed acceptance of whatever the MSM decided we were to believe that perticular week.
    @proud cybernat has it right. We are a better informed electorate now than ever before.
    WE will decide whether the vow has been delivered……….At the ballot box next year.

25. Papadox

Big Gordies been hearing yon voices again! “NURSE, NURSE”. Just keep taking the pills and go for a wee lie doon Gordy you’ll feel better when you waken up!

26. Sunniva

Frightening.

Toom tabard.

27. marydoll

o/t
    I just watched the documentary on the Scottishsuper hospital.
    At the beginning it was named as the Southern Glasgow University hospital. The documentary was very fair, very interesting and the people they were ‘following’ were all very pleased and appreciated there would be teething difficulties.
    Then it all changed – they showed a clip from RS damning the opening of the Queen Elizabeth University hospital- and started spouting out about waiting times. In fact the final words were that the new hospital had the worst waiting times in scotland.
    Looks like it had been edited by a completely different person to fit the EBC agenda.

28. HandandShrimp

I suppose it should be pointed out that even if there are a 100 amendments and a Tory climb down, who has pushed then to do this? The one Labour MP or the 56 SNP ones?

This third Scotland Act falls short of what we want but it is another step along the way. Every power we prise from their grasp makes Scotland that bit more our own.

29. Molly

So we get our taxes increased to top up what a Tory chancellor has decreased and Gordon Brown is proud of this ?

30. yesindyref2

“including repealing the Tory tax credit cuts”.

That’s even worse than “reversing”. Holyrood can not “repeal” a Westminster Act. Unless the Scotland Act is going to give Holyrood complete power over Westminster, which would be a complete reversal? What will we do with such power? Power power power!!!

Answers on a postcard to G Brown, A world of his own, Fife.

31. yesindyref2

With apologies to Fife, a great place I spent enjoyable times in.

32. mogabee

Gordon Brown still the Tories clunking helper.

33. Dave McEwan Hill

I thought the new hospital piece on BBC was first class and ended on a really upbeat note. More next week. We’ll see

It further convinced me that Eleanor Broadfudd should be taken out and flung off the roof

34. dakk

Gordie must have held out for another £750 worth of ink refills for his Montblanc before falling back into line.

Always did drive a hard bargain for North Britain’s interests.

35. msean

100 Tory amendments lol.Tories,whatever the colour, will not give Scotland anything they don’t need to. Anything they do concede will ultimately be pointless,useless and be what the unionists think will tie the Scottish Parliament in knots. Turn it down.

36. Tackety Beets

Federal Broon proved himself to be a first class chump whilst in Gvt , what’s changed !

Scotland 2015 . I noticed that a distant shot of Tridend had the “English /St George Flag” flying on it. Then next the closer shot has the UJ .

37. Macart

I’m on the edge of my seat here expecting Home rule and near federalism…

No seriously.

Anyone else feeling all excited?

Anyone?

Mr Brown is a liar isn’t he? (sigh)

We’re not getting home rule. There will be no near federal solution and the new powers are a fiscal and constitutional bear trap. The public were mislead by Messrs Broon, Cameron, Darling, Miliband, Clegg and all with the willing aid of the media to sell the pitch. Until we decide otherwise we’re living in austerity UK under the long term stewardship of a conservative government.

Now tell me a conservative government of any stripe is trustworthy. That we believe, even for an instant that those people who run a system based on parliamentary sovereignty would be willing to part with any significant control, powers or access to resources willingly. Of course they aren’t and no amount of media or ‘big political beasties’ should convince anyone otherwise.

They lied during the referendum and they are lying now. They aren’t fit to clean the boots of the poorest in the land. So back to the important job of showing each and every one of those disingenuous pricks the door and reserving a special kick in the erse on the way out for Mr Broon.

They were given the chance to come good. They chose not to honour those who gave them that chance.

A poor choice on their part. FFA and honouring what they ‘led’ the public to believe would more than likely have extended the union successfully for at least a generation.

38. jimnarlene

The man’s delusional, the new “powers” are a trap and a millstone round any Scottish government’s neck.

39. Robert Peffers

@Tackety Beets says: 3 November, 2015 at 1:26 am :

” … I noticed that a distant shot of Trident had the “English /St George Flag” flying on it. Then next the closer shot has the UJ .”

Just for the record, Tackety, all RN ships & boats fly the Union Jack, (a smaller version of the Union Flag), at the, “Jack Staff”, mounted on the ship’s or boat’s bows. It is only flown while in port or at anchor.

On the stern staff they fly the Royal Navy White Ensign that incorporates the St George’s Cross.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_ensign

Royal Fleet Auxiliaries and Mercantile Marine fly the Blue Ensign and red Ensign respectively. Incidentally it is illegal for civilian ships to fly either the Union jack or the RN white Ensign. Many other Ensigns are in use such as the RAF white Ensign that incorporates the RAF red, white and blue roundels.

I would assume you saw the distant boat, (subs are boats not ships), at sea but when closer she was either anchored, tied to a buoy or in port and had run down the other one.

40. Marco McGinty

Not that we needed any more proof, but this just proves beyond any doubt that Gordon Brown is a liar, a cheat, a deceiver and a fraudster.

I can only imagine that his reasons for proclaiming that the “the vow” has been delivered, must centre on his quest to be awarded an ermine robe.

41. Robert Peffers

You know, talking of flags and ensigns, what will the position be after independence?

We will after all, (at lease to begin with), still have Lizzie as the Queen of Scots. I can only assume that the Scots navy ships will fly an ensign that includes The Lion Rampant in the upper staff corner and a white naval background on the other three quarters. Instead of the UJ they will fly The Saltire – Err! no they won’t for the saltire is the international signal flag known as the Blue Peter and, if memory serves, I am about to leave port.

42. Robert Peffers

Correction to my last post.

The Saltire is NOT the Blue Peter. It is both the letter M and alone it signals, “My vessel is stopped and making no way through the water.”

The Blue Peter is either a blue square on a white background or the other way round = I’ll look it up tomorrow when I’m not falling off the spar.

43. R-type Grunt

How appropriate..

“..alone it signals, “My vessel is stopped and making no way through the water.”

44. Lenny Hartley

Re new Glasgow Hospital Would just like to say having spend nearly six weeks in it during the summer that despite the teething troubles I honestly believe and a relative who runs a hospital agrees that if I had been anywhere else I would not be writing this now.

It’s a fantastic facility and one to be proud off.

45. scotspine

@ Robert

Until 1707, The Royal Scots Navy flew a red ensign with a Saltire in the corner.

So Wikipedia tells me.

There is a picture of it.

46. willie

If we were all going to be better off by being Better Together why are hard working families having a £1,400 tax credit cut.

This lying big badtatd should tell us ehy that is.

Shoulder to shoulder with the Tories this guy brings into sharp focus exacy why his Labour Party are so hated in Scotland.

Liar, liar, liar.

47. yesindyref2

@Macart
    Crunch time for the Union. If all Mundell has done is remove the vetoes, which were almost certainly put in there in the first place to be removed after “pleading” from the Scottish Government and to show how generous Westminster is, there’s going to be at least some devo-maxers disappointed, if they know what it’s all about.

So I guess the trick is to let them know what it’s all about! And then with any luck watch the swingometer move to YES faster than Mundell could say jumpin’ union jack flash.

@Robert Peffers
    Strange how they call the merchant one the red duster, but not the blue duster for the RFA one.

48. Janet

Gordon Brown = millionaire.

Interest in the welfare of everyday folk = nil.

Gog’s millions ostensibly collected for charity, something like £3 of which £900,000 has actually gone to charity, leaving the rest for the good cause that is Gordon & Sarah Brown. First class all the way! Yee-hah!

49. Macart

@Yesindyref2

That’s pretty much how I read it. The veto was never required when you face a parliament that can vote down any request put forward anyway. You have to chuckle at the great show Fluffy is making of 100 amendments 😀 LOL

Of the twenty which the SG put forward (and were instantly rejected), only one mattered as far as the Scottish electorate were concerned, that of Full Fiscal Autonomy. The SG as promised put forward the amendment. It was tabled, debated and defeated by a landslide vote in commons. Who knew?

In all the hoo ha generated by ‘the vow delivered’ we’re going to hear, the real prize was denied by the collective votes of one signatory only as the 56 comprised almost the entirety of the votes in favour.

http://www.thenational.scot/politics/snps-ffa-amendment-is-voted-down-by-labour-and-the-tories.4647

Home rule denied and the devolution ‘journey’ ended at the current Scotland Bill. Welcome Scots, to the final destination, now leave your tickets in the receptacle before leaving the bus. A free bowl of cereal is to replace the fine roast dinner you were expecting.

The only vote and the only amendment which constitutes anything near what the Scottish electorate were led to believe was on the table. Of course it never was on the table as was exhaustively detailed by the author of this site and a good many others besides. The ‘vow’ was always empty meaningless waffle and rhetoric with a few signatures sold by the media as devo max.

The meeja will attempt to rewrite history of course. I doubt they would willingly remind people of what they wrote and broadcast, but we can’t let either them or their chain tuggers get away with the con. Any opportunity we get, stick the vids up on links, the front pages and the interviews all using the FFA/Devo Max pitch. They’ve always had a selective memory problem where their own dishonesty is concerned.

50. Scott Borthwick

Robert Peffers says:
    3 November, 2015 at 2:49 am

The Saltire is NOT the Blue Peter. It is both the letter M and alone it signals, “My vessel is stopped and making no way through the water.”

That seems also to be a very apt symbol for Scotland under the new, improved Scotland Bill.

51. Clootie

Macart says:
    3 November, 2015 at 7:07 am

Unfortunately that covers it!

The Red Indians got 60guilders from the Dutch for Manhattan in the 17th. century. They wouldn’t fall for the same con again.

300 years after the first dishonest deal with their Union “partners” will the Scots?

52. Breeks

If the Scottish government had moved quickly to hold a plebiscite immediately after the Indyref to have the citizens of Scotland define which governmental portfolios should be run at Holyrood or Westminster, the Unionists would have been bound by their “vow” to deliver more powers, but denied the opportunity to squirm and wriggle about the definition of what the vow actually meant.

I recognise of course the media would have gone into meltdown, but nevertheless, you strike when the iron is hot, even white hot. We might now be seeing Westminster squirm to circumvent the declared will of the Scottish people.

With due respect to our elected Westminster SNP presence, had such a plebiscite been held, we would have empowered them tremendously and firmly hold the initiative over how Scotland should be governed.

With EVEL fresh in people’s minds, can you imagine the hypocrisy of Westminster holding on to powers which the Scottish electorate had formally requested back?

I firmly believe Scotland would now have been an independent country in all but name. Demands for action over broadcasting and defence would not have been so casually and flagrantly overruled by a governing party with no mandate to govern.

53. Macart

@Clootie

Only if we allow folk to forget Clootie and I’m not up for that. When this bill is eventually signed off and delivered, THAT is when we get loud.

Every fecking chance we post an interview, a newspaper headline, a quote. A simple google this morning rendered enough Devo Max headlines of Sept 2014 to provide links aplenty. The media may conveniently forget the part they played in the deception, but we won’t.

54. Vambomarbeleye

What was Gordon’s part in the illegal war. Time to start asking questions.

55. kKeith Hynd

Is “Major Conservative Amendments” retired or still on active duty?

56. Iain More

Why isn’t Broon in jail?

57. Peter McCulloch

Is there anyone left who seriously believes a single word Gordon Brown utters?

Remember this is the clown who said that with the scrapping of the 10p tax band that no one will be
    left worse off.

He also claimed that he there would be no return to Tory boom and bust and had created an economy that could withstand any global economic downturn

58. Grouse Beater

I once described Brown as a ‘discredited’ politicians for a newspaper article – the editor deleted the description.

59. Dandy Dons 1903

Vote NO get NO-thing thats exactly what we have got with the VOW aka the FRAUD perpetrated by the Daily Record/Broon.

60. Hamish100

Dave McEwan Hill says:
    3 November, 2015 at 12:59 am
    I thought the new hospital piece on BBC was first class and ended on a really upbeat note. More next week. We’ll see

It further convinced me that Eleanor Broadfudd should be taken out and flung off the roof
    ———-

No don’t! It will add to the waiting time and she jump the queue because of her injuries? I’ve stubbed my big toe and demand to see a Neuro surgeon and a gynaecologist immediately.!!

61. Chic McGregor

Sadly, it is an established fact that if you speak slowly in a deep register some folk will believe you whatever nonsense you spout.

The Yanks realised this decades ago even having corrective elocution lessons for CIA agents and the like.

Brown’s booming delivery is ideal for that purpose.

I noted some Professor Higgins type must have gotten to Kezia Doolittle going by her performance on QT last week. She was speaking slower and with less squeak.

Unfortunately that WIP has only progressed far enough to the point where folk can actually hear what she is saying, hence the silent response.

At least before, she may have got a small applause from those who mistakingly though they were watching a performing dolphin or perhaps a particularly yelpy new puppy.

62. nodrog

Surely it has always been obvious that GB was a clairvoyant visionary!!!

63. Walter Scott

Can we expect kezia dugdale not to use the tragic death of a child in a Glasgow hospital to try to associate it with the snp & their failure. They have lots of form with this kind of thing. Johann Lamont bringing a cancer sufferer to sit in the public gallery during fmq’s just to embarrass Salmond (nice) Then there was the tragedy of the couple who died in a car crash but lay undiscovered for days. When labour use stunts like this their followers feel unconstrained. You only have to read the Scotsman comments saying Sturgeon hasn’t blood on her hands over that car crash. The snp were also accused of contributing towards the death of Charles Kennedy.

64. Grant

Maybe every morning he has to make a hard choice .. Red pill / Blue pill?

65. Ken

I notice he does not say the VOW has been delivered.
    He says the Smith Commission has been delivered if it is passed into law. In the middle of that he has an aside referring to the roots of the Smith Commission.

Like a salesman saying a watch – inspired by the Rolex watches- will cost £10 plus delivery.

66. Bill Fraser

Why does this total flop of a Chancellor and P.M. keep coming out of the woodwork with all his rubbish and conflicting statements.He is very much EX.Stay out of it!!

67. Effijy

You forget that Red and Blue Tories both have the same austerity
    policies and base their manifesto’s on lying.

They work together to stop Scotland getting their fair share of the money we generate.

Much safer to keep stuffing the pockets of the rich and their
    lackeys, the Westminster Politicians

68. Tackety Beets

Robert Peffer@ 2.32 am

Brilliant as always Robert . My excuse this time ” I was watching on an aul TV ” so connected up the newer model and watched the iPlayer and I would agree it probably was the RN White Ensign which ,Thanks to your info , is what we know as St.George but with wee UJ on a top 1/4
    The newer TV did not really make it any clearer.

What a man you are!

Good news ref Trident vote in Holyrood today.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.