Positive-case-for-the-Union update #7

Posted on January 15, 2012 by

(See here for the whole story.)

Once again, we were lured into foolish optimism. "The irresistible case for England and Scotland remaining united", thundered the Daily Mail's editorial headline. Sadly, the reality turned out all too familiar – a lengthy rant about how Scotland was too wee, too poor and too stupid to go it alone, how we'd be crushed by a £140bn (new high score!) share of UK debt, how we couldn't afford to bail out the "Scottish" banks again (yawn), how we'd struggle without the £10bn a year subsidy from England (oh dear). But then our hopes sparked momentarily into life again:

"Add these deeply serious warnings to the positive case for maintaining a union which has served the English and Scottish people well for 300 years and Mr Cameron has an irresistible argument."

This time, here it must surely come! The fabled, mythical "positive case"! But sadly not. Like so many before it, the Mail apparently assumed this positive case to be axiomatic, so self-evidently obvious that it required no explanation, and the editorial came to an abrupt end. We should know better by now.

TIME ELAPSED: 31 years, 11 months
CONFIRMED SIGHTINGS OF POSITIVE CASE FOR UNION TO DATE: 0

2 to “Positive-case-for-the-Union update #7”

1. Tearlach says:

Ulster Unionists at it now – from Tory Hoose…..
    "It is absolutely essential that the pro-Union forces articulate a convincing and positive case for the continuation of the Union in the 21st Century. Those of us who wish to see Scotland and its people remain as fellow citizens in a United Kingdom must both articulate the benefits which the Union has brought to Scotland and provide a positive vision for the future continuation of the Union"
    And then drone one with the usual – too wee, to poor, RBS, doomed, ark of debt line. Yawn.

2. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

Excellent. Will check that out in the morning.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,750 Posts, 1,217,124 Comments

• Young Lochinvar on We’ll make this quick: “Newsflash! Junk pulp boilerplate rag prints non sequitur word salad on behalf of incurable self obsessed attention seeker..May 4, 14:57
    • Mark Beggan on Let’s Make Jen Safe Again: “So this is is the reason no Trans flags were at the National Flag waving competition at Glasgow Green this…May 4, 14:41
    • Sven on Let’s Make Jen Safe Again: “I wonder if starting a Crowdfunder could count as “Hurty Words” if no one contributes.May 4, 14:16
    • Andrew scott on Let’s Make Jen Safe Again: “Careful for what you wish for Rev Dross gear maggie(i voted for me)chapperson,loopy lorna and the green gnome might just…May 4, 14:14
    • Mark Beggan on Let’s Make Jen Safe Again: “When you go will you send back a letter from South America. Take a look up the Railtrack from Miami…May 4, 13:57
    • sarah on Let’s Make Jen Safe Again: “Laughing out loud! They won’t be able to say such nasty things about you now, Rev, as you are showing…May 4, 13:53
    • Yoon Scum on Let’s Make Jen Safe Again: “I’m torn between pissing myself laughing at these loonies or Being deeply sympathetic towards them living their entire day terrified…May 4, 13:42
    • Yoon Scum on Let’s Make Jen Safe Again: “You’re a bad bad bad man* * I’m in scotland and I assumed a gender Can I get a crowd…May 4, 13:37
    • Lorn on We’ll make this quick: “South America is where most ‘trans’ women are killed because ause they are sex workers, generally, and pretend to be…May 4, 13:31
    • Lorn on Let’s Make Jen Safe Again: “Absolutely brilliant. ‘Trans’-hysteria indeed. How do these people manage to get through a single day? Byeeeee!May 4, 13:23
    • Jon Drummond on Let’s Make Jen Safe Again: “I’m in the process of transferring the required balance; £1499 from my pension fund. No, the other thing.May 4, 13:20
    • GM on Weaving lies from air: “Aye, I agree with that point.May 4, 13:05
    • Dan on We’ll make this quick: “The bigger story might have been… Where are folk going to source fossil fuel derived fluids to throw on any…May 4, 13:00
    • Ian McCubbin on Let’s Make Jen Safe Again: “Ha ha ha. What a satire .May 4, 12:55
    • Yoon Scum on We’ll make this quick: “I can confirm this is true I was told this in my last secret briefing That England c cannot survive…May 4, 12:38
    • Robert Hughes on We’ll make this quick: “We must assume the reason for this utter shite of a non-story being front page of ” Scotland’s Largest Selling…May 4, 12:10
    • Yoon Scum on We’ll make this quick: “A few things going on here Firstly the media is full of people who used to be media studies students.…May 4, 12:02
    • TURABDIN on We’ll make this quick: “I have distant relatives living in Argentina and Brasil, they settled there because there was no persecution, they were left…May 4, 11:57
    • Yoon scum on We’ll make this quick: “Pay me £100K and I will leave Scotland ASAP and never returnMay 4, 11:53
    • A2 on We’ll make this quick: “Should put the Heritics chap on to this, he’s lived there, his wife’s Argintinian and he’s all up for cults…May 4, 11:53
    • Bilbo on We’ll make this quick: “I see that the Harry Potter stars, both of the films and now the TV series are getting all heat…May 4, 11:48
    • Yoon Scum on We’ll make this quick: “Should the SNP declare UDI?May 4, 11:45
    • Andrew scott on We’ll make this quick: “But what happens to the benefits he must be on?May 4, 11:45
    • Yoon scum on For Children Scotland: “Okay I agree 100% Reform are an MI5 shadow a ct to protect the rich English Now imagine that Corbyn…May 4, 11:43
    • Bilbo on We’ll make this quick: “The impression I get from these countries is that anything goes as long as it’s not too in your face.…May 4, 11:36
    • Jim Tadgercock on We’ll make this quick: “Point of order Willie Hate is on about ships and oceans so i’m assuming its tranny punters from Edinburgh crossing…May 4, 11:32
    • robertkknight on For Children Scotland: “Oops… I would appear to have touched a nerve.May 4, 11:21
    • TURABDIN on We’ll make this quick: “SEARCH, (argentina, trans, sex) and you’ll appreciate why this person may find a home there. But as the late pope…May 4, 11:13
    • Stoker on We’ll make this quick: “NOTE TO ALL OF SCOTLAND’S CHURNALISTS Read this article if you want to experience *REAL* journalism. Shame on all of…May 4, 10:56
    • willie on We’ll make this quick: “Transylvania you say Hate, now that’s a fair point. Located between Romania and Bulgaria its got me thinking that with…May 4, 10:50