Off-topic
Posted on
January 02, 1968 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
For off-topic chat. Duh.
Seems to me you need a new version of Sing If You’re Glad to be Gay
Sing if you’ll vote for indy
sing if you’re happy that way
ps Just have to say that I lurve the John Lewis ad version of the Kink’s ‘This Time Tomorrow’ – very indy apt, Yes?
@TJenny –
Yes indeed.
We shall meet again, one way or t’other!
Love ya.
LizM,
Sorry, I don’t do it commercially, just for my own amusement, eggs, meat and in the case of muscovies, to mow the grass. I do sometimes give birds, mainly muscovies, away to people who want them but selling anything involves keeping accounts and is not worth it.
Most of my chooks (apart from a couple of recently introduced La bresse de Gauloise are not pure breed. I keep the ones that I take a fancy to. Variety being the spice of life an’ all tha’, it also means that I know which is which.
When I want new blood for any of the poultry I usually buy eggs on eBay. It is by far the cheapest way and you should find lavender ARAUCANAs (you were nearly right!) there.
If you can’t incubate and are likely to be anywhere near NW highlands I could hatch some for you to collect (no guarantee on the hatch rate with bought eggs)
Good luck.
WeeGingerDug for future Foreign Minister.
Anyone who can defuse a potentially dodgy situation with such panache and wit gets my vote. I’m laughing just as much as when you first posted that.
Sorry Ian, I won’t be able to make 30th May.
Would anybody be interested in a wee summer soiree in Largs? June or July? Bring the family! Could arrange the Yes North Ayrshire shop as a base if required. Drinks in Lounge. Owner is a Yes supporter. Outside terrace if a sunny day.
@Fairliered –
A day out in Largs sounds good. If you build it, they will come…
@Ian Brotherhood
So this wee do at the Counting House – what’s involved and can anyone come? Is it just a wee drink or is it campaigning?
Yep – Largs, any excuse for a coffee and knickerbockers glory in Nardini’s.
Then we can meet up.
@panda paws –
It’s a social gathering. This will be the third we’ve had in Glasgow, so quite a few of us know each other now. The first (last Sep/Nov?)had about 14 people, the most recent (April 4th) had approx 80 at its busiest. This one? Who knows, but it would great to get 200.
Nae speeches, videos, none of that. Meet and greet and make pals. (Oh, and we usually have a raffle!)
Does anyone have pics of the last CH gig and/or Dundee that panda paws can have a shuftie at>
Panda Paws,
As Ian says, just a get together over some drinks. Show the world that we’re normal decent people just wanting a normal decent country. From what I remember of the last CH do (admittedly I did overindulge somewhat so my memory may be a little blurred) nobody was going around pitchforking babies or burning unionists at the stake. So, just a normal Friday night out with a great crowd of people. Come along, the more the merrier, bring your friends, family, strangers you met on the train – all welcome.
Have you all forgotten that it was live streamed?
link to new.livestream.com
@Thepnr –
Nice one. I keep forgetting the livestreams are kept.
Thanks for the info. It seems a bit, err, male dominated. I suppose the pitchforking babies puts us of the fairer sex off a bit thought we’re okay with unionist burning 🙂
@panda paws –
You’re right. We need more women to come along to these things. My wife’s coming to the next one.
King Horror – Loch Ness Monster
@panda paws
A few very knowledgeable women at the Dundee night. Find them here at 07:45 on in the second video down.
link to new.livestream.com
Rev. Stuart Campbell said: You’ve heard of the “End” button, right? 😉
So I say (in my best Hollywood Mexican accent): “End” button? I don’ need no steenking “End” button!
And for younger readers, the Ben 10 version of the quote:
Ian Brotherhood
Apologies , I will not make the C.H on the 30th , just been informed today that I am having to work that night , the downside of being a school janitor .
If it is livestreamed I might be able to watch you all having a great time , hopefully make the next one after the 30th .
Greetings to everyone I met in Jolly’s on Friday evening; sorry I couldn’t hang around for long. It was a good night for the little time I was there, and probably a lot better after I’d left.
@ Thepnr and Ian
Great to reminisce with a fellow Grove FP.
@ Ian Brotherhood
A pleasure talking to you.
@ Alfresco, Alastair, Mike
Great to catch up with other locals.
@Stonefaction, Mr & Mrs John King, Cactus, Ronnie
Sorry not to have had enough time for a proper blether.
Gutted not to have met Jock Scot and Ninja Penguin, and amazed at the technology for livestreaming from Thistle; hats off to you all.
Lastly, Paula Rose; you are everything I expected you to be in the flesh, and a lot more besides. This one is for you. Mostly because any excuse to hear one of the best rhyming couplets ever has to be taken. (Her escape was so urgent, she forgot her detergent)
bold?
italic
@Broughtyboy
Thanks for making it along, I was pleased to meet you and it was a good night.
Regarding Ians night on the 30th at the Counting House, I’m considering organising a coach from Angus and Dundee. What I was thinking is starting from Brechin, then:
Forfar
Arbroath
Carnoustie
Dundee
and maybe Perth.
Need to know how many might be interested before I can book anything. Plan would be to arrive in Glasgow around 19:30 and leave by 22:30.
If anyone wants a seat please leave your mark here. Cheers.
@Thepnr –
Wow! Hope you get enough bodies mister.
Just back from Kilmarnock, leafleting folk going in to see Jim Sillars, Fiona Hyslop, Patrick Harvie and Natalie McGarry. The lad on the door reckoned they’ve over 400 in there right now (Palace Theatre) and it’s definitely being filmed.
@ Thepnr
Was going to ask, as I think you’d hinted about hiring a coach. Megabus return would be around £18-20; any idea of rough cost or does it depend on numbers?
Just checking with my girlfriend as to social events on that day, but am currently a 7 for going. I will also try to persuade her to come, to try and help the gender balance.
Oh goody – lots of girls Brityboy, oops that should be an ‘o’ not an ‘i’ xx.
Ooo! Thepnr, a coach like Priscilla, Queen of the Desert?
One of my SSP branch buddies, Steph, said she’ll rustle up some of her pals – they’re in their early twenties, so that’ll help too.
Ian dear – I’m not sure we want too many young people running about the place.
@panda paws
Awww… Well, ok, I won’t bring the pitchfork and the barbecue then!
Still, should be a good night out 😀
Cearc
That’s what I used to have a mish mash of breeds but mostly retired battery birds. Miss having the space to run a lot of chooks so thought I’d go for 3 or 4 of a specific breed. The fact they lay green eggs being the clincher.
@Paula Rose –
There’s a play area in the place where they serve Red Bull with Vodka, Apple Soorz, Jagermeister etc, they’ll be happy and safe enough in there.
Poultry experts – is it right that you should start with pullets all the same age rather than pick and mix which leads to pecking order problems?
That’s all very well Ian but would we have to provide responsible adults to keep an eye on things?
Never had an issue with different ages/breeds as they had an acre of ground and a large shed, for about 30 birds, so the more timid ones had the ability to avoid being bullied. It’s when they are all crammed together issues start. A bit like people really.
Can anyone turn up to the night out?
LizM – so a large enough area for the birds means they can find their own space? Friends of mine keep chickens and talk about pecking order issues, I always thought that a bit more space might be a solution.
@Broughtyboy
Ok cost I can’t know yet. What I will say though is max £15/head wish I could make it £10 but anyway one price for all and that’s £15 if you can afford it.
No kidding now but if you can’t afford it and still want a seat then it’s free. You can decide whether to pay or not.
I just want to fill that pub and it’ll be worth it.
Please come, your choice.
Hi All
Shameless plug time again..Latest post from Yew Choob but strangely enough it’s not a vid…you will have to wait until Thursday for that….
Cheers
Jock
Can the REAL grassroots indy campaign(ers) help Yew Choob and Wee Ginger Dug make this happen..we need someone who has the vision to take this on and ‘manage’ it and you can help us by sharing this as widely as possible to help us find whoever in the community can. Thanks in advance. Pls feel free to leave a message on the FB page with any ideas or thoughts of your own or if your indy group wish to take part..we don’t need money…we would have to pay the treasury a squeeze and that’s not OOR WEY…We say let’s barter amongst ourselves for the resources that we need and nothing more and let’s make it happen. Aye fur Alba 2014.
link to weegingerdug.wordpress.com
The free offer is for anyone that might want to come.
@ Thepnr, after the hard time I gave you on Friday night (see comments passim) I’m up for a seat. And will buy another if someone wants to sit next to me.
Paula Rose
The stroppiest one I had was a small bantam hen who would chase the the others including the cockerels away. As I had enough space she never actually beat any of them up as the chase would be about 20 to 30 feet dash and then she would do a victory strut about the property. I think it would have been a problem in a smaller space though.
@ lizM – is there a point at which a chicken can become lonely?
Do you know – this is the thread with the most comments, so that lovely wizzy thingy down the right hand side looks lovely when spurred into action.
All creatures (human, animal or fowl) need interaction or they will suffer. But in all groups you may find one that does not interact with the group. In those situations a different group may be best. So they can be lonely on their own or in a group. My daughter had one hen that would not mix with the others but wanted to be with people. So I think she was lonely even with the group. She would go daft once my daughter came back and follow her about clucking for attention. 🙂
@LizM –
It’s completely open to anyone.
I’ve just messaged my ‘contact’ inside the Sunday Herald, inviting him and any of his colleagues who might want to see what ‘vile Cybernats’ look like up close and personal.
I’m wondering…who else could we invite?
I don’t do Facebook, or Twitter much, but does anyone have any suggestions as to prominent indy-ref names we should invite to our little soiree? Getting their responses would be an interesting exercise in itself.
‘Vile CyberNat Celebrity Charm Offensive!’
And hey, we’re right on the doorstep of Glasgow City Council – anyone fancy inviting Matheson et al?
Mr Bateman are you up for it? You know you want to.
Derek – swoon.
@Paula Rose –
Agreed. Few things in this life are more attractive than a pensioner wearing a denim shirt he bought when he was twenty-three.
Does it for me anyway!
PS That wasn’t a dig at the wonderful Derek Bateman, just a general observation/opinion about denim on male pensioners.
And they must also have matching jeans which have been boil-washed precisely the same number of times as the shirt, and perfectly white trainers.
Fwooaaarrgghhh!
Stop it Ian we all have our peccadillos –
Sounds like you guys had a blast at The Ferry! Sorry not to have made it;-(
I wait with baited breath for the Edinburgh bash.
@Paula Rose –
Nice one.
I had a peccadillo once, but he got out of his cage and the cat ate him.
Major bummer.
Oh look a peccadillo – nice advert for the USA
I missed a chicken conversation!
No –
Great!
All mine are solely acoustic musicians. Maybe I should put leccy in their houses,
@Paula Rose –
This will surely get your lovely wee toes tapping.
Graham Central Station, ‘POW’ –
Paula Rose
That’s a wee bit spooky. I was going to post that track earlier. I didn’t want to interrupt the conversation though. Honest. 🙂
Poor wee Alistair ‘sidelined’…bless.
3 Doors Down, ‘Loser’ –
Here’s one –
Does anyone remember the name of the band that Rev and others were highlighting on Twitter, maybe a couple of months ago?
I don’t think it made it into any WOS threads, not even here, but it was extraordinary – the singer had a bizarre dancing style and a fantastic voice, but I can’t remember the name. The footage was from a big US late-night chat-show…
Ring a bell?
Is anybody going to meet ChunkyMark the taxi driver in Glasgae next week?
Ian Brotherhood; I would be up for a wee social type event in the Counting House. Be good to meet folk I’ve been interacting with on here and elsewhere but never actually seen in person. The wife might quite likes clearing me out of the house of an evening too… insists I acquire a social life since I haven’t really got one. Not even one with slightly mental political types in it.
I am recognisable since I look like a ginger coconut from behind, with very short, both in length and quantity, ginger hair. This is a reasonably realistic description, trust me.
I suspect saying I’ll be wearing a Yes badge and a Yes 14 retro football top won’t make me stand out very much in this sort of company. But I’ll be there anyway, looking slightly uncomfortable, as I’m not a particularly social animal.
@Thepnr
“I’m considering organising a coach from Angus and Dundee.”
You lil organiser, you! 😉
@Peter Macbeastie –
Good stuff mister – it’s gonny be a big yin!
@Peter MacBeastie
What’s this “Social Life” thing? Can you buy one from the chemist? 😉
The Sunday Herald person I know got back to me earlier – very interested in what we’re planning, and is keen to send someone to cover CH2.
(I should also point out that some of the disparaging comments about SH on WOS since it ‘came out’ have caused dismay among genuinely indy-supporting SH staff who read Wings regularly.)
These social nights we’re planning have the potential to turn hundreds of people onto the Yes message without hectoring or boring them.
Nothing the MSM can produce – absolutely nothing, no matter how polished or persuasive – can trump the impression made by honest people on one another in face to face contact.
Invite anyone. Everyone.
It doesn’t matter if they’re Nos, DKs, Don’t-Cares, whatever – if they are identifiably human and live/work here, they’re Scottish and are entitled to vote.
Is there any doubt that a few hours spent in the kind of atmosphere we’ve already generated at these sessions wouldn’t persuade just about anyone to consider joining us?
Suggest a works night-out, and bring them to the CH – if they really cannot stomach the sight of indy-supporters having a good time then the place is big enough for them to find a seat elsewhere. (I’m trying to persuade my SSP branch comrades to make a night of it because we NEVER get the glad-rags on and enjoy ourselves.) Use it as an excuse to round up those old mates/school buddies you’ve been meaning to catch up with for years. Use it to renew family ties which have become dusty.
The Sunday Herald will be covering this Glasgow gig. Exactly how they’ll do it? I don’t know. But this is a chance to make a powerful public demonstration of confidence and solidarity – a microcosm of the crowd who went to Calton Hill that day, all packed into a pub, making a happy noise. It won’t go unnoticed, but we have to work hard, right now, to make sure it happens.
Please Twitter and FB the living daylights out of everyone you know. We have two full weeks to build something special here. Please help make it happen.
@ian brotherhood
Does anyone remember the name of the band that Rev and others were highlighting on Twitter, maybe a couple of months ago?
Future Islands ‘Seasons’ Waiting on you
So glad you inspired me to find this again, its amazing,the dudes passion exudes.
Ian – your ‘rousing to arms’ has me in a quandary as to whether now is the time, what with SH coverage of the CH night, to split us Wingers on an e/w divide, although I do have a couple of interesting attendees for Edin.
Do we think ALL Wingers should be at the CH in Glasgow on 30 May, in a show of force, or should there be an Edin + Glas same night?
And I’m looking at Cameron B, Cactus and strangely I think, Lanarkist to respond for the Burgh here.
All views appreciated on this.
I’ll try to make Glasgow TJenny and would be happy to chip in for petrol, if I can cadge a lift there. Or if the Angus bus wants to swing by Edinburgh, I don’t know if that would help with costs.
@TJenny –
I appreciate the quandry.
The SH lead is real. I’m not BS-ing, but I can’t reveal the name. If s/he decides to come out, so be it, but please believe me – the interest is genuine, and I fully expect someone (perhaps more than one) from SH to be there in the CH on the night.
Not sure how I’d handle it if I was in your shoes. Tricky. I assume Thistle has been in touch with you by now – no doubt he’ll have thoughts on it too.
Yeah, there will be plenty of opportunities over the summer for more events, but this feels like the right time to have something big, brassy, genuinely ‘grassroots’ to counter the VNB shite. And if we are assured of some decent MSM coverage?
Nice problem to have!
Looking forward to your thoughts.
Bestest, as ever.
X
@TJenny/CameronB –
Just a quick thought – IF it’s decided that Glasgow is the sole venue, the proceeds from the raffle (!?!) could help subsidise buses.
If we get 200 folk on the night (are we agreed that’s a reasonable number to aim for?) surely we can squeeze £200 quid out of them? That’s a modest target, but could help make a big difference to those (e.g. Thepnr) who might have to stick cash up-front for the transport.
Like I say, just a thought…
Ian Brotherhood
Perhaps the Rev. would act as booking agent? We chip into the Rev’s account to cover the costs and he books the bus. Once details are made available by Thepnr(?) and GCHQ. 🙂
Don’t know if this is mad as I’m just thinking on the hoof.
Rev. have you thought of getting VAT registered, or has that been taken care of?
Well said fellow winger, Ian Brotherhood, let’s big it up for Glasgow’s CH2!
If the Wings Over Scotland retained readership remains just shy of 4 million views per month (if not more!), I would imagine a lot more Scottish folk will WANT to be there this time round.. kinda getting involved in making history, celebrating Scotland and having a good time at the same time.
YES, Edinburgh gig.. going for that Friday the 4th July idea could be a winner, very poetic timing.. with regards to where, I’ll try a comment on a subsequent thread asking for suggestive feedback for an Edinburgh venue (when the timing’s right) and see if any readers yet to comment can be stimulated to ‘come aboard’ and give us a few ideas?
Here’s a thought for an additional and alternate venue for a Glasgow meet-up (maybe some Saturday in the summertime).. as many persons are not comfortable being in bars and would love to become involved, howsabout a meet-up down by Glasgow Green.. we’ve got the Peoples Palace, the Winter Gardens (soft/tea/coffee drinks) and after all, Glasgow Green was ‘given to the people, for the people, by the people’ if history serves correct. Additionally, the micro-brewery, Bar WEST, sits overlooking the afore-mentioned.. all bases covered then?
Wings In The Park ~ Whaddya think fellow wingers?
(I should also point out that some of the disparaging comments about SH on WOS since it ‘came out’ have caused dismay among genuinely indy-supporting SH staff who read Wings regularly.)
I’m not surprised. How galling must it be to come out and find that some of your natural supporters still mistrust you?
Future Islands ‘Seasons’ Waiting on you
I’m sorry, but in my opinion this is pish. For two reasons; one, the guy can’t sing; two, he can’t dance.
The gesturing is to cover up that he can’t sing.
I read a book many years ago, entitled ‘The White Boy Shuffle’ about a black guy in LA who was a real cool dude, urban poet, great basketball player, had it all, except for one thing; when he danced all he could manage was the ‘white boy shuffle’ and from the description in the book, the vocalist does the white boy shuffle.
“I’m sorry, but in my opinion this is pish”
BANNED FOR LIFE.
Ah, membership of an exclusive club, at last.
Can I play the Groucho defence?
@Stevieb –
Thanks for posting that link. It was doing my head in because I had a snatch of the tune but it just kept repeating without end and I had to find out what the next bit was.
Sorted.
Perhaps we should adopt the dude’s dancing style as our own, and all do it in in the CH and/or in Glasgow Green.
‘Perhaps we should adopt the dude’s dancing style as our own’.
Well maybe it is as well that I can’t get down to the central belt again this summer. Standing upright with two sticks is quite tricky enough. Although, without the sticks I could briefly do a reasonable version as I lurch towards the floor!
Wow, the CH2 gig seems to be turning into something big 🙂
Wonder if I should just stay hidden all night, what with me making the place look untidy, hehe.
As for doing the dance, maybe it’ll freak out the unionists a bit…
“What are those cybernats doing in there? Are they plotting something fiendish?”
“No, they’re… Umm… Dancing!”
“Dancing?! Dancing?!!! They must be practicing their victory dance! Quick! Back to headquarters, we must come up with a new plan!!!”
@Oneironaut –
“It’s dancing Jim, but not as we know it…”
Does anybody want to have lunch with some Tories?
link to northayrshireconservatives.org.uk
Alternatively, the Village Inn Beer Festival starts at 2pm.
I will be behind the bar wearing my Yes badge.
Here’s one for VNB lurkers.
Stan Ridgway, ‘Camouflage’ –
Lurkers Ian? Ain’t got a clue –
Cearc
I would like to meet chunky mark have suggested it on couple of posts but aint seen response if any
Prob is that im out of commision for this week at least and dont know when i get released back into society (and no im not in
Liquidlenny
Yes, it seems a shame that there doesn’t seem to be much interest. He has given us much amusement and is a refreshing change from most of the ‘london’ comment.
It would be nice to give him a welcoming.
There’s no way I can come south again until the end of the summer.
Hi Ian Brotherhood.
I’ve been following cearc’s (and others’) comments about chunkymark, whose videos I have been aware of for some time.
I had a look at the Queen’s Park Railway Club’s web site and the reason he’s coming up on the 24th is for the preview night of an exhibition of his work, running from 29th May to 21st June. The preview is from 7pm to 9pm on the 24th.
link to queensparkrailwayclub.co.uk
Could this not be an opportunity for your Sunday Herald contact to do a wee feature on him?
@Briandoonthetoon –
Nice one. I’m sure these, and other tasty stories are being well noted.
This one’s for David Cameron on his last night in Scotland:
Judie Tzuke – Stay with me till dawn
Ian Brotherhood
While I can’t make C.H 2 I am more than willing to donate something for a raffle if you are thinking of holding one .
If Ronnie is going I could give it to him, if Ronnie is not going I could give it to anyone going from the Airdrie , Chapelhall or Newarthill area .
@Silvertay –
Cheers!
Superb. I’m sure someone will offer to bring the mystery prize!!
Bummer you can’t make it, but it’ll be Livestreamed so you can see who wins your donation.
Ian darling, I think you should stick to non-fiction – would be a pity if you ended up loaded due to an over-active imagination.
I have a do immediately after work on the 30th I may be able to slip quietly away and join peeps for a small refreshment in the CH at the back of 8.
Flipper – Ha Ha Ha
HandandShrimp
Don’t sneak away – bring them with you.
@HandandShrimp –
That’s you on the list.
Only 10, but plenty still to confirm…
It’s a fortnight tonight folks.
Stephen Noon – bang on:
link to stephennoon.blogspot.co.uk
Ooooh, this evening’s O/T is going to be a stoatir – canny wait!
(chews knuckles, whimpers, releases small amount of fluid…)
Regarding Wings night out at the Counting House Fri 30th May I’ve booked a VIP coach from Dundee and Angus which will start in Brechin with stops in Abroath, Dundee then Glasgow. All mod cons, toilet, sound system and 4 DVD screens, so better than the back of a van!
The approximate timings are leaving Brechin at around 17:00, Arbroath 17:20 and Dundee 17:45, this gets us into Glasgow at George Square at 19:15-19:30ish.
The bus can take 40 passengers, the price will be £15 return that will cover the whole cost which was £500 and leaves room for a few who may not be able to afford £15 but are keen to come. So all welcome and any shortfall will be taken care of by me.
Can I just ask that if you would like to come in what will be the most public display by supporters of Wings to Independence so far, then please show your interest by posting how many seats you want over in Off Topic and where you would like picked up from the above towns.
It will be first come first served and I fully expect to fill all the seats, so please get your names down as soon as. The last thing I want is to have to leave some behind because I was unaware they would be coming. I will regularly post over the next few days how many seats are still available.
It’s time now I think to take what we know off the internet and into the mainstream, let’s become visible and really take this fight against the MSM right into the open. That is the whole point of these events.
I believe Ian Brotherhood has a contact in the Sunday Herald who is keen to cover this REAL grassroots event. So lets show the Nob Orders crowd what we are about and that which money just can’t buy. Real belief and real passion for what WE believe in.
Double page spread the following Sunday or a wee byline? That will be down to us.
@ Thepnr
Great stuff. I’d been wondering about developments but had held back from asking as I knew you’d be putting us all in the picture when everything was good to go.
Put me down for 1 from Dundee. Much as I would like my girlfriend to come along too, the chances are she will be too exhausted at the end of the working week; Friday is the day she tends to crash early.
Any idea of pick-up location? I can recommend the Kingsway West Retail Park for 3 reasons; easy access, plenty of parking and a 5 minute walk to my girlfriend’s place.
See you at Discovery Point then. 😉
Thepnr
What actually happens at the counting house?
Thepnr , Way to go , well done with the coach .
I know you are down in Glasgow for the final and I wish you the best of luck .
Lets hope it is a good clean entertaining game and may the best team win just as long as it’s St Johnstone .
Drink will be taken. But it’s not compulsory, they also do food and juice.
Alternatively, mutual support and exchange of ideas and most especially normalisation of a bunch of Yes supporters getting together in public and showing their confidence, pour encourager les autres.
Mealer says:
Thepnr
This : link to i.imgur.com
@Broughtyboy
The pick in Dundee will be Discovery Point outside the rail station. Coach company advised that.
@Mealer
What’s happening is a social event in the very heart of Glasgow for those that support Independence and read WoS. A right friendly bunch they are too.
It’s about showing our human face in public. Just what is a cybernat anyway?
@Silvertay
Good luck too you side too. I expect an entertaining game. Most of all I know all us Tayside fans will enjoy the day whatever the weather and whatever the result. Good Luck.
Great news about the coach – this is what I was getting myself het-up about. It’s one thing to suggest a time and place, but to lob up five hundred sovs is massive.
I’m tempted to drive up to get the coach back again – it’ll surely be good crack on the journey.
Well done the Thepnr (aka Alex). Slainte!
Thepnr – count me in honey, will the pick up point be outside my house? xx
Me and Mrs Calgacus are ‘on’ for the Counting House on 30th May.
BTW: (Ian or Thpnr) there is a free website:-
link to eventbrite.co.uk
That lets you set up an event that people can register for.
Just sayin’
Better get that bus booked before the oil price skyrockets. 🙂
Thepnr
I’m sure you’ll manage fine, but I’m an almost definite no-show. I forgot I was already expected elsewhere.
Justin Hinds & the Dominoes – Save a Bread
For a while now i’ve been thinking that we live in really dark times, but when i see guys like thepnr going the extra mile and working his ass off to help others I really do know we can have a better future.
I am so proud to have even the remotest association that I do with people like him.
Thank you all who have posted over the time I’ve been viewing for showing the bright side to the darkness i mentioned earlier. You are all heroes in my world.
SEE YOU ALL AT CH2
Anyone for tennis…good game.
Murray v Nadal
Murray wins first set 6:1 second set just started.
link to hdfoots.com
@Calgacus MacAndrews –
Cheers. I’ll look at it.
Word is definitely getting out – was speaking to an SSP friend earlier and it seems he was asked, during the week (by a workmate) for details after getting a second-hand account from someone else. And the guy isn’t an activist of any kind – my friend isn’t even sure if the workmate’s a definite ‘Yes’. But he’s up for a good night.
Just goes to show – if Scots in general, and Weegies in particular, get wind of a party, they’re on it like a shot.
This one’s for the BBC:
“Sweet Little Lies” – by Fleetwood Mac
Watching HIGNFY. Jacob Rees Mogg makes me want to reach for my imaginary baseball bat.
@ CameronB Bothy – now dear, cancel all, if need be you can sit on my lap.
Hi Thepnr.
Book me one seat on the magical knownabout tour. Pete the Camera can’t make it but eh’m game. Hadn’t even got round to working out how to use my bus pass on the night so £15 seems reasonable to be picked up within 5 minutes of “Doon the Toon” – and no web surfing or bus booking involved.
Must admit though, I was a bit worried with the suggestion of pick-up on the Kingsway. That could involve some peeps with a couple of buses to get there before boarding yours.
Discovery Point ideal!
After all, all buses go “Doon the Toon”…
8=)
PS: What time do we leave the CH to come back?
Thepnr….Put me down for 2 seats please.We’ll get on at Brechin.Cheers!
@rab_the_doubter :
Rees-Mogg looks like he was born wearing that suit and specs – “‘mnnnnyeeaaah! (SLAP) How do you do?’
Hey mister, it’s an imaginary baseball bat, so, if you haven’t already seen it, get a load of this and fill yer boots. Check out the question from Stewart Hosie at 7.30 – it’s a classic:
And here’s Rees-Mogg with Ali G, who I’ve never ever liked, but does give him a proper ride.
@ Mealer – hi honey, fancy saying hello in Brechin? I tend to have a sherry in the Brechin Arms around 5:30 weekdays – I’m the gorgeous one with a hat and a Yes badge.
…and this clip is certainly worth a watch, at 3.30. Okay, it’s a year old, but an interesting insight all the same.
Rab_the_doubter – if your imaginary baseball bat is still intact, fire in man…you’ll feel better afterwards, eh?
My imaginary baseball bat was starting to develop mass and velocity. Mrs _the doubter wasn’t too happy with all the sweary words I was directing at the telly when he was on.
@Ian Brotherhood, I,ll be there at CH2 ( sounds like a railway line).
Silvertay,If your donateing a raffle prize you can hand it in to me or give it to Stuart Gamble /Betty,sos your working but hopefully you can make the Edinburgh night out.
Ian,
@3:30 in that last link, the words of a ("Tractor" - Ed) to any morals he may have once had – a sort of Tory Anakin Skywalker. Its bad enough that he’s a Tory, but to openly admit that he’d prostitute himself to stay in power says everything you need to know about the kind of person he is. It also says a lot about the total fwts who think they are electing him to represent their constituency.
Thanks guys.
Seats going fast, must say that of the 40 6 were booked for me and mine, all Wossers.
Of the rest so far:
Paula Rose x 2
Broughty Boy
Briandoonthetoon
Mealer x 2
So 28 seats still up for grabs, let’s get them filled. I believe this is important just the start of ordinary people opening up showing their beliefs and their is no shame in that.
Let’s just get started and do it! We must win, else I believe we face a much bleaker future.
Get noticed, do it for your family and for those that might vote No through ignorance, lets inform them. It is our duty.
@ Thepnr, I will punt up for 2 seats for anyone who cant afford the bus, I,ll square you up on the night.
Cant remember if I said I would be at cc2 but count me in I will try and get rab c to come down from Aberdeenshire and others as well.
I was in hospital last week and was glad to get a signal for my phone but for some reason when I went to this offtopic page things went tits up, so anyway I see Cearc has mentioned that she cant make it, does anybody fancy giving Chunky Mark a big Scottish Welcome? It would be a shame for a guy who is so excited about our referendum to be left to his own devices, worse still he might be surrounded by unionists.
Guys and dolls.
Thanks for all the support, let’s mention it on the main thread. I’m sure the Rev would welcome that.
Wings Live!
Okay, that’s me done with the Rees-Mogg clips, but there’s a point to this:
Right now, in exclusive London ‘Mens’ clubs and Westminster bars, people who look and sound like that guy are having post-dinner discussions on what to do about ‘the Scotland thing’.
They’re discussing our lives, pondering what to do about ‘us’, our futures…the people deployed to press the unionist cause have thus far failed and the polls don’t look good.
Rees-Mogg is an extraordinary character, and easy to ridicule, but his eccentric public utterances provide a rare, valuable glimpse into the mind-set of those who really believe that they had ‘cacht’ Scotland. The same people have indeed ‘held us fast’ for over three centuries, and profited mightily from the association.
They are discussing ‘us’ right now. Make no mistake about it. And they’re worried.
Let them knit their brows, puff on their cigars, and try to work out how to do another ‘1707’ on us – won’t be so easy this time, but that won’t stop them having a decent stab at it. (They’ve only an ‘Empire’ to lose…)
In the meantime? We arrange meetings, book buses, wear badges, talk to neighbours, open new ‘Yes’ shops, lobby MSM people to get a grip, and explain to our weans what this stuff is all about.
We are set to win this, but we have to win it well. We have to win it so convincingly, so overwhelmingly, that Jacob Rees Mogg and his ilk won’t dare ever rise to their feet in the HoC when Scotland is mentioned. Our lives will no longer be any of their business.
Now, Thepnr honey, you are going to have to enlarge your borders, you are in danger of letting your plants get on intimate terms with your turf. I recommend an extension of 600cm – in other words three times your usual length.
oops sorry Thepnr – I meant width.
@Ian Brotherhood
We are and will win this for exactly the reasons you state above. Why can anyone possibly believe we NEED people like Rees-Mogg?
He is a Klingon and just one of those we want to wipe away from the sweat between our cheeks. If we wish a decent life for our people.
We are running out of time, get talking, get walking and get in there with the head down!
@ronnie anderson –
Consider yourself ‘listed’ big guy.
Cheers.
@Thepnr –
Heard, and understood.
Filling that bus is the target, and I’ve no doubt you’ll do it soon.
I’ll keep adding names to my own wee list, but only if I’m sure they’re not on your bus.
@Liquid Lenny –
I’ve already got you on the list, but can I put +1 in brackets?
I won’t make the artist taxi-man’s gig, much as I’d love to – no doubt he’ll be made very welcome in Glasgow. Looking forward to seeing the feedback he gives his regular viewers when he gets back home.
@ronnie anderson
Cheers my friend, it’s much appreciated.
If you build it they will come!
And that’s what ordinary guys like us are doing through generosity from the likes of yourself and everyone that donates to all the campaigns.
Nob Orders, hear this! This is true grass roots, read it and weep.
Good shout Thepnr! Yeah, your tour to Glasgow should be a lively one.. get your requests in early for the on-board jukebox :p
I’ve put the word out amongst my people for CH2, so we’ll see what happens. CH2.. is that like Carbon Hydride or throw in some Oxygen for a Hydro Carbon? That fuel-oil gets everywhere!
Speaking of jukeboxes, here’s a video every undecided Scottish voter should watch:
Baz Luhrmann ~ Everybody’s Free To Wear Sunscreen (No genre)
Um – having a problem here, what’s nob orders? Is it an in-joke or summat, cos no-one I’ve met kens.
Hey Cactus!
Didn’t think much of your link. You should be listening to this instead:
Hi people
Going to be meeting mr taxi man on 24th and try a livestream. Will see if I can get him to come CH on 30th. If Edinburgh WoS on same night they we can do Skype or ooVoo chat with them from CH. I will need to get table in similar place as last time.
Got a cracker livestream on 26th from Lanark 🙂
Oh yeah, I suggest you subscribe to our youtube channel as we will be releasing some vids that are going to be pretty important me thinks.
Oo – Friday night, disco time, here’s an original ditty…
And while we’re at it let’s ‘ave a dainty tune – altogether now…
Thistle,
That’s great. I will certainly watch.
Paula Rose,
Where have you been? Votenoborders(Nob Orders). Simply spiffing new astroturf website.
Hey hey the Thepnr, aye Tracy C does it good.
Try this one.. great song, cracking movie:
Rude Awakening
‘High hopes we have for the future…’
Kin right.
Sister Sledge, ‘We Are Family’ –
@Cactus
Fair Do’s my friend. Understood.
This is like a lovely old fashioned radio station – your favourite disc gets spun again –
Here’s a bit of Juke Box for the Juke Box, from one of me favourite bands:
Juke Box Hero – Foreigner
Sing along if you know the words.
@Cactus (12.23) –
Good stuff mister.
Cheers.
OK for me it’s bedtime folks, another Jukebox one before I go.
Older punks like me will know it!
Nightcap for the road, cheers all:
Stardust ~ Hoagy Carmichael
4 months and a day to go.. we now enter the final third.
Ronnie
I will try and drop it off this week , is your house the top or bottom one ?
Who can we invite to the CH on May 30th? It would be nice to get some surly knockbacks to help publicise it.
Something like the blurb on the back cover of Banksy’s ‘Wall and Piece’ book:
“There’s no way you’re going to get a quote from us to use on your book cover.”
Metropolitan Police spokesperson
We could invite George Galloway, and offer to provide a soap-box…
Lets invite Johann to state a positive case for the Union.
Nah, changed my mind, get Jackie Baillie to tell us how she will eradicate poverty with the power of the Union and to explain that the last 40 years were just a wee mistake.
Failing that Ken Dodd or any other celebrity not currently on trial for sex abuse.
@Thepnr –
Good suggestions.
It must surely be a temptation for those BTOKUKERS who have any conviction – we ‘vile Cybernats’ are presenting ourselves in a public place, less than a minute’s walk from SLAB fortress Glasgow City Chambers.
It could be like the Hamiltons versus Martin Bell – remember that one? (Dodgy picture quality, but worth a watch all the same) :
Here’s the guy we need to speak. Chunkymark better known as London taxi driver.
“Publish the Poll.. Scotland Cry FREEDOM!!!!”
I hear a whisper that he might be up here that day.
I reckon a pair of dark glasses for Jock Scot so’s he thinks he’s in a recording studio instead of an outdoor stage and we have it licked!
gosh – what’s the news today-
Was talking to Clan Destiny Films today, in Largs – maybe maybe maybe they’ll cover it too.
(Allypally – if you see this, I got the impression you’re torn between covering the CH gig, or doing your own thing, but please, FFS, don’t jeopardise yourself kayaking solo across large stretches of open watter on our account!)
Now Ian darling – I’m getting lots of lovely arty types to come along to the Counting House, can we not just have a wee mix of genius? I’m worried you’ll be inviting all your high falutin uni types.
When did we think that growing our own food was not enough?
When did we think that having bright bairns was not enough?
When did we stop thinking that an evening with friends was not enough?
When did being become no longer enough?
@Paula Rose –
Yay! Let’s get philosophical on this shit:
Happy Mondays, ‘Step On’ –
Dr feelgood on BBc4 honey
now Patti doll
your wee laddies aka the Happy Mondays wil have to wait for a minute or two
@Paula Rose –
You want me to imagine these tracks, or can we get links?
That was the responsibility of holding the key to freedom.
link to lyricstime.com
@Paula Rose –
Right, sorry, I get it – you’re watching the box AND doing this?
That’s fine.
That’s allowed.
We’re not taking it personally. (That much.)
Anyway, when I’ve got your attention – you’re a proper ‘muso’, right? You know your Strummers from your Durys, and all manner of stuff from that period.
Remember when Nina Simone’s ‘My Baby Don’t Care For Me’ became number one in the UK? It was some fluke, maybe because of an advertising campaign or suchlike…anyway, she was clearly told, by someone, to perform the song BECAUSE it was No 1 in the UK.
She did so, but executed it in such a clunky, awkward, ugly style, no-one could’ve mistaken her message – get it right up ye’s all.
I saw that broadcast (must’ve been on TOTP), and remember it clearly, but it’s impossible to locate.
Anyone know what I’m on about? We’re talking mid-80’s.
@Ian Brotherhood
Speaking of Clan Destiny, that just reminded me I’d promised to give them a shout-out where I could, especially on Wings.
Here you go guys, sorry it’s late! 😀
Clan Destiny Films Youtube Channel:
Not sure if they’re on Facebook too. I don’t go on there! (Got no malware scanner on this system yet!)
@Paula Rose –
When I clicked on your link to ‘Horses’, I got an ad for Better Together. Very professional, all youngsters, and a stirring soundtrack…
How ‘targetted’ is this shite?
Creepy, nay sinister…
Woooooooooooh!
I can’t get any of my faves posted -seems like we are amateurs at grass-roots stuff.
@Paula Rose –
Don’t let the so and so’s get tae ye pal –
Althea & Donna, ‘Uptown Town Ranking’ –
Ow!
This is a test. Haven’t been able to post comments for weeks now.
Oh, woo-pee, it’s worked! Had a wee problem where I could only post from my works computer but not my own laptop.
It seems the good Rev has fixed it for me overnight.
Thanks Rev.
Please count me in for Counting House on 30th, Ian B.
Thanks!
Welcome back Quinie frae Angus.
@QfA –
Messages overlapped there…that’s you on the list. Great.
‘Get a room’ Takes on a whole new meaning.
Love in. War and Peace. Have a piece of that.
Bonjour, I posted this comment earlier on the SSOT thread. I thought I’d also share it here with you regular Off-topickers, especially that last bit in bold..
«««««»»»»»
Good evening pre-iScotland.
With regards to Stu’s location being in Bath, remember.. in this life you keep your friends close, but you keep your enemies even closer.. perfectly placed, who do you think’s got his finger on the press pulse every-friggin-day for us all! Location ditto twice.
So tell me (anyone) are there any good bars in Bath for a Wings meet-up?
Stand-by with that coach Thepnr! Cheers 🙂
Ach well the bold didn’t hold from my copy/paste!
To clarify:
So tell me (anyone) are there any good bars in Bath for a Wings meet-up?
Stand-by with that coach Thepnr! Cheers 🙂
Had a useful meeting this morning re Yes in the park. Ideas are firming up for the stall, First time there for me and I was surprised how big it was. Ronnie knew the layout and showed me round it. Patrician gave me some “Aye Right” cards that I’ll pop in with the Yes papers I’m delivering in Whifflet just now. Missed “the man in the jar” – he was there but seems that we were at a different cafe. Bumped into Imtiaz Majid, SNP councillor for Coatbridge south, had a useful chat pointed him at the Wings site and Ronnie slipped him a wings card, and a Aye Right card. Next Venue Ronnies house to get the gazebo set up and measure for Wings Banners and Flags, any thoughts on that yet Rev, time is getting short.
John Jappy was a civil servant in the 60s who looked after the Queens money. At the time, himself included, the general opinion amongst civil servants was that Scotland was dependent on money it received from Westminster. Then, he got access to the UK books and this was before oil…
Watch, think about it and share. Only 5 mins long.
More to come from John.
link to youtu.be
gerry parker – to ensure Stuey gets your query, why not email him via the ‘contacts’ form at top of the page, or, I think starting your comment with Rev or Stu, maybe sends him an alert, but contact form probably safer for quick response – just saying. 🙂
Driving back from Glasgow today after yesterdays cup final and a good weekend, heard this on the radio. Liked it.
Re Independence Live.
The man works tirelessly travelling all over the country to cover events out of his own pocket.
He is providing a valuable service to all of us and those that have yet to make their mind up. Considering like the Rev he is working 7 days a week for the cause I think £3K is realistic and there was no need to ask.
I’ll be backing any fundraiser he puts up.
@T enny,
Thanks, will e mail him tomorrow.
oops – TJenny.
Iain looks like I wont get to cc2
will see if things change
Re Thistle
Since i’m cancelling UnionistBC licence fee it’ll be a pleasure to put some of that towards our future media providers, where do we donate?
Welcome back Quinie.
Ian, Thepnr et al,
I am going to try and make the CH if I can, but it will be a last minute decision due to various other factors, so if I can do it I’ll make my own way there.
@Liquid Lenny –
Bummer. But I won’t cross you off the list just yet.
@X_sticks –
Aaaah man, please, please, make it – I’m sure Thistle will be glad of your assistance once again. Won’t be the same without you and yer magic bunnet.
@X-Sticks
Just get yourself down to Dundee or Arbroath. Coming back you stay at my place. next day is a Saturday after all. This is going to be a big night.
I feel it in my old bones 🙂
thepnr – a message for you.
Pete the Camera has reassessed his priorities as far as 30th May goes and would now like a seat on the bus to the ‘bit of a do’ in Glasgow.
Please add him to the passenger list from Dundee.
Thanks.
@Brian Doonthetoon
Cheers Brian. Done.
Bedtime now, goodnight all, lets make this happen!
Brilliant feature-length stuff, with lessons for all:
I would love to join you all at the Counting House! I live not too far from Glasgow, hope no one minds me tagging along!
Thepnr says:
“Coming back you stay at my place. next day is a Saturday after all.”
Thanks Alec, that’s a kind offer, and another option I can consider. My problem is that I really won’t know if I can make it until the last minute. If I do make it I may well stay over in Glasgow to do some other stuff on Sat before I come back to Aberdeen. I’ve got a do on in Aberdeen on the Sat night too – going to be another hectic weekend!
I hope I can make it – especially if Alexandra’s going too! 😀
@Alexandra-M –
Duly added. Bring a friend. Better still, bring fifty.
RE Conan the Librarian
To all concerned
I have finally tracked down Conan to his lair and he is on a phased return to work. He was not working last week and is not scheduled to work today.
It looks as though he is alive and kicking.
I’ll post pointers on the various threads pointing to here.
Any further info will be also posted here.
Cheers
Bugger (the Panda)
Thanks BtP – good to know he’s fine. I was going to trawl the DT this week to see if I could find him, but thankfully won’t have to now.
I guess that he g=has other more immediate tasks.
I don’t need to e-mail you now.
Thanks BtP. I saw a post of his on the DT few days ago, i mentioned you were enquiring after him.
@Ian B
I’ll endeavour to pop along too, trying to bring a possible YES mate with me.
@kendomacaroonbar –
Good stuff.
We’re hovering around the 25 mark now, but that’s not counting whoever Thepnr’s bringing on the bus.
On target for 200 if we keep going. I should get a few confirmations tomorrow from SSP colleagues.
Excellent, I shall most definitely be there! Will also try to round up a few friends to join me 😀
Still not too sure if I’ll be bringing anyone with me or not.
So far, it’s looking like it’ll just be me and my shadow as usual…
I’ll see what happens though 🙂
I have my ticket up from France on Sunday the 30th, if I have the correct dates?
Been known to have some problems there.
Just posted over in the main thread but want to leave it here also for those that drop by occasionally.
Sorry Rev O/T
Still trying to drum up support for the WoS night out at the Counting House Glasgow on 30th May. So far 8 Wingers from the Dundee and Angus area will be coming through on the bus I’ve arranged.
This is an executive coach so will be a comfortable journey. It seats 40 so 32 places still available. I’ve decided that I’ll cover the cost and that all seats are free so as no one is denied a seat if cost would be an issue
Happy to take any donations if some want to chip in.
I’m really keen to help make this a very successful night and would much prefer the seats to go to people who read Wings first before I start offering any not filled to friends and family.
So if you fancy a good night out amongst friends and live in the Dundee and Angus area, grab yourself a seat or two on the bus. Pick up points are flexible and will cover everything south of Brechin to Dundee and Perth if there are any takers. Please leave your requirements over in Off Topic. Book 6 if you like and bring a few mates! Cheers.
Will there be real ale on sale,and fire engines like the last meeting? And count me in.
VF
Looking forward to talking wine with you.
BtP
Will there be real sherry?
Like red biddy?
Thepnr,
Where about in Brechin is the pickup point and what time? Cheers
I’m wi Mealer will try and get another 3 or 4 folk
Mealer
Will get back to you on that, I have already discussed it with the bus company and as they are coming from Dundee then possibly heading to Arbroath. He suggests somewhere around the junction of Swan Road and City Rd.
Might not need to go to Arbroath though so remaining flexible is the best option for now. Will definitely inform everyone in plenty of time.
Good stuff fergie35, are you coming from Brechin too?
Mealer
Missed out the time, I really want to be in Glasgow by around 19:30 so since we’re starting in Brechin it will be a bit early around 17:00 to 17:30. Will all be known once the route and pick up points are decided.
What? There are other Wingers in Brechin!!!
btw Thepnr dear, allow for diversion off main route and time for embarcation – methinks starting from Brechin should be about 16;00.
Is the CH2 this week, Friday the 2rd or the 30th?
I’d assumed that it was Brechin’s executive coach company, what with starting in Brechin? Seems daft to do Dundee before Arbroath?
However, if it’s a Dundee company (Sidlaw?) are the times still the same, ie Discovery Point at 5.45pm?
BTW: I’m in the middle of doing a post for the “YES Dundee and Surrounding Areas Events & Information” Facebook page to flag up the excursion.
I’ll paste it here when I’ve done it.
@Paula Rose
Gotta think about people who may be working, I’d be happier with earlier, but since I’m an engineer I’ll plan it with extreme precision. 🙂
Thepnr:
“Gotta think about people who may be working”.
Me and Pete have planned for 5.45 Discovery Point pickup.
Any earlier than that would be problematic because, as you observe, some of us don’t have private incomes and must attend the workhouse to earn a crust.
Ian,
Hopefully Two from Tarbert to join you on the 30th.
Look forward to meeting you all.
Also keep me informed about your fundraiser.
LEAVE IT TO THE ENGINEER
Yeah got you Brian and I’ll stick with the plan. That’s you told Paula Rose.
Sorry Sir.
Hi Thepnr.
I’ve posted what’s below at two Facebook groups:
“YES Dundee and Surrounding Areas Events & Information” at:-
link to facebook.com
And
“The Indy Inn” at:-
link to facebook.com
————————————————————
This is aimed at those of you who were at the “Friends of Wings Over Scotland” in Jolly’s in Broughty Ferry a couple of weeks ago – and anyone else interested.
As you may know, the second Friends of WOS get-together in the Counting House in Glasgow will be on Friday 30th May. Thepnr, who organised the Jolly’s night, has arranged for a coach to go through for this, picking up in Brechin at 5pm, Arbroath at approx 5.20pm, then Discovery Point in Dundee, around 5.45pm.
Thepnr is paying for the coach hire in advance. Seat price has been set at £15 each for the round trip, which seems reasonable to me. 40 seater executive coach, sound system, etc.
Seats are going steadily so if you want to join in, get over to the link below and let Thepnr know. He’s said other pickup locations can be arranged en route, eg Carnoustie, Carse, Perth and so on – just let him know.
The Jolly’s night was successful and this Glasgow night is looking like it could be a beezer. See you there Glenn? Karen? Gill? Onnybuddy else?
link to wingsoverscotland.com
Brian your a star. Cheers, much appreciated.
Hi Thepnr.
What time are we leaving the Counting House for the return journey?
BTW: Anyone else having problems getting Derek Bateman’s site tonight?
I’ve been getting ERROR 500 Internal Server Error for the past few hours.
link to derekbateman.co.uk
Brian I thought around 22:30 meaning quite a late arrival for those last off the bus but not ridiculous O’Clock.
I get through to Bateman on this link for his latest post:
link to derekbateman.co.uk
Is this one of those coaches with youthful hostesses, hunky stewards and free sherry?
Hi Thepnr.
Yeah, I thought you’d be pencilling in 22.30 – 22.45.
Seems about right.
BTW: tried your link – still got “Internal Server Error”.
Managed to read it via a link at the Indy Inn –
link to newsnetscotland.com
Nob orders wee Jock to the bookies
“place a monkey on a vote for no”
Wee jock does what he’s tell’t
The bookie thinks to himself
You Cock – it’s a bet to regret.
Damn not ‘a’ but ‘the’.
Evening Scotland, how’s your manic Monday been.. when you hear 04/07, think 24/03:
Independence Day ~ President Whitmore
Here’s what a struggle for Independence looks like.
@ Thepnr,Ur you getting a early start tae the drinking,serving sherry on the bus,gie them a bliddy triffle an let them lump it ( thats the custard bit )
Thepnr,
Yep.Miss out Arbroath and nip round by Tarbert.Dundee crew will just have to skive off early.
Mealer, you talking Tarbert, Loch Fyne.
Is it true the bus has an indoor lavie?
Rab the doubter,I don’t know.Im already lost.
Is it true the bus has an indoor lavie?
LOL Yes and DVD screens and a great sound system. Will be a party on the way back. Mind bring your favourite music.
Anyone got a link for “An ingininana” There was one
a few weeks ago but no idea which thread it was on
@ronnie anderson
Hey, you could always get the train through to Dundee so as to claim a seat on the bus. Plenty left, but I think I’ll fill them. Thanks for all those already coming.
You will not regret it, last time was really good.
BtP – next again Friday, 30th May.
I’ll be there but need to find my glasses.
TJ
y up so late?
Found them.
Will be there!
I’m always up ’til late. Although I don’t always surface until noon-ish. 🙂
Lady of leisure or pleasure?
‘always’ should read ‘usually.
CH2 shaping up well, come on down Glasgow, be it as it may, it’s Friday the 30th of May, it’s probably your pay-day.
Here’s one for the nightshift.. there’s a pretty girl in the video:
Tragic Comic ~ Extreme (The band)
BtP – Does either exclude the other?
Ah, an enthusiastic amateur?
Aren’t we all?
Nightoll
Finally
This version more visual
BtP – nice vids.
Sweet dreams.
According to the Rev’s latest poll stats the Yes campaign needs to target old men and young women.
Okay – if everyone coming to CH2 brings at least one old man and one young woman we can do our bit.
NB. You are not allowed to include yourself as one (or t’other for that matter).
@BtP shame about the BT ad prior to the vid though 🙁
@Kendonmaracroonbar
Re the BT vid, I didn’t see that as I had a friggin French one instead for something else.
See you at the CH2. I have my return ticket bought and paid for.
Let’s give this a jump start for Thistle and show him how much his efforts are appreciated:
link to indiegogo.com
@BTP –
To clarify – you’re coming from France just for the CH gig?
If so, I hope anyone who’s swithering about the hassle of getting a train from somewhere like Kilmarnock takes good note. (No offence to Kilmarnock or anyone specific…)
Ian
Yes I am. I have a commitment for My Children, their children and all the others of Scotland.
Apart from that, I fancy a pint back in Glasgow.
Ian Brotherhood says:
“if everyone coming to CH2 brings at least one young woman we can do our bit.”
I’ll ask as many young women as I can, but I can’t guarentee any success 😉
@X_sticks –
Don’t forget about the old men.
@Ian
You’re going already aren’t you?
Stormy weather darlings – I didn’t want to interrupt the main thread…
Alan MacIntosh
“Anyone got a link for “Aningininana” ”
Here it is Alan
@BTP –
Soo-perb.
“…and when the third panda does come to Scotland, she shall at last be free…”
“…and when the third panda does come in Scotland, she shall at last be bairned”
@BTP –
Bloomin’ eck
“Lock up your pandas!”
1st Play off Footie.
Hamilton v Hibs
Tonight. Streaming.
link to wiziwig.tv
This site offers live streams – no P2P or software downloads.
Tonight it has,
“Live Scottish Premiership Football Premiership Play-Off Final 7:30pm-10:00pm SKY SPORTS 1”.
Also, “ALL STREAMS STARTS 15 MINUTES BEFORE EVENT TIME”.
All you do is go to the link below at the right time, scroll down to look for what you want in the schedule, then scroll back up to the stream buttons at the top and click on the requisite one, ie “SKY SPORTS 1”. Full screen is also available.
link to coolsport.tv
BTW: I know people in Canada can watch Scottish games via that “Coolsport.tv” site.
Hi All
Was asked at the Ferry to keep people informed of new Yew Choob releases. Some of you met our vocalist on this one that night. Hope you all enjoy and hope to get thro’ to CH on the 30th, to meet some other Wingers, who I am sure will be just as wonderful as the ones we met at the Ferry gig. Aye fur Alba 2014.
//youtu.be/Rl3zRwI0A4c
Heres Rory Gallagher
He’s got something to say
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KSaN–KdBoU
@Jock Scot
Free Ed Milliband wahoo
that’s brilliant
LOVE IT!
Jock and Ninja
Keep producing the quality, always brings a smile to my face. Lyrics and pictures are brilliant! Thanks.
Yew Choobers that was another fantastic video. Having the lyrics on screen makes singing along easier too. Just FAB. 🙂
Have emailed the link to friends.
@
john king,
Thepnr,
TJenny
Glad you liked it, thanks for the encouragement and support
@Jock Scot –
Great you’re planning to be at CH2.
My list is currently at 25, but a good few have yet to confirm, and it doesn’t include those who’ll be on the bus.
A wee appeal for any lurkers or switherers – May 30th isn’t just about meeting fellow Wingers. We need to send a visible message to the BTUKOKERS that we’re not huddling behind computer screens. It’s not a party-political event, so there’s no danger of it being dominated by any one group.
Please – even if you can’t make it along yourself – spread the word. Spaces are still available on Thepnr’s bus, but they won’t be long getting snapped up, so let people know about it. If you’re within striking distance of Glasgow on May 30th, try to make it along – some of us will be there for most of the evening, but if fleeting visitors aim to be around from 8 – 8.30 then that should maximise the crowd and make for more impressive images.
Totally Off-Topic, but get a load of this for some weird exchanges in the comments.
link to nikosbar.blogspot.ie
Here is Ed Milband getting found out:
link to audioboo.fm
Twice?
link to audioboo.fm
link to blogs.spectator.co.uk
blogs.spectator.co.uk/coffeehouse/2014/05/a-terrible-day-for-ed-miliband
audioboo.fm/boos/2180863-ed-miliband-on-radio-wiltshire
I was hoping to get some more confirmations for CH2 at the SSP meeting on Tuesday, but we ran out of time and everyone bolted to get trains etc. No matter – I can chase them up otherwise.
Don’t know about Thepnr, but I’ve had no more folk to add to the list since Monday.
Come on – someone make my day here, and say you’ll turn up, even show face between 8 and 9? Please?
P.S. The Gathering, ‘Rescue Me’ –
Icehouse, ‘We Can Get Together’ –
If this tune doesn’t stick in your head then you don’t have a head.
The Beatles, ‘Come Together’ –
Diana Ross & The Supremes, ‘Someday We’ll Be Together’ –
Shake some action folk
@Paula –
That was good, enjoyed that.
I hope you enjoy this.
Wilko Johnson & The Solid Senders, ‘Blazing Fountains/She Does It Right’ –
Ian honey – I was there… try this –
@Paula –
Seriously? Were you at that gig, or are you talking about the scene generally?
Only time I saw Wilko Johnson was when he was a Blockhead, in Glasgow, must’ve been 81 or 82, in what used to be Tiffany’s Ballroom, Sauchiehall St. Come to think of it, it was the only time I ever saw Dury live.
Great night. I bagged the spot below centre-stage along with some other spotty dude long before anyone else even bothered making their way from the bar, but it worked out well and we both got a shot of the mike when the Blockheads, Blurt, and I forget who-else, all came out at the end to do ‘Fucking Ada’ as the finale.
Apologies in advance for ehe sweary words coming up but, a Massive amount of shite being talked on QT tonight. How the fuck can these twats defend Prince Chuck making intemperate comments like he made. My gast is truly flabbered.
@ Ian – I love it when we get poetic on Wings…
rab _the_doubter – darling, moderate you language dear, chill out and listen to the wee vid I’ve just posted.
@rab_the_doubter –
Nae apology required in here mister. This is O/T, right?
I hope you’re still up for next Friday. After all, you’re second on my LIST…heavy pressure man…(:))
Yum – rab_the_doubter see you at the Counting House!
On topic what has a hazelnut in every bite nougat and caramel gold and light ?
@Paula –
If you haven’t seen this, worth a watch – Watt-Roy, Atzmon and Johnson all looking healthy, and not that long ago by the looks of it. God bless ’em all – the ‘Blockheads’ live on, eh?:
@ Ian XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
@Paula –
You are, as always, very welcome.
Here’s one back to you – X
Just because we’re in a union…
night night
In says
“Come on – someone make my day here, and say you’ll turn up, even show face between 8 and 9? Please?”
The wife and I are coming,
hotels already booked. 🙂
MISSING PERSON
Can I ask you all to keep your eyes open please.
Blue Ford Fiesta YW59 UGW
link to stratford-herald.com
Linda’s car was last seen in Lockerbie on Monday, heading north. The Strathaven area is a possibility, but the call is out to the many hill-walkers, over a busy holiday weekend, as Glen Nevis and Cairngorms may also be targets.
There are tragic circumstances in this case. There are many of us in Stu’s blue & white army, spread the word and look out for that car, anywhere. Please.
Looks like you’ve got a click there Ian 🙂
Sorry Heraldnomore, I didn’t mean to bracket your post with light-hearted banter,
do you know her?
I do yes John
@heraldnomore –
Number noted.
One for Ian Brotherhood there. The Guardian has a new Scotland reporter who thus far seems far more balanced than Severin. Low bar I know! She’s been asking for tips about indy events to go to. I know you were thinking of inviting a SH reporter along to CH on 30 May – how do you feel about inviting Libby Brooks?
Update on Missing Person
Just heard she’s been found safe and well in Aviemore. Don’t think it was Wings Wot Dunnit, but nothing would surprise me.
Thank guys.
Yes in the park. Ronnie Andersons house this evening 7:30 for 8:00.
Test run with the Gazebo layouts and content for Yes in the park.
OK this in full paranoia mode.
Scenario.
Scotland votes YES.
UKIP and Tories do a ‘Save Britain’ election pact, where the Tories agree to hold a parliamentary vote, should the Pact win to dissolve the Scottish Parliament and renege on the Edinburgh Agreement.
The deal would be Tories not standing in a few seats where UKIP have their best expectation and tell their supporters to vote UKIP.
Also to leave UKIP alone for quite a few safe Labour or LibDemm seats (is there a safe LibDem seat?) to test the seeming support for UKIP amongst Labour voters.
The reasoning would be, that in that way it would harness a possibly very large ‘Save Britain’ support in England and bring about a win for the unholy alliance.
In response, knee-jerk Milliband would probably reciprocate with a similar reneging on the Edinburgh Agreement promise.
OK that it.
I do NOT want anyone actually agreeing that this might be possible.
Reassurances only please.
@panda paws –
Someone from SH will be there, but whether undercover or not I don’t know.
Come on Libby Brooks! Meet the vile Cybernats face to face!
I struggled for about half an hour to find the link below. I first stumbled across it a couple of months ago and it wasn’t quite so well populated at that time.
Anyone know how to get in touch with Marc Ellison to see if he’s updated it?
link to public.tableausoftware.com?:embed=n&:display_count=no&:showVizHome=no#1
looks like you’ll have to copy the entire link because the “:” has screwed up the URL a wee bit
Hi people
checkout the new website… definitely far from finished as IT guy is busy to next week. However it has all our latest stuff we are doing coming up including event with our only Tory MP and one with Ian “bayonet” Davidson Labour MP.
Tomorrow going to try and get a sneeky interview with The Artist Taxi Driver and Sunday wee got a live stream with our lad back home from Rome, the Indy Cyclist who will be finishing off at St Enoch’s.
People… I know there is a lot of crowdfunding going on including us, but Indy Cyclist is doing one hell of a job and if you can please support his crowdfunding effort with all funds going to Yes groups that you can choose.
See some of you tomorrow and Sunday… oh yeah and Monday if we can get G3 working – council cant provide connection as security risk – cough.
opps here it is: http://www.independencelive.net
Right, Paula Rose and Thepnr –
Isn’t it time to kick off the soundtrack for the CH2 bus?
Come on now, and don’t be shy – tell everyone what we were discussing.
Yes in the Park. 7th June 2014.
Managed to get the Gazebo up and measured for banners and tables. We’re all off looking for material to display now so if you know of any small independence organisation that would like a mention and can contribute a small amount of material get in touch. We’ll get the banners organised this week and some materials copied/laminated. Anyone who could help with resources let any of us know via “Off topic”
We will get 6 passes to the event and there are currently 5 people interested and willing to help out.
Ronnie
Patrician
The Man in The Jar
Silvertay
Me
@Ian Brotherhood
Yeah I wanted to put together a playlist for the 2 hour or so journey next Friday so as people wouldn’t be bored and might even get in a dancing mood lol.
Songs about Independence, definitely. Happy songs definitely. Like this:
@Thepnr –
What a belter to start off with. First time I’ve ever seen that video – the dancing is superb.
Tough one to follow mister!
darling thepnr and ian it will be punk, ska and the blockheads from Brechin to Dundee and beyond – get over to off-topic mateys and register for THE BEST PARTY EVER. My strappy sandals will have you boys a ga ga.
Oh – and this..
Another happy clappy song:
Sheena Wellington, ‘A Man’s A Man for ‘a That’ –
careful dears – I might get personal…
Babies!!!
Just for fun, a jaunty wee tune, ‘The Song of The Clyde’ –
Where’s the tissues – oh Ian darling that was so something or other.
Must say Ian honey (and wee Thepnr) a low turn out on the 30th means I get you lovely boys all to myself.
Who are you calling mental?
Thepnr likes this one.
Jim Diamond, ‘I Should Have Known Better’ –
Oil exploration…
Future Islands, ‘Waiting On You’ –
Dodgy video, but a powerful song.
@Ian Brotherhood
That will be the song that sticks in my head long after the referendum is done. Cheers.
btw – Ian honey, have you arranged that pole for me to demonstrate upon?
I’ll be there on 30th
See you
@Paula Rose –
I tried my best, but in the main body of the Counting House the ceiling is approximately 25 feet high. I fear you may have to improvise.
Fear not dear boy!!!
@kininvie –
Brilliant. Name added.
Come on mister – seeing as you’re here, give us a tune!
While I’m at it, can I pick abody’s brains? There’s a beautiful piece of light classical music which is ‘Scottish’, and I’ve heard it played on the Radio Scotland Hogmanay/Christmas shows. Can’t remember the name, but I think it’s something to do with landscape, or rivers…a good friend of my wife used to play in a amateur orchestra in Glasgow (she was a cellist) and I heard it once, played ‘live’. It was really moving, and I’d love to hear it again. Anyone any idea what it might’ve been?
Ian – Jane Cowan?
anyways – lets have some genius…
I’m still hunting for that piece of music, nae joy, but have ended up watching some amazing stuff.
To me, this is just unfathomable genius – makes me want to greet, seeing so many people concentrating on the one thing and making it so fucking great. And this is the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra playing quintessentially ‘English’ music?
Remember ‘Lord’ George Robertson’s (quite recent) pish about how we have ‘no culture’? One has to wonder if he’s ever appreciated anything his fellow Scots are capable of – if we can play other ‘people’s’ music as well as this, what can’t we do?
No Scottish culture – aye right
Sometimes ye just wanna have a good greet and snotter it all out over yer sleeves, eh?
John Martyn, staring at the big Exit Door, but still laughing:
‘Rock, Salt and Nails’ –
Ian Brotherhood,
Land of the Mountain and Flood by Hamish McCunn?
Thought I’d join in the music-link slinging match.
Here’s one for the proud cybernats! 😀
(Sorry it’s on a VEVO channel, but they seem to be the only ones who have a good quality version of this).
#Playlist
“The Best is Yet to Come” by Heart o’ the Run off the She’s Got Legs EP
If you’ve got access to Spotify it’s here:
link to play.spotify.com
also worth a listen “Run Fast”
@Mealer –
THAT’S IT!!
A million thanks.
And here it is…Hamish Maccunn, ‘Land Of The Mountain And The Flood’ –
Kendo do you still have wings car stickers , if you do can you email me your name and address to. mmccabe@ea.n-Lanark.sch.uk and I will send a S.A.E .
I am looking for a few to give out at YES in the Park .
Cheers
Mike McCabe
“Land of the Mountain and Flood by Hamish McCunn?”
Heard a brilliant performance of that by the SNO as ‘warm up’ to a Beethoven concert recently.
‘Sutherland’s Law’ theme tune for those old enough to remember.
AArrgh! Forgot to strip the http:/ off. Sorry Stuart if that causes editing work.
This one always gives me goos bumps.
Nice version too.
Stu,
at what point will you consider opening an “Off-Topic II”?
This one’s getting a bit loooong 😉
Ta
@Thepnr –
Don’t know what Ronnie’s bringing for the raffle, but I’ll bring a couple of my books and a copy of the Sunday Herald with the Alisdair Gray cover.
As with CH1, I’ll bring labels. Do we know if Mrs King is up for doing the raffle tickets again? She’s brilliant at it, so I do hope so – if she’s up for it I’ll buy the ticket book.
I will try to make it to CH2.
Saw a car today with huge YES sticker in Cumbernauld. Must get one for my jeep.
Any track from Mike Oldfields Voyager album does it for me. 🙂
I has WOS car stickers (Thanks to the Rev’s ma) I’ll bring a bunch along….
Ian
I know Mr & Mrs King are coming, I’m certain she will take care of the raffle. You should sign your books this time, makes them more special!
I’ve got a couple of packets of labels and pens, forgot to use them in the ferry. If as many come along as I suspect we might need more though.
Regarding the Dundee and Angus bus, the take up has not been as I would have hoped, even if you can’t make it yourselves please let others know on facebook or whatever and help me fill the bus. It’s easy for people local to Glasgow just to turn up so most probably don’t feel the need to show their interest here and will just turn up.
I suspect there will be some readers who might want to come along from my area but are reluctant to advertise the fact. We’ll see.
@kininvie –
Can you please keep some car stickers for me? They’re for friends. Swap you them for a copy of my book?
@LizM –
That’s you on the list friend. Hope you make it.
This is for you –
Mike Oldfield, ‘Flowers Of The Forest’ –
Anybody else what to help thwart the UKIP nutters?
link to blogs.telegraph.co.uk
In order to help Thepnr fill the bus – I will do a full striptease.
Thepnr,
I stopped reading anything about Scotland in the telegraph quite a while ago.
I admire your tenacity.
ps I’m bringing my own pole – he’s called Kreg.
I can’t afford to go but can donate a couple of signed copies of my book for the raffle if you like.
Geoff dear, are you in Angus?
Geoff
We can arrange a lift for you, bus is free and your very welcome.
@Paula Rose –
You’re on fire tonight missus.
In the interest of general fairness, and with half a mind to the abolition of general sex-slavery/gimpery, I presume you’ve informed Kreg about what’s happening?
Ian – darling Kreg has agreed to be as flippant as me.
I think I’ll travel up to Dundee especially so I can catch the bus and see the amazing Paula in the flesh…..
I’m a bit perplexed though – free ride to Glasgae, get a chance to snog Ian Brotherhood plus guaranteed striptease from moi, hours of political discourse from Thepnr, and the best music etc that a country of no culture can provide – don’t be silly.
@Paula Rose
He’s trying to fill the bus not empty it
@Jock Scot
Hahahahaha 🙂
xx
Well that was a profitable few minutes for kleenex.
Ain’t done yet
Ach well if it’s a No at least I’ll have had a laugh in the run in.
Jock dear – we did agree that early evidence of my gorgeousness was not to be boiadcast, didn’t we?
@Thepnr
no chance of No and always laughter..
I’m watching bend it like beckham – I’m proud to be British and live in Scotland. Not a lot of hope apart from our country called Scotland is there?
OK Thepnr – finally got the quotes etc – full strip with flirtation, as I said free, installation of pole – Kreg – free, Clash re-union gig nae chance, love laughter and the best night ever- guaranteed.
“I know Mr & Mrs King are coming, I’m certain she will take care of the raffle. ”
She is and she will. 🙂
Oh I forgot, Im coming as well 🙂
“In order to help Thepnr fill the bus – I will do a full striptease.”
Dressed as a pearly queen?
Dreadfully sorry I can’t make the next WoS gathering, folks, on account of me being stranded in Arizona for my yearly visit to family & friends. I’ll be back about the middle of June, so hopefully any meetups between then & September (I have something on then, but for the life of me I can’t remember what it was…) will have +1 beardy longhair!
@Paula Rose: In order to help Thepnr fill the bus – I will do a full striptease.
Oh blast, and I to miss this surely one-time-only event!
@Brian
colinizat (at) Hotmail (dot) com
Cheers
@ Thepnr
I’m sorry, but I won’t be able to make it to the CH2 do after all.
I’m happy to still pay for a seat on the bus. If the bus gets filled someone can have it on me. Let me know where to send the funds. Paypal is easiest for me.
@Thepnr
Although I won’t be able to get the bus with you guys (Jeez! imagine missing Paula’s pole dance, striptease and strappy sandals, gutted!) I’ll chip in too.
See you on Friday.
@Paula Rose –
Is that you in this video, around the 5 mins mark, in the red dress, between Prince and Stevie Wonder?
Gordon Bennett! – Taranaich and dem fellas don’t know what they’re missing.
I saw Prince in concert, Tokyo, 1992. It was a bit of a joke really – it was in a stadium, and he was so far away all I could make out was a toty wee purple dot. It was good all the same.
Wee update on CH2 – 35 on list. Doesn’t include bus. Another 20 or so yet to confirm. No idea how many lurkers/switherers…we must be at or about the 100 mark overall.
Only four full days left to get the grapevine abuzz – please keep pushing folks, even if you’re not going to make it. Let’s give the BTUKOKERS and their puppetmasters a serious message that cannot be belittled or ignored.
Ian
Hope you got my confirmation a couple of days ago? Two from Tarbert, Argyll.
Really looking forward to meeting you all on Friday.
Just listening to one of thae uncultured Scots on BBC3 at the moment. Would love to hear Paulo Nutini doing some Alex Harvey covers.
Thepnr, here’s one for the soundtrack. Nice live version.
The Stereo MC’s, ‘Connected’ –
@ Ian Brotherhood (9:07)- actually no it isn’t, but I can see how you thought it might be, the resemblance is uncanny.
@Paula Rose –
‘Uncanny’ indeed.
Who was the big ‘Highlander’ guy who always wore a mask? A singer who had a claymore etc. Can’t remember his name. He must have done some decent stuff that might fit the soundtrack…
Ian, might have been Fish, marillion?
Ian honey it’s big Jesse Rae!
Paula’s right (I’m not)
Ian Brotherhood says:
Who was the big ‘Highlander’ guy who always wore a mask?
The wonderful Jesse Rae!
@Paula Rose/Brian Doonthetoon –
That’s the man. What a fantastically bonkers video.
Och, too slow with Jesse Rae’s video.
So here’s a link from 2007 when he announced he was standing as an independent candidate in the Scottish Borders electoral constituency of Roxburgh and Berwickshire.
link to news.bbc.co.uk
One for the troops after putting up with more britnat p*sh
…www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVHNwBbkSj4&index=7&list=PLBEFF095F303F5CED
@Brotyboy
No problem, it just means us that do go can all kip out on full length seats on the way back 🙂
Will see you at the next one.
@scaredy cat
If you get the chance to read this we can pick you and your group up in Stirling as john king suggested and drop you off too. Give me a shout.
Try this:
Fish was good too though.
@Brian Doonthetoon –
Any idea how the man got on in the election?
I can’t believe Jesse Rae must now be, what, 62?
There’s a wake-up call if ever there was one…
Thepnr darling, I won’t be kipping out I’ll have you to play with.
Think my missus might knock you out! LOL
(pun on u and kip dear – me and Mrs Thepnr will be discussing knitting patterns)
I’m so dumb. Blush..
Hi Thepnr.
Just to keep you up to speed. This is what I’ve posted at the “YES Dundee and Surrounding Areas Events & Information” Facebook page in the past week (since my initial post that is pasted above in the clouds):-
Brian DoontheToon .
No takers?
The bus is organised – all you have to do is get on it!
22 May at 22:40
Brian DoontheToon .
As far as I know, there are around 25 seats still available on the bus.
If you want to go, the cost is £15 but I believe Thepnr is covering the cost for the unwaged.
If you want to book a seat, get over to Wings Over Scotland’s “off-topic” thread (link above) and register your interest.
1 hr
I’ve also posted at “The Indy Inn” Facebook page – here’s the last week:-
Brian DoontheToon .
C’mon – some of you must want to join the party…
21 May at 22:06
Brian DoontheToon .
No takers?
The bus is organised – all you have to do is get on it!
22 May at 22:38
Brian DoontheToon .
I wonder how many of us will be waiting at Discovery Point to embark upon the expedition to Glasgow’s Counting House? I hope there are more than just me and Pete the Camera…
Yesterday at 12:42
Brian DoontheToon .
As far as I know, there are around 25 seats still available on the bus.
If you want to go, the cost is £15 but I believe Thepnr is covering the cost for the unwaged.
“Bugger the Panda” is flying to Glasgow from France for this get-together.
Surely Dundee, Angus and Perth can get a contingent on the bus to make our presence felt?
BTW: here’s a post from the “off-topic” thread….
Paula Rose says:
In order to help Thepnr fill the bus – I will do a full striptease.
25 May, 2014 at 12:02 am
If you want to book a seat, get over to Wings Over Scotland’s “off-topic” thread (link above) and register your interest.
1 hr
I’m trying…
Brian Doonthetoon darling, don’t get the bus too full, my pole and I need a bit of space.
@Brian Doonthetoon –
That Talking Heads clip is fantastic. Thanks so much for posting it.
One of the first albums I ever bought was ‘Remain In Light’, and I picked it by running my finger down the album edges in the (then-newly opened) Virgin shop in Glasgow. Black cover, green lettering, had no idea what it was…mind blowing stuff.
I’ve never ever seen them ‘live’ like this. I’m blown away again, same as I was all those years ago. And Tina (Weymouth?) is even more of a babe in real life as she was in my imagination.
Cheers man – that’s made my night.
@BrianDoonthetoon
Cheers my friend. It’s not for me though it’s for us! I’ve decided to swallow the cost, so tell people free night out. Show our commitment ect.
I really appreciate your help, and for the life of me fail to understand the reluctance. A little fear in being noticed is one and I think not getting back in Dundee until midnight is another for the older group.
It will be what it will be, and I’m still looking forward to a good night. The Glasgow crowd will turn out for sure.
Typing about Fish (“So long and thanks for all the”) – this is probably my 2nd favourite Fish performance after ‘Marketgait – sorry – “Marketsquare” – Heroes’.
I’m sure I have the 12″ picture disc stashed away in my loaby press. This is “Interenal Exile” from 1991 and the video has the lyrics!
(Reminiscent of The Corries’ “The Dawning Of The Day” – I’ll stick that link in as well.)
Fish:
Corries:
Thepnr – honey, many of us are a wee bit perturbed about certain bodily functions after a couple of sherries – make it clear special underwear is unnecessary – we have an onboard lavvie!!!
Hi Thepnr.
I’ve just done another post at “The Indy Inn”. Here it is…
“A wee while ago, I pasted the stuff about the Counting House bus that I had posted here, and at the “YES Dundee and Surrounding Areas Events & Information” page, in the “off-topic” thread at WOS, to keep Thepnr in the loop (he doesn’t do Facebook).
Here’s his reply:-
(Thepnr’s reply from a wee while ago)
So, there you go. ONE guy is dipping his hand into his wallet for the £500 for the bus hire. He worked out the £15 a head cost (40 seater bus) to leave a wee bit over to provide free seats for those who couldn’t afford to pay.
As far as we can gather, this get-together will be covered by the Sunday Herald and The Guardian’s new Scotland correspondent – and will also be live-streamed by Independence Live.
Like Thepnr, I am disappointed that Yessers from this area seem to have no interest in this event.
21 secs”
If thepnr is shelling out for this on his own then I for one am not going to allow him to be seen with an empty glass on Friday.
Oi Brian Doonthetoon – the youngsters round these parts (Brechin) need to get parental permission to visit big cities.
And rab_the_doubter – two shandies and our lovely Thepnr is anybody’s – I know!!
Hoi Paula Rose –
My Dad and his family civilised Brechin for a wee while in the 1920s and 30s, then they moved on to a more ambitious project in Dundee.
BTW: Friday isn’t a school night…
8=)
Brian Doonthetoon darling – we’re VERY civilised, unlike Dundee xx.
Our Dundee project is a “work in progress”.
8=)
Oh school days… I just don’t know (again)
@Ian Brotherhood
“The Stereo MC’s, ‘Connected’”
Ahh, that brings back memories 🙂
I’ll just leave this here and go off on a little nostalgia trip.
Vote Yes and we can move any mountain! 😀
@Ian Brotherhood
Hope to be on Friday at CH. A couple of us had an idea about weegingerdug’s writings. We don’t know about publishing and literary agents.Would you be able to help?Hope to see you on Friday. Weegingerdug hopes to be there too.
Semus
Ian Brotherhood
I have left a couple of items with Ronnie to be used as raffle prizes at CH2 and I would just like to say that I would be more than happy if any money raised went to Thepnr to help towards the cost of the coach .
cheers
Mike McCabe
Semus – that’s you on the list. Good stuff.
Silvertay – that’s a good shout and I agree. Others feel likewise?
Ian Brotherhood says:
“Silvertay – that’s a good shout and I agree. Others feel likewise?”
Seconded.
Thirded…
@ Thepnr
It’s very kind of you to offer to come via Stirling, but I wouldn’t want you to do that just for me. If there are others from Stirling then go for it, but I am still waiting for confirmation on a baby sitter for my wee one.
If I don’t get one, you’ll have made a detour for no good reason.
My other son and his mates are unlikely to confirm whether they are going until the last minute either. You now what youngsters are like. Even if they did join us, they will not be travelling from Stirling as they all live in the Glasgow area anyway.
I do appreciate the offer though and my declining the offer has nothing to do with Paula Rose’s threat of a striptease!
I’m pretty sure she’s not my type (unless she’s really Hugh Jackman in disguise)
@scaredy cat
We can decide on Friday, things are flexible. Paula’s striptease, now that would be funny 🙂
@Thpnr
Okay Dokay. Incidentally, what time are you likely to be passing this way?
Around 18:45 – 19:00 to get into central Glasgow by 19:30
Okay, well if I get a sitter that should be do-able for me. I’ll keep you posted here.
@Thepnr
My wife will go if she gets another female to go with. There are two guys interested in going from Kirrie as well. And another couple in Brechin are thinking about it. So could be say 5 or 6 seats. I’ll be stuck walking the dogs I’m afraid.
What time is the Brechin pick up?
Could it swing by Kirrie if there are folk from there?
Can’t remember if Forfar was on route.
Chic
No problem in starting in Kirrie, 5 or 6 would be great. I might also have another 2 from that area. Things are looking up , thanks for the help.
I won’t post the pick up points until Thursday night as for example I’ve already included Arbroath though no one so far wants to came from there.
It will be pretty early on Friday if possible around 17:00, I’m keen to be in Glasgow for about 19:30. But as I’ve said all things are doable and we can work out a sensible plan that gives the most benefit.
Well done Chic, well pleased.
Anybody in Forfar want to come? Shout out now!
Hi Chic.
As far as I can read, the bus is setting out from Dundee for Brechin pickup at 5pm, then to Arbroath, Dundee and so on.
To save the bus going all over Angus, it would make sense to have a Kirrie pickup before Brechin.
Simultaneous posting…
No worries Brian, I know you are working as hard as me to make this successful.
@Chic/Brian/Thepnr –
Youse are doing great chaps.
Got chatting to a few folk outside Whitlees Community Centre in Ardrossan earlier this evening – people very keen to help get word about, even if they can’t make it themselves.
Hi Thepnr.
Just posted this at The Indy Inn Facebook page:
————————————————
Another half dozen seats have been booked so there’s gonna be a pickup in Kirrie, if anyone wants to join us from there. Also possible pickup in Forfar if anyone registers an interest.
Nobody from Arbroath so far though.
So, less than 20 seats left…
Ian B
Are people still after Aye Right leaflets? If so, I can bring about 2K to CH2 on Fri and people can help themselves.
@castle hills chavie
Bring them, I’m bringing my last 500 Wings business cards. Lets share then out and get them in the hands of folk who need to know more.
Brain
Thanks again, we might just fill it yet. For all our sakes let’s hope so. Time is short we need to meet up and get ourselves in amongst ordinary punters.
I’m basically an old man now and never thought I would be as involved in a campaign as much as i am now.
One thing I truly believe is we can only ever better ourselves if we vote Yes. I like you want to make that a reality.
@Briandoonthetoon
Brian not Brain. I left my on a stool sometime in 1996.
Thepnr darling, there was nothing old or worn under your kilt, that night of the Ferry!
I know your just winding me up Paula so I’ll let you off. Anyone else tampering with me kilt is getting knocked our 🙂
@castle hills chavie –
I can shift a lot via SSP buddies who are, for various reasons, averse to online activity. I’ll take whatever you can give me – they’ll be well used, no problem.
This one’s for each and every ‘Scot’ who voted for UKIP, BNP, Britain First etc:
Stretch, ‘Why Did You Do It?’ –
@Ian Brotherhood
Remember that well, what about the clowns all around us? Something aint right.
#www.youtube.com/watch?v=DohRa9lsx0Q
No hash this time.
A UKIP barbecue from last century…
Shame, Paule Rose but your dissnae work
What doesn’t work dear?
Evening. Looks like your coach trip into the (XX Commonwealth Games) City of Glasgow’ll be a lively one.. you could always live stream or video your travellings Thepnr!
Don’t miss out sports fans,
Vote XX
Cactus – was wondering where you’d got to. I take it you’re going on Friday then?
If I accepted your generosity it seems like it wouldn’t have cost me a bean.
I remember though only too well when I didn’t have a bean. That part of my life is history now. I look to the future, not for me but for the generations that will follow me.
You can only eat two chickens a day.
Hey, all you WOS pop-pickers, Terry Pendergrass is coming as well, and his place is the Counting House.
Hmmmm, night-night y’all:
Thepnr says:
“No hash this time.”
Does that mean that the trip down to Glasgow won’t be as mellow and laid back as it could be?
8=)
@Brian Doonthetoon, ah didums ah canny see a grown man cry
fur the want of a wee bit hash, am over generious here hiv these ################### jist take the tip aff.
@Brian Doonthetoon –
Cookies may have to be enabled.
I’ll try to bring a bottle of wine, if I have space and weight allowance in my suitcase.
8=)
Hey TJenny ~ Yeah, I was away at our music festival up at Loch Awe for the long sunny weekend. To be sure, to be sure, I’ll be at the Counting House this Friday to re-rendezvous with all the cool people.
So come on and ‘Bring It On’ Glasgow.. that’s what the street signs say!
Cactus – see you there. 🙂 Did you spread the word and garner any music festival goers to come along to CH?
Is anyone going to the Socialist Forum in the Queen’s Hotel in Dundee tonight? It starts at 19:30 if anyone’s going. I’m going.
Nice one TJenny ~ Yeah, I’ve put the word out there so we’ll see who comes..
The important thing is for all of us everyday Scots to get together and speak about our country. People have become closed off in society for too long.. this is where it all changes.
@Cactus
Amen…
Ian, I have had a good talking to myself and will be there Friday night. Will bring a bottle for the raffle, would be good if the proceeds went to thepnr to help with his costs 🙂
Liquid Lenny – could you make it a bottle of eau-de-cologne, might be handy if one of us on the bus wins it.
@castlehills chavie, we could use them at the Wings Stall
at Strathclyde Park on the 7th of June, & any other material
that people can give us,Gerry Parker/Patrician/Myself,will
at CH 2 on FRID.
@Thepnr
“I remember though only too well when I didn’t have a bean.”
I have plenty of beans if you want some. Just no money! 😉 hehe.
@Cactus
“I’ll be at the Counting House this Friday to re-rendezvous with all the cool people.”
What about the un-cool people?
Looking forward to Friday. Could use a bit of a morale booster lately 😀
Oneironaut says:
“What about the un-cool people?”
Yup, I’ll be there 😀
Just spent the best part of today reading every post on this page and played the videos. You should try it sometime, very therapeutic.
@Oneironaut
You have much more beans than I could count. We will win on Sept 18th thanks to good people like yourself.
X_Sticks like you dear, I’m not cool, I’m very hot!!
@Paula Rose
In the mink coat and strappy shoes you are RED hot 😉
Hi Thepnr.
I’ve just posted another update at The Indy Inn. (See below.)
BTW: Don’t make the Dundee pickup any earlier than the indicated 17.45, coz me and Pete are having our tea at the CH (Dundee branch) before we meet the bus and as we’ve got to squeeze that in between getting out of work and meeting the bus, any earlier would be a disaster!
Onnyhoo, here’s what I posted a few seconds ago…
————————————————
I’m bumping this up because seats are still available on the (executive, with DVD screens, sound system and bog) coach at a cost of £15 return or free if you’re strapped for cash. So, if you’re in the Kirrie, Brechin, Forfar, Dundee, Carse, Perth, Dunblane, Stirling or Cumbernauld areas, get over to the Wings Over Scotland “off-topic” thread, scroll down to the bottom, and tell Thepnr you want picked up!
(followed by link to this topic)
Now darlings – lets clear up a few things.
When it appeared that the only people who were interested in going were cybernats who spend 24 hours a day in front of their computer screens, I thought it might be a good idea to provide some suitable entertainment.
Now that real people from all walks of life are getting the bus – the style I suggested is really no longer appropriate, so I shall leave the mink coat at home, but weather permitting – the strappy sandals remain.
@Brian
I’ll post tomorrow here and on the main board the times and pick up locations. Won’t be before 17:45 in Dundee now we’re taking in Kirrie. I really have no idea now how many will be coming.
Who cares though, we’ll all have a good time. We’re making history. Never forget that.
If you are really intending to pick up at Cumbernauld and there is a space on coach, I’ll hitch a lift if I may 🙂
@Thepnr Have you room for 2 more on the bus? I’ve managed to miss this link and fail using the email up to now. I should have used my actual computer earlier.
Should have said – joining at Dundee. We’re from Alyth, but I’m working in Dundee.
I’m planning/hoping to make it to CH2.
Coming through by train from Edinburgh. What time due to start?
Not formally representing any group but I’m a member of LFI and involved in Common Weal…
@ Thepnr – can you make sure there is a ‘ladies’ and a ‘gents’ on the bus? I detest splashes.
beachthisle – Hi, I’m going through to CH2 on Friday. If you get the 18.30 it’s only £10 return and last train back is at 11.30 – see you at Waverley? (I’ll be wearing my WOS + YES badges so you’ll recognise a fellow WOSer). 🙂
@LizM
Welcome aboard, will see you in Cumbernauld.
@chipmonkey
Glad you can make it, watch the posts tomorrow for final timings.
@Paula Rose
“but weather permitting – the strappy sandals remain.”
If the weather is anything like it’s been over the past week where I am, you might need strappy wellies! 😀
As Better Together appears desperate to prove it walks amongst us as one of the ‘undead’, let’s take a trip back to the mid ’60s, where I think Project Fear comes from. 🙂
The Beaux Jens – She Was Mine
The Swamp Rats – No Friend Of Mine
Monks – I hate you
(nothing’s new, eh Fall fans?)
Here’s another couple but they seem more from a Unionist perspective. Still not bad tunes and is that the original Cartman in the first? I don’t think they are the same band, btw. 🙂
The Rats – The Rat’s Revenge (part 1)
The Rats – Spoonful
P.S. How punk are these guys? Inverted mohawks in the mid ’60s. 🙂
Separation? Naw, think of all the paperwork.
The Monks – Complication
Thanks TJenny.
Ok, meet you at Waverley (outside WH Smiths?) quarter-past 6ish. If I can find my WOS badge I’ll be wearing it as well as Yes badge too.. but you’ll probably also be able to recognise me from my Dugdaley Mail ‘Cybernat7’ pic!
thepnr
bags a seat, Brechin at 5, cheers
Just a wee test to see if I’m allowed in today – posted approx eight comments yesterday and none of them made it.
Weigh-hay!!
Good Brian ones got your name on it!
Pick up points and approximate timings for the bus through to CH2:
1700: The Swan Restuarant, Swan St, Brechin DD9 6EE
17:25 Vicocchis Coffee Shop, High St, Kirriemuir DD8 4EG
18:00 Discovery Quay, Riverside Drive, Dundee DD1 4XA
19:15 McDonalds (Roundabout at Asda entrance), Central Way, Cumbernauld G67 1NF
Arrive George Square Glasgow around 19:35
Return, leave from George Square at 22:30.
I will meet the bus at the first pick up point in Brechin. Hope to see you all soon.
@Oneironaut ~
YES indeed, all un-cool Scots are cordially invited too.. be they cool / un-cool / undecided!
«««««»»»»»
What matters is what we’ve already got in common with each other.. we’re all Scottish and we want our country back!
I love my country, I love my..
X SCOTLAND X