Off-topic
Posted on
January 02, 1968 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
For off-topic chat. Duh.
@Ronnie Anderson
Sorry forgot to pledge last night and the site wouldn’t let me post earlier.
Put me down for £50.
Also have you thought of maybe getting an actual licence pay’er to sue for a refund in small claims court.
Might be the fastest and cheapest way and could if successful open the flood gates ?
Although it might make more sense to have a leagal researcher check the legislation first to make sure the court has competence in the first place.
All this talk of Europe. I need some Music. link to youtube.com
Euro tunes – something plastic…
Oh by the way folks, wee reminder Craig Murray is speaking in Brechin next Tuesday.
Ronnie, I can contribute at least 50
Paula Rose
Craig Murray in Brechin – venue and time? If I can make it I will be there transport and accommodation arrangements permitting.
8pm Tuesday 12th July at the Caledonian Hotel Southesk Street DD9 6DZ – bar open from 7.
Have I shown you this pic before?
Also, they way things are developing, it would be worth revisiting this particular event, for inspiration.
link to sites.google.com
I felt it in my bones, unlike the wicked witch of the west. I’m getting animated again and spoiling for a fight. A fight with the arseholes who are fighting among themselves for the right to lead us.
This is what you will get after the dust settles. Dear God exactly where Ruthie gets her inspiration from FFS.
All this shite has me singing: ‘There’s only four things for sure…taxes, death, trouble, and Tories.’
Doesn’t scan very well, but ain’t it the truth shonuff…
Marvin Gaye, ‘Trouble Man’ –
@Ian Brotherhood
I’m all for playing by the rules. Those that don’t wish to see us Independent choose not to play by the rules.
That is their choice, I’m with Mahatma Ghandi on this. I doubt he is talking of God. He denies God, he is talking of those that rule.
The end. Bullies always will meet their match.
Oi what’s with all this boxing stuff – horrible, take it away.
There is a point Paula. Wouldn’t post it here otherwise.
One day your top of the tree, cock of the rock (lol) and next day your not. Pride come before a fall don’t ya know.
link to imgur.com This is a cock of the rock.
But it’s all horrible punchy stuff – I want some pretty flowers instead.
Here you are, Paula Rose.
That’s better!
Sorry Paula for being a brute.
Here is the best description of flowers you will ever hear.
Flower song!
@Paula Rose
Rat Scabies was good. Here’s a laugh for you, guess who lives here.
Ravishing Raymond!
Well done Paula. You’ve probably stayed there LOL.
No – he always came to me.
Calling BDTT
Please can you give me the link again for the Dundee bus company you suggested for my private hire?
Thanks!
link to sidlaw.co.uk
Thank you!
Really have to ditch my ‘merry old duffer’ gravatar, given what’s happened this week.
Blair back in all our lives, giving us lectures…
Fuck that.
This is for Blair and his buddies, especially all the ‘Scots’ who helped him.
Radiohead, ‘We Suck Young Blood’ –
I appear to have killed O/T stone-dead with Radiohead, so here’s a happier tune:
REM, ‘Shiny Happy People’ –
*removes ear plugs – replaces them*
@Paula Rose –
Okay then, your turn…
Yipee. We’ve got Argyll Independent Radio back online (www.argyllradio.co.uk)
I’m on with my “Not Fade Away” rock’n’roll show tomorrow night at 8pm
We will be expanding output after start up problems are ironed out. Mostly streamed music at the moment
Song line time – not played this one for a while…
This about sums up the UK just now
State of the Nation…
Irresistible…
@Paula Rose –
Okay. Fair do’s.
Yee Ha link to youtube.com
Can Anybody tell me where Vinda Went. link to youtube.com
@MichaelMcCcabe –
Good to see you getting the music back up and running.
Well, here we are – Friday night again?
En Vogue, ‘Never Gonna Get It’ –
*rummages through classic hits collection*
@Michael McCabe –
Please tell Lynn this one’s for her.
Have yersels a braw weekend there!
The Waterboys, ‘And A Bang On The Ear’ –
Anyone ever heard this before?
The Humblebums, ‘Steamboat Row’ –
Man alive…
Sometimes you come across a wee nugget that just blows your socks off.
I honestly didn’t know this – Willie Nelson wrote ‘Crazy’, in 1961. Patsy Cline used it the following year.
Here he is performing it, somewhere in Scotland, in 1992.
Who’s up for a dance?
Gipsy Kings, ‘Baila Me’ –
@Paula Rose –
If you don’t stop rummaging soon, make yer mind up and get something on, I’m going to post U2 12-inchers and videos until tomorrow night.
I wasn’t bluffing…
And so it begins:
‘Bono: Who Is Jesus?’ (Interview with Gay Byrne)
Quite revolting to see the btl comments on the Fall of The Edge YT video, all these callous bastards asking if his guitar was okay…
Bono, naturally, declared it a miracle that he was unhurt.
My last comment refers to this, which, for some reason, did not appear –
‘The Edge Falling Off The Stage’ –
A special report from RTE on…
‘U2’s Larry Mullen’s Acting Debut’ –
‘U2’s First TV Appearance’ (Gay Byrne’s ‘Late Late Show’, 1980) –
Jet Look what you done. link to youtube.com
Keane Everybody,s Changing link to youtube.com
@Michael McCabe –
Aha!
Are you doing pairs of songs which sound very similar?
Good stuff anyway…
Hi Ian B Just spoken to lynn on the phone. She says thanks for the song and a great big Luv yeah to all the wingers who gather here. And Naturally I wish you all the best. Running down a dream. link to youtube.com
The Boss Red Headed Woman link to youtube.com
Guidance needed! Once i clear out all the important stuff is it possible to close down an old email account and if so how do i go about it?
Sparks – Beat The Clock
Are we doing a stallee thingie in Glasgow on the 30th of July folks?
I believe Wingers will have a presence on the 30th in George Square, Paula Rose. Ronnie is co-ordinating something.
Typing of Ronnie…
Spent a pleasant afternoon with Ronnie and Mitch today, in the Counting House in Dundee. This link is for Ronnie, as he was unaware of the Dundee musical legend, Johnny Duckworth.
link to sites.google.com
Does he know about Craig Murray coming to Brechin – I was presuming he’d be in his castle.
@Paula Rose –
What’s happening?
Hi Ian Honey – what do you mean “what’s happening?”
Sorry, just saw BDTT’s post – George Square then? I don’t even know what’s going on any more. Is it another rally?
Ian Honey would you like regular up-dates?
@Paula Rose –
Well, it seems I’m somewhat out of the proverbial, so, yes, please.
Hi Paula Rose.
Ronnie knows about Brechin. He asked me to remind him about it every time we spoke on the telephonic apparatus, over the past three weeks or so.
Hi Ian B. 30th July. March from Glasgow Botanic Gardens to George Square. Rally in George Square. How do you manage not to know about it? Is Ayrshire so far from the civilised world?
8=)
Well it is a long way from the hub of the known universe – Brechin.
@BDTT –
No man is an island an’ aw that jazz, but I’m doing my level best.
Hi Ian B.
You’re so far behind the curve that I’ll bet you can’t even answer simple questions about Johnny Duckworth? Iye?
8=)
link to wingsoverscotland.com
8=)
Oh cool, can I come on that rally and finally meet some of you? 🙂
What start time on the 30th?
@BDTT –
How very dare you.
Any fool know he was Vera’s husband.
So there!
If the march is starting from the Botanic Gardens would it not be properly cool if we all dressed up as Triffids?
You can imagine bleary-eyed west-end stoners freaking out, coffee-cups rattling…
Whit dey ye mean ronnie dizznae know Cleo , an dont tell me am oan the wrang pathway dont be Duckin oot o this BrianDTT lol.
@ BrianDTT Where,s the table adornment fae Witherspoon’s.
Can anyone explain to me who Calvin Harris is, and why, at a festival that is supposed to be about live musicians, what appears to be a dj playing pre-recorded set pieces merits a place on stage?
Must be getting old…
8=)
Hi Ronnie.
I’ll get there – not necessarily tonight though…
@ BrianDTT Get with it daddyo, Calvin Harris is a radio 1 DJ
‘Calvin Harris’ sounds like a good name for a 70’s menswear designer.
Hi Ronnie.
Here’s the best pic of the table ornaments (and badge) that you had on display in the Counting House yesterday.
link to i.imgur.com
Hi Ian B.
Here are more expansive details about 30th July, from the Facebook page at:-
link to facebook.com
“MARCH FOR INDEPENDENCE- SATURDAY JULY 30TH
BOTANIC GARDENS TO GEORGE SQUARE
GATHER AT 10AM. LEAVING 10.30AM SHARP
PROCESSION ROUTE:
BOTANIC GARDENS, GREAT WESTERN ROAD, MARYHILL ROAD, ST.GEORGES ROAD, CHARING CROSS OVER M8, SAUCHIEHALL STREET, PITT STREET, WEST GEORGE STREET, BLYTHSWOOD SQUARE (S), WEST GEORGE STREET, NELSON MANDELA PLACE, GEORGE STREET, GEORGE SQUARE.
JOIN THE EVENT, SHARE THE EVENT AND INVITE AS MANY FRIENDS AS POSSIBLE USING THE ‘INVITE’ TAB AT THE TOP OF THIS PAGE.
WE LOOK FORWARD TO SEEING A MASSIVE TURN-OUT ON THE DAY.”
There is also more info at these pages:-
YES Bikers –
link to facebook.com
YES2 –
link to facebook.com
Here’s the non-Facebook event page:-
link to glasgow.uk.eventsdroid.com
@BDTT –
Cheers aplenty and thanks amuch.
I followed a link on the Hobson’s Choice thread and got to an absolutely superb You Tube clip of a French military band playing La Marche Des Soldats De Robert Bruce. Apparently this is an old Scottish tune, supposedly the one which marched the troops to Bannockburn, and which Burns adapted as the tune to Scots Wha Hae. The tune has been appropriated by the French and Germans, who love it.
I was blown away – the tune rang a bell somewhere in my sub-conscious, what a fantastic tune. Yet, I have never knowingly heard it played at either Trooping the Colour or the Edinburgh Tattoo. I can just see the reaction if, on the Esplanade, some night, a French military band started this up, then the massed pipes and drums came in. It would be electrifying.
Now, I know Flower of Scotland is now well-established for sporting occasions, and, I also appreciate, it would be a difficult one to set Scots Wha Hae to, but, where does it say, a pre-match national anthem HAS to have words – there is one, Spain’s? which has no words.
This tune would be a cracker.
By the way, anent Calvin Harris. One of my grandsons is doing a degree in music technology at university (I keep telling him it’s a BSc in dee-jaying). For him, Calvin Harris is God. Apparently, his USP is the way he mixes tunes and uses his turntables. He (Harris), is apparently very gifted at this most-important skill.
Hi Socrates MacSporran.
I first posted the link to “Soldats” on 1st June last year, in ‘off-topic’. I detailed the research I had done, hence the links I posted the other day.
Socrates,
I concur, La marche des Soldats de Robet Bruce would be a great national anthem. Surely someone could be commissioned to write lyrics for it as well.
Flower of Scotland will be out of date when we achieve independence so something more along the lines of we have renewed our old alliances and are a nation again.
Our history is better known in Germany and particularly France than it is here.
A job for Ninja Penguin!
P-R,
Have fun tomorrow night.
Will do Honey – wish you wos here xx
(see wot I did there)
Ian B.
Just heard from a good pal and published author that a friend of a friend here in Scotland has managed to secure a two-novel deal in UK and USA for Loadsamoney. And I mean loads.
There’s hope for us all this side of the herring pond. Pity your Tobiad couldn’t grow wings.
Hoping for a big Indy March in Glasgow at the end of the month. Ironing my saltire, Catalonian and Sicilian flags almost as we speak.
Bonne chance, mon vieux.
@Tinto Chiel –
Nice one!
Good news indeed…
Mibbe see you at the rally?
Hoots!
Ian, if I survive my flight to Italy with Mrs TC in the teeth of Isil, I’ll be there.
By that time I may have the name of the young lady’s agent who finessed the Flint-hearted bar stewards into a massive deal.
Of course, the YL has talent, application and determination.
I hate people like that. Can’t I just wear a beret and hope for the best?
Hehehehe! 😎
And hoots tae yirsel, old bean. And so to bed. Is that Martin Richmond Angostura Bittaz in disguise?
To BDTT and IB re March, I offer you this great slice of cheese in reply:
link to m.youtube.com
I feel kinda queasy now, but it seemed a good idea at the time.
Better than any PPB
We need much more of this now and less of the interminable arguments fought on battlefields our opponents choose
While we’re waiting for the Brexit dust to settle a bit, here’s a challenge for Mr. Kevin Hague. Could you please graph the cultural dimension of Scotland’s crapness, plotted against space and time?
You could perhaps use this as a primer for your analysis.
link to www1.uwindsor.ca
@Archie[not Erchie] Big hugs to you too. Hoping you are well. Do you ever hear from Findlay? I’ve not seen him post for a long time. Wondering if he’s ok.
Apologies for perhaps appearing egotistical but here’s another wee snippet from the above. It is a bit geeky. 🙂
Socrates, I copied this from a previous thread (Hobson’s Choice):
O/T: Socrates McSporran: did you know Jackie McInally had died on Saturday? Have wonderful memories of him in claret and amber going on his rampaging runs, almost bruising his chin with those daddy-long-legs breenges at inside right. Killie fans loved him too.
I know you are a footballing sophisticate/aesthete.
😎
Wee thank you for inviting me along to the Craig Murray talk in Brechin tonight, very good turnout and great to see more than a few Wingers there too.
Going senile! That was to the delightful Paula.
Another thank-you to the delightful Paula Rose for the invite tonight. Enjoyed seeing some familiar faces this evening, both Wingers and a few indigenous Brechin / Montrose folks from my past life too! Have to say, Paula was a bit worse for wear at the tolling of the bell and were it not for my wife being in tow, I think I’d have had an easy lay there tonight!! 😉
Many thanks to all you wonderful wingers who came to Brechin last night – you are all so special and made it a very special evening.
Tartan Tory Honey it was funny seeing your wife warning you to stop trying it on with me xx
If Ronnie Anderaon is still thinking of taking the BBC to court, or contesting the licence in some way , I might know where to get a good start on funds
Ask him to drop a line here link to business.facebook.com. With his number and I will give him a ring
@Paula Rose –
Sorry I missed it.
Had been entertaining notions of surprising you, but twas not to be…
🙁
Won’t be long until we have you up to speed on the nature of space and the significance of place Mr. Hague. Then you will be able to graph confidently in the knowledge that we have very little idea as to how an independent Scotland would develop.
One thing we do know is that independence would bring new meaning and significance to the place we call Scotland. Everywhere else, such an emergent environment would stimulate the development of new business and an increase in cultural activity. Apparently Scotland’s got shit oil though so I suppose such growth and improvement wouldn’t happen here.
P.S. IMHO, the above author would probably get along with Mr. Podmore. Well, they do both share the same simplistic appreciation of Heidegger.
Sorry Will, I know you can’t respond but that one’s an obvious tell of a Marxist, who will generally seek to rationalise reality in such a way as to support Marxist ideology.
P.P.S. For example, Mr. P’s denial of phenomenology. Pffff. 🙂
Glad tuesday went well. Did anybody record it?
Tinto Chiel
I did know about Big Jackie McInally’s passing. I have done a couple of obits for him, although I might upset “Rambo” his son, in suggesting, he “Rambo”, wasn’t as-good a player as his old man.
Jackie scored the best goal I ever saw, at Rugby Park, against Motherwell, in December 1961. Killie won 5-3 and Andy Kerr – the greatest player ever to wear a Killie strip IMHO, scored four goals that day.
THE goal of that, and every other game I have ever seen, was scored by Big Jackie, who fired in a shot, from just inside the Motherwell half, past Alan Wyllie from about 50-yards.
So what? Well, he scored it, with one of the old leather Thomson T-balls, into the teeth of horizontal rain, which was being driven by a near-hurricane force wind.
Was that the big tumhshie ball that just about knocked you out if you headed it wrong?
Or sometimes we called them a “blether”. A cross between “leather” and a “bladder”. They were proper balls, though there were wimpy rubber balls about at the time (suitable for the midfield fannying about on the continent which seems to have turned soccer in a sophorific spectacle nowadays) .
When I look at tennis players hurling down a wee light ball and getting widely praised I think of big Tommy Gemmell accelerating one of these blethers through opponents nets
Socrates, DMH:
Ah, Andy Kerr. I have a pal who supports Killie who reveres him as a Demi-God.
Do you remember mid- timing a header with one of those balls and getting it on the top of the skull?
Out of country just now and wifi a bit dodgy but Boris for FO? I think I may have passed through a worm hole in the STC.
McInally, McInally, Oi, Oi , Oi! That’s what I say.
Very nice report on our meeting in Brechin, standing room only by the way…
link to mrmalkysblog.blogspot.co.uk
Hi ‘et al’.
Are we all going to Glasgow on the 30th July?
Just found this video, which leads on from Gerry Cinnamon’s appearance at TITP 2015 – TITP 2016.
“Sends out usual call for a chauffeur.”
Hi Paula Rose.
With Pete the Camera stuck in Ward 22 for the duration, I’ve had to make other arrangements for the 30th.
I’m bussing down to Cumbernauld on the Friday afternoon, where Ronnie is gonna collect me and install me in his virtual shed.
Saturday will be George Square and whatever Ronnie gets organised for Wingers ‘apres event’. Back to Ronnie’s on Saturday evening, then bus from Cumbernauld back to Dundee on the Sunday afternoon.
I like when plans fall into place…
A representative of the National YES Registry will be down in Dunoon at the Forward Shop tomorrow evening from 7pm for an informal meeting with activists. I’ll try to get him onto Forward Argyll Independent Radio about 7.50 to say a few words before my Rock’n’Roll show.
http://www.argyllradio.co.uk
Sos
People I was trying to orginize a place for 30th July in Hope St ,but someone forgot to renew the drinks licence.
As its a long day 10am to 1pm,if Wingers are staying after that time frame we could do as we,ve done in the past & go to the Counting House.
Hey, here’s something to ponder..
Have you ever played that online ‘Miniclip 8-ball pool’ game before?
Normally when you play the game, it recognises your location and displays the UJ flag for ‘where you’re from.’ Not now! Now it defaults to displaying the flag of the USA with no available option for the UK.
Whit’s that awe aboot?!
We live in interesting times. I see you, EC you.
Hi Peeps.
I think this may be the song for tonight.
Hi Cactus, I just checked ma game and it’s still displaying the UJ flag on mine…and I’ve recently updated it too…so not sure what that’s about on your game…
In honour of Theresa May’s visit to Scotland, the first visit of a foreign head of government to Scotland, here’s this:
Can’t do the 30th. as I will have a houseful of people here.
BDtt, best wishes to Pete.
Tinto Chiel:
A couple of Andy Kerr moments. On his Killie debut, against Celtic at Rugby Park, he was sent flying to land beside the Celtic goal, when the ball broke across the goal, Andy, flat on his back, stretched his right foot back onto the park and diverted the ball past Frank Haffey for a goal – Killie won the game.
Another time, with Killie assured of a win over Partick Thistle, Andy’s old club, late in the game, he got the ball down in the corner, in front of the old “hayshed”. He beat Jimmy Davidson, who had been his best pal at Thistle, then went back and beat him again. In all, he beat Davidson about five times, before he tripped over the ball and fell over, taking Davidson with him. The pair of them just sat there laughing, with the crowd joining-in. Even Tiny Wharton, who was refereeing, laughed.
Aye, fitba was fun back then.
@BDTT, ronnie et al,
Just put wee comment on main thread, hoping to pique interest of newbies who may be interested in joining us on the 30th.
All eyes out for newcomers!!
Socrates: yon Paula Rose wummin’ll give us pelters for discussing fitba’.
Wish I could remember AK clearly but my first season at FP was 1962 as a nipper.
Tiny Wharton: remember the time he sent wee JJ of Celtic for using the B word? Jimmy took his wallies out to play so TW quipped, “Mr Johnstone, I’m about to reacquaint you with your teeth.”
Ah, the memories.
“Sent OFF wee JJ.”
Sorry.
@Tinto Chiel I am being very patient Dear – and I presume you’ll have finished your footie chat before the adults pop in.
(Slouches off chastened to early bed.)
Now that you are up to speed with the understanding that place is both a creative agent and a discursive expression of community formation, cultural values and social morality, lets broaden our investigation of space to include the inner spaces of being, shall we Mr. Hague?
link to helsinki.fi
For those who do not have the time to consume the above;
P.S. 🙂
The Vulcans – Star Trek
Hi K1, thanks for the comparison.
I should have mentioned, I normally play as a guest, not logged in. Dunno if that would make a difference.
This is the link I use below. It’s even got the ‘English/en’ language version at the end of the path-name, but still coming up all stars n stripes for the flag at the top RHS of screen, instead of the previous UJ.
{www}.miniclip.com/games/8-ball-pool-multiplayer/en/
Ach well, I’ll take it as a sign.. cheers to ye K1 🙂
Hi Cactus, I used the link you posted and took me to their site, it’s got the UJ on my log on page. It may well be making the difference not being logged on?
Have you tried clicking on the UJ on the main page, there’s a drop down menu wherein you can choose which flag? Maybe it defaulted on yer browser Cactus, try changing it back…or use another European flag instead 😉
(I used it on my android phone, and ma kindle too…find it too awkward wi the mac and touchpad)
Running low on popcorn Robert? 🙂
Ella Fitzgerald ft Buddy Bregman & His Orchestra – Begin The Beguine
So, a military coup in Turkey. This will not happen in the UK cos we’ve got some water cannons!
Hi K1, did a reset earlier and that’s me back to the UJ thang again, dang. Now the American flag is not even listed.. must be Gismo and Co.
One day we will play under the saltire.
Till then, rack em up!
BDTT
Are you making badges for 30th? Been a bit out of touch for a couple of weeks:) I retire the day before AUOB so hoping to get there for this march.
BDtt
Sorry just saw your comment about Pete being in hospital so forget I even asked about badges. Best wishes to Pete if you see him.
Lollysmum you can always get a bespoke badge made here-
link to shop-scotland.com
my bespoke badge company of choice.
Hi Lollysmum et al.
I visited Pete yesterday and he said that as he’s allowed ‘pass-outs’, he’s hoping to use some of his time to get some badges together, for me to take to George Square.
Jeez, still shaking. We (wife) got a text from my son saying something terrible had happened.
He got a new licence with the Union Jack on it.
See that ‘Fast Show’ jobbing actor, Johnny Depp? See in those “Pirates” fillums whot he got a job in… was he not just caricaturing Keith Richards?
Evening. So I guess Angra Manyu begat Ahura Mazda who begat Papko. The evolution is the same as he goes from purely aggressive denigration to indy support to full on domination of page after page.
He likes heedy and thepnr and GB and Ian B as before. It is weird because my policy is to just not engage at all (and I usually resist the bait) but eventually it becomes the discussion and I just can’t be arsed writing anything on the same page. Which is probably the whole purpose so I should just ignore.
Anyway- for anyone with netflix check out Bill Hicks: Revelations- his last recorded gig. Can that really be 26 years ago? Amazing stuff.
@Tam Jardine –
Hoots mon,
I don’t ‘feel’ Papko is a reincarnation of those earlier characters – he seems curiously bereft of bite/humour, more like Rock for my money, but no matter…
These c-c-c-characters will keep coming here – they will all fail, and they will all fall.
Amen.
OT
Mmm, poor Kevin. Hasn’t published my last reply yet, must be in a bit of a quandry – should he, shouldn’t he, what answer can he find to post immediately afterwards? Well nevermind, shame to waste it, if he doesn’t do it, I’ve kept a copy and will put it in some main thread on Wings, contexting it properly, of course!
Now, about that fiscal transfer of £9 billion …
With the SNP new move on currency, seems they’ve been listening perhaps.
So we are a bunch of smart-Erse, know-all, denial merchants. Sorry but as with most Yoon analysis, this is rather shallow and ineffectual. What about something with a bit of snap to it?
Funkadelic – Promentalshitbackwashpsychosis Enema Squad
P.S. Munch an ego today Wingers. 😉
While I’m about, here’s one for all who voted No, despite not belonging to the Yoon cult of British national socialism.
Funkadelic – Free Your Mind And Your Ass Will Follow
Are you happy that another nation determines your future? Happy that Scotland’s cultural and moral values are subsumed within a Greater England/Little Britain? Satisfied with the politics of inauthentic idealism and empirical subjectivity?
I’m not.
Morrissey, ‘First Of The Gang To Die’ –
In summary, Mr. Huge, the blessed space we know as Britain, is a political construct which is divorced of any tangible respect to either human agency or human geography. As such, I see it is as the very embodiment of the most dehumanising monism of ‘modernist’ thought and morality. The very embodiment of imperial power and domination. Agreed?
With respect to yourself, just my opinion but I doubt the avalanche of empirical subjectivity for which you are infamouse, will delay Scotland’s desire for full-fat Being, much longer.
P.S. No wonder Heidegger thought English Christian Bolsheviks were the dodgiest feckers.
Singers & Players – Run Them Away
Sorry Ian, that wasn’t a suggestion. I hadn’t refreshed. 😉
@CamB –
No worries.
I always read your posts, even though I don’t know what they’re about most of the time. I’d love to see your library sometime or, even better, the inside of your heid. I don’t know how you cram it all in.
Heaviest book I ever read was one about Wittgenstein. It was jolly good, but at the end I was none the wiser about what he’d actually achieved. It had a picture of him on his deathbed, just after he gave up the ghost. I wonder what happened to all his ideas right then?
Sorry if this sounds a bit maudlin, but earlier today my son showed me a video he took of me dancing at a 50th party at a Masonic Club in Saltcoats and I’m still recovering from the shock. In my heid I’m still in my mid-twenties, but the camera doesn’t lie. I’m 53, and I still can’t dance to save myself.
So it goes…
🙁
Well that’s it, trap sprung on mr average (main thread). Sadly amongst all the background noise, probably nobody will notice. But it was time the distorted blog was tackled head on.
What I’ve noticed in the past is that people who are smug, patronising and condescending really know very little and are easy targets – just take your time, prepare, make sure you know the destination before you start the journey.
@CamB –
Just noticed there…your 9.02 comment was the 18,000th on O/T!
Congrats – you win a small coconut, a large bottle of Lambrini, and a second-hand book about Wittgenstein!
Ian Honey I’ve warned you before about trying to make out you are one of us older ones *pats young man on head*
Ian
Tbh, I’m probably guilty of confirmation bias Ian, as I’m not much of a reader. I’ve simply gone looking for material that I could relate to the life-world of Scotland within Britain and which supports a phenomenological outlook (the essence of contemporary academic investigation).
My uni. course just happened to introduce me to the time-space-Being nature of existence and reality. Just lucky I guess? See, it earned me a coconut. 😉
Hey Cameron, that reminds me of a short I saw at a sifi convention in the central station hotel many years back.
Funny you should mention sifi dad’s, er, yesindyref2, I was trying to contextualise Scottish Yoon politicians within the contemporary sociopolitical sphere of a Brexit Britain and came up with this.
I blame it on the lack of balance in their Project Fear diet of cereal.
Elsiane – Vaporous link to youtube.com
Elsiane – Mend (to Fix to Repair) link to youtube.com
Meanwhile Down in Hollywood. link to youtube.com
Oi I told you not to show anyone that.
Bob Seger Live 1978 link to youtube.com
Get Rhythm link to youtube.com
Anyone catch the full name of the pro-Trident tory arse on CallK? Morris or Maurice something-or-other…
Depressing amount of utter stupidity on show.
All the Brexit bollocks aside, the democratic outrage this vote represents would surely count as ‘a material change’ worthy of triggering Indyref2.
Mundell, The Bushbaby From Hell, yet again receiving attention and racking-up more brownie points with his WM handlers for no other reason than being the odd man out…
Sickening.
@People Carrier: yes, Dr C’s monograph is interesting. I emailed him a wee while ago and he said he still holds these views.
As regards the arrival on Inglis in the Lowlands, Pro. Barrow in his various works on Scottish History, particularly “Anglo-Norman Era…” argues that it was a result of the introduction of the feudal system and Royal burghs by King David. In the former, those holding lands in both Scotland and England would send second sons north to run the estates and they brought lots of English speakers with them in the form of estate workers and administrators. David himself had extensive lands in Yorkshire and Lincs.
Royal burghs were used to monetise the Scottish economy and once again expertise lay in England. Any spread of Anglian Inglis from SE Scotland is likely to have been minimal. Having said all this, we do not know when Gaelic and Welsh waned and finally disappeared, and Wallace himself, as his name suggests, may even have spoken it. Remember that Margaret McMurray, supposedly the last speaker of Carrick Gaelic died when Burns himself was a baby, and Arran Gaelic succumbed about 1930-50.
Anyhow, ended up in Como cathedral today. Wee guy at doors with pamphlets asks us,”Inglesi?”
“No,” says we, “siamo scozzesi.”
“Scozzesi?” Big grin……
“NO BREXIT!” says he.
“NO BREXIT!” says we.
Hehehehehehe!
Love that wee fella.
Ian Brotherhood Honey you asked a wee while back about Preston Reed who was at the last Glasgow Wings thingie – here’s his latest filmed by Phantom Power…
link to youtube.com …
FYI…
If you or anyone you know is outside the UK and, therefore, can’t watch BBC iPlayer, or STV Player or 4OD and so on, point them in the direction of this web site:-
link to bestukvpn.com
There’s no software (app) download required – you just set up a new network configuration on your own computer/device. As there’s no download, you don’t have to worry about malware and the like.
Full instructions are provided under “FAQ” at the link above for Windows, Macs, iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch, and Android tablets/phones.
If you are abroad and connect to the UK through VPN (Virtual Private Network) you can watch live UK TV at these two sites:-
http://www.filmon.tv
http://www.tvcatchup.com
BTW: ‘filmon’ has BBC Scotland, BBC Wales, and so on.
Also – anyone abroad with positive stories in the press about Scotland where they are let us know, we can get those out there.
Hi Paula Rose.
Here’s a couple from Canada that you may find interesting. The way the stories are treated is ‘different’ to the way things are treated in the BUM.
link to cbc.ca
link to intelligencer.ca
Well, “limited objectives” doesn’t mean you can’t go back for another one, taking time and preparation, and that really had the fur flying. I would diagnose it as over-grooming. Vanity is its own punishment, and it has to be said, arrogance and condescension make an easy target. All you need is to stand back, pick up a pin, and it implodes. And the biggest laugh of all is it doesn’t even realise it’s happened. I feel so … cruel.
Just a quick pop in and then away again.
I know there are a few history buffs in here and thought that this wee project related to the Spanish Civil War might interest a few of the more curious minds.
If you do give it a try, be warned this sort of “zooniverse” project can be addictive.
Have a great evening, all.
Gosh – Off-topic has gone all exciting again, long may it last.
@Paula Rose (8.18) –
Fantastic.
Hoots aplenty.
Does anyone know when the perks from the great leap forward will arrive?
Wingers please get ready to help on the 30th of July if you live in Glasgow.
Indeed. We’ve seen the Empire strike back, now it’s time for the return of the Jedi 🙂
Re: the Spanish Civil war.
When I was a jobbing DJ around 1980, we used to do parties at a local Labour activist’s house. The guests were all ‘high heid yins’ in the local Labour party. They could all sing along with this:-
Haven’t times/the labour party changed?
@BDDT 2106: thanks for that. Watching BBC and SKY on the hotel TV after two years abstinence is unpleasant. A non-SNP zone as far as MPs/spokespersons is concerned. Corbyn treated similarly but pile in Whiny Eagles and Slimy Smith: a throwback to Clive Jenkins, could be his son.
Just noticed the Euro stars you’ve added to your avatar.
Smooth.
Forgot to say, Jim Thomson, thanks for the link.
Hi Tinto Chiel.
You’re the first to mention them (stars). Added them the weekend after the referendum.
Brian, is that The Laggan’s version of La Bandiera Rossa? I’ve got the CD at home. Great video clip too.
Mebbe see you in Freedom Square on 30/7.
Hi Tinto Chiel.
It is The Laggan’s version. I still have the vinyl LP but managed to get it on CD some years ago.
Incidentally, the ‘Jarama/Bandiera’ video that was on YouTube for a number of years, showing only the cover of the album, seems to have been removed. I had to play about with search terms to uncover the one I linked to above.
@BDTT
Will stick it in my faves. Ta.
CAN ANYONE SEND ME
A LINK TO ANY OF THE ‘BETTER TOGETHER’ POSTS ON ‘THE ONLY WAY TO STAY IN EUROPE IS TO VOTE NO’
I WANT TO MAKE A POSTER OUT OF IT
cadogan@enright.ie
Hi Cadogan Enwright is this of any help?
link to twitter.com
And another…
link to twitter.com
Hi Cadogan.
?w=474&h=194
link to cdn.thejournal.ie
In that second one, look under “Influence and Impact”.
Tinto Chiel
“@People Carrier: yes, Dr C’s monograph is interesting. I emailed him a wee while ago and he said he still holds these views.”
Many thanks, greatly appreciated. I definitely need to read some more I depth studies.
Ta
@PC: Nae probs.
By the way, GWS Barrow was English, his mum a Scottish Stuart, hence his initial. He supported Indy and scorned the whinging Scottish bourgeoisie who opposed it because of fears of losing pensions or too wee/ poor/ stupid. When he wrote Robert the Bruce he was subjected to withering attacks by Establishment academics who denied there was such a thing as Scottish historiography.
Of course, the book went through at least three editions, so tehehee.
its more of this one that i need
?w=474&h=194
better versions of that PLEASE
Hi Cadogan.
This is the best I could do, using’PhotoZoom Express 4″.
link to imgur.com
Hi Cadogan
Don’t bother with any of the suggested pics. Too small.
You need a file size in MB not KB. I’m not clued up on what available sources there are but I think your best bet would be the originator. Good luck there. 😉
Sorry guys.
P.S. It would be a doddle to re-draw the pic and create a vector-diagram which you could then print as large as a house but would that be ethical? Well, it’s not exactly falsifying evidence, is it?
vector diagram = Encapsulated PostScript (EPS), duh.
link to en.wikipedia.org
Mind, I wasn’t in production. 🙂
Of course, it needs to be a Scalable EPS. 😉
link to everydaydesigner.net
More appropriate to the task at hand.
link to desktoppub.about.com
Sorry if this is getting obsessive but there is just so much to consider.
Re: the sharing of graphic files. I would tend to recommend EPS, if possible, as not all PDF generators are equal and other reasons.
Mind though, I wasn’t in production. I’m also getting really, really pick. Usually PDF is fine. 🙂
Sorry if this is getting obsessive but there is just so much to consider.
Re: the sharing of graphic files. I would tend to recommend EPS, if possible, as not all PDF generators are equal and other reasons.
Mind though, I wasn’t in production. I’m also getting really, really picky. Usually PDF is fine. 🙂
Off the meds again, sorry. :0
The original twitter file would not have been large enough to print legibly, at any meaningful size. With regards to re-drawing either pic., I’m no lawyer but I would reckon that would get you in to a bit of bother, given the nature of Better Together and the matter at hand. We did that sort of thing on an almost daily business though, when dealing with inadequate files supplied by clients.
Re. getting in to a bit of bother.
link to openscholarship.wustl.edu
Fed up of people posting about violence or UDI may be the route to Independence. I believe they are wrong, please tell me I’m right.
@Thepnr
Yes, the natives are getting restless. It is frustrating having to wait and wait and wait,
UDI is the last resort if the UK Government refuses to accept a YES vote, and it’s a possible route if the UKG refuse even Indy Ref 2 via a S30 order. It’s undemocratic unless after a Referendum, or the only means of holding one.
Re Sat 30th July.
I plan to be in (George) Freedom Square between 11.30 and noon. Will lookout for the Wings banner.
Looking forward to it.
Still Positive see you there Dear.
Will be there on the 30th and will look out for the banner too.
Right. just off the phone with Ronnie.
We’ll be underneath Sir Walter Scott’s feet, facing the Counting House. We’ll have the Wings banners with us, for anyone who wants to take control of them on the march. Ronnie’s willing to drive them up to the Botanic Gardens for the march. Who’s gonna look after them?
Seems that there’s nothing arranged by way of entertainment in George Square post-march so it’s ‘play it by ear’. Wingers will probably congregate in the Counting House or The Clutha afterwards – decision made on the day.
So it’s up to us to do the entertainment then? I’ll bring my fans and the snake.
Hoots to Still Positive and Gerry!
It’s a bit late perhaps, but are we likely to have enough Wingers to merit booking the same Waxy’s room as last time?
It wasn’t ideal for everyone, but Cearc has already indicated she can’t make it due to prior commitments.
If enough folk are up for it, I don’t mind asking about availability.
@ Ian Brotherhood as you said on main thread we need a pow wow in combating Bbc.
Wings Banner’s at Walter Scott statue in the centre of George Square 30th July .
BrianDtt is bringing the older Wings Banner for any Wingers who are walking from Botanic Gardens ,might be 2 if the PNR comes.
Re Yes2 flags We might not have them in time for 30th, but have limited Scottish (smaller) flags.
Thepnr Wooshaa Wooshaa I know its frustrating to keep hearing the same nonsence, but we,ve dealt with that before & still came through it, all together.
Does anyone know the route (approx) from the Botanic gardens and ETA in (George)Freedom Square?
This might work…
link to twitter.com
Thanks Paula Rose. Got that.
The loneliness of the Long Distance Yesser’s
Had this image of YES signage being held up,at all the Bridges in Scotland by volunteer yessers,set to music,nice video idea ?
A Wee Song for all my Friends. Wherever you are. link to youtube.com Hoping to see some of you on the 30th
Will probs walk in from the BGs but will have to be on best behaviour: Mrs TC and elder Tinto Quine will be on parade too.
@Tinto Chiel –
Delighted to hear that.
Hope to meet you in person.
Not sure if I’ll get to the Botanicals, but will defo be at the Square, and, thereafter, in whatever pub is deemed worthy of Friends Of Wos custom!
Wee bit of nostalgia for Wingers of a certain age…
I used to fall asleep on Friday nights looking forward to this:
Banana Splits Theme –
Live 1975 Playing for Dummies ? link to youtube.com
This is what I think when Unionists Speak. link to youtube.com
@Michael McCabe (10.59) –
Brilliant.
Hi folks,
Looking forward to the 30th and a catch-up, it’s been quite crazy these last few months!!
Saw Ian B’s suggestion of Waxy’s again, so I thought I’d run a wee idea passed you all.
It was my intention to look for feedback on Yes Rutherglen’s social media about a casual meeting on Saturday afternoon to discuss the formation of some sort of Greater Glasgow Yes committee.
The idea came from a recent chat between Yes Rutherglen and Yes East Kilbride about hosting a joint social event around the 18/9, and the realisation that we could organise something much bigger, in the town, with the co-operation of a few other groups.
We are both involved with the National Yes Registry, so have links with many groups, but felt that having everyone physically in the one place was too good an opportunity to pass up.
The concept is loose: getting a wee group formed of one or two folk from groups in the surrounding areas (or any individuals who are interested) so that we can organise socials, co-ordinate speakers events and whatever else we fancy.
This will obviously feed into the Yes Registry in time, it’s just that things are moving so fast that I think we need to grab all chances for some non-party organisation.
Thoughts?
@IB.
Looking forward to meeting you too. Think it will be mobbed. So glad you agreed to cast your practised eye over my new 400,000 word stream of consciousness GSN, that will be cool 😀 . I’ll be the one in the beret and Archie Gemmill Scotland top.
Hoots! as you would say.
A reminder to Glaswegians/Lanarkists that WGD is speaking at the Robt. Owen Centre, The Murray, EK nxt Thursday, from memory. Hope to be there if I’ve finished my holiday washing.
Hi All
Sorry can’t manage 30th now- it’s moving house day 🙂
Catch you all next time & have a good day.
No broadband installed yet so will be keeping low profile online as Twitter & online use via phone eats up my battery.
Lollysmum just as well there’s a march on otherwise we’d all be there “helping” you move in.
@Lollysmum & Paula Rose –
We could combine the two – everyone carries one thing…
‘Flit For Freedom!’
Dear Wingers,I could never thank you all enough for your kind
messages of support during my stay in hospital.I got home
yesterday afternoon after pleading with the doctor not to keep
me in over the weekend.
May I also thank you all for the kindness shown to my lady Wife when giving updates on my progress,this wonderful person
is and always has been my rock and my best friend,she suffers
from Severe Ischemic Heart Disease,but when some time ago my
GP suggested that we should apply for a carers allowance to
help her and I with housework etc she all but punched him.
When I was admitted to hospital I took with me 12 copies of the WBB but when I awoke from the anaesthetic I had only two
copies left,my feisty Lady had went from waiting room to waiting room leaving a copy on top of every pile of magazines
she could find! Once again we both thank you all from the bottom of our hearts for the Love,Light,Vibes and Prayers sent
so kindly to us.Peace,Love,Happiness and Independence to all.
PS. I had an Indian surgeon,an African anaesthetist and a Portuguese and an Irish theatre nurses among the staff,our
SNHS is a treasure we can’t afford to lose.
Regarding the 30th, the wife and I will be getting the early train from the North, we will miss the start because of the arrival time, but will catch up as quick as possible.
will also take a wee visit to the GPHRC stall in Buchannan Street.(worth a visit)
@smallaxe
@smallaxe
Sending good thoughts your way. Take care xx
Mr& Mrs Smallaxe,
Keep Rockin.
Good stuff Smallaxe… 🙂
Going to the movies tonight?
Here’s a review of The BFG: link to wp.me
@smallaxe
Great to get the update. Glad you are out, and hope you recuperate speedily.
@Lollysmaw
Good luck with the move.
Mr & Mrs Smallaxe.
Sending my continued best wishes to you both
Take care of each other. X
Peace & Love to all of you,my heart is in my words.
Goodnight my friends.
So sorry, fellow Wingers. Much as I’d love to join you all it’s my parents’ Golden Wedding party so jist cannae dae. Hope you all have a wonderful, funny, inspiring day x
@Quinie frae Angus –
🙁
X
No Quinie? Just one girlie then, it’s up to Moi.
Quinie,
Have a great party. Families eh? Should have had more foresight when they got married! Mine had booked flights before I knew about the rally.
Paula Rose will have to be extra girlie to compensate for us but we’ll be with you in spirit (well we’ll be with the spirit anyway, wee dram anyone?)
smallaxe,
Keep on in there.
Ian, The other problem with Waxy’s was the onslaught of the muzak which drowned conversation, not to mention their serious breaches of the the fire-regs (though possibly they may tightened up on them now). Awwh, the stairs, the stairs! My hips haven’t forgotten going out the back with x-sticks!
Has any consideration been given to the use of Beer Mats as a means of spreading the good news re Wings and YES?
They are:-
Cheap to produce
Light so cheap to distribute
Pretty durable so do not require special packaging.
Using both sides can contain a fair amount of information
Produce versions with varying content.
When going out to the pub or elsewhere just stick a handful of mats in your pocket or for the fair sex handbag.
Apart from just directing people to Wings or YES they could direct people to Wee Books both Blue and Black and sites such as WGD plus special editions on particular current topics whereby specific media lies could be exposed.
I see their use as being a moving campaign directing people to the truth.
Anybody picking one up and seeing something interesting only needs to pocket it without having to write down a URL and then accessing the full story once at home.
Can I suggest that the production and distribution of said beer mats would be an ideal subject for crowd funding.
All being well on 30th I will come and find the Wingers in Freedom Sq as I can’t manage the march.
PS Anyone going through by train from Edinburgh?
@gus1940
Beermats are a great idea, one of the best things in the last campaign was the little business cards with all the indy links on them.
I think though that first off you need pubs to be willing to take them which is best dealt with locally.
Why don’t you start a fundraiser? Think of the type of card and what it should say. I’d do my best to help distribute them for you in my area. Anyway definitely a good idea and we could do with more.
gus1940,
The yes Rutherglen mob have produced wings beer mats. We had them at the do in Waxy’s. I don’t know what sort of quantities than can do but I expect one of them will be along soon to tell you.
@Ian Brotherhood
🙁
X
Wingers
I am currently in Kent, sunning myself and gorging myself at a seriously rocky rock fest. It’s called “Ramblin’ Man Fair” and there are so many fantastic bands here – Whitesnake and Black Stone Cherry, as well as a feast of country rock, heavy rock, dirty blues, southern rock and Thin Lizzy!
Anyway, point of my post is that I am having a lovely time camping, glamping and champing with a lot of lovely English peeps who are of similar “independent”, anti-Establishment mind tae mysel’. However, I am shocked and disappointed at the level of ignorance, stereotypes, myths and propaganda they hold about us Scottish pro-indy types. I have done my best to disabuse them of this pish – in the kindest, sweetest, Olde English Cidertype way I can- but frankly, it’s tedious and I’ve given up for now. Partly because I’m thinking “Och well, it’s comin’ yet for a’ that” and they”ll find out the truth in due course. But partly because I came down here for a long-needed bit of R&R, and it cost a fortune, and frankly, I can no longer be arsed wasting my breath trying to counter the Neptune-scaled tidal deluge of MSM filth these folks have been saturated in for so long. It’s sad but true.
Anyway, the point is I do think there is now a wee niche in the “Wings”, Aye Right” or otherwise “IndyRef2” armoury for a Wee Book “colour yet to be decided” aimed specifically at our English friends – and long-emigrated Scots who are less enlightened as to modern day realities, and sadly poisoned by cringeworthy Scottish cringeyness.
I think “English Scots for Yes”, Paula Rose, Billy Bragg and Artist Taxi Driver could be our catalysts for this.
This is not aimed at the hard-core Yoon mindset about which we can do so little…..ever. Maggie Vaughn types, Arty Bagger etc. Forget them.
We have another audience there waiting to be educated! The intelligent, reasonable, kindly-minded, outward-looking English person. There is no time to lose! The sooner the better.
We really really need England to wake up to this so we can have a happy velvet divorce then give them a hand up.
Anyway, back to the beer. Thunder are on next, heh heh.
Sorry can’t come to the March next weekend, peeps. Love to all my usual as well as newbie Wingers.
X
Caught a snippet of this group earlier on Radio North Britain.
Perhaps not the same tune, but definitely same group.
Le Pottier Quartet, ‘Jarawa’ –
@cearc –
I’m still annoyed with meself for not checking the place out properly, shouldn’t have taken their word for it…
@Quinie frae Angus –
Sounds like you’re banging your heid against a brick proverbial there. Not exactly ‘restful’! Enjoy what’s left of the festival – am raising a glass of Weston’s cloudy Scrumpy to you!
Slainte, one and all!
P.S. Ruglonian is the go-to Winger for beermat-related info.
This is the tune that was played on radio earlier this evening.
La Pottier Quartet, ‘Awa’ –
Ian,
It was the uncontrollable muzak volume that was the main problem for me and that was with the speakers in ‘our’ bar off.
They had some ‘surprise’ visits from the fire department shortly after our little do. So it should at least be safer now. Like no keg trolleys and piles of stuff half blocking the main fire exit corridors!
@Quinie frae Angus –
If you need a wee relaxing piece to come-down after all the noise and excitement, try this:
21 Gramas, ‘Mazurka Klandestina’ –
@cearc –
Ach well, I’ll know better next time. (As will Waxy’s?!)
‘Vivendo discimus’ an aw that, eh?
link to scotland.org
Wee note re next Saturday…
Last ‘big’ WOS presence at a rally (so far as I remember anyway) was the Hope Over Fear last year, also in Glasgow.
I was there for most of the afternoon, hinging aboot the place, and I met so many Wingers for the first time…it was braw.
(A good few of us ended-up in the Clutha.)
Anyway, point is – we worked-out, next day, that approx 50 Wingers had been in the Square, but not all at the same time. A lot of us were clapping eyes on other Wingers for the first time, and didn’t even know one another’s ‘real’ names.
Very few images of ‘us’ together have ever been taken.
It would be nice if we could agree a ‘target’ time when as many of us as possible are present, and get some snaps done before we go our separate ways…
What think ye’s?
I’ll take snaps cos you is all going to look a bit overshadowed if I’m in the pix.
@Paula Rose –
True dat…
@IB.
Sounds like a plan. What time would be a reasonable one? Think there will be a big turnout.
“Ready for my close up, Mr De Mille.”
Or we could just ask GCHQ to send us our photographs.
😀
@ Ian
Good idea – I was disappointed that I missed so many people whom I would have liked to meet last time.
At the moment I’m thinking of just going to the square; the last march I did from the West End was a bit much (it went to Glasgow Green from Kelvingrove, though, so a fair bit longer); I got further and further behind, having started near the front.
It will partly depend on whether I travel up with people, or just meet them at some point later.
See you then, anyway.
I’ll try to keep a lookout for y’all then in the Square next Sat.
(Don’t have a WoS badge to show though since my little perk from the last crowdfunding never arrived, alas.)
Well, just for argument’s sake, what about 1.30?
Big huddle…
@ Robert J. Sutherland
I don’t think anyone’s badge has arrived yet, although I did mysteriously receive a National Yes Registry one, unsolicited, this week, from the place whence the Wings perks will eventually be sent.
My darling honey-bunches – we will be there come and find us XXX
Crazycat & Robert Sutherland. Had email convo with Lindsay last week re perks. The wee black book took precedence and perks were delayed by that. I was assured that they will be on their way though.
Alan,
Thanks for that update. A pleasant surprise. I just supposed the supply had ran out by the time they got to the “S” people. Not that it was any problem for me, I was just happy to add my small part to this great (ad)venture.
@ Robert
Just seen a tweet saying that 5000 of them were die-cut today. So just possible you’ll get yours (and I mine) before Saturday.
@Ian Brotherhood
What a beautiful, touching piece of music. Thanks so much for posting – I am back home now and this tune has indeed chilled me oot!
In a similar, soothing vein I must post the following three ballads which were belted out this weekend and melted my nostalgic heart – again – despite the plastic surgery and overly-bright gnashers of a certain Mr C.
They may not be the “coolest” or most “eclectic”, but they certainly satisfied the candle-waving crowd!
With you in spirit on Saturday, not in body. Unbelievably I managed earlier to put my long delayed trip together (one problem after another), including hostels and the only slight problem is I’m booked on the 18.10 Leverburgh to Berneray ferry on Friday rather than the 14.45 one I want, but I’m first on the waitlist for it. Yay!
Not sure what Calmac are up to cancelling the always full summer crossing from Lochboisdale to Oban and making it just the one to Mallaig at 7.00 in the morning instead, not good for Lochboisdale or South Uist I’d think. Must have missed that in the Herald when it was reported, if it was.
Needs more money for investment in ferries, more money spent in and on Scotland, and the only way to achieve that is, oh, I forget, what was it now, leaving the EU?
Hi folks,
I saw that the beermat idea was floating around again, so I’m investigating suppliers to see how feasible a large order would be.
The ones I’ve produced for the Wings dos aren’t really beermats ie not double-sided paper, I just made them appear to be 😉
I’ll keep you posted.
@BDTT –
Just saw your comment last night on main thread about having blether with Jamie Ross.
Didn’t know about that, first I’ve heard.
Who knows who’ll turn up on Saturday?
See you then!
Pistol Annies Live Debut – Hell On Heels
The Band Perry – Fat Bottomed Girls
Kid Rock ft Sheryl Crow – Picture [Official Video]
Red Hot Chili Peppers – The Zephyr Song
Nirvana – Come As You Are
System Of A Down – Chop Suey
Fast losing count of how many comments are getting lost in the ether here.
We should really have a forum to exchange views etc real time. Set up a similar thing on “paltalk” for engineering research and it worked a treat. Not the best program ever but not the worst.
If this was something that was worth doing it would take 5 minutes to set up a room with 150 capacity and controlled entry via password to keep the yoons out.
Worth doing ?
Quinie frae Angus
I wouldn’t suspect you of having a dig at me there but just in case you are, I’m not trying to be a smart-Erse as I’m already a full-fat weirdo*. 🙂
* Being a weirdo takes a lifetime of practice and a commitment which dwarfs that required for Being a smart-Erse. 😉
@ Ronnie, @PaulaR, @ Bdtt, and all,
Having a struggle catching up just now with everything that’s going on!
Unfortunately, we have to be in the east on Saturday and there is little chance of getting back to Glasgow before 5.00pm, but, will get away as soon as poss. Now, we all know that Wingers have trouble dragging themselves away from great company, so, where will y’all be after the Square?
If it’s Waxy’s, it’s like a labyrinth and might spend all night missing each other.
Visibility is everything, so, PaulaR, mind the shocking pink boa and matching fascinator, please, so we can find you!
@ Ruglonian
Great idea for a Greater Glasgow Yes – Registry should help to pull this sort of stuff together eventually.
@ smallaxe
Hope you are much better and your wonderful wife is keeping well too. Kudos to her for her mission with WBB!
@ Quinie
Chill, some conversations just aren’t worthwhile and will just send your BP up! Enjoy your break and the music 🙂
@ A’body else, Missing the lot of you, seems a long time since Waxy’s.
Whew! xx
@ Betty Boop
Thanks Betty, I did and I enjoyed it, thank you. Left a Wee Black Book with a bewildered Corbynite, for good measure! 😉
@Cameron B Brodie
Hi Cameron, no dig at you whatsoever! If anything, it was a dig at a certain rock god, lol. David Coverdale: “Mr C”. 🙂
Quinie frae Angus
Just as well. 😉
Hi Ian B.
You typed,
“Last ‘big’ WOS presence at a rally (so far as I remember anyway) was the Hope Over Fear last year, also in Glasgow.”
See, the problem is that with you being so far from civilisation, you don’t realise that there is a whole world beyond that Glasgow, up the A80. Glasgow was September.
The last ‘big’ WOS presence at a rally was 4th October, 2015, in City Square, Dundee. Here are two pics to prove it.
8=)
———————————————–
Hi Quinie.
Did you get your bus booked?
Just posted this on a main thread but think it could do with being left here, as well.
HUMAN DEVELOPMENT AND SHELTER: A HUMAN RIGHTS PERSPECTIVE
link to core.ac.uk
Hi Cameron B.
Just replied to you at:-
Brian Doonthetoon
Hi Brian, fwiw, I’ve just replied. 🙂
N.B. Do not be disappointing that there’s not even a hint of the word Fascism in my reply. 😉
Whatever happened to. With Respect. link to youtube.com
Thea Gilmore – Pirate Moon link to youtube.com
Having only been posting on here for a few months (but lurking for far longer!) I had hoped to get to George Sq. on Saturday – canny manage the walk – and meet you lovely folk, however I’ve not had a good couple of months and getting mostly good news yesterday, we have decided on escape to our ‘van in Bettyhill for a bit of R&R. So totally offline for next week.
What will we come home too? the mind boggles! Someone mentioned ‘flags on bridges’ a few days ago – will try my best on the Naver bridge, Though not great at the techno bits!
Please can someone take loads of photos! Have only seen a couple from the car rally in May.
Will be with you heart and soul on Saturday.
@ Bdtt, 1.05am!!!
@ IanB
Aye, the south west coast, cut off from civilisation as we know it! Ian, you need to get out more 🙂
Dundee, the centre of the known universe, hive of cultural activity and friendly Wingers. I note they always park near the coffee shop! Wish I could spend more time there rather than just passing through. 🙁
Anybody else notice the resemblance, not just titular, between oor ain Rev and The Preacher?
http://www.geek.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/preacher2-625×350.jpg
Take away the mad mullet rug and wullah!
Hi Betty.
I’m on holiday and my sleep pattern has been a tad awry the past couple of days…
Hi Chic MacG.
“Take away the mad mullet rug…”
The wonders of photoshop.
Skull’s a wee bit wee mind.
Hello all
Sorry I can’t do the march on Saturday (60 years of intensive sports have overtaken the hip, knee, and ankle joints) but I’ll be in the square for the rally.
Looking forward to a great day meeting you all.
Ian B and BDTT need to have a wee natter with you re RTB as I was LA Housing Finance specialist prior to retiring 5 years ago.
chasanderson200
Er, I would be interested in that conversation, could I listen in? I would be very interested to hear your views on my opinion re. RtB contravening the principles of international development law, though I doubt I’ll see you in Glasgow.
Sorry, couldn’t resist chas. 😉
Totally nothing to do with Indy – views please – guilty or not guilty:
link to archive.is
Hi yesindyref2.
Led Zep has form…
BDTT
Yeah, you convinced me. First thought with the Stairways / Taurus was it was similar, but it can happen. But it is very similar all the same! Case2 Bert Jansch – I almost thought that was Jansch, but on an off day 😉
Not guilty, but I would give him something for his fantastic name “Randy Californian” ! 🙂
*looks up from book* Oh dear it’s one of those boring muso chat nights *goes back to book*
The bible per chance Paula, 🙂
Wonder if Randy had heard about the Scottish cringe? Well, everyone gets their inspiration from somewhere. Shirley?
Randy California – Downer
He at least appeared to appreciate that tomorrow is another day, full of boundless potential and countless opportunities.
Kaptain Kopter and the (fabulous) Twirly-Birds – Things yet to come
Perhaps I’m just Being a smart-Erse now? 🙂
*puts down copy of A Rébours to stare menacingly at Andrew McLean*
I confess to being influenced by their ‘covering’ and no crediting schtick, that’s what they are ‘guilty’ of, makes you ‘hear’ them in a new light. Having no access, as we do now, to the original recordings that they then ‘covered’ back in my youth, I thought wrongly, that they were the sole writer’s of their own material. Think people knew they were tapping into the old blue’s/folk singers/writers but possibly not to the degree of them basically being a ‘cover band’. Ignorance was bliss. 😉
(only cause I was obviously impressed by that facility that singer/songwriter’s posses 🙂 )
I know of course much of the success of many multi millionaire artists has been their capacity to ‘nick’ various ideas and then transform them into sellable product. There is ‘artistry’ in that. They ‘should’ acknowledge their sources though and Zep’s reputation goes down a bit because of that aspect. Och let’s face it aw the big band’s/ariistes reputation’s are oan a shoogly peg in this regard.
Copyright’s a minefield innit.
RE: Randy California.
As a rock DJ, I had this album and got much mileage out of this well known version, throughout the 80s and 90s.
Brian Doonthetoon
Hi Brian. I forgot we had a professional DJ among us. Didn’t mean to step on your toes there. 😉
Incidentally, I’m very disappointing by the lack of input btl here, from Scotland’s practicing sociologist, planners and similar professionals. Is it deference to their mortgage that prevents them from making informed comment? Surely they can’t all be Yoons?
IMHO, explaining how shit works to Scotland should not be left up to the likes of myself.
P.S. I suppose you can forget planners as the RTPI is predominantly Fabian in membership and outlook. Fabians are British nationalists, at heart.
Mmm, hopefully a bribe for Paula
And just to spoil that
For example, here’s one for the lawyers out there and not just those for indy.
The British state actively prevents Scotland and her people from accessing the full potential of their “right to development”, which is supported by a raft of international law and Treaty.
Can we do them for denial of human rights?
Crowd-funding would be a doddle. 😉
which is supported by a raft of international law and Treaty.which is theoretically protected by a raft of international laws and Treaties.
Hello fellow Wingers.
Just readin aboot this weekend’s March For Independence in The National the noo. Eh canny be there as the wife and me are dayin a sponsored keep fit event in oor gym ti raise dosh for a charridee that’s helped a lassie that’s been through hell (she was on the front page o yesterday’s Tully and will hopefully be in Setirday’s Tully tay).
So I hope it a’ goes well and there’s thoosands there.
Eh’ll be thinkin aboot yiz a’ as I’m dayin Zunba fir three ‘oorz.
Still Yes .
Has Paula Rose stopped looking and went back to 50 shades of grey? 🙂
Andrew McLean Honey – I’m still all goose-pimply after reading your comment at eleven minutes past eight this morning on the “The darling of the comrades” post.
@BDTT –
Apologies for my Glasgow-centric waffle. 🙁
Anyway, The National has been good in recent days at plugging this Saturday, although I’m not sure where they got the 14,000 guesstimate.
It would be great to find a way of nailing the numbers at these things – no matter what it is in reality, it becomes a plaything. Anyway, we can only tend to our own patch.
Can we aim for 1.30 in the Square for a family snap?
@ Ian
I’m aiming to be there, but will opt out of any photos.
@crazycat –
Fair do’s.
Fancy taking some then?!
Oi – photography – that’s my job.
@ Bdtt, 27/7/16, 3.32
Taking away that “mad mullet rug” – Jeez that was scary!
Enjoy your holibags.
Will be there. No sure about the photos.
Will be delighted to meet you Wingers.
@Ian B
Would be good to know accurate-ish numbers on Saturday.
If someone could take a series of photos going down the line before the march kicks off and then again at a fixed point as the marchers come into the square, that’d be pretty handy for working it out.
I’d happily do it myself if I was marching, but I’m going to be in George Square helping set-up Yes Rutherglens stall.
Any volunteers?
Incidentally, if you know of anyone who can’t physically manage the march then let them know that we’ll be in the square from 9.30am and they are more than welcome to hang out with us and welcome the marchers in. The word went out on twitter earlier, so it’s shaping up to be a nice wee crowd!
See you at 1.30 for the family photo, if not before 🙂
1.30 seems fine. Going to Boots this morning for some blusher.
Am under family supervision so, as Jimmy Reid would say, “There will be no bevvying.”
Walking in from the Tanics. Will there be a Wings banner?
I wont get there until about 1:30-2:00 coming from Aberdeen.
Can’t post much as no broadband at home for the last two weeks!
Look forward to catching up with you all there.
Tally ho! (as they say in Essex) 😉
For Ghillie,as promised.First published 1995.
I don’t believe in a great God above
I believe that God is Love
I don’t think God is one being at all
I think God is in us all
I don’t pray at night to an empty sky
I pray for peace for you and I
I pray our children live to see
The world at peace all people free
Starvation prejudice and fear
Will quickly fade and disappear
If only Man will realise
God is here not in the skies
God’s not up there looking down
He”s yellow He”s white He”s black He’s brown
He is ours and we are His
He”s all of us He”s all that Is
Ronnie and Briandoonthetoon
Can you put one of those Scottishy passporti thingies to one side for me (you know I can’t come coz of crowds of people) will pay the going rate not asking for wingers rates!!
Re: ronnie anderson says:
29 July, 2016 at 1:28 pm
” Briandtt & masel went tae ah lot of trouble tae get Scottish Passports fur Sat ( at much cheapness fur Wingers) get there early.
Any Wingers wie Caligraphy skills would be more than welcome.”
I’m a tad out of practice, but can offer scribing help. What calligraphy skills are you looking for? eg indelible pen and ink name inscribing? Where/when?
Brotherhood’s Acme Sticky Label Service will be available for a limited time tomorrow.
In the meantime, some mood music…
The Pogues, ‘Battle March Medley’ –
Really sorry that I can’t make it tomorrow. Hope there’s a good turnout and be sure and make it a grand day.
It feels like there is a bit of momentum starting. All the best.
@Thepnr –
🙁
Bummer.
Be sure to tune into BBC channels as they’ll surely be providing plenty of live updates as the march progresses!
Here’s one for Thepnr, cearc, Quinie frae Angus, and all t’other legendary Wingers who can’t make it tomorrow…
Slainte aplenty to each and every one of ye’s!
UB40, ‘Red Red Wine’ –
Levellers – Hope Street link to youtube.com
@Michael –
Forgive me, but I haven’t been keeping my usual wee ‘list’ – will you be making it along tomorrow?
@ Ian 24 hours ago
You wouldn’t ask that if you’d ever seen any photos taken by me! With detailed instructions about whatever gadget is being used, I’ll give it a try, but be prepared to have to get them repeated!
@crazycat –
I’m sure there are certain folk who would very much like to see us getting our heads chopped off, so to speak.
@ Ian Brotherhood At the moment it does not look like I can make it. But I am not giving up on making it through Tomorrow. By the way only 4 to go
@Michael –
4 to go??
Lost me man…
The Magic Numbers, link to youtube.com
Sebastian Rivera, ‘March Of The Resistance’
@ Ian Brotherhood 18181
Sam Cooke, ‘A Change Is Gonna Come’ –
@Michael –
*sound of penny, having dropped*
NOW you tell me!
(I’m actually coveting 18888, but they all ‘count’, in their own way…)
@ Ian Brotherhood Hi Ian I thought you were trying to get the 18181 post on off topic. I now realise its 18888 you are after. lucky numbers and all that. if you still don’t know what I mean then Check out your own post on off topic on the 30th of June. Anyway all the best to you and yours.
Ian, Ronnie, Briandtt et al
Looking forward to the March tomorrow, hopefully it will be mobbed, is there a WoS rally point at the Botanics?
Also wondered if anything came of the plans for a get-together after George Sq? I’ve been looking forward to meeting everyone again since March, especially with this complete madness since Brexit!! xx
Ian B,
Nice thought, although I have actually been drinking white this evening!
I hope everyone has a great day.
@ Ian Brotherhood,I have left a post on ’empty quiver’ please see,thanks
Ps. If Ian is not still on,could someone who is going tomorrow
please convey message to him.Thank you.Peace
Sorry time of message 11:44.
Hello fellow Wingers,
It is my first time! Usually to be found on twitter, although I have written one Wings article which some of you may recognise my name from. Been a Wings reader for a few years now and like you all I have a whole lot of love & respect for WOS so I guess you are all now my new extended family.
The lovely Paula Rose ushered me in (Thank-you honey).I will be at the stall tomorrow, I have a few engraved goodies & similar to give away. Looking forward to meeting you all if not a wee bit shy/nervous. I can take some group pictures also if needed. Okay I will stop blethering now and hopefully see you all tomorrow x
@ Smallaxe message received tell them to come to the Walter Scott statue
@ Ronnie Anderson.
Thanks Ronnie,have a great day.
Peace.
Get Back to Water – Tree Adams link to youtube.com
@Ian Brotherhood
Thanks for the wee glass of red wine, that was much appreciated.
Hope all you lovely Wingers have a great time tomorrow. So sorry I can’t be there this time. I’ll see you next time though.
X
Smallaxe @ 11.10 am
Thank you Smallaxe = )
Your poem is pure delight and is true. So true = ) Love and peace to you too Smallaxe and to Mrs Smallaxe x
To all marching for Independence today: Wishing you all an amazingly lovely day with fine weather in the best of company!
May the road rise up to meet you, the wind be at your back and the sun shine warm upon your face = )
For those who canna be there in body then this link will give you a great view of George Square and it refreshes every 15minutes.
Try to spot Paula’s pink boa and ‘Would you love to see my engravings’ Misssssssy Babbington!! Yaaay.
link to webcams.travel
@ Ghillie, glad you liked the poem,thank you.Peace.x
@ Miss Babngton
Welcome.
Couldn’t make it for march but in Glasgow now and hoping to see some Winger pals about somewhere.
Well done all the Wingers. Great turn-out.
Home, knacked, half-cut, preparing to get fully-so, and with some happy memories to jingle with.
Hoots all!
@Tinto Chiel –
Great pleasure to finally meet you, and lovely Mrs Tinto.
As discussed, please get in touch whenever…these GSNs won’t write themselves!
ianbhood@gmail.com
Hoots!
Okay, some of us are still in a bad mood with Bowie, but he’s oot the game now and probably wasn’t THAT bothered about what we did.
Here he is, doing his pub singer par excellence, with some properly cheesy lighter-waving into the bargain.
And anyway, the general sentiment he voices is one which will chime with many, especially the impatient who really need to calm their jets a tad…
Let’s forgive and forget, eh?
Bowie, ‘Please Wait’ –
@ Ian Brotherhood,
I think you met my Daughter and Granddaughter today,they can not remember the names of all the people who they tell me overwhelmed them with great kindness at the Wings stall.
May I take this opportunity to thank you all for the courtesy
and generosity of the welcome given to my girls they have spoken of little else.please pass on my heartfelt thanks to all of those who were there.Peace,Love and Respect.
Came by the Wings stall two or three times this afternoon, but each time it was mobbed and everyone seemed very busy selling merch, so I never found a suitable opportunity to say hello to anyone in person, alas.
Hopefully another time, though.
In default of that, to smallaxe in particular, let me take this opportunity to add my own very best wishes to you for a full recovery.
@Smallaxe –
So many faces, I’m scrolling back inside my heid, but I don’t remember anyone using ‘smallaxe’ as a code! It all goes so quickly.
Thanks for your kind wishes, you are a proper gent.
More power to ye.
@Robert J. Sutherland –
Aaaaargh!
Why didn’t you say hello?!
There were loads of us around – horrible to think you were right there and we didn’t know!
As soon as someone posts one of the many ‘family’ snaps which were taken approx 1.45, you’ll see some faces which you no doubt clocked this afternoon. (Pondering which, it’s perhaps no surprise you didn’t introduce yourself!)
Next time!! 🙂
I could be wrong, but I don’t think there’s ever been a tune called “Off Topic”. I formally claim composer’s copyright – but freely donate it to the cause of Independence 🙂
Is there a songwriter in the house …
@Ian Brotherhood,
Thanks Ian,all at the stall have left my girls with a lasting
impression of the the friendliness of true Wingers.Peace my Friend.
@Robert J. Sutherland,
Your kind words are very much appreciated Robert,I am improving every day and am humbled by the number of people like yourself who have sent messages of support,I am positive
it has played a large part in helping me heal.Thank you my Friend,Peace,Love and Happiness to you and yours.
OK let’s go for it.
“The BBC make up the news
and ignore all opposing views
They twist and shake and bend it down
to make us think how shite our town
And when we cry in our despair
You lot bend rules and play unfair
they say
(chorus)
Your’re off topic, off topic,
you’re off topic, now bog off.
etc …”
Needs a bit of work!
Be kind of cool if it could make it on downloads (99p each?) into the Vodafone top 40, preferably top 10 for one week, but research doesn’t give me a figure for that. A million is good for a lifetime – but for one week only? Would 100,000 do that? Could it be done? A week or two before Indy Ref 2? Never mind a million signature YES pledge! Let the Music Play.
Be even better if BBC had to play it on their chart show 🙂
I’m thinking kind of IndyPunk style or even IndyIndie
Hello Wingers!
What an absolute pleasure it was to meet you all today. I was nervous but within a short while of Ronnie swearing like a trooper and all the banter I felt right at home. You are all stuck with me now I am afraid.
Thank-you for making me feel so welcome and for all the hugs & laughs. Yer a brilliant bunch of folks. Oh and if You need beer-mats I can engrave them on beech plywood, can keep the price at cost price for you as well. Just an idea.
Lastly how do I post pictures on here? I have a few good ones of today and no idea how to share them.
Much love to you all. x
@Miss Babington –
Cheers aplenty for the keyring. A wee thing of beauty which will be long treasured.
Hope to see you sometime on The Twitter Thing!
@IB.
Mrs TC has gone all squidgy now, you sweet-talking intellectual. She loved your thoughts on He Who Cannot Be Named.
Sorry I seem to have missed so many Wingers who were lurking today. Maybe we could all meet in local drinking groups between official national meetings.
Will be in touch shortly to plan revolution and assail the trite North Face commercialism of modern publishing.
Crampons on.
Hoots!
@ Missy Babbington – To answer your question re photo uploading. I notice a few on Wings use ‘imgur.com’ to store photos then provide the ‘link’ in their post.
I have previously used ‘Flickr’ as its fairly simple to make an album and then post ‘link’ to album on here.
Here are my 2015 Rally photos which could quite easily have been yesterday.
link to flickr.com
@Miss Babington –
I think, as you mentioned yesterday, our paths have crossed before…it’s bugging me big-time.
Did you perchance ever work in any Glasgow pubs?
@Ian Brotherhood
Nope, Not often out of the shire (Irvine) to be honest.Still annoying me though.
@Archie
Tried the image posting thing, comment has not been approved yet.Knowing me I broke the Revs posting etiquette rules.If I am not around you know he has killed me with hammers.
@Miss Babington –
Were you ever on the Yes stalls in Ayr Main St in run-up to indyref? I was quite often there on the SSP stall, we usually set-up outside the Nationwide.
@Ian Brotherhood
Nah mainly door chapping with my WBB in Irvine during Indy-ref, although was often in the Irvine Yes hub on the high street.
Lets try the picture link thing again.
link to i.imgur.com
Okay here are some more pics from yesterday.
link to i.imgur.com
@Miss Babington –
Yep, that worked.
Great to see so many old faces…
To all Wingers who had a great time yesterday, courtesy of Big Ronnie, Irene, BDTT and others:
link to m.youtube.com
Old words, but they mean a lot for us all too in pre-liberation Scotland.
And wee Jimmie McCulloch: what a great guy.
Blessings to all, says the atheist.
Major respect to oor ain Ronnie Anderson for exercising soo-perb diplomatic skills in the CH, defusing a potentially catastrophic situation with a combination of firm decision-making and ameliorating humour.
A pleasure to witness.
(And also, thanks for the pint…)
Hiya Wingers thanks again for making the Wings Teams day & supporting the Wings Stall. Dundee looks like the next Rally Bob Costello will confirm this week time & date. Hope over Fear are also orginizing another one for Glasgow , so lookout via Twitter & Scot2.scot ( all regions). The bands getting back together,lets make this a summer of Rallies & Convoy’s.
Does anyone know if Paula Rose got home alright?
(I’m not actually bothered, but someone asked me to ask.)
Well, really scunnered that JimT and moi couldn’t make the march nor the square, but, pleased we made it back in time to catch up with a fair few Wingy pals before they staggered home.
Good job we know where to find you. I’m not sure if it’s a good thing or not, but, it’s awfy easy spotting folk even from my err… height. Anyway, good to see y’all and looking forward to the next time.
@ Robert Sutherland
Aww, you should have just shoved in at the stall and said hello; they would have recognised your name and been really pleased to meet you. You’d probably have been given a job, right enough, and the pay’s awful, but, the company’s a scream.
@Yesbot
Pleased to meet you!
@Betty Boop –
‘Twas a totally unexpected and delightful surprise to see you and yer man in CH.
Just wish I could’ve stayed longer.
Until next time!
Mwaaaaah!
@ Ian Brotherhood Paula Rose & BrianDTT safely on the bus after a visit to Palacerigg Country Park. Im left picking up the rose petals she demanded scattered on the couch bed.
Glad Betty Boop & Jim Thomson made it for a wee drink & Yesbot with X Sticks.
@Ronnie Anderson-
Glad to hear it.
Aye, that Paula Rose leaves the petals where’er she goes, but if you leave them there long enough they dry and ye can hoover them up, nae danger.
Hoots again for a braw braw session. I hope you’ll ‘flag up’ any developments.
@ Ian Brotherhood will do Dundee demo being finalized this week , i,ll keep Wingers informed & if you can make that event I have a spare bed for you here.
Betty Boop says:
1 August, 2016 at 12:01 am
@Yesbot
Pleased to meet you.
And you Betty and Jim, It was fun, Saturday was a good start to the next phase, look forward to meeting you both again going forward. xx
@Ronnie Anderson
I warmed to you the moment you started to swear like a trooper and I won`t forget yer crack in a long time 🙂
link to i.imgur.com
@ Robert Sutherland
Pay whit pay Wingers on the stall get well below the minimum pay scale thats the Hee Haw rate,hee hee hee.
@ Miss Babington
Thats you in ma bad bad books fur posting that Photy lol,( swearing like ah trooper ) moi, ah did dey ah bit of equestrian sports in ma younger days.
Nice meeting you Donna & no doupt will meet again & your welcome to share our stall with your merchandise. Dundee & Hope over Fear & any other events, we,ll get arrangements sorted ie via transport ect.
@ Miss Babington Facebook request sent.
@ Tinto Chiel
Ah the auld songs Summer of Love Brighton 69,ah canny tell you whit happened oan here i,ll make you blush lol.
BTW Wingers am no the gaffer (did somebody mention tape lol) its a hap hazzard collaboration of incompetents,& the bestest shower of incompetents I have the pleasure of having the company of,not forgetting that nice wumman Irene who,s no incompetent lol.
@Miss Babington & Ronnie A –
‘I won’t forget yer crack in a long time.’
🙁
Ronnie, man, I did try to tell you thae jeans were working loose, eh?
@ ronnie anderson:
“i,ll make you blush lol.”
Defo, I went to EK Old Parish sunday skool, ye know. 😛 I was a Good Boy.
Hope the appeal went well.
@ Ian Brotherhood Ah wiz thinking aboot getting Braces but ah dont want tae end up wie sloping shouders lol
Quick post from work – still no working broadband at home – currently get 284kbps so takes about 5 mins just to read an email or post here or twitter Grrrrr. 🙁
Great seeing you all on Saturday and already looking forward to the next one. Was a great crack, eh Donna? 😀
@Ian – we’ll maybe manage to get 5 mins the next time!
Ian Brotherhood, re paddy grandparents, my paternal grandmother from Mayo Belmullet a Joyce, were no related are we?
@Lenny Hartley –
Quite possible.
Granda was a Murphy, Gran was a Rodgers. Can’t remember name of the group of houses they lived at, but Belmullet was closest for ‘the shops’.
If memory serves, Dick Gaughan’s people are from the same bit.
Just getting over Saturdays exertions now. I couldn’t do the march but was in the square from 10:00 to 2:00 by which time the hips and knees were screaming with pain.
Had a brilliant day though and made a point of estimating the size of the crowd as it arrived – reckoned about 5000 to 6000 on the march as it arrived with about 1000 already in the sqare (a veteran of many football matches and other social gatherings).
BDTT and Paula – nice to see you both again.
Ronnie Anderson- nice to meet you for the first time, your way with words reminded me of the language of the old country, Fintry in Dundee.
Ian Brotherhood – hoped to catch up with you but seemed to miss you by minutes on a few occasions, will catch up with you at the next “do”.
In response to one of the comments above:
Dundee would be great for the next do as I would be able to bring my daughter and grandsons with me from Glenrothes as well as catch up with my brothers in Dundee.
Greatest regards and thanks to all Wingers and yessers for a brilliant, inspiring day.
Great to see you all at the rally.Especially Ronnie, Paula Rose in the magnificent shoes and Miss Babbington, enjoyed the hugs. Saw Briandoonthetoon from a distance but too faraway to say hello.And he was too busy at the stall!
Our MP Brendan O’Hara suggested a Yes Rally in Helensburgh, any takers?
Great to see yous all, another excellent march, meet and gather at Glasgow’s square. Enjoyed the afters in freedom house too 🙂
btw, we were all in fine form Jock Scot, as the march rounded Nelson Mandela Place.. that was some noise we all made on the final approach.. they could hear us in the square..
Q) What do we want? Independence!
A) When do we want it? NOW!
Cheers to all the other chanterers (and pipers.)
@ chasanderson200
Bob Costello is finalising plans this week for Dundee demo Wings stall will be there & hopefully Petethecamera is fully recovered.
Ronnie Anderson 11:16
Cheers Ronnie, I shall bring as many Andersons as I can muster. Also a good excuse to have a good sesh and update myself on the pub scene in Dundee for the first time since the Arabs won the Scottish cup.
Happy days!!!!
@ Ronnie A
We’ve never mentioned your crack afore, Ronnie 😳 ! Never mind tho’, did ye hae the hairy string on duty? 🙂
Just received my reminder about Electoral Registration.
We need to remind peeps the rules changed and that they have to do it themselves as individuals.
“Head of Household” can no longer do it for them.
Also noted that my status as a citizen is “British”. Unable to change this FFS.
Inverigo link to youtube.com
@ All who showed concern and sent so many messages of support
Lab.results came back yesterday,tumor removed cleanly,surrounding tissue showing no signs of it having spread.I can never thank you all enough,you have no idea how much your support carried me through the weeks of waiting.
Apologies to all for turning the site into some sort Dear Doctor forum at times.Peace,Love eternal gratitude to you all.
So happy for you Smallaxe. xx
Delighted by your good news -I don’t know you at all but would love to meet most contributors to wings – will manage a march one of these days- keep well and enjoy your good news.
Fantastic news, Smallaxe.
Great news, Smallaxe. Best wishes to you and family. Maybe meet you at a march some time.
# winifred mccartney,
Thank you winifred,like yourself I would like to meet more
Wingers,hopefully someday soon.Peace and Love to you and yours.
Smallaxe: fantastic news. A very worrying time for yourself and your family. Hoping you get stronger every day.
@Smallaxe
Outstanding news. 🙂
Small axe
There is a rotten old Westminster oak that fears the touch of your honed steel, get swinging Man together we will make the ground shake when it topples!
All the best
Andrew
@smallaxe
Fantastic news. Best wishes for your continued recovery and health.
@ Still Positive & Tinto Chiel,
Many thanks for your past and present good wishes,as I have said repeatedly the love,good wishes,prayers and good vibes
have humbled and gladdened my heart.
I have not met many Wingers but you all have shown immense
kindness and concern on what is ostensibly a political site I
consider you All to be friends that I have yet to meet,Peace,Love and Independence to All.
Actually small axe, since that talented surgeon is finished with you, there is a cancer, insidious in nature attacking the cultural identity of this great nation, it’s insipid vandalism of our culture, it’s strangulation of the lifeblood of our ambition, makes it a prime candidate for massive invasive excision from its festering heart, it lives and breeds at Pacific Quay, Glasgow.
@ frogesque,Macart,Andrew Mclean and Valerie.
I thought I had picked a quiet time to post,obvously I was mistaken, I sit writing blinded by tears at the generosity of people like yourselves who have taken the time to support me
and my good Wife at a very difficult period in our lives.Thank
you all my friends.Peace,Love and heartfelt thanks to all of you.
@ smallaxe
just opened up wings for the day to find your excellent good news. No need to reply, just sending best wishes to you and Mrs smallaxe and wishing you all the best for the future. Peace and love to you too.
@ Andrew Mclean,
Agreed Andrew,and no scalpel for them.Axes and Cudgels only,this time we must rid Scotland of them forever before they can spread their vile lie’s to our young people to whom we owe a country that they can thrive in.Peace my friend.
@smallaxe
Smashing news smallaxe, forgot to address my post directly to you at 7.56am so you may have missed it.
@ Cappella,many thanks my friend.Peace and Love to you and yours.
@Nana,Please look after those golden fingers,your links must take a lot of research and have pointed out facts that most of
us would otherwise miss.Thank you.Peace,Love and gratitude to
your good self.
@smallaxe
Really pleased to hear your news today, all the best and keep on posting.
@ call me dave,
Thank you for your kindness, I learn more from WOS than I could possibly contribute but I will continue to post my small
contributions in the knowledge that I am among friends.Peace,Love and Happiness to you and yours.
@ Smallaxe
Really pleased for you – your contributions are much appreciated too.
@ crazycat,
Thanks for that crazycat,as I have said I learn more than I can ever contribute,my work in the catering and bar trade took
up so much of my time that I did not keep up politically until
just before Indy ref1 but catching up quickly through WOS and
people like yourself.Peace,love and good wishes.
Smallaxe just want to add my very best wishes to you. I was delighted to read your wonderful news. Long may your good health continue. The love you have for all is the very thing that will keep you strong. (will keep sending healing) 😉 Blessed Be. I know you will understand those two wee words 😉
@ Cherry,
Mathew 5:9. Understood Cherry,Mathew 7:19,goes a long way in
explaining where the name Smallaxe comes from,someday I will explain where and how that name was given to me.
Thank you for your healing thoughts I truly believe that all
positive vibes go a long way towards helping.Peace,Love and may your faith bring you the same comfort so kindly sent to me.
Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagh…..Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagh !!!!
Sorry had to get that out as noted a twat on main thread today calling out Rev on Torrance and rather than ignore twat some people giving twat attention / recognition he craves in his so feckin obviously contentious twat troll post.
Oh to just feckin ignore obvious baiting by troll twat …too much to feckin ask obvs.
Still by responding to said twat they are guaranteeing twat sticks around and baits some more ….job feckin done.
Apologies but this pisses me off big big big time…..no offence meant but as I very rarely post on here now I do still enjoy reading stuff on this site and…most…of contributors on here.
Clapper57 Honey it can be very vexing – here have a cup of tea and some cake.
Wonderful News Smallaxe, so happy for you and yours.
Really Glad to hear your Good News Smallaxe. Here is a wee song for you. link to youtube.com
@ John Young,
@ Micheal McCabe
Please check back here later tonight.Thanks
@Smallaxe,
Please allow me to send my very best wishes to you and your family. My parents and one of my younger sisters have all done battle with cancer, and I know that emotional turmoil far too well: especial good wishes to your wife, as being the rock on which the others rest is a wearying duty. May your strength and good health grow daily!
@ Paula Rose says:
4 August, 2016 at 4:15 pm
“Clapper57 Honey it can be very vexing – here have a cup of tea and some cake”.
Thank You Ms Rose , Mini Slurp Slurp and Big yum yum aah that’s better, make it coffee next time….not a tea drinker lol.
Cheers have a fabby evening.
@ Ian B
I’ve remembered what it was I wanted to say to you on Saturday:
If you’re still looking for mead (or want it in future – was it for the Icelanders and therefore no longer required?), it can be obtained in the Food Hall at Dobbies in Ayr.
I’ve not tried it so it might be horrid.
@ John Young,
Many thanks John, I am totally blown away by the amount of kind people such as yourself who have taken the time to get in
touch with me to offer thoughts,Prayers,Good Vibes and good wishes.I hope very much to meet you all at some point in the future.Peace,Love and Happiness to you and yours my Friend.
Ps,sorry for the delay in responding to your kindness but I had unexpected visitors.
@Cactus
Was about to give up on the chanting and then you appeared. Love how shit works. I reckon we must be amongst the best chanters in Scotland and the cherry on the cake was when the wee lad from Livi started up a round of the chant all on his own. Sorry I didn’t get around to talking to/say hello to all the Wingers but…do we need to? Ronnie..thanks for the Scottish passport, sheer brilliance. Ninja Penguin was rather chuffed in being presented with one.
@ Michael McCabe,
Michael you could not have sent a better gift than music,l have been into music for as long as I can remember, I love music of all kinds,from my hippie days back in the sixties and still today.
The Dylan cover that you linked to was ‘something else’, I have never heard that version it made the hair on my arms stand up I will be listening to more of that tonight,thank you for pointing me towards two excellent musicians and many Thanks for your kindness.Peace,Love and Music.
@ Epiphypa,
I truly appreciate your message especially coming from someone
who understands that my wife and family go through all the trials with me,sometimes I think it is worse for them! but we are a close and happy family this has only served to bring us closer.
May I offer my best wishes to you and your family.Peace,Love and Happiness to you all.
@smallaxe –
More power to ye mister – hope you et famille are all hale and herty when we celebrate Independence Day. It’s comin’ yet for aw that!
@crazycat –
Aha!
I know the place, and have taken the weans there oftentimes to gawp at the fish.
You’re right – I wanted to get some mead for the Iceland/England game, but that doesn’t mean I can’t get some, er, well, for the NEXT Iceland and/or England game!
Hoots indeed.
@ Ian Brotherhood,
Many thanks Ian I hope to have the opperchancity to shake your
hand before and after that great day.Peace and Love to you and
Yours Sir.
@Epiphyta
That was a wonderful thing to say.
@Smallaxe I hope we have the opportunity to meet up one day and I hope you get well, it’s a pleasure to have you gracing Wings and especially Off Topic 🙂
This ones for the Rev, I know he likes it so I’ve shown it 3 times lol.
I only ever post this when I’m getting a bit emotional, and that ain’t often.
For all the WOS Brothers and Sisters.
It’s in sight now.
‘These are the days now, that we must savour…these are the days that will last forever…you’ve got to hold them in your heart.’
Kin right.
Keep the heid!
Van Morrison, ‘These Are The Days’ –
@ Thepnr Hi Alex it is a long time since I last spoke to you. Hopefully catch up with you at the next Wings Night out. Until then here is a wee song for you and yours and all the other Wingers to various to Mention. link to youtube.com All the Best.
@Thepnr –
Just realised that it was reading your 1.22 comment that made me think of Van M and post the previous – it’s a ‘faster’ version of one he did previously, but still brilliant.
Hoots mon – we all missed you on Saturday.
Van Morrison, ‘Wonderful Remark’ –
@ Ian Brotherhood Aye I can feel it coming too. Loving the Van Track. Here is Another one from Van the Man. It is for all the People who Voted No and now wished they had Voted Yes. Take the Leap. Come and Join us. link to youtube.com
@Michael McCabe
Well Michael what can I say? Other than you have excelled once again. I knew that guy was Scottish as soon as I heard him sing but I’ve never heard of him and like you do 🙂 I looked him up.
Scottish right enough and we will meet again. Say hello to Lynn for me.
@ Thepnr,
Thank you Sir, I have had the pleasure to read and enjoy many
of your posts and I assure you Wings has graced me and has proved that Scotland’s best asset are Her people,a lot of the
best of them Wingers.
I hope we meet up soon and will do my best to make sure that it happens sooner rather than later.Peace,Love and Independence.
@Michael McCabe
I’ve got a huge grin on my face thanks to your choice of music to grace us with. Just fecking brill. Cheers!
@Smallaxe
Have not had the pleasure of meeting you yet but delighted to hear your good news! Wishing you and your family all the very best xx
I will say Goodnight and leave you with A Prayer without Words. link to youtube.com
@ Michael McCabe,
Michael, I fell asleep last night listening to Mike Scott and Sharon Shannon thanks for bringing my attention to them.
Sorry I can’t link but if you haven’t done so already listen to Postmodern Jukebox and Future Islands,some great music from both.Thanks again my friend.Peace,Love and Music.
I thought everyone knew Mike Scott. Here’s another featuring the man.
Smallaxe – I blethered with your representatives at George Square last week and introduced them to Ronnie. Good to read that you’re on the mend.
@ Brian Doonthetoon,
I don’t know how Mike Scott got past me Brian, I think it’s me
that needs a Bang on the Ear.
Brian I thank you so much for making my daughter and granddaughter so very welcome last Saturday and introducing them to Ronnie,they were both very taken by the hospitality
shown to them at the WOS stall.My granddaughter said to me
“Grandpa I never knew you had so many friends in Glasgow”
Thank you once again Brian and I am hoping to meet you all asap.Peace,Love and Friendship to all.
Smallaxe Honey – it was our pleasure to meet your daughter and granddaughter, a fine pair of lasses.
@ Paula Rose
Yes Paula as you say,two fine lassies but they say that they
were outshone by your own classy good looks and decorum,thank
you for your kindness to my girls.Peace,Love and long may you
reign.
I might have picked things up wrong but will there be a WOS presence in Dundee tomorrow?
@Smallaxe
I don’t see the problem with posting about major personal problems,and getting help and support. There’s a lot of people put a lot into Indy, and it’s kind of like a family. Share and share alike!
Hi CameronB.
27th August – stay tuned for further news…
Thanks Brian. I was in town and thought I might lend a hand, if anything was on.
@Jock scot
..do we need to?”
Aye, we do..
Heard a shout out for Helensburgh recently.. Clyde Bar calling, whatsay Kendo? ?
Late to the celebrations of your good news Smallaxe…so glad to hear the results have been positive from the operation. I too will continue to think of you, as I often do these days…tis strange and yet not that we can ‘know’ and ‘feel’ others through this digital medium without meeting them in the flesh.
Here’s a wee song…for you:
@ K1,
Many thanks to you my friend for the beautiful John Martyn song, I agree with you when you say that we can get to know and as I would put it feel the Positive vibes from each other
through this digital medium.
I am positive that all the good vibes that have come my way have gone a long way towards helping me mentally and physically.People on this site have astounded me by their show
of compassion towards someone that they have never met. I am doing well and my doctor’s are pleased at my speed of recovery
so hopefully it won’t be long until I get to meet you and others personally.Peace,Love and Friendship, Winging it’s way to you from myself,keep up with your interesting and informative posts and Thank you once more for taking time to
contact me.
Ps.When I look at the size of that paragraph it’s possible that I may land in hospital again covered in the Rev.Stu’s
Hammer blow’s.:-)
@ yessindyref2,
Family is the word my friend,ever since I explained to Cadogan
Enright that I would not be able to meet him due to illness I
have been showered with good wishes from countless Wingers like your good self.
Our job now is to get the others in our National family who
unfortunately for their own reasons voted No in the past to step forward with us into a new and self determining future for our beautiful and intrinsically valuable Country.I have said before that our greatest asset is our people,Scots or Scots by choice.I thank you sincerely my Friend for contacting
me,what you have written has gone a long way in lifting the guilty feelings for turning WOS into a Dear Doctor Blog at times.Peace,Love and Independence to you and yours.
Gala Day Disco in the local bowling club, visible from upstairs window here.
DJ played this about ten minutes ago – the whole place was jumping.
Billy Ocean, ‘Red Light Spells Danger’ –
And they’ve just gone properly mental for this:
Boney M, ‘Daddy Cool’ –
Still waiting for them to play this…
Bee Gees, ‘Stayin’ Alive’ –
This is just too good not to share –
All the Bee Gees together, at the absolute height of their power!
‘You Should Be Dancing’ –
@Miss Donna Babington,
My utmost apologies,I have just noticed that I inadvertently
missed your post. I thank you for your good wishes and hope that I can meet you and other Wingers in the very near future.
Peace,Love and Happiness to you and yours.
I am familiar with the <i and commands, but can anyone tell me how to print a scored-out word in WoS?
like this Luigi:
‘scored-out’?If so…then:
depending on your keyboard there are little chevrons (greater and less than symbols) above your comma and fullstop.
‘shift’ and type the ‘less than’ symbol then type the word ‘strike’ then type the ‘greater than’ symbol. Type the word/s you want to score out then type the ‘less than’ symbol followed by forward slash: / then type ‘strike’ again followed by the ‘greater than’ symbol.
So I
scored this outthus: less than strike greater than scored this out less than forward slash strike greater than@ K1,
Just read your post and it’s”Twisted ma Melon Man”
something like:if it takes a man a week tae walk a fortnight
how many pears in a barrel of plums?
Answer:A big banana that colour. 🙂
Peace always.
testy nobblers🙂
You learn something new here every day…well, most days…well, sometimes…
Will someone please play some music?
*looks unsmilingly at Paula Rose, Thepnr, Michael McCabe, BDTT etc etc*
If you don’t I will disco the living daylights out of ye’s all.
@Paula Rose –
Ian Brotherhood
link to m.youtube.com
Is this a relation? Or yourself in younger days ?
link to m.youtube.com
@Andrew –
Thanks.
It’s always good to see Willie Rennie making the cover of anything.
As for The Brotherhood Of Man, they did that Euroballs winner ‘Kisses For Me’ when I was in the first year of secondary school.
Can you imagine?
🙁
That it was a winner or you actually went to school?
Hi Ian Brotherhood I was not much into Disco. Bit of a Dancing Fool. Anyway This one is for You. link to youtube.com Amazingly it is of the Album Shiekh Your Booty
@ Paula Rose A Wee Song for you. Hope it hits the Spot. link to youtube.com
@Michael –
How is it that a song you’ve never heard, in a language you don’t understand, can reduce you to tears?
What’s that all about?
*sniff*
This Song is for Myself. Why. No Reason. link to youtube.com
Smallaxe…glad to be of assistance…melon twisting takes skills man 🙂
@K1
Should you no be in bed? Disnae matter her’s a wee tune to fall asleep too.
Reminder folks – the next Be More Brechin event is tomorrow at the Caledonian Hotel, Brechin from 7 and features a guest appearance by our very own Schrödingers Cat.
Michael McCabe
Jesus that song by Rachael Yamagata is a keeper, added to my library, thank you!
Paula Rose,
the problem with Schrödingers Cat is that he might be there or he might not, and by looking for him you will change your chance of him actually turning up 🙂
Paula Rose: 9:41
Unfortunately grandaddy childminding duties prevent me from putting in an appearance.
Regretably I had to miss the last soiree as well: guess I’ll have to find alternative childminders for any future Brechin nights which , I am led to believe, are LEGENDARY!!!!
Here’s one just for that dhothersall chap, who appears to be somewhat out of sync with reality. What a silly person stamping his little authoritarian foot….
“Labour is one party – and it’s not just Scotland that needs to remember it.” – dhothersall
B52s – Party out of bounds.
@dhothersall
The total-ism of your outlook is now confirmed. Thanks dude. 😉
Help someone! I got my EU/Saltire flag today, great stuff, but then my brother-in-law walked in and pinched it! (Well, he is the one with a flagpole in his garden but he might have asked first.)
Anyhow, can anyone supply the link so that I can get another? I might not have flagpole but I do have a garden shed beside a major road that I can pin it to!
@ Willie John I don’t have a link but if you get in touch with your local Yes Group they Might be able to help you. Or at least point you in the right direction. Hope that helps and Good Luck.
@ Andrew McLean Glad you liked the Rachael Yamagata Song. Here she is doing a Duet Called Duet with Ray Lamontagne. Hope you like ? link to youtube.com
Thea Gilmore – Old Soul link to youtube.com
This Guy when he Sings Has got an Old Soul. link to youtube.com
Isssac Hayes – Walk on BY link to youtube.com
So recently discovered the Waterboys thanks to O/T sessions (June I think, BDTT and the PNR thank-you)
Anyway can’t believe I could have missed this joy.
They played Kelvingrove Bandstand, tonight. Wow still shivering!! Faery’s in the park! Love to you all xx
link to bit.ly
Hope link works, if not newby excuses!!
chasanderson200 Wee Ginger Dug on the 13th of September – put it in your diary now!
Hi Yesbot & Smallaxe.
link to archive.is
Thanks once again to Paula for last night. 😉
@ Brian Doonthetoon,
Don’t rub it in Brian I’m embarrassed enough, I knew of the
Waterboys but it never struck me who the lead singer was.
Big riddy now that would glow in the dark.
Peace always.
@ Anyone,
Does anyone know what’s happening regarding the Yes movement
at Glasgow Green on the 18th of September,as far as I know the Yes bikers are going,will there be a Wings stall? Peace.
Hi Smallaxe.
I believe there will be a Wings presence at Glasgow Green on the 18th. Not sure about George Square the day before. Hope Over Fear appear to be suggesting that it’s a pro-indy weekend so if people can attend one but not both, then that’s fine.
Personally, I think the 18th will be the biggie.
@ Michael McCabe, 7/8/16, 11.19pm
Michael, snuck a look and listen to the Isle of Mull Choir video you linked for oor Paula.
Beautiful, clear as a bell and makes me all nostalgic. 🙂
@ Brian Doonthetoon,
Thanks a lot Brian,the Mrs and I are hoping to make it on the
18th,two days in a row would would be a wee ambitious but we will try our best for the biggie.
Hope to meet yourself and many others. Peace Always.
Cheers for the delivery Team Wings.
Am looking forward tae seein’ all of dem Vile Cybernat designer bags struttin’ aboot the streets of Scotland. I’ll probably notice you, before you see me 🙂
Incidently, wee books fit inside them very nicely..
Hi Smallaxe.
My reason for posting the review of the Waterboys’ gig was that Yesbot mentioned she was there – not to cause ‘raidir generation’…
Probably see you on the 18th…
8=)
@Brian Doonthetoon says:
9 August, 2016 at 10:56 am
Hi Yesbot & Smallaxe
Hi Brian
Thanks for the review link.
Have to admit I’m really intrigued
Smallaxe says:
10 August, 2016 at 9:44 am
@ Brian Doonthetoon,
Don’t rub it in Brian I’m embarrassed enough, I knew of the
Waterboys but it never struck me who the lead singer was.
Big riddy now that would glow in the dark.
Peace always.
——
?!!
Probably none of my business?!
Cheers!
Brian Doonthetoon says:
10 August, 2016 at 6:50 pm
Hi Brian
‘raidir generation’?
Haven’t come across that one b4. Hope its nothing too bad. Just want to cause good stuff always.
Best wishes,
PS Ronnie A: I rest my case re-posting! Lol!!
So, see you all 18th Sept?
Has the Brechin to off-topic ferry run aground at the Yetts O’ Muckhart? We are still awaiting Paula Rose’s report on the shenanigans in Brechin last night…
Clearly, the SNP is to blame.
Hi Honeys – can I come out to play on the 18th of September? Last night was totally fabulous not only did we have the hugely hunky Schrödingers Cat enthralling us with his analogy of revving the engine but also Lanarchist wowing the ladies and the glorious leather clad Tartan Tory strutting his stuff!
This is
is nota test.Thanks K1!
Luigi
This is
is nota test.Thanks K1 !
Luigi
Just good music to chillout to!
@ Brian Doonthetoon,
Just an attempt at humour Brian,looks like it was a good gig,
hope to see you on the 18th.Peace,Love and Music. 🙂
Luigi 😉
Still no in ma bed Thpnr…nevah mind…here’s a wee tune fur you…
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V–hWckaBvg
Wings scored a small victory today over the MSM by having the Herald change it’s headline not once but twice. That is worth celebrating so I offer up this. I’m sure you Wingers have more.
An original for Off Topic LOL
@K1
SNAP!
This place is…spooky… 🙂
Bailey Tzuke – Uninvited link to youtube.com