1. 28 04 14 07:45

One broken promise too many | FreeScotland

75 to “One broken promise too many”

1. bunter

Is that a fotie or a drawing of Ian Davidson?

2. galamcennalath

Cartoon sums it up nicely!

I think it’s the best comment on the Independence debate I’ve seen!

Union, and Labour in particular. Under years of Blair and Brown the UK became an even more unequal country. Third worst in the developed world now, I believe. Astonishing cheek Milliband has, suggesting there is a path to social justice by staying in the Union, with Labour’s record. Its a long time since Labour was a party which changed society for the better.

With the Tories we know where we stand, and we don’t like it. However, I just can’t understand why so many Scots don’t see what Labour is. A quarter of their supporters will vote Yes … what about the other three quarters!? What do they think Millband will do for them, if they vote No and if Labour wins at Westminster in 2015. Same old, same old!

3. Seasick Dave

Do lions eat fruit?

Especially Scottish ones.

4. iheartscotland

Chris,
    You’ve condensed the entire debate into one hilarious nutshell. Thanks…..

5. iheartscotland

Ps. I love your artwork, brilliant…

6. X_Sticks

Loving your cartoons Chris.

I imagine it must be very difficult trying to decide what to lampoon.

The Better Together mob give you so much to choose from.

7. Clootie

The first thought that goes through my head and it’s captured in the first post!

Well done bunter.

Great cartoon – you have done it again Chris!

8. Robert Peffers

@Seasick Dave: “Do lions eat fruit?”

Lions will eat anything if forced to use, “Food Banks”

9. galamcennalath

We know Labour are lying when they say they’ll get it right next time. Because if they become the party their Scots supporters would like them to become, they wouldn’t get elected in England where they compete with Tories and UKIP.

10. RogueCoder

The Tennants can is a nice touch 🙂 Another fantastic piece of artistic satire by the superbly talented Chris Cairns.

11. iheartscotland

What did she ever see in him? That’s what I want to know.

12. Macart

‘Nutshell’.

That’s the whole current Labour argument in a one shot.

Excellant Chris. 🙂

13. ronnie anderson

Bite the leg aff him before you go Hamish.

Well done Chris,keep em coming.

14. manandboy

The stationary hasn’t been amended yet
    but one change has taken place –

We now have The Labour & Unionist Party in Scotland.

15. iheartscotland

@manandboy
    The mask has slipped forever.There’s no going back.

16. caz-m

Chris,

The sketch ties in with what Ed Miliband was trying to get across yesterday.

Ed told us we only have one more Christmas to go, before Labour wins the 2015 GE.

He said they would put a stop to big banking bonuses,(which they encouraged the last time they were in power).

Also he is going to get tough with the big energy companies, again Ed Miliband was head of the department that deregulated a lot of the laws that, in the end, turned the energy sector into a monopoly.

Still no mention on GMS yet of Ed’s visit to Scotland.

Nothing.

17. Rev. Stuart Campbell

It’s a Scottish house. The fruit is just painted onto the wall.

18. Croompenstein

Nice one Chris, but will she leave..

http://www.theadvocacycenter.org/adv_violencewhy.html

19. G. Campbell

Great stuff from Chris as usual.

Meanwhile…

Scottish Daily Mail:

“[John Cridland, director-general of the CBI] insisted they had not been aware of the decision to register with the Commission, and their lawyers had told them the CBI official who signed the registration document was an ‘unauthorised signatory.’

“The Mail can reveal this was Richard Maughan, head of campaigns at the CBI. Mr Cridland conceded in an interview with this paper yesterday that the proposal to register should have been relayed to senior managers but said he was not ‘pointing the finger’ at members of staff.”

Richard’s linkedin profile has mysteriously vanished.
    https://www.linkedin.com/pub/richard-maughan/12/166/1a8

20. G. Campbell

Richard Maughan’s twitter account has been deleted. It was still up on April the 24th, according to Google cache.

https://twitter.com/richiemaughan

You know what this means. Someone at the very top has ordered MI5 to “see him off”.

21. Les Wilson

Another excellent, topical cartoon that makes a serious point as usual.

22. iheartscotland

Rev,
    You racist b’stard 🙂

23. Albalha

Just come across this updated Economics of Independence video from Ivan McKee, this week in Kemnay, Aberdeenshire.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GmPNHkZxE_k&feature=youtu.be

24. tartanpigsy

Completely off topic, but important none the less. I’d just like to say a big thanks to everyone who donated to the 10000 Flags project, and to all those who helped raise the profile of the campaign.

The fundraiser finished at £11,397, fully 20% over the total.

Can I just ask for patience while we continue with the logistical side of things.

The flags are due for delivery at the end of May.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/10-000-flags-for-yes–11/x/2353157#home

25. Croompenstein

O/T what’s happening with crowd surfing? did we get a definitive top 10/20?

26. G. Campbell

Richard Maughan ?@richiemaughan · 23 Dec 2011
    I hate shopping

Richard Maughan ?@richiemaughan · 28 Dec 2011
    Am reading alistair darling’s book – fascinating insight not only into events of 2007-10 but also into the workings of government.

Richard Maughan ?@richiemaughan · 28 Dec 2011
    And yes, i know that last tweet makes me sound geekish. I am trying to improve the quality of my tweets.

Sounds like a bit of an idiot, right enough.

27. G. Campbell

Richard Maughan ?@richiemaughan · Jan 20
    @EE my phone broke in Dec, u said u’d send different one but now say u have no record of call! What’s going on? + u said u’d call me back!!

That was his last tweet. He ended on a high.

28. ronnie anderson

Rev Bbc news paper review 09.20 Brown Darling costs

Pensioners £118 billions in 1987, figures released by OBR.

Camerons playin a blinder, nae mair Labour Party in

Scotland, & the BT circus rolls on.

29. caz-m

Rev
    “It’s a Scottish house. The fruit is just painted onto the wall”.

Nice one.

Just as well we Scots can laugh at ourselves.

In an Independent Scotland we will be able to buy real plastic fruit.

30. Bugger (the Panda)

It sounds that the CBI at the least are dysfunctional and at best deceitful.

Mind you, they could be both.

31. Jimsie

The cartoon is quite funny but even funnier was the sight of JoLa and Magrit trailing around after hero Ed like collie dogs yesterday.

32. caz-m

wee bit O/T

This is from the CBI website right now regarding their referendum impartiality.

http://www.cbi.org.uk/about-the-cbi/uk/scotland/independence-referendum/

33. RogueCoder

@Rev
    It’s a Scottish house. The fruit is just painted onto the wall.

Not in my house growing up. Mother bought fruit wholesale at the market and we crunched our way through cases of the stuff. Staple diet in our household was salad for, or as part of, every meal. I had to move to England to be truly unhealthy!

But it was a good joke Rev – reminded me of Doctor Who regenerating and telling Amy “You’re Scottish, fry something!” (also written by a Scot).

34. ronnie anderson

‘@ iheartscotland, thats very irreverant of you.

Rev, git yer Dog Collier polished up, no be long tae the

press pack decend on you, ps dont do any Bbc interviews.

35. RogueCoder

@ caz-m
    Aye, and if you look past the front page into the “factsheets” it’s blatant No campaign pish. Impartial my arse. Tory lackeys – and they’ve been exposed. Nobody is going to believe a word they say now.

Business for Scotland – epic tactical manoeuvre, well played!

36. Les Wilson

The pressure on the CBI should be kept up, heard their creepy guy on radio this morning trying to weasel out of this mess. No one should buy it, they are a quasi right wing entity who will do all they can to thwart Scottish Independence. The Electoral should not allow them to
    de-register, or they will look compliant.

The BBC and all CBI media outlet members “serving ” Scotland should resign forthwith, otherwise they are promoting undemocratic practices against Scotland. Where then does that leave them?

37. Calgacus MacAndrews

It’s obvious now what Wings needs to do to get proper mentions on the BBC:-

Apply for a Royal Charter

(Forms are available at your local Post Office)

38. goldenayr

Eeeurgh..too much red wine.Have just got my eyes to focus on the text.Should’ve followed your example Ronnie.
    P.S. You’re still no getting mah frogs.

39. goldenayr

Did I hear right,on the radio earlier,that the reason the CBI signed up to the EC was “A big boy did it and ran away”?

40. goldenayr

Can we get T-shirts with that cartoon on it?

41. ronnie anderson

@Roguecoder, thats nae joke,painting fruit in Scottish houses, my Uncle never had a lick of wallpaper anywhere in his hoose,but landscaped painted walls,aye an fruit borders
    at the hight of the picture rail 2″ fae the ceiling.

42. remy2a

English people opinion about Scotland from Telegraph:

Disgruntled_Englishman • 26 minutes ago
    Making fun of Scotsmen is, of course, a time honoured English pastime – indeed, it could even be argued that the primary purpose of the Scottish nation is to enable even the humblest Englishman to feel superior.
    However, rather like a dog, a Scotsman is not ‘just for Christmas’ – we owe a duty of care to them, which includes warning them of the consequences of ‘independence’
    In all seriousness, Scotland has become in recent years a truly frightening place. The intrusion of the state into family life is breathtakingly invasive – to the point where every single Scottish child is to be appointed a ‘guardian’ to represent their interests, even when parents do not agree to their children being co-opted into this dystopian nightmare.
    It is a place where corruption is endemic, and which, according to the EU, ‘has the most expensive and inefficient legal system in Europe’
    It is Britian’s shame that we have consigned ordinary Scotsmen and women into the hands of a corrupt cabal, reigned over by the odious Alex Salmonella. They needed our protection, but we handed them over to bandits.
    One can only shudder at the cruelties and indignities that will be perpetrated upon the hapless Scots if Salmonella gains total control over their lives!
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/economics/10788391/Independent-Scotland-may-have-to-scrap-perks-to-service-debt-burden.html

43. goldenayr

remy2a
    Sounds like “Proud Scot” has given itself a new moniker and debunked to the torygraph.Will Ian Smart stoop to any level?…yes.

44. remy2a

Telegraph newest scary tale “Independent Scotland may have to scrap perks to service debt burden” are lies about Scotland and biggest lie is about author – Peter Dixon – “chief UK economist at Commerzbank” – who is only editor for real Chief economist Dr Jörg Krämer:
    Chief economist
    Dr Jörg Krämer
    +49 69 136 23650
    joerg.kraemer@commerzbank.com
    Editor
    Peter Dixon
    +44 20 7475 4806
    peter.dixon@commerzbank.com

https://www.commerzbank.com/me

45. alexicon

@tartanpigsy.

Can I still donate to 10,000 flags?
    If I do donate through indiegogo do I get the allocation of flags i.e. 1 for every £5?

46. orkers

Szu Ping Chan says education is a ‘perk’.

No doubt I’ve taken her words out of context?

47. Flower of Scotland

@remy2a

That’s real vile bile!

A fantastic cartoon as always! Says it all. Thanks!

48. Peter Macbeastie

The cartoon, as normal, is quality and sums up the position of Labour quite brutally. The hyperlinked article is excellent as is the pummelling the few unionists daring to comment on it are getting.

Definition of unionist; one who would sell you a pig in a poke without first looking in the poke to see what he’s selling.

Labour have nothing to sell. Plenty to promise, but nothing to back it up.

49. msean

Same old story from Labour,but don’t worry,they’ll sort it next time,but there again,doesn’t Mr Miliband want to rule like Thatcher,keep the Tory cuts etc.

Fool me once and a’ that.

50. G. Campbell

WHOOOOOOOPS!

“I think we can all agree that transparency in itself is a good thing.”

The CBI’s Richard Maughan at the Scottish Parliament earlier this year:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=0v6d6zllF3Y#t=4446

51. HandandShrimp

goldenayr

I think actually Cridland said it was a wee boy that did it. Fine old tradition of British management. Screw things up and then blame the tea boy.

52. goldenayr

HandandShrimp
    I stand corrected.Still,makes a change from “Look,there’s a squirrel”.

53. HandandShrimp

That cartoon says it all. People like Lamont, Baillie, Lord Robertson, Foulkes and the rest talk about social justice but they had 13 years in power and became increasingly right wing, authoritarian and unjust with each successive Government.

Lest we forget, they backed Bush to the hilt. It wasn’t just politics, Bush and Blair were close. They mangled civil liberties, desperately tried to make us all “carry papers”, tried to extend they length of time you could be held without charge to months, introduced privatisation all over the place including Faslane, introduced Atos to DWP and saw inequality increase not decrease.

54. iheartscotland

@Alexicon @tartanpigsy,
    Is there any chance that this campaign will continue?
    I’ve missed out due to finances.Is there any chance of 20000 flags getting a go?

55. Jimsie

tartanpigsy 9.22

You will probably like this. Quite impressive

https://www.flickr.com/photos/jim01355/13983744444/

Location is Barrhead

56. Mosstrooper

@remy2a

I think that disgruntled-englishman should be immediately re-gruntled. To remove a persons gruntle is a step too far.

Scots for re-Gruntling Aberdeen branch

57. handclapping

We must not forget that Labour’s great success in lifting children out of poverty is on a relative measure so the kids were not made richer, they just made the rest of us poorer.

I’m sure they will do better next time.

58. Fiona

Do you normally send the tea boy to a parliamentary committee?

59. RogueCoder

@ Jimsie
    Aye, I like that a lot 🙂

60. john king

caz-m says
    “In an Independent Scotland we will be able to buy real plastic fruit.”

Come on now, lets not get above ourselves here, a wee picture is good enough, it’ll take the baundy legged weans mind of the visit to the dentist to get their false teeth fitted. 🙁

61. The Man in the Jar

A Youtube video that is right on topic.

Is James Brown playing the part of Alistair Darling or David Cameron?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vxseCCoZzSc

62. Davy

“Les Wilson”, your right, that was some interview on GMS by the CBI rep, it was wide open for the presenter to take them apart, instead she appeared to agree with him. Typical BBC.

If the CBI thinks their is any chance anybody believes their pathitic excuse for signing up to the NO campaign is genuine, they are even thicker than they look.

Great cartoon, lets have more.

63. john ferguson

Bunter, you could get bay o neted for these words

64. john king

Mosstrooper says
    “I think that disgruntled-englishman should be immediately re-gruntled. To remove a persons gruntle is a step too far.

Scots for re-Gruntling Aberdeen branch”

Is ok to discombobulate them?

You may tak their
    combobulate em? r,
    but you’ll nivver tak their gruntle 🙂

65. Andy smith

Breaking news,Richard Maughan just been found..he was discovered sitting behind a curtain in front of a large microphone.

66. Yesitis

Spot on cartoon, Chris. As usual. 🙂
    It would make a great poster; visually straightforward and to the point, but oh so effective.

Thanks for the great work. Always appreciated.

67. john king

“Breaking news,Richard Maughan just been found..he was discovered sitting behind a curtain in front of a large microphone.”

He wasn’t wearing ruby slippers by any chance was he?

68. gavin lessells

Davy

Isabel Fraser would not have missed the guy. Maybe that is why she was posted missing on GMS today

69. Thepnr

Chris

I love the cartoon.

I love this website.

I love my wife.

I love my children.

I love my country.

I love myself.

I love all of you.

I hate Westminster and their cronies. I will love it when we are Independent.

70. Doug Daniel

Brilliant as always, Chris.

71. Luigi

“Breaking news,Richard Maughan just been found..he was discovered sitting behind a curtain in front of a large microphone.”

He wasn’t wearing ruby slippers by any chance was he?

Last seen on a balloon of hot air (ahem) heading for Kansas.

The Wizzard of Naws

72. mogabee

Very funny and apt Chris.

We have given Labour long enough and even took them back a few times!

But it’s over now.

73. Helpmaboab

Another keeper from Chris. Wise and witty.

I’ll admit to being a wee bit disconcerted by Hamish’s cross-dressing but I suppose that national personifications have unusual lifestyles…

If it’s good enough for Bugs Bunny it’s good enough for Hamish.

74. Chris Cairns

@ Helpmaboab

Hamish is a true professional, ready to do whatever is needed for the cause. (Although he did draw the line at eating the fruit).

75. velofello

“What did she see in him” Was a forced marriage, these practises are gone and so too this unfair union.

Reference the Telegraph, its articles and pundits: if the Telegraph hasn’t had it’s pressure release valve tested recently there is going to be an almighty bang.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.