Positive-case-for-the-Union update #5

Posted on January 11, 2012 by

(See here for the whole story.)

"Does the Prime Minister agree with me that we must make the case for the Union – not simply against separatism, but the positive case about the shared benefits to us all of Scotland's part in the United Kingdom?"
(Ed Miliband, leader of the Labour Party, January 2012)

"I'm happy to say that this is an area where the Right Honourable gentleman and I are going to be in 100% agreement."
(David Cameron, Prime Minister, January 2012)

So it seems we can look forward to imminently hearing that "positive case", which sadly neither of these illustrious figures had time to actually outline at Prime Minister's Questions today. Any minute now, we're sure.

1 to “Positive-case-for-the-Union update #5”

1. TYRAN says:

Postive case for the Unon –
    Come Out, Come Out, Wherever You Are!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,796 Posts, 1,223,444 Comments

• Young Lochinvar on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “In reply to P3nisbreath McP3nisbreathface @ 9.22 Aaah! “Smoking a pipe”.. So that’s what you call that “ACT” nowadays.. Try…Aug 5, 21:59
    • agent x on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: ““Change is coming.” No it is NOT.Aug 5, 21:56
    • George Ferguson on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “There was a couple of stories today that missed the attention of the discerning Independence supporter. The first being the…Aug 5, 21:44
    • agent x on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “@Alf Baird says: I can assure you that nothing you have ever said has convinced me to change my no…Aug 5, 21:34
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Don’t be too hard on agent x. He might be living in fear and never-ending abuse. Perhaps he’s been enslaved.…Aug 5, 21:33
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Much to agree with in your post, willie. But any vipers reading here will be affronted at being compared to…Aug 5, 21:26
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “And another two penises. Fit happened tae the re-enactment o’ Otterburn then? Car widnae start? Scotland’s gonna need a new…Aug 5, 21:22
    • Alf Baird on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: ““it is the “no” voters like me that need convincing.” In a colonial society, rejecting the liberation of one’s own…Aug 5, 21:02
    • Young Lochinvar on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “In reply to P3nisbreath McP3nisbreath @ 8.10 The only todgers mentioned were your nickname; and you wonder why 🙂 .…Aug 5, 20:55
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Is that a new boy then (Said)? I don’t recall you mentioning him before. Interesting that the “experience equally agonising”…Aug 5, 20:30
    • willie on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Word is that Kate Forbes is standing down because the party ” a nest of vipers ” Although I think…Aug 5, 20:26
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: ““Is there anything more boring and irrelevant” Sure. Any number of things.Aug 5, 20:21
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “You need to spend a lot more time in Middle Earth, Confused. It obviously calms you down, even although Da…Aug 5, 20:17
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Christine, thank you for your comment (5 Aug, 6.37 pm). It brought to mind this powerful extract from an interview…Aug 5, 20:16
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “That’s the great thing about the internet, YL Sah! War correspondents can do it all from behind the closed curtains…Aug 5, 20:10
    • agent x on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “I blame the TV channels.Aug 5, 19:59
    • Mark Beggan on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “I blame the parents.Aug 5, 19:26
    • George Ferguson on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “@Christine Yes and the said troika would reinstate the 16th Century fig leaf that so damaged the original work of…Aug 5, 19:14
    • agent x on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “During the leadership debate it was only Forbes that said something sensible about independence. Something along the lines of -…Aug 5, 19:13
    • Alf Baird on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Yes James, if colonialism is allowed to continue the oppressed group culture and nation ‘will ultimately perish’ (Fanon). Ethnic oppression…Aug 5, 19:06
    • agent x on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: ““When Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs) leave office, they are entitled to a leaving payment to help them adjust…Aug 5, 18:48
    • Mark Beggan on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Iam a Daftie!Aug 5, 18:46
    • agent x on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Is there anything more boring and irrelevant than watching interviews with other people’s children getting exam results. “Look at my…Aug 5, 18:38
    • christine on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Yes, I’ve heard it all before from this troika of victim feminists. I guess there’s nothing else going on for…Aug 5, 18:37
    • Mark Beggan on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “They just can’t help themselves. Media spill on women politicians unable to balance work with motherhood. The dwarf is doing…Aug 5, 17:57
    • twathater on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Anyone who thinks Kate Forbes was an asset to Scotland and independence is a Daftie, Forbes was just another trougher…Aug 5, 17:47
    • James Cheyne on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “If politicians spend their time trying to intergrat nations an blend Countries, How will they hit their diversity agenda, They…Aug 5, 17:33
    • Dan on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Muckle gusts here so I hud tae batten doon the hatches and even tether ma corn on the cob plants…Aug 5, 17:17
    • Young Lochinvar on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “In reply to P3nisbreath McP3nisbreathface @ 7.11 Just in from our correspondent with Scottish forces: And he (Douglas) has bunt…Aug 5, 16:34
    • Confused on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “The use of mythology to create a shared national identity is not some trivial matter; we have the example of…Aug 5, 13:28