Powerhouse interventions

Posted on August 27, 2014 by

(Help keep this vital news outlet broadcasting here.)

1. 27 08 14 13:21

Powerhouse interventions | Scottish Independence News

77 to “Powerhouse interventions”

1. yerkitbreeks

Gordon Brown, the only sitting ex-politician.

Excellent.

2. handclapping

I’m just waiting for my MP ex-politician to intervene and sort this referendum out.

I also wonder why there is a green eerie glow over Dalgety Bay at nights. Somebody should sort that too.

3. Macart

Powerhouse (snigger). πŸ˜€

The two powerhouses sharing a podium. I hope somebody has the good sense to pat them down for pointy objects first.

4. deewal

Great stuff.

5. MajorBloodnok

Silver Darling and Golden Brown. Yes, that could work.

(Golden absolute bloody shower more like).

6. G. Campbell

Archie Macpherson at the Brown-Darling event: “There is no certainty. It is a huge gamble and I’m not prepared to take it.

https://twitter.com/C_GOgston/status/504576274011287553

Wikipedia “Macpherson provides match predictions and analysis for betting-shop chain Ladbrokes.”

7. bookie from hell

Piers Morgan

same viewing figures as Scotland 2014

( : > )

8. G. Campbell

Mayhem in hall as heckler shouting “Rubbish!” at Brown is booed by crowd and chucked out. #indyref

https://twitter.com/C_GOgston/status/504578490294075392

9. punklin

I’m voting yes because my name is Paul and I always wash up my cereal bowl, along with my wife’s and daughter’s…

10. muttley79

As someone been chucked out of the Brown- Darling’s “reconciliation” conference? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

11. Capella

The ticker tape announcements are pretty funny too “Butternut squash 318.34 Bullshit 1666.50” etc.
    Just the right amount of faux gravitas to send up the usual news anchors.

12. Chic McGregor

I heard that similar sounds of argument came from Brown’s hotel room, all the more mysterious as he was only booked in by himself.

Time for an old toon.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/u5x6g0m4impbmxu/GBUnitedColour1000.jpg?dl=0

13. Jim Thomson

@G. Campbell 11:49

the young lad in the shirt’s thinking “FFS, never thought dad would be that cool!”

14. Arabs for Independence

The guy getting chucked oot is a fellow Dundonian and Arab.

15. heedtracker

That’s not Piers. Morgen! Oor Piers is currently unable to return to the yewkay. His old sparring partner and Murdoch henchman Andy Coulson keeps him up to date with life in UKOK chokey though.

16. Midgehunter

Ever wondered why all SLAB politicians shout, rave and gibber utter crap?

I think they must have a secret hoard of this stuff stashed away – “BELLYFIRE”. Darlings hooked. πŸ˜‰

http://thescottishscaremonger.blogspot.co.uk/

17. heedtracker

BBC in Scotland now blanket vote NO huge news radio news blast for 130 business men say NO but their spokesman says they speak for all Scottish companies and BBC dispenses with any counter from anyone at all now, but still want their licence fee from everyone. Nae chance.

18. Jim Thomson

@handclapping 11:25

I’m sure that if you attended one of young Mr Brown’s constituency surgeries (probably has loads of them every week) your request for him to represent the views of the majority of his constituents, instead of his own troughing interests, would be met with kind words.

He’s probably just waiting to have an earnest constituent advise him of the change in voting intention (to Yes, of course) so that he can adjust his political stance.

Quite simple really.

19. dodecostanza

Brilliant, I know that heckler very well πŸ™‚

Dunno if I should print his name here but he’s well known in Dundee…good lad!

20. heedtracker

Gavin Esler walks out of restaurant without paying. Why would he pay, we all have to cough up for these guys, as they take massive jobbies on the future of Scotland’s democracy.

And BBC in Scotlland radio back with more massive no currency and no business left, if you vote no, or “those that support independence” they call you now. Staggering BBC bias probably never seen before outside wartime.

21. highseastim

I note in the 130 signatories to the letter to the Scotsman, there is a Lord and several people who have ex before their name. There is Alan Savage(racist), who was slaughtered on question time for suggesting it was an anti English vote, and from nearer my neck of the woods Audrey Baxter. I wonder if the millionaire that is Audrey would care to make public what rate she pays the many Eastern European and Portuguese workers that she employs at the Fochabers factory.

22. heedtracker

Well there you go. BetterTogether BBC in Scotland radio dude says postal votes are now in post box and he’s right, just checked and am now holding mine!

It’s the simplest sheet of paper

BALLOT PAPER

VOTE (X) ONLY ONCE

Should Scotland be an independent country?

YES box

NO box

The history and the future of our country in one little wee box.

I’m rather moved right now.

23. Brotyboy

I think I recognise the former teacher and well known Arab who objected to Brown’s rubbish.

I have to confess to never having liked him, but I take my hat off to him for this.

24. highseastim

Whilst the Baxter clan were counting their millions,one poor employee in January this year, I believe lost a limb as proper H&S equipment was not in place, pity Audrey could not have paid as much attention to the health and safety of her workforce as she does about the vote!!

25. Nana Smith

If Brown & Darling can do better together now, why didn’t they do better together then?

26. Brotyboy

@ Nana Smith

πŸ™‚

27. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/video/2014/aug/27/spoken-words-luke-wright-video

Stick with us we know best. Scottish mountains, where our strapping sons of England are served upon by your pasty ginger brats.

28. galamcennalath

@Nana Smith

Spot on!

29. Minty

Anyone got some time on their hands and can match any of the letter signatories to companies that issued similar doom and gloom warnings before the Devo Referendum?

I’m too busy generating #patronisingBTlady memes on Twitter, doing my bit.

30. galamcennalath

This better together malarkey. Improvement is long overdue. Has anyone actually given us a timescale of when things will get better after a NO win? πŸ˜‰

31. Jim Marshall

G Campbell 11.49

You got this story wrong. The man is being restrained from leaving as he had enough of Gordo ( I saved the world ) Broon. Nobody chucked out,everybody chucked in.

32. Ann

Nana Smith, I downloaded something similar from Mungins and taped it to my window last night.

Not that it will make that much difference in my wee West Fife Village.

33. turnbull drier

Ahh, you can’t beat a good bit of heckling πŸ™‚

Calling all Wingers… in Midlothian

I have received notification of my appointment as the WoS Referendum Agent for the Midlothian.

I’m am looking for volunteers to step up to the plate and help out.

There are 37 polling places in Midlothian and, ideally, I’d like to get someone to each of them. There is also the monitoring of the postal ballot returns to be considered.

You’ll find the details in Off Topic.. Or email me β€œturnbulldrier AT gmail DOT com”

34. galamcennalath

Huffington Post

“Russell Brand Attacks SNP While Giving Thoughts On Scottish Independence – Perhaps swayed by last night’s inconclusive debate, comedian and actor Russell Brand has attacked the SNP and insisted an independent Scotland will not represent Scots any better than Westminster.”

Wit? That’s not what his video sounds like to me!

35. Nana Smith

@galamcennalath

Huff post must have a different vid from the one I saw this morning.

36. galamcennalath

@Nana Smith

Indeed, or they are lying (again).

His vid has had 60000 views in 18 hours.

37. Findlay Farquaharson

They are not powerhouses, they are discredited disrespected lying oafs. I also believe the patronising bt lady is also lying, if she has a husband called paul and 2 kids then i shall eat my cereal. Where are investigative media when we need them?

38. Murray McCallum

“Big Bruiser Brown” will have to read every press release and tweet before it is distributed by any better together no thanks staff member.

It is Brown’s intensive personal attention to everyone else’s job that could turn this in yet another direction for btnk.

39. Luigi

Where are investigative media when we need them?

Cut them some slack! They are far too busy. It takes some effort to send 100 FOI requests to Holyrood, and rake through Alex Salmond’s rubbish bin everyday.

40. fred blogger

we’we won what ever happens things will never be the same again.
    media is changed forever and WM antics have been fully exposed for the world to see.

41. John Bell

Sorry for being a million miles O/T, but YouGov now includes Scotland in the list of ‘Country where you live’. Right at the top is UK, but scroll down and there’s auld Scotia!

42. bookie from hell

ladbrokes

turnout over 80% YES win @10/1

turnout under 80% NO win @10/11

43. JLT

I see the new BT advert of the patronising women is now the headline of The Herald, and quite correctly, being condemned.

Funnier still, old Blair McDougall said ,’The key factor for people isn’t the love of our country – as both Yes and No voters love Scotland. The key factor is the love of our families.’

What is he implying? That Yes voters are selfishly excluding their loved ones and their all concerns and needs while we chase a dream. I think Blair needs to realise very quickly, that the reason we are voting Yes is that we are trying to PROTECT our loved ones, by keeping them safe from the crushing pessimism of the UK state that he so lovingly holds us as a magnificent concept.

44. norrie

Postal vote scanned and photographed tin foil hat removed.

45. bunter

Just noticed on BBC that NATO summit due to take place in Wales. This will be a chance for the big defence scare with a BBC journo prepped to ask a question!

46. les Wilson

Should we bothered about the Brown, Darling new stunt?
    Remember their last coupling, that did not work out too well!

The MSM spin, is the real problem.

47. les Wilson

The guy getting thrown out of Brown’s speech!
    Reminds me of the seventy year old pensioner who thrown out by bouncers for criticising Blair.

Seems to be a labour thing!

48. PeeGee

80 several year old was Walter Wulfgang. Survived the Nazis but thrown out of the labour party, THE LAAAABOOOUUR PARTY! conference (tm N Kinnock) and arrested under anti-terrorism laws.

He shouted, “rubbish”, at jackboot Strawberry. An obvious threat to humanity.

And still people vote labour because they’re the good guys!???!!!?!! Morons!

49. call me dave

Shurely shome mishtake!

http://news.stv.tv/west-central/289670-east-renfrewshire-council-apology-after-alistair-darling-tweet/

I think we here all endorse the tweet.

50. PeeGee

These statements both appear on the front page of the Herald website. Both claims made by the Anti-scotland campaign, yet mutually incompatible, contradictory and maybe even just lies.

The beneficiaries of Scottish independence will not be ordinary people but the shareholders of the country’s most profitable private companies, Gordon Brown has said.

iScotland: 120 industry leaders warn Yes vote would be bad for business

51. les Wilson

PeeGee says:

I remember seeing a cut of that on tv, and it put me off labour for life. Self seeking scum Blair.

52. bunter

Someone has set up a Paul the husband twitter a/c and the photo on the a/c, I am sure is of a disabled man who was in all the media a few months ago, who wanted to die and subsequently did. Can anyone verify as Im no expert on twitter, but could be dirty tricks.

53. les Wilson

Business for Scotland should put out a statement that all their business owners will sign for Independence as a counter measure.

54. alistair

Jeeso, Brown and Darling on “better together” – together ! How many billions did they run us all up in debt before they got booted out ? And then they bleat on about last year’s Scottish deficit of which the best part of Β£4billion is due to a “shared repayment” of the UK debt those bar stewards ran up in the first place. Unbelievable !!

55. Tam Jardine

Brown and Darling – its like Top Gun all over again. they hate each other now but through adversity they will form a grudging mutual respect.

‘You can be my wingman anytime’

‘Bullshit! You can be mine.’

Do you think we’ll see them play beach volleyball down at Dalgety Bay?

56. bunter

Guy has just changed photo. Said he just got it from google search, suffering husband. Musn’t get paranoid…doh

57. joe kane

Everywhere the Labour Party go in Scotland these days they’re being booed, jeered, heckled and laughed at. Except by the Tories, of course, but that goes without saying.

Scots Tories give Alistair Darling standing ovation
    08 June 2013
    https://archive.today/BY0Iq#selection-1753.0-1753.51

58. hadrianswall

O/T Small example of MSM media. Today’s Times letters page has 7 letters on the Indyref. All from No supporters!

59. NovaScotia

OT, has everyone noticed the increasing number of big purple BTNT posters in fields? Don’t see any in people’s windows though! Put up your YES poster now if you haven’t already

60. Elaine Colliar

I can’t put up my poster – I will need to wait for my husband “Paul” to come home and do it.

I can clean my windaes though!!

BTW – My windows are sparkling, my posters are up and their are No Pauls in this hoose πŸ™‚

61. heraldnomore

Brown & Darling, Better Together. Reuniting that famous team that ended Boom and Bust; leaving us with just BUST. Now in what we is that Better Together? No Thanks boys.

I don’t do tribute acts, especially of old has beens. Let’s look forward.

62. Elaine Colliar

Sorry Stu – *there* Darn this dragon!!

63. alistair

Unfortunately round Stirling the Big Yes and No posters are getting “vandalised” with spray paint. I suppose this will be inevitable as tension mounts but not helpful. Visibly more Yes car stickers than last week. Also, Big Sandy was in town centre yesterday – you can hardly miss him and good centre of attention for leaflets. (He’s the big CND-Yes mascot if you haven’t seen him).

64. les Wilson

Here is an excerpt from an American financial email I get.
    It points to how THEIR healthcare is effecting peoples pockets.
    Coming here if Westminster has its way.

Do you know what the most common reason Americans cite when filing for bankruptcy? I’ll give you a hint. It has nothing to do with poor money management skills, credit cards or job loss.

“Unpaid medical bills will affect nearly 2 million people in this country-making it the number one reason Americans file for bankruptcy this year. Even if you have health insurance you can run into money troubles when it comes to medical bills. High deductibles, rising premiums, unforeseen out of pocket costs and denied claims can add up to thousands of dollars each year.”

WE GOT TO GET OUT OF THIS CORRUPT SYSTEM.

65. Proadge

From Yahoo ‘News’…

‘University educated voters are more likely to support independence. This may be a sign of the romantic historical longing among the Scottish intelligentsia. Or it could be something more self-serving.’

Or perhaps simply that they’re more, er, educated?

There’s a poll. Currently 53% independence, 47% dependence…

https://uk.news.yahoo.com/scottish-independence–the-class-issue-105937657.html#RzhWTH

66. manandboy

http://news.stv.tv/scotland-decides/news/289723-alex-salmond-calls-for-independence-referendum-debate-with-david-cameron/

Mr Darling said:
    “But I think people’s minds are being made up
    by what they’ve been reading in newspapers,
    what they’ve been seeing on television
    for the last two and a half years.”

There you have it from the leader of the No Campaign.
    No has been a massive propaganda job
    on TV and the Press
    paid for as we now know
    by wealthy Tories and the UK Gov.

But in the end they are wasting their time
    trying to turn back the tide
    which is the Independence movement in Scotland
    a movement whose time has come at last
    and which will not be denied.

Cameron has only one card left to play
    one he can only use with the backing of the US –
    military force.

It’s what neo-liberal regimes do
    to secure their oil supplies.

Isn’t that just so ridiculous,
    so outrageous ?

The very idea of Westminster using force
    against oil rich Scotland.

The British Gov. would never do such a thing.

Would they?

Nah! It’s just an idea for a book I’m writing.

Ps. Westminster have made NO provisions for a YES result.
    They KNOW what they’re going to do – if they have to.

Again – just for the book.

Makes you think, doesn’t it ?

67. Clarinda

O/T …. probably by some way, but was Boris Johnson’s “whacking in” (his words) of his last minute application to be selected as the future Tory candidate for Uxbridge and South Ruislip the day after Powerhouse Darling had a bit of a terminal velocity impact – be a little suspicious? Could it be that Boris now sniffs a challenge for the rUK PM-ship as after 18th September Mr Cameron may have some explaining to do?

68. les Wilson

Here is a new post on Bella, a lot of us will already be wise to it. However, pushing it to NO voters and DKN’ could be a big help.

http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2014/08/27/punishing-scotland/

69. ticktock

Proadge 3.11

Just voted on it and it’s still 53Y 47N. Knowing Yahoo UK it won’t stay that way long, Yahoo “news” probably consists of handouts from BBC/BT which they unquestioningly publish as “fact”.

70. Robert Peffers

@Ann says: 27 August, 2014 at 12:53 pm:

“Not that it will make that much difference in my wee West Fife Village.”

Well way back when Willie Hamilton had a safe Fife seat, I got removed from a Public Meeting in Kelty. Willie asked for questions from the floor.

I asked him if he was worried at the threat of the SNP candidate. Willie said he had no worries as you could pin a Labour Rosette on a collie dog’s collar and the Fife folks ould vote for it.

I replied, “Aye! Richt! Willie, I know – I’m looking right ast it”. Four big heavies, Err! “Escorted”, me from the hall”. Four of them and me just 5’4″. Mind you I was just about 5’4″ broad in those days too.

71. Robert Peffers

@Findlay Farquaharson says: 27 August, 2014 at 1:10 pm:

“They are not powerhouses …”

Naw! Mair lik outhouses, wi Broon built afu lik a brick outhouse and Darling wha just smells lik ane.

72. Robert Peffers

@call me dave says: 27 August, 2014 at 2:34 pm:

http://news.stv.tv/west-central/289670-east-renfrewshire-council-apology-after-alistair-darling-tweet/

Where was that council when the, “so nice”, Mr Darling was calling a large number of democratic Scots voters, “Nazis”? Didn’t hear them looking for an apology for that unacceptable insult when the London born hypocrite was insulting Scots.

73. Tom Foyle

Heedtracker

Only two boxes? You mean I don’t get to tick a box that says, “Are ye fucking daft or fit? Of COURSE yes!”
    Damn shame. I was looking forward to that. Ho hum, suppose I’ll have to vote no, then.

74. Tom Foyle

I always have to watch this at least thrice, because I’m male and unable to multi-task.
    And now I find out that not only am I weird, but also seriously strange. I wear my watch on the inside of the wrong (right) wrist, for logical reasons. So logic is weird…well, I can’t contest that. Explains the huge number of yes voters, of course.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.